From: Scott Sandall
To: Ken Ivory, R P,
Subject: Re: Vote NO on HJR-8
Date: Mon Feb 29 01:17:12 MST 2016
Body:
Rory. Thank you for the email. I believe that the founders understood that the Constitution was a living document. The foresaw the need for it to change as the nation grew. Without amendments, women would not have the right to vote and slavery would still be legal. Both things that the founders never envisioned. Article V was purposely placed in the Constitution for the States to be able to propose amendments when Congress is unwilling to act. They also knew that this should be an extremely difficult process and thus made the threshold for ratification very high. It is now time for the States to act to control an out of control federal government.

From: Ken Ivory < kivory@le.utah.gov>
Date: Sunday, February 28, 2016 at 3:06 PM
To: R P < rdel_45@yahoo.com>
Cc: Scott Sandall < ssandall@le.utah.gov>, David Lifferth < dlifferth@le.utah.gov>, Jack Draxler < jdraxler@le.utah.gov>, Edward Redd < eredd@le.utah.gov>, Curt Webb < CURTWEBB@le.utah.gov>, Jacob Anderegg < janderegg@le.utah.gov>, Justin Fawson < justinfawson@le.utah.gov>, Gage Froerer < gfroerer@le.utah.gov>, Jeremy Peterson < jeremyapeterson@le.utah.gov>, Dixon Pitcher < dpitcher@le.utah.gov>, Brad Dee < bdee@le.utah.gov>, Mike Schultz < mikeschultz@le.utah.gov>, Paul Ray < pray@le.utah.gov>, Curtis Oda < coda@le.utah.gov>, Brad Wilson < bradwilson@le.utah.gov>, Steve Handy < stevehandy@le.utah.gov>, Stewart Barlow < sbarlow@le.utah.gov>, Timothy Hawkes < thawkes@le.utah.gov>, Raymond Ward < rayward@le.utah.gov>, Becky Edwards < beckyedwards@le.utah.gov>, Doug Sagers < dougsagers@le.utah.gov>, Susan Duckworth < sduckworth@le.utah.gov>, Sandra Hollins < shollins@le.utah.gov>, Rebecca Chavez-Houck < rchouck@le.utah.gov>, Joel Briscoe < jbriscoe@le.utah.gov>, Angela Romero < angelaromero@le.utah.gov>, Mike Kennedy < mikekennedy@le.utah.gov>, Brian King < BRIANSKING@le.utah.gov>, Lee Perry < leeperry@le.utah.gov>, Fred Cox < fredcox@le.utah.gov>, Sophia DiCaro < sdicaro@le.utah.gov>, LaVar Christensen < lavarchristensen@le.utah.gov>, Craig Hall < chall@le.utah.gov>, Johnny Anderson < janderson34@le.utah.gov>, Mark Wheatley < MARKWHEATLEY@le.utah.gov>, Patrice Arent < parent@le.utah.gov>, Carol Moss < csmoss@le.utah.gov>, Eric Hutchings < ehutchings@le.utah.gov>, Jim Dunnigan < jdunnigan@le.utah.gov>, Lynn Hemingway < lhemingway@le.utah.gov>, Daniel Mccay < dmccay@le.utah.gov>, Kim Coleman < kimcoleman@le.utah.gov>, Earl Tanner < earltanner@le.utah.gov>, Bruce Cutler < brucecutler@le.utah.gov>, Steve Eliason < seliason@le.utah.gov>, Marie Poulson < MARIEPOULSON@le.utah.gov>, Keven Stratton < kstratton@le.utah.gov>, Robert Spendlove < rspendlove@le.utah.gov>, Richard Cunningham < rcunningham@le.utah.gov>, Greg Hughes < greghughes@le.utah.gov>, John Knotwell < jknotwell@le.utah.gov>, Melvin Brown < MELBROWN@le.utah.gov>, Kraig Powell < kraigpowell@le.utah.gov>, Scott Chew < scottchew@le.utah.gov>, Kay Christofferson < kchristofferson@le.utah.gov>, Brian Greene < bgreene@le.utah.gov>, Derrin Owens < derrinowens@le.utah.gov>, Val Peterson < vpeterson@le.utah.gov>, Bradley Daw < bdaw@le.utah.gov>, Keith Grover < keithgrover@le.utah.gov>, Jon Stanard < jstanard@le.utah.gov>, Dean Sanpei < dsanpei@le.utah.gov>, Norm Thurston < normthurston@le.utah.gov>, Francis Gibson < FGIBSON@le.utah.gov>, Michael McKell < mmckell@le.utah.gov>, Marc Roberts < mroberts@le.utah.gov>, Merrill Nelson < mnelson@le.utah.gov>, Brad King < bradking@le.utah.gov>, Kay Mciff < kaymciff@le.utah.gov>, Brad Last < blast@le.utah.gov>, John Westwood < jwestwood@le.utah.gov>, " mnoel@kanab.net" < mnoel@kanab.net>, Lowry Snow < vlsnow@le.utah.gov>, Don Ipson < dipson@le.utah.gov>
Subject: Re: Vote NO on HJR-8

Rory,

The Founders knew that Congress would never limit itself. That's why they included by unanimous vote a second method of proposing amendments by 2/3rds application of the States. Whether proposed by States or by Congress, any proposed amendment must be ratified by the exceptionally high bar of 3/4ths of the States.

One of the strongest warriors for the rights of the States and for limiting the overreach of the federal government, Texas Governor Greg Abbott, just released his Texas Plan for a convention of states under Article V of the US Constitution to put real teeth in the Tenth Amendment. 

His 90-page plan (353 footnotes) lays out 9 suggested amendments to be discussed at a convention of States that will give States real and practical powers to check and override federal overreach.

Also, here's a link to dozens of prominent nationally recognized leaders who realize its time to reign in federal overreach and that Article V is the tool the Founders designed to make this happen constitutionally.

Best regards,

Ken

On Feb 28, 2016, at 10:02 AM, R P < rdel_45@yahoo.com> wrote:

 Dear Representative,

I want you to know that I am against HJR-8; the effort to amend the U.S. Constitution. While I'm not happy with the direction the country has gone in the past few decades, I believe the answer is in the Congress limiting legislation to what is specifically given to them in Article 1, Section 8. They would also be wise to use Article 3 power to limit the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court and to take power away from the President by refusing to fund his unconstitutional programs and executive decisions.

I believe we have a problem in not following the confined parameters in the Constitution, not in the document itself.

Please vote NO on HJR-8!

Thank you for your service and consideration in this,

Rory Pyatt
20 North Main
Brigham City, UT 84302
(435) 734-6676