

## **MINUTES**

## HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY

TAH STATE STANDING COMMITTEE

Thursday, February 22, 2024 | 4:00 p.m. | 110 Senate Building

**Members Present:** 

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht, Chair Rep. Colin W. Jack, Vice Chair

Rep. James Cobb

Rep. Joseph Elison

Rep. Jason B. Kyle

Rep. Phil Lyman

Rep. Matt MacPherson

Rep. Carol S. Moss

Rep. Michael J. Petersen

Rep. Judy Weeks Rohner

Rep. Angela Romero

**Staff Present:** 

Samantha D. Brucker, Managing Policy Analyst

Absent - 1

Rep. J. Elison

Linda Service, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Nays - 0

Chair Albrecht called the meeting to order at 4:12 p.m.

**MOTION:** Rep. Jack moved to approve the minutes of the February 1, 2024, February 7, 2024, February 14,

2024, February 19, 2024, and February 21, 2024 meetings. The motion passed with a vote of 10 -

0 - 1.

Yeas - 10

Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. J. Cobb

Rep. C. Jack Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. M. MacPherson

Rep. C. Moss

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. J. Rohner

Rep. A. Romero

## 1. 5th Sub. S.B. 161 Energy Security Amendments (Owens, D.R.)

Sen. Owens introduced the bill.

Cameron Cowan, General Manager, Intermountain Power Agency, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Stan Holmes, Outreach Coordinator, Ucare, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Bryce Bird, Director, Division of Air Quality, spoke to the bill.

Allen Johnson, Power Director, Bountiful City, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Justin Lee, Deputy Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke to the bill.

Maria Archibald, Utah Chapter of the Sierra Club, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Mike Squires, Managing Director of Government Affairs, UAMPS, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. MacPherson moved to pass 5th Substitute S.B. 161 out favorably. The motion passed with a

vote of 9 - 1 - 1.



## HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING **COMMITTEE**

February 22, 2024

<u>Yeas - 9</u> Rep. C. Albrecht Nays - 1 Rep. A. Romero Absent - 1 Rep. J. Rohner

Rep. J. Cobb

Rep. J. Elison

Rep. C. Jack

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. M. MacPherson

Rep. C. Moss

Rep. M. Petersen

**MOTION:** 

Rep. MacPherson moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

<u>Yeas - 10</u>

Nays - 0

Absent - 1 Rep. J. Rohner

Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. J. Cobb

Rep. J. Elison Rep. C. Jack

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. M. MacPherson

Rep. C. Moss

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. A. Romero

Chair Albrecht adjourned the meeting at 4:38 p.m.