
WHO IS IN THE REGISTRY?
MANDATED REGISTRANTS

Registration is mandatory for: 1) an adult, or any juvenile

certified as an adult, who has been convicted of or has

entered a plea in abeyance in Utah to a covered offense; 

2) an individual attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to

commit a felony covered offense; 3) an individual

committed to a state mental hospital for the commission or

alleged commission of a covered offense; and 

4) a non-resident offender of a covered offense who is a

student or who works in the State of Utah. 

CURRENT OFFENDERS

Of the 6,382 offenders currently in the registry, 783

(12.3%) are on probation, 655 (10.3%) are on parole,

1584 (24.8%) are incarcerated, 2902 (45.5%) have been

discharged from UDC, 50 (.08%) are waiting for a new

sentence, and 408 (6.4%) were convicted in another state.

DURATION OF REGISTRATION

An offender is registered upon conviction and registration

continues for 10 years after termination of the sentence.

Lifetime registration is required for some violent predators.

OPERATION OF THE REGISTRY
The Department of Corrections (UDC) is required to

develop, operate, and maintain Utah's sex offender

registry.

SOURCES OF OFFENDER INFORMATION  

Law enforcement agencies are required by state law to

notify UDC of the arrest of a person suspected of any

offense, which, if convicted, would require registration.

The convicting courts are required to submit a copy of 

the judgment and sentence to UDC.  County Sheriffs are

required to register covered offense offenders who are 

not placed under UDC's supervision or custody. UDC is

required to register all offenders placed under its

supervision or in its custody. 

 

VALIDATION AND RE-REGISTRATION PROCEDURES  

Offenders must register annually with the probation and

parole office responsible for the jurisdiction of residence

and also within 10 days of every change of address. For

lifetime parolees (sexually violent predators), address

verification is required every 60 days. 

 

Data: Utah Department of Corrections

PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REGISTER

Violation is a Class A misdemeanor, with a mandatory

term of incarceration of not less than 90 days and also at

least one year of probation.

 

AVAILABILITY OF SEX OFFENDER

INFORMATION
TO LAW ENFORCEMENT AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE

AGENCIES  

UDC employees and any Utah law enforcement agency

may access the UDC Offender Tracking System (O-

Track). The Sex Offender Registry notifies law

enforcement agencies on a monthly basis of offenders

who are being paroled or discharged from prison.

TO ORGANIZATIONS SERVING CHILDREN   

The State Office of Education has been notified of all

registered sex offenders who report employment within

the education system since the registry's creation in 1987.

TO THE PUBLIC

UDC displays all current registrants on the Internet.

Information is also available upon written request.  Public

access began in 1996, adding Internet access in 1998,

and further improvements in 2000. 

INTERNET WEBSITE

The UDC Internet registry website contains all current

registrants.  The registry location is:

http://www.cr.ex.state.ut.us 
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COVERED OFFENSES

Offense Penalty Utah Code Section

Enticing a Minor Over the Internet felony or class A misdemeanor 76-4-401

Kidnaping of a Child 1st degree felony 76-5-301.1

Unlawful Sexual Activity with a Minor  any felony violation 76-5-401

Sexual Abuse of a Minor (14-16 year old) class A misdemeanor 76-5-401.1

Unlawful Sexual Conduct (16-17 year old) 3rd degree felony 76-5-401.2

Rape 1st degree felony 76-5-402

Rape of a Child 1st degree felony 76-5-402.1

Object Rape 1st degree felony 76-5-402.2

Object Rape of a Child 1st degree felony 76-5-402.3

Forcible Sodomy 1st degree felony 76-5-403

Sodomy on a Child 1st degree felony 76-5-403.1

Forcible Sexual Abuse 2nd degree felony 76-5-404

Sexual Abuse of a Child 2nd degree felony 76-5-404.1

Aggravated Sexual Abuse of a Child 1st degree felony 76-5-404.1

Aggravated Sexual Assault      1st degree felony 76-5-405

Sexual Exploitation of a Minor 2nd degree felony 76-5a-3

Incest  3rd degree felony 76-7-102

Lewdness Involving a Child class A misdemeanor 76-9-702.5

Aggravated Exploitation of Prostitution 2nd degree felony 76-10-1306

CRIMINAL PENALTIES

Penalty Fines 

Not Exceeding

Incarceration

Infraction $750 No incarceration

Class C misdemeanor $750 Not to exceed 90 days

Class B misdemeanor $1,000 Not to exceed 6 months

Class A misdemeanor $2,500 Not to exceed 1 year

Third degree felony $5,000 Not to exceed 5 years, but with enhancements for use of a

dangerous weapon

Second degree felony $10,000 Not less than 1 year, and not more than 15 years, but with

enhancements for use of a dangerous weapon 

First degree felony $10,000 Not less than 5 years, unless otherwise provided by statute,

and up to life

Capital felony $10,000 Death penalty or life in prison without parole
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