MINUTES OF THE HOUSE POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS STANDING COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 14, 2017 • 2:00 pm • 450 State Capitol

Members Present:	Rep. R. Curt Webb
Rep. Dixon M. Pitcher, Chair	Rep. Elizabeth Weight
Rep. Craig Hall, Vice Chair	Rep. Logan Wilde
Rep. James A. Dunnigan	

Rep. Keith Grover
Rep. Karen Kwan

Members Absent:
Rep. Raymond P. Ward

Rep. Val K. Potter
Rep. Marie H. Poulson

Staff Present:

Rep. Susan Pulsipher Ms. Megan L. Bolin, Policy Analyst Rep. Marc K. Roberts Ms. Wendy Hill, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of others present, a copy of related materials, and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at le.utah.gov.

Chair Pitcher called the meeting to order at 2:04 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Potter moved to approve the minutes of the February 8, 2017 and February 13, 2017 meetings. The motion passed with a vote of 10-0-3.

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
Rep. K. Grover		Rep. J. Dunnigan
Rep. C. Hall		Rep. M. Poulson
Rep. K. Kwan		Rep. R. Ward
n n n: 1		

Rep. D. Pitcher Rep. V. Potter Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. R. Webb

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

1. 1st Sub. H.B. 298 Free Expression Regulation by Local Government (Thurston, N.)

Rep. Norman K. Thurston explained the bill.

Mr. John Mejia, Legal Director, American Civil Liberties Union, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ms. Elizabeth Klc, Operations and Planning Coordinator, Utah Association of Counties, spoke in favor of the bill.

House Political Subdivisions Standing Committee February 14, 2017 Page 2

Mr. Lynn Pace, Senior Advisor, Intergovernmental Affairs, Salt Lake Mayor's Office, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Webb moved to replace 1st Substitute H.B. 298 with 2nd Substitute H.B. 298. The motion passed with a vote of 12-0-1.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. R. Ward

Rep. K. Grover

Rep. C. Hall

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. D. Pitcher

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. R. Webb

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

MOTION: Rep. Roberts moved to pass 2nd Substitute H.B. 298 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 12-0-1.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. R. Ward

Rep. K. Grover

Rep. C. Hall

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. D. Pitcher

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. R. Webb

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

MOTION: Rep. Grover moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 12-0-1.

House Political Subdivisions Standing Committee February 14, 2017 Page 3

Yeas:

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. K. Grover

Rep. C. Hall

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. D. Pitcher

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. R. Webb

Rep. E. Weight

Chair Pitcher adjourned the meeting at 2:28 p.m.

Rep. L. Wilde