
12-17-12  DRAFT 2013FL-0108/005

HEALTH SYSTEM REFORM AMENDMENTS1

2013 GENERAL SESSION2

STATE OF UTAH3

 4

LONG TITLE5

General Description:6

This bill amends provisions in the Insurance Code and in Governor's Programs related7

to health system reform.8

Highlighted Provisions:9

This bill:10

< authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to regulate the state insurance market as it11

transitions to new rating practices and requirements of federal law;12

< gives insurance producers and agents the authority to sell, solicit and negotiate13

health insurance on a federal health insurance exchange;14

< establishes the requirements for a navigator license;15

< amends provision related to establishing a separate class of business for the16

individual health insurance market and the small group health insurance market;17

< gives the commissioner administrative rulemaking authority to facilitate the health18

insurance market transition to new federal requirements including:19

C rate restrictions; and20

C creating uniform open enrollment periods for the individual health 21

insurance market offered on a federal exchange and the non-exchange 22

individual market;23

< removes the requirement that a carrier in the Defined Contribution Arrangement24

Market must offer certain health benefit products in the Defined Contribution25

Market;26

< extends the sunset date for the Risk Adjuster Board for the Defined Contribution27

Arrangement Market;28

< makes technical amendments; and29

< re-authorizes the Health System Reform Task Force until December 30, 2015.30

Money Appropriated in this Bill:31

This bill appropriates in fiscal year 2013-14:32
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< to the Legislature-Senate as a one time appropriation:33

C from the General Fund, One-time, $30,00034

< to the Legislature-House as a one time appropriation:35

C from the General Fund, One-time, $52,00036

Other Special Clauses:37

This bill provides an immediate effective date.38

Utah Code Sections Affected:39

AMENDS:40

31A-2-212, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapters 284 and 40041

31A-23a-204, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapters 284 and 34242

31A-30-104, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapter 40043

31A-30-105, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapter 28444

31A-30-107.3, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapter 29745

31A-30-115, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Second Special Session, Chapter 546

31A-30-202.5, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Second Special Session, Chapter47

548

31A-30-205, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapter 40049

31A-30-208, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapter 40050

63I-2-231 (Superseded 07/01/13), as last amended by Laws of Utah 2012, Chapter 27951

63I-2-231 (Effective 07/01/13), as last amended by Laws of Utah 2012, Chapters 24352

and 27953

ENACTS:54

31A-23a-208, Utah Code Annotated 195355

31A-23b-101, Utah Code Annotated 195356

31A-23b-102, Utah Code Annotated 195357

31A-23b-201, Utah Code Annotated 195358

31A-23b-202, Utah Code Annotated 195359

31A-23b-203, Utah Code Annotated 195360

31A-23b-204, Utah Code Annotated 195361

31A-23b-205, Utah Code Annotated 195362

31A-23b-206, Utah Code Annotated 195363
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31A-23b-207, Utah Code Annotated 195364

31A-23b-208, Utah Code Annotated 195365

31A-23b-209, Utah Code Annotated 195366

31A-23b-210, Utah Code Annotated 195367

31A-23b-211, Utah Code Annotated 195368

31A-23b-301, Utah Code Annotated 195369

31A-23b-401, Utah Code Annotated 195370

31A-23b-402, Utah Code Annotated 195371

31A-23b-403, Utah Code Annotated 195372

31A-23b-404, Utah Code Annotated 195373

31A-30-117, Utah Code Annotated 195374

Uncodified Material Affected:75

ENACTS UNCODIFIED MATERIAL76

 77

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:78

Section 1.  Section 31A-2-212 is amended to read:79

31A-2-212.   Miscellaneous duties.80

(1)  Upon issuance of an order limiting, suspending, or revoking a person's authority to81

do business in Utah, and when the commissioner begins a proceeding against an insurer under82

Chapter 27a, Insurer Receivership Act, the commissioner:83

(a)  shall notify by mail the producers of the person or insurer of whom the84

commissioner has record; and85

(b)  may publish notice of the order or proceeding in any manner the commissioner86

considers necessary to protect the rights of the public.87

(2)  When required for evidence in a legal proceeding, the commissioner shall furnish a88

certificate of authority of a licensee to transact the business of insurance in Utah on any89

particular date.  The court or other officer shall receive the certificate of authority in lieu of the90

commissioner's testimony.91

(3) (a)  On the request of an insurer authorized to do a surety business, the92

commissioner shall furnish a copy of the insurer's certificate of authority to a designated public93
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officer in this state who requires that certificate of authority before accepting a bond.94

(b)  The public officer described in Subsection (3)(a) shall file the certificate of95

authority furnished under Subsection (3)(a).96

(c)  After a certified copy of a certificate of authority is furnished to a public officer, it97

is not necessary, while the certificate of authority remains effective, to attach a copy of it to any98

instrument of suretyship filed with that public officer.99

(d)  Whenever the commissioner revokes the certificate of authority or begins a100

proceeding under Chapter 27a, Insurer Receivership Act, against an insurer authorized to do a101

surety business, the commissioner shall immediately give notice of that action to each public102

officer who is sent a certified copy under this Subsection (3).103

(4) (a)  The commissioner shall immediately notify every judge and clerk of the courts104

of record in the state when:105

(i)  an authorized insurer doing a surety business:106

(A)  files a petition for receivership; or107

(B)  is in receivership; or108

(ii)  the commissioner has reason to believe that the authorized insurer doing surety109

business:110

(A)  is in financial difficulty; or111

(B)  has unreasonably failed to carry out any of its contracts.112

(b)  Upon the receipt of the notice required by this Subsection (4), it is the duty of the113

judges and clerks to notify and require a person that files with the court a bond on which the114

authorized insurer doing surety business is surety to immediately file a new bond with a new115

surety.116

(5) (a)  The commissioner shall, subject to the requirement to report to the Legislature117

in Section 63M-1-2505.5, require an insurer that issues, sells, renews, or offers health118

insurance coverage in this state to comply with[:(a)  the Health Insurance Portability and119

Accountability Act, Pub. L. No. 104-191; and(b)  subject to Section 63M-1-2505.5, and to the120

extent required or applicable under the provisions of the Patient Protection and Affordable121

Care Act, Pub. L. No. 111-148 and the Health Care Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, Pub.122

L. No. 111-152,] the provisions of PPACA related to regulation of health benefit plans,123

including:124
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(i)  lifetime and annual limits;125

(ii)  prohibition of rescissions;126

(iii)  coverage of preventive health services;127

(iv)  coverage for a child or dependent;128

(v)  pre-existing condition coverage for children;129

(vi)  insurer transparency of consumer information including plan disclosures, uniform130

coverage documents, and standard definitions;131

(vii)  premium rate reviews;132

(viii)  essential benefits and qualified health plans;133

(ix)  provider choice;134

(x)  waiting periods; [and]135

(xi)  appeals processes[.]:136

(xii)  rating restrictions;137

(xiii)  uniform applications and notice provisions; and138

(xiv)  designation of qualified health plans offered in a PPACA exchange.139

(b)  The commissioner, as permitted by state law and federal law:140

(i)  shall preserve state control over:141

(A)  the health insurance market in the state;142

(B)  qualified health plans offered in the state; and143

(C)  the conduct of navigators, producers, and in person assistors in a PPACA exchange144

operating in the state; and145

(ii)  may enter into agreements with the federal government to preserve state control146

over the activities or conduct within the state by a health insurer, producer, navigator, or in147

person consumer assistant.148

Section 2.  Section 31A-23a-204 is amended to read:149

31A-23a-204.   Special requirements for title insurance producers and agencies.150

A title insurance producer, including an agency, shall be licensed in accordance with151

this chapter, with the additional requirements listed in this section.152

(1) (a)  A person that receives a new license under this title as a title insurance agency,153

shall at the time of licensure be owned or managed by at least one individual who is licensed154

for at least three of the five years immediately preceding the date on which the title insurance155
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agency applies for a license with both:156

(i)  a search line of authority; and157

(ii)  an escrow line of authority.158

(b)  A title insurance agency subject to Subsection (1)(a) may comply with Subsection159

(1)(a) by having the title insurance agency owned or managed by:160

(i)  one or more individuals who are licensed with the search line of authority for the161

time period provided in Subsection (1)(a); and162

(ii)  one or more individuals who are licensed with the escrow line of authority for the163

time period provided in Subsection (1)(a).164

(c)  A person licensed as a title insurance agency shall at all times during the term of165

licensure be owned or managed by at least one individual who is licensed for at least three166

years within the preceding five-year period with both:167

(i)  a search line of authority; and168

(ii)  an escrow line of authority.169

(d)  The Title and Escrow Commission may by rule, subject to Section 31A-2-404,170

exempt an attorney with real estate experience from the experience requirements in Subsection171

(1)(a).172

(2) (a)  A title insurance agency or producer appointed by an insurer shall maintain:173

