MINUTES OF THE HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

Friday, February 17, 2017 • 9:00 a.m. • 450 State Capitol

Members Present:Rep. A. Cory MaloyRep. Stephen G. Handy, ChairRep. Keven J. Stratton

Rep. Merrill F. Nelson, Vice Chair
Rep. Carl R. Albrecht
Rep. Patrice M. Arent

Rep. Keith Grover

Rep. Patrice M. Arent
Rep. Walt Brooks

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson Mr. Adam J. Sweet, Policy Analyst Rep. Lynn N. Hemingway Ms. Wendy Hill, Committee Secretary

Staff Present:

Note: A list of others present, a copy of related materials, and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at le.utah.gov.

Vice Chair Nelson called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Handy moved to approve the minutes of the February 13, 2017, and February 15, 2017, meetings. The motion passed with a vote of 8-0-3.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Rep. P. Arent
Rep. W. Brooks
Rep. K. Grover
Rep. S. Chew
Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. L. Hemingway

Rep. Scott H. Chew

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. M. Nelson

1. H.B. 307 Energy and Innovation Research Grant Program (Peterson, J.)

Rep. Jeremy A. Peterson explained the bill with the assistance of Dr. Laura Nelson, Governor's Office of Energy Development.

Mr. Ben Hart, Governor's Office of Economic Development, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. James Campbell, Rocky Mountain Power, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Arent moved to replace H.B. 307 with 1st Substitute H.B. 307. The motion

House Public Utilities, Energy, and Technology Standing Committee February 17, 2017

Page 2

passed with a vote of 8-0-3.

1		
Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. L. Hemingway Rep. A. Maloy Rep. M. Nelson Rep. K. Stratton		Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Grover Rep. S. Handy

MOTION: Rep. Albrecht moved to hold 1st Substitute H.B. 307. The motion passed with a vote of 8-0-3.

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks		Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Grover Rep. S. Handy

Rep. W. Brooks Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. L. Hemingway

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. Stratton moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 8-0-3. **MOTION:**

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks		Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Grover Rep. S. Handy

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. L. Hemingway

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Stratton

Vice Chair Nelson adjourned the meeting at 9:44 a.m.

Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair