From: NCSL Webinars
To: Scott Jenkins,
Subject: Tomorrow: Small Modular Reactors
Date: Wed Jun 18 17:08:55 MDT 2014
Body:
Webinar

Small Modular Reactors (SMR)
Thursday, June 19 | 3 pm ET/ 2 pm CT/ 1 pm MT/ Noon PT

Webinar

Large commercial nuclear reactors generate 20% of the nation's electricity and contribute 60% of the nation's carbon-free electricity. Growing demand and a drive to use low-emission technologies bode well for the future of the domestic nuclear energy industry. However, an aging reactor fleet, rising costs, safety concerns, and increasing pressure from low-cost natural gas pose challenges. Small Modular Reactors (SMRs) offer the potential to mitigate some of these challenges. This webinar will explore state and federal efforts to support development of SMR technologies.

Speakers:
  • Tim Beville, Department of Energy Office of Nuclear Energy
  • Representative Cathrynn Brown, New Mexico
  • Mike McGough, NuScale Power

This webinar is part of the Spring Webinar Series hosted by NCSL's Natural Resources and Infrastructure Committee. All webinars are free and open to all attendees. Questions? Contact NCSL.

NCSL Denver: Tel: 303-364-7700 | Washington: Tel: 202-624-5400 | www.ncsl.org

To unsubscribe from this NCSL announcement send a blank email to leave-89852-4019295.a0c9fd3edb19eeed9220dac990202bce@lists.ncsl.org with the subject line as unsubscribe.