From: League of Women Voters of Utah - Legislative Updates
To: David Lifferth,
Subject: ACTION ALERT: Urge Senate to Vote NO on HJR8 Joint Resolution Calling for a Balanced Budget Amendment 
Date: Fri Feb 27 03:15:06 MST 2015
Body:

LEAGUE MEMBERS  

ACTION ALERT!

View this email in your browser
Urge Senate to vote NO on HJR8 Joint Resolution Calling for a Balanced Budget Amendment to the U.S. Constitution

HJR8 Joint Resolution Calling for a Balanced Budget Amendment to the U.S. Constitution (K. Powell) passed the house today with a vote of 40 yeas,  30 nays and 5 absent.

This bill invokes Article V of the constitution calling for Constitutional Convention for the sole purpose of passing a Balanced Budget Amendment to the US constitution.

Article V:
The Congress, whenever two thirds of both houses shall deem it necessary, shall propose amendments to this Constitution, or, on the application of the legislatures of two thirds of the several states, shall call a convention for proposing amendments, which, in either case, shall be valid to all intents and purposes, as part of this Constitution, when ratified by the legislatures of three fourths of the several states, or by conventions in three fourths thereof, as the one or the other mode of ratification may be proposed by the Congress; provided that no amendment which may be made prior to the year one thousand eight hundred and eight shall in any manner affect the first and fourth clauses in the ninth section of the first article; and that no state, without its consent, shall be deprived of its equal suffrage in the Senate.

At this point 25 states have passed this same resolution calling for a constitutional convention. The resolution must be passed by 34 states prior to Congress taking action. The last time a federal constitutional convention was convened in the United States was the Constitutional Convention assembled in Philadelphia in 1787.

Economists agree that requiring a balanced budget every year, no mater the state of the economy, would tip weal economies into recession and make recessions longer and deeper.

In order to balance the budget every year, even when the economy is weak, Congress would need to cut investment in a wide range of national priorities,possibly including infrastructure, education, disease control, food safety, and even Medicare and Social Security.

Cuts in aid to state and local governments would force state to either raise revenues, eliminate programs or shift spending within state budgets to make up for federal losses.  This shifts would likely affect the poor and working poor disproportionately.

The League’s Position:

The League recognizes that deficit spending is sometimes appropriate and therefore opposes a constitutionally mandated balanced budget for the federal government. The League could support deficit spending, if necessary, for stimulating the economy during recession and depression, meeting social needs in times of high unemployment and meeting defense needs in times of national security crises.
 (LWVUS Impact on Issues 2012-2014)

Contact your senator and urge then to vote NO on HJR8 Joint Resolution Calling for a Balanced Budget Amendment to the U.S. Constitution

Thank you for taking action!

Jenn Gonnelly
Co-president, League of Women Voters of Utah

 

1

Senator

Luz

Escamilla

lescamilla@le.utah.gov

2

Senator

Jim

Dabakis

jdabakis@le.utah.gov

3

Senator

Gene

Davis

gdavis@le.utah.gov

4

Senator

Jani

Iwamoto

jiwamoto@le.utah.gov

5

Senator

Karen

Mayne

kmayne@le.utah.gov

6

Senator

Wayne

Harper

wharper@le.utah.gov

7

Senator

Deidre

Henderson

dhenderson@le.utah.gov

8

Senator

Brian

Shiozawa

bshiozawa@le.utah.gov

9

Senator

Wayne

Niederhauser

wniederhauser@le.utah.gov

10

Senator

Aaron

Osmond

aosmond@le.utah.gov

11

Senator

Howard

Stephenson

hstephenson@le.utah.gov

12

Senator

Daniel

Thatcher

dthatcher@le.utah.gov

13

Senator

Mark

Madsen

mmadsen@le.utah.gov

14

Senator

Alvin

Jackson

abjackson@le.utah.gov

15

Senator

Margaret

Dayton

mdayton@le.utah.gov

16

Senator

Curtis

Bramble

curt@cbramble.com

17

Senator

Peter

Knudson

pknudson@le.utah.gov

19

Senator

Allen

Christensen

achristensen@le.utah.gov

20

Senator

Scott

Jenkins

sjenkins@le.utah.gov

21

Senator

Jerry

Stevenson

jwstevenson@le.utah.gov

22

Senator

Stuart

Adams

jsadams@le.utah.gov

23

Senator

Todd

Weiler

tweiler@le.utah.gov

24

Senator

Ralph

Okerlund

rokerlund@le.utah.gov

25

Senator

Lyle

Hillyard

lhillyard@le.utah.gov

26

Senator

Kevin

Van Tassell

kvantassell@le.utah.gov

27

Senator

David

Hinkins

dhinkins@le.utah.gov

28

Senator

Evan

Vickers

evickers@le.utah.gov

29

Senator

Stephen

Urquhart

surquhart@le.utah.gov

 

League of Women Voters
3804 Highland Drive Suite 8D
Salt Lake City UT 84106
801.272.8683
Fax 801.272.5942
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Twitter
lwvutah.org
lwvutah.org
Copyright © 2015 League of Women Voters of Utah, All rights reserved.
The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy. You are receiving this email due to your expressed interest in the League of Women Voters of Utah Legislative Updates. If you wish to no longer receive these emails, please click on

Our mailing address is:
League of Women Voters of Utah
3804 Highland Drive Suite 8D
Salt Lake City, Ut 84102

Add us to your address book


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp