
• HB 437 • Active Enrollment 
• Web-based Education and Enrollment
• Multiple Emails & Benefit Booklets
• HSA Comparison Letter
• 90 Presentations, 5 Webinars, Benefit 

Fairs
• 9000 Employees
• DHRM Outbound Calls
• 87% Actively Enrolled 
•  



• State Enrollment 2012-13



• HB 46 • Automatic cHIE Enrollment 
Unless Opt Out

• Clinical Health Information 
Exchange

• Enables Electronic Transfer of 
Records under Current Transfer 
Standards 

• Multiple Emails
• Web-based Enrollment and Opt-

out 
• Additional Notices



• The cHIE at myPEHP

State employees 
can manage their 
cHIE options 
from myPEHP
at www.pehp.org.

http://www.pehp.org/


• The cHIE Enrollment



• HB 272 • Two-year Autism Pilot Program 
• Children Between 2 to 6 with 

Autism Spectrum Disorder
• $30,000 Total Benefit 
• 80/20 Co-insurance 
• 23 Children Approved for 

Treatment
• 5 Provider Groups and 12 

Providers  



• Supreme Court Ruling• Impact on State of Utah

KEY PPACA PROVISIONS
» Immediate

›  Market reforms

» 2014
› Health exchanges with 
subsides up to 400%
› Individual mandate 
› Medicaid expansion to 133% of 
poverty



• Supreme Court Ruling• Impact on State of Utah

NFIB V. SEBELIUS

» Court has jurisdiction to hear 
the case because mandate is a 
“penalty” for standing analysis.
» Individual mandate is a tax and 
thus constitutional on that ground 
and not the commerce clause.
» Medicaid expansion is an 
unconstitutional burden without a 
state’s consent.
» All other provisions upheld.



• Supreme Court Ruling• Impact on State of Utah

STATE RISK POOL
» No Impact for Medicaid 
Expansion or Individual 
Mandate.
» 1.75% Increase or $4.7 Million 
for Implemented Provisions:
› Coverage until age 26 
regardless of marriage and no 
pre-existing exclusion for 
children.
› No lifetime or annual dollar 
limits.
› Additional patient 
protections in appeals 
process.
› No cost sharing for 
preventive care.



• Supreme Court Ruling• Impact on State of Utah

STATE RISK POOL
» Starting next year, new Summary 
of Benefits and Coverage 
requirement.
   › Starting January 2013, reduction 
of FLEX$ contribution to $2,500.
  › Starting January 2014, no pre-
existing exclusions for adults.
   › Possibility, starting in 2016, of 
state employees going to the 
exchange and the state paying 
$3,000 penalty if an employee has to 
pay more than 9.5% of household 
income for coverage or state pays 
less than 60%
    › Possibility, starting in 2018, of 
state paying Cadillac Tax at the rate 
of 40% for every dollar over $10,200 
for an individual and $27,500 for a 
family, indexed to CPI, not medical, 
($4,877, $13,423)
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