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Governor’s Office of Management and Budget
State Capitol Complex, Suite 150

Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Telephone: (801) 538-1000

Legislative Compensation Commission

December 10, 2013

To the Utah State Legislature:

The Legislative Compensation Commission (“the Commission”) has completed its report for the
2014 General Session of the Utah State Legislature.

Utah law requires the Commission to “study and formulate recommendations concerning the
salary levels of Utah state legislators...[basing] the study and recommendations upon
maintaining a citizen Legislature in Utah, but compensating members fairly for their service in
order that all individuals have an opportunity to serve.” The law further requires the Commission
to submit its recommendations to each member of the Legislature “concerning changes, if any,
which should be made in the salary plan and its administration for state legislators,” by January
2nd of each even-numbered year.

The Commission reviewed and updated the work done in 2011 and 2012, and noted that its four
recommendations were essentially adopted by the Legislature in its 2013 General Session. Those
changes increased, in a transparent way, compensation for legislators while ensuring that
legislators who incur expenses to attend to their legislative duties are appropriately reimbursed
for those expenses.

As in prior years, the Commission reviewed much data from state and national sources, including
surveys of all 50 states’ legislative compensation levels. Our analysis considered compensation
trends for all states, western states and states with traditional citizen legislatures. The
Commission determined that the increase in daily salary to $273 for legislators last year was
significant and needs no adjustment for 2014.

The Commission also reviewed leadership pay this year. After obtaining and considering data
from state and national sources, and analyzing trends for all 50 states and states with traditional
citizen legislatures, the Commission concluded that the Legislature’s leadership should receive
additional compensation for the additional burden placed upon them.



The Legislative Compensation Commission RECOMMENDS leadership pay be increased as
follows:

. To $5,000 per year each for the Senate President and the Speaker of the House,

. To $4,000 per year for Majority and Minority Leaders in both chambers, and

. To $3,000 per year for other members of the respective Majority and Minority
Leadership teams (specifically the Whips, Assistant Whips, and the Minority
Caucus Managers) and for the two chairpersons of the Executive Appropriations
Committee.

Sincerely,

The Utah Legislative Compensation Commission

Staff:

Paul D. Williams, Chair
David Pyne, Vice-Chair
Derek Larsen

David L. Rail

James R. Gowans
Matthew G Bell

Chris Bray

Clifford Strachan, Governor’s Office of Management and Budget
(801) 538-1861

For a copy of the report contact:

Governor’s Office of Management and Budget
State Capitol Complex, Suite 150

Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Telephone: (801) 538-1000



Introduction

Avrticle VI, Section 9, of the Utah Constitution (see Appendix B) states that the Legislature may
not increase the salaries of its members on its own initiative, but shall provide by law for the
appointment by the governor of a citizens’ salary commission to make recommendations
concerning the salaries of members of the Legislature.

Utah Code Annotated (UCA) 36-2-3 provides that the salaries of members of the legislature are
based on recommendations of the Legislative Compensation Commission. UCA 36-2-4 outlines
the composition of the Commission. UCA 36-2-5 declares the duties of the Commission. (For
reference, each section is included in Appendix B of this report).

Legislative Compensation Commission

Pursuant to UCA 36-2-4, the Utah Legislative Compensation Commission is composed of seven
members appointed by the governor to serve four-year terms. Members represent a cross section
of workforce interests, major geographic areas of the state, and different political parties.
Legislative, judicial, and executive branches employees are not eligible for appointment.

Appointed commissioners and their qualifications to serve are listed below:

Name Occupation Residence Political Term
Party Expires

Paul D. Williams Banking/finance South Jordan Republican  4/1/2015
David Pyne Attorney West Jordan Republican  4/1/2017
Derek Larsen Business owner South Jordan Democrat 4/1/2017
David L. Rail Insurance Provo Republican  4/1/2015
James R. Gowans Rancher and former legislator Tooele Democrat 4/1/2015
Matthew G Bell County Commissioner Ogden Republican  4/1/2017
Chris Bray Nonprofit administrator Bountiful Democrat 4/1/2017

The Governor’s Office of Management and Budget staffs the commission.

Duties of the Legislative Compensation Commission

UCA 36-2-5 outlines the duties of the Commission which are to “study and formulate
recommendations concerning the salary levels of Utah state legislators...[basing] the study and
recommendations upon maintaining a citizen Legislature in Utah, but compensating members
fairly for their service in order that all individuals have an opportunity to serve.” The law further
requires the Commission to submit its recommendations to each member of the Legislature



“concerning changes, if any, which should be made in the salary plan and its administration for
state legislators,” by January 2nd of each even-numbered year.

Salaries of Members Based on Recommendations

The required statutory recitation of UCA 36-2-3 is included in Appendix B of this report.
Subsection 1 declares that legislator salaries are to be automatically set January 1 of the odd-
numbered year following the recommendations included in the report issued by January 2 of the
preceding even-numbered year. It also provides that salaries shall be set either on a daily or
annual basis. Subsection 2 allows the legislature to reject or decrease the salary recommendation
but not to increase it. If it does neither, it “[has] by law accepted the Legislative Compensation
Commission recommendations.” Thus, unless rejected or decreased by the legislature, legislator
salaries as recommended in this year’s report will be effective January 1, 2015.



Background

The Utah State Legislature

The Utah State Legislature consists of 75 members of the House of Representatives and 29
members of the Senate. Representatives are elected to serve two-year terms, and Senators are
elected to serve four-year terms. The legislative session begins on the fourth Monday in January
and lasts 45 consecutive calendar days. Special sessions may be called either by the governor to
work on particular issues or by the Legislature to override gubernatorial vetoes. Interim
legislative committees meet outside of the general session and meetings are typically held about
once a month.

National Conference of State Leqislatures

Much of the comparative data considered by the Commission was obtained from the National
Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), which describes itself as “a bipartisan organization
that provides research, technical assistance, and opportunities for policymakers to exchange
ideas on ... state issues.”* NCSL categorizes Utah as a traditional citizen legislature (and that
phrase is used throughout this report):

“On average lawmakers spend the equivalent of half of a full-time job doing legislative
work. The compensation they receive for this work is quite low and requires them to have
other sources of income in order to make a living. [These] states have relatively small
staffs. They are often called traditional or citizen legislatures and they are most often
found in the smallest population, more rural states.”

The study referenced above groups the 50 state legislatures into Red, White, and Blue states,
with Red states requiring the most time of their legislators and Blue states the least. The
distinction is useful when comparing legislator compensation surveys. NCSL’s report, Full and
Part-Time Legislators, is reprinted in Appendix A.

Reports of the 2012 Legislative Compensation Commission®

The 2012 Legislative Compensation Commission met in the autumn of 2011 to “study and
formulate recommendations concerning salary levels for Utah state legislators.” As with the two

! “Mission and Governance,” Pound, William T., retrieved August 12, 2013 from http://www.ncsl.org/about-
US.aspx.

2 «Fyll and Part-Time Legislatures,” updated June 2009, retrieved August 12, 2013 from
http://www.ncsl.org/legislatures-elections/legislatures/full-and-part-time-legislatures.aspx#side_by_side.

® The Commission includes this three-page discussion to provide recent historical context as the 2012 Commission
recommended and the 2013 Legislature adopted significant changes to legislator compensation.




previous years’ efforts, the commission considered establishing an annual salary versus a daily
rate and establishing an expense reimbursement system rather than per diem allowances. Of the
latter, members of the commission indicated some had been lobbied by legislators to address the
issue which had the effect of compensating local legislators for expenses they did not incur while
legislators who travelled greater distances actually had to pay lodging, food and travel costs.

The Commission submitted its report to the Executive Appropriations Committee on December
13, 2011 with two recommendations:

Report of the Utah Legislative Compensation Commission Prepared for the 2012 General
Session of the Utah State Legislature®

Recommendation #1: The Commission recommends for transparency purposes if legislators
eliminate the daily per diem allowances for food and lodging and change to an expense
reimbursement system for actual lodging, actual meal and incidental expenses if lodging is
necessary, mileage, and travel expenses, then contingent upon these changes the Commission
recommends that legislators move to an annual salary of $16,380 (based on 60 days, 8 hours per
day, $34.13 an hour).

Recommendation #2: The Commission recommends that additional compensation for legislative
leaders remain at $3,000 per year for the Senate President and the House Speaker and at $2,000
per year for the Majority and Minority Leaders.

As the commission prepared its report for publication, and subsequent to its release, other issues
were raised and clarifications sought, which would result in the release of a second report,
ultimately revised, on March 8, 2012, with two additional recommendations and expansion of the
original recommendations.

Second Revised Supplemental Report of the Utah Legislative Compensation Commission
Prepared for the 2012 General Session of the Utah State Legislature®

Recommendation #1: The Commission recommends that for transparency purposes the daily per
diem allowances for food and lodging be replaced with an expense reimbursement system.

The Commission recommends that if legislators eliminate the daily per diem allowances for food
and lodging and change to an expense reimbursement system for actual lodging, actual meal and

* Utah Governor’s Office of Management and Budget. Report of the Utah Legislative Compensation Commission,
Prepared for the 2012 General Session of the Utah State Legislature.

> Utah Governor’s Office of Management and Budget. Second Revised Supplemental Report of the Utah Legislative
Compensation Commission, Prepared for the 2012 General Session of the Utah State Legislature.
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incidental expenses if lodging is necessary, mileage, and travel expenses, then contingent upon
these changes the Commission recommends that legislators be paid a daily salary of $273 per
day for the general session, interim days, special sessions, and veto override sessions. Further,
the $273 daily rate is based upon combining the existing $117 daily rate with the two existing
per diem rates of $95 and $61. With the elimination of the per diems, members of the
Legislature may seek reimbursement for actual travel related expenses similar to reimbursements
for state employees as outlined in [Utah Administrative Code R25-7°].

The Commission recommends that, if the Legislature is called in due to a natural disaster or
other emergency situation that is beyond the scope of these recommendations, the Commission
may reconvene to consider compensating legislators for time taken for those circumstances at the
daily rate of $273.

If the Legislature rejects the Commission's recommendations then the salary for a member of the
Legislature will remain at the current rate of $117 per day for 60 days per year.

Recommendation #2: If legislators eliminate the daily per diem allowances for food and lodging
and change to an expense reimbursement system for actual lodging, actual meal and incidental
expenses as set forth above, then contingent upon these changes the Commission recommends
that legislators who serve on committees, commissions, or task forces, other than Standing
Committees, Interim Committees, Legislative Management Committee, Executive
Appropriations Committee, and Appropriations Subcommittees, be paid up to an additional $273
per day for required meetings of such committees, commissions, or task forces held on days
other than the general session, special sessions, veto override sessions, and interim days, if (i) the
committee, commission, or task force is created by statute or joint resolution, (ii) the meeting and
amount is approved by the Legislative Management Committee, and (iii) service and payment
for service on such committee, commission or task force is not in violation of Article V, Article
VI Sections 6 and 7, or other provisions of the Constitution of Utah.

Recommendation #3: The Commission recommends that additional compensation for legislative
leaders remain at $3,000 per year for the Senate President and the House Speaker and at $2,000
per year for the Majority and Minority Leaders, including the Chairs of the Executive
Appropriations.

Recommendation #4: The Commission recommends that a fourth leadership position in Senate
and House Minority leadership, namely the Senate and House Minority Caucus Managers, be
added to those leadership positions receiving additional compensation for legislative leadership
of $2,000 per year because the positions have been longstanding, have increased in duties, and
have responsibilities similar to other leadership positions.

® Retrieved from http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r025/r025-007.htm.
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2012 General Session Legislation:

Following the release of the report and concurrent with efforts resulting in the second report, the
House of Representatives passed House Joint Rules Resolution (“HJR”) 22, Joint Rules
Resolution on Compensation and Expense Reimbursements’ (Dee). However, HIR 22 died in
Senate Rules Committee at the end of the legislative session. As a result, no changes were made
to legislative compensation.

2013 General Session Legislation:

In 2013, the legislature again took up the Second Revised Supplemental Report with HIR 6, Joint
Rules Resolution - Compensation and Expense Reimbursements® (Dee), which passed both
houses and became effective February 1, 2013.

While HJR 6 does not specifically and directly address each of the recommendations, the
passage of HIR 6 effectively provided for the adoption of the four recommendations. By
adopting the contingent changes set forth in the first two recommendations and by neither
rejecting nor lowering the commission’s recommendations respecting salary and by not reducing
the then existing compensation, the Utah State Legislature pursuant to UCA 36-2-2 accepted all
four recommendations.

Recommendation #1: Consistent with this recommendation, HIR 6 amended JR5-1-102 to
establish an expense reimbursement system and made clear in JR5-2-101, 102, and 103 that per
diem rates are the same as provided for state employees. HIR 6 also made clear legislators shall
receive daily compensation per the commission’s recommendations.

It should be noted that while HIR 6 specifically sets rates for meals, lodging, and travel expenses
to the same rates as state employees, the language seemingly (and in practice does) exempt
legislators from the minimum travel distance requirements applicable to state employees.

Recommendation #2: HJR 6 changed the definition of “authorized legislative day” in JR5-1-101
to fit recommendation.

Recommendation #3: The recommendation maintains the status quo for leadership
compensation.

Recommendation #4: The recommendation expanded the list of Majority and Minority Leaders
to include House and Senate Minority Caucus Managers.

" Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/~2012/bills/static/HJR022.html
8 Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/~2013/bills/static/HJR006.html
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Legislator Compensation

Joint Rule (JR) 5-3-101 states: “A legislator shall receive daily compensation...for authorized
legislative days as defined in Section JR5-1-101.”

Salary

Beginning February 1, 2013, the 104 Utah state legislators receive a daily salary of $273 per day
for all authorized legislative days'®, which includes the 45-day general session, plus special
session days, veto override session days, interim days (designated by the Legislative
Management Committee) or any other day that includes a meeting of a committee,
subcommittee, commission, task force, or other legislative meeting, provided that the committee,
subcommittee, commission, task force, or other entity is created by statute or joint resolution, the
legislator’s attendance at the meeting is approved by the Legislative Management Committee,
and service and payment for service by the legislator is not in violation of the Utah Constitution,
including Article V and Article VI, Sections 6 and 7.

For the 45-day general session all legislators receive a lump sum payment of $12,285 ($273 x 45
days). This payment is made in January before the start of the legislative session.

Other approved attendance at legislative meetings is paid on an as-earned basis. These include
monthly (generally May to December) meetings of interim committees and occasional meetings
of appropriations committees outside the legislative session. It is not unusual for legislators to
attend ten or more approved meetings outside of the legislative session during a year.

Authorized meetings do not include meetings with local constituents, campaigning, or
preparatory work on policy issues outside of an official meeting day.

Leadership Pay

Legislators serving in certain leadership positions receive additional pay annually for the
additional duties and responsibilities to the legislature or respective caucuses, as follows:

President of the Senate and Speaker of the House of Representatives $3,000 each
Majority and Minority Party Leaders, Whips and Assistant Whips, and

Caucus Managers $2,000 each
Chairs of the Executive Appropriations Committee $2,000 each

° Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/URC/LegislativeRules.pdf
19 See JR5-1-101, House Joint Rules Resolution 6 Joint Rules Resolution — Compensation and Expense
Reimbursements (Dee), 2013 General Session, Utah State Legislature.
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Per Diems and Expense Reimbursements

JR5-2-101" through 103 addresses reimbursement for lodging, meals, and transportation. As
changed per HIR 6 and effective February 1, 2013, legislators may claim reimbursements for
actual lodging, meal expenses, and transportation costs incurred by the legislator in association
with the legislator’s official duties for an authorized legislative day.

Reimbursements for expenses may not exceed the per diem rates published in administrative
rules governing the reimbursement of lodging, meal, or transportation expenses for state
employees. Minimum travel distance requirements (50 miles for lodging and 100 miles for
meals) applicable to state employees do not apply to legislators. Receipts are required.

Administrative Rule R25-7, Travel-Related Reimbursements for State Employees'?, as in effect
on August 1, 2013, outlines state policy and procedure, and provides (in-state amounts):

. Lodging - $65 per night with exceptions for specified cities (Salt Lake City
metropolitan area is $95 maximum)

. Meals - $39 per day ($10 - breakfast, $13 - lunch, $16 - dinner)

. Transportation — private vehicle reimbursement is $0.555 per mile if a state
vehicle is not available for use; parking expenses, and public and commercial
transportation costs are also permitted.

All expenses are subject to procedures established, and reviews, by the Legislative Expenses
Oversight Committee for each house.

Communication Devices

JR5-5-101 allows for reimbursement the monthly plan costs for communication devices such as
cell phones. For 2013, legislators are given three options*®: 1) use T-Mobile service at a cost of
$60 per month, 2) use Verizon service at cost of $85 per month plus the cost of a new phone, and
3) be reimbursed for use of personal cell phone up to $60 per month.

Benefits
While the commission’s duties, as outlined in UCA 36-2-5, do not explicitly mention benefits, it

is clear in state law that health and retirement plans have been made available to legislators. It is
helpful then to list these benefits for they do form a significant part of legislators’ compensation.

1 Retrieved from http:/le.utah.gov/URC/LegislativeRules.pdf
12 Retrieved from http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r025/r025-007.htm.
13 Utah Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel. 2013 Legislator Cell Phone Selection.
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Retirement Benefits

UCA 49-19-201, Governor’s and Legislator’s Retirement Act™*, provides for retirement benefits
for legislators. In 2010, the legislature amended the Act to limit future liability for pensions by
replacing the pension plan with a defined contribution plan. Utah Retirement Systems
administers both programs.

Legislators entering office before July 1, 2011 remain eligible for service credit under the
pension program. Legislators are eligible for these retirement benefits: 1) if they have reached
age 65 and have served four or more years or 2) have reached age 62 and have served ten or
more years (subject to actuarial reduction). The retirement benefit is equal to $10 per month,
increased semiannually up to two percent based on the Consumer Price Index, for each year of
service as a legislator. The amount™ as of July 1, 2013 is $28.40 per month. An additional $3.50
per month for each year of service, is payable to legislators who were members of this plan
before March 1, 2000.

Legislators entering office on or after July 1, 2011 may participate only in the Tier Il Defined
Contribution Plan. The state contributes ten percent of legislator’s eligible compensation to a
401(k) defined contribution plan. The plan vests after four years of eligible service.

Health and Dental Benefits

Legislators may participate in the same health, dental, and life insurance plans available to state
employees, which plans are administered by Public Employees Health Plan (PEHP). The state
provides traditional health and dental plans as well as HSA-eligible plans.

Costs for the traditional medical and dental plans are split as follows:

. 90 percent employer share of premium
. 10 percent employee share of premium

Vision coverage is available at 100 percent premium cost to an employee. For all these plans, a
legislator’s share is the same as an employee’s share.

Annual costs'® to the state (the 90 percent employer share of premium) for a legislator enrolled in
a traditional medical plan and a traditional dental plan are as follows:

' Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE49/htm/49 19 020100.htm

15 Utah Governors and Legislators Retirement Plan Highlights, effective July 1, 2012; pamphlet published by Utah
Retirement Systems.

16 Utah Public Employees Health Program, 2013-2014 Benefits Summary, retrieved from
https://www1.pehp.org/mango/pdf/pehp/PDC/state book 2013-14 sw_FEF4B7DD.pdf.
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Coverage Medical Dental  Total

Single $ 4,630 $ 525 $ 5155
Double $ 9,547 $ 667  $10,215
Family $12,746 $ 966  $13,712

Also available are Health Savings Account (HSA) plans such as STAR and Utah Basic Plus
where only the employer contributes and preferred versions of all plans where the employee
portion varies and generally costs more.

In addition, the State pays the full premium for basic life insurance coverage of $25,000 for each
active legislator who enrolls in the program. As with state employees, the coverage terminates
when the legislator is no longer employed by the state.

Post Retirement Paid-up Health Coverage Benefits'’

The state will pay the percentage of the cost of providing paid-up group health coverage for
those legislators (and governors) and their surviving spouses, who retire after January 1, 1998,
are at least 62 but not yet 65 years of age, and are active members at the time of retirement or
have continued coverage with the program until eligible for this benefit. This does not apply to
members who began service on or after January 1, 2012.

The state will pay the percentage of the cost of providing Medicare supplemental coverage for
life for those legislators (and governors) and their surviving spouses, who retire after January 1,
1998 and are at least 65 years of age. This benefit applies only to those members who began
service before July 1, 2013.

The portion of the premium that the state pays for health insurance or Medicare supplemental
coverage is determined by the number of years a legislator has served:

. 100 percent for 10 years of service credit
. 80 percent for 8 years of service credit
. 60 percent for 6 years of service credit
. 40 percent for 4 years of service credit

17 Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE49/htm/49 20 040300.htm
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Analysis of Data

[All tables hereinafter referenced are found in Appendix A.]

Surveys

The annual salary and expenditure survey from the National Conference State Legislatures
(NCSL) gives a description of the salary and per diem expenses of each of the 50 state
legislatures. State legislatures generally compensate their members in three ways:

1) An annual salary,
(2) A daily rate paid for calendar days during the session, and
3) A daily rate paid for actual legislative days worked.

The NCSL survey also contains information regarding per diem expense reimbursement for the
50 state legislatures. This year, the Commission also obtained additional data from NCSL
concerning leadership pay. This information was taken into consideration by the Commission
regarding the recommendations.

Standardization

In order to compare the annual salary, daily salary, and hourly wages of the 49 other state
legislatures to Utah’s it is necessary to convert each state’s salary into an hourly wage. Annual
salaries can be converted into daily amounts by dividing by the number of session days. Weekly
salaries paid for legislative days worked can be approximately converted to calendar days by
dividing by five. Hourly wages paid for legislative work days can be converted by taking the
daily rate and dividing by a standard eight hour work day. Furthermore, hourly wages can be
converted to hourly wages to include urban and rural per diem rates by taking the daily urban
and rural per diem rates and dividing by a standard eight hour work day.

For the purposes of this study, urban areas are generally those areas within 50 miles of the
Capitol and rural areas are those areas more than 50 miles from the Capitol. Some states pay
different allowances or per diems depending on where a legislator lives. In Utah, where the
legislature made changes to per diems as recommended in the Second Revised Supplemental
Report of the Utah Legislative Compensation Commission Prepared for the 2012 General
Session of the Utah State Legislature, the urban and rural rates are the same in this study.

17



Trends/Overview

Hourly Wages

With the changes after the 2012 report and effected in the 2013 General Session, Utah now ranks
15th (previously 36th) in the nation for legislative pay (see Table 2). Utah’s legislative rates
equates to an hourly wage of $34.13. Alaska ranks number one at $70.79 an hour and New
Mexico, which does not pay any legislative salary, ranks last. The average hourly wage for all
state legislatures is $27.82, while the median is $23.71.

Hourly Wages plus Per Diems

Utah moved to 15th (from 25th) in the nation (see Table 6) when using hourly wages plus urban
per diem rates. Utah’s hourly wage plus urban per diem (expense reimbursement) is $50.88.
Alaska ranks number one at $92.72 and New Hampshire ranks last at $0.07. The average hourly
wage for all states including urban per diem rates is $40.30, while the median is $36.65.

When referencing rural per diems, Utah ranks 16th (from 27th) at $50.88 with Alaska first at
$100.04 and New Hampshire last at $0.07. The average hourly wage for all state legislatures
including rural per diem rates is $41.95, while the median is $37.20.

Only eight states (Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, lowa, Massachusetts, and
Nebraska) reported different per diem rates for urban or rural legislators.

Daily and Annual Salary

Using daily salaries to compare Utah ($273) to all other states shows that Utah ranks 15th (up
from 36th a year ago) in the nation for legislative pay (see Table 2) and is one of eight states
(Alabama, Kansas, Montana, Nevada, North Dakota, Vermont and Wyoming are the others) that
has a daily salary.

Comparing annual salaries, Utah legislators’ $12,285 (when counting the legislative session
only) puts Utah’s legislator salaries at 40th (up from 47th) in the nation (see Table 2).

Western States Comparison

The comparison of Utah legislators’ hourly wages to that of the ten other western states (see
Table 7) shows that six states (Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington)
pay an annual salary, four states (Montana, Nevada, Utah, and Wyoming pay a daily salary, and

one state (New Mexico) pays no salary.
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Utah is ranked 3rd (up from 5th last year) out of the 11 states when considering hourly wage plus
urban per diem and is 4th (previously 7th) out of the 11 states counting hourly wage plus rural
per diem (see Table 7). As with Utah’s, Washington’s top ranked salary plus per diem measured
hourly ($61.86) is the same for urban and rural. Of those that pay, Montana’s is lowest at $24.05.

Traditional and Slightly Less Traditional Citizen Legislatures

Table 8 compares rates for Utah’s traditional citizen legislature with other states with traditional
citizen legislatures (Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming) and
states with slightly less traditional citizen legislatures (Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Maine,
Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia).

In comparing the traditional citizen legislatures’ hourly wage, Utah ranks highest. In comparing
the traditional citizen legislatures’ hourly wage plus urban per diem and hourly wage plus rural
per diem, Utah ranks 3rd.

Of all 17 legislatures grouped as traditional or slightly less traditional citizen legislatures, only
one state (West Virginia) has a higher hourly wage for legislators and only two (West Virginia
and Georgia) have higher combined rates (hourly wage plus per diem).

Legislator Salaries Compared to Other Officials

In order to compare hourly wages, the executive and judicial branch salaries were divided by
2,088 hours to convert to hourly wages (see Table 18).

While a part-time legislator earns the equivalent of $34.13 per hour and is eligible for expense
reimbursements equating to $16.75 per hour ($134 per diem), the governor earns $52.63 per
hour, the lieutenant governor, attorney general, auditor, and treasurer earn an hourly wage of
$50. Utah’s chief justice has an hourly wage of $70.57, a district judge earns $63.29 and the
state’s appointed officials’ hourly wages range from $32.40 to $76.73. All are eligible for health
and retirement benefits.

Legislator Salaries Compared to Private Sector

The Utah Department of Workforce Services defines occupations using standard occupational
classifications. The standard occupational classifications can then be used for analysis of
occupational annual salaries and hourly wages. The following is the standard occupational
classification used in this analysis:
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General and Operations Manager Standard Occupational Classification (11-1021) Definition:
Plan, direct, or coordinate the operations of companies or public and private sector organizations.
Duties and responsibilities include formulating policies, managing daily operations, and planning
the use of materials and human resources, but are too diverse and general in nature to be
classified in any one functional area of management or administration, such as personnel,
purchasing, or administrative services. Include owners and managers who head small business
establishments whose duties are primarily managerial. Exclude "First-Line Supervisors/Managers
of Retail Sales Workers" (41-1011) and workers in other small establishments.*®

Table 19 shows that occupational wages in May 2012 for general and operations managers. The
average hourly wage for an inexperienced general and operations manager was $21.77 in Utah,
the median hourly wage was $38.03 in Utah and $45.88 nationally. The annual average salary for
an inexperienced general and operations manager in Utah was $45,270 while the annual median
salary for a general and operations manager in Utah was $79,090 and $95,440 nationally.

Leadership Pay

Table 14 shows the relative rankings of various legislative leaders against their counterparts in
the other 49 states. Table 15 ranks leadership pay for states with traditional and slightly less
traditional citizen legislatures. Comparing like positions under “Other Leaders” to like positions
is challenging as there is much inconsistency in the titles and which positions are paid. The
following shows Utah’s relative rankings:

Table 14 Table 15 Table 14 Table 15
States with States with
Citizen Citizen
Senate All States  Legislatures House All States  Legislatures
President 28 7 Speaker 35 11
Majority Leader 23 8 Majority Leader 21 8
Minority Leader 23 8 Minority Leader 21 6
Other leaders 20 7 Other leaders 18 6
Executive Appropriations Chair 14 4 Executive Appropriations Chair 13 4
out of 50 out of 17 out of 50 out of 17

'8 Utah Department of Workforce Services, Occupational Wages-Published April 2013 (data from May 2012) for

General and Operations Managers, retrieved from http://jobs.utah.gov/jsp/wi/utalmis/oidoreport.do.
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Commission Activities

Meetings

The Commission met several times in October and November, 2013, to study legislator
compensation and make recommendations. Minutes from these meetings are available from
Commission staff or by searching the Utah Public Notice Website (http://www.utah.gov/pmn)
for meetings of the Legislative Compensation Commission.

Focus

The Commission reviewed and updated the work done for the 2012 reports, and acknowledged
that the four recommendations were effectively adopted by the Legislature in 2013.

For this year’s report, the Commission reviewed the level of daily pay for legislators, considered
whether that daily pay should be reduced for days where attendance at meetings takes less than
four hours, discussed whether legislators could be paid to opt out of enrolling in the state’s health
insurance program, and examined leadership pay levels.

Legislative Salaries

The Commission reviewed the data provided in the tables (see Appendix A) and found that Utah
legislators’ daily salary of $273 ranks 15™ nationally and 2" among traditional and slightly less
than traditional citizen legislatures.

The Commission obtained data showing the distribution (see Table 9) of legislative
compensation for legislators and determined the typical (see Table 10) number of days
legislators attended, and how much they received in compensation and reimbursements.

The Commission looked at the legislature’s list of Authorized Legislative Meetings®®
(summarized in Table 17) and questioned whether it was appropriate to pay a full daily salary for
days (typically non-interim, non-general session, etc.) where time attending authorized meetings
may take less than one-half of the day. [State policy?® concerning Boards and Commissions
provides a lesser per diem for meetings lasting less than four hours and a full per diem for
meetings lasting more than four hours.] The Commission concluded that the relative number of
other meetings was small and the occasional full-day per diem was small compensation
considering the many unpaid hours legislators spend in serving their constituents.

1% Utah Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel, Authorized Legislative Meetings, 2013.
2 Retrieved from http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r025/r025-005.htm.
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Acknowledging last year’s significant changes, inflation lower than 2% (see Table 21), and the
relative rankings of legislators’ salaries, the Commission made no recommendations on salaries.

Leadership Pay

The Commission examined leadership pay as it was last changed in 2007. Utah’s leadership pay
compared to other states is summarized on page 20 of this report.

Table 16 is an estimate of legislative leaders’ additional workload (above that of regular
legislators). The Commission finds the leadership workload is not adequately compensated at
current rates. Therefore, the Commission recommends an increase for those leaders as follows:

Utah Legislative Leadership Pay

Senate and House Current Recommended

President and Speaker $ 3,000 $ 5,000
Majority Leaders $ 2,000 $ 4,000
Majority Whips $ 2,000 $ 3,000
Majority Assistant Whips $ 2,000 $ 3,000
Executive Appropriations Chairs $ 2,000 $ 3,000
Minority Leaders $ 2,000 $ 4,000
Minority Whips $ 2,000 $ 3,000
Minority Assistant Whips $ 2,000 $ 3,000
Minority Caucus Managers $ 2,000 $ 3,000

$ 19,000 $ 31,000

x2 houses X2 houses

Total Cost (both houses) $ 38,000 $ 62,000

The recommended increase requires an additional $24,000 to the state’s annual budget.

Whereas Tables 14 and 15 show the Utah’s current leadership pay as it ranks relative to other
states, Tables 14R and 15R reflect leadership pay as compared to other states if the legislature
adopts the increases recommended in this report.

Table 14R  Table 15R Table 14R  Table 15R
States with States with
Citizen Citizen

Senate All States  Legislatures House All States  Legislatures
President 26 7 Speaker 34 10
Majority Leader 19 6 Majority Leader 16 4
Minority Leader 18 6 Minority Leader 17 4
Other leaders 18 6 Other leaders 17 5
Executive Appropriations Chair 14 4 Executive Appropriations Chair 13 4

out of 50 out of 17 out of 50 out of 17

22



Adopting these rates will improve the Senate President’s ranking two places nationally but none
in the states with traditional and slightly less traditional citizen legislatures. The Speaker’s
relative rankings improve by one place in both comparisons.

Nationally, rankings for the Senate Majority Leader and the Senate Minority Leader improve
four and five positions respectively. Both leaders’ rankings improve only two places when
compared to the 17 states with citizen legislatures. Other Senate leaders improve two and one
ranks compared nationally and among the blue states.

In the House, the Majority Leader’s pay rank moves five positions higher nationally and four
compared to the citizen legislatures. The Minority Leader improves four and two positions
respectively. Other House leaders’ pay ranking improves one position in both tables.

The recommended increase results in no change in rankings for the chairs of Executive
Appropriations.

Benefits

Noting that compensation to legislators encompasses more than just daily salary, leadership pay,
and expense reimbursements, Commission members perused the other benefits received by
legislators in compensation. Noting that the Commission’s duties are directed to legislator
salaries and therefore recommendations on benefits out of order, the members did pose, in
suggestion, the question as to whether legislators could be paid (the individual rate) to opt out of
enrolling in the state’s health insurance programs.
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Recommendation(s)

Based on our review and analysis of the data contained in this report, the Legislative
Compensation Commission RECOMMENDS leadership pay be increased as follows:

. To $5,000 per year each for the Senate President and the Speaker of the House,
. To $4,000 per year for Majority and Minority Leaders in both chambers, and
. To $3,000 per year for other members of the respective Majority and Minority

Leadership teams (specifically the Whips, Assistant Whips, and the Minority
Caucus Managers) and for the two chairpersons of the Executive Appropriations
Committee.
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Table 1 - State Legislator Compensation by State, 2013%

State Salary Per Diem (Allowance for Daily Expenses)
$4,308/month plus $50/day for three days during each
Alabama $10/day (C) week that the legislature actually meets during any
session (U).
$234/day (depending on the time of year) tied to
Alaska $50,400/year federal rate. Legislators who reside in the Capitol area
receive 75% of the federal rate.
$35/day for the 1st 120 days of regular session and
for special session and $10/day thereafter. Members
. residing outside Maricopa County receive an
Arizona $24,0007year additional $25/day for the 1st 120 days of regular
session and for special session and an additional
$10/day thereafter (V). Set by statute.
Arkansas $15,869/year $147/day (V) plus mileage tied to federal rate.
California $90,526/year $141.86/day for each day they are in session.
$183 for members who live more than 50 miles from
Colorado $30,000/year capitol, $45 for members who live 50 or fewer miles
from capitol.
Connecticut $28,000/year No per diemis paid.
Delaware $44,041/year $7,334 expense allowance annually.
Florida $20,697/year $131{day earned based on the_number of days_ in
session. Travel vouchers are filed to substantiate.
Georgia $17,342/year $173/d_ay (V) set by the Legislative Services
Committee.
$175/day for members living outside Oahu during
Hawaii $46,273/year sess_ion;_$10/d_ay for mem_bers Ii\_/ir_1g on_Oah_u during
the interim while conducting official legislative
business.
$122/day for members establishing second residence
in Boise; $49/day if no second residence is
Idaho $16,438/year established and up to $25/day travel (V) set by
Compensation Commission.
$67,836/year Members are
Ilinois mandatorily required to forfeit one [$111/per session day.
day of compensation per month.
Indiana $22,616/year $152/day (U) tied to federal rate.
$135/day (U). $101.25/day for Polk County legislators
lowa $25,000/year (U) set by the legislature to coincide with federal rate.
State mileage rates apply.
Kansas $88.66 (C) $123/day (U) tied to federal rate.
Kentucky $1,788.51 a month $'188.22/day (V) tied to federal rate (110% Federal per
diemrate).
Louisiana $16,800/year + additional $149/day (U) tied to federal rate (26 U.S.C . Section
$6,000/year (U) expense allowance. |162(h)(1)(B)(ii))
$13,852/year for first regular $38/day housing, or mileage and tolls in lieu of
Maine session; $9,661/year for second housing (at rate of $0.44/mile up to $38/day) plus
regular session. $32/day for meals. Per diem limits are set by statute.
Maryland $43,500/year Lodging $101/d_ay; meals_$4_2/day (tied to federal rate
and compensation commission).
From $10/day-$100/day, depending on distance from
Massachusetts $60,03260/year State House (V) set by the legislature.
Michigan $71,685/year _$10,8_00 yearly expense allowgnce for s_ess_ion and
interim (V) set by compensation commission.
Minnesota $31,141/year $86 per day.
Mississippi $10,000/year $123/day
Missouri $35,915/year $_104/Qay (V) tied to federal rate. Verification of per
diemis by roll call.
Montana $82.64/day (L) $109.78/day (V).

