

Friday, February 22, 2019 8:00 a.m. 30 House Building

Members Present:

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair

Rep. Ken Ivory, Vice Chair

Rep. Kyle R. Andersen

Rep. Melissa G. Ballard

Rep. Suzanne Harrison

Rep. Dan N. Johnson

Rep. Marsha Judkins

Rep. Karen Kwan

Rep. Merrill F. Nelson

Rep. Adam Robertson

Rep. Lawanna Shurtliff

Rep. Raymond P. Ward

Staff Present:

Mr. Ryan M. Hunter, Policy Analyst Ms. Wendy Hill, Committee Secretary

Absent-2

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. L. Shurtliff

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Vice Chair Ivory called the meeting to order at 8:06 a.m.

1. H.B. 168 School Bus Safety Requirements (Hall, C.)

Rep. Craig Hall explained the bill.

Two video presentations were shown to the committee.

Brad Asay, President, American Federation of Teachers Utah, spoke to the bill.

Rick S. Lundell, Legislative Committee Liaison, Utah Association for Justice, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Robertson moved to amend H.B. 168 with Amendment #1. The motion passed with a vote of

10 - 0 - 2.

Amendment 1 H.B. 168

Page 2, Lines 46 through 47: 1.

(b) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Administrative Rulemaking Act, and Section 41-6a-1304, the

Department of Transportation shall

adopt and enforce rules governing the design and installation of seatbelts on school buses.

Nays-0

Yeas-10

Rep. K. Andersen

Rep. M. Ballard

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. M. Judkins

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. A. Robertson

Rep. R. Ward

MOTION: Rep. Robertson moved to pass H.B. 168 as amended out favorably. The motion passed with a vote

of 7 - 4 - 1.



Rep. R. Ward

Yeas-7 Nays-4 Absent-1

Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Andersen Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Ivory
Rep. D. Johnson Rep. M. Judkins

Rep. K. Kwan Rep. M. Nelson Rep. A. Robertson Rep. L. Shurtliff

2 . H.B. 228 Towing Revisions (Maloy, A.C.)

Rep. A. Cory Maloy explained the bill.

A presentation was shown to the committee.

Brian Brown, Towing Advisory Board, Parker Brown Real Estate & Property Management, spoke in favor of the bill.

Neil Schultz, Towing Advisory Board, Ogden-Weber Towing Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Derek Habel, Towing Advisory Board, Express Towing, spoke in favor of the bill.

Wayne Jones, Executive Director, Used Car Association, spoke to the bill.

Cameron Diehl, Executive Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Gary R. Williams, City Attorney, Ogden City, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Lieutenant Colonel Mark Zesiger, Utah Highway Patrol, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Ward moved to go to the next item on the agenda. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.

Yeas-12 Nays-0 Absent-0
Rep. K. Andersen

Rep. M. Ballard

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. M. Judkins

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. A. Robertson

Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. R. Ward

3 . H.B. 339 Legacy Parkway Truck Ban Modifications (Ballard, M.G.)

Rep. Ballard explained the bill with assistance of Mayor Rick Earnshaw, Woods Cross City.

A handout "Legacy Parkway Truck Ban" was distributed to the committee.

Legacy Parkway Truck Ban

A presentation was shown to the committee.



Gary Ursek, City Manager, Woods Cross City, spoke in favor of the bill.

Rusty Cannon, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Angela Keeton, citizen, spoke in favor to the bill.

Rick Clasby, Executive Director, Utah Trucking Association, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Val Stokes, Owner, Stokes Trucking Inc., spoke in opposition to the bill.

Jason Wheeler, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Christofferson moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Rep. S. Harrison

Yeas-11 Nays-0 Absent-1

Rep. K. Andersen

Rep. M. Ballard

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. M. Judkins

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. A. Robertson

Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. R. Ward

Vice Chair Ivory adjourned the meeting at 9:59 a.m.