From: Melanie Condon
To: Scott Jenkins,
Subject: Webinar: The State's Place in Federal Toxic Chemical Reform
Date: Mon May 19 18:56:32 MDT 2014
Body:
Webinar

The State's Place in Federal Toxic Chemical Reform
Thursday, May 22 | 3 pm ET/ 2 pm CT/ 1 pm MT/ Noon PT

Webinar

Recent chemical spill accidents have heightened the need to reform how the federal government regulates toxic substances. There have not been reforms since the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) in 1976, and in the absence of federal regulation states have taken it upon themselves to fix inadequacies. Recent proposals in Congress to reform TSCA have included troubling preemption clauses to state environmental laws.

This webinar will explore these proposals and how states can continue to protect the health of their citizens while working with the federal government to reform TSCA.

Speakers:
  • Melanie Condon, NCSL State-Federal Relations
  • Andrew Hackman, Serlin Haley LLP
  • Heather White, Executive Director, Environmental Working Group

This webinar is part of the Spring Webinar Series hosted by NCSL's Natural Resources and Infrastructure Committee. All webinars are free and open to all attendees. Click here for registration details. Questions? Contact NCSL.

NCSL Denver: Tel: 303-364-7700 | Washington: Tel: 202-624-5400 | www.ncsl.org

To unsubscribe from this NCSL announcement send a blank email to leave-89219-4008841.7336f8463e0fb4ece0220bc8d48566a7@lists.ncsl.org with the subject line as unsubscribe.