

Thursday, January 18, 2024 | 2:00 p.m. | 445 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair Rep. Douglas R. Welton, Vice Chair

Rep. Nelson T. Abbott

Rep. Ariel Defay

Rep. Brett Garner

Rep. Ken Ivorv

Rep. Dan N. Johnson

Rep. Ashlee Matthews

Rep. Karen M. Peterson

Rep. Susan Pulsipher

Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenguist

Rep. Raymond P. Ward

Staff Present:

Rachel Brooks, Policy Analyst

Reese Boardman, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Welton called the meeting to order at 2:09 p.m.

1. H.B. 122 Motorcycle Equipment Amendments (Defay. A.)

MOTION: Rep. Welton moved to approve the minutes of the February 28, 2023 meeting. The motion passed

with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

Yeas - 9 Absent - 3 <u>Nays - 0</u>

Rep. A. Defay Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. B. Garner Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

Rep. Defay presented the bill with the assistance of Mathew Wallace, citizen.

Major Jeff Nigbur, Assistant Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Abbott moved to hold H.B. 122. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.

Yeas - 12 Nays - 0 Absent - 0

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenquist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton



2. H.B. 142 Railroad Drone Amendments (Wilcox, R.)

Rep. Wilcox presented the bill with assistance of Dalan Taylor, Chief of Police, Utah Transit Authority.

Bernadette Brockman, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Ivory moved to replace H.B. 142 with 1st Substitute H.B. 142. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.

Yeas - 12

Nays - 0

Absent - 0

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

MOTION:

Rep. Ivory moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 142 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.

Yeas - 12

<u>Nays - 0</u> Absent - 0

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

Chair Welton called a recess for 5 minutes.

Chair Welton called the meeting back to order.

3. H.B. 144 Vehicle Accident Liability Amendments (Stoddard, A.)

Rep. Stoddard presented the bill

Aaron Wild, attorney, Utah Association for Justice, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Christofferson moved to amend H.B. 144 with Amendment #1. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

> Amendment 1 H.B. 144

Page 1, Lines 15 through 17: 1.

 clarifies that a vehicle operator intending to turn left is not required to yield the 15

right-of-way to a vehicle operator approaching from the opposite direction that fails

- 17 to stop or yield when required by a { traffic-control device } stop sign or steady red signal at the intersection;
- 2. Page 2, Lines 43 through 46:
- (2) (a) The operator of a vehicle intending to turn to the left at an intersection is not 43
- 44 required to yield the right-of-way to a vehicle operator approaching from the opposite direction
- if the vehicle operator approaching from the opposite direction fails to stop or yield when 45
- 46 required to stop or yield by a { traffic control device } stop sign or steady red signal at that intersection.

Yeas - 11 Nays - 0 Absent - 1 Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

MOTION:

Rep. Christofferson moved to pass H.B. 144 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 -

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. J. Stenguist

Yeas - 11 Nays - 0 Absent - 1

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

MOTION: Rep. Peterson moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 11 Nays - 0 Absent - 1

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

Chair Welton adjourned the meeting.

NOTE: H.B. 0109 was not discussed in the meeting.