According to the 2007 Rape in Utah survey, 15.7% of rapes and 17.8% of attempted rapes against
Utah women are committed by boyfriends or ex-boyfriends.

In a survey of University of Utah students, 22% reparted physical violence, 36% jealous controlling behavior,
: and 47% emotional abuse in dating relationships in the previous 12 months.

EVERYONE IN UTAH DESERVES TO BE SAFE

Some individuals criticize about the few days a respondent will have to wait to be heard before a judge. The

truth to the matter is, a judge reads the PO application and determines if it merits someone to be safe, and |
sets a hearing within 20 days. The average wait in Utah is 10-14 days. This respondent can do whatever they
want during those 10-14 days except contact the person who applied for the PO.

Protective Order: “Cohabitant” victims of physical
violence or threats 16 years or older. “Civil”
provisions regarding children are valid for 180 days
and punishable by civil contempt. Criminal provisions
such as “no contact” are indefinite in duration (but
respondent can move to dismiss after two years).

Civil Stalking Injunction: Anyone (no age or
cohabitant requirement) who has been subject to
two or more incidents of stalking thaf would place a
reasonable person to fear for his/her safety or
suffer other emotional distress. Requires
corroborating evidence.

H.B. 315 Dating Violence Definition: is 18 years of age or older; is, or has been, in a dating relationship §
with the other party; and is not, and has not been, a cohabitant of the other party. "Dating relationship"
means a social relationship of romantic or intimate nature, regardless of whether the relationship involves
sexual intimacy. "Dating relationship” does not include: a casual relationship; or casual fraternization

between two individuals in a business, educational, or social context.
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Representative J. Seelig
For individuals who go on one date or who are dating and they are sexually assaulted or
abused by their dating partner, no protection order is available for them. In order for
them to acquire a stalking injunction there has to be at least two incidentis of abuse,
and, because they do not live together or have a child in common they cannot obtain a
protective order. This bill provides protection for victims of abuse before they enter into
permanent relationships (living together, married or have a child in common} that
regular protective orders and stalking injunctions do not address. This bill fills a gap in
Utah code protecting victims who are not protected by juvenile taws and who are not
protected under Utah's co-habitant abuse act, but are still subjected to serious abuse
and violence in dating relationships.
o This bill protects individuals who are emancipated or 18 years of age ( Lines 46-48)
e The dating violence definition for this bill is: is, or has been, in a dating
relationship with the other party; and is not, and has not been, a cohabitant of the
~other party. "Dating relationship” means a social relationship of romantic or

intimate nature, regardless of whether the relationship involves sexual intimacy.

"Dating relationship" does not include: a casual relationship; or casual

fraternization between two individuals in a business, educational, or social

context (Lines 52-55)

Providing a protective order under this law will not restrict individuals rights under

the Federal Gun Act because the term dating partner does not fit under the

category of intimate partner required for firearm removal. A dating partner is not

an “intimate partner” for purposes of invoking the Federal Gun Act (Lines 50, 150 - 154)

Dating violence protective orders are processed and enforced like all other
protective orders

In Utah (Lines 157-233)

A dating violence protective order cannot exclude the respondent from the same
school or employment of the petitioner (Lines 144-149)

A judge reads the dating violence protective order application and sets a hearing
within 20 days. The average wait for a hearing in Utah is 10-14 days. The only
thing a respondent cannot do is contact the petitioner of the dating violence
protective order (lines 192-199)

Under this bilt a violation of a dating violence protection order is a class B
misdemeanor (Lines 234-235)

A dating violence protective order remains in place for 180 days (Lines 155-1586)

Weapons Restriction Clarification: In a dating violence protective order, the victim
may request the court to order the respondent to not own, have access to or use
weapons (firearms, knives, etc.) while the dating violence protective order is in effect
(180 days). This weapons restriction, if violated, is enforceable only as a violation of
the state dating violence protective order, a class B misdemeanor. The federal
prohibitions against owning, using, or accessing firearms are not triggered. A dating
partner is not an “intimate partner”




