Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environmental Quality

Appropriations Subcommittee


The committee chairs have scheduled the following meeting:


                                    DATE:      Tuesday, June 20, 2017

                                    TIME:       8:30 a.m.

                                    PLACE:    Room 210, Senate Building




Sen. David P. Hinkins, Chair

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair

Rep. Scott H. Chew, House Vice Chair


                  Sen. Jim Dabakis                                              Rep. Carl R. Albrecht

                  Sen. Margaret Dayton                                       Rep. Stewart E. Barlow

                  Sen. Don Ipson                                                 Rep. Susan Duckworth

                  Sen. Peter C. Knudson                                      Rep. Stephen G. Handy

                  Sen. Ralph Okerlund                                         Rep. Karen Kwan

                  Sen. Evan Vickers                                            Rep. Michael E. Noel

                                                                                          Rep. Lee B. Perry

                                                                                          Rep. Douglas V. Sagers

                                                                                          Rep. Keven J. Stratton

                                                                                          Rep. Christine F. Watkins



Staff:          Ivan D. Djambov, Fiscal Analyst                       Alex Wilson, Fiscal Analyst

                                                                                          Greta Rodebush, Secretary



Please be aware that the public portions of this meeting will be broadcast live over the Internet. Also, be aware that an audio recording of the public portions of this meeting, along with any materials presented or distributed in the public portions of this meeting, will be posted on the Legislature’s website. Witnesses with questions or concerns should contact staff.


In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, persons needing auxiliary communicative aids and services for this meeting should call the Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel at 801-538-1032 or use Relay Utah (toll free in-state 7-1-1 or Spanish-language 888-346-3162), giving them at least 48 hours notice or the best notice practicable.



Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environmental Quality

Appropriations Subcommittee

Tuesday, June 20, 2017, 8:30 a.m.



1.      8:30 a.m.      Call to Order


2.      8:31 a.m.      State Parks: Possible Expansions of Parks and Services


3.      8:50 a.m.      Approval of Minutes


4.      8:55 a.m.      Intro to LFA Tools: Data Viz


5.      9:05 a.m.      Intro to Legislators’ Assignments


6.      9:15 a.m.      LFA Budget Review: Water Rights


7.      9:30 a.m.      Water Rights Adjudication, Pilot Project: Results, Plans, Goals


8.      9:50 a.m.      Water Rights Adjudication, Special Master: Results, Plans, Goals


9.      10:05 a.m.    Plans for Potential Harmful Algal Blooms


10.  10:20 a.m.    DEQ’s Electronic Tools for Environmental Issues


11.  10:30 a.m.    Impacts from the Gold King Mine Spill


12.  10:45 a.m.             Wild Horses and Burros: DWR Plan for the Appropriations


13.  11:00 a.m.    Other Business