

**Members Present:** Rep. Carl R. Albrecht, Chair Rep. Colin W. Jack, Vice Chair Rep. James Cobb Rep. Joseph Elison Rep. Jason B. Kyle Rep. Phil Lyman Rep. Carol S. Moss Rep. Judy Weeks Rohner

Rep. Angela Romero

Members Absent: Rep. Matt MacPherson Rep. Michael J. Petersen

Staff Present: Samantha D. Brucker, Managing Policy Analyst Linda Service, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Albrecht called the meeting to order at 8:14 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Elison moved to approve the minutes of the February 22, 2024 meeting. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 7 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Cobb Rep. J. Elison Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman Rep. C. Moss Rep. J. Rohner

Navs - 0

Absent - 4 Rep. C. Jack Rep. M. MacPherson Rep. M. Petersen Rep. A. Romero

## 1. 1st Sub. S.B. 175 Designation of Ballet West's the Nutcracker as a State Landmark (Escamilla, L.)

Sen. Escamilla introduced SB175 1st Substitute and SCR 5, Concurrent Resolution Honoring Ballet West assisted by Rep. Peterson and Adam Sklute, Artistic Director, Ballet West.

Rep. Jack assumed the chair.

Tyler Gosnell, Chief Branding Marketing Officer, Visit Salt Lake, spoke in support of the bill.

Nays - 0

Rep. Rohner moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 175 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of MOTION: 9-0-2.

Yeas - 9 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Cobb Rep. J. Elison Rep. C. Jack Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman Rep. C. Moss Rep. J. Rohner Rep. A. Romero

Absent - 2 Rep. M. MacPherson Rep. M. Petersen

## 2. S.C.R. 5 Concurrent Resolution Honoring Ballet West (Escamilla, L.)

## HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

<u>Nays - 0</u>

MOTION:

Rep. Romero moved to pass S.C.R. 5 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 2.

Absent - 2

Rep. M. MacPherson Rep. M. Petersen

Yeas - 9 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Cobb Rep. J. Elison Rep. C. Jack Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman Rep. C. Moss Rep. J. Rohner Rep. A. Romero

MOTION: Rep. Albrecht moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 2.

<u>Yeas - 9</u> Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Cobb Rep. J. Elison	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 2</u> Rep. M. MacPherson Rep. M. Petersen
Rep. C. Jack Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman Rep. C. Moss		
Rep. J. Rohner Rep. A. Romero		
	a (a	

Chair Jack adjourned the meeting at 8:40 a.m.