PRO	OPERTY TAX ASSESSMENT APPEAL AMENDMENTS
	2017 GENERAL SESSION
	STATE OF UTAH
LONG TITL	E
<b>General Desc</b>	eription:
This b	ill establishes the time periods for filing an appeal under the Farmland
Assess	sment Act and the Urban Farming Assessment Act.
Highlighted I	Provisions:
This b	ill:
► est	ablishes the time periods for filing an appeal under the Farmland Assessment Ac
and	d the Urban Farming Assessment Act; and
► ma	akes technical changes.
Money Appro	opriated in this Bill:
None	
Other Specia	l Clauses:
None	
Utah Code Se	ections Affected:
AMENDS:	
59-2-5	606, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2014, Chapter 279
59-2-1	705, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2014, Chapters 279 and 413
ENACTS:	
59-2-5	<b>16</b> , Utah Code Annotated 1953
59-2-1	<b>713</b> , Utah Code Annotated 1953
D 1	
	by the Legislature of the state of Utah:
	n 1. Section <b>59-2-506</b> is amended to read:
	06. Rollback tax Penalty Computation of tax Procedure Lien
	tice Collection Distribution Appeal to county board of equalization.
	scept as provided in this section, Section 59-2-506.5, or Section 59-2-511, if land
	from this part, the land is subject to a rollback tax imposed in accordance with
this section.	

33	(2) (a) An owner shall notify the county assessor that land is withdrawn from this part
34	within 120 days after the day on which the land is withdrawn from this part.
35	(b) An owner that fails to notify the county assessor under Subsection (2)(a) that land is
36	withdrawn from this part is subject to a penalty equal to the greater of:
37	(i) \$10; or
38	(ii) 2% of the rollback tax due for the last year of the rollback period.
39	(3) (a) The county assessor shall determine the amount of the rollback tax by
40	computing the difference for the rollback period described in Subsection (3)(b) between:
41	(i) the tax paid while the land was assessed under this part; and
42	(ii) the tax that would have been paid had the property not been assessed under this
43	part.
44	(b) For purposes of this section, the rollback period is a time period that:
45	(i) begins on the later of:
46	(A) the date the land is first assessed under this part; or
47	(B) five years preceding the day on which the county assessor mails the notice required
48	by Subsection (5); and
49	(ii) ends the day on which the county assessor mails the notice required by Subsection
50	(5).
51	(4) (a) The county treasurer shall:
52	(i) collect the rollback tax; and
53	(ii) after the rollback tax is paid, certify to the county recorder that the rollback tax lien
54	on the property has been satisfied by:
55	(A) preparing a document that certifies that the rollback tax lien on the property has
56	been satisfied; and
57	(B) providing the document described in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A) to the county recorder
58	for recordation.
59	(b) The <u>county treasurer shall pay the</u> rollback tax collected under this section [shall]:
60	(i) [be paid] into the county treasury; and
61	(ii) [be paid by the county treasurer] to the various taxing entities pro rata in
62	accordance with the property tax levies for the current year.
63	(5) (a) The county assessor shall mail to an owner of the land that is subject to a

64 rollback tax a notice that: 65 (i) the land is withdrawn from this part; 66 (ii) the land is subject to a rollback tax under this section; and 67 (iii) the rollback tax is delinquent if the owner of the land does not pay the tax within 68 30 days after the day on which the county assessor mails the notice described in this Subsection 69 (5)(a). 70 (b) (i) The rollback tax is due and payable on the day the county assessor mails the 71 notice required by Subsection (5)(a). 72 (ii) Subject to Subsection (7), the rollback tax is delinquent if an owner of the land that 73 is withdrawn from this part does not pay the rollback tax within 30 days after the day on which 74 the county assessor mails the notice required by Subsection (5)(a). 75 (6) (a) Subject to Subsection (6)(b), the following are a lien on the land assessed under 76 this part: 77 (i) the rollback tax; and 78 (ii) interest imposed in accordance with Subsection (7). 79 (b) The lien described in Subsection (6)(a) shall: 80 (i) arise upon the imposition of the rollback tax under this section; 81 (ii) end on the day on which the rollback tax and interest imposed in accordance with 82 Subsection (7) are paid in full; and 83 (iii) relate back to the first day of the rollback period described in Subsection (3)(b). 84 (7) (a) A delinquent rollback tax under this section shall accrue interest: 85 (i) from the date of delinquency until paid; and 86 (ii) at the interest rate established under Section 59-2-1331 and in effect on January 1 87 of the year in which the delinquency occurs. 88 (b) [A] The county treasurer shall include in the notice required by Section 59-2-1317 a 89 rollback tax that is delinquent on September 1 of any year [shall be included on the notice required by Section 59-2-1317, along with and interest calculated on that delinquent amount 90

