Title 57 Chapter 17 Section 3

Real Estate
Residential Renters' Deposits
Section 3
Deductions from deposit -- Written itemization -- Time for return.

            

57-17-3.   Deductions from deposit -- Written itemization -- Time for return.

            (1) Upon termination of a tenancy, the owner or the owner's agent may apply property or money held as a deposit toward the payment of rent, damages to the premises beyond reasonable wear and tear, other costs and fees provided for in the contract, or cleaning of the unit.

            (2) No later than 30 days after the day on which a renter vacates and returns possession of a rental property to the owner or the owner's agent, the owner or the owner's agent shall deliver to the renter at the renter's last known address:

            (a) the balance of any deposit;

            (b) the balance of any prepaid rent; and

            (c) if the owner or the owner's agent made any deductions from the deposit or prepaid rent, a written notice that itemizes and explains the reason for each deduction.

            (3) If an owner or the owner's agent fails to comply with the requirements described in Subsection (2), the renter may serve the owner or the owner's agent, in accordance with Subsection (4), a notice that:

            (a) states:

            (i) the names of the parties to the rental agreement;

            (ii) the day on which the renter vacated the rental property;

            (iii) that the owner or the owner's agent has failed to comply with the requirements described in Subsection (2); and

            (iv) the address where the owner or the owner's agent may send the items described in Subsection (2); and

            (b) is substantially in the following form:

TENANT'S NOTICE TO PROVIDE DEPOSIT DISPOSITION

TO: (insert owner or owner's agent's name)

            RE: (insert address of rental property)

            NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT WITHIN FIVE (5) CALENDAR DAYS pursuant to Utah Code Sections 57-17-3 et seq., the owner or the owner's agent must provide the tenant, at the address below, a refund of the balance of any security deposit, the balance of any prepaid rent, and a notice of any deductions from the security deposit or prepaid rent as allowed by law.

            NOTICE IS FURTHER GIVEN that failure to comply with this notice will require the owner to refund the entire security deposit, the full amount of any prepaid rent, and a penalty of $100. If the entire security deposit, the full amount of any prepaid rent, and the penalty of $100 is not tendered to the tenant, and the tenant is required to initiate litigation to enforce the provisions of the statute, the owner may be liable for the tenant's court costs and attorney fees.

Tenant's Name(s):_____________________________________

Mailing Address_____________________ City____________ State_____ Zip_______

This is a legal document. Please read and comply with the document's terms.

Dated this ______ day of _____________, 20____.

Return of Service

            On this _____ day of ____________, 20____, I swear and attest that I served this notice in compliance with Utah Code Section 57-17-3 by:

            ____ Delivering a copy to the owner or the owner's agent personally at the address provided in the lease agreement;

            ____ Leaving a copy with a person of suitable age and discretion at the address provided in the lease agreement because the owner or the owner's agent was absent from the address provided in the lease agreement;

            ____ Affixing a copy in a conspicuous place at the address provided in the lease agreement because a person of suitable age or discretion could not be found at the address provided in the lease agreement; or

            ____ Sending a copy through registered or certified mail to the owner or the owner's agent at the address provided in the lease agreement.

The owner's address to which the service was effected is:

Address________________________ City______________ State_____ Zip_______

_________________ (server's signature)

Self-Authentication Declaration

Pursuant to Utah Code Section 46-5-101, I declare under criminal penalty of the State of Utah that the foregoing is true and correct.

Executed this _____ day of _____________, 20____.

___________________ (server's signature)

            (4) A notice described in Subsection (3) shall be served:

            (a) (i) by delivering a copy to the owner or the owner's agent personally at the address provided in the lease agreement;

            (ii) if the owner or the owner's agent is absent from the address provided in the lease agreement, by leaving a copy with a person of suitable age and discretion at the address provided in the lease agreement; or

            (iii) if a person of suitable age or discretion cannot be found at the address provided in the lease agreement, by affixing a copy in a conspicuous place at the address provided in the lease agreement; or

            (b) by sending a copy through registered or certified mail to the owner or the owner's agent at the address provided in the lease agreement.

            (5) Within five business days after the day on which the notice described in Subsection (3) is served, the owner or the owner's agent shall comply with the requirements described in Subsection (2).


Amended by Chapter 397, 2014 General Session