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Title 49. Utah State Retirement and Insurance Benefit Act

Chapter 11
Utah State Retirement Systems Administration

Part 1
General Provisions

49-11-101 Title.
(1) This title is known as the "Utah State Retirement and Insurance Benefit Act."
(2) This chapter is known as the "Utah State Retirement Systems Administration."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-102  Definitions.
          As used in this title:

(1)
(a) "Active member" means a member who:

(i) is employed by a participating employer and accruing service credit; or
(ii) within the previous 120 days:

(A) has been employed by a participating employer; and
(B) accrued service credit.

(b) "Active member" does not include a retiree.
(2) "Actuarial equivalent" means a benefit of equal value when computed upon the basis of

mortality tables as recommended by the actuary and adopted by the executive director,
including regular interest.

(3) "Actuarial interest rate" means the interest rate as recommended by the actuary and adopted
by the board upon which the funding of system costs and benefits are computed.

(4)
(a) "Agency" means:

(i) a department, division, agency, office, authority, commission, board, institution, or hospital of
the state;

(ii) a county, municipality, school district, local district, or special service district;
(iii) a state college or university; or
(iv) any other participating employer.

(b) "Agency" does not include an entity listed under Subsection (4)(a)(i) that is a subdivision of
another entity listed under Subsection (4)(a).

(5) "Allowance" or "retirement allowance" means the pension plus the annuity, including any cost of
living or other authorized adjustments to the pension and annuity.

(6) "Alternate payee" means a member's former spouse or family member eligible to receive
payments under a Domestic Relations Order in compliance with Section 49-11-612.

(7) "Amortization rate" means the board certified percent of salary required to amortize the
unfunded actuarial accrued liability in accordance with policies established by the board upon
the advice of the actuary.

(8) "Annuity" means monthly payments derived from member contributions.
(9) "Appointive officer" means an employee appointed to a position for a definite and fixed term of

office by official and duly recorded action of a participating employer whose appointed position
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is designated in the participating employer's charter, creation document, or similar document,
and:

(a) who earns $500 or more per month, indexed as of January 1, 1990, as provided in Section
49-12-407 for a Tier I appointive officer; and

(b) whose appointive position is full-time as certified by the participating employer for a Tier II
appointive officer.

(10)
(a) "At-will employee" means a person who is employed by a participating employer and:

(i) who is not entitled to merit or civil service protection and is generally considered exempt from
a participating employer's merit or career service personnel systems;

(ii) whose on-going employment status is entirely at the discretion of the person's employer; or
(iii) who may be terminated without cause by a designated supervisor, manager, or director.

(b) "At-will employee" does not include a career employee who has obtained a reasonable
expectation of continued employment based on inclusion in a participating employer's merit
system, civil service protection system, or career service personnel systems, policies, or
plans.

(11) "Beneficiary" means any person entitled to receive a payment under this title through a
relationship with or designated by a member, participant, covered individual, or alternate payee
of a defined contribution plan.

(12) "Board" means the Utah State Retirement Board established under Section 49-11-202.
(13) "Board member" means a person serving on the Utah State Retirement Board as established

under Section 49-11-202.
(14) "Certified contribution rate" means the board certified percent of salary paid on behalf of an

active member to the office to maintain the system on a financially and actuarially sound basis.
(15) "Contributions" means the total amount paid by the participating employer and the member

into a system or to the Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan under Chapter 19,
Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Act.

(16) "Council member" means a person serving on the Membership Council established under
Section 49-11-202.

(17) "Covered individual" means any individual covered under Chapter 20, Public Employees'
Benefit and Insurance Program Act.

(18) "Current service" means covered service under:
(a)Chapter 12, Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Act;
(b)Chapter 13, Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement Act;
(c)Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act;
(d)Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Act;
(e)Chapter 16, Firefighters' Retirement Act;
(f)Chapter 17, Judges' Contributory Retirement Act;
(g)Chapter 18, Judges' Noncontributory Retirement Act;
(h)Chapter 19, Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Act;
(i)Chapter 22, New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement Act; or
(j)Chapter 23, New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement Act.

(19) "Defined benefit" or "defined benefit plan" or "defined benefit system" means a system or plan
offered under this title to provide a specified allowance to a retiree or a retiree's spouse after
retirement that is based on a set formula involving one or more of the following factors:

(a) years of service;
(b) final average monthly salary; or
(c) a retirement multiplier.
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(20) "Defined contribution" or "defined contribution plan" means any defined contribution plan or
deferred compensation plan authorized under the Internal Revenue Code and administered by
the board.

(21) "Educational institution" means a political subdivision or instrumentality of the state or a
combination thereof primarily engaged in educational activities or the administration or servicing
of educational activities, including:

(a) the State Board of Education and its instrumentalities;
(b) any institution of higher education and its branches;
(c) any school district and its instrumentalities;
(d) any vocational and technical school; and
(e) any entity arising out of a consolidation agreement between entities described under this

Subsection (21).
(22) "Elected official":

(a) means a person elected to a state office, county office, municipal office, school board or
school district office, local district office, or special service district office;

(b) includes a person who is appointed to serve an unexpired term of office described under
Subsection (22)(a); and

(c) does not include a judge or justice who is subject to a retention election under Section
20A-12-201.

(23)
(a) "Employer" means any department, educational institution, or political subdivision of the state

eligible to participate in a government-sponsored retirement system under federal law.
(b) "Employer" may also include an agency financed in whole or in part by public funds.

(24) "Exempt employee" means an employee working for a participating employer:
(a) who is not eligible for service credit under Section 49-12-203, 49-13-203, 49-14-203,

49-15-203, or 49-16-203; and
(b) for whom a participating employer is not required to pay contributions or nonelective

contributions.
(25) "Final average monthly salary" means the amount computed by dividing the compensation

received during the final average salary period under each system by the number of months in
the final average salary period.

(26) "Fund" means any fund created under this title for the purpose of paying benefits or costs of
administering a system, plan, or program.

(27)
(a) "Inactive member" means a member who has not been employed by a participating employer

for a period of at least 120 days.
(b) "Inactive member" does not include retirees.

(28)
(a) "Initially entering" means hired, appointed, or elected for the first time, in current service as a

member with any participating employer.
(b) "Initially entering" does not include a person who has any prior service credit on file with the

office.
(c) "Initially entering" includes an employee of a participating employer, except for an employee

that is not eligible under a system or plan under this title, who:
(i) does not have any prior service credit on file with the office;
(ii) is covered by a retirement plan other than a retirement plan created under this title; and
(iii) moves to a position with a participating employer that is covered by this title.

(29) "Institution of higher education" means an institution described in Section 53B-1-102.



Utah Code

Page 4

(30)
(a) "Member" means a person, except a retiree, with contributions on deposit with a system, the

Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan under Chapter 19, Utah Governors' and
Legislators' Retirement Act, or with a terminated system.

(b) "Member" also includes leased employees within the meaning of Section 414(n)(2) of the
Internal Revenue Code, if the employees have contributions on deposit with the office.  If
leased employees constitute less than 20% of the participating employer's work force that
is not highly compensated within the meaning of Section 414(n)(5)(c)(ii), Internal Revenue
Code, "member" does not include leased employees covered by a plan described in Section
414(n)(5) of the federal Internal Revenue Code.

(31) "Member contributions" means the sum of the contributions paid to a system or the Utah
Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan, including refund interest if allowed by a system,
and which are made by:

(a) the member; and
(b) the participating employer on the member's behalf under Section 414(h) of the Internal

Revenue Code.
(32) "Nonelective contribution" means an amount contributed by a participating employer into a

participant's defined contribution account.
(33) "Normal cost rate":

(a) means the percent of salary that is necessary for a retirement system that is fully funded to
maintain its fully funded status; and

(b) is determined by the actuary based on the assumed rate of return established by the board.
(34) "Office" means the Utah State Retirement Office.
(35) "Participant" means an individual with voluntary deferrals or nonelective contributions on

deposit with the defined contribution plans administered under this title.
(36) "Participating employer" means a participating employer, as defined by Chapter 12, Public

Employees' Contributory Retirement Act, Chapter 13, Public Employees' Noncontributory
Retirement Act, Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act, Chapter 15, Public
Safety Noncontributory Retirement Act, Chapter 16, Firefighters' Retirement Act, Chapter 17,
Judges' Contributory Retirement Act, and Chapter 18, Judges' Noncontributory Retirement Act,
or an agency financed in whole or in part by public funds which is participating in a system or
plan as of January 1, 2002.

(37) "Part-time appointed board member" means a person:
(a) who is appointed to serve as a member of a board, commission, council, committee, or panel

of a participating employer; and
(b) whose service as a part-time appointed board member does not qualify as a regular full-time

employee as defined under Section 49-12-102, 49-13-102, or 49-22-102.
(38) "Pension" means monthly payments derived from participating employer contributions.
(39) "Plan" means the Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan created by Chapter 19,

Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Act, the New Public Employees' Tier II Defined
Contribution Plan created by Chapter 22, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan, the New
Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Defined Contribution Plan created by Chapter 23, Part
4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan, or the defined contribution plans created under Section
49-11-801.

(40)
(a) "Political subdivision" means any local government entity, including cities, towns, counties,

and school districts, but only if the subdivision is a juristic entity that is legally separate and
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distinct from the state and only if its employees are not by virtue of their relationship to the
entity employees of the state.

(b) "Political subdivision" includes local districts, special service districts, or authorities created by
the Legislature or by local governments, including the office.

(c) "Political subdivision" does not include a project entity created under Title 11, Chapter 13,
Interlocal Cooperation Act, that was formed prior to July 1, 1987.

(41) "Program" means the Public Employees' Insurance Program created under Chapter 20, Public
Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program Act, or the Public Employees' Long-Term Disability
program created under Chapter 21, Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Act.

(42) "Public funds" means those funds derived, either directly or indirectly, from public
taxes or public revenue, dues or contributions paid or donated by the membership of the
organization, used to finance an activity whose objective is to improve, on a nonprofit basis,
the governmental, educational, and social programs and systems of the state or its political
subdivisions.

(43) "Qualified defined contribution plan" means a defined contribution plan that meets the
requirements of Section 401(k) or Section 403(b) of the Internal Revenue Code.

(44) "Refund interest" means the amount accrued on member contributions at a rate adopted by
the board.

(45) "Retiree" means an individual who has qualified for an allowance under this title.
(46) "Retirement" means the status of an individual who has become eligible, applies for, and is

entitled to receive an allowance under this title.
(47) "Retirement date" means the date selected by the member on which the member's retirement

becomes effective with the office.
(48) "Retirement related contribution":

(a) means any employer payment to any type of retirement plan or program made on behalf of an
employee; and

(b) does not include Social Security payments or Social Security substitute payments made on
behalf of an employee.

(49) "Service credit" means:
(a) the period during which an employee is employed and compensated by a participating

employer and meets the eligibility requirements for membership in a system or the Utah
Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan, provided that any required contributions are
paid to the office; and

(b) periods of time otherwise purchasable under this title.
(50) "Surviving spouse" means:

(a) the lawful spouse who has been married to a member for at least six months immediately
before the death date of the member; or

(b) a former lawful spouse of a member with a valid domestic relations order benefits on file with
the office before the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612.

(51) "System" means the individual retirement systems created by Chapter 12, Public Employees'
Contributory Retirement Act, Chapter 13, Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement
Act, Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act, Chapter 15, Public Safety
Noncontributory Retirement Act, Chapter 16, Firefighters' Retirement Act, Chapter 17, Judges'
Contributory Retirement Act, Chapter 18, Judges' Noncontributory Retirement Act, and Chapter
19, Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Act, the defined benefit portion of the Tier II
Hybrid Retirement System under Chapter 22, Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System, and the
defined benefit portion of the Tier II Hybrid Retirement System under Chapter 23, Part 3, Tier II
Hybrid Retirement System.
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(52) "Tier I" means a system or plan under this title for which:
(a) an employee is eligible to participate if the employee initially enters regular full-time

employment before July 1, 2011; or
(b) a governor or legislator who initially enters office before July 1, 2011.

(53)
(a) "Tier II" means a system or plan under this title provided in lieu of a Tier I system or plan for

an employee, governor, legislator, or full-time elected official who does not have Tier I service
credit in a system or plan under this title:

(i) if the employee initially enters regular full-time employment on or after July 1, 2011; or
(ii) if the governor, legislator, or full-time elected official initially enters office on or after July 1,

2011.
(b) "Tier II" includes:

(i) the Tier II hybrid system established under:
(A)Chapter 22, Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System; or
(B)Chapter 23, Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System; and

(ii) the Tier II Defined Contribution Plan (Tier II DC Plan) established under:
(A)Chapter 22, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan; or
(B)Chapter 23, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan.

(54) "Unfunded actuarial accrued liability" or "UAAL":
(a) is determined by the system's actuary; and
(b) means the excess, if any, of the accrued liability of a retirement system over the actuarial

value of its assets.
(55) "Voluntary deferrals" means an amount contributed by a participant into that participant's

defined contribution account.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-11-103 Purpose -- Liberal construction.
(1) The purpose of this title is to establish:

(a) retirement systems and the Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan for members
which provide:

(i) a uniform system of membership;
(ii) retirement requirements;
(iii) benefits for members;
(iv) funding on an actuarially sound basis;
(v) contributions; and
(vi) economy and efficiency in public service; and

(b) a central administrative office and a board to administer the various systems, plans, and
programs established by the Legislature or the board.

(2) This title shall be liberally construed to provide maximum benefits and protections consistent
with sound fiduciary and actuarial principals.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 2
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Retirement Office and Board

49-11-201 Establishment of retirement office -- An independent state agency -- Office
exemption.
(1)

(a) There is established the Utah State Retirement Office, which may also be known and function
as the Utah State Retirement Systems or the Utah Retirement Systems.

(b) The office shall administer the systems, plans, and programs and perform all other functions
assigned to it under this title.

(2)
(a) The office is an independent state agency.
(b) It is subject to legislative and executive department budgetary review and comment.

(3) The office may establish branch offices upon approval of the board.
(4) The board and office are exempt from those acts which are applicable to state and other

governmental entities under this code.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-11-202 Establishment of Utah State Retirement Board -- Quorum -- Terms -- Officers --
Expenses and per diem -- Membership Council established.
(1) There is established the Utah State Retirement Board composed of seven board members

determined as follows:
(a) Four board members, with experience in investments or banking, shall be appointed by the

governor from the general public.
(b) One board member shall be a school employee appointed by the governor from at least

three nominations submitted by the governing board of the school employees' association
that is representative of a majority of the school employees who are members of a system
administered by the board.

(c) One board member shall be a public employee appointed by the governor from at least
three nominations submitted by the governing board of the public employee association
that is representative of a majority of the public employees who are members of a system
administered by the board.

(d) One board member shall be the state treasurer.
(2) Four board members constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.
(3)

(a) All appointments to the board shall be made on a nonpartisan basis, with the consent of the
Senate.

(b) Board members shall serve until their successors are appointed and take the constitutional
oath of office.

(c) When a vacancy occurs on the board for any reason, the replacement shall be appointed for
the unexpired term.

(4)
(a) Except as required by Subsection (4)(b), all appointed board members shall serve for four-

year terms.
(b) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (4)(a), the governor shall, at the time of

appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of board
members are staggered so that:
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(i) approximately half of the board is appointed every two years; and
(ii) no more than two of the board members appointed under Subsection (1)(a) are appointed

every two years.
(c) A board member who is appointed as a school employee or as a public employee who retires

or who is no longer employed with a participating employer shall immediately resign from the
board.

(5)
(a) Each year the board shall elect a president and vice president from its membership.
(b) A board member may not receive compensation or benefits for the board member's service,

but may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
(i) Section 63A-3-106;
(ii) Section 63A-3-107; and
(iii) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.

(6)
(a) There is established a Membership Council to perform the duties under Subsection (10).
(b) A member of the council may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service,

but may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
(i) Section 63A-3-106;
(ii) Section 63A-3-107; and
(iii) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.

(7) The Membership Council shall be composed of 13 council members selected as follows:
(a) Three council members shall be school employees selected by the governing board of an

association representative of a majority of school employees who are members of a system
administered by the board.

(b) One council member shall be a classified school employee selected by the governing board
of the association representative of a majority of classified school employees who are
members of a system administered by the board.

(c) Two council members shall be public employees selected by the governing board of the
association representative of a majority of the public employees who are members of a
system administered by the board.

(d) One council member shall be a municipal officer or employee selected by the governing
board of the association representative of a majority of the municipalities who participate in a
system administered by the board.

(e) One council member shall be a county officer or employee selected by the governing board
of the association representative of a majority of counties who participate in a system
administered by the board.

(f) One council member shall be a representative of members of the Judges' Noncontributory
Retirement System selected by the Judicial Council.

(g) One council member shall be a representative of members of the Public Safety Retirement
Systems selected by the governing board of the association representative of the majority of
peace officers who are members of the Public Safety Retirement Systems.

(h) One council member shall be a representative of members of the Firefighters' Retirement
System selected by the governing board of the association representative of the majority of
paid professional firefighters who are members of the Firefighters' Retirement System.

(i) One council member shall be a retiree selected by the governing board of the association
representing the largest number of retirees, who are not public education retirees, from the
Public Employees' Contributory and Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement Systems.
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(j) One council member shall be a retiree selected by the governing board of the association
representing the largest number of public education retirees.

(8)
(a) Each entity granted authority to select council members under Subsection (7) may also

revoke the selection at any time.
(b) Each term on the council shall be for a period of four years, subject to Subsection (8)(a).
(c) Each term begins on July 1 and expires on June 30.
(d) When a vacancy occurs on the council for any reason, the replacement shall be selected for

the remainder of the unexpired term.
(9) The council shall annually designate one council member as chair.
(10) The council shall:

(a) recommend to the board and to the Legislature benefits and policies for members of any
system or plan administered by the board;

(b) recommend procedures and practices to improve the administration of the systems and plans
and the public employee relations responsibilities of the board and office;

(c) examine the record of all decisions affecting retirement benefits made by a hearing officer
under Section 49-11-613;

(d) submit nominations to the board for the position of executive director if that position is vacant;
(e) advise and counsel with the board and the director on policies affecting members of the

various systems administered by the office; and
(f) perform other duties assigned to it by the board.

Amended by Chapter 286, 2010 General Session
Amended by Chapter 321, 2010 General Session

49-11-203 Powers and duties of board.
(1) The board shall:

(a) appoint an executive director to administer the office;
(b) receive and act upon reports covering the operations of the systems, plans, programs, and

funds administered by the office;
(c) ensure that the systems, plans, programs, and funds are administered according to law;
(d) review any final order of a hearing officer and approve or modify the order at the board's

discretion in accordance with Section 49-11-613;
(e) examine and approve an annual operating budget for the office;
(f) serve as investment trustees of the Utah State Retirement Investment Fund as provided under

this title;
(g) maintain, in conjunction with participating employers and members, the systems, plans, and

programs on an actuarially sound basis;
(h) report annually to the governor, the Legislature, and each participating employer the

contribution rates, premium rates, and any adjustments necessary to maintain the systems,
plans, and programs on a financially and actuarially sound basis;

(i) receive and act upon recommendations of the executive director;
(j) recommend to the governor and Legislature, through the executive director, any necessary or

desirable changes to this title;
(k) develop broad policy for the long-term operation of the various systems, plans, and programs

under broad discretion and power to perform the board's policymaking functions, including
the specific authority to interpret and define any provision or term under this title when the
board or office provides written documentation which demonstrates that the interpretation or
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definition promotes uniformity in the administration of the systems or maintains the actuarial
soundness of the systems, plans, or programs;

(l) adopt interest rates, premium rates, and annual contribution rates after reviewing actuarial
recommendations;

(m) establish the compensation of the executive director and adopt compensation plans and
policies based on market surveys for positions in the office;

(n) take action consistent with this title for the administration of the systems, plans, and programs
in order to carry out the purposes of this title;

(o) provide for audits of the systems, plans, programs, and funds;
(p) take actions not in conflict with the board's trust and fiduciary responsibilities or other law,

with respect to the governance of the office which are substantially similar to those governing
other public agencies; and

(q) otherwise exercise the powers and perform the duties conferred on the board by this title.
(2) The board may:

(a) subpoena witnesses and compel their attendance to testify before it, for which purpose each
board member may administer oaths and affirmations to witnesses and others transacting
business of the office;

(b) establish councils to recommend to the board and the executive director policies affecting
members of any systems, plans, and programs administered by the board;

(c) pay the travel expenses of council members who attend council meetings; and
(d) sue and be sued in its own name.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-204 Powers and duties of executive director.
          The executive director shall:

(1) act as the executive officer of the board and the office;
(2) administer the various systems, plans, programs, and functions assigned to the board or office;
(3) subject to board review, develop and implement internal policies and procedures which

administer and govern the day-to-day operations of the systems, plans, and programs;
(4) transmit orders of a hearing officer made under Section 49-11-613 to the board;
(5) provide information concerning the operation of the office to the board, the governor, the

Legislature, participating employers, and employer and employee associations, unless
otherwise restricted under Section 49-11-618;

(6) inform the Legislature of any recommendations from the board regarding any necessary or
desirable changes to this title;

(7) consult with the Legislature on all legislation under this title;
(8)

(a) recommend to the board an annual administrative budget covering the operations of the office
and, upon approval, submit the budget along with the actuarial status of the funds to the
governor and the Legislature for review and comment; and

(b) direct and control the subsequent expenditures of the budget;
(9) employ, within the limitations of the budget, personnel to administer the systems, plans,

programs, and funds assigned to the office, including consultants, actuaries, attorneys, medical
examiners, investment counselors, and accountants to accomplish the purposes of this title;

(10) establish independent financial records for each of the systems, plans, and programs or
combine all financial records using acceptable principles of accounting to identify the assets
and vested interests of each system, plan, or program;
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(11) maintain individual records necessary to provide benefits under this title;
(12) keep in convenient form all records, accounts, and data necessary for the administration and

actuarial valuation of the systems, plans, and programs;
(13) adopt fees, charges, and upon the recommendation of the actuary, interest rates and tables

for the administration of the systems, plans, and programs;
(14) consolidate into one payment all monthly allowances and any defined contribution distributions

if the integrity of the various funds is maintained through appropriate accounting records;
(15) at least every three years:

(a) make an actuarial investigation into the mortality, service, and other experience of the
members, participants, beneficiaries, and covered individuals of the systems, plans, and
programs;

(b) actuarially value the assets and liabilities of the administered funds and accounts; and
(c) determine the rate of interest being earned by the funds;

(16) report to the board findings under Subsection (15), with recommendations, including proposed
changes in the rates of contribution or benefits that are necessary to maintain the actuarial
soundness of the systems, plans, or programs;

(17) regulate participating employers by:
(a) educating them on their duties imposed by this title;
(b) specifying the time, place, and manner in which contributions shall be withheld and paid; and
(c) requiring any reports necessary for the administration of this title; and

(18) otherwise exercise the powers and perform the duties conferred on the executive director by
this title.

Amended by Chapter 252, 2008 General Session

Part 3
Investment Fund

49-11-301 Creation -- Board to act as trustees of the fund -- Commingling and pooling of
funds -- Interest earnings -- Funded ratio.
(1) There is created a common trust fund known as the "Utah State Retirement Investment Fund"

for the purpose of enlarging the investment base and simplifying investment procedures and
functions.

(2)
(a) The board shall act as trustees of the Utah State Retirement Investment Fund and, through

the executive director, may commingle and pool the funds and investments of any system,
plan, or program into the Utah State Retirement Investment Fund, if the principal amounts
of the participating funds do not lose their individual identity and are maintained as separate
trust funds on the books of the office.

(b)
(i) In combining the investments of any fund, each of the participating funds shall be credited

initially with its share of the total assets transferred to the Utah State Retirement Investment
Fund.

(ii) The value of the transferred assets shall be calculated in accordance with generally
accepted accounting principles.
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(c) Subsequent transfers of additional capital from participating funds shall be credited similarly to
its respective trust account.

(d) The income or principal or equity credit belonging to one participating fund may not be
transferred to another, except for the purpose of:

(i) actuarially recommended transfers in order to adjust employer contribution rates for an
employer that participates in both contributory and noncontributory systems; or

(ii) transfers which reflect the value of service credit accrued in different systems during a
member's career.

(3) The assets of the funds are for the exclusive benefit of the members, participants, and covered
individuals and may not be diverted or appropriated for any purpose other than that permitted
by this title.

(4)
(a) Interest and other earnings shall be credited to each participating fund on a pro rata equity

position basis.
(b)

(i) A portion of the interest and other earnings of the common trust fund may be credited to
a reserve account within the Utah State Retirement Investment Fund to meet adverse
experiences arising from investments or other contingencies.

(ii) Each participating fund shall retain its proportionate equity in the reserve account.
(5)

(a) The actuarial funded ratio of the systems may reach and be maintained at 110%, as
determined by the board's actuary using assumptions adopted by the board, before the board
is required to certify a decrease in contribution rates.

(b) Except as provided in Subsection (6), the board may not increase contribution rates to attain
an actuarial funded ratio greater than 100%.

(6)
(a) The cost of any amendment to this title shall be included in the final contribution rates

adopted and certified by the board in accordance with Subsections 49-11-102(14) and
49-11-203(1)(l).

(b) If a preliminary certified contribution rate approved by the board prior to an annual general
session or special session of the Legislature was maintained at a previous year's level that is
higher than the contribution rate calculated by the board's actuary for that year in accordance
with Subsection (5)(a), the board's final certified contribution rate shall be the sum of the
actuarially determined costs from any amendment to this title during the general session or
special session and the preliminary certified contribution rate.

Amended by Chapter 304, 2016 General Session

49-11-302 Board duties with respect to fund.
(1) The board:

(a) shall review and establish the asset allocation of the Utah State Retirement Investment Fund
for investment, and with the executive director, shall determine the method of investing the
funds;

(b) through the executive director:
(i) shall invest the money in the Utah State Retirement Investment Fund; and
(ii) may provide for the holding, purchasing, selling, assigning, transferring, and disposing of

any of the securities and investments in which any of the money of the Utah
State Retirement Investment Fund is invested.
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(2) Fees for all services shall be paid from the interest earnings of the Utah State Retirement
Investment Fund.

(3) Title to real estate or any other fund investment may be:
(a) held in the name of the Utah State Retirement Investment Fund; or
(b) held in another name or names as determined by the board.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-303 Fund investment standard -- Prudent investor rule.
          The fund shall be invested in accordance with the prudent investor rule established in Title 75,

Chapter 7, Part 9, Utah Uniform Prudent Investor Act.

Amended by Chapter 116, 2005 General Session

49-11-304 Administrative costs -- Payable from fund.
          General administrative costs of operating the office shall be assessed to the systems, plans,

programs, and funds on a pro rata basis and shall be paid from earnings of the Utah State
Retirement Investment Fund.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-305 Self-insurance option -- Purchase of liability insurance.
(1) The office may self insure and may purchase commercial insurance in any amount.
(2) The office may also purchase excess commercial insurance above the limits provided by the

Governmental Immunity Act against any:
(a) risk created or recognized by the Governmental Immunity Act; or
(b) other action for which the board, office, or any of its employees, may be held liable.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-306 Definitions -- Scrutinized companies investment report -- Content -- Reporting --
Exceptions.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Active business operations" means all business operations that are not inactive business
operations.

(b)
(i) "Business operations" means investing, with actual knowledge on or after August 5, 1996,

in Iran's petroleum sector which investment directly and significantly contributes to the
enhancement of Iran's ability to develop the petroleum resources of Iran.

(ii) "Business operations" does not include the retail sale of gasoline and related consumer
products.

(c) "Company" means any foreign sole proprietorship, organization, association, corporation,
partnership, joint venture, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, limited liability
company, or any other foreign entity or business association, including all wholly-owned
subsidiaries, majority-owned subsidiaries or parent companies or affiliates of these entities or
business associations, that exists for the purpose of making a profit.

(d)
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(i) "Direct holdings" means all publicly traded equity securities of a company that are held
directly by the public fund or in an account or fund in which the public fund owns all shares
or interests.

(ii) "Direct holdings" does not include publicly traded equity securities of a company held as part
of a passive indexing investment strategy.

(e) "Inactive business operations" means the continued holding or renewal of rights to property
previously operated for the purpose of generating revenues but not presently deployed for
that purpose.

(f) "Iran" means the Islamic Republic of Iran.
(g) "Petroleum resources" means petroleum or natural gas.
(h) "Public fund" means the Utah State Retirement Investment Fund created under Section

49-11-301.
(i) "Scrutinized business operations" means any active business operations that:

(i) are subject to or liable for sanctions under Public Law 104-172, the Iran Sanctions Act of
1996, as amended; and

(ii) involve the maintenance of:
(A) the company's existing assets or investments in Iran; or
(B) the deployment of new investments to Iran that meet or exceed the threshold referred to in

Public Law 104-172, the Iran Sanctions Act of 1996, as amended.
(j) "Scrutinized company" means any company engaging in scrutinized business operations.

(2)
(a) The Utah State Retirement Office shall identify those scrutinized companies in which the

public fund has direct holdings.  In making the determination, the board shall review and
rely on publicly available information regarding companies with business operations in
Iran, including information provided by nonprofit organizations, research firms, international
organizations, and government entities.

(b) The office shall assemble a list of all identified scrutinized companies.
(c) The office shall update the list, on an annual basis, with information provided and received

from those entities listed in Subsection (2)(a).
(3) The office shall prepare an annual report of public fund investments in scrutinized companies.
(4) The report shall include amounts and other data and statistics designed to explain the past and

current extent to which public fund investments in scrutinized companies:
(a) are present; and
(b) are being prevented under Subsection (6).

(5) The report shall be provided to the governor, the board, the president of the Senate, the
speaker of the House of Representatives, and to each member and staff of the Retirement and
Independent Entities Committee created under Section 63E-1-201.

(6) Beginning July 1, 2011, using the most current list assembled under Subsection (2), the office
shall prevent the investment of public funds direct holdings in a scrutinized company:

(a) for public funds managed within the office, by not investing in direct holdings in a scrutinized
company; and

(b) for public funds managed by contract by a professional investment manager:
(i) for existing contracts, by requesting that no more direct holdings be acquired in a scrutinized

company; and
(ii) for future contracts, by stipulating in the contract that no new direct holdings be acquired in a

scrutinized company.
(7) The provisions of this section do not apply to:

(a) money invested in a defined contribution plan as defined under Section 49-11-102; or
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(b) investments in a company that is primarily engaged in:
(i) supplying goods or services intended to relieve human suffering in Iran; or
(ii) promoting health, education, religious, welfare, or journalistic activities in Iran.

Amended by Chapter 352, 2011 General Session

49-11-307 Report on funded status -- Study of compensation.
(1)

(a) The office shall report the funded status of the Utah State Retirement Investment Fund to the
Retirement and Independent Entities Committee created under Section 63E-1-201.

(b) The report under Subsection (1)(a) shall be made at least annually or as requested by the
committee.

(2)
(a) If the Utah State Retirement Investment Fund reaches a funded status of 100%, the office

shall make a report to that effect.
(b) The report shall be provided to the governor, the board, the president of the Senate, the

speaker of the House of Representatives, and to each member and staff of the Retirement
and Independent Entities Committee created under Section 63E-1-201.

(3) Upon receipt of the report under Subsection (2)(b), the committee shall conduct a study on
participating employee compensation and benefits to determine the need for adjustments in
retirement benefits, salary, and other benefits for the recruitment and retention of a qualified
workforce.

(4) The committee shall report any findings and recommendations to the Legislative Management
Committee.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

Part 4
Service Credits

49-11-401 Transfer of service credit -- Eligibility for service credit -- Computation of service
credit -- Retirement from most recent system.
(1)

(a) The office shall make the transfer of service credit, together with related member and
participating employer contributions, from one system to another upon terms and conditions
established by the board.

(b) The terms and conditions may not result in a loss of accrued benefits.
(2) Transfer of employment from a position covered by one system to a position covered by

another system does not cause the employee to lose active member status.
(3) In the accrual of service credit, the following provisions apply:

(a) A person employed and compensated by a participating employer who meets the eligibility
requirements for membership in a system or the Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement
Plan shall receive service credit for the term of the employment provided that all required
contributions are paid to the office.



Utah Code

Page 16

(b) An allowance or other benefit may not accrue under this title which is based upon the same
period of employment as has been the basis for any retirement benefits under some other
public retirement system.

(c) The board shall fix the minimum time per day, per month, and per year upon the basis
of which one year of service and proportionate parts of a year shall be credited toward
qualification for retirement.  Service may be computed on a fiscal or calendar year basis and
portions of years served shall be accumulated and counted as service.  In any event, all of the
service rendered in any one fiscal or calendar year may not count for more than one year.

(d) Service credit shall be accrued on a fiscal or calendar year basis as determined by the
participating employer.

(e) A member may not accrue more than one year of service credit per fiscal or calendar year as
determined by the office.

(f) Fractions of years of service credit shall be accumulated and counted in proportion to the work
performed.

(4) The office may estimate the amount of service credit, compensation, or age of any member,
participant, or alternate payee, if information is not contained in the records.

(5) A member shall retire from the system which most recently covered the member.
(6)

(a) Under no circumstances may service credit earned by a member under Chapter 22, New
Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement Act, or Chapter 23, New Public Safety and
Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement Act, be transferable to any other system or plan
under this title.

(b) Under no circumstances may service credit earned by a member under one of the following
systems be transferable to the system created under Chapter 22, New Public Employees' Tier
II Contributory Retirement Act, or under Chapter 23, New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II
Contributory Retirement Act:

(i)Chapter 12, Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Act;
(ii)Chapter 13, Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement Act;
(iii)Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act;
(iv)Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Act;
(v)Chapter 16, Firefighters' Retirement Act; or
(vi)Chapter 19, Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Act.

Amended by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-11-402 Purchase of military service credit.
(1) Except as provided under Subsection (7), a member who is absent from employment with a

participating employer by reason of an official call to full-time United States military service may
receive service credit for that military service as follows:

(a) the member, the participating employer, or the member and participating employer jointly
shall make the required payments, as determined by the office, to the system in which
the member participated at the time of the official call, according to the law governing that
particular system;

(b) prior to a member's retirement date, the required payments shall be made:
(i) during the period of full-time United States military service;
(ii) after the military service, but within a period not to exceed three times the period of military

service up to a maximum of five years; or
(iii) as otherwise allowed by federal law;
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(c) required payments shall be based on the member's compensation at the time of the official
military call;

(d) if a required payment is not made within the time allowed under Subsection (1)(b), the
member or participating employer may purchase the service credit as allowed in Subsection
(2); and

(e) the member shall return to employment with the participating employer upon receiving an
honorable discharge from military service and there may not be intervening employment
outside of the employment with the participating employer.

(2)
(a) A member, a participating employer, or a member and a participating employer jointly, may

purchase service credit for full-time United States military service, resulting from an official
call to duty, if the member has four or more years of service credit and the military service
does not otherwise qualify for service credit under this title.

(b) Payment to the office for a military service credit purchase shall be made to the system under
which the member is currently covered in an amount determined by the office based on a
formula recommended by the actuary and adopted by the board.

(c) The purchase shall be made through payroll deductions or through a lump sum deposit based
upon the present value of future payments.

(d) If total payment is not completed prior to retirement, service credit shall be prorated in
accordance with the amount paid.

(3) For purposes of Subsection (2), full-time United States military service does not include any
regularly scheduled or annual military service that is required by a reserve unit, National Guard
unit, or any other United States military unit.

(4)
(a) If any of the factors used to determine the cost of a service credit purchase change at or

before the member's retirement date, the cost of the purchase shall be recalculated.
(b) If the recalculated cost exceeds the amount paid for the purchase, the member may:

(i) pay the increased cost, plus interest, to receive the full amount of service credit; or
(ii) not pay the increased cost and have the purchased service credit prorated.

(5) If the recalculated cost under Subsection (4) is less than the amount paid for the purchase, the
office shall refund the excess payment to the member or participating employer who paid for
the purchase.

(6)
(a) The board may adopt rules under which a member may make the necessary payments to the

office for purchases under this title as permitted by federal law.
(b) The office may reject any payments if the office determines the tax status of the system,

plans, or programs would be jeopardized by allowing the payment.
(7) Notwithstanding the provisions under Subsection (1), a member may receive service credit for

military service covered under the provisions of the federal Uniformed Services Employment
and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 (USERRA), 38 U.S.C. Sec. 4301 et seq., under the
terms and conditions provided under that law.

Amended by Chapter 243, 2015 General Session

49-11-403 Purchase of public service credit not otherwise qualifying for benefit.
(1) A member, a participating employer, or a member and a participating employer jointly may

purchase service credit equal to the period of the member's employment in the following:
(a) United States federal employment;
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(b) employment in a private school based in the United States, if the member received an
employer paid retirement benefit for the employment;

(c) public employment in another state or territory of the United States which qualifies the
member for membership in the public plan or system covering the employment, but only if the
member does not qualify for any retirement benefits based on the employment;

(d) forfeited service credit in this state if the member does not qualify for an allowance based on
the service credit;

(e) full-time public service while on an approved leave of absence;
(f) the period of time for which disability benefits were paid if:

(i) the member was receiving:
(A) long-term disability benefits;
(B) short-term disability benefits; or
(C) worker's compensation disability benefits; and

(ii) the member's employer had not entered into a benefit protection contract under Section
49-11-404 during the period the member had a disability due to sickness or accident;

(g) employment covered by a retirement plan offered by a public or private system, organization,
or company designated by the State Board of Regents, if the member forfeits any retirement
benefit from that retirement plan for the period of employment to be purchased under this
Subsection (1)(g);

(h) employment in a charter school located within the state if the member forfeits any retirement
benefit under any other retirement system or plan for the period of employment to be
purchased under this Subsection (1)(h); or

(i) employment with a participating employer that is exempt from coverage under this title under
a written request for exemption with the office, if the member forfeits any retirement benefit
under any other retirement system or plan for the period of employment to be purchased
under this Subsection (1)(i).

(2) A member shall:
(a) have at least four years of service credit before a purchase can be made under this section;

and
(b) forfeit service credit and any defined contribution balance based on employer contributions

under any other retirement system or plan based on the period of employment for which
service credit is being purchased.

(3)
(a) To purchase credit under this section, the member, a participating employer, or a member

and a participating employer jointly shall make payment to the system under which the
member is currently covered.

(b) The amount of the payment shall be determined by the office based on a formula that is:
(i) recommended by the actuary; and
(ii) adopted by the board.

(4) The purchase may be made through payroll deductions or through a lump sum deposit based
upon the present value of future payments.

(5) Total payment must be completed prior to the member's effective date of retirement or service
credit will be prorated in accordance with the amount paid.

(6)
(a) For a purchase made before July 1, 2010, if any of the factors used to determine the cost of

a service credit purchase change at or before the member's retirement date, the cost of the
purchase shall be recalculated at the time of retirement.
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(b) For a purchase made before July 1, 2010, if the recalculated cost exceeds the amount paid
for the purchase, the member, a participating employer, or a member and a participating
employer jointly may:

(i) pay the increased cost, plus interest, to receive the full amount of service credit; or
(ii) not pay the increased cost and have the purchased service credit prorated.

(c) For a purchase made on or after July 1, 2010:
(i) the purchase shall be made in accordance with rules:

(A) adopted by the board based on recommendations by the board's actuary; and
(B) in effect at the time the purchase is completed; and

(ii) the cost of the service credit purchase shall not be recalculated at the time of retirement.
(7) If the recalculated cost under Subsection (6)(a) is less than the amount paid for the purchase,

the office shall refund the excess payment to the member or participating employer who paid
for the purchase.

(8)
(a) The board may adopt rules under which a member may make the necessary payments to the

office for purchases under this title as permitted by federal law.
(b) The office may reject any payments if the office determines the tax status of the system,

plans, or programs would be jeopardized by allowing the payment.
(9) An employee who elects to participate exclusively in the defined contribution plan under

Chapter 22, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan, or Chapter 23, Part 4, Tier II Defined
Contribution Plan, may not purchase service credit for that period of employment.

Amended by Chapter 243, 2015 General Session

49-11-404 Benefit protection contract authorized -- Annual report required.
(1)

(a) A participating employer may establish a salary protection program under which its
employees are paid during periods of disability.

(b) If a salary protection program is established, a participating employer may enter into benefit
protection contracts with the office.

(c) A salary protection program shall:
(i) pay benefits based on the rate of compensation of the member with a disability at the time of

disability;
(ii) pay benefits over the period of the disability;
(iii) not include settlement or lump sum payments of any type;
(iv) be substantially equivalent to the long-term disability programs offered under Chapter 21,

Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Act; and
(v) comply with requirements adopted by the board.

(2) A benefit protection contract shall allow:
(a) the member with a disability to be considered an active member in a system and continue to

accrue service credit and salary credit based on the member's rate of pay in effect at the time
disability commences;

(b) the office to require participating employer contributions to be paid before granting service
credit and salary credit to the member;

(c) the member with a disability to remain eligible during the contract period for any benefits
provided by the system that covers the member; and
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(d) the benefit for the member with a disability to be improved by the annual cost-of-living
increase factor applied to retired members of the system that covered the member on the
date the member is eligible to receive benefits under a benefit protection contract.

(3)
(a) The office shall establish the manner and times when employer contributions are paid.
(b) A failure to make the required payments is cause for the office to cancel a contract.
(c) Service credit and salary credit granted and accrued up to the time of cancellation may not be

forfeited.
(4) For an employee covered under Chapter 22, New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory

Retirement Act, or Chapter 23, New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Contributory
Retirement Act, a benefit protection contract shall allow:

(a) for the defined benefit portion for a member covered under Chapter 22, Part 3, Tier II Hybrid
Retirement System, or Chapter 23, Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System:

(i) the member with a disability to be considered an active member in a system and continue
to accrue service credit and salary credit based on the member's rate of pay in effect at the
time disability commences;

(ii) the office to require participating employer contributions to be paid before granting service
credit and salary credit to the member;

(iii) the member with a disability to remain eligible during the contract period for any benefits
provided by the system that covers the member; and

(iv) the benefit for the member with a disability to be improved by the annual cost-of-living
increase factor applied to retired members of the system that covered the member on the
date the member is eligible to receive benefits under a benefit protection contract; and

(b) for the defined contribution portion for a member covered under Chapter 22, Part 3, Tier
II Hybrid Retirement System, or Chapter 23, Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System, or
for a participant covered under Chapter 22, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan, or
Chapter 23, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan, the office to require participating
employers to continue making the nonelective contributions on behalf of the member with a
disability or participant in the amounts specified in Subsection 49-22-303(1)(a), 49-22-401(1),
49-23-302(1)(a), or 49-23-401(1).

(5) A participating employer that has entered into a benefit protection contract under this section
shall submit an annual report to the office which identifies:

(a) the employees receiving long-term disability benefits under policies initiated by the
participating employer and approved under the benefit protection contract;

(b) the employees that have applied for long-term disability benefits and who are waiting
approval; and

(c) the insurance carriers that are actively providing long-term disability benefits.
(6) If an employer fails to provide the annual report required under Subsection (5), the benefits that

would have accrued under the benefit protection contract shall be forfeited.
(7) The board may adopt rules to implement and administer this section.

Amended by Chapter 366, 2011 General Session

49-11-405 Service credit from different systems or plans -- Eligibility and calculation of
service credit.
(1)
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(a) A member who has service credit from two or more systems or one or more systems and the
Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan may combine service credit for purposes of
determining eligibility for retirement.

(b) The provisions of Subsection (1)(a) do not apply to concurrent service.
(2) To be eligible for the calculation under Subsection (3), the member's service credit earned

under the different systems or the Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan shall at
least equal the minimum amount of service credit required to retire from the system which most
recently covered the member.

(3) If a member meets the requirements of Subsection (2), the office shall calculate the member's
allowance using all service credit earned from any system or the Utah Governors' and
Legislators' Retirement Plan, with no actuarial reduction applied to the allowance, except the
service credit used to calculate the benefit shall be increased or decreased to reflect the value
of the assets transferred.

(4) The office shall establish the standards used for calculating any increase or decrease in the
service credit.

(5) This section does not apply to a retiree who is subject to Section 49-11-504 and Chapter 11,
Part 12, Postretirement Reemployment Restrictions Act.

Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-11-406 Governor's appointed executives and senior staff -- Appointed legislative
employees -- Transfer of value of accrued defined benefit -- Procedures.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Defined benefit balance" means the total amount of the contributions made on behalf of a
member to a defined benefit system plus refund interest.

(b) "Senior staff" means an at-will employee who reports directly to an elected official, executive
director, or director and includes a deputy director and other similar, at-will employee
positions designated by the governor, the speaker of the House, or the president of the
Senate and filed with the Department of Human Resource Management and the Utah State
Retirement Office.

(2) In accordance with this section and subject to federal law, a member who has service credit
from a system may elect to be exempt from coverage under a defined benefit system and to
have the member's defined benefit balance transferred from the defined benefit system or plan
to a defined contribution plan in the member's own name if the member is:

(a) the state auditor;
(b) the state treasurer;
(c) an appointed executive under Subsection 67-22-2(1)(a);
(d) an employee in the Governor's Office;
(e) senior staff in the Governor's Office of Management and Budget;
(f) senior staff in the Governor's Office of Economic Development;
(g) senior staff in the Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice;
(h) a legislative employee appointed under Subsection 36-12-7(3)(a);
(i) a legislative employee appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives, the House

of Representatives minority leader, the president of the Senate, or the Senate minority leader;
or

(j) senior staff of the Utah Science Technology and Research Initiative created under Title 63M,
Chapter 2, Utah Science Technology and Research Governing Authority Act.

(3) An election made under Subsection (2):
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(a) is final, and no right exists to make any further election;
(b) is considered a request to be exempt from coverage under a defined benefits system; and
(c) shall be made on forms provided by the office.

(4) The board shall adopt rules to implement and administer this section.

Amended by Chapter 310, 2013 General Session

49-11-407 Service credit purchases by active employees only.
          Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, only an active member may purchase service

credit under this title.

Enacted by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

Part 5
General Member Provisions

49-11-501 Refunds of member contributions -- Transfers of contributions to defined
contribution plan.
(1) If a member shall for any cause, except retirement, permanent or temporary disability, or

death, terminate employment with a participating employer the member may leave the member
contributions in the fund or may receive a refund of the member contributions as provided
under this section.

(2) A member who applies for a refund of member contributions shall apply in writing on forms
provided by the office.

(3) A refund of member contributions may not be made to a member within 60 days from the last
date of the pay period for which contributions are made by or on behalf of the member.

(4) If the member is reemployed by a participating employer within the time period under
Subsection (3), the member is not eligible for a refund.

(5) A member who receives a refund of member contributions forfeits the service credit based on
those contributions.

(6) A member who is exempted from or becomes ineligible for service credit in a system but
who remains employed by a participating employer may request a direct transfer of member
contributions to a qualified plan.

(7) A member who remains employed with an employer which has withdrawn from a system may
request a plan-to-plan transfer of member contributions to a qualified defined contribution plan
administered by the board or a qualified plan offered by the member's employer.

(8) Refund interest shall be paid on refunds of member contributions under this section.

Amended by Chapter 240, 2003 General Session

49-11-502 Redeposits of refunds -- Time period.
(1)

(a) If a member receives a refund of member contributions and is subsequently reemployed in
a position covered by a system or the Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan,
the participating employer or the member may redeposit an amount equal to the member
contributions refunded and interest charged under Section 49-11-503.
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(b) The interest shall be compounded annually from the date of refund through the month of
payment.

(c) If a redeposit is made, service credit shall be restored to the member's account and credited
to the same system or the Utah Governors' and Legislator's Retirement Plan from which the
refund was taken.

(2)
(a) A member may redeposit an amount equal to a prior refund of member contributions and

interest charges in one lump sum or in monthly installments by payroll deduction in a time
period determined by the office.

(b) If the total redeposit is not made prior to the member's retirement date, the amount of
redeposit paid to the office shall be refunded to the member without interest and the member
is not entitled to service credit based on the amount of the refund.

(c) The interest rate charged during the installment period shall be a fixed rate calculated at the
time of the first installment payment in accordance with Section 49-11-503.

(3) A member who redeposits a refund of member contributions under this section shall receive the
amount of service credit forfeited in taking the refund.

(4)
(a) For purposes of this section, the Public Employees' Contributory Retirement System

created under Chapter 12, Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Act, and the
Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement System created under Chapter 13, Public
Employees' Noncontributory Retirement Act, are considered one system.

(b) For purposes of this section, the Public Safety Contributory Retirement System created under
Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act, and the Public Safety Noncontributory
Retirement System created under Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Act,
are considered one system.

(c) For purposes of this section, the Judges' Contributory Retirement System created under
Chapter 17, Judges' Contributory Retirement Act, and the Judges' Noncontributory
Retirement System created under, Chapter 18, Judges' Noncontributory Retirement Act, are
considered one system.

(5)
(a) The board may make rules to allow a member to make the necessary payments to the office

for redeposits under this title as permitted by federal law.
(b) The office may reject any payments if the office determines the tax status of the systems,

plans, or programs may be jeopardized by allowing the payment.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-503 Rate of interest on redeposits, adjustments, and delinquent payments.
          The rate of interest charged on redeposits of refunds, adjustments, or delinquent payments is

the greater of:
(1) the interest rate as determined under a formula approved by the board; or
(2) the actuarial interest rate as of the preceding June 30.

Amended by Chapter 240, 2003 General Session

49-11-504 Reemployment of a retiree -- Restrictions.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "full-time" means:
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(i) employment requiring 20 or more hours of work per week; or
(ii) at least a half-time teaching contract.

(b) "Reemployed," "reemploy," or "reemployment" means the same as those terms are defined in
Section 49-11-1202.

(2)
(a) Except for the provisions of Subsection (3), the provisions of this section do not apply to a

person who is subject to the provisions of Chapter 11, Part 12, Postretirement Reemployment
Restrictions Act.

(b) This section does not apply to employment as an elected official.
(3) A person who is not a retiree under this title is not subject to any postretirement restrictions

under this title.
(4) A retiree of an agency who is reemployed may not earn additional service credit, if the retiree is

reemployed by:
(a) a different agency; or
(b) the same agency after six months from the retirement date.

(5) A retiree of an agency who is reemployed on a full-time basis by the same agency within six
months of the date of retirement is subject to the following:

(a) the agency shall immediately notify the office;
(b) the office shall cancel the retiree's allowance and reinstate the retiree to active member

status;
(c) the allowance cancellation and reinstatement to active member status is effective on the first

day of the month following the date of reemployment;
(d) the reinstated retiree may not retire again with a recalculated benefit for a two-year period

from the date of cancellation of the original allowance, and if the retiree retires again within
the two-year period, the original allowance shall be resumed; and

(e) a reinstated retiree retiring after the two-year period shall be credited with the service credit
in the retiree's account at the time of the first retirement and from that time shall be treated
as a member of a system, including the accrual of additional service credit, but subject to
recalculation of the allowance under Subsection (9).

(6) A retiree of an agency who is reemployed by the same agency within six months of retirement
on a less than full-time basis by the same agency is subject to the following:

(a) the retiree may earn, without penalty, compensation from that position which is not in excess
of the exempt earnings permitted by Social Security;

(b) if a retiree receives compensation in a calendar year in excess of the Social Security
limitation, 25% of the allowance shall be suspended for the remainder of the six-month period;

(c) the effective date of a suspension and reinstatement of an allowance shall be set by the
office; and

(d) any suspension of a retiree's allowance under this Subsection (6) shall be applied on a
calendar year basis.

(7) For six months immediately following retirement, the retiree and participating employer who are
subject to Subsection (6) shall:

(a) maintain an accurate record of gross earnings in employment;
(b) report the gross earnings at least monthly to the office;
(c) immediately notify the office in writing of any postretirement earnings under Subsection (6);

and
(d) immediately notify the office in writing whether postretirement earnings equal or exceed the

exempt earnings under Subsection (6).
(8)
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(a) If a participating employer hires a retiree, the participating employer may not make a
retirement related contribution in an amount that exceeds the normal cost rate as defined
under Section 49-11-102 on behalf of the retiree under Subsections (8)(b) and (c).

(b) The contributions under Subsection (8)(a) are not required, but if paid, shall be paid to a
retiree-designated:

(i) qualified defined contribution plan administered by the board, if the participating employer
participates in a qualified defined contribution plan administered by the board; or

(ii) qualified defined contribution plan offered by the participating employer if the participating
employer does not participate in a qualified defined contribution plan administered by the
board.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsection (8)(b), if an employer is not participating in a
qualified defined contribution plan administered by the board, the employer may elect to pay
the contributions under Subsection (8)(a) to a deferred compensation plan administered by
the board.

(9) A retiree who has returned to work, accrued additional service credit, and again retires shall
have the retiree's allowance recalculated using:

(a) the formula in effect at the date of the retiree's original retirement for all service credit accrued
prior to that date; and

(b) the formula in effect at the date of the subsequent retirement for all service credit accrued
between the first and subsequent retirement dates.

(10) The board may make rules to implement this section.

Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

Part 6
Procedures and Records

49-11-601 Payment of employer contributions -- Penalties for failure to comply --
Adjustments to be made.
(1) The employer contributions, fees, premium taxes, contribution adjustments, and other required

payments shall be paid to the office by the participating employer as determined by the
executive director.

(2) A participating employer that fails to withhold the amount of any member contributions, as soon
as administratively possible, shall also pay the member contributions to the office out of its own
funds.

(3) Except as limited by Subsections (6) and (7), if a participating employer does not make the
contributions required by this title within 30 days of the end of the pay period, the participating
employer is liable to the office as provided in Section 49-11-604 for:

(a) delinquent contributions;
(b) interest on the delinquent contributions as calculated under Section 49-11-503; and
(c) a penalty equal to the greater of:

(i) $250; or
(ii) 50% of the total contributions for the employees for the period of the reporting error.

(4) The executive director may waive all or any part of the interest, penalties, expenses, and fees if
the executive director finds there were extenuating circumstances surrounding the participating
employer's failure to comply with this section.
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(5) Contributions made in error will be refunded to the participating employer or member that made
the contributions.

(6)
(a) An employer described in Subsection 49-12-202(2)(c) or (d), or Subsection 49-13-202(2)(c),

(d), or (e) that paid retirement benefits to an employee or retiree that were not required by
this title may offer the retirement benefits paid to the employee as a substantial substitute to
service credit and retirement benefits that may have been earned by the employee under this
title.

(b) An employee who received retirement benefits under Subsection (6)(a) may sign an affidavit
that:

(i) acknowledges the substantial substitute received by the employee under Subsection (6)(a);
and

(ii) irrevocably relinquishes service credit and retirement benefits that may have accrued to
the employee under this title effective from the employee's date of employment with the
employer described in Subsection (6)(a) to the date of the employer's election under Section
49-12-202 or 49-13-202.

(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to diminish an employer's right to recover past
retirement benefits other than Social Security, paid to an employee or retiree, in error or under
mistaken belief that the employer was not a participating employer.

(7) If the employer files with the office an irrevocable written relinquishment of service credit signed
by the member or retiree:

(a) the office shall proportionally reduce any delinquent contributions, penalties, fees, or interest
assessed against a participating employer in connection with a member or retiree described
in Subsection (6)(a); and

(b) the system has no liability to the employee for benefits relinquished under Subsection (6)(b).

Amended by Chapter 243, 2015 General Session

49-11-602 Participating employer to maintain records -- Time limit -- Penalties for failure to
comply.
(1) A participating employer shall:

(a) maintain records necessary to calculate benefits under this title and other records necessary
for proper administration of this title as required by the office; and

(b) maintain records that indicate whether an employee is receiving:
(i) a benefit under state or federal law that, under Subsection 49-12-102(1)(b)(vi) or (vii), is

excluded from the definition of benefits normally provided for purposes of Chapter 12, Public
Employees' Contributory Retirement Act, Chapter 13, Public Employees' Noncontributory
Retirement Act, or Chapter 22, New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement Act;
or

(ii) a benefit under a benefit package generally offered to similarly situated employees.
(2) A participating employer shall maintain the records required under Subsection (1) until the

earliest of:
(a) three years after the date of retirement of the employee from a system or plan;
(b) three years after the date of death of the employee; or
(c) 65 years from the date of employment with the participating employer.

(3) A participating employer shall be liable to the office for:
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(a) any liabilities and expenses, including administrative expenses and the cost of increased
benefits to members, resulting from the participating employer's failure to maintain records
under this section; and

(b) a penalty equal to 1% of the participating employer's last month's contributions.
(4) The executive director may waive all or any part of the interest, penalties, expenses, and fees if

the executive director finds there were extenuating circumstances surrounding the participating
employer's failure to comply with this section.

(5) The executive director may estimate the length of service, compensation, or age of any
member, if that information is not contained in the records.

(6)
(a) A participating employer shall enroll an employee, make reports, submit contributions, and

provide other requested information electronically in a manner approved by the office.
(b) A participating employer shall treat any information provided electronically or otherwise by the

office as subject to the confidentiality provisions of this title.

Amended by Chapter 109, 2013 General Session

49-11-603 Participating employer to report and certify -- Time limit -- Penalties for failure to
comply.
(1) As soon as administratively possible, but in no event later than 30 days after the end of each

pay period, a participating employer shall report and certify to the office:
(a) the eligibility for service credit accrual of:

(i) each current employee;
(ii) each new employee as the new employee begins employment; and
(iii) any changes to eligibility for service credit accrual of each employee;

(b) the compensation of each current employee eligible for service credit; and
(c) other factors relating to the proper administration of this title as required by the executive

director.
(2) Each participating employer shall submit the reports required under Subsection (1) in a format

approved by the office.
(3) A participating employer shall be liable to the office for:

(a) any liabilities and expenses, including administrative expenses and the cost of increased
benefits to employees, resulting from the participating employer's failure to correctly report
and certify records under this section;

(b) a penalty equal to the greater of:
(i) $250; or
(ii) 50% of the total contributions for the employees for the period of the reporting error; and

(c) attorney fees.
(4) The executive director may waive all or any part of the interest, penalties, expenses, and fees if

the executive director finds there were extenuating circumstances surrounding the participating
employer's failure to comply with this section.

(5) The executive director may estimate the length of service, compensation, or age of any
employee, if that information is not contained in the records.

Amended by Chapter 243, 2015 General Session

49-11-604 Office audits of participating employers -- Penalties for failure to comply.
(1)
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(a) The office may perform on-site compliance audits of participating employers to determine
compliance with reporting, contribution, and certification requirements under this title.

(b) The office may request records to be provided by the participating employer at the time of the
audit.

(c) Audits shall be conducted at the sole discretion of the office after reasonable notice to the
participating employer of at least five working days.

(d) The participating employer shall extract and provide records as requested by the office in an
appropriate, organized, and usable format.

(e) Failure of a participating employer to allow access, provide records, or comply in any way with
an office audit shall result in the participating employer being liable to the office for:

(i) any liabilities and expenses, including administrative expenses and travel expenses,
resulting from the participating employer's failure to comply with the audit; and

(ii) a penalty equal to 1% of the participating employer's last month's contributions.
(2) If the audit reveals a participating employer's failure to make contributions as required under

Section 49-11-601, a failure to maintain records as required under Section 49-11-602, or
a failure to correctly report or certify eligibility as required under Section 49-11-603, the
participating employer shall reimburse the office for the cost of the audit.

(3) If the audit reveals that an incorrect benefit has been paid by the office to a member,
participant, alternate payee, or beneficiary due to a participating employer's failure to comply
with the requirements of Section 49-11-601, 49-11-602, or 49-11-603, in addition to the
liabilities contained in Subsection (2), the participating employer shall be liable to the office for
the following:

(a) the actuarial cost of correcting the incorrect benefit; and
(b) administrative expenses.

(4) The executive director may waive all or any part of the interest, penalties, expenses, and fees if
the executive director finds there were extenuating circumstances surrounding the participating
employer's failure to comply with this section.

Amended by Chapter 240, 2003 General Session

49-11-605 Notification and correction of violations.
          If a participating employer discovers that it has violated Section 49-11-601, 49-11-602, or

49-11-603 prior to the office becoming aware of the violation, notifies the office of the violation in
writing, and corrects the violation within a period agreed to by the office, the penalties under those
sections shall be waived.

Enacted by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-606 Full participation.
          Except as provided in Sections 49-12-203, 49-12-204, 49-13-203, 49-13-204, 49-14-203, and

49-15-203, participating employers shall cover all employees eligible for service credit under this
title.

Enacted by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-607 Determination of benefits -- Errors in records or calculations -- Correction of
errors by the office.



Utah Code

Page 29

(1) After the retirement date, which shall be set by a member in the member's application for
retirement, no alteration, addition, or cancellation of a benefit may be made except as provided
in Subsections (2), (3), and (4) or other law.

(2)
(a) Errors in the records or in the calculations of the office which result in an incorrect benefit to

any member, retiree, participant, covered individual, alternate payee, or beneficiary shall be
corrected by the office if the correction results in a modification of the benefit amount of $5 or
more.

(b) Future payments shall be made to any member, retiree, participant, covered individual,
alternate payee, or beneficiary to:

(i) pay the benefit to which the member or beneficiary was entitled; or
(ii) recover any overpayment.

(3)
(a) Errors in the records or calculation of a participating employer which result in an incorrect

benefit to a member, retiree, participant, covered individual, alternate payee, or beneficiary
shall be corrected by the participating employer.

(b) If insufficient employer contributions have been received by the office, the participating
employer shall pay any delinquent employer contributions, plus interest under Section
49-11-503, required by the office to maintain the system, plan, or program affected on an
actuarially sound basis.

(c) If excess contributions have been received by the office, the contributions shall be refunded to
the participating employer or member which paid the contributions.

(4) If a dispute exists between a participating employer and a member at the time of the member's
retirement which will affect the member's benefit calculation, and notice of the dispute is given
to the office prior to the calculation of a member's benefit, the benefit may be paid based on the
member's retirement date and the records available and then recalculated upon settlement of
the dispute.

Amended by Chapter 316, 2013 General Session

49-11-608 False statements or records -- Unlawfully cashing benefit checks.
(1) A person who knowingly makes any false statement, or who falsifies or permits to be falsified

any record necessary for carrying out the intent of this title is in violation of Section 76-6-504.
(2) A person cashing a benefit check to which that person is not entitled is in violation of Section

76-6-501.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-609 Beneficiary designations -- Revocation of beneficiary designation -- Procedure --
Beneficiary not designated -- Payment to survivors in order established under the Uniform
Probate Code -- Restrictions on payment -- Payment of deceased's expenses.
(1) As used in this section, "member" includes a member, retiree, participant, covered individual,

a spouse of a retiree participating in the insurance benefits created by Sections 49-12-404
and 49-13-404, or an alternate payee under a domestic relations order dividing a defined
contribution account.

(2) The most recent beneficiary designations signed by the member and filed with the office,
including electronic records, at the time of the member's death are binding in the payment of
any benefits due under this title.
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(3)
(a) Except where an optional continuing benefit is chosen, or the law makes a specific benefit

designation to a dependent spouse, a member may revoke a beneficiary designation at any
time and may execute and file a different beneficiary designation with the office.

(b) A change of beneficiary designation shall be completed on forms provided by the office.
(4)

(a) All benefits payable by the office may be paid or applied to the benefit of the surviving next
of kin of the deceased in the order of precedence established under Title 75, Chapter 2,
Intestate Succession and Wills, if:

(i) no beneficiary is designated or if all designated beneficiaries have predeceased the member;
(ii) the location of the beneficiary or secondary beneficiaries cannot be ascertained by the

office within 12 months of the date a reasonable attempt is made by the office to locate the
beneficiaries; or

(iii) the beneficiary has not completed the forms necessary to pay the benefits within six months
of the date that beneficiary forms are sent to the beneficiary's last-known address.

(b)
(i) A payment may not be made to a person included in any of the groups referred to in

Subsection (4)(a) if at the date of payment there is a living person in any of the groups
preceding it.

(ii) Payment to a person in any group based upon receipt from the person of an affidavit in a
form satisfactory to the office that:

(A) there are no living individuals in the group preceding it;
(B) the probate of the estate of the deceased has not been commenced; and
(C) more than 30 days have elapsed since the date of death of the decedent.

(5) Benefits paid under this section shall be:
(a) a full satisfaction and discharge of all claims for benefits under this title; and
(b) payable by reason of the death of the decedent.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-11-610 Benefits payable in name of beneficiary -- Delivery.
(1)

(a) Any benefits payable to a beneficiary shall be made in the name of and delivered to the
beneficiary or the lawfully appointed guardian or conservator of the beneficiary, or delivered
as otherwise ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction under Title 75, Utah Uniform
Probate Code.

(b) If the benefit involves a payment not to exceed an amount authorized by the Utah Uniform
Probate Code to any one beneficiary, the office may, without the appointment of a guardian or
conservator or the giving of a bond, pay the amount due to the beneficiary or to the persons
assuming their support.

(c) The payment shall be in either a lump sum or in monthly amounts.
(d) The total of the payments made under this section shall fully discharge and release the office

from any further claims.
(2) A beneficiary who qualifies for a monthly benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(3) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(a) member or participant died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the
date of death of the member or participant; or
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(b) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the date of death of the member or participant.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-11-611 Benefits and money in the fund exempt from taxation -- Exceptions.
(1) Except as provided under Subsection (2), the benefits accrued or paid to any beneficiary of any

system or plan administered by the board and the contributions, money, securities, and other
assets in the funds created by this title are exempt from any state, county, or municipal tax.

(2) An allowance, a refund of member contributions, or other benefits that are subject to federal
income tax, which is received by a member, retiree, alternate payee, participant, or beneficiary
of any system or plan administered by the board and which has not been taxed is subject to
Title 59, Chapter 10, Individual Income Tax Act.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-612 Domestic relations order benefits -- Nonassignability of benefits or payments --
Exemption from legal process.
(1) As used in this section, "domestic relations order benefits" means:

(a) an allowance;
(b) a defined contribution account established under:

(i)Part 8, Defined Contribution Plans;
(ii)Chapter 22, New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement Act; or
(iii)Chapter 23, New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement Act;

(c) a continuing monthly death benefit established under:
(i)Chapter 14, Part 5, Death Benefit;
(ii)Chapter 15, Part 5, Death Benefit;
(iii)Chapter 16, Part 5, Death Benefit;
(iv)Chapter 17, Part 5, Death Benefit;
(v)Chapter 18, Part 5, Death Benefit; or
(vi)Chapter 19, Part 5, Death Benefit;

(d) a lump sum death benefit provided under:
(i)Chapter 12, Part 5, Death Benefit;
(ii)Chapter 13, Part 5, Death Benefit;
(iii)Chapter 22, Part 5, Death Benefit; or
(iv)Chapter 23, Part 5, Death Benefit; or

(e) a refund of member contributions upon termination.
(2) Except as provided in Subsections (3), (4), and (5), the right of any member, retiree, participant,

covered individual, or beneficiary to any retirement benefit, retirement payment, or any other
retirement right accrued or accruing under this title and the assets of the funds created by this
title are not subject to alienation or assignment by the member, retiree, participant, or their
beneficiaries and are not subject to attachment, execution, garnishment, or any other legal or
equitable process.

(3)
(a) The office may, upon the request of the retiree, deduct from the retiree's allowance, insurance

premiums or other dues payable on behalf of the retiree, but only to those entities that have
received the deductions prior to February 1, 2002.
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(b) The office may, upon the request of a retiree of a public safety or firefighter system, deduct
insurance premiums from the retiree's allowance.

(4)
(a) The office shall provide for the division of domestic relations order benefits with former

spouses and family members under an order of a court of competent jurisdiction with respect
to domestic relations matters on file with the office.

(b) The court order shall specify the manner in which the domestic relations order benefits shall
be partitioned, whether as a fixed amount or as a percentage of the benefit.

(c) Domestic relations order benefits split under a domestic relations order are subject to the
following:

(i) the amount to be paid or the period for which payments shall be made under the original
domestic relations order may not be altered if the alteration affects the actuarial calculation
of the allowance;

(ii) payments to an alternate payee shall begin at the time the member or beneficiary begins
receiving payments; and

(iii) the alternate payee shall receive payments in the same form as allowances received by the
member or beneficiary.

(d) To be valid, a court order under this section must be received by the office within 12 months
of the death of the member.

(e) A court order under this section may not require and may not be interpreted in any way to
require the office to provide any type of benefit or any option not otherwise provided under
this title.

(5) In accordance with federal law, the board may deduct the required amount from any benefit,
payment, or other right accrued or accruing to any member or beneficiary of a system, plan,
or program under this title to offset any amount that member or beneficiary owes to a system,
plan, or program administered by the board.

(6) The board shall make rules to implement this section.

Amended by Chapter 243, 2015 General Session

49-11-613 Appeals procedure -- Right of appeal to hearing officer -- Board reconsideration --
Judicial review.
(1)

(a) A member, retiree, participant, alternative payee, covered individual, employer, participating
employer, and covered employer shall inform themselves of their rights and obligations under
this title.

(b) Subject to the provisions in Subsection (8), any dispute regarding a benefit, right, obligation,
or employment right under this title is subject to the procedures provided under this section.

(c)
(i) A person who disputes a benefit, right, obligation, or employment right under this title shall

request a ruling by the executive director who may delegate the decision to the deputy
director.

(ii) A request for a ruling to the executive director under this section shall constitute the initiation
of an action for purposes of the limitations periods prescribed in Section 49-11-613.5.

(d) A person who is dissatisfied by a ruling under Subsection (1)(c) with respect to any benefit,
right, obligation, or employment right under this title shall have 30 days from the date of the
ruling to request a review of that claim by a hearing officer.
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(e) The executive director, on behalf of the board, may request that the hearing officer review a
dispute regarding any benefit, right, obligation, or employment right under this title by filing
a notice of board action and providing notice to all affected parties in accordance with rules
adopted by the board.

(2) The hearing officer shall:
(a) be hired by the executive director after consultation with the board;
(b) follow the procedures and requirements of Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures

Act, except as specifically modified under this title;
(c) hear and determine all facts relevant to a decision, including facts pertaining to applications

for benefits under any system, plan, or program under this title and all matters pertaining to
the administration of the office; and

(d) make conclusions of law in determining the person's rights under any system, plan, or
program under this title and matters pertaining to the administration of the office.

(3) The board shall review and approve or deny all decisions of the hearing officer in accordance
with rules adopted by the board.

(4) The moving party in any proceeding brought under this section shall bear the burden of proof.
(5) A party may file an application for reconsideration by the board upon any of the following

grounds:
(a) that the board acted in excess of its powers;
(b) that the order or award was procured by fraud;
(c) that the evidence does not justify the determination of the hearing officer; or
(d) that the party has discovered new material evidence that could not, with reasonable diligence,

have been discovered or procured prior to the hearing.
(6) The board shall affirm, reverse, or modify the decision of the hearing officer, or remand the

application to the hearing officer for further consideration.
(7) A party aggrieved by the board's decision may obtain judicial review by complying with the

procedures and requirements of Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act.
(8) The program shall provide an appeals process for medical claims that complies with federal

law.
(9) The board may make rules to implement this section.

Amended by Chapter 251, 2016 General Session

49-11-613.5 Limitation of actions -- Cause of action.
(1) Subject to the procedures provided in Section 49-11-613 and except as provided in Subsection

(3), an action regarding a benefit, right, obligation, or employment right brought under this title
may be commenced only within four years of the date that the cause of action accrues.

(2)
(a) A cause of action accrues under this title and the limitation period in this section runs from

the date when the aggrieved party became aware, or through the exercise of reasonable
diligence should have become aware, of the facts giving rise to the cause of action, including
when:

(i) a benefit, right, or employment right is or should have been granted;
(ii) a payment is or should have been made; or
(iii) an obligation is or should have been performed.

(b) If a claim involves a retirement service credit issue under this title:
(i) a cause of action specifically accrues at the time the requisite retirement contributions

relating to that retirement service credit are paid or should have been paid to the office; and
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(ii) the person is deemed to be on notice of the payment or nonpayment of those retirement
contributions.

(3) If an aggrieved party fails to discover the facts giving rise to the cause of action due to
misrepresentation, fraud, intentional nondisclosure, or other affirmative steps to conceal the
cause of action, a limitation period prescribed in this section does not begin to run until the
aggrieved party actually discovers the existence of the cause of action.

(4) The person claiming a benefit, right, obligation, or employment right arising under this title has
the burden of bringing the action within the period prescribed in this section.

(5) Nothing in this section relieves a member, retiree, participant, alternative payee, covered
individual, employer, participating employer, or covered employer of the obligations under this
title.

(6) The office is not required to bring a claim on behalf of a member, retiree, participant, alternative
payee, covered individual, employer, participating employer, or covered employer.

(7)
(a) A limitation period provided in this section does not apply to actions for which a specific limit

is otherwise specified in this title or by contract, including master policies or other insurance
contracts.

(b) For actions arising under this title, this section supersedes any applicable limitation period
provided in Title 78B, Chapter 2, Statutes of Limitations.

Enacted by Chapter 251, 2016 General Session

49-11-614 Vesting on termination of system or plan.
          If any system or the Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan is terminated, the

accrued benefits of each member in the terminated system or plan shall immediately become
vested and nonforfeitable.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-615 Election to grandfather -- Applicability of provisions.
(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, the allowance payable to any person who

becomes a member of any system, administered by the board on or after January 1, 1990, may
not exceed the limitation imposed by Section 415 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as
amended, which is incorporated by reference.

(2) This constitutes an election of the grandfather provision under Section 415(b)(10)(C) of the
Internal Revenue Code.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-616 Benefits information.
(1) The office shall provide written general information to each participating employer concerning

benefits available under this title.
(2)

(a) A participating employer shall provide the information under Subsection (1) to each eligible
employee:

(i) immediately upon termination of service, leave of absence,  commencement of long-term
disability benefits, or  retirement; and
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(ii) in person or, if the employee is unavailable to receive the information in person, by mailing
the information to the employee's last known address.

(b)
(i) Each participating employer shall maintain the records necessary to demonstrate that the

employer has provided the information outlined in Subsection (1) as required in Subsection
(2)(a).

(ii) The records shall be made available to the office upon request.
(3)

(a) The office shall provide each participating employer with a form to be signed by each
employee to verify that the employee has been given in person the information required by
this section.

(b) If an employer provides information under Subsection (1) by mail as provided in Subsection
(2)(a)(ii), the employer shall:

(i) indicate on the form that the information was mailed to the employee and the address to
which the information was mailed;

(ii) maintain the records necessary to demonstrate that the employer complied with the
requirements under this Subsection (3); and

(iii) make the records available to the office upon request.

Amended by Chapter 243, 2015 General Session

49-11-617 Original documents.
(1) At the reasonable discretion of the office, any document relating to this title may be treated as

an original, whether created by photocopy, facsimile, e-mail, electronic transmission, imaging,
or other technology.

(2) The office may communicate with participating employers, members, beneficiaries, and others
through electronic means as determined appropriate by the office.

Amended by Chapter 316, 2013 General Session

49-11-618 Members and beneficiaries subject to chapter -- Furnishing of information --
Confidentiality of information.
(1)

(a) Every member, retiree, participant, covered individual, alternate payee, and beneficiary is
subject to this chapter, rules made by the board or office, board actions, resolutions, policies,
and procedures adopted under this title.

(b) Each member, retiree, participant, covered individual, alternate payee, and beneficiary shall
furnish to the office any information required to carry out the purposes of this title.

(2)
(a) All data in the possession of the office is confidential, and may not be divulged by the office

except as permitted by board action.
(b) All data in the possession of the office or divulged pursuant to board action shall be used for

the sole purpose of carrying into effect the provisions of this title.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-619 Permanent relinquishment of benefit -- Procedure.
(1)
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(a) Except for defined contribution plans authorized by this title, a member, retiree, or beneficiary
may permanently relinquish a benefit under this title by signing an irrevocable written
relinquishment.

(b) If the retiree has designated a beneficiary which is still living, the written relinquishment must
be signed by both the retiree and the beneficiary.

(2) The value of the benefit permanently relinquished under Subsection (1) shall remain in the
fund from which the benefit was relinquished and shall be used in the calculation of future
contribution rates.

(3) A designated beneficiary may disclaim beneficiary status and the benefit shall then be payable
first to any alternate designated beneficiary, then dispersed under Title 75, Chapter 2, Intestate
Succession and Wills, as applicable.

(4) The office is not required to recognize or accept any written relinquishment that jeopardizes the
tax qualified status of the systems, plans, or programs or otherwise violates federal law.

Amended by Chapter 252, 2008 General Session

49-11-620 Closing the retirement account -- Status of retirees and beneficiaries.
(1) The monthly benefit payable for the month a retiree, beneficiary, or alternate payee dies shall

be a full monthly benefit and shall be payable to the estate of the deceased.
(2) If more than one year has elapsed since the death of a retiree whose designated beneficiary is

deceased and whose account payable to the beneficiary amounts to $100 or less, the account
shall be closed and further payment may not be made.

Enacted by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-11-621 Change in employer -- Eligibility for retirement.
(1) If a participating employer is dissolved, consolidated, merged, or is structurally changed in any

way, but similar services are provided by the same members after the change, the members
may not be considered terminated for purposes of eligibility for retirement until the members
actually terminate and are otherwise eligible for retirement.

(2) The board may adopt rules to implement this section.

Enacted by Chapter 116, 2005 General Session

49-11-622 Subsidiaries or other companies owned by independent corporations --
Participation -- Withdrawal.
(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, an independent corporation, as defined in

Section 63E-1-102, which participates in a system or plan prior to July 1, 2006, and which owns
a subsidiary, or other company may provide for the participation of employees with that system
or plan as follows:

(a) the independent corporation shall determine a date that is no later than January 1, 2007, on
which the independent corporation shall make an election under Subsection (2);

(b) an employee hired by the independent corporation and transferred to a subsidiary, or other
company on or after the date set under Subsection (1)(a) may not participate in a system or
plan; and

(c) the independent corporation shall pay to the office any actuarial or administrative cost,
determined by the office, to have arisen out of the transfer of the employees from the
independent corporation.
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(2) The independent corporation described under Subsection (1) shall elect to:
(a) continue its participation for all current employees covered by a system or plan and

transferred to a subsidiary, or other company, as of the date set under Subsection (1)(a); or
(b) withdraw from participation in all systems or plans for all employees covered by a system or

plan and transferred to the subsidiary, or other company, as of the date set under Subsection
(1)(a).

(3) If an independent corporation elects to continue participation under Subsection (2)(a), the
independent corporation and the transferred employees shall continue to be subject to the laws
and the rules governing the system or plan in which the employee participates, including the
accrual of service credit and payment of contributions.

Enacted by Chapter 309, 2006 General Session

49-11-623 Withdrawing entity -- Participation election date -- Withdrawal costs --
Rulemaking.
(1) As used in this section, "withdrawing entity" means an entity that:

(a) participates in a system or plan under this title prior to July 1, 2014;
(b) provides mental health and substance abuse services for a county under Section 17-50-318;
(c) after beginning participation with a system or plan under this title, has modified its federal

tax status to a nonprofit organization that qualifies under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal
Revenue Code; and

(d) is not a state institution of higher education as described in Section 53B-2-101.
(2) Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, a withdrawing entity may provide for the

participation of its employees with that system or plan as follows:
(a) the withdrawing entity shall determine a date that is no later than January 1, 2017, on which

the withdrawing entity shall make an election under Subsection (3); and
(b) subject to the provisions of Subsection (6), the withdrawing entity shall pay to the office any

reasonable actuarial and administrative costs determined by the office to have arisen out of
an election made under this section.

(3) The withdrawing entity described under Subsection (2) may elect to:
(a)

(i) continue its participation for all current employees of the withdrawing entity, who are covered
by a system or plan as of the date set under Subsection (2)(a); and

(ii) withdraw from participation in all systems or plans for all persons initially entering
employment with the withdrawing entity, beginning on the date set under Subsection (2)(a);
or

(b) withdraw from participation in all systems or plans for all current and future employees of the
withdrawing entity, beginning on the date set under Subsection (2)(a).

(4)
(a) An election provided under Subsection (3):

(i) is a one-time election made no later than the date specified under Subsection (2)(a);
(ii) shall be documented by a resolution adopted by the governing body of the withdrawing

entity;
(iii) is irrevocable; and
(iv) applies to the withdrawing entity as the employer and to all employees of the withdrawing

entity.
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(b) Notwithstanding an election made under Subsection (3), any eligibility for service credit
earned by an employee under this title before the date specified under Subsection (2)(a) is
not affected by this section.

(5) If a withdrawing entity elects to continue participation under Subsection (3), the withdrawing
entity shall continue to be subject to the laws and the rules governing the system or plan
in which an employee participates, including the accrual of service credit and payment of
contributions.

(6) Before a withdrawing entity may withdraw under this section, the withdrawing entity and the
office shall enter into an agreement on:

(a) the costs described under Subsection (2)(b); and
(b) arrangements for the payment of the costs described under Subsection (2)(b).

(7) The board shall make rules to implement this section.

Amended by Chapter 364, 2015 General Session

Part 7
Allowance Increase

49-11-701 Allowance increase to offset tax liability -- Administration.
(1) This section applies to members of any system administered by the board under this title,

whose retirement allowance remained exempt from the tax imposed under Title 59, Chapter 10,
Individual Income Tax Act, pursuant to Laws of Utah 1988, Chapter 195, Section 2, but whose
allowance has subsequently become subject to that tax.

(2) Any member who meets the conditions established under Subsection (1) shall receive the
following:

(a) the administrator shall calculate the member's retirement allowance pursuant to the formula
governing the system from which the member retired;

(b) the administrator shall then increase the allowance calculated under Subsection (2)(a) by 3%;
and

(c) the adjusted retirement allowance under Subsection (2)(b) is the new basis upon which any
future adjustments to benefits are made.

(3)
(a) For all members who retire or are receiving retirement allowances in calendar year 1989, the

administrator shall apply the 3% adjustment under Subsection (2) to all retirement allowances
received in 1989, so that the period for which the allowance becomes subject to the tax under
Title 59, Chapter 10, Individual Income Tax Act, and the period for which the 3% adjustment
is given are the same.

(b) For all members who retire after December 31, 1989, and who meet the requirements
of Subsection (1), the administrator shall apply the 3% adjustment under Subsection (2)
beginning on the effective date of retirement.

(4) Any penalty or interest for underpayment of taxes under Title 59, Chapter 1, General Taxation
Policies, or Chapter 10, Individual Income Tax Act, shall be waived for members whose
noncompliance is attributable to Section 49-11-611 and this section.  This only applies to tax
year 1989.

(5) The administrator shall comply with Title 59, Chapter 10, Part 4, Withholding of Tax, with
respect to withholding of taxes.
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(6)
(a) The retirement board shall annually certify the contribution rate necessary for each system to

comply with this section and may adopt rules to administer this section.
(b) This contribution rate shall be reported separately from the total contribution rate necessary to

fund the systems on an actuarially sound basis and may not be used in comparative studies
of public employee benefits.

Amended by Chapter 250, 2008 General Session

Part 8
Defined Contribution Plans

49-11-801 Defined contribution plans authorized -- Subject to federal and state laws --
Rules to implement this provision -- Costs of administration -- Limitations on eligibility --
Protection of tax status.
(1)

(a) The board shall establish and administer defined contribution plans established under the
Internal Revenue Code.

(b) Voluntary deferrals and nonelective contributions shall be permitted according to the
provisions of these plans as established by the board.

(c) Except as provided in Subsections 49-22-303(2)(a), 49-22-401(3)(a), 49-23-302(2)(a), and
49-23-401(3)(a), the defined contribution account balance is vested in the participant.

(2)
(a) Voluntary deferrals and nonelective contributions shall be posted to the participant's account.
(b) Except as provided in Subsections 49-22-303(3), 49-22-401(4), 49-23-302(3), and

49-23-401(4), participants may direct the investment of their account in the investment
options established by the board and in accordance with federal and state law.

(3)
(a) The board may make rules and create plan documents to implement and administer this

section.
(b) The board may adopt rules under which a participant may put money into a defined

contribution plan as permitted by federal law.
(c) The office may reject any payments if the office determines the tax status of the systems,

plans, or programs would be jeopardized by allowing the payment.
(d) Costs of administration shall be paid as established by the board.

(4) Voluntary deferrals and nonelective contributions may be invested separately or in conjunction
with the Utah State Retirement Investment Fund.

(5) The board or office may take actions necessary to protect the tax qualified status of the
systems, plans, and programs under its control, including the movement of individuals from
defined contribution plans to defined benefit systems or the creation of excess benefit plans
authorized by federal law.

(6) The office may, at its sole discretion, correct errors made in the administration of its defined
contribution plans.

Amended by Chapter 258, 2015 General Session
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49-11-802 Permanent relinquishment of defined contribution benefit -- Procedure.
          A participant or designated beneficiary under a defined contribution plan may permanently

relinquish the benefit by signing an irrevocable written relinquishment.

Enacted by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 9
Insurance Premium Tax Revenues Distribution

49-11-901.5 Premium tax revenues -- Distribution.
(1)

(a) In accordance with this section there shall be paid to the office:
(i) 50% of the annual tax levied, assessed, and collected under Title 59, Chapter 9, Taxation

of Admitted Insurers, upon premiums for property insurance, as defined under Section
31A-1-301, and as applied to fire and allied lines insurance collected by insurance
companies within the state; and

(ii) 10% of all money assessed and collected under Title 59, Chapter 9, Taxation of Admitted
Insurers, upon premiums for life insurance, as defined in Section 31A-1-301, within the
state.

(b) Payments to the fund shall be made annually until the service liability under this part is
liquidated, after which the tax revenue provided in this Subsection (1) ceases.

(2) The office shall distribute the premium tax revenue paid under Subsection (1) as follows:
(a) an amount determined by the office to fully fund the long-term disability program provided for

firefighters under Section 49-23-601;
(b) an amount determined by the office to the Firefighters' Retirement Trust Fund created under

Section 49-16-104 equal to the amount when calculated as a percentage of the certified
contribution rate for members in Divisions A and B, as defined under Section 49-16-301, that
is the percentage of the certified contribution rate paid to the Firefighters' Retirement Trust
Fund on July 1, 2004; and

(c) any remaining amount in accordance with Section 49-11-902.

Enacted by Chapter 290, 2011 General Session
Enacted by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

49-11-902 Premium tax revenues -- Formula -- Deposits.
(1) If the premium tax revenue received by the office under Subsection 49-11-901.5(1) and first

paid in accordance with Subsections 49-11-901.5(2)(a) and (b), including any remaining
amount, the office shall deposit the amount in the:

(a) Public Safety Contributory Trust Fund created under Section 49-14-104; and
(b) Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Trust Fund created under Section 49-15-104.

(2) The money deposited under this section shall be used to fund an increase for retirees in the
public safety retirement systems from a 2.5% maximum annual cost-of-living adjustment to a
4% maximum annual cost-of-living adjustment under Sections 49-14-403 and 49-15-403 in the
public safety retirement systems.

(3) As required to implement this section, the office shall make the calculations and deposits for the
equitable apportionment of money between:
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(a) Division A1 and B1; and
(b) the contributory and noncontributory trust funds.

Amended by Chapter 290, 2011 General Session
Amended by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

Part 10
Partial Lump-Sum Payments

49-11-1001 Partial lump-sum payment option.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (5), at the time of application for retirement, a member may

elect to receive a lump-sum payment of a portion of the member's retirement allowance equal
to 12 or 24 months of the member's allowance to be paid upon retirement.

(2) The member's allowance shall be reduced to reflect the actuarial value of the lump-sum
received under Subsection (1).

(3) A member who has received a lump-sum payment under this section is not eligible for another
lump-sum payment under this section.

(4) The board may make rules to implement this section.
(5) A member or participant of a system or plan under Chapter 22, New Public Employees'

Tier II Contributory Retirement Act, or Chapter 23, New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II
Contributory Retirement Act, is not eligible to make an election under this section.

Amended by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

Part 11
Public Information Disclosure

49-11-1101 Public financial information disclosure on website -- Exclusions.
(1) The office shall provide the following financial information for the public on its website:

(a) administrative expense transactions from its general ledger accounting system; and
(b) employee compensation information by individual employee at least annually.

(2) For purposes of this part, the office is not required to provide other information for public access
on its website, if the disclosure of the information would conflict with the fiduciary obligations of
the board, including:

(a) revenue transactions; and
(b) member and participant information.

Amended by Chapter 281, 2016 General Session

49-11-1102 Public notice of administrative board meetings -- Posting on Utah Public Notice
Website.
(1) The office shall provide advance public notice of meetings and agendas on the Utah Public

Notice Website established in Section 63F-1-701 for administrative board meetings.
(2) The office may post other public materials, as directed by the board, on the Utah Public Notice

Website.
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Enacted by Chapter 281, 2016 General Session

49-11-1103 Public information requests.
          The office shall establish, in policy, time limits to respond to public information requests.

Enacted by Chapter 281, 2016 General Session

Part 12
Postretirement Reemployment Restrictions Act

49-11-1201 Title.
          This part is known as the "Postretirement Reemployment Restrictions Act."

Enacted by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-11-1202 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1)
(a) "Affiliated emergency services worker" means a person who:

(i) is employed by a participating employer;
(ii) performs emergency services for another participating employer that is a different agency;
(iii) is trained in techniques and skills required for the emergency service;
(iv) continues to receive regular training required for the service;
(v) is on the rolls as a trained affiliated emergency services worker of the participating

employer; and
(vi) provides ongoing service for a participating employer, which service may include service

as a volunteer firefighter, reserve law enforcement officer, search and rescue worker,
emergency medical technician, ambulance worker, park ranger, or public utilities worker.

(b) "Affiliated emergency services worker" does not include a person who performs work or
service but does not meet the requirements of Subsection (1)(a).

(2) "Amortization rate" means the amortization rate, as defined in Section 49-11-102, to be applied
to the system that would have covered the retiree if the retiree's reemployed position were
deemed to be an eligible, full-time position within that system.

(3)
(a) "Reemployed," "reemploy," or "reemployment" means work or service performed for a

participating employer after retirement, in exchange for compensation.
(b) Reemployment includes work or service performed on a contract for a participating employer

if the retiree is:
(i) listed as the contractor; or
(ii) an owner, partner, or principal of the contractor.

(4) "Retiree":
(a) means a person who:

(i) retired from a participating employer; and
(ii) begins reemployment on or after July 1, 2010, with a participating employer; and

(b) does not include a person:
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(i)
(A) who was reemployed by a participating employer before July 1, 2010; and
(B) whose participating employer that reemployed the person under Subsection (4)(b)(i)(A)

was dissolved, consolidated, merged, or structurally changed in accordance with Section
49-11-621 on or after July 1, 2010; or

(ii) who is working under a phased retirement agreement in accordance with Title 49, Chapter
11, Part 13, Phased Retirement.

Enacted by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session, (Coordination Clause)

49-11-1203 Applicability.
(1)

(a) This part does not apply to employment as an elected official if the elected official's position is
not full time as certified by the participating employer.

(b) The provisions of this part apply to an elected official whose elected position is full time as
certified by the participating employer.

(2)
(a) This part does not apply to employment as a part-time appointed board member who does

not receive any remuneration, stipend, or other benefit for the part-time appointed board
member's service.

(b) For purposes of this Subsection (2), remuneration, stipend, or other benefit does not include
receipt of per diem and travel expenses up to the amounts established by the Division of
Finance in:

(i) Section 63A-3-106;
(ii) Section 63A-3-107; and
(iii) rules made by the Division of Finance according to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.

(3) This part does not apply to a person who is reemployed as an active senior judge or an active
senior justice court judge as described by Utah State Court Rules, appointed to hear cases by
the Utah Supreme Court in accordance with Article VIII, Section 4, Utah Constitution.

Enacted by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-11-1204 General Restrictions -- Election following one-year separation -- Amortization
rate.
(1) A retiree may not for the same period of reemployment:

(a)
(i) earn additional service credit; or
(ii) receive any retirement related contribution from a participating employer; and

(b) receive a retirement allowance.
(2) Except as provided under Section 49-11-1205, the office shall cancel the retirement allowance

of a retiree if the reemployment with a participating employer begins within one year of the
retiree's retirement date.

(3) If a reemployed retiree has completed the one-year separation from employment with a
participating employer required under Subsection (2), the retiree may elect to:

(a) cancel the retiree's retirement allowance and instead earn additional service credit in
accordance with this title; or
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(b) continue to receive the retiree's retirement allowance, forfeit earning additional service credit,
and forfeit any retirement-related contribution from the participating employer that reemployed
the retiree.

(4)
(a) If the office receives notice of the election of a reemployed retiree under Subsection (3)(a),

the office shall immediately cancel the retiree's retirement allowance.
(b)

(i) If the retiree under Subsection (4)(a) is eligible for retirement coverage in the reemployed
position, the office shall reinstate the retiree to active member status on the first day of the
month following the date of the employee's election.

(ii) Except as provided under Subsection (4)(c), if the retiree is not otherwise eligible for
retirement coverage in the reemployed position, the participating employer that reemploys
the retiree shall contribute the amortization rate to the office on behalf of the retiree.

(c) A participating employer that reemploys a retiree in accordance with Subsection
49-11-1205(1) is not required to contribute the amortization rate to the office.

(5)
(a) For a retiree under Subsection (4)(b) who retires within two years from the date of

reemployment, the office:
(i) may not recalculate a retirement benefit for the retiree; and
(ii) shall resume the allowance that was being paid to the retiree at the time of the cancellation.

(b) Subject to Subsection (1), for a retiree who is reinstated to active membership under
Subsection (4)(b) and retires two or more years after the date of reinstatement to active
membership, the office shall:

(i) resume the allowance that was being paid at the time of cancellation; and
(ii) calculate an additional allowance for the retiree based on the formula in effect at the date of

the subsequent retirement for all service credit accrued between the first and subsequent
retirement dates.

Enacted by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-11-1205 Postretirement reemployment restriction exceptions.
(1)

(a) The office may not cancel the retirement allowance of a retiree who is reemployed with a
participating employer within one year of the retiree's retirement date if:

(i) the retiree is not reemployed by a participating employer for a period of at least 60 days from
the retiree's retirement date;

(ii) upon reemployment after the break in service under Subsection (1)(a)(i), the retiree does not
receive any employer paid benefits, including:

(A) retirement service credit or retirement-related contributions;
(B) medical benefits;
(C) dental benefits;
(D) other insurance benefits except for workers' compensation as provided under Title 34A,

Chapter 2, Workers' Compensation Act, Title 34A, Chapter 3, Utah Occupational Disease
Act, and withholdings required by federal or state law for social security, Medicare, and
unemployment insurance; or

(E) paid time off, including sick, annual, or other type of leave; and
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(iii) the retiree does not earn in any calendar year of reemployment an amount in excess of the
lesser of $15,000 or one-half of the retiree's final average salary upon which the retiree's
retirement allowance is based.

(b) Beginning January 1, 2013, the board shall adjust the amounts under Subsection (1)(a)(iii)
by the annual change in the Consumer Price Index during the previous calendar year as
measured by a United States Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as
determined by the board.

(2) A retiree shall be considered as having completed the one-year separation from employment
with a participating employer required under Section 49-11-1204, if the retiree:

(a) before retiring:
(i) was employed with a participating employer as a public safety service employee as defined

in Section 49-14-102, 49-15-102, or 49-23-102;
(ii) and during the employment under Subsection (2)(a)(i), suffered a physical injury resulting

from external force or violence while performing the duties of the employment, and for
which injury the retiree would have been approved for total disability in accordance with the
provisions under Chapter 21, Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Act, if years of service
are not considered;

(iii) had less than 30 years of service credit but had sufficient service credit to retire, with an
unreduced allowance making the public safety service employee ineligible for long-term
disability payments under Chapter 21, Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Act, or a
substantially similar long-term disability program; and

(iv) does not receive any long-term disability benefits from any participating employer; and
(b) is reemployed by a different participating employer.

(3)
(a) The office may not cancel the retirement allowance of a retiree who is employed as an

affiliated emergency services worker within one year of the retiree's retirement date if the
affiliated emergency services worker does not receive any compensation, except for:

(i) a nominal fee, stipend, discount, tax credit, voucher, or other fixed sum of money or cash
equivalent payment not tied to productivity and paid periodically for services;

(ii) a length-of-service award;
(iii) insurance policy premiums paid by the participating employer in the event of death of an

affiliated emergency services worker or a line-of-duty accidental death or disability; or
(iv) reimbursement of expenses incurred in the performance of duties.

(b) For purposes of Subsections (3)(a)(i) and (ii), the total amount of any discounts, tax credits,
vouchers, and payments to an affiliated emergency services worker may not exceed $500 per
month.

(c) Beginning January 1, 2016, the board shall adjust the amount under Subsection (3)(b) by the
annual change in the Consumer Price Index during the previous calendar year as measured
by a United States Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined
by the board.

(4)
(a) If a retiree is reemployed under the provisions of Subsection (1) or (3), the termination date

of the reemployment, as confirmed in writing by the participating employer, is considered
the retiree's retirement date for the purpose of calculating the separation requirement under
Section 49-11-1204.

(b) The office shall cancel the retirement allowance of a retiree for the remainder of the
calendar year if the reemployment with a participating employer exceeds the limitation under
Subsection (1)(a)(iii) or (3)(b).
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Enacted by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-11-1206 Notice of postretirement reemployment.
(1) A participating employer shall immediately notify the office:

(a) if the participating employer reemploys a retiree;
(b) whether the reemployment is subject to Section 49-11-1204 or Subsection 49-11-1205(1), (2),

or (3); and
(c) of any election by the retiree under Section 49-11-1204.

(2) A participating employer shall certify to the office whether the position of an elected official is or
is not full time.

(3) A retiree subject to this part shall report to the office the status of the reemployment under
Section 49-11-1204 or 49-11-1205.

Enacted by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session, (Coordination Clause)

49-11-1207 Postretirement reemployment -- Violations -- Penalties.
(1)

(a) If the office receives notice or learns of the reemployment of a retiree in violation of Section
49-11-1204 or 49-11-1205, the office shall:

(i) immediately cancel the retiree's retirement allowance;
(ii) keep the retiree's retirement allowance cancelled for the remainder of the calendar year if

the reemployment with a participating employer exceeded the limitation under Subsection
49-11-1205(1)(a)(iii) or (3)(b); and

(iii) recover any overpayment resulting from the violation in accordance with the provisions of
Section 49-11-607 before the allowance may be reinstated.

(b) Reinstatement of an allowance following cancellation for a violation under this section is
subject to the procedures and provisions under Section 49-11-1204.

(2) If a retiree or participating employer failed to report reemployment in violation of Section
49-11-1206, the retiree, participating employer, or both, who are found to be responsible for the
failure to report, are liable to the office for the amount of any overpayment resulting from the
violation.

(3) A participating employer is liable to the office for a payment or failure to make a payment in
violation of this part.

(4) If a participating employer fails to notify the office in accordance with Section 49-11-1206, the
participating employer is immediately subject to a compliance audit by the office.

Enacted by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-11-1208 Rulemaking.
          The board may make rules to implement this part.

Enacted by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

Part 13
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Phased Retirement

49-11-1301 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Amortization rate" means the amortization rate, as defined in Section 49-11-102, to be applied
to the system that would have covered the retiree if the retiree's part-time position were
considered to be an eligible, full-time position within that system.

(2) "Full-time" means a:
(a) regular full-time employee whose term of employment for a participating employer

contemplates continued employment during a fiscal or calendar year and whose employment
normally requires an average of 40 hours or more per week and who receives benefits
normally provided by the participating employer;

(b) teacher whose term of employment for a participating employer contemplates continued
employment during a school year and who teaches full time;

(c) firefighter service employee whose employment normally requires an average of 2,080 hours
of regularly scheduled firefighter service per year; and

(d) public safety service employee whose employment normally requires an average of 2,080
hours of regularly scheduled public safety service per year.

(3) "Half-time" means a:
(a) regular employee whose term of employment for a participating employer contemplates

continued employment during a fiscal or calendar year and whose employment normally
requires an average of 20 hours per week and who receives benefits normally provided by the
participating employer;

(b) teacher whose term of employment for a participating employer contemplates continued
employment during a school year and who teaches half time;

(c) firefighter service employee whose employment normally requires an average of 1,040 hours
of regularly scheduled firefighter service per year; and

(d) public safety service employee whose employment normally requires an average of 1,040
hours of regularly scheduled public safety service per year.

(4) "Phased retirement" means continuing employment on a half-time basis of a retiree with the
same participating employer immediately after the retiree's retirement date while the retiree
receives a reduced retirement allowance.

Enacted by Chapter 280, 2016 General Session

49-11-1302 Phased retirement -- Voluntary participation -- Employer duties.
          A participating employer may elect to participate in phased retirement for a retiree who has not

completed the one-year employment separation requirement under Section 49-11-1204 under the
conditions established under this part, if the participating employer:
(1) establishes written policies and procedures for phased retirement that shall include provisions

for:
(a) granting and denying a request for phased retirement;
(b) needed approvals within the participating employer;
(c) time limits or other restrictions;
(d) identifying positions that may be included or excluded; and
(e) the elements of a written agreement described under Section 49-11-1304;

(2) enters into an agreement described under Section 49-11-1304;
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(3) submits an application to the office for phased retirement on behalf of the parties of the
agreement described under Section 49-11-1304; and

(4) complies with this part.

Enacted by Chapter 280, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session, (Coordination Clause)

49-11-1303 Phased retirement -- Eligibility -- Restrictions -- Amortization rate.
(1) A retiree is eligible for employment with only one position for only one participating employer

under phased retirement following the retiree's retirement date if:
(a) the retiree:

(i) is eligible to retire and retires in accordance with this title;
(ii) has been employed full time, for not less than four years immediately before the retiree's

retirement date;
(iii) completes and submits all required retirement forms to the office; and
(iv) completes and submits any phased retirement forms required by rules established under

Section 49-11-1308; and
(b) the retiree and the participating employer enter into an agreement described under Section

49-11-1304.
(2) For the period of the phased retirement:

(a) the retiree receives 50% of the retiree's monthly allowance;
(b) the participating employer employs the retiree on a half-time basis;
(c) a participating employer that employs the retiree shall contribute to the office the amortization

rate;
(d) the retiree may not receive an annual cost-of-living adjustment to the retiree's allowance;
(e) any death benefits payable to a surviving spouse or other beneficiary shall be paid based on

100% of the retiree's retirement allowance;
(f) the retiree may not receive any employer provided retirement benefits, service credit accruals,

or any retirement related contributions from the participating employer; and
(g) except as specified under this section, a retiree working under phased retirement shall be

treated in the same manner as any other part-time employee working a similar position and
number of hours with the participating employer, including:

(i) any non-retirement related benefits;
(ii) leave benefits;
(iii) medical benefits; and
(iv) other benefits.

Enacted by Chapter 280, 2016 General Session

49-11-1304 Phased retirement agreements.
(1) The participating employer and a willing and eligible retiree shall enter into a written agreement

to participate in phased retirement.
(2) The agreement shall specify the period of the phased retirement and, at the discretion of the

agreeing parties, address:
(a) hours of work;
(b) job duties; and
(c) other arrangements related to the employment.
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Enacted by Chapter 280, 2016 General Session

49-11-1305 Reporting -- Penalties.
(1)

(a) A participating employer shall, within five business days, notify the office if the participating
employer enters a phased retirement agreement with a retiree.

(b) A participating employer shall report to the office any change in status of the phased
retirement in accordance with rules established under Section 49-11-1308.

(c) If a participating employer fails to notify the office in accordance with this section, the
participating employer is immediately subject to a compliance audit by the office.

(2)
(a) A retiree who has entered into phased retirement agreement under this section shall report

to the office the phased retirement agreement in accordance with rules established under
Section 49-11-1308.

(b) If the retiree fails to report to the office as required under this section, the office shall withhold
one month's allowance for each month the retiree fails to make the report, in a timely manner,
required under Subsection (2)(a).

(3) If a retiree receives a retirement allowance or portion of a retirement allowance in error or in
violation of this part:

(a) the office shall cancel the retiree's retirement allowance; and
(b) the office shall recover any overpayment in accordance with Section 49-11-607.

(4) If a retiree or participating employer violates this part, including a failure to report in accordance
with this section, the retiree, participating employer, or both that are found to be responsible
for the violation are liable to the office for the amount of any allowance overpayment, failure
to make a required payment or contribution, or other amount needed to correct an error or
incorrect benefit resulting from the violation.

Enacted by Chapter 280, 2016 General Session

49-11-1306 Reset of one year separation.
          If a retiree is employed under phased retirement under this section, the termination date of the

phased retirement employment, as confirmed in writing by the participating employer, is considered
the retiree's retirement date for the purpose of calculating the separation requirement under
Subsection 49-11-1204(2).

Enacted by Chapter 280, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session, (Coordination Clause)

49-11-1307 Phased retirement -- Adjustments or termination.
(1) The Legislature may make adjustments to or terminate the phased retirement option created

under this part, including:
(a) amending phased retirement eligibility, restrictions, scope, or duration provisions;
(b) closing phased retirement to additional retirees; or
(c) terminating phased retirement for all participating retirees.

(2) A participating employer and retiree enter into a phased retirement agreement subject to the
adjustments or termination reserved in this section.

Enacted by Chapter 280, 2016 General Session
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49-11-1308 Rulemaking.
          The board may make rules to implement this part.

Enacted by Chapter 280, 2016 General Session

Part 14
Forfeiture of Retirement Benefits

49-11-1401 Forfeiture of retirement benefits for employees for employment related offense
convictions -- Notifications -- Investigations -- Appeals.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Convicted" means a conviction by plea or by verdict, including a plea of guilty or a plea of no
contest that is held in abeyance under Title 77, Chapter 2a, Pleas in Abeyance, regardless
of whether the charge was, or is, subsequently reduced or dismissed in accordance with the
plea in abeyance agreement.

(b) "Employee" means a member of a system or plan administered by the board.
(c) "Employment related offense" means a felony committed during employment or the term of an

elected or appointed office with a participating employer that is:
(i) during the performance of the employee's duties;
(ii) within the scope of the employee's employment; or
(iii) under color of the employee's authority.

(2)
(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, an employee shall forfeit accrual of service

credit, employer retirement related contributions, including employer contributions to the
employer sponsored defined contribution plans, or other retirement related benefits from a
system or plan under this title in accordance with this section.

(b) The forfeiture of retirement related benefits under Subsection (2)(a) does not include the
employee's contribution to a defined contribution plan.

(3) An employee shall forfeit the benefits described under Subsection (2)(a):
(a) if the employee is convicted of an employment related offense;
(b) beginning on the day on which the employment related offense occurred; and
(c) until the employee is either:

(i) re-elected or reappointed to office; or
(ii)

(A) terminated from the position for which the employee was found to have committed an
employment related offense; and

(B) rehired or hired as an employee who is eligible to be a member of a Utah state retirement
system or plan.

(4) The employee's participating employer shall:
(a) immediately notify the office:

(i) if an employee is charged with an offense that is or may be an employment related offense
under this section; and

(ii) if the employee described in Subsection (4)(a)(i) is acquitted of the offense that is or may be
an employment related offense under this section; and

(b) if the employee is convicted of an offense that may be an employment related offense:



Utah Code

Page 51

(i) conduct an investigation, which may rely on the conviction, to determine:
(A) whether the conviction is for an employment related offense; and
(B) the date on which the employment related offense was initially committed; and

(ii) after the period of time for an appeal by an employee under Subsection (5), immediately
notify the office of the employer's determination under this Subsection (4)(b).

(5) An employee may appeal the employee's participating employer's determination under
Subsection (4)(b) in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act.

(6) Upon receiving a notification from a participating employer that the participating employer has
made a determination under Subsection (4)(b) that the conviction was for an employment
related offense, the office shall immediately forfeit any service credit, employer retirement
related contributions, including employer contributions to the employer sponsored contribution
plans, or other retirement related benefits accrued by or made for the benefit of the employee,
beginning on the date of the initial employment related offense determined under Subsection
(4)(b).

(7) This section applies to an employee who is convicted on or after the effective date of this act for
an employment related offense.

(8) The board may make rules to implement this section.
(9) If any provision of this section, or the application of any provision to any person or

circumstance, is held invalid, the remainder of this section shall be given effect without the
invalid provision or application.

Enacted by Chapter 413, 2016 General Session

Chapter 12
Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Act

Part 1
General Provisions

49-12-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Act."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-12-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Benefits normally provided":
(a) means a benefit offered by an employer, including:

(i) a leave benefit of any kind;
(ii) insurance coverage of any kind if the employer pays some or all of the premium for the

coverage;
(iii) employer contributions to a health savings account, health reimbursement account, health

reimbursement arrangement, or medical expense reimbursement plan; and
(iv) a retirement benefit of any kind if the employer pays some or all of the cost of the benefit;

and
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(b) does not include:
(i) a payment for social security;
(ii) workers' compensation insurance;
(iii) unemployment insurance;
(iv) a payment for Medicare;
(v) a payment or insurance required by federal or state law that is similar to a payment or

insurance listed in Subsection (1)(b)(i), (ii), (iii), or (iv);
(vi) any other benefit that state or federal law requires an employer to provide an employee who

would not otherwise be eligible to receive the benefit; or
(vii) any benefit that an employer provides an employee in order to avoid a penalty or tax under

the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pub. L. No. 111-148 and the Health Care
Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, Pub. L. No. 111-152, and related federal regulations,
including a penalty imposed by Internal Revenue Code, Section 4980H.

(2)
(a) "Compensation" means, except as provided in Subsection (2)(c), the total amount of

payments made by a participating employer to a member of this system for services rendered
to the participating employer, including:

(i) bonuses;
(ii) cost-of-living adjustments;
(iii) other payments currently includable in gross income and that are subject to social security

deductions, including any payments in excess of the maximum amount subject to deduction
under social security law;

(iv) amounts that the member authorizes to be deducted or reduced for salary deferral or other
benefits authorized by federal law; and

(v) member contributions.
(b) "Compensation" for purposes of this chapter may not exceed the amount allowed under

Internal Revenue Code, Section 401(a)(17).
(c) "Compensation" does not include:

(i) the monetary value of remuneration paid in kind, including a residence or use of equipment;
(ii) the cost of any employment benefits paid for by the participating employer;
(iii) compensation paid to a temporary employee, an exempt employee, or an employee

otherwise ineligible for service credit;
(iv) any payments upon termination, including accumulated vacation, sick leave payments,

severance payments, compensatory time payments, or any other special payments; or
(v) any allowances or payments to a member for costs or expenses paid by the participating

employer, including automobile costs, uniform costs, travel costs, tuition costs, housing
costs, insurance costs, equipment costs, and dependent care costs.

(d) The executive director may determine if a payment not listed under this Subsection (2) falls
within the definition of compensation.

(3) "Final average salary" means the amount calculated by averaging the highest five years of
annual compensation preceding retirement subject to Subsections (3)(a), (b), (c), (d), and (e).

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), the percentage increase in annual compensation in
any one of the years used may not exceed the previous year's compensation by more than
10% plus a cost-of-living adjustment equal to the decrease in the purchasing power of the
dollar during the previous year, as measured by a United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(b) In cases where the participating employer provides acceptable documentation to the office,
the limitation in Subsection (3)(a) may be exceeded if:
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(i) the member has transferred from another agency; or
(ii) the member has been promoted to a new position.

(c) If the member retires more than six months from the date of termination of employment, the
member is considered to have been in service at the member's last rate of pay from the date
of the termination of employment to the effective date of retirement for purposes of computing
the member's final average salary only.

(d) If the member has less than five years of service credit in this system, final average salary
means the average annual compensation paid to the member during the full period of service
credit.

(e) The annual compensation used to calculate final average salary shall be based on:
(i) a calendar year for a member employed by a participating employer that is not an

educational institution; or
(ii) a contract year for a member employed by an educational institution.

(4) "Participating employer" means an employer which meets the participation requirements of
Sections 49-12-201 and 49-12-202.

(5)
(a) "Regular full-time employee" means an employee whose term of employment for a

participating employer contemplates continued employment during a fiscal or calendar year
and whose employment normally requires an average of 20 hours or more per week, except
as modified by the board, and who receives benefits normally provided by the participating
employer.

(b) "Regular full-time employee" includes:
(i) a teacher whose term of employment for a participating employer contemplates continued

employment during a school year and who teaches half-time or more;
(ii) a classified school employee:

(A) who is hired before July 1, 2013; and
(B) whose employment normally requires an average of 20 hours per week or more for a

participating employer, regardless of benefits provided;
(iii) an officer, elective or appointive, who earns $500 or more per month, indexed as of January

1, 1990, as provided in Section 49-12-407;
(iv) a faculty member or employee of an institution of higher education who is considered full-

time by that institution of higher education; and
(v) an individual who otherwise meets the definition of this Subsection (5) who performs

services for a participating employer through a professional employer organization or similar
arrangement.

(c) "Regular full-time employee" does not include a classified school employee:
(i)

(A) who is hired on or after July 1, 2013; and
(B) who does not receive benefits normally provided by the participating employer even if the

employment normally requires an average of 20 hours per week or more for a participating
employer;

(ii)
(A) who is hired before July 1, 2013;
(B) who did not qualify as a regular full-time employee before July 1, 2013;
(C) who does not receive benefits normally provided by the participating employer; and
(D) whose employment hours are increased on or after July 1, 2013, to require an average of

20 hours per week or more for a participating employer; or
(iii) who is a person working on a contract:
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(A) for the purposes of vocational rehabilitation and the employment and training of people
with significant disabilities; and

(B) that has been set aside from procurement requirements by the state pursuant to Section
63G-6a-805 or the federal government pursuant to 41 U.S.C. Sec. 8501 et seq.

(6) "System" means the Public Employees' Contributory Retirement System created under this
chapter.

(7) "Years of service credit" means:
(a) a period consisting of 12 full months as determined by the board;
(b) a period determined by the board, whether consecutive or not, during which a regular full-time

employee performed services for a participating employer, including any time the regular full-
time employee was absent on a paid leave of absence granted by a participating employer or
was absent in the service of the United States government on military duty as provided by this
chapter; or

(c) the regular school year consisting of not less than eight months of full-time service for a
regular full-time employee of an educational institution.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 304, 2016 General Session

49-12-103 Creation of system.
          There is created for members employed by a participating employer the "Public Employees'

Contributory Retirement System."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-12-104 Creation of trust fund.
(1) There is created the "Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Trust Fund" for the purpose of

paying the benefits and costs of administering this system.
(2) The fund shall consist of all money paid into it, including interest, in accordance with this

chapter, whether in the form of cash, securities, or other assets, and of all money received from
any other source.

(3) Custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-12-201 System membership -- Eligibility.
(1) A regular full-time employee of a participating employer is eligible for service credit in this

system upon the later of:
(a) the date on which the participating employer began participating in this system; or
(b) the effective date of employment of the regular full-time employee with the participating

employer.
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(2) Beginning July 1, 1986, a person entering employment with the state and its educational
institutions may not participate in this system.

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsection (1), a person initially entering employment with
a participating employer on or after July 1, 2011, who does not have service credit accrued
before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I system or plan administered by the board, may not participate in
this system.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-12-202 Participation of employers -- Limitations -- Exclusions -- Admission requirements
-- Exceptions -- Nondiscrimination requirements.
(1)

(a) Unless excluded under Subsection (2), an employer is a participating employer and may not
withdraw from participation in this system.

(b) In addition to their participation in this system, participating employers may provide or
participate in public or private retirement, supplemental or defined contribution plan, either
directly or indirectly, for their employees.

(2) The following employers may be excluded from participation in this system:
(a) an employer not initially admitted or included as a participating employer in this system prior

to January 1, 1982 if:
(i) the employer elects not to provide or participate in any type of private or public retirement,

supplemental or defined contribution plan, either directly or indirectly, for its employees,
except for Social Security; or

(ii) the employer offers another collectively bargained retirement benefit and has continued to
do so on an uninterrupted basis since that date;

(b) an employer that is a charter school authorized under Title 53A, Chapter 1a, Part 5, The
Utah Charter Schools Act, and does not elect to participate in accordance with Section
53A-1a-512;

(c) an employer that is a hospital created as a special service district under Title 17D, Chapter
1, Special Service District Act, that makes an election of nonparticipation in accordance with
Subsection (4); or

(d) an employer that is licensed as a nursing care facility under Title 26, Chapter 21, Health Care
Facility Licensing and Inspection Act, and created as a special service district under Title 17D,
Chapter 1, Special Service District Act, in a rural area of the state that makes an election of
nonparticipation in accordance with Subsection (4).

(3) An employer who did not become a participating employer in this system prior to July 1, 1986,
may not participate in this system.

(4)
(a)

(i) Until June 30, 2009, a employer that is a hospital created as a special service district under
Title 17D, Chapter 1, Special Service District Act, may make an election of nonparticipation
as an employer for retirement programs under this chapter.

(ii) Until June 30, 2014, an employer that is licensed as a nursing care facility under Title 26,
Chapter 21, Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act, and created as a special
service district under Title 17D, Chapter 1, Special Service District Act, in a rural area of
the state may make an election of nonparticipation as an employer for retirement programs
under this chapter.

(b) An election provided under Subsection (4)(a):
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(i) is a one-time election made no later than the time specified under Subsection (4)(a);
(ii) shall be documented by a resolution adopted by the governing body of the special service

district;
(iii) is irrevocable; and
(iv) applies to the special service district as the employer and to all employees of the special

service district.
(c) The governing body of the special service district may offer employee benefit plans for its

employees:
(i) under Title 49, Chapter 20, Public Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program Act; or
(ii) under any other program.

(5)
(a) If a participating employer purchases service credit on behalf of regular full-time employees

for service rendered prior to the participating employer's admission to this system, the service
credit shall be purchased in a nondiscriminatory manner on behalf of all current and former
regular full-time employees who were eligible for service credit at the time service was
rendered.

(b) For a purchase made under this Subsection (5), an employee is not required to:
(i) have at least four years of service credit before the purchase can be made; or
(ii) forfeit service credit or any defined contribution balance based on the employer contributions

under any other retirement system or plan based on the period of employment for which
service credit is being purchased.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session
Amended by Chapter 201, 2014 General Session
Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

49-12-203 Exclusions from membership in system.
(1) The following employees are not eligible for service credit in this system:

(a) subject to the requirements of Subsection (2), an employee whose employment status is
temporary in nature due to the nature or the type of work to be performed;

(b) except as provided under Subsection (3)(a), an employee of an institution of higher
education who participates in a retirement system with a public or private retirement system,
organization, or company designated by the State Board of Regents during any period
in which required contributions based on compensation have been paid on behalf of the
employee by the employer;

(c) an employee serving as an exchange employee from outside the state;
(d) an executive department head of the state, a member of the State Tax Commission, the

Public Service Commission, and a member of a full-time or part-time board or commission
who files a formal request for exemption;

(e) an employee of the Department of Workforce Services who is covered under another
retirement system allowed under Title 35A, Chapter 4, Employment Security Act;

(f) an employee who is employed on or after July 1, 2009, with an employer that has elected,
prior to July 1, 2009, to be excluded from participation in this system under Subsection
49-12-202(2)(c);

(g) an employee who is employed on or after July 1, 2014, with an employer that has elected,
prior to July 1, 2014, to be excluded from participation in this system under Subsection
49-12-202(2)(d); or
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(h) an employee who is employed with a withdrawing entity that has elected, prior to January 1,
2017, to exclude:

(i) new employees from participation in this system under Subsection 49-11-623(3)(a); or
(ii) all employees from participation in this system under Subsection 49-11-623(3)(b).

(2) If an employee whose status is temporary in nature due to the nature of type of work to be
performed:

(a) is employed for a term that exceeds six months and the employee otherwise qualifies for
service credit in this system, the participating employer shall report and certify to the office
that the employee is a regular full-time employee effective the beginning of the seventh month
of employment; or

(b) was previously terminated prior to being eligible for service credit in this system and is
reemployed within three months of termination by the same participating employer, the
participating employer shall report and certify that the member is a regular full-time employee
when the total of the periods of employment equals six months and the employee otherwise
qualifies for service credits in this system.

(3)
(a) Upon cessation of the participating employer contributions, an employee under Subsection (1)

(b) is eligible for service credit in this system.
(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsection (1)(f), any eligibility for service credit earned by

an employee under this chapter before July 1, 2009 is not affected under Subsection (1)(f).
(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsection (1)(g), any eligibility for service credit earned by

an employee under this chapter before July 1, 2014, is not affected under Subsection (1)(g).
(4) Upon filing a written request for exemption with the office, the following employees shall be

exempt from coverage under this system:
(a) a full-time student or the spouse of a full-time student and individuals employed in a trainee

relationship;
(b) an elected official;
(c) an executive department head of the state, a member of the State Tax Commission, a

member of the Public Service Commission, and a member of a full-time or part-time board or
commission;

(d) an employee of the Governor's Office of Management and Budget;
(e) an employee of the Governor's Office of Economic Development;
(f) an employee of the Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice;
(g) an employee of the Governor's Office;
(h) an employee of the State Auditor's Office;
(i) an employee of the State Treasurer's Office;
(j) any other member who is permitted to make an election under Section 49-11-406;
(k) a person appointed as a city manager or chief city administrator or another person employed

by a municipality, county, or other political subdivision, who is an at-will employee; and
(l) an employee of an interlocal cooperative agency created under Title 11, Chapter 13, Interlocal

Cooperation Act, who is engaged in a specialized trade customarily provided through
membership in a labor organization that provides retirement benefits to its members.

(5)
(a) Each participating employer shall prepare a list designating those positions eligible for

exemption under Subsection (4).
(b) An employee may not be exempted unless the employee is employed in an exempted

position designated by the participating employer.
(6)
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(a) In accordance with this section, Section 49-13-203, and Section 49-22-205, a municipality,
county, or political subdivision may not exempt a total of more than 50 positions or a number
equal to 10% of the employees of the municipality, county, or political subdivision, whichever
is less.

(b) A municipality, county, or political subdivision may exempt at least one regular full-time
employee.

(7) Each participating employer shall:
(a) file employee exemptions annually with the office; and
(b) update the employee exemptions in the event of any change.

(8) The office may make rules to implement this section.

Amended by Chapter 315, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 364, 2015 General Session

49-12-204 Higher education employees' eligibility requirements -- Election between different
retirement plans -- Classification requirements -- Transfer between systems -- One-time
election window -- Rulemaking.
(1)

(a) A regular full-time employee of an institution of higher education who is eligible to participate
in either this system or a public or private retirement system, organization, or company,
designated by the Board of Regents, shall, not later than January 1, 1979, elect to participate
exclusively in this system or in an annuity contract allowed under this Subsection (1).

(b) The election is final, and no right exists to make any further election.
(2)

(a) Except as provided under Subsection (2)(c), a regular full-time employee hired by an
institution of higher education after January 1, 1979, may participate only in the retirement
plan which attaches to the person's employment classification.

(b) Each institution of higher education shall prepare or amend existing employment
classifications, under the direction of the Board of Regents, so that each classification is
assigned with either:

(i) this system; or
(ii) a public or private system, organization, or company designated by the Board of Regents.

(c) Notwithstanding a person's employment classification assignment under Subsection (2)(b),
a regular full-time employee who begins employment with an institution of higher education
on or after May 11, 2010, has a one-time irrevocable election to continue participation in this
system, if the employee has service credit in this system before the date of employment.

(3) Notwithstanding an employment classification assignment change made under Subsection
(2)(b), a regular full-time employee hired by an institution of higher education after January
1, 1979, whose employment classification requires participation in this system may elect to
continue participation in this system.

(4) A regular full-time employee hired by an institution of higher education after January 1, 1979,
whose employment classification requires participation in this system shall participate in this
system.

(5)
(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, a regular full-time employee of an

institution of higher education shall have a one-time irrevocable election to participate in this
system if the employee:

(i) was hired after January 1, 1979;
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(ii) whose employment classification assignment under Subsection (2)(b) required participation
in a retirement program other than this system; and

(iii) has service credit in a system under this title.
(b) The election under Subsection (5)(a) shall be made before June 30, 2010.
(c) All forms required by the office must be completed and received by the office no later than

June 30, 2010, for the election to participate in this system to be effective.
(d) Beginning July 1, 2010, a regular full-time employee of an institution of higher education who

elects to be covered by this system under Subsection (5)(a) may begin to accrue service
credit in this system.

(6) A regular full-time employee of an institution of higher education who elects to be covered
by this system under Subsection (2)(c) or (5)(a), may purchase periods of employment while
covered under another retirement program sponsored by the institution of higher education by
complying with the requirements of Section 49-11-403.

(7) The board shall make rules to implement this section.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

Part 3
Contributions

49-12-301 Contributions -- Two levels -- Election by a participating employer to pay
employee contributions -- Accounting for and vesting of member contributions --
Deductions.
(1) Participating employers and members shall jointly pay the certified contribution rates to the

office to maintain this system on a financially and actuarially sound basis.
(2) For purposes of determining contribution rates, this system is divided into two levels according

to participating employers as follows:
(a) Level A includes the state, its independent agencies, independent entities, public

corporations, and other instrumentalities, all participating educational institutions, and all
other participating employers whose activities are associated with participating educational
institutions.

(b) Level B includes all other participating employers in this system.
(3)

(a) A participating employer may elect to pay all or part of the required member contributions, in
addition to the required participating employer contributions.

(b) Any amount contributed by a participating employer under this section shall vest to the
member's benefit as though the member had made the contribution.

(c) The required member contributions shall be reduced by the amount that is paid by the
participating employer.

(4)
(a) All member contributions are credited by the office to the account of the individual member.
(b) This amount, together with refund interest, is held in trust for the payment of benefits to the

member or the member's beneficiaries.
(c) All member contributions are vested and nonforfeitable.

(5)
(a) Each member is considered to consent to payroll deductions of member contributions.
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(b) The payment of compensation less these payroll deductions is considered full payment for
services rendered by the member.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-12-302 Purchase of service credit.
          Any member who works 20 or more hours per week for a participating employer participating in

this system, but does not meet other eligibility requirements for service credit, may purchase the
service credit in accordance with Section 49-11-403.

Enacted by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 4
Defined Benefit

49-12-401 Eligibility for an allowance -- Date of retirement -- Qualifications.
(1) A member is qualified to receive an allowance from this system when:

(a) except as provided under Subsection (3), the member ceases actual work for every
participating employer that employs the member before the member's retirement date and
provides evidence of the termination;

(b) the member has submitted to the office a retirement application form that states the member's
proposed retirement date; and

(c) one of the following conditions is met as of the member's retirement date:
(i) the member has accrued at least four years of service credit and has attained an age of 65

years;
(ii) the member has accrued at least 10 years of service credit and has attained an age of 62

years;
(iii) the member has accrued at least 20 years of service credit and has attained an age of 60

years; or
(iv) the member has accrued at least 30 years of service credit.

(2)
(a) The member's retirement date:

(i) shall be the 1st or the 16th day of the month, as selected by the member;
(ii) shall be on or after the date of termination; and
(iii) may not be more than 90 days before or after the date the application is received by the

office.
(b) Except as provided under Subsection (3), a member may not be employed by a participating

employer in the system established by this chapter on the retirement date selected under
Subsection (2)(a)(i).

(3)
(a) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also an elected official

is not required to cease service as an elected official to be qualified to receive an allowance
under Subsection (1), unless the member is retiring from service as an elected official.

(b) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also a part-time appointed
board member is not required to cease service as a part-time appointed board member to be
qualified to receive an allowance under Subsection (1).
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(c) A member who is employed by a participating employer, who is also an affiliated emergency
services worker as defined in Section 49-11-1202 for a different agency, is not required
to cease service as an affiliated emergency services worker to be qualified to receive an
allowance under Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-12-402 Service retirement plans -- Calculation of retirement allowance -- Social Security
limitations.
(1)

(a) Except as provided under Section 49-12-701, retirees of this system may choose from the six
retirement options described in this section.

(b) Options Two, Three, Four, Five, and Six are modifications of the Option One calculation.
(2) The Option One benefit is an annual allowance calculated as follows:

(a) If the retiree is at least 65 years of age or has accrued at least 30 years of service credit, the
allowance is:

(i) an amount equal to 1.25% of the retiree's final average monthly salary multiplied by the
number of years of service credit accrued prior to July 1, 1975; plus

(ii) an amount equal to 2% of the retiree's final average monthly salary multiplied by the number
of years of service credit accrued on and after July 1, 1975.

(b) If the retiree is less than 65 years of age, the allowance shall be reduced 3% for each year of
retirement from age 60 to age 65, unless the member has 30 or more years of accrued credit
in which event no reduction is made to the allowance.

(c)
(i) Years of service includes any fractions of years of service to which the retiree may be

entitled.
(ii) At the time of retirement, if a retiree's combined years of actual, not purchased, service

credit is within 1/10 of one year of the total years of service credit required for retirement,
the retiree shall be considered to have the total years of service credit required for
retirement.

(d) An Option One allowance is only payable to the member during the member's lifetime.
(3) The allowance payable under Options Two, Three, Four, Five, and Six is calculated by reducing

an Option One benefit based on actuarial computations to provide the following:
(a) Option Two is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and,

if the retiree receives less in annuity payments than the amount of the retiree's member
contributions, the remaining balance of the retiree's member contributions shall be paid in
accordance with Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(b) Option Three is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and,
upon the death of the retiree, the same reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime
of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(c) Option Four is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and
upon the death of the retiree, an amount equal to 1/2 of the retiree's allowance paid to and
throughout the lifetime of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(d) Option Five is a modification of Option Three so that if the lawful spouse at the time of
retirement predeceases the retiree, an allowance equivalent to the amount payable at the
time of initial retirement under Option One shall be paid to the retiree for the remainder of the
retiree's life, beginning on the first day of the month following the month in which the:
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(i) spouse died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the spouse's death;
or

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the spouse's death.

(e) Option Six is a modification of Option Four so that if the lawful spouse at the time of
retirement predeceases the retiree, an allowance equivalent to the amount payable at the
time of initial retirement under Option One shall be paid to the retiree for the remainder of the
retiree's life, beginning on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(i) spouse died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the spouse's death;
or

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the spouse's death.

(4)
(a)

(i) The final average salary is limited in the computation of that part of an allowance based on
service rendered prior to July 1, 1967, during a period when the retiree received employer
contributions on a portion of compensation from an educational institution toward the
payment of the premium required on a retirement annuity contract with a public or private
system, organization, or company designated by the State Board of Regents to $4,800.

(ii) This limitation is not applicable to retirees who elected to continue in this system by July 1,
1967.

(b) Periods of employment which are exempt from this system under Subsection 49-12-203(1)
(b), may be purchased by the member for the purpose of retirement only if all benefits from a
public or private system, organization, or company designated by the State Board of Regents
based on this period of employment are forfeited.

(5)
(a) If a retiree under Option One dies within 90 days after the retiree's retirement date, the

retirement is canceled and the death shall be considered as that of a member before
retirement.

(b) Any payments made to the retiree shall be deducted from the amounts due to the beneficiary.
(6) If a retiree retires under either Option Five or Six and subsequently divorces, the retiree may

elect to convert the benefit to a Option One benefit at the time of divorce, if there is no court
order filed in the matter.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-12-403 Allowance payable by lump sum payment.
(1) If a retiree's allowance, as computed under this chapter, amounts to $25 or less, the allowance

may be settled by the office by making a lump-sum payment of an amount actuarially
equivalent to the allowance.

(2) A payment made under this section constitutes a full and complete settlement of the retiree's
claim against this system.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-12-404 Lump-sum death benefit for retiree and spouse.
(1)
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(a) Upon retirement, a retiree may elect to have the office deduct an actuarially determined
amount from the retiree's allowance to provide a lump-sum benefit payable to a beneficiary
upon the death of the retiree.

(b) Upon retirement, a retiree may also elect to have an actuarially determined amount deducted
from the retiree's allowance to provide a lump-sum death benefit payable to a beneficiary
upon the death of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(c) The board may make rules for the administration of this lump-sum death benefit.
(2)

(a) For a retiree who pays for a lump-sum death benefit under this section through a reduction of
an allowance, benefits shall be paid in accordance with Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(b) If the retiree chooses Option Three, Four, Five, or Six, and a lump-sum death benefit is
payable after the death of the retiree, the allowance shall be restored to its original amount.

(3)
(a) A retiree whose retirement date is on or after July 1, 1995, may elect to cancel the lump-sum

death benefit under this section.
(b) The cancellation under this Subsection (3) is irrevocable.
(c) Upon cancellation, the allowance shall be restored to its original amount and benefits under

this section may not be paid.

Amended by Chapter 118, 2004 General Session

49-12-405 Death of married member -- Service retirement benefits to surviving spouse.
(1) Upon the request of a deceased member's surviving spouse, the deceased member is

considered to have retired under Option Three on the first day of the month following the month
in which the member died if the following requirements are met:

(a) the member has:
(i) 25 or more years of service credit;
(ii) attained age 60 with 20 or more years of service credit;
(iii) attained age 62 with 10 or more years of service credit; or
(iv) attained age 65 with four or more years of service credit; and

(b) the member dies leaving a surviving spouse.
(2) The surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.  The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:
(a) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office

within 90 days of the member's death; or
(b) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is

received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.
(3) The Option Three benefit calculation, when there are 25 or more years of service credit, shall

be calculated without a reduction in allowance under Section 49-12-402.
(4) The benefit calculation for a surviving spouse with a valid domestic relations order benefits on

file with the office before the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612 is
calculated according to the manner in which the court order specified benefits to be partitioned,
whether as a fixed amount or as a percentage of the benefit.

(5) Except for a return of member contributions, benefits payable under this section are retirement
benefits and shall be paid in addition to any payments made under Section 49-12-501 and
constitute a full and final settlement of the claim of the surviving spouse or any other beneficiary
filing claim for benefits under Section 49-12-501.
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(6) If the death benefits under this section are partitioned among more than one surviving spouse
due to domestic relations order benefits on file with the office before the member's death date
in accordance with Section 49-11-612, the total amount received by the surviving spouses may
not exceed the death benefits normally provided to one surviving spouse under this section.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-12-406 Exceptions for part-time elective or appointive service -- Computation of
allowance -- Justice court judges.
(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of Sections 49-11-401 and 49-12-102, and unless otherwise

provided in this section, a member's elective or appointive service rendered on a basis not
considered full-time by the office shall have a separate allowance computed on the basis of
compensation actually received by the member during the period of elective or appointive
service.

(2)
(a) A justice court judge who has service with only one participating employer shall be considered

part-time or full-time by the office as certified by the participating employer.
(b) If a justice court judge has a combination of part-time service and full-time position service

with one participating employer, the office shall compute separate allowances on the basis
of compensation actually received by the judge during the part-time and full-time periods of
service.

(3)
(a) A justice court judge who has service with more than one participating employer shall be

considered full-time by the office for a period of service in which the judge is certified as full-
time by:

(i) a participating employer; or
(ii) the Administrative Office of the Courts beginning on or after January 1, 2009, based on

the judge's aggregate caseload of the multiple employers as determined by the judge's
caseloads of the individual courts of each employer in accordance with Subsection
78A-7-206(1)(b)(ii).

(b) If a justice court judge has full-time service under Subsection (3)(a), the office shall compute
an allowance on the basis of total compensation actually received from all participating
employers by the judge during the total period of full-time service.

(c) If a justice court judge has part-time service performed that is not within a period considered
full-time service under Subsection (3)(a), the office shall compute a separate allowance on
the basis of compensation actually received by the member during the period of part-time
service.

(4) All of the service rendered by a justice court judge in any one fiscal or calendar year may not
count for more than one year of service credit.

Amended by Chapter 241, 2015 General Session

49-12-407 Annual cost-of-living adjustment.
(1) The office shall make an annual cost-of-living adjustment to:

(a) an original allowance paid under Section 49-12-402 or 49-12-404, if the allowance has been
paid for at least one year; and

(b) an original payment made to an alternate payee under a domestic relations order, if the
payment is to be paid as a percentage of the allowance rather than a specific dollar amount.
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(2)
(a) The original allowance shall be increased by the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index

up to a maximum of 4%.
(b) Annual increases in the Consumer Price Index in excess of 4% shall be  accumulated and

used in subsequent adjustments when the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index is
less than 4%.

(3) The Consumer Price Index used in calculating adjustments shall be a United States Bureau of
Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(4) The cost-of-living adjustment made under this section may not decrease the allowance.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-12-408 Minimum monthly allowance.
(1) A retiree under this system may not receive less than $9 per month for each year of service

credit at the time of retirement.
(2) The increased allowance provided by this section may not exceed the allowance payable under

Option One under Section 49-12-402, by more than 75%.
(3) The cost of providing this benefit shall be assumed within the contribution rate established

under Section 49-12-301.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-12-409 Purchase of service credit -- Conditions -- Cost -- Nondiscrimination policy.
(1)

(a) A member may purchase or a member and a participating employer may jointly purchase a
maximum of five years of service credit which cannot otherwise be purchased under this title.

(b) At a minimum, the years of service credit purchased shall be sufficient to allow the member to
meet the retirement eligibility requirements of this system with no actuarial reduction.

(c) The member's retirement date shall be immediately after the purchase of years of service
credit.

(d) The member shall pay at least 5% of the cost of the purchase.
(e) To qualify for a purchase of service credit under this section, the member shall:

(i) have at least five years of service credit; and
(ii) otherwise meet federal eligibility requirements.

(2) The purchase price for the years of service credit shall be calculated and paid for as provided in
Section 49-11-403.

(3) Prior to making any purchase of years of service credit under this section, a participating
employer shall adopt a purchase policy that includes nondiscriminatory participation standards
for all regular full-time employees.

(4) Only members retiring from this system may purchase service credit under this section.

Amended by Chapter 116, 2005 General Session

Part 5
Death Benefit
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49-12-501 Death benefit -- Eligibility for death benefit -- Benefit calculation -- Payment of
claim -- Exclusion.
(1) The office shall provide a death benefit for members of this system.
(2) The board shall make rules to administer the death benefit provided by this section and may, in

accordance with federal law, establish:
(a) benefit levels;
(b) classes of members; and
(c) a living benefit option.

(3) This death benefit is payable when:
(a) the member dies prior to the member's retirement date or dies under circumstances which

Section 49-12-402 requires to be treated as the death of a member before retirement;
(b) the office receives acceptable proof of death; and
(c) benefits are not payable under Section 49-12-404.

(4) The death benefit payable to the beneficiary under this section is a lump-sum payment
consisting of:

(a) the return of any member contributions under this chapter; plus
(b) a percentage of the final average salary of the member to be determined by the board.

(5) Any amount of a living benefit option paid to the member prior to death shall be deducted from
the benefit payable to the beneficiary.

(6) The cost of the death benefit shall be paid by the participating employer as a portion of the
contribution rate established under Section 49-12-301.

(7) The portion of the death benefit provided under Subsection (4)(b) may not be paid to the
beneficiary of an inactive member unless:

(a) that member has 10 or more years of accrued service credit prior to July 1, 1987; or
(b) the death of the member occurs either:

(i) within a period of 120 days after the last day of work for which the person received
compensation; or

(ii) while the member is still physically or mentally incapacitated from performance of duties, if
the incapacity has been continuous since the last day of work for which compensation was
received.

(8) The death benefit provided under Subsection (4)(b) shall be paid in accordance with Sections
49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(9) The death benefit paid to the beneficiary of an inactive member, except as otherwise provided
under Subsection (7), is a lump-sum return of the member's member contributions.

(10) Payment of the death benefit by the office constitutes a full settlement of any beneficiary's
claim against the office, and the office is not liable for any further or additional claims or
assessments on behalf of the member.

(11) Unless otherwise specified in a written document filed with the office, death benefits payable
to beneficiaries shall be in accordance with the order of precedence established under Title 75,
Chapter 2, Intestate Succession and Wills.

(12) A death benefit under this section may not be paid to a beneficiary of a retiree under this
system.

Amended by Chapter 316, 2013 General Session

Part 6
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Disability

49-12-601 Disability retirement -- Medical examinations -- Reemployment of retirant with a
disability -- Cancellation of benefit -- Service credit -- Retirant with a disability engaging in
gainful employment -- Reduction of allowance -- Refusal to submit to medical examination.
(1) Only members of this system who became eligible for a disability retirement allowance before

January 1, 1983, are covered under this section.
(2)

(a) The board may, upon the recommendation of the administrator, require any retirant who has
been retired for disability and who has not attained the age of 60 years, to undergo a medical
examination by a physician or surgeon, appointed by the board, at the place of residence of
the retirant or other place mutually agreed upon.

(b) Upon the basis of the examination, the board shall determine whether the retirant with a
disability is still incapacitated, physically or mentally, for service under this chapter.

(c) If the board determines that the retirant is not incapacitated, the retirement allowance shall be
cancelled and the retirant shall be reinstated immediately to a position of the same class as
that held by the retirant when retired for disability.

(d) If any employing unit is unable to reinstate the retirant, the board shall continue the disability
retirement allowance of the retirant until employment is available.

(3)
(a) If a retirant with a disability under this system reenters covered service and is eligible for

membership in the retirement system, the retirement allowance shall be cancelled and the
retirant shall immediately become a member of the retirement system.

(b)
(i) The member's individual account shall be credited with an amount which is the actuarial

equivalent, at the time of reentry, based on a disabled life, of that portion of the member's
retirement allowance which was derived from the member's accumulated contributions.

(ii) The amount credited may not exceed the amount of accumulated contributions standing at
the time of retirement.

(c) Each member shall receive credit for the service in the member's account at the time of
retirement.

(4) If the retirement allowance of any retirant with a disability is cancelled for any cause other than
reentry into service, the retirant shall be paid the accumulated contributions less the amounts
prescribed by Subsection (6).

(5)
(a) If any member retired for disability engages in a gainful occupation prior to attaining age 60,

the administrator shall reduce the amount of the retirement allowance to an amount which,
when added to the compensation earned monthly by the retirant in that occupation, may
not exceed the amount of the final average monthly salary on the basis of which the current
service retirement allowance was determined.

(b) If the earning capacity of the retirant is further altered, the administrator may further alter the
retirement allowance as provided in this Subsection (5).

(c) In no event, however, may the retirement benefit be reduced below that portion of the
retirant's allowance derived from the retirant's own accumulated contributions.

(d) When the retirant reaches age 60, the retirement allowance shall be made equal to the
amount upon which the retirant was originally retired and may not again be modified for any
cause.
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(6)
(a) If any member who retired for disability under age 60, refuses to submit to a medical

examination, the retirement allowance may be discontinued until the retirant withdraws that
refusal.

(b) If the refusal continues for one year the disability status may be cancelled and membership
terminated.

(c)
(i) The retirant's accumulated contribution account shall be the actuarial equivalent on the date

of the retirant's change of status, based on a disabled life, of that portion of the disability
retirement allowance which was derived from the retirant's accumulated contributions.

(ii) The amount credited may not exceed the amount of the retirant's accumulated contributions
at the time of disability retirement.

Amended by Chapter 366, 2011 General Session

Part 7
Early Retirement Incentive

49-12-701  Early retirement incentive -- Eligibility -- Calculation of benefit -- Payment of
costs -- Savings to be appropriated by Legislature -- Restrictions on reemployment.
(1) Any member of this system may retire and receive the allowance allowed under Subsection (2)

if the member meets the following requirements as of the member's retirement date:
(a) the member is eligible for retirement under Section 49-12-401, or has 25 years of service

credit;
(b) the member elects to forfeit any stipend for retirement offered by the participating employer;

and
(c) the member elects to retire from this system by applying for retirement by the date established

under Subsection (3)(a) or (3)(b).
(2)

(a) A member who retires under Subsection (1) shall receive 2% of that member's final average
salary for all years of service credit.

(b) An actuarial reduction may not be applied to the allowance granted under this section.
(3) In order to receive the allowance allowed by this section, a member shall submit an application

to the office as follows:
(a)

(i) For state and school employees under Level A, the application shall be filed by May 31,
1987. The member's retirement date shall then be set by the member on the 1st or 16th day
of July, August, or September, 1987.

(ii) If a Level A member elects to retire, the executive director or participating employer may
request the member to delay the retirement date until a later date, but no later than June 30,
1988.

(iii) If the member agrees to delay the retirement date, the retirement date shall be delayed, but
service credit may not be accrued after the member's original retirement date elected by the
member, and compensation earned after the member's original retirement date may not be
used in the calculation of the final average salary for determining the retirement allowance.

(b)
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(i) For political subdivision employees under Level B, the application shall be filed by
September 30, 1987.

(ii) The retirement date shall then be set by the member on the 1st or 16th day of July, August,
September, October, November, or December, 1987.

(4)
(a) The cost of providing the allowance under this section shall be funded in fiscal year 1987-88

by a supplemental appropriation in the 1988 General Session based on the retirement
contribution rate increase established by the consulting actuary and approved by the board.

(b) The cost of providing the allowance under this section shall be funded beginning July 1, 1988,
by means of an increase in the retirement contribution rate established by the consulting
actuary and approved by the board.

(c) The rate increase under Subsections (4)(a) and (b) shall be funded:
(i) for state employees, by an appropriation from the account established by the Division

of Finance under Subsection (4)(d), which is funded by savings derived from this early
retirement incentive and a work force reduction;

(ii) for school employees, by direct contributions from the employing unit, which may not be
funded through an increase in the retirement contribution amount established in Title 53A,
Chapter 17a, Minimum School Program Act; and

(iii) for political subdivisions under Level B, by direct contributions by the participating employer.
(d)

(i) Each year, any excess savings derived from this early retirement incentive which are
above the costs of funding the increase and the costs of paying insurance, sick leave,
compensatory leave, and vacation leave under Subsections (4)(c)(i) and (c)(ii) shall be
reported to the Legislature and shall be appropriated as provided by law.

(ii) In the case of Subsection (4)(c)(i), the Division of Finance shall establish an account into
which all savings derived from this early retirement incentive shall be deposited as the
savings are realized.

(iii) In the case of Subsection (4)(c)(ii), the State Board of Education shall certify the amount of
savings derived from this early retirement incentive.

(iv) The State Board of Education and the participating employer may not spend the savings
until appropriated by the Legislature as provided by law.

(5) A member who retires under this section is subject to Section 49-11-504 and Chapter 11, Part
12, Postretirement Reemployment Restrictions Act.

(6) The board may adopt rules to administer this section.
(7) The Legislative Auditor General shall perform an audit to ensure compliance with this section.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

Chapter 13
Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement Act

Part 1
General Provisions
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49-13-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement Act."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-13-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Benefits normally provided" has the same meaning as defined in Section 49-12-102.
(2)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(c), "compensation" means the total amount of payments
made by a participating employer to a member of this system for services rendered to the
participating employer, including:

(i) bonuses;
(ii) cost-of-living adjustments;
(iii) other payments currently includable in gross income and that are subject to social security

deductions, including any payments in excess of the maximum amount subject to deduction
under social security law; and

(iv) amounts that the member authorizes to be deducted or reduced for salary deferral or other
benefits authorized by federal law.

(b) "Compensation" for purposes of this chapter may not exceed the amount allowed under
Internal Revenue Code, Section 401(a)(17).

(c) "Compensation" does not include:
(i) the monetary value of remuneration paid in kind, including a residence or use of equipment;
(ii) the cost of any employment benefits paid for by the participating employer;
(iii) compensation paid to a temporary employee, an exempt employee, or an employee

otherwise ineligible for service credit;
(iv) any payments upon termination, including accumulated vacation, sick leave payments,

severance payments, compensatory time payments, or any other special payments; or
(v) any allowances or payments to a member for costs or expenses paid by the participating

employer, including automobile costs, uniform costs, travel costs, tuition costs, housing
costs, insurance costs, equipment costs, and dependent care costs.

(d) The executive director may determine if a payment not listed under this Subsection (2) falls
within the definition of compensation.

(3) "Final average salary" means the amount calculated by averaging the highest three years of
annual compensation preceding retirement subject to Subsections (3)(a), (b), (c), and (d).

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), the percentage increase in annual compensation in
any one of the years used may not exceed the previous year's compensation by more than
10% plus a cost-of-living adjustment equal to the decrease in the purchasing power of the
dollar during the previous year, as measured by a United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(b) In cases where the participating employer provides acceptable documentation to the office,
the limitation in Subsection (3)(a) may be exceeded if:

(i) the member has transferred from another agency; or
(ii) the member has been promoted to a new position.

(c) If the member retires more than six months from the date of termination of employment and
for purposes of computing the member's final average salary only, the member is considered
to have been in service at the member's last rate of pay from the date of the termination of
employment to the effective date of retirement.
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(d) The annual compensation used to calculate final average salary shall be based on:
(i) a calendar year for a member employed by a participating employer that is not an

educational institution; or
(ii) a contract year for a member employed by an educational institution.

(4) "Participating employer" means an employer which meets the participation requirements of
Sections 49-13-201 and 49-13-202.

(5)
(a) "Regular full-time employee" means an employee whose term of employment for a

participating employer contemplates continued employment during a fiscal or calendar year
and whose employment normally requires an average of 20 hours or more per week, except
as modified by the board, and who receives benefits normally provided by the participating
employer.

(b) "Regular full-time employee" includes:
(i) a teacher whose term of employment for a participating employer contemplates continued

employment during a school year and who teaches half time or more;
(ii) a classified school employee:

(A) who is hired before July 1, 2013; and
(B) whose employment normally requires an average of 20 hours per week or more for a

participating employer, regardless of benefits provided;
(iii) an officer, elective or appointive, who earns $500 or more per month, indexed as of January

1, 1990, as provided in Section 49-13-407;
(iv) a faculty member or employee of an institution of higher education who is considered full

time by that institution of higher education; and
(v) an individual who otherwise meets the definition of this Subsection (5) who performs

services for a participating employer through a professional employer organization or similar
arrangement.

(c) "Regular full-time employee" does not include a classified school employee:
(i)

(A) who is hired on or after July 1, 2013; and
(B) who does not receive benefits normally provided by the participating employer even if the

employment normally requires an average of 20 hours per week or more for a participating
employer;

(ii)
(A) who is hired before July 1, 2013;
(B) who did not qualify as a regular full-time employee before July 1, 2013;
(C) who does not receive benefits normally provided by the participating employer; and
(D) whose employment hours are increased on or after July 1, 2013, to require an average of

20 hours per week or more for a participating employer; or
(iii) who is a person working on a contract:

(A) for the purposes of vocational rehabilitation and the employment and training of people
with significant disabilities; and

(B) that has been set aside from procurement requirements by the state pursuant to Section
63G-6a-805 or the federal government pursuant to 41 U.S.C. Sec. 8501 et seq.

(6) "System" means the Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement System.
(7) "Years of service credit" means:

(a) a period consisting of 12 full months as determined by the board;
(b) a period determined by the board, whether consecutive or not, during which a regular full-time

employee performed services for a participating employer, including any time the regular full-
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time employee was absent on a paid leave of absence granted by a participating employer or
was absent in the service of the United States government on military duty as provided by this
chapter; or

(c) the regular school year consisting of not less than eight months of full-time service for a
regular full-time employee of an educational institution.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 304, 2016 General Session

49-13-103 Creation of system.
          There is created for members employed by a participating employer the "Public Employees'

Noncontributory Retirement System."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-13-104 Creation of trust fund.
(1) There is created the "Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement Trust Fund" for the

purpose of paying the benefits and costs of administering this system.
(2) The fund shall consist of all money paid into it, including interest, in accordance with this

chapter, whether in the form of cash, securities, or other assets, and of all money received from
any other source.

(3) Custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-13-201 System membership -- Eligibility.
(1) Beginning July 1, 1986, the state and its educational institutions shall participate in this system.

(a) A person entering regular full-time employment with the state or its educational institutions
after July 1, 1986, but before July 1, 2011, is eligible for service credit in this system.

(b) A person entering regular full-time employment with the state or its educational institutions
after July 1, 2011, who has service credit accrued before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I system or
plan administered by the board, is eligible for service credit in this system.

(c) A regular full-time employee of the state or its educational institutions prior to July 1, 1986,
may either become eligible for service credit in this system or remain eligible for service in
the system established under Chapter 12, Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Act, by
following the procedures established by the board in accordance with this chapter.

(2) An employer, other than the state and its educational institutions, may participate in this system
except that once an employer elects to participate in this system, that election is irrevocable
and the election must be made before July 1, 2011.

(a) Until June 30, 2011, a person initially entering regular full-time employment with a
participating employer which elects to participate in this system is eligible for service credit in
this system.
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(b) A person in regular full-time employment with a participating employer prior to the
participating employer's election to participate in this system may either become eligible for
service credit in this system or remain eligible for service in the system established under
Chapter 12, Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Act, by following the procedures
established by the board in accordance with this chapter.

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsections (1) and (2), a person initially entering
employment with a participating employer on or after July 1, 2011, who does not have service
credit accrued before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I system or plan administered by the board, may
not participate in this system.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-13-202 Participation of employers -- Limitations -- Exclusions -- Admission requirements
-- Nondiscrimination requirements -- Service credit purchases.
(1)

(a) Unless excluded under Subsection (2), an employer is a participating employer and may not
withdraw from participation in this system.

(b) In addition to their participation in this system, participating employers may provide or
participate in any additional public or private retirement, supplemental or defined contribution
plan, either directly or indirectly, for their employees.

(2) The following employers may be excluded from participation in this system:
(a) an employer not initially admitted or included as a participating employer in this system before

January 1, 1982, if:
(i) the employer elects not to provide or participate in any type of private or public retirement,

supplemental or defined contribution plan, either directly or indirectly, for its employees,
except for Social Security; or

(ii) the employer offers another collectively bargained retirement benefit and has continued to
do so on an uninterrupted basis since that date;

(b) an employer that is a charter school authorized under Title 53A, Chapter 1a, Part 5, The
Utah Charter Schools Act, and does not elect to participate in accordance with Section
53A-1a-512;

(c) an employer that is a hospital created as a special service district under Title 17D, Chapter
1, Special Service District Act, that makes an election of nonparticipation in accordance with
Subsection (5);

(d) an employer that is licensed as a nursing care facility under Title 26, Chapter 21, Health Care
Facility Licensing and Inspection Act, and created as a special service district under Title 17D,
Chapter 1, Special Service District Act, in a rural area of the state that makes an election of
nonparticipation in accordance with Subsection (5); or

(e) an employer that is a risk management association initially created by interlocal agreement
before 1986 for the purpose of implementing a self-insurance joint protection program for the
benefit of member municipalities of the association.

(3) If an employer that may be excluded under Subsection (2)(a)(i) elects at any time to provide
or participate in any type of public or private retirement, supplemental or defined contribution
plan, either directly or indirectly, except for Social Security, the employer shall be a participating
employer in this system regardless of whether the employer has applied for admission under
Subsection (4).

(4)
(a) An employer may, by resolution of its governing body, apply for admission to this system.
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(b) Upon approval of the resolution by the board, the employer is a participating employer in this
system and is subject to this title.

(5)
(a)

(i) Until June 30, 2009, a employer that is a hospital created as a special service district under
Title 17D, Chapter 1, Special Service District Act, may make an election of nonparticipation
as an employer for retirement programs under this chapter.

(ii) Until June 30, 2014, an employer that is licensed as a nursing care facility under Title 26,
Chapter 21, Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act, and created as a special
service district under Title 17D, Chapter 1, Special Service District Act, in a rural area of
the state may make an election of nonparticipation as an employer for retirement programs
under this chapter.

(iii) On or before July 1, 2010, an employer described in Subsection (2)(e) may make an
election of nonparticipation as an employer for retirement programs under this chapter.

(b) An election provided under Subsection (5)(a):
(i) is a one-time election made no later than the time specified under Subsection (5)(a);
(ii) shall be documented by a resolution adopted by the governing body of the employer;
(iii) is irrevocable; and
(iv) applies to the employer as described in Subsection (5)(a)(i), (ii), or (iii) and to all employees

of that employer.
(c) The employer making an election under Subsection (5)(a) may offer employee benefit plans

for its employees:
(i) under Title 49, Chapter 20, Public Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program Act; or
(ii) under any other program.

(6)
(a) If a participating employer purchases service credit on behalf of regular full-time employees

for service rendered prior to the participating employer's admission to this system, the service
credit shall be purchased in a nondiscriminatory manner on behalf of all current and former
regular full-time employees who were eligible for service credit at the time service was
rendered.

(b) For a purchase made under this Subsection (6), an employee is not required to:
(i) have at least four years of service credit before the purchase can be made; or
(ii) forfeit service credit or any defined contribution balance based on the employer contributions

under any other retirement system or plan based on the period of employment for which
service credit is being purchased.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session
Amended by Chapter 201, 2014 General Session
Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

49-13-203 Exclusions from membership in system.
(1) The following employees are not eligible for service credit in this system:

(a) subject to the requirements of Subsection (2), an employee whose employment status is
temporary in nature due to the nature or the type of work to be performed;

(b) except as provided under Subsection (3)(a), an employee of an institution of higher
education who participates in a retirement system with a public or private retirement system,
organization, or company designated by the State Board of Regents during any period
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in which required contributions based on compensation have been paid on behalf of the
employee by the employer;

(c) an employee serving as an exchange employee from outside the state;
(d) an executive department head of the state or a legislative director, senior executive employed

by the governor's office, a member of the State Tax Commission, a member of the Public
Service Commission, and a member of a full-time or part-time board or commission who files
a formal request for exemption;

(e) an employee of the Department of Workforce Services who is covered under another
retirement system allowed under Title 35A, Chapter 4, Employment Security Act;

(f) an employee who is employed with an employer that has elected to be excluded from
participation in this system under Subsection 49-13-202(5), effective on or after the date of
the employer's election under Subsection 49-13-202(5); or

(g) an employee who is employed with a withdrawing entity that has elected, prior to January 1,
2017, to exclude:

(i) new employees from participation in this system under Subsection 49-11-623(3)(a); or
(ii) all employees from participation in this system under Subsection 49-11-623(3)(b).

(2) If an employee whose status is temporary in nature due to the nature of type of work to be
performed:

(a) is employed for a term that exceeds six months and the employee otherwise qualifies for
service credit in this system, the participating employer shall report and certify to the office
that the employee is a regular full-time employee effective the beginning of the seventh month
of employment; or

(b) was previously terminated prior to being eligible for service credit in this system and is
reemployed within three months of termination by the same participating employer, the
participating employer shall report and certify that the member is a regular full-time employee
when the total of the periods of employment equals six months and the employee otherwise
qualifies for service credits in this system.

(3)
(a) Upon cessation of the participating employer contributions, an employee under Subsection (1)

(b) is eligible for service credit in this system.
(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsection (1)(f), any eligibility for service credit earned

by an employee under this chapter before the date of the election under Subsection
49-13-202(5) is not affected under Subsection (1)(f).

(4) Upon filing a written request for exemption with the office, the following employees shall be
exempt from coverage under this system:

(a) a full-time student or the spouse of a full-time student and individuals employed in a trainee
relationship;

(b) an elected official;
(c) an executive department head of the state, a member of the State Tax Commission, a

member of the Public Service Commission, and a member of a full-time or part-time board or
commission;

(d) an employee of the Governor's Office of Management and Budget;
(e) an employee of the Governor's Office of Economic Development;
(f) an employee of the Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice;
(g) an employee of the Governor's Office;
(h) an employee of the State Auditor's Office;
(i) an employee of the State Treasurer's Office;
(j) any other member who is permitted to make an election under Section 49-11-406;
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(k) a person appointed as a city manager or chief city administrator or another person employed
by a municipality, county, or other political subdivision, who is an at-will employee;

(l) an employee of an interlocal cooperative agency created under Title 11, Chapter 13, Interlocal
Cooperation Act, who is engaged in a specialized trade customarily provided through
membership in a labor organization that provides retirement benefits to its members; and

(m) an employee of the Utah Science Technology and Research Initiative created under Title
63M, Chapter 2, Utah Science Technology and Research Governing Authority Act.

(5)
(a) Each participating employer shall prepare a list designating those positions eligible for

exemption under Subsection (4).
(b) An employee may not be exempted unless the employee is employed in a position

designated by the participating employer.
(6)

(a) In accordance with this section, Section 49-12-203, and Section 49-22-205, a municipality,
county, or political subdivision may not exempt a total of more than 50 positions or a number
equal to 10% of the employees of the municipality, county, or political subdivision, whichever
is less.

(b) A municipality, county, or political subdivision may exempt at least one regular full-time
employee.

(7) Each participating employer shall:
(a) file employee exemptions annually with the office; and
(b) update the employee exemptions in the event of any change.

(8) The office may make rules to implement this section.

Amended by Chapter 315, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 364, 2015 General Session

49-13-204 Higher education employees' eligibility requirements -- Election between different
retirement plans -- Classification requirements -- Transfer between systems -- One-time
election window -- Rulemaking.
(1)

(a) A regular full-time employee of an institution of higher education who is eligible to participate
in either this system or in a retirement system with a public or private retirement system,
organization, or company, designated by the Board of Regents, shall, not later than January
1, 1979, elect to participate exclusively in this system or in an annuity contract allowed under
this Subsection (1)(a).

(b) The election is final, and no right exists to make any further election.
(2)

(a) Except as provided under Subsection (2)(c), a regular full-time employee hired by an
institution of higher education after January 1, 1979, may participate only in the retirement
plan which attaches to the person's employment classification.

(b) Each institution of higher education shall prepare or amend existing employment
classifications, under the direction of the Board of Regents, so that each classification is
assigned with either:

(i) this system; or
(ii) a public or private system, organization, or company designated by the Board of Regents.

(c) Notwithstanding a person's employment classification assignment under Subsection (2)(b),
a regular full-time employee who begins employment with an institution of higher education
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on or after May 11, 2010, has a one-time irrevocable election to continue participation in this
system, if the employee has service credit in this system before the date of employment.

(3) Notwithstanding an employment classification assignment change made under Subsection
(2)(b), a regular full-time employee hired by an institution of higher education after January
1, 1979, whose employment classification requires participation in this system may elect to
continue participation in this system.

(4) A regular full-time employee hired by an institution of higher education after January 1, 1979,
whose employment classification requires participation in this system shall participate in this
system.

(5)
(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, a regular full-time employee of an

institution of higher education whose employment classification assignment under Subsection
(2)(b) required participation in a retirement program other than this system shall have a one-
time irrevocable election to participate in this system.

(b) The election under Subsection (5)(a) shall be made before June 30, 2010.
(c) All forms required by the office must be completed and received by the office no later than

June 30, 2010, for the election to participate in this system to be effective.
(d) Beginning July 1, 2010, a regular full-time employee of an institution of higher education who

elects to be covered by this system under Subsection (5)(a) may begin to accrue service
credit in this system.

(6) A regular full-time employee of an institution of higher education who elects to be covered
by this system under Subsection (2)(c) or (5)(a) may purchase periods of employment while
covered under another retirement program by complying with the requirements of Section
49-11-403.

(7) The board shall make rules to implement this section.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-13-205 Conversion to system -- Time schedule -- Conversion windows.
(1) An employee governed under Section 49-13-201 shall make the election to participate in this

system within six months of July 1, 1986.
(2)

(a)
(i) An employer governed under Sections 49-13-201 and 49-13-202 shall make the election to

participate in this system within six months of July 1, 1986.
(ii) The employer shall indicate whether or not it elects to participate by enacting a resolution or

ordinance to that effect.
(iii) Prior to the enactment of the resolution or ordinance, a hearing shall be held by the

employer, at which all employees of the political subdivision shall be given an opportunity to
be heard on the question of participating in this system.

(iv) Notice of the hearing shall be mailed to all employees within 30 days of the hearing and
shall contain the time, place, and purpose of the hearing.

(b) A regular full-time employee has six months from the date the employer elects to participate
in this system in which to make the election to participate in this system and become eligible
for service credit in this system.

(3) Subsections (1) and (2) shall be used to provide a second time period of conversion to this
system beginning July 1, 1990.
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(4) Subsections (1) and (2) shall be used to provide a third time period of conversion to this system
beginning July 1, 1995.

(5) Subsection (2) shall be used to provide a fourth time period of conversion to this system
beginning July 1, 2009 for an entity created under the authority of Title 11, Chapter 13,
Interlocal Cooperation Act, and the entity's employees.

(6) Subsection (2) shall be used to provide a fifth time period of conversion to this system
beginning July 1, 2015.

(7) A member of the Contributory Retirement System who is employed by one agency and who
either transfers to or is reemployed by another agency shall be enrolled in the Noncontributory
Retirement System as of the date of employment, if the participating employer has elected to
participate in the Noncontributory Retirement System.

Amended by Chapter 176, 2015 General Session

Part 3
Contributions

49-13-301 Contributions -- Two levels.
(1) Participating employers shall pay the certified contribution rates to the office to maintain this

system on a financially and actuarially sound basis.
(2) For purposes of determining contribution rates, this system is divided into two levels according

to participating employers as follows:
(a) Level A includes the state, its independent agencies, independent entities, public

corporations, and other instrumentalities, all participating educational institutions, and all
other participating employers whose activities are associated with participating educational
institutions.

(b) Level B includes all other participating employers in this system.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-13-302 Purchase of service credit.
          Any member who works 20 or more hours per week for a participating employer participating in

this system, but does not meet other eligibility requirements for service credit, may purchase such
service credit in accordance with Section 49-11-403.

Enacted by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-13-303 Supplemental benefit established -- Defined contribution plan options --
Contribution by employer and employee -- Immediate vesting of contributions -- Plans to be
separate -- Tax-qualified status of plans.
(1)

(a) Participating employers in Level A under Section 49-13-301, which are participating
educational institutions or participating employers whose activities are associated with
participating educational institutions, shall make a nonelective contribution on behalf of
each of its regular full-time  employees who are members of this system an amount equal
to at least 1.5% of the member's compensation to a defined contribution plan qualified
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under Section 401(k) of the Internal Revenue Code which is selected by the regular full-time
employee and which is sponsored by the board, by that Level A employer, or by a group of
similar Level A employers, and which has been grandfathered under Section 1116 of the
Federal Tax Reform Act of 1986.

(b) All other Level A participating employers under Section 49-13-301 shall make a nonelective
contribution on behalf of each of its regular full-time employees who are members of this
system an amount equal to at least 1.5% of the member's compensation to the defined
contribution plan qualified under Section 401(k) of the Internal Revenue Code which is
sponsored by the board.

(c) The member or participating employer may make additional payments to either the qualified
401(k) plan which receives the 1.5% employer contribution described in this Subsection
(1), or to any other defined contribution plan qualified under Section 401(k) of the Internal
Revenue Code which is selected by the member and sponsored by the board, that Level A
employer, or a group of similar Level A employers, and which has been grandfathered under
Section 1116 of the Federal Tax Reform Act of 1986.

(2)
(a) Participating employers in Level B under Section 49-13-301 may make nonelective

contributions on behalf of each of its regular full-time employees who are members of this
system to the 401(k) defined contribution plan sponsored by the board or to a qualified plan
sponsored by the participating employer which  has been grandfathered  under Section 1116
of the Federal Tax Reform Act of 1986.

(b) The member may also make voluntary deferrals to the same 401(k) plan which the member
selected to receive the employer contribution described in Subsection (2)(a).

(3) Each qualified defined contribution 401(k) plan is separate and distinct from any other qualified
defined contribution 401(k) plan for all purposes, including purposes of fiduciary liability and
plan administration.

(4) A member may not make voluntary deferrals to any other qualified 401(k) plan sponsored by a
state or local government.

(5) The total amount contributed by the participating employer and the member under Subsection
(1) or (2) vests to the member's benefit immediately and is nonforfeitable.

(6) The board may request from any other qualified 401(k) plan under Subsection (1) or (2) any
relevant information pertaining to the maintenance of its tax qualification under the Internal
Revenue Code.

(7) The board may take any action which in its judgment is necessary to maintain the tax-qualified
status of its 401(k) defined contribution plan under federal law.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 4
Defined Benefit

49-13-401 Eligibility for an allowance -- Date of retirement -- Qualifications.
(1) A member is qualified to receive an allowance from this system when:

(a) except as provided under Subsection (3), the member ceases actual work for every
participating employer that employs the member before the member's retirement date and
provides evidence of the termination;
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(b) the member has submitted to the office a retirement application form that states the member's
proposed retirement date; and

(c) one of the following conditions is met as of the member's retirement date:
(i) the member has accrued at least four years of service credit and has attained an age of 65

years;
(ii) the member has accrued at least 10 years of service credit and has attained an age of 62

years;
(iii) the member has accrued at least 20 years of service credit and has attained an age of 60

years;
(iv) the member has accrued at least 30 years of service credit; or
(v) the member has accrued at least 25 years of service credit, in which case the member shall

be subject to the reduction under Subsection 49-13-402(2)(b).
(2)

(a) The member's retirement date:
(i) shall be the 1st or the 16th day of the month, as selected by the member;
(ii) shall be on or after the date of termination; and
(iii) may not be more than 90 days before or after the date the application is received by the

office.
(b) Except as provided under Subsection (3), a member may not be employed by a participating

employer in the system established by this chapter on the retirement date selected under
Subsection (2)(a)(i).

(3)
(a) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also an elected official

is not required to cease service as an elected official to be qualified to receive an allowance
under Subsection (1), unless the member is retiring from service as an elected official.

(b) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also a part-time appointed
board member is not required to cease service as a part-time appointed board member to be
qualified to receive an allowance under Subsection (1).

(c) A member who is employed by a participating employer, who is also an affiliated emergency
services worker as defined in Section 49-11-1202 for a different agency, is not required
to cease service as an affiliated emergency services worker to be qualified to receive an
allowance under Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-13-402 Service retirement plans -- Calculation of retirement allowance -- Social Security
limitations.
(1)

(a) Except as provided under Section 49-13-701, retirees of this system may choose from the six
retirement options described in this section.

(b) Options Two, Three, Four, Five, and Six are modifications of the Option One calculation.
(2) The Option One benefit is an allowance calculated as follows:

(a) If the retiree is at least 65 years of age or has accrued at least 30 years of service credit, the
allowance is an amount equal to 2% of the retiree's final average monthly salary multiplied by
the number of years of service credit accrued.

(b) If the retiree is less than 65 years of age, the allowance shall be reduced 3% for each year
of retirement from age 60 to age 65, plus a full actuarial reduction for each year of retirement
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prior to age 60, unless the member has 30 or more years of accrued credit, in which event no
reduction is made to the allowance.

(c)
(i) Years of service include any fractions of years of service to which the retiree may be entitled.
(ii) At the time of retirement, if a retiree's combined years of actual, not purchased, service

credit is within 1/10 of one year of the total years of service credit required for retirement,
the retiree shall be considered to have the total years of service credit required for
retirement.

(d) An Option One allowance is only payable to the member during the member's lifetime.
(3) The allowance payable under Options Two, Three, Four, Five, and Six is calculated by reducing

an Option One benefit based on actuarial computations to provide the following:
(a) Option Two is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and,

if the retiree receives less in annuity payments than the amount of the retiree's member
contributions, the remaining balance of the retiree's member contributions shall be paid in
accordance with Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(b) Option Three is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and,
upon the death of the retiree, the same reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime
of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(c) Option Four is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and
upon the death of the retiree, an amount equal to one-half of the retiree's allowance paid to
and throughout the lifetime of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(d) Option Five is a modification of Option Three so that if the lawful spouse at the time of
retirement predeceases the retiree, an allowance equivalent to the amount payable at the
time of initial retirement under Option One shall be paid to the retiree for the remainder of the
retiree's life, beginning on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(i) spouse died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the spouse's death;
or

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the spouse's death.

(e) Option Six is a modification of Option Four so that if the lawful spouse at the time of
retirement predeceases the retiree, an allowance equivalent to the amount payable at the
time of initial retirement under Option One shall be paid to the retiree for the remainder of the
retiree's life, beginning on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(i) spouse died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the spouse's death;
or

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the spouse's death.

(4)
(a)

(i) The final average salary is limited in the computation of that part of an allowance based on
service rendered prior to July 1, 1967, during a period when the retiree received employer
contributions on a portion of compensation from an educational institution toward the
payment of the premium required on a retirement annuity contract with a public or private
system, organization, or company designated by the State Board of Regents to $4,800.

(ii) This limitation is not applicable to retirees who elected to continue in the Public Employees'
Contributory Retirement System by July 1, 1967.

(b) Periods of employment which are exempt from this system as permitted under Subsection
49-13-203(1)(b) may be purchased by the member for the purpose of retirement only if all
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benefits from a public or private system, organization, or company designated by the State
Board of Regents based on this period of employment are forfeited.

(5)
(a) If a retiree under Option One dies within 90 days after the retiree's retirement date, the

retirement is canceled and the death shall be considered as that of a member before
retirement.

(b) Any payments made to the retiree shall be deducted from the amounts due to the beneficiary.
(6) If a retiree retires under either Option Five or Six and subsequently divorces, the retiree may

elect to convert the benefit to an Option One benefit at the time of divorce, if there is no court
order filed in the matter.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-13-403 Allowance payable by lump-sum payment.
(1) If a retiree's allowance, as computed under Section 49-13-402, amounts to $25 or less, the

allowance may be settled by the office by making a lump-sum payment of an amount actuarially
equivalent to the allowance.

(2) A payment made under this section constitutes a full and complete settlement of the retiree's
claim against this system.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-13-404 Lump-sum death benefit for retiree and spouse.
(1)

(a) Upon retirement, a retiree may elect to have the office deduct an actuarially determined
amount from the retiree's allowance to provide a lump-sum benefit payable to a beneficiary
upon the death of the retiree.

(b) Upon retirement, a retiree may also elect to have an actuarially determined amount deducted
from the retiree's allowance to provide a lump-sum death benefit payable to a beneficiary
upon the death of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(c) The board shall make rules for the administration of this lump-sum death benefit.
(2)

(a) For a retiree who pays for a lump-sum death benefit under this section through a reduction of
an allowance, benefits shall be paid in accordance with Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(b) If the retiree chooses Option Three, Four, Five, or Six, and a lump-sum death benefit is
payable after the death of the retiree, the allowance shall be restored to its original amount.

(3)
(a) A retiree whose retirement date is on or after July 1, 1995, may elect to cancel the lump-sum

death benefit under this section.
(b) The cancellation under this Subsection (3) is irrevocable.
(c) Upon cancellation, the allowance shall be restored to its original amount and benefits under

this section may not be paid.

Amended by Chapter 118, 2004 General Session

49-13-405 Death of married members -- Service retirement benefits to surviving spouse.
(1) As used in this section, "member's full allowance" means an Option Three allowance calculated

under Section 49-13-402 without an actuarial reduction.
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(2) Upon the request of a deceased member's surviving spouse, the deceased member is
considered to have retired under Option Three on the first day of the month following the month
in which the member died if the following requirements are met:

(a) the member has:
(i) 15 or more years of service credit;
(ii) attained age 62 with 10 or more years of service credit; or
(iii) attained age 65 with four or more years of service credit; and

(b) the member dies leaving a surviving spouse.
(3) The surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.  The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:
(a) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office

within 90 days of the member's death; or
(b) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is

received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.
(4) The allowance payable to a surviving spouse under Subsection (2) is:

(a) if the member has 25 or more years of service credit at the time of death, the surviving
spouse shall receive the member's full allowance;

(b) if the member has between 20-24 years of service credit and is not age 60 or older at the time
of death, the surviving spouse shall receive two-thirds of the member's full allowance;

(c) if the member has between 15-19 years of service credit and is not age 62 or older at the time
of death, the surviving spouse shall receive one-third of the member's full allowance; or

(d) if the member is age 60 or older with 20 or more years of service credit, age 62 or older with
10 or more years of service credit, or age 65 or older with four or more years of service credit
at the time of death, the surviving spouse shall receive an Option Three benefit with actuarial
reductions.

(5) The benefit calculation for a surviving spouse with a valid domestic relations order benefits on
file with the office before the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612 is
calculated according to the manner in which the court order specified benefits to be partitioned,
whether as a fixed amount or as a percentage of the benefit.

(6) Except for a return of member contributions, benefits payable under this section are retirement
benefits and shall be paid in addition to any other payments made under Section 49-13-501
and shall constitute a full and final settlement of the claim of the surviving spouse or any other
beneficiary filing a claim for benefits under Section 49-13-501.

(7) If the death benefits under this section are partitioned among more than one surviving spouse
due to domestic relations order benefits on file with the office before the member's death date
in accordance with Section 49-11-612, the total amount received by the surviving spouses may
not exceed the death benefits normally provided to one surviving spouse under this section.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-13-406 Exceptions for part-time elective or appointive service -- Computation of
allowance -- Justice court judges.
(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of Sections 49-11-401 and 49-13-102, and unless otherwise

provided in this section, a member's elective or appointive service rendered on a basis not
considered full-time by the office shall have a separate allowance computed on the basis of
compensation actually received by the member during the period of elective or appointive
service.

(2)
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(a) A justice court judge who has service with only one participating employer shall be considered
part-time or full-time by the office as certified by the participating employer.

(b) If a justice court judge has a combination of part-time service and full-time position service
with one participating employer, the office shall compute separate allowances on the basis
of compensation actually received by the judge during the part-time and full-time periods of
service.

(3)
(a) A justice court judge who has service with more than one participating employer shall be

considered full-time by the office for a period of service in which the judge is certified as full-
time by:

(i) a participating employer; or
(ii) the Administrative Office of the Courts beginning on or after January 1, 2009, based on

the judge's aggregate caseload of the multiple employers as determined by the judge's
caseloads of the individual courts of each employer in accordance with Subsection
78A-7-206(1)(b)(ii).

(b) If a justice court judge has full-time service under Subsection (3)(a), the office shall compute
an allowance on the basis of total compensation actually received from all participating
employers by the judge during the total period of full-time service.

(c) If a justice court judge has part-time service performed that is not within a period considered
full-time service under Subsection (3)(a), the office shall compute a separate allowance on
the basis of compensation actually received by the member during the period of part-time
service.

(4) All of the service rendered by a justice court judge in any one fiscal or calendar year may not
count for more than one year of service credit.

Amended by Chapter 241, 2015 General Session

49-13-407 Annual cost-of-living adjustment.
(1) The office shall make an annual cost-of-living adjustment to:

(a) an original allowance paid under Section 49-13-402 or 49-13-405, if the allowance has been
paid for at least one year; and

(b) an original payment made to an alternate payee under a domestic relations order, if the
payment is to be paid as a percentage of the allowance rather than a specific dollar amount.

(2)
(a) The original allowance shall be increased by the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index

up to a maximum of 4%.
(b) Annual increases in the Consumer Price Index in excess of 4% shall be accumulated and

used in subsequent adjustments when the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index is
less than 4%.

(3) The Consumer Price Index used in calculating adjustments shall be a United States Bureau of
Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(4) The cost-of-living adjustment made under this section may not decrease the allowance.

Amended by Chapter 260, 2006 General Session

49-13-408 Purchase of service credit -- Conditions -- Cost -- Nondiscrimination policy.
(1)
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(a) A member may purchase or a member and a participating employer may jointly purchase a
maximum of five years of service credit which cannot otherwise be purchased under this title.

(b) At a minimum, the years of service credit purchased shall be sufficient to allow the member to
meet the retirement eligibility requirements of this system with no actuarial reduction.

(c) The member's retirement date shall be immediately after the purchase of years of service
credit.

(d) The member shall pay at least 5% of the cost of the purchase.
(e) To qualify for a purchase of service credit under this section, the member shall:

(i) have at least five years of service credit; and
(ii) otherwise meet federal eligibility requirements.

(2) The purchase price for the years of service credit shall be calculated and paid for as provided in
Section 49-11-403.

(3) Prior to making any purchase of years of service credit under this section, a participating
employer shall adopt a purchase policy that includes nondiscriminatory participation standards
for all regular full-time employees.

(4) Only members retiring from this system may purchase service credit under this section.

Amended by Chapter 116, 2005 General Session

Part 5
Death Benefit

49-13-501 Death benefit -- Eligibility for death benefit -- Benefit calculation -- Payment of
claim.
(1) The office shall provide a death benefit for members of this system.
(2) The  board shall make rules to administer the death benefit provided by this section and may, in

accordance with federal law, establish:
(a) benefit levels;
(b) classes of members; and
(c) a living benefit option.

(3) This death benefit is payable when:
(a) the member dies prior to the member's retirement date or dies under circumstances which

Section 49-13-402 requires to be treated as the death of a member before retirement;
(b) the office receives acceptable proof of death; and
(c) benefits are not payable under Section 49-13-404.

(4) The death benefit payable to the beneficiary under this section is a lump-sum payment
consisting of:

(a) the return of any member contributions under this chapter; plus
(b) a percentage of the final average salary of the member to be determined by the board.

(5) Any amount of a living benefit option paid to the member prior to death shall be deducted from
the benefit payable to the beneficiary.

(6) The cost of the death benefit shall be paid by the participating employer as a portion of the
contribution rate established under Section 49-13-301.

(7) The portion of the death benefit provided under Subsection (4)(b), may not be paid to the
beneficiary of an inactive member unless:

(a) that member has 10 or more years of service credit prior to July 1, 1987; or
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(b) the death of the member occurs either:
(i) within a period of 120 days after the last day of work for which the person received

compensation; or
(ii) while the member is still physically or mentally incapacitated from performance of duties, if

the incapacity has been continuous since the last day of work for which compensation was
received.

(8) The death benefit provided under Subsection (4)(b) shall be paid in accordance with Sections
49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(9) The death benefit paid to the beneficiary of an inactive member, except as otherwise provided
under Subsection (7), is a lump-sum return of the member's member contributions.

(10) Payment of the death benefit by the office constitutes a full settlement of any beneficiary's
claim against the office and the office is not liable for any further or additional claims or
assessments on behalf of the member.

(11) Unless otherwise specified in a written document filed with the office, death benefits payable
to beneficiaries shall be in accordance with the order of precedence established under Title 75,
Chapter 2, Intestate Succession and Wills.

(12) A death benefit under this section may not be paid on behalf of a retiree under this system.

Amended by Chapter 316, 2013 General Session

Part 6
Reserved

Part 7
Early Retirement Incentive

49-13-701 Early retirement incentive -- Eligibility -- Calculation of benefit -- Payment of costs
-- Savings to be appropriated by Legislature -- Restrictions on reemployment.
(1) Any member of this system may retire and receive the allowance allowed under Subsection (2)

if the member meets the following requirements as of the member's retirement:
(a) the member is eligible for retirement under Section 49-13-401, or has 25 years of service

credit;
(b) the member elects to forfeit any stipend for retirement offered by the participating employer;

and
(c) the member elects to retire from this system by applying for retirement by the date established

under Subsection (3)(a) or (3)(b).
(2)

(a) A member who retires under Subsection (1) shall receive 2% of that member's final average
salary for all years of service credit.

(b) No actuarial reduction may be applied to the allowance granted under this section.
(3) In order to receive the allowance allowed by this section, a member shall submit an application

to the office as follows:
(a)
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(i) For state and school employees under Level A, the application shall be filed by May 31,
1987. The member's retirement date shall then be set by the member on the 1st or 16th day
of July, August, or September, 1987.

(ii) If a Level A member elects to retire, the executive director or participating employer may
request the member to delay the retirement date until a later date, but no later than June 30,
1988.

(iii) If the member agrees to delay the retirement date, the retirement date shall be delayed, but
service credit may not be accrued after the member's original retirement date elected by the
member, and compensation earned after the member's original retirement date may not be
used in the calculation of the final average salary for determining the retirement allowance.

(b)
(i) For political subdivision employees under Level B, the application shall be filed by

September 30, 1987.
(ii) The member's retirement date shall then be set by the member on the 1st or 16th day of

July, August, September, October, November, or December, 1987.
(4)

(a) The cost of providing the allowance under this section shall be funded in fiscal year 1987-88
by a supplemental appropriation in the 1988 General Session based on the retirement
contribution rate increase established by the consulting actuary and approved by the board.

(b) The cost of providing the allowance under this section shall be funded beginning July 1, 1988,
by means of an increase in the retirement contribution rate established by the consulting
actuary and approved by the board.

(c) The rate increase under Subsections (4)(a) and (b) shall be funded:
(i) for state employees, by an appropriation from the account established by the Division

of Finance under Subsection (4)(d), which is funded by savings derived from this early
retirement incentive and a work force reduction;

(ii) for school employees, by direct contributions from the employing unit, which may not be
funded through an increase in the retirement contribution amount established in Title 53A,
Chapter 17a, Minimum School Program Act; and

(iii) for political subdivisions under Level B, by direct contributions by the participating employer.
(d)

(i) Each year, any excess savings derived from this early retirement incentive which are
above the costs of funding the increase and the costs of paying insurance, sick leave,
compensatory leave, and vacation leave under Subsections (4)(c)(i) and (c)(ii) shall be
reported to the Legislature and shall be appropriated as provided by law.

(ii) In the case of Subsection (4)(c)(i), the Division of Finance shall establish an account into
which all savings derived from this early retirement incentive shall be deposited as the
savings are realized.

(iii) In the case of Subsection (4)(c)(ii), the State Board of Education shall certify the amount of
savings derived from this early retirement incentive.

(iv) The State Board of Education and the participating employer may not spend the savings
until appropriated by the Legislature as provided by law.

(5) A member who retires under this section is subject to Section 49-11-504 and Chapter 11, Part
12, Postretirement Reemployment Restrictions Act.

(6) The board may make rules to administer this section.
(7) The Legislative Auditor General shall perform an audit to ensure compliance with this section.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session
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Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

Chapter 14
Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act

Part 1
General Provisions

49-14-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-14-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1)
(a) "Compensation" means the total amount of payments that are includable in gross income

which are received by a public safety service employee as base income for the regularly
scheduled work period.  The participating employer shall establish the regularly scheduled
work period.  Base income shall be determined prior to the deduction of member contributions
or any amounts the public safety service employee authorizes to be deducted for salary
deferral or other benefits authorized by federal law.

(b) "Compensation" includes performance-based bonuses and cost-of-living adjustments.
(c) "Compensation" does not include:

(i) overtime;
(ii) sick pay incentives;
(iii) retirement pay incentives;
(iv) the monetary value of remuneration paid in kind, including a residence, use of equipment or

uniform, travel, or similar payments;
(v) a lump-sum payment or special payments covering accumulated leave; and
(vi) all contributions made by a participating employer under this system or under any other

employee benefit system or plan maintained by a participating employer for the benefit of a
member or participant.

(d) "Compensation" for purposes of this chapter may not exceed the amount allowed under
Internal Revenue Code Section 401(a)(17).

(2) "Dispatcher" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53-6-102.
(3) "Final average salary" means the amount calculated by averaging the highest three years of

annual compensation preceding retirement subject to Subsections (3)(a), (b), and (c).
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), the percentage increase in annual compensation in

any one of the years used may not exceed the previous year's compensation by more than
10% plus a cost-of-living adjustment equal to the decrease in the purchasing power of the
dollar during the previous year, as measured by a United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(b) In cases where the participating employer provides acceptable documentation to the office,
the limitation in Subsection (3)(a) may be exceeded if:
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(i) the public safety service employee has transferred from another agency; or
(ii) the public safety service employee has been promoted to a new position.

(c) The annual compensation used to calculate final average salary shall be based on:
(i) a calendar year for a member employed by a participating employer that is not an

educational institution; or
(ii) a contract year for a member employed by an educational institution.

(4)
(a) "Line-of-duty death" means a death resulting from:

(i) external force, violence, or disease occasioned by an act of duty as a public safety service
employee; or

(ii) strenuous activity, including a heart attack or stroke, that occurs during strenuous training or
another strenuous activity required as an act of duty as a public safety service employee.

(b) "Line-of-duty death" does not include a death that:
(i) occurs during an activity that is required as an act of duty as a public safety service

employee if the activity is not a strenuous activity, including an activity that is clerical,
administrative, or of a nonmanual nature;

(ii) occurs during the commission of a crime committed by the employee;
(iii) the employee's intoxication or use of alcohol or drugs, whether prescribed or nonprescribed,

contributes to the employee's death; or
(iv) occurs in a manner other than as described in Subsection (4)(a).

(5) "Participating employer" means an employer which meets the participation requirements of
Section 49-14-201.

(6)
(a) "Public safety service" means employment normally requiring an average of 2,080 hours of

regularly scheduled employment per year rendered by a member who is a:
(i) law enforcement officer in accordance with Section 53-13-103;
(ii) correctional officer in accordance with Section 53-13-104;
(iii) special function officer approved in accordance with Sections 49-14-201 and 53-13-105;
(iv) dispatcher who is certified in accordance with Section 53-6-303; or
(v) full-time member of the Board of Pardons and Parole created under Section 77-27-2.

(b) Except as provided under Subsections (6)(a)(iv) and (v), "public safety service" also requires
that in the course of employment the employee's life or personal safety is at risk.

(c) Except for the minimum hour requirement, Subsections (6)(a) and (b) do not apply to any
person who was eligible for service credit in this system before January 1, 1984.

(7) "Public safety service employee" means an employee of a participating employer who performs
public safety service under this chapter.

(8)
(a) "Strenuous activity" means engagement involving a difficult, stressful, or vigorous fire

suppression, rescue, hazardous material response, emergency medical service, physical law
enforcement, prison security, disaster relief, or other emergency response activity.

(b) "Strenuous activity" includes participating in a participating employer sanctioned and funded
training exercise that involves difficult, stressful, or vigorous physical activity.

(9) "System" means the Public Safety Contributory Retirement System created under this chapter.
(10) "Years of service credit" means the number of periods, each to consist of 12 full months as

determined by the board, whether consecutive or not, during which a public safety service
employee was employed by a participating employer, including time the public safety service
employee was absent in the service of the United States government on military duty.
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Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-14-103 Creation of system.
          There is created for members performing public safety service and who are employed by a

participating employer the "Public Safety Contributory Retirement System."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-14-104 Creation of trust fund.
(1) There is created the "Public Safety Contributory Retirement Trust Fund" for the purpose of

paying the benefits and the costs of administering this system.
(2) The fund shall consist of a number of individual trust accounts created as needed to receive

the money and assets transferred into them from the respective terminated systems, all money
paid into them, including interest, in accordance with this chapter, whether in the form of cash,
securities, or other assets, and of all money received from any other source.

(3) Custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-14-201 System membership -- Eligibility.
(1) Except as provided in Section 49-15-201, a public safety service employee of a participating

employer participating in this system is eligible for service credit in this system at the earliest of:
(a) July 1, 1969, if the public safety service employee was employed by the participating

employer on July 1, 1969, and the participating employer was participating in this system on
that date;

(b) the date the participating employer begins participating in this system if the public safety
service employee was employed by the participating employer on that date; or

(c) the date the public safety service employee is employed by the participating employer and is
eligible to perform public safety service, except that a public safety service employee initially
entering employment with a participating employer on or after July 1, 2011, who does not
have service credit accrued before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I system or plan administered by the
board, may not participate in this system.

(2)
(a)

(i) A participating employer that has public safety service and firefighter service employees that
require cross-training and duty shall enroll those dual purpose employees in the system in
which the greatest amount of time is actually worked.

(ii) The employees shall either be full-time public safety service or full-time firefighter service
employees of the participating employer.

(b)
(i) Prior to transferring a dual purpose employee from one system to another, the participating

employer shall receive written permission from the office.
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(ii) The office may request documentation to verify the appropriateness of the transfer.
(3) The board may combine or segregate the actuarial experience of participating employers in this

system for the purpose of setting contribution rates.
(4)

(a)
(i) Each participating employer participating in this system shall annually submit to the office a

schedule indicating the positions to be covered under this system in accordance with this
chapter.

(ii) The office may require documentation to justify the inclusion of any position under this
system.

(b) If there is a dispute between the office and a participating employer or employee over
any position to be covered, the disputed position shall be submitted to the Peace Officer
Standards and Training Council established under Section 53-6-106 for determination.

(c)
(i) The Peace Officer Standards and Training Council's authority to decide eligibility for public

safety service credit is limited to claims for coverage under this system for time periods after
July 1, 1989.

(ii) A decision of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council may not be applied to
service credit earned in another system prior to July 1, 1989.

(iii) Except as provided under Subsection (4)(c)(iv), a decision of the Peace Officer Standards
and Training Council granting a position coverage under this system may only be applied
prospectively from the date of that decision.

(iv) A decision of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council granting a position
coverage under this system may be applied retroactively only if:

(A) the participating employer covered other similarly situated positions under this system
during the time period in question; and

(B) the position otherwise meets all eligibility requirements for receiving service credit in this
system during the period for which service credit is to be granted.

(5) The Peace Officer Standards and Training Council may use a subcommittee to provide a
recommendation to the council in determining disputes between the office and a participating
employer or employee over a position to be covered under this system.

(6) The Peace Officer Standards and Training Council shall comply with Title 63G, Chapter 4,
Administrative Procedures Act, in resolving coverage disputes in this system.

(7) A public safety employee who is transferred or promoted to an administration position requiring
the performance of duties that consist primarily of management or supervision of public safety
service employees shall continue to earn public safety service credit in this system as long as
the employee remains employed in the same department.

(8) An employee of the Department of Corrections shall continue to earn public safety service
credit in this system if:

(a) the employee's position is no longer covered under this system for new employees hired on or
after July 1, 2015; and

(b) the employee:
(i) remains employed by the Department of Corrections;
(ii) meets the eligibility requirements of this system;
(iii) was hired into a position covered by this system prior to July 1, 2015; and
(iv) has not had a break in service on or after July 1, 2015.
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(9) An employee who is reassigned to the Department of Technology Services or to the
Department of Human Resource Management, and who was a member of this system, is
entitled to remain a member of this system.

(10)
(a) To determine that a position is covered under this system, the office and, if a coverage

dispute arises, the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council shall find that the position
requires the employee to:

(i) except for a dispatcher, place the employee's life or personal safety at risk; and
(ii) complete training as provided in Section 53-6-303, 53-13-103, 53-13-104, or 53-13-105.

(b) If a position satisfies the requirements of Subsection (10)(a), the office and the Peace Officer
Standards and Training Council shall consider whether or not the position requires the
employee to:

(i) perform duties that consist primarily of actively preventing or detecting crime and enforcing
criminal statutes or ordinances of this state or any of its political subdivisions;

(ii) perform duties that consist primarily of providing community protection; and
(iii) respond to situations involving threats to public safety and make emergency decisions

affecting the lives and health of others.
(11) If a subcommittee is used to recommend the determination of disputes to the Peace Officer

Standards and Training Council, the subcommittee shall comply with the requirements of
Subsection (10) in making its recommendation.

(12) A final order of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council regarding a dispute is a final
agency action for purposes of Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act.

(13) Except as provided under Subsection (14), if a participating employer's public safety service
employees are not covered by this system or under Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory
Retirement Act, as of January 1, 1998, those public safety service employees who may
otherwise qualify for membership in this system shall, at the discretion of the participating
employer, remain in their current retirement system.

(14)
(a) A public safety service employee employed by an airport police department, which elects to

cover its public safety service employees under the Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement
System under Subsection (13), may elect to remain in the public safety service employee's
current retirement system.

(b) The public safety service employee's election to remain in the current retirement system
under Subsection (14)(a):

(i) shall be made at the time the employer elects to move its public safety service employees to
a public safety retirement system;

(ii) documented by written notice to the participating employer; and
(iii) is irrevocable.

(15)
(a) Subject to Subsection (16), beginning July 1, 2015, a public safety service employee who is a

dispatcher employed by:
(i) the state shall be eligible for service credit in this system; and
(ii) a participating employer other than the state shall be eligible for service credit in this system

if the dispatcher's participating employer elects to cover its dispatchers under this system.
(b) A participating employer's election to cover its dispatchers under this system under

Subsection (15)(a)(ii) is irrevocable and shall be documented by a resolution adopted by the
governing body of the participating employer in accordance with rules made by the office.
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(c) A dispatcher's service before July 1, 2015, or before a date specified by resolution of a
participating employer under Subsection (15)(b), is not eligible for service credit in this
system.

(16) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, a person initially entering employment
with a participating employer on or after July 1, 2011, who does not have service credit accrued
before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I system or plan administered by the board, may not participate in
this system.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-14-202 Participation of employers -- Requirements -- Supplemental programs -- Full
participation in system.
(1) An employer that employs public safety service employees and is required by Section

49-12-202 or 49-13-202 to be a participating employer in the Public Employees' Contributory
Retirement System or the Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement System shall cover all
its public safety service employees under one of the following systems or plans:

(a)Chapter 12, Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Act;
(b)Chapter 13, Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement Act;
(c)Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act;
(d)Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Act; or
(e)Chapter 23, New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement Act.

(2) An employer that covers its public safety service employees under Subsection (1)(c) is a
participating employer in this system.

(3) If a participating employer under Subsection (1) covers any of its public safety service
employees under the Public Safety Contributory Retirement System or the Public Safety
Noncontributory Retirement System, that participating employer shall cover all of its public
safety service employees under one of those systems, except for a public safety service
employee initially entering employment with a participating employer on or after July 1, 2011.

(4) A participating employer may not withdraw from this system.
(5) In addition to their participation in the system, participating employers may provide or

participate in any additional public or private retirement, supplemental or defined contribution
plan, either directly or indirectly, for their employees.

(6) An employer may not elect to participate in this system after July 1, 1989.

Amended by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-14-203 Exemption of certain employees from coverage.
(1) A public safety service employee is excluded from coverage under this system if the employee:

(a) is serving:
(i) as the Commissioner of Public Safety;
(ii) as the executive director of the Department of Corrections; or
(iii) as the elected or appointed sheriff or chief of police of a public safety organization; and

(b) files a formal written request seeking the exemption.
(2) Except as provided in Subsection (3), the public safety service employee may not continue

employment with the same participating employer and receive an allowance from the office
based on public safety service at the same time.

(3)
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(a) The Commissioner of Public Safety or an elected sheriff who is eligible to retire under Section
49-14-401 may until July 1, 2010:

(i) retire from this system and receive an allowance;
(ii) continue in the elected or appointed position; and
(iii) file for the exemption under Subsection (1).

(b) A person who makes an election under Subsection (3)(a) may continue under the terms of the
election.

Amended by Chapter 298, 2012 General Session

Part 3
Contributions

49-14-301 Contributions -- Two divisions -- Election by employer to pay employee
contributions -- Accounting for and vesting of member contributions -- Deductions.
(1) Participating employers and members shall jointly pay the certified contribution rates to the

office to maintain this system on a financially and actuarially sound basis.
(2) For purposes of determining contribution rates, this system is divided into two divisions

according to Social Security coverage as follows:
(a) members of this system with on-the-job Social Security coverage are in Division A; and
(b) members of this system without on-the-job Social Security coverage are in Division B.

(3) In addition to the divisions under Subsection (2) and for the purpose of determining contribution
rates, each division under Subsection (2) is further divided as follows:

(a) members of this system with a maximum annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection
49-14-403(2)(b) are in Divisions A1 and B1; and

(b) members of this system with a maximum annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection
49-14-403(2)(a) are in Divisions A2 and B2.

(4)
(a) A participating employer may elect to pay all or part of the required member contributions, in

addition to the required participating employer contributions.
(b) Any amount contributed by a participating employer under this section shall vest to the

member's benefit as though the member had made the contribution.
(c) The required member contributions shall be reduced by the amount that is paid by the

participating employer.
(5)

(a) All member contributions are credited by the office to the account of the individual member.
(b) This amount, plus refund interest, is held in trust for the payment of benefits to the member or

the member's beneficiaries.
(c) All member contributions are vested and nonforfeitable.

(6)
(a) Each member is considered to consent to payroll deductions of member contributions.
(b) The payment of compensation less these payroll deductions is considered full payment for

services rendered by the member.
(7) Contribution rates for a participating employer may be different than for other participating

employers based on the participating employer's current funding status and actuarial
experience.
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Amended by Chapter 227, 2008 General Session

Part 4
Defined Benefit

49-14-401 Eligibility for service retirement -- Date of retirement -- Qualifications.
(1) A member is qualified to receive an allowance from this system when:

(a) except as provided under Subsection (3), the member ceases actual work for every
participating employer that employs the member before the member's retirement date and
provides evidence of the termination;

(b) the member has submitted to the office a retirement application form that states the member's
proposed retirement date; and

(c) one of the following conditions is met as of the member's retirement date:
(i) the member has accrued at least 20 years of service credit;
(ii) the member has accrued at least 10 years of service credit and has attained an age of 60

years; or
(iii) the member has accrued at least four years of service credit and has attained an age of 65

years.
(2)

(a) The member's retirement date:
(i) shall be the 1st or the 16th day of the month, as selected by the member;
(ii) shall be on or after the date of termination; and
(iii) may not be more than 90 days before or after the date the application is received by the

office.
(b) Except as provided under Subsection (3), a member may not be employed by a participating

employer in the system established by this chapter on the retirement date selected under
Subsection (2)(a)(i).

(3)
(a) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also an elected official

is not required to cease service as an elected official to be qualified to receive an allowance
under Subsection (1), unless the member is retiring from service as an elected official.

(b) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also a part-time appointed
board member is not required to cease service as a part-time appointed board member to be
qualified to receive an allowance under Subsection (1).

(c) A member who is employed by a participating employer, who is also an affiliated emergency
services worker as defined in Section 49-11-1202 for a different agency, is not required
to cease service as an affiliated emergency services worker to be qualified to receive an
allowance under Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-14-402 Calculation of retirement allowance.
(1) A retiree under this system shall receive an allowance equal to:

(a) 2.5% of final average monthly salary multiplied by the number of years of service credit,
limited to 20 years; plus
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(b) 2% of final average monthly salary, multiplied by the number of years of service credit in
excess of 20 years.

(2)
(a) Except as modified by cost-of-living adjustments and except as provided under Subsection (2)

(b), an allowance under this system may not exceed 70% of a retiree's final average monthly
salary.

(b) The allowance limitation under Subsection (2)(a) does not apply to a member who initially
retires on or after July 1, 2010.

Amended by Chapter 264, 2010 General Session

49-14-403 Annual cost-of-living adjustment -- Enhanced adjustment -- Eligibility.
(1) The office shall make an annual cost-of-living adjustment to:

(a) an original allowance paid under Section 49-14-402 and Part 5, Death Benefit, of this chapter
if the allowance has been paid for at least one year; and

(b) an original payment made to an alternate payee under a domestic relations order, if the
payment is to be paid as a percentage of the allowance rather than a specific dollar amount.

(2)
(a) Unless Subsection (2)(b) applies, the original allowance shall be increased by the annual

increase in the Consumer Price Index up to a maximum of 2.5%.
(b) If the participating employer has made an election under Subsection (5), and in lieu of the

annual increase under Subsection (2)(a), the original allowance shall be increased by the
annual increase in the Consumer Price Index up to a maximum of 4%.

(c) Annual increases in the Consumer Price Index in excess of the applicable maximum
annual increase under this Subsection (2), shall be accumulated and used in subsequent
adjustments when the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index is less than the
applicable maximum annual increase under this Subsection (2).

(3) The Consumer Price Index used in calculating adjustments shall be a United States Bureau of
Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(4) The cost-of-living adjustment made under this section may not decrease the allowance.
(5)

(a) A participating employer may make a one-time election to provide the annual cost-of-living
adjustment under Subsection (2)(b), in lieu of the annual cost-of-living adjustment under
Subsection (2)(a), for the participating employer's current and future retirees.

(b) A participating employer shall make the election under this Subsection (5) prior to December
1, 2012.

(c) The participating employer shall indicate whether or not it elects to participate in this benefit
by enacting a resolution or ordinance to that effect and making an application to the office.

(d) The effective date for the annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection (2)(b) is January
1 of the year following an election under Subsection (5)(a).

(e) Notwithstanding the election provided under this section, the state, as a participating
employer, shall provide the annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection (2)(b) to its
eligible employees and retirees effective on January 1, 2009.

(6)
(a) To be eligible for the annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection (2)(b), a retiring

employee shall earn the final 72 months of service credit prior to initial retirement:
(i) as an employee of a participating employer who:

(A) has made the election under Subsection (5)(a); or
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(B) is included under Subsection (5)(e); and
(ii) in a covered position under Title 49, Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act

or under Title 49, Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Act.
(b) The annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection (2)(b) may not be paid to a retiree who

is not eligible under this Subsection (6).
(7) An allowance adjustment made under Subsections (2)(b) and (5) may not be paid prior to the

effective date of the enhanced cost-of-living adjustment for the participating employer.
(8) The board may adopt rules for:

(a) the administration of the election provided under Subsection (5); and
(b) the effective date of the enhanced cost-of-living adjustment for participating employers.

Amended by Chapter 101, 2009 General Session
Amended by Chapter 221, 2009 General Session

Part 5
Death Benefit

49-14-501 Death of active member in Division A -- Payment of benefits.
(1) If an active member of this system enrolled in Division A under Section 49-14-301 dies, benefits

are payable as follows:
(a) If the death is classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, the surviving spouse shall

receive a lump sum equal to six months of the active member's final average salary and an
allowance equal to 30% of the deceased member's final average monthly salary.

(b) If the death is not classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, benefits are payable as
follows:

(i) If the member has accrued less than 10 years of public safety service credit, the beneficiary
shall receive the sum of $1,000 or a refund of the member's member contributions,
whichever is greater.

(ii) If the member has accrued 10 or more years of public safety service credit at the time of
death, the surviving spouse shall receive the sum of $500, plus an allowance equal to 2%
of the member's final average monthly salary for each year of service credit accrued by the
member up to a maximum of 30% of the member's final average monthly salary.

(2) Except as provided under Subsection (1)(b)(i), benefits are not payable to minor children of
members covered under Division A.

(3) If a benefit is not distributed under this section, and the member has designated a beneficiary,
the member's member contributions shall be paid to the beneficiary.

(4)
(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(i) member died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the member's
death; or

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the member's death.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session
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49-14-502 Death of active member in Division B -- Payment of benefits.
(1) If an active member of this system enrolled in Division B under Section 49-14-301 dies, benefits

are payable as follows:
(a) If the death is classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, the surviving spouse shall

receive:
(i) a lump sum equal to six months of the active member's final average salary; and
(ii) an allowance equal to 37.5% of the member's final average monthly salary.

(b) If the death is not classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, benefits are payable as
follows:

(i) If the member has accrued two or more years of public safety service credit at the time of
death, the death is considered a line-of-duty death and the surviving spouse shall receive:

(A) a lump sum of $1,500; and
(B) an allowance as provided under Subsection (1)(a)(ii).

(ii) If the member has accrued less than two years of public safety service credit at the time of
death, the surviving spouse shall receive a refund of the member's member contributions,
plus 50% of the member's most recent 12 months' compensation.

(c)
(i) If the member has accrued two or more years of public safety service credit at the time of

death, each of the member's unmarried children to age 18 or dependent unmarried children
with a mental or physical disability shall receive a monthly allowance of $50.

(ii) Payments shall be made to the surviving parent or to a duly appointed guardian, or as
otherwise provided under Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(2) If the member dies and there is no surviving spouse, any amounts that would have been the
surviving spouse's benefit shall be prorated and paid to each of the member's unmarried
children to age 18.

(3) If a benefit is not distributed under Subsection (1) or (2), and the member has designated a
beneficiary, the member's member contributions shall be paid to the beneficiary.

(4) The combined annual payments made to the beneficiaries of any member under this section
may not exceed 75% of the member's final average monthly salary.

(5)
(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:

(i) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office
within 90 days of the member's death; or

(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is
received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-14-503 Benefits payable upon death of inactive member.
(1) If an inactive member who has less than 20 years of public safety service credit dies, the

surviving spouse, or, if there is no surviving spouse, the member's minor children shall receive
a refund of the member's member contributions or $500, whichever is greater.

(2)
(a) If an inactive member with 20 or more years of public safety service credit dies, the surviving

spouse shall receive an allowance in an amount of 50% of the amount the member would
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have received had retirement occurred on the first of the month following the month in which
the death occurred.

(b) This allowance shall be based on years of service credit and final average monthly salary
under Section 49-14-402, reduced actuarially from age 50 to the age of the member at the
time of death if the member is under age 50 at the time of death.

(3)
(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:

(i) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office
within 90 days of the member's death; or

(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is
received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-14-504 Benefits payable upon death of retired member -- Enhanced benefit election --
Rulemaking.
(1) If a retiree who retired under either Division A or Division B dies, the retiree's surviving spouse

shall receive an allowance equal to 65% of the allowance that was being paid to the retiree at
the time of death.

(2)
(a) Notwithstanding the amount of the allowance under Subsection (1), at the time of retirement,

a retiree may elect to increase the surviving spousal death benefit to 75% of an allowance
computed in accordance with Section 49-14-402.

(b) If an election is made under Subsection (2)(a), the member's allowance shall be reduced to
an amount payable monthly for life to reflect the actuarial equivalent necessary to pay for the
increased surviving spousal death benefit above 65%.

(3)
(a) For a retiree whose retirement date is before July 1, 2009, the office shall provide an optional

surviving spousal death benefit to bring the total surviving spousal death benefit up to 75% of
an allowance computed in accordance with Section 49-14-402.

(b) A retiree may elect to purchase the optional surviving spousal death benefit until July 1, 2010.
(c) If an election is made under Subsection (3)(b), the retiree's allowance shall be reduced to an

amount payable monthly for life to reflect the actuarial equivalent necessary to pay for the
increased surviving spousal death benefit above 65%.

(d) The board shall make rules to administer the death benefit under this Subsection (3).
(4) If the retiree retired solely under Division B and dies leaving unmarried children under the age

of 18 or dependent unmarried children with a mental or physical disability, the children shall
qualify for a benefit as prescribed for children under Subsection 49-14-502(1)(c).

(5)
(a) A beneficiary who qualifies for a monthly benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(i) member or participant died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the
date of death of the member or participant; or

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the date of death of the member or participant.
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Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-14-505 Benefits for surviving spouse under Division A or Division B.
          The surviving spouse, if eligible, shall receive a benefit computed under either Division A

or Division B, whichever provides the larger benefit, but may not receive a benefit under both
divisions if it would result in a duplicate benefit.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-14-506 Benefits payable upon death of active or inactive member without spouse or
minor children.

          If an active or inactive member dies and at the time of death the member does not have a
surviving spouse or minor children, the benefit payable to a designated beneficiary is a refund of
the member's member contributions or $500, whichever is larger.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-14-507 Surviving spouse includes certain former spouses -- Benefit calculation for
former spouse.
(1) The benefit calculation for a surviving spouse with a valid domestic relations order benefits on

file with the office before the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612 is
calculated according to the manner in which the court order specified benefits to be partitioned,
whether as a fixed amount or as a percentage of the benefit.

(2) If the death benefits under this section are partitioned among more than one surviving spouse
due to domestic relations order benefits on file with the office before the member's death date
in accordance with Section 49-11-612, the total amount received by the surviving spouses may
not exceed the death benefits normally provided to one surviving spouse under this section.

Enacted by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

Part 6
Disability

49-14-601 Long-term disability coverage.
          Each participating employer shall cover its public safety employees under Title 49, Chapter 21,

Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Act, or a substantially similar long-term disability program.

Enacted by Chapter 240, 2003 General Session

Chapter 15
Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Act

Part 1
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General Provisions

49-15-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Act."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-15-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1)
(a) "Compensation" means the total amount of payments that are includable in gross income

received by a public safety service employee as base income for the regularly scheduled
work period.  The participating employer shall establish the regularly scheduled work period.
Base income shall be determined prior to the deduction of any amounts the public safety
service employee authorizes to be deducted for salary deferral or other benefits authorized by
federal law.

(b) "Compensation" includes performance-based bonuses and cost-of-living adjustments.
(c) "Compensation" does not include:

(i) overtime;
(ii) sick pay incentives;
(iii) retirement pay incentives;
(iv) the monetary value of remuneration paid in kind, as in a residence, use of equipment or

uniform, travel, or similar payments;
(v) a lump-sum payment or special payment covering accumulated leave; and
(vi) all contributions made by a participating employer under this system or under any other

employee benefit system or plan maintained by a participating employer for the benefit of a
member or participant.

(d) "Compensation" for purposes of this chapter may not exceed the amount allowed under
Internal Revenue Code Section 401(a)(17).

(2) "Dispatcher" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53-6-102.
(3) "Final average salary" means the amount calculated by averaging the highest three years of

annual compensation preceding retirement subject to Subsections (3)(a), (b), and (c).
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), the percentage increase in annual compensation in

any one of the years used may not exceed the previous year's compensation by more than
10% plus a cost-of-living adjustment equal to the decrease in the purchasing power of the
dollar during the previous year, as measured by a United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(b) In cases where the participating employer provides acceptable documentation to the office,
the limitation in Subsection (3)(a) may be exceeded if:

(i) the public safety service employee has transferred from another agency; or
(ii) the public safety service employee has been promoted to a new position.

(c) The annual compensation used to calculate final average salary shall be based on:
(i) a calendar year for a member employed by a participating employer that is not an

educational institution; or
(ii) a contract year for a member employed by an educational institution.

(4)
(a) "Line-of-duty death" means a death resulting from:
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(i) external force, violence, or disease occasioned by an act of duty as a public safety service
employee; or

(ii) strenuous activity, including a heart attack or stroke, that occurs during strenuous training or
another strenuous activity required as an act of duty as a public safety service employee.

(b) "Line-of-duty death" does not include a death that:
(i) occurs during an activity that is required as an act of duty as a public safety service

employee if the activity is not a strenuous activity, including an activity that is clerical,
administrative, or of a nonmanual nature;

(ii) occurs during the commission of a crime committed by the employee;
(iii) the employee's intoxication or use of alcohol or drugs, whether prescribed or nonprescribed,

contributes to the employee's death; or
(iv) occurs in a manner other than as described in Subsection (4)(a).

(5) "Participating employer" means an employer which meets the participation requirements of
Section 49-15-201.

(6)
(a) "Public safety service" means employment normally requiring an average of 2,080 hours of

regularly scheduled employment per year rendered by a member who is a:
(i) law enforcement officer in accordance with Section 53-13-103;
(ii) correctional officer in accordance with Section 53-13-104;
(iii) special function officer approved in accordance with Sections 49-15-201 and 53-13-105;
(iv) dispatcher who is certified in accordance with Section 53-6-303; or
(v) full-time member of the Board of Pardons and Parole created under Section 77-27-2.

(b) Except as provided under Subsections (6)(a)(iv) and (v), "public safety service" also requires
that in the course of employment the employee's life or personal safety is at risk.

(7) "Public safety service employee" means an employee of a participating employer who performs
public safety service under this chapter.

(8)
(a) "Strenuous activity" means engagement involving a difficult, stressful, or vigorous fire

suppression, rescue, hazardous material response, emergency medical service, physical law
enforcement, prison security, disaster relief, or other emergency response activity.

(b) "Strenuous activity" includes participating in a participating employer sanctioned and funded
training exercise that involves difficult, stressful, or vigorous physical activity.

(9) "System" means the Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement System created under this
chapter.

(10) "Years of service credit" means the number of periods, each to consist of 12 full months as
determined by the board, whether consecutive or not, during which a public safety service
employee was employed by a participating employer, including time the public safety service
employee was absent in the service of the United States government on military duty.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-15-103 Creation of system.
          There is created for members performing public safety service and who are employed by a

participating employer the "Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement System."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-15-104 Creation of trust fund.



Utah Code

Page 103

(1) There is created the "Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Trust Fund" for the purpose of
paying the benefits and the costs of administering this system.

(2) The fund shall consist of a number of individual trust accounts created as needed to receive
the money and assets transferred into them from the respective terminated systems, all money
paid into them, including interest, in accordance with this chapter, whether in the form of cash,
securities, or other assets, and of all money received from any other source.

(3) Custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-15-201 System membership -- Eligibility.
(1)

(a) A public safety service employee employed by the state after July 1, 1989, but before July 1,
2011, is eligible for service credit in this system.

(b) A public safety service employee employed by the state prior to July 1, 1989, may either elect
to receive service credit in this system or continue to receive service credit under the system
established under Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act, by following the
procedures established by the board under this chapter.

(2)
(a) Public safety service employees of a participating employer other than the state that elected

on or before July 1, 1989, to remain in the Public Safety Contributory Retirement System shall
be eligible only for service credit in that system.

(b)
(i) A participating employer other than the state that elected on or before July 1, 1989, to

participate in this system shall, have allowed, prior to July 1, 1989, a public safety service
employee to elect to participate in either this system or the Public Safety Contributory
Retirement System.

(ii) Except as expressly allowed by this title, the election of the public safety service employee is
final and may not be changed.

(c) A public safety service employee hired by a participating employer other than the state after
July 1, 1989, but before July 1, 2011, shall become a member in this system.

(d) A public safety service employee of a participating employer other than the state who began
participation in this system after July 1, 1989, but before July 1, 2011, is only eligible for
service credit in this system.

(e) A person initially entering employment with a participating employer on or after July 1, 2011,
who does not have service credit accrued before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I system or plan
administered by the board, may not participate in this system.

(3)
(a)

(i) A participating employer that has public safety service and firefighter service employees that
require cross-training and duty shall enroll those dual purpose employees in the system in
which the greatest amount of time is actually worked.
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(ii) The employees shall either be full-time public safety service or full-time firefighter service
employees of the participating employer.

(b)
(i) Prior to transferring a dual purpose employee from one system to another, the participating

employer shall receive written permission from the office.
(ii) The office may request documentation to verify the appropriateness of the transfer.

(4) The board may combine or segregate the actuarial experience of participating employers in this
system for the purpose of setting contribution rates.

(5)
(a)

(i) Each participating employer participating in this system shall annually submit to the office a
schedule indicating the positions to be covered under this system in accordance with this
chapter.

(ii) The office may require documentation to justify the inclusion of any position under this
system.

(b) If there is a dispute between the office and a participating employer or employee over
any position to be covered, the disputed position shall be submitted to the Peace Officer
Standards and Training Council established under Section 53-6-106 for determination.

(c)
(i) The Peace Officer Standards and Training Council's authority to decide eligibility for public

safety service credit is limited to claims for coverage under this system for time periods after
July 1, 1989.

(ii) A decision of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council may not be applied to
service credit earned in another system prior to July 1, 1989.

(iii) Except as provided under Subsection (5)(c)(iv), a decision of the Peace Officer Standards
and Training Council granting a position coverage under this system may only be applied
prospectively from the date of that decision.

(iv) A decision of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council granting a position
coverage under this system may be applied retroactively only if:

(A) the participating employer covered other similarly situated positions under this system
during the time period in question; and

(B) the position otherwise meets all eligibility requirements for receiving service credit in this
system during the period for which service credit is to be granted.

(6) The Peace Officer Standards and Training Council may use a subcommittee to provide a
recommendation to the council in determining disputes between the office and a participating
employer or employee over a position to be covered under this system.

(7) The Peace Officer Standards and Training Council shall comply with Title 63G, Chapter 4,
Administrative Procedures Act, in resolving coverage disputes in this system.

(8) A public safety service employee who is transferred or promoted to an administration position
requiring the performance of duties that consist primarily of management or supervision of
public safety service employees shall continue to earn public safety service credit in this system
as long as the employee remains employed in the same department.

(9) An employee of the Department of Corrections shall continue to earn public safety service
credit in this system if:

(a) the employee's position is no longer covered under this system for new employees hired on or
after July 1, 2015; and

(b) the employee:
(i) remains employed by the Department of Corrections;
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(ii) meets the eligibility requirements of this system;
(iii) was hired into a position covered by this system prior to July 1, 2015; and
(iv) has not had a break in service on or after July 1, 2015.

(10) Any employee who is reassigned to the Department of Technology Services or to the
Department of Human Resource Management, and who was a member in this system, shall be
entitled to remain a member in this system.

(11)
(a) To determine that a position is covered under this system, the office and, if a coverage

dispute arises, the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council shall find that the position
requires the employee to:

(i) except for a dispatcher, place the employee's life or personal safety at risk; and
(ii) complete training as provided in Section 53-6-303, 53-13-103, 53-13-104, or 53-13-105.

(b) If a position satisfies the requirements of Subsection (11)(a), the office and Peace Officer
Standards and Training Council shall consider whether the position requires the employee to:

(i) perform duties that consist primarily of actively preventing or detecting crime and enforcing
criminal statutes or ordinances of this state or any of its political subdivisions;

(ii) perform duties that consist primarily of providing community protection; and
(iii) respond to situations involving threats to public safety and make emergency decisions

affecting the lives and health of others.
(12) If a subcommittee is used to recommend the determination of disputes to the Peace Officer

Standards and Training Council, the subcommittee shall comply with the requirements of
Subsection (11) in making its recommendation.

(13) A final order of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council regarding a dispute is a final
agency action for purposes of Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act.

(14) Except as provided under Subsection (15), if a participating employer's public safety service
employees are not covered by this system or under Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory
Retirement Act, as of January 1, 1998, those public safety service employees who may
otherwise qualify for membership in this system shall, at the discretion of the participating
employer, remain in their current retirement system.

(15)
(a) A public safety service employee employed by an airport police department, which elects to

cover its public safety service employees under the Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement
System under Subsection (14), may elect to remain in the public safety service employee's
current retirement system.

(b) The public safety service employee's election to remain in the current retirement system
under Subsection (15)(a):

(i) shall be made at the time the employer elects to move its public safety service employees to
a public safety retirement system;

(ii) shall be documented by written notice to the participating employer; and
(iii) is irrevocable.

(16)
(a) Subject to Subsection (17), beginning July 1, 2015, a public safety service employee who is a

dispatcher employed by:
(i) the state shall be eligible for service credit in this system; and
(ii) a participating employer other than the state shall be eligible for service credit in this system

if the dispatcher's participating employer elects to cover its dispatchers under this system.
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(b) A participating employer's election to cover its dispatchers under this system under
Subsection (16)(a)(ii) is irrevocable and shall be documented by a resolution adopted by the
governing body of the participating employer in accordance with rules made by the office.

(c) A dispatcher's service before July 1, 2015, or before a date specified by resolution of a
participating employer under Subsection (16)(b), is not eligible for service credit in this
system.

(17) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, a person initially entering employment
with a participating employer on or after July 1, 2011, who does not have service credit accrued
before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I system or plan administered by the board, may not participate in
this system.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-15-202 Participation of employers -- Requirements -- Admission -- Full participation in
system -- Supplemental programs authorized.
(1) An employer that employs public safety service employees and is required by Section

49-12-202 or 49-13-202 to be a participating employer in the Public Employees' Contributory
Retirement System or the Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement System shall cover all
its public safety service employees under one of the following systems or plans:

(a)Chapter 12, Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Act;
(b)Chapter 13, Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement Act;
(c)Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act;
(d)Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Act; or
(e)Chapter 23, New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement Act.

(2) An employer that covers its public safety employees under Subsection (1)(d) is a participating
employer in this system.

(3) If a participating employer under Subsection (1) covers any of its public safety service
employees under the Public Safety Contributory Retirement System or the Public Safety
Noncontributory Retirement System, that participating employer shall cover all of its public
safety service employees under one of those systems, except for a public safety service
employee initially entering employment with a participating employer beginning on or after July
1, 2011.

(4)
(a) Until June 30, 2011, an employer that is not participating in this system may by resolution of

its governing body apply for coverage of its public safety service employees by this system.
(b) Upon approval of the board, the employer shall become a participating employer in this

system subject to this title.
(5)

(a) If a participating employer purchases service credit on behalf of employees for service
rendered prior to the participating employer's admission to this system, the service credit must
be purchased in a nondiscriminatory manner on behalf of all current and former employees
who were eligible for service credit at the time service was rendered.

(b) For a purchase made under this Subsection (5), an employee is not required to:
(i) have at least four years of service credit before the purchase can be made; or
(ii) forfeit service credit or any defined contribution balance based on the employer contributions

under any other retirement system or plan based on the period of employment for which
service credit is being purchased.

(6) A participating employer may not withdraw from this system.
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(7) In addition to their participation in the system, participating employers may provide or
participate in any additional public or private retirement, supplemental or defined contribution
plan, either directly or indirectly, for their employees.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-15-203 Exemption of certain employees from coverage.
(1) A public safety service employee is excluded from coverage under this system if the employee:

(a) is serving:
(i) as the Commissioner of Public Safety;
(ii) as the executive director of the Department of Corrections; or
(iii) as the elected or appointed sheriff or chief of police of a public safety organization; and

(b) files a formal written request seeking the exemption.
(2) Except as provided in Subsection (3), the public safety service employee may not continue

employment with the same participating employer and receive an allowance from the office
based on public safety service at the same time.

(3)
(a) The Commissioner of Public Safety, an elected sheriff, or an appointed chief of police who is

eligible to retire under Section 49-15-401 may until July 1, 2010:
(i) retire from this system and receive an allowance;
(ii) continue in the elected or appointed position; and
(iii) file for the exemption under Subsection (1).

(b) A person who makes an election under Subsection (3)(a) may continue under the terms of the
election.

Amended by Chapter 298, 2012 General Session

49-15-204 Conversion to system -- Time schedule.
          The following laws govern conversion to the Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement System:

(1) For an employee governed by Subsection 49-15-201(1)(a), the election to participate in this
system shall be made within six months of July 1, 1989.

(2)
(a)

(i) For an employer governed by Subsection 49-15-201(2)(a), the election to participate in this
system shall be made within six months of July 1, 1989.

(ii) The employer shall indicate whether or not it elects to participate by enacting a resolution or
ordinance to that effect.

(iii) Prior to the enactment of the resolution or ordinance, a hearing shall be held by the
employer, at which all public safety service employees of the employer shall be given an
opportunity to be heard on the question of participating in this system.

(iv) Notice of the hearing shall be mailed to all public safety service employees within 30 days
of the hearing and shall contain the time, place, and purpose of the hearing.

(b) A public safety service employee of an employer, prior to its election to participate, has six
months from the date the employer elects to participate in which to elect to become eligible
for service credit in this system.

(3)
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(a) Subsections (1) and (2) shall be used to provide a time period of conversion to the Public
Safety Noncontributory Retirement System beginning July 1, 1998, and ending December 31,
1998.

(b) A person converting to the system during this time period is subject to all the rights,
limitations, terms, and conditions of Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement
Act.

(4) Subsections (1) and (2) shall be used to provide a time period for an appointed chief of police
to convert to the Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement System beginning July 1, 2002, and
ending December 31, 2002.  A chief of police converting to the system during this time period
shall be subject to all the rights, limitations, terms, and conditions of Chapter 15, Public Safety
Noncontributory Retirement Act, including an employer's election under Subsection (2).

(5)
(a) Subsections (1) and (2) shall be used to provide a time period of conversion to the Public

Safety Noncontributory Retirement System beginning July 1, 2007, and ending December 31,
2007.

(b) A person converting to the system during this time period is subject to all the rights,
limitations, terms, and conditions of Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement
Act.

(6)
(a) Subsections (1) and (2) shall be used to provide a time period of conversion to the Public

Safety Noncontributory Retirement System beginning July 1, 2014, and ending December 31,
2014.

(b) A person converting to the system during this time period is subject to all the rights,
limitations, terms, and conditions of Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement
Act.

Amended by Chapter 133, 2014 General Session

Part 3
Contributions

49-15-301 Contributions -- Two divisions -- Subdivisions.
(1) Participating employers shall pay the certified contribution rates to the office to maintain this

system on a financially and actuarially sound basis.
(2) For purposes of determining contribution rates, this system is divided into two divisions

according to Social Security coverage:
(a) members of this system with on-the-job Social Security coverage are Division A; and
(b) members of this system without on-the-job Social Security coverage are in Division B.

(3) In addition to the divisions under Subsection (2) and for the purposes of determining
contribution rates, each division under Subsection (2) is further divided as follows:

(a) members of this system with an annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection
49-15-403(2)(b) are in Divisions A1 and B1; and

(b) members of this system with an annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection
49-15-403(2)(a) are in Divisions A2 and B2.
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(4) Contribution rates for a participating employer may be different than for other participating
employers based on the participating employer's current funding status and actuarial
experience.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2008 General Session

Part 4
Defined Benefit

49-15-401 Eligibility for service retirement -- Date of retirement -- Qualifications.
(1) A member is qualified to receive an allowance from this system when:

(a) except as provided under Subsection (3), the member ceases actual work for every
participating employer that employs the member before the member's retirement date and
provides evidence of the termination;

(b) the member has submitted to the office a retirement application form that states the member's
proposed retirement date; and

(c) one of the following conditions is met as of the member's retirement date:
(i) the member has accrued at least 20 years of service credit;
(ii) the member has accrued at least 10 years of service credit and has attained an age of 60

years; or
(iii) the member has accrued at least four years of service and has attained an age of 65 years.

(2)
(a) The member's retirement date:

(i) shall be the 1st or the 16th day of the month, as selected by the member;
(ii) shall be on or after the date of termination; and
(iii) may not be more than 90 days before or after the date the application is received by the

office.
(b) Except as provided under Subsection (3), a member may not be employed by a participating

employer in the system established by this chapter on the retirement date selected under
Subsection (2)(a)(i).

(3)
(a) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also an elected official

is not required to cease service as an elected official to be qualified to receive an allowance
under Subsection (1), unless the member is retiring from service as an elected official.

(b) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also a part-time appointed
board member is not required to cease service as a part-time appointed board member to be
qualified to receive an allowance under Subsection (1).

(c) A member who is employed by a participating employer, who is also an affiliated emergency
services worker as defined in Section 49-11-1202 for a different agency, is not required
to cease service as an affiliated emergency services worker to be qualified to receive an
allowance under Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-15-402 Calculation of retirement benefit.
(1) A retiree under this system shall receive an allowance equal to:
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(a) 2.5% of final average monthly salary multiplied by the number of years of service credit,
limited to 20 years; plus

(b) 2% of final average monthly salary, multiplied by the number of years of service credit in
excess of 20 years.

(2)
(a) Except as modified by cost-of-living adjustments and except as provided under Subsection (2)

(b), an allowance under this system may not exceed 70% of a retiree's final average monthly
salary.

(b) The allowance limitation under Subsection (2)(a) does not apply to a member who initially
retires on or after July 1, 2010.

Amended by Chapter 264, 2010 General Session

49-15-403 Annual cost-of-living adjustment.
(1) The office shall make an annual cost-of-living adjustment to:

(a) an original allowance paid under Section 49-15-402 and Part 5, Death Benefit, of this chapter
if the allowance has been paid for at least one year; and

(b) an original payment made to an alternate payee under a domestic relations order if the
payment is to be paid as a percentage of the allowance rather than a specific dollar amount.

(2)
(a) Unless Subsection (2)(b) applies, the original allowance shall be increased by the annual

increase in the Consumer Price Index up to a maximum of 2.5%.
(b) If the participating employer has made an election under Subsection (5), and in lieu of the

annual increase under Subsection (2)(a), the original allowance shall be increased by the
annual increase in the Consumer Price Index up to a maximum of 4%.

(c) Annual increases in the Consumer Price Index in excess of the applicable maximum
annual increase under this Subsection (2), shall be accumulated and used in subsequent
adjustments when the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index is less than the
applicable maximum annual increase under this Subsection (2).

(3) The Consumer Price Index used in calculating adjustments shall be a United States Bureau of
Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(4) The cost-of-living adjustment made under this section may not decrease the allowance.
(5)

(a) A participating employer may make a one-time election to provide the annual cost-of-living
adjustment under Subsection (2)(b), in lieu of the annual cost-of-living adjustment under
Subsection (2)(a), for the participating employer's current and future retirees.

(b) A participating employer shall make the election under this Subsection (5) prior to December
1, 2012.

(c) The participating employer shall indicate whether or not it elects to participate in this benefit
by enacting a resolution or ordinance to that effect and making an application to the office.

(d) The effective date for the annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection (2)(b) is January
1 of the year following an election under Subsection (5)(a).

(e) Notwithstanding the election provided under this section, the state, as a participating
employer, shall provide the annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection (2)(b) to its
eligible employees and retirees effective on January 1, 2009.

(6)
(a) To be eligible for the annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection (2)(b), a retiring

employee shall earn the final 72 months of service credit prior to initial retirement:
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(i) as an employee of a participating employer who:
(A) has made the election under Subsection (5)(a); or
(B) is included under Subsection (5)(e); and

(ii) in a covered position under Title 49, Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory Retirement Act
or under Title 49, Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Act.

(b) The annual cost-of-living adjustment under Subsection (2)(b) may not be paid to a retiree who
is not eligible under this Subsection (6).

(7) An allowance adjustment made under Subsections (2)(b) and (5) may not be paid prior to the
effective date of the enhanced cost-of-living adjustment for the participating employer.

(8) The board may adopt rules for:
(a) the administration of the election provided under Subsection (5); and
(b) the effective date of the enhanced cost-of-living adjustment for participating employers.

Amended by Chapter 101, 2009 General Session
Amended by Chapter 221, 2009 General Session

Part 5
Death Benefit

49-15-501 Death of active member in Division A -- Payment of benefits.
(1) If an active member of this system enrolled in Division A under Section 49-15-301 dies, benefits

are payable as follows:
(a) If the death is classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, benefits are payable as follows:

(i) If the member has accrued less than 20 years of public safety service credit, the surviving
spouse shall receive a lump sum equal to six months of the active member's final average
salary and an allowance equal to 30% of the member's final average monthly salary.

(ii) If the member has accrued 20 or more years of public safety service credit, the member
shall be considered to have retired with an allowance calculated under Section 49-15-402
and the surviving spouse shall receive the death benefit payable to a surviving spouse
under Section 49-15-504.

(b) If the death is not classified as a line-of-duty death by the office, benefits are payable as
follows:

(i) If the member has accrued less than 10 years of public safety service credit, the beneficiary
shall receive the sum of $1,000 or a refund of the member's member contributions,
whichever is greater.

(ii) If the member has accrued 10 or more years, but less than 20 years of public safety service
credit at the time of death, the surviving spouse shall receive the sum of $500, plus an
allowance equal to 2% of the member's final average monthly salary for each year of
service credit accrued by the member up to a maximum of 30% of the member's final
average monthly salary.

(iii) If the member has accrued 20 or more years of public safety service credit, the benefit shall
be calculated as provided in Subsection (1)(a)(ii).

(2) Except as provided under Subsection (1)(b)(i), benefits are not payable to minor children under
Division A.

(3) If a benefit is not distributed under this section, and the member has designated a beneficiary,
the member's member contribution shall be paid to the beneficiary.
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(4)
(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(i) member died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the member's
death; or

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the member's death.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-15-502 Death of active member in Division B -- Payment of benefits.
(1) If an active member of this system enrolled in Division B under Section 49-15-301 dies, benefits

are payable as follows:
(a) If the death is classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, the surviving spouse shall

receive:
(i) a lump sum equal to six months of the active member's final average salary; and
(ii) an allowance equal to 37.5% of the member's final average monthly salary.

(b) If the death is not classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, and the member has accrued
two or more years of public safety service credit at the time of death, the death is considered
line-of-duty and the surviving spouse shall receive:

(i) a lump sum of $1,500; and
(ii) an allowance as provided under Subsection (1)(a)(ii).

(c) If the death is not classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, and the member has accrued
less than two years of public safety service credit at the time of death, the surviving spouse
shall receive a refund of the member's member contributions, plus 50% of the member's most
recent 12 months' compensation.

(d)
(i) If the member has accrued two or more years of public safety service credit at the time of

death, each of the member's unmarried children to age 18 or dependent unmarried children
with a mental or physical disability shall receive an allowance of $50.

(ii) Payments shall be made to the surviving parent or to a duly appointed guardian, or as
otherwise provided under Section 49-11-609 or 49-11-610.

(2) If the member dies and there is no surviving spouse, any amounts that would have been the
surviving spouse's benefit shall be prorated and paid to each of the member's unmarried
children to age 18.

(3) If a benefit is not distributed under Subsection (1) or (2), and the member has designated a
beneficiary, the member's member contributions shall be paid to the beneficiary.

(4) The combined payments to beneficiaries of any member under this section may not exceed
75% of the member's final average monthly salary.

(5)
(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:

(i) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office
within 90 days of the member's death; or

(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is
received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.
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Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-15-503 Benefits payable upon death of inactive member.
(1) If an inactive member who has less than 20 years of public safety service credit dies, the

surviving spouse, or, if there is no surviving spouse, the member's minor children shall receive
a refund of the member's member contributions or $500, whichever is greater.

(2)
(a) If an inactive member with 20 or more years of public safety service credit dies, the surviving

spouse shall receive an allowance in an amount of 50% of the amount the member would
have received had retirement occurred on the first of the month following the month in which
the death occurred.

(b) This allowance shall be based on years of service credit and final average monthly salary
under Section 49-15-402, reduced actuarially from age 50 to the age of the member at the
time of death if the member is under 50 years of age at the time of death.

(3)
(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:

(i) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office
within 90 days of the member's death; or

(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is
received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-15-504 Benefits payable upon death of retired member -- Enhanced benefit election --
Rulemaking.
(1) If a retiree who retired under either Division A or Division B dies, the retiree's surviving spouse

shall receive an allowance equal to 65% of the allowance that was being paid to the retiree at
the time of death.

(2)
(a) Notwithstanding the amount of the allowance under Subsection (1), at the time of retirement,

a retiree may elect to increase the spousal death benefit to 75% of an allowance computed in
accordance with Section 49-15-402.

(b) If an election is made under Subsection (2)(a), the member's allowance shall be reduced to
an amount payable monthly for life to reflect the actuarial equivalent necessary to pay for the
increased spousal death benefit above 65%.

(3)
(a) For a retiree whose retirement date is before July 1, 2009, the office shall provide an optional

spousal death benefit to bring the total spousal death benefit up to 75% of an allowance
computed in accordance with Section 49-15-402.

(b) A retiree may elect to purchase the optional spousal death benefit until July 1, 2010.
(c) If an election is made under Subsection (3)(b), the retiree's allowance shall be reduced to an

amount payable monthly for life to reflect the actuarial equivalent necessary to pay for the
increased spousal death benefit above 65%.

(d) The board shall make rules to administer the death benefit under this Subsection (3).
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(4) If the retiree retired solely under Division B and dies leaving unmarried children under the age
of 18 or dependent unmarried children with a mental or physical disability, the children shall
qualify for a benefit as prescribed under Subsection 49-15-502(1)(d).

(5)
(a) A beneficiary who qualifies for a monthly benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(i) member or participant died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the
date of death of the member or participant; or

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the date of death of the member or participant.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-15-505 Benefits for surviving spouse under Division A or Division B.
          The surviving spouse, if eligible, shall receive a benefit computed under either Division A

or Division B, whichever provides the larger benefit, but may not receive a benefit under both
divisions if it would result in a duplicate benefit.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-15-506 Benefits payable upon death of active or inactive member without spouse or
minor children.

          If an active or inactive member dies and at the time of death the member does not have a
surviving spouse or minor children, the benefit payable to a designated beneficiary is a refund of
the member's member contributions or $500, whichever is larger.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-15-507 Surviving spouse includes certain former spouses -- Benefit calculation for
former spouse.
(1) The benefit calculation for a surviving spouse with a valid domestic relations order benefits on

file with the office before the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612 is
calculated according to the manner in which the court order specified benefits to be partitioned,
whether as a fixed amount or as a percentage of the benefit.

(2) If the death benefits under this section are partitioned among more than one surviving spouse
due to domestic relations order benefits on file with the office before the member's death date
in accordance with Section 49-11-612, the total amount received by the surviving spouses may
not exceed the death benefits normally provided to one surviving spouse under this section.

Enacted by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

Part 6
Disability

49-15-601 Long-term disability coverage.
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          Each participating employer shall cover its public safety employees under Title 49, Chapter 21,
Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Act, or a substantially similar long-term disability program.

Enacted by Chapter 240, 2003 General Session

Chapter 16
Firefighters' Retirement Act

Part 1
General Provisions

49-16-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Firefighters' Retirement Act."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-16-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1)
(a) "Compensation" means the total amount of payments that are includable as gross income

which are received by a firefighter service employee as base income for the regularly
scheduled work period.  The participating employer shall establish the regularly scheduled
work period.  Base income shall be determined prior to the deduction of member contributions
or any amounts the firefighter service employee authorizes to be deducted for salary deferral
or other benefits authorized by federal law.

(b) "Compensation" includes performance-based bonuses and cost-of-living adjustments.
(c) "Compensation" does not include:

(i) overtime;
(ii) sick pay incentives;
(iii) retirement pay incentives;
(iv) remuneration paid in kind such as a residence, use of equipment, uniforms, travel, or similar

payments;
(v) a lump-sum payment or special payments covering accumulated leave; and
(vi) all contributions made by a participating employer under this system or under any other

employee benefit system or plan maintained by a participating employer for the benefit of a
member or participant.

(d) "Compensation" for purposes of this chapter may not exceed the amount allowed under
Section 401(a)(17), Internal Revenue Code.

(2)
(a) "Disability" means a physical or mental condition that, in the judgment of the office, is total

and presumably permanent, and prevents a member from performing firefighter service.
(b) The determination of disability is based upon medical and other evidence satisfactory to the

office.
(3) "Final average salary" means the amount calculated by averaging the highest three years of

annual compensation preceding retirement subject to Subsections (3)(a), (b), and (c).
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(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), the percentage increase in annual compensation in
any one of the years used may not exceed the previous year's compensation by more than
10% plus a cost-of-living adjustment equal to the decrease in the purchasing power of the
dollar during the previous year, as measured by a United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(b) In cases where the participating employer provides acceptable documentation to the office
the limitation in Subsection (3)(a) may be exceeded if:

(i) the member has transferred from another agency; or
(ii) the member has been promoted to a new position.

(c) The annual compensation used to calculate final average salary shall be based on:
(i) a calendar year for a member employed by a participating employer that is not an

educational institution; or
(ii) a contract year for a member employed by an educational institution.

(4)
(a) "Firefighter service" means employment normally requiring an average of 2,080 hours of

regularly scheduled employment per year rendered by a member who is:
(i) a firefighter service employee trained in firefighter techniques and assigned to a position of

hazardous duty with a regularly constituted fire department; or
(ii) the state fire marshal appointed under Section 53-7-103 or a deputy state fire marshal.

(b) "Firefighter service" does not include secretarial staff or other similar employees.
(5) "Firefighter service employee" means an employee of a participating employer who provides

firefighter service under this chapter.  An employee of a regularly constituted fire department
who does not perform firefighter service is not a firefighter service employee.

(6)
(a) "Line-of-duty death or disability" means a death or any physical or mental disability resulting

from:
(i) external force, violence, or disease directly resulting from firefighter service; or
(ii) strenuous activity, including a heart attack or stroke, that occurs during strenuous training or

another strenuous activity required as an act of duty as a firefighter service employee.
(b) "Line-of-duty death or disability" does not include a death or any physical or mental disability

that:
(i) occurs during an activity that is required as an act of duty as a firefighter service employee if

the activity is not a strenuous activity, including an activity that is clerical, administrative, or
of a nonmanual nature;

(ii) occurs during the commission of a crime committed by the employee;
(iii) occurs when the employee's intoxication or use of alcohol or drugs, whether prescribed or

nonprescribed, contributes to the employee's death or disability; or
(iv) occurs in a manner other than as described in Subsection (6)(a).

(c) "Line-of-duty death or disability" includes the death or disability of a paid firefighter resulting
from heart disease, lung disease, or a respiratory tract condition if the paid firefighter has five
years of firefighter service credit.

(7) "Participating employer" means an employer which meets the participation requirements of
Section 49-16-201.

(8) "Regularly constituted fire department" means a fire department that employs a fire chief who
performs firefighter service for at least 2,080 hours of regularly scheduled paid employment per
year.

(9)
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(a) "Strenuous activity" means engagement involving a difficult, stressful, or vigorous fire
suppression, rescue, hazardous material response, emergency medical service, physical law
enforcement, prison security, disaster relief, or other emergency response activity.

(b) "Strenuous activity" includes participating in a participating employer sanctioned and funded
training exercise that involves difficult, stressful, or vigorous physical activity.

(10) "System" means the Firefighters' Retirement System created under this chapter.
(11)

(a) "Volunteer firefighter" means any individual that is not regularly employed as a firefighter
service employee, but who:

(i) has been trained in firefighter techniques and skills;
(ii) continues to receive regular firefighter training; and
(iii) is on the rolls of a legally organized volunteer fire department which provides ongoing

training and serves a political subdivision of the state.
(b) An individual that volunteers assistance but does not meet the requirements of Subsection

(11)(a) is not a volunteer firefighter for purposes of this chapter.
(12) "Years of service credit" means the number of periods, each to consist of 12 full months

as determined by the board, whether consecutive or not, during which a firefighter service
employee was employed by a participating employer or received full-time pay while on sick
leave, including any time the firefighter service employee was absent in the service of the
United States on military duty.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-16-103 Creation of system.
          There is created for members performing firefighter service and who are employed by a

participating employer the "Firefighters' Retirement System."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-16-104 Creation of trust fund.
(1) There is created the "Firefighters' Retirement Trust Fund" for the purpose of paying the benefits

and costs of administering this system.
(2) The fund shall consist of all money and assets transferred to it from any terminated system, all

money paid into it, including interest, in accordance with this chapter, whether in the form of
cash, securities, or other assets, and of all money received from any other source.

(3) The custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-16-201 System membership -- Eligibility.
(1) A firefighter service employee who performs firefighter service for an employer participating in

this system is eligible for service credit in this system upon the earliest of:
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(a) July 1, 1971, if the firefighter service employee was employed by the participating employer
on July 1, 1971, and the participating employer was participating in this system on that date;

(b) the date the participating employer begins participating in this system if the firefighter service
employee was employed by the participating employer on that date; or

(c) the date the firefighter service employee is hired to perform firefighter services for a
participating employer, if the firefighter:

(i) initially enters employment before July 1, 2011; or
(ii) has service credit accrued before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I system or plan administered by the

board.
(2)

(a)
(i) A participating employer that has public safety service and firefighter service employees that

require cross-training and duty shall enroll the dual purpose employees in the system in
which the greatest amount of time is actually worked.

(ii) The employees shall either be full-time public safety service or full-time firefighter service
employees of the participating employer.

(b)
(i) Before transferring a dual purpose employee from one system to another, the participating

employer shall receive written permission from the office.
(ii) The office may request documentation to verify the appropriateness of the transfer.

(3)
(a) A person hired by a regularly constituted fire department on or after July 1, 1971, who does

not perform firefighter service is not eligible for service credit in this system.
(b) The nonfirefighter service employee shall become a member of the system for which the

nonfirefighter service employee qualifies for service credit.
(c) The service credit exclusion under this Subsection (3) may not be interpreted to prohibit

the assignment of a firefighter with a disability or partial disability to a nonfirefighter service
position.

(d) If Subsection (3)(c) applies, the firefighter service employee remains eligible for service credit
in this system.

(4) An allowance or other benefit may not be granted under this system that is based upon the
same service for benefits received under some other system.

(5) Service as a volunteer firefighter is not eligible for service credit in this system.
(6) An employer is eligible to participate in this system if the employer:

(a) maintains a regularly constituted fire department; or
(b) is the Department of Public Safety created in Section 53-1-103 that employs the state fire

marshal appointed under Section 53-7-103.
(7) Beginning July 1, 2011, a person who is initially entering employment with a participating

employer and who does not have service credit accrued before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I system
or plan administered by the board may not participate in this system.

Amended by Chapter 254, 2015 General Session

49-16-202 Participation of employers -- Full participation in system -- Supplemental
programs authorized.
(1) An employer that employs firefighter service employees and is required by Section 49-12-202

or 49-13-202 to be a participating employer in the Public Employees' Contributory Retirement
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System or the Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement System shall cover all of its
firefighter service employees under one of the following systems or plans:

(a)Chapter 12, Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Act;
(b)Chapter 13, Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement Act;
(c)Chapter 16, Firefighters' Retirement Act; or
(d)Chapter 23, New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement Act.

(2) Any employer that covers its firefighter service employees under Subsection (1)(c) is a
participating employer in this system.

(3) If a participating employer under Subsection (1) covers any of its firefighter service employees
under the Firefighters' Retirement System, that participating employer shall cover all of its
firefighter service employees under that system, except for a firefighter service employee
initially entering employment with a participating employer on or after July 1, 2011.

(4)
(a) Until June 30, 2011, an employer that is not participating in this system may, by resolution

of its governing body submitted to the board, apply for coverage of its firefighter service
employees by this system.

(b) Upon approval of the board, the employer shall become a participating employer in this
system subject to this title.

(5) A participating employer may not withdraw from this system.
(6) In addition to their participation in the system, participating employers may provide or

participate in any additional public or private retirement, supplemental or defined contribution
plan, either directly or indirectly, for their firefighter service employees.

Amended by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-16-203 Exemption of certain employees from coverage -- Exception.
(1) A firefighter service employee serving as the chief of any fire department or district is excluded

from coverage under this system if that firefighter service employee files a formal written
request seeking exemption.

(2) The chief of any fire department or district who retires from that position shall comply with
the provisions of Section 49-11-504 and Chapter 11, Part 12, Postretirement Reemployment
Restrictions Act, upon reemployment by the participating employer.

Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

Part 3
Contributions

49-16-301 Contributions -- Two divisions -- Election by employer to  pay employee
contributions -- Accounting for and vesting of worker contributions -- Deductions.
(1) In addition to the money paid to this system under Section 49-11-901.5, participating employers

and firefighter service employees shall jointly pay the certified contribution rates to the office to
maintain this system on a financially and actuarially sound basis.

(2) For purposes of determining contribution rates, this system is divided into two divisions
according to Social Security coverage as follows:

(a) members of this system with on-the-job Social Security coverage are in Division A; and
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(b) members of this system without on-the-job Social Security coverage are in Division B.
(3)

(a) A participating employer may elect to pay all or part of the required member contributions, in
addition to the required participating employer contributions.

(b) Any amount contributed by a participating employer under this section shall vest to the
member's benefit as though the member had made the contribution.

(c) The required member contributions shall be reduced by the amount that is paid by the
participating employer.

(4)
(a) All member contributions are credited by the office to the account of the individual member.
(b) This amount is held in trust for the payment of benefits to the member or the member's

beneficiaries.
(c) All member contributions are vested and nonforfeitable.

(5)
(a) Each member is considered to consent to payroll deductions of member contributions.
(b) The payment of compensation less these payroll deductions is considered to be full payment

for services rendered by the member.

Amended by Chapter 290, 2011 General Session
Amended by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

Part 4
Defined Benefit

49-16-401 Eligibility for service retirement -- Date of retirement -- Qualifications.
(1) A member is qualified to receive an allowance from this system when:

(a) except as provided under Subsection (3), the member ceases actual work for every
participating employer that employs the member before the member's retirement date and
provides evidence of the termination;

(b) the member has submitted to the office a retirement application form that states the member's
proposed retirement date; and

(c) one of the following conditions is met as of the member's retirement date:
(i) the member has accrued at least 20 years of service credit;
(ii) the member has accrued at least 10 years of service credit and has attained an age of 60

years; or
(iii) the member has accrued at least four years of service credit and has attained an age of 65

years.
(2)

(a) The member's retirement date:
(i) shall be the 1st or the 16th day of the month, as selected by the firefighter service employee;
(ii) shall be on or after the date of termination; and
(iii) may not be more than 90 days before or after the date the application is received by the

office.
(b) Except as provided under Subsection (3), a member may not be employed by a participating

employer in the system established by this chapter on the retirement date selected under
Subsection (2)(a)(i).
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(3)
(a) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also an elected official

is not required to cease service as an elected official to be qualified to receive an allowance
under Subsection (1), unless the member is retiring from service as an elected official.

(b) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also a part-time appointed
board member is not required to cease service as a part-time appointed board member to be
qualified to receive an allowance under Subsection (1).

(c) A member who is employed by a participating employer, who is also an affiliated emergency
services worker as defined in Section 49-11-1202 for a different agency, is not required
to cease service as an affiliated emergency services worker to be qualified to receive an
allowance under Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-16-402 Calculation of retirement allowance.
(1) A retiree under this system shall receive an allowance equal to:

(a) 2.5% of final average monthly salary multiplied by the number of years of service credit,
limited to 20 years; plus

(b) 2% of final average monthly salary, multiplied by the number of years of service credit in
excess of 20 years.

(2) The minimum allowance payable under this section is $500.
(3)

(a) Except as modified by cost-of-living adjustments and except as provided under Subsection (3)
(b), an allowance under this system may not exceed 70% of a firefighter service employee's
final average monthly salary.

(b) The allowance limitation under Subsection (3)(a) does not apply to a member who initially
retires on or after July 1, 2010.

Amended by Chapter 264, 2010 General Session

49-16-403 Annual cost-of-living adjustment.
(1) The office shall  make an annual cost-of-living adjustment to:

(a) an original allowance paid under Section 49-16-402, Part 5, Death Benefit, and Part 6,
Disability Benefit, of this chapter if the allowance has been paid for at least one year; and

(b) an original payment made to an alternate payee under a domestic relations order, if the
payment is to be paid as a percentage of the allowance rather than a specific dollar amount.

(2)
(a) The original allowance shall be increased by the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index

up to a maximum of 4%.
(b) Annual increases in the Consumer Price Index in excess of 4% shall be accumulated and

used in subsequent adjustments when the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index is
less than 4%.

(3) The Consumer Price Index used in calculating adjustments shall be a United States Bureau of
Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(4) The cost-of-living adjustment made under this section may not decrease the allowance.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session
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Part 5
Death Benefit

49-16-501 Death of active member in Division A -- Payment of benefits.
(1) If an active member of this system enrolled in Division A under Section 49-16-301 dies, benefits

are payable as follows:
(a) If the death is classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, benefits are payable as follows:

(i) If the member has accrued less than 20 years of firefighter service credit, the surviving
spouse shall receive a lump sum equal to six months of the active member's final average
salary and an allowance equal to 30% of the member's final average monthly salary.

(ii) If the member has accrued 20 or more years of firefighter service credit, the member shall
be considered to have retired with an allowance calculated under Section 49-16-402 and
the surviving spouse shall receive the death benefit payable to a surviving spouse under
Section 49-16-504.

(b) If the death is not classified as a line-of-duty death by the office, benefits are payable as
follows:

(i) If the member has accrued less than 10 years of firefighter service credit, the beneficiary
shall receive a sum of $1,000 or a refund of the member's member contributions, whichever
is greater.

(ii) If the member has accrued 10 or more years of firefighter service credit, the surviving
spouse shall receive a sum of $500, plus an allowance equal to 2% of the member's final
average monthly salary for each year of service credit accrued by the member up to a
maximum of 30% of the member's final average monthly salary.

(2)
(a) If the member dies without a surviving spouse, the surviving spouse's allowance shall be

equally divided and paid to each unmarried child until the child reaches age 21.
(b) The payment shall be made to a duly appointed guardian or as provided under Sections

49-11-609 and 49-11-610.
(3) If the benefit is not distributed under this section, and the member has designated a beneficiary,

the member's member contributions shall be paid to the beneficiary.
(4)

(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the
office.

(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:
(i) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office

within 90 days of the member's death; or
(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is

received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-16-502 Death of active member in Division B -- Payment of benefits.
(1) If an active member of this system enrolled in Division B under Section 49-16-301 dies, benefits

are payable as follows:
(a) If the death is classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, benefits are payable as follows:
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(i) If the member has accrued less than 20 years of firefighter service credit, the surviving
spouse shall receive:

(A) a lump sum equal to six months of the active member's final average salary; and
(B) an allowance equal to 37.5% of the member's final average monthly salary.

(ii) If the member has accrued 20 or more years of firefighter service credit, the member shall
be considered to have retired with an allowance calculated under Section 49-16-402 and
the surviving spouse shall receive the death benefit payable to a surviving spouse under
Section 49-16-504.

(b) If the death is not classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, the benefits are payable as
follows:

(i) If the member has accrued five or more years of firefighter service credit, the death is
considered line-of-duty and the surviving spouse shall receive:

(A) a lump sum of $1,500; and
(B) an allowance as established under Subsection (1)(a)(i)(B).

(ii) If the member has accrued less than five years of firefighter service credit, the surviving
spouse shall receive a refund of the member's contributions, plus 50% of the member's
most recent 12 months compensation.

(c) If the member has accrued five or more years of firefighter service credit, the member's
unmarried children until they reach age 21 or dependent unmarried children with a mental or
physical disability, shall receive a monthly allowance of $75.

(2)
(a) If the member dies and there is no surviving spouse, any amounts that would have been the

surviving spouse's benefits are equally divided and paid to each unmarried child until the child
reaches age 21.

(b) The payments shall be made to the surviving parent or duly appointed guardian or as
provided under Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(3) If a benefit is not distributed under Subsection (1) or (2), and the member has designated a
beneficiary, the member's member contributions shall be paid to the beneficiary.

(4) The combined monthly payments made to the beneficiaries of any member under this section
may not exceed 75% of the member's final average monthly salary.

(5)
(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:

(i) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office
within 90 days of the member's death; or

(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is
received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-16-503 Benefits payable upon death of inactive member.
(1) If an inactive member who has less than 20 years of firefighter service credit dies, the surviving

spouse, or, if there is no surviving spouse, the member's minor children shall receive a refund
of the member's member contributions or $500, whichever is greater.

(2)
(a) If an inactive member with 20 or more years of firefighter service credit dies, the surviving

spouse shall receive an allowance in the amount of 50% of the amount the member would
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have received had retirement occurred on the first of the month following the month in which
the death occurred.

(b) This allowance shall be based on years of service credit and final average monthly salary
under Section 49-16-402, reduced actuarially from age 50 to the age of the member at the
time of death if the member is under 50 years of age at the time of death.

(3)
(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:

(i) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office
within 90 days of the member's death; or

(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is
received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-16-504 Benefits payable upon death of retired member.
(1) If a retiree who retired under either Division A or Division B dies, the retiree's surviving spouse

shall receive an allowance equal to 75% of the allowance that was being paid to the retiree at
the time of death.

(2) If the retiree retired solely under Division B and dies leaving unmarried children under the age
of 21 or dependent unmarried children with a mental or physical disability, the children shall
qualify for a benefit as prescribed under Subsection 49-16-502(1)(c).

(3)
(a) A beneficiary who qualifies for a monthly benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(i) member or participant died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the
date of death of the member or participant; or

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the date of death of the member or participant.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-16-505 Benefits for surviving spouse under Division A or Division B.
          The surviving spouse, if eligible, shall receive a benefit computed under either Division A

or Division B, whichever provides the larger benefit, but may not receive a benefit under both
divisions if it would result in a duplicate benefit.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-16-506 Minimum allowance for surviving spouse.
          The minimum allowance payable to the surviving spouse who qualifies for an allowance under

Section 49-16-501, 49-16-502, 49-16-503 or 49-16-504, shall be $350 per month.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session



Utah Code

Page 125

49-16-507 Benefits payable upon death of active or inactive member without a surviving
spouse or minor children.

          If an active or inactive member dies and at the time of death the member does not have a
surviving spouse or minor children, the benefit payable to a designated beneficiary is a refund of
the member's member contributions or $500, whichever is larger.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-16-508 Surviving spouse includes certain former spouses -- Benefit calculation for
former spouse.
(1) The benefit calculation for a surviving spouse with a valid domestic relations order benefits on

file with the office before the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612 is
calculated according to the manner in which the court order specified benefits to be partitioned,
whether as a fixed amount or as a percentage of the benefit.

(2) If the death benefits under this section are partitioned among more than one surviving spouse
due to domestic relations order benefits on file with the office before the member's death date
in accordance with Section 49-11-612, the total amount received by the surviving spouses may
not exceed the death benefits normally provided to one surviving spouse under this section.

Enacted by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

Part 6
Disability Benefit

49-16-601 Disability benefit -- Nonline-of-duty disability -- Benefits -- Monthly allowance.
(1) An active member of this system who is unable to perform firefighter service due to a physical

or mental condition that was not incurred in the line-of-duty may apply to the office for a
disability retirement benefit subject to the following provisions:

(a) if the member has less than five years of service credit in this system, disability benefits are
not payable; and

(b) if the condition is classified by the office as a nonline-of-duty disability and if the member has
five or more years of service credit in this system, the member shall be granted a disability
retirement benefit subject to Section 49-16-602.

(2) The monthly disability retirement benefit is 50% of the member's final average monthly salary.

Amended by Chapter 116, 2005 General Session

49-16-601.5 Line-of-duty disability benefit -- Benefits -- Monthly allowance.
(1) An active member of this system who is unable to perform firefighter service due to a physical

or mental condition incurred in the line-of-duty may apply to the office for a disability retirement
benefit under this section.

(2) If the condition is classified by the office as a line-of-duty disability, the member shall be
granted a disability retirement benefit subject to Section 49-16-602.

(3) A paid firefighter who has five years of firefighter service credit is eligible for a line-of-duty
disability benefit resulting from heart disease, lung disease, or a respiratory tract condition.
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(4) A paid firefighter who receives a service connected disability benefit for more than six months
due to violence or illness other than heart disease, lung disease, or respiratory tract condition,
and then returns to paid firefighter service, may not be eligible for a line-of-duty disability
benefit due to heart disease, lung disease, or respiratory tract condition for two years after the
firefighter returned to work unless clear and convincing evidence is presented that the heart
disease, lung disease, or respiratory tract condition was directly a result of firefighter service.

(5) The monthly disability retirement benefit is 50% of the member's final average salary.

Amended by Chapter 40, 2013 General Session

49-16-602 Disability retirement -- Disability allowance eligibility -- Conversion to service
retirement -- Examinations -- Reemployment.
(1) A member of this system who applies and is qualified for disability retirement shall receive a

disability retirement benefit until the earlier of:
(a) the date the member of this system no longer has a disability;
(b) the date the member of this system has accumulated 20 years of firefighter service credit,

including years earned while the member of this system had a disability; or
(c) the date the member of this system has received disability retirement benefits for the following

time periods:
(i) if the member is under age 60 on the date of disability, the disability retirement benefit is

payable until age 65;
(ii) if the member is 60 or 61 years of age on the date of disability, the disability retirement

benefit is payable for five years;
(iii) if the member is 62 or 63 years of age on the date of disability, the disability retirement

benefit is payable for four years;
(iv) if the member is 64 or 65 years of age on the date of disability, the disability retirement

benefit is payable for three years;
(v) if the member is 66, 67, or 68 years of age on the date of disability, the disability retirement

benefit is payable for two years; and
(vi) if the member is 69 years of age or older on the date of disability, the disability retirement

benefit is payable for one year.
(2)

(a)
(i) The retiree with a disability shall receive service credit in this system during the period of

disability.
(ii) If the retiree with a disability is employed by a participating employer during the period of

disability, the retiree with a disability may not receive service credit for that employment.
(b) The disability retirement shall be converted to a service retirement at the time the disability

retirement benefits terminate.
(3) The office shall approve or disapprove applications for disability retirement benefits based

upon:
(a) the evaluation and recommendations of one or more treating physicians along with medical

records relating to the condition;
(b) the evaluation and recommendations of one or more independent physicians selected by the

office; and
(c) receipt of documentation by the office from the participating employer that the member is

mentally or physically unable to perform firefighter service.
(4)
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(a) A retiree with a disability who receives benefits under this section shall, upon request of the
executive director, submit to a medical examination by one or more physicians as directed by
the office.

(b) If, after an examination, the examiners report that the retiree with a disability is physically
and mentally able and capable of resuming firefighter service employment, the retiree with
a disability shall be reinstated by the participating employer for which the retiree with a
disability last worked at the former classification and rank of the retiree with a disability, and
the disability retirement benefit shall terminate.

(c) A retiree with a disability may not be required to submit to an examination under this
Subsection (4) more than once every year.

(d) A retiree with a disability who returns to firefighter service employment with a participating
employer in this system shall immediately begin accruing service credit that shall be added to
that service credit that has been previously accrued, including service credit while disabled.

(5) A retiree with a disability is not subject to medical examinations after reaching age 55.
(6) Refusal or neglect of a member to submit to an examination as requested by the office either

before or after a decision regarding disability benefits has been made is sufficient cause for
denial, suspension, or discontinuance of benefits and if the refusal or neglect continues for one
year, the rights of the member or retiree with a disability to disability retirement benefits may be
revoked by the office.

(7)
(a) A retiree with a disability who receives benefits under this part shall file a sworn statement

with the office on or before March 15 of each year for the first five years a retiree with a
disability receives benefits.

(b) The sworn statement shall indicate whether or not the retiree with a disability engaged in any
employment during the preceding year and, if so, the amount of earnings received during the
calendar year.

(c) If the total amount received in one year by a retiree with a disability for disability retirement
benefits and gross earnings from other employment exceeds 125% of the final average salary
of the retiree with a disability, the office shall offset the disability retirement benefit paid the
following year by the amount in excess of 125% of the final average salary of the retiree with
a disability.

(d)
(i) If a retiree with a disability refuses or neglects to file a sworn statement as required under

this Subsection (7), the executive director may suspend payment of any and all benefits
pending receipt of the statement.

(ii) Upon filing the statement, the payments of the retiree with a disability shall be resumed.
(8) The disability retirement benefit shall be improved by the annual cost-of-living increase factor

applied to retirees of the system that covered the firefighter service employee at the time of
disability.

(9) A line of duty disability allowance paid on or after January 1, 2002, under Section 49-16-601 is
exempt from taxation to the extent permitted under federal law.

(10)
(a) An active member of this system with five or more years of firefighter service credit shall be

eligible for a line-of-duty death or disability benefit resulting from heart disease, lung disease,
or respiratory tract disease.

(b) An active member of this system who receives a line-of-duty disability benefit for more than
six months due to violence or illness other than heart disease, lung disease, or respiratory
tract disease, and then returns to paid firefighter service, is not eligible for a line-of-duty death
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or disability benefit due to those diseases for two years after the member returned to paid
firefighter service unless clear and convincing evidence is presented that the heart, lung, or
respiratory tract disease was directly a result of firefighter service.

(11) Disability retirement benefits shall be considered an allowance for purposes of Section
49-11-701.

Amended by Chapter 366, 2011 General Session

49-16-603 Suspension of benefit upon settlement of workers' compensation claim.
(1) Settlement of a claim for workers' compensation for injury or disability shall suspend disability

retirement benefits granted under this part, except for the initial three months, to a member
granted the benefits until workers' compensation payments terminate.

(2) If there is a lump-sum settlement of the workers' compensation claim, the office shall suspend
the disability retirement benefit until the total of suspended benefits is equal to 75% of the
settlement received from workers' compensation.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 7
Volunteer Firefighters

49-16-701 Volunteer firefighters eligible for line-of-duty death and disability benefits in
Division A -- Computation of benefit.
(1) A volunteer firefighter is only eligible for line-of-duty death and line-of-duty disability benefits

provided for firefighters enrolled in Division A, subject to Sections 49-16-602 and 49-16-603.
(2) The lowest monthly compensation of firefighters of a city of the first class in this state at the

time of death or disability shall be considered to be the final average monthly salary of a
volunteer firefighter for purposes of computing these benefits.

(3) Each volunteer fire department shall maintain a current roll of all volunteer firefighters which
meet the requirements of Subsection 49-16-102(11) to determine eligibility for this benefit.

Amended by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

Chapter 17
Judges' Contributory Retirement Act

Part 1
General Provisions

49-17-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Judges' Contributory Retirement Act."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session
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49-17-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1)
(a) "Compensation" means the total amount of payments which are currently includable in gross

income made by a participating employer to a member of this system for services rendered to
the participating employer.

(b) "Compensation" includes:
(i) performance-based bonuses;
(ii) cost-of-living adjustments;
(iii) payments subject to Social Security deductions;
(iv) any payments in excess of the maximum amount subject to deduction under Social Security

law;
(v) amounts which the member authorizes to be deducted or reduced for salary deferral or

other benefits authorized by federal law; and
(vi) member contributions.

(c) "Compensation" for purposes of this chapter may not exceed the amount allowed under
Internal Revenue Code Section 401(a)(17).

(d) "Compensation," does not include:
(i) the monetary value of remuneration paid in kind, such as a residence or use of equipment;
(ii) all contributions made by a participating employer under any system or plan for the benefit

of a member or participant;
(iii) salary paid to a temporary or exempt employee;
(iv) payments upon termination or any other special payments including early retirement

inducements; or
(v) uniform, travel, or similar payments.

(2) "Final average salary" means the amount calculated by averaging the highest two years of
annual compensation preceding retirement, subject to Subsections (2)(a), (b), and (c).

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), the percentage increase in annual compensation in
any one of the years used may not exceed the previous year's compensation by more than
10% plus a cost-of-living adjustment equal to the decrease in the purchasing power of the
dollar during the previous year, as measured by a United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(b) In cases where the participating employer provides acceptable documentation to the board,
the limitation in Subsection (2)(a) may be exceeded if:

(i) the member has transferred from another participating employer; or
(ii) the member has been promoted to a new position.

(c) The annual compensation used to calculate final average salary shall be based on the state's
fiscal year.

(3) "Judge" means a judge or justice of the courts of record as enumerated in Section 78A-1-101.
(4) "Participating employer" means the state.
(5) "System" means the Judges' Contributory Retirement System created under this chapter.
(6) "Years of service credit" means the number of periods, each to consist of 12 full months as

determined by the board, whether consecutive or not, during which a judge was employed by a
participating employer.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-17-103 Creation of system.
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          There is created for judges the "Judges' Contributory Retirement System."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-17-104 Creation of trust fund.
(1) There is created the "Judges' Contributory Retirement Trust Fund" for the purpose of paying

the benefits and costs of administering this system.
(2) The fund shall consist of all money, including interest, and assets transferred to it under any

terminated system, the money paid into it under this system, whether in the form of cash,
securities, or other assets, and of all money received from any other source.

(3) Custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-17-201 System membership -- Eligibility.
          Except as provided in Section 49-18-201, judges are members of and are eligible for service

credit in this system.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 3
Contributions

49-17-301 Contributions by members and participating employers -- Retirement fees --
Deductions.
(1) In addition to the money paid to this system under Subsection (3), participating employers and

members shall jointly pay the certified contribution rates to the office to maintain this system on
a financially and actuarially sound basis.

(2) The participating employer may make contributions on behalf of members of this system
in addition to the contribution required of the participating employer, except that 2% of
compensation shall be paid by the member.

(3) Fees collected under Subsection 78A-2-301(1)(j)(i) shall be paid monthly to the office to
maintain this system and the system established under Chapter 18, Judges' Noncontributory
Retirement Act.

(4)
(a) All member contributions are credited by the office to the account of the individual member.
(b) This amount, plus refund interest, is held in trust for the payment of benefits to the member or

the member's beneficiaries.
(c) All member contributions are vested and nonforfeitable.

(5)
(a) Each member is considered to consent to payroll deductions of the member contributions.
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(b) The payment of compensation less these payroll deductions is considered full payment for
services rendered by the member.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session

Part 4
Defined Benefit

49-17-401 Eligibility for an allowance -- Date of retirement -- Qualifications.
(1) A member is qualified to receive an allowance when:

(a) the member ceases actual work for every participating employer that employs the member
before the member's retirement date and provides evidence of the termination;

(b) the member has submitted to the office a retirement application form that states the member's
proposed retirement date; and

(c) one of the following conditions is met as of the member's retirement date:
(i) the member has accrued at least six years of service credit and has attained an age of 70

years;
(ii) the member has accrued at least 10 years of service credit and has attained an age of 62

years;
(iii) the member has accrued at least 20 years of service credit and has attained an age of 55

years; or
(iv) the member has accrued at least 25 years of service credit.

(2)
(a) The member's retirement date:

(i) shall be the 1st or the 16th day of the month, as selected by the member;
(ii) shall be on or after the date of termination; and
(iii) may not be more than 90 days before or after the date the application is received by the

office.
(b) A member may not be employed by a participating employer in the system established by this

chapter on the retirement date selected under Subsection (2)(a)(i).

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-17-402 Calculation of retirement allowance.
(1) A retiree under this system shall receive an allowance equal to:

(a) 5% of the final average monthly salary multiplied by the number of years of service credit,
limited to 10 years; plus

(b) 2.25% of the final average monthly salary multiplied by the number of years of service credit
in excess of 10 years and up to and including 20 years; plus

(c) 1% of the final average monthly salary multiplied by the number of years of service credit in
excess of 20 years.

(2)
(a) Except as modified by cost-of-living adjustments and except as provided under Subsection

(2)(b), an allowance under this system may not exceed 75% of the member's final average
monthly salary.
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(b) The allowance limitation under Subsection (2)(a) does not apply to a member who initially
retires on or after July 1, 2010.

(3) If the retiree has attained the age of 55 years and has 20 years or more but less than 25 years
of service credit, the retiree shall receive an early retirement reduction to the allowance based
on an actuarial calculation assuming a normal retirement age of 65 years.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-17-403 Minimum allowance.
          Beginning July 1, 1990, all retirees or beneficiaries under this chapter who receive an allowance

less than $1,000 per month shall have the allowance increased 10%, but the increased allowance
may not equal more than $1,000.

Enacted by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-17-404 Temporary retirement window for 20 years of service.
(1) If a member qualified to retire under Section 49-17-401 or a member of this system of any age

with at least 20 years of service credit or a member of this system with at least six years of
service credit and has attained an age of 65 years or older retires on or after July 1, 1992, and
on or before December 31, 1992, the retirement allowance shall be the same as calculated in
Section 49-17-402, except that the final average monthly salary shall be calculated upon the
member's final year of service.

(2)
(a) Nominations for appointments resulting from this section shall be presented to the governor

not later than October 15, 1992.
(b) To qualify, the member shall give notice of intent to retire under this section to the

Administrative Office of the Courts no later than February 28, 1992.
(c) Notice of intent to retire under this section may not be revoked.
(d) The Administrative Office of the Courts shall provide the member's application to retire to the

office as required by Section 49-17-401.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-17-405 Annual cost-of-living adjustment.
(1) The office shall make an annual cost-of-living adjustment to:

(a) an allowance paid under Section 49-17-402 and Part 5, Death Benefit, of this chapter if the
benefit has been paid for at least one year; and

(b) a payment made to an alternate payee under a domestic relations order, if the payment is to
be paid as a percentage of the allowance rather than a specific dollar amount.

(2)
(a) The allowance shall be increased by the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index up to a

maximum of 4%.
(b) Annual increases in the Consumer Price Index in excess of 4% shall be accumulated and

used in subsequent adjustments when the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index is
less than 4%.

(3) The Consumer Price Index used in calculating adjustments shall be a United States Bureau of
Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(4) The cost-of-living adjustment made under this section may not decrease the allowance.
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Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 5
Death Benefit

49-17-501 Death benefit for members before retirement -- Computation.
(1) Upon the receipt of acceptable proof of death of a member before the member's retirement

date, the member's surviving spouse shall have the choice of the following death benefits:
(a) a refund of the member's member contributions, including refund interest, plus 65% of the

member's most recent 12 months' compensation prior to death; or
(b) an allowance equal to 65% of the allowance computed in accordance with Section 49-17-402,

but disregarding early retirement reductions.
(2) If there is no surviving spouse, member contributions, including refund interest, shall be

refunded to a beneficiary, in accordance with Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.
(3)

(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the
office.

(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:
(i) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office

within 90 days of the member's death; or
(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is

received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-17-502 Benefits payable upon death of retired member.
(1)

(a) The death benefit payable to a retiree's surviving spouse is an allowance equal to 65% of the
allowance which was being paid to the retiree at the time of death.

(b) The effective date of the accrual of this allowance is the first day of the month following the
month in which the retiree died.

(2)
(a) Notwithstanding the amount of the allowance under Subsection (1), at the time of retirement,

a retiree may elect to increase the spousal death benefit up to 75% of an allowance computed
in accordance with Section 49-17-402.

(b) If an election is made under Subsection (2)(a), the member's allowance shall be reduced
to reflect the actuarial equivalent necessary to pay for the increased spousal death benefit
above 65%.

(3)
(a) A surviving spouse who qualifies for a monthly benefit under this section shall apply in writing

to the office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(i) member or participant died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the
date of death of the member or participant; or



Utah Code

Page 134

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the date of death of the member or participant.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-17-503 Surviving spouse includes certain former spouses -- Benefit calculation for
former spouse.
(1) The benefit calculation for a surviving spouse with a valid domestic relations order benefits on

file with the office before the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612 is
calculated according to the manner in which the court order specified benefits to be partitioned,
whether as a fixed amount or as a percentage of the benefit.

(2) If the death benefits under this section are partitioned among more than one surviving spouse
due to domestic relations order benefits on file with the office before the member's death date
in accordance with Section 49-11-612, the total amount received by the surviving spouses may
not exceed the death benefits normally provided to one surviving spouse under this section.

Enacted by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

Part 6
Reserved

Part 7
Early Retirement Incentive

49-17-701 Judges' mandatory retirement age.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), a judge shall retire upon attaining the age of 75 years.
(2) A judge serving on July 1, 1996, who is 75 years of age or older on July 1, 1996, or who attains

75 years of age prior to the judge's next retention election may not be a candidate in that
retention election and shall retire on or before December 31 of the year in which the judge
would have been subject to a retention election.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Chapter 18
Judges' Noncontributory Retirement Act

Part 1
General Provisions

49-18-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Judges' Noncontributory Retirement Act."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session
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49-18-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1)
(a) "Compensation" means the total amount of payments which are currently includable in gross

income made by a participating employer to a member of this system for services rendered to
the participating employer.

(b) "Compensation" includes:
(i) performance-based bonuses;
(ii) cost-of-living adjustments;
(iii) payments subject to Social Security deductions;
(iv) any payments in excess of the maximum amount subject to deduction under Social Security

law; and
(v) amounts which the member authorizes to be deducted or reduced for salary deferral or

other benefits authorized by federal law.
(c) "Compensation" for purposes of this chapter may not exceed the amount allowed under

Internal Revenue Code Section 401(a)(17).
(d) "Compensation" does not include:

(i) the monetary value of remuneration paid in kind, such as a residence or use of equipment;
(ii) all contributions made by a participating employer under a system or plan for the benefit of a

member or participant;
(iii) salary paid to a temporary or exempt employee;
(iv) payments upon termination or any other special payments including early retirement

inducements; or
(v) uniform, travel, or similar payments.

(2) "Final average salary" means the amount calculated by averaging the highest two years of
annual compensation preceding retirement, subject to Subsections (2)(a), (b), and (c).

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), the percentage increase in annual compensation in
any one of the years used may not exceed the previous year's compensation by more than
10% plus a cost-of-living adjustment equal to the decrease in the purchasing power of the
dollar during the previous year, as measured by a United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(b) In cases where the participating employer provides acceptable documentation to the board,
the limitation in Subsection (2)(a) may be exceeded if:

(i) the member has transferred from another agency; or
(ii) the member has been promoted to a new position.

(c) The annual compensation used to calculate final average salary shall be based on the state's
fiscal year.

(3) "Judge" means a judge or justice of the courts of record as enumerated in Section 78A-1-101.
(4) "Participating employer" means the state.
(5) "System" means the Judges' Noncontributory Retirement System created under this chapter.
(6) "Years of service credit" means the number of periods, each to consist of 12 full months or as

determined by the board, whether consecutive or not, during which a judge was employed by a
participating employer.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-18-103 Creation of system.
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          There is created for judges the "Judges' Noncontributory Retirement System."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-18-104 Creation of trust fund.
(1) There is created the "Judges' Noncontributory Retirement Trust Fund" for the purpose of paying

the benefits and costs of administering this system.
(2) The fund shall consist of all money, including interest, and assets transferred to it under any

terminated system, the money paid into it under this system, whether in the form of cash,
securities, or other assets, and of all money received from any other source.

(3) Custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-18-201 System membership -- Eligibility.
(1) Judges appointed after July 1, 1997, are members of and are eligible for service credit in this

system.
(2)

(a) Any judge appointed prior to July 1, 1997, may either become a member of the Judges'
Noncontributory Retirement System or remain a member of the Judges' Contributory
Retirement System established under Chapter 17, Judges' Contributory Retirement Act, by
following the procedures established by the board pursuant to this chapter.

(b) Judges may only elect to participate in this system under Subsection (2) prior to January 1,
1998.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 3
Contributions

49-18-301 Contributions by employees and employers -- Retirement fees.
(1) In addition to the money paid to this system under Subsection (2), participating employers shall

pay the certified contribution rates to the office to maintain this system on a financially and
actuarially sound basis.

(2) Fees collected under Subsection 78A-2-301(1)(j)(i) shall be paid monthly to the office to
maintain this system and the system established under Chapter 17, Judges' Contributory
Retirement Act.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session
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Part 4
Defined Benefit

49-18-401 Eligibility for an allowance -- Date of retirement -- Qualifications.
(1) A member is qualified to receive an allowance when:

(a) the member ceases actual work for every participating employer that employs the member
before the member's retirement date and provides evidence of the termination;

(b) the member has submitted to the office a retirement application form that states the member's
proposed retirement date; and

(c) one of the following conditions is met as of the member's retirement date:
(i) the member has accrued at least six years of service credit and has attained an age of 70

years;
(ii) the member has accrued at least 10 years of service credit and has attained an age of 62

years;
(iii) the member has accrued at least 20 years of service credit and has attained an age of 55

years; or
(iv) the member has accrued at least 25 years of service credit.

(2)
(a) The member's retirement date:

(i) shall be the 1st or the 16th day of the month, as selected by the member;
(ii) shall be on or after the date of termination; and
(iii) may not be more than 90 days before or after the date the application is received by the

office.
(b) A member may not be employed by a participating employer in the system established by this

chapter on the retirement date selected under Subsection (2)(a)(i).

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-18-402 Calculation of retirement allowance.
(1) A retiree under this system shall receive an allowance equal to:

(a) 5% of the final average monthly salary multiplied by the number of years of service credit,
limited to 10 years; plus

(b) 2.25% of the final average monthly salary multiplied by the number of years of service credit
in excess of 10 years and up to and including 20 years; plus

(c) 1% of the final average monthly salary multiplied by the number of years of service credit in
excess of 20 years.

(2)
(a) Except as modified by cost-of-living adjustments and except as provided under Subsection

(2)(b), an allowance under this system may not exceed 75% of the member's final average
monthly salary.

(b) The allowance limitation under Subsection (2)(a) does not apply to a member who initially
retires on or after July 1, 2010.

(3) If the retiree has attained the age of 55 years and has 20 years or more but less than 25 years
of service credit, the retiree shall receive an early retirement reduction to the allowance based
on an actuarial calculation assuming a normal retirement age of 65 years.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session
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49-18-403 Annual cost-of-living adjustment.
(1) The office shall make an annual cost-of-living adjustment to:

(a) an allowance paid under Section 49-18-402 and Part 5, Death Benefit, of this chapter if the
benefit has been paid for at least one year; and

(b) a payment made to an alternate payee under a domestic relations order, if the payment is to
be paid as a percentage of the allowance rather than a specific dollar amount.

(2)
(a) The allowance shall be increased by the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index up to a

maximum of 4%.
(b) Annual increases in the Consumer Price Index in excess of 4% shall be accumulated and

used in subsequent adjustments when the increase in the Consumer Price Index is less than
4%.

(3) The Consumer Price Index used in calculating adjustments shall be a United States Bureau of
Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(4) The cost-of-living adjustment made under this section may not decrease the allowance.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 5
Death Benefit

49-18-501 Death benefit for members before retirement -- Computation.
(1) Upon the receipt of acceptable proof of death of a member before the member's retirement

date, the member's surviving spouse shall have the choice of the following death benefits:
(a) a refund of the member's member contributions, if any, plus 65% of the member's most recent

12 months' compensation prior to death; or
(b) an allowance equal to 65% of the allowance computed in accordance with Section 49-18-402,

but disregarding early retirement reductions.
(2) If there is no surviving spouse, member contributions shall be refunded to a beneficiary, in

accordance with Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.
(3)

(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the
office.

(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:
(i) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office

within 90 days of the member's death; or
(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is

received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-18-502 Benefits payable upon death of retired member.
(1) The death benefit payable to a retiree's surviving spouse is an allowance equal to 65% of the

allowance which was being paid to the retiree at the time of death.
(2)
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(a) Notwithstanding the amount of the allowance under Subsection (1), at the time of retirement,
a retiree may elect to increase the spousal death benefit up to 75% of an allowance computed
in accordance with Section 49-18-402.

(b) If an election is made under Subsection (2)(a), the member's allowance shall be reduced to
an amount payable monthly for life to reflect the actuarial equivalent necessary to pay for the
increased spousal death benefit above 65%.

(3)
(a) A surviving spouse who qualifies for a monthly benefit under this section shall apply in writing

to the office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(i) member or participant died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the
date of death of the member or participant; or

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the date of death of the member or participant.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-18-503 Surviving spouse includes certain former spouses -- Benefit calculation for
former spouse.
(1) The benefit calculation for a surviving spouse with a valid domestic relations order benefits on

file with the office before the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612 is
calculated according to the manner in which the court order specified benefits to be partitioned,
whether as a fixed amount or as a percentage of the benefit.

(2) If the death benefits under this section are partitioned among more than one surviving spouse
due to domestic relations order benefits on file with the office before the member's death date
in accordance with Section 49-11-612, the total amount received by the surviving spouses may
not exceed the death benefits normally provided to one surviving spouse under this section.

Enacted by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

Part 6
Reserved

Part 7
Early Retirement Incentive

49-18-701 Judges' mandatory retirement age.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), a judge shall retire upon attaining the age of 75 years.
(2) A judge serving on July 1, 1996, who is 75 years of age or older on July 1, 1996, or who attains

75 years of age prior to the judge's next retention election may not be a candidate in that
retention election and shall retire on or before December 31 of the year in which the judge
would have been subject to a retention election.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session



Utah Code

Page 140

Chapter 19
Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Act

Part 1
General Provisions

49-19-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the " Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Act."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-19-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Governor" includes former governors.
(2) "Legislator" includes former legislators.
(3) "Plan" means the Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan created under this chapter.

Enacted by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-19-103 Creation of plan.
          There is created for Utah governors and legislators the "Utah Governors' and Legislators'

Retirement Plan."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-19-104 Creation of trust fund.
(1) There is created the "Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Trust Fund" for the purpose

of paying the benefits and costs of administering this plan.
(2) The fund shall consist of all money paid into it, including interest, in accordance with this

chapter, whether in the form of cash, securities, or other assets, and of all money received from
any other source.

(3) Custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-19-201 Plan participation -- Eligibility.
(1) A governor or legislator is eligible for service credit in this plan during their term of service in

their elected position if the governor or legislator:
(a) entered office before July 1, 2011; or
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(b) accrued service credit in a Tier I system or plan administered by the board before July 1,
2011.

(2) A governor or legislator initially entering office on or after July 1, 2011, who does not have
service credit accrued before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I system or plan administered by the board:

(a) may not participate in this system;
(b) is only eligible to participate in the Tier II Defined Contribution Plan established under Chapter

22, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan; and
(c) is not eligible to participate in the Tier II hybrid retirement system established under Chapter

22, Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

Part 3
Contribution

49-19-301 Contribution rate -- Annual legislative appropriation.
(1) The Legislature, by means of annual appropriations, shall maintain this plan on a financially and

actuarially sound basis.
(2) The Legislature shall cause the appropriate amount to be paid to the office.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 4
Defined Benefit

49-19-401 Eligibility for an allowance -- Governor -- Legislator.
(1) A governor is qualified to receive an allowance when:

(a) the governor has submitted to the office a retirement application form that states the proposed
retirement date; and

(b) one of the following conditions is met as of the retirement date:
(i) the governor has completed at least one full term in office and has attained an age of 65

years; or
(ii) the governor has served as governor of the state for at least 10 years and has attained an

age of 62 years.
(2) A legislator is qualified to receive an allowance when:

(a) the legislator has submitted to the office a retirement application form that states the
proposed retirement date; and

(b) one of the following conditions is met as of the retirement date:
(i) the legislator has completed at least four years in the Legislature and has attained an age of

65 years; or
(ii) the legislator has completed at least 10 years in the Legislature and has attained an age of

62 years.
(3)

(a) The retirement date shall be the 1st or the 16th day of the month as selected by the member.
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(b) The retirement date may not be more than 90 days before or after the date the application is
received by the office.

(4) A member who withdraws member contributions shall forfeit all allowances based on those
contributions.

(5) If a retired legislator is elected to another term in the Legislature or continues to serve in the
Legislature, the legislative allowance ceases at the beginning of each session under rules
established by the board, but is restored at the same amount at the end of the session.

(6) A member receiving an allowance while serving as a legislator is eligible for additional service
credits and allowance adjustments at the end of each term of office if the legislator continues as
a contributing member during the member's service as a legislator.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-19-402 Calculation of allowance -- Reduction for early retirement.
(1)

(a) The base retirement amount for a governor under this plan is $500 per term, adjusted as
provided in Section 49-19-404 since 1973.

(b) A governor's allowance shall be calculated by multiplying the base retirement amount at the
retirement date by the number of terms the governor served, including fractions of terms.

(2)
(a) The base retirement amount for a legislator under this plan is $10 per year of service in the

Legislature, adjusted as provided in Section 49-19-404, since 1967.
(b) A legislator's allowance shall be calculated by multiplying the base retirement amount at the

retirement date by the number of years the legislator served, including fractions of years.
(3) If a governor or legislator retires prior to age 65, the allowance shall be reduced by 3% for each

year of retirement between age 62 and age 65.

Amended by Chapter 118, 2004 General Session

49-19-403 Retirement option.
          A governor or legislator may elect to forfeit the allowance provided by this chapter and in lieu

thereof participate, on the same basis as other state elected and appointed officers under Title 67,
Chapter 22, State Officer Compensation, in a defined contribution plan administered by the office,
in accordance with Section 49-11-801 and in accordance with federal law.

Enacted by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-19-404 Annual cost-of-living adjustment.
(1) The office shall make an annual cost-of-living adjustment to:

(a) an original allowance paid under Section 49-19-402 and Part 5, Death Benefit, of this chapter
if the benefit has been paid for at least one year;

(b) an original payment made to an alternate payee under a domestic relations order, if the
payment is to be paid as a percentage of the allowance rather than a specific dollar amount;
and

(c) the base retirement amount for governors and legislators under Section 49-19-402.
(2)

(a) The original allowance shall be increased by the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index
up to a maximum of 4%.
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(b) Annual increases in the Consumer Price Index in excess of 4% shall be accumulated and
used in subsequent adjustments when the increase in the Consumer Price Index is less than
4%.

(3) The Consumer Price Index used in calculating adjustments shall be a United States Bureau of
Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(4) The cost-of-living adjustment made under this section may not decrease the allowance.

Enacted by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 5
Death Benefit

49-19-501 Death of member or retiree -- Surviving spouse benefit.
(1) Upon the death of a governor or legislator who has not yet retired and who has completed four

or more years in the elected office, the member's surviving spouse shall receive an allowance
equal to 50% of the allowance to which the governor or legislator would have been entitled
upon reaching age 65, if the governor or legislator and surviving spouse had been married at
least six months.

(2) Upon the death of a governor or legislator receiving an allowance under this plan, the member's
surviving spouse is entitled to an allowance equal to 50% of the allowance being paid to the
member at the time of death.

(3)
(a) A surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:

(i) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office
within 90 days of the member's death; or

(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is
received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-19-502 Surviving spouse at the time of death includes certain former spouses -- Benefit
calculation for former spouse.
(1) The benefit calculation for a surviving spouse with a valid domestic relations order benefits on

file with the office before the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612 is
calculated according to the manner in which the court order specified benefits to be partitioned,
whether as a fixed amount or as a percentage of the benefit.

(2) If the death benefits under this section are partitioned among more than one surviving spouse
due to domestic relations order benefits on file with the office before the member's death date
in accordance with Section 49-11-612, the total amount received by the surviving spouses may
not exceed the death benefits normally provided to one surviving spouse under this section.

Enacted by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session
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Chapter 20
Public Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program Act

Part 1
General Provisions

49-20-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Public Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program Act."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-20-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Covered employer" means an employer that offers employee benefit plans under this chapter
to its employees and their dependents.

(2) "Covered individual" means an employee and the employee's dependents eligible for coverage
under this chapter.

(3) "Employee Benefit Plans" means any group health, dental, medical, disability, life insurance,
medicare supplement, conversion coverage, cafeteria, flex plans, or other program for covered
individuals administered by the Public Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program.

(4) "Employer" means the state, its political subdivisions, and educational institutions.
(5) "Program" means the Public Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-20-103 Creation of insurance program.
          There is created for the employees of the state, its educational institutions, and political

subdivisions the "Public Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program" within the office.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-20-104 Creation of fund.
(1) There is created the "Public Employees' Trust Fund" for the purpose of paying the benefits and

the costs of administering this program.
(2) The fund shall consist of all money and interest paid into it in accordance with this chapter,

whether in the form of cash, securities, or other assets, and of all money received from any
other source.

(3) Custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-20-105 Purpose -- Benefits are not a continuing obligation.
(1) The purpose of this chapter is to provide a mechanism for covered employers to provide

covered individuals with group health, dental, medical, disability, life insurance, medicare
supplement, conversion coverage, cafeteria, flex plan, and other programs requested by the
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state, its political subdivisions, or educational institutions in the most efficient and economical
manner.

(2) The benefits provided to a covered individual under this chapter do not constitute a continuing
obligation of the state, its political subdivisions, or educational institutions.

Amended by Chapter 406, 2012 General Session

49-20-106 Obesity report.
(1) The Public Employees' Health Plan shall report to the Health and Human Services Interim

Committee by no later than the Health and Human Services Interim Committee's November
2016 interim meeting regarding the analysis required by Subsection (2).

(2) For purposes of the report required by Subsection (1), the Public Employees' Health Plan shall:
(a) estimate the costs and benefits to the Public Employees' Health Plan associated with

providing insurance coverage for anti-obesity treatment, including:
(i) counseling;
(ii) medication; and
(iii) surgery;

(b) compare the costs and benefits estimated under Subsection (2)(a) with the costs and benefits
to the Public Employees' Health Plan associated with treating diseases caused by or linked to
obesity, including:

(i) diabetes;
(ii) hypertension;
(iii) heart disease; and
(iv) other diseases; and

(c) analyze whether there would be cost savings by providing the insurance coverage described
in Subsection (2)(a).

(3) The Public Employees' Health Plan may work with other insurers or other interested persons in
developing the report required by this section.

Enacted by Chapter 119, 2016 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-20-201 Program participation -- Eligibility -- Optional for certain groups.
(1)

(a) The state shall participate in the program on behalf of its employees.
(b) Other employers, including political subdivisions and educational institutions, are eligible, but

are not required, to participate in the program on behalf of their employees.
(2)

(a) As provided in Subsection 26-40-110(5), the Department of Health may participate in the
program for the purpose of providing health and dental benefits to children enrolled in the
Utah Children's Health Insurance Program created in Title 26, Chapter 40, Utah Children's
Health Insurance Act.

(b) If the Department of Health participates in the program under the provisions of this
Subsection (2), all insurance risk associated with the Utah Children's Health Insurance
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Program shall be the responsibility of the Department of Health and not the program or the
office.

(3) A covered individual shall be eligible for coverage after termination of employment under rules
adopted by the board.

(4) Only the following are eligible for Medicare supplement coverage under this chapter upon
becoming eligible for Medicare Part A and Part B coverage:

(a) retirees;
(b) members;
(c) participants;
(d) employees who have medical employee benefit plan coverage at the time of their retirement;

and
(e) current spouses of those who are eligible under Subsections (4)(a) through (d).

Amended by Chapter 107, 2015 General Session

49-20-202 Establishment of separate risk pools.
(1) The program shall establish separate risk pools for:

(a) state employees; and
(b) the Utah Children's Health Insurance Program.

(2) In accordance with participation standards established by the program, the following entities
may elect to participate in the risk pool established under Subsection (1)(a):

(a) in accordance with Subsection (3)(b), an institution of higher education designated under
Section 53B-1-102 with a total full-time equivalent enrollment of less than 18,000;

(b) an independent entity as defined in Section 63E-1-102; and
(c) a comprehensive regional college.

(3)
(a) The program shall create risk pools for other covered employers separate from those created

in Subsection (1) as determined by the program.
(b)

(i) If an institution of higher education described in Subsection (2)(a) has 1,000 or more plan
enrollees, the program shall establish a rate for the institution of higher education based
100% on experience; and

(ii) if the rate established under Subsection (3)(b)(i) is:
(A) less than the risk pool rate established for the state employees' risk pool, the program

may include the institution of higher education in the state employees' risk pool described
in Subsection (1)(a); or

(B) more than the risk pool rate established for the state employees' risk pool, the program
shall create a risk pool for the institution of higher education that is separate from the state
employees' risk pool under Subsection (1)(a).

Amended by Chapter 211, 2010 General Session
Amended by Chapter 318, 2010 General Session

Part 3
Premiums
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49-20-301 Payments made by employer and employee.
          The program shall be maintained on a financially and actuarially sound basis by payments from

covered employers and covered individuals.

Amended by Chapter 240, 2003 General Session

Part 4
Insurance Program

49-20-401 Program -- Powers and duties.
(1) The program shall:

(a) act as a self-insurer of employee benefit plans and administer those plans;
(b) enter into contracts with private insurers or carriers to underwrite employee benefit plans as

considered appropriate by the program;
(c) indemnify employee benefit plans or purchase commercial reinsurance as considered

appropriate by the program;
(d) provide descriptions of all employee benefit plans under this chapter in cooperation with

covered employers;
(e) process claims for all employee benefit plans under this chapter or enter into contracts, after

competitive bids are taken, with other benefit administrators to provide for the administration
of the claims process;

(f) obtain an annual actuarial review of all health and dental benefit plans and a periodic review of
all other employee benefit plans;

(g) consult with the covered employers to evaluate employee benefit plans and develop
recommendations for benefit changes;

(h) annually submit a budget and audited financial statements to the governor and Legislature
which includes total projected benefit costs and administrative costs;

(i) maintain reserves sufficient to liquidate the unrevealed claims liability and other liabilities of the
employee benefit plans as certified by the program's consulting actuary;

(j) submit, in advance, its recommended benefit adjustments for state employees to:
(i) the Legislature; and
(ii) the executive director of the state Department of Human Resource Management;

(k) determine benefits and rates, upon approval of the board, for multiemployer risk pools, retiree
coverage, and conversion coverage;

(l) determine benefits and rates based on the total estimated costs and the employee premium
share established by the Legislature, upon approval of the board, for state employees;

(m) administer benefits and rates, upon ratification of the board, for single employer risk pools;
(n) request proposals for provider networks or health and dental benefit plans administered by

third party carriers at least once every three years for the purposes of:
(i) stimulating competition for the benefit of covered individuals;
(ii) establishing better geographical distribution of medical care services; and
(iii) providing coverage for both active and retired covered individuals;

(o) offer proposals which meet the criteria specified in a request for proposals and accepted
by the program to active and retired state covered individuals and which may be offered to
active and retired covered individuals of other covered employers at the option of the covered
employer;
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(p) perform the same functions established in Subsections (1)(a), (b), (e), and (h) for the
Department of Health if the program provides program benefits to children enrolled in the
Utah Children's Health Insurance Program created in Title 26, Chapter 40, Utah Children's
Health Insurance Act;

(q) establish rules and procedures governing the admission of political subdivisions or
educational institutions and their employees to the program;

(r) contract directly with medical providers to provide services for covered individuals;
(s) take additional actions necessary or appropriate to carry out the purposes of this chapter;
(t)

(i) require state employees and their dependents to participate in the electronic exchange of
clinical health records in accordance with Section 26-1-37 unless the enrollee opts out of
participation; and

(ii) prior to enrolling the state employee, each time the state employee logs onto the program's
website, and each time the enrollee receives written enrollment information from the
program, provide notice to the enrollee of the enrollee's participation in the electronic
exchange of clinical health records and the option to opt out of participation at any time; and

(u) provide services for drugs or medical devices at the request of a procurement unit, as that
term is defined in Section 63G-6a-104, that administers benefits to program recipients who
are not covered by Title 26, Utah Health Code.

(2)
(a) Funds budgeted and expended shall accrue from rates paid by the covered employers and

covered individuals.
(b) Administrative costs shall be approved by the board and reported to the governor and the

Legislature.
(3) The Department of Human Resource Management shall include the benefit adjustments

described in Subsection (1)(j) in the total compensation plan recommended to the governor
required under Subsection 67-19-12(5)(a).

Amended by Chapter 279, 2016 General Session

49-20-402 Reserves to be held -- Refunds.
(1) The reserves in a risk pool in a given fiscal year shall be maintained at the level recommended

by the program's consulting actuary and approved or ratified by the board.  If the reserves drop
below that level, covered employers in the risk pool are required to cure any deficiency in the
reserve.

(2) If substantial excess reserves are accrued above those required by this chapter, and the board
determines that a refund is appropriate, a refund shall be made:

(a) to covered employers which shall then make a refund to covered individuals on the basis of
the contribution of each to the plan; or

(b) directly to covered individuals on the basis of the contribution of each to the plan.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2007 General Session

49-20-403 Assistance to members in purchase of life, health, dental, and medical insurance
after retirement -- Employment of personnel to administer section.
(1) The program may assist active and retired covered individuals and inactive covered individuals

of the covered employers to purchase life, health, dental, and medical coverage on a group
basis which can be continued after retirement under rules adopted by the board.
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(2) The executive director may employ any personnel, including consultants, to administer this
section.

Enacted by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-20-404 Governors' and legislative paid-up group health coverage benefit -- Limitations --
Medicare supplemental coverage -- Spouse coverage -- Limitations.
(1)

(a) Except as provided under Subsection (1)(b), the state shall pay the percentage of the cost
of providing paid-up group health coverage under Subsection (3) for members and their
surviving spouses covered under Chapter 19, Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement
Act, or governors and legislators, as defined in Section 49-19-102, and their surviving
spouses covered under Chapter 22, New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement
Act, who:

(i) retire after January 1, 1998;
(ii) are at least 62 but less than 65 years of age;
(iii) elect to receive and apply for this benefit to the program; and
(iv) are active members at the time of retirement or have continued coverage with the program

until the date of eligibility for the benefit under this Subsection (1).
(b) A governor or a legislator who begins service as a governor or legislator on or after January

1, 2012, and a surviving spouse of the governor or the legislator who begins service as a
governor or legislator on or after January 1, 2012, is not eligible for the benefit provided under
this Subsection (1).

(2) The state shall pay the percentage of the cost of providing Medicare supplemental coverage
under Subsection (3) for members and their surviving spouses covered under Chapter 19, Utah
Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Act who:

(a) began service as a governor or legislator before July 1, 2013;
(b) retire after January 1, 1998;
(c) are at least 65 years of age; and
(d) elect to receive and apply for this benefit to the program.

(3) The following percentages apply to the benefit described in Subsections (1)(a) and (2):
(a) 100% if the member has accrued 10 or more years of service credit;
(b) 80% if the member has accrued 8 or more years of service credit;
(c) 60% if the member has accrued 6 or more years of service credit; and
(d) 40% if the member has accrued 4 or more years of service credit.

Amended by Chapter 410, 2013 General Session

49-20-405 Audit required -- Report to governor and Legislature.
          The Insurance Department shall biennially audit the Public Employees' Trust Fund and

programs authorized under this chapter and report its findings to the governor and the Legislature,
but the commissioner may accept the annual audited statement of the programs under this chapter
in lieu of the biennial audit requirement.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-20-406 Insurance benefits for employees' beneficiaries.
(1) As used in this section:
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(a) "Children" includes stepchildren and legally adopted children.
(b)

(i) "Line-of-duty death" means a death resulting from:
(A) external force or violence occasioned by an act of duty as an employee; or
(B) strenuous activity, including a heart attack or stroke, that occurs during strenuous training

or another strenuous activity required as an act of duty as an employee.
(ii) "Line-of-duty death" does not include a death that:

(A) occurs during an activity that is required as an act of duty as an employee if the activity
is not a strenuous activity, including an activity that is clerical, administrative, or of a
nonmanual nature contributes to the employee's death;

(B) occurs during the commission of a crime committed by the employee;
(C) the employee's intoxication or use of alcohol or drugs, whether prescribed or

nonprescribed, contributes to the employee's death; or
(D) occurs in a manner other than as described in Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(c)
(i) "Strenuous activity" means engagement involving a difficult, stressful, or vigorous fire

suppression, rescue, hazardous material response, emergency medical service, physical
law enforcement, prison security, disaster relief, or other emergency response activity.

(ii) "Strenuous activity" includes participating in a participating employer sanctioned and funded
training exercise that involves difficult, stressful, or vigorous physical activity.

(2) The beneficiary of a covered individual who is employed by the state and who has a line-of-duty
death shall receive:

(a) the proceeds of a $50,000 group term life insurance policy paid for by the state and
administered and provided as part of the group life insurance program under this chapter; and

(b) group health coverage paid for by the state that covers the covered individual's:
(i) surviving spouse until remarriage or becoming eligible for Medicare, whichever comes first;

and
(ii) unmarried children up to the age of 26.

(3) A covered employer not required to provide the benefits under Subsection (2) may provide
either or both of the benefits under Subsection (2) by paying rates established by the program.

(4) The benefit provided under Subsection (2)(a) is subject to the same terms and conditions as
the group life insurance program provided under this chapter.

Amended by Chapter 40, 2013 General Session

49-20-407 Insurance mandates.
          Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsection 31A-1-103(3)(f):

(1) health coverage offered to the state employee risk pool under Subsection 49-20-202(1)(a) shall
comply with the provisions of Sections 31A-8-501 and 31A-22-605.5; and

(2) a health plan offered to public school districts, charter schools, and institutions of higher
education under Subsection 49-20-201(1)(b) shall comply with the provisions of Section
31A-22-605.5.

Amended by Chapter 127, 2012 General Session

49-20-408 Prohibition against certain uses of Social Security numbers.
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          Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsection 31A-1-103(3)(f), health, dental, medical, Medicare
supplement, or conversion coverage offered under Section 49-20-202 shall comply with the
provisions of Section 31A-22-634.

Enacted by Chapter 188, 2003 General Session

49-20-409 Long-term disability -- Cost of health coverage benefit.
(1) Under the direction of the board, the program shall provide for health insurance coverage for

state employees who receive a monthly disability benefit under Title 49, Chapter 21, Public
Employees' Long-Term Disability Act.

(2) A risk pool, other than the state risk pool, may elect to provide a benefit for its employees
similar to the benefit provided under Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 130, 2007 General Session

49-20-410 High deductible health plan -- Health savings account -- Contributions.
(1)

(a) In addition to other employee benefit plans offered under Subsection 49-20-201(1), the office
shall offer at least one federally qualified high deductible health plan with a health savings
account as an optional health plan.

(b) The provisions and limitations of the plan shall be:
(i) determined by the office in accordance with federal requirements and limitations; and
(ii) designed to promote appropriate health care utilization by consumers, including preventive

health care services.
(c) A state employee hired on or after July 1, 2011, who is offered a plan under Subsection

49-20-202(1)(a), shall be enrolled in a federally qualified high deductible health plan unless
the employee chooses a different health benefit plan during the employee's open enrollment
period.

(2) The office shall:
(a) administer the high deductible health plan in coordination with a health savings account for

medical expenses for each covered individual in the high deductible health plan;
(b) offer to all employees training regarding all health plans offered to employees;
(c) prepare online training as an option for the training required by Subsections (2)(b) and (4);
(d) ensure the training offered under Subsections (2)(b) and (c) includes information on changing

coverages to the high deductible plan with a health savings account, including coordination
of benefits with other insurances, restrictions on other insurance coverages, and general tax
implications; and

(e) coordinate annual open enrollment with the Department of Human Resource Management
to give state employees the opportunity to affirmatively select preferences from among
insurance coverage options.

(3)
(a) Contributions to the health savings account may be made by the employer.
(b) The amount of the employer contributions under Subsection (3)(a) shall be determined

annually by the office, after consultation with the Department of Human Resource
Management and the Governor's Office of Management and Budget so that the annual
employer contribution amount reflects the difference in the actuarial value between the
program's health maintenance organization coverage and the federally qualified high
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deductible health plan coverage, after taking into account any difference in employee
premium contribution.

(c) The office shall distribute the annual amount determined under Subsection (3)(b) to
employees in two equal amounts with a pay date in January and a pay date in July of each
plan year.

(d) An employee may also make contributions to the health savings account.
(e) If an employee is ineligible for a contribution to a health savings account under federal

law and would otherwise be eligible for the contribution under Subsection (3)(a), the
contribution shall be distributed into a health reimbursement account or other tax-advantaged
arrangement authorized under the Internal Revenue Code for the benefit of the employee.

(4)
(a) An employer participating in a plan offered under Subsection 49-20-202(1)(a) shall require

each employee to complete training on the health plan options available to the employee.
(b) The training required by Subsection (4)(a):

(i) shall include materials prepared by the office under Subsection (2);
(ii) may be completed online; and
(iii) shall be completed:

(A) before the end of the 2012 open enrollment period for current enrollees in the program;
and

(B) for employees hired on or after July 1, 2011, before the employee's selection of a plan in
the program.

Amended by Chapter 93, 2016 General Session

49-20-411 Autism Spectrum Disorder Treatment Program.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Applied behavior analysis" means the design, implementation, and evaluation of
environmental modifications using behavioral stimuli and consequences to produce
socially significant improvement in human behavior, including the use of direct observation,
measurement, and functional analysis of the relationship between environment and behavior
that are:

(i) necessary to develop, maintain, or restore, to the maximum extent practicable, the
functioning of an individual; and

(ii) provided or supervised by a board certified behavior analyst or a licensed psychologist with
equivalent university training and supervised experience.

(b) "Autism spectrum disorder" is as defined by the most recent edition of the Diagnostic and
Statistical Manual on Mental Disorders or a recent edition of a professionally accepted
diagnostic manual.

(c) "Health plan" does not include the health plan offered by the Public Employees' Benefit
and Insurance Program that is the state's designated essential health benefit package for
purposes of the PPACA, as defined in Section 31A-1-301.

(d) "Parent" means a parent of a qualified child.
(e) "Program" means the autism spectrum disorder treatment program created in Subsection (2).
(f) "Qualified child" means a child who is:

(i) at least two years of age but less than seven years of age;
(ii) diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder by a qualified professional; and
(iii) the eligible dependent of a state employee who is enrolled in a health plan that is offered

under this chapter.
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(g) "Treatment" means any treatment generally accepted by the medical community or the
American Academy of Pediatrics as an effective treatment for an individual with an autism
spectrum disorder, including applied behavior analysis.

(2) The Public Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program shall offer a program for the treatment
of autism spectrum disorders in accordance with Subsection (3).

(3) The program shall offer qualified children:
(a) diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder by a physician or qualified mental health professional,

and the development of a treatment plan;
(b) applied behavior analysis provided by a certified behavior analyst or someone with equivalent

training; and
(c) an annual cost-shared maximum benefit of $30,000 toward the cost of treatment that the

program covers, where, for each qualified child, for the cost of the treatment:
(i) the parent pays the first $250;
(ii) after the first $250, the program pays 80% and the parent pays 20%;
(iii) the program pays no more than $150 per day; and
(iv) the program pays no more than $24,000 total.

(4) The purpose of the program is to study the efficacy of providing autism treatment and is not
a mandate for coverage of autism treatment within the health plans offered by the Public
Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program.

(5) The program shall be funded on an ongoing basis through the risk pool established in
Subsection 49-20-202(1)(a).

Amended by Chapter 258, 2015 General Session

49-20-413 Pilot program for on-site employee clinic.
(1) Within state premiums paid to the state risk pool from the Legislature, the program shall

establish a primary care clinic:
(a) for state employees and their dependents;
(b) within a state building that is accessible to a large number of state employees; and
(c) in accordance with Subsection (2).

(2) The program shall:
(a) affiliate with an existing clinic:

(i) located in a building accessible to a large number of state employees; and
(ii) managed by a physician licensed in this state under Title 58, Chapter 67, Utah Medical

Practice Act, or Chapter 68, Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act; or
(b) request bids from private entities to establish the on-site primary care clinic in accordance

with criteria established by the program, which shall include at least the following:
(i) the entity's ability to establish a primary care clinic that is designed to:

(A) be convenient for employees and their dependents;
(B) increase health of employees;
(C) increase compliance with health care screening and management of chronic health care

conditions; and
(D) dispense commonly used, pre-packaged drugs in a cost effective manner;

(ii) the entity's organizational and financial independence from any particular hospital network,
network of clinics, or network of health care providers; and

(iii) management of the clinic by a physician licensed in the state under Title 58, Chapter 67,
Utah Medical Practice Act, or Chapter 68, Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act.
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Enacted by Chapter 68, 2015 General Session

Part 5
Pharmacy Benefits Manager Act

49-20-501 Title.
          This part is known as the "Pharmacy Benefits Manager Act."

Enacted by Chapter 83, 2011 General Session

49-20-502 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Health benefit plan" means:
(a) a health benefit plan as defined in Section 31A-1-301; or
(b) a health, dental, medical, Medicare supplement, or conversion program offered under Title

49, Chapter 20, Public Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program Act.
(2) "Pharmacist" is as defined in Section 58-17b-102.
(3) "Pharmacy" is as defined in Section 58-17b-102.
(4) "Pharmacy benefits management service" means any of the following services provided to a

health benefit plan, or to a participant of the health benefit plan:
(a) negotiating the amount to be paid by a health benefit plan for a prescription drug; or
(b) administering or managing prescription drug benefits provided by the health benefit plan for

the benefit of a participant of the health benefit plan, including:
(i) mail service pharmacy;
(ii) specialty pharmacy;
(iii) claims processing;
(iv) payment of a claim;
(v) retail network management;
(vi) clinical formulary development;
(vii) clinical formulary management services;
(viii) rebate contracting;
(ix) rebate administration;
(x) a participant compliance program;
(xi) a therapeutic intervention program;
(xii) a disease management program; or
(xiii) a service that is similar to, or related to, a service described in Subsection (4)(a) or (4)(b)(i)

through (xii).
(5) "Pharmacy benefits manager" means a person that provides a pharmacy benefits management

service to a health benefit plan.
(6) "Pharmacy service" means a product, good, or service provided by a pharmacy or pharmacist

to an individual.

Enacted by Chapter 83, 2011 General Session

49-20-503 Request for proposals for pharmacy benefits manager for Public Employees'
Benefit and Insurance Program.
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(1) When the board issues a request for proposals for a pharmacy benefits manager to provide
pharmacy benefits management services for the program, the request for proposals shall:

(a) require each responder to comply with the pharmacy audit provisions of Section 58-17b-622;
and

(b) provide each responder with the option to include, among the billing options proposed, a
billing option that complies with the requirements described in this section.

(2) The billing option described in Subsection (1) shall require the pharmacy benefits manager to,
on at least a monthly basis, submit to the board an invoice for all pharmacy services paid by
the pharmacy benefits manager on behalf of the program since the last request for payment or
reimbursement.

(3) The invoice described in Subsection (2) shall state, as a separate item from any other amount:
(a) the total amount due to the pharmacy benefits manager for all pharmacy services billed in the

invoice; and
(b) the total amount paid by the pharmacy benefits manager for the same pharmacy services for

which payment is sought in that invoice.

Amended by Chapter 265, 2012 General Session

Chapter 21
Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Act

Part 1
General Provisions

49-21-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Act."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-21-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Date of disability" means the date on which a period of continuous disability commences, and
may not commence on or before the last day of actual work.

(2)
(a) "Eligible employee" means the following employee whose employer provides coverage under

this chapter:
(i)

(A) any regular full-time employee as defined under Section 49-12-102, 49-13-102, or
49-22-102;

(B) any public safety service employee as defined under Section 49-14-102, 49-15-102, or
49-23-102;

(C) any firefighter service employee or volunteer firefighter as defined under Section
49-23-102 who began firefighter service on or after July 1, 2011;

(D) any judge as defined under Section 49-17-102 or 49-18-102; or
(E) the governor of the state;
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(ii) an employee who is exempt from participating in a retirement system under Subsection
49-12-203(4), 49-13-203(4), 49-14-203(1), or 49-15-203(1); and

(iii) an employee who is covered by a retirement program offered by a public or private system,
organization, or company designated by the State Board of Regents.

(b) "Eligible employee" does not include:
(i) any employee that is exempt from coverage under Section 49-21-201; or
(ii) a retiree.

(3) "Elimination period" means the three months at the beginning of each continuous period of total
disability for which no benefit will be paid.  The elimination period begins on the nearest first
day of the month from the date of disability.  The elimination period may include a one-time trial
return to work period of less than 15 consecutive calendar days.

(4) "Maximum benefit period" means the maximum period of time the monthly disability income
benefit will be paid under Section 49-21-403 for any continuous period of total disability.

(5) "Monthly disability benefit" means the monthly payments and accrual of service credit under
Section 49-21-401.

(6) "Objective medical impairment" means an impairment resulting from an injury or illness which
is diagnosed by a physician and which is based on accepted objective medical tests or findings
rather than subjective complaints.

(7) "Physician" means a licensed physician.
(8) "Regular monthly salary" means the amount certified by the participating employer as the

monthly salary of the eligible employee, unless there is a discrepancy between the certified
amount and the amount actually paid, in which case the office shall determine the regular
monthly salary.

(9) "Regular occupation" means either the primary duties performed by the eligible employee for
the 12 months preceding the date of disability, or a permanent assignment of duty to the eligible
employee.

(10) "Rehabilitative employment" means any occupation or employment for wage or profit, for
which the eligible employee is reasonably qualified to perform based on education, training, or
experience.

(11)
(a) "Total disability" means the complete inability, due to objective medical impairment, whether

physical or mental, to engage in the eligible employee's regular occupation during the
elimination period and the first 24 months of disability benefits.

(b)
(i) "Total disability" means, after the elimination period and the first 24 months of disability

benefits, the complete inability, as determined under Subsection (11)(b)(ii), to engage in
any gainful occupation which is reasonable, considering the eligible employee's education,
training, and experience.

(ii) For purposes of Subsection (11)(b)(i), inability is determined:
(A) based solely on physical objective medical impairment; and
(B) regardless of the existence or absence of any mental impairment.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-21-103 Creation of program.
          There is created for eligible employees the "Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Program."

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session
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49-21-104 Creation of trust fund.
(1) There is created the "Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Trust Fund" for the purpose of

paying the benefits and costs of administering this program.
(2) The fund shall consist of all money and interest paid into it in accordance with this chapter,

whether in the form of cash, securities, or other assets, and of all money received from any
other source.

(3) Custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-21-105 Purpose -- Flexibility -- Administration.
(1) The purpose of this chapter is to provide long-term disability benefits for an eligible employee.
(2) Subject to the provisions of Section 49-21-201, the program may include one or more long-term

disability benefit plans that differ from the benefit plan specified by this chapter for an eligible
employee of a covered employer as defined under Section 49-20-102.

(3) The program shall be administered by the office, under policies and rules adopted by the board.

Amended by Chapter 66, 2013 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-21-201 Program membership -- Eligibility.
(1) The state shall cover all of its eligible employees under this chapter.
(2) Public safety service employees, as defined in Sections 49-14-102, 49-15-102, and 49-23-102

shall be covered under this chapter or a substantially similar long-term disability program in
accordance with the provisions of Section 49-14-601, 49-15-601, or 49-23-601.

(3) Beginning on July 1, 2011, firefighter service employees, as defined in Section 49-23-102,
initially entering employment on or after July 1, 2011, and volunteer firefighters, as defined in
Section 49-23-102, shall be covered under this chapter in accordance with the provisions of
Section 49-23-601.

(4) Except as provided under Subsection (5), all other employers may provide coverage for their
eligible employees under this chapter.

(5) If an employer elects to cover any of its eligible employees under this chapter, all of its eligible
employees shall be covered.

(6) Except as provided under Subsections (1) and (2), nothing in this chapter requires any
employer to cover its eligible employees under this chapter.

(7) The following employees are not eligible for coverage under this chapter:
(a) firefighter service employees, as defined under Section 49-16-102, that initially entered

employment prior to July 1, 2011; and
(b) legislators.

Amended by Chapter 298, 2012 General Session
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Part 3
Contributions

49-21-301 Contributions to fund program -- Adjustment of premium rate.
(1) During each legislative session, the board shall certify to the Legislature the employer paid

premium rate expressed as a percentage of salary which is required to fund the Public
Employees' Long-Term Disability Trust Fund.

(2) Upon the board's recommendation, the Legislature shall adjust the premium rate to maintain
adequate funding for the Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Trust Fund.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

Part 4
Disability Benefits

49-21-401 Disability benefits -- Application -- Eligibility.
(1) An eligible employee shall apply for long-term disability benefits under this chapter by:

(a) completing an application form prepared by the office;
(b) signing a consent form allowing the office access to the eligible employee's medical records;

and
(c) providing any documentation or information reasonably requested by the office.

(2)
(a) If an eligible employee is unable to apply on the employee's own behalf, the application may

be made by a person who is:
(i) the attorney for an eligible employee; or
(ii) appointed as a conservator or guardian of the eligible employee.

(b) A person described in Subsection (2)(a), may not make an application for a deceased
employee.

(3) Upon request by the office, the participating employer of the eligible employee shall provide to
the office documentation and information concerning the eligible employee.

(4) The office:
(a) shall review all relevant information;
(b) may request additional information; and
(c) shall determine whether or not the eligible employee has a total disability.

(5) If the office determines that the eligible employee has a total disability due to accidental bodily
injury or physical illness which is not the result of the performance of an employment duty, the
eligible employee shall receive a monthly disability benefit equal to two-thirds of the eligible
employee's regular monthly salary, for each month the total disability continues beyond the
elimination period, not to exceed the maximum benefit period.

(6) If the office determines that the eligible employee has a total disability due to psychiatric illness,
the eligible employee shall receive:

(a) a maximum of two years of monthly disability benefits equal to two-thirds of the eligible
employee's regular monthly salary for each month the total disability continues beyond the
elimination period;
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(b) a maximum of $10,000 for psychiatric expenses, including rehabilitation expenses
preauthorized by the office's consultants, paid during the period of monthly disability benefits;
and

(c) payment of monthly disability benefits according to contractual provisions for a period not to
exceed five years if the eligible employee is institutionalized due to psychiatric illness.

(7) If the office determines that the eligible employee has a total disability due to a physical injury
resulting from external force or violence as a result of the performance of an employment duty,
the eligible employee shall receive a monthly disability benefit equal to 100% of the eligible
employee's regular monthly salary, for each month the total disability continues beyond the
elimination period, not to exceed the maximum benefit period.

(8)
(a) Successive periods of disability are considered as a continuous period of disability if the

period of disability:
(i) results from the same or related causes;
(ii) is separated by less than six months of continuous full-time work at the individual's usual

place of employment; and
(iii) commences while the individual is an eligible employee covered by this chapter.

(b) The inability to work for a period of less than 15 consecutive calendar days is not considered
as a period of disability.

(c) If Subsection (8)(a) or (b) does not apply, successive periods of disability are considered as
separate periods of disability.

(9) The office may, at any time, have any eligible employee claiming to have a disability examined
by a physician chosen by the office to determine if the eligible employee has a total disability.

(10) A claim brought by an eligible employee for long-term disability benefits under the Public
Employee's Long-Term Disability Program is barred if it is not commenced within six months
from the eligible employee's date of disability, unless the office determines that under the
surrounding facts and circumstances, the eligible employee's failure to comply with the time
limitations was reasonable.

(11)
(a) If the office denies or terminates a claim for long-term disability benefits, the eligible employee

shall have the right to appeal the denial or termination to the office disability claims review
committee within 60 days of the denial or termination of long-term disability benefits.

(b) An appeal of a denial or termination of long-term disability benefits described in Subsection
(11)(a) is barred if it is not commenced within the time limit described in Subsection (11)(a).

(12)
(a) If the office disability claims review committee, after reviewing an appeal denying or

terminating long-term disability benefits, denies or terminates a claim for long-term disability
benefits, the eligible employee may appeal the office disability claims review committee's
denial or termination to the executive director of the office in accordance with Section
49-11-613.

(b) An appeal of a denial or termination of long-term disability benefits described in Subsection
(12)(a) is barred if it is not commenced within 60 days of the office disability claims review
committee's denial or termination.

(c) Following an appeal commenced under this Subsection (12), any further appeal proceedings
shall be conducted in accordance with the administrative hearing process described in
Section 49-11-613.
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(13) Medical or psychiatric conditions which existed prior to eligibility may not be a basis for
disability benefits until the eligible employee has had one year of continuous eligibility in the
Public Employees Long-Term Disability Program.

(14) If there is a valid benefit protection contract, service credit shall accrue during the period of
total disability, unless the disabled eligible employee is:

(a) exempted from a system;
(b) eligible to retire with an unreduced retirement allowance; or
(c) otherwise ineligible for service credit.

(15) Regardless of any medical evidence provided by the employee to support the application for
disability, an employee is not eligible for long-term disability benefits during any period in which
the employee:

(a) makes a claim that the employee is able to work; or
(b) has a pending action in a court or before any federal, state, or local administrative body in

which the employee has made a claim that the employee is able to work.
(16) Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 49-11-618, upon written request by an employer,

information obtained under this part may, upon an order of a court or an administrative law
judge, be released to an employer who is a party in an action under Subsection (15).

Amended by Chapter 328, 2015 General Session

49-21-402 Reduction or reimbursement of benefit -- Circumstances -- Application for other
benefits required.
(1) A monthly disability benefit may be terminated unless:

(a) the eligible employee is under the ongoing care and treatment of a physician other than the
eligible employee; and

(b) the eligible employee provides the information and documentation requested by the office.
(2) The monthly disability benefit shall be reduced or reimbursed by any amount received by, or

payable to, the eligible employee from the following sources for the same period of time during
which the eligible employee is entitled to receive a monthly disability benefit:

(a) Social Security disability benefits, including all benefits received by the eligible employee, the
eligible employee's spouse, and the eligible employee's children as determined by the Social
Security Administration;

(b) workers' compensation indemnity benefits;
(c) any money received by judgment, legal action, or settlement from a third party liable to the

employee for the disability;
(d) unemployment compensation benefits;
(e) automobile no-fault, medical payments, or similar insurance payments;
(f) any money received by a judgment, settlement, or other payment as a result of a claim against

an employer; and
(g) any payments made for sick leave, annual leave, or similar payments.

(3) The monthly disability benefit shall be reduced by any amount in excess of one-third of the
eligible employee's regular monthly salary received by, or payable to, the eligible employee
from the following sources for the same period of time during which the eligible employee is
entitled to receive a monthly disability benefit:

(a) any retirement payment earned through or provided by public or private employment; and
(b) any disability benefit resulting from the disability for which benefits are being received under

this chapter.
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(4) After the date of disability, cost-of-living increases to any of the benefits listed in Subsection (2)
or (3) may not be considered in calculating a reduction to the monthly disability benefit.

(5) Any amounts payable to the eligible employee from one or more of the sources under
Subsection (2) are considered as amounts received whether or not the amounts were actually
received by the eligible employee.

(6)
(a) An eligible employee shall first apply for all disability benefits from governmental entities

under Subsection (2) to which the eligible employee is or may be entitled, and provide to the
office evidence of the applications.

(b) If the eligible employee fails to make application under this Subsection (6), the monthly
disability benefit shall be suspended.

Amended by Chapter 316, 2013 General Session

49-21-403 Termination of disability benefits -- Calculation of retirement benefit.
(1) An eligible employee covered by this chapter and eligible for service credit under a system

or plan, including an eligible employee who relinquishes rights to retirement benefits under
Section 49-11-619, who applies and is qualified for a monthly disability benefit shall receive a
monthly disability benefit until the earlier of:

(a) the date of the eligible employee's death;
(b) the date the eligible employee no longer has a disability;
(c) the date the eligible employee has accumulated or would have accumulated, if the employee

had not chosen the Title 49, Chapter 22, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan, Title 49,
Chapter 23, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan, been a volunteer firefighter, or exempted
from a retirement system or plan:

(i) 20 years of service credit if the eligible employee is covered by Chapter 14, Public Safety
Contributory Retirement Act, or Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory Retirement Act;

(ii) 25 years of service credit if the eligible employee is covered by Chapter 17, Judges'
Contributory Retirement Act, or Chapter 18, Judges' Noncontributory Retirement Act;

(iii) 30 years of service credit if the eligible employee is covered by Chapter 12, Public
Employees' Contributory Retirement Act, or Chapter 13, Public Employees' Noncontributory
Retirement Act;

(iv) 35 years of service credit if the eligible employee is covered by the defined benefit portion
under Chapter 22, Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System, or is covered by the defined
contribution plan under Chapter 22, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan; or

(v) 25 years of service credit if the eligible employee is covered by the defined benefit portion
under Chapter 23, Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System, or is covered by the defined
contribution plan under Chapter 23, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan;

(d) the date the eligible employee has received a monthly disability benefit for the following
applicable time periods:

(i) if the eligible employee is under age 60, the monthly disability benefit is payable until age 65;
(ii) if the eligible employee is 60 or 61 years of age on the date of disability, the monthly

disability benefit is payable for five years;
(iii) if the eligible employee is 62 or 63 years of age on the date of disability, the monthly

disability benefit is payable for four years;
(iv) if the eligible employee is 64 or 65 years of age on the date of disability, the monthly

disability benefit is payable for three years;
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(v) if the eligible employee is 66, 67, or 68 years of age on the date of disability, the monthly
disability benefit is payable for two years; and

(vi) if the eligible employee is 69 years of age or older on the date of disability, the monthly
disability benefit is payable for one year; or

(e) the eligible employee's retirement date, set when the eligible employee retires from a system
or from the Utah Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan.

(2)
(a) Upon termination of a monthly disability benefit, an eligible employee eligible for service credit

under a system may retire under the requirements of the system which covered the eligible
employee on the date of disability.

(b) The final average salary used in the calculation of the allowance shall be based on the annual
rate of pay on the date of disability, improved by the annual cost-of-living increase factor
applied to retirees of the system which covered the eligible employee on the date of disability.

(3) An eligible employee who is eligible for service credit in a system, but has relinquished rights to
an allowance under Section 49-11-619, may receive the benefits the eligible employee would
have received by being eligible for service credit in the system covering the eligible employee
on the date of disability, except for the accrual of service credit, in accordance with this title.

(4) An eligible employee receiving a monthly disability benefit who has service credit from two
or more systems may not combine service credits under Section 49-11-405 in qualifying for
retirement, unless the eligible employee would receive a greater allowance by combining the
service credits.

(5) An eligible employee covered by this chapter who is a participant in the Tier II Defined
Contribution Plan, created in Chapter 22, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan, or Chapter
23, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan, who applies and is qualified for a monthly disability
benefit, shall receive a monthly disability benefit until the earlier of:

(a) the date of the eligible employee's death;
(b) the date the eligible employee no longer has a disability;
(c)

(i) 35 years from the date the eligible employee began participation in the Tier II Defined
Contribution Plan, created in Chapter 22, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan; or

(ii) 25 years from the date the eligible employee began participation in the Tier II Defined
Contribution Plan created in Chapter 23, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan; or

(d) the date the eligible employee has received a monthly disability benefit for the following
applicable time periods:

(i) if the eligible employee is under age 60, the monthly disability benefit is payable until age 65;
(ii) if the eligible employee is 60 or 61 years of age on the date of disability, the monthly

disability benefit is payable for five years;
(iii) if the eligible employee is 62 or 63 years of age on the date of disability, the monthly

disability benefit is payable for four years;
(iv) if the eligible employee is 64 or 65 years of age on the date of disability, the monthly

disability benefit is payable for three years;
(v) if the eligible employee is 66, 67, or 68 years of age on the date of disability, the monthly

disability benefit is payable for two years; and
(vi) if the eligible employee is 69 years of age or older on the date of disability, the monthly

disability benefit is payable for one year.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session
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49-21-404 Annual adjustment to disability benefit.
(1)

(a) An eligible employee receiving a monthly disability benefit shall receive an annual adjustment
on the date following the end of the elimination period to reflect annual changes in the United
States Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(b) This adjustment may not exceed adjustments made to retirees under the system which
covered the eligible employee on the date of disability.

(2) If an employee is not participating in a system, the annual adjustment may not exceed
the adjustment paid in the system which would cover the employee if the employee were
participating in a system.

Amended by Chapter 240, 2003 General Session

49-21-405 Disability benefit -- Exclusions.
          A monthly disability benefit is not payable for the following:

(1) self-inflicted injury;
(2) alcoholism;
(3) substance abuse;
(4) disability arising from or caused by acts of aggression committed by the eligible employee; or
(5) the eligible employee committing or attempting to commit a felony or other illegal act.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 250, 2002 General Session

49-21-406 Rehabilitative employment -- Interview by disability specialist -- Maintaining
eligibility -- Additional treatment and care.
(1)

(a) If an eligible employee, during a period of total disability for which the monthly disability
benefit is payable, engages in approved rehabilitative employment, the monthly disability
benefit otherwise payable shall be reduced:

(i) by an amount equal to 50% of the income to which the eligible employee is entitled for the
employment during the month; and

(ii) so that the combined amount received from the rehabilitative employment and the monthly
disability payment does not exceed 100% of the eligible employee's monthly salary prior to
the employee's disability.

(b) This rehabilitative benefit is payable for up to two years or to the end of the maximum benefit
period, whichever occurs first.

(2)
(a) Each eligible employee receiving a monthly disability benefit shall be interviewed by the

office.
(b) The office may refer the eligible employee to a rehabilitative or vocational specialist for a

review of the eligible employee's condition and a written rehabilitation plan and return to work
assistance.

(3) If an eligible employee receiving a monthly disability benefit fails to participate in an office-
approved rehabilitation program within the limitations set forth by a physician, the monthly
disability benefit may be suspended or terminated.

(4) The office may, as a condition of paying a monthly disability benefit, require that the eligible
employee receive medical care and treatment if that treatment is reasonable or usual according
to current medical practices.
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Amended by Chapter 328, 2015 General Session

49-21-408 Limitation of service credit accrual -- Disability benefits from a long-term
disability program other than under this chapter.

          Beginning on July 1, 2014, an eligible employee who receives a monthly disability benefit from
a long-term disability program other than under this chapter and who is eligible for service credit
under a system or plan shall accrue service credit in that system or plan until the earlier of:
(1) the date of the eligible employee's death;
(2) the date the eligible employee retires from the system or plan; or
(3) the date the eligible employee has accumulated or would have accumulated service credit

in a defined benefit system or plan under this title, sufficient to be eligible to retire with an
unreduced allowance, if the employee had not:

(a) chosen a defined contribution plan under Title 49, Chapter 22, Part 4, Tier II Defined
Contribution Plan, or under Title 49, Chapter 23, Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan;

(b) been a volunteer firefighter; or
(c) been exempted from a retirement system or plan under this title.

Enacted by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

Chapter 22
New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement Act

Part 1
General Provisions

49-22-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement Act."

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-22-102  Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Benefits normally provided" has the same meaning as defined in Section 49-12-102.
(2)

(a) "Compensation" means, except as provided in Subsection (2)(c), the total amount of
payments made by a participating employer to a member of this system for services rendered
to the participating employer, including:

(i) bonuses;
(ii) cost-of-living adjustments;
(iii) other payments currently includable in gross income and that are subject to social security

deductions, including any payments in excess of the maximum amount subject to deduction
under social security law;

(iv) amounts that the member authorizes to be deducted or reduced for salary deferral or other
benefits authorized by federal law; and
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(v) member contributions.
(b) "Compensation" for purposes of this chapter may not exceed the amount allowed under

Internal Revenue Code, Section 401(a)(17).
(c) "Compensation" does not include:

(i) the monetary value of remuneration paid in kind, including a residence or use of equipment;
(ii) the cost of any employment benefits paid for by the participating employer;
(iii) compensation paid to a temporary employee or an employee otherwise ineligible for service

credit;
(iv) any payments upon termination, including accumulated vacation, sick leave payments,

severance payments, compensatory time payments, or any other special payments; or
(v) any allowances or payments to a member for costs or expenses paid by the participating

employer, including automobile costs, uniform costs, travel costs, tuition costs, housing
costs, insurance costs, equipment costs, and dependent care costs.

(d) The executive director may determine if a payment not listed under this Subsection (2) falls
within the definition of compensation.

(3) "Corresponding Tier I system" means the system or plan that would have covered the member
if the member had initially entered employment before July 1, 2011.

(4) "Final average salary" means the amount calculated by averaging the highest five years of
annual compensation preceding retirement subject to Subsections (4)(a), (b), (c), (d), and (e).

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), the percentage increase in annual compensation in
any one of the years used may not exceed the previous year's compensation by more than
10% plus a cost-of-living adjustment equal to the decrease in the purchasing power of the
dollar during the previous year, as measured by a United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(b) In cases where the participating employer provides acceptable documentation to the office,
the limitation in Subsection (4)(a) may be exceeded if:

(i) the member has transferred from another agency; or
(ii) the member has been promoted to a new position.

(c) If the member retires more than six months from the date of termination of employment, the
member is considered to have been in service at the member's last rate of pay from the date
of the termination of employment to the effective date of retirement for purposes of computing
the member's final average salary only.

(d) If the member has less than five years of service credit in this system, final average salary
means the average annual compensation paid to the member during the full period of service
credit.

(e) The annual compensation used to calculate final average salary shall be based on:
(i) a calendar year for a member employed by a participating employer that is not an

educational institution; or
(ii) a contract year for a member employed by an educational institution.

(5) "Participating employer" means an employer which meets the participation requirements of:
(a) Sections 49-12-201 and 49-12-202;
(b) Sections 49-13-201 and 49-13-202;
(c) Section 49-19-201; or
(d) Section 49-22-201 or 49-22-202.

(6)
(a) "Regular full-time employee" means an employee whose term of employment for a

participating employer contemplates continued employment during a fiscal or calendar year
and whose employment normally requires an average of 20 hours or more per week, except
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as modified by the board, and who receives benefits normally provided by the participating
employer.

(b) "Regular full-time employee" includes:
(i) a teacher whose term of employment for a participating employer contemplates continued

employment during a school year and who teaches half time or more;
(ii) a classified school employee:

(A) who is hired before July 1, 2013; and
(B) whose employment normally requires an average of 20 hours per week or more for a

participating employer, regardless of benefits provided;
(iii) an appointive officer whose appointed position is full time as certified by the participating

employer;
(iv) the governor, the lieutenant governor, the state auditor, the state treasurer, the attorney

general, and a state legislator;
(v) an elected official not included under Subsection (6)(b)(iv) whose elected position is full time

as certified by the participating employer;
(vi) a faculty member or employee of an institution of higher education who is considered full

time by that institution of higher education; and
(vii) an individual who otherwise meets the definition of this Subsection (6) who performs

services for a participating employer through a professional employer organization or similar
arrangement.

(c) "Regular full-time employee" does not include:
(i) a firefighter service employee as defined in Section 49-23-102;
(ii) a public safety service employee as defined in Section 49-23-102;
(iii) a classified school employee:

(A) who is hired on or after July 1, 2013; and
(B) who does not receive benefits normally provided by the participating employer even if the

employment normally requires an average of 20 hours per week or more for a participating
employer;

(iv) a classified school employee:
(A) who is hired before July 1, 2013;
(B) who did not qualify as a regular full-time employee before July 1, 2013;
(C) who does not receive benefits normally provided by the participating employer; and
(D) whose employment hours are increased on or after July 1, 2013, to require an average of

20 hours per week or more for a participating employer; or
(E) who is a person working on a contract:

(I) for the purposes of vocational rehabilitation and the employment and training of people
with significant disabilities; and

(II) that has been set aside from procurement requirements by the state pursuant to Section
63G-6a-805 or the federal government pursuant to 41 U.S.C. Sec. 8501 et seq.

(7) "System" means the New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement System created
under this chapter.

(8) "Years of service credit" means:
(a) a period consisting of 12 full months as determined by the board;
(b) a period determined by the board, whether consecutive or not, during which a regular full-time

employee performed services for a participating employer, including any time the regular full-
time employee was absent on a paid leave of absence granted by a participating employer or
was absent in the service of the United States government on military duty as provided by this
chapter; or
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(c) the regular school year consisting of not less than eight months of full-time service for a
regular full-time employee of an educational institution.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 304, 2016 General Session

49-22-103 Creation of system.
(1) There is created for members employed by a participating employer the "New Public

Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement System."
(2) The New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement System includes:

(a) the Tier II hybrid retirement system created in Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System; and
(b) the Tier II defined contribution plan created in Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-22-104 Creation of trust fund.
(1) There is created the "New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement Trust Fund" for

the purpose of paying the benefits and costs of administering the defined benefit portion of this
system.

(2) The fund shall consist of all money paid into it, including interest, in accordance with this
chapter, whether in the form of cash, securities, or other assets, and of all money received from
any other source.

(3) Custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-22-201 System membership -- Eligibility.
(1) Beginning July 1, 2011, a participating employer shall participate in this system.
(2)

(a) A person initially entering regular full-time employment with a participating employer on or
after July 1, 2011, who does not have service credit accrued before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I
system or plan administered by the board, is eligible:

(i) as a member for service credit and defined contributions under the Tier II hybrid retirement
system established by Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System; or

(ii) as a participant for defined contributions under the Tier II defined contribution plan
established by Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan.

(b) A person initially entering regular full-time employment with a participating employer on or
after July 1, 2011, shall:

(i) make an election to participate in the system created under this chapter:
(A) as a member for service credit and defined contributions under the Tier II hybrid

retirement system established by Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System; or
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(B) as a participant for defined contributions under the Tier II defined contribution plan
established by Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan; and

(ii) electronically submit to the office notification of the member's election under Subsection (2)
(b)(i) in a manner approved by the office.

(c) An election made by a person initially entering regular full-time employment with a
participating employer under this Subsection (2) is irrevocable beginning one year from the
date of eligibility for accrual of benefits.

(d) If no election is made under Subsection (2)(b)(i), the person shall become a member
eligible for service credit and defined contributions under the Tier II hybrid retirement system
established by Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System.

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section and except as provided in Subsection (4), an
elected official initially entering office on or after July 1, 2011:

(a) is only eligible to participate in the Tier II defined contribution plan established under Part 4,
Tier II Defined Contribution Plan;

(b) is not eligible to participate in the Tier II hybrid retirement system established under Part 3,
Tier II Hybrid Retirement System; and

(c) is vested immediately in the elected official's benefit and the benefit is nonforfeitable, including
the total amount contributed by the participating employer and the total amount contributed by
the member in the Tier II defined contribution plan.

(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsection (3), a legislator or full-time elected official initially
entering office on or after July 1, 2011, who has service credit accrued before July 1, 2011:

(a) in a Tier I retirement system or plan administered by the board shall continue in the Tier I
system or plan for which the legislator or full-time elected official is eligible; or

(b) in a Tier II hybrid retirement system shall continue in the Tier II system for which the legislator
or full-time elected official is eligible.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-22-202 Participation of employers -- Limitations -- Exclusions -- Admission requirements.
(1) Unless excluded under Subsection (2), an employer is a participating employer and may not

withdraw from participation in this system.
(2) The following employers may be excluded from participation in this system:

(a) an employer not initially admitted or included as a participating employer in this system before
January 1, 1982, if:

(i) the employer elects not to provide or participate in any type of private or public retirement,
supplemental or defined contribution plan, either directly or indirectly, for its employees,
except for Social Security; or

(ii) the employer offers another collectively bargained retirement benefit and has continued to
do so on an uninterrupted basis since that date;

(b) an employer that is a charter school authorized under Title 53A, Chapter 1a, Part 5, The
Utah Charter Schools Act, and does not elect to participate in accordance with Section
53A-1a-512; or

(c) an employer that is a risk management association initially created by interlocal agreement
before 1986 for the purpose of implementing a self-insurance joint protection program for the
benefit of member municipalities of the association.

(3) If an employer that may be excluded under Subsection (2)(a)(i) elects at any time to provide
or participate in any type of public or private retirement, supplemental or defined contribution
plan, either directly or indirectly, except for Social Security, the employer shall be a participating
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employer in this system regardless of whether the employer has applied for admission under
Subsection (4).

(4)
(a) An employer may, by resolution of its governing body, apply for admission to this system.
(b) Upon approval of the resolution by the board, the employer is a participating employer in this

system and is subject to this title.
(5) If a participating employer purchases service credit on behalf of a regular full-time employee for

service rendered prior to the participating employer's admission to this system, the participating
employer:

(a) shall purchase credit in a nondiscriminatory manner on behalf of all current and former regular
full-time employees who were eligible for service credit at the time service was rendered; and

(b) shall comply with the provisions of Section 49-11-403.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

49-22-203 Exclusions from membership in system.
(1) The following employees are not eligible for service credit in this system:

(a) subject to the requirements of Subsection (2), an employee whose employment status is
temporary in nature due to the nature or the type of work to be performed;

(b) except as provided under Subsection (3), an employee of an institution of higher education
who participates in a retirement system with a public or private retirement system,
organization, or company designated by the State Board of Regents during any period
in which required contributions based on compensation have been paid on behalf of the
employee by the employer;

(c) an employee serving as an exchange employee from outside the state;
(d) an employee of the Department of Workforce Services who is covered under another

retirement system allowed under Title 35A, Chapter 4, Employment Security Act;
(e) an employee who is employed with a withdrawing entity that has elected, prior to January 1,

2017, to exclude:
(i) new employees from participation in this system under Subsection 49-11-623(3)(a); or
(ii) all employees from participation in this system under Subsection 49-11-623(3)(b); or

(f) a person who files a written request for exemption with the office under Section 49-22-205.
(2) If an employee whose status is temporary in nature due to the nature of type of work to be

performed:
(a) is employed for a term that exceeds six months and the employee otherwise qualifies for

service credit in this system, the participating employer shall report and certify to the office
that the employee is a regular full-time employee effective the beginning of the seventh month
of employment; or

(b) was previously terminated prior to being eligible for service credit in this system and is
reemployed within three months of termination by the same participating employer, the
participating employer shall report and certify that the member is a regular full-time employee
when the total of the periods of employment equals six months and the employee otherwise
qualifies for service credits in this system.

(3) Upon cessation of the participating employer contributions, an employee under Subsection (1)
(b) is eligible for service credit in this system.

Amended by Chapter 315, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 364, 2015 General Session
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49-22-204 Higher education employees' eligibility requirements -- Election between different
retirement plans -- Classification requirements -- Transfer between systems.
(1)

(a) Regular full-time employees of institutions of higher education who are eligible to participate
in either this system or in a retirement annuity contract with a public or private system,
organization, or company, designated by the Board of Regents, shall, not later than January
1, 1979, elect to participate exclusively in this system or in an annuity contract allowed under
this Subsection (1)(a).

(b) The election is final, and no right exists to make any further election.
(2)

(a) A regular full-time employee hired by an institution of higher education after January 1,
1979, may participate only in the retirement plan which attaches to the person's employment
classification.

(b) Each institution of higher education shall prepare or amend existing employment
classifications, under the direction of the Board of Regents, so that each classification is
assigned with either:

(i) this system; or
(ii) a public or private system, organization, or company designated by the Board of Regents.

(3) A regular full-time employee hired by an institution of higher education on or after July 1, 2011,
whose employment classification requires participation in this system may elect to continue
participation in this system upon change to an employment classification which requires
participation in a public or private system, organization, or company designated by the Board of
Regents.

(4) A regular full-time employee hired by an institution of higher education on or after July 1, 2011,
whose employment classification requires participation in this system shall participate in this
system.

Amended by Chapter 15, 2014 General Session

49-22-205 Exemptions from participation in system.
(1) Upon filing a written request for exemption with the office, the following employees are exempt

from participation in the system as provided in this section:
(a) an executive department head of the state;
(b) a member of the State Tax Commission;
(c) a member of the Public Service Commission;
(d) a member of a full-time or part-time board or commission;
(e) an employee of the Governor's Office of Management and Budget;
(f) an employee of the Governor's Office of Economic Development;
(g) an employee of the Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice;
(h) an employee of the Governor's Office;
(i) an employee of the State Auditor's Office;
(j) an employee of the State Treasurer's Office;
(k) any other member who is permitted to make an election under Section 49-11-406;
(l) a person appointed as a city manager or appointed as a city administrator or another at-will

employee of a municipality, county, or other political subdivision;
(m) an employee of an interlocal cooperative agency created under Title 11, Chapter 13,

Interlocal Cooperation Act, who is engaged in a specialized trade customarily provided
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through membership in a labor organization that provides retirement benefits to its members;
and

(n) an employee of the Utah Science Technology and Research Initiative created under Title
63M, Chapter 2, Utah Science Technology and Research Governing Authority Act.

(2)
(a) A participating employer shall prepare a list designating those positions eligible for exemption

under Subsection (1).
(b) An employee may not be exempted unless the employee is employed in a position

designated by the participating employer under Subsection (1).
(3)

(a) In accordance with this section, Section 49-12-203, and Section 49-13-203, a municipality,
county, or political subdivision may not exempt a total of more than 50 positions or a number
equal to 10% of the employees of the municipality, county, or political subdivision, whichever
is less.

(b) A municipality, county, or political subdivision may exempt at least one regular full-time
employee.

(4) Each participating employer shall:
(a) file each employee exemption annually with the office; and
(b) update an employee exemption in the event of any change.

(5) Beginning on the effective date of the exemption for an employee who elects to be exempt in
accordance with Subsection (1):

(a) for a member of the Tier II defined contribution plan:
(i) the participating employer shall contribute the nonelective contribution and the amortization

rate described in Section 49-22-401, except that the nonelective contribution is exempt from
the vesting requirements of Subsection 49-22-401(3)(a); and

(ii) the member may make voluntary deferrals as provided in Section 49-22-401; and
(b) for a member of the Tier II hybrid retirement system:

(i) the participating employer shall contribute the nonelective contribution and the amortization
rate described in Section 49-22-401, except that the contribution is exempt from the vesting
requirements of Subsection 49-22-401(3)(a);

(ii) the member may make voluntary deferrals as provided in Section 49-22-401; and
(iii) the member is not eligible for additional service credit in the system.

(6) If an employee who is a member of the Tier II hybrid retirement system subsequently revokes
the election of exemption made under Subsection (1), the provisions described in Subsection
(5)(b) shall no longer be applicable and the coverage for the employee shall be effective
prospectively as provided in Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System.

(7)
(a) All employer contributions made on behalf of an employee shall be invested in accordance

with Subsection 49-22-303(3)(a) or 49-22-401(4)(a) until the one-year election period under
Subsection 49-22-201(2)(c) is expired if the employee:

(i) elects to be exempt in accordance with Subsection (1); and
(ii) continues employment with the participating employer through the one-year election period

under Subsection 49-22-201(2)(c).
(b) An employee is entitled to receive a distribution of the employer contributions made on behalf

of the employee and all associated investment gains and losses if the employee:
(i) elects to be exempt in accordance with Subsection (1); and
(ii) terminates employment prior to the one-year election period under Subsection 49-22-201(2)

(c).
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(8)
(a) The office shall make rules to implement this section.
(b) The rules made under this Subsection (8) shall include provisions to allow the exemption

provided under Subsection (1) to apply to all contributions made beginning on or after July 1,
2011, on behalf of an exempted employee who began the employment before May 8, 2012.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

Part 3
Tier II Hybrid Retirement System

49-22-301 Contributions.
(1) Participating employers and members shall pay the certified contribution rates to the office to

maintain the defined benefit portion of this system on a financially and actuarially sound basis.
(2)

(a) A participating employer shall pay up to 10% of compensation toward the certified contribution
rate to the office for the defined benefit portion of this system.

(b) A member shall only pay to the office the amount, if any, of the certified contribution rate for
the defined benefit portion of this system that exceeds the percent of compensation paid by
the participating employer under Subsection (2)(a).

(c) In addition to the percent specified under Subsection (2)(a), the participating employer shall
pay the corresponding Tier I system amortization rate of the employee's compensation to the
office to be applied to the employer's corresponding Tier I system liability.

(3) A participating employer may not elect to pay all or part of the required member contributions
under Subsection (2)(b), in addition to the required participating employer contributions.

(4)
(a) A member contribution is credited by the office to the account of the individual member.
(b) This amount, together with refund interest, is held in trust for the payment of benefits to the

member or the member's beneficiaries.
(c) A member contribution is vested and nonforfeitable.

(5)
(a) Each member is considered to consent to payroll deductions of member contributions.
(b) The payment of compensation less these payroll deductions is considered full payment for

services rendered by the member.
(6) Benefits provided under the defined benefit portion of the Tier II Hybrid Retirement System

created under this part:
(a) may not be increased unless the actuarial funded ratios of all systems under this title reach

100%; and
(b) may be decreased only in accordance with the provisions of Section 49-22-310.

Amended by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

49-22-302 Purchase of service credit.
          A member who works 20 or more hours per week for a participating employer participating in

this system, but who does not meet other eligibility requirements for service credit, may purchase
the service credit in accordance with Section 49-11-403.
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Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-22-303 Defined contribution benefit established -- Contribution by employer and
employee -- Vesting of contributions -- Plans to be separate -- Tax-qualified status of plans.
(1)

(a) A participating employer shall make a nonelective contribution on behalf of each regular
full-time employee who is a member of this system in an amount equal to 10% minus the
contribution rate paid by the employer under Subsection 49-22-301(2)(a) of the member's
compensation to a defined contribution plan qualified under Section 401(k) of the Internal
Revenue Code which:

(i) is sponsored by the board; and
(ii) has been grandfathered under Section 1116 of the Federal Tax Reform Act of 1986.

(b) The member may make voluntary deferrals to:
(i) the qualified 401(k) plan which receives the employer contribution described in this

Subsection (1); or
(ii) at the member's option, another defined contribution plan established by the participating

employer.
(2)

(a) The total amount contributed by the participating employer under Subsection (1)(a), including
associated investment gains and losses, vests to the member upon accruing four years of
service credit under this title.

(b) The total amount contributed by the member under Subsection (1)(b) vests to the member's
benefit immediately and is nonforfeitable.

(c)
(i) Years of service credit under Subsection (2)(a) includes any fraction of a year to which the

member may be entitled.
(ii) At the time of vesting, if a member's years of service credit is within one-tenth of one year of

the total years required for vesting, the member shall be considered to have the total years
of service credit required for vesting.

(3)
(a) Contributions made by a participating employer under Subsection (1)(a) shall be invested

in a default option selected by the board until the member is vested in accordance with
Subsection (2)(a).

(b) A member may direct the investment of contributions made by a participating employer under
Subsection (1)(a) only after the contributions have vested in accordance with Subsection (2)
(a).

(c) A member may direct the investment of contributions made by the member under Subsection
(1)(b).

(4) No loans shall be available from contributions made by a participating employer under
Subsection (1)(a).

(5) No hardship distributions shall be available from contributions made by a participating employer
under Subsection (1)(a).

(6)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (6)(b) and Section 49-22-205, if a member terminates

employment with a participating employer prior to the vesting period described in Subsection
(2)(a), all contributions, including associated investment gains and losses, made by a



Utah Code

Page 174

participating employer on behalf of the member under Subsection (1)(a) are subject to
forfeiture.

(b) If a member who terminates employment with a participating employer prior to the vesting
period described in Subsection (2)(a) subsequently enters employment with the same
or another participating employer within 10 years of the termination date of the previous
employment:

(i) all contributions made by the previous participating employer on behalf of the member,
including associated investment gains and losses, shall be reinstated upon employment as
a regular full-time employee; and

(ii) the length of time that the member worked with the previous employer shall be included in
determining whether the member has completed the vesting period under Subsection (2)(a).

(c) The office shall establish a forfeiture account and shall specify the uses of the forfeiture
account, which may include an offset against administrative costs or employer contributions
made under this section.

(7) The office may request from any other qualified 401(k) plan under Subsection (1) or (2) any
relevant information pertaining to the maintenance of its tax qualification under the Internal
Revenue Code.

(8) The office may take any action which in its judgment is necessary to maintain the tax-qualified
status of its 401(k) defined contribution plan under federal law.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-22-304 Defined benefit eligibility for an allowance -- Date of retirement -- Qualifications.
(1) A member is qualified to receive an allowance from this system when:

(a) except as provided under Subsection (3), the member ceases actual work for every
participating employer that employs the member before the member's retirement date and
provides evidence of the termination;

(b) the member has submitted to the office a retirement application form that states the member's
proposed retirement date; and

(c) one of the following conditions is met as of the member's retirement date:
(i) the member has accrued at least four years of service credit and has attained an age of 65

years;
(ii) the member has accrued at least 10 years of service credit and has attained an age of 62

years;
(iii) the member has accrued at least 20 years of service credit and has attained an age of 60

years; or
(iv) the member has accrued at least 35 years of service credit.

(2)
(a) The member's retirement date:

(i) shall be the 1st or the 16th day of the month, as selected by the member;
(ii) shall be on or after the date of termination; and
(iii) may not be more than 90 days before or after the date the application is received by the

office.
(b) Except as provided under Subsection (3), a member may not be employed by a participating

employer in the system established by this chapter on the retirement date selected under
Subsection (2)(a)(i).

(3)
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(a) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also an elected official
is not required to cease service as an elected official to be qualified to receive an allowance
under Subsection (1), unless the member is retiring from service as an elected official.

(b) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also a part-time appointed
board member is not required to cease service as a part-time appointed board member to be
qualified to receive an allowance under Subsection (1).

(c) A member who is employed by a participating employer, who is also an affiliated emergency
services worker as defined in Section 49-11-1202 for a different agency, is not required
to cease service as an affiliated emergency services worker to be qualified to receive an
allowance under Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-22-305 Defined benefit service retirement plans -- Calculation of retirement allowance --
Social Security limitations.
(1)

(a) The retirees of this system may choose from the six retirement options described in this
section.

(b) Options Two, Three, Four, Five, and Six are modifications of the Option One calculation.
(2) The Option One benefit is an annual allowance calculated as follows:

(a) If the retiree is at least 65 years of age or has accrued at least 35 years of service credit, the
allowance is an amount equal to 1.5% of the retiree's final average salary multiplied by the
number of years of service credit accrued on and after July 1, 2011.

(b) If the retiree is less than 65 years of age, the allowance shall be reduced by the full actuarial
amount for each year of retirement from age 60 to age 65, unless the member has 35 or more
years of accrued credit in which event no reduction is made to the allowance.

(c)
(i) Years of service includes any fractions of years of service to which the retiree may be

entitled.
(ii) At the time of retirement, if a retiree's combined years of actual, not purchased, service

credit is within one-tenth of one year of the total years of service credit required for
retirement, the retiree shall be considered to have the total years of service credit required
for retirement.

(d) An Option One allowance is only payable to the member during the member's lifetime.
(3) The allowance payable under Options Two, Three, Four, Five, and Six is calculated by reducing

an Option One benefit based on actuarial computations to provide the following:
(a) Option Two is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and,

if the retiree receives less in annuity payments than the amount of the retiree's member
contributions, the remaining balance of the retiree's member contributions shall be paid in
accordance with Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(b) Option Three is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and,
upon the death of the retiree, the same reduced allowance is paid to and throughout the
lifetime of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(c) Option Four is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and
upon the death of the retiree, an amount equal to one-half of the retiree's allowance is paid to
and throughout the lifetime of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(d) Option Five is a modification of Option Three so that if the lawful spouse at the time of
retirement predeceases the retiree, an allowance equivalent to the amount payable at the



Utah Code

Page 176

time of initial retirement under Option One shall be paid to the retiree for the remainder of the
retiree's life, beginning on the first day of the month:

(i) following the month in which the spouse died, if the application is received by the office
within 90 days of the spouse's death; or

(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is
received by the office more than 90 days after the spouse's death.

(e) Option Six is a modification of Option Four so that if the lawful spouse at the time of
retirement predeceases the retiree, an allowance equivalent to the amount payable at the
time of initial retirement under Option One shall be paid to the retiree for the remainder of the
retiree's life, beginning on the first day of the month:

(i) following the month in which the spouse died, if the application is received by the office
within 90 days of the spouse's death; or

(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is
received by the office more than 90 days after the spouse's death.

(4)
(a) If a retiree under Option One dies within 120 days after the retiree's retirement date, the

retirement is canceled and the death shall be considered as that of a member before
retirement.

(b) Any payments made to the retiree shall be deducted from the amounts due to the beneficiary.
(5) If a retiree retires under either Option Five or Six and subsequently divorces, the retiree may

elect to convert the benefit to an Option One benefit at the time of divorce, if there is no court
order filed in the matter.

Amended by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

49-22-306 Allowance payable by lump-sum payment.
(1) If a retiree's allowance, as computed under this chapter, amounts to $25 or less, the allowance

may be settled by the office by making a lump-sum payment of an amount actuarially
equivalent to the allowance.

(2) A payment made under this section constitutes a full and complete settlement of the retiree's
claim against this system.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-22-307 Lump-sum death benefit for retiree and spouse.
(1)

(a) Upon retirement, a retiree may elect to have the office deduct an actuarially determined
amount from the retiree's allowance to provide a lump-sum benefit payable to a beneficiary
upon the death of the retiree.

(b) Upon retirement, a retiree may also elect to have an actuarially determined amount deducted
from the retiree's allowance to provide a lump-sum death benefit payable to a beneficiary
upon the death of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(c) The board may make rules for the administration of this lump-sum death benefit.
(2)

(a) For a retiree who pays for a lump-sum death benefit under this section through a reduction of
an allowance, benefits shall be paid in accordance with Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(b) If the retiree chooses Option Three, Four, Five, or Six, and a lump-sum death benefit is
payable after the death of the retiree, the allowance shall be restored to its original amount.
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(3)
(a) A retiree may elect to cancel the lump-sum death benefit under this section.
(b) The cancellation under this Subsection (3) is irrevocable.
(c) Upon cancellation, the allowance shall be restored to its original amount and benefits under

this section may not be paid.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-22-308 Defined benefit annual cost-of-living adjustment.
(1) The office shall make an annual cost-of-living adjustment to:

(a) an original allowance paid under Section 49-22-305, if the allowance has been paid for at
least one year; and

(b) an original payment made to an alternate payee under a domestic relations order, if the
payment is to be paid as a percentage of the allowance rather than a specific dollar amount.

(2)
(a) The original allowance shall be increased by the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index

up to a maximum of 2.5%.
(b) Annual increases in the Consumer Price Index in excess of 2.5% shall be accumulated and

used in subsequent adjustments when the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index is
less than 2.5%.