2! National Conference of State Legislatures, 2013 Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances

During Session
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State Salary Per Diem (Allowance for Daily Expenses)
$123/day outside 50-mile radius from Capitol; $46/day

Nebraska $12,000/year if member resides within 50 miles of Capitol (V) tied to
federal rate.

Nevada $146.29/day maximum of 60 days of $152/per day.

session.

New Hampshire

$200/two-year term

No per diemis paid.

New Jersey $49,000/year No per diemis paid.

New Mexico None $154/day (V) tied to federal rate and the constitution.
New York $79,500/year $165/per full day and $61/per half day.

North Carolina $13951/year $104/day (U) set by statute. $559/month expense

allowance.

North Dakota

$157/day during legislative
sessions (C) and $157/day for
attending interim committee
meetings

Lodging reimbursement up to 30 times 65 percent of
the daily lodging rate ($1,351 per month as of 8/1/2011
).

Ohio $60,584/year No per diemis paid.
Oklahoma $38,400/year $147/day (U) tied to federal rate.
Oregon $22,260/year $123/day (U) tied to federal rate.

. 159 per day 1/1/13 to 5/31/13 and 9/1/13. $185 per
Pennsylvania $83,801/year ﬁay 6F/Jl/13t)<l) 8/31/13. $185p
Rhode Island $14,640/year No per diemis paid.

$131/day for meals and housing for each statewide
South Carolina $10,400/year session day and committee meeting tied to federal

rate.

South Dakota

$12,000/two-year term

$110/legislative day (U) set by the legislature.

Tennessee $19,009/year $173/legislative day (U) tied to federal rate.
Texas $7,200/year $150/day (U) set by Ethics Commission.
Utah $273/day (C) $39/day for meals (V) and $95/day (V) for lodging.
Vermont $647.12 per week during the $101/day lodging if you stay and $61/day meals and
legislative session only. mileage.

Virginia $18,000/year Senate, $17,640/year [$178.00/day for Senators during 2013 session.

9 House $170/day for House Members during 2013 session.
Washington $42,106/year $90/day
West Virginia $20,000/year $1311d_ay_dur|ng session (U) set by compensation

commission.

. . $88/day maximum (U) set by compensation
Wisconsin $49,943/year commission (90% of federal rate).
Wyoming $150/day (1) $109/day (V) set by the legislature, includes travel

days for those outside Cheyenne.

L = Legislative day
C = Calendar day

(V) =Vouchered
(U) = Unvouchered

! NCSL survey indicated: “$96/day (V) lodging allotment for each calendar day, tied to federal rate, $61/day
meals (V)" which was the case prior to the 2013 implementation of the LCC's recommedations.
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Table 2 — State Legislator Salaries - All States, 2013%

Session Hourly Daily Annual
Annual Days (C) Hourly Wage Daily Salary Annual Salary
Salary Daily Salary 2013 Wage" Rank Salary Rank Salary Rank
Alabama $51,696 $10.00 (C) 104 $63.38 2| $507.08 2 $52,736 8
Alaska $50,400 89 $70.79 1| $566.29 1 $50,400 10
Arizona $24,000 151 $19.87 30 | $158.94 30 $24,000 23
Arkansas $15,869 123 $16.13 38 | $129.02 38 $15,869 37
California $90,526 284 $39.84 12 [ $318.75 12 $90,526 1
Colorado $30,000 119 $31.51 17 $252.10 17 $30,000 19
Connecticut $28,000 147 $23.81 25 $190.48 25 $28,000 21
Delaware $51,375 173 $37.12 13 $296.97 13 $51,375 9
Florida $29,697 59 $62.92 3| $503.34 3 $29,697 20
Georgia $17,342 73 $29.70 18 | $237.56 18 $17,342 34
Hawaii $46,273 106 $54.57 6 | $436.54 6 $46,273 13
Idaho $16,438 87 $23.62 26 | $188.94 26 $16,438 35
1linois $67,836 142 $59.71 5| $477.72 5 $67,836 5
Indiana $22,616 112 $25.24 23 $201.93 23 $22,616 25
lowa $25,000 129 $24.22 24 $193.80 24 $25,000 22
Kansas $88.66 (C) 157 $11.08 41 $88.66 41 $13,920 39
Kentucky $21,462 77 $34.84 14 | $278.73 14 $21,462 27
Louisiana $22,800 59 $48.31 9| $386.44 9 $22,800 24
Maine $11,757 196 $7.50 47 $59.98 47 $11,757 42
Maryland $43,500 89 $61.10 4| $488.76 4 $43,500 14
Massachusetts ~ $60,033 322 $23.30 28 $186.44 28 $60,033 7
Michigan $82,485 356 $28.96 20 $231.70 20 $82,485 3
Minnesota $31,141 132 $29.49 19 [ $235.92 19 $31,141 18
Mississippi $10,000 86 $14.53 40 | $116.28 40 $10,000 44
Missouri $35,915 141 $31.84 16 | $254.72 16 $35,915 17
Montana $82.64 (L) 107 $10.33 42 $82.64 42 $8,842 45
Nebraska $12,000 147 $10.20 43 $81.63 43 $12,000 41
Nevada $146.29 (C) 119 $18.29 33| $146.29 33 $17,409 33
New Hampshire $100 180 $0.07 49 $0.56 49 $100 49
New Jersey $49,000 357 $17.16 36 $137.25 36 $49,000 12
New Mexico $0 $0 60 $0.00 50 $0.00 50 $0 50
New York $79,500 356 $27.91 22 | $223.31 22 $79,500 4
North Carolina__ $20,659 177 $14.59 39 | $116.72 39 $20,659 28
North Dakota $157.00 (C) 116 $19.63 31| $157.00 31 $18,212 31
Ohio $60,584 358 $21.15 29 | $169.23 29 $60,584 6
Oklahoma $38,400 109 $44.04 10 $352.29 10 $38,400 16
Oregon $22,260 154 $18.07 34 $144.55 34 $22,260 26
Pennsylvania $83,801 364 $28.78 21 | $230.22 21 $83,801 2
Rhode Island $14,640 183 $10.00 44 $80.00 44 $14,640 38
South Carolina__ $10,400 150 $8.67 46 $69.33 46 $10,400 43
South Dakota $6,000 76 $9.87 45 $78.95 45 $6,000 48
Tennessee $19,009 101 $23.53 27 | $188.21 27 $19,009 30
Texas $7,200 139 $6.47 48 $51.80 48 $7,200 47
Utah $273.00 (C) 45 $34.13 15 $273.00 15 $12,285 40
Vermont $129.42 (C) 125 $16.18 37 $129.42 37 $16,178 36
Virginia $17,743 45 $49.29 8| $394.29 8 $17,743 32
Washington $42,106 104 $50.61 7| $404.87 7 $42,106 15
West Virginia _ $20,000 59 $42.37 11| $338.98 11 $20,000 29
Wisconsin $49,943 358 $17.44 35| $139.51 35 $49,943 11
Wyoming $150.00 (L) 50 $18.75 32| $150.00 32 $7,500 46
Hourly Daily Annual
Wage : Salary Salary

Quartile 1 $16.14 $129.12 $14,947.25

(L) = Legislative day; (C) = Calendar Day Median $23.71 $189.71 $22,438.23

(V) = Vouchered; (U) = Unvouchered Average $27.82 $222.54 $30,697.83

Quartile 3 $36.55 $292.41 $45,579.75

Maximum $70.79 $566.29 $90,526.00

L calculations based on eight hours per day.
2 salary plus fixed annual expense allowance; AL $10/day+$4,308/month, DE $44,041+$7,334/year, LA $16,800+$6000/year, M|
3 $1,788.51 per month.
4 Averaged $13,852 for first year regular session and $9,661/year for second year regular session.

5 $137.90/day maximum of 60 days of session for holdover Senators, $146.29/day for all other legislators.
¢ New Hampshire pays $200 for a two-year term; South Dakota pays $12,000 for a two-year term.

7 $647.12 per week during legislative session only.
8 Averaged $18,000/year Senate and $17,640/year House.

22 National Conference of State Legislatures, 2013 Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances

During Session, and 2013 Legislative Sessions Calendar (August 7, 2013)
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Table 3 - State Legislative Sessions by State, 2013%

Regular Regular
Session Session Organizational | Calendar
State Convened | Adjourned | Session Date Days Comments
Alabama 5-Feb 20-May 104
Alaska 15-Jan 14-Apr 89
Avrizona® 14-Jan 14-Jun 151
Arkansas 14-Jan 17-May 123 Session can be extended by 2/3 vote.
California® 3-Dec-12 13-Sep 3-Dec-12 284
Colorado 9-Jan 8-May 119
Connecticut 9-Jan 5-Jun 147
Delaware 8-Jan 30-Jun 173
Florida 5-Mar 3-May 20-Nov-12 59
Georgia 14-Jan 28-Mar 73
Hawaii 16-Jan 2-May 106
ldaho 7-Jan 4-Apr 6-Dec-12 87
Minois® 9-Jan 31-May 142 Veto session held in fall.
Indiana 7-Jan 29-Apr 20-Nov-12 112
lowa 14-Jan 23-May 129
Kansas 14-Jan 20-Jun 3-Dec-12 157 Organizational session - House only
Kentucky® 8-Jan 26-Mar 77
Louisiana 8-Apr 6-Jun 59
Maine 5-Dec 19-Jun 196
Maryland 9-Jan 8-Apr 89
Massachusetts™?  [2-Jan 20-Nov 322
Michigan® 9-Jan 31-Dec 356
Minnesota 8-Jan 20-May 132
Mississippi® 8-Jan 4-Apr 86
Missouri 9-Jan 30-May 141
Montana 7-Jan 24-Apr 107
Nebraska 9-Jan 5-Jun 147
Nevada® 4-Feb 3-Jun 119
New Hampshire 2-Jan 1-Jul 5-Dec-12 180
New Jersey" 8-Jan 31-Dec 357
New Mexico 15-Jan 16-Mar 60
New York" 9-Jan 31-Dec 356
North Carolina 30-Jan 26-Jul 9-Jan-13 177
North Dakota 8-Jan 4-May 3-Dec-12 116
Ohio* 7-Jan 31-Dec 358
Oklahoma 4-Feb 24-May 8-Jan-13 109
Oregon 4-Feb 8-Jul 14-Jan-13 154
Pennsylvania® 1-Jan 31-Dec 364
Rhode Island 1-Jan 3-Jul 183
South Carolina 7-Jan 6-Jun 150 Session extended from June 6
South Dakota 8-Jan 25-Mar 76
Tennessee 8-Jan 19-Apr 6-Jan-13 to
8-Jan-13 101
Texas® 8-Jan 27-May 139
Utah® 28-Jan 14-Mar 45
Vermont 9-Jan 14-May 125
Virginia 9-Jan 23-Feb 45 Can be extended 30 days by 2/3 vote.
Washington® 14-Jan 28-Apr 104
West Virginia 13-Feb 13-Apr 59
Wisconsin® 7-Jan 31-Dec 358
Wyoming 8-Jan 27-Feb 50

: Legislature meets throughout the year.
2 Joint rules prohibit formal sessions after the third Wednesday of November. Informal sessions are permitted throughout the year.
2 One or more special sessions also scheduled during 2013.

2% National Conference of State Legislatures, 2013 Legislative Sessions Calendar (August 7, 2013)




Table 4 — State Legislature Composition by State, 2013%*

State Total Seats Total Se nate Total House
Alabama 140 35 105
Alaska 60 20 40
Arizona 90 30 60
Arkansas 135 35 100
California 120 40 80
Colorado 100 35 65
Connecticut 187 36 151
Delaware 62 21 41
Florida 160 40 120
Georgia 236 56 180
Hawvaii 76 25 51
Idaho 105 35 70
lllinois 177 59 118
Indiana 150 50 100
lowa 150 50 100
Kansas 165 40 125
Kentucky 138 38 100
Louisiana 144 39 105
Maine 186 35 151
Maryland 188 47 141
Massachusetts 200 40 160
Michigan 148 38 110
Minnesota 201 67 134
Mississippi 174 52 122
Missouri 197 34 163
Montana 150 50 100
Nebraska® 49 49 0
Nevada 63 21 42
New Hampshire 424 24 400
New Jersey 120 40 80
New Mexico 112 42 70
New York 212 62 150
North Carolina 170 50 120
North Dakota 141 47 94
Ohio 132 33 99
Oklahoma 149 48 101
Oregon 90 30 60
Pennsylvania 253 50 203
Rhode Island 113 38 75
South Carolina 170 46 124
South Dakota 105 35 70
Tennessee 132 33 99
Texas 181 31 150
Utah 104 29 75
Vermont 180 30 150
Virginia 140 40 100
Washington 147 49 98
West Virginia 134 34 100
Wisconsin 132 33 99
\Wyoming 90 30 60

1 Unicameral

2 National Conference of State Legislatures, 2012 State and Legislative Partisan Composition
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Table 5 — Legislative Session Per Diem Rates - All States, 2013%

Urban Per Rural Per Urban Per Rural Per
State Diem Diem Diem Rank Diem Rank
Alabama™® $ 5000 (U) $ 50.00 (U) 36 42
Alaska $ 175.50 $ 234.00 3 1
Arizona $ 35.00 (V) $ 60.00 (V) 41 41
Arkansas” $ 147.00 (V) $ 147.00 (V) 14 16
California $ 141.86 $ 141.86 17 19
Colorado $ 4500 (V) $ 183.00 (V) 40
Connecticut $ - $ - 44 44
Delaware® $ - $ - 44 44
Florida $ 131.00 (V) $ 131.00 (V) 19 22
Georgia $ 173.00 (U) $ 173.00 (V) 4 6
Hawaii $ 10.00 $ 175.00 42 5
Idaho* $  49.00 (V) $ 122.00 (V) 37 29
1llinois $ 111.00 $ 111.00 25 30
Indiana $ 152.00 (U) $ 152.00 (U) 10 12
lowa’ $ 101.25 (U) $ 135.00 (U) 31 20
Kansas $ 123.00 (U) $ 123.00 (U) 22 25
Kentucky $ 18822 (U) $ 188.22 (U) 1 2
Louisiana® $ 149.00 (V) $ 149.00 (V) 13 15
Maine $ 70.00 $ 70.00 35 40
Maryland $ 143.00 (V) $ 143.00 (V) 16 18
Massachusetts $ 10.00 (V) $ 100.00 (V) 42 36
Michigan® $ - VM s %) 44 44
Minnesota $ 8600 (U) $ 86.00 (U) 34 39
Mississippi $ 123.00 (U) $ 123.00 (U) 22 25
Missouri $ 104.00 (U) $ 104.00 (U) 29 34
Montana $ 109.78 (V) $ 109.78 (V) 27 32
Nebraska $  46.00 (V) $ 123.00 (V) 38 25
Nevada $ 152.00 (U) $ 152.00 (U) 10 12
New Hampshire $ - $ - 44 44
New Jersey $ - $ - 44 44
New Mexico $ 154.00 (V) $ 154.00 (V) 9 11
New York® $ 165.00 (V) $ 165.00 (V) 7 9
North Carolina® $ 104.00 (V) $ 104.00 (V) 29 34
North Dakota $ 4503 (V) $ 4503 (V) 39 43
Ohio $ - $ - 44 44
Oklahoma $ 147.00 (U) $ 147.00 (U) 14 16
Oregon $ 123.00 (U) $ 123.00 (U) 22 25
Pennsylvania6 $ 172.00 $ 172.00 6 8
Rhode Island $ - $ - 44 44
South Carolina $ 131.00 $ 131.00 19 22
South Dakota $ 110.00 (U) $ 110.00 (U) 26 31
Tennessee $ 173.00 (U) $ 173.00 (V) 4 6
Texas $ 150.00 (U) $ 150.00 (U) 12 14
Utah® $ 13400 (U) $ 134.00 (U) 18 21
Vermont $ 162.00 $ 162.00 8 10
Virginia $ 178.00 (U) $ 178.00 (V) 2 4
Washington $ 90.00 $ 90.00 32 37
West Virginia $ 131.00 (V) $ 131.00 (V) 19 22
Wisconsin $ 88.00 (V) $ 88.00 (V) 33 38
Wyoming $ 109.00 (V) $ 109.00 (V) 28 33

(L) = Legislative day; (C) = Calendar Day
(V) = Vouchered; (U) = Unvouchered

1 AL pays $50/day for 3 days each week (max. 40 days) the legislature meets.

2 Plus mileage at the state or federal rate.

2 Plus a fixed annual or monthly expense allowance is included in Table 2.
“ 1D also pays up to $25 for travel expense.

5 NY pays $61 for a half day.

© PA has different rates for summer and the rest: $185 + $159.

