STATE OF UTAH

SENATE JOURNAL

TWELFTH EXTRAORDINARY SESSION of the SIXTY-FOURTH LEGISLATURE

The Senate of the Sixty–Fourth Legislature of the State of Utah met in the Senate Chamber at the State Capital Complex in the Twelfth Extraordinary Session at 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, September 21, 2022.

The Senate was called to order at 4:10 p.m. with President J. Stuart Adams presiding.

Prayer – Senator Luz Escamilla **Pledge of Allegiance** – Senator Scott Sandall

* * *

Jennifer Storie, Secretary of the Senate, read the following communication:

WHEREAS, since the close of the 2022 General Session of the 64th Legislature of the State of Utah, certain matters have arisen which require immediate legislative attention; and

WHEREAS, Article VII, Section 6 of the Constitution of the State of Utah provides that the governor may, by proclamation, convene the Senate into Extraordinary Session; and

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Spencer J. Cox, Governor of the State of Utah, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution and Laws of the state of Utah, do by this Proclamation call the Senate only of the 64th Legislature of the State of Utah into the Twelfth Extraordinary Session at the Utah State Capitol in Salt Lake City, Utah, on the 21st day of September 2022, at 4:00 p.m., for the following purpose:

For the Senate to consent to appointments made by the Governor to positions within state government of the state of Utah since the close of the 2022 General Session of the Legislature of the State of Utah.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the state of Utah. Done at the Utah State Capitol in Salt Lake City, Utah, this 20th day of September 2022.

Spencer J. Cox Governor

Deidre M. Henderson Lieutenant Governor

* * *

Roll call - All Senators present

On motion of Senator Buxton, the Senate voted to adopt the Senate Rules of the 2022 Eleventh Extraordinary Session of the Sixty–Fourth Legislature as the rules for the Twelfth Extraordinary Session.

President Adams appointed Senator Kirk Cullimore to notify the Governor's representative that the Senate is convened in the Twelfth Extraordinary Session.

Senator Cullimore advised the Senate that the Governor's representative has been notified of the convening of the Twelfth Extraordinary Session.

COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE GOVERNOR

ADVISE AND CONSENT

Mr. President: July 21, 2022 In accordance with Utah Code 67–1–1 and 67–1–2, I propose and transmit the following appointments.

Utah Department of Financial Institutions:

Darryle Rude is appointed to replace Edward Leary as the commissioner of the Utah Department of Financial Institutions. See Utah Code 7–1–202.

Utah Department of Natural Resources:

Joel Ferry is appointed to replace Brian Steed as the executive director of the Utah Department of Natural Resources. See Utah Code 79-2-202(1)(a).

Mr. President:

August 22, 2022

In accordance with Utah Code 67–1–1 and 67–1–2, I propose and transmit the following appointments.

Elected Official and Judicial Compensation Commission:

Jeff Herring is reappointed as a member appointed by the governor for the Elected Official and Judicial Compensation Commission the term to expire July 17, 2026. See Utah Code 67-8-4(1)(a).

Private Activity Bond Review Board:

Heidi Voordeckers is appointed to replace Tim Roper as a member representing an elected or appointed municipal official for the Private Activity Bond Review Board, the term to expire June 20, 2023. See Utah Code 35A-8-2103(b)(i).

Snow College Board of Trustees:

Derek White is appointed to replace Erma Kaye May as a member of the Snow College Board of Trustees, the remainder of the term to expire June 20, 2023. See Utah Code 53B-2-104(2)(a).

Utah Transit Authority Board of Trustees:

Carlton Christensen is reappointed as a member of the Utah Transit Authority Board of Trustees, representing counties of the first class, a term to expire November 1, 2026. See Utah Code 17B 2a 807.1(1)(b)(ii).

Youth Parole Authority:

Marina Tateoka is appointed to replace Athelia Woolley as a part time member for the Youth Parole Authority, a term to expire August 17, 2026. See Utah Code 80-5-702(2)(a).

Gage Arnold is appointed to replace Rick Westmoreland as a part time member for the Youth Parole Authority, a term to expire April 1, 2023. See Utah Code 80-5-702(2)(a).

Becki Bronson is appointed to replace Margaret Jackson as a part time member for the Youth Parole Authority, a term to expire August 17, 2026. See Utah Code 80-5-702(2)(a).

I hereby certify that the individuals listed in this letter meet the legal requirements for the respective positions. Thank you for your timely consideration and confirmation of the above appointments.

Spencer J. Cox Governor

Mr. President:

The Senate Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Confirmation Committee met on August 26, 2022, and reports a favorable recommendation for Mr. Joel Ferry to be appointed as the Executive Director of the Department of Natural Resources.

Scott D. Sandall, Chair

Mr. President:

The Senate Business and Labor Confirmation Committee held a meeting on August 30, 2022, and reports a favorable recommendation for the appointment of Darryle Rude as the commissioner of the Department of Financial Institutions.

Curtis S. Bramble, Chair

Mr. President:

September 2, 2022

The Senate Judiciary Confirmation Committee met on September 2, 2022, and reports a favorable recommendation for Ms. Marina Tateoka to be confirmed as a part–time member for the Youth Parole Authority; and

The Senate Judiciary Confirmation Committee met on September 2, 2022, and reports a favorable recommendation for Mr. Gage Arnold to be confirmed as a part–time member for the Youth Parole Authority; and

The Senate Judiciary Confirmation Committee met on September 2, 2022, and reports a favorable recommendation for Ms. Becki Bronsonto be confirmed as a part-time member for the Youth Parole Authority.

Michael S. Kennedy, Chair

* * *

On motion of Senator Bramble, the Senate vote to consent to the Governor's appointments on the following roll call vote:

August 30, 2022

August 26, 2022

Voting in the affirmative were: Senators			
Anderegg	Bramble	Buxton	Cullimore
Davis	Escamilla	Harper	Hinkins
Ipson	Iwamoto	Johnson	Kennedy
Kitchen	Mayne	McCay	McKell
Millner	Owens	Sandall	Stevenson
Vickers Adams	Weiler	Wilson	Winterton
Absent or not voting were: Senators			
Fillmore	Grover	Riebe	Thatcher

Yeas, 25; Nays, 0; Absent or not voting, 4.

SPECIAL RECOGNITION

A citation was read honoring the Lao American Community in Utah.

* * *

President Adams directed Senator Cullimore to notify the Governor's representative that the Senate has concluded its business.

Senator Cullimore reported that Governor's representative had been notified and that the Senate has concluded its business.

On motion of Senator Cullimore, and at 4:35 p.m., the Senate adjourned sine die.