From: Scott Hendrick
To: Scott Hendrick,
Subject: Reminder: NCSL Free Webinar Tomorrow on Small Modular Reactors
Date: Wed Jun 18 18:36:47 MDT 2014
Body:

Dear NCSL Nuclear Legislative Working Group,

 

This is a reminder of tomorrow’s free webinar for state legislators and legislative staff on small modular nuclear reactors (see below).  I would encourage you to register and participate.  The webinar will include a presentation by NLWG member Representative Cathrynn Brown from New Mexico, as well as Tim Beville from DOE’s Office of Nuclear Energy and Mike McGough from NuScale Power.  Registration is free and open to anybody who is interested in learning more about small modular reactors.  Please feel free to pass this notice along to your colleagues or others you think might be interested in this event.  Please feel free to contact me if you have questions. 

 

Best,

 

Scott Hendrick

NCSL

(303) 856-1409

scott.hendrick@ncsl.org

 

 

From: NCSL Webinars [mailto:events@ncsl.org]
Sent: Wednesday, June 18, 2014 11:09 AM
To: Scott Hendrick
Subject: Tomorrow: Small Modular Reactors

 

Webinar

Small Modular Reactors (SMR)
Thursday, June 19 | 3 pm ET/ 2 pm CT/ 1 pm MT/ Noon PT

Webinar

Large commercial nuclear reactors generate 20% of the nation's electricity and contribute 60% of the nation's carbon-free electricity. Growing demand and a drive to use low-emission technologies bode well for the future of the domestic nuclear energy industry. However, an aging reactor fleet, rising costs, safety concerns, and increasing pressure from low-cost natural gas pose challenges. Small Modular Reactors (SMRs) offer the potential to mitigate some of these challenges. This webinar will explore state and federal efforts to support development of SMR technologies.

Speakers:

  • Tim Beville, Department of Energy Office of Nuclear Energy
  • Representative Cathrynn Brown, New Mexico
  • Mike McGough, NuScale Power

This webinar is part of the Spring Webinar Series hosted by NCSL's Natural Resources and Infrastructure Committee. All webinars are free and open to all attendees. Questions? Contact NCSL.

NCSL Denver: Tel: 303-364-7700 | Washington: Tel: 202-624-5400 | www.ncsl.org

To unsubscribe from this NCSL announcement send a blank email to leave-89852-4020187.16c2f0fb8aefa45831e4f88030a02cbe@lists.ncsl.org with the subject line as unsubscribe.