(i)  a fidelity bond;174

(ii)  a professional liability insurance policy; or175

(iii)  a financial protection:176

(A)  equivalent to that described in Subsection (2)(a)(i) or (ii); and177

(B)  that the commissioner considers adequate.178

(b)  The bond, insurance, or financial protection required by this Subsection (2):179

(i)  shall be supplied under a contract approved by the commissioner to provide180

protection against the improper performance of any service in conjunction with the issuance of181

a contract or policy of title insurance; and182

(ii)  be in a face amount no less than $50,000.183

(c)  The Title and Escrow Commission may by rule, subject to Section 31A-2-404,184

exempt title insurance producers from the requirements of this Subsection (2) upon a finding185

that, and only so long as, the required policy or bond is generally unavailable at reasonable186
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rates.187

(3)  A title insurance agency or producer appointed by an insurer may maintain a188

reserve fund to the extent money was deposited before July 1, 2008, and not withdrawn to the189

income of the title insurance producer.190

(4)  An examination for licensure shall include questions regarding the search and191

examination of title to real property.192

(5)  A title insurance producer may not perform the functions of escrow unless the title193

insurance producer has been examined on the fiduciary duties and procedures involved in those194

functions.195

(6)  The Title and Escrow Commission shall adopt rules, subject to Section 31A-2-404,196

after consulting with the department and the department's test administrator, establishing an197

examination for a license that will satisfy this section.198

(7)  A license may be issued to a title insurance producer who has qualified:199

(a)  to perform only searches and examinations of title as specified in Subsection (4);200

(b)  to handle only escrow arrangements as specified in Subsection (5); or201

(c)  to act as a title marketing representative.202

(8) (a)  A person licensed to practice law in Utah is exempt from the requirements of203

Subsections (2) and (3) if that person issues 12 or less policies in any 12-month period.204

(b)  In determining the number of policies issued by a person licensed to practice law in205

Utah for purposes of Subsection (8)(a), if the person licensed to practice law in Utah issues a206

policy to more than one party to the same closing, the person is considered to have issued only207

one policy.208

(9)  A person licensed to practice law in Utah, whether exempt under Subsection (8) or209

not, shall maintain a trust account separate from a law firm trust account for all title and real210

estate escrow transactions.211

Section 3.  Section 31A-23a-208 is enacted to read:212

31A-23a-208.  Producer and agency authority in health insurance exchange.213

A producer or agency licensed under this chapter, with a line of authority that permits214

the producer or agency to sell negotiate or solicit accident and health insurance, is authorized to215

sell, negotiate, or solicit accident and health insurance on a PPACA compliant health insurance216

exchange operated in the state.217
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Section 4.  Section 31A-23b-101 is enacted to read:218

CHAPTER 23b.  NAVIGATOR AND IN-PERSON ASSISTOR LICENSE ACT219

Part 1.  General Provisions220

31A-23b-101.  Title.221

This chapter is known as the "Navigator License Act."222

Section 5.  Section 31A-23b-102 is enacted to read:223

31A-23b-102.  Definitions.224

As used in this chapter:225

(1)  "Compensation" is as defined in:226

(a)  Subsections 31A-23a-501(1)(a),(b) and (d); and227

(b)  PPACA.228

(2)  "Enroll" and "enrollment" mean to:229

(a) (i)  obtain personally identifiable information about an individual; and230

(ii)  inform an individual about accident and health insurance plans or public programs231

offered on an exchange;232

(b)  solicit insurance; or233

(c)  submit to the exchange:234

(i)  personally identifiable information about an individual; and235

(ii)  an individual's selection of a particular accident and health insurance plan or public236

program offered on the exchange.237

(3)  "Exchange":238

(a)  is as defined in PPACA; and239

(b)  does not include a website that provides information about or enrollment in240

accident and health insurance if that website is not operating as the PPACA exchange in the241

state.242

(4)  "Navigator":243

(a)  means a person who facilitates enrollment in an exchange by offering to assist, or244

advertises any services to assist an individual or small employer group with:245

(i)  the selection of and enrollment in an accident and health insurance plan or a public246

program offered on the exchange; or247

(ii)  applying for premium subsidies through the exchange; and248
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(b)  includes a person who is an in person assistor as described in:249

(i)  federal regulations or guidance issued under PPACA; and250

(ii)  the state exchange blueprint published by the Center for Consumer Information and251

Insurance Oversight within the Centers For Medicaid and Medicare Services in the United252

States Department of Health and Human Services.253

(5)  "Personally identifiable information" is as defined in Section 155.260 of the254

PPACA federal regulations.255

(6)  "Public programs" means the state Medicaid program in Title 26, Chapter 18,256

Medical Assistance Act and Chapter 40, Utah Children's Health Insurance Act.257

(7)  "Solicit" is as defined in 31A-23a-102.258

Section 6.  Section 31A-23b-201 is enacted to read:259

Part 2.  Licensing260

31A-23b-201.  Requirement of license.261

(1) (a)  Except as provided in Section 31A-23b-211, a person may not perform, offer to262

perform, or advertise any service as a navigator in the state, without:263

(i)  a valid navigator license issued under this chapter; or264

(ii)  a valid producer license under Subsection 31A-23a-106(2)(a) with a line of265

authority that permits the person to sell, negotiate, or solicit accident and health insurance.266

(b)  A person may not utilize the services of another as a navigator if that person knows267

or should know that the other does not have a license as required by law.268

(2)  An insurance contract is not invalid as a result of a violation of this section.269

Section 7.  Section 31A-23b-202 is enacted to read:270

31A-23b-202.  Qualifications for a license.271

(1) (a)  The commissioner shall issue or renew a license to a person described in272

Subsection (1)(b) to act as a navigator.273

(b)  The commissioner shall issue or renew a license under Subsection (1)(a) to a274

person who:275

(i)  satisfies the:276

(A)  application requirements under Section 31A-23b-203;277

(B)  character requirements under Section 31A-23b-204;278

(C)  examination and training requirements under Section 31A-23b-205; and279
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(D)  continuing education requirements under Section 31A-23b-206; and280

(ii)  certifies that, to the extent applicable, the applicant:281

(A)  is in compliance with the surety bond requirements of Section 31A-23b-207; and282

(B)  will maintain compliance with Section 31A-23b-207 during the period for which283

the license is issued or renewed; and284

(iii)  has not committed an act that is a ground for denial, suspension, or revocation as285

provided in Section 31A-23b-401.286

(2) (a)  A person shall report to the commissioner:287

(i)  an administrative action taken against the person, including a denial of a new or288

renewal license application:289

(A)  in another jurisdiction; or290

(B)  by another regulatory agency in this state; and291

(ii)  a criminal prosecution taken against the person in any jurisdiction.292

(b)  The report required by Subsection (2)(a) shall be filed:293

(i)  at the time the person files the application for an individual or agency license; and294

(ii)  for an action or prosecution that occurs on or after the day on which the person files295

the application:296

(A)  for an administrative action, within 30 days of the final disposition of the297

administrative action; or298

(B)  for a criminal prosecution, within 30 days of the initial appearance before a court.299

(c)  The report required by Subsection (2)(a) shall include a copy of the complaint or300

other relevant legal documents related to the action or prosecution described in Subsection301

(2)(a).302

(3) (a)  The department may require a person applying for a license to submit to a303

criminal background check as a condition of receiving a license.304

(b)  A person, if required to submit to a criminal background check under Subsection305

(3)(a), shall:306

(i)  submit a fingerprint card in a form acceptable to the department; and307

(ii)  consent to a fingerprint background check by:308

(A)  the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification; and309

(B)  the Federal Bureau of Investigation.310
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(c)  For a person who submits a fingerprint card and consents to a fingerprint311

background check under Subsection (3)(b), the department may request:312

(i)  criminal background information maintained pursuant to Title 53, Chapter 10, Part313

2, Bureau of Criminal Identification, from the Bureau of Criminal Identification; and314

(ii)  complete Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal background checks through the315

national criminal history system.316

(d)  Information obtained by the department from the review of criminal history records317

received under this Subsection (3) shall be used by the department for the purposes of:318

(i)  determining if a person satisfies the character requirements under Section319

31A-23b-204 for issuance or renewal of a license;320

(ii)  determining if a person failed to maintain the character requirements under Section321

31A-23b-204; and322

(iii)  preventing a person who violates the federal Violent Crime Control and Law323

Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. Sec. 1033, from engaging in the business of a navigator or324

in person assistor in the state.325

(e)  If the department requests the criminal background information, the department326

shall:327

(i)  pay to the Department of Public Safety the costs incurred by the Department of328

Public Safety in providing the department criminal background information under Subsection329

(3)(c)(i);330

(ii)  pay to the Federal Bureau of Investigation the costs incurred by the Federal Bureau331

of Investigation in providing the department criminal background information under332

Subsection (3)(c)(ii); and333

(iii)  charge the person applying for a license or for consent to engage in the business of334

a navigator or in person assistor a fee equal to the aggregate of Subsections (3)(e)(i) and (ii).335

(4)  The commissioner may deny a license application for a license under this chapter if336

the person applying for the license:337

(a)  fails to satisfy the requirements as set forth in this section; or338

(b)  commits an act that is grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation as set forth in339

