From: WCRI
To: Dean Sanpei,
Subject: Only A Few Seats Left...
Date: Mon Feb 24 13:32:12 MST 2014
Body:

Good morning,

 

If you haven't registered already, join us for an hour-long webinar this Thursday (February 27, 2014) at 1pm ET (12pm CT, 11am MT, and 10am PT) for a discussion of the findings from WCRI's The Effect of Reducing the Illinois Fee Schedule study.

WCRI researchers and co-authors, Dr. Rebecca Yang and Dr. Olesya Fomenko, will describe how prices paid for medical services changed after a 30 percent reduction in Illinois's medical fee schedule, which was enacted in 2011.

Dr. Yang will look at whether there were any services for which the cuts may have been so large as to raise concerns about access to care for injured workers. For example, the workers' compensation prices paid for the most common office visit were 18 percent lower than the estimated group health prices and 15 percent lower than the Medicare rates in 2012.

Dr. Fomenko will discuss how following the fee schedule reduction, prices paid for common surgeries were 107-231 percent higher than prices paid by Illinois group health insurers and 237-455 percent higher than the Medicare rates in Illinois. This raises the question about whether the reductions could have been even larger without negatively affecting a surgeon's ability to practice in Illinois.

 

Things you will learn:

  • Whether the fee schedule change produced prices that are too low or too high. 
  • Whether the 30 percent reduction in the fee schedule would produce a 30 percent change in the average medical cost of a claim.
  • How the post-reform prices compared to the pre-reform prices in Illinois, which were higher than most states. 
Click here to register.

 

Attendance is limited to 100 people and all attendees receive a free copy of the slides. Webinars are $39 for WCRI Members; $79 for Non-Members; and no charge for members of the press, legislators as well as their staff, and state public officials who make policy decisions impacting their state's workers' compensation system.

STAY CONNECTED

Like us on Facebook    Follow us on Twitter    View our profile on LinkedIn
This email was sent to dsanpei@le.utah.gov by wcri@wcrinet.org |  
Instant removal with SafeUnsubscribe| Privacy Policy.
Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI) | 955 Massachusetts Avenue | 6th Floor | Cambridge | MA | 02139