From: Patrice Arent
To: Mike Van Valkenburg, Luz Robles, Jim Dabakis, Gene Davis, Pat Jones, Karen Mayne, Wayne Harper, Deidre Henderson, Wayne Niederhauser, Aaron Osmond, Howard Stephenson, Daniel Thatcher, Mark Madsen, Ralph Okerlund, Lyle Hillyard, Kevin Van Tassell, David Hinkins, Evan Vickers, Steve Urquhart, Ronda Menlove, David Lifferth, Jack Draxler, Edward Redd, Curt Webb, Jacob Anderegg, Ryan Wilcox, Gage Froerer, Jeremy Peterson, Dixon Pitcher, Brad Dee, Richard Greenwood, Paul Ray, Curtis Oda, Brad Wilson, Steve Handy, Stewart Barlow, Roger Barrus, Jim Nielson, Becky Edwards, Doug Sagers, Susan Duckworth, Jennifer M. Seelig, Rebecca Houck, Joel Briscoe, Angela Romero, Mike Kennedy, Brian King, Lee Perry, Janice Fisher, Larry Wiley, LaVar Christensen, Craig Hall, Johnny Anderson, Mark A. Wheatley, Carol Moss, Eric Hutchings, Jim Dunnigan, Lynn Hemingway, Daniel McCay, Jim Bird, Earl Tanner, Tim Cosgrove, Steve Eliason, Marie Poulson, Ken Ivory, Keven John Stratton, Robert Spendlove, Richard Cunningham, Greg Hughes, John Knotwell, Melvin Brown, Kraig Powell, John G. Mathis, Kay Christofferson, Brian Greene, Jon Cox, Val Peterson, Dana Layton, Keith Grover, Jon Stanard, Dean Sanpei, Rebecca Lockhart, Francis Gibson, Michael Mckell, Marc Roberts, Merrill Nelson, Jerry Anderson, Kay Mciff, Brad Last, John Westwood, mnoel, Lowry Snow, Don Ipson,
Subject: Re: Wood burning in SL County
Date: Fri Jan 31 05:00:12 MST 2014
Body:
Mike:

Thank you for your message.  I appreciate your willingness to contact me.  I am not aware of any legislation pending before the Utah Legislature that would ban wood burning.  I am working on wood burning legislation with some other members of the legislature.  Our bill, however, has a different focus.

It is my understanding that one or two members of the Salt Lake City Council have discussed wood burning bans.  The Governor also called on the state‚Äôs Air Quality Board to limit wood burning in non-attainment areas during the entire inversion season.  And as you probably know, currently there are certain days that the State Department of Environmental Quality restricts wood burning in our non-attainment areas.

Best regards,

Patrice

Representative Patrice Arent
Utah House of Representatives
District 36 - Millcreek Township, Holladay and SLC
Co-chair and Founder, House Clean Air Caucus
parent@le.utah.gov
801-272-1956 (h)
801-326-1515 (w)
801-889-7849 (c)


From: Mike Van Valkenburg < inkmanvan@gmail.com>
Date: Tuesday, January 28, 2014 5:39 AM
To: Luz Robles < lrobles@le.utah.gov>, Jim Dabakis < jdabakis@le.utah.gov>, Gene Davis < gdavis@le.utah.gov>, Pat Jones < pjones@le.utah.gov>, Karen Mayne < kmayne@le.utah.gov>, Wayne Harper < wharper@le.utah.gov>, Deidre Henderson < dhenderson@le.utah.gov>, Wayne Niederhauser < wniederhauser@le.utah.gov>, Aaron Osmond < aosmond@le.utah.gov>, Howard Stephenson < hstephenson@le.utah.gov>, Daniel Thatcher < dthatcher@le.utah.gov>, Mark Madsen < mmadsen@le.utah.gov>, Ralph Okerlund < rokerlund@le.utah.gov>, Lyle Hillyard< lhillyard@le.utah.gov>, Kevin VanTassell < kvantassell@le.utah.gov>, David Hinkins < dhinkins@le.utah.gov>, Evan Vickers < evickers@le.utah.gov>, Steve Urquhart < surquhart@le.utah.gov>, Ronda Menlove < rmenlove@le.utah.gov>, David Lifferth < dlifferth@le.utah.gov>, Jack Draxler< jdraxler@le.utah.gov>, Edward Redd < eredd@le.utah.gov>, Curt Webb < CURTWEBB@le.utah.gov>, Jacob Anderegg < janderegg@le.utah.gov>, Ryan Wilcox < RYANWILCOX@le.utah.gov>, Gage Froerer < gfroerer@le.utah.gov>, Jeremy Peterson < jeremyapeterson@le.utah.gov>, Dixon Pitcher < dpitcher@le.utah.gov>, Brad Dee < bdee@le.utah.gov>, Richard Greenwood < rgreenwood@le.utah.gov>, Paul Ray < pray@le.utah.gov>, Curtis Oda < coda@le.utah.gov>, Brad Wilson < bradwilson@le.utah.gov>, Steve Handy < stevehandy@le.utah.gov>, Stewart Barlow < sbarlow@le.utah.gov>, Roger Barrus < ROGERBARRUS@le.utah.gov>, Jim Nielson < jimnielson@le.utah.gov>, Becky Edwards < beckyedwards@le.utah.gov>, Doug Sagers < dougsagers@le.utah.gov>, Susan Duckworth < sduckworth@le.utah.gov>, Jennifer Seelig < JSEELIG@le.utah.gov>, Rebecca Chavez-Houck< rchouck@le.utah.gov>, Joel Briscoe < jbriscoe@le.utah.gov>, Angela Romero < angelaromero@le.utah.gov>, Mike Kennedy < mikekennedy@le.utah.gov>, Brian King < BRIANSKING@le.utah.gov>, Lee Perry < leeperry@le.utah.gov>, Janice Fisher < janicefisher@le.utah.gov>, Larry Wiley< lwiley@le.utah.gov>, LaVar Christensen < lavarchristensen@le.utah.gov>, Craig Hall < chall@le.utah.gov>, Johnny Anderson < janderson34@le.utah.gov>, Mark Wheatley < MARKWHEATLEY@le.utah.gov>, DTS < parent@le.utah.gov>, Carol Moss < csmoss@le.utah.gov>, Eric Hutchings < ehutchings@le.utah.gov>, Jim Dunnigan < jdunnigan@le.utah.gov>, Lynn Hemingway < lhemingway@le.utah.gov>, Daniel Mccay < dmccay@le.utah.gov>, Jim Bird < jbird@le.utah.gov>, Earl Tanner < earltanner@le.utah.gov>, Tim Cosgrove < tcosgrove@le.utah.gov>, Steve Eliason < seliason@le.utah.gov>, Marie Poulson< MARIEPOULSON@le.utah.gov>, Ken Ivory < kivory@le.utah.gov>, Keven Stratton < kstratton@le.utah.gov>, Robert Spendlove < rspendlove@le.utah.gov>, Richard Cunningham < rcunningham@le.utah.gov>, Greg Hughes < greghughes@le.utah.gov>, John Knotwell < jknotwell@le.utah.gov>, Melvin Brown < MELBROWN@le.utah.gov>, Kraig Powell < kraigpowell@le.utah.gov>, John Mathis < jmathis@le.utah.gov>, Kay Christofferson < kchristofferson@le.utah.gov>, Brian Greene < bgreene@le.utah.gov>, Jon Cox < jcox@le.utah.gov>, Val Peterson < vpeterson@le.utah.gov>, Dana Layton < dlayton@le.utah.gov>, Keith Grover < keithgrover@le.utah.gov>, Jon Stanard < jstanard@le.utah.gov>, Dean Sanpei < dsanpei@le.utah.gov>, Becky Lockhart < blockhart@le.utah.gov>, Francis Gibson < FGIBSON@le.utah.gov>, Michael Mckell < mmckell@le.utah.gov>, Marc Roberts < mroberts@le.utah.gov>, Merrill Nelson < mnelson@le.utah.gov>, Jerry Anderson < jerryanderson@le.utah.gov>, Kay Mciff < kaymciff@le.utah.gov>, Brad Last < blast@le.utah.gov>, John Westwood < jwestwood@le.utah.gov>, Mike Noel < mnoel@kanab.net>, Lowry Snow < vlsnow@le.utah.gov>, Don Ipson < dipson@le.utah.gov>
Subject: Wood burning in SL County

I would like to voice my concern about the possibility of banning all wood burning in Salt Lake County. I have lived in this valley for 48 years and we have had this inversion problem as long as I can remember. I don't think it's right to take away my right to burn in my wood burning stove because people who have moved here can't deal with the nature of living in this valley. I believe the wood burning is a very small part of the pollution anyway. There was a report I heard on the radio that said our air quality over the whole year is getting better and during the winter months it's maintaining even with our current population growth. I don't see why we cant just leave it alone. If living in the valley in the winter time is that bad for your health maybe you should find another place to live.

--
Thanks,

Mike Van Valkenburg
Pro Kennex Racquetball
inkmanvan@gmail.com
801 928-4713