

Thursday, February 8, 2024 | 8:00 a.m. | 445 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Steve Eliason, Chair

Rep. Bridger Bolinder, Vice Chair

Rep. Stewart E. Barlow

Rep. Joel K. Briscoe Rep. Kay J. Christofferson

Rep. Jason B. Kyle

Rep. Phil Lyman

Rep. Doug Owens

Rep. Casey Snider

Staff Present:

Chris Stitt, Policy Analyst

Rep. Robert M. Spendlove

Rep. Keven J. Stratton Rep. Mark A. Strong

Members Absent:

Rep. Jefferson Moss

Reese Boardman, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Eliason called the meeting to order at 8:10 a.m. of February 8, 2024.

1. S.B. 22 Tax Information Sharing Amendments (Wilson, C.)

Sen. Wilson presented the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Christofferson moved to pass S.B. 22 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 7.

Yeas - 6 Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. C. Snider

Nays - 0 Absent - 7

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Stratton Rep. M. Strong

Rep. Owens moved to place S.B. 22 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed with a vote of 6 -MOTION:

0 - 7.

Yeas - 6

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. C. Snider

Absent - 7 Navs - 0

Rep. S. Barlow Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

2. S.B. 133 Electronic Cigarette and Other Nicotine Product Amendments (Bramble, C.)

Sen. Bramble presented the bill.

Rebecca Rockwell, Commissioner, Utah State Tax Commission, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Owens moved to pass S.B. 133 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 6.



Yeas - 7 Absent - 6 Nays - 0 Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Barlow Rep. S. Eliason Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Kyle Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. J. Moss Rep. P. Lyman Rep. D. Owens Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. C. Snider Rep. K. Stratton Rep. M. Strong

3. 1st Sub. H.B. 288 Rollback Tax Amendments (Kyle, J)

Rep. Kyle presented the bill.

Terry Camp, Vice President of Public Policy, Utah Farm Bureau Federation, spoke to the bill.

John Ulibarri, Assessor, Weber County spoke in favor of the bill.

Tim Bodily, Attorney, Salt Lake County, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Snider moved

Rep. Snider moved to replace 1st Substitute H.B. 288 with 2nd Substitute H.B. 288. The motion

passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 5.

Yeas - 8Nays - 0Absent - 5Rep. J. BriscoeRep. S. BarlowRep. K. ChristoffersonRep. B. BolinderRep. S. EliasonRep. J. MossRep. J. KyleRep. R. SpendloveRep. P. LymanRep. K. Stratton

Rep. D. Owens Rep. C. Snider Rep. M. Strong

MOTION: Rep. Snider moved to pass 2nd Substitute H.B. 288 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

8 - 0 - 5.

Yeas - 8Nays - 0Absent - 5Rep. J. BriscoeRep. S. BarlowRep. K. ChristoffersonRep. B. BolinderRep. S. EliasonRep. J. MossRep. J. KyleRep. R. SpendloveRep. P. LymanRep. K. Stratton

Rep. P. Lyman Rep. D. Owens Rep. C. Snider Rep. M. Strong

Rep. Bolinder assumed the chair.

4. H.B. 393 Services for People with Disabilities (Dailey-Provost, J.)

Rep. Dailey-Provost presented the bill.

Andrew Riggle, Disability Law Center, spoke in favor to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Eliason moved to replace H.B. 393 with 1st Substitute H.B. 393. The motion passed with a

vote of 9 - 0 - 4.



Absent - 4 Yeas - 9 Nays - 0 Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. M. Strong

Rep. J. Moss Rep. C. Snider Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Stratton

MOTION:

Rep. Strong moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 393 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

9 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 9 Nays - 0 Absent - 4

Rep. S. Barlow Rep. J. Moss Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. C. Snider

Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. M. Strong

5. 2nd Sub. S.B. 58 Property Tax Administration Amendments (Grover, K.)

Sen. Grover with assistance from Richard Jaussi.

John Ulibarri, Assessor, Weber County, Utah Association of Counties, spoke in favor of the bill.

Gavin Gilbert, Director of Government Affairs, Rental Housing Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Rep. Stratton moved to pass 2nd Substitute S.B. 58 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of MOTION:

9 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 9 Navs - 0 Absent - 4

Rep. S. Barlow Rep. S. Eliason Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Moss Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. C. Snider

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

MOTION: Rep. Christofferson moved to place 2nd Substitute S.B. 58 on the Consent Calendar. The motion

passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.



Yeas - 9

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

Nays - 0

Absent - 4

Rep. S. Eliason Rep. J. Moss

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. R. Spendlove

6. 1st Sub. S.B. 54 Property Tax Refund Amendments (Fillmore, L.)

Sen. Fillmore presented the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Stratton moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 54 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

9 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 9

Nays - 0

Absent - 4

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. S. Eliason Rep. J. Moss

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

Rep. R. Spendlove

MOTION:

Rep. Stratton moved to place 1st Substitute S.B. 54 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed

with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

<u>Yeas - 9</u>

Nays - 0

Absent - 4

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. S. Eliason Rep. J. Moss

Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. C. Snider Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

MOTION: Rep. Stratton moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 9

Nays - 0

Absent - 4 Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

Chair Bolinder adjourned the meeting.