7VA pays Senators $178/day and Represenatives $170/day .

% National Conference of State Legislatures, 2013 Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances

During Session; and U.S. General Services Administration, Domestic Maximum Per Diem Rates (effective October

1,2012)
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Table 6 — State Legislator Salaries and Per Diem Rates - All States, 2013%°
Hourly Hourly
Wage + Wage +
Hourly Urban Hourly Rural
Wage + Area Total Daily Wage + Area
Session Daily Daily Salary  Hourly Per Salary + Hourly Per
Annual Urban Per Rural Area  Days (C) Daily Salary +Urban UrbanPer Diem Rural Area Rural Area Diem
State Salary Daily Salary* Diem Per Diem 2011 Salary Rank  Per Diem Diem Rank  PerDiem PerDiem Rank
(Table 2) (Table 5) (Table 5) (Table 2) (Table 2)

Alabama $51,696 $10.00 (C) | $ 50.00 (U) $50.00 (V) 104 $507.08 2 $557.08 $69.63 6 $557.08 $69.63 7
Alaska $50,400 $175.50 $234.00 89 $566.29 1 $741.79 $92.72 1 $800.29 $100.04 1
Arizona $24,000 $ 35.00 (V) $60.00 (V) 151 $158.94 30 $193.94 $24.24 40 $218.94 $27.37 36
Arkansas $15,869 $147.00 (V) $147.00 (V) 123 $129.02 38 $276.02 $34.50 27 $276.02 $34.50 29
California $90,526 $141.86 $141.86 284 $318.75 12 $460.61 $57.58 12 $460.61 $57.58 13
Colorado $30,000 $ 45.00 (V) $183.00 (V) 119 $252.10 17 $297.10 $37.14 23 $435.10 $54.39 14
Connecticut $28,000 $ - $0.00 147 $190.48 25 $190.48 $23.81 42 $190.48 $23.81 43
Delaware $51,375 $ - $0.00 173 $296.97 13 $296.97 $37.12 24 $296.97 $37.12 26
Florida $29,697 $131.00 (V) $131.00 (V) 59 $503.34 3 $634.34 $79.29 2 $634.34 $79.29 2
Georgia $17,342 $173.00 (V) $173.00 (V) 73 $237.56 18 $410.56 $51.32 14 $410.56 $51.32 15
Hawaii $46,273 $ 10.00 $175.00 106 $436.54 6 $446.54 $55.82 13 $611.54 $76.44 4
Idaho $16,438 $ 49.00 (V) $122.00 (V) 87 $188.94 26 $237.94 $29.74 31 $310.94 $38.87 24
Illinois $67,836 $111.00 $111.00 142 $477.72 5 $588.72 $73.59 4 $588.72 $73.59 5
Indiana $22,616 $152.00 (V) $152.00 (U) 112 $201.93 23 $353.93 $44.24 20 $353.93 $44.24 21
lowa $25,000 $101.25 (U) $135.00 (V) 129 $193.80 24 $295.05 $36.88 25 $328.80 $41.10 22
Kansas $88.66 (C) |1 $123.00 (U) $123.00 (V) 157 $88.66 41 $211.66 $26.46 35 $211.66 $26.46 37
Kentucky $21,462 $188.22 (U) $188.22 (U) 77 $278.73 14 $466.95 $58.37 1 $466.95 $58.37 12
Louisiana $22,800 $149.00 (V) $149.00 (V) 59 $386.44 9 $535.44 $66.93 7 $535.44 $66.93 8
Maine $11,757 $ 70.00 $70.00 196 $59.98 47 $129.98 $16.25 47 $129.98 $16.25 48
Maryland $43,500 $143.00 (V) $143.00 (V) 89 $488.76 4 $631.76 $78.97 3 $631.76 $78.97 3
Massachusetts $60,033 $ 10.00 (V) $100.00 (V) 322 $186.44 28 $196.44 $24.55 39 $286.44 $35.80 28
Michigan $82,485 $ - V) $0.00 (V) 356 $231.70 20 $231.70 $28.96 32 $231.70 $28.96 33
Minnesota $31,141 $ 86.00 (U) $86.00 (U) 132 $235.92 19 $321.92 $40.24 21 $321.92 $40.24 23
Mississippi $10,000 $123.00 (V) $123.00 (U) 86 $116.28 40 $239.28 $29.91 30 $239.28 $29.91 32
Missouri $35915 $104.00 (V) $104.00 (V) 141 $254.72 16 $358.72 $44.84 19 $358.72 $44.84 20
Montana $82.64 (L) | $109.78 (U) $109.78 (V) 107 $82.64 42 $192.42 $24.05 41 $192.42 $24.05 42
Nebraska $12,000 $ 46.00 (V) $123.00 (V) 147 $81.63 43 $127.63 $15.95 48 $204.63 $25.58 38
Nevada $146.29 (C) | $152.00 (V) $152.00 (U) 119 $146.29 33 $298.29 $37.29 22 $298.29 $37.29 25
New Hampshire $100 $ - $0.00 180 $0.56 49 $0.56 $0.07 50 $0.56 $0.07 50
New Jersey $49,000 $ - $0.00 357 $137.25 36 $137.25 $17.16 46 $137.25 $17.16 47
New Mexico $0 $154.00 (V) $154.00 (V) 60 $0.00 50 $154.00 $19.25 45 $154.00 $19.25 46
New York $79,500 $165.00 (V) $165.00 (V) 356 $223.31 22 $388.31 $48.54 17 $388.31 $48.54 18
North Carolina $20,659 $104.00 (V) $104.00 (V) 177 $116.72 39 $220.72 $27.59 34 $220.72 $27.59 35
North Dakota $157.00 (C) | $ 45.03 (V) $45.03 (V) 116 $157.00 31 $202.03 $25.25 36 $202.03 $25.25 39
Ohio $60,584 $ - $0.00 358 $169.23 29 $169.23 $21.15 44 $169.23 $21.15 45
Oklahoma $38400 $147.00 (V) $147.00 (V) 109 $352.29 10 $499.29 $62.41 8 $499.29 $62.41 9
Oregon $22,260 $123.00 (V) $123.00 (V) 154 $144.55 34 $267.55 $33.44 28 $267.55 $33.44 30
Pennsylvania $83,801 $172.00 $172.00 364 $230.22 21 $402.22 $50.28 16 $402.22 $50.28 17
Rhode Island $14,640 $ - $0.00 183 $80.00 44 $80.00 $10.00 49 $80.00 $10.00 49
South Carolina $10,400 $131.00 $131.00 150 $69.33 46 $200.33 $25.04 38 $200.33 $25.04 41
South Dakota $6,000 $110.00 (U) $110.00 (V) 76 $78.95 45 $188.95 $23.62 43 $188.95 $23.62 44
Tennessee $19,009 $173.00 (U) $173.00 (V) 101 $188.21 27 $361.21 $45.15 18 $361.21 $45.15 19
Texas $7,200 $150.00 (V) $150.00 (U) 139 $51.80 48 $201.80 $25.22 37 $201.80 $25.22 40
Utah $273.00 (C) 1| $134.00 (V) $134.00 (V) 45 $273.00 15 $407.00 $50.88 15 $407.00 $50.88 16
Vermont $129.42 (C) i $162.00 $162.00 125 $129.42 37 $291.42 $36.43 26 $291.42 $36.43 27
Virginia $17,743 $178.00 (U) $178.00 (V) 45 $394.29 8 $572.29 $71.54 5) $572.29 $71.54 6
Washington $42,106 $ 90.00 $90.00 104 $404.87 7 $494.87 $61.86 9 $494.87 $61.86 10
West Virginia $20,000 $131.00 (V) $131.00 (V) 59 $338.98 11 $469.98 $58.75 10 $469.98 $58.75 11
Wisconsin $49,943 $ 88.00 (U) $88.00 (V) 358 $139.51 35 $227.51 $28.44 33 $227.51 $28.44 34
Wyoming $150.00 (L) I $109.00 (V) $109.00 (V) 50 $150.00 32 $259.00 $32.38 29 $259.00 $32.38 31

Quartile 1 $25.09 $25.80

Median $36.65 $37.20

Average $40.30 $41.95

Quartile 3 $54.69 $56.78

Maximum $92.72 $100.04

%6 National Conference of State Legislatures, 2013 Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances
During Session, and 2013 Legislative Sessions Calendar (August 7, 2013); and U.S. General Services

Administration, Domestic Maximum Per Diem Rates (effective October 1, 2012)
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Table 7 - Legislator Compensation - Western States, 2013%

Hourly  Hourly
Hourly  Hourly Wage + Wage +

Hourly Hourly Wage + Wage + Hourly Hourly
Wage + Wage + Hourly  Hourly Urban  Rural
Hourly Hourly Urban Rural Per  Per Per
Urban Rural Per Diem Diem Diem Diem
Annual Daily Hourly Per Per National National Western Western
State Salary Salary Wage' Diem Diem Rank Rank Rank  Rank

(Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 6) (Table 6)

Arizona $24,000 $19.87 $24.24 (V)  $271.37 (V) 40 36 9 9
California $90,526 $39.84 $57.58 $57.58 12 13 2 2
Colorado $30,000 $31.51 $37.14 (V) $54.39 (V) 23 14 5 3
Idaho $16,438 $23.62 $29.74 (V)  $38.87 (V) 31 24 8 5
Montana $82.64 (L)  $10.33 $24.05 (U)  $24.05 (U) 41 42 10 10
Nevada $146.29 (C)  $18.29 $37.29 (U)  $37.29 (V) 22 25 4 6
New Mexico $0.00 $19.25 (V)  $19.25 (V) 45 46 11 11
Oregon $22,260 $18.07 $33.44 (U) $33.44 (U) 28 30 6 7
Utah $273.00 (C)  $34.13 $50.88 (U)  $50.88 (U) 15 16 3 4
Washington $42,106 $50.61 $61.86 $61.86 9 10 1 1
Wyoming $150.00 (L)  $18.75 $32.38 (V)  $32.38 (V) 29 31 7 8

(L) = Legislative day; (C) = Calendar Day
(V) = Vouchered; (U) = Unvouchered

! Calculations based on eight hours per day.

%" National Conference of State Legislatures, 2013 Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances
During Session, and 2013 Legislative Sessions Calendar (August 7, 2013); and U.S. General Services
Administration, Domestic Maximum Per Diem Rates (effective October 1, 2012)
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Table 8 — Legislator Compensation - States with Citizen Legislatures, 2013

Hourly Hourly  Hourly Hourly
Wage + Wage +  Wage + Wage +

Hourly Hourly Hourly  Hourly Hourly Hourly
Wage + Wage + Hourly ~ Urban Rural UrbanPer Rural Per
Hourly Hourly Wage Per Per Diem Diem
Urban Rural Citizen Diem  Diem Citizen Citizen
Annual Daily Hourly Per Per Legislature National National Legislature Legislature
State Salary Salary Wage1 Diem Diem Rank Rank Rank Rank Rank

Traditional Citizen Legislatures

(Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 6) (Table 6)

Montana $82.64 (L)  $10.33 $24.05 (U)  $24.05 (U) 12 4 42 12 12
New Hampshire $100 $0.07 $0.07 $0.07 16 50 50 17 17
North Dakota $157.00 (C)  $19.63 $25.25 (V) $25.25 (V) 6 3% 39 11 11
South Dakota $6,000 $9.87 $23.62 (U) $23.62 (U) 14 43 44 13 13
Utah $273.00 (C)  $34.13 $50.88 (U)  $50.88 (U) 2 15 16 3 3
Wyoming $150.00 (L) $18.75 $32.38 (V)  $32.38 (V) 7 29 31 7 8

Slightly Less Traditional Citizen Legislatures

Georgia $17,342 $29.70 $51.32 (U)  $51.32 (U) 3 14 15 2 2
Idaho $16438 $23.62 $2074 (V)  $38.87 (V) 5 31 % 9 5
Indiana $22,616 $25.24 $44.24 (U)  $M.24 (U) 4 20 2 4 4
Kansas $88.66 (C)  $1.08 $26.46 (U)  $26.46 (U) 11 3% 37 10 10
Maine $11,757 $7.50 $16.25 $16.25 15 47 48 15 15
Mississippi $10,000 $14.53 $2091 (U)  $2091 (U) 10 30 2 8 9
Nevada $146.29 (C)  $18.29 $37.29 (U)  $37.29 (U) 8 2 % 5 6
New Mexico $0.00 $19.25 (V) $19.55 (V) 17 45 46 14 14
Rhode Island $14,640 $10.00 $10.00 $10.00 13 49 49 16 16
Vermont $129.42 (C) $16.18 $36.43 $36.43 9 2% 7 6 7
West Virginia $20,000 $42.37 $58.75 (U)  $58.75 (U) 1 10 11 1

(L) = Legislative day; (C) = Calendar Day
(V) = Vouchered; (U) = Unvouchered

! Calculations based on eight hours per day.

%8 National Conference of State Legislatures, 2013 Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances
During Session, and 2013 Legislative Sessions Calendar (August 7, 2013); and U.S. General Services
Administration, Domestic Maximum Per Diem Rates (effective October 1, 2012)
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Table 9 - Distribution of Legislative Compensation in Utah, FY 2011-2013%

House of Representatives
FY13 MtgPay MtgDays SpPay Lodging Meals Mileage

Average $13,192 55 $ 2,290 $2432 $ 846 $2,396
Median ~ $12,948 54 $ 2,287 $2879 $ 793 $2,262
High $15,678 70 $ 4335 $5146 $1,398 $6,472
Low $11,505 45 $ 61 $ 95 $ 548 $ 486

FY12 MtgPay MtgDays SpPay Lodging Meals Mileage

Average $ 7,070 60 $ 7,756 $3645 $2935 $2,178
Median $ 6,786 58 ¢ 8,715 $4,320 $3477 $2,108
High $10,530 90 $11,378 $6,313 $4,941 $6,536
Low $ 5,265 45 $ 8 $ 78 $ 61 $ 55

FY1l MtgPay MtgDays SpPay Lodging Meals Mileage

Average $ 6,996 60 $ 7,484 $3,513 $3,297 $2,329
Median $ 6,786 58 $ 8595 $4,275 $3,660 $2,478
High $ 9,477 81 $10,892 $6,032 $4,880 $7,543
Low $ 4,914 42 3 61 $ 53 $ 61 $ 60
Senate

FY13 MtgPay MtgDays SpPay Lodging Meals Mileage
Average $14,371 62 $ 2610 $2,292 $ 803 $2,106
Median  $14,391 63 $ 2,689 $1,727 $ 793 $2,034
High $18,525 85 $ 4,421 $5229 $1,647 $5,263
Low $11,778 46 $ 384 $ 77 $ 305 $ 51

FY12 MtgPay MtgDays SpPay Lodging Meals Mileage

Average $ 7,653 65 $ 8,348 $5306 $2510 $2,493
Median $ 7,605 65 $ 9,266 $4,704 $3416 $1,820
High $ 9,360 80 $11,179 $6,999 $4,697 $9,796
Low $ 5,733 49 $ 24 $4320 $ 61 $ T2

FY1l MtgPay MtgDays SpPay Lodging Meals Mileage

Average $ 7,847 67 $ 9,029 $4302 $3961 $2,160
Median $ 7,839 67 $ 9572 $4,308 $3904 $2,026
High $ 10,530 90 $ 11072 $ 5987 $ 4331 $ 5341
Low $ 6201 53 $ 20 $ 54 $ 3660 $ 101

Notes:
1. Bxcludes legislators who were in office for short periods of time during the fiscal year. For example, in FY13
there were 94 Representatives at various points, but only 75 were in for most of the year.

2. Average, Median, High, and Low only include those who received some type of payment. For example,
legislators who live within 50 miles of the Capitol do not receive payment for lodging, meals,and mileage and
are not counted in that category.

2% Utah Office of the Legislative Fiscal Analyst, 2013; the data comes from Data Warehouse's Labor Plus tool.



