From: NCSL TODAY
To: Scott Jenkins,
Subject: June 30: Supreme Court upholds Hobby Lobby on birth control
Date: Mon Jun 30 14:54:56 MDT 2014
Body:
View this email in your browser
Strengthening States for 40 Years

TOP NEWS  June 30, 2014

Supreme Court upholds Hobby Lobby on birth control
Associated Press
The Supreme Court says corporations can hold religious objections that allow them to opt out of the new health law requirement that they cover contraceptives for women.


Many states will cut taxes tomorrow
Stateline
July 1 is the start of most states’ fiscal years, and for the first time in years, governors and legislators are cutting some taxes, taking advantage of an improved revenue outlook and banking on the financial breaks to encourage business and job growth in their states.


Mass. unveils plan to regulate compounding pharmacies
Boston Globe
State inspectors who monitor compounding pharmacies that custom mix drugs will be required to have special training, under compromise legislation unveiled Sunday by Massachusetts lawmakers.
NCSL research on state regulation of compounding pharmacies

Shortages, high prices expected for Washington's first pot stores
Associated Press
Randy Oliver has a pressing question as legal marijuana sales are about to begin in Washington: Where’s all the weed?


Delaware lawmakers shut revolving door in 2017
Wilmington News Journal
State lawmakers have given final approval to legislation that prevents members of the General Assembly from accepting jobs as paid lobbyists for a year after they leave office.
NCSL research on revolving door prohibitions

S.D. texting-while-driving ban takes effect July 1
Pierre Capital Journal
It’s time to let your fingers do the talking at the side of the road, as a law banning texting while driving is set to go into effect in South Dakota. NCSL data cited.
NCSL research on distracted driving.
Share
Tweet
Forward to Friend
LEGISLATIVE SUMMIT
Managing your online image
Both legislators and staff want to make sure their online images are professional and free of anything embarrassing. Learn 10 important steps to make to ensure you shine online in a session at the NCSL Legislative Summit.
Massachusetts adopts $11 minimum wage
With the passage of S.B. 2195, Massachusetts became the first state to mandate an $11 minimum wage.
Copyright © 2014 National Conference of State Legislatures, All rights reserved.
You are receiving this e-mail because of your relationship with NCSL.

Our mailing address is:
National Conference of State Legislatures
7700 E. First Place
Denver, CO 80230

Add us to your address book


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences   subscribe to this list