Infrastructure and General Government

Appropriations Subcommittee


The committee chairs have scheduled the following meeting:


                                    DATE:       Tuesday, June 20, 2017

                                    TIME:       1:15 p.m.

                                    PLACE:     Room 445, State Capitol Building


                                                        COMMITTEE MEMBERS               


Sen. Wayne A. Harper, Chair

Rep. Gage Froerer, Chair

Rep. Walt Brooks, House Vice Chair


                  Sen. J. Stuart Adams                                         Rep. Craig Hall

                  Sen. Jacob L. Anderegg                                     Rep. Lynn N. Hemingway

                  Sen. D. Gregg Buxton                                       Rep. John Knotwell

                  Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard                                        Rep. A. Cory Maloy

                  Sen. David P. Hinkins                                       Rep. Mike K. McKell

                  Sen. Karen Mayne                                             Rep. Merrill F. Nelson

                                                                                          Rep. Dixon M. Pitcher

                                                                                          Rep. Marie H. Poulson

                                                                                          Rep. Mike Schultz


Staff:           Brian Wikle, Fiscal Analyst                               Sean Faherty, Fiscal Analyst

                                                                                          Cami Thorpe, Secretary






Please be aware that the public portions of this meeting will be broadcast live over the Internet. Also, be aware that an audio recording of the public portions of this meeting, along with any materials presented or distributed in the public portions of this meeting, will be posted on the Legislature’s website. Witnesses with questions or concerns should contact staff.


In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, persons needing auxiliary communicative aids and services for these meetings should call the Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel at 801-538-1032 or use Relay Utah (toll free in-state 7-1-1 or Spanish-language 888-346-3162), giving them at least 48 hours notice or the best notice practicable.




Infrastructure and General Government

Appropriations Subcommittee


Tuesday, June 20, 2017



1.     Call to Order


2.     Approval of Minutes (February 10 & 14)


3.     Base Budget Overview

a.      Explanation of How the Base Budget Bill is Generated

b.     Comparison of 2018 Base, 2018 Total Appropriations, and 2019 Base

c.      Introduction of “Deep Dive” Budgeting


4.     Department of Administrative Services Base Budget and Performance Measures


5.     Capital Budgets Base Budget


6.     Department of Transportation Base Budget and Performance Measures


7.     Prison and Transportation General Obligation Bond Issuance Update


8.     State Fairpark Arena Update


9.     Other Business / Adjourn