Section 31A-23b-401.340

Section 8.  Section 31A-23b-203 is enacted to read:341
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31A-23b-203.  Application for individual license -- Application for agency license.342

(1)  This section applies to an initial or renewal license as a navigator.343

(2) (a)  Subject to Subsection (2)(b), to obtain or renew an individual license, an344

individual shall:345

(i)  file an application for an initial or renewal individual license with the commissioner346

on forms and in a manner the commissioner prescribes; and347

(ii)  pay a license fee that is not refunded if the application:348

(A)  is denied; or349

(B)  is incomplete when filed and is never completed by the applicant.350

(b)  An application described in this Subsection (2) shall provide:351

(i)  information about the applicant's identity;352

(ii)  the applicant's Social Security number;353

(iii)  the applicant's personal history, experience, education, and business record;354

(iv)  whether the applicant is 18 years of age or older;355

(v)  whether the applicant has committed an act that is a ground for denial, suspension,356

or revocation as set forth in Section 31A-23b-401 or 31A-23b-402;357

(vi)  that the applicant complies with the surety bond requirements of Section358

31A-23b-207;359

(vii)  that the applicant completed the training requirements in Section 31A-23b-205;360

and361

(viii)  any other information the commissioner reasonably requires.362

(3)  The commissioner may require a document reasonably necessary to verify the363

information contained in an application filed under this section.364

(4)  An applicant's Social Security number contained in an application filed under this365

section is a private record under Section 63G-2-302.366

(5) (a)  Subject to Subsection (5)(b), to obtain or renew a navigator agency license, a367

person shall:368

(i)  file an application for an initial or renewal navigator agency license with the369

commissioner on forms and in a manner the commissioner prescribes; and370

(ii)  pay a license fee that is not refunded if the application:371

(A)  is denied; or372
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(B)  is incomplete when filed and is never completed by the applicant.373

(b)  An application described in Subsection (5)(a) shall provide:374

(i)  information about the applicant's identity;375

(ii)  the applicant's federal employer identification number;376

(iii)  the designated responsible licensed individual;377

(iv)  the identity of the owners, partners, officers, and directors;378

(v)  whether the applicant, or individual identified in Subsections (5)(b)(iii) and (iv) has379

committed an act that is a ground for denial, suspension, or revocation as set forth in Section380

31A-23b-401; and381

(vi)  any other information the commissioner reasonably requires.382

Section 9.  Section 31A-23b-204 is enacted to read:383

31A-23a-204.  Character requirements.384

An applicant for a license under this chapter shall demonstrate to the commissioner385

that:386

(1)  the applicant has the intent in good faith, to engage in the practice of a navigator as387

the license would permit;388

(2) (a)  if a natural person, the applicant is competent and trustworthy; or389

(b)  if the applicant is an agency:390

(i)  the partners, directors, or principal officers or persons having comparable powers391

are trustworthy; and392

(ii)  that it will transact business in such a way that the acts that may only be performed393

by a licensed navigator are performed exclusively by natural persons who are licensed to394

perform that type of business under this chapter, or Chapter 23a, Insurance395

Marketing-Licensing Producers, Consultants, and Reinsurance Intermediaries;396

(3)  the applicant intends to comply with the errors and omissions requirements of397

Section 31A-23b-207;398

(4)  if a natural person, the applicant is at least 18 years of age; and399

(5)  the applicant does not have a conflict of interest as required by PPACA.400

Section 10.  Section 31A-23b-205 is enacted to read:401

31A-23b-205.  Examination and training requirements.402

(1)  The commissioner may require applicants for a license to pass an examination and403
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complete a training program as a requirement for a license.404

(2)  The examination described in Subsection (1) shall reasonably relate to:405

(a)  the duties and functions of a navigator;406

(b)  requirements for navigators in an exchange as established by federal regulation407

under PPACA; and408

(c)  other requirements that may be established by the commissioner by administrative409

rule; and410

(d)  may be administered by the commissioner or as otherwise specified by411

administrative rule.412

(3)  The training described in Subsection (1) shall be approved by the commissioner413

and shall include:414

(a)  accident and health insurance plans;415

(b)  qualifications for and enrollment in public programs;416

(c)  qualifications for and enrollment in premium subsidies;417

(d)  cultural and linguistic appropriateness;418

(e)  conflict of interest standards;419

(f)  exchange functions; and420

(g)  other requirements that may be adopted by the commissioner by administrative421

rule.422

(4)  This section's requirement may only be applied to applicants who are natural423

persons.424

Section 11.  Section 31A-23b-206 is enacted to read:425

31A-23b-206.  Continuing education requirements.426

(1)  Pursuant to this section, the commissioner shall by rule prescribe the continuing427

education requirements for a navigator.428

(2) (a)  The commissioner may not state a continuing education requirement in terms of429

formal education.430

(b)  The commissioner may state a continuing education requirement in terms of hours431

of instruction received in:432

(i)  accident and health insurance;433

(ii)  qualification for and enrollment in public programs;434
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(iii)  qualification for and enrollment in premium subsidies;435

(iv)  cultural competency;436

(v)  conflict of interest standards; and437

(iv)  other exchange functions.438

(3) (a)  The commissioner shall impose continuing education requirements in439

accordance with a two-year licensing period in which the licensee meets the requirements of440

this Subsection (3).441

(b) (i)  Except as provided in this section, the continuing education requirements shall442

require:443

(A)  that a licensee complete 24 credit hours of continuing education for every two-year444

licensing period;445

(B)  that 3 of the 24 credit hours described in Subsection (3)(b)(i)(A) be ethics courses;446

and447

(C)  that the licensee complete at least half of the required hours through classroom448

hours of insurance and exchange related instruction.449

(ii)  An hour of continuing education in accordance with Subsection (3)(b)(i) may be450

obtained through:451

(A)  classroom attendance;452

(B)  home study;453

(C)  watching a video recording;454

(D)  experience credit; or455

(E)  another method provided by rule.456

(c)  A licensee may obtain continuing education hours at any time during the two-year457

licensing period.458

(d)  In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the459

commissioner shall, by rule:460

(i)  publish a list of insurance professional designations whose continuing education461

requirements can be used to meet the requirements for continuing education under Subsection462

(3)(b);463

(ii)  authorize a continuing education provider or a state or national professional464

producer or consultant association to:465
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(A)  offer a qualified program on a geographically accessible basis; and466

(B)  collect a reasonable fee for funding and administration of a continuing education467

program, subject to the review and approval of the commissioner.468

(4)  The commissioner shall approve a continuing education provider or continuing469

education course that satisfies the requirements of this section.470

(5)  In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the471

commissioner shall by rule set the processes and procedures for continuing education provider472

registration and course approval.473

(6)  The requirements of this section apply only to a navigator who is an individual.474

(7)  A producer or consultant subject to this section shall keep documentation of475

completing the continuing education requirements of this section for two years after the end of476

the two-year licensing period to which the continuing education applies.477

Section 12.  Section 31A-23b-207 is enacted to read:478

31A-23b-207.  Requirement to obtain surety bond.479

(1) (a)  Except as provided in Subsection (4), and in accordance with this section, a480

navigator shall ensure that the navigator has obtained a surety bond in an amount designated by481

the commissioner by administrative rule to cover the legal liability of the navigator as the result482

of an erroneous act or failure to act in the navigator's capacity as a navigator.483

(b)  The navigator shall keep the surety bond in accordance with Subsection (1)(a) at all484

times during the term of the navigator's license.485

(2)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1), a navigator is exempt from the requirement to486

obtain a surety bond during a period in which the navigator limits the navigator's scope of487

practice to assisting individuals with:488

(a)  enrollment in public programs; and489

(b)  qualification for premium subsidies.490

Section 13.  Section 31A-23b-208 is enacted to read:491

31A-23b-208.  Form and contents of license.492

(1)  A license issued under this chapter shall be in the form the commissioner prescribes493

and shall set forth:494

(a)  the name and address of the licensee;495

(b)  the date of license issuance; and496
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(c)  any other information the commissioner considers necessary.497

(2)  A licensee under this chapter doing business under another name than the licensee's498

legal name shall notify the commissioner before using the assumed name in this state.499

Section 14.  Section 31A-23b-209 is enacted to read:500

31A-23b-209.  Agency designations.501

(1)  An organization shall be licensed as a navigator agency if the organization acts as a502

navigator.503

(2)  A navigator agency that does business in the state shall designate an individual who504

is licensed under this chapter to act on the agency's behalf.505

(3)  A navigator agency shall report to the commissioner, at intervals and in the form506

the commissioner establishes by rule:507

(a)  a new designation under Subsection (2); and508

(b)  a terminated designation under Subsection (2).509

(4) (a)  A navigator agency licensed under this chapter shall report to the commissioner510

the cause of termination of a designation if:511

(i)  the reason for termination is a reason described in Subsection 31A-23b-401(4)(b);512

or513

(ii)  the navigator agency has knowledge that the individual licensee engaged in an514

activity described in Subsection 31A-23b-401(4)(b) by:515

(A)  a court;516

(B)  a government body; or517

(C)  a self-regulatory organization, which the commissioner may define by rule made in518

accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.519

(b)  The information provided the commissioner under Subsection (4)(a) is a private520

record under Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and Management Act.521

(c)  A navigator agency is immune from civil action, civil penalty, or damages if the522

agency complies in good faith with this Subsection (4) by reporting to the commissioner the523

cause of termination of a designation.524

(d)  Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, a navigator agency is not525

immune from an action or resulting penalty imposed on the reporting agency as a result of526

proceedings brought by or on behalf of the department if the action is based on evidence other527
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than the report submitted in compliance with this Subsection (4).528

(5)  A navigator agency licensed under this chapter may act in a capacity for which it is529

licensed only through an individual who is licensed under this chapter to act in the same530

capacity.531

(6)  A navigator agency licensed under this chapter shall designate and report to the532

commissioner in accordance with any rule made by the commissioner the name of the533

designated responsible licensed individual who has authority to act on behalf of the navigator534

agency in the matters pertaining to compliance with this title and orders of the commissioner.535

(7)  If a navigator agency designates a licensee in reports submitted under Subsection536

(3) or (6), there is a rebuttable presumption that the designated licensee acts on behalf of the537

navigator agency.538

(8) (a)  When a license is held by a navigator agency, both the navigator agency itself539

and any individual designated under the navigator agency license is considered the holder of540

the navigator agency license for purposes of this section.541

(b)  If an individual designated under the navigator agency license commits an act or542

fails to perform a duty that is a ground for suspending, revoking, or limiting the navigator543

agency license, the commissioner may suspend, revoke, or limit the license of:544

(i)  the individual;545

(ii)  the navigator agency, if the navigator agency:546

(A)  is reckless or negligent in its supervision of the individual; or547

(B)  knowingly participates in the act or failure to act that is the ground for suspending,548

revoking, or limiting the license; or549

(iii) (A)  the individual; and550

(B)  the navigator agency, if the agency meets the requirements of Subsection (8)(b)(ii).551

Section 15.  Section 31A-23b-210 is enacted to read:552

31A-23b-210.  Place of business and residence address -- Records.553

(1) (a)  A licensee under this chapter shall register and maintain with the commissioner:554

(i)  the address and telephone numbers of the licensee's principal place of business; and555

(ii)  a valid business email address at which the commissioner may contact the licensee.556

(b)  If a licensee is an individual, in addition to complying with Subsection (1)(a), the557

individual shall register and maintain with the commissioner the individual's residence address558
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and telephone number.559

(c)  A licensee shall notify the commissioner within 30 days of a change of any of the560

following required to be registered with the commissioner under this section:561

(i)  an address;562

(ii)  a telephone number; or563

(iii)  a business email address.564

(2) (a)  Except as provided under Subsection (3), a licensee under this chapter shall565

keep at the principal place of business address registered under Subsection (1), separate and566

distinct books and records of the transactions consummated under the Utah license.567

(3)  Subsection (2) is satisfied if the books and records specified in Subsection (2) can568

be obtained immediately from a central storage place or elsewhere by on-line computer569

terminals located at the registered address.570

(4) (a)  The books and records maintained under Subsection (2) shall be available for571

the inspection of the commissioner during the business hours for a period of time after the date572

of the transaction as specified by the commissioner by rule, but in no case for less than the573

current calendar year plus three years.574

(b)  Discarding books and records after the applicable record retention period has575

expired does not place the licensee in violation of a later-adopted longer record retention576

period.577

Section 16.  Section 31A-23b-211 is enacted to read:578

31A-23b-211.  Exceptions to navigator licensing.579

(1)  For purposes of this Section:580

(a)  "Sell" is as defined in Section 31A-23a-102.581

(b)  "Solicit" is as defined in Section 31A-23a-102; and582

(c)  "Negotiate" is as defined in Section 31A-23a-102.583

(2)  The commissioner may not require a license as a navigator of:584

(a)  a person who is employed by or contracts with:585

(i)  a health care facility that is licensed under Title 26, Chapter 22, Health Care Facility586

Licensing Act, to assist an individual with enrollment in a public program; or587

(ii)  the state, a political subdivision of the state, an entity of a political subdivision of588

the state, or a public school district to assist an individual with enrollment in a public program;589
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(b)  a federally qualified health center as defined by Section 1905(1)(2)(B) of the Social590

Security Act to assist an individual with enrollment in a public program;591

(c)  a person licensed under Chapter 23a, Insurance Marketing-Licensing, Consultants,592

and Reinsurance Intermediaries, if the person is licensed in the appropriate line of authority to593

sell, solicit or negotiate accident and health insurance plans;594

(d)  an officer, director, or employee of a navigator:595

(i)  who does not receive compensation or commission from an insurer issuing an596

insurance contract, an agency administering a public program, or an exchange for:597

(A)  a policy written or sold to insure risk residing, located, or to be performed in the598

state;599

(B)  enrollment in a public program offered through the exchange;600

(C)  enrolling an individual in a health benefit plan;601

(D)  issuing a certificate under a health benefit plan; or602

(E)  otherwise administering a plan; and603

(ii)  whose activities:604

(A)  are executive, administrative, managerial, clerical or a combination thereof;605

(B)  only indirectly relate to the sale, solicitation, or negotiation of insurance, or the606

enrollment in a public program offered through the exchange;607

(C)  are in the capacity of a special agent or agency supervisor assisting an insurance608

producer or navigator;609

(D)  are limited to providing technical advice and assistance to a licensed insurance610

producer or navigator; or611

(E)  do not include the sale, solicitation, or negotiation of insurance, or the enrollment612

in a public program; and613

(f)  a person who does not sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance and is not directly or614

indirectly compensated by an insurer issuing an insurance contract, an agency administering a615

public program, or the exchange, including:616

(i)  an employer, association, officer, director, employee, or trustee of an employee trust617

plan who is engaged in the administration or operation of a program of employee benefits for:618

(A)  the employer's or association's own employees or the employees of a subsidiary or619

affiliate of an employer or association; and620
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(B)  the program involves the use of insurance issued by an insurer, or enrollment in a621

public health plan on the exchange;622

(ii)  an employee of an insurer or organization employed by an insurer who is engaging623

in the inspection, rating, or classification of risk, or the supervision of training of insurance624

producers; or625

(iii)  an employee who counsels or advises the employee's employer related to the626

insurance interests of the employer, or a subsidiary or business affiliate of the employer.627

(3)  The commissioner may by rule exempt a class of persons from the license628

requirement of Subsection 31A-23b-201(1) if:629

(a)  the functions performed by the class of persons does not require:630

(i)  special competence;631

(ii)  special trustworthiness; or632

(iii)  regulatory surveillance made possible by licensing; or633

(b)  other existing safeguards make regulation unnecessary.634

Section 17.  Section 31A-23b-301 is enacted to read:635

Part 3.  Unlawful Conduct and Limitation of Scope of Practice636

31A-23b-301.  Unfair practices -- Compensation -- Limit of scope of practice.637

(1)  As used in this section, "false or misleading information" includes with intent to638

deceive a person examining it:639

(a)  filing a report;640

(b)  making a false entry in a record; or641

(c)  wilfully refraining from making a proper entry in a record.642

(2) (a)  Any of the following may not make or cause to be made any communication643

that contains false or misleading information, relating to enrollment in an insurance plan or a644

public program including information that is false or misleading because it is incomplete:645

(i)  a person who is or should be licensed under this title;646

(ii)  an employee of a person described in Subsection (2)(a)(i);647

(iii)  a person whose primary interest is as a competitor of a person licensed under this648

title; and649

(iv)  a person on behalf of any of the persons listed in this Subsection (2)(a)(i).650

(b)  A licensee under this title may not:651
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(i)  use any business name, slogan, emblem, or related device that is misleading or652

likely to cause the exchange, insurer, or other licensee to be mistaken for another governmental653

agency, a PPACA exchange, insurer, or other licensee already in business; or654

(ii)  use any advertisement or other insurance promotional material that would cause a655

reasonable person to mistakenly believe that a state or federal government agency, public656

program, or insurer:657

(A)  is responsible for the insurance or public program enrollment assistance activities658

of the person;659

(B)  stands behind the credit of the person; or660

(C)  is a source of payment of any insurance obligation of or sold by the person.661

(c)  A person who is not an insurer may not assume or use any name that deceptively662

implies or suggests that person is an insurer.663

(3)  A person may not engage in an unfair method of competition or any other unfair or664

deceptive act or practice in the business of insurance, as defined by the commissioner by rule,665

after a finding that the method of competition, the act, or the practice:666

(a)  is misleading;667

(b)  is deceptive;668

(c)  is unfairly discriminatory;669

(d)  provides an unfair inducement; or670

(e)  unreasonably restrains competition.671

(4)  A navigator licensed under this chapter is subject to the inducement provisions of672

Section 31A-23a-402.5.673

(5)  A person licensed under this chapter or who should be licensed under this chapter:674

(a)  may not receive direct or indirect compensation from an accident or health insurer675

or from an individual who receives services from a navigator in accordance with:676

(i)  federal conflict of interest regulations established pursuant to PPACA; and677

(ii)  administrative rule adopted by the department;678

(b)  may be compensated by the exchange for performing the duties of a navigator;679

(c) (i)  may perform, offer to perform, or advertise a service as a navigator only for680

individuals or small employer groups selecting accident and health insurance plans or public681

programs on the exchange; and682
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(ii)  may not perform, offer to perform, or advertise any services as a navigator for683

individuals or small employer groups selecting accident and health insurance plans, public684

programs, business, or services that are not offered on the exchange; and685

(d)  may not recommend a particular accident and health insurance plan.686

Section 18.  Section 31A-23b-401 is enacted to read:687

Part 4.  License Denial and Discipline688

31A-23b-401.  Revocation, suspension, surrender, lapsing, limiting, or otherwise689

terminating a license -- Rulemaking for renewal or reinstatement.690

(1)  A license as a navigator under this chapter remains in force until:691

(a)  revoked or suspended under Subsection (4);692

(b)  surrendered to the commissioner and accepted by the commissioner in lieu of693

administrative action;694

(c)  the licensee dies or is adjudicated incompetent as defined under:695

(i)  Title 75, Chapter 5, Part 3, Guardians of Incapacitated Persons; or696

(ii)  Title 75, Chapter 5, Part 4, Protection of Property of Persons Under Disability and697

Minors;698

(d)  lapsed under this section; or699

(e)  voluntarily surrendered.700

(2)  The following may be reinstated within one year after the day on which the license701

is no longer in force:702

(a)  a lapsed license; or703

(b)  a voluntarily surrendered license, except that a voluntarily surrendered license may704

not be reinstated after the license period in which the license is voluntarily surrendered.705

(3)  Unless otherwise stated in a written agreement for the voluntary surrender of a706

license, submission and acceptance of a voluntary surrender of a license does not prevent the707

department from pursuing additional disciplinary or other action authorized under:708

(a)  this title; or709

(b)  rules made under this title in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah710

Administrative Rulemaking Act.711

(4) (a)  If the commissioner makes a finding under Subsection (4)(b), as part of an712

adjudicative proceeding under Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act, the713
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commissioner may:714

(i)  revoke a license; or715

(ii)  suspend a license for a specified period of 12 months or less:716

(iii)  limit a license in whole or in part: or717

(iv)  deny a license application.718

(b)  The commissioner may take an action described in Subsection (4)(a) if the719

commissioner finds that the licensee:720

(i)  is unqualified for a license under Section 31A-23b-204, 31A-23b-205, or721

31A-23b-206;722

(ii)  violates:723

(A)  an insurance statute;724

(B)  a rule that is valid under Subsection 31A-2-201(3); or725

(C)  an order that is valid under Subsection 31A-2-201(4);726

(iii)  is insolvent or the subject of receivership, conservatorship, rehabilitation, or other727

delinquency proceedings in any state;728

(iv)  fails to pay a final judgment rendered against the person in this state within 60729

days after the day on which the judgment became final;730

(v)  refuses:731

(A)  to be examined; or732

(B)  to produce its accounts, records, and files for examination;733

(vi)  has an officer who refuses to:734

(A)  give information with respect to the navigator's affairs; or735

(B)  perform any other legal obligation as to an examination;736

(vii)  provides information in the license application that is:737

(A)  incorrect;738

(B)  misleading;739

(C)  incomplete; or740

(D)  materially untrue;741

(viii)  violates an insurance law, valid rule, or valid order of another state's insurance742

department;743

(ix)  obtains or attempts to obtain a license through misrepresentation or fraud;744
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(x)  improperly withholds, misappropriates, or converts money or properties received in745

the course of doing insurance business;746

(xi)  intentionally misrepresents the terms of an actual or proposed:747

(A)  insurance contract;748

(B)  application for insurance; or749

(C)  application for public program;750

(xii)  is convicted of a felony;751

(xiii)  admits or is found to have committed an insurance unfair trade practice or fraud;752

(xiv)  in the conduct of business in this state or elsewhere:753

(A)  uses fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices; or754

(B)  demonstrates incompetence, untrustworthiness, or financial irresponsibility;755

(xv)  has an insurance license, navigator license, or its equivalent, denied, suspended, or756

revoked in another state, province, district, or territory;757

(xvi)  forges another's name to:758

(A)  an application for insurance;759

(B)  a document related to an insurance transaction;760

(C)  a document related to an application for a public program; or761

(D)  a document related to an application for premium subsidies;762

(xvii)  improperly uses notes or another reference material to complete an examination763

for a license;764

(xviii)  knowingly accepts insurance business from an individual who is not licensed;765

(xix)  fails to comply with an administrative or court order imposing a child support766

obligation;767

(xx)  fails to:768

(A)  pay state income tax; or769

(B)  comply with an administrative or court order directing payment of state income770

tax;771

(xxi)  violates or permits others to violate the federal Violent Crime Control and Law772

Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. Sec. 1033 and therefore under 18 U.S.C. Sec. 1033 is773

prohibited from engaging in the business of insurance; or774

(xxii)  engages in a method or practice in the conduct of business that endangers the775
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legitimate interests of customers and the public.776

(c)  For purposes of this section, if a license is held by an agency, both the agency itself777

and any individual designated under the license are considered to be the holders of the license.778

(d)  If an individual designated under the agency license commits an act or fails to779

perform a duty that is a ground for suspending, revoking, or limiting the individual's license,780

the commissioner may suspend, revoke, or limit the license of:781

(i)  the individual;782

(ii)  the agency, if the agency:783

(A)  is reckless or negligent in its supervision of the individual; or784

(B)  knowingly participates in the act or failure to act that is the ground for suspending,785

revoking, or limiting the license; or786

(iii) (A)  the individual; and787

(B)  the agency if the agency meets the requirements of Subsection (4)(d)(ii).788

(5)  A licensee under this chapter is subject to the penalties for acting as a licensee789

without a license if:790

(a)  the licensee's license is:791

(i)  revoked;792

(ii)  suspended;793

(iii)  surrendered in lieu of administrative action;794

(iv)  lapsed; or795

(v)  voluntarily surrendered; and796

(b)  the licensee:797

(i)  continues to act as a licensee; or798

(ii)  violates the terms of the license limitation.799

(6)  A licensee under this chapter shall immediately report to the commissioner:800

(a)  a revocation, suspension, or limitation of the person's license in another state, the801

District of Columbia, or a territory of the United States;802

(b)  the imposition of a disciplinary sanction imposed on that person by another state,803

the District of Columbia, or a territory of the United States; or804

(c)  a judgment or injunction entered against that person on the basis of conduct805

involving:806
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(i)  fraud;807

(ii)  deceit;808

(iii)  misrepresentation; or809

(iv)  a violation of an insurance law or rule.810

(7) (a)  An order revoking a license under Subsection (4) or an agreement to surrender a811

license in lieu of administrative action may specify a time, not to exceed five years, within812

which the former licensee may not apply for a new license.813

(b)  If no time is specified in an order or agreement described in Subsection (7)(a), the814

former licensee may not apply for a new license for five years from the day on which the order815

or agreement is made without the express approval by the commissioner.816

(8)  The commissioner shall promptly withhold, suspend, restrict, or reinstate the use of817

a license issued under this part if so ordered by a court.818

(9)  The commissioner shall by rule prescribe the license renewal and reinstatement819

procedures in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.820

Section 19.  Section 31A-23b-402 is enacted to read:821

31A-23b-402.  Probation -- Grounds for revocation.822

(1)  The commissioner may place a licensee on probation for a period not to exceed 24823

months as follows:824

(a)  after an adjudicative proceeding under Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative825

Procedures Act, for any circumstances that would justify a suspension under this section; or826

(b)  at the issuance of a new license:827

(i)  with an admitted violation under 18 U.S.C. Sections 1033 and 1034; or828

(ii)  with a response to background information questions on a new license application829

indicating that:830

(A)  the person has been convicted of a crime, that is listed by rule made in accordance831

with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, as a crime that is grounds for832

probation;833

(B)  the person is currently charged with a crime, that is listed by rule made in834

accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, as a crime that is835

grounds for probation regardless of whether adjudication is withheld;836

(C)  the person has been involved in an administrative proceeding regarding any837
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professional or occupational license; or838

(D)  any business in which the person is or was an owner, partner, officer, or director839

has been involved in an administrative proceeding regarding any professional or occupational840

license.841

(2)  The commissioner may place a licensee on probation for a specified period no842

longer than 24 months if the licensee has admitted to a violation under 18 U.S.C. Sections 1033843

and 1034.844

(3)  The probation order shall state the conditions for retention of the license, which845

shall be reasonable.846

(4)  Any violation of the probation is grounds for revocation pursuant to any proceeding847

authorized under Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act.848

Section 20.  Section 31A-23b-403 is enacted to read:849

31A-23b-403.  License lapse and voluntary surrender.850

(1) (a)  A license issued under this chapter shall lapse if the licensee fails to:851

(i)  pay when due a fee under Section 31A-3-103;852

(ii)  complete continuing education requirements under Section 31A-23b-206 before853

submitting the license renewal application;854

(iii)  submit a completed renewal application as required by Section 31A-23b-203;855

(iv)  submit additional documentation required to complete the licensing process as856

related to a specific license type or line of authority; or857

(v)  maintain an active license in a resident state if the licensee is a nonresident858

licensee.859

(b) (i)  A licensee whose license lapses due to the following may request an action860

described in Subsection (1)(b)(ii):861

(A)  military service;862

(B)  voluntary service for a period of time designated by the person for whom the863

licensee provides voluntary service; or864

(C)  some other extenuating circumstances, such as long-term medical disability.865

(ii)  A licensee described in Subsection (1)(b)(i) may request:866

(A)  reinstatement of the license no later than one year after the day on which the867

license lapses; and868

- 28 -



12-17-12  DRAFT 2013FL-0108/005

(B)  waiver of any of the following imposed for failure to comply with renewal869

procedures:870

(I)  an examination requirement;871

(II)  reinstatement fees set under Section 31A-3-103;872

(III)  continuing education requirements; or873

(IV)  other sanction imposed for failure to comply with renewal procedures.874

(2)  If a license issued under this chapter is voluntarily surrendered, the license may be875

reinstated:876

(a)  during the license period in which the license is voluntarily surrendered; and877

(b)  no later than one year after the day on which the license is voluntarily surrendered.878

(3)  A voluntarily surrendered license that is reinstated during the license period set879

forth in Subsection (2) may not be reinstated until the person who voluntarily surrendered the880

license complies with any applicable continuing education requirements for the period during881

which the license was voluntarily surrendered.882

Section 21.  Section 31A-23b-404 is enacted to read:883

31A-23b-404.  Penalties.884

(1) (a)  If, after notice and opportunity to be heard, the commissioner finds that the885

navigator or any other person has not materially complied with this part, or any rule made or886

order issued under the part, the commissioner may order the navigator or other person to cease887

doing business in the state.888

(b)  If the commissioner finds that because of the material noncompliance that an889

insurer, any policyholder of an insurer, or a recipient of a public program who used the services890

of the navigator or other person, has suffered any loss or damage due to the material891

noncompliance, the commissioner may:892

(i)  maintain a civil action or may intervene in an action brought by or on behalf of the893

insurer, policyholder, or the recipient of the public program, for recovery of compensatory894

damages for the benefit of the insurer, policyholder, or recipient of a public program; or895

(ii)  seek other appropriate relief.896

(2)  Nothing in this section affects the right of the commissioner to impose any other897

penalties provided for in this title, including the penalties provided in Section 31A-2-208.898

(3)  Nothing contained in this section is intended to or shall in any manner alter or899
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affect the rights of policyholders, claimants, creditors, or other third parties.900

Section 22.  Section 31A-30-104 is amended to read:901

31A-30-104.   Applicability and scope.902

(1)  This chapter applies to any:903

(a)  health benefit plan that provides coverage to:904

(i)  individuals;905

(ii)  small employers; or906

(iii)  both Subsections (1)(a)(i) and (ii); or907

(b)  individual conversion policy for purposes of Sections 31A-30-106.5 and908

31A-30-107.5.909

(2)  This chapter applies to a health benefit plan that provides coverage to small910

employers or individuals regardless of:911

(a)  whether the contract is issued to:912

(i)  an association;913

(ii)  a trust;914

(iii)  a discretionary group; or915

(iv)  other similar grouping; or916

(b)  the situs of delivery of the policy or contract.917

(3)  This chapter does not apply to:918

(a)  short-term limited duration health insurance; or919

(b)  federally funded or partially funded programs.920

(4) (a)  Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), for the purposes of this chapter:921

(i)  carriers that are affiliated companies or that are eligible to file a consolidated tax922

return shall be treated as one carrier; and923

(ii)  any restrictions or limitations imposed by this chapter shall apply as if all health924

benefit plans delivered or issued for delivery to covered insureds in this state by the affiliated925

carriers were issued by one carrier.926

(b)  Upon a finding of the commissioner, an affiliated carrier that is a health927

maintenance organization having a certificate of authority under this title may be considered to928

be a separate carrier for the purposes of this chapter.929

(c)  Unless otherwise authorized by the commissioner or by Chapter 42, Defined930
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Contribution Risk Adjuster Act, a covered carrier may not enter into one or more ceding931

arrangements with respect to health benefit plans delivered or issued for delivery to covered932

insureds in this state if the ceding arrangements would result in less than 50% of the insurance933

obligation or risk for the health benefit plans being retained by the ceding carrier.934

(d)  Section 31A-22-1201 applies if a covered carrier cedes or assumes all of the935

insurance obligation or risk with respect to one or more health benefit plans delivered or issued936

for delivery to covered insureds in this state.937

(5) (a)  A Taft Hartley trust created in accordance with Section 302(c)(5) of the Federal938

Labor Management Relations Act, or a carrier with the written authorization of such a trust,939

may make a written request to the commissioner for a waiver from the application of any of the940

provisions of Subsection 31A-30-106(1) with respect to a health benefit plan provided to the941

trust.942

(b)  The commissioner may grant a trust or carrier described in Subsection (5)(a) a943

waiver if the commissioner finds that application with respect to the trust would:944

(i)  have a substantial adverse effect on the participants and beneficiaries of the trust;945

and946

(ii)  require significant modifications to one or more collective bargaining arrangements947

under which the trust is established or maintained.948

(c)  A waiver granted under this Subsection (5) may not apply to an individual if the949

person participates in a Taft Hartley trust as an associate member of any employee950

organization.951

(6)  Sections 31A-30-106, 31A-30-106.5, 31A-30-106.7, 31A-30-107, 31A-30-108, and952

31A-30-111 apply to:953

(a)  any insurer engaging in the business of insurance related to the risk of a small954

employer for medical, surgical, hospital, or ancillary health care expenses of the small955

employer's employees provided as an employee benefit; and956

(b)  any contract of an insurer, other than a workers' compensation policy, related to the957

risk of a small employer for medical, surgical, hospital, or ancillary health care expenses of the958

small employer's employees provided as an employee benefit.959

(7)  The commissioner may make rules requiring that the marketing practices be960

consistent with this chapter for:961
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(a)  a small employer carrier;962

(b)  a small employer carrier's agent;963

(c)  an insurance producer; [and]964

(d)  an insurance consultant; and965

(e)  a navigator.966

Section 23.  Section 31A-30-105 is amended to read:967

31A-30-105.   Establishment of classes of business.968

[(1)  For a policy that takes effect on or after January 1, 2011] Effective January 1,969

2014, a covered carrier may [not] establish [a separate class] up to four separate classes of970

business [unless]:971

[(a)  the covered carrier submits an application to the commissioner to establish a972

separate class of business;]973

[(b)  the covered carrier demonstrates to the satisfaction of the commissioner that a974

separate class of business is justified under the provisions of this section; and]975

[(c)  the commissioner approves the carrier's application for the use of a separate class976

of business.]977

[(2) (a)  The commissioner shall have a presumption against the use of a separate class978

of business by a covered insured, except when the covered carrier demonstrates that this979

Subsection (2) applies.]980

[(b)  The commissioner may approve the use of a separate class of business only if the981

covered carrier can demonstrate that the use of a separate class of business is necessary due to982

substantial differences in either expected claims experience or administrative costs related to983

the following reasons:]984

[(i)  the covered carrier uses more than one type of system for the marketing and sale of985

health benefit plans to covered insureds;]986

[(ii)  the covered carrier has acquired a class of business from another covered carrier;987

or]988

[(iii)  the covered carrier provides coverage to one or more association groups.]989

[(3)  The commissioner may establish regulations to provide for a period of transition in990

order for a covered carrier to come into compliance with Subsection (2) in the instance of991

acquisition of an additional class of business from another covered carrier.]992
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[(4)  The commissioner may approve the establishment of up to five classes of business993

per covered carrier upon application to the commissioner and a finding by the commissioner994

that such action would substantially enhance the efficiency and fairness of the health insurance995

marketplace subject to this chapter.]996

[(5)  A covered carrier may not establish a class of business based solely on the997

marketing or sale of a health benefit plan as a defined contribution arrangement health benefit998

plan, or through the Health Insurance Exchange.]999

(1)  one class of business for individual health benefit plans that are not grandfathered1000

under PPACA;1001

(2)  one class of business for small employer health benefit plans that are not1002

grandfathered under PPACA;1003

(3)  one class of business for individual health benefit plans that are grandfathered1004

under PPACA; and1005

(4)  one class of business for small employer health benefit plans that are grandfathered1006

under PPACA.1007

Section 24.  Section 31A-30-107.3 is amended to read:1008

31A-30-107.3.   Discontinuance and nonrenewal limitations and conditions.1009

(1) (a)  A carrier that elects to discontinue offering [a] all individual health benefit1010

[plan] plans under Subsection [31A-30-107(3)(e) or] 31A-30-107.1(3)(e) is prohibited from1011

writing new business[:(i)  in the small employer and] in the individual market in this state[; and1012

(ii)] for a period of five years beginning on the date of discontinuation of the last individual1013

health benefit plan coverage that is discontinued.1014

(b)  The prohibition described in Subsection (1)(a) may be waived if the commissioner1015

finds that waiver is in the public interest:1016

(i)  to promote competition; or1017

(ii)  to resolve inequity in the marketplace.1018

(2) (a)  A carrier that elects to discontinue offering all small employer health benefit1019

plans under Subsection 31A-30-107(3)(e) is prohibited from writing new business in the small1020

group market in this state for a period of five years beginning on the date of discontinuation of1021

the last small employer coverage that is discontinued.1022

(b)  The prohibition described in Subsection (2)(a) may be waived if the commissioner1023
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finds that waiver is in the public interest:1024

(i)  to promote competition; or1025

(ii)  to resolve inequity in the marketplace.1026

[(2)] (3) (a)  If the Comprehensive Health Insurance Pool as set forth under Title 31A,1027

Chapter 29, Comprehensive Health Insurance Pool Act, is dissolved or discontinued, or if1028

enrollment is capped or suspended, an individual carrier:1029

(i)  may elect to discontinue offering new individual health benefit plans, except to1030

HIPAA eligibles, but shall keep existing individual health benefit plans in effect, except those1031

individual plans that are not renewed under the provisions of Subsection 31A-30-107(2) or1032

31A-30-107.1(2);1033

(ii)  may elect to continue to offer new individual and small employer health benefit1034

plans; or1035

(iii)  may elect to discontinue all of the covered carrier's health benefit plans in the1036

individual or small group market under the provisions of Subsection 31A-30-107(3)(e) or1037

31A-30-107.1(3)(e).1038

(b)  A carrier that makes an election under Subsection [(2)] (3)(a)(i):1039

(i)  is prohibited from writing new business:1040

(A)  in the individual market in this state; and1041

(B)  for a period of five years beginning on the date of discontinuation;1042

(ii)  may continue to write new business in the small employer market; and1043

(iii)  shall provide written notice of the election under Subsection [(2)] (3)(a)(i) within1044

two calendar days of the election to the Utah Insurance Department.1045

(c)  The prohibition described in Subsection [(2)] (3)(b)(i) may be waived if the1046

commissioner finds that waiver is in the public interest:1047

(i)  to promote competition; or1048

(ii)  to resolve inequity in the marketplace.1049

(d)  A carrier that makes an election under Subsection [(2)] (3)(a)(iii) is subject to the1050

provisions of Subsection (1).1051

[(3)] (4)  If a carrier is doing business in one established geographic service area of the1052

state, Sections 31A-30-107 and 31A-30-107.1 apply only to the carrier's operations in that1053

geographic service area.1054
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[(4)] (5)  If a small employer employs less than two eligible employees, a carrier may1055

not discontinue or not renew the health benefit plan until the first renewal date following the1056

beginning of a new plan year, even if the carrier knows as of the beginning of the plan year that1057

the employer no longer has at least two current employees.1058

Section 25.  Section 31A-30-115 is amended to read:1059

31A-30-115.   Actuarial review of health benefit plans.1060

(1) (a)  The department shall conduct an actuarial review of rates submitted by small1061

employer carriers[: (i)] prior to the publication of the premium rates on the Health Insurance1062

Exchange[;]:1063

[(ii)  except as permitted by Subsection 31A-30-207(2), to determine if the carrier is1064

using the same rating and underwriting practices in both the defined contribution arrangement1065

market in the Health Insurance Exchange and the defined benefit market offered outside the1066

Health Insurance Exchange, in compliance with Subsection 31A-30-202.5(1)(b);]1067

[(iii)] (i)  to verify the validity of the rates, underwriting and risk factors, and premiums1068

of plans both in and outside of the Health Insurance Exchange;1069

[(iv)] (ii)  to verify that insurers are pricing similar health benefit plans and groups the1070

same in and out of the exchange, except as permitted by Subsection 31A-30-207(2); and1071

[(v)] (iii)  as the department determines is necessary to oversee market conduct.1072

(b)  The actuarial review by the department shall be funded from a fee:1073

(i)  established by the department in accordance with Section 63J-1-504; and1074

(ii)  paid by all small employer carriers participating in the defined contribution1075

arrangement market and small employer carriers offering health benefit plans under Part 1,1076

Individual and Small Employer Group.1077

(c)  The department shall:1078

(i)  report aggregate data from the actuarial review to the risk adjuster board created in1079

Section 31A-42-201; and1080

(ii)  contact carriers, if the department determines it is appropriate, to:1081

(A)  inform a carrier of the department's findings regarding the rates of a particular1082

carrier; and1083

(B)  request a carrier to recalculate or verify base rates, rating factors, and premiums.1084

(d)  A carrier shall comply with the department's request under Subsection (1)(c)(ii).1085

- 35 -



2013FL-0108/005 12-17-12  DRAFT

(2) (a)  There is created in the General Fund a restricted account known as the "Health1086

Insurance Actuarial Review Restricted Account."1087

(b)  The Health Insurance Actuarial Review Restricted Account shall consist of money1088

received by the commissioner under this section.1089

(c)  The commissioner shall administer the Health Insurance Actuarial Review1090

Restricted Account.  Subject to appropriations by the Legislature, the commissioner shall use1091

money deposited into the Health Insurance Actuarial Review Restricted Account to pay for the1092

actuarial review conducted by the department under this section.1093

Section 26.  Section 31A-30-117 is enacted to read:1094

31A-30-117.  Patient Protection And Affordable Care Act- market transition.1095

(1)  Notwithstanding other provisions of this title, and in accordance with Subsection1096

(2), the commissioner shall adopt administrative rules to transition the insurance market from1097

current state and federal requirements to new state and federal requirements under PPACA.1098

(2) (a)  Before adopting an administrative rule under this section, the commissioner1099

shall comply with the reporting requirements of Section 63M-1-2505.5.1100

(b)  Administrative rules adopted by the commissioner under this section may include:1101

(i)  the regulation of health benefit plans as described in Subsections 31A-2-212(5)(a)1102

and (b);1103

(ii)  disclosure of records and information required by PPACA and state law; and1104

(iii)  one standard, statewide open enrollment period for the individual insurance market1105

in the state which:1106

(A)  may be shorter than, but may not be longer than the open enrollment period1107

established for the individual insurance market offered on a PPACA exchange operated in the1108

state; and1109

(B)  shall be within the dates of the annual open enrollment period established for the1110

individual insurance market offered on a PPACA exchange operated in the state.1111

Section 27.  Section 31A-30-202.5 is amended to read:1112

31A-30-202.5.   Insurer participation in defined contribution arrangement market.1113

[(1)  A small employer carrier who chooses to participate in the defined contribution1114

arrangement market:]1115

[(a)  shall offer the defined contribution arrangement health benefit plans required by1116
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Section 31A-30-205;]1117

[(b)  may:]1118

[(i)  offer additional defined contribution arrangement health benefit plans in the Health1119

Insurance Exchange as permitted by Section 31A-30-205;]1120

[(ii)  offer a defined benefit plan in the Health Insurance Exchange if the small1121

employer carrier offers a defined contribution arrangement health benefit plan that is actuarially1122

equivalent to the defined benefit plan that is offered in the Health Insurance Exchange; and]1123

[(iii)] (1)  A small employer carrier who offers a defined contribution arrangement in1124

the state's defined contribution arrangement market may continue to offer defined benefit plans1125

outside of the Health Insurance Exchange and the defined contribution arrangement market, if,1126

except as provided in Subsection 31A-30-207(2), the carrier uses the same rating and1127

underwriting practices in both the defined contribution arrangement market in the Health1128

Insurance Exchange and the defined benefit market outside the Health Insurance Exchange.1129

[(2)  A carrier that does not elect to participate in the defined contribution arrangement1130

market by January 1, 2011, may not participate in the defined contribution arrangement market1131

in the Health Insurance Exchange until January 1, 2013.]1132

(2) (a)  Beginning July 1, 2013, an insurer who offers a dental or vision plan may offer1133

a dental or vision plan in the defined contribution arrangement market in accordance with1134

Subsection (2)(b).1135

(b) (i)  A carrier who offers a dental or vision plan in the defined contribution1136

arrangement market is not required to offer the same dental or vision plans outside the defined1137

contribution arrangement market, and does not have to use the same rating and underwriting1138

practices in and out of the defined contribution arrangement market.1139

(ii)  If a carrier offers a dental or vision plan in the defined contribution arrangement1140

market, the carrier shall allow an employee of a small employer group to enroll in a dental and1141

vision plan in accordance with Subsections (2)(b)(iii), (iv) and (v).1142

(iii)  A small employer group shall participate in a defined contribution arrangement1143

and meet participation requirements for the defined contribution arrangement before the1144

employer may elect to offer its employees dental or vision plans in the exchange.1145

(iv)  A small employer who meets the participation requirements of Subsection1146

(2)(b)(iii) may elect to offer its employees:1147
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(A)  a dental plan offered in the defined contribution arrangement market;1148

(B)  a vision plan offered in the defined contribution arrangement market; or1149

(C)  both a vision plan and a dental plan offered in the defined contribution1150

arrangement market.1151

(v) (A)  An employee whose employer has offered a dental or vision plan under1152

Subsection (2)(b)(iv) may elect to enroll, or not enroll, in the dental and vision plan selected by1153

the employer; and1154

(B)  the employer's small group must meet participation requirements established by the1155

commissioner by administrative rule for each plan selected by an employer under Subsection1156

(2)(b)(iv).1157

Section 28.  Section 31A-30-205 is amended to read:1158

31A-30-205.   Health benefit plans offered in the defined contribution market.1159

[(1)  An insurer who offers a defined contribution arrangement health benefit plan in1160

the small group market shall offer the following health benefit plans as defined contribution1161

arrangements:]1162

[(a)  one health benefit plan that:]1163

[(i)  is a federally qualified high deductible health plan;]1164

[(ii)  has a deductible that is within $250 of the lowest deductible that qualifies as a1165

federally qualified high deductible health plan as adjusted by federal law; and]1166

[(iii)  has an annual out-of-pocket maximum that does not exceed three times the1167

amount of the deductible;]1168

[(b) one health benefit plan that:]1169

[(i)  is a federally qualified high deductible health plan that is within $250 of an1170

individual deductible of $2,500 and a deductible of $5,000 for coverage including two or more1171

individuals; and]1172

[(ii)  does not exceed an annual out-of-pocket maximum equal to three times the1173

amount of the annual deductible;]1174

[(c)  one health benefit plan that:]1175

[(i)  is a federally qualified high deductible health plan;]1176

[(ii)  has a deductible that is within $1,000 of the highest deductible that qualifies as a1177

federally qualified high deductible health plan, as adjusted by federal law; and]1178
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[(iii)  has an out-of-pocket maximum that qualifies as a federally qualified high1179

deductible health plan;]1180

[(d)  the insurer's four most commonly selected small group health benefit plans that:]1181

[(i)  include:]1182

[(A)  the provider panel;]1183

[(B)  the deductible;]1184

[(C)  co-payments;]1185

[(D)  co-insurance; and]1186

[(E)  pharmacy benefits;]1187

[(ii)  are currently being marketed by the carrier to new groups for enrollment; and]1188

[(iii)  meet the standard for most commonly selected plan as determined by1189

administrative rule adopted by the commissioner; and]1190

[(e)  alternative coverage required by Section 31A-22-724.]1191

[(2) (a)  The provisions of Subsection (1) do not limit the number of defined1192

contribution arrangement health benefit plans an insurer may offer in the defined contribution1193

arrangement market.]1194

[(b)  An insurer who offers the health benefit plans required by Subsection (1) may also1195

offer any other health benefit plan as a defined contribution arrangement if the health benefit1196

plan provides benefits with an aggregate actuarial value that is no lower than the actuarial value1197

of the plan required in Subsection (1)(c).]1198

[(3)]  An employee in the defined contribution arrangement market who has the right to1199

extend employer coverage under Subsection 31A-22-722(1) or federal COBRA, may:1200

[(a)] (1)  continue coverage under the employee's current plan under state mini-COBRA1201

or federal COBRA; or1202

[(b)] (2)  enroll in alternative coverage under Section 31A-22-724.1203

Section 29.  Section 31A-30-208 is amended to read:1204

31A-30-208.   Enrollment for defined contribution arrangements.1205

(1)  An insurer offering a health benefit plan in the defined contribution arrangement1206

market:1207

(a)  shall allow an employer to enroll in a small employer defined contribution1208

arrangement plan; and1209
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[(b)  may not impose a surcharge under Section 31A-30-106.7 for a small employer1210

group selecting a defined contribution arrangement health benefit plan on or before January 1,1211

2012; and]1212

[(c)] (b)  shall otherwise comply with the requirements of this part, Chapter 42, Defined1213

Contribution Risk Adjuster Act, and Title 63M, Chapter 1, Part 25, Health System Reform Act.1214

(2) (a)  [Except as provided in Subsection 31A-30-202.5(2), in accordance with1215

Subsection (2)(b), on January 1 of each year, an] An insurer may enter or exit the defined1216

contribution arrangement market on January 1 of each year.1217

(b)  An insurer may offer new or modify existing products in the defined contribution1218

arrangement market:1219

(i)  on January 1 of each year;1220

(ii)  when required by changes in other law; and1221

(iii)  at other times as established by the risk adjuster board created in Section1222

31A-42-201.1223

(c) [(i)]  An insurer shall give the department, the Health Insurance Exchange, and the1224

risk adjuster board 90 days' advance written notice of any event described in Subsection (2)(a)1225

or (b).1226

[(ii)  When an insurer elects to participate in the defined contribution arrangement1227

market, the insurer shall participate in the defined contribution arrangement market for no less1228

than two years.]1229

Section 30.  Section 63I-2-231 (Superseded 07/01/13) is amended to read:1230

63I-2-231 (Superseded 07/01/13).   Repeal dates, Title 31A.1231

Title 31A, Chapter 42, Defined Contribution Risk Adjuster Act, is repealed July 1,1232

[2013] 2015.1233

Section 31.  Section 63I-2-231 (Effective 07/01/13) is amended to read:1234

63I-2-231 (Effective 07/01/13).   Repeal dates, Title 31A.1235

(1)  Section 31A-22-315.5 is repealed July 1, 2016.1236

(2)  Title 31A, Chapter 42, Defined Contribution Risk Adjuster Act, is repealed July 1,1237

[2013] 2015.1238

Section 32.  Health System Reform Task Force--Creation--Membership--Interim1239

rules followed--Compensation--Staff.1240
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(1)  There is created the Health System Reform Task Force consisting of the following1241

11 members:1242

(a)  four members of the Senate appointed by the president of the Senate, no more than1243

three of whom may be from the same political party; and1244

(b)  seven members of the House of Representatives appointed by the speaker of the1245

House of Representatives, no more than five of whom may be from the same political party.1246

(2) (a)  The president of the Senate shall designate a member of the Senate appointed1247

under Subsection (1)(a) as a cochair of the committee.1248

(b)  The speaker of the House of Representatives shall designate a member of the House1249

of Representatives appointed under Subsection (1)(b) as a cochair of the committee.1250

(3)  In conducting its business, the committee shall comply with the rules of legislative1251

interim committees.1252

(4)  Salaries and expenses of the members of the committee shall be paid in accordance1253

with Section 36-2-2 and Legislative Joint Rules, Title 5, Chapter 3, Expense and Mileage1254

Reimbursement for Authorized Legislative Meetings, Special Sessions, and Veto Override1255

Sessions.1256

(5)  The Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel shall provide staff support1257

to the committee.1258

Section 33.  Duties -- Interim report.1259

(1)  The committee shall review and make recommendations on the following issues:1260

(a)  the impact of implementation of the federal health reform law and federal1261

regulations on the state;1262

(b)  options for the state regarding Medicaid expansion and reform;1263

(c)  health care cost containment strategies;1264

(d)  the role of the state defined contribution arrangement market and federal1265

exchanges;1266

(e)  governing structure for the state's defined contribution arrangement market1267

exchange; and1268

(f)  Medicaid behavioral health delivery and payment reform models within Medicaid1269

accountable care organizations and other county provided delivery settings including:1270

(i)  the development of a system to encourage, track, evaluate, share, and disseminate1271
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results from existing pilot projects; and1272

(ii)  payment reform models that promote performance based reimbursement.1273

(2)  A final report, including any proposed legislation shall be presented to the Business1274

and Labor Interim Committee before November 30, 2013 and before November 30, 2014.1275

Section 34.  Appropriation.1276

Under the terms and conditions of Title 63J, Chapter 1, Budgetary Procedures Act, for1277

the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2013 and ending June 30, 2014, the following sums of money1278

are appropriated from resources not otherwise appropriated, or reduced from amounts1279

previously appropriated, out of the funds or accounts indicated.  These sums of money are in1280

addition to any amounts previously appropriated for fiscal year 2014.1281

To Legislature - Senate1282

From General Fund, One-time $30,0001283

Schedule of Programs:1284

Administration $30,0001285

To Legislature - House of Representatives $52,0001286

From General Fund, One-time1287

Schedule of Programs:1288

Administration $52,0001289

Section 35.  Effective date.1290

If approved by two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, this bill takes effect1291

upon approval by the governor, or the day following the constitutional time limit of Utah1292

Constitution Article VII, Section 8, without the governor's signature, or in the case of a veto,1293

the date of veto override.1294
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