(3) The Consumer Price Index used in calculating adjustments shall be a United States Bureau of
Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(4) The cost-of-living adjustment made under this section may not decrease the allowance.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-22-309 Purchase of service credit -- Conditions -- Cost -- Nondiscrimination policy.
(1)

(a) A member may purchase or a member and a participating employer may jointly purchase a
maximum of five years of service credit which cannot otherwise be purchased under this title.

(b) At a minimum, the years of service credit purchased shall be sufficient to allow the member to
meet the retirement eligibility requirements of this system with no actuarial reduction.

(c) The member's retirement date shall be immediately after the purchase of years of service
credit.

(d) The member shall pay at least 5% of the cost of the purchase.
(e) To qualify for a purchase of service credit under this section, the member shall:

(i) have at least five years of service credit; and
(ii) otherwise meet federal eligibility requirements.

(2) The purchase price for the years of service credit shall be calculated and paid for as provided in
Section 49-11-403.

(3) Prior to making any purchase of years of service credit under this section, a participating
employer shall adopt a purchase policy that includes nondiscriminatory participation standards
for all regular full-time employees.

(4) Only members retiring from this system may purchase service credit under this section.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-22-310 Defined benefit adjustments -- Conditions -- Process -- Future years accrual.
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(1) In accordance with this section, the Legislature may make adjustments to the benefits provided
for the defined benefit portion of the Tier II Hybrid Retirement System created under this
part if the member's contribution required under Subsection 49-22-301(2)(b) to the certified
contribution rate for the defined benefit portion of this system exceeds 2% of the member's
salary and:

(a)
(i) the membership council created under Section 49-11-202 recommends an adjustment to the

board in accordance with Subsection (2); and
(ii) the board recommends specific adjustments to the Legislature in accordance with

Subsection (2); or
(b) an actuarial study that conforms with generally accepted actuarial principles and practices

and with the Actuarial Standards of Practice issued by the Actuarial Standards Board and
requested or commissioned by the board or the Legislature concludes:

(i) there is a significant likelihood that contribution rates will continue to rise; and
(ii) that participating employers are liable for system costs above the contribution rate

established under Subsection 49-22-301(2)(a).
(2) If the conditions under Subsection (1)(a) or (b) are met, the Legislature may adjust benefits for

the defined benefit portion of the Tier II Hybrid Retirement System accrued or applied for future
years of service including:

(a) the final average salary calculation provided under Section 49-22-102;
(b) the years of service required to be eligible to receive a retirement allowance under Section

49-22-304;
(c) the years of service credit multiplier established under Subsection 49-22-305(2)(a);
(d) the annual cost-of-living adjustment under Section 49-22-308; or
(e) other provisions of the defined benefit portion of the Tier II Hybrid Retirement System.

(3)
(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsections (1) and (2), the Legislature may make

adjustments to the benefits provided for the defined benefit portion of the Tier II Hybrid
Retirement System created under this part if an actuarial study described under Subsection
(1)(b) concludes, due to current and projected economic conditions, member participation
levels, and system structure, that the system:

(i) cannot reasonably be sustained under its current provisions;
(ii) is critically underfunded; and
(iii) has become unstable and is in risk of collapse.

(b) Subject to federal law, the adjustments under Subsection (3)(a) may include:
(i) conversion to a different type of retirement plan;
(ii) equitable distribution of system assets to retirees and members; and
(iii) a closure of the system.

Enacted by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

Part 4
Tier II Defined Contribution Plan

49-22-401 Contributions -- Rates.
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(1) Up to the amount allowed by federal law, the participating employer shall make a nonelective
contribution of 10% of the participant's compensation to a defined contribution plan.

(2)
(a) The participating employer shall contribute the 10% nonelective contribution described in

Subsection (1) to a defined contribution plan qualified under Section 401(k) of the Internal
Revenue Code which:

(i) is sponsored by the board; and
(ii) has been grandfathered under Section 1116 of the Federal Tax Reform Act of 1986.

(b) The member may make voluntary deferrals to:
(i) the qualified 401(k) plan which receives the employer contribution described in this

Subsection (2); or
(ii) at the member's option, another defined contribution plan established by the participating

employer.
(c) In addition to the percent specified under Subsection (2)(a), the participating employer shall

pay the corresponding Tier I system amortization rate of the employee's compensation to the
office to be applied to the employer's corresponding Tier I system liability.

(3)
(a) Except as provided under Subsection (3)(c), the total amount contributed by the participating

employer under Subsection (2)(a) vests to the member upon accruing four years of
employment as a regular full-time employee under this title.

(b) The total amount contributed by the member under Subsection (2)(b) vests to the member's
benefit immediately and is nonforfeitable.

(c) Upon filing a written request for exemption with the office, an eligible employee is exempt
from the vesting requirements of Subsection (3)(a) in accordance with Section 49-22-205.

(d)
(i) Years of employment under Subsection (3)(a) includes any fraction of a year to which the

member may be entitled.
(ii) At the time of vesting, if a member's years of service credit is within one-tenth of one year of

the total years required for vesting, the member shall be considered to have the total years
of employment required for vesting.

(4)
(a) Contributions made by a participating employer under Subsection (2)(a) shall be invested

in a default option selected by the board until the member is vested in accordance with
Subsection (3)(a).

(b) A member may direct the investment of contributions including associated investment
gains and losses made by a participating employer under Subsection (2)(a) only after the
contributions have vested in accordance with Subsection (3)(a).

(c) A member may direct the investment of contributions made by the member under Subsection
(3)(b).

(5) No loans shall be available from contributions made by a participating employer under
Subsection (2)(a).

(6) No hardship distributions shall be available from contributions made by a participating employer
under Subsection (2)(a).

(7)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (7)(b), if a member terminates employment with a

participating employer prior to the vesting period described in Subsection (3)(a), all
contributions made by a participating employer on behalf of the member including associated
investment gains and losses under Subsection (2)(a) are subject to forfeiture.
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(b) If a member who terminates employment with a participating employer prior to the vesting
period described in Subsection (3)(a) subsequently enters employment with the same
or another participating employer within 10 years of the termination date of the previous
employment:

(i) all contributions made by the previous participating employer on behalf of the member
including associated investment gains and losses shall be reinstated upon the member's
employment as a regular full-time employee; and

(ii) the length of time that the member worked with the previous employer shall be included in
determining whether the member has completed the vesting period under Subsection (3)(a).

(c) The office shall establish a forfeiture account and shall specify the uses of the forfeiture
account, which may include an offset against administrative costs or employer contributions
made under this section.

(8) The office may request from any other qualified 401(k) plan under Subsection (2) any relevant
information pertaining to the maintenance of its tax qualification under the Internal Revenue
Code.

(9) The office may take any action which in its judgment is necessary to maintain the tax-qualified
status of its 401(k) defined contribution plan under federal law.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-22-402 Defined contribution distributions for members with a disability.
          For a person with a disability who receives contributions under Subsection 49-11-404(4)(b), the

member with a disability may begin receiving distributions from the defined contributions made by
the participating employer on behalf of the member with a disability when the person would have
been eligible to retire if the person was covered by the defined benefit portion of the Tier II hybrid
retirement system under Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System.

Amended by Chapter 366, 2011 General Session

49-22-403 Eligibility to receive a retirement allowance for a benefit tied to a retirement date
for defined contribution members.
(1) As used in this section, "eligible to receive a retirement allowance" means the date selected by

the member who is a participant under this part on which the member has ceased employment
and would be qualified to receive an allowance under Section 49-22-304 if the member had
been under the Tier II Hybrid Retirement System for the same period of employment.

(2) The office and a participating employer shall make an accounting of years of service credit
accrued for a member who is a participant under this part in order to calculate when a member
would be eligible to receive a retirement allowance for purposes of establishing when a member
may be eligible for a benefit tied to a retirement date that may be provided under Section
67-19-14.4, this title, another state statute, or by a participating employer.

Enacted by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

Part 5
Death Benefit
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49-22-501 Death benefit -- Eligibility for death benefit -- Benefit calculation -- Payment of
claim.
(1) The office shall provide a death benefit for members of this system.
(2) The board shall make rules to administer the death benefit provided by this section and may, in

accordance with federal law, establish:
(a) benefit levels;
(b) classes of members; and
(c) a living benefit option.

(3) This death benefit is payable when:
(a) the member dies prior to the member's retirement date or dies under circumstances which

Subsection 49-22-305(4) requires to be treated as the death of a member before retirement;
(b) the office receives acceptable proof of death; and
(c) benefits are not payable under Section 49-22-307.

(4) The death benefit payable to the beneficiary under this section is a lump-sum payment
consisting of:

(a) the return of any member contributions under this chapter; plus
(b) a percentage of the final average salary of the member to be determined by the board.

(5) Any amount of a living benefit option paid to the member prior to death shall be deducted from
the benefit payable to the beneficiary.

(6) The cost of the death benefit shall be paid by the participating employer in addition to the
contribution rate established under Section 49-22-301 or 49-22-401.

(7) The portion of the death benefit provided under Subsection (4)(b) may not be paid to the
beneficiary of an inactive member unless the death of the member occurs either:

(a) within a period of 120 days after the last day of work for which the person received
compensation; or

(b) while the member is still physically or mentally incapacitated from performance of duties, if
the incapacity has been continuous since the last day of work for which compensation was
received.

(8) The death benefit provided under Subsection (4)(b) shall be paid in accordance with Sections
49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(9) The death benefit paid to the beneficiary of an inactive member, except as otherwise provided
under Subsection (7), is a lump-sum return of the member's member contributions.

(10) Payment of the death benefit by the office constitutes a full settlement of any beneficiary's
claim against the office and the office is not liable for any further or additional claims or
assessments on behalf of the member.

(11) Unless otherwise specified in a written document filed with the office, death benefits payable
to beneficiaries shall be in accordance with the order of precedence established under Title 75,
Chapter 2, Intestate Succession and Wills.

(12) A death benefit under this section may not be paid on behalf of a retiree under this system.

Amended by Chapter 316, 2013 General Session

49-22-502 Death of married members -- Service retirement benefits to surviving spouse.
(1) As used in this section, "member's full allowance" means an Option Three allowance calculated

under Section 49-22-305 without an actuarial reduction.
(2) Upon the request of a deceased member's surviving spouse, the deceased member is

considered to have retired under Option Three on the first day of the month following the month
in which the member died if the following requirements are met:
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(a) the member has:
(i) 15 or more years of service credit;
(ii) attained age 62 with 10 or more years of service credit; or
(iii) attained age 65 with four or more years of service credit; and

(b) the member dies leaving a surviving spouse.
(3) The surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office.  The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:
(a) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office

within 90 days of the member's death; or
(b) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is

received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.
(4) The allowance payable to a surviving spouse under Subsection (2) is as follows:

(a) if the member has 25 or more years of service credit at the time of death, the surviving
spouse shall receive the member's full allowance;

(b) if the member has between 20-24 years of service credit and is not age 60 or older at the time
of death, the surviving spouse shall receive 2/3 of the member's full allowance;

(c) if the member has between 15-19 years of service credit and is not age 62 or older at the time
of death, the surviving spouse shall receive 1/3 of the member's full allowance; or

(d) if the member is age 60 or older with 20 or more years of service credit, age 62 or older with
10 or more years of service credit, or age 65 or older with four or more years of service credit
at the time of death, the surviving spouse shall receive an Option Three benefit with actuarial
reductions.

(5) The benefit calculation for a surviving spouse with a valid domestic relations order benefits on
file with the office before the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612 is
calculated according to the manner in which the court order specified benefits to be partitioned,
whether as a fixed amount or as a percentage of the benefit.

(6) Except for a return of member contributions, benefits payable under this section are retirement
benefits and shall be paid in addition to any other payments made under Section 49-22-501
and shall constitute a full and final settlement of the claim of the surviving spouse or any other
beneficiary filing a claim for benefits under Section 49-22-501.

(7) If the death benefits under this section are partitioned among more than one surviving spouse
due to domestic relations order benefits on file with the office before the member's death date
in accordance with Section 49-11-612, the total amount received by the surviving spouses may
not exceed the death benefits normally provided to one surviving spouse under this section.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-22-503 Death of members -- Exemption from vesting requirements for employer
nonelective contributions to defined contribution plan.
(1)

(a) If an active member dies, employer nonelective contributions made on behalf of the employee
to a defined contribution plan under Section 49-22-303 or 49-22-401 are exempt from the
vesting requirements of Subsections 49-22-303(2)(a) and 49-22-401(3)(a).

(b) The total amount of nonelective contributions made by the participating employer vests to the
member upon death and the member's beneficiary is entitled to receive a distribution of the
employer contributions made on behalf of the employee and all associated investment gains
and losses.
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(2) Employer contributions vested and distributed under this section are in addition to and separate
from the benefits payable under Sections 49-22-501 and 49-22-502.

Enacted by Chapter 315, 2015 General Session

Part 6
Disability

49-22-601 Long-term disability coverage.
          In accordance with Section 49-21-201, the state shall cover all of its eligible employees under

Chapter 21, Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Act.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

Chapter 23
New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement Act

Part 1
General Provisions

49-23-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement

Act."

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-23-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1)
(a) "Compensation" means the total amount of payments that are includable in gross income

received by a public safety service employee or a firefighter service employee as base
income for the regularly scheduled work period.  The participating employer shall establish
the regularly scheduled work period.  Base income shall be determined prior to the deduction
of any amounts the public safety service employee or firefighter service employee authorizes
to be deducted for salary deferral or other benefits authorized by federal law.

(b) "Compensation" includes performance-based bonuses and cost-of-living adjustments.
(c) "Compensation" does not include:

(i) overtime;
(ii) sick pay incentives;
(iii) retirement pay incentives;
(iv) the monetary value of remuneration paid in kind, as in a residence, use of equipment or

uniform, travel, or similar payments;
(v) a lump-sum payment or special payment covering accumulated leave; and
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(vi) all contributions made by a participating employer under this system or under any other
employee benefit system or plan maintained by a participating employer for the benefit of a
member or participant.

(d) "Compensation" for purposes of this chapter may not exceed the amount allowed under
Section 401(a)(17), Internal Revenue Code.

(2) "Corresponding Tier I system" means the system or plan that would have covered the member
if the member had initially entered employment before July 1, 2011.

(3) "Dispatcher" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53-6-102.
(4) "Final average salary" means the amount calculated by averaging the highest five years of

annual compensation preceding retirement subject to Subsections (4)(a), (b), (c), (d), and (e).
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), the percentage increase in annual compensation in

any one of the years used may not exceed the previous year's compensation by more than
10% plus a cost-of-living adjustment equal to the decrease in the purchasing power of the
dollar during the previous year, as measured by a United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(b) In cases where the participating employer provides acceptable documentation to the office,
the limitation in Subsection (4)(a) may be exceeded if:

(i) the member has transferred from another agency; or
(ii) the member has been promoted to a new position.

(c) If the member retires more than six months from the date of termination of employment, the
member is considered to have been in service at the member's last rate of pay from the date
of the termination of employment to the effective date of retirement for purposes of computing
the member's final average salary only.

(d) If the member has less than five years of service credit in this system, final average salary
means the average annual compensation paid to the member during the full period of service
credit.

(e) The annual compensation used to calculate final average salary shall be based on:
(i) a calendar year for a member employed by a participating employer that is not an

educational institution; or
(ii) a contract year for a member employed by an educational institution.

(5)
(a) "Firefighter service" means employment normally requiring an average of 2,080 hours of

regularly scheduled employment per year rendered by a member who is:
(i) a firefighter service employee trained in firefighter techniques and assigned to a position of

hazardous duty with a regularly constituted fire department; or
(ii) the state fire marshal appointed under Section 53-7-103 or a deputy state fire marshal.

(b) "Firefighter service" does not include secretarial staff or other similar employees.
(6) "Firefighter service employee" means an employee of a participating employer who provides

firefighter service under this chapter.  An employee of a regularly constituted fire department
who does not perform firefighter service is not a firefighter service employee.

(7)
(a) "Line-of-duty death" means a death resulting from:

(i) external force, violence, or disease occasioned by an act of duty as a public safety service or
firefighter service employee; or

(ii) strenuous activity, including a heart attack or stroke, that occurs during strenuous training or
another strenuous activity required as an act of duty as a public safety service or firefighter
service employee.

(b) "Line-of-duty death" does not include a death that:
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(i) occurs during an activity that is required as an act of duty as a public safety service or
firefighter service employee if the activity is not a strenuous activity, including an activity that
is clerical, administrative, or of a nonmanual nature;

(ii) occurs during the commission of a crime committed by the employee;
(iii) the employee's intoxication or use of alcohol or drugs, whether prescribed or nonprescribed,

contributes to the employee's death; or
(iv) occurs in a manner other than as described in Subsection (7)(a).

(8) "Participating employer" means an employer which meets the participation requirements of:
(a) Sections 49-14-201 and 49-14-202;
(b) Sections 49-15-201 and 49-15-202;
(c) Sections 49-16-201 and 49-16-202; or
(d) Sections 49-23-201 and 49-23-202.

(9)
(a) "Public safety service" means employment normally requiring an average of 2,080 hours of

regularly scheduled employment per year rendered by a member who is a:
(i) law enforcement officer in accordance with Section 53-13-103;
(ii) correctional officer in accordance with Section 53-13-104;
(iii) special function officer approved in accordance with Sections 49-15-201 and 53-13-105;
(iv) dispatcher who is certified in accordance with Section 53-6-303; and
(v) full-time member of the Board of Pardons and Parole created under Section 77-27-2.

(b) Except as provided under Subsections (9)(a)(iv) and (v), "public safety service" also requires
that in the course of employment the employee's life or personal safety is at risk.

(10) "Public safety service employee" means an employee of a participating employer who
performs public safety service under this chapter.

(11)
(a) "Strenuous activity" means engagement involving a difficult, stressful, or vigorous fire

suppression, rescue, hazardous material response, emergency medical service, physical law
enforcement, prison security, disaster relief, or other emergency response activity.

(b) "Strenuous activity" includes participating in a participating employer sanctioned and funded
training exercise that involves difficult, stressful, or vigorous physical activity.

(12) "System" means the New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement System
created under this chapter.

(13)
(a) "Volunteer firefighter" means any individual that is not regularly employed as a firefighter

service employee, but who:
(i) has been trained in firefighter techniques and skills;
(ii) continues to receive regular firefighter training; and
(iii) is on the rolls of a legally organized volunteer fire department which provides ongoing

training and serves a political subdivision of the state.
(b) An individual that volunteers assistance but does not meet the requirements of Subsection

(13)(a) is not a volunteer firefighter for purposes of this chapter.
(14) "Years of service credit" means:

(a) a period, consisting of 12 full months as determined by the board; or
(b) a period determined by the board, whether consecutive or not, during which a regular full-time

employee performed services for a participating employer, including any time the regular full-
time employee was absent on a paid leave of absence granted by a participating employer or
was absent in the service of the United States government on military duty as provided by this
chapter.
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Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-23-103 Creation of system.
(1) There is created for members employed by a participating employer the "New Public Safety

and Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement System."
(2) The New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement System includes:

(a) the Tier II hybrid retirement system created in Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System; and
(b) the Tier II defined contribution plan created in Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-23-104 Creation of trust fund.
(1) There is created the "New Public Safety and Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement Trust

Fund" for the purpose of paying the benefits and costs of administering the defined benefit
portion of this system.

(2) The fund shall consist of all money paid into it, including interest, in accordance with this
chapter, whether in the form of cash, securities, or other assets, and of all money received from
any other source.

(3) Custody, management, and investment of the fund shall be governed by Chapter 11, Utah
State Retirement Systems Administration.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

Part 2
Membership Eligibility

49-23-201 System membership -- Eligibility.
(1) Beginning July 1, 2011, a participating employer that employs public safety service employees

or firefighter service employees shall participate in this system.
(2)

(a) A public safety service employee or a firefighter service employee initially entering
employment with a participating employer on or after July 1, 2011, who does not have service
credit accrued before July 1, 2011, in a Tier I system or plan administered by the board, is
eligible:

(i) as a member for service credit and defined contributions under the Tier II hybrid retirement
system established by Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System; or

(ii) as a participant for defined contributions under the Tier II defined contributions plan
established by Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan.

(b) A public safety service employee or a firefighter service employee initially entering
employment with a participating employer on or after July 1, 2011, shall:

(i) make an election to participate in the system created under this chapter:
(A) as a member for service credit and defined contributions under the Tier II hybrid

retirement system established by Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System; or
(B) as a participant for defined contributions under the Tier II defined contribution plan

established by Part 4, Tier II Defined Contribution Plan; and
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(ii) electronically submit to the office notification of the member's election under Subsection (2)
(b)(i) in a manner approved by the office.

(c) An election made by a public safety service employee or firefighter service employee initially
entering employment with a participating employer under this Subsection (2) is irrevocable
beginning one year from the date of eligibility for accrual of benefits.

(d) If no election is made under Subsection (2)(b)(i), the public safety service employee or
firefighter service employee shall become a member eligible for service credit and defined
contributions under the Tier II hybrid retirement system established by Part 3, Tier II Hybrid
Retirement System.

(3)
(a) Beginning July 1, 2015, a public safety service employee who is a dispatcher employed by:

(i) the state shall be eligible for service credit in this system; and
(ii) a participating employer other than the state shall be eligible for service credit in this system

if the dispatcher's participating employer elects to cover its dispatchers under this system.
(b) A participating employer's election to cover its dispatchers under this system under

Subsection (3)(a)(ii) is irrevocable and shall be documented by a resolution adopted by the
governing body of the participating employer in accordance with rules made by the office.

(c) A dispatcher's service before July 1, 2015, or before a date specified by resolution of a
participating employer under Subsection (3)(b), is not eligible for service credit in this system.

Amended by Chapter 315, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 463, 2015 General Session

49-23-202 Participation of employers -- Admission requirements.
(1)

(a) An employer is a participating employer and may not withdraw from participation in this
system.

(b) A participating employer shall cover its:
(i) public safety service employees in accordance with Section 49-15-202; and
(ii) firefighter service employees in accordance with Section 49-16-202.

(2)
(a) An employer may, by resolution of its governing body, apply for admission to this system.
(b) Upon approval of the resolution by the board, the employer is a participating employer in this

system and is subject to this title.
(3) If a participating employer purchases service credit on behalf of public safety service

employees or firefighter service employees for service rendered prior to the participating
employer's admission to this system, the service credit shall be purchased in a
nondiscriminatory manner on behalf of all current and former public safety service employees
or firefighter service employees who were eligible for service credit at the time service was
rendered.

Amended by Chapter 298, 2012 General Session

49-23-203 Exemptions from participation in system.
(1) Upon filing a written request for exemption with the office, the following employees are exempt

from participation in the system as provided in this section if the employee is a public safety
service employee and is:

(a) an executive department head of the state;
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(b) an elected or appointed sheriff of a county; or
(c) an elected or appointed chief of police of a municipality.

(2)
(a) A participating employer shall prepare a list designating those positions eligible for exemption

under Subsection (1).
(b) An employee may not be exempted unless the employee is employed in a position

designated by the participating employer under Subsection (1).
(3) Each participating employer shall:

(a) file each employee exemption annually with the office; and
(b) update an employee exemption in the event of any change.

(4) Beginning on the effective date of the exemption for an employee who elects to be exempt in
accordance with Subsection (1):

(a) for a member of the Tier II defined contribution plan:
(i) the participating employer shall contribute the nonelective contribution and the amortization

rate described in Section 49-23-401, except that the contribution is exempt from the vesting
requirements of Subsection 49-23-401(3)(a); and

(ii) the member may make voluntary deferrals as provided in Section 49-23-401; and
(b) for a member of the Tier II hybrid retirement system:

(i) the participating employer shall contribute the nonelective contribution and the amortization
rate described in Section 49-23-401, except that the contribution is exempt from the vesting
requirements of Subsection 49-23-401(3)(a);

(ii) the member may make voluntary deferrals as provided in Section 49-23-401; and
(iii) the member is not eligible for additional service credit in the system.

(5) If an employee who is a member of the Tier II hybrid retirement system subsequently revokes
the election of exemption made under Subsection (1), the provisions described in Subsection
(4)(b) shall no longer be applicable and the coverage for the employee shall be effective
prospectively as provided in Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System.

(6)
(a) All employer contributions made on behalf of an employee shall be invested in accordance

with Subsection 49-23-302(3)(a) or 49-23-401(4)(a) until the one-year election period under
Subsection 49-23-201(2)(c) is expired if the employee:

(i) elects to be exempt in accordance with Subsection (1); and
(ii) continues employment with the participating employer through the one-year election period

under Subsection 49-23-201(2)(c).
(b) An employee is entitled to receive a distribution of the employer contributions made on behalf

of the employee and all associated investment gains and losses if the employee:
(i) elects to be exempt in accordance with Subsection (1); and
(ii) terminates employment prior to the one-year election period under Subsection 49-23-201(2)

(c).
(7)

(a) The office shall make rules to implement this section.
(b) The rules made under this Subsection (7) shall include provisions to allow the exemption

provided under Subsection (1) to apply to all contributions made beginning on or after July 1,
2011, on behalf of an exempted employee who began the employment before May 8, 2012.

Enacted by Chapter 315, 2015 General Session
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Part 3
Tier II Hybrid Retirement System

49-23-301 Contributions.
(1) Participating employers and members shall pay the certified contribution rates to the office to

maintain the defined benefit portion of this system on a financially and actuarially sound basis in
accordance with Subsection (2).

(2)
(a) A participating employer shall pay up to 12% of compensation toward the certified contribution

rate to the office for the defined benefit portion of this system.
(b) A member shall only pay to the office the amount, if any, of the certified contribution rate for

the defined benefit portion of this system that exceeds the percent of compensation paid by
the participating employer under Subsection (2)(a).

(c) In addition to the percent specified under Subsection (2)(a), the participating employer shall
pay the corresponding Tier I system amortization rate of the employee's compensation to the
office to be applied to the employer's corresponding Tier I system liability.

(3) A participating employer may not elect to pay all or part of the required member contributions
under Subsection (2)(b), in addition to the required participating employer contributions.

(4)
(a) A member contribution is credited by the office to the account of the individual member.
(b) This amount, together with refund interest, is held in trust for the payment of benefits to the

member or the member's beneficiaries.
(c) A member contribution is vested and nonforfeitable.

(5)
(a) Each member is considered to consent to payroll deductions of member contributions.
(b) The payment of compensation less these payroll deductions is considered full payment for

services rendered by the member.
(6) Except as provided under Subsection (7), benefits provided under the defined benefit portion of

the Tier II hybrid retirement system created under this part:
(a) may not be increased unless the actuarial funded ratios of all systems under this title reach

100%; and
(b) may be decreased only in accordance with the provisions of Section 49-23-309.

(7) The Legislature authorizes an increase to the death benefit provided to a Tier II public safety
service employee or firefighter member's surviving spouse effective on May 12, 2015, as
provided in Section 49-23-503.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-23-302 Defined contribution benefit established -- Contribution by employer and
employee -- Vesting of contributions -- Plans to be separate -- Tax-qualified status of plans.
(1)

(a) A participating employer shall make a nonelective contribution on behalf of each public
safety service employee or firefighter service employee who is a member of this system in
an amount equal to 12% minus the contribution rate paid by the employer under Subsection
49-23-301(2)(a) of the member's compensation to a defined contribution plan qualified under
Section 401(k) of the Internal Revenue Code which:

(i) is sponsored by the board; and
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(ii) has been grandfathered under Section 1116 of the Federal Tax Reform Act of 1986.
(b) The member may make voluntary deferrals to:

(i) the qualified 401(k) plan which receives the employer contribution described in this
Subsection (1); or

(ii) at the member's option, another defined contribution plan established by the participating
employer.

(2)
(a) The total amount contributed by the participating employer under Subsection (1)(a), including

associated investment gains and losses, vests to the member upon accruing four years of
service credit under this title.

(b) The total amount contributed by the member under Subsection (1)(b) vests to the member's
benefit immediately and is nonforfeitable.

(c)
(i) Years of service credit under Subsection (2)(a) includes any fraction of a year to which the

member may be entitled.
(ii) At the time of vesting, if a member's years of service credit is within one-tenth of one year of

the total years required for vesting, the member shall be considered to have the total years
of service credit required for vesting.

(3)
(a) Contributions made by a participating employer under Subsection (1)(a) shall be invested

in a default option selected by the board until the member is vested in accordance with
Subsection (2)(a).

(b) A member may direct the investment of contributions made by a participating employer under
Subsection (1)(a) only after the contributions have vested in accordance with Subsection (2)
(a).

(c) A member may direct the investment of contributions made by the member under Subsection
(1)(b).

(4) No loans shall be available from contributions made by a participating employer under
Subsection (1)(a).

(5) No hardship distributions shall be available from contributions made by a participating employer
under Subsection (1)(a).

(6)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (6)(b), if a member terminates employment with a

participating employer prior to the vesting period described in Subsection (2)(a), all
contributions, including associated investment gains and losses, made by a participating
employer on behalf of the member under Subsection (1)(a) are subject to forfeiture.

(b) If a member who terminates employment with a participating employer prior to the vesting
period described in Subsection (2)(a) subsequently enters employment with the same
or another participating employer within 10 years of the termination date of the previous
employment:

(i) all contributions made by the previous participating employer on behalf of the member,
including associated investment gains and losses, shall be reinstated upon the member's
employment as a regular full-time employee; and

(ii) the length of time that the member worked with the previous employer shall be included in
determining whether the member has completed the vesting period under Subsection (2)(a).

(c) The office shall establish a forfeiture account and shall specify the uses of the forfeiture
account, which may include an offset against administrative costs or employer contributions
made under this section.
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(7) The office may request from any other qualified 401(k) plan under Subsection (1) or (2) any
relevant information pertaining to the maintenance of its tax qualification under the Internal
Revenue Code.

(8) The office may take any action which in its judgment is necessary to maintain the tax-qualified
status of its 401(k) defined contribution plan under federal law.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-23-303 Defined benefit eligibility for an allowance -- Date of retirement -- Qualifications.
(1) A member is qualified to receive an allowance from this system when:

(a) except as provided under Subsection (3), the member ceases actual work for every
participating employer that employs the member before the member's retirement date and
provides evidence of the termination;

(b) the member has submitted to the office a retirement application form that states the member's
proposed retirement date; and

(c) one of the following conditions is met as of the member's retirement date:
(i) the member has accrued at least four years of service credit and has attained an age of 65

years;
(ii) the member has accrued at least 10 years of service credit and has attained an age of 62

years;
(iii) the member has accrued at least 20 years of service credit and has attained an age of 60

years; or
(iv) the member has accrued at least 25 years of service credit.

(2)
(a) The member's retirement date:

(i) shall be the 1st or the 16th day of the month, as selected by the member;
(ii) shall be on or after the date of termination; and
(iii) may not be more than 90 days before or after the date the application is received by the

office.
(b) Except as provided under Subsection (3), a member may not be employed by a participating

employer in the system established by this chapter on the retirement date selected under
Subsection (2)(a)(i).

(3)
(a) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also an elected official

is not required to cease service as an elected official to be qualified to receive an allowance
under Subsection (1), unless the member is retiring from service as an elected official.

(b) A member who is employed by a participating employer and who is also a part-time appointed
board member is not required to cease service as a part-time appointed board member to be
qualified to receive an allowance under Subsection (1).

(c) A member who is employed by a participating employer, who is also an affiliated emergency
services worker as defined in Section 49-11-1202 for a different agency, is not required
to cease service as an affiliated emergency services worker to be qualified to receive an
allowance under Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 310, 2016 General Session

49-23-304 Defined benefit service retirement plans -- Calculation of retirement allowance --
Social Security limitations.
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(1)
(a) The retirees of this system may choose from the six retirement options described in this

section.
(b) Options Two, Three, Four, Five, and Six are modifications of the Option One calculation.

(2) The Option One benefit is an annual allowance calculated as follows:
(a) If the retiree is at least 65 years of age or has accrued at least 25 years of service credit, the

allowance is an amount equal to 1.5% of the retiree's final average salary multiplied by the
number of years of service credit accrued on and after July 1, 2011.

(b) If the retiree is less than 65 years of age, the allowance shall be reduced by the full actuarial
amount for each year of retirement from age 60 to age 65, unless the member has 25 or more
years of accrued credit in which event no reduction is made to the allowance.

(c)
(i) Years of service includes any fractions of years of service to which the retiree may be

entitled.
(ii) At the time of retirement, if a retiree's combined years of actual, not purchased, service

credit is within 1/10 of one year of the total years of service credit required for retirement,
the retiree shall be considered to have the total years of service credit required for
retirement.

(d) An Option One allowance is only payable to the member during the member's lifetime.
(3) The allowance payable under Options Two, Three, Four, Five, and Six is calculated by reducing

an Option One benefit based on actuarial computations to provide the following:
(a) Option Two is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and,

if the retiree receives less in annuity payments than the amount of the retiree's member
contributions, the remaining balance of the retiree's member contributions shall be paid in
accordance with Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(b) Option Three is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and,
upon the death of the retiree, the same reduced allowance is paid to and throughout the
lifetime of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(c) Option Four is a reduced allowance paid to and throughout the lifetime of the retiree, and
upon the death of the retiree, an amount equal to 1/2 of the retiree's allowance is paid to and
throughout the lifetime of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(d) Option Five is a modification of Option Three so that if the lawful spouse at the time of
retirement predeceases the retiree, an allowance equivalent to the amount payable at the
time of initial retirement under Option One shall be paid to the retiree for the remainder of the
retiree's life, beginning on the first day of the month:

(i) following the month in which the spouse died, if the application is received by the office
within 90 days of the spouse's death; or

(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is
received by the office more than 90 days after the spouse's death.

(e) Option Six is a modification of Option Four so that if the lawful spouse at the time of
retirement predeceases the retiree, an allowance equivalent to the amount payable at the
time of initial retirement under Option One shall be paid to the retiree for the remainder of the
retiree's life, beginning on the first day of the month:

(i) following the month in which the spouse died, if the application is received by the office
within 90 days of the spouse's death; or

(ii) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is
received by the office more than 90 days after the spouse's death.

(4)
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(a) If a retiree under Option One dies within 120 days after the retiree's retirement date, the
retirement is canceled and the death shall be considered as that of a member before
retirement.

(b) Any payments made to the retiree shall be deducted from the amounts due to the beneficiary.
(5) If a retiree retires under either Option Five or Six and subsequently divorces, the retiree may

elect to convert the benefit to an Option One benefit at the time of divorce, if there is no court
order filed in the matter.

Amended by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

49-23-305 Allowance payable by lump-sum payment.
(1) If a retiree's allowance, as computed under this chapter, amounts to $25 or less, the allowance

may be settled by the office by making a lump-sum payment of an amount actuarially
equivalent to the allowance.

(2) A payment made under this section constitutes a full and complete settlement of the retiree's
claim against this system.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-23-306 Lump-sum death benefit for retiree and spouse.
(1)

(a) Upon retirement, a retiree may elect to have the office deduct an actuarially determined
amount from the retiree's allowance to provide a lump-sum benefit payable to a beneficiary
upon the death of the retiree.

(b) Upon retirement, a retiree may also elect to have an actuarially determined amount deducted
from the retiree's allowance to provide a lump-sum death benefit payable to a beneficiary
upon the death of the retiree's lawful spouse at the time of retirement.

(c) The board may make rules for the administration of this lump-sum death benefit.
(2)

(a) For a retiree who pays for a lump-sum death benefit under this section through a reduction of
an allowance, benefits shall be paid in accordance with Sections 49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(b) If the retiree chooses Option Three, Four, Five, or Six, and a lump-sum death benefit is
payable after the death of the retiree, the allowance shall be restored to its original amount.

(3)
(a) A retiree may elect to cancel the lump-sum death benefit under this section.
(b) The cancellation under this Subsection (3) is irrevocable.
(c) Upon cancellation, the allowance shall be restored to its original amount and benefits under

this section may not be paid.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-23-307 Defined benefit annual cost-of-living adjustment.
(1) The office shall make an annual cost-of-living adjustment to:

(a) an original allowance paid under Section 49-23-305, if the allowance has been paid for at
least one year; and

(b) an original payment made to an alternate payee under a domestic relations order, if the
payment is to be paid as a percentage of the allowance rather than a specific dollar amount.

(2)
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(a) The original allowance shall be increased by the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index
up to a maximum of 2.5%.

(b) Annual increases in the Consumer Price Index in excess of 2.5% shall be accumulated and
used in subsequent adjustments when the annual increase in the Consumer Price Index is
less than 2.5%.

(3) The Consumer Price Index used in calculating adjustments shall be a United States Bureau of
Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index average as determined by the board.

(4) The cost-of-living adjustment made under this section may not decrease the allowance.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-23-308 Purchase of service credit -- Conditions -- Cost -- Nondiscrimination policy.
(1)

(a) A member may purchase or a member and a participating employer may jointly purchase a
maximum of five years of service credit which cannot otherwise be purchased under this title.

(b) At a minimum, the years of service credit purchased shall be sufficient to allow the member to
meet the retirement eligibility requirements of this system with no actuarial reduction.

(c) The member's retirement date shall be immediately after the purchase of years of service
credit.

(d) The member shall pay at least 5% of the cost of the purchase.
(e) To qualify for a purchase of service credit under this section, the member shall:

(i) have at least five years of service credit; and
(ii) otherwise meet federal eligibility requirements.

(2) The purchase price for the years of service credit shall be calculated and paid for as provided in
Section 49-11-403.

(3) Prior to making any purchase of years of service credit under this section, a participating
employer shall adopt a purchase policy that includes nondiscriminatory participation standards
for all regular full-time employees.

(4) Only members retiring from this system may purchase service credit under this section.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-23-309 Defined benefit adjustments -- Conditions -- Process -- Future years accrual.
(1) In accordance with this section, the Legislature may make adjustments to the benefits provided

for the defined benefit portion of the Tier II Hybrid Retirement System created under this
part if the member's contribution required under Subsection 49-23-301(2)(b) to the certified
contribution rate for the defined benefit portion of this system exceeds 2% of the member's
salary and:

(a)
(i) the membership council created under Section 49-11-202 recommends an adjustment to the

board in accordance with Subsection (2); and
(ii) the board recommends specific adjustments to the Legislature in accordance with

Subsection (2); or
(b) an actuarial study that conforms with generally accepted actuarial principles and practices

and with the Actuarial Standards of Practice issued by the Actuarial Standards Board and
requested or commissioned by the board or the Legislature concludes:

(i) there is a significant likelihood that contribution rates will continue to rise; and
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(ii) that participating employers are liable for system costs above the contribution rate
established under Subsection 49-23-301(2)(a).

(2) If the conditions under Subsection (1)(a) or (b) are met, the Legislature may adjust benefits for
the defined benefit portion of the Tier II Hybrid Retirement System accrued or applied for future
years of service including:

(a) the final average salary calculation provided under Section 49-23-102;
(b) the years of service required to be eligible to receive a retirement allowance under Section

49-23-303;
(c) the years of service credit multiplier established under Subsection 49-23-304(2)(a);
(d) the annual cost-of-living adjustment under Section 49-23-307; or
(e) other provisions of the defined benefit portion of the Tier II Hybrid Retirement System.

(3)
(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsections (1) and (2), the Legislature may make

adjustments to the benefits provided for the defined benefit portion of the Tier II Hybrid
Retirement System created under this part if an actuarial study described under Subsection
(1)(b) concludes, due to current and projected economic conditions, member participation
levels, and system structure, that the system:

(i) cannot reasonably be sustained under its current provisions;
(ii) is critically underfunded; and
(iii) has become unstable and is in risk of collapse.

(b) Subject to federal law, the adjustments under Subsection (3)(a) may include:
(i) conversion to a different type of retirement plan;
(ii) equitable distribution of system assets to retirees and members; and
(iii) a closure of the system.

Enacted by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

Part 4
Tier II Defined Contribution Plan

49-23-401 Contributions -- Rates.
(1) Up to the amount allowed by federal law, the participating employer shall make a nonelective

contribution of 12% of the participant's compensation to a defined contribution plan.
(2)

(a) The participating employer shall contribute the 12% nonelective contribution described in
Subsection (1) to a defined contribution plan qualified under Section 401(k) of the Internal
Revenue Code which:

(i) is sponsored by the board; and
(ii) has been grandfathered under Section 1116 of the Federal Tax Reform Act of 1986.

(b) The member may make voluntary deferrals to:
(i) the qualified 401(k) plan which receives the employer contribution described in this

Subsection (2); or
(ii) at the member's option, another defined contribution plan established by the participating

employer.
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(c) In addition to the percent specified under Subsection (2)(a), the participating employer shall
pay the corresponding Tier I system amortization rate of the employee's compensation to the
office to be applied to the employer's corresponding Tier I system liability.

(3)
(a) Except as provided under Subsection (3)(c), the total amount contributed by the participating

employer under Subsection (2)(a) vests to the member upon accruing four years of service
credit under this title.

(b) The total amount contributed by the member under Subsection (2)(b) vests to the member's
benefit immediately and is nonforfeitable.

(c) Upon filing a written request for exemption with the office, an eligible employee is exempt
from the vesting requirements of Subsection (3)(a) in accordance with Section 49-23-203.

(d)
(i) Years of service credit under Subsection (3)(a) includes any fraction of a year to which the

member may be entitled.
(ii) At the time of vesting, if a member's years of service credit is within one-tenth of one year of

the total years required for vesting, the member shall be considered to have the total years
of service credit required for vesting.

(4)
(a) Contributions made by a participating employer under Subsection (2)(a) shall be invested

in a default option selected by the board until the member is vested in accordance with
Subsection (3)(a).

(b) A member may direct the investment of contributions, including associated investment
gains and losses, made by a participating employer under Subsection (2)(a) only after the
contributions have vested in accordance with Subsection (3)(a).

(c) A member may direct the investment of contributions made by the member under Subsection
(3)(b).

(5) No loans shall be available from contributions made by a participating employer under
Subsection (2)(a).

(6) No hardship distributions shall be available from contributions made by a participating employer
under Subsection (2)(a).

(7)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (7)(b), if a member terminates employment with a

participating employer prior to the vesting period described in Subsection (3)(a), all
contributions made by a participating employer on behalf of the member under Subsection (2)
(a), including associated investment gains and losses are subject to forfeiture.

(b) If a member who terminates employment with a participating employer prior to the vesting
period described in Subsection (3)(a) subsequently enters employment with the same
or another participating employer within 10 years of the termination date of the previous
employment:

(i) all contributions made by the previous participating employer on behalf of the member,
including associated investment gains and losses, shall be reinstated upon the member's
employment as a regular full-time employee; and

(ii) the length of time that the member worked with the previous employer shall be included in
determining whether the member has completed the vesting period under Subsection (3)(a).

(c) The office shall establish a forfeiture account and shall specify the uses of the forfeiture
account, which may include an offset against administrative costs of employer contributions
made under this section.
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(8) The office may request from any other qualified 401(k) plan under Subsection (2) any relevant
information pertaining to the maintenance of its tax qualification under the Internal Revenue
Code.

(9) The office may take any action which in its judgment is necessary to maintain the tax-qualified
status of its 401(k) defined contribution plan under federal law.

Amended by Chapter 227, 2016 General Session

49-23-402 Defined contribution distributions for disabled members.
          For a person who is disabled and receives contributions under Subsection 49-11-404(4)(b), the

disabled member may begin receiving distributions from the defined contributions made by the
participating employer on behalf of the disabled member when the person would have been eligible
to retire if the person was covered by the defined benefit portion of the Tier II hybrid retirement
system under Part 3, Tier II Hybrid Retirement System.

Enacted by Chapter 266, 2010 General Session

49-23-403 Eligibility to receive a retirement allowance for a benefit tied to a retirement date
for defined contribution members.
(1) As used in this section, "eligible to receive a retirement allowance" means the date selected by

the member who is a participant under this part on which the member has ceased employment
and would be qualified to receive an allowance under Section 49-23-303 if the member had
been under the Tier II Hybrid Retirement System for the same period of employment.

(2) The office and a participating employer shall make an accounting of years of service credit
accrued for a member who is a participant under this part in order to calculate when a member
would be eligible to receive a retirement allowance for purposes of establishing when a member
may be eligible for a benefit tied to a retirement date that may be provided under Section
67-19-14.4, this title, another state statute, or by a participating employer.

Enacted by Chapter 439, 2011 General Session

Part 5
Death Benefit

49-23-501 Death benefit -- Eligibility for death benefit -- Benefit calculation -- Payment of
claim.
(1) The office shall provide a death benefit for members of this system.
(2) The board shall make rules to administer the death benefit provided by this section and may, in

accordance with federal law, establish:
(a) benefit levels;
(b) classes of members; and
(c) a living benefit option.

(3) This death benefit is payable when:
(a) the member dies prior to the member's retirement date or dies under circumstances which

Subsection 49-23-304(4) requires to be treated as the death of a member before retirement;
(b) the office receives acceptable proof of death; and
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(c) benefits are not payable under Section 49-23-306.
(4) The death benefit payable to the beneficiary under this section is a lump-sum payment

consisting of:
(a) the return of any member contributions under this chapter; plus
(b) a percentage of the final average salary of the member to be determined by the board.

(5) Any amount of a living benefit option paid to the member prior to death shall be deducted from
the benefit payable to the beneficiary.

(6) The cost of the death benefit shall be paid by the participating employer in addition to the
contribution rate established under Section 49-23-301 or 49-23-401.

(7) The portion of the death benefit provided under Subsection (4)(b) may not be paid to the
beneficiary of an inactive member unless the death of the member occurs either:

(a) within a period of 120 days after the last day of work for which the person received
compensation; or

(b) while the member is still physically or mentally incapacitated from performance of duties, if
the incapacity has been continuous since the last day of work for which compensation was
received.

(8) The death benefit provided under Subsection (4)(b) shall be paid in accordance with Sections
49-11-609 and 49-11-610.

(9) The death benefit paid to the beneficiary of an inactive member, except as otherwise provided
under Subsection (7), is a lump-sum return of the member's member contributions.

(10) Payment of the death benefit by the office constitutes a full settlement of any beneficiary's
claim against the office and the office is not liable for any further or additional claims or
assessments on behalf of the member.

(11) Unless otherwise specified in a written document filed with the office, death benefits payable
to beneficiaries shall be in accordance with the order of precedence established under Title 75,
Chapter 2, Intestate Succession and Wills.

(12) A death benefit under this section may not be paid on behalf of a retiree under this system.

Amended by Chapter 316, 2013 General Session

49-23-502 Death of married members -- Service retirement benefits to surviving spouse.
(1) As used in this section, "member's full allowance" means an Option Three allowance calculated

under Section 49-23-304 without an actuarial reduction.
(2) Upon the request of a deceased member's surviving spouse at the time of the member's death,

the deceased member is considered to have retired under Option Three on the first day of the
month following the month in which the member died if the following requirements are met:

(a) the member has:
(i) 15 or more years of service credit;
(ii) attained age 62 with 10 or more years of service credit; or
(iii) attained age 65 with four or more years of service credit; and

(b) the member dies leaving a surviving spouse.
(3) The surviving spouse who requests a benefit under this section shall apply in writing to the

office. The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month:
(a) following the month in which the member died, if the application is received by the office

within 90 days of the member's death; or
(b) following the month in which the application is received by the office, if the application is

received by the office more than 90 days after the member's death.
(4) The allowance payable to a surviving spouse under Subsection (2) is:
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(a) if the member has 25 or more years of service credit at the time of death, the surviving
spouse shall receive the member's full allowance;

(b) if the member has between 20-24 years of service credit and is not age 60 or older at the time
of death, the surviving spouse shall receive two-thirds of the member's full allowance;

(c) if the member has between 15-19 years of service credit and is not age 62 or older at the time
of death, the surviving spouse shall receive one-third of the member's full allowance; or

(d) if the member is age 60 or older with 20 or more years of service credit, age 62 or older with
10 or more years of service credit, or age 65 or older with four or more years of service credit
at the time of death, the surviving spouse shall receive an Option Three benefit with actuarial
reductions.

(5) The benefit calculation for a surviving spouse with a valid domestic relations order benefits on
file with the office before the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612 is
calculated according to the manner in which the court order specified benefits to be partitioned,
whether as a fixed amount or as a percentage of the benefit.

(6) Except for a return of member contributions, benefits payable under this section are retirement
benefits and shall be paid in addition to any other payments made under Section 49-23-501
and shall constitute a full and final settlement of the claim of the surviving spouse or any other
beneficiary filing a claim for benefits under Section 49-23-501.

(7) If the death benefits under this section or Section 49-23-503 are partitioned among more than
one surviving spouse due to domestic relations order benefits on file with the office before
the member's death date in accordance with Section 49-11-612, the total amount received by
the surviving spouses may not exceed the death benefits normally provided to one surviving
spouse under this section.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-23-503 Death of active member in line of duty -- Payment of benefits.
          If an active member of this system dies, benefits are payable as follows:

(1) If the death is classified by the office as a line-of-duty death, benefits are payable as follows:
(a) If the member has accrued less than 20 years of public safety service or firefighter service

credit, the surviving spouse shall receive a lump sum equal to six months of the active
member's final average salary and an allowance equal to 30% of the member's final average
monthly salary.

(b) If the member has accrued 20 or more years of public safety service or firefighter service
credit, the member shall be considered to have retired with an Option One allowance
calculated without an actuarial reduction under Section 49-23-304 and the surviving spouse
shall receive the allowance that would have been payable to the member.

(2)
(a) A volunteer firefighter is eligible for a line-of-duty death benefit under this section if the death

results from external force, violence, or disease directly resulting from firefighter service.
(b) The lowest monthly compensation of firefighters of a city of the first class in this state at

the time of death shall be considered to be the final average monthly salary of a volunteer
firefighter for purposes of computing these benefits.

(c) Each volunteer fire department shall maintain a current roll of all volunteer firefighters which
meet the requirements of Subsection 49-23-102(13) to determine the eligibility for this benefit.

(3)
(a) If the death is classified as a line-of-duty death by the office, death benefits are payable under

this section and the surviving spouse is not eligible for benefits under Section 49-23-502.
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(b) If the death is not classified as a line-of-duty death by the office, benefits are payable in
accordance with Section 49-23-502.

(4)
(a) A surviving spouse who qualifies for a monthly benefit under this section shall apply in writing

to the office.
(b) The allowance shall begin on the first day of the month following the month in which the:

(i) member or participant died, if the application is received by the office within 90 days of the
date of death of the member or participant; or

(ii) application is received by the office, if the application is received by the office more than 90
days after the date of death of the member or participant.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2016 General Session

49-23-504 Death of members -- Exemption from vesting requirements for employer
nonelective contributions to defined contribution plan.
(1)

(a) If an active member dies, employer nonelective contributions made on behalf of the employee
to a defined contribution plan under Section 49-23-302 or 49-23-401 are exempt from the
vesting requirements of Subsections 49-23-302(2)(a) and 49-23-401(3)(a).

(b) The total amount of nonelective contributions made by the participating employer vests to the
member upon death and the member's beneficiary is entitled to receive a distribution of the
employer contributions made on behalf of the employee and all associated investment gains
and losses.

(2) Employer contributions vested and distributed under this section are in addition to and separate
from the benefits payable under Sections 49-23-501, 49-23-502, and 49-23-503.

Enacted by Chapter 315, 2015 General Session

Part 6
Disability Benefit

49-23-601 Long-term disability coverage.
(1) A participating employer shall cover a public safety employee who initially enters employment

on or after July 1, 2011, under Chapter 21, Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Act, or a
substantially similar long-term disability program.

(2)
(a) A participating employer shall cover a firefighter employee who initially enters employment on

or after July 1, 2011, under Chapter 21, Public Employees' Long-Term Disability Act.
(b) In accordance with this section, a participating employer shall provide long-term disability

benefit coverage for a volunteer firefighter as provided under Section 49-16-701.
(c) The office shall ensure that the cost of the long-term disability benefit coverage provided

under Subsections (2)(a) and (b) is funded with revenue received under Section 49-11-901.5.

Amended by Chapter 298, 2012 General Session
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