Table 10 — Total and Typical Legislative Compensation in Utah, FY 2011-2013*
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%0 Utah Office of the Legislative Fiscal Analyst, 2013
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Table 11 — Additional Compensation for Committee Chairs by State, 2012

State Committee Chairs State Committee Chairs
Alabama $150/mo. each for House Ways and Means and Senate Montana None
Finance and Taxation Chairs
Alaska None Nebraska None
Arizona None Nevada $900/flat amount for all standing committee chairs
Arkansas None New Hampshire None
California None New Jersey None
Colorado None New Mexico None
Connecticut $4,241 for all committee chairs New York $9,000 to $34,000 for each committee chair set by statute
(see NY Legislative Law §5-a). However, the Member
is restricted by law to receive only one special allowance
(see Section 5-a, Legislative Law, Paragraph 2)
Delaware $11,459 for Joint Finance Committee Chair; $4,578 North Carolina None
Capital Improvement Chair and Vice Chair; $4,578
Sunset Committee Chair
Florida None North Dakota $10/day for all substantive standing committees
Georgia None Ohio $6,500 for all committee chairs except Finance Chair,
who receives $10,000. Vice Chairman receives $5,000
with the Vice Chairman of Finance receiving $5,500.
Hawaii None Oklahoma $12,364 for Appropriations and Budget Committee
Chairs
Idaho None Oregon None
Illinois $10,327 for all committee chairs and minority Pennsylvania
spokespersons None
Indiana Committee Chairs - $1,000 Rhode Island None
lowa None South Carolina $600/interim expense allowance for committee chairs of
the House and Senate
Kansas $11,289.98/year for Senate Ways and Means and House South Dakota
Appropriations Committee None
Kentucky $18.71/day for standing committees only Tennessee None
Louisiana $28,000/year for chairman and vice chairman - Joint Texas
Budget Committee None
Maine None Utah $2,000 for Executive Appropriations Chair (Co-chair)
Maryland None Vermont None
Massachusetts $7,500-$15,000/year for committee chairs Virginia None
Michigan $6,300 for Appropriation Committee chairs Washington None
Minnesota $35,292 for the Senate Tax Committee and Committee West Virginia $150/day (maximum 30 days) for Finance and Judiciary
on Finance Chairmen
Mississippi None Wisconsin None
Missouri None Wyoming 600/mo for interim committee chairmen when not in
session

® National Conference of State Legislatures, 2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for

Committee Chairs
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Table 12 — Additional Compensation for House/Assembly Leaders by State, 2012

State Presiding Officer Majority Leaders Minority Leaders Other House/Assembly

Alabama $2/day plus $1,500/month ~ |None None None
expense allowance

Alaska $500/year None None None

Arizona Generally approved for Generally approved for Generally approved for None
additional interim per diem. |additional interim per diem. |additional interim per diem.

Arkansas None None None None

California The speaker of the They get $102,437 per year. | They get $109,584 per year. |Second Ranking Minority
Assembly and Pro Tem of Leaders receive $102,437
the Senate each get paid per year
$109,584 per year.

Colorado All leaders receive $99/day |All leaders receive $99/day |All leaders receive $99/day [All leaders receive $99/day
salary during interim when |salary during interim when |salary during interim when |salary during interim when
in attendance at committee |in attendance at committee |in attendance at committee |in attendance at committee
or leadership matters. or leadership matters. or leadership matters. or leadership matters.

Connecticut $10,689 $8,835 $8,835 Dep. Spkr., Dep. Maj. and

Min. Ldrs., $6,446/yr.; Asst.
Maj. and Min. Ldrs.; Maj
and Min. Whips $4,241/yr.

Delaware $19,893 $12,376 $12,376 Maj. and Min. Whips,

$7,794

Florida $11,484/yearly None None None

Georgia $6,812/month $200/month $200/month Governors Flr. Ldr.,

$200/month; Asst FIr. Ldr.,
$100/month; Spkr. Pro Tem,
$400/month

Hawaii Salary differential for None None None
presiding officer is
$7,500/year.

Idaho $4,000 None None None

Hlinois $27 477 $23,230 $27477 Dpty. maj. and min.,

$19,791; Asst. maj. and
asst. min., maj. & min.
conference chair, $18,066

Indiana $6,500 $5,000 $5,500 Speaker pro tem, $5,000;

Maj. caucus chair, $5,000;
min. caucus chair, $4,500;
Asst. min. flr. Idr., $3,500;
Asst. maj. flr. Ldr, $1,000;
maj. whip, $3,500; min.
whip, $1,500

lowa $11,593 $11,593 $11,593 Speaker Pro Tem, $1,243

Kansas $14,039.22/yr $12,665.64/year $12,665.64/year Asst Maj. and Min. Ldrs.,

Spkr. Pro Tem, $7,165.34/yr

Kentucky $47.35/day $37.40/day $37.40/day Maj. and min. caucus chairs

& whips, $28.66/day

Louisiana $32,000* None None Spkr. Pro Tem, $24,500%

Maine 150% of base salary 125% of base salary 112.5% of base salary None

Maryland $13,000/year None None None

Massachusetts $35,000 $22,500 $22,500 Asst. Maj. and Min. Ldr.

(and 2nd and 3rd asst.), and
Speaker Pro Tem., each
$15,000

Michigan $27,000 Position does not exist $22,000 Spkr. Pro tem, $5,513; min.

Flr. Ldr., $10,000; Maj. Flr.
Ldr., $12,000,

Minnesota 40% of base salary 40% of base salary 40% of base salary None

Mississippi Speaker of the House: None None Speaker Pro Tem: $15,000
$60,000 total salary;

Missouri $208.34.month $125/month $125/month None

Montana $5/day during session None None None

% National Conference of State Legislatures, 2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for

House/Assembly Leaders
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State Presiding Officer Majority Leaders Minority Leaders Other House/Assembly

Nebraska None None None None

Nevada $900 $900 $900 Spkr. Pro Tem, $900

New Hampshire $50/two-year term None None None

New Jersey 1/3 above annual salary None None None

New Mexico None None None None

New York $41,500 $34,500 $34,500 31 leaders with
compensation ranging from
$9,000 to $25,000

North Carolina $38,151 and $16,956 $17,048 and $7,992 expense ($17,048 and $7,992 expense |Speaker Pro Tem, $21,739

expense allowance allowance allowance and $10,032 expense

allowance

North Dakota

$15/day during legislative
sessions

$15/day during legislative
sessions, $307 per month
during term of office.

$15/day during legislative
sessions, $307 per month
during term of office.

Asst. ldrs., $10/day during
legislative sessions.

Ohio Speaker $94,437.36 Spkr Pro Tem $86,165; Maj [Minority Leader $86,164.76 |Compensation for
Flr Leader $81,163; Asst committee leadership
Maj FIr Leader $76,169;
Maj Whip $71,173; Asst
Maj Whip $66,175

Oklahoma $17,932 $12,364 $12,364 Speaker Pro Tem, $12,364

Oregon Speaker receives additional |None None None
$21,936/year in salary

Pennsylvania $46,022/year $36,819/year $36,819/year Maj. and min. whips,

$27,942; maj. and min.
caucus chairs, $17,422; maj.
and min. caucus secretaries
$11,506; maj. and min.
policy chairs, $11,506; maj.
and min. caucus admin.,
$11,506

Rhode Island Speaker of the House None None None
receives double annual rate
for Reps.

South Carolina $11,000/year None None Speaker Pro Tem,

$3,600/year

South Dakota None None None None

Tennessee $57,027 None None None

Texas None None None None

Utah $3,000 $2,000 $2,000 Whips and Asst. Whips,

$2,000

Vermont $669/week during session  [None None None
plus an additional $10,080 in
salary

Virginia $8,000 addition to base $4,000 addition to base $4,000 addition to base None
salary salary salary

Washington $50,106 ($8,000 additional to [None $46,106 ($4,000 additional to [None
base salary) base salary)

West Virginia The Speaker may receive  [$50/day during session $50/day during session The Chairman of Finance &
$150.00/day when not in Judiciary may receive
session or interim $150.00/day up to 30 days
committees not meeting for when the Legislature is not
attending to legislative in session or meeting for
business. interims. Up to six add’|

people named by presiding
officer receive $150 for a
maximum of 30 days when
the Legislature is not in
session or meeting for
interims

Wisconsin $25/month None None None

Wyoming $3/day during session; $600/mo when not in session|$600/mo when not in session{None

$978/mo when not in session
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Table 13 — Additional Compensation for Senate Leaders by State, 2012%

State Presiding Officers Majority Leaders Minority Leaders Other Senate Leaders
Alabama $2/day plus $1,500/month  [None None None
expense allowance
Alaska $500/year None None None
Avrizona Generally approved for Generally approved for Generally approved for None
additional interim per diem. |additional interim per diem. |additional interim per diem.
Arkansas None None None None
California $109,584/year for the $102,437/year for the $109,584/year for the $102,437/year for the Second Ranking Minority
Senate President pro Tem. |Majority Floor Leader Minority Leader. Leader
Colorado The Senate President is The Senate Majority Leader | The Senate Minority Leader |None
eligible to receive $99/day  |is eligible to receive $99/day |is eligible to receive $99/day
salary per diem during salary per diem during salary per diem during
interim when attending to  |interim when attending to  |interim when attending to
matters pertaining to the matters pertaining to the matters pertaining to the
General Assembly. General Assembly. General Assembly.

Connecticut $10,689 $8,835 $8,835 Deputy min. and maj. Idrs., $6,446/year; asst.
maj. and min. ldrs. and maj and min. whips
$4,241/year.

Delaware $19,983 $12,376 $12,376 Maj. and min. whips $7,794

Florida $11,484.00/yearly None None None

Georgia none $200/month $200/month President pro tem, $400/month; admin. flr. Idr.,
$200/month; asst. admin. flr. Idr., $100/month

Hawaii Salary differential for None None None

presiding officer is
$7,500/year.

Idaho None None None None

Ilinois $27,477 $20,649 $27,477 Dpty min. leader $20,649; Asst. maj. and min.
Idr., $20,649; maj and min. caucus chair,
$20,649

Indiana President Pro Tempore Maj. Floor Ldr. $5,500; Min. Floor Ldr. $6,000; Min.|Asst. Pres. Pro Tem. $3,000; Maj. Cauc.

$7,000 Asst. Maj. Floor Ldr. Asst. Floor Ldr. $5,000;Min. |Chairman $5,500; Asst. Maj. Cauc. Chair
$3,500; Ldr. Pro Tem.Emeritus $1,500; Appropriations Comm. Ranking Maj.
$1,500; Mem. $2,000; Tax & Fiscal Policy Ranking

Maj. Mem. $2,000; Maj. Whip $4,000; Asst.
Maj. Whip $2,000; Min. Cauc. Chair $5,000;
Asst. Min. Cauc. Chair $1,000; Approprations
Comm. Ranking Min. Mem. $2,000; Tax &
Fiscal Policy Ranking Min. Mem.$2,000; Min.
Whip $3,000; Asst. Min. Whip $1,000

lowa $11,593 $11,593 $11,593 Pres Pro Tem $1,243

Kansas $14,039.22/yr $12,665.64/yr $12,665.64/yr Asst. maj., min. Idrs., vice pres., $7,165.34/yr.

Kentucky $47.35/day $37.40/day $37.40/day Maj., min. caucus chairs and whips, $28.66/day

Louisiana 32000 None None President Pro Tem, $24,500

Maine 150% of base salary 125% of base salary 112.5% of base salary None

Maryland $13,000/year None None None

Massachusetts $35,000 $22,500 $22,500 Asst. Maj. and Min. Ldr. (and 2nd and 3rd
asst.), and Pres. Pro Tem., each $15,000

Michigan $4,962 23400 $19,800 Maj. fir. Idr., $10,800; min. flr. Idr., $9,000

Minnesota None Additional compensation is  |Additional compensation is  |Assistant Majority Leader - $4,152/year. Tax

40% of base salary 40% of base salary Committee chair - $4,152/year. Finance
Committee chair - $4,152/year.
Mississippi Lt.Gov.: $60,000 total None None None
salary; Pres. Pro Tem:
$15,000
Missouri None None None None
Montana $5/day during session None None None

% National Conference of State Legislatures, 2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for

Senate Leaders
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State Presiding Officers Majority Leaders Minority Leaders Other Senate Leaders

Nebraska None None None None

Nevada $900 $900 $900 Pres. pro tem, $900

New Hampshire $50/two-year term None None None

New Jersey 1/3 above annual salary None None None

New Mexico None None None None

New York $41,500 None $34,500 24 other leaders with compensation ranging
from $13,000 to $34,000

North Carolina $38,151 and $16,956 $17,048 and $7,992 expense |$17,048 and $7,992 expense |Deputy pro tem, $21,739 and $10,032 expense

expense allowance allowance allowance allowance

North Dakota None $15/day during legislative  |$15/day during legislative  |Asst. leaders., $10/day during legislative

sessions, $307 per month sessions, $307 per month sessions.
during term of office. during term of office

Ohio President $94,437.36 President Pro Tem Minority Leader $86,164.76 |Compensation for committee leadership. (See

$86,164.76; Maj Flr Leader Committee Chair Table).
$81,163.21; Maj Whip
$76,168.69
Oklahoma $17,932 $12,364 $12,364 None
Oregon President receives additional{None None None
$21,936/year in salary.

Pennsylvania $46,022/year $36,819/year $36,819/year Maj. and min. whips, $27,942 maj. and min.
caucus chairs, $17,422; maj. and min. caucus
secretaries $11,506; maj. and min. policy chairs,
$11,506; maj. and min. caucus admin., $11,506

Rhode Island Senate President receives  [None None None

double the annual rate for
Senators

South Carolina Lt. Gov. holds this position [None None President pro tem, $11,000

South Dakota None None None None

Tennessee $57,027 None None None

Texas None None None None

Utah $3,000 $2,000 $2,000 Maj. whip, Asst. Maj Whip, Min. whip and
Asst. Min. Whip, $2,000

Vermont Presiding officer is Lt. None None None

Governor who is paid an
annual salary $60,507. For
Senate Leader, Pres. Pro.
Tem, see above.
Virginia None $200/day only for days that |$200/day only for days that |Pres. Pro-temp. $200/day only for days that
official meetings are official meetings are official meetings are attended
attended attended
Washington Lt. gov. holds this position  |$50,106 ($8,000 additional to |$46,106 ($4,000 additional to |None
base salary) base salary)

West Virginia $150/day during session $50/day during session $50/day during session The Chairman of Finance & Judiciary may
receive $150.00/day up to 30 days when the
Legislature is not in session or meeting for
interims. Up to six add’l people named by
presiding officer receive $150 for a maximum of
30 days when the Legislature is not in session or
meeting for interims.

Wisconsin None None None None

Wyoming $3/day during session; $600/mo when not in session|$600/mo when not in session|None

$978/mo when not in session
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Table 14 — Leadership Compensation - All States, 2012**

