MINUTES OF THE HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

Thursday, February 2, 2017 • 4:00 p.m. • 450 State Capitol

Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair Rep. Merrill F. Nelson, Vice Chair

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht
Rep. Patrice M. Arent
Rep. Kay J. Christofferson
Rep. Keith Grover

Rep. Walt Brooks

Rep. Keven J. Stratton

Rep. Scott H. Chew
Rep. Lynn N. Hemingway

Staff Present:

Rep. A. Cory Maloy

Mr. Adam J. Sweet, Policy Analyst

Ms. Wendy Hill, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of others present, a copy of related materials, and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at le.utah.gov.

Chair Handy called the meeting to order at 4:03 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Hemingway moved to approve the minutes of January 30, 2017. The motion

passed with a vote of 6-0-5.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. P. Arent

Rep. W. Brooks Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Chew
Rep. S. Handy
Rep. M. Nelson
Rep. L. Hemingway
Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. A. Maloy

1. H.B. 109 Public Utility Regulatory Restricted Account Amendments (Pitcher, D.)

Rep. Pitcher explained the bill with the assistance of Ms. Francine Giani, Utah Department of Commerce.

House Public Utilities, Energy, and Technology Standing Committee February 2, 2017

Page 2

MOTION: Rep. Arent moved to replace H.B. 109 with 1st Substitute H.B. 109. The motion passed with a vote of 7-0-4.

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
Rep. C. Albrecht		Rep. K. Christofferson
Rep. P. Arent		Rep. K. Grover
Rep. W. Brooks		Rep. M. Nelson
Rep. S. Chew		Rep. K. Stratton
Rep. S. Handy		
Rep. L. Hemingway		
Rep. A. Maloy		

MOTION: Rep. Arent moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 109 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7-0-4.

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. S. Chew Rep. S. Handy		Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. K. Grover Rep. M. Nelson Rep. K. Stratton
Rep. L. Hemingway Rep. A. Maloy		

MOTION: Rep. Albrecht moved to place 1st Substitute H.B. 109 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed with a vote of 7-0-4.

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
Rep. C. Albrecht		Rep. K. Christofferson
Rep. P. Arent		Rep. K. Grover
Rep. W. Brooks		Rep. M. Nelson
Rep. S. Chew		Rep. K. Stratton
Rep. S. Handy		
Rep. L. Hemingway		
Rep. A. Maloy		

House Public Utilities, Energy, and Technology Standing Committee February 2, 2017 Page 3

2. 1st Sub. S.B. 14 Emergency Telephone Service Amendments (Harper, W.)

Sen. Wayne A. Harper explained the bill.

Mr. David J. Spatafore, lobbyist spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Arent moved to replace 1st Substitute S.B. 14 with 2nd Substitute S.B. 14. The motion passed with a vote of 7-0-4.

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
Rep. C. Albrecht		Rep. K. Christofferson
Rep. P. Arent		Rep. K. Grover
Rep. W. Brooks		Rep. M. Nelson
Rep. S. Chew		Rep. K. Stratton
Rep. S. Handy		
Rep. L. Hemingway		
Rep. A. Maloy		

MOTION: Rep. Arent moved to pass 2nd Substitute S.B. 14 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7-0-4.

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
Rep. C. Albrecht		Rep. K. Christofferson
Rep. P. Arent		Rep. K. Grover
Rep. W. Brooks		Rep. M. Nelson
Rep. S. Chew		Rep. K. Stratton
Rep. S. Handy		
Rep. L. Hemingway		
Rep. A. Maloy		

House Public Utilities, Energy, and Technology Standing Committee February 2, 2017 Page 4

MOTION: Rep. Arent moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 7-0-4.

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. S. Chew Rep. S. Handy Rep. L. Hemingway Rep. A. Maloy		Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. K. Grover Rep. M. Nelson Rep. K. Stratton
Chair Handy adjourned the meet	ing at 4:27 p.m.	

Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair