From: Public Leadership
To: Scott Jenkins,
Subject: Populist Platform, Solar Power, Wedge Issues and More
Date: Thu Jun 12 13:30:28 MDT 2014
Body:


The Public Leadership Institute is a non-profit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.


Model Legislation from ALICE

Solar for All: Most homeowners cannot afford the upfront cost of installing solar panels. There are companies willing to install the panels and charge the homeowner over time, however state law often blocks it. ALICE has legislation and resources to remedy the problem—and 1,500 other model and exemplary bills for both state and local policymakers.  

A Populist Platform for 2014: Want a policy platform for your candidacy or organization? Click here for a one page statement that reflects American values and includes economic policies that are all wildly popular. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Webinar of the Week

Top Five Wedge Issues for 2014: Progressive wedge issues unite our base and divide the conservatives. What are the most effective wedge issues for state and local candidates this year? Join us for this important webinar discussion Wednesday, June 18 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific.

Resources You Can Use

The perils of outsourcing: In The Public Interest has a great new report. The title is self-explanatory: Race to the Bottom: How Outsourcing Public Services Rewards Corporations and Punishes the Middle Class.

Voicing Our Values book, free: We have just published the 2nd edition of Voicing Our Values: A message guide for candidates and lawmakers. Download a free PDF of the book here or buy a printed copy on Amazon here.

From the Public Leadership Institute

Who is winning and losing in the states and localities? Read the updated Compendium of State and Local Legislation.

Join the Public Leadership Institute

The Public Leadership Institute, 1825 K Street NW, Suite 450, Washington, DC 20006
www.publicleadershipinstitute.org

To unsubscribe from Public Leadership, please click here

empowered by Salsa