Senate Senate Senate Other Senate House House House Other House
Presiding Majority Minority Senate Committee  Presiding Majority Minority House Committee
State Officer Leader Leader Leaders Leaders Officer Leader Leader Leaders Leaders
Alabama $ 18,208 | $ - $ - $ - $ 1800 | $ 18,208 | $ - $ - $ - $ 1,800
Alaska $ 500 | $ - 13 - 13 - 13 - 13 500 | $ - |8 - 18 - 18 -
Arizona $ - |8 - |8 - 1s - 18 - |8 - | - |8 - 18 - |8 -
Arkansas $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ -
California $ 109584 |$ 102437 |$ 109584 | $ 10437 $ - $ 109584 |$ 102437 |$ 109584 | $ 102437 | $ -
Colorado $ - |8 - |8 - 1s - 18 - |8 - | - |8 - 18 - |8 -
Connecticut $ 10689 | $ 8835 |$ 8835 $ 6,446 | $ 4241 | $ 10689 | $ 8835|$ 8835|$ 6,446 | $ 4,241
Delaware $ 19983 | $ 12376 | $ 12376 | $ 77941 $ 11459 | $ 19983 | $ 12376 | $ 12376 | $ 7794 $ 11,459
Florida $ 114843 - |8 - 1s - 18 - |$ 114848 - |8 - 18 - 1s -
Georgia $ - $ 2400 | $ 2400 [ $ 2400 | $ - $ 6812 | $ 2400 | $ 2400 | $ 2400 [ $ -
Hawai $ 7500 | $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 7500 | $ - $ - $ - $ -
Idaho $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 4,000 | $ - $ - $ - $ -
Hlinois $ 274771 $ 20649 | $ 27477 | $ 20649 | $ 10327 | $ 27477 | $ 23230 | $ 274771 $ 19791 [ $ 10,327
Indiana $ 7,000 | $ 5500 | $ 6,000 | $ 5500 | $ 1000 $ 6,500 | $ 5000 | $ 5500 | $ 5000 | $ 1,000
lowa $ 11593 | $ 11593 | $ 11593 | $ 124318 - $ 11593 | $ 11593 | $ 11593 | $ 1243 $ -
Kansas $ 14039 | $ 12,666 | $ 12,666 | $ 7165 $ 11290 | $ 14,039 | $ 12,666 | $ 12,666 | $ 7165 $ 11,290
Kentucky $ 3646 | $ 2880 | $ 2880 $ 2207 $ 1029 | $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 1,029
Louisiana $  32000|$ - 13 - $ - $ 28000|$ 32000 |$ - 13 - 13 - $ 28000
Maine $ 5878 | $ 2939 | $ 1470 | $ - $ - $ 5878 | $ 2939 | $ 1470 [ $ - $ -
Maryland $ 13,000 | $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 13,000 | $ - $ - $ - $ -
Massachusetts
$ 35,000 | $ 22500 | $ 22,500 | $ 15000 | $ 15,000 | $ 35000 | $ 22500 | $ 22500 | $ 15,000 | $ -
Michigan $ 4962 | $ 23400 | $ 19800 | $ 10,800 | $ 6,300 | $ 27,000 | $ - $ 22,000 | $ 12,000 | $ 6,300
Minnesota $ - $ 12456 | $ 12456 | $ 4152 $ 35292 | $ 12456 | $ 12456 | $ 12456 | $ - $ 35,292
Mississippi $ - $ - $ - $ 15,000 | $ - $ 50,000 | $ - $ - $ 15000 | $ -
Missouri $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 2500 | $ 1500 | $ 1500 | $ - $ -
Montana $ 535]8% - 13 - $ - $ - $ 535| % - 13 - 18 - $ -
Nebraska $ - |8 - |8 - 1s - 18 - |8 - s - |8 - 18 - |8 -
Nevada $ 900 | $ 900 | $ 900 [ $ 900 | $ 900 | $ 900 | $ 900 | $ 900 | $ 900 [ $ 900
New
Hampshire $ 25|$ - $ - $ - $ - $ 25|$ - $ - $ - $ -
New Jerse: $ 16317 | $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 16317 [ $ - $ - $ - $ -
New Mexico
- |8 - |8 - 1s - 18 - 18 - |$ - 18 - 18 - 1s -
New York $ 41500 | $ - $ 34500 | $ 34,000 | $ 34,000 | $ 41500 | $ 34500 | $ 34500 | $ 25,000 | $ 34,000
North Carolina
$ 55107 | $ 25040 | $ 25040 | $ 3177118 - $ 55107 | $ 25040 | $ 25040 | $ 317711 $ -
North Dakota
$ - $ 6339 |$ 2655 | $ 17701 $ 829|% 1740 | $ 3684 | % - $ - $ 829
Ohio $ 94437 | $ 86,164 | $ 86,164 | $ 81,163 | $ 10,000 | $ 94437 | $ 86,164 | $ 86,164 | $ 81,163 | $ 10,000
Oklahoma $ 17932 | $ 12,364 | $ 12364 [ $ - $ 12364 | $ 17932 | $ 12364 | $ 12364 | $ 12364 [ $ 12,364
[Oregon $ 21936 (% - |s - |s - Is - s 21903%s - |s - |s - |s -
Pennsylvania
$ 46,022 | $ 36819 | $ 36819 | $ 27942 | $ - $ 46,022 | $ 36819 | $ 36819 | $ 27942 | $ -
Rhode Island
$ 14640 $ - 13 S ) - 18 - |$ 14640|% - 13 - 18 S ) -
South Carolina
- $ - $ - $ 11000 | $ 600 | $ 11000 | $ - $ - $ 3600 [ $ 600
South Dakota
$ - |8 - |s - 1s - 1s - 1s - | - 13 - 13 - 1s -
Tennessee $ 57,027 | $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 57,027 | $ - $ - $ - $ -
Texas $ - |8 - |8 - 1s - 18 - |s - |$ - |8 - 18 - 1s -
Utah $ 3000 | $ 2,000 | $ 2,000 | $ 2000 | $ 2000 $ 3000 | $ 2,000 | $ 2,000 | $ 2000 [ $ 2,000
'Vermont $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 22026 | $ - $ - $ - $ -
Virginia $ - $ 9,000 | $ 9,000 [ $ 9,000 $ - $ 8000 | $ 4,000 | $ 4,000 ] $ - $ -
Washington $ - $ 8,000 | $ 4,000 | $ - $ - $ 8,000 | $ - $ 4,000 | $ - $ -
\West Virginia
$ 8850 | $ 2950 | $ 2950 $ 4500 | $ 4500] $ 8850 | $ 2950 | $ 2950 | $ 4500 | $ 4,500
Wisconsin $ - |8 - 18 - 1s - 18 - 1s - |s - |s - IS - |$ -
Wyoming S 9930 | $ 6000 | $ 6,000 | $ - s 6,000 | S 9930 6,000 | $ 6,000 | $ - Is 6,000
Notes:
Alabama Senate Finance and Taxation, House Ways and Means chairs get $150 per month.
Arkansas Presiding officers, majority and minority officers receive additional interim per diem.
California Second ranking minority leader receives $102,437 per year.
Colorado Presiding officers, majority and minority officers receive $99 per diem during interim.
Connecticut Second rank majority and minority leaders receive $6,446 per year, assistant leaders and whips receive $4,241 per year. All committee chairs get this
amount.
Delaware Whips receive $7,794/year. Joint Finance Comittee chairs get $11,459, Capital Improvement and Sunset chairs get $4,578
Georgia President and Speaker pro tems receive $400/month, floor leaders receive $200/month, assistant floor leaders receive $100/month.
Ilinois Other Senate leaders include deputy minority leader, assistant majority and minority leaders, majority and minority caucus chairs. All committee chairs
and minority spokesmen get $10,327 per year.
Indiana Senate majority listed above, assistant majority floor leader gets $3,500 per year, assistant minority floor leader gets $5,000 per year, other senate
leaders ranges from $1,000 to $5,500 per year. Similar House positions are paid $500 less per year. All committee chairs get $1,000.
lowa President pro tem listed above under Other Senate Leaders, Speaker pro tem listed under Other House Leaders.
Kansas Other Senate and House Leaders include vice president, Speaker pro tem, assistant majority and minority leaders. Chairs for Senate Ways and Means
and House Appropriations get $11,290 per year.
Kentucky President and Speaker get $$47.35/day, majority and minority leaders receive $37,40 per day, and caucus chairs get $28.66 per day. Chairs get daily
rate for standing committees only.
Louisiana President and Speaker pro tems listed under Other Senate/House Leaders. Joint Budget Committee chairs and vice chairs receive $28,000 per year.
Maine Leaders receive additional percentage of base salary: 150%, 125%, and 112.5% respectively; portion above salary listed here.
Massachusetts  Other Leaders includes assistant (and 2nd and 3rd) majority and minority leaders, and pro tems. $7,500-$15,000 for committee chairs.
Michigan Senate majority floor leader gets $10,800 and minority floor leader gets $9,000 per year. House majority leader does not exist, Speaker pro tem gets
$5,513, majority floor leader gets $12,000 and minority floor leader gets $10,000 per year. $6,300 for appropriations chairs
Minnesota Other Senate Leaders includes assistant majority and minority leaders, and taxand finance committee chairs. $35,292 fpr the Senate Tax Committee
and Committee on Finance.
Mississippi Senate lists Lt. Governor under presiding officer; President pro tem listed under Other Senate Leaders at $15,000 per year. Speaker makes $60,000 total

salary (differential listed here) and Speaker pro temis listed under Other House Leaders.

* National Conference of State Legislatures, 2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for

Senate Leaders, 2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for House/Assembly | eaders, and

2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for Committee Chairs
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Senate Senate Senate Other Senate House House House Other House
Presiding Majority Minority Senate Committee Presiding Majority Minority House Committee

State Officer Leader Leader Leaders Leaders Officer Leader Leader Leaders Leaders
Alabama 12 25 26 24 15 15 24 25 21 14
Alaska 31 25 26 24 21 40 24 25 21 20
Arizona 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
Arkansas 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
California 1 1 1 10 21 1 1 1 1 20
Colorado 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
Connecticut 20 14 15 14 13 25 13 14 13 12
Delaware 11 10 11 12 6 14 10 11 11 5
Florida 19 25 26 24 21 23 24 25 21 20
Georgia 33 22 22 18 21 31 20 20 17 20
Hawaii 23 25 26 24 21 30 24 25 21 20
Idaho 33 25 26 24 21 34 24 25 21 20
1llinois 9 7 5 5 8 10 6 5 6 7
Indiana 24 18 16 15 17 32 15 16 14 16
lowa 18 12 13 22 21 22 12 13 19 20
Kansas 16 8 9 13 7 19 8 9 12 6
Kentucky 27 21 20 19 16 42 24 25 21 15
Louisiana 8 25 26 24 3 9 24 25 21 3
Maine 25 20 24 24 21 33 19 23 21 20
Maryland 17 25 26 24 21 20 24 25 21 20
Massachuset|
ts 7 6 7 6 4 8 7 7 7 20
Michigan 26 5 8 9 10 11 24 8 10 9
Minnesota 33 9 10 17 1 21 9 10 21 1
Mississippi 33 25 26 6 21 5 24 25 7 20
Missouri 33 25 26 24 21 36 22 22 21 20
Montana 30 25 26 24 21 39 24 25 21 20
Nebraska 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
Nevada 29 24 25 23 18 38 23 24 20 17
New
Hampshire 32 25 26 24 21 41 24 25 21 20
New Jersey 14 25 26 24 21 17 24 25 21 20
New Mexico|

33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
New York 6 25 4 2 2 7 4 4 5 2
North
Carolina 4 4 6 3 21 4 5 6 3 20
North
Dakota 33 16 21 21 19 37 17 25 21 18
Ohio 2 2 2 1 9 2 2 2 2 8
Oklahoma 13 1 12 24 5 16 11 12 9 4
Oregon 10 25 26 24 21 13 24 25 21 20
Pennsylvania

5 3 3 4 21 6 3 3 4 20

Rhode Island

15 25 26 24 21 18 24 25 21 20
South
Carolina 33 25 26 8 20 24 24 25 16 19
South
Dakota 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
Tennessee 3 25 26 24 21 3 24 25 21 20
Texas 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
Utah 28 23 23 20 14 35 21 21 18 13
Vermont 33 25 26 24 21 12 24 25 21 20
Virginia 33 13 14 11 21 28 16 17 21 20
Washington 33 15 18 24 21 28 24 17 21 20
West
Virginia 22 19 19 16 12 27 18 19 15 11
Wisconsin 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
'Wyoming 21 17 16 24 11 26 14 15 21 10
Nevada President and Speaker pro tems listed under Other Senate/House Leaders at $900 per year. $900 per year for all standing committee chairs.

New
Hampshire
New Jersey
New York

North
Carolina

North Dakota
Ohio

Oklahoma

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island
South
Carolina

Utah

Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia

Wyoming

President receives $50 per two year term.

President receives 1/3 above annual salary.

Other Senate Leaders includes 24 other leaders with compensation ranging from $13,000 to $34,000 per year. Other House Leaders include
31 officials with compensation ranging from $9,000 to $25,000 per year. $9,000 to $34,000 for each committee chair.

Compensation is approximately 69% salary and 31% expense allowance; Other Senate Leaders is President pro tem. Committee chairs get a
$600 interim expense allowance.

Other Senate Leaders is assistant leaders. $10 per day for all substantive standing committees.

President and Speaker pro tems and minority leader receives same amount, majority floor leader gets $81,163 and majority whip gets
$76,169 per year. $6,500 for all committee chairs except Finance Chair gets $10,000, vice chair of Finance gets $5,500.

Speaker pro tem listed under Other House Leaders. Appropriations and Budget Committee chairs get $12,364.

Other Senate/House Leaders includes majority and minority whips at $27,942, both caucus chairs at $17,422, both caucus secretaries,
policy chairs, and aministrators at $11,506 per year.

Senate president receives double the annual rates (increased portion is listed here).

Lists Lt. Governor under presiding officer; President pro tem listed under Other Senate Leaders at $11,000 per year.

Other Senate Leaders includes majority and minority whips and assistant whips at $2,000 per year. Executive Appropriations co-chairs
receive $2,000.

Presiding officer is Lt. Governor who receives $60,507 per year.

$200/day only for days that official meetings are attended. President pro tem listed under Other Senate Leaders.

Lists Lt. Governor under presiding officer; amounts for leaders is portion above base salary.

Paid a per diemwhen in session. Other Senate Leaders includes Chair of Finance and Judiciary for up to 30 days and sixother officers.
Finance and Judiciary chairs receive $150 per day for a maximum of 30 days.

$600 per month for interim committee chairs, when not in session
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Table 14R — Leadership Compensation - All States — post-Recommendation®

Senate Senate Senate Other Senate House House House Other House
Presiding Majority Minority Senate Committee  Presiding Majority Minority House Committee
State Officer Leader Leader Leaders Leaders Officer Leader Leader Leaders Leaders
Alabama $ 18208 | $ - $ - $ - $ 1800 $ 18208 | $ - $ - $ - $ 1,800
Alaska $ 500 | $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 500 | $ - $ - $ - $ -
| Arizona $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ -
| Arkansas $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ -
California $ 109584 |$ 102437 |$ 109584 | $ 10437 [ $ - $ 109584 |$ 102437 |$ 109584 | $ 102437 | $ -
Colorado $ - s - 18 - 18 - s - |8 - 18 - |8 - |8 - |8 -
Connecticut
$ 10,689 | $ 8835| % 8835|$ 6446 | $ 42411 $ 10689 | $ 8835 | % 8835 | $ 6,446 | $ 4241
Delaware
$ 19,983 | $ 12376 | $ 12376 | $ 7794 $ 11459 [ $ 19983 [ $ 12376 | $ 12376 | $ 77941 $ 11,459
Florida $ 11484 | $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 11484 | $ - $ - $ - $ -
Georgia $ - $ 2400 | $ 2400 | $ 2400 $ - $ 6812 | $ 2400 | $ 2400 | $ 2400 | $ -
Hawaii $ 7500 | $ - s - 1s - s - s 7500 | $ - s - s - s -
Idaho $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 4,000 | $ - $ - $ - $ -
Illinois $ 27477 $ 20649 | $ 27477 $ 20,649 | $ 10327 | $ 27477 $ 23230 | $ 274771 $ 19,791 | $ 10,327
Indiana $ 7,000 | $ 5500 | $ 6,000 | $ 5500 | $ 1000 $ 6,500 | $ 5,000 | $ 5500 | $ 5000 | $ 1,000
lowa $ 11593 | $ 11593 | $ 11593 | $ 1243 [ $ - $ 11593 | $ 11593 | $ 11593 | $ 1243 [$ -
Kansas $ 14039 | $ 12,666 | $ 12666 | $ 7165|$ 11290 | $ 14039 | $ 12,666 | $ 12,666 | $ 7165|$ 11,290
Kentucky $ 3646 | $ 2880 $ 2880 $ 2207 $ 1029 $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 1,029
Louisiana $  32000($ - Is - Is - s 28000[$  32000][$ - 1s - s - [s 28000
Maine $ 5878 | $ 2939 $ 14701 $ - $ - $ 5878 | $ 2939 | $ 1470 $ - $ -
Maryland $ 13,000 | $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 13,000 | $ - $ - $ - $ -
Massachusetts
$ 35000 | $ 22,500 | $ 22500 | $ 15000 | $ 15000 | $ 35000 | $ 22500 | $ 22500 | $ 15000 | $ -
Michigan $ 4,962 | $ 23400 | $ 19800 | $ 10800 | $ 6,300 | $ 27,000 | $ - $ 22,000 | $ 12,000 | $ 6,300
Minnesota
$ - $ 12,456 | $ 12,456 | $ 4152 $ 35292 | $ 12,456 | $ 12456 | $ 12,456 | $ - $ 35,292
Mississippi
$ - $ - $ - $ 15,000 | $ - $ 50,000 | $ - $ - $ 15000 | $ -
Missouri $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 2500 | $ 1500 | $ 1500 | $ - $ -
Montana $ 535 (8 - 18 - 18 - s - s 535|$ - 18 - 18 - 18 -
Nebraska $ - s - 1s - I3 - 18 - 18 - |8 - |8 - |8 - |8 -
Nevada $ 900 | $ 900 | $ 900 | $ 900 | $ 900 | $ 900 [ $ 900 [ $ 900 | $ 900 | $ 900
New
Hampshire
$ 5% - |s - |s - s - s 25(3$ - s - s - s -
New Jersey
$ 16317 | $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 16317 [ $ - $ - $ - $ -
New Mexico
$ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ -
New York
$ 41,500 | $ - $ 34,500 | $ 34,000 | $ 34,000 | $ 41500 | $ 34,500 | $ 34500 | $ 25000 | $ 34,000
North Carolina
$ 55,107 | $ 25040 | $ 25040 | $ 31771 $ - $ 55107 | $ 25040 | $ 25040 | $ 31771 $ -
North Dakota
$ - $ 6339 | $ 2655 | $ 1770 $ 829 $ 1740 $ 3684 | $ - $ - $ 829
Ohio $ 94437 | $ 86,164 | $ 86,164 | $ 81163 | $ 10000 | $ 94437 | $ 86,164 | $ 86,164 | $ 81,163 | $ 10,000
Oklahoma
$ 17932 | $ 12364 $ 12364 | $ - $ 12364 | $ 17932 | $ 12,364 | $ 12364 | $ 12364 | $ 12,364
Oregon $ 21,936 | $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 21936 | $ - $ - $ - $ -
Pennsylvania
$ 46,022 [ $ 36,819 | $ 36,819 | $ 27942 | $ - $ 46,022 | $ 36,819 | $ 36,819 | $ 27942 | $ -
Rhode Island
$ 14640 S - 1s - 1s - s - |$  14p40($ - s - s - s -
South Carolina
$ - $ - $ - $ 11,000 | $ 600 | $ 11,000 | $ - $ - $ 3,600 | $ 600
South Dakota
$ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ -
Tennessee
$ 57027 (S - 1s - 1s - |s - |s 570278 - s - s - s -
Texas $ - s - 1s - 1s - s - s - s - 18 - 18 - 18 -
Utah $ 5000 | $ 4,000 | $ 4,000 | $ 3,000 | $ 3000 | $ 5,000 | $ 4,000 | $ 4,000 | $ 3000 | $ 3,000
Vermont $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ 22,026 | $ - $ - $ - $ -
Virginia $ - $ 9,000 | $ 9,000 | $ 9,000 | $ - $ 8,000 | $ 4,000 | $ 4,000 | $ - $ -
Washington
$ - $ 8000 |$ 4,000 | $ - $ - $ 8,000 | $ - $ 4000 | $ - $ -
West Virginia
$ 8850 | $ 2950 $ 2950 | $ 4500 | $ 4500 | $ 8850 | $ 2950 | $ 2950 | $ 4500 | $ 4,500
Wisconsin
$ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ - $ -
Wyoming $ 9930 | $ 6,000 | $ 6,000 | $ - $ 6,000 | $ 9930 | $ 6,000 | $ 6,000 | $ - $ 6,000
Notes:
Alabama Senate Finance and Taxation, House Ways and Means chairs get $150 per month
Arkansas Presiding officers, majority and minority officers receive additional interim per diem.
california Second ranking minority leader receives $102,437 per year.
Colorado Presiding officers, majority and minority officers receive $99 per diem during interim.
Connecticut  Second rank majority and minority leaders receive $6,446 per year, assistant leaders and whips receive $4,241 per year. All committee chairs get this
amount.
Delaware Whips receive $7,794/year. Joint Finance Committee chairs get $11,459, Capital Improvement and Sunset chairs get $4,578
Georgia President and Speaker pro tems receive $400/month, floor leaders receive $200/month, assistant floor leaders receive $100/month.
Hinois Other Senate leaders include deputy minority leader, assistant majority and minority leaders, majority and minority caucus chairs. All committee chairs
Indiana Senate majority listed above, assistant majority floor leader gets $3,500 per year, assistant minority floor leader gets $5,000 per year, other senate
leaders ranges from $1,000 to $5,500 per year. Similar House positions are paid $500 less per year. All committee chairs get $1,000.
lowa President pro tem listed above under Other Senate Leaders, Speaker pro tem listed under Other House Leaders
Kansas Other Senate and House Leaders include vice president, Speaker pro tem, assistant majority and minority leaders. Chairs for Senate Ways and Means
and House Appropriations get $11,290 per year.
Kentucky President and Speaker get $$47.35/day, majority and minority leaders receive $37,40 per day, and caucus chairs get $28.66 per day. Chairs get daily
rate for standing committees only.
Louisiana President and Speaker pro tems listed under Other Senate/House Leaders. Joint Budget Committee chairs and vice chairs receive $28,000 per year.
Maine Leaders receive additional percentage of base salary: 150%, 125%, and 112.5% respectively; portion above salary listed here.
Massachusetts ~ Other Leaders includes assistant (and 2nd and 3rd) majority and minority leaders, and pro tems. $7,500-$15,000 for committee chairs
Michigan Senate majority floor leader gets $10,800 and minority floor leader gets $9,000 per year. House majority leader does not exist, Speaker pro tem gets
$5,513, majority floor leader gets $12,000 and minority floor leader gets $10,000 per year. $6,300 for appropriations chairs.
Minnesota Other Senate Leaders includes assistant majority and minority leaders, and taxand finance committee chairs. $35,292 fpr the Senate Tax Committee
and Committee on Finance.
Mississippi Senate lists Lt. Governor under presiding officer; President pro tem listed under Other Senate Leaders at $15,000 per year. Speaker makes $60,000 total

