

Members Present: Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair Rep. Merrill F. Nelson, Vice Chair Rep. Cheryl K. Acton Rep. Kim F. Coleman Rep. James A. Dunnigan Rep. Marie H. Poulson Rep. Susan Pulsipher Rep. Lawanna Shurtliff Rep. Elizabeth Weight Rep. Logan Wilde

#### Members Absent: Rep. Val K. Potter

**Staff Present:** Samantha D. Brucker, Policy Analyst An Bradshaw, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Nelson called the meeting to order at 8:22 a.m.

**MOTION:** Rep. Pulsipher moved to approve the minutes of February 25, 2020. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 5.

Yeas-6 Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman Rep. M. Nelson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde Nays-0

<u>Absent-5</u> Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. S. Handy Rep. V. Potter Rep. M. Poulson Rep. L. Shurtliff

### 1. H.B. 374 Local Government Building Regulation (Ray, P.)

Rep. Paul Ray presented 1st Substitute H.B. 374.

Gary Crane, League of Cities and Towns (ULCT), was invited to answer questions from the committee. He spoke in support of the bill.

Victoria Ashby, Director of Government Relations, ULCT, spoke to the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Weight moved to replace H.B. 374 with 1st Substitute H.B. 374. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 5.

<u>Yeas-6</u>	<u>Nays-0</u>	<u>Absent-5</u>
Rep. C. Acton	·	Rep. J. Dunnigan
Rep. K. Coleman		Rep. S. Handy
Rep. M. Nelson		Rep. V. Potter
Rep. S. Pulsipher		Rep. M. Poulson
Rep. E. Weight		Rep. L. Shurtliff
Rep. L. Wilde		

MOTION: Rep. Wilde moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 374 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 5 - 1 - 5.

Yeas-5 Rep. C. Acton Rep. M. Nelson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde

Nays-1 Rep. K. Coleman Absent-5 Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. V. Potter Rep. M. Poulson Rep. L. Shurtliff

## 2. H.B. 385 Digital Opportunity Access Amendments (Dailey-Provost, J.)

Rep. Jennifer Dailey-Provost presented the bill with the assistance of Vikram Ravi, graduate student at Brigham Young University. A handout was provided.

### **Digital Opportunity Access Amendments**

Rep. Wilde moved to hold H.B. 385. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 5. MOTION:

Yeas-6 Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman Rep. M. Nelson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde

Nays-0

Absent-5 Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. S. Handy Rep. V. Potter Rep. M. Poulson Rep. L. Shurtliff

## 3. H.B. 393 Municipal Annexation Amendments (Waldrip, S.)

Rep. Steve Waldrip presented the bill with the assistance of Greg Bell, Western Weber Township Planning Commission, and Victoria Ashby, ULCT.

MOTION: Rep. Wilde moved to pass H.B. 393 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 1 - 3.

<u>Yeas-7</u> Rep. C. Acton	<u>Nays-1</u> Rep. K. Coleman	<u>Absent-3</u> Rep. V. Potter
Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. S. Handy		Rep. M. Poulson Rep. S. Pulsipher
Rep. M. Nelson Rep. L. Shurtliff		
Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde		
·		

## 4. H.B. 388 Land Use Development and Management Revisions (Wilde, L.)

Rep. Wilde presented 1st Substitute H.B 388 with the assistance of Brent Bateman, Land Use Task Force.

Mike Ostermiller, Utah Association of Realtors and Utah Property Rights Coalition, spoke in support of the bill.

Victoria Ashby, ULCT, spoke in support of the bill.

Rep. Handy moved to replace H.B. 388 with 1st Substitute H.B. 388. The motion passed with a MOTION: vote of 9 - 0 - 2.

# house political subdivisions standing committee

Yeas-9 Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. S. Handy Rep. M. Nelson Rep. M. Poulson Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde	<u>Nays-O</u>	<u>Absent-2</u> Rep. V. Potter Rep. S. Pulsipher
	o. Handy moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 3 0 - 2.	388 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of
Yeas-9 Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. S. Handy Rep. M. Nelson Rep. M. Poulson Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde	<u>Nays-O</u>	<u>Absent-2</u> Rep. V. Potter Rep. S. Pulsipher
MOTION: Rep	o. Handy moved to adjourn. The motion pass	sed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 2.
Yeas-9 Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. S. Handy Rep. M. Nelson Rep. M. Poulson Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde	<u>Nays-O</u>	<u>Absent-2</u> Rep. V. Potter Rep. S. Pulsipher

Chair Nelson adjourned the meeting at 9:18 a.m.