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Why? 
• Motorized (Off-highway Vehicle-OHV) community pays 

their way. 

         Want services and these services are funded by: 
– State registration fees 

– State gas tax  

– County property 

– Federal gas tax 

 

• Non-motorized (human powered) community pays close 
to nothing. 

  Want services and there is no funding source 
 except: 
– Federal gas tax (Recreational Trails Program Grant -RTP) 
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Non-motorized Funding History 

• Utah Trails and Pathways Program 
– program funded with general funds appropriated by legislature 

– 50/50 matching fiscal assistance grant to government agencies for planning, land acquisition, 
and development of non-motorized trails 

– program offered trail technical assistance and training 

– program grants funded and developed, numerous hiking, biking, nordic skiing, walking and 
equestrian trails  

– due to budget reductions and no secure funding source, the program was eliminated in 2011 

 

• LeRay McAllister Critical Land Conservation Fund 
– provided 50% match for projects and some projects funded non-motorized trails 

– last known funds available were in 2004 

 

• Recreational Trails Program (RTP) 
– 50/50 macthcing fiscal assistance grant to government agencies 

– average annual amount received $1.8, divided between motorized and non-motorized 

– funds provided from a federal fuel tax, so motorized essentially is paying non-motorized trail 
opportunities 

– we do not know the future of this program 
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Trail Locations 

• Most non-motorized trails exist upon public lands and the  
Division of State Parks and Recreation mission is; “To 
enhance the quality of life by preserving and providing 
natural, cultural, and recreational resources for the 
enjoyment, education, and inspiration of this and future 
generations.” 

• This means providing services to Utah citizens and 
visitors, to Utah, along with securing recreational 
opportunities 

• Since the Trails and Pathways program has been 
eliminated, should we purse a funding source for non-
motorized recreational opportunities? 
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Funding Examples 
City trail pass example:  

• Newark, New Jersey trail pass and fees 

– Horse Back Riding: 

 Newark resident $19.00 

 Non-Newark resident $34.50 

– Hiking/Cross Country Skiing: 

 Newark resident $6.00 

 Non-Newark resident $12.00 

 Newark senior citizen $3.00 

 Non-Newark senior citizen $6.00 

 

State trail pass examples: 

• Wisconsin State Park System State trail pass 

– state trail pass is required for all people age 16 or older biking, in-line skating, horseback 
riding, cross-country skiing, or off-highway motorcycling on certain trails 

– state trail pass is not required for walking or hiking  

– state trail pass is issued to the person, not the bike, horse, motorcycle, etc. It is non-
transferable, meaning the pass cannot be passed from person to person or shared with 
others 

– state trail pass must be filled out to be valid. A vehicle admission sticker is required if you 
park or take your motor vehicle within the boundaries of a state park, forest or recreation 
area 

– State trail pass annual fee: resident or non-resident $20, daily $4 
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• Colorado Search and Rescue Card (CORSAR) 

– purchase a CORSAR card one contributes to the Colorado Search and Rescue fund 

– reimburses costs incurred in your search and rescue 

– anyone with a current hunting/fishing license, or boat, snowmobile, ATV registration is  
covered by the fund 

– CORSAR card is not insurance 

– does not reimburse individuals nor does it pay for medical transport 

– medical transport includes helicopter flights or ground ambulance. If aircraft is used as a 
search vehicle, those costs are reimbursed by the fund. If the aircraft becomes a medical 
transport due to a medical emergency, the medical portion of the transport is not covered. 

– CORSAR cards are available for $3 for one year and $12 for five years, and can be 
purchased at over 300 retailers in the state 

 

• Washington  

– promotes the use of a pass whether it is managed by the federal government or the State of 
Washington 

– Federal recreation sites include: national forests; national parks; national wildlife refuges; 
national historic sites; Bureau of Land Management lands; and places managed by the 
Bureau of Reclamation. An America the Beautiful Interagency pass gets named passholders 
into all of these sites; a Northwest Forest Pass allows trailhead parking on national forests 
only 

– Washington state lands include: Washington State Parks; Washington Department of Natural 
Resource lands (state forests, natural resource conservation areas, natural area preserve; 
and Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife lands 

– there is not currently one pass that covers both 
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Parking permit examples: 

• California  

– the Mountains Recreation and Conservation Authority requires 

an annual parking permit covering various trailheads 

– cost for a multi-park weekday five (5) day permit is $300.00/yr 

and cost for a multi-park seven (7) day permit is $450.00/yr 

 
• Others? ? ? 
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