salary (differential listed here) and Speaker pro temis listed under Other House Leaders

% National Conference of State Legislatures, 2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for

Senate Leaders, 2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for House/Assembly | eaders, and

2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for Committee Chairs
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Ranking

Senate Senate Senate Other Senate House House House Other House
Presiding Majority Minority Senate Committee  Presiding Majority Minority House Committee
State Officer Leader Leader Leaders Leaders Officer Leader Leader Leaders Leaders

Alabama 12 25 26 24 15 15 24 25 21 14
Alaska 31 25 26 24 21 40 24 25 21 20
Arizona 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
Arkansas 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
California 1 1 1 10 21 1 1 1 1 20
Colorado 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
Connecticut 20 14 15 14 13 25 13 14 13 12
Delaware 1 10 11 12 6 14 10 1 1 5
Florida 19 25 26 24 21 23 24 25 21 20
Georgia 33 23 23 19 21 31 21 21 18 20
Hawaii 23 25 26 24 21 30 24 25 21 20
Idaho 33 25 26 24 21 35 24 25 21 20
Illinois 9 7 5 5 8 10 6 5 6 7
Indiana 24 18 16 15 17 32 15 16 14 16
lowa 18 12 13 22 21 22 12 13 19 20
Kansas 16 8 9 13 7 19 8 9 12 6
Kentucky 28 22 21 20 16 42 24 25 21 15
Louisiana 8 25 26 24 3 9 24 25 21 3
Maine 25 21 24 24 21 33 20 23 21 20
Maryland 17 25 26 24 21 20 24 25 21 20
Massachusetts 7 6 7 6 4 8 7 7 7 20
Michigan 27 5 8 9 10 1 24 8 10 9
Minnesota 33 9 10 17 1 21 9 10 21 1
Mississippi 33 25 26 6 21 5 24 25 7 20
Missouri 33 25 26 24 21 36 22 22 21 20
Montana 30 25 26 24 21 39 24 25 21 20
Nebraska 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
Nevada 29 24 25 23 18 38 23 24 20 17
New
Hampshire 32 25 26 24 21 41 24 25 21 20
New Jersey 14 25 26 24 21 17 24 25 21 20
New Mexico 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
New York 6 25 4 2 2 7 4 4 5 2
North Carolina 4 4 6 3 21 4 5 6 3 20
North Dakota 33 16 22 21 19 37 18 25 21 18
Ohio 2 2 2 1 9 2 2 2 2 8
Oklahoma 13 1 12 24 5 16 11 12 9 4
Oregon 10 25 26 24 21 13 24 25 21 20
Pennsylvania 5 3 3 4 21 6 3 3 4 20
Rhode Island 15 25 26 24 21 18 24 25 21 20
South Carolina 33 25 26 8 20 24 24 25 16 19
South Dakota 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
Tennessee 3 25 26 24 21 3 24 25 21 20
Texas 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
Utah 26 19 18 18 14 34 16 17 17 13
Vermont 33 25 26 24 21 12 24 25 21 20
Virginia 33 13 14 1 21 28 16 17 21 20
Washington 33 15 18 24 21 28 24 17 21 20
West Virginia 22 20 20 16 12 27 19 20 15 11
Wisconsin 33 25 26 24 21 42 24 25 21 20
Wyoming 21 17 16 24 11 26 14 15 21 10
Nevada President and Speaker pro tems listed under Other Senate/House Leaders at $900 per year. $900 per year for all standing committee chairs.
New Hampshire President receives $50 per two year term.
New Jersey President receives 1/3 above annual salary.
New York Other Senate Leaders includes 24 other leaders with compensation ranging from $13,000 to $34,000 per year. Other House Leaders include 31 officials
North Carolina  Compensation is approximately 69% salary and 31% expense allowance; Other Senate Leaders is President pro tem. Committee chairs get a $600

North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Pennsylvania

Rhode Island
South Carolina

Utah

Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia

Wyoming

interim expense allowance.

Other Senate Leaders is assistant leaders. $10 per day for all substantive standing committees.

President and Speaker pro tems and minority leader receives same amount, majority floor leader gets $81,163 and majority whip gets $76,169 per year.
Speaker pro tem listed under Other House Leaders. Appropriations and Budget Committee chairs get $12,364.

Other Senate/House Leaders includes majority and minority whips at $27,942, both caucus chairs at $17,422, both caucus secretaries, policy chairs,
and aministrators at $11,506 per year.

Senate president receives double the annual rates (increased portion is listed here).

Lists Lt. Governor under presiding officer; President pro tem listed under Other Senate Leaders at $11,000 per year.

Post-Recommendation: Other Senate Leaders includes majority and minority whips and assistant whips at $3,000 per year. Executive Appropriations
co-chairs would receive $3,000.

Presiding officer is Lt. Governor who receives $60,507 per year.

$200/day only for days that official meetings are attended. President pro temlisted under Other Senate Leaders.

Lists Lt. Governor under presiding officer; amounts for leaders is portion above base salary.

Paid a per diemwhen in session. Other Senate Leaders includes Chair of Finance and Judiciary for up to 30 days and sixother officers. Finance and
Judiciary chairs receive $150 per day for a maximum of 30 days.

$600 per month for interim committee chairs, when not in session

46



Table 15 — Leadership Compensation - States with Citizen Legislatures, 2013%
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% National Conference of State Legislatures, 2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for

Senate Leaders, 2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for House/Assembly Leaders,

2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for Committee Chairs
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Table 15R — Leadership Compensation - Citizen Legislatures - post-Recommendation®’
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% National Conference of State Legislatures, 2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for

Senate Leaders, 2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for House/Assembly Leaders,

2012 State Legislator Compensation - Additional Compensation for Committee Chairs
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Table 16 — Estimated Workload for Utah's Legislative Leadership®

Senate President & Speaker of the House Table 2 Table 19
# weeks Utah Utah
# days * * # days Average Legislator ~ Occupational
Additional work/meetings during session: mpensa Length # days # hours # hours # weeks * # hours Hourly Pay Rate Median
Senate or House Leadership M & W2 hours 2 2 4 7 28
Speaker/President T 1 hour 1 1 1 7 7
Governor T 1 hour 1 1 1 7 7
Majority & Minority Leaders Th 1/2 hour 1 0.5 0.5 7 35
Joint Majority Leadership T & Th2 hours 2 2 4 7 28
Daily media briefing M-F 1/2 hour 5 0.5 25 7 17.5
Other meetings as needed
Additional work/meetings during interim:
Senate or House Leadership w 2 hours 1 2 2 7 14
Speaker/President T 1 hour 1 1 1 7 7
Governor T 1 hour 1 1 1 7 7
Majority & Minority Leaders T 1/2 hour 1 0.5 0.5 7 35
Joint Majority Leadership T 2 hours 1 2 2 7 14
Daily media briefing T & W 1/2 hour 2 0.5 1 7 7
Other meetings as needed
143.5 hours _$ 20.91 $34.13 $38.03
$ 3,000 $4,900 $5,500
Interim is same as session but once a month, Tuesdays plus one additional day per week on average. Staff
notes calls to President 2-3 times per day on average for miscellaneous items that rise to his level. 60 hours $2,000 $2,300
$6,900 $7,800
Majority Leadership (Leader, Whip, Asst. Whip)
# weeks
# days * * # days
Additional work/meetings during session: Days Length # days # hours # hours # weeks * # hours
Senate or House Leadership M & W2 hours 2 2 4 7 28
Joint Majority Leadership T & Th2 hours 2 2 4 7 28
Conduct caucus meetings and workgroups
Bill sifting
Daily media briefing M-F 1/2 hour 5 0.5 25 7 17.5
Additional work/meetings during interim:
Senate or House Leadership w 2 hours 1 2 2 7 14
Majority & Minority Leaders T 1/2 hour 1 0.5 0.5 7 35
Joint Majority Leadership T 2 hours 1 2 2 7 14
Daily media briefing T & W 1/2 hour 2 0.5 1 7 7
112 hours _$ 17.86 $34.13 $38.03
$ 2,000 $3,800 $4,300
Executive Appropriations Chair and Vice Chair
# weeks
# days * * # days
Additional work/meetings during session: Days Length # days # hours # hours # weeks * # hours
Senate or House Leadership M & W2 hours 2 2 4 7 28
Joint Majority Leadership T & Th2 hours 2 2 4 7 28
Executive Appropriations Committee varies 2 2 4 7 28
Meetings with subcommittee chairs
Other meetings (ex. GOMB, agencies)
Additional work/meetings during interim:
Senate or House Leadership w 2 hours 1 2 2 7 14
Joint Majority Leadership T 2 hours 1 2 2 7 14
Executive Appropriations Committee T 2 hours 1 2 2 7 14
126 hours _$ 15.87 $34.13 $38.03
$ 2,000 $4,300 $4,800

Notes:

Leadership typically works 1-2 more hours per meeting day than regular legislators. By end of session, that load can increase to an additional 6 hours per day.

% Interview with Ric Cantrell, Utah Senate Deputy Chief, on October 9, 2013. Sources in the House indicate similar

time commitments there.
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Table 17 — Authorized Legislative Meetings®

o
:
8% £
E € 7}
Eg . % 3 £
ES 55 3 5
O v S5 uvw I V)
la Interim
1 Business and Labor X J 6 16
State LegiEducation X J 16
3 Ethics X J n/a  roster unavailable
4 Executive Appropriations X J 10 10
5 Economic Development and Workforce Services X J 5 10
6 Government Operations X J 5 10
7 Health and Human Services X J 5 9
8 Judiciary X J 4 9
9 Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice X J 5 11
10 Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment X J 6 16
11 Political Subdivisions X J 5 10
12 Public Utilities and Technology X J 4 10
13 Retirement and Independent Entities X J 6 9
14 Revenue and Taxation X J 5 16
15 Rules X 8 11 separate
16 Transportation X J 5 10
1b&1c Standing (Senate and House standing committees are separate)
1 Business and Labor X 7 15
2 Economic Development and Workforce Services X 7 11
3 Education X 8 16
4 Ethics X 8 8
5 Government Operations X 9
6 Government Operations and Political Subdivisions 7
7 Health and Human Services X 5 9
8 Judiciary X 9
9 Judiciary, Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice X 7
10 Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice X 11
11 Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment X 7 16
12 Political Subdivisions X 10
13 Public Utilities and Technology X 9
14 Retirement and Independent Entities X 6 9
15 Revenue and Taxation X 9 16
16 Rules X 8 11
17 Transportation X 11
18 Transportation, Public Utilities and Technology X 5
2 Appropriations
1 Business, Economic Development, and Labor X J 7 1
2 Executive X J 10 10
3 Executive Offices and Criminal Justice X J 6 10
4 Higher Education X J 7 10
5 Infrastructure and General Government X J 8 10
6 Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environmental
Quality X J 6 11
7 Public Education X J 8 1
8 Retirement and Independent Entities X J 6 9
9 Social Services X J 8 9
3 Legislative Management
1 Legislative Management X J 8 SP, SH, MinL(2)
2 Audit X J 2 SP, SH, MinL(2)
3 Budget X J n/a  roster unavailable
4 Legislative Information Technology Steering X J 3 3
5 Research and General Counsel X n/a  roster unavailable
6 Oversight X n/a  roster unavailable
4 Bodies where legislative participation is required by law:
1 Administrative Rules Review Committee 5 5

2 Art Placement Subcommittee to the State Capitol
Preservation Board

3 Child Welfare Legislative Oversight Panel

4 Commission on Civic and Character Education

5 Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice

BB Nw
PR ww

% Utah Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel; Authorized Legislative Meetings, 2013. Lists of
committee members found on Utah State Legislature website (le.utah.gov), accessed October 18, 2013.
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Notes:
SP

SH
MinL(2)
+

J

Committees
Subcommittees

6 Constitutional Defense Council

7 Commission on Federalism

8 Division of Indian Affairs Joint Meetings

9 Economic Development Task Force
10 Education Task Force
11 Elected Official and Judicial Compensation Commission
12 Federal Funds Commission
13 Government Communications Task Force
14 Government Procurement Private Proposal

Program Committee
15 Health Data Committee Advisory Panel
16 Health Reform Task Force
17 Interstate Commission for Adult Offender Supervision
18 Judicial Conduct Commission
19 Judicial Rules Review Committee
20 Legislative Committee on Landfill Siting Disputes
21 Legislative Process Committee
22 Multistate Domestic Energy Development Agreement
23 Native American Legislative Liaison Committee
24 Occupational and Professional Licensure Review Committee
25 Online Court Assistance Program Policy Board
26 Privatization Policy Board
27 Retirement and Independent Entities Committee
28 Rural Development Legislative Liaison Committee
29 Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee
30 Sentencing Commission
31 State Capitol Preservation Board
32 State Council on Military Children
33 State Council on Workforce Services
34 State Water Development Commission
35 Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement Governing Board
36 Technology Advisory Board
37 Traumatic Spinal Cord and Brain Injury
Rehabilitation Fund Advisory Committee

38 Utah Commission on Aging
39 Utah Commission on Immigration and Migration
40 Utah Commission on Uniform State Laws

41 Utah Constitutional Revision Commission

42 Utah International Relations and Trade Commission
43 Utah Marriage Commission

44 Utah Seismic Safety Commission

45 Utah State Scenic Byway Committee

46 Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council

47 Utah Tax Review Commission

48 Utah Transparency Advisory Board

49 Veterans Reintegration Task Force

50 Western States Transportation Alliance

Bodies where legislators may be appointed:

Other

1 Clean Air Act Compliance Advisory Panel

2 Military Installation Development Authority Board

3 Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission

4 Public Transit Board of Trustees

5 Utah Science Technology and Research Governing Authority

Special meetings as authorized by appropriate legislative leadership.

