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State Legislative History of Assessments 
 

Year Summary Selected Provisions 

1990 

HB 321 

First statewide 

student 

assessment 

requirement 

enacted 

This bill: 

 required the State Board of Education (“Board”) to develop a testing method to 

obtain an accurate estimate of statewide performance, school district performance, 

and school performance; and 

 directed the Board to require each district to annually administer statewide, norm-

referenced achievement tests to students in grades 5, 8, and 11 in basic skills 

courses. 

1999 

HB 33 

Additional 

statewide 

assessments 

required 

This bill: 

 required criterion-referenced achievement testing in all grades and courses in basic 

skill areas of the core curriculum, in addition to previously established norm-

referenced achievement testing (grades 5, 8, 11, adding grade 3); and 

 enacted the requirement for the Board to design a basic skills competency test for 

10th graders (codified as “Utah Basic Skills Competency Test” (UBSCT) in 2006) 

and the requirement that students pass the basic skills competency test in order to 

receive a high school diploma. 

2000 

HB 177 
U-PASS enacted 

This bill: 

 established the Utah Performance Assessment System for Students (U-PASS), 

which included: 

o norm-referenced tests (grades 3, 5, 8, 11); 

o criterion-referenced tests in basic skills courses (including constructed 

responses in pilot beginning in 2002–03 year); 

o a direct writing assessment of students in grades 6 and 9 (beginning in 2001–02 

year);  

o 10th grade basic skills competency test (beginning in 2002–03 year); and  

o the use of student behavior indicators in assessing student performance 

(beginning in 2002–03 year); and 

 required scores for norm-referenced and criterion-reference tests to be considered 

in determining student’s academic grade and advancement to next grade level. 

2007 

HB 155 

Statewide 

assessments 

eliminated in 

certain grades, 

reading 

assessment added 

This bill: 

 modified U-PASS by: 

o eliminating criterion-referenced and norm-referenced testing in certain grades 

(grade 1 and grade 11, respectively); and 

o adding a reading test in grade 3. 

2008 

SB 2002 
Online assessment 

system piloted 

This bill: 

 provided the Board with authority to exempt a limited number of school districts 

and charter schools from U-PASS requirements (including UBSCT) if the school 

district or charter school piloted an assessment system incorporating, among other 

requirements, online classroom-based assessments utilizing adaptive testing. 

2010 

SB 16 

Certain 

assessments 

eliminated, 

computer 

adaptive testing 

permitted 

This bill: 

 modified U-PASS by: 

o removing the requirement for statewide norm-referenced tests; and 

o allowing the use of online computer adaptive tests (or criterion-referenced tests, 

already in statute) for assessing students in grades 2–12 statewide; and 

 extended the date for pilot online assessment systems (enacted in 2008) through 

July 1, 2015 (repealed in 2012); and  

 removed certain limitations for pilot online assessment systems. 
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2010 

HB 166 

Utah Basic Skills 

Competency Test 

suspended 

This bill: 

 exempted school districts and charter schools from administering UBSCT for two 

years;  

 required the Board to prepare a plan to replace UBSCT with computer adaptive 

testing and administer the ACT to secondary students; and 

 removed the requirement for certain statewide assessments in grade 2 (grades 3–12 

remaining). 

2011 
HB 302 

Statewide reading 

assessments 

established 

This bill: 

 required the board to approve a benchmark reading assessment for statewide use 

for students in grades 1, 2, and 3; 

 required a school district or charter school to administer the benchmark 

assessments to students in grades 1, 2, and 3 at the beginning, middle, and end of 

the school year; and 

 required the Board to contract with an educational technology provider for a 

diagnostic assessment system that included benchmark reading assessments to be 

administered to students in kindergarten through grade 3. 

2012 

HB 15 

Computer 

adaptive testing 

aligned to core 

standards 

required 

This bill: 

 directed the Board to require school districts and charter schools to annually 

administer a computer adaptive assessment system aligned to Utah’s core 

standards (beginning in 2014–15 year); 

 eliminated exceptions to U-PASS (including UBSCT) for districts and schools 

using a pilot assessment system; and 

 established a parent committee to review computer adaptive test questions. 

2013 

SB 175 

College readiness 

assessment 

required, Utah 

Basic Skills 

Competency Test 

eliminated 

This bill: 

 eliminated UBSCT (including the requirement to pass for graduation); and  

 required the administration of college readiness assessments to all students in 

grade 11. 

2014 

SB 122 

Parental right to 

opt a student out 

of certain tests 

eliminated 

This bill: 

 required a school district or charter school to, at the request of a student’s parent, 

excuse the student from taking certain assessments. 

2015 

SB 204 

Use of statewide 

assessment scores 

to determine a 

student’s 

academic grade 

prohibited 

This bill: 

 expanded assessments from which students may be excused, including federally 

mandated and state-mandated tests and tests that require the use of a state 

assessment system or software provided or paid for by the state; 

 prohibited a school district or charter school from rewarding a student for taking 

certain assessments; and 

 prohibited a school district or charter school from using test scores to determine a 

student’s academic grade or whether a student may advance to the next grade level. 

2015 
SB 60 

Basic civics test 

required for 

diploma 

This bill: 

 directed the Board to require a public school student to pass a basic civics test as a 

condition for receiving a high school diploma. 

2016 

HB 200 

Grade 11 students 

exempted from 

statewide 

assessments as 

determined by 

districts and 

charter schools 

This bill: 

 provided that a school district or charter school may waive certain statewide 

assessment requirements for students in grade 11. 

 


