
Utah's Street Racing Law

Note: The following is a summary of Utah laws that apply to street racing.  Other laws may apply in any
street racing incident, including other traffic violations, based on the specific circumstances of the
incident.

Current law

41-6a-606.   Speed contest or exhibition on highway -- Barricade or obstruction.

 (1)  A person may not:
 (a) engage in any motor vehicle speed contest or exhibition of speed on a highway; or 
 (b) aid or abet in any motor vehicle speed contest or exhibition on any highway.
 (2)  A person may not, in any manner, obstruct or place any barricade or obstruction or 
assist or participate in placing any barricade or obstruction upon any highway for any 

purpose prohibited under Subsection (1).

Penalties

• Class C misdemeanor - a violator may be:
< imprisoned for a term not exceeding 90 days ( Sec. 76-3-204); and
< sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding $750 (Sec. 76-3-301).

• The current fines recommended by the Judicial Council are:
< $107  ($82 in juvenile court) for exhibition driving; and
< $232  ($142 in juvenile court) for a speed contest.

• A mandatory court appearance is required for engaging in a speed contest.
• Driver License Sanctions: 

< Points are assessed against the person's driver license, and if the driver exceeds
certain point totals, the driver is put on probation or the driver's license is
suspended for a certain period of time. 

Other street racing violations

• Reckless driving -  a driver must operate a vehicle in a willful or wanton disregard for
the safety of persons or property or commit three or more traffic violations in a series of
acts within a single continuous period of driving (Sec. 41-6a-528).
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