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HB227: Electronic Driver License
Since passage of the bill, the Driver License Division & DTS have worked together to evaluate:

● the costs and resources required by the state;
● the appropriate fee to be charged, if any, for an electronic driver license to be  issued;
● advantages and disadvantages;
● privacy and security issues;
● compliance with national standards;
● use by law enforcement and other government entities;
● possible concerns regarding acceptance and use by private entities;
● an assessment of the means of issuing an electronic driver license through a mobile application, including:

○ the costs, advantages, and disadvantages of the Department of Technology Services developing an 
application and maintaining the technology; and 

○ the costs, advantages, and disadvantages of contracting with a private entity to develop an application and 
maintaining the technology;

● an evaluation of other states' implementation of an electronic driver license program; and
● a recommended date by which Utah can implement an electronic driver license program within the state.



As of 2015, 72% of all adults 
in the US own a smartphone. 
Among 18-34 year olds, the 
number is 92%



Utah Statewide Survey, July 5-7, 2016. (3857 total responses)



Core Required Functionality

● Can be securely provisioned, changed or modified, and 
revoked

● Should be able to work on multiple platforms / device 
types

● Can be easily verified, online and offline without taking 
control of the device

● Must protect the privacy of the individual



Properties Required for Mobile DL (AAMVA)
1. Capable of functioning in an off-line environment. 
2. Include mechanisms or comprise of an architecture that allows a mDL 

consumer to establish trust in the information provided by the mDL. 
3. Confirm the mDL holder’s identity. 
4. Convey driving privileges. 
5. Allow reading of the information across issuing authorities. 
6. Allow the mDL holder to selectively authorize the release of information. 
7. Support remote mDL management. 
8. Easy to use. 
9. Acceptable processing time



eDL Options



Digital ID Vendors
● Experience with national electronic IDs in 

Europe and small pilots in some states
● Work closely with AAMVA, TSA, and national 

standards
● Multiple cost models

○ State pays license cost up front or on annual basis
○ User pays when purchasing the app 

■ In Louisiana, expected cost is $3-5 for the app

● Vendors already involved in supporting 
existing DL system



Digital Wallets
● Two major providers: Apple and 

Google
● Multiple device types: watch, 

smartphone, tablet
● Focus on security and privacy 

(financial transactions)
● In process (expect 6 months to 2 

years)
● Cost: currently unknown





Internal Development
● Digital verification / authentication architecture must be scaled up for all EDL 

scenarios
● Development and maintenance of web services (all scenarios) that connect 

apps to back end data
● Two apps would be developed, the user app with the driver’s license and a 

validation app for businesses and law enforcement



Widespread adoption of mobile IDs requires 
interoperability between issuing authorities 
across agencies, borders and geographies, 
worldwide.



Many other States have initiatives underway

Pilot completed
Report due Sep. 1st Task Force Report

completed



Louisiana wants to be first
● The driver's license would need to be displayed via an app selected by the OMV, so 

a simple photo of a driver's license would not be accepted as a valid ID.
● The license could only be used for driving -- not for showing ID to purchase items 

such as cigarettes, lottery tickets or alcoholic beverages. Other establishments that 
would require copies of a physical driver's license would mean Louisiana drivers 
would have to keep their actual driver's license.

● The apps would provide the same security measures as insurance companies 
provide by displaying insurance cards via smartphone.

● Driver's license holders would likely pay an additional fee for the app; the digital 
driver's license would come at no cost to the state. The fee is expected to be 
between $3 and $5 at each renewal.

● The driver's license would be REAL ID-compliant, contingent on other legislation. 
However, the licenses would be acceptable at airports only at the discretion of the 
Transportation Safety Administration.



Law Enforcement
1. Do not want to / cannot take control of the 

individual’s smartphone as they do today with a 
driver license card.

2. Must have a simple way to verify that the 
license is valid.



source: Iowa presentation to AAMVA



Recommendation
Implementation Date: No sooner than December 2018

Cost:

● Infrastructure
● Database and Services architecture
● App (internal)


