# MINUTES OF THE SENATE NATURAL RESOURCES, AGRICULTURE, AND ENVIRONMENT STANDING COMMITTEE

Wednesday, January 25, 2017 • 2:07 pm • 415 State Capitol

Members Present:Sen. Brian E. ShiozawaSen. Margaret Dayton, ChairSen. Evan J. Vickers

Sen. Allen M. Christensen

Sen. David P. Hinkins Staff Present:

Sen. Jani Iwamoto Mr. J Brian Allred, Policy Analyst

Sen. Peter C. Knudson Ms. Paula Morgan, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of others present, a copy of related materials, and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at le.utah.gov.

Sen. Dayton assumed the chair.

Chair Dayton called the meeting to order.

Sen. Shiozawa assumed the chair.

#### 1. S.B. 66 Administrative Law Judge Amendments (Dayton, M.)

Sen. Margaret Dayton explained the bill and Alan Matheson, Executive Director, Department of Environmental Quality, presented information.

**MOTION:** Sen. Dayton moved to pass S.B. 66 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote

of 6-0-1.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Christensen A, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Shiozawa B, Vickers E

Absent or not voting was:

Hinkins D

#### 2. S.B. 67 Hunting Mentor Program (Christensen, A.)

Sen. Allen M. Christensen explained the bill.

Greg Sheehan, Director, Wildlife Resources, spoke for the bill.

**MOTION:** Sen. Christensen moved to pass S.B. 67 out favorably. The motion passed with a

vote of 7-0-0.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Christensen A, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Shiozawa B,

Vickers E

Senate Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Standing Committee January 25, 2017

Page 2

### 3. S.B. 79 Waste Management Amendments (Adams, J. S.)

Sen. J. Stuart Adams explained the bill.

Ashley Soltysiak, Policy Director Heal Utah, spoke against the bill

Scott Baird, Deputy Director at Utah Department of Environmental Quality, spoke to the bill.

**MOTION:** Sen. Hinkins moved to pass S.B. 79 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 5-1-1.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Hinkins D, Knudson P, Shiozawa B, Vickers E

Voting in the negative was:

Iwamoto J

Absent or not voting was:

Christensen A

## 4. S.C.R. 3 Concurrent Resolution Requesting the Department of Energy Adequately Fund the Uranium Mill Tailings Remedial Action Project (Hinkins, D.)

Sen. David P. Hinkins explained the bill.

**MOTION:** Sen. Hinkins moved to amend S.C.R. 3 with Amendment #1.

- 1. Page 3, Line 65:
  - 65 WHEREAS, the fiscal year 2017 { budget allocation of 3.86 million for the project
- 2. Page 4, Line 100:

health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Grand County, Utah, and all of the 27 million <u>downstream</u>

The motion passed with a vote of 6-0-1.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Shiozawa B, Vickers E

Absent or not voting was:

Christensen A

Mayor David Sakrison, Moab spoke in favor of the bill.

Senate Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Standing Committee January 25, 2017

Page 3

**MOTION:** Sen. Hinkins moved to pass S.C.R. 3 out favorably. The motion passed with a

vote of 6-0-1.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Shiozawa B, Vickers E

Absent or not voting was:

Christensen A

Sen. Shiozawa assumed the chair.

# 5. S.B. 15 Agriculture Protection Area and Industrial Protection Area Amendments (Dayton, M.)

Sen. Margaret Dayton explained the bill.

Bill Lee, Utah County Commissioner, spoke in favor of the bill.

Sterling Brown, Utah Farm Bureau, spoke in favor of the bill.

Luann Adams, Commissioner of Agriculture and Food, spoke in favor of the bill.

**MOTION:** Sen. Dayton moved to pass S.B. 15 out favorably. The motion passed with a

vote of 6-0-1.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Shiozawa B, Vickers E

Absent or not voting was:

Christensen A

**MOTION:** Sen. Dayton moved to place S.B. 15 on the Consent Calendar. The motion

passed with a vote of 6-0-1.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Shiozawa B, Vickers E

Absent or not voting was:

Christensen A

### 6. S.B. 11 Water Development Commission Amendments (Dayton, M.)

**MOTION:** Sen. Dayton moved to replace S.B. 11 with 1st Substitute S.B. 11. The

motion passed with a vote of 6-0-1.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Shiozawa B, Vickers E

Senate Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Standing Committee January 25, 2017

Page 4

Absent or not voting was: Christensen A

Sen. Margaret Dayton presented the bill.

**MOTION:** Sen. Dayton moved to amend S.B. 11 first substitute 1 with Amendment #1.

The motion passed with a vote of 5-0-2.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Shiozawa B

Absent or not voting were: Christensen A, Vickers E

1. Page 3, Lines 60 through 65:

- 60 or reappointed to a { four-year term.
- 61 { (b) The [governor] legislative management committee shall, at the time of appointment
- 62 or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of [board] commission
- 63 members are staggered so that approximately half of the nonvoting members of the
- 64 commission are appointed every two years.
- 65 (e) When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the [governor] legislative

Steve Erickson, Utah Audubon Society, spoke to the bill.

Phil Dean, Budget Director, Governor's Office of Budget, spoke to the bill.

**MOTION:** Sen. Dayton moved to amend S.B. 11 first substitute with Amendment #2.

The motion passed with a vote of 6-0-1.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Shiozawa B, Vickers E

Absent or not voting was:

Christensen A

1. Page 3, Line 58:

58 (3) (a) { Except as required by Subsection (3)(b), the members appointed by the

Senate Natural Resources, Agriculture	, and Environment Standing Committee
January 25, 2017	
Page 5	

**MOTION:** Sen. Dayton moved to pass S.B. 11 out favorably.first substitute.The motion

passed with a vote of 6-0-1. Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Shiozawa B, Vickers E

Absent or not voting was:

Christensen A

**MOTION:** Acting Chair Shiozawa moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of

6-0-1.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Shiozawa B, Vickers E

Absent or not voting was:

Christensen A

Acting Chair Shiozawa adjourned the meeting.

Sen. Margaret Dayton, Chair