Senate President or designee appointed

Speaker of the House or designee appointed

Senate Minority Leader and House Minority Leader appointed
Chairs of one or more specific committees to be appointed

Joint body comprised of Senate and House members

Joint
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Table 18 — Compensation for Other State of Utah Officials*
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Table 19 — General and Operations Manager’s Salary*!

Occupational Wages-Published April 2013 (data from May 2012) for General and Operations Managers

Area Name Inexl-[gzl:i:el)r,\ce d Hourly Median Inegzr;:aarlme d Annual Median O‘rnr:i]r?i rJ](;b Education  Experience
Bear River $20.64 $35.99 $42,929 $74,854 None  Associate's degree 1to 5 years
Central Utah $15.91 $28.37 $33,100 $59,020 None  Associate's degree 1to 5 years
Eastern Utah $18.30 $33.96 $38,060 $70,630 None  Associate's degree 1to5 years
Ogden-Clearfield Metro $20.10 $34.31 $41,810 $71,370 None  Associate's degree 1to 5 years
Provo-Orem Metro $20.84 $37.14 $43,340 $77,250 None  Associate's degree 1to 5 years
Salt Lake Metro $24.07 $42.06 $50,060 $87,480 None  Associate's degree 1to 5 years
Southwest Utah $14.65 $26.84 $30470 $55,830 None  Associate's degree 1to 5 years
St.George Metro $18.24 $31.85 $37,940 $66,250 None  Associate's degree 1to 5 years
United States = $45.88 - $95,440 None  Associate's degree 1to5 years
Utah Statewide $21.77 $38.03 $45,270 $79,090 None  Associate's degree 1to 5 years

1 Utah Department of Workforce Services, Occupational Wages-Published April 2013 (data from May 2012) for
General and Operations Managers
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Table 20 — Utah Legislative Compensation History*?
Meals &

President and Leadership Lodging  Incidental
Year Daily Rate Speaker Pay Pay Expe nse’? Expe nses’

1980 $25 $0 $0 n/a $15
1981 $25 $0 $0 n/a $15
1982 $25 $0 $0 n/a $25
1983 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1984 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1985 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1986 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1987 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1988 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1989 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1990 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1991 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1992 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1993 $85 $1,000 $500 n/a $35
1994 $85 $1,000 $500 n/a $35
1995 $85 $1,000 $500 n/a $35
1996 $85 $1,000 $500 n/a $35
1997 $100 $1,000 $500 $68 $35
1998 $100 $1,000 $500 $83 $38
1999 $100 $1,000 $500 $76 $42
2000 $100 $1,000 $500 $75 $42
2001 $120 $2,500 $1,500 $75 $42
2002 $120/$1003 $2,500 $1,500 $75 $42
2003 $120 $2,500 $1,500 $75 $38
2004 $120 $2,500 $1,500 $80 $39
2005 $120 $2,500 $1,500 $79 $39
2006 $120 $2,500 $1,500 $79 $39
2007 $130 $3,000 $2,000 $78 $54
2008 $130 $3,000 $2,000 $90 $54
2009 $130 $3,000 $2,000 $116 $54
2010 $117 $3,000 $2,000 $106 $61
2011 $117 $3,000 $2,000 $95 $61
2012 $117 $3,000 $2,000 $95 $61
2013 $273 $3,000 $2,000 $95 $39

! Tied to Federal Rates
? Prior to 1997, lodging expenses were paid on a voucher system.

¥ The Legislature lowered their compensation fromJuly through December of 2002.

%2 National Conference of State Legislatures, 2013 Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances
During Session; and Utah Governor’s Office of Management and Budget. 2012 Report of the Utah Legislative
Compensation Commission




Table 21 — Historical Comparison of Consumer Price Index*?

Year CPI % Change Leg. Salary % Change
1983 100.0 N/A $65 N/A
1984 1039  3.90% $65  0.00%
1985 107.6  3.56% $65  0.00%
1986 109.9 2.14% $65  0.00%
1987 1136  3.37% $65  0.00%
1988 118.3  4.14% $65  0.00%
1989 1240  4.82% $65 0.00%
1990 130.7  5.40% $65  0.00%
1991 136.2  4.21% $65  0.00%
1992 140.3  3.01% $65 0.00%
1993 1445  2.99% $85 30.77%
1994 148.2  2.56% $85 0.00%
1995 152.4  2.83% $85 0.00%
1996 156.9  2.95% $85 0.00%
1997 160.5  2.29% $100 17.65%
1998 163.1  1.62% $100  0.00%
1999 166.6  2.15% $100  0.00%
2000 172.2  3.36% $100  0.00%
2001 1771 2.85% $120 20.00%
2002 179.9  1.58% $120  0.00%
2003 184.0  2.28% $120  0.00%
2004 188.9  2.66% $120  0.00%
2005 195.3  3.39% $120  0.00%
2006 201.6  3.23% $120  0.00%
2007 207.3  2.83% $130 8.33%
2008 2153  3.86% $130  0.00%
2009 2145  -0.37% $130  0.00%
2010 2181  1.68% $117 -10.00%
2011 2249  3.12% $117  0.00%
2012 229.6  2.09% $117  0.00%
2013* 2339 187% $273  133.33%
Cumulative Change 133.90% 100.00%

*As at August 2013.

3 U.S. Department of Labor: Bureau of Labor Statistics, Consumer Price Index History Table (1913-Present)



Full and Part-Time Legislatures*
Updated June 2009

It seems like an easy question: Which legislatures are full-time and which ones are part-time? But with 50 different
formulas for designing a state legislature, it's difficult to paint this issue in black and white. So we've done it in Red,
White and Blue.

Being a legislator doesn't just mean attending legislative sessions and voting on proposed laws. State legislators also
spend large amounts of time assisting constituents, studying state issues during the interim and campaigning for
election. These activities go on throughout the year. Any assessment of the time requirements of the job should
include all of these elements of legislative life.

Beyond that point, NCSL prefers to look more broadly at the capacity of legislatures to function as independent
branches of government, capable of balancing the power of the executive branch and having the information
necessary to make independent, informed policy decisions. To measure the capacity of legislatures, it's important to
consider the amount of time legislators spend on the job, the amount they are compensated and the size of the
legislature's staff.

NCSL has grouped the 50 state legislatures into three major categories: Red, White and Blue-and for those who
want to know more, NCSL has provided some shading within those categories.

Red Legislatures

Red legislatures require the most time of legislators, usually 80 percent or more of a full-time job. They have large
staffs. In most Red states, legislators are paid enough to make a living without requiring outside income. These
legislatures are more similar to Congress than are the other state legislatures. Most of the nation's largest population
states fall in this category. Because there are marked differences within the category, we have subdivided the Red
states. Those in Red generally spend more time on the job because their sessions are longer and their districts larger
than those in Red Lite. As a result, they tend to have more staff and are compensated at a higher rate. Within
subcategories, states are listed alphabetically.

White Legislatures

Legislatures in the White category are hybrids. Legislatures in these states typically say that they spend more than
two-thirds of a full time job being legislators. Although their income from legislative work is greater than that in the
Blue states, it's usually not enough to allow them to make a living without having other sources of income.
Legislatures in the White category have intermediate sized staff. States in the middle of the population range tend to
have White legislatures.

Blue Legislatures

In the Blue states, on average lawmakers spend the equivalent of half of a full-time job doing legislative work. The
compensation they receive for this work is quite low and requires them to have other sources of income in order to
make a living. The blue states have relatively small staffs. They are often called traditional or citizen legislatures and
they are most often found in the smallest population, more rural states. Again, NCSL has divided these states into

* National Conference of State Legislatures, article copied on August 12, 2013, from
http://www.ncsl.org/legislatures-elections/legislatures/full-and-part-time-legislatures.aspx.
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two groups. The legislatures in Blue are the most traditional or citizen legislatures. The legislatures in Blue Light are
slightly less traditional. States are listed alphabetically within subcategories.

Table 1 shows the breakdown of states by category. Table 2 shows the average scores for the Red, White and Blue
states for time on the job, compensation and staff size. For 2009 legislator compensation figures, take a look at

the latest figures.

Red, White and Blue Legislatures

California Ilinois Alabama Missouri Georgia Montana
Michigan Florida Alaska Nebraska Idaho New Hampshire
New York Ohio Arizona North Carolina |Indiana North Dakota
Pennsylvania Massachusetts Arkansas Oklahoma Kansas South Dakota
New Jersey Colorado Oregon Maine Utah
Wisconsin Connecticut  |South Carolina |Mississippi Wyoming
Delaware Tennessee Nevada
Hawaii Texas New Mexico
lowa Virginia Rhode Island
Kentucky Washington Vermont
Louisiana West Virginia
Maryland
Minnesota

Source: NCSL 2008

Average Job Time, Compensation and Staff Size by Category of Legislature

Category of Legislature Time on the Job (1) [Compensation (2) |Staff per Member (3)
Red 80% $68,599 8.9

White 70% $35,326 3.1

Blue 54% $15,984 1.2

Notes:

1. Estimated proportion of a full-time job spent on legislative work including time in session, constituent service,
interim committee work, and election campaigns.

2. Estimated average annual compensation of legislators including salary, per diem, and any other unvouchered
expense payments.

3. Ratio of total legislative staff to number of legislators. This includes central legislative staff offices, so it is not a
measure of how many staff work directly for each legislator.

Source: NCSL 2008
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ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF SELECTED LEADERSHIP POSITIONS®

The roles and responsibilities of legislative leaders vary considerably among the states. Listed below are brief synopses of
the duties typically associated with selected leadership positions.

President of the Senate. The president is the principal leader of the Senate. The president typically will (1) preside over
the daily sessions of the Senate, (2) preserve order in the chamber, (3) state parliamentary motions, (4) rule on
parliamentary questions, (4) appoint committee chairs and members, (5) refer bills to committee, (6) sign legislation, writs
and warrants and (7) act as the official spokesman for the Senate. In about 26 states, the lieutenant governor serves as the
president of the Senate, and many of these duties are assumed by the president pro tem.

President pro tem of the Senate. The primary roles assigned to the president pro tem are to (1) preside over the Senate in
the president's absence, (2) exercise the powers and duties of the president in his or her absence and (3) assume other
duties as assigned by the president. Sometimes, this is an honorary position, with few substantive duties assigned. In states
where the lieutenant governor presides over the Senate, the president pro tem usually assumes duties associated with a
president.

Speaker of the House or Assembly. The speaker is the principal leader of the House or Assembly. The speaker typically
will (1) preside over the daily sessions of the Senate, (2) preserve order in the chamber, (3) state parliamentary motions,
(4) rule on parliamentary questions, (4) appoint committee chairs and members, (5) refer bills to committee, (6) sign
legislation, writs and warrants and (7) act as the official spokesman for the House or Assembly.

Speaker pro tem. The primary roles assigned to the speaker pro tem are to (1) preside over the House in the speaker's
absence, (2) exercise the powers and duties of the speaker in his or her absence and (3) assume other duties as assigned by
the speaker. In some states, this is an honorary position, with few substantive duties assigned.

Majority Leader. The primary functions of a majority leader usually relate to floor duties. The majority leader (1) is the
lead speaker for the majority party during floor debates, (2) develops the calendar and (3) assists the president or speaker
with program development, policy formation and policy decisions.

Majority Caucus Chair. The majority caucus chair generally (1) develops the majority caucus agenda with the principal
leaders, (2) presides over the majority caucus meetings and (3) assists with the development of policy.

Majority Whip. The duties of the majority whip are to (1) assist the floor leader, (2) ensure member attendance, (3) count
votes and (4) generally communicate the majority position.

Minority Leader. The minority leader is the principal leader of the minority caucus. The minority leader is responsible for
(1) developing the minority position, (2) negotiating with the majority party, (3) directing minority caucus activities on the
chamber floor and (4) leading debate for the minority.

Minority Caucus Chair. The minority caucus chair (1) presides over caucus meetings and (2) assists the minority leader
with policy development.

Minority Whip. The major responsibilities for the minority whip are to (1) assist the minority leader on the floor, (2)
count votes and (3) ensure attendance of minority party members.

** National Conference of State Legislatures, “Roles and Responsibilities of Selected Leadership Positions”, article
copied on October 25, 2013, from http://www.ncsl.org/legislators-staff/legislators/legislative-leaders/leadership-
positions-roles-and-responsibilities.aspx.

59



[This page intentionally left blank.]

60



APPENDIX B

UTAH CONSTITUTION

Article VI, Section 9. Compensation of legislators -- Citizens' salary commission.*®

The Legislature shall not increase the salaries of its members on its own initiative, but shall
provide by law for the appointment by the Governor of a citizens' salary commission to make
recommendations concerning the salaries of members of the Legislature. Upon submission of the
commission's recommendations, the Legislature shall by law accept, reject or lower the salary
but may not, in any event, increase the recommendation. The Legislature shall provide by law for
the expenses of its members. Until salaries and expenses enacted as authorized by this section
become effective, members of the Legislature shall receive compensation of $25 per diem while
actually in session, expenses of $15 per diem while actually in session, and mileage as provided
by law.

UTAH CODE

36-2-3. Salaries of members set by Legislature based on recommendations of Legislative
Compensation Commission.*’

1) @ Except as provided in Subsections (2), (3), or (4), the salaries of members of the
Legislature shall automatically be set beginning January 1st of each odd-numbered year at the
amount recommended by the Legislative Compensation Commission in the last report issued by
the commission in the preceding even-numbered year.

(b) This salary recommendation shall be based on either:

Q) a daily basis:

(A)  for each calendar day for annual general sessions; and

(B)  for each day a legislator attends veto-override and special sessions and other authorized
legislative meetings; or

(i) anannualized salary.

(© In preparing its report, the commission may recommend salary amounts that:

Q) take into account the amounts received by legislators for legislative expenses; and

(i) provide alternative salary amounts based upon the occurrence of various contingencies.
@) (@) During an even-numbered annual general session or special session in the year
immediately preceding the effective date of any salary change, the Legislature may reject or
decrease the salary recommendation, but may not increase the salary recommendation.

%6 Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/code/CONST/htm/00106 _000900.htm.
4" Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE36/htm/36 02 000300.htm.
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(b) If the Legislature does not act as provided in Subsection (2)(a), they have by law
accepted the Legislative Compensation Commission's recommendations contained in the last
report issued by the commission in the preceding even-numbered year.

3) Unless the commission issues a revised report after March 11, 2010, and notwithstanding
Subsection (2), the salary for a member of the Legislature through calendar year 2011 is $117
per day for each calendar day that the legislator attends:

@) the annual general session;

(b) a veto-override session;

(©) a special session; or

(d) an authorized legislative meeting.

4) If the last report issued by the commission in an even-numbered year recommends a
salary contingent upon certain action being taken by the Legislature, that contingent legislative
salary:

€)) takes effect on the day after the day that the contingent action is taken by the Legislature;
and

(b) supersedes any other salary in effect as of January 1.

36-2-4. Legislative Compensation Commission created -- Governor's considerations in
appointments -- Organization and expenses.*®

1) There is created a state Legislative Compensation Commission composed of seven
members appointed by the governor, not more than four of whom shall be from the same
political party.

(2 @) Except as required by Subsection (2)(b), the members shall be appointed for four-
year terms.

(b) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (2)(a), the governor shall, at the time of
appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of board
members are staggered so that approximately half of the board is appointed every two years.

(©) When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the replacement shall be
appointed for the unexpired term in the same manner as the vacated member was chosen.

3) In appointing members of the commission, the governor shall give consideration to
achieving representation from the major geographic areas of the state, and representation from a
broad cross section of occupational, professional, employee, and management interests.

(4)  The commission shall select a chair. Four members of the commission shall constitute a
quorum. The commission shall not make any final determination without the concurrence of a
majority of its members appointed and serving on the commission being present.

(5) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but may
receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:

@) Section 63A-3-106;

8 Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE36/htm/36 02 000400.htm.
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(b) Section 63A-3-107; and

(©) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.
(6) @ The commission shall be a citizen commission and no member or employee of the
legislative, judicial, or executive branch is eligible for appointment to the commission.

(b) The executive director of the Governor's Office of Management and Budget:

Q) shall provide staff to the commission; and

(i) is responsible for administration, budgeting, procurement, and related management
functions for the commission.

36-2-5. Duties of Legislative Compensation Commission®

1) The Legislative Compensation Commission shall:

@) study and formulate recommendations concerning the salary levels for Utah state
legislators;

(b) base the study and recommendations upon maintaining a citizen Legislature in Utah, but
compensating members fairly for their service in order that all individuals would have an
opportunity to serve;

(©) in developing recommendations, consider the salaries of other similar state legislators and
other such factors; and

(d) submit to each member of the Legislature, by January 2nd of each even-numbered year,
recommendations:

Q) concerning changes, if any, which should be made in the salary plan and its
administration for state legislators; and

(i) include a recitation of the provisions of Section 36-2-3.

2 The Legislative Compensation Commission may issue reports subsequent to January 2 of
an even-numbered year containing revised salary recommendations, including salary
recommendations contingent upon certain action being taken by the Legislature.

3) As provided in Subsection 36-2-3(1)(c), in formulating its recommendations, the
commission may take into account the amounts received by legislators for legislative expenses,
but may not review the propriety of, or recommend amounts for, legislative expenses.

* Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE36/htm/36_02_000500.htm.
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For a copy of the report contact:

Governor’s Office of Management and Budget
State Capitol Complex, Suite 150
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Telephone: (801) 538-1000
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