
Utah Uninsured Motorist Provisions

 
Insurance Required: A person is required to maintain insurance on a vehicle 

operated on a highway within the state. (Utah Code Ann. § 41-
12a-301)

Evidence of Insurance Required: A person is required to carry evidence of insurance when 
operating a motor vehicle and be able to display it upon 
demand of a peace officer. (Utah Code Ann. § 41-12a-303.2)

Evidence of Insurance: Evidence of insurance includes an insurance policy, 
renewal notice, or card issued by an insurance company, 
information on the Uninsured Motorist Identification 

Database that the vehicle is insured, a certified copy of a 
surety bond, a certificate of the state treasurer, or a 
certificate of self-funded coverage. Information on the 

Uninsured Motorist Database supercedes all other evidence. 
(Utah Code Ann. § 41-12a-303.2)

Penalties and Fines: It is a class B misdemeanor if insurance is not maintained 
on a vehicle or if evidence of insurance is not carried when 
operating a motor vehicle. It is an affirmative defense if the 
person had insurance on the vehicle at the time of arrest. 
There is a fine of not less than $400 for a first offense and 
not less than $1,000 for a second or subsequent offense. 
(Utah Code Ann. § 41-12a-302, -303.2)

False Information: It is a class B misdemeanor to provide false evidence of 
insurance to a peace officer or a false or fraudulent 
statement to the Motor Vehicle Division or the designated 
agent that administers the Uninsured Motorist Identification 
Database Program. (Utah Code Ann. 41-12a-303.3, -804) 

Driver License Suspension: The Department of Public Safety shall suspend a person's 
driver license upon receiving notification from a court of a 
conviction of an insurance provision and may not renew 
the person's driver license until evidence of insurance is 
provided. (Utah Code Ann. § 41-12a-303.2)

SR-22 Certificate: If a person's driver license is revoked for violating an 
insurance provision, the person shall maintain evidence of 
insurance with the Department of Public Safety for a three-
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year period. If provided by an insurer, this evidence is 
provided in the form of an SR-22 certificate. (Utah Code Ann. 
41-12a-401,-402)

Registration Requirement: The Tax Commission may require an owner to swear, 
affirm or present other evidence of insurance at the time of 
vehicle registration. (Utah Code Ann. 41-12a-303)

Registration Revocation: The Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division shall revoke a 
vehicle registration if it receives notice of a violation of a 
vehicle insurance provision. After a revocation, the 
applicant is required to pay a $100 registration 
reinstatement fee. (Utah Code Ann. 41-1a-110 and 41-1a-1220)

Uninsured Motorist Database: The Department of Public Safety is required to contract 
with a third-party designated agent to maintain a database 
to identify uninsured motor vehicles. Insurance companies 
are required to provide a monthly record of current motor 
vehicle insurance policies. The designated agent compares 
insured motor vehicle information with vehicle registration 
records to identify uninsured motor vehicles. The program 
costs are funded by a $1 fee on each motor vehicle 
registration and the revenues received from the registration 
reinstatement fee. (Utah Code Ann. § 41-1a-1218 and 41-12a-803,
-804, -806)

Uninsured Notifications: If a motor vehicle is identified as uninsured on the database 
for three consecutive months, the owner is sent a notice 
allowing 15 days to provide proof of insurance. If the 

owner fails to provide proof, a second notice is sent 
allowing an additional 15 days to provide proof. (Utah Code 
Ann. 41-12a-804)

Registration Revocation: Following a second notice, if the owner fails to provide 
proof of insurance, the Motor Vehicle Division is notified 
and a letter is sent revoking the owner's registration.  After 
a revocation, the owner is required to pay a $100 
registration reinstatement fee to register the vehicle. (Utah 
Code Ann. § 41-1a-110(2) and 41-12a-804)


