From: Public Leadership
To: Scott Jenkins,
Subject: Post election options, progressive values, tipped workers and more
Date: Thu Jul 24 13:53:21 MDT 2014
Body:


The Public Leadership Institute is a non-profit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.


Model Legislation from ALICE

Health impact assessments: As you know, the Affordable Care Act has not ended the battle over health care for all. Both state and local officeholders should initiate health impact assessments (HIAs) to generate information to drive reforms. ALICE has legislation and resources on HIAs—and 1,500 other model and exemplary bills for both state and local policymakers.

Why progressive values work: We often argue that progressives need to proudly declare our values. What we don’t often explain is how values reverse negative stereotypes that voters hold about progressives, or more commonly about liberals. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds. .alicelaw.org/">model and exemplary bills for both state and local policymakers.

Webinar of the Week

After to an election, what to do next?  Wednesday, July 30 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, 12pm Pacific. Progressive Majority’s Network Director, Tom Moore, will lead a talk about the steps to take after winning or losing an election. Register here to join the discussion.

Resources You Can Use

Top ten truths about tipped workers: You know tipped worker get only a $2.13/hour minimum wage under federal law. But we’ll bet that at least half of these truths will surprise you. This is a short AFL-CIO summary of a report by the Economic Policy Institute.

Gun deaths now exceed motor vehicle deaths in 14 states: Gun deaths are trending up year after year while motor vehicle deaths decline. That’s because guns are the only consumer product not regulated for health and safety by the federal government. Read about it here.

From the Public Leadership Institute

Voicing Our Values, for free: Come download the Second Edition of Voicing Our Values: A message guide for candidates and lawmakers. Here is a free PDF of the book or you can buy a printed copy on Amazon here.

Join the Public Leadership Institute

The Public Leadership Institute, 1825 K Street NW, Suite 450, Washington, DC 20006
www.publicleadershipinstitute.org

To unsubscribe from Public Leadership, please click here

empowered by Salsa