From: Public Leadership
To: Scott Jenkins,
Subject: Google Glass, Populism, Pre-K and More
Date: Thu May 29 13:30:22 MDT 2014
Body:


The Public Leadership Institute is a non-profit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.


Model Legislation from ALICE

Pre-K for All: Children in poverty often begin school a year or two behind and never catch up. Universal Pre-K is the universally-accepted solution, and it can be implemented at either the state or local level. There are great Pre-K models and resources on ALICE—and 1,500 other model and exemplary bills for both state and local policymakers. 

Economic populism is crucial this year: A recent Hart Research poll found that a candidate who says s/he will “make the economy work for all of us, not just the wealthy” is substantially more popular than one who makes the same promise but leaves off “not just the wealthy.” Read why on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Webinar of the Week

How to talk about budgets and taxes: Persuadable voters are very conflicted about budgets and taxes. They can easily be taken in by the conservative anti-government arguments, but if we explain our side well, voters overwhelmingly agree with progressives. How to do it? Join us for an important webinar Wednesday, June 4 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific.

Resources You Can Use

Ban Google Glass? Legislators in Delaware, Illinois, New Jersey and West Virginia introduced legislation to ban the use of Google Glass while driving. See, for example, IL SB 2632. Google Glass has already been banned in casinos, theaters, arenas and locker rooms.

New messaging book, free: We have just published the 2nd edition of Voicing Our Values: A message guide for candidates and lawmakers. Download a free PDF of the book here or buy a printed copy on Amazon here.

From the Public Leadership Institute

Who is winning and losing in the states and localities? Read the updated Compendium of State and Local Legislation.

Join the Public Leadership Institute

The Public Leadership Institute, 1825 K Street NW, Suite 450, Washington, DC 20006
www.publicleadershipinstitute.org

To unsubscribe from Public Leadership, please click here

empowered by Salsa