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Title 53A. State System of Public Education

Chapter 1
Administration of Public Education at the State Level

Part 1
Policy and Planning for Utah's Public Education System

53A-1-101 Policy for Utah's public education system.
(1)

(a) The continuous cultivation of an informed and virtuous citizenry among succeeding
generations is essential to the state and the nation.

(b) The state's public education system is established and maintained as provided in Utah
Constitution, Article X, and this title.

(c) Parents and guardians have the primary responsibility for the education of their children and
elect representatives in the Legislature and on state and local school boards to administer the
state public education system, which provides extensive support and assistance.  All children
of the state are entitled to a free elementary and secondary public education as provided in
Utah Constitution, Article X.

(d) Public schools fulfill a vital purpose in the education and preparation of informed and
responsible citizens who:

(i) fully understand and lawfully exercise their individual rights and liberties;
(ii) become self-reliant and able to provide for themselves and their families; and
(iii) contribute to the public good and the health, welfare, and security of the state and the

nation.
(2) In the implementation of all policies, programs, and responsibilities adopted in accordance with

this title, the Legislature, the State Board of Education, local school boards, and charter school
governing boards shall:

(a) respect, protect, and further the interests of parents and guardians in their children's public
education; and

(b) promote and encourage full and active participation and involvement of parents and
guardians at all public schools.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-102.5 Planning for Utah's public education system.
(1) Before November 30, 2016, the State Board of Education shall:

(a)
(i) prepare a report that summarizes, for the last 15 years or more, the policies and programs

established by, and the performance history of, the state's public education system; and
(ii) prepare a formal 10-year plan for the state's public education system, including

recommendations to:
(A) repeal outdated policies and programs; and
(B) clarify and correlate current policies and programs; and

(b) submit the report and plan described in Subsection (1)(a) to the Education Interim Committee
for review and recommendations.
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(2) The State Board of Education shall review and maintain the 10-year plan described in
Subsection (1)(a)(ii) and submit the updated plan to the Education Interim Committee for review
and approval at least once every five years.

Enacted by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

Part 2
State Board of Education Members - Officers - Compensation - Meetings

53A-1-201 State Board of Education members -- Election and appointment of officers --
Removal from office.
(1) Members of the State Board of Education shall be nominated and elected as provided in Title

20A, Chapter 14, Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards.
(2) The State Board of Education shall elect from its members a chair, and at least one vice chair,

but no more than three vice chairs, each year at a meeting held any time between November
15 and January 15.

(3)
(a) If the election of officers is held subsequent to the election of a new member of the board, but

prior to the time that the new member takes office, the new member shall assume the position
of the outgoing member for purposes of the election of officers.

(b) In all other matters the outgoing member shall retain the full authority of the office until
replaced as provided by law.

(4) The duties of these officers shall be determined by the board.
(5) The board shall appoint a secretary who serves at the pleasure of the board.
(6) An officer appointed or elected by the board under this section may be removed from office for

cause by a vote of two-thirds of the board.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-202 Compensation for members of the State Board of Education -- Insurance -- Per
diem and expenses.
(1) The salary for a member of the State Board of Education is set in accordance with Section

36-2-3.
(2) Compensation for a member of the State Board of Education is payable monthly.
(3) A State Board of Education member may participate in any group insurance plan provided to

employees of the State Board of Education as part of the State Board of Education member's
compensation on the same basis as required for employee participation.

(4) In addition to the provisions of Subsections (1) and (3), a State Board of Education member
may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:

(a) Section 63A-3-106;
(b) Section 63A-3-107; and
(c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.

Amended by Chapter 61, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session
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53A-1-203 State board meetings -- Quorum requirements.
(1) The State Board of Education shall meet at the call of the chairman and at least 11 times each

year.
(2) The State Board of Education shall, at least quarterly, meet with and receive recommendations

from:
(a) two members of the State Board of Regents, appointed by the chair of the State Board of

Regents;
(b) one member of the Utah College of Applied Technology Board of Trustees, appointed by the

chair of the board of trustees; and
(c) one member of the State Charter School Board, appointed by the chair of the State Charter

School Board.
(3) A majority of all members is required to validate an act of the board.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-204 Gross neglect of duty -- Nonpayment of salary or expenses.
(1) Failure of a member of the State Board of Education or of a governing board of a branch or

division of the public school system to carry out responsibilities assigned by law or to comply
with rules of the State Board of Education is gross neglect of duty.

(2) Salary or expenses shall not be paid for work which violates rules of the board.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

Part 3
State Superintendent

53A-1-301 Appointment -- Qualifications -- Duties.
(1)

(a) The State Board of Education shall appoint a superintendent of public instruction, hereinafter
called the state superintendent, who is the executive officer of the board and serves at the
pleasure of the board.

(b) The board shall appoint the state superintendent on the basis of outstanding professional
qualifications.

(c) The state superintendent shall administer all programs assigned to the State Board of
Education in accordance with the policies and the standards established by the board.

(2) The State Board of Education shall, with the appointed superintendent, develop a statewide
education strategy focusing on core academics, including the development of:

(a) core standards for Utah public schools and graduation requirements;
(b) a process to select model instructional materials that best correlate to the core standards for

Utah public schools and graduation requirements that are supported by generally accepted
scientific standards of evidence;

(c) professional development programs for teachers, superintendents, and principals;
(d) model remediation programs;
(e) a model method for creating individual student learning targets, and a method of measuring

an individual student's performance toward those targets;
(f) progress-based assessments for ongoing performance evaluations of districts and schools;
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(g) incentives to achieve the desired outcome of individual student progress in core academics,
and which do not create disincentives for setting high goals for the students;

(h) an annual report card for school and district performance, measuring learning and reporting
progress-based assessments;

(i) a systematic method to encourage innovation in schools and school districts as they strive to
achieve improvement in their performance; and

(j) a method for identifying and sharing best demonstrated practices across districts and schools.
(3) The superintendent shall perform duties assigned by the board, including the following:

(a) investigating all matters pertaining to the public schools;
(b) adopting and keeping an official seal to authenticate the superintendent's official acts;
(c) holding and conducting meetings, seminars, and conferences on educational topics;
(d) presenting to the governor and the Legislature each December a report of the public school

system for the preceding year to include:
(i) data on the general condition of the schools with recommendations considered desirable for

specific programs;
(ii) a complete statement of fund balances;
(iii) a complete statement of revenues by fund and source;
(iv) a complete statement of adjusted expenditures by fund, the status of bonded indebtedness,

the cost of new school plants, and school levies;
(v) a complete statement of state funds allocated to each school district and charter school by

source, including supplemental appropriations, and a complete statement of expenditures
by each school district and charter school, including supplemental appropriations, by
function and object as outlined in the United States Department of Education publication
"Financial Accounting for Local and State School Systems";

(vi) a complete statement, by school district and charter school, of the amount of and
percentage increase or decrease in expenditures from the previous year attributed to:

(A) wage increases, with expenditure data for base salary adjustments identified separately
from step and lane expenditures;

(B) medical and dental premium cost adjustments; and
(C) adjustments in the number of teachers and other staff;

(vii) a statement that includes data on:
(A) fall enrollments;
(B) average membership;
(C) high school graduates;
(D) licensed and classified employees, including data reported by school districts on educator

ratings pursuant to Section 53A-8a-410;
(E) pupil-teacher ratios;
(F) average class sizes calculated in accordance with State Board of Education rules adopted

under Subsection 53A-3-602.5(4);
(G) average salaries;
(H) applicable private school data; and
(I) data from standardized norm-referenced tests in grades 5, 8, and 11 on each school and

district;
(viii) statistical information regarding incidents of delinquent activity in the schools or at school-

related activities with separate categories for:
(A) alcohol and drug abuse;
(B) weapon possession;
(C) assaults; and
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(D) arson;
(ix) information about:

(A) the development and implementation of the strategy of focusing on core academics;
(B) the development and implementation of competency-based education and progress-

based assessments; and
(C) the results being achieved under Subsections (3)(d)(ix)(A) and (B), as measured by

individual progress-based assessments and a comparison of Utah students' progress
with the progress of students in other states using standardized norm-referenced tests as
benchmarks; and

(x) other statistical and financial information about the school system which the state
superintendent considers pertinent;

(e) collecting and organizing education data into an automated decision support system
to facilitate school district and school improvement planning, accountability reporting,
performance recognition, and the evaluation of educational policy and program effectiveness
to include:

(i) data that are:
(A) comparable across schools and school districts;
(B) appropriate for use in longitudinal studies; and
(C) comprehensive with regard to the data elements required under applicable state or federal

law or state board rule;
(ii) features that enable users, most particularly school administrators, teachers, and parents,

to:
(A) retrieve school and school district level data electronically;
(B) interpret the data visually; and
(C) draw conclusions that are statistically valid; and

(iii) procedures for the collection and management of education data that:
(A) require the state superintendent of public instruction to:

(I) collaborate with school districts in designing and implementing uniform data standards
and definitions;

(II) undertake or sponsor research to implement improved methods for analyzing education
data;

(III) provide for data security to prevent unauthorized access to or contamination of the data;
and

(IV) protect the confidentiality of data under state and federal privacy laws; and
(B) require all school districts and schools to comply with the data collection and management

procedures established under Subsection (3)(e);
(f) administering and implementing federal educational programs in accordance with Title 53A,

Chapter 1, Part 9, Implementing Federal or National Education Programs Act; and
(g) with the approval of the board, preparing and submitting to the governor a budget for the

board to be included in the budget that the governor submits to the Legislature.
(4) The state superintendent shall distribute funds deposited in the Autism Awareness Restricted

Account created in Section 53A-1-304 in accordance with the requirements of Section
53A-1-304.

(5) Upon leaving office, the state superintendent shall deliver to the state superintendent's
successor all books, records, documents, maps, reports, papers, and other articles pertaining
to the state superintendent's office.

(6)
(a) For the purpose of Subsection (3)(d)(vii):
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(i) the pupil-teacher ratio for a school shall be calculated by dividing the number of students
enrolled in a school by the number of full-time equivalent teachers assigned to the school,
including regular classroom teachers, school-based specialists, and special education
teachers;

(ii) the pupil-teacher ratio for a school district shall be the median pupil-teacher ratio of the
schools within a school district;

(iii) the pupil-teacher ratio for charter schools aggregated shall be the median pupil-teacher
ratio of charter schools in the state; and

(iv) the pupil-teacher ratio for the state's public schools aggregated shall be the median pupil-
teacher ratio of public schools in the state.

(b) The printed copy of the report required by Subsection (3)(d) shall:
(i) include the pupil-teacher ratio for:

(A) each school district;
(B) the charter schools aggregated; and
(C) the state's public schools aggregated; and

(ii) indicate the Internet website where pupil-teacher ratios for each school in the state may be
accessed.

Amended by Chapter 348, 2016 General Session

53A-1-302 Compensation of state superintendent -- Other board employees.
(1) The board shall establish the compensation of the state superintendent.
(2) The board may, as necessary for the proper administration and supervision of the public school

system:
(a) appoint other employees; and
(b) delegate appropriate duties and responsibilities to board employees.

(3) The compensation and duties of board employees shall be established by the board and paid
from money appropriated for that purpose.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-1-303 Advice by superintendent -- Written opinions.
(1) The state superintendent shall advise superintendents, school boards, and other school officers

upon all matters involving the welfare of the schools.
(2) The superintendent shall, when requested by district superintendents or other school officers,

provide written opinions on questions of public education, administrative policy, and procedure,
but not upon questions of law.

(3) Upon request by the state superintendent, the attorney general shall issue written opinions on
questions of law.

(4) Opinions issued under this section shall be considered to be correct and final unless set aside
by a court of competent jurisdiction or by subsequent legislation.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-1-304 Autism Awareness Restricted Account.
(1) There is created in the General Fund a restricted account known as the "Autism Awareness

Restricted Account."
(2) The account shall be funded by:
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(a) contributions deposited into the account in accordance with Section 41-1a-422;
(b) private contributions; and
(c) donations or grants from public or private entities.

(3) Upon appropriation by the Legislature, the superintendent shall distribute funds in the account
to one or more charitable organizations that:

(a) qualify as being tax exempt under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code;
(b) promote access to resources and responsible information for individuals of all ages who have,

or are affected by, autism or related conditions;
(c) is an independent organization that has representation from state agencies and private

providers serving individuals with autism spectrum disorder and their families in the state;
(d) includes representation of:

(i) national and local autism advocacy groups, as available; and
(ii) interested parents and professionals; and

(e) does not endorse any specific treatment, therapy, or intervention used for autism.
(4)

(a) An organization described in Subsection (3) may apply to the superintendent to receive a
distribution in accordance with Subsection (3).

(b) An organization that receives a distribution from the superintendent in accordance with
Subsection (3) shall expend the distribution only to:

(i) pay for autism education and public awareness of programs and related services in the state;
(ii) enhance programs designed to serve individuals with autism;
(iii) provide support to caregivers providing services for individuals with autism;
(iv) pay for academic scholarships and research efforts in the area of autism spectrum disorder;

and
(v) pay the costs of issuing or reordering Autism Awareness Support special group license plate

decals.
(c) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State

Board of Education may make rules providing procedures for an organization to apply to the
superintendent to receive a distribution under Subsection (3).

Amended by Chapter 303, 2011 General Session

Part 4
Powers and Duties

53A-1-401 Powers of State Board of Education -- Adoption of rules -- Enforcement --
Attorney.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Education entity" means:

(i) an entity that receives a distribution of state funds through a grant program managed by   the
board under this title;

(ii) an entity that enters into a contract with the board to provide an educational good or
service;

(iii) a school district; or
(iv) a charter school.
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(c) "Educational good or service" means a good or service that is required or regulated under:
(i) this title; or
(ii) a rule authorized under this title.

(d) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means:
(i) a school district;
(ii) a charter school; or
(iii) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(2)
(a) The State Board of Education has general control and supervision of the state's public

education system.
(b) "General control and supervision" as used in Utah Constitution, Article X, Section 3, means

directed to the whole system.
(3) The board may not govern, manage, or operate school districts, institutions, and programs,

unless granted that authority by statute.
(4)

(a) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board may
make rules to execute the board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah Constitution and
state law.

(b) The board may delegate the board's statutory duties and responsibilities to board employees.
(5)

(a) The board may sell any interest it holds in real property upon a finding by the board that the
property interest is surplus.

(b) The board may use the money it receives from a sale under Subsection (5)(a) for capital
improvements, equipment, or materials, but not for personnel or ongoing costs.

(c) If the property interest under Subsection (5)(a) was held for the benefit of an agency or
institution administered by the board, the money may only be used for purposes related to the
agency or institution.

(d) The board shall advise the Legislature of any sale under Subsection (5)(a) and related
matters during the next following session of the Legislature.

(6) The board shall develop policies and procedures related to federal educational programs in
accordance with Title 53A, Chapter 1, Part 9, Implementing Federal or National Education
Programs Act.

(7) On or before December 31, 2010, the State Board of Education shall review mandates or
requirements provided for in board rule to determine whether certain mandates or requirements
could be waived to remove funding pressures on public schools on a temporary basis.

(8)
(a) If an education entity violates this title or rules authorized under this title, the board may, in

accordance with the rules described in Subsection (8)(c):
(i) require the education entity to enter into a corrective action agreement with the board;
(ii) temporarily or permanently withhold state funds from the education entity;
(iii) require the education entity to pay a penalty; or
(iv) require the education entity to reimburse specified state funds to the board.

(b) Except for temporarily withheld funds, if the board collects state funds under Subsection (8)
(a), the board shall pay the funds into the Uniform School Fund.

(c) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall
make rules:

(i) that require notice and an opportunity to be heard for an education entity affected by a board
action described in Subsection (8)(a); and
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(ii) to administer this Subsection (8).
(d) The board shall report criminal conduct of an education entity to the district attorney of the

county where the education entity is located.
(9) The board may audit the use of state funds by an education entity that receives those state

funds as a distribution from the board.
(10) The board may require, by rule made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah

Administrative Rulemaking Act, that if an LEA contracts with a third party contractor for an
educational good or service, the LEA shall require in the contract that the third party contractor
shall provide, upon request of the LEA, information necessary for the LEA to verify that the
educational good or service complies with:

(a) this title; and
(b) board rule authorized under this title.

(11)
(a) The board may appoint an attorney to provide legal advice to the board and coordinate legal

affairs for the board and the board's employees.
(b) An attorney described in Subsection (11)(a) shall cooperate with the Office of the Attorney

General.
(c) An attorney described in Subsection (11)(a) may not:

(i) conduct litigation;
(ii) settle claims covered by the Risk Management Fund created in Section 63A-4-201; or
(iii) issue formal legal opinions.

Amended by Chapter 232, 2016 General Session

53A-1-402 Board to establish minimum standards for public schools.
(1) The State Board of Education shall establish rules and minimum standards for the public

schools that are consistent with this title, including rules and minimum standards governing the
following:

(a)
(i) the qualification and certification of educators and ancillary personnel who provide direct

student services;
(ii) required school administrative and supervisory services; and
(iii) the evaluation of instructional personnel;

(b)
(i) access to programs;
(ii) attendance;
(iii) competency levels;
(iv) graduation requirements; and
(v) discipline and control;

(c)
(i) school accreditation;
(ii) the academic year;
(iii) alternative and pilot programs;
(iv) curriculum and instruction requirements;
(v) school libraries; and
(vi) services to:

(A) persons with a disability as defined by and covered under:
(I) the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. 12102;
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(II) the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. 705(20)(A); and
(III) the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. 1401(3); and

(B) other special groups;
(d)

(i) state reimbursed bus routes;
(ii) bus safety and operational requirements; and
(iii) other transportation needs; and

(e)
(i) school productivity and cost effectiveness measures;
(ii) federal programs;
(iii) school budget formats; and
(iv) financial, statistical, and student accounting requirements.

(2) The board shall determine if:
(a) the minimum standards have been met; and
(b) required reports are properly submitted.

(3) The board may apply for, receive, administer, and distribute to eligible applicants funds made
available through programs of the federal government.

(4)
(a) An applied technology college within the Utah College of Applied Technology shall provide

competency-based career and technical education courses that fulfill high school graduation
requirements, as requested and authorized by the State Board of Education.

(b) A school district may grant a high school diploma to a student participating in courses
described under Subsection (4)(a) that are provided by an applied technology college within
the Utah College of Applied Technology.

Amended by Chapter 236, 2016 General Session

53A-1-402.5 State board rules establishing basic ethical conduct standards -- Local school
board policies.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State

Board of Education shall make rules that establish basic ethical conduct standards for
public education employees who provide education-related services outside of their regular
employment to their current or prospective public school students.

(2) The rules shall provide that a local school board may adopt policies implementing the standards
and addressing circumstances present in the district.

Amended by Chapter 382, 2008 General Session

53A-1-402.6 Core standards for Utah public schools.
(1)

(a) In establishing minimum standards related to curriculum and instruction requirements under
Section 53A-1-402, the State Board of Education shall, in consultation with local school
boards, school superintendents, teachers, employers, and parents implement core standards
for Utah public schools that will enable students to, among other objectives:

(i) communicate effectively, both verbally and through written communication;
(ii) apply mathematics; and
(iii) access, analyze, and apply information.



Utah Code

Page 11

(b) Except as provided in this title, the State Board of Education may recommend but may not
require a local school board or charter school governing board to use:

(i) a particular curriculum or instructional material; or
(ii) a model curriculum or instructional material.

(2) The board shall, in establishing the core standards for Utah public schools:
(a) identify the basic knowledge, skills, and competencies each student is expected to acquire or

master as the student advances through the public education system; and
(b) align the core standards for Utah public schools and tests administered under the Utah

Performance Assessment System for Students (U-PASS) with each other.
(3) The basic knowledge, skills, and competencies identified pursuant to Subsection (2)(a) shall

increase in depth and complexity from year to year and focus on consistent and continual
progress within and between grade levels and courses in the basic academic areas of:

(a) English, including explicit phonics, spelling, grammar, reading, writing, vocabulary, speech,
and listening; and

(b) mathematics, including basic computational skills.
(4) Before adopting core standards for Utah public schools, the State Board of Education shall:

(a) publicize draft core standards for Utah public schools on the State Board of Education's
website and the Utah Public Notice website created under Section 63F-1-701;

(b) invite public comment on the draft core standards for Utah public schools for a period of not
less than 90 days; and

(c) conduct three public hearings that are held in different regions of the state on the draft core
standards for Utah public schools.

(5) Local school boards shall design their school programs, that are supported by generally
accepted scientific standards of evidence, to focus on the core standards for Utah public
schools with the expectation that each program will enhance or help achieve mastery of the
core standards for Utah public schools.

(6) Except as provided in Section 53A-13-101, each school may select instructional materials and
methods of teaching, that are supported by generally accepted scientific standards of evidence,
that it considers most appropriate to meet the core standards for Utah public schools.

(7) The state may exit any agreement, contract, memorandum of understanding, or consortium
that cedes control of the core standards for Utah public schools to any other entity, including a
federal agency or consortium, for any reason, including:

(a) the cost of developing or implementing the core standards for Utah public schools;
(b) the proposed core standards for Utah public schools are inconsistent with community values;

or
(c) the agreement, contract, memorandum of understanding, or consortium:

(i) was entered into in violation of Part 9, Implementing Federal or National Education Programs
Act, or Title 63J, Chapter 5, Federal Funds Procedures Act;

(ii) conflicts with Utah law;
(iii) requires Utah student data to be included in a national or multi-state database;
(iv) requires records of teacher performance to be included in a national or multi-state

database; or
(v) imposes curriculum, assessment, or data tracking requirements on home school or private

school students.
(8) The State Board of Education shall annually report to the Education Interim Committee on the

development and implementation of the core standards for Utah public schools, including the
time line established for the review of the core standards for Utah public schools by a standards
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review committee and the recommendations of a standards review committee established
under Section 53A-1-402.8.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-402.8 Standards review committee.
(1) As used in this section, "board" means the State Board of Education.
(2) Subject to Subsection (5), the State Board of Education shall establish:

(a) a time line for the review by a standards review committee of the core standards for Utah
public schools for:

(i) English language arts;
(ii) mathematics;
(iii) science;
(iv) social studies;
(v) fine arts;
(vi) physical education and health; and
(vii) early childhood education; and

(b) a separate standards review committee for each subject area specified in Subsection (2)(a) to
review, and recommend to the board revisions to, the core standards for Utah public schools.

(3) At least one year before the board takes formal action to adopt new core standards for
Utah public schools, the board shall establish a standards review committee as required by
Subsection (2)(b).

(4) A standards review committee shall meet at least twice during the time period described in
Subsection (3).

(5) In establishing a time line for the review of core standards for Utah public schools by a
standards review committee, the board shall give priority to establishing a standards review
committee to review, and recommend revisions to, the mathematics core standards for Utah
public schools.

(6) The membership of a standards review committee consists of:
(a) seven individuals, with expertise in the subject being reviewed, appointed by the board chair,

including teachers, business representatives, faculty of higher education institutions in Utah,
and others as determined by the board chair;

(b) five parents or guardians of public education students appointed by the speaker of the House
of Representatives; and

(c) five parents or guardians of public education students appointed by the president of the
Senate.

(7) The board shall provide staff support to the standards review committee.
(8) A member of the standards review committee may not receive compensation or benefits for the

member's service on the committee.
(9) Among the criteria a standards review committee shall consider when reviewing the core

standards for Utah public schools is giving students an adequate foundation to successfully
pursue college, technical education, a career, or other life pursuits.

(10) A standards review committee shall submit, to the board, comments and recommendations for
revision of the core standards for Utah public schools.

(11) The board shall take into consideration the comments and recommendations of a standards
review committee in adopting the core standards for Utah public schools.

(12)



Utah Code

Page 13

(a) Nothing in this section prohibits the board from amending or adding individual core standards
for Utah public schools as the need arises in the board's ongoing responsibilities.

(b) If the board makes changes as described in Subsection (12)(a), the board shall include the
changes in the annual report the board submits to the Education Interim Committee under
Section 53A-1-402.6.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-403 Education of persons under 21 in custody of state agency -- Establishment of
coordinating council -- Advisory councils.
(1) For purposes of this section, "board" means the State Board of Education.
(2)

(a) The board is directly responsible for the education of all persons under the age of 21 who are:
(i) in the custody of the Department of Human Services;
(ii) in the custody of an equivalent agency of a Native American tribe recognized by the United

States Bureau of Indian Affairs and whose custodial parent or legal guardian resides within
the state; or

(iii) being held in a juvenile detention facility.
(b) The board shall adopt rules, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative

Rulemaking Act, to provide for the distribution of funds for the education of persons described
in Subsection (2)(a).

(3) Subsection (2)(a)(ii) does not apply to persons taken into custody for the primary purpose of
obtaining access to education programs provided for youth in custody.

(4) The board shall, where feasible, contract with school districts or other appropriate agencies
to provide educational, administrative, and supportive services, but the board shall retain
responsibility for the programs.

(5) The Legislature shall establish and maintain separate education budget categories for youth in
custody who are under the jurisdiction of the following state agencies:

(a) detention centers and the Divisions of Juvenile Justice Services and Child and Family
Services;

(b) the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health; and
(c) the Division of Services for People with Disabilities.

(6)
(a) The Department of Human Services and the State Board of Education shall appoint a

coordinating council to plan, coordinate, and recommend budget, policy, and program
guidelines for the education and treatment of persons in the custody of the Division of
Juvenile Justice Services and the Division of Child and Family Services.

(b) The department and board may appoint similar councils for those in the custody of the
Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health or the Division of Services for People with
Disabilities.

(7) A school district contracting to provide services under Subsection (4) shall establish an advisory
council to plan, coordinate, and review education and treatment programs for persons held in
custody in the district.

Amended by Chapter 359, 2011 General Session
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53A-1-403.5 Education of persons in custody of the Utah Department of Corrections
-- Contracting for services -- Recidivism reduction plan -- Collaboration among state
agencies.
(1) The State Board of Education and the Utah Department of Corrections, subject to legislative

appropriation, are responsible for the education of persons in the custody of the Utah
Department of Corrections.

(2)
(a) To fulfill the responsibility under Subsection (1), the State Board of Education and the

Utah Department of Corrections shall, where feasible, contract with appropriate private or
public agencies to provide educational and related administrative services.  Contracts for
postsecondary education and training shall be under Subsection (2)(b).

(b)
(i) The contract under Subsection (2)(a) to provide postsecondary education and training shall

be with a community college if the correctional facility is located within the service region of
a community college, except under Subsection (2)(b)(ii).

(ii) If the community college under Subsection (2)(b)(i) declines to provide the education and
training or cannot meet reasonable contractual terms for providing the education and
training as specified by the Utah Department of Corrections, postsecondary education and
training under Subsection (2)(a) may be procured through other appropriate private or public
agencies.

(3)
(a) As its corrections education program, the State Board of Education and the Utah Department

of Corrections shall develop and implement a recidivism reduction plan, including the
following components:

(i) inmate assessment;
(ii) cognitive problem-solving skills;
(iii) basic literacy skills;
(iv) career skills;
(v) job placement;
(vi) postrelease tracking and support;
(vii) research and evaluation;
(viii) family involvement and support; and
(ix) multiagency collaboration.

(b) The plan shall be developed and implemented through the State Board of Education and the
Utah Department of Corrections in collaboration with the following entities:

(i) the State Board of Regents;
(ii) the Utah College of Applied Technology Board of Trustees;
(iii) local boards of education;
(iv) the Department of Workforce Services;
(v) the Department of Human Services;
(vi) the Board of Pardons and Parole;
(vii) the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation; and
(viii) the Governor's Office.

(4) By July 1, 2014, and every three years thereafter, the Utah Department of Corrections shall
make a report to the State Board of Education and the Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice
Interim Committee evaluating the impact of corrections education programs on recidivism.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session
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Amended by Chapter 188, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 271, 2016 General Session

53A-1-404 Auditors appointed -- Auditing standards.
(1) Procedures utilized by auditors employed by local school boards shall meet or exceed generally

accepted auditing standards approved by the State Board of Education and the state auditor.
(2) The standards must include financial accounting for both revenue and expenditures, and

student accounting.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-1-405 State board to verify audits.
          The State Board of Education is responsible for verifying audits of financial and student

accounting records of school districts for purposes of determining the allocation of Uniform School
Fund money.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-1-406 Acceptance of gifts, endowments, devises and bequests.
(1) The State Board of Education, on its own behalf or on behalf of an educational institution

for which the board is the direct governing body, may accept private grants, loans, gifts,
endowments, devises, or bequests which are made for educational purposes.

(2) These contributions are not subject to appropriation by the Legislature.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-1-409 Competency-based education -- Recommendations -- Coordination.
(1) As used in this section, "competency-based education" means the same as that term is defined

in Section 53A-15-1802.
(2) A local school board or a charter school governing board may establish a competency-based

education program.
(3) A local school board or charter school governing board that establishes a competency-based

education program shall:
(a) establish assessments to accurately measure competency;
(b) provide the assessments to an enrolled student at no cost to the student;
(c) award credit to a student who demonstrates competency and subject mastery;
(d) submit the competency-based standards to the State Board of Education for review; and
(e) publish the competency-based standards on its website or by other electronic means readily

accessible to the public.
(4) A local school board or charter school governing board may:

(a) on a random lottery-based basis, limit enrollment to courses that have been designated as
competency-based courses;

(b) waive or adapt traditional attendance requirements;
(c) adjust class sizes to maximize the value of course instructors or course mentors;
(d) enroll students from any geographic location within the state; and
(e) provide proctored online competency-based assessments.

Amended by Chapter 347, 2016 General Session
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53A-1-411 Pilot online school survey program.
(1) As used in this section, "board" means the State Board of Education.
(2)

(a) Beginning with the 2012-13 school year, the State Board of Education shall establish a pilot
online school survey program in consultation with representatives of local school boards,
charter school governing boards, school district and school administrators, teachers, and
parents.

(b) The board shall develop the technology, or contract with a provider selected through a
request for proposals process to provide the technology, for the pilot online school survey
program to be used by the board, a school district, or a school.

(3) The purposes of the pilot online school survey program are to:
(a) provide information to school districts and schools on how to better serve and meet the needs

of students and parents;
(b) allow school districts and schools to monitor progress of school improvement efforts; and
(c) provide data that may be used as part of a school district's or school's educator evaluation

system and inform decisions about employment and professional development.
(4) The pilot online school survey program shall include:

(a) age appropriate surveys for students to evaluate each of their teachers;
(b) age appropriate surveys for students to evaluate their school's administrators;
(c) a survey for parents to evaluate their children's teachers;
(d) a survey for parents to evaluate their children's schools and administrators, including whether

the school or administrators solicited parent involvement in the school;
(e) a survey for parents to self-evaluate their participation in their children's education, including

attendance at parent teacher conferences, involvement in the school, and involvement in their
children's homework;

(f) a survey for teachers to evaluate their school, including safety and security of the school;
(g) a survey for teachers to evaluate their school's administrators and, if applicable, their school

district's administrators;
(h) statistically valid and reliable measurement tools; and
(i) survey questions that represent information that a student, parent, or teacher has direct

knowledge of.
(5)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), the pilot online school survey program instruments
shall be uniform statewide to allow for comparison of:

(i) survey results statewide; and
(ii) survey results from year to year.

(b) The State Board of Education may allow a school participating in the pilot online school
survey program to create a supplement to the pilot online school survey program instrument
that includes items specific to the school.

(6)
(a) The board shall select a sampling of schools to participate in and administer the pilot online

school survey program to students, parents, and teachers.
(b) The sampling of urban and rural schools selected by the board shall:

(i) represent at least 5% of total state enrollment in public schools; and
(ii) include at least:

(A) eight elementary schools;
(B) eight junior high or middle schools;
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(C) eight high schools; and
(D) five charter schools.

(c) The schools selected in Subsection (6)(b)(ii) shall be selected from at least five school
districts.

(d) Except as provided in Subsection (6)(e), a participating school shall survey all of the students
enrolled in the participating school.

(e) A participating school shall survey:
(i) students in grades 1 and 2 if considered appropriate;
(ii) students in grades 3 through 12; and
(iii) parents and teachers of students in kindergarten through grade 12.

(7)
(a) A participating school shall, annually for an elementary school or semi-annually for a

secondary school:
(i) administer online student surveys of teachers for each of a student's teachers;
(ii) make available to parents online access to surveys, which they may complete for each of

their children's teachers and schools; and
(iii) make available to teachers online access to a survey of their school, which they may

complete.
(b) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State

Board of Education shall make rules establishing procedures for administering or making
available online the surveys specified in Subsection (7)(a), including rules to ensure the
privacy and protection of individual educator survey results.

(8) The survey data shall be available to:
(a) the State Board of Education for the purpose of analyzing and aggregating the survey data;

and
(b) school district and school administrators for the purposes stated in Subsection (3).

(9) On or before the November meeting of the Education Interim Committee in 2015, the State
Board of Education shall report:

(a) the response rate of students, parents, and teachers in each of the participating schools; and
(b) the reliability of the pilot online school survey program as an evaluation tool.

Amended by Chapter 418, 2015 General Session

53A-1-413 Student Achievement Backpack -- Utah Student Record Store.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Authorized LEA user" means a teacher or other person who is:
(i) employed by an LEA that provides instruction to a student; and
(ii) authorized to access data in a Student Achievement Backpack through the Utah Student

Record Store.
(b) "LEA" means a school district, charter school, or the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
(c) "Student Achievement Backpack" means, for a student from kindergarten through grade 12, a

complete learner profile that:
(i) is in electronic format;
(ii) follows the student from grade to grade and school to school; and
(iii) is accessible by the student's parent or guardian or an authorized LEA user.

(d) "U-PASS" means the Utah Performance Assessment System for Students established in Part
6, Achievement Tests.
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(e) "Utah Student Record Store" means a repository of student data collected from LEAs as part
of the state's longitudinal data system that is:

(i) managed by the State Board of Education;
(ii) cloud-based; and
(iii) accessible via a web browser to authorized LEA users.

(2)
(a) The State Board of Education shall use the State Board of Education's robust, comprehensive

data collection system, which collects longitudinal student transcript data from LEAs and
the unique student identifiers as described in Section 53A-1-603.5, to allow the following to
access a student's Student Achievement Backpack:

(i) the student's parent or guardian; and
(ii) each LEA that provides instruction to the student.

(b) The State Board of Education shall ensure that a Student Achievement Backpack:
(i) provides a uniform, transparent reporting mechanism for individual student progress;
(ii) provides a complete learner history for postsecondary planning;
(iii) provides a teacher with visibility into a student's complete learner profile to better inform

instruction and personalize education;
(iv) assists a teacher or administrator in diagnosing a student's learning needs through the use

of data already collected by the State Board of Education;
(v) facilitates a student's parent or guardian taking an active role in the student's education by

simplifying access to the student's complete learner profile; and
(vi) serves as additional disaster mitigation for LEAs by using a cloud-based data storage and

collection system.
(3) Using existing information collected and stored in the State Board of Education's data

warehouse, the State Board of Education shall create the Utah Student Record Store where an
authorized LEA user may:

(a) access data in a Student Achievement Backpack relevant to the user's LEA or school; or
(b) request student records to be transferred from one LEA to another.

(4) The State Board of Education shall implement security measures to ensure that:
(a) student data stored or transmitted to or from the Utah Student Record Store is secure and

confidential pursuant to the requirements of the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act,
20 U.S.C. Sec. 1232g; and

(b) an authorized LEA user may only access student data that is relevant to the user's LEA or
school.

(5) A student's parent or guardian may request the student's Student Achievement Backpack from
the LEA or the school in which the student is enrolled.

(6) No later than June 30, 2014, an authorized LEA user shall be able to access student data in a
Student Achievement Backpack, which shall include the following data, or request the data be
transferred from one LEA to another:

(a) student demographics;
(b) course grades;
(c) course history; and
(d) results for an assessment administered under U-PASS.

(7) No later than June 30, 2015, an authorized LEA user shall be able to access student data in
a Student Achievement Backpack, which shall include the data listed in Subsections (6)(a)
through (d) and the following data, or request the data be transferred from one LEA to another:

(a) section attendance;
(b) the name of a student's teacher for classes or courses the student takes;
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(c) teacher qualifications for a student's teacher, including years of experience, degree, license,
and endorsement;

(d) results of formative, interim, and summative computer adaptive assessments administered
pursuant to Section 53A-1-603;

(e) detailed data demonstrating a student's mastery of the core standards for Utah public schools
and objectives as measured by computer adaptive assessments administered pursuant to
Section 53A-1-603;

(f) a student's writing sample written for an online writing assessment administered pursuant to
Section 53A-1-603;

(g) student growth scores for U-PASS tests;
(h) a school's grade assigned pursuant to Part 11, School Grading Act;
(i) results of benchmark assessments of reading administered pursuant to Section 53A-1-606.6;

and
(j) a student's reading level at the end of grade 3.

(8) No later than June 30, 2017, the State Board of Education shall ensure that data collected in
the Utah Student Record Store for a Student Achievement Backpack shall be integrated into
each LEA's student information system and shall be made available to a student's parent or
guardian and an authorized LEA user in an easily accessible viewing format.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-1-414 School expenditures -- Report.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means:

(i) a school district; or
(ii) a charter school.

(c) "Teacher" means an individual employed by an LEA who:
(i) is licensed under Title 53A, Chapter 6, Educator Licensing and Professional Practices Act;

and
(ii) has an assignment to teach in a classroom.

(2)
(a) On or before October 31, 2017, the board or the board's designee shall make

recommendations to the Education Interim Committee regarding the feasibility of reporting
certain school level expenditures on the board's website.

(b) The school level expenditures to be reported on the board's website may include the following
information:

(i) total teacher salary expenditures;
(ii) capital expenditures;
(iii) overhead and other expenditures not reported under Subsection (2)(b)(i) or (ii);
(iv) the average per pupil funding; and
(v) the percent of teacher turnover from the prior school year.

(3) An LEA shall provide the information described in Subsection (2)(b) as requested by the board
or the board's designee.

Enacted by Chapter 217, 2016 General Session
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Part 6
Achievement Tests

53A-1-601 Legislative intent.
(1) It is the intent of the Legislature in enacting this part to determine the effectiveness of school

districts and schools in assisting students to master the fundamental educational skills towards
which instruction is directed.

(2)
(a) The Utah Performance Assessment System for Students enacted under this part shall provide

the public, the Legislature, the State Board of Education, school districts, public schools, and
school teachers evaluative information regarding the various levels of proficiency achieved
by students, so that they may have an additional tool to plan, measure, and evaluate the
effectiveness of programs in the public schools.

(b) The information may also be used to recognize excellence and to identify the need for
additional resources or to reallocate educational resources in a manner to assure educational
opportunities for all students and to improve existing programs.

Amended by Chapter 219, 2000 General Session

53A-1-602 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Basic academic subject" means a subject that requires mastery of specific functions, as
defined under rules made by the State Board of Education, to include reading, language arts,
mathematics, science in grades 4 through 12, and effectiveness of written expression.

(2) "Core standards for Utah public schools" means the standards developed and adopted by
the State Board of Education that define the knowledge and skills students should have in
kindergarten through grade 12 to enable students to be prepared for college or workforce
training.

(3) "IEP" means a written statement for a student with a disability that is developed, reviewed, and
revised in accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400
et seq.

(4) "Utah Performance Assessment System for Students" or "U-PASS" means:
(a) as determined by the State Board of Education, criterion-referenced achievement testing

or online computer adaptive testing of students in grades 3 through 12 in basic academic
subjects;

(b) an online writing assessment in grades 5 and 8;
(c) college readiness assessments as detailed in Section 53A-1-611; and
(d) testing of students in grade 3 to measure reading grade level.

Amended by Chapter 222, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-603 Duties of State Board of Education.
(1) The State Board of Education shall:

(a) require a school district or charter school to implement the Utah Performance Assessment
System for Students;
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(b) require the state superintendent of public instruction to submit and recommend criterion-
referenced achievement tests or online computer adaptive tests, college readiness
assessments, an online writing assessment for grades 5 and 8, and a test for students
in grade 3 to measure reading grade level to the board for approval and adoption and
distribution to a school district or charter school by the state superintendent;

(c) develop an assessment method to uniformly measure statewide performance, school district
performance, and school performance of students in grades 3 through 12 in mastering basic
academic subjects; and

(d) provide for the state to participate in the National Assessment of Educational Progress state-
by-state comparison testing program.

(2) Except as provided in Subsection (9) and Subsection 53A-1-611(4), under U-PASS, the State
Board of Education shall annually require a school district or charter school to administer:

(a) as determined by the State Board of Education, statewide criterion-referenced tests or online
computer adaptive tests in grades 3 through 12 and courses in basic academic subjects of
the core standards for Utah public schools;

(b) an online writing assessment to all students in grades 5 and 8;
(c) college readiness assessments as detailed in Section 53A-1-611; and
(d) a test to all students in grade 3 to measure reading grade level.

(3) The State Board of Education shall annually require a school district or charter school to
administer a computer adaptive assessment system that is:

(a) adopted by the State Board of Education; and
(b) aligned to the core standards for Utah public schools.

(4) The board shall adopt rules for the conduct and administration of U-PASS to include the
following:

(a) the computation of student performance based on information that is disaggregated with
respect to race, ethnicity, gender, limited English proficiency, and those students who qualify
for free or reduced price school lunch;

(b) security features to maintain the integrity of the system, which may include statewide uniform
testing dates, multiple test forms, and test administration protocols;

(c) the exemption of student test scores, by exemption category, such as limited English
proficiency, mobility, and students with disabilities, with the percent or number of student test
scores exempted being publicly reported at a district level;

(d) compiling of criterion-referenced, online computer adaptive, and online writing test scores and
test score averages at the classroom level to allow for:

(i) an annual review of those scores by parents of students and professional and other
appropriate staff at the classroom level at the earliest point in time;

(ii) the assessment of year-to-year student progress in specific classes, courses, and subjects;
and

(iii) a teacher to review, prior to the beginning of a new school year, test scores from the
previous school year of students who have been assigned to the teacher's class for the new
school year;

(e) allowing a school district or charter school to have its tests administered and scored
electronically to accelerate the review of test scores and their usefulness to parents and
educators under Subsection (4)(d), without violating the integrity of U-PASS; and

(f) providing that scores on the tests and assessments required under Subsection (2)(a) and
Subsection (3) may not be considered in determining:

(i) a student's academic grade for the appropriate course; or
(ii) whether a student may advance to the next grade level.
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(5)
(a) A school district or charter school may administer an online writing assessment to students in

grade 11.
(b) The State Board of Education may award a grant to a school district or charter school to pay

for an online writing assessment and instruction program that may be used to assess the
writing of students in grade 11.

(6) The State Board of Education shall make rules:
(a) establishing procedures for applying for and awarding money for computer adaptive tests;
(b) specifying how money for computer adaptive tests shall be allocated among school districts

and charter schools that qualify to receive the money; and
(c) requiring reporting of the expenditure of money awarded for computer adaptive testing and

evidence that the money was used to implement computer adaptive testing.
(7) The State Board of Education shall ensure that computer adaptive tests are administered in

compliance with the requirements of Chapter 1, Part 14, Student Data Protection Act, and
Chapter 13, Part 3, Utah Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act.

(8)
(a) The State Board of Education shall establish a committee consisting of 15 parents of Utah

public education students to review all computer adaptive test questions.
(b) The committee established in Subsection (8)(a) shall include the following parent members:

(i) five members appointed by the chair of the State Board of Education;
(ii) five members appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives; and
(iii) five members appointed by the president of the Senate.

(c) The State Board of Education shall provide staff support to the parent committee.
(d) The term of office of each member appointed in Subsection (8)(b) is four years.
(e) The chair of the State Board of Education, the speaker of the House of Representatives, and

the president of the Senate shall adjust the length of terms to stagger the terms of committee
members so that approximately 1/2 of the committee members are appointed every two
years.

(f) No member may receive compensation or benefits for the member's service on the committee.
(9) Beginning with the 2016-17 school year, for all students in grade 11, a school district or charter

school may waive the obligation to administer a test required under Subsection (2)(a).
(10)

(a) School districts and charter schools shall require each licensed employee to complete two
hours of professional development on youth suicide prevention within their license cycle in
accordance with Section 53A-6-104.

(b) The State Board of Education shall develop or adopt sample materials to be used by a school
district or charter school for professional development training on youth suicide prevention.

(c) The training required by this Subsection (10) shall be incorporated into professional
development training required by rule in accordance with Section 53A-6-104.

Amended by Chapter 203, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-1-603.5 Unique student identifier -- Coordination of higher education and public
education information technology systems.
(1) As used in this section, "unique student identifier" means an alphanumeric code assigned to

each public education student for identification purposes, which:
(a) is not assigned to any former or current student; and
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(b) does not incorporate personal information, including a birth date or Social Security number.
(2) The State Board of Education, through the superintendent of public instruction, shall assign

each public education student a unique student identifier, which shall be used to track individual
student performance on achievement tests administered under this part.

(3) The State Board of Education and the State Board of Regents shall coordinate public education
and higher education information technology systems to allow individual student academic
achievement to be tracked through both education systems in accordance with this section and
Section 53B-1-109.

(4) The State Board of Education and State Board of Regents shall coordinate access to the
unique student identifier of a public education student who later attends an institution within the
state system of higher education.

Enacted by Chapter 147, 2006 General Session

53A-1-604 Test development, publication, and administration.
(1) The State Board of Education shall develop, publish, and administer criterion-referenced tests.
(2) The board may use the expert services of any person in the public or private sector in:

(a) evaluating current tests and assessment programs; or
(b) developing, publishing, and administering new tests.

Amended by Chapter 161, 2013 General Session

53A-1-605 Analysis of results -- Staff professional development.
(1) The State Board of Education, through the state superintendent of public instruction, shall

develop a plan to analyze the results of the U-PASS scores for all grade levels and courses
required under Section 53A-1-603.

(2) The plan shall include components designed to:
(a) assist school districts and individual schools to use the results of the analysis in planning,

evaluating, and enhancing programs; and
(b) identify schools not achieving state-established acceptable levels of student performance in

order to assist those schools in raising their student performance levels.
(3) The plan shall include provisions for statistical reporting of criterion-referenced or online

computer adaptive test results at state, school district, school, and grade or course levels, and
shall include actual levels of performance on tests.

(4) Each local school board and charter school governing board shall provide for:
(a) evaluation of the U-PASS test results and use of the evaluations in setting goals and

establishing programs; and
(b) a professional development program that provides teachers, principals, and other

professional staff with the training required to successfully establish and maintain U-PASS.

Amended by Chapter 222, 2015 General Session

53A-1-606.5 State reading goal -- Reading achievement plan.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Competency" means a demonstrable acquisition of a specified knowledge, skill, or ability that
has been organized into a hierarchical arrangement leading to higher levels of knowledge,
skill, or ability.
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(b) "Five domains of reading" include phonological awareness, phonics, fluency, comprehension,
and vocabulary.

(2)
(a) The Legislature recognizes that:

(i) reading is the most fundamental skill, the gateway to knowledge and lifelong learning;
(ii) there is an ever increasing demand for literacy in the highly technological society we live in;
(iii) students who do not learn to read will be economically and socially disadvantaged;
(iv) reading problems exist in almost every classroom;
(v) almost all reading failure is preventable if reading difficulties are diagnosed and treated

early; and
(vi) early identification and treatment of reading difficulties can result in students learning to

read by the end of the third grade.
(b) It is therefore the goal of the state to have every student in the state's public education system

reading on or above grade level by the end of the third grade.
(3)

(a) Each public school containing kindergarten, grade one, grade two, or grade three, including
charter schools, shall develop, as a component of the school improvement plan described in
Section 53A-1a-108.5, a reading achievement plan for its students in kindergarten through
grade three to reach the reading goal set in Subsection (2)(b).

(b) The reading achievement plan shall be:
(i) created under the direction of:

(A) the school community council or a subcommittee or task force created by the school
community council, in the case of a school district school; or

(B) the charter school governing board or a subcommittee or task force created by the
governing board, in the case of a charter school; and

(ii) implemented by the school's principal, teachers, and other appropriate school staff.
(c) The school principal shall take primary responsibility to provide leadership and allocate

resources and support for teachers and students, most particularly for those who are reading
below grade level, to achieve the reading goal.

(d) Each reading achievement plan shall include:
(i) an assessment component that:

(A) focuses on ongoing formative assessment to measure the five domains of reading, as
appropriate, and inform individualized instructional decisions; and

(B) includes a benchmark assessment of reading approved by the State Board of Education
pursuant to Section 53A-1-606.6;

(ii) an intervention component:
(A) that provides adequate and appropriate interventions focused on each student attaining

competency in reading skills;
(B) based on best practices identified through proven researched-based methods;
(C) that provides intensive intervention, such as focused instruction in small groups and

individualized data driven instruction, implemented at the earliest possible time for
students having difficulty in reading;

(D) that provides an opportunity for parents to receive materials and guidance so that they will
be able to assist their children in attaining competency in reading skills; and

(E) that, as resources allow, may involve a reading specialist; and
(iii) a reporting component that includes reporting to parents:

(A) at the beginning, in the middle, and at the end of grade one, grade two, and grade three,
their child's benchmark assessment results as required by Section 53A-1-606.6; and



Utah Code

Page 25

(B) at the end of third grade, their child's reading level.
(e) In creating or reviewing a reading achievement plan as required by this section, a school

community council, charter school governing board, or a subcommittee or task force of a
school community council or charter school governing board may not have access to data
that reveal the identity of students.

(4)
(a) The school district shall approve each plan developed by schools within the district prior to its

implementation and review each plan annually.
(b) The charter school governing board shall approve each plan developed by schools under its

control and review each plan annually.
(c) A school district and charter school governing board shall:

(i) monitor the learning gains of a school's students as reported by the benchmark assessments
administered pursuant to Section 53A-1-606.6; and

(ii) require a reading achievement plan to be revised, if the school district or charter school
governing board determines a school's students are not making adequate learning gains.

Amended by Chapter 220, 2016 General Session

53A-1-606.6 Benchmark assessments in reading -- Report to parent or guardian.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Competency" means a demonstrable acquisition of a specified knowledge, skill, or ability that

has been organized into a hierarchical arrangement leading to higher levels of knowledge,
skill, or ability.

(2) The board shall approve a benchmark assessment for use statewide by school districts and
charter schools to assess the reading competency of students in grades one, two, and three as
provided by this section.

(3) A school district or charter school shall:
(a) administer benchmark assessments to students in grades one, two, and three at the

beginning, middle, and end of the school year using the benchmark assessment approved by
the board; and

(b) after administering a benchmark assessment, report the results to a student's parent or
guardian.

(4) If a benchmark assessment or supplemental reading assessment indicates a student lacks
competency in a reading skill, or is lagging behind other students in the student's grade in
acquiring a reading skill, the school district or charter school shall:

(a) provide focused individualized intervention to develop the reading skill;
(b) administer formative assessments to measure the success of the focused intervention;
(c) inform the student's parent or guardian of activities that the parent or guardian may engage in

with the student to assist the student in improving reading proficiency; and
(d) provide information to the parent or guardian regarding appropriate interventions available

to the student outside of the regular school day that may include tutoring, before and after
school programs, or summer school.

Amended by Chapter 466, 2013 General Session

53A-1-606.7 State Board of Education required to contract for a diagnostic assessment
system for reading.
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(1) The State Board of Education shall contract with one or more educational technology providers,
selected through a request for proposals process, for a diagnostic assessment system for
reading for students in kindergarten through grade three that meets the requirements of this
section.

(2) Subject to legislative appropriations, a diagnostic assessment system for reading shall be made
available to school districts and charter schools that apply to use a diagnostic assessment for
reading beginning in the 2011-12 school year.

(3) A diagnostic assessment system for reading for students in kindergarten through grade three
shall:

(a) be in a digital format;
(b) include benchmark assessments of reading proficiency to be administered at the beginning, in

the middle, and at the end of kindergarten, grade one, grade two, and grade three;
(c) include formative assessments to be administered every two to four weeks for students who

are at high risk of not attaining proficiency in reading;
(d) align with the language arts core standards for Utah public schools adopted by the State

Board of Education; and
(e) include a data analysis component hosted by the provider that:

(i) has the capacity to generate electronic information immediately and produce individualized
student progress reports, class summaries, and class groupings for instruction;

(ii) may have the capability of identifying lesson plans that may be used to develop reading
skills;

(iii) enables teachers, administrators, and designated supervisors to access reports through a
secured password system;

(iv) produces electronic printable reports for parents and administrators; and
(v) has the capability for principals to monitor usage by teachers.

Amended by Chapter 372, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-607 Scoring -- Reports of results.
(1) Each local school board and charter school shall submit all answer sheets for the achievement

tests administered under U-PASS on a per-school and per-class basis to the state
superintendent of public instruction for scoring unless the test requires scoring by a national
testing service.

(2) The district, school, and class results of the U-PASS testing program, but not the score or
relative position of individual students, shall be reported to each local school board or charter
school governing board annually at a regularly scheduled meeting.

(3) Each local board and charter school governing board shall make copies of the report available
to the general public upon request.

(4) The board may charge a fee for the copying costs.
(5) The State Board of Education shall annually provide to school districts and charter schools

a comprehensive report for each of their students showing the student's U-PASS test results
for each year the student took a U-PASS test.  School districts and charter schools shall give
a copy of the comprehensive report to the student's parents and make the report available to
school staff, as appropriate.

Amended by Chapter 299, 2009 General Session
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53A-1-608 Preparation for tests.
(1) School district employees may not carry on any specific instruction or preparation of students

which would be a breach of testing ethics, such as the teaching of specific test questions.
(2) School district employees who administer the test shall follow the standardization procedures in

the publisher's test administration manual and any additional specific instructions developed by
the State Board of Education.

(3) The State Board of Education may revoke the certification of an individual who violates this
section.

Enacted by Chapter 267, 1990 General Session

53A-1-609 Construction of part.
          Nothing in this part shall be construed to mean or represented to require that graduation from a

high school or promotion to another grade is in any way dependent upon successful performance
of any test administered as a part of the testing program established under this part.

Amended by Chapter 161, 2013 General Session

53A-1-610 Grade specification replacement.
(1) The State Board of Education may replace the grade specification for the administration of

specific tests under this part with a specification of age or time elapsed since the student
entered school if the replacement specification is more consistent with patterns of school
organization.

(2) The board shall submit a report to the Legislature explaining the reasons for replacing
the grade specification.  The board shall submit the report at least six months prior to the
anticipated change.

Enacted by Chapter 267, 1990 General Session

53A-1-611 College readiness assessments.
(1) The Legislature recognizes the need for the State Board of Education to develop and

implement standards and assessment processes to ensure that student progress is measured
and that school boards and school personnel are accountable.

(2) In addition to its responsibilities under Sections 53A-1-603 through 53A-1-605, the State Board
of Education shall:

(a) adopt college readiness assessments for secondary students; and
(b) require a school district or charter school to administer the college readiness assessments

adopted by the State Board of Education.
(3) A college readiness assessment adopted by the State Board of Education:

(a) shall include the college admissions test that includes an assessment of language arts,
mathematics, and science that is most commonly submitted to local universities; and

(b) may include:
(i) the Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery; and
(ii) a battery of assessments that are predictive of success in higher education.

(4)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), the State Board of Education shall require a school

district or charter school to administer a test adopted under Subsection (3)(a) to all students in
grade 11.
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(b) A student with an IEP may take an appropriate college readiness assessment other than a
test adopted by the State Board of Education under Subsection (3)(a), as determined by the
student's IEP.

Amended by Chapter 203, 2016 General Session

53A-1-613 Online test preparation program.
(1) The State Board of Education shall contract with a provider, selected through a request for

proposals process, to provide an online program to prepare students to take the college
admissions test that includes an assessment of language arts, mathematics, and science that is
most commonly submitted to local universities.

(2) An online test preparation program described in Subsection (1):
(a)

(i) shall allow a student to independently access online materials and learn at the student's own
pace; and

(ii) may be used to provide classroom and teacher-assisted instruction;
(b) shall provide online study materials, diagnostic exams, drills, and practice tests in an

approach that is engaging to high school students;
(c) shall enable electronic reporting of student progress to administrators, teachers, parents, and

other facilitators;
(d) shall record a student's progress in an online dashboard that provides diagnostic assessment

of the content areas tested and identifies mastery of corresponding skill sets; and
(e) shall provide training and professional development to personnel in school districts and

charter schools on how to utilize the online test preparation program and provide teacher-
assisted instruction to students.

(3) To be eligible to administer a college admissions test provided by the State Board of Education
from funds appropriated for college readiness assessments, a school district or charter school
shall:

(a) promote the use of the online test preparation program; and
(b) inform parents and students of the availability of, and how to access and use, the online test

preparation program.
(4) The State Board of Education, school districts, and charter schools shall make the online test

preparation program available to a student:
(a) beginning in the 2013-14 school year; and
(b) for at least one full year, except a student in grade 11 in the 2013-14 school year shall

have access to the online test preparation program as soon as the program can be made
operational.

Enacted by Chapter 161, 2013 General Session

Part 7
Educational Technology Programs

53A-1-706 Purchases of educational technology.
(1)
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(a) A school district, charter school, or college of education shall comply with Title 63G, Chapter
6a, Utah Procurement Code, in purchasing technology, except as otherwise provided in
Subsection (1)(b).

(b) A school district or charter school may purchase computers from, and contract for the repair
or refurbishing of computers with, the Utah Correctional Industries without going through the
bidding or competition procedures outlined in Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code.

(2) A school district, charter school, or college of education may purchase technology through
cooperative purchasing contracts administered by the state Division of Purchasing or through
its own established purchasing program.

(3) Consistent with policies adopted by a local school board or charter school governing board, a
school district or charter school that purchases technology under this section shall ensure that
adequate on and off campus Internet filtering is installed and consistently configured to prevent
viewing of harmful content by students and school personnel.

Amended by Chapter 220, 2016 General Session

53A-1-708 Grants for online delivery of U-PASS tests.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Adaptive tests" means tests administered during the school year using an online adaptive
test system.

(b) "Core standards for Utah public schools" means the standards developed and adopted by
the State Board of Education that define the knowledge and skills students should have in
kindergarten through grade 12 to enable students to be prepared for college or workforce
training.

(c) "Summative tests" means tests administered near the end of a course to assess overall
achievement of course goals.

(d) "Uniform online summative test system" means a single system for the online delivery of
summative tests required under U-PASS that:

(i) is coordinated by the State Board of Education;
(ii) ensures the reliability and security of U-PASS tests; and
(iii) is selected through collaboration between the State Board of Education and school district

representatives with expertise in technology, assessment, and administration.
(e) "U-PASS" means the Utah Performance Assessment System for Students.

(2) The State Board of Education may award grants to school districts and charter schools to
implement one or both of the following:

(a) a uniform online summative test system to enable parents of students and school staff to
review U-PASS test scores by the end of the school year; or

(b) an online adaptive test system to enable parents of students and school staff to measure and
monitor a student's academic progress during a school year.

(3)
(a) Grant money may be used to pay for any of the following, provided it is directly related to

implementing a uniform online summative test system, an online adaptive test system, or
both:

(i) computer equipment and peripherals, including electronic data capture devices designed for
electronic test administration and scoring;

(ii) software;
(iii) networking equipment;
(iv) upgrades of existing equipment or software;
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(v) upgrades of existing physical plant facilities;
(vi) personnel to provide technical support or coordination and management; and
(vii) teacher professional development.

(b) Equipment purchased in compliance with Subsection (3)(a), when not in use for the online
delivery of summative tests or adaptive tests required under U-PASS may be used for other
purposes.

(4) The State Board of Education shall make rules:
(a) establishing procedures for applying for and awarding grants;
(b) specifying how grant money shall be allocated among school districts and charter schools;
(c) requiring reporting of grant money expenditures and evidence showing that the grant money

has been used to implement a uniform online summative test system, an online adaptive test
system, or both;

(d) establishing technology standards for an online adaptive testing system;
(e) requiring a school district or charter school that receives a grant under this section to

implement, in compliance with Chapter 1, Part 14, Student Data Protection Act, and Chapter
13, Part 3, Utah Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, an online adaptive test system by
the 2014-15 school year that:

(i) meets the technology standards established under Subsection (4)(d); and
(ii) is aligned with the core standards for Utah public schools;

(f) requiring a school district or charter school to provide matching funds to implement a uniform
online summative test system, an online adaptive test system, or both in an amount that is
greater than or equal to the amount of a grant received under this section; and

(g) ensuring that student identifiable data is not released to any person, except as provided by
Chapter 1, Part 14, Student Data Protection Act, Section 53A-13-301, and rules of the State
Board of Education adopted under that section.

(5) If a school district or charter school uses grant money for purposes other than those stated in
Subsection (3), the school district or charter school is liable for reimbursing the State Board of
Education in the amount of the grant money improperly used.

(6) A school district or charter school may not use federal funds to provide the matching funds
required to receive a grant under this section.

(7) A school district may not impose a tax rate above the certified tax rate for the purpose of
generating revenue to provide matching funds for a grant under this section.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-1-709 Smart School Technology Program.
(1) As used in this section, "program" means the Smart School Technology Program.
(2) The Smart School Technology Program is created to encourage the deployment of whole-

school one-to-one mobile device technology in public schools.
(3) The Board of Business and Economic Development with input from an independent evaluating

committee, shall issue a request for proposals for the development and implementation of a
whole-school one-to-one mobile device technology deployment plan for schools.

(4) From recommendations submitted by an independent evaluating committee, the Board of
Business and Economic Development shall select a single education technology provider with
integrated whole-school technology deployment experience through the request for proposals
process.

(5)
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(a) An independent evaluating committee shall be established to:
(i) advise the Board of Business and Economic Development in issuing a request for proposals

under Subsection (3);
(ii) evaluate proposals submitted through a request for proposals issued under Subsection (3);

and
(iii) advise the State Board of Education on selecting schools to participate in the program.

(b) The membership of the independent evaluating committee shall include:
(i) three members of the State Board of Education appointed by the chair of the State Board of

Education;
(ii) the state chief information officer;
(iii) two members appointed by the executive director of the Governor's Office of Economic

Development; and
(iv) the governor's education director.

(c) The independent evaluating committee shall evaluate a proposal on:
(i) a provider's experience with integrated whole-school technology deployment; and
(ii) the components of a whole-school technology deployment plan.

(6) An educational technology provider selected under Subsection (4) shall develop a customized
whole-school one-to-one mobile device technology deployment plan for each school
participating in the program.

(7) The whole-school technology deployment plan shall be based on submitted proposals to the
committee and may include the following components:

(a) a personal mobile learning device for each student;
(b) desktop or laptop computers for each classroom;
(c) peripherals and networking equipment, including a wireless network that is not self-interfering;
(d) wireless audio equipment in each classroom;
(e) digital projectors or televisions with wireless device mirroring technology;
(f) on and off campus Internet filtering;
(g) operating software for the technology system, including software that connects personal

mobile learning devices among students and a teacher to facilitate classroom interaction;
(h) curriculum and instructional software purchase credits per device to be used toward

improving student outcomes with respect to the core standards for Utah public schools and
skill building on the use of technology;

(i) device repair and replacement criteria;
(j) professional development for educators and technology specialists on:

(i) the operation and use of the technology equipment; and
(ii) accessing and using online content; and

(k) ongoing technical support.
(8)

(a) A school within a school district, with the approval of the local school board, or a charter
school, may submit an application to the State Board of Education to participate in the
program.

(b) With input from the independent evaluating committee established under Subsection (5), the
State Board of Education shall select schools to participate in the program.

(c) In selecting schools, the State Board of Education shall seek to include in the program
schools:

(i) from different regions of the state;
(ii) from urban and rural areas;
(iii) with a variety of economic and demographic characteristics; and
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(iv) with documented technology implementation plans, including a plan for the use of:
(A) instructional software that improves student outcomes with respect to the core standards

for Utah public schools; and
(B) software that provides students with skill building on the use of technology.

(d) The State Board of Education shall make rules:
(i) specifying procedures and criteria to be used for selecting schools that may participate in the

program; and
(ii) requiring selected schools to provide matching funds to participate in the program.

(9)
(a) The State Board of Education, in collaboration with the education technology provider and

the schools participating in the program, shall evaluate the program and submit a report on
the evaluation to the Governor's Office of Economic Development and the Education Interim
Committee by the committee's October meetings in 2013 and 2014.

(b) The State Board of Education may contract with an independent evaluator to conduct the
evaluation required in Subsection (9)(a).

(c) The evaluation shall be based on the following criteria:
(i) technology system functionality;
(ii) school level outcomes;
(iii) teacher instruction and outcomes; and
(iv) student engagement and outcomes.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

Part 8
Child Literacy Programs

53A-1-801 Child literacy program -- Coordinated activities.
(1) The State Board of Education, through the state superintendent of public instruction, shall

provide for a public service campaign to educate parents on the importance of providing their
children with opportunities to develop emerging literacy skills through a statewide "Read to Me"
program.

(2) The board shall coordinate its activities under this section with other state and community
entities that are engaged in child literacy programs in order to maximize its efforts and
resources, including the Utah Commission on National and Community Service.

Amended by Chapter 210, 2002 General Session

Part 9
Implementing Federal or National Education Programs Act

53A-1-901 Title.
          This part is known as the "Implementing Federal or National Education Programs Act."

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session
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53A-1-902 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1)
(a) "Cost" means an estimation of state and local money required to implement a federal

education agreement or national program.
(b) "Cost" does not include capital costs associated with implementing a federal education

agreement or national program.
(2) "Education entities" means the entities that may bear the state and local costs of implementing

a federal program or national program, including:
(a) the State Board of Education;
(b) the state superintendent of public instruction;
(c) a local school board;
(d) a school district and its schools;
(e) a charter school governing board; and
(f) a charter school.

(3) "Federal education agreement" means a legally binding document or representation that
requires a school official to implement a federal program or set of requirements that originates
from the U.S. Department of Education and that has, as a primary focus, an impact on the
educational services at a district or charter school.

(4) "Federal programs" include:
(a) the No Child Left Behind Act;
(b) the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act Amendments of 1997, Public Law 105-17, and

subsequent amendments; and
(c) other federal educational programs.

(5) "National program" means a national or multi-state education program, agreement, or
standards that:

(a) originated from, or were received directly or indirectly from, a national or multi-state
organization, coalition, or compact;

(b) have, as a primary focus, an impact on the educational services at a public school; and
(c) are adopted by the State Board of Education or state superintendent of public instruction with

the intent to cause a local school official to implement the national or multi-state education
program, agreement, or standards.

(6) "No Child Left Behind Act" means the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 6301 et
seq.

(7) "School official" includes:
(a) the State Board of Education;
(b) the state superintendent;
(c) employees of the State Board of Education and the state superintendent;
(d) local school boards;
(e) school district superintendents and employees; and
(f) charter school board members, administrators, and employees.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-903 Federal programs -- School official duties.
(1) School officials may:

(a) apply for, receive, and administer funds made available through programs of the federal
government;
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(b) only expend federal funds for the purposes for which they are received and are accounted for
by the state, school district, or charter school; and

(c) reduce or eliminate a program created with or expanded by federal funds to the extent
allowed by law when federal funds for that program are subsequently reduced or eliminated.

(2) School officials shall:
(a) prioritize resources, especially to resolve conflicts between federal provisions or between

federal and state programs, including:
(i) providing first priority to meeting state goals, objectives, program needs, and accountability

systems as they relate to federal programs; and
(ii) providing second priority to implementing federal goals, objectives, program needs, and

accountability systems that do not directly and simultaneously advance state goals,
objectives, program needs, and accountability systems;

(b) interpret the provisions of federal programs in the best interest of students in this state;
(c) maximize local control and flexibility;
(d) minimize additional state resources that are diverted to implement federal programs beyond

the federal money that is provided to fund the programs;
(e) request changes to federal educational programs, especially programs that are underfunded

or provide conflicts with other state or federal programs, including:
(i) federal statutes;
(ii) federal regulations; and
(iii) other federal policies and interpretations of program provisions; and

(f) seek waivers from all possible federal statutes, requirements, regulations, and program
provisions from federal education officials to:

(i) maximize state flexibility in implementing program provisions; and
(ii) receive reasonable time to comply with federal program provisions.

(3) The requirements of school officials under this part, including the responsibility to lobby federal
officials, are not intended to mandate school officials to incur costs or require the hiring of
lobbyists, but are intended to be performed in the course of school officials' normal duties.

Amended by Chapter 342, 2011 General Session

53A-1-904 No Child Left Behind -- State implementation.
(1)

(a) In accordance with the No Child Left Behind Act, including Section 9527, school officials shall
determine, as applied to their responsibilities, if the No Child Left Behind Act:

(i) requires the state to spend state or local resources in order to comply with the No Child Left
Behind Act; or

(ii) causes the state, local education agencies, or schools to change curriculum in order to
comply.

(b) School officials shall request a waiver under Section 9401 of the No Child Left Behind Act of
any provision of the No Child Left Behind Act that violates Section 9527.

(2) In addition to the duties described under Subsection (1), school officials shall:
(a) request reasonable time to comply with the provisions of the No Child Left Behind Act;
(b) lobby Congress for needed changes to the No Child Left Behind Act; and
(c) lobby federal education officials for relief from the provisions of the No Child Left Behind Act,

including waivers from federal requirements, regulations, and administrative burdens.
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(3) School officials shall lobby Congress and federal education officials for needed resolution
and clarification for conflicts between the No Child Left Behind Act and the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act.

(4) In the case of conflicts between the No Child Left Behind Act and the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act, the parents, in conjunction with school officials, shall determine
which program best meets the educational needs of the student.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 2005 Special Session 1
Enacted by Chapter 2, 2005 Special Session 1

53A-1-905 Notice of voidableness of federal education agreements or national programs.
          A federal education agreement or national program that may cost education entities more than

$500,000 annually from state and local money to implement, that is executed by a school official in
violation of this part, is voidable by the governor or the Legislature as provided in this part.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-906 Governor to approve federal education agreements or national programs.
(1) Before legally binding the state by executing a federal education agreement or national

program that may cost education entities more than $500,000 annually from state and local
money to implement, a school official shall submit the proposed federal education agreement or
national program to the governor for the governor's approval or rejection.

(2) The governor shall approve or reject each federal education agreement or national program.
(3)

(a) If the governor approves the federal education agreement or national program, the school
official may execute the agreement.

(b) If the governor rejects the federal education agreement or national program, the school official
may not execute the agreement.

(4) If a school official executes a federal education agreement or national program without
obtaining the governor's approval under this section, the governor may issue an executive
order declaring the federal education agreement or national program void.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-907 Legislative review and approval of federal education agreements or national
programs.
(1)

(a) Before legally binding the state by executing a federal education agreement or national
program that may cost education entities more than $1,000,000 annually from state and local
money to implement, the school official shall:

(i) submit the proposed federal education agreement or national program to the governor for the
governor's approval or rejection as required by Section 53A-1-906; and

(ii) if the governor approves the federal education agreement or national program, submit the
federal education agreement to the Executive Appropriations Committee of the Legislature
for its review and recommendations.

(b) The Executive Appropriations Committee shall review the federal education agreement or
national program and may:
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(i) recommend that the school official execute the federal education agreement or national
program;

(ii) recommend that the school official reject the federal education agreement or national
program; or

(iii) recommend to the governor that the governor call a special session of the Legislature to
review and approve or reject the federal education agreement or national program.

(2)
(a) Before legally binding the state by executing a federal education agreement or national

program that may cost education entities more than $5,000,000 annually to implement, a
school official shall:

(i) submit the proposed federal education agreement or national program to the governor for the
governor's approval or rejection as required by Section 53A-1-906; and

(ii) if the governor approves the federal education agreement or national program, submit the
federal education agreement or national program to the Legislature for its approval in an
annual general session or a special session.

(b)
(i) If the Legislature approves the federal education agreement or national program, the school

official may execute the agreement.
(ii) If the Legislature rejects the federal education agreement or national program, the school

official may not execute the agreement.
(c) If a school official executes a federal education agreement or national program without

obtaining the Legislature's approval under this Subsection (2):
(i) the governor may issue an executive order declaring the federal education agreement or

national program void; or
(ii) the Legislature may pass a joint resolution declaring the federal education agreement or

national program void.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-908 Cost evaluation of federal education agreements or national programs.
(1) Before legally binding the state to a federal education agreement or national program that may

cost the state a total of $500,000 or more to implement, a school official shall estimate the
state and local cost of implementing the federal education agreement or national program and
submit that cost estimate to the governor and the Executive Appropriations Committee of the
Legislature.

(2) The Executive Appropriations Committee may:
(a) direct its staff to make an independent cost estimate of the cost of implementing the federal

education agreement or national program; and
(b) affirmatively adopt a cost estimate as the benchmark for determining which authorizations

established by this part are necessary.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

Part 10
Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children
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53A-1-1001 Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children.
ARTICLE I
PURPOSE

          It is the purpose of this compact to remove barriers to educational success imposed on
children of military families because of frequent moves and deployment of their parents by:
          A.  Facilitating the timely enrollment of children of military families and ensuring that they are
not placed at a disadvantage due to difficulty in the transfer of education records from the previous
school district or variations in entrance or age requirements.
          B.  Facilitating the student placement process through which children of military families are
not disadvantaged by variations in attendance requirements, scheduling, sequencing, grading,
course content, or assessment.
          C.  Facilitating the qualification and eligibility for enrollment, educational programs, and
participation in extracurricular academic, athletic, and social activities.
          D.  Facilitating the on-time graduation of children of military families.
          E.  Providing for the promulgation and enforcement of administrative rules implementing the
provisions of this compact.
          F.  Providing for the uniform collection and sharing of information between and among
member states, schools, and military families under this compact.
          G.  Promoting coordination between this compact and other compacts affecting military
children.
          H.  Promoting flexibility and cooperation between the educational system, parents, and the
student in order to achieve educational success for the student.

ARTICLE II
DEFINITIONS

          As used in this compact, unless the context clearly requires a different construction:
          A.  "Active duty" means: full-time duty status in the active uniformed service of the United
States, including members of the National Guard and Reserve on active duty orders pursuant to 10
U.S.C. Sections 1209 and 1211.
          B.  "Children of military families" means: a school-aged child, enrolled in Kindergarten
through Twelfth grade, in the household of an active duty member.
          C.  "Compact commissioner" means: the voting representative of each compacting state
appointed pursuant to Article VIII of this compact.
          D.  "Deployment" means: the period one month prior to the service members' departure from
their home station on military orders though six months after return to their home station.
          E.  "Education" or "educational records" means: those official records, files, and data directly
related to a student and maintained by the school or local education agency, including but not
limited to records encompassing all the material kept in the student's cumulative folder such
as general identifying data, records of attendance and of academic work completed, records of
achievement and results of evaluative tests, health data, disciplinary status, test protocols, and
individualized education programs.
          F.  "Extracurricular activities" means: a voluntary activity sponsored by the school or local
education agency or an organization sanctioned by the local education agency.  Extracurricular
activities include, but are not limited to, preparation for and involvement in public performances,
contests, athletic competitions, demonstrations, displays, and club activities.
          G.  "Interstate Commission on Educational Opportunity for Military Children" means: the
commission that is created under Article IX of this compact, which is generally referred to as
Interstate Commission.
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          H.  "Local education agency" means: a public authority legally constituted by the state as an
administrative agency to provide control of and direction for Kindergarten through Twelfth grade
public educational institutions.
          I.  "Member state" means: a state that has enacted this compact.
          J.  "Military installation" means: a base, camp, post, station, yard, center, homeport facility
for any ship, or other activity under the jurisdiction of the Department of Defense, including any
leased facility, which is located within any of the several states, the District of Columbia, the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, the Northern
Marianas Islands, and any other U.S. Territory.  Such term does not include any facility used
primarily for civil works, rivers and harbors projects, or flood control projects.
          K.  "Non-member state" means: a state that has not enacted this compact.
          L.  "Receiving state" means: the state to which a child of a military family is sent, brought, or
caused to be sent or brought.
          M.  "Rule" means: a written statement by the Interstate Commission promulgated pursuant
to Article XII of this compact that is of general applicability, implements, interprets, or prescribes
a policy or provision of the compact, or an organizational, procedural, or practice requirement
of the Interstate Commission, and has the force and effect of a rule promulgated under Utah
Code Annotated Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, and includes the
amendment, repeal, or suspension of an existing rule.
          N.  "Sending state" means: the state from which a child of a military family is sent, brought,
or caused to be sent or brought.
          O.  "State" means: a state of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth
of Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, the Northern Marianas Islands,
and any other U.S. Territory.
          P.  "Student" means: the child of a military family for whom the local education agency
receives public funding and who is formally enrolled in Kindergarten through Twelfth grade.
          Q.  "Transition" means: 1) the formal and physical process of transferring from school to
school; or 2) the period of time in which a student moves from one school in the sending state to
another school in the receiving state.
          R.  "Uniformed service" means: the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard as
well as the Commissioned Corps of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and
Public Health Services.
          S.  "Veteran" means: a person who served in the uniformed services and who was
discharged or released therefrom under conditions other than dishonorable.

ARTICLE III
APPLICABILITY

          A.  Except as otherwise provided in Section B, this compact shall apply to the children of:
          1.  active duty members of the uniformed services as defined in this compact, including
members of the National Guard and Reserve on active duty orders pursuant to 10 U.S.C. Sections
1209 and 1211;
          2.  members or veterans of the uniformed services who are severely injured and medically
discharged or retired for a period of one year after medical discharge or retirement; and
          3.  members of the uniformed services who die on active duty or as a result of injuries
sustained on active duty for a period of one year after death.
          B.  The provisions of this interstate compact shall only apply to local education agencies as
defined in this compact.
          C.  The provisions of this compact shall not apply to the children of:
          1.  inactive members of the national guard and military reserves;
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          2.  members of the uniformed services now retired, except as provided in Section A;
          3.  veterans of the uniformed services, except as provided in Section A, and other U.S. Dept.
of Defense personnel and other federal agency civilian and contract employees not defined as
active duty members of the uniformed services.

ARTICLE IV
EDUCATIONAL RECORDS & ENROLLMENT

          A.  Unofficial or "hand-carried" education records -- In the event that official education
records cannot be released to the parents for the purpose of transfer, the custodian of the records
in the sending state shall prepare and furnish to the parent a complete set of unofficial educational
records containing uniform information as determined by the Interstate Commission.  Upon receipt
of the unofficial education records by a school in the receiving state, the school shall enroll and
appropriately place the student based on the information provided in the unofficial records pending
validation by the official records, as quickly as possible.
          B.  Official education records or transcripts -- Simultaneous with the enrollment and
conditional placement of the student, the school in the receiving state shall request the student's
official education record from the school in the sending state.  Upon receipt of this request, the
school in the sending state will process and furnish the official education records to the school in
the receiving state within 10 days or within such time as is reasonably determined under the rules
promulgated by the Interstate Commission.
          C.  Immunizations -- Compacting states shall give 30 days from the date of enrollment
or within such time as is reasonably determined under the rules promulgated by the Interstate
Commission, for students to obtain any immunization required by the receiving state.  For a series
of immunizations, initial vaccinations must be obtained within 30 days or within such time as is
reasonably determined under the rules promulgated by the Interstate Commission.
          D.  Kindergarten and First grade entrance age -- Students shall be allowed to continue
their enrollment at grade level in the receiving state commensurate with their grade level,
including Kindergarten, from a local education agency in the sending state at the time of transition,
regardless of age.  A student that has satisfactorily completed the prerequisite grade level in the
local education agency in the sending state shall be eligible for enrollment in the next highest
grade level in the receiving state, regardless of age.  Students transferring after the start of the
school year in the receiving state shall enter the school in the receiving state on their validated
level from an accredited school in the sending state.

ARTICLE V
PLACEMENT & ATTENDANCE

          A.  Course placement -- When the student transfers before or during the school year, the
receiving state school shall initially honor placement of the student in educational courses based
on the student's enrollment in the sending state school and/or educational assessments conducted
at the school in the sending state if the courses are offered.  Course placement includes but is not
limited to Honors, International Baccalaureate, Advanced Placement, vocational, technical, and
career pathways courses.  Continuing the student's academic program from the previous school
and promoting placement in academically and career challenging courses should be paramount
when considering placement.  This does not preclude the school in the receiving state from
performing subsequent evaluations to ensure appropriate placement and continued enrollment of
the student in the course.
          B.  Educational program placement -- The receiving state school shall initially honor
placement of the student in educational programs based on current educational assessments
conducted at the school in the sending state or participation or placement in like programs in the
sending state.  Such programs include, but are not limited to: 1) gifted and talented programs; and
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2) English as a second language (ESL).  This does not preclude the school in the receiving state
from performing subsequent evaluations to ensure appropriate placement of the student.
          C.  Special education services -- 1) In compliance with the federal requirements of the
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. Section 1400 et seq., the receiving
state shall initially provide comparable services to a student with disabilities based on the student's
current Individualized Education Program (IEP); and 2) In compliance with the requirements of
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. Section 794, and with Title II of the Americans
with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. Sections 12131-12165, the receiving state shall make reasonable
accommodations and modifications to address the needs of incoming students with disabilities,
subject to an existing 504 or Title II Plan, to provide the student with equal access to education.
This does not preclude the school in the receiving state from performing subsequent evaluations to
ensure appropriate placement of the student.
          D.  Placement flexibility -- Local education agency administrative officials shall have flexibility
in waiving course or program prerequisites, or other preconditions for placement, in courses or
programs offered under the jurisdiction of the local education agency.
          E.  Absence as related to deployment activities -- A student whose parent or legal guardian
is an active duty member of the uniformed services, as defined by the compact, and has been
called to duty for, is on leave from, or immediately returned from deployment to a combat zone or
combat support posting, shall be granted additional excused absences at the discretion of the local
education agency superintendent to visit with his or her parent or legal guardian relative to such
leave or deployment of the parent or guardian.

ARTICLE VI
ELIGIBILITY

          A.  Eligibility for enrollment.
          1.  Special power of attorney, relative to the guardianship of a child of a military family and
executed under applicable law, shall be sufficient for the purposes of enrollment and all other
actions requiring parental participation and consent.
          2.  A local education agency shall be prohibited from charging local tuition to a transitioning
military child placed in the care of a non-custodial parent or other person standing in loco parentis
who lives in a jurisdiction other than that of the custodial parent.
          3.  A transitioning military child, placed in the care of a non-custodial parent or other person
standing in loco parentis who lives in a jurisdiction other than that of the custodial parent, may
continue to attend the school in which the student was enrolled while residing with the custodial
parent.
          B.  Eligibility for extracurricular participation -- State and local education agencies shall
facilitate the opportunity for transitioning military children's inclusion in extracurricular activities,
regardless of application deadlines, to the extent they are otherwise qualified.

ARTICLE VII
GRADUATION

          In order to facilitate the on-time graduation of children of military families, states and local
education agencies shall incorporate the following procedures:
          A.  Waiver requirements -- Local education agency administrative officials shall waive
specific courses required for graduation if similar coursework has been satisfactorily completed
in another local education agency or shall provide reasonable justification for denial.  Should a
waiver not be granted to a student who would qualify to graduate from the sending school, the
local education agency shall provide an alternative means of acquiring required coursework so that
graduation may occur on time.
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          B.  Exit exams -- States shall accept: 1) exit or end-of-course exams required for graduation
from the sending state; 2) national norm-referenced achievement tests; or 3) alternative testing,
in lieu of testing requirements for graduation in the receiving state.  In the event the above
alternatives cannot be accommodated by the receiving state for a student transferring in the
student's Senior year, then the provisions of Article VII, Section C shall apply.
          C.  Transfers during Senior year -- Should a military student transferring at the beginning or
during the student's Senior year be ineligible to graduate from the receiving local education agency
after all alternatives have been considered, the sending and receiving local education agencies
shall ensure the receipt of a diploma from the sending local education agency, if the student meets
the graduation requirements of the sending local education agency.  In the event that one of the
states in question is not a member of this compact, the member state shall use best efforts to
facilitate the on-time graduation of the student in accordance with Sections A and B of this Article.

ARTICLE VIII
STATE COORDINATION

          A.  Each member state shall, through the creation of a State Council or use of an existing
body or board, provide for the coordination among its agencies of government, local education
agencies, and military installations concerning the state's participation in, and compliance with,
this compact and Interstate Commission activities.  While each member state may determine
the membership of its own State Council, its membership must include at least: the state
superintendent of education, superintendent of a school district with a high concentration of military
children, representative from a military installation, one representative each from the legislative and
executive branches of government, and other offices and stakeholder groups the State Council
deems appropriate.  A member state that does not have a school district deemed to contain a
high concentration of military children may appoint a superintendent from another school district to
represent local education agencies on the State Council.
          B.  The State Council of each member state shall appoint or designate a military family
education liaison to assist military families and the state in facilitating the implementation of this
compact.
          C.  The compact commissioner responsible for the administration and management of the
state's participation in the compact shall be appointed by the Governor or as otherwise determined
by each member state.
          D.  The compact commissioner and the military family education liaison designated herein
shall be ex-officio members of the State Council, unless either is already a full voting member of
the State Council.

ARTICLE IX
INTERSTATE COMMISSION ON EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY FOR MILITARY

CHILDREN
          The member states hereby create the "Interstate Commission on Educational Opportunity
for Military Children." The activities of the Interstate Commission are the formation of public policy
and are a discretionary state function.  The Interstate Commission shall:
          A.  Be a body corporate and joint agency of the member states and shall have all the
responsibilities, powers, and duties set forth herein, and such additional powers as may be
conferred upon it by a subsequent concurrent action of the respective legislatures of the member
states in accordance with the terms of this compact.
          B.  Consist of one Interstate Commission voting representative from each member state who
shall be that state's compact commissioner.
          1.  Each member state represented at a meeting of the Interstate Commission is entitled to
one vote.
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          2.  A majority of the total member states shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of
business, unless a larger quorum is required by the bylaws of the Interstate Commission.
          3.  A representative shall not delegate a vote to another member state.  In the event the
compact commissioner is unable to attend a meeting of the Interstate Commission, the Governor
or State Council may delegate voting authority to another person from their state for a specified
meeting.
          4.  The bylaws may provide for meetings of the Interstate Commission to be conducted by
telecommunication or electronic communication.
          C.  Consist of ex-officio, non-voting representatives who are members of interested
organizations.  Such ex-officio members, as defined in the bylaws, may include but not be limited
to, members of the representative organizations of military family advocates, local education
agency officials, parent and teacher groups, the U.S. Department of Defense, the Education
Commission of the States, the Interstate Agreement on the Qualification of Educational Personnel,
and other interstate compacts affecting the education of children of military members.
          D.  Meet at least once each calendar year.  The chairperson may call additional meetings
and, upon the request of a simple majority of the member states, shall call additional meetings.
          E.  Establish an executive committee, whose members shall include the officers of the
Interstate Commission and such other members of the Interstate Commission as determined
by the bylaws.  Members of the executive committee shall serve a one-year term.  Members
of the executive committee shall be entitled to one vote each.  The executive committee shall
have the power to act on behalf of the Interstate Commission, with the exception of rulemaking,
during periods when the Interstate Commission is not in session.  The executive committee shall
oversee the day-to-day activities of the administration of the compact including enforcement and
compliance with the provisions of the compact, its bylaws and rules, and other such duties as
deemed necessary.  The U.S. Dept. of Defense shall serve as an ex-officio, nonvoting member of
the executive committee.
          F.  Establish bylaws and rules that provide for conditions and procedures under which the
Interstate Commission shall make its information and official records available to the public for
inspection or copying.  The Interstate Commission may exempt from disclosure information or
official records to the extent they would adversely affect personal privacy rights or proprietary
interests.
          G.  Give public notice of all meetings and all meetings shall be open to the public, except as
set forth in the rules or as otherwise provided in the compact.  The Interstate Commission and its
committees may close a meeting, or portion thereof, where it determines by two-thirds vote that an
open meeting would be likely to:
          1.  relate solely to the Interstate Commission's internal personnel practices and procedures;
          2.  disclose matters specifically exempted from disclosure by federal and state statute;
          3.  disclose trade secrets or commercial or financial information which is privileged or
confidential;
          4.  involve accusing a person of a crime, or formally censuring a person;
          5.  disclose information of a personal nature where disclosure would constitute a clearly
unwarranted invasion of personal privacy;
          6.  disclose investigative records compiled for law enforcement purposes; or
          7.  specifically relate to the Interstate Commission's participation in a civil action or other
legal proceeding.
          H.  Shall cause its legal counsel or designee to certify that a meeting may be closed and
shall reference each relevant exemptible provision for any meeting, or portion of a meeting,
which is closed pursuant to this provision.  The Interstate Commission shall keep minutes which
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shall fully and clearly describe all matters discussed in a meeting and shall provide a full and
accurate summary of actions taken, and the reasons therefore, including a description of the views
expressed and the record of a roll call vote.  All documents considered in connection with an action
shall be identified in such minutes.  All minutes and documents of a closed meeting shall remain
under seal, subject to release by a majority vote of the Interstate Commission.
          I.  Shall collect standardized data concerning the educational transition of the children of
military families under this compact as directed through its rules which shall specify the data to be
collected, the means of collection, and data exchange and reporting requirements.  Such methods
of data collection, exchange, and reporting shall, in so far as is reasonably possible, conform
to current technology and coordinate its information functions with the appropriate custodian of
records as identified in the bylaws and rules.
          J.  Shall create a process that permits military officials, education officials, and parents to
inform the Interstate Commission if and when there are alleged violations of the compact or its
rules or when issues subject to the jurisdiction of the compact or its rules are not addressed by
the state or local education agency.  This section shall not be construed to create a private right of
action against the Interstate Commission or any member state.

ARTICLE X
POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE INTERSTATE COMMISSION

          The Interstate Commission shall have the following powers:
          A.  To provide for dispute resolution among member states.
          B.  To promulgate rules and take all necessary actions to effect the goals, purposes, and
obligations as enumerated in this compact.  The rules shall have the force and effect of rules
promulgated under Utah Code Annotated Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking
Act, and shall be binding in the compact states to the extent and in the manner provided in this
compact.
          C.  To issue, upon request of a member state, advisory opinions concerning the meaning or
interpretation of the interstate compact, its bylaws, rules, and actions.
          D.  To monitor compliance with the compact provisions, the rules promulgated by the
Interstate Commission, and the bylaws.  Any action to enforce compliance with the compact
provision by the Interstate Commission shall be brought against a member state only.
          E.  To establish and maintain offices which shall be located within one or more of the
member states.
          F.  To purchase and maintain insurance and bonds.
          G.  To borrow, accept, hire, or contract for services of personnel.
          H.  To establish and appoint committees including, but not limited to, an executive committee
as required by Article IX, Section E, which shall have the power to act on behalf of the Interstate
Commission in carrying out its powers and duties hereunder.
          I.  To elect or appoint such officers, attorneys, employees, agents, or consultants, and to
fix their compensation, define their duties and determine their qualifications, and to establish the
Interstate Commission's personnel policies and programs relating to conflicts of interest, rates of
compensation, and qualifications of personnel.
          J.  To accept any and all donations and grants of money, equipment, supplies, materials,
and services, and to receive, utilize, and dispose of it.
          K.  To lease, purchase, accept contributions, or donations of, or otherwise to own, hold,
improve, or use any property - real, personal, or mixed.
          L.  To sell, convey, mortgage, pledge, lease, exchange, abandon, or otherwise dispose of
any property - real, personal, or mixed.
          M.  To establish a budget and make expenditures.
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          N.  To adopt a seal and bylaws governing the management and operation of the Interstate
Commission.
          O.  To report annually to the legislatures, governors, judiciary, and state councils of the
member states concerning the activities of the Interstate Commission during the preceding
year.  Such reports shall also include any recommendations that may have been adopted by the
Interstate Commission.
          P.  To coordinate education, training, and public awareness regarding the compact and its
implementation and operation for officials and parents involved in such activity.
          Q.  To establish uniform standards for the reporting, collecting, and exchanging of data.
          R.  To maintain corporate books and records in accordance with the bylaws.
          S.  To perform such functions as may be necessary or appropriate to achieve the purposes
of this compact.
          T.  To provide for the uniform collection and sharing of information between and among
member states, schools, and military families under this compact.

ARTICLE XI
ORGANIZATION AND OPERATION OF THE INTERSTATE COMMISSION

          A.  The Interstate Commission shall, by a majority of the members present and voting, within
12 months after the first Interstate Commission meeting, adopt bylaws to govern its conduct as
may be necessary or appropriate to carry out the purposes of the compact, including, but not
limited to:
          1.  establishing the fiscal year of the Interstate Commission;
          2.  establishing an executive committee, and such other committees as may be necessary;
          3.  providing for the establishment of committees and for governing any general or specific
delegation of authority or function of the Interstate Commission;
          4.  providing reasonable procedures for calling and conducting meetings of the Interstate
Commission, and ensuring reasonable notice of each such meeting;
          5.  establishing the titles and responsibilities of the officers and staff of the Interstate
Commission;
          6.  providing a mechanism for concluding the operations of the Interstate Commission and
the return of surplus funds that may exist upon the termination of the compact after the payment
and reserving of all of its debts and obligations; and
          7.  providing "start up" rules for initial administration of the compact.
          B.  The Interstate Commission shall, by a majority of the members, elect annually from
among its members a chairperson, a vice-chairperson, and a treasurer, each of whom shall
have such authority and duties as may be specified in the bylaws.  The chairperson or, in the
chairperson's absence or disability, the vice-chairperson, shall preside at all meetings of the
Interstate Commission.  The officers so elected shall serve without compensation or remuneration
from the Interstate Commission; provided that, subject to the availability of budgeted funds, the
officers shall be reimbursed for ordinary and necessary costs and expenses incurred by them in
the performance of their responsibilities as officers of the Interstate Commission.
          C.  Executive Committee, Officers, and Personnel.
          1.  The executive committee shall have such authority and duties as may be set forth in the
bylaws, including, but not limited to:
          a.  managing the affairs of the Interstate Commission in a manner consistent with the bylaws
and purposes of the Interstate Commission;
          b.  overseeing an organizational structure within, and appropriate procedures for the
Interstate Commission to provide for the creation of rules, operating procedures, and administrative
and technical support functions; and
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          c.  planning, implementing, and coordinating communications and activities with other
state, federal, and local government organizations in order to advance the goals of the Interstate
Commission.
          2.  The executive committee may, subject to the approval of the Interstate Commission,
appoint or retain an executive director for such period, upon such terms and conditions and for
such compensation, as the Interstate Commission may deem appropriate.  The executive director
shall serve as secretary to the Interstate Commission, but shall not be a member of the Interstate
Commission.  The executive director shall hire and supervise such other persons as may be
authorized by the Interstate Commission.
          D.  The Interstate Commission's executive director and its employees shall be immune
from suit and liability, either personally or in their official capacity, for a claim for damage to or
loss of property or personal injury or other civil liability caused or arising out of or relating to an
actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred, or that such person had a reasonable
basis for believing occurred, within the scope of Interstate Commission employment, duties, or
responsibilities; provided that, such person shall not be protected from suit or liability for damage,
loss, injury, or liability caused by the intentional or willful and wanton misconduct of such person.
          1.  The liability of the Interstate Commission's executive director and employees or Interstate
Commission representatives, acting within the scope of such person's employment or duties for
acts, errors, or omissions occurring within such person's state may not exceed the limits of liability
set forth under the Constitution and laws of that state for state officials, employees, and agents.
The Interstate Commission is considered to be an instrumentality of the states for the purposes
of any such action.  Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to protect such person from
suit or liability for damage, loss, injury, or liability caused by the intentional or willful and wanton
misconduct of such person.
          2.  The Interstate Commission shall defend the executive director and its employees
and, subject to the approval of the Attorney General or other appropriate legal counsel of the
member state represented by an Interstate Commission representative, shall defend such
Interstate Commission representative in any civil action seeking to impose liability arising out of an
actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred within the scope of Interstate Commission
employment, duties, or responsibilities, or that the defendant had a reasonable basis for believing
occurred within the scope of Interstate Commission employment, duties, or responsibilities;
provided that, the actual or alleged act, error, or omission did not result from intentional or willful
and wanton misconduct on the part of such person.
          3.  To the extent not covered by the state involved, the member state, or the Interstate
Commission, the representatives or employees of the Interstate Commission shall be held
harmless in the amount of a settlement or judgment, including attorney fees and costs, obtained
against such persons arising out of an actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred
within the scope of Interstate Commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, or that such
persons had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of Interstate Commission
employment, duties, or responsibilities; provided that, the actual or alleged act, error, or omission
did not result from intentional or willful and wanton misconduct on the part of such persons.

ARTICLE XII
RULEMAKING FUNCTIONS OF THE INTERSTATE COMMISSION

          A.  Rulemaking Authority -- The Interstate Commission shall promulgate reasonable rules
in order to effectively and efficiently achieve the purposes of this compact.  Notwithstanding the
foregoing, in the event the Interstate Commission exercises its rulemaking authority in a manner
that is beyond the scope of the purposes of this act, or the powers granted hereunder, then such
an action by the Interstate Commission shall be invalid and have no force or effect.
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          B.  Rulemaking Procedure -- Rules shall be made pursuant to a rulemaking process that
substantially conforms to the "Model State Administrative Procedure Act," of 1981, Uniform Laws
Annotated, Vol. 15, p.1 (2000) as amended, as may be appropriate to the operations of the
Interstate Commission.
          C.  Not later than 30 days after a rule is promulgated, any person may file a petition for
judicial review of the rule; provided that, the filing of such a petition shall not stay or otherwise
prevent the rule from becoming effective unless the court finds that the petitioner has a substantial
likelihood of success.  The court shall give deference to the actions of the Interstate Commission
consistent with applicable law and shall not find the rule to be unlawful if the rule represents a
reasonable exercise of the Interstate Commission's authority.
          D.  If a majority of the legislatures of the compacting states rejects a rule by enactment of a
statute or resolution in the same manner used to adopt the compact, then such rule shall have no
further force and effect in any compacting state.

ARTICLE XIII
OVERSIGHT, ENFORCEMENT, AND DISPUTE RESOLUTION

          A.  Oversight.
          1.  Each member state shall enforce this compact to effectuate the compact's purposes and
intent.  The provisions of this compact and the rules promulgated hereunder shall have standing
as a rule promulgated under Utah Code Annotated Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative
Rulemaking Act.
          2.  All courts shall take judicial notice of the compact and the rules in any judicial or
administrative proceeding in a member state pertaining to the subject matter of this compact which
may affect the powers, responsibilities, or actions of the Interstate Commission.
          3.  The Interstate Commission shall be entitled to receive all service of process in any such
proceeding, and shall have standing to intervene in the proceeding for all purposes.  Failure to
provide service of process to the Interstate Commission shall render a judgment or order void as to
the Interstate Commission, this compact, or promulgated rules.
          B.  Default, Technical Assistance, Suspension, and Termination -- If the Interstate
Commission determines that a member state has defaulted in the performance of its obligations or
responsibilities under this compact, or the bylaws or promulgated rules, the Interstate Commission
shall:
          1.  Provide written notice to the defaulting state and other member states, of the nature of
the default, the means of curing the default, and any action taken by the Interstate Commission.
The Interstate Commission shall specify the conditions by which the defaulting state must cure its
default.
          2.  Provide remedial training and specific technical assistance regarding the default.
          3.  If the defaulting state fails to cure the default, the defaulting state shall be terminated
from the compact upon an affirmative vote of a majority of the member states and all rights,
privileges, and benefits conferred by this compact shall be terminated from the effective date of
termination.  A cure of the default does not relieve the offending state of obligations or liabilities
incurred during the period of the default.
          4.  Suspension or termination of membership in the compact shall be imposed only after
all other means of securing compliance have been exhausted.  Notice of intent to suspend or
terminate shall be given by the Interstate Commission to the Governor, the majority and minority
leaders of the defaulting state's legislature, and each of the member states.
          5.  The state which has been suspended or terminated is responsible for all assessments,
obligations, and liabilities incurred through the effective date of suspension or termination, not to
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exceed $5,000 per year, as provided in Article XIV, Subsection E, for each year that this state is a
member of the compact.
          6.  The Interstate Commission shall not bear any costs relating to any state that has been
found to be in default or which has been suspended or terminated from the compact, unless
otherwise mutually agreed upon in writing between the Interstate Commission and the defaulting
state.
          7.  The defaulting state may appeal the action of the Interstate Commission by petitioning
the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia or the federal district where the Interstate
Commission has its principal offices.  The prevailing party shall be awarded all costs of such
litigation including reasonable attorney fees.
          C.  Dispute Resolution.
          1.  The Interstate Commission shall attempt, upon the request of a member state, to resolve
disputes which are subject to the compact and which may arise among member states and
between member and non-member states.
          2.  The Interstate Commission shall promulgate a rule providing for both mediation and
binding dispute resolution for disputes as appropriate.

ARTICLE XIV
FINANCING OF THE INTERSTATE COMMISSION

          A.  The Interstate Commission shall pay or provide for the payment of the reasonable
expenses of its establishment, organization, and ongoing activities.
          B.  In accordance with the funding limit established in Subsection E, the Interstate
Commission may levy and collect an annual assessment from each member state to cover the cost
of the operations and activities of the Interstate Commission and its staff which must be in a total
amount sufficient to cover the Interstate Commission's annual budget as approved each year.  The
aggregate annual assessment amount shall be allocated based upon a formula to be determined
by the Interstate Commission, which shall promulgate a rule binding upon all member states.
          C.  The Interstate Commission shall not incur obligations of any kind prior to securing the
funds adequate to meet the same; nor shall the Interstate Commission pledge the credit of any of
the member states, except by and with the authority of the member state.
          D.  The Interstate Commission shall keep accurate accounts of all receipts and
disbursements.  The receipts and disbursements of the Interstate Commission shall be subject
to the audit and accounting procedures established under its bylaws.  However, all receipts and
disbursements of funds handled by the Interstate Commission shall be audited yearly by a certified
or licensed public accountant and the report of the audit shall be included in and become part of
the annual report of the Interstate Commission.
          E.  The Interstate Commission may not assess, levy, or collect more than $5,000 per year
from Utah legislative appropriations.  Other funding sources may be accepted and used to offset
expenses related to the state's participation in the compact.

ARTICLE XV
MEMBER STATES, EFFECTIVE DATE, AND AMENDMENT

          A.  Any state is eligible to become a member state.
          B.  The compact shall become effective and binding upon legislative enactment of the
compact into law by no less than 10 of the states.  The effective date shall be no earlier than
December 1, 2007.  Thereafter it shall become effective and binding as to any other member state
upon enactment of the compact into law by that state.  The governors of non-member states or
their designees shall be invited to participate in the activities of the Interstate Commission on a
non-voting basis prior to adoption of the compact by all states.
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          C.  The Interstate Commission may propose amendments to the compact for enactment
by the member states.  No amendment shall become effective and binding upon the Interstate
Commission and the member states unless and until it is enacted into law by unanimous consent
of the member states.

ARTICLE XVI
WITHDRAWAL AND DISSOLUTION

          A.  Withdrawal.
          1.  Once effective, the compact shall continue in force and remain binding upon each and
every member state; provided that, a member state may withdraw from the compact by specifically
repealing the statute, which enacted the compact into law.
          2.  Withdrawal from this compact shall be by the enactment of a statute repealing the same.
          3.  The withdrawing state shall immediately notify the chairperson of the Interstate
Commission in writing upon the introduction of legislation repealing this compact in the withdrawing
state.  The Interstate Commission shall notify the other member states of the withdrawing state's
intent to withdraw within 60 days of its receipt thereof.
          4.  The withdrawing state is responsible for all assessments, obligations, and liabilities
incurred through the effective date of withdrawal, not to exceed $5,000 per year, as provided in
Article XIV, Subsection E, for each year that this state is a member of the compact.
          5.  Reinstatement following withdrawal of a member state shall occur upon the withdrawing
state reenacting the compact or upon such later date as determined by the Interstate Commission.
          B.  Dissolution of Compact.
          1.  This compact shall dissolve effective upon the date of the withdrawal or default of the
member state which reduces the membership in the compact to one member state.
          2.  Upon the dissolution of this compact, the compact becomes null and void and shall be
of no further force or effect, and the business and affairs of the Interstate Commission shall be
concluded and surplus funds shall be distributed in accordance with the bylaws.

ARTICLE XVII
SEVERABILITY AND CONSTRUCTION

          A.  The provisions of this compact shall be severable, and if any phrase, clause, sentence,
or provision is deemed unenforceable, the remaining provisions of the compact shall be
enforceable.
          B.  The provisions of this compact shall be liberally construed to effectuate its purposes.
          C.  Nothing in this compact shall be construed to prohibit the applicability of other interstate
compacts to which the states are members.

ARTICLE XVIII
BINDING EFFECT OF COMPACT AND OTHER LAWS

          A.  Other Laws -- Nothing herein prevents the enforcement of any other law of a member
state.
          B.  Binding Effect of the Compact.
          1.  All lawful actions of the Interstate Commission, including all rules and bylaws
promulgated by the Interstate Commission, are binding upon the member states.
          2.  All agreements between the Interstate Commission and the member states are binding in
accordance with their terms.
          3.  In the event any provision of this compact exceeds the statutory or constitutional limits
imposed on the legislature of any member state, such provision shall be ineffective to the extent of
the conflict with the statutory or constitutional provision in question in that member state.

Enacted by Chapter 395, 2010 General Session
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53A-1-1002 Creation of State Council on Military Children.
(1) There is established a State Council on Military Children, as required in Article VIII of Section

53A-1-1001.
(2) The members of the State Council on Military Children shall include:

(a) the state superintendent of public instruction;
(b) a superintendent of a school district with a high concentration of military children appointed by

the governor;
(c) a representative from a military installation, appointed by the governor;
(d) one member of the House of Representatives, appointed by the speaker of the House;
(e) one member of the Senate, appointed by the president of the Senate;
(f) a representative from the Department of Veterans' and Military Affairs, appointed by the

governor;
(g) a military family education liaison, appointed by the members listed in Subsections (2)(a)

through (f);
(h) the compact commissioner, appointed in accordance with Section 53A-1-1003; and
(i) other members as determined by the governor.

(3) The State Council on Military Children shall carry out the duties established in Section
53A-1-1001.

(4)
(a) A member who is not a legislator may not receive compensation or per diem.
(b) Compensation and expenses of a member who is a legislator are governed by Section 36-2-2

and Legislative Joint Rules, Title 5, Legislative Compensation and Expenses.

Amended by Chapter 387, 2014 General Session

53A-1-1003 Appointment of compact commissioner.
          The governor, with the consent of the Senate, shall appoint a compact commissioner to carry

out the duties described in Section 53A-1-1001.

Enacted by Chapter 395, 2010 General Session

Part 11
School Grading Act

53A-1-1101 Title.
          This part is known as the "School Grading Act."

Enacted by Chapter 417, 2011 General Session

53A-1-1102 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Alternative school" means a school:
(a) established to serve youth who are not succeeding in a traditional school environment; and
(b) designated as an alternative school by the State Board of Education.

(2) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
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(3) "Combination school" means a school that includes:
(a) grade 12; and
(b) a grade lower than grade 7.

(4) "High school" means:
(a) a school that:

(i) includes grade 12; and
(ii) does not include any grade lower than grade 7; or

(b) grades 9 through 12 of a combination school.
(5) "Individualized education program" or "IEP" means a written statement, for a student with a

disability, that is developed, reviewed, and revised in accordance with the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq.

(6) "Statewide assessment" means a criterion-referenced test of student achievement in language
arts, mathematics, or science, including a test administered in a computer adaptive format,
which is administered statewide under Part 6, Achievement Tests.

(7) "Sufficient growth" means a student's scale score on a statewide assessment is equal to or
exceeds the student's growth target established pursuant to Section 53A-1-1107.5.

Amended by Chapter 452, 2015 General Session

53A-1-1103 State Board of Education to establish school grading system -- Report to
Education Interim Committee.
(1)

(a) The State Board of Education shall establish a school grading system in accordance with
this part in which a school annually is designated a grade of A, B, C, D, or F based on the
performance of the school's students on statewide assessments, and for a high school, the
graduation rate and, except for the 2012-13 school year, student performance on a college
admissions test administered pursuant to Section 53A-1-611.

(b) The school grading system established in this part shall be known and referred to as "school
grading."

(2) The State Board of Education shall:
(a) model the school grading system described in this part using school performance data for the

2010-11 school year;
(b) study modifications to the school grading system; and
(c) make recommendations for proposed legislation to the Education Interim Committee on

modifications to the school grading system by the committee's September 2012 meeting.
(3) The school grading system shall take effect for the 2012-13 school year and shall replace the

U-PASS accountability system developed and implemented by the State Board of Education.
(4) For the purposes of school grading, the State Board of Education shall create an alignment

mapping of scale scores when transitioning to a new assessment system to reflect the core
standards for Utah public schools set by the State Board of Education.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1-1104 Schools included in grading system.
(1) Except as provided in Subsections (2) through (5), a school that has students who take

statewide assessments shall receive a school grade.
(2) A school may not receive a school grade, if the number of a school's students tested is

less than the minimum sample size necessary, based on accepted professional practice for
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statistical reliability or the prevention of the unlawful release of personally identifiable student
data under 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1232h.

(3) The board shall exempt a school from school grading in the school's first year of operations if
the school's local school board or charter school governing board requests the exemption.

(4) The board shall exempt a high school from school grading or exempt a combination school
from the school grading requirement described in Subsection 53A-1-1104.5(2) in the high
school's or combination school's second year of operations if the school's local school board or
charter school governing board requests the exemption.

(5)
(a) The board may exempt a school from school grading if the school:

(i)
(A) is an alternative school; or
(B) is a special needs school, as defined by rules made by the board in accordance with Title

63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act; and
(ii) requests the exemption with the approval of:

(A) the school's governing board; or
(B) for the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind, the school's advisory committee.

(b) If the board exempts a school under Subsection (5)(a), the board shall annually:
(i) evaluate the school in accordance with an accountability plan established by the board

through rules made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative
Rulemaking Act;

(ii) report the results on a school report card; and
(iii) electronically publish the school report card in the same manner and at the same time as

other school report cards under Section 53A-1-1112.
(c) If a school is granted an exemption from school grading under Subsection (5)(a), the school

shall:
(i) provide to a parent or guardian the school report card described in Subsection (5)(b)(ii); and
(ii) electronically publish the school report card in the same manner and at the same time as

other school report cards under Section 53A-1-1112.

Amended by Chapter 258, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 452, 2015 General Session

53A-1-1104.5 Two school grades assigned to a combination school.
          The board shall assign two school grades to a combination school as follows:

(1) the board shall assign a school grade based on the proficiency and learning gains of
students who are enrolled in a grade below grade 9 as described in Sections 53A-1-1106 and
53A-1-1107; and

(2) the board shall assign a school grade based on:
(a) the proficiency and learning gains of students who are enrolled in grades 9 through 12, as

described in Sections 53A-1-1106 and 53A-1-1107;
(b) the school's graduation rate calculated in accordance with Section 53A-1-1108; and
(c) the percentage of students considered college ready calculated in accordance with Section

53A-1-1108.

Enacted by Chapter 403, 2014 General Session

53A-1-1105 Criteria for determining school grades.
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          A school's grade shall be based on:
(1) the proficiency of a school's students in language arts, mathematics, and science as measured

by statewide assessments;
(2) learning gains of a school's students on statewide assessments of language arts, mathematics,

and science achievement; and
(3) for a high school:

(a) the graduation rate; and
(b) except for the 2012-13 school year, student performance on a college admissions test

administered pursuant to Section 53A-1-611.

Amended by Chapter 478, 2013 General Session
Amended by Chapter 478, 2013 General Session, (Coordination Clause)

53A-1-1106 Calculation of points earned for students' proficiency in language arts,
mathematics, and science.
(1) A school shall receive points for the proficiency of a school's students in language arts,

mathematics, and science as follows:
(a) A school shall receive one point for each percent of the school's students who take a

statewide assessment of language arts achievement and score at or above the proficient
level.

(b) A school shall receive one point for each percent of the school's students who take a
statewide assessment of mathematics achievement and score at or above the proficient level.

(c) A school shall receive one point for each percent of the school's students who take a
statewide assessment of science achievement and score at or above the proficient level.

(2) A school may earn a maximum of 100 points for each of the criteria listed in Subsections (1)(a),
(b), and (c).

Amended by Chapter 478, 2013 General Session

53A-1-1107 Calculation of points earned for students demonstrating sufficient growth in
language arts, mathematics, and science.
(1) A school shall receive points for a school's students demonstrating sufficient growth in

language arts, mathematics, and science as follows:
(a) A school shall receive 0.5 points for each percentage of the school's students who take a

statewide assessment of language arts achievement and make sufficient growth.
(b) A school shall receive 0.5 points for each percentage of the school's students who take a

statewide assessment of mathematics achievement and make sufficient growth.
(c) A school shall receive 0.5 points for each percentage of the school's students who take a

statewide assessment of science achievement and make sufficient growth.
(2) A school shall receive points for a school's students who scored below the proficient level

on statewide achievement tests in the prior year and who demonstrate sufficient growth in
language arts, mathematics, and science as follows:

(a) A school shall receive 0.5 points for each percentage of the school's nonproficient students,
as determined by prior year language arts test scores, who take a statewide assessment of
language arts achievement and make sufficient growth.

(b) A school shall receive 0.5 points for each percentage of the school's nonproficient students,
as determined by prior year mathematics test scores, who take a statewide assessment of
mathematics achievement and make sufficient growth.



Utah Code

Page 53

(c) A school shall receive 0.5 points for each percentage of the school's nonproficient students,
as determined by prior year science test scores, who take a statewide assessment of science
achievement and make sufficient growth.

(3) A school may earn a maximum of 50 points for each of the criteria listed in Subsections (1)(a),
(b), and (c) and (2)(a), (b), and (c).

(4) The State Board of Education shall:
(a) model the school grading system based on awarding points as described in Subsection (2) for

students in the lowest quartile, as determined by prior year test scores, who make sufficient
growth; and

(b) submit a report on the model results to the Education Interim Committee no later than the
committee's November 2013 meeting.

Amended by Chapter 403, 2014 General Session

53A-1-1107.5 Growth target established to determine whether a student demonstrates
sufficient growth in a subject.
(1) For the purpose of determining whether a student demonstrates sufficient growth in the

2014-15 school year, or a succeeding school year, in language arts, mathematics, or science
as provided in Section 53A-1-1107, the board shall establish a formula for a growth target for a
student for each statewide assessment the student takes.

(2) A student demonstrates sufficient growth if the student's scale score on a statewide
assessment is equal to or exceeds the student's growth target established pursuant to
Subsections (3) and (4).

(3) The board shall establish a formula for a growth target for each student based on:
(a) the statewide cohort of students with the same scale score on a particular statewide

assessment; and
(b) actual student growth in the 2014-15 school year as measured by statewide assessments

administered at the end of the 2013-14 and 2014-15 school years and for each succeeding
school year.

(4) On or before November 30, 2015, the State Board of Education shall make recommendations
to the Legislature's Education Interim Committee on the method for determining whether a
student demonstrates sufficient growth for the 2015-16 school year and succeeding school
years.

Amended by Chapter 452, 2015 General Session

53A-1-1108 Calculation of additional points earned for high school graduation and college
and career readiness.
(1) In addition to the points described in Sections 53A-1-1106 and 53A-1-1107, a high school shall

receive points, as determined by the State Board of Education, for:
(a) the percentage of students who graduate from high school; and
(b) except for the 2012-13 school year, the percentage of students who are considered college

ready as measured by a college admissions test administered pursuant to Section 53A-1-611.
(2)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), in calculating the percentage of students who
graduate, the State Board of Education shall use the same graduation rate for a high school
that is used under the federal four-year cohort system.
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(b) In calculating a high school graduation rate for the purpose of school grading, the State Board
of Education shall exclude from the four-year cohort for the graduating class a student with
a disability who has an individualized education program that includes a plan to complete
graduation requirements in more than four years.

(3)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), for the purpose of school grading, a student is

considered college ready if the student's score in each subject area on the ACT is at or above
the College Readiness Benchmark as defined by the ACT.

(b) The board in consultation with the State Board of Regents may adopt by rule a higher subject
area score threshold on the ACT to be considered college ready for school grading purposes.

(4)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), a school may earn a maximum of 300 points for

the criteria described in Subsection (1) with one-half of the maximum number of points
allotted to high school graduation and one-half allotted to the percentage of students who are
considered college ready as measured by a college admissions test administered pursuant to
Section 53A-1-611.

(b) For the 2012-13 school year, a school may earn a maximum of 150 points for the percentage
of students who graduate from high school.

Amended by Chapter 403, 2014 General Session

53A-1-1109 Calculation of percent of maximum points earned.
(1) The percent of the maximum number of points a school that is not a high school may earn shall

be calculated by:
(a) dividing the sum of the points earned for the criteria listed in Sections 53A-1-1106 and

53A-1-1107 by the maximum number of points that a school may earn as provided in
Sections 53A-1-1106 and 53A-1-1107; and

(b) multiplying the quotient calculated under Subsection (1)(a) by 100.
(2) The percent of the maximum number of points a high school may earn shall be calculated by:

(a) dividing the sum of the points earned for the criteria listed in Sections 53A-1-1106,
53A-1-1107, and 53A-1-1108 by the maximum number of points that a school may earn as
provided in Sections 53A-1-1106, 53A-1-1107, and 53A-1-1108; and

(b) multiplying the quotient calculated under Subsection (2)(a) by 100.

Enacted by Chapter 417, 2011 General Session

53A-1-1110  Letter grade based on percentage of maximum points earned.
(1) A school shall receive a letter grade based on the percentage of the maximum number of points

the school may earn as calculated under Section 53A-1-1109 as follows:
(a) for a school that is not a high school:

(i) A, 100%-64%;
(ii) B, 63%-51%;
(iii) C, 50%-39%;
(iv) D, 38%-30%; and
(v) F, 29% or less; and

(b) for a high school:
(i) A, 100%-64%;
(ii) B, 63%-51%;
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(iii) C, 50%-43%;
(iv) D, 42%-40%; and
(v) F, 39% or less.

(2) Notwithstanding Subsection (1), and subject to Subsection (3), for a school year in which at
least 65% of schools described in Subsection (1)(a) or (b) receive an A or a B, the board shall
increase an endpoint of a range described in Subsection (1)(a) or (b) by five percentage points
over the previous school year.

(3)
(a) Subsection (2) applies until the:

(i) lower endpoint of the:
(A) A range equals 90%;
(B) B range equals 80%;
(C) C range equals 70%;
(D) D range equals 60%; and

(ii) upper endpoint of the F range equals 59%.
(b) The board may increase an endpoint of a range described in Subsection (1)(a) or (b) by less

than five percentage points over the previous school year if increasing the endpoint by five
percentage points would increase the endpoint above the applicable percentage described in
Subsection (3)(a).

(c) If the board increases an endpoint of a range as described in this section, the board shall
publish, on the board's website, each letter grade that is assigned to the percentage of points
earned.

(4) Notwithstanding Subsection (1), the  board shall lower a school's grade by one letter grade if:
(a) student participation in a statewide assessment is fewer  than 95%; or
(b) the participation of nonproficient students as determined by prior year test scores is fewer

than 95%.

Amended by Chapter 349, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1111 Students with disabilities.
(1) In implementing the school grading system, the State Board of Education shall provide for the

inclusion of the test scores of a student with a disability.
(2) Test scores on an alternative assessment administered to a student with a disability may

substitute for a statewide assessment as defined in Section 53A-1-1102.

Enacted by Chapter 417, 2011 General Session

53A-1-1112 Reporting.
(1) For the 2012-13 school year and thereafter, the State Board of Education, in collaboration

with school districts and charter schools, shall annually develop a school report card and a
personal student achievement report for each public school student to be delivered to parents
of students in public schools.

(2) The school report card shall include:
(a) the school's grade;
(b) the percentage of the maximum number of points that may be earned; and
(c) information indicating the school's performance on the various criteria upon which the grade is

based.
(3) The personal student achievement report shall include:
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(a) information on a student's level of proficiency as measured by a statewide assessment; and
(b) a comparison of a student's expected learning growth and actual learning growth in a subject

as measured by a statewide assessment.
(4) A school report card and personal student achievement report shall be delivered to the parent

or guardian of each student either electronically or by mail.
(5) On or before September 1, the State Board of Education shall annually publish, on the State

Board of Education's website, a report card for each school with the information required in
Subsection (2).

(6) On or before September 1, a school district shall annually publish on the school district's
website, and a school's website, a school report card with the grade for the prior school year,
together with the current school improvement plan established in accordance with Section
53A-1a-108.5.

(7) On or before September 1, a charter school shall annually publish on the charter school's
website a school report card with the grade for the prior school year.

Amended by Chapter 478, 2013 General Session

53A-1-1113 Rules.
          The State Board of Education shall make rules, as necessary, to implement a school grading

system in accordance with this part.

Enacted by Chapter 417, 2011 General Session

Part 12
School Turnaround and Leadership Development Act

53A-1-1201 Title.
          This part is known as the "School Turnaround and Leadership Development Act."

Enacted by Chapter 449, 2015 General Session

53A-1-1202 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(2) "Charter school authorizer" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-1a-501.3.
(3) "District school" means a public school under the control of a local school board elected under

Title 20A, Chapter 14, Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards.
(4) "Educator" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-6-103.
(5) "Final remedial year" means the second school year following the initial remedial year.
(6) "Initial remedial year" means the school year a district school or charter school is designated as

a low performing school under Section 53A-1-1203.
(7) "Low performing school" means a district school or charter school that has been designated a

low performing school by the board because the school is:
(a) in the lowest performing 3% of schools statewide according to the percentage of possible

points earned under the school grading system; and
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(b) a low performing school according to other outcome-based measures as may be defined
in rules made by the board in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative
Rulemaking Act.

(8) "School grade" or "grade" means the letter grade assigned to a school under the school grading
system.

(9) "School grading system" means the system established under Part 11, School Grading Act, of
assigning letter grades to schools.

(10) "Statewide assessment" means a test of student achievement in basic academic subjects,
including a test administered in a computer adaptive format that is administered statewide
under Part 6, Achievement Tests.

Amended by Chapter 241, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1203 State Board of Education to designate low performing schools.
          On or before September 1, the board shall annually designate a school as a low performing

school if the school is:
(1) in the lowest performing 3% of schools statewide according to the percentage of possible points

earned under the school grading system; and
(2) a low performing school according to other outcome-based measures as may be defined

in rules made by the board in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative
Rulemaking Act.

Amended by Chapter 241, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1204 Required action to turn around a low performing district school.
(1) On or before September 15 of an initial remedial year, a local school board of a low performing

school shall establish a school turnaround committee composed of the following members:
(a) the local school board member who represents the voting district where the low performing

school is located;
(b) the school principal;
(c) three parents of students enrolled in the low performing school appointed by the chair of the

school community council;
(d) one teacher at the low performing school appointed by the principal; and
(e) one teacher at the low performing school appointed by the school district superintendent.

(2)
(a) Subject to Subsection (2)(b), on or before October 1 of an initial remedial year, a local school

board of a low performing school shall partner with the school turnaround committee to select
an independent school turnaround expert from the experts identified by the board under
Section 53A-1-1206.

(b) A local school board may not select an independent school turnaround expert that is:
(i) the school district; or
(ii) an employee of the school district.

(3) A school turnaround committee shall partner with the independent school turnaround expert
selected under Subsection (2) to develop and implement a school turnaround plan that
includes:

(a) the findings of the analysis conducted by the independent school turnaround expert described
in Subsection 53A-1-1206(1)(a);
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(b) recommendations regarding changes to the low performing school's personnel, culture,
curriculum, assessments, instructional practices, governance, leadership, finances, policies,
or other areas that may be necessary to implement the school turnaround plan;

(c) measurable student achievement goals and objectives;
(d) a professional development plan that identifies a strategy to address problems of instructional

practice;
(e) a detailed budget specifying how the school turnaround plan will be funded;
(f) a plan to assess and monitor progress;
(g) a plan to communicate and report data on progress to stakeholders; and
(h) a timeline for implementation.

(4) A local school board of a low performing school shall:
(a) prioritize school district funding and resources to the low performing school; and
(b) grant the low performing school streamlined authority over staff, schedule, policies, budget,

and academic programs to implement the school turnaround plan.
(5)

(a) On or before March 1 of an initial remedial year, a school turnaround committee shall submit
the school turnaround plan to the local school board for approval.

(b) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(c), on or before April 1 of an initial remedial year, a local
school board of a low performing school shall submit the school turnaround plan to the board
for approval.

(c) If the local school board does not approve the school turnaround plan submitted under
Subsection (5)(a), the school turnaround committee may appeal the disapproval in
accordance with rules made by the board as described in Subsection 53A-1-1206(5).

Amended by Chapter 241, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1205 Required action to terminate or turn around a low performing charter school.
(1) On or before September 10 of an initial remedial year, a charter school authorizer of a

low performing school shall initiate a review to determine whether the charter school is in
compliance with the school's charter agreement described in Section 53A-1a-508, including the
school's established minimum standards for student achievement.

(2) If a low performing school is found to be out of compliance with the school's charter agreement,
the charter school authorizer may terminate the school's charter in accordance with Section
53A-1a-510.

(3) A charter school authorizer shall make a determination on the status of a low performing
school's charter under Subsection (2) on or before October 1 of an initial remedial year.

(4) If a charter school authorizer does not terminate a low performing school's charter under
Subsection (2), a charter school governing board of a low performing school shall:

(a) on or before October 15 of an initial remedial year, establish a school turnaround committee
composed of the following members:

(i) a member of the charter school governing board, appointed by the chair of the charter school
governing board;

(ii) the school principal;
(iii) three parents of students enrolled in the low performing school, appointed by the chair of

the charter school governing board; and
(iv) two teachers at the low performing school, appointed by the school principal; and
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(b) subject to Subsection (5), on or before November 1 of an initial remedial year, in partnership
with the school turnaround committee, select an independent school turnaround expert from
the experts identified by the board under Section 53A-1-1206.

(5) A charter school governing board may not select a school turnaround expert that:
(a) is a member of the charter school governing board;
(b) is an employee of the charter school; or
(c) has a contract to operate the charter school.

(6) A school turnaround committee shall partner with the independent school turnaround expert
selected under Subsection (4)(b) to develop and implement a school turnaround plan that
includes the elements described in Subsection 53A-1-1204(3).

(7)
(a) On or before March 1 of an initial remedial year, a school turnaround committee shall submit

the school turnaround plan to the charter school governing board for approval.
(b) Except as provided in Subsection (7)(c), on or before April 1 of an initial remedial year, a

charter school governing board of a low performing school shall submit the school turnaround
plan to the board for approval.

(c) If the charter school governing board does not approve the school turnaround plan submitted
under Subsection (7)(a), the school turnaround committee may appeal the disapproval in
accordance with rules made by the board as described in Subsection 53A-1-1206(5).

Amended by Chapter 241, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1206 State Board of Education to identify independent school turnaround experts --
Review and approval of school turnaround plans -- Appeals process.
(1) On or before August 30, the board shall identify two or more approved independent school

turnaround experts, through a request for proposals process, that a low performing school may
select from to partner with to:

(a) collect and analyze data on the low performing school's student achievement, personnel,
culture, curriculum, assessments, instructional practices, governance, leadership, finances,
and policies;

(b) recommend changes to the low performing school's culture, curriculum, assessments,
instructional practices, governance, finances, policies, or other areas based on data collected
under Subsection (1)(a);

(c) develop and implement, in partnership with the school turnaround committee, a school
turnaround plan that meets the criteria described in Subsection 53A-1-1204(3);

(d) monitor the effectiveness of a school turnaround plan through reliable means of evaluation,
including on-site visits, observations, surveys, analysis of student achievement data, and
interviews;

(e) provide ongoing implementation support and project management for a school turnaround
plan;

(f) provide high-quality professional development personalized for school staff that is designed to
build the:

(i) leadership capacity of the school principal; and
(ii) instructional capacity of school staff; and

(g) leverage support from community partners to coordinate an efficient delivery of supports to
students both inside and outside the classroom.

(2) In identifying independent school turnaround experts under Subsection (1), the board shall
identify experts that:
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(a) have a credible track record of improving student academic achievement in public schools
with various demographic characteristics, as measured by statewide assessments;

(b) have experience designing, implementing, and evaluating data-driven instructional systems in
public schools;

(c) have experience coaching public school administrators and teachers on designing data-driven
school improvement plans;

(d) have experience working with the various education entities that govern public schools;
(e) have experience delivering high-quality professional development in instructional

effectiveness to public school administrators and teachers;
(f) are willing to be compensated for professional services based on performance as described in

Subsection (3); and
(g) are willing to partner with any low performing school in the state, regardless of location.

(3)
(a) When awarding a contract to an independent school turnaround expert selected by a local

school board under Subsection 53A-1-1204(2) or by a charter school governing board under
Subsection 53A-1-1205(4)(b), the board shall ensure that a contract between the board and
the independent school turnaround expert specifies that the board will:

(i) pay an independent school turnaround expert no more than 50% of the expert's professional
fees at the beginning of the independent school turnaround expert's work for the low
performing school; and

(ii) pay the remainder of the independent school turnaround expert's professional fees upon
completion of the independent school turnaround expert's work for the low performing
school if:

(A) the independent school turnaround expert fulfills the terms of the contract; and
(B) the low performing school's grade improves by at least one letter grade, as determined by

the board under Subsection (3)(b).
(b) The board shall determine whether a low performing school's grade has improved under

Subsection (3)(a)(ii) by comparing the school's letter grade for the school year prior to the
initial remedial year to the school's letter grade:

(i) for the final remedial year; or
(ii) for the last school year of the extension period if, as described in Section 53A-1-1207:

(A) a school is granted an extension; and
(B) the board extends the contract of the school's independent school turnaround expert.

(c) In negotiating a contract with an independent school turnaround expert, the board shall offer:
(i) differentiated amounts of funding based on student enrollment; and
(ii) a higher amount of funding for schools that are in the lowest performing 1% of schools

statewide according to the percentage of possible points earned under the school grading
system.

(4) The board shall:
(a) review a school turnaround plan submitted for approval under Subsection 53A-1-1204(5)(b) or

under Subsection 53A-1-1205(7)(b) within 30 days of submission;
(b) approve a school turnaround plan that:

(i) is timely;
(ii) is well-developed; and
(iii) meets the criteria described in Subsection 53A-1-1204(3); and

(c) subject to legislative appropriations, provide funding to a low performing school for
interventions identified in an approved school turnaround plan if the local school board or
charter school governing board provides matching funds or an in-kind contribution of goods or
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services in an amount equal to the funding the low performing school would receive from the
board.

(5)
(a) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall

make rules to establish an appeals process for:
(i) a low performing district school that is not granted approval from the district school's local

school board under Subsection 53A-1-1204(5)(b);
(ii) a low performing charter school that is not granted approval from the charter school's

charter school governing board under Subsection 53A-1-1205(7)(b); and
(iii) a local school board or charter school governing board that is not granted approval from the

board under Subsection (4)(b).
(b) The board shall ensure that rules made under Subsection (5)(a) require an appeals process

described in:
(i) Subsections (5)(a)(i) and (ii) to be resolved on or before April 1 of the initial remedial year;

and
(ii) Subsection (5)(a)(iii) to be resolved on or before May 15 of the initial remedial year.

(6)
(a) Subject to Subsection (6)(b), the board shall balance the need to prioritize funding

appropriated by the Legislature to carry out the provisions of this part to contract with highly
qualified independent school turnaround experts with the need to fund:

(i) interventions to facilitate the implementation of a school turnaround plan under Subsection
(4)(c);

(ii) the School Recognition and Reward Program created under Section 53A-1-1208; and
(iii) the School Leadership Development Program created under Section 53A-1-1209.

(b) The board may use up to 4% of the funds appropriated by the Legislature to carry out the
provisions of this part for administration if the amount for administration is approved by the
board in an open meeting.

Amended by Chapter 241, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1207 Consequences for failing to improve the school grade of a low performing
school.
(1) As used in this section, "high performing charter school" means a charter school that:

(a) satisfies all requirements of state law and board rules;
(b) meets or exceeds standards for student achievement established by the charter school's

charter school authorizer; and
(c) has received at least a "B" grade under the school grading system in the previous two school

years.
(2)

(a) A low performing school may petition the board for an extension to continue school
improvement efforts for up to two years if the low performing school's grade does not improve
by at least one letter grade, as determined by comparing the school's letter grade for the
school year prior to the initial remedial year to the school's letter grade for the final remedial
year.

(b) The board may only grant an extension under Subsection (2)(a) if the low performing school
has increased the number of points awarded under the school grading system by at least:

(i) 25% for a school that is not a high school; and
(ii) 10% for a high school.
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(c) The board shall determine whether a low performing school has increased the number of
points awarded under the school grading system by the percentages described in Subsection
(2)(b) by comparing the number of points awarded for the school year prior to the initial
remedial year to the number of points awarded for the final remedial year.

(d) The board may extend the contract of an independent school turnaround expert of a low
performing school that is granted an extension under this Subsection (2).

(e) A school that has been granted an extension under this Subsection (2) is eligible for:
(i) continued funding under Subsection 53A-1-1206(4)(c); and
(ii) the School Recognition and Reward Program under Section 53A-1-1208.

(3) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall
make rules establishing consequences for a low performing school that:

(a)
(i) does not improve the school's grade by at least one letter grade, as determined by

comparing the school's letter grade for the school year prior to the initial remedial year to the
school's letter grade for the final remedial year; and

(ii) is not granted an extension under Subsection (2); or
(b)

(i) is granted an extension under Subsection (2); and
(ii) does not improve the school's grade by at least one letter grade, as determined by

comparing the school's letter grade for the school year prior to the initial remedial year to the
school's letter grade for the last school year of the extension period.

(4) The board shall ensure that the rules established under Subsection (3) include a mechanism
for:

(a) restructuring a district school that may include:
(i) contract management;
(ii) conversion to a charter school; or
(iii) state takeover; and

(b) restructuring a charter school that may include:
(i) termination of a school's charter;
(ii) closure of a charter school; or
(iii) transferring operation and control of the charter school to:

(A) a high performing charter school; or
(B) the school district in which the charter school is located.

Amended by Chapter 241, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1208 School Recognition and Reward Program.
(1) As used in this section, "eligible school" means a low performing school that:

(a) improves the school's grade by at least one letter grade, as determined by comparing the
school's letter grade for the school year prior to the initial remedial year to the school's letter
grade for the final remedial year; or

(b)
(i) has been granted an extension under Subsection 53A-1-1207(2); and
(ii) improves the school's grade by at least one letter grade, as determined by comparing the

school's letter grade for the school year prior to the initial remedial year to the school's letter
grade for the last school year of the extension period.

(2) The School Recognition and Reward Program is created to provide incentives to schools and
educators to improve the school grade of a low performing school.
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(3) Subject to appropriations by the Legislature, upon the release of school grades by the board,
the board shall distribute a reward equal to:

(a) for an eligible school that improves the eligible school's grade one letter grade:
(i) $100 per tested student; and
(ii) $1,000 per educator;

(b) for an eligible school that improves the eligible school's grade two letter grades:
(i) $200 per tested student; and
(ii) $2,000 per educator;

(c) for an eligible school that improves the eligible school's grade three letter grades:
(i) $300 per tested student; and
(ii) $3,000 per educator; and

(d) for an eligible school that improves the eligible school's grade four letter grades:
(i) $500 per tested student; and
(ii) $5,000 per educator.

(4) The principal of an eligible school that receives a reward under Subsection (3), in consultation
with the educators at the eligible school, may determine how to use the money in the best
interest of the school, including providing bonuses to educators.

(5) If the number of qualifying eligible schools exceeds available funds, the board may reduce the
amounts specified in Subsection (3).

Amended by Chapter 241, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1209 School Leadership Development Program.
(1) As used in this section, "school leader" means a school principal or assistant principal.
(2) There is created the School Leadership Development Program to increase the number of highly

effective school leaders capable of:
(a) initiating, achieving, and sustaining school improvement efforts; and
(b) forming and sustaining community partnerships as described in Section 53A-4-303.

(3) The board shall identify one or more providers, through a request for proposals process, to
develop or provide leadership development training for school leaders that:

(a) may provide in-depth training in proven strategies to turn around low performing schools;
(b) may emphasize hands-on and job-embedded learning;
(c) aligns with the state's leadership standards established by board rule;
(d) reflects the needs of a school district or charter school where a school leader serves;
(e) may include training on using student achievement data to drive decisions;
(f) may develop skills in implementing and evaluating evidence-based instructional practices;
(g) may develop skills in leading collaborative school improvement structures, including

professional learning communities; and
(h) includes instruction on forming and sustaining community partnerships as described in

Section 53A-4-303.
(4) Subject to legislative appropriations, the State Board of Education shall provide incentive pay to

a school leader who:
(a) completes leadership development training under this section; and
(b) agrees to work, for at least five years, in a school that received an "F" grade or "D" grade

under the school grading system in the school year previous to the first year the school
leader:

(i) completes leadership development training; and
(ii) begins to work, or continues to work, in a school described in this Subsection (4)(b).
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(5) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall
make rules specifying:

(a) eligibility criteria for a school leader to participate in the School Leadership Development
Program;

(b) application procedures for the School Leadership Development Program;
(c) criteria for selecting school leaders from the application pool; and
(d) procedures for awarding incentive pay under Subsection (4).

Amended by Chapter 331, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1210 Reporting requirement.
          On or before November 30 of each year, the board shall report to the Education Interim

Committee on the provisions of this part.

Enacted by Chapter 449, 2015 General Session

53A-1-1211 Coordination with the Partnerships for Student Success Grant Program.
          If a low performing school is a member of a partnership that receives a grant under Chapter 4,

Part 3, Partnerships for Student Success Grant Program, the school turnaround committee shall:
(1) coordinate the school turnaround committee's efforts with the efforts of the partnership; and
(2) ensure that the goals and outcomes of the partnership are aligned with the school turnaround

plan described in this part.

Enacted by Chapter 331, 2016 General Session

Part 13
Career and College Readiness Mathematics Competency

53A-1-1301 Title.
          This part is known as "Career and College Readiness Mathematics  Competency."

Enacted by Chapter 443, 2015 General Session

53A-1-1302 Career and college readiness mathematics competency standards.
(1) As used in this section, "qualifying score" means a score established as described in

Subsection (4), that, if met by a student, qualifies the student to receive college credit for a
mathematics course that satisfies the state system of higher education quantitative literacy
requirement.

(2) The State Board of Education shall, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah
Administrative Rulemaking Act, make rules that:

(a)
(i) establish the mathematics competency standards described in Subsection (3) as a

graduation requirement beginning with the 2016-17 school year; and
(ii) include the qualifying scores described in Subsection (4); and

(b) establish systematic reporting of college and career ready mathematics achievement.
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(3) In addition to other graduation requirements established by the State Board of Education, a
student shall fulfill one of the following requirements to demonstrate mathematics competency
that supports the student's future college and career goals as outlined in the student's college
and career plan:

(a) for a student pursuing a college degree after graduation:
(i) receive a score that at least meets the qualifying score for:

(A) an Advanced Placement calculus or statistics exam;
(B) an International Baccalaureate higher level mathematics exam;
(C) the ACCUPLACER College-Level Math test or an equivalent test described in Subsection

(5);
(D) a College Level Examination Program precalculus or calculus exam; or
(E) the ACT Mathematics Test; or

(ii) receive at least a "C" grade in a concurrent enrollment mathematics course that satisfies the
state system of higher education quantitative literacy requirement;

(b) for a non college degree-seeking student, the student shall complete appropriate math
competencies for the student's career goals as described in the student's college and career
plan;

(c) for a student with an individualized education program prepared in accordance with the
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq., the student shall
meet the mathematics standards described in the student's individualized education program;
or

(d) for a senior student with special circumstances as described in State Board of Education rule,
the student shall fulfill a requirement associated with the student's special circumstances, as
established in State Board of Education rule.

(4) The State Board of Regents shall, in consultation with the State Board of Education, determine
qualifying scores for the tests and exams described in Subsection (3)(a)(i).

(5) The State Board of Regents, established in Section 53B-1-103, may make a policy to select
at least one test the State Board of Regents finds is equivalent to the ACCUPLACER College-
Level Math test.

(6) The State Board of Regents shall, in consultation with the State Board of Education, make
policies to:

(a) develop mechanisms for a student who completes a math competency requirement described
in Subsection (3)(a) to:

(i) receive college credit; and
(ii) satisfy the state system of higher education quantitative literacy requirement;

(b) allow a student, upon completion of required high school mathematics courses with at least a
"C" grade, entry into a mathematics concurrent enrollment course;

(c) increase access to a range of mathematics concurrent enrollment courses;
(d) establish a consistent concurrent enrollment course approval process; and
(e) establish a consistent process to qualify high school teachers with an upper level

mathematics endorsement to teach entry level mathematics concurrent enrollment courses.

Enacted by Chapter 443, 2015 General Session

Part 14
Student Data Protection Act
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53A-1-1401 Title.
          This part is known as the "Student Data Protection Act."

Enacted by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1402 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Adult student" means a student who:
(a) is at least 18 years old;
(b) is an emancipated student; or
(c) qualifies under the McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Assistance Improvements Act of

2001, 42 U.S.C. Sec. 11431 et seq.
(2) "Aggregate data" means data that:

(a) are totaled and reported at the group, cohort, school, school district, region, or state level with
at least 10 individuals in the level;

(b) do not reveal personally identifiable student data; and
(c) are collected in accordance with board rule.

(3)
(a) "Biometric identifier" means a:

(i) retina or iris scan;
(ii) fingerprint;
(iii) human biological sample used for valid scientific testing or screening; or
(iv) scan of hand or face geometry.

(b) "Biometric identifier" does not include:
(i) a writing sample;
(ii) a written signature;
(iii) a voiceprint;
(iv) a photograph;
(v) demographic data; or
(vi) a physical description, such as height, weight, hair color, or eye color.

(4) "Biometric information" means information, regardless of how the information is collected,
converted, stored, or shared:

(a) based on an individual's biometric identifier; and
(b) used to identify the individual.

(5) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(6) "Cumulative disciplinary record" means disciplinary student data that is part of a cumulative

record.
(7) "Cumulative record" means physical or electronic information that the education entity intends:

(a) to store in a centralized location for 12 months or more; and
(b) for the information to follow the student through the public education system.

(8) "Data authorization" means written authorization to collect or share a student's student data,
from:

(a) the student's parent, if the student is not an adult student; or
(b) the student, if the student is an adult student.

(9) "Data governance plan" means an education entity's comprehensive plan for managing
education data that:
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(a) incorporates reasonable data industry best practices to maintain and protect student data and
other education-related data;

(b) provides for necessary technical assistance, training, support, and auditing;
(c) describes the process for sharing student data between an education entity and another

person;
(d) describes the process for an adult student or parent to request that data be expunged; and
(e) is published annually and available on the education entity's website.

(10) "Education entity" means:
(a) the board;
(b) a local school board;
(c) a charter school governing board;
(d) a school district;
(e) a charter school;
(f) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind; or
(g) for purposes of implementing the School Readiness Initiative described in Chapter 1b, Part 1,

School Readiness Initiative Act, the School Readiness Board created in Section 53A-1b-103.
(11) "Expunge" means to seal or permanently delete data, as described in board rule made under

Section 53A-1-1407.
(12) "External application" means a general audience:

(a) application;
(b) piece of software;
(c) website; or
(d) service.

(13) "Individualized education program" or "IEP" means a written statement:
(a) for a student with a disability; and
(b) that is developed, reviewed, and revised in accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities

Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq.
(14) "Internal application" means an Internet website, online service, online application, mobile

application, or software, if the Internet website, online service, online application, mobile
application, or software is subject to a third-party contractor's contract with an education entity.

(15) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means:
(a) a school district;
(b) a charter school;
(c) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind; or
(d) for purposes of implementing the School Readiness Initiative described in Chapter 1b, Part 1,

School Readiness Initiative Act, the School Readiness Board created in Section 53A-1b-103.
(16) "Metadata dictionary" means a complete list of an education entity's student data elements

and other education-related data elements, that:
(a) defines and discloses all data collected, used, stored, and shared by the education entity,

including:
(i) who uses a data element within an education entity and how a data element is used within

an education entity;
(ii) if a data element is shared externally, who uses the data element externally and how a data

element is shared externally;
(iii) restrictions on the use of a data element; and
(iv) parent and student rights to a data element;

(b) designates student data elements as:
(i) necessary student data; or
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(ii) optional student data;
(c) designates student data elements as required by state or federal law; and
(d) without disclosing student data or security information, is displayed on the education entity's

website.
(17) "Necessary student data" means data required by state statute or federal law to conduct the

regular activities of an education entity, including:
(a) name;
(b) date of birth;
(c) sex;
(d) parent contact information;
(e) custodial parent information;
(f) contact information;
(g) a student identification number;
(h) local, state, and national assessment results or an exception from taking a local, state, or

national assessment;
(i) courses taken and completed, credits earned, and other transcript information;
(j) course grades and grade point average;
(k) grade level and expected graduation date or graduation cohort;
(l) degree, diploma, credential attainment, and other school exit information;
(m) attendance and mobility;
(n) drop-out data;
(o) immunization record or an exception from an immunization record;
(p) race;
(q) ethnicity;
(r) tribal affiliation;
(s) remediation efforts;
(t) an exception from a vision screening required under Section 53A-11-203 or information

collected from a vision screening required under Section 53A-11-203;
(u) information related to the Utah Registry of Autism and Developmental Disabilities, described

in Section 26-7-4;
(v) student injury information;
(w) a cumulative disciplinary record created and maintained as described in Section 53A-1-1407;
(x) juvenile delinquency records;
(y) English language learner status; and
(z) child find and special education evaluation data related to initiation of an IEP.

(18)
(a) "Optional student data" means student data that is not:

(i) necessary student data; or
(ii) student data that an education entity may not collect under Section 53A-1-1406.

(b) "Optional student data" includes:
(i) information that is:

(A) related to an IEP or needed to provide special needs services; and
(B) not necessary student data;

(ii) biometric information; and
(iii) information that is not necessary student data and that is required for a student to

participate in a federal or other program.
(19) "Parent" means a student's parent or legal guardian.
(20)
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(a) "Personally identifiable student data" means student data that identifies or is used by the
holder to identify a student.

(b) "Personally identifiable student data" includes:
(i) a student's first and last name;
(ii) the first and last name of a student's family member;
(iii) a student's or a student's family's home or physical address;
(iv) a student's email address or other online contact information;
(v) a student's telephone number;
(vi) a student's social security number;
(vii) a student's biometric identifier;
(viii) a student's health or disability data;
(ix) a student's education entity student identification number;
(x) a student's social media user name and password or alias;
(xi) if associated with personally identifiable student data, the student's persistent identifier,

including:
(A) a customer number held in a cookie; or
(B) a processor serial number;

(xii) a combination of a student's last name or photograph with other information that together
permits a person to contact the student online;

(xiii) information about a student or a student's family that a person collects online and
combines with other personally identifiable student data to identify the student; and

(xiv) other information that is linked to a specific student that would allow a reasonable person
in the school community, who does not have first-hand knowledge of the student, to identify
the student with reasonable certainty.

(21) "School official" means an employee or agent of an education entity, if the education entity
has authorized the employee or agent to request or receive student data on behalf of the
education entity.

(22)
(a) "Student data" means information about a student at the individual student level.
(b) "Student data" does not include aggregate or de-identified data.

(23) "Student data disclosure statement" means a student data disclosure statement described in
Section 53A-1-1406.

(24) "Student data manager" means:
(a) the state student data officer; or
(b) an individual designated as a student data manager by an education entity under Section

53A-1-1404.
(25) "Targeted advertising" means advertising to a student on an internal or external application, if

the advertisement is based on information or student data the third-party contractor collected or
received under the third-party contractor's contract with an education entity.

(26) "Third-party contractor" means a person who:
(a) is not an education entity; and
(b) pursuant to a contract with an education entity, collects or receives student data in order

to provide a product or service, as described in the contract, if the product or service is not
related to school photography, yearbooks, graduation announcements, or a similar product or
service.

Enacted by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session
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53A-1-1403 State student data protection governance.
(1)

(a) An education entity or a third-party contractor who collects, uses, stores, shares, or deletes
student data shall protect student data as described in this part.

(b) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall
makes rules to administer this part, including student data protection standards for public
education employees, student aides, and volunteers.

(2) The board shall oversee the preparation and maintenance of:
(a) a statewide data governance plan; and
(b) a state-level metadata dictionary.

(3) As described in this Subsection (3), the board shall establish advisory groups to oversee
student data protection in the state and make recommendations to the board regarding student
data protection.

(a) The board shall establish a student data policy advisory group:
(i) composed of members from:

(A) the Legislature;
(B) the board and board employees; and
(C) one or more LEAs;

(ii) to discuss and make recommendations to the board regarding:
(A) enacted or proposed legislation; and
(B) state and local student data protection policies across the state;

(iii) that reviews and monitors the state student data governance plan; and
(iv) that performs other tasks related to student data protection as designated by the board.

(b) The board shall establish a student data governance advisory group:
(i) composed of the state student data officer and other board employees; and
(ii) that performs duties related to state and local student data protection, including:

(A) overseeing data collection and usage by board program offices; and
(B) preparing and maintaining the board's student data governance plan under the direction of

the student data policy advisory group.
(c) The board shall establish a student data users advisory group:

(i) composed of members who use student data at the local level; and
(ii) that provides feedback and suggestions on the practicality of actions proposed by the

student data policy advisory group and the student data governance advisory group.
(4)

(a) The board shall designate a state student data officer.
(b) The state student data officer shall:

(i) act as the primary point of contact for state student data protection administration in assisting
the board to administer this part;

(ii) ensure compliance with student privacy laws throughout the public education system,
including:

(A) providing training and support to applicable board and LEA employees; and
(B) producing resource materials, model plans, and model forms for local student data

protection governance, including a model student data disclosure statement;
(iii) investigate complaints of alleged violations of this part;
(iv) report violations of this part to:

(A) the board;
(B) an applicable education entity; and
(C) the student data policy advisory group; and
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(v) act as a state level student data manager.
(5) The board shall designate:

(a) at least one support manager to assist the state student data officer; and
(b) a student data protection auditor to assist the state student data officer.

(6) The board shall establish an external research review process for a request for data for the
purpose of external research or evaluation.

Enacted by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1404 Local student data protection governance.
(1) An LEA shall adopt policies to protect student data in accordance with this part and board rule,

taking into account the specific needs and priorities of the LEA.
(2)

(a) An LEA shall designate an individual to act as a student data manager to fulfill the
responsibilities of a student data manager described in Section 53A-1-1409.

(b) If possible, an LEA shall designate the LEA's records officer as defined in Section 63G-2-103,
as the student data manager.

(3) An LEA shall create and maintain an LEA:
(a) data governance plan; and
(b) metadata dictionary.

(4) An LEA shall establish an external research review process for a request for data for the
purpose of external research or evaluation.

Enacted by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1405 Student data ownership -- Notification in case of breach.
(1)

(a) A student owns the student's personally identifiable student data.
(b) A student may download, export, transfer, save, or maintain the student's student data,

including a document.
(2) If there is a release of a student's personally identifiable student data due to a security breach,

an education entity shall notify:
(a) the student, if the student is an adult student; or
(b) the student's parent or legal guardian, if the student is not an adult student.

Enacted by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1406 Collecting student data -- Prohibition -- Student data disclosure statement --
Authorization.
(1) An education entity shall comply with this section beginning with the 2017-18 school year.
(2) An education entity may not collect a student's:

(a) social security number; or
(b) except as required in Section 78A-6-112, criminal record.

(3) An education entity that collects student data into a cumulative record shall, in accordance with
this section, prepare and distribute to parents and students a student data disclosure statement
that:

(a) is a prominent, stand-alone document;
(b) is annually updated and published on the education entity's website;
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(c) states the necessary and optional student data the education entity collects;
(d) states that the education entity will not collect the student data described in Subsection (2);
(e) states the student data described in Section 53A-1-1409 that the education entity may not

share without a data authorization;
(f) states that students and parents are responsible for the collection, use, or sharing of student

data as described in Section 53A-1-1405;
(g) describes how the education entity may collect, use, and share student data;
(h) includes the following statement:          "The collection, use, and sharing of student data has

both benefits and risks.  Parents and students should learn about these benefits and risks and
make choices regarding student data accordingly.";

(i) describes in general terms how the education entity stores and protects student data; and
(j) states a student's rights under this part.

(4) An education entity may collect the necessary student data of a student into a cumulative
record if the education entity provides a student data disclosure statement to:

(a) the student, if the student is an adult student; or
(b) the student's parent, if the student is not an adult student.

(5) An education entity may collect optional student data into a cumulative record if the education
entity:

(a) provides, to an individual described in Subsection (4), a student data disclosure statement
that includes a description of:

(i) the optional student data to be collected; and
(ii) how the education entity will use the optional student data; and

(b) obtains a data authorization to collect the optional student data from an individual described in
Subsection (4).

(6) An education entity may collect a student's biometric identifier or biometric information into a
cumulative record if the education entity:

(a) provides, to an individual described in Subsection (4), a biometric information disclosure
statement that is separate from a student data disclosure statement, which states:

(i) the biometric identifier or biometric information to be collected;
(ii) the purpose of collecting the biometric identifier or biometric information; and
(iii) how the education entity will use and store the biometric identifier or biometric information;

and
(b) obtains a data authorization to collect the biometric identifier or biometric information from an

individual described in Subsection (4).

Enacted by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1407 Using and deleting student data -- Rulemaking -- Cumulative disciplinary record.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and Management Act,

and Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall make rules
regarding using and expunging student data, including:

(a) a categorization of cumulative disciplinary records that includes the following levels of
maintenance:

(i) one year;
(ii) three years; and
(iii) except as required in Subsection (3), as determined by the education entity;

(b) the types of student data that may be expunged, including:
(i) medical records; and
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(ii) behavioral test assessments; and
(c) the types of student data that may not be expunged, including:

(i) grades;
(ii) transcripts;
(iii) a record of the student's enrollment; and
(iv) assessment information.

(2) In accordance with board rule, an education entity may create and maintain a cumulative
disciplinary record for a student.

(3)
(a) An education entity shall, in accordance with board rule, expunge a student's student data

that is stored by the education entity if:
(i) the student is at least 23 years old; and
(ii) the student requests that the education entity expunge the student data.

(b) An education entity shall retain and dispose of records in accordance with Section 63G-2-604
and board rule.

Enacted by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1408 Securing and cataloguing student data.
          In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall

make rules that:
(1) using reasonable data industry best practices, prescribe the maintenance and protection of

stored student data by:
(a) an education entity; and
(b) a third-party contractor; and

(2) state requirements for an education entity's metadata dictionary.

Enacted by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1409 Sharing student data -- Prohibition -- Requirements for student data manager.
(1) An education entity shall comply with this section beginning with the 2017-18 school year.
(2) An education entity may not share a student's personally identifiable student data if the

personally identifiable student data is not shared in accordance with:
(a) the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act and related provisions under 20 U.S.C. Secs.

1232g and 1232h; and
(b) this part.

(3) A student data manager shall:
(a) authorize and manage the sharing, outside of the education entity, of personally identifiable

student data from a cumulative record for the education entity as described in this section;
and

(b) act as the primary local point of contact for the state student data officer described in Section
53A-1-1403.

(4)
(a) Except as provided in this section or required by federal law, a student data manager may not

share, outside of the education entity, personally identifiable student data from a cumulative
record without a data authorization.

(b) A student data manager may share the personally identifiable student data of a student with
the student and the student's parent.
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(5) A student data manager may share a student's personally identifiable student data from a
cumulative record with:

(a) a school official;
(b) as described in Subsection (6), an authorized caseworker or other representative of the

Department of Human Services; or
(c) a person to whom the student data manager's education entity has outsourced a service or

function:
(i) to research the effectiveness of a program's implementation; or
(ii) that the education entity's employees would typically perform.

(6) A student data manager may share a student's personally identifiable student data from a
cumulative record with a caseworker or representative of the Department of Human Services if:

(a) the Department of Human Services is:
(i) legally responsible for the care and protection of the student; or
(ii) providing services to the student;

(b) the student's personally identifiable student data is not shared with a person who is not
authorized:

(i) to address the student's education needs; or
(ii) by the Department of Human Services to receive the student's personally identifiable

student data; and
(c) the Department of Human Services maintains and protects the student's personally

identifiable student data.
(7) The Department of Human Services, a school official, or the Utah Juvenile Court may share

education information, including a student's personally identifiable student data, to improve
education outcomes for youth:

(a) in the custody of, or under the guardianship of, the Department of Human Services;
(b) receiving services from the Division of Juvenile Justice Services;
(c) in the custody of the Division of Child and Family Services;
(d) receiving services from the Division of Services for People with Disabilities; or
(e) under the jurisdiction of the Utah Juvenile Court.

(8) Subject to Subsection (9), a student data manager may share aggregate data.
(9)

(a) If a student data manager receives a request to share data for the purpose of external
research or evaluation, the student data manager shall:

(i) submit the request to the education entity's external research review process; and
(ii) fulfill the instructions that result from the review process.

(b) A student data manager may not share personally identifiable student data for the purpose of
external research or evaluation.

(10)
(a) A student data manager may share personally identifiable student data in response to a

subpoena issued by a court.
(b) A person who receives personally identifiable student data under Subsection (10)(a) may not

use the personally identifiable student data outside of the use described in the subpoena.
(11)

(a) In accordance with board rule, a student data manager may share personally identifiable
information that is directory information.

(b) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall
make rules to:

(i) define directory information; and
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(ii) determine how a student data manager may share personally identifiable information that is
directory information.

Enacted by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1410 Third-party contractors -- Use and protection of student data -- Contract
requirements -- Completion of contract -- Required and allowed uses of student data --
Restrictions on the use of student data -- Exceptions.
(1) A third-party contractor shall use personally identifiable student data received under a contract

with an education entity strictly for the purpose of providing the contracted product or service.
(2) When contracting with a third-party contractor, an education entity shall require the following

provisions in the contract:
(a) requirements and restrictions related to the collection, use, storage, or sharing of student data

by the third-party contractor that are necessary for the education entity to ensure compliance
with the provisions of this part and board rule;

(b) a description of a person, or type of person, including an affiliate of the third-party contractor,
with whom the third-party contractor may share student data;

(c) provisions that, at the request of the education entity, govern the deletion of the student data
received by the third-party contractor;

(d) except as provided in Subsection (4) and if required by the education entity, provisions that
prohibit the secondary use of personally identifiable student data by the third-party contractor;
and

(e) an agreement by the third-party contractor that, at the request of the education entity that is
a party to the contract, the education entity or the education entity's designee may audit the
third-party contractor to verify compliance with the contract.

(3) As authorized by law or court order, a third-party contractor shall share student data as
requested by law enforcement.

(4) A third-party contractor may:
(a) use student data for adaptive learning or customized student learning purposes;
(b) market an educational application or product to a parent or legal guardian of a student if

the third-party contractor did not use student data, shared by or collected on behalf of an
education entity, to market the educational application or product;

(c) use a recommendation engine to recommend to a student:
(i) content that relates to learning or employment, within the third-party contractor's internal

application, if the recommendation is not motivated by payment or other consideration from
another party; or

(ii) services that relate to learning or employment, within the third-party contractor's internal
application, if the recommendation is not motivated by payment or other consideration from
another party;

(d) respond to a student request for information or feedback, if the content of the response is not
motivated by payment or other consideration from another party; or

(e) use student data to allow or improve operability and functionality of the third-party contractor's
internal application.

(5) At the completion of a contract with an education entity, if the contract has not been renewed, a
third-party contractor shall:

(a) return all personally identifiable student data to the education entity; or
(b) as reasonable, delete all personally identifiable student data related to the third-party

contractor's work.
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(6)
(a) A third-party contractor may not:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (6)(b), sell student data;
(ii) collect, use, or share student data, if the collection, use, or sharing of the student data is

inconsistent with the third-party contractor's contract with the education entity; or
(iii) use student data for targeted advertising.

(b) A person may obtain student data through the purchase of, merger with, or otherwise
acquiring a third-party contractor if the third-party contractor remains in compliance with this
section.

(7) A provider of an electronic store, gateway, marketplace, or other means of purchasing an
external application is not required to ensure that the external application obtained through the
provider complies with this section.

(8) The provisions of this section do not:
(a) apply to the use of an external application, including the access of an external application with

login credentials created by a third-party contractor's internal application;
(b) apply to the providing of Internet service; or
(c) impose a duty on a provider of an interactive computer service, as defined in 47 U.S.C. Sec.

230, to review or enforce compliance with this section.

Enacted by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1411 Penalties.
(1)

(a) A third-party contractor that knowingly or recklessly permits unauthorized collecting, sharing,
or use of student data under this part:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), may not enter into a future contract with an
education entity;

(ii) may be required by the board to pay a civil penalty of up to $25,000; and
(iii) may be required to pay:

(A) the education entity's cost of notifying parents and students of the unauthorized sharing or
use of student data; and

(B) expenses incurred by the education entity as a result of the unauthorized sharing or use of
student data.

(b) An education entity may enter into a contract with a third-party contractor that knowingly or
recklessly permitted unauthorized collecting, sharing, or use of student data if:

(i) the board or education entity determines that the third-party contractor has corrected the
errors that caused the unauthorized collecting, sharing, or use of student data; and

(ii) the third-party contractor demonstrates:
(A) if the third-party contractor is under contract with an education entity, current compliance

with this part; or
(B) an ability to comply with the requirements of this part.

(c) The board may assess the civil penalty described in Subsection (1)(a)(ii) in accordance with
Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act.

(d) The board may bring an action in the district court of the county in which the office of the
board is located, if necessary, to enforce payment of the civil penalty described in Subsection
(1)(a)(ii).

(e) An individual who knowingly or intentionally permits unauthorized collecting, sharing, or use of
student data may be found guilty of a class A misdemeanor.
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(2)
(a) A parent or student may bring an action in a court of competent jurisdiction for damages

caused by a knowing or reckless violation of Section  53A-1-1410 by a third-party contractor.
(b) If the court finds that a third-party contractor has violated Section 53A-1-1410, the court may

award to the parent or student:
(i) damages; and
(ii) costs.

Enacted by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

Part 15
Digital Teaching and Learning Grant Program

53A-1-1501 Title.
          This part is known as "Digital Teaching and Learning Grant Program."

Enacted by Chapter 318, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1502 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Advisory committee" means the committee established by the board under Section
53A-1-1506.

(2) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(3) "Digital readiness assessment" means an assessment provided by the board that:

(a) is completed by an LEA analyzing an LEA's readiness to incorporate comprehensive digital
teaching and learning; and

(b) informs the preparation of an LEA's plan for incorporating comprehensive digital teaching and
learning.

(4) "High quality professional learning" means the professional learning standards described in
Section 53A-3-701.

(5) "Implementation assessment" means an assessment that analyzes an LEA's implementation
of an LEA plan, including identifying areas for improvement, obstacles to implementation,
progress toward the achievement of stated goals, and recommendations going forward.

(6) "LEA plan" means an LEA's plan to implement a digital teaching and learning program that
meets the requirements of this section and requirements set forth by the board and the advisory
committee.

(7) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means:
(a) a school district;
(b) a charter school; or
(c) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(8) "Program" means the Digital Teaching and Learning Grant Program established in this part
and as described in a proposal adopted by the digital teaching and learning task force in
accordance with Section 53A-1-1503.

(9) "Utah Education and Telehealth Network" or "UETN" means the Utah Education and Telehealth
Network created in Section 53B-17-105.
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Enacted by Chapter 318, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1503 Digital teaching and learning program task force -- Funding proposal for a
program -- Master plan -- Reporting requirements.
(1)

(a) The board shall establish a digital teaching and learning task force to develop a funding
proposal to present to the Legislature for digital teaching and learning in elementary and
secondary schools.

(b) The digital teaching and learning task force shall include representatives of:
(i) the board;
(ii) UETN;
(iii) LEAs; and
(iv) the Governor's Education Excellence Commission.

(2)
(a) The board, in consultation with the digital teaching and learning task force created in

Subsection (1), shall create a funding proposal for a statewide digital teaching and learning
program designed to:

(i) improve student outcomes through the use of digital teaching and learning technology; and
(ii) provide high quality professional learning for educators to improve student outcomes

through the use of digital teaching and learning technology.
(b) The board shall:

(i) identify outcome based metrics to measure student achievement related to a digital teaching
and learning program; and

(ii) develop minimum benchmark standards for student achievement and school level outcomes
to measure successful implementation of a digital teaching and learning program.

(3) As funding allows, the board shall develop a master plan for a statewide digital teaching and
learning program, including the following:

(a) a statement of purpose that describes the objectives or goals the board will accomplish by
implementing a digital teaching and learning program;

(b) a forecast for fundamental components needed to implement a digital teaching and learning
program, including a forecast for:

(i) student and teacher devices;
(ii) Wi-Fi and wireless compatible technology;
(iii) curriculum software;
(iv) assessment solutions;
(v) technical support;
(vi) change management of LEAs;
(vii) high quality professional learning;
(viii) Internet delivery and capacity; and
(ix) security and privacy of users;

(c) a determination of the requirements for:
(i) statewide technology infrastructure; and
(ii) local LEA technology infrastructure;

(d) standards for high quality professional learning related to implementing and maintaining a
digital teaching and learning program;

(e) a statewide technical support plan that will guide the implementation and maintenance of a
digital teaching and learning program, including standards and competency requirements for
technical support personnel;
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(f)
(i) a grant program for LEAs; or
(ii) a distribution formula to fund LEA digital teaching and learning programs;

(g) in consultation with UETN, an inventory of the state public education system's current
technology resources and other items and a plan to integrate those resources into a digital
teaching and learning program;

(h) an ongoing evaluation process that is overseen by the board;
(i) proposed rules that incorporate the principles of the master plan into the state's public

education system as a whole; and
(j) a plan to ensure long-term sustainability that:

(i) accounts for the financial impacts of a digital teaching and learning program; and
(ii) facilitates the redirection of LEA savings that arise from implementing a digital teaching and

learning program.
(4) UETN shall:

(a) in consultation with the board, conduct an inventory of the state public education system's
current technology resources and other items as determined by UETN, including software;

(b) perform an engineering study to determine the technology infrastructure needs of the
public education system to implement a digital teaching and learning program, including the
infrastructure needed for the board, UETN, and LEAs; and

(c) as funding allows, provide infrastructure and technology support for school districts and
charter schools.

(5) On or before December 1, 2015, the board and UETN shall present the funding proposal for a
statewide digital teaching and learning program described in Subsection (2) to the Education
Interim Committee and the Executive Appropriations Committee, including:

(a) the board's progress on the development of a master plan described in Subsection (3); and
(b) the progress of UETN on the inventory and study described in Subsection (4).

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 318, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1504 Readiness assessments.
          Beginning July 1, 2016, and ending July 1, 2021, each LEA, including each school within an

LEA, shall annually complete a digital readiness assessment.

Enacted by Chapter 318, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1505 Digital Teaching and Learning Grant Program -- Board duties -- Advisory
committee -- LEA plan requirements.
(1) There is created the Digital Teaching and Learning Grant Program to improve educational

outcomes in public schools by effectively incorporating comprehensive digital teaching and
learning technology.

(2) The board shall:
(a) in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, adopt rules for

the administration of the program, including rules requiring:
(i) an LEA plan to include measures to ensure that the LEA monitors and implements

technology with best practices, including the recommended use for effectiveness;
(ii) an LEA plan to include robust goals for learning outcomes and appropriate measurements of

goal achievement;
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(iii) an LEA to demonstrate that the LEA plan can be fully funded by grant funds or a
combination of grant and local funds; and

(iv) an LEA to report on funds from expenses previous to the implementation of the LEA plan
that the LEA has redirected after implementation;

(b) establish an advisory committee to make recommendations on the program and LEA plan
requirements and report to the board; and

(c) in accordance with this part, approve LEA plans and award grants.
(3)

(a) The board shall, subject to legislative appropriations, award a grant to an LEA:
(i) that submits an LEA plan that meets the requirements described in Subsection (4); and
(ii) for which the LEA's leadership and management members have completed a digital

teaching and learning leadership and implementation training as provided in Subsection (3)
(b).

(b) The board or its designee shall provide the training described in Subsection (3)(a)(ii).
(4) The board shall establish requirements of an LEA plan that shall include:

(a) the results of the LEA's digital readiness assessment and a proposal to remedy an obstacle to
implementation or other issues identified in the assessment;

(b) a proposal to provide high quality professional learning for educators in the use of digital
teaching and learning technology;

(c) a proposal for leadership training and management restructuring, if necessary, for successful
implementation;

(d) clearly identified targets for improved student achievement, student learning, and college
readiness through digital teaching and learning; and

(e) any other requirement established by the board in rule in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter
3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, including an application process and metrics to
analyze the quality of a proposed LEA plan.

(5) The board or the board's designee shall establish an interactive dashboard available to each
LEA that is awarded a grant for the LEA to track and report the LEA's long-term, intermediate,
and direct outcomes in realtime and for the LEA to use to create customized reports.

(6)
(a) There is no federal funding, federal requirement, federal education agreement, or national

program included or related to this state adopted program.
(b) Any inclusion of federal funding, federal requirement, federal education agreement, or

national program shall require separate express approval as provided in Title 53A, Chapter 1,
Part 9, Implementing Federal or National Education Program Act.

Enacted by Chapter 318, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1506 Implementation assessment -- Board intervention.
(1)

(a) An LEA that receives a grant as provided in Section 53A-1-1505 shall:
(i) subject to Subsection (1)(b), complete an implementation assessment for each year that the

LEA is expending grant money; and
(ii)

(A) report the findings of the implementation assessment to the board; and
(B) submit to the board a plan to resolve issues raised in the implementation assessment.

(b) Each school within the LEA shall:
(i) complete an implementation assessment; and
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(ii) submit a compilation report that meets the requirements described in Subsections (1)(a)(ii)
(A) and (B).

(2) The board or the board's designee shall review an implementation assessment and review
each participating LEA's progress from the previous year, as applicable.

(3) The board shall establish interventions for an LEA that does not make progress on
implementation of the LEA's implementation plan, including:

(a) nonrenewal of, or time period extensions for, the LEA's grant;
(b) reduction of funds; or
(c) other interventions to assist the LEA.

Enacted by Chapter 318, 2016 General Session

53A-1-1507 Procurement -- Independent evaluator.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code, the board shall contract

with an independent evaluator to:
(a) annually evaluate statewide direct and intermediate outcomes beginning the first year that

grants are awarded, including baseline data collection for long-term outcomes;
(b) in the fourth year after a grant is awarded, and each year thereafter, evaluate statewide long-

term outcomes; and
(c) report on the information described in Subsections (1)(a) and (b) to the board.

(2)
(a) To implement an LEA plan, a contract, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah

Procurement Code, or other agreement with one or more providers of technology powered
learning solutions and one or more providers of wireless networking solutions may be entered
into by:

(i) UETN, in cooperation with or on behalf of, as applicable, the board, the board's designee, or
an LEA; or

(ii) an LEA.
(b) A contract or agreement entered into under Subsection (2)(a) may be a contract or agreement

which:
(i) UETN enters into with a provider and payment for services is directly appropriated by the

Legislature, as funds are available, to UETN;
(ii) UETN enters into with a provider and pays for the provider's services and is reimbursed for

payments by an LEA that benefits from the services;
(iii) UETN negotiates the terms of on behalf of an LEA that enters into the contract or

agreement directly with the provider and the LEA pays directly for the provider's services; or
(iv) an LEA enters into directly, pays a provider, and receives preapproved reimbursement from

a UETN fund established for this purpose.
(c) If an LEA does not reimburse UETN in a reasonable time for services received under a

contract or agreement described in Subsection (2)(b), the board shall pay the balance due to
UETN from the LEA's funds received under Chapter 17a, Part 1, Minimum School Program.

(d) If UETN negotiates or enters into an agreement as described in Subsection (2)(b)(ii) or (2)
(b)(iii), and UETN enters into an additional agreement with an LEA that is associated with
the agreement described in Subsection (2)(b)(ii) or (2)(b)(iii), the associated agreement may
be treated by UETN and the LEA as a cooperative procurement, as that term is defined
in Section 63G-6a-103, regardless of whether the associated agreement satisfies the
requirements of Section 63G-6a-2105.
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Enacted by Chapter 318, 2016 General Session

Chapter 1a
Utah Strategic Planning Act for Educational Excellence

Part 1
Goals and Methods

53A-1a-101 Short title.
          This chapter is known as the "Utah Strategic Planning Act for Educational Excellence."

Enacted by Chapter 47, 1992 General Session

53A-1a-103 Public education's vision and mission.
(1) The Legislature envisions an educated citizenry that encompasses the following foundational

principles:
(a) citizen participation in civic and political affairs;
(b) economic prosperity for the state by graduating students who are college and career ready;
(c) strong moral and social values; and
(d) loyalty and commitment to constitutional government.

(2) The Legislature recognizes that public education's mission is to assure Utah the best educated
citizenry in the world and each individual the training to succeed in a global society by providing
students with:

(a) learning and occupational skills;
(b) character development;
(c) literacy and numeracy;
(d) high quality instruction;
(e) curriculum based on high standards and relevance; and
(f) effective assessment to inform high quality instruction and accountability.

(3) The Legislature:
(a) recognizes that parents or guardians are a child's first teachers and are responsible for the

education of their children;
(b) encourages family engagement and adequate preparation so that students enter the public

education system ready to learn; and
(c) intends that the mission detailed in Subsection (2) be carried out through a responsive

educational system that guarantees local school communities autonomy, flexibility, and client
choice, while holding them accountable for results.

(4) This section will be applied consistent with Section 53A-13-109.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1a-104 Characteristics of public education system.
          The Legislature shall assist in maintaining a public education system that has the following

characteristics:
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(1) assumes that all students have the ability to learn and that each student departing the system
will be prepared to achieve success in productive employment, further education, or both;

(2) provides a personalized education plan or personalized education occupation plan for each
student, which involves the student, the student's parent or guardian, and school personnel in
establishing the plan;

(3) provides students with the knowledge and skills to take responsibility for their decisions and to
make appropriate choices;

(4) provides opportunities for students to exhibit the capacity to learn, think, reason, and work
effectively, individually and in groups;

(5) offers world-class core standards that enable students to successfully compete in a global
society, and to succeed as citizens of a constitutional republic;

(6) incorporates an information retrieval system that provides students, parents, and educators with
reliable, useful, and timely data on the progress of each student;

(7) attracts, prepares, inducts, and retains excellent teachers for every classroom in large part
through collaborative efforts among the State Board of Education, the State Board of Regents,
and school districts, provides effective ongoing professional development opportunities for
teachers to improve their teaching skills, and provides recognition, rewards, and compensation
for their excellence;

(8) empowers each school district and public school to create its own vision and plan to achieve
results consistent with the objectives outlined in this chapter;

(9) uses technology to improve teaching and learning processes and for the delivery of educational
services;

(10) promotes ongoing research and development projects at the district and the school level that
are directed at improving or enhancing public education;

(11) offers a public school choice program, which gives students and their parents options to best
meet the student's personalized education needs;

(12) emphasizes the involvement of educators, parents, business partnerships, and the community
at large in the educational process by allowing them to be involved in establishing and
implementing educational goals and participating in decision-making at the school site; and

(13) emphasizes competency-based standards and progress-based assessments, including
tracking and measurement systems.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1a-105 Parental participation in educational process -- Employer support.
(1) The Legislature recognizes the importance of parental participation in the educational process

in order for students to achieve and maintain high levels of performance.
(2) It is, therefore, the policy of the state to:

(a) encourage parents to provide a home environment that values education and send their
children to school prepared to learn;

(b) rely upon school districts and schools to provide opportunities for parents of students to be
involved in establishing and implementing educational goals for their respective schools and
students; and

(c) expect employers to recognize the need for parents and members of the community to
participate in the public education system in order to help students achieve and maintain
excellence.

(3)
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(a) Each local school board shall adopt a policy on parental involvement in the schools of the
district.

(b) The board shall design its policy to build consistent and effective communication among
parents, teachers, and administrators.

(c) The policy shall provide parents with the opportunity to be actively involved in their children's
education and to be informed of:

(i) the importance of the involvement of parents in directly affecting the success of their
children's educational efforts; and

(ii) groups and organizations that may provide instruction and training to parents to help
improve their children's academic success and support their academic efforts.

Amended by Chapter 59, 2000 General Session

53A-1a-105.5 Parental permission required for specified in-home programs -- Exceptions.
(1) The State Board of Education, local school boards, school districts, and public schools are

prohibited from requiring infant or preschool in-home literacy or other educational or parenting
programs without obtaining parental permission in each individual case.

(2) This section does not prohibit the Division of Child and Family Services, within the Department
of Human Services, from providing or arranging for family preservation or other statutorily
provided services in accordance with Title 62A, Chapter 4a, Child and Family Services, or any
other in-home services that have been court ordered, pursuant to Title 62A, Chapter 4a, Child
and Family Services, or Title 78A, Chapter 6, Juvenile Court Act of 1996.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session

53A-1a-106 School district and individual school powers -- Student education/occupation
plan (SEOP) definition.
(1) In order to acquire and develop the characteristics listed in Section 53A-1a-104, each school

district and each public school within its respective district shall implement a comprehensive
system of accountability in which students advance through public schools by demonstrating
competency in required skills and mastery of required knowledge through the use of diverse
assessment instruments such as authentic and criterion referenced tests, projects, and
portfolios.

(2)
(a) Each school district and public school shall:

(i) develop and implement programs integrating technology into the curriculum, instruction, and
student assessment;

(ii) provide for teacher and parent involvement in policymaking at the school site;
(iii) implement a public school choice program to give parents, students, and teachers greater

flexibility in designing and choosing among programs with different focuses through schools
within the same district and other districts, subject to space availability, demographics, and
legal and performance criteria;

(iv) establish strategic planning at both the district and school level and site-based decision
making programs at the school level;

(v) provide opportunities for each student to acquire and develop academic and occupational
knowledge, skills, and abilities;

(vi) participate in ongoing research and development projects primarily at the school level
aimed at improving the quality of education within the system; and
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(vii) involve business and industry in the education process through the establishment of
partnerships with the business community at the district and school level.

(b)
(i) As used in this title, "student education/occupation plan" or "SEOP" means a plan developed

by a student and the student's parent or guardian, in consultation with school counselors,
teachers, and administrators that:

(A) is initiated at the beginning of grade 7;
(B) identifies a student's skills and objectives;
(C) maps out a strategy to guide a student's course selection; and
(D) links a student to post-secondary options, including higher education and careers.

(ii) Each local school board, in consultation with school personnel, parents, and school
community councils or similar entities shall establish policies to provide for the effective
implementation of a personalized student education plan (SEP) or student education/
occupation plan (SEOP) for each student at the school site.

(iii) The policies shall include guidelines and expectations for:
(A) recognizing the student's accomplishments, strengths, and progress towards meeting

student achievement standards as defined in U-PASS;
(B) planning, monitoring, and managing education and career development; and
(C) involving students, parents, and school personnel in preparing and implementing SEPs

and SEOPs.
(iv) A parent may request conferences with school personnel in addition to SEP or SEOP

conferences established by local school board policy.
(v) Time spent during the school day to implement SEPs and SEOPs is considered part of the

school term referred to in Subsection 53A-17a-103(4).
(3) A school district or public school may submit proposals to modify or waive rules or policies of

a supervisory authority within the public education system in order to acquire or develop the
characteristics listed in Section 53A-1a-104.

(4)
(a) Each school district and public school shall make an annual report to its patrons on its

activities under this section.
(b) The reporting process shall involve participation from teachers, parents, and the community at

large in determining how well the district or school is performing.

Amended by Chapter 315, 2012 General Session

53A-1a-107 State Board of Education assistance to districts and schools.
          In order to assist school districts and individual schools in acquiring and maintaining the

characteristics set forth in Section 53A-1a-104, the State Board of Education shall:
(1) provide the framework for an education system, including core competency standards and

their assessment, in which school districts and public schools permit students to advance by
demonstrating competency in subject matter and mastery of skills;

(2) conduct a statewide public awareness program on competency-based educational systems;
(3) compile and publish, for the state as a whole, a set of educational performance indicators

describing trends in student performance;
(4) promote a public education climate of high expectations and academic excellence;
(5) disseminate successful site-based decision-making models to districts and schools and provide

teacher professional development opportunities and evaluation programs for site-based plans
consistent with Subsections 53A-1a-104(7) and 53A-6-102(2)(a) and (b);
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(6) provide a mechanism for widespread dissemination of information about strategic planning for
public education, including involvement of business and industry in the education process, in
order to ensure the understanding and support of all the individuals and groups concerned with
the mission of public education as outlined in Section 53A-1a-103;

(7) provide for a research and development clearing house at the state level to receive and share
with school districts and public schools information on effective and innovative practices and
programs in education;

(8) help school districts develop and implement guidelines, strategies, and professional
development programs for administrators and teachers consistent with Subsections
53A-1a-104(7) and 53A-6-102(2)(a) and (b) focused on improving interaction with parents and
promoting greater parental involvement in the public schools; and

(9) in concert with the State Board of Regents and the state's colleges of education review and
revise teacher licensing requirements to be consistent with teacher preparation for participation
in personalized education programs within the public schools.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-1a-108 School community councils -- Duties -- Composition -- Election procedures and
selection of members.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Digital citizenship" means the norms of appropriate, responsible, and healthy behavior
related to technology use, including digital literacy, ethics, etiquette, and security.

(b) "District school" means a public school under the control of a local school board elected under
Title 20A, Chapter 14, Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards.

(c) "Educator" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-6-103.
(d)

(i) "Parent or guardian member" means a member of a school community council who is a
parent or guardian of a student who:

(A) is attending the school; or
(B) will be enrolled at the school during the parent's or guardian's term of office.

(ii) "Parent or guardian member" may not include an educator who is employed at the school.
(e) "School community council" means a council established at a district school in accordance

with this section.
(f) "School employee member" means a member of a school community council who is a person

employed at the school by the school or school district, including the principal.
(g) "School LAND Trust Program money" means money allocated to a school pursuant to Section

53A-16-101.5.
(2) A district school, in consultation with the district school's local school board, shall establish a

school community council at the school building level for the purpose of:
(a) involving parents or guardians of students in decision making at the school level;
(b) improving the education of students;
(c) prudently expending School LAND Trust Program money for the improvement of students'

education through collaboration among parents and guardians, school employees, and the
local school board; and

(d) increasing public awareness of:
(i) school trust lands and related land policies;
(ii) management of the State School Fund established in Utah Constitution Article X, Section V;

and



Utah Code

Page 87

(iii) educational excellence.
(3)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), a school community council shall:
(i) create a school improvement plan in accordance with Section 53A-1a-108.5;
(ii) create the School LAND Trust Program in accordance with Section 53A-16-101.5;
(iii) advise and make recommendations to school and school district administrators and the

local school board regarding:
(A) the school and its programs;
(B) school district programs;
(C) a child access routing plan in accordance with Section 53A-3-402;
(D) safe technology utilization and digital citizenship; and
(E) other issues relating to the community environment for students;

(iv) provide for education and awareness on safe technology utilization and digital citizenship
that empowers:

(A) a student to make smart media and online choices; and
(B) a parent or guardian to know how to discuss safe technology use with the parent's or

guardian's child; and
(v) partner with the school's principal and other administrators to ensure that adequate on and

off campus Internet filtering is installed and consistently configured to prevent viewing of
harmful content by students and school personnel, in accordance with local school board
policy and Subsection 53A-1-706(3).

(b) To fulfill the school community council's duties described in Subsections (3)(a)(iv) and (v), a
school community council may:

(i) partner with one or more non-profit organizations; or
(ii) create a subcommittee.

(c) A school or school district administrator may not prohibit or discourage a school community
council from discussing issues, or offering advice or recommendations, regarding the school
and its programs, school district programs, the curriculum, or the community environment for
students.

(4)
(a) Each school community council shall consist of school employee members and parent or

guardian members in accordance with this section.
(b) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(c) or (d):

(i) each school community council for a high school shall have six parent or guardian members
and four school employee members, including the principal; and

(ii) each school community council for a school other than a high school shall have four parent
or guardian members and two school employee members, including the principal.

(c) A school community council may determine the size of the school community council by a
majority vote of a quorum of the school community council provided that:

(i) the membership includes two or more parent or guardian members than the number of
school employee members; and

(ii) there are at least two school employee members on the school community council.
(d)

(i) The number of parent or guardian members of a school community council who are not
educators employed by the school district shall exceed the number of parent or guardian
members who are educators employed by the school district.

(ii) If, after an election, the number of parent or guardian members who are not educators
employed by the school district does not exceed the number of parent or guardian members



Utah Code

Page 88

who are educators employed by the school district, the parent or guardian members of
the school community council shall appoint one or more parent or guardian members to
the school community council so that the number of parent or guardian members who are
not educators employed by the school district exceeds the number of parent or guardian
members who are educators employed by the school district.

(5)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(f), a school employee member, other than the principal,

shall be elected by secret ballot by a majority vote of the school employees and serve a two-
year term.  The principal shall serve as an ex officio member with full voting privileges.

(b)
(i) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(f), a parent or guardian member shall be elected

by secret ballot at an election held at the school by a majority vote of those voting at the
election and serve a two-year term.

(ii)
(A) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii)(B), only a parent or guardian of a student

attending the school may vote in, or run as a candidate in, the election under Subsection
(5)(b)(i).

(B) If an election is held in the spring, a parent or guardian of a student who will be attending
the school the following school year may vote in, and run as a candidate in, the election
under Subsection (5)(b)(i).

(iii) Any parent or guardian of a student who meets the qualifications of this section may file or
declare the parent's or guardian's candidacy for election to a school community council.

(iv)
(A) Subject to Subsections (5)(b)(iv)(B) and (5)(b)(iv)(C), a timeline for the election of parent

or guardian members of a school community council shall be established by a local school
board for the schools within the school district.

(B) An election for the parent or guardian members of a school community council shall be
held near the beginning of the school year or held in the spring and completed before the
last week of school.

(C) Each school shall establish a time period for the election of parent or guardian members
of a school community council under Subsection (5)(b)(iv)(B) that is consistent for at least
a four-year period.

(c)
(i) At least 10 days before the date that voting commences for the elections held under

Subsections (5)(a) and (5)(b), the principal of the school, or the principal's designee, shall
provide notice to each school employee, parent, or guardian, of the opportunity to vote in,
and run as a candidate in, an election under this Subsection (5).

(ii) The notice shall include:
(A) the dates and times of the elections;
(B) a list of council positions that are up for election; and
(C) instructions for becoming a candidate for a community council position.

(iii) The principal of the school, or the principal's designee, shall oversee the elections held
under Subsections (5)(a) and (5)(b).

(iv) Ballots cast in an election held under Subsection (5)(b) shall be deposited in a secure ballot
box.

(d) Results of the elections held under Subsections (5)(a) and (5)(b) shall be made available to
the public upon request.

(e)
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(i) If a parent or guardian position on a school community council remains unfilled after an
election is held, the other parent or guardian members of the council shall appoint a parent
or guardian who meets the qualifications of this section to fill the position.

(ii) If a school employee position on a school community council remains unfilled after an
election is held, the other school employee members of the council shall appoint a school
employee to fill the position.

(iii) A member appointed to a school community council under Subsection (5)(e)(i) or (ii) shall
serve a two-year term.

(f)
(i) If the number of candidates who file for a parent or guardian position or school employee

position on a school community council is less than or equal to the number of open
positions, an election is not required.

(ii) If an election is not held pursuant to Subsection (5)(f)(i) and a parent or guardian position
remains unfilled, the other parent or guardian members of the council shall appoint a parent
or guardian who meets the qualifications of this section to fill the position.

(iii) If an election is not held pursuant to Subsection (5)(f)(i) and a school employee position
remains unfilled, the other school employee members of the council shall appoint a school
employee who meets the qualifications of this section to fill the position.

(g) The principal shall enter the names of the council members on the School LAND Trust
website on or before October 20 of each year, pursuant to Section 53A-1a-108.1.

(h) Terms shall be staggered so that approximately half of the council members stand for election
each year.

(i) A school community council member may serve successive terms provided the member
continues to meet the definition of a parent or guardian member or school employee member
as specified in Subsection (1).

(j) Each school community council shall elect:
(i) a chair from its parent or guardian members; and
(ii) a vice chair from either its parent or guardian members or school employee members,

excluding the principal.
(6)

(a) A school community council may create subcommittees or task forces to:
(i) advise or make recommendations to the council; or
(ii) develop all or part of a plan listed in Subsection (3).

(b) Any plan or part of a plan developed by a subcommittee or task force shall be subject to the
approval of the school community council.

(c) A school community council may appoint individuals who are not council members to serve
on a subcommittee or task force, including parents or guardians, school employees, or other
community members.

(7)
(a) A majority of the members of a school community council is a quorum for the transaction of

business.
(b) The action of a majority of the members of a quorum is the action of the school community

council.
(8) A local school board shall provide training for a school community council each year, including

training:
(a) for the chair and vice chair about their responsibilities;
(b) on resources available on the School LAND Trust website; and
(c) on the following statutes governing school community councils:
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(i) Section 53A-1a-108;
(ii) Section 53A-1a-108.1;
(iii) Section 53A-1a-108.5; and
(iv) Section 53A-16-101.5.

Amended by Chapter 220, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-108.1 School community councils -- Open and public meeting requirements.
(1) As used in this section:

(a)
(i) "Charter trust land council" means a council established by a charter school governing board

under Section 53A-16-101.5.
(ii) "Charter trust land council" does not include a charter school governing board acting as a

charter trust land council.
(b) "School community council" means a council established at a school within a school district

under Section 53A-1a-108.
(c) "Council" means a school community council or a charter trust land council.

(2) A school community council or a charter trust land council:
(a) shall conduct deliberations and take action openly as provided in this section; and
(b) is exempt from Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act.

(3)
(a) As required by Section 53A-1a-108, a local school board shall provide training for the

members of a school community council on this section.
(b) A charter school governing board shall provide training for the members of a charter trust land

council on this section.
(4)

(a) A meeting of a council is open to the public.
(b) A council may not close any portion of a meeting.

(5) A council shall, at least one week prior to a meeting, post the following information on the
school's website:

(a) a notice of the meeting, time, and place;
(b) an agenda for the meeting; and
(c) the minutes of the previous meeting.

(6)
(a) On or before October 20, a principal shall post the following information on the school website

and in the school office:
(i) the proposed council meeting schedule for the year;
(ii) a telephone number or email address, or both, where each council member can be reached

directly; and
(iii) a summary of the annual report required under Section 53A-16-101.5 on how the school's

School LAND Trust Program money was used to enhance or improve academic excellence
at the school and implement a component of the school's improvement plan.

(b)
(i) A council shall identify and use methods of providing the information listed in Subsection (6)

(a) to a parent or guardian who does not have Internet access.
(ii) Money allocated to a school under the School LAND Trust Program created in Section

53A-16-101.5 may not be used to provide information as required by Subsection (6)(b)(i).
(7)
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(a) The notice requirement of Subsection (5) may be disregarded if:
(i) because of unforeseen circumstances it is necessary for a council to hold an emergency

meeting to consider matters of an emergency or urgent nature; and
(ii) the council gives the best notice practicable of:

(A) the time and place of the emergency meeting; and
(B) the topics to be considered at the emergency meeting.

(b) An emergency meeting of a council may not be held unless:
(i) an attempt has been made to notify all the members of the council; and
(ii) a majority of the members of the council approve the meeting.

(8)
(a) An agenda required under Subsection (5)(b) shall provide reasonable specificity to notify the

public as to the topics to be considered at the meeting.
(b) Each topic described in Subsection (8)(a) shall be listed under an agenda item on the meeting

agenda.
(c) A council may not take final action on a topic in a meeting unless the topic is:

(i) listed under an agenda item as required by Subsection (8)(b); and
(ii) included with the advance public notice required by Subsection (5).

(9)
(a) Written minutes shall be kept of a council meeting.
(b) Written minutes of a council meeting shall include:

(i) the date, time, and place of the meeting;
(ii) the names of members present and absent;
(iii) a brief statement of the matters proposed, discussed, or decided;
(iv) a record, by individual member, of each vote taken;
(v) the name of each person who:

(A) is not a member of the council; and
(B) after being recognized by the chair, provided testimony or comments to the council;

(vi) the substance, in brief, of the testimony or comments provided by the public under
Subsection (9)(b)(v); and

(vii) any other information that is a record of the proceedings of the meeting that any member
requests be entered in the minutes.

(c) The written minutes of a council meeting:
(i) are a public record under Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and

Management Act; and
(ii) shall be retained for three years.

(10)
(a) As used in this Subsection (10), "rules of order and procedure" means a set of rules that

govern and prescribe in a public meeting:
(i) parliamentary order and procedure;
(ii) ethical behavior; and
(iii) civil discourse.

(b) A council shall:
(i) adopt rules of order and procedure to govern a public meeting of the council;
(ii) conduct a public meeting in accordance with the rules of order and procedure described in

Subsection (10)(b)(i); and
(iii) make the rules of order and procedure described in Subsection (10)(b)(i) available to the

public:
(A) at each public meeting of the council; and
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(B) on the school's website.

Amended by Chapter 276, 2015 General Session

53A-1a-108.5 School improvement plan.
(1)

(a) A school community council established under Section 53A-1a-108 shall annually
evaluate, with the school's principal, the school's statewide achievement test results,
reading achievement plan, class size reduction needs, and technology needs, and use the
evaluations in developing a school improvement plan to improve teaching and learning
conditions.

(b) In evaluating statewide achievement test results and developing a school improvement plan,
a school community council may not have access to data that reveal the identity of students.

(2) A school community council shall develop a school improvement plan that:
(a) identifies the school's most critical academic needs;
(b) recommends a course of action to meet the identified needs;
(c) lists any programs, practices, materials, or equipment that the school will need to implement

its action plan to have a direct impact on the instruction of students and result in measurable
increased student performance;

(d) describes how the school intends to enhance or improve academic achievement, including
how financial resources available to the school, such as School LAND Trust Program money
received under Section 53A-16-101.5 and state and federal grants, will be used to enhance or
improve academic achievement; and

(e) if the school community council represents a school that educates students in kindergarten,
grade 1, grade 2, or grade 3, includes a reading achievement plan as described in Section
53A-1-606.5.

(3) Although a school improvement plan focuses on the school's most critical academic needs,
the school improvement plan may include other actions to enhance or improve academic
achievement and the community environment for students.

(4) The school principal shall make available to the school community council the school budget
and other data needed to develop the school improvement plan.

(5) The school improvement plan is subject to the approval of the local school board of the school
district in which the school is located.

(6) A school community council may develop a multiyear school improvement plan, but the
multiyear school improvement plan must be presented to and approved annually by the local
school board.

(7) Each school shall:
(a) implement the school improvement plan as developed by the school community council and

approved by the local school board;
(b) provide ongoing support for the council's school improvement plan; and
(c) meet local school board reporting requirements regarding performance and accountability.

(8) The school community council of a low performing school, as defined in Section 53A-1-1202,
shall develop a school improvement plan that is consistent with the school turnaround plan
developed by the school turnaround committee under Chapter 1, Part 12, School Turnaround
and Leadership Development Act.

Amended by Chapter 220, 2016 General Session
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53A-1a-110 Computer program for students with autism and other special needs.
(1) As used in this section, "board" means the State Board of Education.
(2) To improve social skills and student achievement for students with autism and other special

needs in pre-school through grade 2, the board shall contract with a provider, selected through
a request for proposals process, to provide computer software programs and activity manuals.

(3) In evaluating proposals submitted under Subsection (2), the board shall:
(a) ensure that the board's evaluation criteria weighs heavily the proposer's ability and

experience to provide computer software programs and activity manuals to improve social
skills and student achievement for students with autism and other special needs in pre-school
through grade 2;

(b) consider, in evaluating the proposer's ability and experience, any quantitative and evaluative
results from field testing, state tests, and other standardized achievement tests;

(c) ensure that the board's evaluation criteria weighs heavily the proposer's ability to:
(i) collect data from each computer using the computer software, regardless of where the

computer is located;
(ii) provide students access to the proposer's program from any computer with internet access;
(iii) enable reporting of student progress to administrators, teachers, parents, and other

facilitators; and
(iv) record a student's progress in the computer software; and

(d) consider the extent to which the computer software program uses engaging animation to
teach students.

(4) The board shall provide the computer software programs and activity manuals procured under
this section to school districts and charter schools that demonstrate a commitment by the
school principal and staff to implement the computer software programs and activity manuals
as prescribed by the provider.

Enacted by Chapter 412, 2012 General Session

Part 5
The Utah Charter Schools Act

53A-1a-501 Short title.
          This part is known as "The Utah Charter Schools Act."

Enacted by Chapter 231, 1998 General Session

53A-1a-501.3 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Asset" means property of all kinds, real and personal, tangible and intangible, and includes:
(a) cash;
(b) stock or other investments;
(c) real property;
(d) equipment and supplies;
(e) an ownership interest;
(f) a license;
(g) a cause of action; and
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(h) any similar property.
(2) "Board of trustees of a higher education institution" or "board of trustees" means:

(a) the board of trustees of:
(i) the University of Utah;
(ii) Utah State University;
(iii) Weber State University;
(iv) Southern Utah University;
(v) Snow College;
(vi) Dixie State University;
(vii) Utah Valley University; or
(viii) Salt Lake Community College; or

(b) the board of directors of an applied technology college within the Utah College of Applied
Technology.

(3) "Charter agreement" or "charter" means an agreement made in accordance with Section
53A-1a-508, that authorizes the operation of a charter school.

(4) "Charter school authorizer" or "authorizer" means the State Charter School Board, local school
board, or board of trustees of a higher education institution that authorizes the establishment of
a charter school.

(5) "Governing board" means the board that operates a charter school.

Amended by Chapter 236, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-501.5 State Charter School Board created.
(1) As used in this section, "organization that represents Utah's charter schools" means an

organization, except a governmental entity, that advocates for charter schools, charter school
parents, or charter school students.

(2)
(a) The State Charter School Board is created consisting of the following members appointed by

the governor:
(i) two members who have expertise in finance or small business management;
(ii) three members who:

(A) are nominated by an organization that represents Utah's charter schools; and
(B) have expertise or experience in developing or administering a charter school; and

(iii) two members who are nominated by the State Board of Education.
(b) Each appointee shall have demonstrated dedication to the purposes of charter schools as

outlined in Section 53A-1a-503.
(c) At least two candidates shall be nominated for each appointment made under Subsection (2)

(a)(ii) or (iii).
(d) The governor may seek nominations for a prospective appointment under Subsection (2)(a)(ii)

from one or more organizations that represent Utah's charter schools.
(3)

(a) State Charter School Board members shall serve four-year terms.
(b) If a vacancy occurs, the governor shall appoint a replacement for the unexpired term.

(4) The governor may remove a member at any time for official misconduct, habitual or willful
neglect of duty, or for other good and sufficient cause.

(5)
(a) The State Charter School Board shall annually elect a chair from its membership.
(b) Four members of the board shall constitute a quorum.
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(c) Meetings may be called by the chair or upon request of three members of the board.
(6) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but may receive

per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
(a) Section 63A-3-106;
(b) Section 63A-3-107; and
(c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.

Amended by Chapter 429, 2011 General Session

53A-1a-501.6 Power and duties of State Charter School Board.
(1) The State Charter School Board shall:

(a) authorize and promote the establishment of charter schools, subject to the provisions in this
part;

(b) annually review and evaluate the performance of charter schools authorized by the State
Charter School Board and hold the schools accountable for their performance;

(c) monitor charter schools authorized by the State Charter School Board for compliance with
federal and state laws, rules, and regulations;

(d) provide technical support to charter schools and persons seeking to establish charter schools
by:

(i) identifying and promoting successful charter school models;
(ii) facilitating the application and approval process for charter school authorization;
(iii) directing charter schools and persons seeking to establish charter schools to sources of

private funding and support;
(iv) reviewing and evaluating proposals to establish charter schools for the purpose

of supporting and strengthening proposals before an application for charter school
authorization is submitted to a charter school authorizer; and

(v) assisting charter schools to understand and carry out their charter obligations;
(e) provide technical support, as requested, to a charter school authorizer relating to charter

schools;
(f) make recommendations on legislation and rules pertaining to charter schools to the

Legislature and State Board of Education, respectively; and
(g) make recommendations to the State Board of Education on the funding of charter schools.

(2) The State Charter School Board may:
(a) contract;
(b) sue and be sued; and
(c)

(i) at the discretion of the charter school, provide administrative services to, or perform other
school functions for, charter schools authorized by the State Charter School Board; and

(ii) charge fees for the provision of services or functions.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-501.7 State Charter School Board -- Staff director -- Facilities.
(1)

(a) The State Charter School Board, with the consent of the superintendent of public instruction,
shall appoint a staff director for the State Charter School Board.

(b) The State Charter School Board shall have authority to remove the staff director with the
consent of the superintendent of public instruction.
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(c) The position of staff director is exempt from the career service provisions of Title 67, Chapter
19, Utah State Personnel Management Act.

(2) The superintendent of public instruction shall provide space for staff of the State Charter School
Board in facilities occupied by the State Board of Education or the State Board of Education's
employees, with costs charged for the facilities equal to those charged other sections and
divisions under the State Board of Education.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 271, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-501.9 State Charter School Board to request applications for certain types of charter
schools.
(1) To meet the unique learning styles and needs of students, the State Charter School Board

shall seek to expand the types of instructional methods and programs offered by schools, as
provided in this section.

(2)
(a) The State Charter School Board shall request individuals, groups of individuals, or not-for-

profit legal entities to submit an application to the State Charter School Board to establish a
charter school that employs new and creative methods to meet the unique learning styles and
needs of students, such as:

(i) a military charter school;
(ii) a charter school whose mission is to enhance learning opportunities for students at risk of

academic failure;
(iii) a charter school whose focus is career and technical education;
(iv) a single gender charter school; or
(v) a charter school with an international focus that provides opportunities for the exchange of

students or teachers.
(b) In addition to a charter school identified in Subsection (2)(a), the State Charter School Board

shall request applications for other types of charter schools that meet the unique learning
styles and needs of students.

(3) The State Charter School Board shall publicize a request for applications to establish a charter
school specified in Subsection (2).

(4) A charter school application submitted pursuant to Subsection (2) shall be subject to the
application and approval procedures specified in Section 53A-1a-505.

(5) The State Charter School Board and the State Board of Education may approve one or more
applications for each charter school specified in Subsection (2), subject to the Legislature
appropriating funds for, or authorizing, an increase in charter school enrollment capacity as
provided in Section 53A-1a-502.5.

(6) The State Board of Education shall submit a request to the Legislature to appropriate funds
for, or authorize, the enrollment of students in charter schools tentatively approved under this
section.

Enacted by Chapter 376, 2013 General Session

53A-1a-502.5  Approval of increase in charter school enrollment capacity -- Expansion.
(1) For the purposes of this section:

(a) "High growth area" means an area of the state where school enrollment is significantly
increasing or projected to significantly increase.
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(b) "Next school year" means the school year that begins on or after the July 1 immediately
following the end of a general session of the Legislature.

(2) The State Board of Education may approve an increase in charter school enrollment capacity
subject to the Legislature:

(a) appropriating funds for an increase in charter school enrollment capacity in the next school
year; or

(b) authorizing an increase in charter school enrollment capacity in the school year immediately
following the next school year.

(3) In appropriating funds for, or authorizing, an increase in charter school enrollment capacity, the
Legislature shall provide a separate appropriation or authorization of enrollment capacity for a
charter school proposed and approved in response to a request for applications issued under
Section 53A-1a-501.9.

(4)
(a) A charter school may annually submit a request to the State Board of Education for an

increase in enrollment capacity in the amount of .25 times the number of students in grades
9 through 12 enrolled in an online course in the previous school year through the Statewide
Online Education Program.

(b) A charter school shall submit a request for an increase in enrollment capacity pursuant
to Subsection (4)(a) on or before October 1 of the school year for which the increase in
enrollment capacity is requested.

(c) The State Board of Education shall approve a request for an increase in enrollment capacity
made under Subsection (4)(a) subject to the availability of sufficient funds appropriated under
Section 53A-1a-513 to provide the full amount of the per student allocation for each charter
school student in the state to supplement school district property tax revenues.

(d) An increase in enrollment capacity approved under Subsection (4)(c) shall be a permanent
increase in the charter school's enrollment capacity.

(5)
(a) On or before January 1, 2017, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative

Rulemaking Act, the State Board of Education shall, after considering suggestions from
charter school authorizers, make rules establishing requirements, procedures, and deadlines
for an expansion of a charter school.

(b) The rules described in Subsection (5)(a) shall include rules related to:
(i) an expansion of a charter school when another charter school issues a notice of closure; and
(ii) the establishment of a satellite campus.

(6)
(a) If the Legislature does not appropriate funds for an increase in charter school enrollment

capacity that is tentatively approved by the State Board of Education, the State Board of
Education shall prioritize the tentatively approved schools and expansions based on approved
funds.

(b) A charter school or expansion that is tentatively approved, but not funded, shall be considered
to be tentatively approved for the next application year and receive priority status for available
funding.

(7)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (6)(b) or (7)(b), in approving an increase in charter school

enrollment capacity for new charter schools and expanding charter schools, the State Board
of Education shall give:

(i) high priority to approving a new charter school or a charter school expansion in a high
growth area; and
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(ii) low priority to approving a new charter school or a charter school expansion in an area
where student enrollment is stable or declining.

(b) An applicant seeking to establish a charter school in a high growth area may elect to not
receive high priority status as provided in Subsection (7)(a)(i).

Amended by Chapter 213, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-503 Purpose.
          The purposes of the state's charter schools as a whole are to:

(1) continue to improve student learning;
(2) encourage the use of different and innovative teaching methods;
(3) create new professional opportunities for educators that will allow them to actively participate in

designing and implementing the learning program at the school;
(4) increase choice of learning opportunities for students;
(5) establish new models of public schools and a new form of accountability for schools

that emphasizes the measurement of learning outcomes and the creation of innovative
measurement tools;

(6) provide opportunities for greater parental involvement in management decisions at the school
level; and

(7) expand public school choice in areas where schools have been identified for school
improvement, corrective action, or restructuring under the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, 20
U.S.C. Sec. 6301 et seq.

