STATE OF UTAH

SENATE JOURNAL

FIFTH EXTRAORDINARY SESSION of the SIXTY-Fifth LEGISLATURE

The Senate of the Sixty-Fifth Legislature of the State of Utah met in the Senate Chamber at the State Capital Complex in the Fifth Extraordinary Session at 8:00 a.m. on Wednesday, September 15, 2021.

The Senate was called to order at 8:08 a.m. with President J. Stuart Adams presiding.

Prayer - Senator Ronald Winterton
Pledge of Allegiance - Senator Scott Sandall

Jennifer Storie, Secretary of the Senate, read the following communication:

PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, since the close of the 2021 General Session of the 64th Legislature of the State of Utah, certain matters have arisen which require immediate legislative attention; and

WHEREAS, Article VII, Section 6 of the Constitution of the State of Utah provides that the Governor may, by proclamation, convene the Senate into Extraordinary Session; and

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Spencer J. Cox, Governor of the State of Utah, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution and Laws of the State of Utah, do by this Proclamation call the Senate only of the 64th Legislature of the State of Utah into the Fifth Extraordinary Session at the Utah State Capitol in Salt Lake City, Utah, on the 15th day of September 2021, at 8:00 a.m., for the following purpose:

For the Senate to consent to appointments made by the Governor to positions within state government of the State of Utah since the close of the 2021 General Session of the Legislature of the State of Utah.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Utah. Done at the Utah State Capitol in Salt Lake City, Utah, this 14th day of September 2021.

Spencer J. Cox Governor Deidre M. Henderson Lieutenant Governor

* * *

Roll call – All Senators present

On motion of Senator Buxton, the Senate voted to adopt the Senate Rules of the 2021 Fourth Extraordinary Session of the Sixty-Fifth Legislature as the rules for the Fifth Extraordinary Session.

President Adams appointed Senator Kirk Cullimore to notify the Governor's representative that the Senate is convened in the Fifth Extraordinary Session.

Senator Cullimore advised the Senate that the Governor's representative has been notified of the convening of the Fifth Extraordinary Session.

COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE GOVERNOR

Mr. President: June 22, 2021

I am pleased to inform you that I have appointed Craig Hall as a Judge of the Second District Court, pursuant to Article VIII, Section 8 of the Utah Constitution and Utah Code Section 78A-10-101.

Thank you for your timely consideration and confirmation of Mr. Hall.

Spencer J. Cox Governor

Mr. President:

August 12, 2021

The Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee met on September 13, 2021, and reports a favorable recommendation for Mr. Craig Hall to be confirmed to the position of Judge in the Second District Court.

Todd D. Weiler, Chair

On motion of Senator Weiler, the Senate voted to consent to the Governor's appointment of Craig Hall. Senators Anderegg, Riebe, Sandall, and McKell commented and the motion passed on the following roll call vote:

Yeas, 27; Nays, 0; Absent or not voting, 2.

Voting in the affirmative were: Senators

Anderegg	Bramble	Buxton	Cullimore
Davis	Fillmore	Harper	Hinkins
Ipson	Iwamoto	Johnson	Kennedy
Kitchen	Mayne	McCay	McKell
Millner	Owens	Riebe	Sandall
Stevenson	Thatcher	Vickers	Weiler
Wilson	Winterton	Adams	

Absent or not voting were: Senators

Escamilla Grover

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

On motion of Senator Vickers, Judge Craig Hall spoke in Committee of the Whole.

On motion of Senator Vickers, the Committee of the Whole was dissolved.

* * *

ADVISE AND CONSENT

Mr. President:

July, 2021

In accordance with Utah Code 67–1–1 and 67–1–2, I propose and transmit the following appointments. A list of legal requirements for each position and documentation that the appointees meet the legal requirements is found in the addenda to this letter.

Board of Oil Gas and Mining

Richard Borden is reappointed as a member of the Board of Oil Gas and Mining, a term to expire February 28, 2024, 2024 See Utah Code 40-6-4 UCA.

Selma Sierra is appointed to replace Mike Brown as a member of the Board of Oil Gas and Mining, a term to expire February 28, 2024, 2024 See Utah Code 40–6–4 UCA.

Alan Walker is appointed to replace Susan Davis as a member of the Board of Oil Gas and Mining, a term to expire February 28, 2024, 2024 See Utah Code 40–6–4 UCA.

Gordon Moon is reappointed as a member of the Board of Oil Gas and Mining, a term to expire February 28, 2024 See Utah Code 40–6–4 UCA.

I hereby certify that the individuals listed in this letter meet the legal requirements for the respective positions. Thank you for your timely consideration and confirmation of the above appointments.

Spencer J. Cox Governor

On motion of Senator Vickers, the Senate voted to waive the 30-day statutory requirement for the Utah Communications Authority Board appointments.

Mr. President: September, 2021

In accordance with Utah Code 67–1–1 and 67–1–2, I propose and transmit the following appointments. A list of legal requirements for each position and documentation that the appointees meet the legal requirements is found in the addenda to this letter.

Utah Communications Authority Board

Randy Swalberg is reappointed as a member of the Utah Communications Authority Board, a term to expire August 1, 2025, See Utah Code 63H–7a–203 UCA.

Clint Topham is reappointed as a member of the Utah Communications Authority Board, a term to expire August 1, 2025, See Utah Code 63H-7a-203 UCA.

Lance Davenport is reappointed as chair of the Utah Communications Authority Board, a term to expire, August 1, 2023, See Utah Code 63H-7a-203 UCA

I hereby certify that the individuals listed in this letter meet the legal requirements for the respective positions. Thank you for your timely consideration and confirmation of the above appointments.

Spencer J. Cox Governor

On motion of Senator Bramble, the Senate vote to consent to the Governor's appointments on the following roll call vote:

Yeas, 27; Nays, 0; Absent or not voting, 2.

Voting in the affirmative were: Senators

Anderegg	Bramble	Buxton	Cullimore
Davis	Fillmore	Harper	Hinkins
Ipson	Iwamoto	Johnson	Kennedy
Kitchen	Mayne	McCay	McKell
Millner	Owens	Riebe	Sandall
Stevenson	Thatcher	Vickers	Weiler
Wilson	Winterton	Adams	

Absent or not voting were: Senators

Escamilla Grover

President Adams directed Senator Cullimore to notify the Governor's representative that the Senate has concluded its business.

Senator Cullimore reported that Governor's representative had been notified and that the Senate has concluded its business.

On motion of Senator Vickers, and at 8:30 a.m., the Senate adjourned sine die.