From: NCSL
To: Scott Jenkins,
Subject: Webinar Reminder: An Introduction to Food Safety
Date: Thu Jun 12 19:50:22 MDT 2014
Body:
Webinar

An Introduction to Food Safety
Friday, June 13 1 pm ET/ Noon CT/ 11 am MT/ 10 am PT

Webinar

This webinar will explore food safety, how food outbreaks and illnesses occur, and state actions to address the issue. Many states have adopted laws permitting the sale of raw milk, exempting cottage food industries from state regulations, and encouraging local foods. However, recent outbreaks of listeria, e-coli and salmonella from food products has the health community concerned. This webinar will explore the nation's food safety system, how it works and what happens when it fails.

Speakers:
  • Tiffiani J. Miller Onifade, Division of Food Safety, Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
  • Hank Giclas, Western Growers Association
  • Carol Selman, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

This webinar is part of the Spring Webinar Series hosted by NCSL's Natural Resources and Infrastructure Committee. All webinars are free and open to all attendees. Click here for registration details. Questions? Contact NCSL.

NCSL Denver: Tel: 303-364-7700 | Washington: Tel: 202-624-5400 | www.ncsl.org

To unsubscribe from this NCSL announcement send a blank email to leave-89750-4024883.0b63bcc1c7212415a765d1c73b2839a1@lists.ncsl.org with the subject line as unsubscribe.