(8) (a) Land that becomes ineligible for assessment under this part only as a result of an amendment to this part is not subject to the rollback tax if the owner of the land notifies the

through November 30 of the year in which the county treasurer provides the notice under

91

92

93

94

Section 59-2-1317.

county assessor, in accordance with Subsection (2), that the land is withdrawn from this part [in accordance with Subsection (2)].

97

98

99

100

101

102

103

104

105

106

107

108

109

110

111

112

113

114

115

116

117

- (b) Land described in Subsection (8)(a) that is withdrawn from this part as a result of an event other than an amendment to this part, whether voluntary or involuntary, is subject to the rollback tax.
- (9) Except as provided in Section 59-2-511, land that becomes exempt from taxation under Utah Constitution. Article XIII, Section 3, is not subject to the rollback tax if the land meets the requirements of Section 59-2-503 to be assessed under this part.
- (10) Land that becomes ineligible for assessment under this part only as a result of a split estate mineral rights owner exercising the right to extract a mineral is not subject to the rollback tax:
- (a) (i) for the portion of the land required by a split estate mineral rights owner to extract a mineral if, after the split estate mineral rights owner exercises the right to extract a mineral, the portion of the property that remains in agricultural production still meets the acreage requirements of Section 59-2-503 for assessment under this part; or
- (ii) for the entire acreage that would otherwise qualify for assessment under this part if, after the split estate mineral rights owner exercises the right to extract a mineral, the entire acreage that would otherwise qualify for assessment under this part no longer meets the acreage requirements of Section 59-2-503 for assessment under this part only due to the extraction of the mineral by the split estate mineral rights owner; and
- (b) for the period of time that the property described in Subsection (10)(a) is ineligible for assessment under this part due to the extraction of a mineral by the split estate mineral rights owner.
- [(11) (a) Subject to Subsection (11)(b), an owner of land may appeal to the county board of equalization:]
- [(i) a decision by a county assessor to withdraw land from assessment under this part; 121 or]
- 122 [(ii) the imposition of a rollback tax under this section.]
- [(b) An owner shall file an appeal under Subsection (11)(a) no later than 45 days after
  the day on which the county assessor mails the notice required by Subsection (5).]
- Section 2. Section **59-2-516** is enacted to read:

126	59-2-516. Appeal to the county board of equalization.
127	Notwithstanding Section 59-2-1004 or 63G-4-301, the owner of land may appeal the
128	determination or denial of a county assessor to the county board of equalization within 45 days
129	after the day on which:
130	(1) the county assessor makes a determination under this part; or
131	(2) the county assessor's failure to make a determination results in the owner's request
132	being considered denied under this part.
133	Section 3. Section <b>59-2-1705</b> is amended to read:
134	59-2-1705. Rollback tax Penalty Computation of tax Procedure Lien
135	Interest Notice Collection Distribution Appeal to county board of equalization.
136	(1) Except as provided in this section or Section 59-2-1710, land that is withdrawn
137	from this part is subject to a rollback tax imposed as provided in this section.
138	(2) (a) An owner shall notify the county assessor that land is withdrawn from this part
139	within 120 days after the day on which the land is withdrawn from this part.
140	(b) An owner who fails to notify the county assessor under Subsection (2)(a) that land
141	is withdrawn from this part is subject to a penalty equal to the greater of:
142	(i) \$10; or
143	(ii) 2% of the rollback tax due for the last year of the rollback period.
144	(3) (a) The county assessor shall determine the amount of the rollback tax by
145	computing the difference for the rollback period described in Subsection (3)(b) between:
146	(i) the tax paid while the land was assessed under this part; and
147	(ii) the tax that would have been paid had the property not been assessed under this
148	part.
149	(b) For purposes of this section, the rollback period is a time period that:
150	(i) begins on the later of:
151	(A) the date the land is first assessed under this part; or
152	(B) five years preceding the day on which the county assessor mails the notice required
153	by Subsection (5); and
154	(ii) ends the day on which the county assessor mails the notice required by Subsection
155	(5).
156	(4) (a) The county treasurer shall:

157	(i) collect the rollback tax; and
158	(ii) after the rollback tax is paid, certify to the county recorder that the rollback tax lien
159	on the property has been satisfied by:
160	(A) preparing a document that certifies that the rollback tax lien on the property has
161	been satisfied; and
162	(B) providing the document described in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A) to the county recorder
163	for recording.
164	(b) The <u>county treasurer shall pay the</u> rollback tax collected under this section [shall]:
165	(i) [be paid] into the county treasury; and
166	(ii) [be paid by the county treasurer] to the various taxing entities pro rata in
167	accordance with the property tax levies for the current year.
168	(5) (a) The county assessor shall mail to an owner of the land that is subject to a
169	rollback tax a notice that:
170	(i) the land is withdrawn from this part;
171	(ii) the land is subject to a rollback tax under this section; and
172	(iii) the rollback tax is delinquent if the owner of the land does not pay the tax within
173	30 days after the day on which the county assessor mails the notice <u>described in this Subsection</u>
174	(5)(a).
175	(b) (i) The rollback tax is due and payable on the day the county assessor mails the
176	notice required by Subsection (5)(a).
177	(ii) Subject to Subsection (7), the rollback tax is delinquent if an owner of the land that
178	is withdrawn from this part does not pay the rollback tax within 30 days after the day on which
179	the county assessor mails the notice required by Subsection (5)(a).
180	(6) (a) Subject to Subsection (6)(b), the rollback tax and interest imposed under
181	Subsection (7) are a lien on the land assessed under this part.
182	(b) The lien described in Subsection (6)(a) shall:
183	(i) arise upon the imposition of the rollback tax under this section;
184	(ii) end on the day on which the rollback tax and interest imposed under Subsection (7)
185	are paid in full; and
186	(iii) relate back to the first day of the rollback period described in Subsection (3)(b).
187	(7) (a) A delinquent rollback tax under this section shall accrue interest:

188	(i) from the date of delinquency until paid; and
189	(ii) at the interest rate established under Section 59-2-1331 and in effect on January 1
190	of the year in which the delinquency occurs.
191	(b) [A] The county treasurer shall include in the notice required by Section 59-2-1317 a
192	rollback tax that is delinquent on September 1 of any year [shall be included on the notice
193	required by Section 59-2-1317, along with] and interest calculated on that delinquent amount
194	through November 30 of the year in which the county treasurer provides the notice under
195	Section 59-2-1317.
196	(8) (a) Land that becomes ineligible for assessment under this part only as a result of an
197	amendment to this part is not subject to the rollback tax if the owner of the land notifies the
198	county assessor, in accordance with Subsection (2), that the land is withdrawn from this part
199	[in accordance with Subsection (2)].
200	(b) Land described in Subsection (8)(a) that is withdrawn from this part as a result of
201	an event other than an amendment to this part, whether voluntary or involuntary, is subject to
202	the rollback tax.
203	(9) Except as provided in Section 59-2-1710, land that becomes exempt from taxation
204	under Utah Constitution, Article XIII, Section 3, is not subject to the rollback tax if the land
205	meets the requirements of Section 59-2-1703 to be assessed under this part.
206	[(10) (a) Subject to Subsection (10)(b), an owner of land may appeal to the county
207	board of equalization:]
208	[(i) a decision by a county assessor to withdraw land from assessment under this part;
209	or]
210	[(ii) the imposition of a rollback tax under this section.]
211	[(b) An owner shall file an appeal under Subsection (10)(a) no later than 45 days after
212	the day on which the county assessor mails the notice required by Subsection (5).]
213	Section 4. Section <b>59-2-1713</b> is enacted to read:
214	59-2-1713. Appeal to the county board of equalization.
215	Notwithstanding Section 59-2-1004 or 63G-4-301, the owner of land may appeal the
216	determination or denial of a county assessor to the county board of equalization within 45 days
217	after the day on which:
218	(1) the county assessor makes a determination under this part; or

219 (2) the county assessor's failure to make a determination results in the owner's request

being considered denied under this part.