Amended by Chapter 319, 2008 General Session

53A-1a-503.5 Status of charter schools.
(1) Charter schools are:

(a) considered to be public schools within the state's public education system;
(b) subject to Subsection 53A-1-401(8); and
(c) governed by independent boards and held accountable to a legally binding written contractual

agreement.
(2) A charter school may be established by:

(a) creating a new school; or
(b) converting an existing public school to charter status.

(3) A parochial school or home school is not eligible for charter school status.

Amended by Chapter 232, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-504 Charter school application -- Applicants -- Contents.
(1)

(a) An application to establish a charter school may be submitted by:
(i) an individual;
(ii) a group of individuals; or
(iii) a nonprofit legal entity organized under Utah law.

(b) An authorized charter school may apply under this chapter for a charter from another charter
school authorizer.

(2) A charter school application shall include:
(a) the purpose and mission of the school;
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(b) except for a charter school authorized by a local school board, a statement that, after entering
into a charter agreement, the charter school will be organized and managed under Title 16,
Chapter 6a, Utah Revised Nonprofit Corporation Act;

(c) a description of the governance structure of the school, including:
(i) a list of the governing board members that describes the qualifications of each member; and
(ii) an assurance that the applicant shall, within 30 days of authorization, provide the authorizer

with the results of a background check for each member;
(d) a description of the target population of the school that includes:

(i) the projected maximum number of students the school proposes to enroll;
(ii) the projected school enrollment for each of the first three years of school operation; and
(iii) the ages or grade levels the school proposes to serve;

(e) academic goals;
(f) qualifications and policies for school employees, including policies that:

(i) comply with the criminal background check requirements described in Section 53A-1a-512.5;
(ii) require employee evaluations; and
(iii) address employment of relatives within the charter school;

(g) a description of how the charter school will provide, as required by state and federal law,
special education and related services;

(h) for a public school converting to charter status, arrangements for:
(i) students who choose not to continue attending the charter school; and
(ii) teachers who choose not to continue teaching at the charter school;

(i) a statement that describes the charter school's plan for establishing the charter school's
facilities, including:

(i) whether the charter school intends to lease or purchase the charter school's facilities; and
(ii) financing arrangements;

(j) a market analysis of the community the school plans to serve;
(k) a capital facility plan;
(l) a business plan;
(m) other major issues involving the establishment and operation of the charter school; and
(n) the signatures of the governing board members of the charter school.

(3) A charter school authorizer may require a charter school application to include:
(a) the charter school's proposed:

(i) curriculum;
(ii) instructional program; or
(iii) delivery methods;

(b) a method for assessing whether students are reaching academic goals, including, at a
minimum, participation in the Utah Performance Assessment System for Students under
Chapter 1, Part 6, Achievement Tests;

(c) a proposed calendar;
(d) sample policies;
(e) a description of opportunities for parental involvement;
(f) a description of the school's administrative, supervisory, or other proposed services that may

be obtained through service providers; or
(g) other information that demonstrates an applicant's ability to establish and operate a charter

school.

Amended by Chapter 213, 2016 General Session
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53A-1a-505 Charter schools authorized by the State Charter School Board -- Application
process -- Prohibited bases of application denial.
(1)

(a) An applicant seeking authorization of a charter school from the State Charter School Board
shall provide a copy of the application to the local school board of the school district in which
the proposed charter school shall be located either before or at the same time it files its
application with the State Charter School Board.

(b) The local board may review the application and may offer suggestions or recommendations to
the applicant or the State Charter School Board prior to its acting on the application.

(c) The State Charter School Board shall give due consideration to suggestions or
recommendations made by the local school board under Subsection (1)(b).

(d) The State Charter School Board shall review and, by majority vote, either approve or deny the
application.

(e) The State Board of Education shall, by majority vote, within 60 days after action by the State
Charter School Board under Subsection (1)(d):

(i) approve or deny an application approved by the State Charter School Board; or
(ii) hear an appeal, if any, of an application denied by the State Charter School Board.

(f) The State Board of Education's action under Subsection (1)(d) is final action subject to judicial
review.

(g) A charter school application may not be denied on the basis that the establishment of the
charter school will have any or all of the following impacts on a public school, including
another charter school:

(i) an enrollment decline;
(ii) a decrease in funding; or
(iii) a modification of programs or services.

(2) The State Board of Education shall make a rule providing a timeline for the opening of a charter
school following the approval of a charter school application by the State Charter School Board.

(3) After approval of a charter school application and in accordance with Section 53A-1a-508, the
applicant and the State Charter School Board shall set forth the terms and conditions for the
operation of the charter school in a written charter agreement.

(4) The State Charter School Board shall, in accordance with State Board of Education rules,
establish and make public the State Charter School Board's:

(a) application requirements, in accordance with Section 53A-1a-504;
(b) application process, including timelines, in accordance with this section; and
(c) minimum academic, financial, and enrollment standards.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-506 Eligible students.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "District school" means a public school under the control of a local school board elected
pursuant to Title 20A, Chapter 14, Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards.

(b) "Refugee" means a person who is eligible to receive benefits and services from the federal
Office of Refugee Resettlement.

(2) All resident students of the state qualify for admission to a charter school, subject to the
limitations set forth in this section and Section 53A-1a-506.5.

(3)
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(a) A charter school shall enroll an eligible student who submits a timely application, unless the
number of applications exceeds the capacity of a program, class, grade level, or the charter
school.

(b) If the number of applications exceeds the capacity of a program, class, grade level, or
the charter school, students shall be selected on a random basis, except as provided in
Subsections (4) through (8).

(4) A charter school may give an enrollment preference to:
(a) a child or grandchild of an individual who has actively participated in the development of the

charter school;
(b) a child or grandchild of a member of the charter school governing board;
(c) a sibling of a student presently enrolled in the charter school;
(d) a child of an employee of the charter school;
(e) students articulating between charter schools offering similar programs that are governed by

the same governing board;
(f) students articulating from one charter school to another pursuant to an articulation agreement

between the charter schools that is approved by the State Charter School Board; or
(g) students who reside within:

(i) the school district in which the charter school is located;
(ii) the municipality in which the charter school is located; or
(iii) a two-mile radius of the charter school.

(5)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), a charter school that is approved by the State Board

of Education after May 13, 2014, and is located in a high growth area shall give an enrollment
preference to students who reside within a two-mile radius of the charter school.

(b) The requirement to give an enrollment preference under Subsection (5)(a) does not apply
to a charter school that was approved without a high priority status pursuant to Subsection
53A-1a-502.5(6)(b).

(6) If a district school converts to charter status, the charter school shall give an enrollment
preference to students who would have otherwise attended it as a district school.

(7)
(a) A charter school whose mission is to enhance learning opportunities for refugees or children

of refugee families may give an enrollment preference to refugees or children of refugee
families.

(b) A charter school whose mission is to enhance learning opportunities for English language
learners may give an enrollment preference to English language learners.

(8) A charter school may weight its lottery to give a slightly better chance of admission to
educationally disadvantaged students, including:

(a) low-income students;
(b) students with disabilities;
(c) English language learners;
(d) migrant students;
(e) neglected or delinquent students; and
(f) homeless students.

(9) A charter school may not discriminate in its admission policies or practices on the same basis
as other public schools may not discriminate in their admission policies and practices.

Amended by Chapter 291, 2014 General Session
Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session
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Amended by Chapter 406, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-506.5 Charter school students -- Admissions procedures -- Transfers.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "District school" means a public school under the control of a local school board elected
pursuant to Title 20A, Chapter 14, Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards.

(b) "Nonresident school district" means a school district other than a student's school district of
residence.

(c) "School district of residence" means a student's school district of residence as determined
under Section 53A-2-201.

(d) "School of residence" means the school to which a student is assigned to attend based on the
student's place of residence.

(2)
(a) The State School Board, in consultation with the State Charter School Board, shall make

rules describing procedures for students to follow in applying for entry into, or exiting, a
charter school.

(b) The rules under Subsection (2)(a) shall, at a minimum, provide for:
(i) posting on a charter school's Internet website, beginning no later than 60 days before the

school's initial period of applications:
(A) procedures for applying for admission to the charter school;
(B) the school's opening date, if the school has not yet opened, or the school calendar; and
(C) information on how a student may transfer from a charter school to another charter school

or a district school;
(ii) written notification to a student's parent or legal guardian of an offer of admission;
(iii) written acceptance of an offer of admission by a student's parent or legal guardian;
(iv) written notification to a student's current charter school or school district of residence upon

acceptance of the student for enrollment in a charter school; and
(v) the admission of students at:

(A) any time to protect the health or safety of a student; or
(B) times other than those permitted under standard policies if there are other conditions of

special need that warrant consideration.
(c) The rules under Subsection (2)(a) shall prevent the parent of a student who is enrolled in a

charter school or who has accepted an offer of admission to a charter school from duplicating
enrollment for the student in another charter school or a school district without following the
withdrawal procedures described in Subsection (3).

(3) The parent of a student enrolled in a charter school may withdraw the student from the charter
school for enrollment in another charter school or a school district by submitting to the charter
school:

(a) on or before June 30, a notice of intent to enroll the student in the student's school of
residence for the following school year;

(b) after June 30, a letter of acceptance for enrollment in the student's school district of residence
for the following year;

(c) a letter of acceptance for enrollment in the student's school district of residence in the current
school year;

(d) a letter of acceptance for enrollment in a nonresident school district; or
(e) a letter of acceptance for enrollment in a charter school.

(4)
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(a) A charter school shall report to a school district, by the last business day of each month the
aggregate number of new students, sorted by their school of residence and grade level, who
have accepted enrollment in the charter school for the following school year.

(b) A school district shall report to a charter school, by the last business day of each month, the
aggregate number of students enrolled in the charter school who have accepted enrollment in
the school district in the following school year, sorted by grade level.

(5) When a vacancy occurs because a student has withdrawn from a charter school, the charter
school may immediately enroll a new student from its list of applicants.

(6) Unless provisions have previously been made for enrollment in another school, a charter
school releasing a student from enrollment during a school year shall immediately notify the
school district of residence, which shall enroll the student in the school district of residence and
take additional steps as may be necessary to ensure compliance with laws governing school
attendance.

(7)
(a) The parent of a student enrolled in a charter school may withdraw the student from the

charter school for enrollment in the student's school of residence in the following school year
if an application of admission is submitted to the school district of residence by June 30.

(b) If the parent of a student enrolled in a charter school submits an application of admission
to the student's school district of residence after June 30 for the student's enrollment in the
school district of residence in the following school year, or an application of admission is
submitted for enrollment during the current school year, the student may enroll in a school of
the school district of residence that has adequate capacity in:

(i) the student's grade level, if the student is an elementary school student; or
(ii) the core classes that the student needs to take, if the student is a secondary school student.

(c) State Board of Education rules made under Subsection (2)(a) shall specify how adequate
capacity in a grade level or core classes is determined for the purposes of Subsection (7)(b).

(8) Notwithstanding Subsection (7), a school district may enroll a student at any time to protect the
health and safety of the student.

(9) A school district or charter school may charge secondary students a one-time $5 processing
fee, to be paid at the time of application.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-507 Requirements for charter schools.
(1) A charter school shall be nonsectarian in its programs, admission policies, employment

practices, and operations.
(2) A charter school may not charge tuition or fees, except those fees normally charged by other

public schools.
(3) A charter school shall meet all applicable federal, state, and local health, safety, and civil rights

requirements.
(4)

(a) A charter school shall make the same annual reports required of other public schools under
this title, including an annual financial audit report.

(b) A charter school shall file its annual financial audit report with the Office of the State Auditor
within six months of the end of the fiscal year.

(5)
(a) A charter school shall be accountable to the charter school's authorizer for performance as

provided in the school's charter.
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(b) To measure the performance of a charter school, an authorizer may use data contained in:
(i) the charter school's annual financial audit report;
(ii) a report submitted by the charter school as required by statute; or
(iii) a report submitted by the charter school as required by its charter.

(c) A charter school authorizer may not impose performance standards, except as permitted by
statute, that limit, infringe, or prohibit a charter school's ability to successfully accomplish the
purposes of charter schools as provided in Section 53A-1a-503 or as otherwise provided in
law.

(6) A charter school may not advocate unlawful behavior.
(7) Except as provided in Section 53A-1a-515, a charter school shall be organized and managed

under Title 16, Chapter 6a, Utah Revised Nonprofit Corporation Act, after its authorization.
(8) A charter school shall provide adequate liability and other appropriate insurance.
(9) Beginning on July 1, 2014, a charter school shall submit any lease, lease-purchase agreement,

or other contract or agreement relating to the charter school's facilities or financing of the
charter school's facilities to the school's authorizer and an attorney for review and advice prior
to the charter school entering into the lease, agreement, or contract.

(10) A charter school may not employ an educator whose license has been suspended or revoked
by the State Board of Education under Section 53A-6-501.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-507.1 Charter school innovative practices -- Report to State Charter School Board.
          Prior to July 31 of each year, a charter school may identify and report to the State Charter

School Board its innovative practices which fulfill the purposes of charter schools as outlined in
Section 53A-1a-503, including:
(1) unique learning opportunities providing increased choice in education;
(2) new public school models;
(3) innovative teaching practices;
(4) opportunities for educators to actively participate in the design and implementation of the

learning program;
(5) new forms of accountability emphasizing the measurement of learning outcomes and the

creation of new measurement tools;
(6) opportunities for greater parental involvement, including involvement in management decisions;

and
(7) the impact of the innovative practices on student achievement.

Enacted by Chapter 74, 2005 General Session

53A-1a-508 Charter agreement -- Content -- Modification.
(1) A charter agreement:

(a) is a contract between the charter school applicant and the charter school authorizer;
(b) shall describe the rights and responsibilities of each party; and
(c) shall allow for the operation of the applicant's proposed charter school.

(2) A charter agreement shall include:
(a) the name of:

(i) the charter school; and
(ii) the charter school applicant;

(b) the mission statement and purpose of the charter school;
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(c) the charter school's opening date;
(d) the grade levels and number of students the charter school will serve;
(e) a description of the structure of the charter school's governing board, including:

(i) the number of board members;
(ii) how members of the board are appointed; and
(iii) board members' terms of office;

(f) assurances that:
(i) the governing board shall comply with:

(A) the charter school's bylaws;
(B) the charter school's articles of incorporation; and
(C) applicable federal law, state law, and State Board of Education rules;

(ii) the governing board will meet all reporting requirements described in Section 53A-1a-507;
and

(iii) except as provided in Title 53A, Chapter 20b, Part 2, Charter School Credit Enhancement
Program, neither the authorizer nor the state, including an agency of the state, is liable for
the debts or financial obligations of the charter school or a person who operates the charter
school;

(g) which administrative rules the State Board of Education will waive for the charter school;
(h) minimum financial standards for operating the charter school;
(i) minimum standards for student achievement; and
(j) signatures of the charter school authorizer and the charter school's governing board members.

(3) A charter agreement may not be modified except by mutual agreement between the charter
school authorizer and the governing board of the charter school.

Amended by Chapter 258, 2015 General Session

53A-1a-509 Noncompliance -- Rulemaking.
(1) If a charter school is found to be out of compliance with the requirements of Section

53A-1a-507 or the school's charter, the charter school authorizer shall notify the following
in writing that the charter school has a reasonable time to remedy the deficiency, except as
otherwise provided in Subsection 53A-1a-510(4):

(a) the governing board of the charter school; and
(b) if the charter school is a qualifying charter school with outstanding bonds issued in

accordance with Chapter 20b, Part 2, Charter School Credit Enhancement Program, the Utah
Charter School Finance Authority.

(2) If the charter school does not remedy the deficiency within the established timeline, the
authorizer may:

(a) subject to the requirements of Subsection (4), take one or more of the following actions:
(i) remove a charter school director or finance officer;
(ii) remove a governing board member; or
(iii) appoint an interim director or mentor to work with the charter school; or

(b) subject to the requirements of Section 53A-1a-510, terminate the school's charter.
(3) The costs of an interim director or mentor appointed pursuant to Subsection (2)(a) shall be paid

from the funds of the charter school for which the interim director or mentor is working.
(4) The authorizer shall notify the Utah Charter School Finance Authority before the authorizer

takes an action described in Subsections (2)(a)(i) through (iii) if the charter school is a
qualifying charter school with outstanding bonds issued in accordance with Chapter 20b, Part 2,
Charter School Credit Enhancement Program.
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(5) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State Board
of Education shall make rules:

(a) specifying the timeline for remedying deficiencies under Subsection (1); and
(b) ensuring the compliance of a charter school with its approved charter.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-509.5 Voluntary school improvement process.
(1) As used in this section, "high performing charter school" means a charter school that:

(a) satisfies all requirements of state law and State Board of Education rules;
(b) has operated for at least three years meeting the terms of the school's charter agreement;

and
(c) has students performing at or above the academic performance standard in the school's

charter agreement.
(2)

(a) Subject to Subsection (2)(b), a governing board may voluntarily request the charter school's
authorizer to place the school in a school improvement process.

(b) A governing board shall provide notice and a hearing on the governing board's intent to make
a request under Subsection (2)(a) to parents and guardians of students enrolled in the charter
school.

(3) An authorizer may grant a governing board's request to be placed in a school improvement
process if the governing board has provided notice and a hearing under Subsection (2)(b).

(4) An authorizer that has entered into a school improvement process with a governing board shall:
(a) enter into a contract with the governing board on the terms of the school improvement

process;
(b) notify the State Board of Education that the authorizer has entered into a school improvement

process with the governing board;
(c) make a report to a committee of the State Board of Education regarding the school

improvement process; and
(d) notify the Utah Charter School Finance Authority that the authorizer has entered into a school

improvement process with the governing board if the charter school is a qualifying charter
school with outstanding bonds issued in accordance with Chapter 20b, Part 2, Charter School
Credit Enhancement Program.

(5) Upon notification under Subsection (4)(b), and after the report described in Subsection (4)
(c), the State Board of Education shall notify charter schools and the school district in which
the charter school is located that the governing board has entered into a school improvement
process with the charter school's authorizer.

(6) A high performing charter school or the school district in which the charter school is located
may apply to the governing board to assume operation and control of the charter school that
has been placed in a school improvement process.

(7) A governing board that has entered into a school improvement process shall review
applications submitted under Subsection (6) and submit a proposal to the charter school's
authorizer to:

(a) terminate the school's charter, notwithstanding the requirements of Section 53A-1a-510; and
(b) transfer operation and control of the charter school to:

(i) the school district in which the charter school is located; or
(ii) a high performing charter school.

(8) Except as provided in Subsection (9) and subject to Subsection (10), an authorizer may:
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(a) approve a governing board's proposal under Subsection (7); or
(b)

(i) deny a governing board's proposal under Subsection (7); and
(ii)

(A) terminate the school's charter in accordance with Section 53A-1a-510;
(B) allow the governing board to submit a revised proposal; or
(C) take no action.

(9) An authorizer may not take an action under Subsection (8) for a qualifying charter school
with outstanding bonds issued in accordance with Chapter 20b, Part 2, Charter School Credit
Enhancement Program, without mutual agreement of the Utah Charter School Finance
Authority and the authorizer.

(10)
(a) An authorizer that intends to transfer operation and control of a charter school as described in

Subsection (7)(b) shall request approval from the State Board of Education.
(b)

(i) The State Board of Education shall consider an authorizer's request under Subsection (10)
(a) within 30 days of receiving the request.

(ii) If the State Board of Education denies an authorizer's request under Subsection (10)(a),
the authorizer may not transfer operation and control of the charter school as described in
Subsection (7)(b).

(iii) If the State Board of Education does not take action on an authorizer's request under
Subsection (10)(a) within 30 days of receiving the request, an authorizer may proceed to
transfer operation and control of the charter school as described in Subsection (7)(b).

Amended by Chapter 363, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-510 Termination of a charter.
(1) Subject to the requirements of Subsection (3), a charter school authorizer may terminate a

school's charter for any of the following reasons:
(a) failure of the charter school to meet the requirements stated in the charter;
(b) failure to meet generally accepted standards of fiscal management;
(c) subject to Subsection (8), failure to make adequate yearly progress under the No Child Left

Behind Act of 2001, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 6301 et seq.;
(d)

(i) designation as a low performing school under Chapter 1, Part 11, School Grading Act; and
(ii) failure to improve the school's grade under the conditions described in Chapter 1, Part 12,

School Turnaround and Leadership Development Act;
(e) violation of requirements under this part or another law; or
(f) other good cause shown.

(2)
(a) The authorizer shall notify the following of the proposed termination in writing, state the

grounds for the termination, and stipulate that the governing board may request an informal
hearing before the authorizer:

(i) the governing board of the charter school; and
(ii) if the charter school is a qualifying charter school with outstanding bonds issued in

accordance with Chapter 20b, Part 2, Charter School Credit Enhancement Program, the
Utah Charter School Finance Authority.
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(b) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(e), the authorizer shall conduct the hearing in
accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act, within 30 days after
receiving a written request under Subsection (2)(a).

(c) If the authorizer, by majority vote, approves a motion to terminate a charter school, the
governing board of the charter school may appeal the decision to the State Board of
Education.

(d)
(i) The State Board of Education shall hear an appeal of a termination made pursuant to

Subsection (2)(c).
(ii) The State Board of Education's action is final action subject to judicial review.

(e)
(i) If the authorizer proposes to terminate the charter of a qualifying charter school with

outstanding bonds issued in accordance with Chapter 20b, Part 2, Charter School Credit
Enhancement Program, the authorizer shall conduct a hearing described in Subsection (2)
(b) 120 days or more after notifying the following of the proposed termination:

(A) the governing board of the qualifying charter school; and
(B) the Utah Charter School Finance Authority.

(ii) Prior to the hearing described in Subsection (2)(e)(i), the Utah Charter School Finance
Authority shall meet with the authorizer to determine whether the deficiency may be
remedied in lieu of termination of the qualifying charter school's charter.

(3) An authorizer may not terminate the charter of a qualifying charter school with outstanding
bonds issued in accordance with Chapter 20b, Part 2, Charter School Credit Enhancement
Program, without mutual agreement of the Utah Charter School Finance Authority and the
authorizer.

(4)
(a) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State

Board of Education shall make rules that require a charter school to report any threats to the
health, safety, or welfare of its students to the State Charter School Board in a timely manner.

(b) The rules under Subsection (4)(a) shall also require the charter school report to include what
steps the charter school has taken to remedy the threat.

(5) Subject to the requirements of Subsection (3), the authorizer may terminate a charter
immediately if good cause has been shown or if the health, safety, or welfare of the students at
the school is threatened.

(6) If a charter is terminated during a school year, the following entities may apply to the charter
school's authorizer to assume operation of the school:

(a) the school district where the charter school is located;
(b) the governing board of another charter school; or
(c) a private management company.

(7)
(a) If a charter is terminated, a student who attended the school may apply to and shall be

enrolled in another public school under the enrollment provisions of Chapter 2, Part 2, District
of Residency, subject to space availability.

(b) Normal application deadlines shall be disregarded under Subsection (7)(a).
(8) Subject to the requirements of Subsection (3), an authorizer may terminate a charter pursuant

to Subsection (1)(c) under the same circumstances that local educational agencies are required
to implement alternative governance arrangements under 20 U.S.C. Sec. 6316.

Amended by Chapter 449, 2015 General Session
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53A-1a-510.5 Charter school closure.
(1) If a charter school is closed for any reason, including the termination of a charter in accordance

with Section 53A-1a-510 or the conversion of a charter school to a private school, the
provisions of this section apply.

(2) A decision to close a charter school is made:
(a) when a charter school authorizer approves a motion to terminate described in Subsection

53A-1a-510(2)(c);
(b) when the State Board of Education takes final action described in Subsection 53A-1a-510(2)

(d)(ii); or
(c) when a charter school provides notice to the charter school's authorizer that the charter

school is relinquishing the charter school's charter.
(3)

(a) No later than 10 days after the day on which a decision to close a charter school is made, the
charter school shall:

(i) provide notice to the following, in writing, of the decision:
(A) if the charter school made the decision to close, the charter school's authorizer;
(B) the State Charter School Board;
(C) if the State Board of Education did not make the decision to close, the State Board of

Education;
(D) parents of students enrolled at the charter school;
(E) the charter school's creditors;
(F) the charter school's lease holders;
(G) the charter school's bond issuers;
(H) other entities that may have a claim to the charter school's assets;
(I) the school district in which the charter school is located and other charter schools located

in that school district; and
(J) any other person that the charter school determines to be appropriate; and

(ii) post notice of the decision on the Utah Public Notice Website, created in Section 63F-1-701.
(b) The notice described in Subsection (3)(a) shall include:

(i) the proposed date of the charter school closure;
(ii) the charter school's plans to help students identify and transition into a new school; and
(iii) contact information for the charter school during the transition.

(4) After a decision to close a charter school is made, the closing charter school shall:
(a) designate a custodian for the protection of student files and school business records;
(b) maintain a base of operation throughout the charter school closing, including:

(i) an office;
(ii) hours of operation;
(iii) operational telephone service with voice messaging stating the hours of operation; and
(iv) a designated individual to respond to questions or requests during the hours of operation;

(c) maintain insurance coverage and risk management coverage throughout the transition to
closure and for a period following closure of the charter school as specified by the charter
school's authorizer;

(d) complete a financial audit or other procedure required by board rule immediately after the
decision to close is made;

(e) inventory all assets of the charter school; and
(f) list all creditors of the charter school and specifically identify secured creditors and assets that

are security interests.



Utah Code

Page 110

(5) The closing charter school's authorizer shall oversee the closing charter school's compliance
with Subsection (4).

(6)
(a) A closing charter school shall return any assets remaining, after all liabilities and obligations

of the closing charter school are paid or discharged, to the closing charter school's authorizer.
(b) The closing charter school's authorizer shall liquidate assets at fair market value or assign the

assets to another public school.
(7) The closing charter school's authorizer shall oversee liquidation of assets and payment of debt

in accordance with board rule.
(8) The closing charter school shall:

(a) comply with all state and federal reporting requirements; and
(b) submit all documentation  and complete all state and federal reports  required by the closing

charter school's authorizer  or the State Board of Education , including documents to verify
the closing charter school's compliance with procedural requirements and satisfaction of all
financial issues.

(9) When the closing charter school's financial affairs are closed out and dissolution is complete,
the authorizer shall ensure that a final audit of the charter school is completed.

(10) On or before January 1, 2017, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative
Rulemaking Act, the State Board of Education shall, after considering suggestions from charter
school authorizers, make rules that:

(a) provide additional closure procedures for charter schools ; and
(b) establish a charter school closure process.

Amended by Chapter 213, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-511 Waivers from state board rules -- Application of statutes and rules to charter
schools.
(1) A charter school shall operate in accordance with its charter and is subject to Title 53A, State

System of Public Education, and other state laws applicable to public schools, except as
otherwise provided in this part.

(2)
(a) A charter school or any other public school or school district may apply to the State Board of

Education for a waiver of any state board rule that inhibits or hinders the school or the school
district from accomplishing its mission or educational goals set out in its strategic plan or
charter.

(b) The state board may grant the waiver, unless:
(i) the waiver would cause the school district or the school to be in violation of state or federal

law; or
(ii) the waiver would threaten the health, safety, or welfare of students in the district or at the

school.
(c) If the State Board of Education denies the waiver, the reason for the denial shall be provided

in writing to the waiver applicant.
(3)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), State Board of Education rules governing the
following do not apply to a charter school:

(i) school libraries;
(ii) required school administrative and supervisory services; and
(iii) required expenditures for instructional supplies.
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(b) A charter school shall comply with rules implementing statutes that prescribe how state
appropriations may be spent.

(4) The following provisions of Title 53A, State System of Public Education, and rules adopted
under those provisions, do not apply to a charter school:

(a) Sections 53A-1a-108 and 53A-1a-108.5, requiring the establishment of a school community
council and school improvement plan;

(b) Section 53A-3-420, requiring the use of activity disclosure statements;
(c) Section 53A-12-207, requiring notification of intent to dispose of textbooks;
(d) Section 53A-13-107, requiring annual presentations on adoption;
(e) Sections 53A-19-103 and 53A-19-105 pertaining to fiscal procedures of school districts and

local school boards; and
(f) Section 53A-14-107, requiring an independent evaluation of instructional materials.

(5) For the purposes of Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code, a charter school is
considered an educational procurement unit as defined in Section 63G-6a-103.

(6) Each charter school shall be subject to:
(a)Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act; and
(b)Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and Management Act.

(7) A charter school is exempt from Section 51-2a-201.5, requiring accounting reports of certain
nonprofit corporations.  A charter school is subject to the requirements of Section 53A-1a-507.

(8)
(a) The State Charter School Board shall, in concert with the charter schools, study existing state

law and administrative rules for the purpose of determining from which laws and rules charter
schools should be exempt.

(b)
(i) The State Charter School Board shall present recommendations for exemption to the State

Board of Education for consideration.
(ii) The State Board of Education shall consider the recommendations of the State Charter

School Board and respond within 60 days.

Amended by Chapter 355, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 363, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-512 Employees of charter schools.
(1) A charter school shall select its own employees.
(2) The school's governing board shall determine the level of compensation and all terms and

conditions of employment, except as otherwise provided in Subsections (7) and (8) and under
this part.

(3) The following statutes governing public employees and officers do not apply to a charter school:
(a)Chapter 8a, Public Education Human Resource Management Act; and
(b)Title 52, Chapter 3, Prohibiting Employment of Relatives.

(4)
(a) To accommodate differentiated staffing and better meet student needs, a charter school,

under rules adopted by the State Board of Education, shall employ teachers who:
(i) are licensed; or
(ii) on the basis of demonstrated competency, would qualify to teach under alternative

certification or authorization programs.
(b) The school's governing board shall disclose the qualifications of its teachers to the parents of

its students.
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(5) State Board of Education rules governing the licensing or certification of administrative and
supervisory personnel do not apply to charter schools.

(6)
(a) An employee of a school district may request a leave of absence in order to work in a charter

school upon approval of the local school board.
(b) While on leave, the employee may retain seniority accrued in the school district and may

continue to be covered by the benefit program of the district if the charter school and the
locally elected school board mutually agree.

(7)
(a) A proposed or authorized charter school may elect to participate as an employer for

retirement programs under:
(i)Title 49, Chapter 12, Public Employees' Contributory Retirement Act;
(ii)Title 49, Chapter 13, Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement Act; and
(iii)Title 49, Chapter 22, New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement Act.

(b) An election under this Subsection (7):
(i) shall be documented by a resolution adopted by the governing board of the charter school;

and
(ii) applies to the charter school as the employer and to all employees of the charter school.

(c) The governing board of a charter school may offer employee benefit plans for its employees:
(i) under Title 49, Chapter 20, Public Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program Act; or
(ii) under any other program.

(8) A charter school may not revoke an election to participate made under Subsection (7).
(9) The governing board of a charter school shall ensure that, prior to the beginning of each school

year, each of its employees signs a document acknowledging that the employee:
(a) has received:

(i) the disclosure required under Section 63A-4-204.5 if the charter school participates in the
Risk Management Fund; or

(ii) written disclosure similar to the disclosure required under Section 63A-4-204.5 if the charter
school does not participate in the Risk Management Fund; and

(b) understands the legal liability protection provided to the employee and what is not covered, as
explained in the disclosure.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-512.5 Criminal background checks on school personnel.
          The following individuals are required to submit to a criminal background check and ongoing

monitoring as provided in Section 53A-15-1503:
(1) an employee of a charter school who does not hold a current Utah educator license issued by

the State Board of Education under Title 53A, Chapter 6, Educator Licensing and Professional
Practices Act;

(2) a volunteer for a charter school who is given significant unsupervised access to a student in
connection with the volunteer's assignment;

(3) a contract employee, as defined in Section 53A-15-1502, who works at a charter school; and
(4) a charter school governing board member.

Amended by Chapter 389, 2015 General Session

53A-1a-513 Funding for charter schools.
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(1) As used in this section:
(a) "Basic program" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-17a-103.
(b) "Charter school students' average local revenues" means the amount determined as follows:

(i) for each student enrolled in a charter school on the previous October 1, calculate the district
per pupil local revenues of the school district in which the student resides;

(ii) sum the district per pupil local revenues for each student enrolled in a charter school on the
previous October 1; and

(iii) divide the sum calculated under Subsection (1)(b)(ii) by the number of students enrolled in
charter schools on the previous October 1.

(c) "Charter school levy per pupil revenues" means the same as that term is defined in Section
53A-1a-513.1.

(d) "District local property tax revenues" means the sum of a school district's revenue received
from the following:

(i) a voted local levy imposed under Section 53A-17a-133;
(ii) a board local levy imposed under Section 53A-17a-164, excluding revenues expended for:

(A) pupil transportation, up to the amount of revenue generated by a .0003 per dollar of
taxable value of the school district's board local levy; and

(B) the K-3 Reading Improvement Program, up to the amount of revenue generated by
a .000121 per dollar of taxable value of the school district's board local levy;

(iii) a capital local levy imposed under Section 53A-16-113; and
(iv) a guarantee described in Section 53A-17a-133, 53A-17a-164, 53A-21-202, or 53A-21-302.

(e) "District per pupil local revenues" means, using data from the most recently published school
district annual financial reports and state superintendent's annual report, an amount equal to
district local property tax revenues divided by the sum of:

(i) a school district's average daily membership; and
(ii) the average daily membership of a school district's resident students who attend charter

schools.
(f) "Resident student" means a student who is considered a resident of the school district under

Title 53A, Chapter 2, Part 2, District of Residency.
(g) "Statewide average debt service revenues" means the amount determined as follows, using

data from the most recently published state superintendent's annual report:
(i) sum the revenues of each school district from the debt service levy imposed under Section

11-14-310; and
(ii) divide the sum calculated under Subsection (1)(g)(i) by statewide school district average

daily membership.
(2)

(a) Charter schools shall receive funding as described in this section, except Subsections (3)
through (8) do not apply to charter schools described in Subsection (2)(b).

(b) Charter schools authorized by local school boards that are converted from district schools or
operate in district facilities without paying reasonable rent shall receive funding as prescribed
in Section 53A-1a-515.

(3)
(a) Except as provided in Subsections (3)(b) and (3)(c), a charter school shall receive state

funds, as applicable, on the same basis as a school district receives funds.
(b) For the 2015-16 school year, the number of weighted pupil units assigned to a charter school

for the kindergarten and grades 1 through 12 programs of the Basic School Program shall be:
(i) based on the higher of:

(A) October 1 enrollment in the current school year; or
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(B) average daily membership in the prior school year plus growth as determined under
Section 53A-17a-106; and

(ii) weighted as provided in Subsection (3)(c).
(c) In distributing funds under Chapter 17a, Minimum School Program Act, to charter schools,

charter school pupils shall be weighted, where applicable, as follows:
(i) .55 for kindergarten pupils;
(ii) .9 for pupils in grades 1 through 6;
(iii) .99 for pupils in grades 7 through 8; and
(iv) 1.2 for pupils in grades 9 through 12.

(4)
(a)

(i) A school district shall allocate a portion of school district revenues for each resident student
of the school district who is enrolled in a charter school on the previous October 1 equal to
25% of the district per pupil local revenues  excluding the amount of revenues:

(A) described in Subsection (1)(d)(iv) collected by the district; and
(B) expended by the school district for recreational facilities and activities authorized under

Title 11, Chapter 2, Playgrounds.
(ii) Nothing in this Subsection (4)(a) affects the school bond guarantee program established

under Chapter 28, Utah School Bond Guaranty Act.
(b) The State Board of Education shall:

(i) deduct an amount equal to the allocation provided under Subsection (4)(a) from state funds
the school district is authorized to receive under Chapter 17a, Minimum School Program
Act; and

(ii) remit the money to the student's charter school.
(c) Notwithstanding the method used to transfer school district revenues to charter schools as

provided in Subsection (4)(b), a school district may deduct the allocations to charter schools
under this section from:

(i) unrestricted revenues available to the school district; or
(ii) the revenue sources listed in Subsection (1)(d) based on the portion of the allocations to

charter schools attributed to each of the revenue sources listed in Subsection (1)(d).
(d)

(i) Subject to future budget constraints, the Legislature shall provide an appropriation for charter
schools for each  student enrolled on October 1 to supplement the allocation of school
district revenues under  Subsection (4)(a).

(ii) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(d)(iii), the amount of money provided by the state for a
charter school student shall be the sum of:

(A) charter school students' average local revenues minus the allocation of school district
revenues under Subsection (4)(a); and

(B) statewide average debt service revenues.
(iii) If the total of a school district's allocation for a charter school student under Subsection (4)

(a)  and the amount provided by the state under Subsection (4)(d)(ii) is less than $1427, the
state shall provide an additional supplement so that a charter school receives at least $1427
per student under this Subsection (4).

(iv)
(A) If the appropriation provided under this Subsection (4)(d) is less than the amount

prescribed by Subsection (4)(d)(ii) or (4)(d)(iii), the appropriation shall be allocated among
charter schools in proportion to each charter school's enrollment as a percentage of the
total enrollment in charter schools.
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(B) If the State Board of Education makes adjustments to Minimum School Program
allocations as provided under Section 53A-17a-105, the allocation provided in Subsection
(4)(d)(iv)(A) shall be determined after adjustments are made under Section 53A-17a-105.

(e)
(i) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), of the money provided to a charter school under

this Subsection (4), 10% shall be expended for funding school facilities only.
(ii) Subsection (4)(e)(i) does not apply to an online charter school.

(f) This Subsection (4) is repealed July 1, 2017.
(5)

(a) As described in Section 53A-1a-513.1, the State Board of Education shall distribute charter
school levy per pupil revenues to charter schools.

(b)
(i) Subject to future budget constraints, the Legislature shall provide an appropriation for charter

schools for each charter school student enrolled on October 1 to supplement the allocation
of charter school levy per pupil revenues described in Subsection (5)(a).

(ii) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(iii), the amount of money provided by the state for a
charter school student shall be the sum of:

(A) charter school students' average local revenues minus the charter school levy per pupil
revenues; and

(B) statewide average debt service revenues.
(iii) If the total of charter school levy per pupil revenues and the amount provided by the

state under Subsection (5)(b)(ii) is less than $1,427, the state shall provide an additional
supplement so that a charter school receives at least $1,427 per student under this
Subsection (5).

(iv)
(A) If the appropriation provided under this Subsection (5)(b) is less than the amount

prescribed by Subsection (5)(b)(ii) or (5)(b)(iii), the appropriation shall be allocated among
charter schools in proportion to each charter school's enrollment as a percentage of the
total enrollment in charter schools.

(B) If the State Board of Education makes adjustments to Minimum School Program
allocations as provided under Section 53A-17a-105, the allocation provided in Subsection
(5)(b)(iv)(A) shall be determined after adjustments are made under Section 53A-17a-105.

(c)
(i) Of the money provided to a charter school under this Subsection (5), 10% shall be expended

for funding school facilities only.
(ii) Subsection (5)(c)(i) does not apply to an online charter school.

(d) This Subsection (5) is effective July 1, 2017.
(6) Charter schools are eligible to receive federal funds if they meet all applicable federal

requirements and comply with relevant federal regulations.
(7) The State Board of Education shall distribute funds for charter school students directly to the

charter school.
(8)

(a) Notwithstanding Subsection (3), a charter school is not eligible to receive state transportation
funding.

(b) The board shall also adopt rules relating to the transportation of students to and from charter
schools, taking into account Sections 53A-2-210 and 53A-17a-127.

(c) The governing board of the charter school may provide transportation through an agreement
or contract with the local school board, a private provider, or parents.
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(9)
(a)

(i) In accordance with Section 53A-1a-513.5, the State Charter School Board may allocate
grants for start-up costs to charter schools from money appropriated for charter school start-
up costs.

(ii) The governing board of a charter school that receives money from a grant under Section
53A-1a-513.5 shall use the grant for expenses for planning and implementation of the
charter school.

(b) The State Board of Education shall coordinate the distribution of federal money appropriated
to help fund costs for establishing and maintaining charter schools within the state.

(10)
(a) A charter school may receive, hold, manage and use any devise, bequest, grant, endowment,

gift, or donation of any property made to the school for any of the purposes of this part.
(b) It is unlawful for any person affiliated with a charter school to demand or request any gift,

donation, or contribution from a parent, teacher, employee, or other person affiliated with
the charter school as a condition for employment or enrollment at the school or continued
attendance at the school.

Amended by Chapter 229, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-513.1 Charter school levy.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Charter School Levy Account" means the Charter School Levy Account created in Section

53A-1a-513.2.
(c) "Charter school levy per district revenues" means the product of:

(i) a school district's district per pupil local revenues; and
(ii) the number of charter school students in the school district who are resident students.

(d) "Charter school levy per pupil revenues" means an amount equal to the following:
(i) charter school levy total local revenues for a given fiscal year, adjusted if necessary as

described in Subsection (4); divided by
(ii) the number of students enrolled in a charter school on October 1 of the prior school year.

(e) "Charter school levy revenues" means the charter school levy revenues generated by a
charter school levy rate described in Subsection (2)(b)(i).

(f) "Charter school levy total local revenues" means the sum of charter school levy per district
revenues for every school district in the state for the same given fiscal year.

(g) "District per pupil local revenues" means the same as that term is defined in Section
53A-1a-513.

(h) "Resident student" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-1a-513.
(2)

(a) Beginning with the taxable year beginning on January 1, 2017, the state shall annually
impose a charter school levy as described in this Subsection (2).

(b)
(i) For each school district, before June 22, the State Tax Commission shall certify a rate for the

charter school levy described in Subsection (2)(a) to generate an amount of revenue within
a school district equal to 25% of the charter school levy per district revenues excluding the
amount of revenues:

(A) described in Subsection 53A-1a-513(1)(d)(iv); and
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(B) expended by the school district for recreational facilities and activities authorized under
Title 11, Chapter 2, Playgrounds.

(ii) To calculate a charter school levy rate for a school district, the State Tax Commission shall
use the calculation method described in Subsection 59-2-924(3)(c)(ii).

(c) The charter school levy shall be separately stated on a tax notice.
(3)

(a) A county treasurer shall collect the charter school levy revenues for all school districts located
within the county treasurer's county and remit the money monthly to the state treasurer.

(b) The state treasurer shall deposit the charter school levy revenues received from a county
treasurer into the Charter School Levy Account.

(4)
(a) For each charter school student, the board shall distribute the charter school per pupil levy

revenues from the Charter School Levy Account to the student's charter school in accordance
with this Subsection (4).

(b) For a given fiscal year, if the actual charter school levy total local revenues are more than the
estimated charter school levy total local revenues the board shall:

(i) deduct the amount of revenue that exceeds the estimated charter school levy total local
revenues from the actual charter school levy total local revenues; and

(ii) use the remaining amount to calculate the charter school per pupil levy revenues.
(c) For a given fiscal year, if the actual charter school total local revenues are less than the

estimated charter school levy total local revenues, the board shall:
(i) if sufficient funds are available in the Charter School Levy Account, add an amount of funds

from the Charter School Levy Account to the charter school levy total local revenues to
equal the estimated charter school levy total local revenues; and

(ii) if sufficient funds are not available in the Charter School Levy Account, calculate the charter
school per pupil levy revenues using the actual amount of the charter school levy total local
revenues.

Enacted by Chapter 229, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-513.2 Charter School Levy Account.
(1) As used in this section, "account" means the Charter School Levy Account created in this

section.
(2) There is created within the Education Fund a restricted account known as the "Charter School

Levy Account."
(3) The account shall be funded by amounts deposited into the account in accordance with Section

53A-1a-513.1.
(4) Upon appropriation from the Legislature, the State Board of Education shall distribute funds

from the account as described in Section 53A-1a-513.1.
(5) The account shall earn interest.
(6) Interest earned on the account shall be deposited into the account.
(7) Funds in the account are nonlapsing.

Enacted by Chapter 229, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-513.5 Charter school start-up costs.
(1)
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(a) The State Charter School Board shall use money appropriated for charter school start-
up costs to provide grants to charter schools to pay for expenses for the planning and
implementation of a charter school.

(b) The State Charter School Board:
(i) may use up to 8% of the money appropriated for charter school start-up costs for financial

monitoring of new charter schools and to provide professional development or technical
assistance for governing board members and staff of new charter schools; and

(ii) in accordance with rules adopted by the State Board of Education, may use up to $200,000
of the money appropriated for charter school start-up costs for a mentoring program for new
and existing charter schools.

(2) The amount of a grant for charter school start-up costs shall be based on the authorized
enrollment of the charter school.

(3) The State Board of Education shall make rules consistent with this section specifying:
(a) procedures for applying for and awarding grants for charter school start-up costs;
(b) permitted uses of grant money; and
(c) requirements for a charter school to submit the following to the State Charter School Board:

(i) a budget for the grant money; and
(ii) a final report on the expenditure of the grant money.

(4) The State Board of Education shall make rules establishing a mentoring program for new and
existing charter schools.

Enacted by Chapter 318, 2012 General Session

53A-1a-514 Tort liability.
(1) An employee of a charter school is a public employee and the governing board is a public

employer in the same manner as a local school board for purposes of tort liability.
(2) The governing board of a charter school, the nonprofit corporation under which the charter

school is organized and managed, and the school are solely liable for any damages resulting
from a legal challenge involving the operation of the school.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-515 Charters authorized by local school boards -- Application process -- Local
school board responsibilities.
(1)

(a) An applicant identified in Section 53A-1a-504 may submit an application to a local school
board to establish and operate a charter school within the geographical boundaries of the
school district administered by the local school board.

(b)
(i) The principal, teachers, or parents of students at an existing public school may submit an

application to the local school board to convert the school or a portion of the school to
charter status.

(A) If the entire school is applying for charter status, at least two-thirds of the licensed
educators employed at the school and at least two-thirds of the parents or guardians of
students enrolled at the school must have signed a petition approving the application prior
to its submission to the charter school authorizer.

(B) If only a portion of the school is applying for charter status, the percentage is reduced to a
simple majority.
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(ii) The local school board may not approve an application submitted under Subsection (1)(b)(i)
unless the local school board determines that:

(A) students opting not to attend the proposed converted school would have access to a
comparable public education alternative; and

(B) current teachers who choose not to teach at the converted charter school or who are not
retained by the school at the time of its conversion would receive a first preference for
transfer to open teaching positions for which they qualify within the school district, and,
if no positions are open, contract provisions or board policy regarding reduction in staff
would apply.

(2)
(a) An existing public school that converts to charter status under a charter granted by a local

school board may:
(i) continue to receive the same services from the school district that it received prior to its

conversion; or
(ii) contract out for some or all of those services with other public or private providers.

(b) Any other charter school authorized by a local school board may contract with the board to
receive some or all of the services referred to in Subsection (3)(a).

(c) Except as specified in a charter agreement, local school board assets do not transfer to an
existing public school that converts to charter status under a charter granted by a local school
board under this section.

(3)
(a)

(i) A public school that converts to a charter school under a charter granted by a local school
board shall receive funding:

(A) through the school district; and
(B) on the same basis as it did prior to its conversion to a charter school.

(ii) The school may also receive federal money designated for charter schools under any
federal program.

(b)
(i) A local school board-authorized charter school operating in a facility owned by the school

district and not paying reasonable rent to the school district shall receive funding:
(A) through the school district; and
(B) on the same basis that other district schools receive funding.

(ii) The school may also receive federal money designated for charter schools under any
federal program.

(c) Subject to the provisions in Section 53A-1a-502.5, a charter school authorized by a local
school board shall receive funding as provided in Section 53A-1a-513.

(d)
(i) A charter school authorized by a local school board, but not described in Subsection (3)(a),

(b), or (c) shall receive funding:
(A) through the school district; and
(B) on the same basis that other district schools receive funding.

(ii) The school may also receive federal money designated for charter schools under any
federal program.

(4)
(a) A local school board that receives an application for a charter school under this section shall,

within 45 days, either accept or reject the application.
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(b) If the board rejects the application, it shall notify the applicant in writing of the reason for the
rejection.

(c) The applicant may submit a revised application for reconsideration by the board.
(d) If the local school board refuses to authorize the applicant, the applicant may seek a charter

from the State Charter School Board under Section 53A-1a-505.
(5) The State Board of Education shall make a rule providing for a timeline for the opening of a

charter school following the approval of a charter school application by a local school board.
(6) After approval of a charter school application and in accordance with Section 53A-1a-508, the

applicant and the local school board shall set forth the terms and conditions for the operation of
the charter school in a written charter agreement.

(7) A local school board shall:
(a) annually review and evaluate the performance of charter schools authorized by the local

school board and hold the schools accountable for their performance;
(b) monitor charter schools authorized by the local school board for compliance with federal and

state laws, rules, and regulations; and
(c) provide technical support to charter schools authorized by the local school board to assist

them in understanding and performing their charter obligations.
(8) A local school board may terminate a charter school it authorizes as provided in Sections

53A-1a-509 and 53A-1a-510.
(9) In addition to the exemptions described in Sections 53A-1a-511 and 53A-1a-512, a charter

school authorized by a local school board is:
(a) not required to separately submit a report or information required under this title to the State

Board of Education if the information is included in a report or information that is submitted by
the local school board or school district; and

(b) exempt from the requirement under Section 53A-1a-507 that a charter school shall be
organized and managed under Title 16, Chapter 6a, Utah Revised Nonprofit Corporation Act.

(10) Before a local school board accepts a charter school application, the local school board shall,
in accordance with State Board of Education rules, establish and make public the local school
board's:

(a) application requirements, in accordance with Section 53A-1a-504;
(b) application process, including timelines, in accordance with this section; and
(c) minimum academic, financial, and enrollment standards.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-517 Charter school assets.
(1)

(a) A charter school may receive, hold, manage, and use any devise, bequest, grant,
endowment, gift, or donation of any asset made to the school for any of the purposes of this
part.

(b) Unless a donor or grantor specifically provides otherwise in writing, all assets described in
Subsection (1) shall be presumed to be made to the charter school and shall be included in
the charter school's assets.

(2) It is unlawful for any person affiliated with a charter school to demand or request any gift,
donation, or contribution from a parent, teacher, employee, or other person affiliated with
the charter school as a condition for employment or enrollment at the school or continued
attendance at the school.

(3) All assets purchased with charter school funds shall be included in the charter school's assets.
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(4) A charter school may not dispose of its assets in violation of the provisions of this part, state
board rules, policies of its charter school authorizer, or its charter, including the provisions
governing the closure of a charter school under Section 53A-1a-510.5.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-518 Regulated transactions and relationships -- Definitions -- Rulemaking.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Charter school officer" means:
(i) a member of a charter school's governing board;
(ii) a member of a board or an officer of a nonprofit corporation under which a charter school is

organized and managed; or
(iii) the chief administrative officer of a charter school.

(b)
(i) "Employment" means a position in which a person's salary, wages, pay, or compensation,

whether as an employee or contractor, is paid from charter school funds.
(ii) "Employment" does not include a charter school volunteer.

(c) "Relative" means a father, mother, husband, wife, son, daughter, sister, brother, uncle, aunt,
nephew, niece, first cousin, mother-in-law, father-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, son-in-
law, or daughter-in-law.

(2)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), a relative of a charter school officer may not be

employed at a charter school.
(b) If a relative of a charter school officer is to be considered for employment in a charter school,

the charter school officer shall:
(i) disclose the relationship, in writing, to the other charter school officers;
(ii) submit the employment decision to the charter school's governing board for the approval, by

majority vote, of the charter school's governing board;
(iii) abstain from voting on the issue; and
(iv) be absent from any meeting when the employment is being considered and determined.

(3)
(a) Except as provided in Subsections (3)(b) and (3)(c), a charter school officer or a relative of

a charter school officer may not have a financial interest in a contract or other transaction
involving a charter school in which the charter school officer serves as a charter school
officer.

(b) If a charter school's governing board considers entering into a contract or executing a
transaction in which a charter school officer or a relative of a charter school officer has a
financial interest, the charter school officer shall:

(i) disclose the financial interest, in writing, to the other charter school officers;
(ii) submit the contract or transaction decision to the charter school's governing board for the

approval, by majority vote, of the charter school's governing board;
(iii) abstain from voting on the issue; and
(iv) be absent from any meeting when the contract or transaction is being considered and

determined.
(c) The provisions in Subsection (3)(a) do not apply to a reasonable contract of employment for:

(i) the chief administrative officer of a charter school; or
(ii) a relative of the chief administrative officer of a charter school whose employment is

approved in accordance with the provisions in Subsection (2).
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(4) The State Board of Education or State Charter School Board may not operate a charter school.

Amended by Chapter 162, 2010 General Session

53A-1a-519 Charter school students' participation in extracurricular activities at other public
schools.
(1) A charter school student is eligible to participate in an extracurricular activity not offered by the

student's charter school at:
(a) the school within whose attendance boundaries the student's custodial parent or legal

guardian resides;
(b) the public school from which the student withdrew for the purpose of attending a charter

school; or
(c) a public school that is not a charter school if the student's charter school is located on the

campus of the public school or has local school board approval to locate on the campus of the
public school.

(2) In addition to the public schools listed in Subsection (1), the State Board of Education may
establish rules to allow a charter school student to participate in an extracurricular activity at a
public school other than a public school listed in Subsection (1).

(3) A school other than a school described in Subsection (1)(a), (b), or (c) may allow a charter
school student to participate in extracurricular activities other than:

(a) interschool competitions of athletic teams sponsored and supported by a public school; or
(b) interschool contests or competitions for music, drama, or forensic groups or teams sponsored

and supported by a public school.
(4) A charter school student is eligible for extracurricular activities at a public school consistent with

eligibility standards as applied to full-time students of the public school.
(5) A school district or public school may not impose additional requirements on a charter school

student to participate in extracurricular activities that are not imposed on full-time students of
the public school.

(6)
(a) The State Board of Education shall make rules establishing fees for charter school students'

participation in extracurricular activities at school district schools.
(b) The rules shall provide that:

(i) charter school students pay the same fees as other students to participate in extracurricular
activities;

(ii) charter school students are eligible for fee waivers pursuant to Section 53A-12-103;
(iii) for each charter school student who participates in an extracurricular activity at a school

district school, the charter school shall pay a share of the school district's costs for the
extracurricular activity; and

(iv) a charter school's share of the costs of an extracurricular activity shall reflect state and
local tax revenues expended, except capital facilities expenditures, for an extracurricular
activity in a school district or school divided by total student enrollment of the school district
or school.

(c) In determining a charter school's share of the costs of an extracurricular activity under
Subsections (6)(b)(iii) and (iv), the State Board of Education may establish uniform fees
statewide based on average costs statewide or average costs within a sample of school
districts.
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(7) When selection to participate in an extracurricular activity at a public school is made on a
competitive basis, a charter school student is eligible to try out for and participate in the activity
as provided in this section.

Amended by Chapter 433, 2011 General Session

53A-1a-520 Accountability -- Rules.
          In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, and after

consultation with chartering entities, the State Board of Education shall make rules that:
(1) require a charter school to develop an accountability plan, approved by its charter school

authorizer, during its first year of operation;
(2) require an authorizer to:

(a) visit a charter school at least once during:
(i) its first year of operation; and
(ii) the review period described under Subsection (3); and

(b) provide written reports to its charter schools after the visits; and
(3) establish a review process that is required of a charter school once every five years by its

authorizer.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-521 Charter schools authorized by a board of trustees of a higher education
institution -- Application process -- Board of trustees responsibilities.
(1) Subject to the approval of the State Board of Education and except as provided in Subsection

(8), an applicant identified in Section 53A-1a-504 may enter into an agreement with a board of
trustees of a higher education institution authorizing the applicant to establish and operate a
charter school.

(2)
(a) An applicant applying for authorization from a board of trustees to establish and operate a

charter school shall provide a copy of the application to the State Charter School Board and
the local school board of the school district in which the proposed charter school shall be
located either before or at the same time the applicant files the application with the board of
trustees.

(b) The State Charter School Board and the local school board may review the application and
offer suggestions or recommendations to the applicant or the board of trustees before acting
on the application.

(c) The board of trustees shall give due consideration to suggestions or recommendations made
by the State Charter School Board or the local school board under Subsection (2)(b).

(3)
(a) If a board of trustees approves an application to establish and operate a charter school, the

board of trustees shall submit the application to the State Board of Education.
(b) The State Board of Education shall, by majority vote, within 60 days of receipt of the

application, approve or deny an application approved by a board of trustees.
(c) The State Board of Education's action under Subsection (3)(b) is final action subject to judicial

review.
(4) The State Board of Education shall make a rule providing a timeline for the opening of a charter

school following the approval of a charter school application by a board of trustees.
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(5) After approval of a charter school application, the applicant and the board of trustees shall
set forth the terms and conditions for the operation of the charter school in a written charter
agreement.

(6)
(a) The school's charter may include a provision that the charter school pay an annual fee for the

board of trustees' costs in providing oversight of, and technical support to, the charter school
in accordance with Subsection (7).

(b) In the first two years that a charter school is in operation, an annual fee described in
Subsection (6)(a) may not exceed the product of 3% of the revenue the charter school
receives from the state in the current fiscal year.

(c) Beginning with the third year that a charter school is in operation, an annual fee described in
Subsection (6)(a) may not exceed the product of 1% of the revenue a charter school receives
from the state in the current fiscal year.

(d) An annual fee described in Subsection (6)(a) shall be:
(i) paid to the board of trustees' higher education institution; and
(ii) expended as directed by the board of trustees.

(7) A board of trustees shall:
(a) annually review and evaluate the performance of charter schools authorized by the board of

trustees and hold the schools accountable for their performance;
(b) monitor charter schools authorized by the board of trustees for compliance with federal and

state laws, rules, and regulations; and
(c) provide technical support to charter schools authorized by the board of trustees to assist them

in understanding and performing their charter obligations.
(8)

(a) In addition to complying with the requirements of this section, a board of directors of an
applied technology college within the Utah College of Applied Technology shall obtain the
approval of the Utah College of Applied Technology Board of Trustees before entering into an
agreement to establish and operate a charter school.

(b) If a board of directors of an applied technology college within the Utah College of Applied
Technology approves an application to establish and operate a charter school, the applied
technology college board of directors shall submit the application to the Utah College of
Applied Technology Board of Trustees.

(c) The Utah College of Applied Technology Board of Trustees shall, by majority vote, within 60
days of receipt of the application, approve or deny the application approved by the applied
technology college board of directors.

(d) The Utah College of Applied Technology Board of Trustees may deny an application
approved by an applied technology college board of directors if the proposed charter school
does not accomplish a purpose of charter schools as provided in Section 53A-1a-503.

(e) A charter school application may not be denied on the basis that the establishment of the
charter school will have any or all of the following impacts on a public school, including
another charter school:

(i) an enrollment decline;
(ii) a decrease in funding; or
(iii) a modification of programs or services.

(9)
(a) Subject to the requirements of this part, an applied technology college board of directors may

establish:
(i) procedures for submitting applications to establish and operate a charter school; and
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(ii) criteria for approval of an application to establish and operate a charter school.
(b) The Utah College of Applied Technology Board of Trustees may not establish policy

governing the procedures or criteria described in Subsection (9)(a).
(10) Before an applied technology college board of directors accepts a charter school application,

the applied technology college board of directors shall, in accordance with State Board of
Education rules, establish and make public:

(a) application requirements, in accordance with Section 53A-1a-504;
(b) application process, including timelines, in accordance with this section; and
(c) minimum academic, financial, and enrollment standards.

Amended by Chapter 236, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-522 Charter School Revolving Account.
(1) As used in this section, "account" means the Charter School Revolving Account.
(2)

(a) There is created within the Uniform School Fund a restricted account known as the "Charter
School Revolving Account" to provide assistance to charter schools to:

(i) meet school building construction and renovation needs; and
(ii) pay for expenses related to the start up of a new charter school or the expansion of an

existing charter school.
(b) The State Board of Education, in consultation with the State Charter School Board, shall

administer the Charter School Revolving Account in accordance with rules adopted by the
State Board of Education.

(3) The Charter School Revolving Account shall consist of:
(a) money appropriated to the account by the Legislature;
(b) money received from the repayment of loans made from the account; and
(c) interest earned on money in the account.

(4) The state superintendent of public instruction shall make loans to charter schools from the
account to pay for the costs of:

(a) planning expenses;
(b) constructing or renovating charter school buildings;
(c) equipment and supplies; or
(d) other start-up or expansion expenses.

(5) Loans to new charter schools or charter schools with urgent facility needs may be given priority.
(6)

(a) The State Board of Education shall establish a committee to:
(i) review requests by charter schools for loans under this section; and
(ii) make recommendations regarding approval or disapproval of the loan applications to the

State Charter School Board and the State Board of Education.
(b)

(i) A committee established under Subsection (6)(a) shall include individuals who have
expertise or experience in finance, real estate, or charter school administration.

(ii) Of the members appointed to a committee established under Subsection (6)(a):
(A) one member shall be nominated by the governor; and
(B) the remaining members shall be selected from a list of nominees submitted by the State

Charter School Board.
(c) If the committee recommends approval of a loan application under Subsection (6)(a)(ii), the

committee's recommendation shall include:
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(i) the recommended amount of the loan;
(ii) the payback schedule; and
(iii) the interest rate to be charged.

(d) A committee member may not:
(i) be a relative, as defined in Section 53A-1a-518, of a loan applicant; or
(ii) have a pecuniary interest, directly or indirectly, with a loan applicant or any person or entity

that contracts with a loan applicant.
(7) A loan under this section may not be made unless the State Board of Education, in consultation

with the State Charter School Board, approves the loan.
(8) The term of a loan to a charter school under this section may not exceed five years.
(9) The State Board of Education may not approve loans to charter schools under this section that

exceed a total of $2,000,000 in any fiscal year.
(10)

(a) On March 16, 2011, the assets of the Charter School Building Subaccount administered by
the State Board of Education shall be deposited into the Charter School Revolving Account.

(b) Beginning on March 16, 2011, loan payments for loans made from the Charter School
Building Subaccount shall be deposited into the Charter School Revolving Account.

Enacted by Chapter 30, 2011 General Session

53A-1a-523 Property tax exemption for property owned by a charter school.
          For purposes of a property tax exemption for property of school districts under Subsection

59-2-1101(3)(a)(ii)(B), a charter school is considered to be a school district.

Enacted by Chapter 436, 2011 General Session

53A-1a-524 Safe technology utilization and digital citizenship.
          A charter school governing board, or a council formed by a charter school governing board to

prepare a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program money under Section 53A-16-101.5:
(1) shall provide for education and awareness on safe technology utilization and digital citizenship

that empowers:
(a) a student to make smart media and online choices; and
(b) a parent or guardian to know how to discuss safe technology use with the parent's or

guardian's child;
(2) shall partner with the school's principal and other administrators to ensure that adequate on

and off campus Internet filtering is installed and consistently configured to prevent viewing of
harmful content by students and school personnel, in accordance with charter school governing
board policy and Subsection 53A-1-706(3); and

(3) may partner with one or more non-profit organizations to fulfill the duties described in
Subsections (1) and (2).

Amended by Chapter 220, 2016 General Session

Part 6
Public Education Job Enhancement Program
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53A-1a-601 Job enhancements for mathematics, science, technology, and special education
training.
(1) As used in this part, "special education teacher" includes occupational therapist.
(2) The Public Education Job Enhancement Program is established to attract, train, and retain

highly qualified:
(a) secondary teachers with expertise in mathematics, physics, chemistry, physical science,

learning technology, or information technology;
(b) special education teachers; and
(c) teachers in grades four through six with mathematics endorsements.

(3) The program shall provide for the following:
(a) application by a school district superintendent or the principal of a school on behalf of a

qualified teacher;
(b) an award of up to $20,000 or a scholarship to cover the tuition costs for a master's degree,

an endorsement, or graduate education in the areas identified in Subsection (2) to be given to
selected public school teachers on a competitive basis:

(i) whose applications are approved; and
(ii) who teach in the state's public education system for four years in the areas identified in

Subsection (2);
(c)

(i) as to the cash awards under Subsection (3)(b), payment of the award in two installments,
with an initial payment of up to $10,000 at the beginning of the term and up to $10,000 at
the conclusion of the term;

(ii) repayment of a portion of the initial payment by the teacher if the teacher fails to complete
two years of the four-year teaching term in the areas identified in Subsection (2) as provided
by rule of the State Board of Education in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah
Administrative Rulemaking Act, unless waived for good cause by the State Board of
Education; and

(iii) nonpayment of the second installment if the teacher fails to complete the four-year teaching
term; and

(d)
(i) as to the scholarships awarded under Subsection (3)(b), provision for the providing institution

to certify adequate performance in obtaining the master's degree, endorsement, or graduate
education in order for the teacher to maintain the scholarship; and

(ii) repayment by the teacher of a prorated portion of the scholarship, if the teacher fails to
complete the authorized classes or program or to teach in the state system of public
education in the areas identified in Subsection (2) for four years after obtaining the master's
degree, the endorsement, or graduate education.

(4) An individual teaching in the public schools under a letter of authorization may participate in the
cash award program if:

(a) the individual has taught under the letter of authorization for at least one year in the areas
referred to in Subsection (2); and

(b) the application made under Subsection (3)(a) is based in large part upon the individual
receiving a superior evaluation as a classroom teacher.

(5)
(a) The program may provide for the expenditure of up to $1,000,000 of available money, if

at least an equal amount of matching money becomes available, to provide professional
development training to superintendents, administrators, and principals in the effective use of
technology in public schools.
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(b) An award granted under this Subsection (5) shall be made in accordance with criteria
developed and adopted by the State Board of Education and in accordance with Title 63G,
Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.

(c) An amount up to $120,000 of the $1,000,000 authorized in Subsection (5)(a) may be
expended, regardless of the matching money being available.

Amended by Chapter 258, 2015 General Session

Part 7
Carson Smith Scholarships for Students with Special Needs Act

53A-1a-701 Title.
          This part is known as the "Carson Smith Scholarships for Students with Special Needs Act."

Enacted by Chapter 35, 2005 General Session

53A-1a-702 Findings and purpose.
          The Legislature finds that:

(1) the state system of public education as established and maintained under the state constitution
shall be open to all children of the state;

(2) students with disabilities have special needs that merit educational alternatives which will allow
students to learn in an appropriate setting and manner;

(3) those needs may include teachers trained in special teaching methods, small class sizes, and
special materials, equipment, and classroom environments;

(4) parents are best equipped to make decisions for their children, including the educational setting
that will best serve the interests and educational needs of their children;

(5) the establishment of this scholarship program is justified on the basis of funding the special
needs of students with disabilities as with other programs similarly funded by the state for
people with disabilities;

(6) children, parents, and families are the primary beneficiaries of the scholarship program
authorized in this part and any benefit to private schools, sectarian or otherwise, is purely
incidental;

(7) the scholarship program authorized in this part is:
(a) enacted for the valid secular purpose of tailoring a student's education to that student's

specific needs;
(b) neutral with respect to religion;
(c) provides limited assistance to citizens who are then able to direct their resources to religious

and secular schools solely as a result of their genuine and independent private choices; and
(d) in accordance with the best interests of the taxpayers and citizens of the state to encourage

educational opportunities; and
(8) nothing in this part shall be construed as a basis for granting vouchers or tuition tax credits for

any other students, with or without disabilities.

Enacted by Chapter 35, 2005 General Session

53A-1a-703 Definitions.
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          As used in this part:
(1) "Assessment team" means a team consisting of:

(a) the student's parent or guardian;
(b) the student's private school classroom teacher;
(c) special education personnel from the student's school district; and
(d) if available, special education personnel from the private school at which the student is

enrolled.
(2) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(3) "Eligible private school" means a private school that meets the requirements of Section

53A-1a-705.
(4) "Individualized Education Program" or "IEP" means a written statement for a student with

a disability that is developed, reviewed, and revised in accordance with the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq.

(5) "Local Education Agency" or "LEA" means:
(a) a school district; or
(b) a charter school.

(6) "Preschool" means an education program for a student who:
(a) is age three, four, or five; and
(b) has not entered kindergarten.

(7) "Scholarship student" means a student who receives a scholarship under this part.
(8) "Value of the weighted pupil unit" means the amount established each year in statute that is

multiplied by the number of weighted pupil units to yield the funding level for the basic state-
supported school program.

Amended by Chapter 374, 2015 General Session

53A-1a-704 Scholarship program created -- Qualifications.
(1) The Carson Smith Scholarship Program is created to award scholarships to students with

disabilities to attend a private school.
(2) To qualify for a scholarship:

(a) the student's custodial parent or legal guardian shall reside within Utah;
(b) the student shall have one or more of the following disabilities:

(i) an intellectual disability;
(ii) a hearing impairment;
(iii) a speech or language impairment;
(iv) a visual impairment;
(v) a serious emotional disturbance;
(vi) an orthopedic impairment;
(vii) autism;
(viii) traumatic brain injury;
(ix) other health impairment;
(x) specific learning disabilities; or
(xi) a developmental delay, provided the student is at least three years of age, pursuant to

Subsection (2)(c), and is younger than eight years of age;
(c) the student shall be at least three years of age before September 2 of the year in which

admission to a private school is sought and under 19 years of age on the last day of the
school year as determined by the private school, or, if the individual has not graduated from
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high school, will be under 22 years of age on the last day of the school year as determined by
the private school; and

(d) except as provided in Subsection (3), the student shall:
(i) be enrolled in a Utah public school in the school year prior to the school year the student will

be enrolled in a private school;
(ii) have an IEP; and
(iii) have obtained acceptance for admission to an eligible private school.

(3) The requirements of Subsection (2)(d) do not apply in the following circumstances:
(a) the student is enrolled or has obtained acceptance for admission to an eligible private school

that has previously served students with disabilities; and
(b) an assessment team is able to readily determine with reasonable certainty:

(i) that the student has a disability listed in Subsection (2)(b) and would qualify for special
education services, if enrolled in a public school; and

(ii) for the purpose of establishing the scholarship amount, the appropriate level of special
education services which should be provided to the student.

(4)
(a) To receive a full-year scholarship under this part, a parent of a student shall submit to the

LEA where the student is enrolled an application on or before the August 15 immediately
preceding the first day of the school year for which the student would receive the scholarship.

(b) The board may waive the full-year scholarship deadline described in Subsection (4)(a).
(c) An application for a scholarship shall contain an acknowledgment by the parent that the

selected school is qualified and capable of providing the level of special education services
required for the student.

(5)
(a) The scholarship application form shall contain the following statement:

          "I acknowledge that:
(1) A private school may not provide the same level of special education services that are
provided in a public school;
(2) I will assume full financial responsibility for the education of my scholarship student if I
accept this scholarship;
(3) Acceptance of this scholarship has the same effect as a parental refusal to consent to
services pursuant to Section 614(a)(1) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20
U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq.; and
(4) My child may return to a public school at any time."

(b) Upon acceptance of the scholarship, the parent assumes full financial responsibility for the
education of the scholarship student.

(c) Acceptance of a scholarship has the same effect as a parental refusal to consent to services
pursuant to Section 614(a)(1) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec.
1400 et seq.

(d) The creation of the scholarship program or granting of a scholarship does not:
(i) imply that a public school did not provide a free and appropriate public education for a

student; or
(ii) constitute a waiver or admission by the state.

(6)
(a) A scholarship shall remain in force for three years.
(b) A scholarship shall be extended for an additional three years, if:

(i) the student is evaluated by an assessment team; and
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(ii) the assessment team determines that the student would qualify for special education
services, if enrolled in a public school.

(c) The assessment team shall determine the appropriate level of special education services
which should be provided to the student for the purpose of setting the scholarship amount.

(d) A scholarship shall be extended for successive three-year periods as provided in Subsections
(6)(a) and (b):

(i) until the student graduates from high school; or
(ii) if the student does not graduate from high school, until the student is age 22.

(7) A student's parent, at any time, may remove the student from a private school and place the
student in another eligible private school and retain the scholarship.

(8) A scholarship student may not participate in a dual enrollment program pursuant to Section
53A-11-102.5.

(9) The parents or guardians of a scholarship student have the authority to choose the private
school that will best serve the interests and educational needs of that student, which may be
a sectarian or nonsectarian school, and to direct the scholarship resources available for that
student solely as a result of their genuine and independent private choices.

(10)
(a) An LEA shall notify in writing the parents or guardians of students enrolled in the LEA who

have an IEP of the availability of a scholarship to attend a private school through the Carson
Smith Scholarship Program.

(b) The notice described under Subsection (10)(a) shall:
(i) be provided no later than 30 days after the student initially qualifies for an IEP;
(ii) be provided annually no later than February 1 to all students who have an IEP; and
(iii) include the address of the Internet website maintained by the board that provides

prospective applicants with detailed program information and application forms for the
Carson Smith Scholarship Program.

(c) An LEA or school within an LEA that has an enrolled student who has an IEP shall post the
address of the Internet website maintained by the board that provides prospective applicants
with detailed program information and application forms for the Carson Smith Scholarship
Program on the LEA's or school's website, if the LEA or school has one.

Amended by Chapter 374, 2015 General Session

53A-1a-705 Eligible private schools.
(1) To be eligible to enroll a scholarship student, a private school shall:

(a) have a physical location in Utah where the scholarship students attend classes and have
direct contact with the school's teachers;

(b)
(i)

(A) obtain an audit and report from a licensed independent certified public accountant that
conforms with the following requirements:

(I) the audit shall be performed in accordance with generally accepted auditing standards;
(II) the financial statements shall be presented in accordance with generally accepted

accounting principles; and
(III) the audited financial statements shall be as of a period within the last 12 months; or

(B) contract with a licensed independent certified public accountant to perform an agreed
upon procedure as follows:
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(I) the agreed upon procedure shall be to determine that the private school has adequate
working capital to maintain operations for the first full year; and

(II) working capital shall be calculated by subtracting current liabilities from current assets;
and

(ii) submit the audit report or report of the agreed upon procedure to the board when the private
school applies to accept scholarship students;

(c) comply with the antidiscrimination provisions of 42 U.S.C. Sec. 2000d;
(d) meet state and local health and safety laws and codes;
(e) disclose to the parent of each prospective student, before the student is enrolled, the special

education services that will be provided to the student, including the cost of those services;
(f)

(i) administer an annual assessment of each scholarship student's academic progress;
(ii) report the results of the assessment to the student's parent; and
(iii) make the results available to the assessment team evaluating the student pursuant to

Subsection 53A-1a-704(6);
(g) employ or contract with teachers who:

(i) hold baccalaureate or higher degrees;
(ii) have at least three years of teaching experience in public or private schools; or
(iii) have the necessary special skills, knowledge, or expertise that qualifies them to provide

instruction:
(A) in the subjects taught; and
(B) to the special needs students taught;

(h) require the following individuals to submit to a  nationwide, fingerprint-based  criminal
background check and ongoing monitoring, in accordance with Section 53A-15-1503, as a
condition for employment or appointment , as authorized by the Adam Walsh Child Protection
and Safety Act of 2006, Pub. L. No. 109-248 :

(i) an employee who does not hold a current Utah educator license issued by the board under
Title 53A, Chapter 6, Educator Licensing and Professional Practices Act;

(ii) a contract employee; and
(iii) a volunteer who is given significant unsupervised access to a student in connection with the

volunteer's assignment; and
(i) provide to parents the relevant credentials of the teachers who will be teaching their students.

(2) A private school is not eligible to enroll scholarship students if:
(a) the audit report submitted under Subsection (1)(b) contains a going concern explanatory

paragraph; or
(b) the report of the agreed upon procedure submitted under Subsection (1)(b) shows that the

private school does not have adequate working capital to maintain operations for the first full
year, as determined under Subsection (1)(b).

(3) A home school is not eligible to enroll scholarship students.
(4) Residential treatment facilities licensed by the state are not eligible to enroll scholarship

students.
(5) A private school intending to enroll scholarship students shall submit an application to the board

by May 1 of the school year preceding the school year in which it intends to enroll scholarship
students.

(6) The board shall:
(a) approve a private school's application to enroll scholarship students, if the private school

meets the eligibility requirements of this section; and
(b) make available to the public a list of the eligible private schools.
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(7) An approved eligible private school that changes ownership shall submit a new application to
the board and demonstrate that it continues to meet the eligibility requirements of this section.

Amended by Chapter 44, 2016 General Session

53A-1a-706 Scholarship payments.
(1)

(a) Scholarships shall be awarded by the board subject to the availability of money appropriated
by the Legislature for that purpose.

(b) The Legislature shall annually appropriate money to the board from the General Fund to
make scholarship payments.

(c) Beginning with the 2013-14 school year, the Legislature shall annually increase the amount of
money appropriated under Subsection (1)(b) by an amount equal to the product of:

(i) the average scholarship amount awarded as of December 1 in the previous year; and
(ii) the product of:

(A) the number of students in preschool through grade 12 in public schools statewide who
have an IEP on December 1 of the previous year; and

(B) 0.0007.
(d) If the number of scholarship students as of December 1 in any school year equals or exceeds

7% of the number of students in preschool through grade 12 in public schools statewide who
have an IEP as of December 1 in the same school year, the Public Education Appropriations
Subcommittee shall study the requirement to increase appropriations for scholarship
payments as provided in this section.

(e)
(i) If money is not available to pay for all scholarships requested, the scholarships shall be

allocated on a random basis except that preference shall be given to students who received
scholarships in the previous school year.

(ii) If money is insufficient in a school year to pay for all the continuing scholarships, new
scholarships may not be awarded during that school year and the money available for
scholarships shall be prorated among the eligible students who received scholarships in the
previous year.

(2) Full-year scholarships shall be awarded in the following amounts:
(a) for a student who received an average of 180 minutes per day or more of special education

services in a public school before transferring to a private school, an amount not to exceed
the lesser of:

(i) the value of the weighted pupil unit multiplied by 2.5; or
(ii) the private school tuition and fees; and

(b) for a student who received an average of less than 180 minutes per day of special education
services in a public school before transferring to a private school, an amount not to exceed
the lesser of:

(i) the value of the weighted pupil unit multiplied by 1.5; or
(ii) the private school tuition and fees.

(3) The scholarship amount for a student enrolled in a half-day kindergarten or part-day preschool
program shall be the amount specified in Subsection (2)(a) or (b) multiplied by .55.

(4)
(a) The scholarship amount for a student who receives a waiver under Subsection 53A-1a-704(3)

shall be based upon the assessment team's determination of the appropriate level of special
education services to be provided to the student.
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(b)
(i) If the student requires an average of 180 minutes per day or more of special education

services, a full-year scholarship shall be equal to the amount specified in Subsection (2)(a).
(ii) If the student requires less than an average of 180 minutes per day of special education

services, a full-year scholarship shall be equal to the amount specified in Subsection (2)(b).
(iii) If the student is enrolled in a half-day kindergarten or part-day preschool program, a full-

year scholarship is equal to the amount specified in Subsection (3).
(5)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), upon review and receipt of documentation that
verifies a student's admission to, or continuing enrollment and attendance at, a private school,
the board shall make scholarship payments quarterly in four equal amounts in each school
year in which a scholarship is in force.

(b) In accordance with board rule, the board may make a scholarship payment before the first
quarterly payment of the school year, if a private school requires partial payment of tuition
before the start of the school year to reserve space for a student admitted to the school.

(6) A parent of a scholarship student shall notify the board if the student does not have continuing
enrollment and attendance at an eligible private school.

(7) Before scholarship payments are made, the board shall cross-check enrollment lists of
scholarship students, LEAs, and youth in custody to ensure that scholarship payments are not
erroneously made.

(8)
(a) Scholarship payments shall be made by the board by individual warrant made payable to the

student's parent and mailed by the board to the private school.  The parent shall restrictively
endorse the warrant to the private school for deposit into the account of the private school.

(b) A person, on behalf of a private school, may not accept a power of attorney from a parent to
sign a warrant referred to in Subsection (8)(a), and a parent of a scholarship student may not
give a power of attorney designating a person, on behalf of a private school, as the parent's
attorney-in-fact.

Amended by Chapter 374, 2015 General Session

53A-1a-707 Board to make rules.
          In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall

make rules consistent with this part establishing:
(1) the eligibility of students to participate in the scholarship program; and
(2) the application process for the scholarship program.

Amended by Chapter 382, 2008 General Session

53A-1a-708 Enforcement and penalties.
(1)

(a) The board shall require a private school to submit a signed affidavit assuring the private
school will comply with the requirements of this part.

(b) If a school fails to submit a signed affidavit within 30 days of receiving notification that the
school is an approved private school to receive the Carson Smith Scholarship, the board may:

(i) deny the private school permission to enroll scholarship students; and
(ii) interrupt disbursement of or withhold scholarship payments.
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(2) The board may investigate complaints and convene administrative hearings for an alleged
violation of this part.

(3) Upon a finding that this part was violated, the board may:
(a) deny a private school permission to enroll scholarship students;
(b) interrupt disbursement of or withhold scholarship payments; or
(c) issue an order for repayment of scholarship payments fraudulently obtained.

Amended by Chapter 374, 2015 General Session

53A-1a-709 Limitation on regulation of private schools.
          Nothing in this part grants additional authority to any state agency or LEA to regulate private

schools except as expressly set forth in this part.

Amended by Chapter 374, 2015 General Session

53A-1a-710 Review by Legislative Auditor General.
          The Legislative Auditor General shall conduct a review and issue a report on the Carson Smith

Scholarship Program after the conclusion of the 2006-07 school year.

Enacted by Chapter 35, 2005 General Session

Part 8
Parent Choice in Education Act

53A-1a-804 Scholarship program created -- Qualifications -- Application.
(1) The Parent Choice in Education Program is created to award scholarships to students to attend

a private school.
(2) To qualify for a scholarship under this part:

(a) the student's custodial parent or legal guardian shall reside within Utah;
(b) the student shall be at least five years of age before September 2 of the year in which

admission to a private school is sought and under 19 years of age on the last day of the
school year as determined by the private school, or, if the individual has not graduated from
high school, will be under 22 years of age on the last day of the school year as determined by
the private school;

(c) the student shall meet one or more of the following criteria:
(i) the student was born after September 1, 2001;
(ii) the student was enrolled as a full-time student in a Utah public school on January 1, 2007;
(iii) the individual was not a Utah resident on January 1, 2007; or
(iv) the student's parents had an annual income less than or equal to 100% of the income

eligibility guideline in the calendar year immediately preceding the school year for which a
scholarship is sought; and

(d) the student may not be a recipient of a scholarship awarded under Chapter 1a, Part 7, Carson
Smith Scholarships for Students with Special Needs Act.

(3)
(a) To receive a scholarship, the parent of a student shall submit an application for the

scholarship to the board by the June 1 preceding the school year for which a scholarship
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is sought, except the deadline for submitting an application for the 2007-08 school year is
July 15, 2007.  Along with the application, the student's parent shall submit documentation
verifying income as required by board rule.

(b) The board may waive the application deadline.
(4) The board shall award scholarships by the July 1 preceding the school year for which a

scholarship is sought, except the deadline for awarding scholarships for the 2007-08 school
year is August 15, 2007.

(5)
(a) The scholarship application form shall contain the following statement:

          "I acknowledge that:
          (1)  A private school may not provide the same level of services that are provided in a
public school.
          (2)  The private school in which I have chosen to enroll my child has disclosed to me
the teaching credentials of the school's teachers and the school's accreditation status.
          (3)  I will assume full financial responsibility for the education of my scholarship student
if I accept this scholarship.
          (4)  Acceptance of this scholarship has the same effect as a parental refusal to consent
to services pursuant to Section 614(a)(1) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20
U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq."

(b) Upon acceptance of the scholarship, the parent assumes full financial responsibility for
the education of the scholarship student for the period in which the student receives the
scholarship, including costs associated with transportation.

(c) Acceptance of a scholarship has the same effect as a parental refusal to consent to services
pursuant to Section 614(a)(1) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec.
1400 et seq.

(6) A student's parent, at any time, may remove the student from a private school and place the
student in another eligible private school and retain the scholarship.

Enacted by Chapter 30, 2007 General Session

53A-1a-805 Eligible private schools.
(1) To be eligible to enroll a scholarship student, a private school shall:

(a) have a physical location in Utah where the scholarship students attend classes and have
direct contact with the school's teachers;

(b) contract with an independent certified public accountant to perform the agreed upon
procedures specified in Subsection (2) and produce a report of the results which shall be
submitted to the board at the times specified in Subsection (2);

(c) comply with the antidiscrimination provisions of 42 U.S.C. Sec. 2000d;
(d) meet state and local health and safety laws and codes;
(e) disclose to the parent of each prospective student, before the student is enrolled, the special

education services that will be provided to the student, if any, including the cost of those
services;

(f)
(i) annually assess the achievement of each student by administering:

(A) a norm-referenced test scored by an independent party that provides a comparison of the
student's academic performance to other students on a national basis; or

(B) an alternative assessment of the student's achievement, if the student:
(I) has a disability or limited English proficiency; and
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(II) would be exempt from taking a nationally norm-referenced achievement test if enrolled in
a Utah public school;

(ii) report the test results to the student's parents; and
(iii) upon request, make test results available to other persons, in a manner that does not reveal

the identity of any student;
(g) employ or contract with teachers who have completed a criminal background check that

complies with the requirements of Section 53A-3-410 and:
(i) hold baccalaureate or higher degrees; or
(ii) have special skills, knowledge, or expertise that qualifies them to provide instruction in the

subjects taught;
(h) provide to parents the teaching credentials of the school's teachers; and
(i) provide, upon request to any person, a statement indicating which, if any, organizations have

accredited the private school.
(2)

(a) The agreed upon procedures to be performed pursuant to Subsection (1)(b) are as follows:
(i)

(A) determine that working capital is at least 80% of average quarterly expenditures by taking
total expenditures for a year and dividing it by four and then dividing average quarterly
expenditures into working capital; and

(B) for a school in the first year of operations, use the estimated budget to estimate average
quarterly expenditures;

(ii)
(A) determine that scholarship payments are accounted for separately and reconciled to

student records; and
(B) for the first year of operations, determine that procedures are in place for this accounting;

and
(iii)

(A) determine that expenditure of scholarship funds have been made for education expenses
and is consistent with other tuition expenditures; and

(B) for the first year of operations, determine that procedures are in place for this accounting.
(b)

(i) The independent certified public accountant's report on the agreed upon procedures
specified in Subsection (2)(a) shall be submitted to the board when the private school
applies to accept scholarship students and every four years thereafter, except as provided
in Subsection (2)(b)(ii).

(ii) The board may, by rule, delay the date when the independent certified public accountant's
report shall be submitted for private schools applying to accept scholarship students in the
2007-08 school year.

(3) The following are not eligible to enroll scholarship students:
(a) a school with an enrollment of fewer than 40 students;
(b) a school that operates in a residence;
(c) a school that encourages illegal conduct; or
(d) a residential treatment facility licensed by the state.

(4)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), a private school intending to enroll scholarship

students shall submit an application to the board by April 1 of the school year preceding the
school year in which it intends to enroll scholarship students.
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(b) A private school intending to enroll scholarship students in the 2007-08 school year shall
submit an application by June 15, 2007.

(5) The board shall:
(a) approve a private school's application to enroll scholarship students if the private school

meets the eligibility requirements of this section; and
(b) make available to the public a list of the eligible private schools:

(i) for the 2008-09 school year and each school year thereafter, by the April 30 preceding the
school year; and

(ii) for the 2007-08 school year, by July 1, 2007.

Enacted by Chapter 30, 2007 General Session

53A-1a-806 Scholarship payments.
(1)

(a) Scholarships shall be awarded by the board subject to the availability of money appropriated
by the Legislature for that purpose.

(b) The Legislature shall annually appropriate money to the board from the General Fund to
make scholarship payments for all students projected to apply for scholarships.

(c)
(i) If money is not available to pay for all scholarships requested, the scholarships shall be

allocated on a random basis except that preference shall be given to students who received
scholarships in the previous year.

(ii) If money is insufficient in a school year to pay for all the continuing scholarships:
(A) new scholarships may not be awarded during that school year;
(B) the money available for scholarships shall be prorated among the eligible students who

received scholarships in the previous year; and
(C) the board shall request a supplemental appropriation from the Legislature to make full

scholarship payments as provided in Subsection (4) or (5).
(2)

(a) Scholarships shall be awarded based upon the income of a scholarship student's parents in
the calendar year immediately preceding the school year for which a scholarship is sought.

(b)
(i) The board shall make rules specifying how the income of a prospective scholarship student's

parents shall be determined and verified.
(ii) The rules shall provide that the scholarship shall be based upon parental income as follows:

(A) if the parents are married, the income of both parents;
(B) if a parent is widowed, the income of the widowed parent;
(C) if a parent is widowed and has remarried, the income of the parent and stepparent;
(D) if the parents are divorced, the income of the parent with whom the scholarship student

resided for the greatest amount of time during the past 12 months;
(E) if the parents are divorced and the scholarship student resided with each parent an equal

amount of time, the income of the parent who provided more financial support during the
past 12 months;

(F) if the divorced parent with whom the scholarship student resided for the greatest amount
of time or who provided the greatest financial support has remarried, the income of the
parent and stepparent; and

(G) if the scholarship student resides with a guardian, the income of the guardian, unless the
guardian's income is exempt by board rule.
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(iii) The rules shall provide that:
(A) if a parent filed federal or state income tax forms, income shall be based upon adjusted

gross income as listed on the income tax forms;
(B) if a parent was exempt from filing federal and state income tax forms, income shall be

based on income earned from work; and
(C) a parent shall submit documentation verifying income.

(3)
(a) The board shall compare the income of a scholarship student's parents to the maximum

annual incomes listed in the income eligibility guideline as defined in Section 53A-1a-803 to
set the scholarship amount.

(b) In determining scholarship amounts, the board shall use:
(i) the income eligibility guideline in effect for the school year immediately preceding the school

year for which a scholarship is sought; and
(ii) the scholarship student's household size as the applicable household size for the purpose of

determining maximum annual income under the income eligibility guideline.
(4) Full-year scholarships shall be awarded in the amounts shown in the following table, or for the

amount of tuition for a full year, whichever is less.

If the annual income of a
scholarship
student's parents is:

The full-year
scholarship
amount is:

Less than or equal to
100% of the
income eligibility
guideline

$3,000

Greater than 100% but
less than or equal
to 125% of the income
eligibility guideline

$2,750

Greater than 125% but
less than or equal to
150% of the income
eligibility guideline

$2,500

Greater than 150% but
less than or equal to
175% of the income
eligibility guideline

$2,250

Greater than 175% but
less than or equal to
200% of the income
eligibility guideline

$2,000

Greater than 200% but
less than or equal to
225% of the income
eligibility guideline

$1,750
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Greater than 225% but
less than or equal to
250% of the income
eligibility guideline

$1,000

Greater than 250% of
the income eligibility
guideline

$500

(5) The full-year scholarship amounts shown in the table in Subsection (4) apply to scholarships for
all grades except kindergarten.  The full-year scholarship amount for kindergarten shall be .55
times the amounts shown in the table in Subsection (4).

(6) The board shall annually increase the full-year scholarship amounts shown in the table in
Subsection (4) by the same percentage annual increase in the value of the weighted pupil unit
established in Section 53A-17a-103.

(7)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (7)(b), upon review and receipt of documentation that

verifies a student's admission to, or continuing enrollment and attendance at, a private school,
the board shall make scholarship payments in four equal amounts no later than September 1,
November 1, February 1, and April 15 of each school year in which a scholarship is in force.

(b) In accordance with board rule, the board shall make a scholarship payment before the first
quarterly payment of the school year, if a private school requires partial payment of tuition
before the start of the school year to reserve space for a student admitted to the school.

(8) A parent of a scholarship student and the student's private school shall notify the board if the
student does not have continuing enrollment and attendance at the private school.

(9) Before scholarship payments are made, the board shall cross-check enrollment lists of
scholarship students, school districts, and youth in custody to ensure that scholarship payments
are not erroneously made.

(10)
(a) Scholarship payments shall be made by the board by individual warrant made payable to the

student's parent and mailed by the board to the private school.  The parent shall restrictively
endorse the warrant to the private school for deposit into the account of the private school.

(b) A person, on behalf of a private school, may not accept a power of attorney from a parent
to sign a warrant referred to in Subsection (10)(a), and a parent of a scholarship student
may not give a power of attorney designating a person, on behalf of a private school, as the
parent's attorney in fact.

Amended by Chapter 342, 2011 General Session

53A-1a-808 Board to make rules.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall

make rules consistent with this part:
(a) establishing the application process for the scholarship program, including procedures to

allow a parent to apply for a scholarship online;
(b) establishing how the income of a scholarship student's parents shall be determined and

verified; and
(c) implementing Section 53A-1a-807.

(2) By May 15, 2007, the board shall adopt rules establishing:
(a) the application process for private schools and scholarship students; and
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(b) how the income of a scholarship student's parents shall be determined.

Amended by Chapter 382, 2008 General Session

53A-1a-811 Review by legislative auditor general.
          The legislative auditor general shall conduct a review and issue a report on the Parent Choice in

Education Program after the conclusion of the 2011-12 school year.

Enacted by Chapter 30, 2007 General Session

Part 10
UPSTART

53A-1a-1001 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Contractor" means the educational technology provider selected by the State Board of
Education under Section 53A-1a-1002.

(2) "Low income" means an income below 185% of the federal poverty guideline.
(3) "Preschool children" means children who are:

(a) age four or five; and
(b) have not entered kindergarten.

(4) "UPSTART" means the pilot project established by Section 53A-1a-1002 that uses a home-
based educational technology program to develop school readiness skills of preschool children.

Amended by Chapter 102, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-1002 UPSTART program to develop school readiness skills of preschool children.
(1) UPSTART, a pilot project that uses a home-based educational technology program to develop

school readiness skills of preschool children, is established within the public education system.
(2) UPSTART is created to:

(a) evaluate the effectiveness of giving preschool children access, at home, to interactive
individualized instruction delivered by computers and the Internet to prepare them
academically for success in school; and

(b) test the feasibility of scaling a home-based curriculum in reading, math, and science delivered
by computers and the Internet to all preschool children in Utah.

(3) The State Board of Education shall contract with an educational technology provider, selected
through a request for proposals process, for the delivery of a home-based educational
technology program for preschool children that meets the requirements of Subsection (4).

(4) A home-based educational technology program for preschool children shall meet the following
standards:

(a) the contractor shall provide computer-assisted instruction for preschool children on a home
computer connected by the Internet to a centralized file storage facility;

(b) the contractor shall:
(i) provide technical support to families for the installation and operation of the instructional

software; and
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(ii) provide for the installation of computer and Internet access in homes of low income families
that cannot afford the equipment and service;

(c) the contractor shall have the capability of doing the following through the Internet:
(i) communicating with parents;
(ii) updating the instructional software;
(iii) validating user access;
(iv) collecting usage data;
(v) storing research data; and
(vi) producing reports for parents, schools, and the Legislature;

(d) the program shall include the following components:
(i) computer-assisted, individualized instruction in reading, mathematics, and science;
(ii) a multisensory reading tutoring program; and
(iii) a validated computer adaptive reading test that does not require the presence of trained

adults to administer and is an accurate indicator of reading readiness of children who cannot
read;

(e) the contractor shall have the capability to quickly and efficiently modify, improve, and support
the product;

(f) the contractor shall work in cooperation with school district personnel who will provide
administrative and technical support of the program as provided in Section 53A-1a-1003;

(g) the contractor shall solicit families to participate in the program as provided in Section
53A-1a-1004; and

(h) in implementing the home-based educational technology program, the contractor shall seek
the advise and expertise of early childhood education professionals within the Utah System of
Higher Education on issues such as:

(i) soliciting families to participate in the program;
(ii) providing training to families; and
(iii) motivating families to regularly use the instructional software.

(5) The contract shall provide funding for a home-based educational technology program for
preschool children for one year with an option to extend the contract for additional years or to
expand the program to a greater number of preschool children, subject to the appropriation of
money by the Legislature for UPSTART.

(6)
(a) The State Board of Education shall issue a request for proposals for a home-based

educational technology program for preschool children that takes effect upon the expiration
of the pilot project on July 1, 2019, provided that the Legislature reauthorizes and funds the
program.

(b) The State Board of Education shall evaluate a proposal based on:
(i) whether the home-based educational technology program meets the standards specified in

Subsection (4);
(ii) the results of an independent evaluation of the home-based educational technology

program;
(iii) the experience of the home-based educational technology program provider; and
(iv) the per pupil cost of the home-based educational technology program.

Amended by Chapter 102, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-1003 School district participation in UPSTART.
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(1) A school district may participate in UPSTART if the local school board agrees to work in
cooperation with the contractor to provide administrative and technical support for the pilot
project.

(2) Family participants in UPSTART shall be solicited from school districts that participate in
UPSTART.

(3) A school district that participates in UPSTART shall:
(a) receive funding for:

(i) paraprofessional and technical support staff; and
(ii) travel, materials, and meeting costs of the program;

(b) participate in program training by the contractor; and
(c) agree to adopt standardized policies and procedures in implementing the pilot project.

Enacted by Chapter 397, 2008 General Session

53A-1a-1004 Family participation in UPSTART.
(1) The contractor shall solicit families to participate in UPSTART through a public information

campaign and referrals from participating school districts.
(2)

(a) Preschool children who participate in UPSTART shall:
(i) be from families with diverse socioeconomic and ethnic backgrounds; and
(ii) reside in different regions of the state in both urban and rural areas.

(b)
(i) If the number of families who would like to participate in UPSTART exceeds the number

of participants funded by the legislative appropriation, the contractor shall give priority
to preschool children from low income families and preschool children who are English
language learners.

(ii) At least 30% of the preschool children who participate in UPSTART shall be from low
income families.

(3) A low income family that cannot afford a computer and Internet service to operate the
instructional software may obtain a computer and peripheral equipment on loan and receive
free Internet service for the duration of the family's participation in the pilot project.

(4)
(a) The contractor shall make the home-based educational technology program available

to families at a cost agreed upon by the State Board of Education and the contractor if
the number of families who would like to participate in UPSTART exceeds the number of
participants funded by the legislative appropriation.

(b) The State Board of Education and the contractor shall annually post on their websites
information on purchasing a home-based educational technology program as provided in
Subsection (4)(a).

Amended by Chapter 102, 2014 General Session

53A-1a-1005 Purchase of equipment and service through cooperative purchasing contracts.
          The State Board of Education or a school district may purchase computers, peripheral

equipment, and Internet service for low income families who cannot afford them through
cooperative purchasing contracts administered by the state Division of Purchasing and General
Services.
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Enacted by Chapter 397, 2008 General Session

53A-1a-1006 Audit and evaluation.
(1) The state auditor shall:

(a) conduct an annual audit of the contractor's use of funds for UPSTART; or
(b) contract with an independent certified public accountant to conduct an annual audit.

(2) The State Board of Education shall:
(a) require by contract that the contractor will open its books and records relating to its

expenditure of funds pursuant to the contract to the state auditor or the state auditor's
designee;

(b) reimburse the state auditor for the actual and necessary costs of the audit; and
(c) contract with an independent, qualified evaluator, selected through a request for proposals

process, to evaluate the home-based educational technology program for preschool children.
(3) Of the money appropriated by the Legislature for UPSTART, excluding funds used to provide

computers, peripheral equipment, and Internet service to families, no more than 7.5% may be
used for the evaluation of the program.

Enacted by Chapter 397, 2008 General Session

53A-1a-1007 Annual report.
(1) The State Board of Education shall make a report on UPSTART to the Education Interim

Committee by November 30 each year.
(2) The report shall:

(a) address the extent to which UPSTART is accomplishing the purposes for which it was
established as specified in Section 53A-1a-1002; and

(b) include the following information:
(i) the number of families:

(A) volunteering to participate in the program;
(B) selected to participate in the program;
(C) requesting computers; and
(D) furnished computers;

(ii) the frequency of use of the instructional software;
(iii) obstacles encountered with software usage, hardware, or providing technical assistance to

families;
(iv) student performance on pre-kindergarten and post-kindergarten assessments conducted

by school districts and charter schools for students who participated in the home-based
educational technology program and those who did not participate in the program; and

(v) as available, the evaluation of the program conducted pursuant to Section 53A-1a-1006.

Enacted by Chapter 397, 2008 General Session

Chapter 1b
School Readiness Initiative

Part 1
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School Readiness Initiative Act

53A-1b-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as "School Readiness Initiative."

Enacted by Chapter 304, 2014 General Session

53A-1b-102 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Board" means the School Readiness Board, created in Section 53A-1b-103.
(2) "Economically disadvantaged" means a student who:

(a) is eligible to receive free lunch;
(b) is eligible to receive reduced price lunch; or
(c)

(i) is not otherwise accounted for in Subsection (2)(a) or (b); and
(ii)

(A) is enrolled in a Provision 2 or Provision 3 school, as defined by the United States
Department of Agriculture;

(B) has a Declaration of Household Income on file;
(C) is eligible for a fee waiver; or
(D) is enrolled at a school that does not offer a lunch program and is a sibling of a student

accounted for in Subsection (2)(a) or (b).
(3) "Eligible home-based educational technology provider" means a provider that intends to offer a

home-based educational technology program.
(4) "Eligible LEA" means an LEA that has a data system capacity to collect longitudinal academic

outcome data, including special education use by student, by identifying each student with a
statewide unique student identifier.

(5)
(a) "Eligible private provider" means a child care program that:

(i)
(A) except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), is licensed under Title 26, Chapter 39, Utah Child

Care Licensing Act; or
(B) is exempt from licensure under Section 26-39-403; and

(ii) meets other criteria as established by the board, consistent with Utah Constitution, Article X,
Section 1.

(b) "Eligible private provider" does not include residential child care, as defined in Section
26-39-102.

(6) "Eligible student" means a student who is economically disadvantaged.
(7) "Local Education Agency" or "LEA" means a school district or charter school.
(8) "Performance outcome measure" means a cost avoidance in special education use for a

student at-risk for later special education placement in kindergarten through grade 12 who
receives preschool education funded pursuant to a results-based school readiness contract.

(9)
(a) "Private entity" means a private investor or investors that enter into a results-based school

readiness contract.
(b) "Private entity" includes an authorized representative of the private investor or investors.
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(10) "Results-based school readiness contract" means a contract entered into by the board, a
private entity, and a provider of early childhood education that may result in repayment to a
private entity if certain performance outcome measures are achieved.

(11) "Student at-risk for later special education placement" means a preschool student who, at
preschool entry, scores at or below two standard deviations below the mean on the assessment
selected by the board under Section 53A-1b-110.

Enacted by Chapter 304, 2014 General Session

53A-1b-103 Establishment of the School Readiness Board -- Membership.
(1) There is created a School Readiness Board within the Governor's Office of Management and

Budget composed of:
(a) the director of the Department of Workforces Services or the director's designee;
(b) one member appointed by the State Board of Education;
(c) one member appointed by the chair of the State Charter School Board;
(d) one member appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives; and
(e) one member appointed by the president of the Senate.

(2)
(a) A member described in Subsections (1)(c), (d), and (e) shall serve for a term of two years.
(b) If a vacancy occurs for a member described in Subsection (1)(c), (d), or (e), the person

appointing the member shall appoint a replacement to serve the remainder of the member's
term.

(3) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service.
(4) Upon request, the Governor's Office of Management and Budget shall provide staff support to

the board.
(5)

(a) The board members shall elect a chair of the board from the board's membership.
(b) The board shall meet upon the call of the chair or a majority of the board members.

Enacted by Chapter 304, 2014 General Session

53A-1b-104 School Readiness Restricted Account -- Creation -- Funding -- Distribution of
funds.
(1) There is created in the General Fund a restricted account known as the "School Readiness

Restricted Account" to fund:
(a) the High Quality School Readiness Grant Program described in Section 53A-1b-106; and
(b) results-based school readiness contracts for eligible students to participate in:

(i) a high quality preschool program described in:
(A) Section 53A-1b-107; or
(B) Section 53A-1b-108; or

(ii) an eligible home-based educational technology program described in Section 53A-1b-109.
(2) The restricted account consists of:

(a) money appropriated to the restricted account by the Legislature;
(b) all income and interest derived from the deposit and investment of money in the account;
(c) federal grants; and
(d) private donations.

(3) Subject to legislative appropriations, money in the restricted account may be used for the
following purposes:
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(a) to award grants under the High Quality School Readiness Grant Program described in
Section 53A-1b-106;

(b) to contract with an independent evaluator as required in Subsection 53A-1b-110(3);
(c) in accordance with Section 53A-1b-110, to make payments to one or more private entities that

the board has entered into a results-based contract with if the independent evaluator selected
by the board determines that the performance-based results have been met; and

(d) for administration costs and to monitor the programs described in this part.

Enacted by Chapter 304, 2014 General Session

53A-1b-105 Elements of a high quality school readiness program.
(1) A high quality school readiness program run by an eligible LEA or eligible private provider shall

include the following components:
(a) an evidence-based curriculum that is aligned with all of the developmental domains and

academic content areas defined in the Utah Early Childhood Standards adopted by the State
Board of Education, and incorporates intentional and differentiated instruction in whole group,
small group, and child-directed learning, including the following academic content areas:

(i) oral language and listening comprehension;
(ii) phonological awareness and prereading;
(iii) alphabet and word knowledge;
(iv) prewriting;
(v) book knowledge and print awareness;
(vi) numeracy;
(vii) creative arts;
(viii) science and technology; and
(ix) social studies, health, and safety;

(b) ongoing, focused, and intensive professional development for staff of the school readiness
program;

(c) ongoing assessment of a student's educational growth and developmental progress to inform
instruction;

(d) a pre- and post-assessment of each student whose parent or legal guardian consents to the
assessment that, for a school readiness program receiving funding under this part, is selected
by the board in accordance with Section 53A-1b-110;

(e) for a preschool program run by an eligible LEA, a class size that does not exceed 20
students, with one adult for every 10 students in the class;

(f) ongoing program evaluation and data collection to monitor program goal achievement and
implementation of required program components;

(g) family engagement, including ongoing communication between home and school, and parent
education opportunities based on each family's circumstances;

(h) for a preschool program run by an eligible LEA, each teacher having at least obtained:
(i) the minimum standard of a child development associate certification; or
(ii) an associate or bachelor's degree in an early childhood education related field; and

(i) for a preschool program run by an eligible private provider, by a teacher's second year, each
teacher having at least obtained:

(i) the minimum standard of a child development associate certification; or
(ii) an associate or bachelor's degree in an early childhood education related field.

(2) A high quality school readiness program run by a home-based educational technology provider
shall:
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(a) be an evidence-based and age appropriate individualized interactive instruction assessment
and feedback technology program that teaches eligible students early learning skills needed
to be successful upon entry into kindergarten;

(b) require regular parental engagement with the student in the student's use of the home-based
educational technology program;

(c) be aligned with the Utah early childhood core standards;
(d) require the administration of a pre- and post-assessment of each student whose parent

or legal guardian consents to the assessment that, for a home-based technology program
that receives funding under this part, is designated by the board in accordance with Section
53A-1b-110; and

(e) require technology providers to ensure successful implementation and utilization of the
technology program.

Amended by Chapter 336, 2016 General Session

53A-1b-106 High Quality School Readiness Grant Program.
(1) The High Quality School Readiness Grant Program is created to provide grants to the following,

in order to upgrade an existing preschool or home-based technology program to a high quality
school readiness program:

(a) an eligible private provider;
(b) an eligible LEA; or
(c) an eligible home-based educational technology provider.

(2) The State Board of Education shall:
(a) solicit proposals from eligible LEAs; and
(b) make recommendations to the board to award grants to respondents based on criteria

described in Subsection (5).
(3) The Department of Workforce Services shall:

(a) solicit proposals from eligible private providers and eligible home-based educational
technology providers; and

(b) make recommendations to the board to award grants to respondents based on criteria
described in Subsection (5).

(4) Subject to legislative appropriations, the board shall award grants to respondents based on:
(a) the recommendations of the State Board of Education;
(b) the recommendations of the Department of Workforce Services; and
(c) the criteria described in Subsection (5).

(5)
(a) In awarding a grant under Subsection (4), the State Board of Education, Department of

Workforce Services, and the board shall consider:
(i) a respondent's capacity to effectively implement the components described in Section

53A-1b-105;
(ii) the percentage of a respondent's students who are economically disadvantaged; and
(iii) the level of administrative support and leadership at a respondent's program to effectively

implement, monitor, and evaluate the program.
(b) The board may not award a grant to an LEA without obtaining approval from the State Board

of Education to award the grant to the LEA.
(6) To receive a grant under this section, a respondent that is an eligible LEA shall submit a

proposal to the State Board of Education detailing:
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(a) the respondent's strategy to implement the high quality components described in Subsection
53A-1b-105(1);

(b) the number of students the respondent plans to serve, categorized by age and economically
disadvantaged status;

(c) the number of high quality preschool classrooms the respondent plans to operate; and
(d) the estimated cost per student.

(7) To receive a grant under this section, a respondent that is an eligible private provider or an
eligible home-based educational technology provider shall submit a proposal to the Department
of Workforce Services detailing:

(a) the respondent's strategy to implement the high quality components described in Section
53A-1b-105;

(b) the number of students the respondent plans to serve, categorized by age and economically
disadvantaged status;

(c) for a respondent that is an eligible private provider, the number of high quality preschool
classrooms the respondent plans to operate; and

(d) the estimated cost per student.
(8) All recipients of grants under this section shall establish a preschool or home-based

educational technology program with the components described in Section 53A-1b-105.
(9)

(a) A grant recipient shall allow classroom or other visits by an independent evaluator chosen by
the board in accordance with Section 53A-1b-110.

(b) The independent evaluator shall:
(i) determine whether a grant recipient has effectively implemented the components described

in Section 53A-1b-105; and
(ii) report the independent evaluator's findings to the board.

(10)
(a) A grant recipient that is an eligible LEA shall assign a statewide unique student identifier to

each eligible student funded pursuant to a grant received under this section.
(b) A grant recipient that is an eligible private provider or an eligible home-based educational

technology provider shall work in conjunction with the State Board of Education to assign
a statewide unique student identifier to each eligible student funded pursuant to a grant
received under this section.

(11) A grant recipient that is an LEA shall report annually to the board and the State Board of
Education the following:

(a) number of students served by the preschool, reported by economically disadvantaged status;
(b) attendance;
(c) cost per student; and
(d) assessment results.

(12) A grant recipient that is an eligible private provider or an eligible home-based educational
technology provider shall report annually to the board and the Department of Workforce
Services the following:

(a) number of students served by the preschool or program, reported by economically
disadvantaged status;

(b) attendance;
(c) cost per student; and
(d) assessment results.

(13) The State Board of Education and the Department of Workforce Services shall make rules to
effectively administer and monitor the High Quality School Readiness Grant Program, including:
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(a) requiring grant recipients to use the pre- and post-assessment selected by the board in
accordance with Section 53A-1b-110; and

(b) establishing reporting requirements for grant recipients.
(14) At the request of the board, the State Board of Education and the Department of Workforce

Services shall annually share the information received from grant recipients described in
Subsections (11) and (12) with the board.

Enacted by Chapter 304, 2014 General Session

53A-1b-107 High quality preschool programs for eligible LEAs.
(1) To receive funding pursuant to a results-based contract awarded under Section 53A-1b-110, an

eligible LEA shall establish or currently operate a high quality preschool with the components
described in Subsection 53A-1b-105(1).

(2) An eligible LEA shall assign a statewide unique student identifier to each eligible student
funded pursuant to a results-based contract issued under this part.

(3) An eligible LEA may not use funds awarded pursuant to a results-based contract to supplant
funds for an existing high quality preschool program, but may use the funds to supplement an
existing high quality preschool program.

(4) If permitted under Title 1 of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 6301-6578,
an LEA may charge a sliding scale fee to a student participating in a high quality preschool
program under this section, based on household income.

(5) An LEA that receives funds under this section shall report annually to the board the de-
identified information described in Section 53A-1b-111.

(6)
(a) An eligible LEA may contract with an eligible private provider to provide the high quality

preschool program to a portion of the LEA's eligible students funded by a results-based
contract.

(b) The board shall determine in a results-based contract the portion of an LEA's eligible students
funded by the results-based contract to be served by an eligible private provider.

(7) To receive funding pursuant to a results-based contract, an eligible private provider shall:
(a) offer a preschool program that contains the components described in Subsection

53A-1b-105(1);
(b) allow classroom visits by the evaluator chosen in accordance with Section 53A-1b-110 and

the private entity, to ensure the components described in this section are implemented;
(c) allow the evaluator chosen in accordance with Section 53A-1b-110 to administer the required

pre- and post-assessments to eligible students funded under this part; and
(d) report the information described in Section 53A-1b-111 to the board and the contracting LEA.

(8) An LEA may provide the eligible private provider with:
(a) professional development;
(b) staffing or staff support;
(c) materials; and
(d) assessments.

(9)
(a) If permitted under Title 1 of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 6301-6578,

an eligible private provider may charge a sliding scale fee to a student participating in a high
quality preschool program under this section, based on household income.

(b) The eligible private provider may use grants, scholarships, or other funds to help fund the
preschool program.
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(10) A contractual partnership established under Subsection (6) shall be consistent with Utah
Constitution, Article X, Section 1.

(11) The evaluator selected pursuant to Section 53A-1b-110 shall annually evaluate:
(a) the quality and outcomes of the high quality preschool program funded by a results-based

contract between a private entity and the board, including:
(i) adherence to required components described in Subsection 53A-1b-105(1); and
(ii) the pre- and post-assessment results of the assessment, designated by the board under

Section 53A-1b-110, of eligible students in the high quality preschool program; and
(b) whether the performance outcome measures set in the results-based contract have been met,

using de-identified data reported in Section 53A-1b-111.

Enacted by Chapter 304, 2014 General Session

53A-1b-108 High quality preschool programs for eligible private providers.
(1) To receive funding pursuant to a results-based contract awarded under Section 53A-1b-110, an

eligible private provider shall:
(a) establish or currently operate a high quality preschool with the components described in

Subsection 53A-1b-105(1);
(b) allow classroom visits by the evaluator chosen in accordance with Section 53A-1b-110 and

the private entity, to ensure the components described in Subsection 53A-1b-105(1) are being
implemented; and

(c) allow the evaluator chosen in accordance with Section 53A-1b-110 to administer the required
pre- and post-assessments to eligible students funded under this part.

(2) An eligible private provider shall work in conjunction with the State Board of Education to assign
a statewide unique student identifier to each eligible student funded pursuant to a results-based
contract.

(3) An eligible private provider may not use funds awarded pursuant to a results-based contract
to supplant funds for an existing high quality preschool program, but may use the funds to
supplement an existing high quality preschool program.

(4)
(a) If permitted under Title 1 of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 6301-6578,

an eligible private provider may charge a sliding scale fee to a student participating in a high
quality preschool program under this section, based on household income.

(b) The eligible private provider may use grants, scholarships, or other funds to help fund the
preschool program.

(5) An eligible private provider that receives funds under this section shall report annually to the
board the de-identified information described in Section 53A-1b-111.

(6) The State Board of Education shall annually share with the board aggregated longitudinal data
on eligible students currently receiving funding under this section and any eligible students who
previously received funding under this section, including:

(a) academic achievement outcomes;
(b) special education use; and
(c) English language learner services.

(7) The evaluator selected pursuant to Section 53A-1b-110 shall annually evaluate:
(a) the quality and outcomes of a high quality preschool program funded by a results-based

contract between a private entity and the board, including:
(i) adherence to required components described in Subsection 53A-1b-105(1); and
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(ii) the pre- and post-assessment results of the assessment, designated by the board under
Section 53A-1b-110, of eligible students in the high quality preschool program; and

(b) whether the performance outcome measures set in the results-based contract have been met,
using de-identified or aggregated data reported in Subsections (5) and (6).

Enacted by Chapter 304, 2014 General Session

53A-1b-109 Home-based educational technology for school readiness.
(1) To receive funding pursuant to a results-based contract awarded under Section 53A-1b-110,

an eligible home-based educational technology provider shall administer a home-based
educational technology program designed to prepare eligible students for kindergarten.

(2) An eligible home-based educational technology provider described in Subsection (1) shall
establish or currently operate a high quality school readiness program with the components
described in Subsection 53A-1b-105(2).

(3) An eligible home-based educational technology provider shall work in conjunction with the
State Board of Education to assign a statewide unique student identifier to each eligible student
funded pursuant to a results-based contract.

(4) An eligible home-based educational technology provider that receives funds under this section
shall report annually to the board the following de-identified information for eligible students
funded in whole or in part pursuant to a results-based contract:

(a) number of eligible students served by the home-based educational technology program,
reported by economically disadvantaged status and English language learner status;

(b) average time, and range of time usage, an eligible student spent using the program per week;
(c) cost per eligible student;
(d) assessment results of the pre- and post-assessments selected by the board; and
(e) number of eligible students served by the home-based educational technology program who

participated in any other public or private preschool program, including the type of preschool
attended.

(5) The State Board of Education shall annually share with the board aggregated longitudinal data
on eligible students currently receiving funding under this section and any eligible students who
previously received funding under this section, including:

(a) academic achievement outcomes;
(b) special education use; and
(c) English language learner services.

(6) The evaluator selected pursuant to Section 53A-1b-110 shall annually evaluate:
(a) the quality and outcomes of a home-based educational technology program funded by a

results-based contract between a private entity and the board, including the pre- and post-
assessment results, on the assessment designated by the board under Section 53A-1b-110,
of eligible students in the program; and

(b) whether the performance outcome measures set in the results-based contract have been met,
using de-identified or aggregated data reported in Subsections (4) and (5).

Enacted by Chapter 304, 2014 General Session

53A-1b-110 Results-based school readiness contracts -- Board duties -- Independent
evaluator.
(1)
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(a) The board may negotiate and enter into a results-based contract with a private entity,
selected through a competitive process, to fund:

(i) a high quality preschool program described in Section 53A-1b-107;
(ii) a high quality preschool program described in Section 53A-1b-108; or
(iii) a home-based education technology program described in Section 53A-1b-109.

(b) The board may not issue a results-based contract if the total outstanding obligations of
results-based contracts issued by the board under this part would exceed $15,000,000 at any
one time.

(c) The board may provide for a repayment to a private entity to include a return of investment
and an additional return on investment, dependent on achievement of specific performance
outcome measures set in the results-based contract.

(d) The additional return on investment described in Subsection (1)(c) may not exceed 5% above
the current Municipal Market Data General Obligation Bond AAA scale for a 10 year maturity
at the time of the issuance of the results-based school readiness contract.

(e) Funding obtained for an early education program under this part is not a procurement item
under Section 63G-6a-103.

(2) A contract shall include:
(a) a requirement that the repayment to the private entity be conditioned on specific performance

outcome measures set in the results-based contract;
(b) a requirement for an independent evaluator to determine whether the performance outcomes

have been achieved;
(c) a provision that repayment to the private entity is:

(i) based upon available money in the School Readiness Restricted Account; and
(ii) subject to legislative appropriation; and

(d) that the private entity is not eligible to receive or view any personally identifiable student data
of students funded through a results-based contract.

(3) The board shall select an independent, nationally recognized early childhood education
evaluator, selected through a request for proposals process, to annually evaluate:

(a) performance outcome measures set in a results-based contract of the board; and
(b) a High Quality School Readiness Grant Program recipient's program.

(4) The board shall select a uniform assessment of age-appropriate cognitive or language skills
that:

(a) is nationally norm-referenced;
(b) has established reliability;
(c) has established validity with other similar measures and with later school outcomes; and
(d) has strong psychometric characteristics.

(5)
(a) At the end of each year of a results-based contract after a student funded through a results-

based contract completes kindergarten, the independent evaluator shall determine whether
the performance outcome measures set in the results-based contract have been met.

(b) If the independent evaluator determines under Subsection (5)(a) that the performance
outcome measures have been met, the board may pay the private entity according to the
terms of the results-based contract.

(6)
(a) The board shall ensure that a parent or guardian of an eligible student participating in a

program funded pursuant to a results-based contract has given permission and signed an
acknowledgment that the student's data may be shared with an independent evaluator for
research and evaluation purposes.
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(b) The board shall maintain documentation of parental permission required in Subsection (6)(a).

Enacted by Chapter 304, 2014 General Session

53A-1b-111 Reporting requirements for recipients of a results-based school readiness
contract -- Reporting requirements for the School Readiness Board.
(1) An eligible LEA, eligible private provider, or eligible home-based educational technology

provider that receives funds pursuant to a results-based contract under this part shall report
annually to the board the following de-identified information for eligible students funded in whole
or in part pursuant to a results-based contract:

(a) number of eligible students served by the recipient's preschool or home-based educational
technology program, reported by economically disadvantaged status and English language
learner status;

(b) attendance;
(c) cost per eligible student;
(d) assessment results of the pre- and post-assessments selected by the board; and
(e) aggregated longitudinal data on eligible students currently receiving funding under this part

and any eligible students who previously received funding under this part, including:
(i) academic achievement outcomes;
(ii) special education use; and
(iii) English language learner services.

(2) For each year of a results-based contract, the board shall report to the Education Interim
Committee the following:

(a) information collected under Subsection (1) for each participating LEA, private provider, and
home-based educational technology provider; and

(b) the terms of the results-based contract, including:
(i) the name of each private entity and funding source;
(ii) the amount of money each private entity has invested;
(iii) the performance outcome measures set in the results-based contract by which repayment

will be determined; and
(iv) the repayment schedule to the private entity if the performance outcomes are met.

Enacted by Chapter 304, 2014 General Session

Part 2
Expanded Access to High Quality School Readiness Programs Act

53A-1b-201 Title.
          This part is known as the "Expanded Access to High Quality School Readiness Programs Act."

Enacted by Chapter 336, 2016 General Session

53A-1b-202 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
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(2) "Child Development Associate Credential" means a credential in early childhood education that
is:

(a) based on a core set of competency standards; and
(b) nationally recognized.

(3) "Department" means the Department of Workforce Services.
(4) "Economically disadvantaged child" means a child who:

(a) is in a family that is eligible for assistance through TANF; or
(b) is eligible for free or reduced lunch.

(5) "Eligible home-based technology provider" means a provider that offers a home-based
educational technology program to develop the school readiness skills of an eligible student.

(6) "Eligible private provider" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-1b-102.
(7) "Eligible student" means an individual who:

(a) will be four years of age on or before September 2 of the school year in which the individual
intends to participate in a school readiness program;

(b) has not entered kindergarten; and
(c)

(i) is experiencing intergenerational poverty, as determined by the department; or
(ii)

(A) is an economically disadvantaged child; and
(B) is at risk for not meeting grade 3 core standards for Utah public schools, established by

the State Board of Education under Section 53A-1-402.6, by the end of the individual's
grade 3 year, as determined by an assessment.

(8) "High quality school readiness program" means a school readiness program that:
(a) is provided by an LEA, eligible private provider, or eligible home-based technology provider;

and
(b) meets the elements of a high quality school readiness program described in Section

53A-1b-105 as determined by the board or the department under Section 53A-1b-204,
53A-1b-205, or 53A-1b-206.

(9) "Intergenerational poverty" means the same as that term is defined in Section 35A-9-102.
(10) "Intergenerational poverty scholarship" or "IGP scholarship" means a scholarship to

attend a high quality school readiness program for an eligible student who is experiencing
intergenerational poverty.

(11) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means a:
(a) school district; or
(b) charter school.

(12) "TANF" means Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, described in 42 U.S.C. Sec. 601 et
seq.

Enacted by Chapter 336, 2016 General Session

53A-1b-203 Administration of programs.
(1) The State Board of Education, in collaboration with the department, shall:

(a) administer the grant program described in Section 53A-1b-204 for LEAs;
(b) administer the grant program for eligible home-based technology providers described in

Section 53A-1b-205; and
(c) oversee the evaluation described in Section 53A-1b-208.

(2) The department, in collaboration with the board, shall administer:
(a) the grant program described in Section 53A-1b-204 for eligible private providers;
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(b) the Intergenerational Poverty School Readiness Scholarship Program described in Section
53A-1b-206; and

(c) early childhood teacher training described in Section 53A-1b-207.

Enacted by Chapter 336, 2016 General Session

53A-1b-204 Student Access to High Quality School Readiness Programs Grant Program --
Determination of high quality school readiness program-- Reporting requirement -- Fees.
(1) There is created the Student Access to High Quality School Readiness Programs Grant

Program to expand access to high quality school readiness programs for eligible students
through:

(a) grants for LEAs administered by the board; and
(b) grants for eligible private providers administered by the department.

(2) The board, in coordination with the department, shall develop a tool to determine whether a
school readiness program is a high quality school readiness program.

(3)
(a) The board shall solicit proposals from LEAs to fund increases in the number of eligible

students high quality school readiness programs can serve.
(b) The department shall solicit proposals from eligible private providers to fund increases in the

number of eligible students high quality school readiness programs can serve.
(4)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(c), a respondent shall submit a proposal that includes
the information described in Subsection (4)(b):

(i) to the board, for a respondent that is an LEA; or
(ii) to the department, for a respondent that is an eligible private provider.

(b) A respondent's proposal for the grant solicitation described in Subsection (3) shall include:
(i) the respondent's existing and proposed school readiness program, including:

(A) the number of students served by the respondent's school readiness program;
(B) the respondent's policies and procedures for admitting students into the school readiness

program;
(C) the estimated cost per student; and
(D) any fees the respondent charges to a parent or legal guardian for the school readiness

program;
(ii) the respondent's plan to use funding sources, in addition to a grant described in this section,

including:
(A) federal funding; or
(B) private grants or donations;

(iii) existing or planned partnerships between the respondent and an LEA, eligible private
provider, or eligible home-based technology provider to increase access to high quality
school readiness programs for eligible students;

(iv) how the respondent would use a grant to:
(A) expand the number of eligible students served by the respondent's school readiness

program; and
(B) target the funding toward the highest risk students, including addressing the particular

needs of children at risk of experiencing intergenerational poverty;
(v) how the respondent's school readiness program is a high quality school readiness program;

and
(vi) the results of any evaluations of the respondent's school readiness program.
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(c) In addition to the requirements described in Subsection (4)(b), a respondent that is an LEA
shall describe in the respondent's proposal the percentage of the respondent's kindergarten
through grade 12 students who are economically disadvantaged children.

(5)
(a) For each LEA proposal received in response to the solicitation described in Subsection (3)

(a), the board shall determine if the LEA school readiness program is a high quality school
readiness program by:

(i) applying the tool described in Subsection (2); and
(ii) conducting at least one site visit to the program.

(b) For each eligible private provider proposal received in response to the solicitation described
in Subsection (3)(b), the department shall determine if the school readiness program is a high
quality school readiness program by:

(i) applying the tool described in Subsection (2); and
(ii) conducting at least one site visit to the program.

(6)
(a) Subject to legislative appropriations and Subsection (6)(b), the board shall award grants, on a

competitive basis, to respondents that are LEAs.
(b) The board may only award a grant to an LEA if:

(i) the LEA submits a proposal that includes the information required under Subsection (4);
(ii) the board determines that the LEA's program is a high quality school readiness program as

described in Subsection (5); and
(iii) the LEA agrees to the evaluation requirements described in Section 53A-1b-208.

(7)
(a) Subject to legislative appropriations and Subsection (7)(b), the department shall award

grants, on a competitive basis, to respondents that are eligible private providers.
(b) The department may only award a grant to a respondent if:

(i) the respondent submits a proposal that includes the information required under Subsection
(4);

(ii) the department determines that the respondent's school readiness program is a high quality
school readiness program as described in Subsection (5); and

(iii) the respondent agrees to the evaluation requirements described in Section 53A-1b-208.
(8) In evaluating a proposal received in response to the solicitation described in Subsection (3), the

board and the department shall consider:
(a) the number and percent of students in the respondent's high quality school readiness

program that are eligible students at the highest risk;
(b) geographic diversity, including whether the respondent is urban or rural;
(c) the extent to which the respondent intends to participate in a partnership with an LEA, eligible

private provider, or eligible home-based technology provider; and
(d) the respondent's level of administrative support and leadership to effectively implement,

monitor, and evaluate the program.
(9)

(a) The board shall ensure that an LEA that receives a grant under this section funded by TANF
funds uses the grant to provide a high quality school readiness program for eligible students
who are eligible to receive assistance through TANF.

(b) The department shall ensure that a private provider that receives a grant under this section
funded by TANF funds uses the grant to provide a high quality school readiness program for
eligible students who are eligible to receive assistance through TANF.

(10) A respondent that receives a grant under this section shall:
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(a) use the grant to expand access for eligible students to high quality school readiness programs
by enrolling eligible students in a high quality school readiness program;

(b) report to the board annually regarding:
(i) how the respondent used the grant awarded under Subsection (6) or (7);
(ii) participation in any partnerships between an LEA, eligible private provider, or eligible home-

based technology provider; and
(iii) the results of any evaluations;

(c) allow classroom or other visits by an independent evaluator selected by the board under
Section 53A-1b-208; and

(d) for a respondent that is an LEA, notify a parent or legal guardian who expresses interest
in enrolling the parent or legal guardian's child in the LEA's high quality school readiness
program of each state-funded high quality school readiness program operating within the
LEA's geographic boundaries.

(11) An LEA that receives a grant under this section may charge a student fee to participate in an
LEA's school readiness program if:

(a) the LEA's local school board or charter school governing board approves the fee;
(b) the fee for a student does not exceed the actual cost of providing the high quality school

readiness program to the student; and
(c) the fee structure for the program is designed on a sliding scale, based on household income.

(12)
(a) The board shall establish interventions for a grantee that is an LEA that fails to comply with

the requirements described in this section.
(b) The department shall establish interventions for a grantee that is an eligible private provider

that fails to comply with the requirements described in this section.
(c) An intervention under this Subsection (12) may include discontinuing or reducing funding.

(13) Subject to legislative appropriations, the board and the department shall give first priority in
awarding grants to a respondent that has previously received a grant under this section if the
respondent:

(a) makes the annual report described in Subsection (9)(b);
(b) participates in the annual evaluation described in Section 53A-1b-208; and
(c) continues to offer a high quality school readiness program as determined during an annual

site visit by:
(i) the board, for an LEA; or
(ii) the department, for an eligible private provider.

(14) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act:
(a) the board shall make rules to:

(i) implement the tool described in Subsection (2); and
(ii) administer the grant program for LEAs described in this section; and

(b) the department shall make rules to administer the grant program for eligible private providers
described in this section.

Enacted by Chapter 336, 2016 General Session

53A-1b-205 Home-based technology high quality school readiness program.
(1)

(a) The board shall offer a home-based technology high quality school readiness program to
eligible students by awarding contracts to one or more home-based technology providers, as
described in this section.
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(b) The board shall solicit proposals from eligible home-based technology providers to provide
high quality school readiness programs for eligible students to participate in:

(i) at home;
(ii) as part of a school readiness program offered by an LEA or private provider; or
(iii) in any other setting where Internet access is available, such as a library.

(c) The home-based technology high quality school readiness program described in this section
is established in the public education system.

(2) An eligible home-based technology provider that responds to the solicitation described in
Subsection (1) shall submit a proposal describing:

(a) how the home-based technology provider's school readiness program meets the elements of
a high quality school readiness program described in Subsection 53A-1b-105(2);

(b) how the home-based technology provider intends to target the home-based technology
provider's school readiness program to eligible students who are at the highest risk, as
determined by the board;

(c) the cost of the program per student;
(d) the cost of a statewide license;
(e) existing or planned partnerships between the home-based technology provider and an LEA or

eligible private provider; and
(f) the results of all evaluations of the home-based technology provider's school readiness

program.
(3) For each proposal received under Subsection (2), the board shall:

(a) determine if the program is a high quality school readiness program using the tool described
in Subsection 53A-1b-204(2); and

(b) receive a demonstration of the home-based technology.
(4)

(a) Subject to legislative appropriations, and in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah
Procurement Code, the board shall award contracts to one or more home-based technology
providers to provide home-based school readiness programs.

(b) The board may only award a contract to a home-based technology provider if the home-
based technology provider:

(i) submits a proposal that includes the information described in Subsection (2);
(ii) offers a high quality school readiness program; and
(iii) agrees to the evaluation requirements described in Section 53A-1b-208.

(5) In evaluating a proposal received under Subsection (2), the board shall consider:
(a) the number and percent of eligible students that the respondent intends to serve;
(b) the extent to which the respondent intends to participate in a partnership with an LEA or

eligible private provider;
(c) the extent to which the respondent is able to reach students who do not have access to other

high quality school readiness programs; and
(d) the cost per student.

(6) A home-based technology provider that receives a contract under this section:
(a) shall use the funding to provide a high quality school readiness program to eligible students;

and
(b) may use the funding for the installation of computer or Internet access in homes of eligible

students whose families cannot afford the equipment or services.
(7) The board shall ensure that a home-based technology provider that receives a grant under

this section funded by TANF funds uses the grant to provide a home-based high quality school
readiness program to eligible students who are eligible to receive TANF funded assistance.
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(8) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall
make rules to implement this section.

Enacted by Chapter 336, 2016 General Session

53A-1b-206 Intergenerational Poverty School Readiness Scholarship Program.
(1) There is created the Intergenerational Poverty School Readiness Scholarship Program to

provide an eligible student experiencing intergenerational poverty access to a high quality
school readiness program.

(2) The department shall, in accordance with Section 35A-9-401:
(a) determine if an individual is eligible for an IGP scholarship; and
(b) award an IGP scholarship.

(3)
(a)

(i) An LEA or home-based technology provider may apply to the board to receive a designation
as a high quality school readiness program.

(ii) The board shall determine if an LEA or home-based technology provider offers a high quality
school readiness program using the tool described in Subsection 53A-1b-204(2).

(b)
(i) An eligible private provider may apply to the department to receive a designation as a high

quality school readiness program.
(ii) The department shall determine if an eligible private provider offers a high quality school

readiness program using the tool described in Subsection 53A-1b-204(2).
(4)

(a) The department and the board shall coordinate to assist a parent or legal guardian of a
recipient of an IGP scholarship to enroll the IGP scholarship recipient in a high quality school
readiness program:

(i) offered by an LEA, eligible private provider, or eligible home-based technology provider; and
(ii) of the parent or legal guardian's choice.

(b) The department shall pay the scholarship amount directly to a high quality school readiness
program in which an IGP scholarship recipient enrolls.

(5)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), the department may not provide an individual's IGP

scholarship to an LEA, eligible private provider, or eligible home-based technology provider
unless the LEA, eligible private provider, or eligible home-based technology provider offers a
high quality school readiness program, as determined by the board or the department under
Subsection (3).

(b) An LEA, eligible private provider, or eligible home-based technology provider that receives
a determination as a high quality school readiness program under Section 53A-1b-204 or
53A-1b-206 may enroll an IGP scholarship recipient.

Enacted by Chapter 336, 2016 General Session

53A-1b-207 Early childhood teacher training.
(1) Subject to legislative appropriations, the department shall provide training to early childhood

teachers by providing:
(a) a scholarship for individuals who intend to receive a Child Development Associate Credential;

and
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(b) consulting services to assist individuals to complete a Child Development Associate
Credential.

(2) The department shall conduct an annual needs assessment to determine the number of
scholarships to award each year.

(3) The department shall make rules, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative
Rulemaking Act, to implement this section.

Enacted by Chapter 336, 2016 General Session

53A-1b-208 Evaluation -- Reporting requirements.
(1) In accordance with this section, the board, in coordination with the department, shall oversee

the ongoing review and evaluation by an independent evaluator for each school year of:
(a) the Student Access to High Quality School Readiness Programs Grant Program described in

Section 53A-1b-204;
(b) the home-based technology high quality school readiness program described in Section

53A-1b-205;
(c) the Intergenerational Poverty School Readiness Scholarship Program described in Section

53A-1b-206; and
(d) early childhood teacher training described in Section 53A-16-207.

(2)
(a) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code, the board shall enter into

a contract with an independent evaluator to assist the board in the evaluation process.
(b) In selecting an independent evaluator, the board shall select an evaluator that:

(i) has the capacity to meet the requirements described in Subsection (3);
(ii) has a background in designing and conducting rigorous evaluations;
(iii) has a demonstrated ability to monitor and evaluate a program over an extended period of

time;
(iv) is independent from agencies or providers implementing high quality school readiness

programs funded under this part; and
(v) has experience in early childhood education or early childhood education evaluation.

(c) The board may not enter into a contract with an independent evaluator without obtaining
approval from the department.

(3) Under the direction of the board, with input from the department, the independent evaluator
selected under Subsection (2) shall:

(a) design an evaluation methodology that:
(i) assesses the effects of a high quality school readiness program on an eligible student's:

(A) readiness for kindergarten, using a uniform assessment methodology that includes a pre-
and post-test chosen in coordination with the board;

(B) ability, as determined by following the student longitudinally, to meet grade 3 core
standards for Utah public schools, established by the board under Section 53A-1-402.6,
by the end of the student's grade 3 year; and

(C) attainment of a high school diploma or other completion certificate, as determined by
following the student longitudinally; and

(ii) allows for comparisons between students with similar demographic characteristics who
complete a high quality school readiness program and students who do not; and

(b) conduct an annual evaluation of the programs described in Subsection (1).
(4) To assist the independent evaluator selected under Subsection (2) in completing the evaluation

required under Subsection (3):
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(a) an LEA that receives a grant under Section 53A-1b-204, or enrolls an IGP scholarship
recipient under Section 53A-1b-206, shall assign a statewide unique student identifier to each
student who participates in the LEA's school readiness program;

(b) an eligible private provider that receives a grant described in Section 53A-1b-204 or an
eligible home-based technology provider that receives a contract described in Section
53A-1b-205 shall work in conjunction with the board to assign a statewide unique student
identifier to each student who is enrolled in the provider's school readiness program in the
student's last year before kindergarten; and

(c) an eligible private provider or eligible home-based technology provider that receives an IGP
scholarship under Section 53A-1b-206 shall work in conjunction with the board to assign a
statewide unique student identifier to each student who is funded by an IGP scholarship.

(5) The board and the department shall report annually, on or before November 1, to the Education
Interim Committee on the results of an evaluation conducted under this section.

Enacted by Chapter 336, 2016 General Session

Chapter 2
School Districts

Part 1
General Provisions

53A-2-101 School districts.
          School districts may be created, merged, dissolved, or their boundaries changed only as

provided in this chapter.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-2-101.5 Filing of notice and plat relating to school district boundary changes including
creation, consolidation, division, or dissolution -- Recording requirements -- Effective date.
(1) The county legislative body shall:

(a) within 30 days after the creation, consolidation, division, or dissolution of a school district, file
with the lieutenant governor:

(i) a copy of a notice of an impending boundary action, as defined in Section 67-1a-6.5, that
meets the requirements of Subsection 67-1a-6.5(3); and

(ii) except in the case of a dissolution, a copy of an approved final local entity plat, as defined in
Section 67-1a-6.5; and

(b) upon the lieutenant governor's issuance of a certificate of boundary action under Section
67-1a-6.5:

(i) if the school district is or, in the case of dissolution, was located within the boundary of a
single county, submit to the recorder of that county:

(A) the original:
(I) notice of an impending boundary action;
(II) certificate of boundary action; and
(III) except in the case of dissolution, approved final local entity plat; and
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(B) if applicable, a certified copy of the resolution approving the boundary action; or
(ii) if the school district is or, in the case of a dissolution, was located within the boundaries of

more than a single county:
(A) submit to the recorder of one of those counties:

(I) the original of the documents listed in Subsections (1)(b)(i)(A)(I), (II), and (III); and
(II) if applicable, a certified copy of the resolution approving the boundary action; and

(B) submit to the recorder of each other county:
(I) a certified copy of the documents listed in Subsections (1)(b)(i)(A)(I), (II), and (III); and
(II) if applicable, a certified copy of the resolution approving the boundary action.

(2)
(a) Upon the lieutenant governor's issuance of the certificate under Section 67-1a-6.5, the

creation, consolidation, division, dissolution, or other change affecting the boundary of a new
or existing school district that was the subject of the action has legal effect.

(b)
(i) As used in this Subsection (2)(b), "affected area" means:

(A) in the case of the creation of a school district, the area within the school district's
boundary;

(B) in the case of the consolidation of multiple school districts, the area within the boundary of
each school district that is consolidated into another school district;

(C) in the case of the division of a school district, the area within the boundary of the school
district created by the division; and

(D) in the case of an addition to an existing school district, the area added to the school
district.

(ii) The effective date of a boundary action, as defined in Section 17-23-20, for purposes of
assessing property within the school district is governed by Section 59-2-305.5.

(iii) Until the documents listed in Subsection (1)(b) are recorded in the office of the recorder
of each county in which the property is located, a school district may not levy or collect a
property tax on property within the affected area.

Amended by Chapter 350, 2009 General Session

53A-2-102 Consolidation of school districts -- Resolution by school board members --
Petition by electors -- Election.
(1) Two or more school districts may unite and form a single school district in one of the following

ways:
(a) a majority of the members of each of the boards of education of the affected districts shall

approve and present to the county legislative body of the affected counties a resolution to
consolidate the districts.  Once this is done, consolidation shall be established under this
chapter; or

(b) a majority of the members of the board of education of each affected district, or 15% of
the qualified electors in each of the affected districts, shall sign and present a petition to
the county legislative body of each affected county. The question shall be voted upon at
an election called for that purpose, which shall be the next general or municipal election.
Consolidation shall occur if a majority of those voting on the question in each district favor
consolidation.

(2) The elections required under Subsection (1)(b) shall be conducted and the returns canvassed
as provided by election laws.
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Amended by Chapter 227, 1993 General Session

53A-2-103 Transfer of property to new school district -- Rights and obligations of new
school board -- Outstanding indebtedness -- Special tax.
(1) On July 1 following the approval of the creation of a new school district under Section

53A-2-102, the local school boards of the former districts shall convey and deliver all school
property to the local school board of the new district.  Title vests in the new board.  All rights,
claims, and causes of action to or for the property, for the use or the income from the property,
for conversion, disposition, or withholding of the property, or for any damage or injury to the
property vest at once in the new board.

(2) The new board may bring and maintain actions to recover, protect, and preserve the property
and rights of the district schools and to enforce contracts.

(3) The new board shall assume and be liable for all outstanding debts and obligations of each of
the former school districts.

(4) All of the bonded indebtedness, outstanding debts, and obligations of a former district, which
cannot be reasonably paid from the assets of the former district, shall be paid by a special
tax levied by the new board as needed.  The tax shall be levied upon the property within the
former district which was liable for the indebtedness at the time of consolidation.  If bonds are
approved in the new district under Section 53A-18-102, the special tax shall be discontinued
and the bonded indebtedness paid as any other bonded indebtedness of the new district.

(5) Bonded indebtedness of a former district which has been refunded shall be paid in the same
manner as that which the new district assumes under Section 53A-18-101.

(6) State funds received by the new district under Section 53A-21-202 may be applied toward the
payment of outstanding bonded indebtedness of a former district in the same proportion as
the bonded indebtedness of the territory within the former district bears to the total bonded
indebtedness of the districts combined.

Amended by Chapter 236, 2008 General Session

53A-2-104 Transfer of a portion of a school district -- Board resolution -- Board petition --
Elector petition -- Transfer election.
(1) Part of a school district may be transferred to another district in one of the following ways:

(a) presentation to the county legislative body of each of the affected counties of a resolution
requesting the transfer, approved by at least four-fifths of the members of the local board of
education of each affected school district;

(b) presentation to the county legislative body of each affected county of a petition requesting
that the electors vote on the transfer, signed by a majority of the members of the local school
board of each affected school district; or

(c) presentation to the county legislative body of each affected county of a petition requesting
that the electors vote on the transfer, signed by 15% of the qualified electors in each of the
affected school districts within that county.

(2)
(a) If an annexation of property by a city would result in its residents being served by more

than one school district, then the presidents of the affected local school boards shall meet
within 60 days prior to the effective date of the annexation to determine whether it would be
advisable to adjust school district boundaries to permit all residents of the expanded city to be
served by a single school district.
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(b) Upon conclusion of the meeting, the local school board presidents shall prepare a
recommendation for presentation to their respective boards as soon as reasonably possible.

(c) The boards may then initiate realignment proceedings under Subsection (1)(a) or (b).
(d) If a local board rejects realignment under Subsection (1)(a) or (b), the other board may initiate

the following procedures by majority vote within 60 days of the vote rejecting realignment:
(i)

(A) within 30 days after a vote to initiate these procedures, each local board shall appoint one
member to a boundary review committee; or

(B) if the local board becomes deadlocked in selecting the appointee under Subsection (2)
(d)(i)(A), the board's chair shall make the appointment or serve as the appointee to the
review committee.

(ii) The two local board-appointed members of the committee shall meet and appoint a third
member of the committee.

(iii) If the two local board-appointed members are unable to agree on the appointment of a
third member within 30 days after both are appointed, the State Superintendent of Public
Instruction shall appoint the third member.

(iv) The committee shall meet as necessary to prepare recommendations concerning resolution
of the realignment issue, and shall submit the recommendations to the affected local boards
within six months after the appointment of the third member of the committee.

(v) If a majority of the members of each local board accepts the recommendation of the
committee, or accepts the recommendation after amendment by the boards, then the
accepted recommendation shall be implemented.

(vi) If the committee fails to submit its recommendation within the time allotted, or if one local
board rejects the recommendation, the affected boards may agree to extend the time for the
committee to prepare an acceptable recommendation or either board may request the State
Board of Education to resolve the question.

(vii) If the committee has submitted a recommendation which the state board finds to be
reasonably supported by the evidence, the state board shall adopt the committee's
recommendation.

(viii) The decision of the state board is final.
(3)

(a) The electors of each affected district shall vote on the transfer requested under Subsection
(1)(b) or (c) at an election called for that purpose, which may be the next general election.

(b) The election shall be conducted and the returns canvassed as provided by election law.
(c) A transfer is effected only if a majority of votes cast by the electors in both the proposed

transferor district and in the proposed transferee district are in favor of the transfer.

Amended by Chapter 215, 2007 General Session

53A-2-105 Transfer of school property -- Indebtedness on transferred property.
(1) If a transfer of a portion of one school district to another school district is approved under

Section 53A-2-104, the state superintendent and the superintendents and presidents of the
boards of education of each of the affected school districts shall determine the basis for a
transfer of all school property reasonably and fairly allocable to that portion being transferred.

(2)
(a) Title to property transferred vests in the transferee board of education.
(b) The transfer of a school building that is in operation at the time of determination shall be

made at the close of a fiscal year.
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(c) The transfer of all other school property shall be made five days after approval of the transfer
of territory under Section 53A-2-104.

(3)
(a) The individuals referred to in Subsection (1) shall determine the portion of bonded

indebtedness and other indebtedness of the transferor board for which the transferred
property remains subject to the levy of taxes to pay a proportionate share of the outstanding
indebtedness of the transferor board.

(b) This is done by:
(i) determining the amount of the outstanding bonded indebtedness and other indebtedness of

the transferor board of education;
(ii) determining the total taxable value of the property of the transferor district and the taxable

value of the property to be transferred; and
(iii) calculating the portion of the indebtedness of the transferor board for which the transferred

portion retains liability.
(4)

(a) The agreement reflecting these determinations takes effect upon being filed with the State
Board of Education.

(b) The transferred property remains subject to the levy of taxes to pay a proportionate share of
the outstanding indebtedness of the transferor school board.

(c) The transferee school board may assume the obligation to pay the proportionate share of
the transferor school board's indebtedness that has been determined under Subsection (3)
to be the obligation of the transferred portion by the approval of a resolution by a majority of
the qualified electors of the transferee school district at an election called and held for that
purpose under Title 11, Chapter 14, Local Government Bonding Act.

(5) If the transferee school district assumes the obligation to pay this proportionate share of the
transferor school board's indebtedness, the transferee school board shall levy a tax in the
whole of the transferee district, including the transferred portion, sufficient to pay the assumed
indebtedness, and shall turn over the proceeds of the tax to the business administrator of the
transferor board.

(6) If the transferee school board does not assume this obligation, the transferee school board
shall levy a tax on the transferred territory sufficient to pay the proportionate share of the
indebtedness determined under this section, and shall turn over the proceeds of the tax to the
business administrator of the transferor board.

(7) For the purposes of school districts affected by repealed laws governing the annexation of
an unincorporated area of a school district by a city which included what was formerly known
as a city school district, transitions of unincorporated areas and property from the transferor
district to the transferee district in progress on the effective date of this act shall revert to the
boundaries and ownership prior to the initiation of annexation and may then proceed under this
section and Section 53A-2-104.

Amended by Chapter 215, 2007 General Session

53A-2-108 School districts independent of municipal and county governments -- School
district name -- Control of property.
(1)

(a) Each school district shall be controlled by its board of education and shall be independent of
municipal and county governments.
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(b) The name of each school district created after May 1, 2000 shall comply with Subsection
17-50-103(2)(a).

(2) The local school board shall have direction and control of all school property in the district.

Amended by Chapter 185, 2000 General Session

53A-2-111 Legislative findings.
          The Legislature finds that restructuring and consolidation of school districts may provide long-

term educational and financial benefits, but that short-term costs and other problems may make
it difficult for school officials to move forward with such plans.  The Legislature therefore adopts
Sections 53A-2-111 through 53A-2-116 to assist the public school system to create more efficient
and effective administrative units.

Enacted by Chapter 49, 1988 General Session

53A-2-112 Definitions.
          As used in Sections 53A-2-113 through 53A-2-116:

(1) "Consolidation" means the merger of two or more school districts into a single administrative
unit.

(2) "Restructuring" means the transfer of territory from one school district to another school district.

Enacted by Chapter 49, 1988 General Session

53A-2-113 School district consolidation -- State funding of consolidated districts.
          When districts consolidate, payments made by the state under Title 53A, Chapter 17a, Minimum

School Program Act, shall continue for a period of five years from the date of consolidation
on the same basis as if no consolidation had occurred.  At the end of the five-year period, the
consolidated district shall receive funding as a single district.

Amended by Chapter 4, 1993 General Session

53A-2-114 Additional levies -- School board options to abolish or continue after
consolidation.
(1) If a school district that has approved an additional levy under Section 53A-17a-133 is

consolidated with a district which does not have such a levy, the board of education of the
consolidated district may choose to abolish the levy, or apply it in whole or in part to the entire
consolidated district.

(2) If the board chooses to apply any part of the levy to the entire district, the levy may continue in
force for no more than three years, unless approved by the electors of the consolidated district
in the manner set forth in Section 53A-17a-133.

Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session

53A-2-115 Additional levies in transferred territory -- Transferee board option to abolish or
continue.

          If two or more districts undergo restructuring that results in a district receiving territory that
increases the population of the district by at least 25%, and if the transferred territory was, at the
time of transfer, subject to an additional levy under Section 53A-17a-133, the board of education
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of the transferee district may abolish the levy or apply the levy in whole or in part to the entire
restructured district.  Any such levy made applicable to the entire district may continue in force for
no more than five years, unless approved by the electors of the restructured district in the manner
set forth in Section 53A-17a-133.

Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session

53A-2-116 Rights of transferred employees -- Salary during first year -- Leave and tenure
benefits.
(1) If a school employee is transferred from one district to another because of district consolidation

or restructuring, the employee's salary may not be less, during the first year after the transfer,
than it would have been had the transfer not taken place.

(2) The district to which an employee is transferred under Subsection (1) shall credit the employee
with all accumulated leave and tenure recognized by the district from which the employee was
transferred.

(3) If the district to which an employee is transferred does not have a leave benefit which
reasonably corresponds to one the employee seeks to transfer, that district shall compensate
the employee for the benefit on the same basis as would have been done had the employee
retired.

Enacted by Chapter 49, 1988 General Session

53A-2-117 Definitions.
          As used in Sections 53A-2-117 through 53A-2-122, except Section 53A-2-118.4:

(1) "Allocation date" means:
(a) June 30 of the second calendar year after the local school board general election date

described in Subsection 53A-2-118.1(3)(a)(i); or
(b) another date that the transition teams under Section 53A-2-118.1 mutually agree to.

(2) "Canvass date" means the date of the canvass of an election under Subsection 53A-2-118(5) at
which voters approve the creation of a new school district under Section 53A-2-118.1.

(3) "Creation election date" means the date of the election under Subsection 53A-2-118(5) at which
voters approve the creation of a new school district under Section 53A-2-118.1.

(4) "Divided school district, "existing district," or "existing school district" means a school district
from which a new district is created.

(5) "New district" or "new school district" means a school district created under Section 53A-2-118
or 53A-2-118.1.

(6) "Remaining district" or "remaining school district" means an existing district after the creation of
a new district.

Amended by Chapter 300, 2011 General Session
Amended by Chapter 369, 2011 General Session

53A-2-118 Creation of new school district -- Initiation of process -- Procedures to be
followed.
(1) A new school district may be created from one or more existing school districts, as provided in

this section.
(2)

(a) The process to create a new school district may be initiated:
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(i) through a citizens' initiative petition;
(ii) at the request of the board of the existing district or districts to be affected by the creation of

the new district; or
(iii) at the request of a city within the boundaries of the school district or at the request of

interlocal agreement participants, pursuant to Section 53A-2-118.1.
(b)

(i) Each petition submitted under Subsection (2)(a)(i) shall be signed by qualified electors
residing within the geographical boundaries of the proposed new school district equal in
number to at least 15% of the number of electors in the area who voted for the office of
governor at the last regular general election.

(ii) Each request or petition submitted under Subsection (2)(a) shall:
(A) be filed with the clerk of each county in which any part of the proposed new school district

is located;
(B) indicate the typed or printed name and current residence address of each governing

board member making a request, or registered voter signing a petition, as the case may
be;

(C) describe the proposed new school district boundaries; and
(D) designate up to five signers of the petition or request as sponsors, one of whom shall be

designated as the contact sponsor, with the mailing address and telephone number of
each.

(c) A signer of a petition under Subsection (2)(a)(i) may withdraw or, once withdrawn, reinstate
the signer's signature at any time before the filing of the petition by filing a written withdrawal
or reinstatement with the county clerk.

(d) The process under Subsection (2)(a)(i) may only be initiated once during any four-year
period.

(e) A new district may not be formed pursuant to Subsection (2)(a) if the student population of the
proposed new district is less than 3,000 or the existing district's student population would be
less than 3,000 because of the creation of the new school district.

(f) Within 45 days after the filing of a petition under Subsection (2)(a)(i) or five business days
after the filing of a request under Subsection (2)(a)(ii) or (iii), the clerk of each county with
which a request or petition is filed shall:

(i) determine whether the request or petition complies with Subsections (2)(a), (b), (d), and (e),
as applicable; and

(ii)
(A) if the county clerk determines that the request or petition complies with the applicable

requirements:
(I) certify the request or petition and deliver the certified request or petition to the county

legislative body; and
(II) mail or deliver written notification of the certification to the contact sponsor; or

(B) if the county clerk determines that the request or petition fails to comply with any of the
applicable requirements, reject the request or petition and notify the contact sponsor in
writing of the rejection and reasons for the rejection.

(g) If the county clerk fails to certify or reject a request or petition within the time specified in
Subsection (2)(f), the request or petition shall be considered to be certified.

(h)
(i) If the county clerk rejects a request or petition, the request or petition may be amended to

correct the deficiencies for which it was rejected and then refiled.
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(ii) Subsection (2)(d) does not apply to a request or petition that is amended and refiled after
having been rejected by a county clerk.

(i) If a county legislative body receives a request from a school board under Subsection (2)(a)
(ii) or a petition under Subsection (2)(a)(i) which is certified by the county clerk on or before
December 1:

(i) the county legislative body shall appoint an ad hoc advisory committee, as provided by
Subsection (3), on or before January 1;

(ii) the ad hoc advisory committee shall submit its report and recommendations to the county
legislative body, as provided by Subsection (3), on or before July 1; and

(iii) if the legislative body of each county with which a request or petition is filed approves a
proposal to create a new district, the proposal shall be submitted to the respective county
clerk to be voted on by the electors of each existing district at the regular general or
municipal general election held in November.

(3)
(a) The legislative body of each county with which a request or petition is filed shall appoint an ad

hoc advisory committee to review and make recommendations on a request for the creation
of a new school district submitted under Subsection (2)(a)(i) or (ii).

(b) The advisory committee shall:
(i) seek input from:

(A) those requesting the creation of the new school district;
(B) the school board and school personnel of each existing school district;
(C) those citizens residing within the geographical boundaries of each existing school district;
(D) the State Board of Education; and
(E) other interested parties;

(ii) review data and gather information on at least:
(A) the financial viability of the proposed new school district;
(B) the proposal's financial impact on each existing school district;
(C) the exact placement of school district boundaries; and
(D) the positive and negative effects of creating a new school district and whether the positive

effects outweigh the negative if a new school district were to be created; and
(iii) make a report to the county legislative body in a public meeting on the committee's

activities, together with a recommendation on whether to create a new school district.
(4) For a request or petition submitted under Subsection (2)(a)(i) or (2)(a)(ii):

(a) The county legislative body shall provide for a 45-day public comment period on the report
and recommendation to begin on the day the report is given under Subsection (3)(b)(iii).

(b) Within 14 days after the end of the comment period, the legislative body of each county with
which a request or petition is filed shall vote on the creation of the proposed new school
district.

(c) The proposal is approved if a majority of the members of the legislative body of each county
with which a request or petition is filed votes in favor of the proposal.

(d) If the proposal is approved, the legislative body of each county with which a request or
petition is filed shall submit the proposal to the county clerk to be voted on:

(i) by the legal voters of each existing school district;
(ii) in accordance with the procedures and requirements applicable to a regular general election

under Title 20A, Election Code; and
(iii) at the next regular general election or municipal general election, whichever is first.
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(e) Creation of the new school district shall occur if a majority of the electors within both the
proposed school district and each remaining school district voting on the proposal vote in
favor of the creation of the new district.

(f) Each county legislative body shall comply with the requirements of Section 53A-2-101.5.
(g) If a proposal submitted under Subsection (2)(a)(i) or (ii) to create a new district is approved

by the electors, the existing district's documented costs to study and implement the proposal
shall be reimbursed by the new district.

(5)
(a) If a proposal submitted under Subsection (2)(a)(iii) is certified under Subsection (2)(f) or (g),

the legislative body of each county in which part of the proposed new school district is located
shall submit the proposal to the respective clerk of each county to be voted on:

(i) by the legal voters residing within the proposed new school district boundaries;
(ii) in accordance with the procedures and requirements applicable to a regular general election

under Title 20A, Election Code; and
(iii) at the next regular general election or municipal general election, whichever is first.

(b)
(i) If a majority of the legal voters within the proposed new school district boundaries voting on

the proposal at an election under Subsection (5)(a) vote in favor of the creation of the new
district:

(A) each county legislative body shall comply with the requirements of Section 53A-2-101.5;
and

(B) upon the lieutenant governor's issuance of the certificate under Section 67-1a-6.5, the
new district is created.

(ii) Notwithstanding the creation of a new district as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(i)(B):
(A) a new school district may not begin to provide educational services to the area within the

new district until July 1 of the second calendar year following the school board general
election date described in Subsection 53A-2-118.1(3)(a)(i);

(B) a remaining district may not begin to provide educational services to the area within the
remaining district until the time specified in Subsection (5)(b)(ii)(A); and

(C) each existing district shall continue, until the time specified in Subsection (5)(b)(ii)(A), to
provide educational services within the entire area covered by the existing district.

Amended by Chapter 230, 2010 General Session

53A-2-118.1 Proposal initiated by a city or interlocal agreement participants to create a
school district -- Boundaries -- Election of local school board members -- Allocation of
assets and liabilities -- Startup costs -- Transfer of title.
(1)

(a) After conducting a feasibility study, a city with a population of at least 50,000, as determined
by the lieutenant governor using the process described in Subsection 67-1a-2(3), may by
majority vote of the legislative body, submit for voter approval a measure to create a new
school district with boundaries contiguous with that city's boundaries, in accordance with
Section 53A-2-118.

(b)
(i) The determination of all matters relating to the scope, adequacy, and other aspects of

a feasibility study under Subsection (1)(a) is within the exclusive discretion of the city's
legislative body.
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(ii) An inadequacy of a feasibility study under Subsection (1)(a) may not be the basis of a legal
action or other challenge to:

(A) an election for voter approval of the creation of a new school district; or
(B) the creation of the new school district.

(2)
(a) By majority vote of the legislative body, a city of any class, a town, or a county, may, together

with one or more other cities, towns, or the county enter into an interlocal agreement,
in accordance with Title 11, Chapter 13, Interlocal Cooperation Act, for the purpose of
submitting for voter approval a measure to create a new school district.

(b)
(i) In accordance with Section 53A-2-118, interlocal agreement participants under Subsection

(2)(a) may submit a proposal for voter approval if:
(A) the interlocal agreement participants conduct a feasibility study prior to submitting the

proposal to the county;
(B) the combined population within the proposed new school district boundaries is at least

50,000;
(C) the new school district boundaries:

(I) are contiguous;
(II) do not completely surround or otherwise completely geographically isolate a portion of

an existing school district that is not part of the proposed new school district from the
remaining part of that existing school district, except as provided in Subsection (2)(d)(iii);

(III) include the entire boundaries of each participant city or town, except as provided in
Subsection (2)(d)(ii); and

(IV) subject to Subsection (2)(b)(ii), do not cross county lines; and
(D) the combined population within the proposed new school district of interlocal agreement

participants that have entered into an interlocal agreement proposing to create a new
school district is at least 80% of the total population of the proposed new school district.

(ii) The determination of all matters relating to the scope, adequacy, and other aspects of a
feasibility study under Subsection (2)(b)(i)(A), including whether to conduct a new feasibility
study or revise a previous feasibility study due to a change in the proposed new school
district boundaries, is within the exclusive discretion of the legislative bodies of the interlocal
agreement participants that enter into an interlocal agreement to submit for voter approval a
measure to create a new school district.

(iii) An inadequacy of a feasibility study under Subsection (2)(b)(i)(A) may not be the basis of a
legal action or other challenge to:

(A) an election for voter approval of the creation of a new school district; or
(B) the creation of the new school district.

(iv) For purposes of determining whether the boundaries of a proposed new school district
cross county lines under Subsection (2)(b)(i)(C)(IV):

(A) a municipality located in more than one county and entirely within the boundaries of
a single school district is considered to be entirely within the same county as other
participants in an interlocal agreement under Subsection (2)(a) if more of the municipality's
land area and population is located in that same county than outside the county; and

(B) a municipality located in more than one county that participates in an interlocal
agreement under Subsection (2)(a) with respect to some but not all of the area within the
municipality's boundaries on the basis of the exception stated in Subsection (2)(d)(ii)(B)
may not be considered to cross county lines.

(c)
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(i) A county may only participate in an interlocal agreement under this Subsection (2) for the
unincorporated areas of the county.

(ii) Boundaries of a new school district created under this section may include:
(A) a portion of one or more existing school districts; and
(B) a portion of the unincorporated area of a county, including a portion of a township.

(d)
(i) As used in this Subsection (2)(d):

(A) "Isolated area" means an area that:
(I) is entirely within the boundaries of a municipality that, except for that area, is entirely

within a school district different than the school district in which the area is located; and
(II) would, because of the creation of a new school district from the existing district in which

the area is located, become completely geographically isolated.
(B) "Municipality's school district" means the school district that includes all of the municipality

in which the isolated area is located except the isolated area.
(ii) Notwithstanding Subsection (2)(b)(i)(C)(III), a municipality may be a participant in an

interlocal agreement under Subsection (2)(a) with respect to some but not all of the area
within the municipality's boundaries if:

(A) the portion of the municipality proposed to be included in the new school district would, if
not included, become an isolated area upon the creation of the new school district; or

(B)
(I) the portion of the municipality proposed to be included in the new school district is within

the boundaries of the same school district that includes the other interlocal agreement
participants; and

(II) the portion of the municipality proposed to be excluded from the new school district is
within the boundaries of a school district other than the school district that includes the
other interlocal agreement participants.

(iii)
(A) Notwithstanding Subsection (2)(b)(i)(C)(II), a proposal to create a new school district may

be submitted for voter approval pursuant to an interlocal agreement under Subsection (2)
(a), even though the new school district boundaries would create an isolated area, if:

(I) the potential isolated area is contiguous to one or more of the interlocal agreement
participants;

(II) the interlocal participants submit a written request to the municipality in which the
potential isolated area is located, requesting the municipality to enter into an interlocal
agreement under Subsection (2)(a) that proposes to submit for voter approval a measure
to create a new school district that includes the potential isolated area; and

(III) 90 days after a request under Subsection (2)(d)(iii)(A)(II) is submitted, the municipality
has not entered into an interlocal agreement as requested in the request.

(B) Each municipality receiving a request under Subsection (2)(d)(iii)(A)(II) shall hold one or
more public hearings to allow input from the public and affected school districts regarding
whether or not the municipality should enter into an interlocal agreement with respect to
the potential isolated area.

(C)
(I) This Subsection (2)(d)(iii)(C) applies if:

(Aa) a new school district is created under this section after a measure is submitted to
voters based on the authority of Subsection (2)(d)(iii)(A); and

(Bb) the creation of the new school district results in an isolated area.
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(II) The isolated area shall, on July 1 of the second calendar year following the local school
board general election date described in Subsection (3)(a)(i), become part of the
municipality's school district.

(III) Unless the isolated area is the only remaining part of the existing district, the process
described in Subsection (4) shall be modified to:

(Aa) include a third transition team, appointed by the local school board of the
municipality's school district, to represent that school district; and

(Bb) require allocation of the existing district's assets and liabilities among the new district,
the remaining district, and the municipality's school district.

(IV) The existing district shall continue to provide educational services to the isolated area
until July 1 of the second calendar year following the local school board general election
date described in Subsection (3)(a)(i).

(3)
(a) If a proposal under this section is approved by voters:

(i) an election shall be held at the next regular general election to elect:
(A) members to the local school board of the existing school district whose terms are expiring;
(B) all members to the local school board of the new school district; and
(C) all members to the local school board of the remaining district;

(ii) the assets and liabilities of the existing school district shall be divided between the remaining
school district and the new school district as provided in Subsection (5) and Section
53A-2-121;

(iii) transferred employees shall be treated in accordance with Sections 53A-2-116 and
53A-2-122;

(iv)
(A) an individual residing within the boundaries of a new school district at the time the new

school district is created may, for six school years after the creation of the new school
district, elect to enroll in a secondary school located outside the boundaries of the new
school district if:

(I) the individual resides within the boundaries of that secondary school as of the day before
the new school district is created; and

(II) the individual would have been eligible to enroll in that secondary school had the new
school district not been created; and

(B) the school district in which the secondary school is located shall provide educational
services, including, if provided before the creation of the new school district, busing, to
each individual making an election under Subsection (3)(a)(iv)(A) for each school year for
which the individual makes the election; and

(v) within one year after the new district begins providing educational services, the
superintendent of each remaining district affected and the superintendent of the new district
shall meet, together with the Superintendent of Public Instruction, to determine if further
boundary changes should be proposed in accordance with Section 53A-2-104.

(b)
(i) The terms of the initial members of the local school board of the new district and remaining

district shall be staggered and adjusted by the county legislative body so that approximately
half of the local school board is elected every two years.

(ii) The term of a member of the existing local school board, including a member elected under
Subsection (3)(a)(i)(A), terminates on July 1 of the second year after the local school board
general election date described in Subsection (3)(a)(i), regardless of when the term would
otherwise have terminated.
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(iii) Notwithstanding the existence of a local school board for the new district and a local school
board for the remaining district under Subsection (3)(a)(i), the local school board of the
existing district shall continue, until the time specified in Subsection 53A-2-118(5)(b)(ii)
(A), to function and exercise authority as a local school board to the extent necessary to
continue to provide educational services to the entire existing district.

(iv) A person may simultaneously serve as or be elected to be a member of the local school
board of an existing district and a member of the local school board of:

(A) a new district; or
(B) a remaining district.

(4)
(a) Within 45 days after the canvass date for the election at which voters approve the creation of

a new district:
(i) a transition team to represent the remaining district shall be appointed by the members

of the existing local school board who reside within the area of the remaining district, in
consultation with:

(A) the legislative bodies of all municipalities in the area of the remaining district; and
(B) the legislative body of the county in which the remaining district is located, if the remaining

district includes one or more unincorporated areas of the county; and
(ii) another transition team to represent the new district shall be appointed by:

(A) for a new district located entirely within the boundaries of a single city, the legislative body
of that city; or

(B) for each other new district, the legislative bodies of all interlocal agreement participants.
(b) The local school board of the existing school district shall, within 60 days after the canvass

date for the election at which voters approve the creation of a new district:
(i) prepare an inventory of the existing district's:

(A) assets, both tangible and intangible, real and personal; and
(B) liabilities; and

(ii) deliver a copy of the inventory to each of the transition teams.
(c) The transition teams appointed under Subsection (4)(a) shall:

(i) determine the allocation of the existing district's assets and, except for indebtedness
under Section 53A-2-121, liabilities between the remaining district and the new district in
accordance with Subsection (5);

(ii) prepare a written report detailing how the existing district's assets and, except for
indebtedness under Section 53A-2-121, liabilities are to be allocated; and

(iii) deliver a copy of the written report to:
(A) the local school board of the existing district;
(B) the local school board of the remaining district; and
(C) the local school board of the new district.

(d) The transition teams shall determine the allocation under Subsection (4)(c)(i) and deliver the
report required under Subsection (4)(c)(ii) before August 1 of the year following the election
at which voters approve the creation of a new district, unless that deadline is extended by the
mutual agreement of:

(i) the local school board of the existing district; and
(ii)

(A) the legislative body of the city in which the new district is located, for a new district located
entirely within a single city; or

(B) the legislative bodies of all interlocal agreement participants, for each other new district.
(e)
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(i) All costs and expenses of the transition team that represents a remaining district shall be
borne by the remaining district.

(ii) All costs and expenses of the transition team that represents a new district shall initially be
borne by:

(A) the city whose legislative body appoints the transition team, if the transition team is
appointed by the legislative body of a single city; or

(B) the interlocal agreement participants, if the transition team is appointed by the legislative
bodies of interlocal agreement participants.

(iii) The new district may, to a maximum of $500,000, reimburse the city or interlocal agreement
participants for:

(A) transition team costs and expenses; and
(B) startup costs and expenses incurred by the city or interlocal agreement participants on

behalf of the new district.
(5)

(a) As used in this Subsection (5):
(i) "Associated property" means furniture, equipment, or supplies located in or specifically

associated with a physical asset.
(ii)

(A) "Discretionary asset or liability" means, except as provided in Subsection (5)(a)(ii)(B), an
asset or liability that is not tied to a specific project, school, student, or employee by law or
school district accounting practice.

(B) "Discretionary asset or liability" does not include a physical asset, associated property, a
vehicle, or bonded indebtedness.

(iii)
(A) "Nondiscretionary asset or liability" means, except as provided in Subsection (5)(a)(iii)(B),

an asset or liability that is tied to a specific project, school, student, or employee by law or
school district accounting practice.

(B) "Nondiscretionary asset or liability" does not include a physical asset, associated property,
a vehicle, or bonded indebtedness.

(iv) "Physical asset" means a building, land, or water right together with revenue derived from
the lease or use of the building, land, or water right.

(b) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(c), the transition teams appointed under Subsection (4)
(a) shall allocate all assets and liabilities the existing district owns on the allocation date, both
tangible and intangible, real and personal, to the new district and remaining district as follows:

(i) a physical asset and associated property shall be allocated to the school district in which the
physical asset is located;

(ii) a discretionary asset or liability shall be allocated between the new district and remaining
district in proportion to the student populations of the school districts;

(iii) a nondiscretionary asset shall be allocated to the school district where the project, school,
student, or employee to which the nondiscretionary asset is tied will be located;

(iv) vehicles used for pupil transportation shall be allocated:
(A) according to the transportation needs of schools, as measured by the number and

assortment of vehicles used to serve transportation routes serving schools within the new
district and remaining district; and

(B) in a manner that gives each school district a fleet of vehicles for pupil transportation that is
equivalent in terms of age, condition, and variety of carrying capacities; and

(v) other vehicles shall be allocated:
(A) in proportion to the student populations of the school districts; and
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(B) in a manner that gives each district a fleet of vehicles that is similar in terms of age,
condition, and carrying capacities.

(c) By mutual agreement, the transition teams may allocate an asset or liability in a manner
different than the allocation method specified in Subsection (5)(b).

(6)
(a) As used in this Subsection (6):

(i) "New district startup costs" means:
(A) costs and expenses incurred by a new district in order to prepare to begin providing

educational services on July 1 of the second calendar year following the local school
board general election date described in Subsection (3)(a)(i); and

(B) the costs and expenses of the transition team that represents the new district.
(ii) "Remaining district startup costs" means:

(A) costs and expenses incurred by a remaining district in order to:
(I) make necessary adjustments to deal with the impacts resulting from the creation of the

new district; and
(II) prepare to provide educational services within the remaining district once the new district

begins providing educational services within the new district; and
(B) the costs and expenses of the transition team that represents the remaining district.

(b)
(i) By January 1 of the year following the local school board general election date described in

Subsection (3)(a)(i), the existing district shall make half of the undistributed reserve from its
General Fund, to a maximum of $9,000,000, available for the use of the remaining district
and the new district, as provided in this Subsection (6).

(ii) The existing district may make additional funds available for the use of the remaining
district and the new district beyond the amount specified in Subsection (6)(b)(i) through an
interlocal agreement.

(c) The existing district shall make the money under Subsection (6)(b) available to the remaining
district and the new district proportionately based on student population.

(d) The money made available under Subsection (6)(b) may be accessed and spent by:
(i) for the remaining district, the local school board of the remaining district; and
(ii) for the new district, the local school board of the new district.

(e)
(i) The remaining district may use its portion of the money made available under Subsection (6)

(b) to pay for remaining district startup costs.
(ii) The new district may use its portion of the money made available under Subsection (6)(b) to

pay for new district startup costs.
(7)

(a) The existing district shall transfer title or, if applicable, partial title of property to the new
school district in accordance with the allocation of property by the transition teams, as stated
in the report under Subsection (4)(c)(ii).

(b) The existing district shall complete each transfer of title or, if applicable, partial title to real
property and vehicles by July 1 of the second calendar year following the local school board
general election date described in Subsection (3)(a)(i), except as that date is changed by the
mutual agreement of:

(i) the local school board of the existing district;
(ii) the local school board of the remaining district; and
(iii) the local school board of the new district.
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(c) The existing district shall complete the transfer of all property not included in Subsection (7)(b)
by November 1 of the second calendar year after the local school board general election date
described in Subsection (3)(a)(i).

(8) Except as provided in Subsections (6) and (7), after the creation election date an existing
school district may not transfer or agree to transfer title to district property without the prior
consent of:

(a) the legislative body of the city in which the new district is located, for a new district located
entirely within a single city; or

(b) the legislative bodies of all interlocal agreement participants, for each other new district.
(9) This section does not apply to the creation of a new district initiated through a citizens' initiative

petition or at the request of a local school board under Section 53A-2-118.

Amended by Chapter 300, 2011 General Session

53A-2-118.2 New school district property tax -- Limitations.
(1)

(a) A new school district created under Section 53A-2-118.1 may not impose a property tax prior
to the fiscal year in which the new school district assumes responsibility for providing student
instruction.

(b) The remaining school district retains authority to impose property taxes on the existing school
district, including the territory of the new school district, until the fiscal year in which the new
school district assumes responsibility for providing student instruction.

(2)
(a) If at the time a new school district created pursuant to Section 53A-2-118.1 assumes

responsibility for student instruction any portion of the territory within the new school district
was subject to a levy pursuant to Section 53A-17a-133, the new school district's board may:

(i) discontinue the levy for the new school district;
(ii) impose a levy on the new school district as provided in Section 53A-17a-133; or
(iii) impose the levy on the new school district, subject to Subsection (2)(b).

(b) If the new school district's board applies a levy to the new school district pursuant to
Subsection (2)(a)(iii), the levy may not exceed the maximum duration or rate authorized by
the voters of the existing district or districts at the time of the vote to create the new school
district.

Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session

53A-2-118.4 Property tax levies in new district and remaining district -- Distribution of
property tax revenue.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Divided school district" or "existing district" means a school district from which a new district
is created.

(b) "New district" means a school district created under Section 53A-2-118.1 after May 10, 2011.
(c) "Property tax levy" means a property tax levy that a school district is authorized to impose,

except:
(i) the minimum basic rate imposed under Section 53A-17a-135;
(ii) a debt service levy imposed under Section 11-14-310; or
(iii) a judgment levy imposed under Section 59-2-1330.
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(d) "Qualifying taxable year" means the calendar year in which a new district begins to provide
educational services.

(e) "Remaining district" means an existing district after the creation of a new district.
(2) A new district and remaining district shall continue to impose property tax levies that were

imposed by the divided school district in the taxable year prior to the qualifying taxable year.
(3) Except as provided in Subsection (6), a property tax levy that a new district and remaining

district are required to impose under Subsection (2) shall be set at a rate that:
(a) is uniform in the new district and remaining district; and
(b) generates the same amount of revenue that was generated by the property tax levy within the

divided school district in the taxable year prior to the qualifying taxable year.
(4)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), the county treasurer of the county in which a
property tax levy is imposed under Subsection (2) shall distribute revenues generated by the
property tax levy to the new district and remaining district in proportion to the percentage of
the divided school district's enrollment on the October 1 prior to the new district commencing
educational services that were enrolled in schools currently located in the new district or
remaining district.

(b) The county treasurer of a county of the first class shall distribute revenues generated by
a capital local levy of .0006 that a school district in a county of the first class is required to
impose under Section 53A-16-113 in accordance with the distribution method specified in
Section 53A-16-114.

(5) On or before March 31, a county treasurer shall distribute revenues generated by a property
tax levy imposed under Subsection (2) in the prior calendar year to a new district and remaining
district as provided in Subsection (4).

(6)
(a) Subject to the notice and public hearing requirements of Section 59-2-919, a new district or

remaining district may set a property tax rate higher than the rate required by Subsection (3),
up to:

(i) the maximum rate, if any, allowed by law; or
(ii) the maximum rate authorized by voters for a voted local levy under Section 53A-17a-133.

(b) The revenues generated by the portion of a property tax rate in excess of the rate required by
Subsection (3) shall be retained by the district that imposes the higher rate.

Amended by Chapter 428, 2015 General Session

53A-2-119 Reapportionment -- Local school board membership.
(1) Upon the creation of a new school district, the county legislative body shall reapportion the

affected school districts pursuant to Section 20A-14-201.
(2) Except as provided in Section 53A-2-118.1, school board membership in the affected school

districts shall be determined under Title 20A, Chapter 14, Part 2, Election of Members of Local
Boards of Education.

Amended by Chapter 230, 2010 General Session

53A-2-120 Transfer of school property to new school district.
(1)

(a)
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(i) On July 1 of the year following the school board elections for a new district created pursuant
to a citizens' initiative petition or school board request under Section 53A-2-118 and an
existing district as provided in Section 53A-2-119, the board of the existing district shall
convey and deliver to the board of the new district all school property which the new district
is entitled to receive.

(ii) Any disagreements as to the disposition of school property shall be resolved by the county
legislative body.

(iii) Subsection (1)(a)(ii) does not apply to disagreements between transition teams about the
proper allocation of property under Subsection 53A-2-118.1(4).

(b) An existing district shall transfer property to a new district created under Section 53A-2-118.1
in accordance with Section 53A-2-118.1.

(2) Title vests in the new school board, including all rights, claims, and causes of action to or
for the property, for the use or the income from the property, for conversion, disposition, or
withholding of the property, or for any damage or injury to the property.

(3) The new school board may bring and maintain actions to recover, protect, and preserve the
property and rights of the district's schools and to enforce contracts.

Amended by Chapter 295, 2011 General Session

53A-2-121 Tax to pay for indebtedness of divided school district.
(1)

(a) For a new district created prior to May 10, 2011, the local school boards of the remaining and
new districts shall determine the portion of the divided school district's bonded indebtedness
and other indebtedness for which the property within the new district remains subject to
the levy of taxes to pay a proportionate share of the divided school district's outstanding
indebtedness.

(b) The proportionate share of the divided school district's outstanding indebtedness for which
property within the new district remains subject to the levy of taxes shall be calculated by
determining the proportion that the total assessed valuation of the property within the new
district bears to the total assessed valuation of the divided school district:

(i) in the year immediately preceding the date the new district was created; or
(ii) at a time mutually agreed upon by the local school boards of the new district and the

remaining district.
(c) The agreement reflecting the determinations made under this Subsection (1) shall take effect

upon being filed with the county legislative body and the State Board of Education.
(2)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), the local school board of a new district created prior
to May 10, 2011 shall levy a tax on property within the new district sufficient to pay the new
district's proportionate share of the indebtedness determined under Subsection (1).

(b) If a new district has money available to pay the new district's proportionate share of the
indebtedness determined under Subsection (1), the new district may abate a property tax to
the extent of money available.

(3) As used in Subsections (4) and (5), "outstanding bonded indebtedness" means debt owed for a
general obligation bond issued by the divided school district:

(a) prior to the creation of the new district; or
(b) in accordance with a mutual agreement of the local school boards of the remaining and new

districts under Subsection (6).
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(4) If a new district is created on or after May 10, 2011, property within the new district and the
remaining district is subject to the levy of a tax to pay the divided school district's outstanding
bonded indebtedness as provided in Subsection (5).

(5)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), the local school board of the new district and the

local school board of the remaining district shall impose a tax levy at a rate that:
(i) generates from the combined districts the amount of revenue required each year to meet the

outstanding bonded indebtedness of the divided school district; and
(ii) is uniform within the new district and remaining district.

(b) A local school board of a new district may abate a property tax required to be imposed under
Subsection (5)(a) to the extent the new district has money available to pay to the remaining
district the amount of revenue that would be generated within the new district from the tax rate
specified in Subsection (5)(a).

(6)
(a) The local school boards of the remaining and new districts shall determine by mutual

agreement the disposition of bonds approved but not issued by the divided school district
before the creation of the new district based primarily on the representation made to the
voters at the time of the bond election.

(b) Before a determination is made under Subsection (6)(a), a remaining district may not issue
bonds approved but not issued before the creation of the new district if property in the new
district would be subject to the levy of a tax to pay the bonds.

Amended by Chapter 295, 2011 General Session

53A-2-122 Employees of a new district.
(1) Upon the creation of a new district:

(a) an employee of an existing district who is employed at a school that is transferred to the new
district shall become an employee of the new district; and

(b) the school board of the new district shall:
(i) have discretion in the hiring of all other staff;
(ii) adopt the personnel policies and practices of the existing district, including salary schedules

and benefits; and
(iii) enter into agreements with employees of the new district, or their representatives, that have

the same terms as those in the negotiated agreements between the existing district and its
employees.

(2)
(a) Subject to Subsection (2)(b), an employee of a school district from which a new district is

created who becomes an employee of the new district shall retain the same status as a
career or provisional employee with accrued seniority and accrued benefits.

(b) Subsection (2)(a) applies to:
(i) employees of an existing district who are transferred to a new district pursuant to Subsection

(1)(a); and
(ii) employees of a school district from which a new district is created who are hired by the new

district within one year of the date of the creation of the new district.
(3) An employee who is transferred to a new district pursuant to Subsection (1)(a) and is rehired

by the existing district within one year of the date of the creation of the new district shall, when
rehired by the existing district, retain the same status as a career or provisional employee with
accrued seniority and accrued benefits.
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Amended by Chapter 183, 2006 General Session

53A-2-123 Notice before preparing or amending a long-range plan or acquiring certain
property.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Affected entity" means each county, municipality, local district under Title 17B, Limited
Purpose Local Government Entities - Local Districts, special service district under Title 17D,
Chapter 1, Special Service District Act, interlocal cooperation entity established under Title
11, Chapter 13, Interlocal Cooperation Act, and specified public utility:

(i) whose services or facilities are likely to require expansion or significant modification because
of an intended use of land; or

(ii) that has filed with the school district a copy of the general or long-range plan of the county,
municipality, local district, special service district, school district, interlocal cooperation
entity, or specified public utility.

(b) "Specified public utility" means an electrical corporation, gas corporation, or telephone
corporation, as those terms are defined in Section 54-2-1.

(2)
(a) If a school district located in a county of the first or second class prepares a long-range plan

regarding its facilities proposed for the future or amends an already existing long-range plan,
the school district shall, before preparing a long-range plan or amendments to an existing
long-range plan, provide written notice, as provided in this section, of its intent to prepare a
long-range plan or to amend an existing long-range plan.

(b) Each notice under Subsection (2)(a) shall:
(i) indicate that the school district intends to prepare a long-range plan or to amend a long-

range plan, as the case may be;
(ii) describe or provide a map of the geographic area that will be affected by the long-range plan

or amendments to a long-range plan;
(iii) be:

(A) sent to each county in whose unincorporated area and each municipality in whose
boundaries is located the land on which the proposed long-range plan or amendments to a
long-range plan are expected to indicate that the proposed facilities will be located;

(B) sent to each affected entity;
(C) sent to the Automated Geographic Reference Center created in Section 63F-1-506;
(D) sent to each association of governments, established pursuant to an interlocal agreement

under Title 11, Chapter 13, Interlocal Cooperation Act, of which a county or municipality
described in Subsection (2)(b)(iii)(A) is a member; and

(E) placed on the Utah Public Notice Website created under Section 63F-1-701;
(iv) with respect to the notice to counties and municipalities described in Subsection (2)(b)(iii)

(A) and affected entities, invite them to provide information for the school district to consider
in the process of preparing, adopting, and implementing the long-range plan or amendments
to a long-range plan concerning:

(A) impacts that the use of land proposed in the proposed long-range plan or amendments to
a long-range plan may have on the county, municipality, or affected entity; and

(B) uses of land that the county, municipality, or affected entity is planning or considering that
may conflict with the proposed long-range plan or amendments to a long-range plan; and
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(v) include the address of an Internet website, if the school district has one, and the name and
telephone number of a person where more information can be obtained concerning the
school district's proposed long-range plan or amendments to a long-range plan.

(3)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(d), each school district intending to acquire real property

in a county of the first or second class for the purpose of expanding the district's infrastructure
or other facilities shall provide written notice, as provided in this Subsection (3), of its intent to
acquire the property if the intended use of the property is contrary to:

(i) the anticipated use of the property under the county or municipality's general plan; or
(ii) the property's current zoning designation.

(b) Each notice under Subsection (3)(a) shall:
(i) indicate that the school district intends to acquire real property;
(ii) identify the real property; and
(iii) be sent to:

(A) each county in whose unincorporated area and each municipality in whose boundaries the
property is located; and

(B) each affected entity.
(c) A notice under this Subsection (3) is a protected record as provided in Subsection

63G-2-305(8).
(d)

(i) The notice requirement of Subsection (3)(a) does not apply if the school district previously
provided notice under Subsection (2) identifying the general location within the municipality
or unincorporated part of the county where the property to be acquired is located.

(ii) If a school district is not required to comply with the notice requirement of Subsection (3)
(a) because of application of Subsection (3)(d)(i), the school district shall provide the notice
specified in Subsection (3)(a) as soon as practicable after its acquisition of the real property.

Amended by Chapter 445, 2013 General Session

Part 2
District of Residency

53A-2-201 Child's school district of residence -- Determination -- Responsibility for
providing educational services.
(1) The school district of residence of a minor child whose custodial parent or legal guardian

resides within Utah is:
(a) the school district in which the custodial parent or legal guardian resides; or
(b) the school district in which the child resides:

(i) while in the custody or under the supervision of a Utah state agency;
(ii) while under the supervision of a private or public agency which is in compliance with Section

62A-4a-606 and is authorized to provide child placement services by the state;
(iii) while living with a responsible adult resident of the district, if a determination has been

made in accordance with rules of the district board of education that:
(A) the child's physical, mental, moral, or emotional health would best be served by

considering the child to be a resident for school purposes;
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(B) exigent circumstances exist which would not permit the case to be appropriately
addressed under Section 53A-2-207; and

(C) considering the child to be a resident of the district under this subsection would not violate
any other law or rule of the State Board of Education; or

(iv) if the child is married or has been determined to be an emancipated minor by a court of law
or by a state administrative agency authorized to make that determination.

(2) A minor child whose custodial parent or legal guardian does not reside in the state is
considered to be a resident of the district in which the child lives, unless that designation
violates any other law or rule of the State Board of Education, if:

(a) the child is married or an emancipated minor under Subsection (1)(b)(iv); or
(b) the child lives with a resident of the district who is a responsible adult and whom the district

agrees to designate as the child's legal guardian under Section 53A-2-202; or
(c) if permissible under policies adopted by the local school board, it is established to the

satisfaction of the local school board that:
(i) the child lives with a responsible adult who is a resident of the district and is the child's

noncustodial parent, grandparent, brother, sister, uncle, or aunt;
(ii) the child's presence in the district is not for the primary purpose of attending the public

schools;
(iii) the child's  physical, mental, moral, or emotional health would best be served by

considering the child to be a resident for school purposes; and
(iv) the child is prepared to abide by the rules and policies of the school and school district in

which attendance is sought.
(3)

(a) If admission is sought under Subsection (1)(b)(iii), or (2)(c), then the district may require the
person with whom the child lives to be designated as the child's custodian in a durable power
of attorney, issued by the party who has legal custody of the child, granting the custodian full
authority to take any appropriate action, including authorization for educational or medical
services, in the interests of the child.

(b) Both the party granting and the party empowered by the power of attorney shall agree to:
(i) assume responsibility for any fees or other charges relating to the child's education in the

district; and
(ii) if eligibility for fee waivers is claimed under Section 53A-12-103, provide the school district

with all financial information requested by the district for purposes of determining eligibility
for fee waivers.

(c) Notwithstanding Section 75-5-103, a power of attorney meeting the requirements of this
section and accepted by the school district shall remain in force until the earliest of the
following occurs:

(i) the child reaches the age of 18, marries, or becomes emancipated;
(ii) the expiration date stated in the document; or
(iii) the power of attorney is revoked or rendered inoperative by the grantor or grantee, or by

order of a court of competent jurisdiction.
(4) A power of attorney does not confer legal guardianship.
(5) Each school district is responsible for providing educational services for all children of school

age who are residents of the district.
(6) Students who were enrolled in a Utah public school by October 1, 1992, and would, but for this

part, have been allowed to attend public schools without payment of tuition shall be permitted
to continue their attendance until graduation or termination of enrollment on the same basis as
Utah resident students.
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Amended by Chapter 282, 1995 General Session

53A-2-202 Guardianship for residency purposes by responsible adult -- Procedure to obtain
-- Termination.
(1) For purposes of this part, "responsible adult" means a person 21 years of age or older who is

a resident of this state and is willing and able to provide reasonably adequate food, clothing,
shelter, and supervision for a minor child.

(2) A local board of education may adopt a policy permitting it to designate a responsible adult
residing in the school district as legal guardian of a child whose custodial parent or legal
guardian does not reside within the state upon compliance with the following requirements:

(a) submission to the school district of a signed and notarized affidavit by the child's custodial
parent or legal guardian stating that:

(i) the child's presence in the district is not for the primary purpose of attending the public
schools;

(ii) the child's physical, mental, moral, or emotional health would best be served by a transfer of
guardianship to the Utah resident;

(iii) the affiant is aware that designation of a guardian under this section is equivalent to a court-
ordered guardianship under Section 75-5-206 and will suspend or terminate any existing
parental or guardianship rights in the same manner as would occur under a court-ordered
guardianship;

(iv) the affiant consents and submits to any such suspension or termination of parental or
guardianship rights;

(v) the affiant consents and submits to the jurisdiction of the state district court in which the
school district is located in any action relating to the guardianship or custody of the child in
question;

(vi) the affiant designates a named responsible adult as agent, authorized to accept service on
behalf of the affiant of any process, notice, or demand required or permitted to be served in
connection with any action under Subsection (2)(a)(v); and

(vii) it is the affiant's intent that the child become a permanent resident of the state and reside
with and be under the supervision of the named responsible adult;

(b) submission to the school district of a signed and notarized affidavit by the responsible adult
stating that:

(i) the affiant is a resident of the school district and desires to become the guardian of the child;
(ii) the affiant consents and submits to the jurisdiction of the state district court in which the

school district is located in any action relating to the guardianship or custody of the child in
question;

(iii) the affiant will accept the responsibilities of guardianship for the duration, including the
responsibility to provide adequate supervision, discipline, food, shelter, educational and
emotional support, and medical care for the child if designated as the child's guardian; and

(iv) the affiant accepts the designation as agent under Subsection (2)(a)(vi);
(c) submission to the school district of a signed and notarized affidavit by the child stating that:

(i) the child desires to become a permanent resident of Utah and reside with and be responsible
to the named responsible adult; and

(ii) the child will abide by all applicable rules of any public school which the child may attend
after guardianship is awarded; and

(d) if the child's custodial parent or legal guardian cannot be found in order to execute the
statement required under Subsection (2)(a), the responsible adult must submit an affidavit
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to that effect to the district.  The district shall also submit a copy of the statement to the
Criminal Investigations and Technical Services Division of the Department of Public Safety,
established in Section 53-10-103.

(3) The district may require the responsible adult, in addition to the documents set forth in
Subsection (2), to also submit any other documents which are relevant to the appointment of
a guardian of a minor or which the district reasonably believes to be necessary in connection
with a given application to substantiate any claim or assertion made in connection with the
application for guardianship.

(4) Upon receipt of the information and documentation required under Subsections (2) and (3),
and a determination by the board that the information is accurate, that the requirements of this
section have been met, and that the interests of the child would best be served by granting
the requested guardianship, the school board or its authorized representative may designate
the applicant as guardian of the child by issuing a designation of guardianship letter to the
applicant.

(5)
(a) If a local school board has adopted a policy permitting the board to designate a guardian

under this section, a denial of an application for appointment of a guardian may be appealed
to the district court in which the school district is located.

(b) The court shall uphold the decision of the board unless it finds, by clear and convincing
evidence, that the board's decision was arbitrary and capricious.

(c) An applicant may, rather than appealing the board's decision under Subsection (5)(b), file
an original Petition for Appointment of Guardian with the district  court, which action shall
proceed as if no decision had been made by the school board.

(6) A responsible adult obtaining guardianship under this section has the same rights, authority,
and responsibilities as a guardian appointed under Section 75-5-201.

(7)
(a) The school district shall deliver the original documents filed with the school district, together

with a copy of the designation of guardianship issued by the district, in person or by any form
of mail requiring a signed receipt, to the clerk of the state district court in which the school
district is located.

(b) The court may not charge the school district a fee for filing guardianship papers under this
section.

(8)
(a) The authority and responsibility of a custodial parent or legal guardian submitting  an affidavit

under this section may be restored by the district, and the guardianship obtained under this
section terminated by the district:

(i) upon submission to the school district in which the guardianship was obtained of a signed
and notarized statement by the person who consented to guardianship under Subsection (2)
(a) requesting termination of the guardianship; or

(ii) by the person accepting guardianship under Subsection (2)(b) requesting the termination of
the guardianship.

(b) If the school district determines that it would not be in the best interests of the child to
terminate the guardianship, the district may refer the request for termination to the state
district court in which the documents were filed under Subsection (5) for further action
consistent with the interests of the child.

(9) The school district shall retain copies of all documents required by this section  until the child in
question has reached the age of 18 unless directed to surrender the documents by a court of
competent jurisdiction.
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(10)
(a) Intentional submission to a school district of fraudulent or misleading information under this

part is punishable under Section 76-8-504.
(b) A school district which has reason to believe that a party has intentionally submitted false

or misleading information under this part may, after notice and opportunity for the party to
respond to the allegation:

(i) void any guardianship, authorization, or action which was based upon the false or misleading
information; and

(ii) recover, from the party submitting the information, the full cost of any benefits received by
the child on the basis of the false or misleading information, including tuition, fees, and other
unpaid school charges, together with any related costs of recovery.

(c) A student whose guardianship or enrollment has been terminated under this section may,
upon payment of all applicable tuition and fees, continue in enrollment until the end of the
school year unless excluded from attendance for cause.

Amended by Chapter 263, 1998 General Session

53A-2-203.5 Recognition of guardianship.
(1) A document issued by other than a court of law which purports to award guardianship to a

person who is not a legal resident of the jurisdiction in which the guardianship is awarded is not
valid in the state of Utah until reviewed and approved by a Utah court.

(2) The procedure for obtaining approval under Subsection (1) is the procedure required under
Title 75, Chapter 5, Part 2, Guardians of Minors, for obtaining a court appointment of a
guardian.

Enacted by Chapter 124, 1998 General Session

53A-2-204 District paying tuition -- Effect on state aid.
(1) A local school board may by written agreement pay the tuition of a child attending school in a

district outside the state.  Both districts shall approve the agreement and file it with the State
Board of Education.

(2) The average daily membership of the child may be added to that of other eligible children
attending schools within the district of residence for the purpose of apportionment of state
funds.

(3) The district of residence shall bear any excess tuition costs over the state's contribution for
attendance in the district of residence unless otherwise approved in advance by the State
Board of Education.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-2-205 Permitting attendance by nonresident of the state -- Tuition.
(1) A local school board may permit a child residing outside the state to attend school within

the district.  With the exception of a child enrolled under Section 53A-2-206, the child is not
included for the purpose of apportionment of state funds.

(2) The board shall charge the nonresident child tuition at least equal to the per capita cost of the
school program in which the child enrolls unless the board, in open meeting, determines to
waive the charge for that child in whole or in part.  The official minutes of the meeting shall
reflect the determination.
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Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-2-206 Interstate compact students -- Inclusion in attendance count -- Funding for
foreign exchange students -- Annual report -- Requirements for exchange student agencies.
(1) A school district or charter school may include the following students in the district's or school's

membership and attendance count for the purpose of apportionment of state money:
(a) a student enrolled under an interstate compact, established between the State Board of

Education and the state education authority of another state, under which a student from one
compact state would be permitted to enroll in a public school in the other compact state on
the same basis as a resident student of the receiving state; or

(b) a student receiving services under Title 62A, Chapter 4a, Part 7, Interstate Compact on
Placement of Children.

(2)
(a) A school district or charter school may include foreign exchange students in the district's or

school's membership and attendance count for the purpose of apportionment of state money,
except as provided in Subsections (2)(b) through (d).

(b)
(i) Notwithstanding Section 53A-17a-106, foreign exchange students may not be included in

average daily membership for the purpose of determining the number of weighted pupil
units in the grades 1-12 basic program.

(ii) Subject to the limitation in Subsection (2)(c), the number of weighted pupil units in the
grades 1-12 basic program attributed to foreign exchange students shall be equal to the
number of foreign exchange students who were:

(A) enrolled in a school district or charter school on October 1 of the previous fiscal year; and
(B) sponsored by an agency approved by the district's local school board or charter school's

governing board.
(c)

(i) The total number of foreign exchange students in the state that may be counted for the
purpose of apportioning state money under Subsection (2)(b) shall be the lesser of:

(A) the number of foreign exchange students enrolled in public schools in the state on
October 1 of the previous fiscal year; or

(B) 328 foreign exchange students.
(ii) The State Board of Education shall make rules in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter

3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, to administer the cap on the number of foreign
exchange students that may be counted for the purpose of apportioning state money under
Subsection (2)(b).

(d) Notwithstanding Sections 53A-17a-133 and 53A-17a-164, weighted pupil units in the grades
1 through 12 basic program for foreign exchange students, as determined by Subsections
(2)(b) and (c), may not be included for the purposes of determining a school district's state
guarantee money under the voted or board local levies.

(3) A school district or charter school may:
(a) enroll foreign exchange students that do not qualify for state money; and
(b) pay for the costs of those students with other funds available to the school district or charter

school.
(4) Due to the benefits to all students of having the opportunity to become familiar with individuals

from diverse backgrounds and cultures, school districts are encouraged to enroll foreign
exchange students, as provided in Subsection (3), particularly in schools with declining or
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stable enrollments where the incremental cost of enrolling the foreign exchange student may be
minimal.

(5) The board shall make an annual report to the Legislature on the number of exchange students
and the number of interstate compact students sent to or received from public schools outside
the state.

(6)
(a) A local school board or charter school governing board shall require each approved exchange

student agency to provide it with a sworn affidavit of compliance prior to the beginning of each
school year.

(b) The affidavit shall include the following assurances:
(i) that the agency has complied with all applicable policies of the board;
(ii) that a household study, including a background check of all adult residents, has been

made of each household where an exchange student is to reside, and that the study was
of sufficient scope to provide reasonable assurance that the exchange student will receive
proper care and supervision in a safe environment;

(iii) that host parents have received training appropriate to their positions, including information
about enhanced criminal penalties under Subsection 76-5-406(10) for persons who are in a
position of special trust;

(iv) that a representative of the exchange student agency shall visit each student's place of
residence at least once each month during the student's stay in Utah;

(v) that the agency will cooperate with school and other public authorities to ensure that no
exchange student becomes an unreasonable burden upon the public schools or other public
agencies;

(vi) that each exchange student will be given in the exchange student's native language names
and telephone numbers of agency representatives and others who could be called at any
time if a serious problem occurs; and

(vii) that alternate placements are readily available so that no student is required to remain in a
household if conditions appear to exist which unreasonably endanger the student's welfare.

(7)
(a) A local school board or charter school governing board shall provide each approved

exchange student agency with a list of names and telephone numbers of individuals not
associated with the agency who could be called by an exchange student in the event of a
serious problem.

(b) The agency shall make a copy of the list available to each of its exchange students in the
exchange student's native language.

(8) Notwithstanding Subsection (2)(c)(i), a school district or charter school shall enroll a foreign
exchange student if the foreign exchange student:

(a) is sponsored by an agency approved by the State Board of Education;
(b) attends the same school during the same time period that another student from the school is:

(i) sponsored by the same agency; and
(ii) enrolled in a school in a foreign country; and

(c) is enrolled in the school for one year or less.

Amended by Chapter 398, 2012 General Session

53A-2-206.5 Definitions.
          As used in Sections 53A-2-207 through 53A-2-213:

(1) "Early enrollment" means:



Utah Code

Page 190

(a) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), application prior to the third Friday in February for
admission for the next school year to a school that is not a student's school of residence; and

(b) application prior to November 1 for admission for the next school year to a school that is not a
student's school of residence if:

(i) the school district is doing a district wide grade reconfiguration of its elementary, middle,
junior, and senior high schools; and

(ii) the grade reconfiguration described in Subsection (1)(b) will be implemented in the next
school year.

(2)
(a) "Early enrollment school capacity" or "maximum capacity" means the total number of students

who could be served in a school building if each of the building's instructional stations were to
have the enrollment specified in Subsection (2)(b).

(b)
(i) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b)(ii):

(A) for an elementary school, an instructional station shall have an enrollment at least equal to
the school district's average class size for the corresponding grade; and

(B) for a middle, junior, or senior high school, an instructional station shall have an enrollment
at least equal to the district's average class size for similar classes.

(ii)
(A) A local school board shall determine the instructional station capacity for laboratories,

physical education facilities, shops, study halls, self-contained special education
classrooms, facilities jointly financed by the school district and another community agency
for joint use, and similar rooms.

(B) Capacity for self-contained special education classrooms shall be based upon students
per class as defined by State Board of Education and federal special education standards.

(3)
(a) "Instructional station" means a classroom, laboratory, shop, study hall, or physical education

facility to which a local board of education could reasonably assign a class, teacher, or
program during a given class period.

(b) More than one instructional station may be assigned to a classroom, laboratory, shop, study
hall, or physical education facility during a class period.

(4) "Late enrollment" means application:
(a) after the third Friday in February for admission for the next school year to a school that is not

the student's school of residence; or
(b) for admission for the current year to a school that is not the student's school of residence.

(5)
(a) "Late enrollment school capacity" or "adjusted capacity" means the total number of students

who could be served in a school if each teacher were to have the class size specified in
Subsection (5)(b).

(b)
(i) An elementary school teacher shall have a class size at least equal to the district's average

class size for the corresponding grade.
(ii) A middle, junior, or senior high school teacher shall have a class size at least equal to the

district's average class size for similar classes.
(6) "Nonresident student" means a student who lives outside the boundaries of the school

attendance area.
(7) "Open enrollment threshold" means:

(a) for early enrollment, a projected school enrollment level that is the greater of:
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(i) 90% of the maximum capacity; or
(ii) maximum capacity minus 40 students; and

(b) for late enrollment, actual school enrollment that is the greater of:
(i) 90% of adjusted capacity; or
(ii) adjusted capacity minus 40 students.

(8) "Projected school enrollment" means the current year enrollment of a school as of October 1,
adjusted for projected growth for the next school year.

(9) "School attendance area" means an area established by a local school board from which
students are assigned to attend a certain school.

(10) "School of residence" means the school to which a student is assigned to attend based on the
student's place of residence.

Amended by Chapter 67, 2012 General Session

53A-2-207 Open enrollment options -- Procedures -- Processing fee -- Continuing
enrollment.
(1) Each local school board is responsible for providing educational services consistent with

Utah state law and rules of the State Board of Education for each student who resides in the
district and, as provided in this section through Section 53A-2-213 and to the extent reasonably
feasible, for any student who resides in another district in the state and desires to attend a
school in the district.

(2)
(a) A school is open for enrollment of nonresident students if the enrollment level is at or below

the open enrollment threshold.
(b) If a school's enrollment falls below the open enrollment threshold, the local school board shall

allow a nonresident student to enroll in the school.
(3) A local school board may allow enrollment of nonresident students in a school that is operating

above the open enrollment threshold.
(4)

(a) A local school board shall adopt policies describing procedures for nonresident students to
follow in applying for entry into the district's schools.

(b) Those procedures shall provide, as a minimum, for:
(i) distribution to interested parties of information about the school or school district and how to

apply for admission;
(ii) use of standard application forms prescribed by the State Board of Education;
(iii)

(A) submission of applications from December 1 through the third Friday in February by those
seeking admission during the early enrollment period for the following year; or

(B) submission of applications from August 1 through November 1 by those seeking
admission during the early enrollment period for the following year in a school district
described in Subsection 53A-2-206.5(1)(b);

(iv) submission of applications by those seeking admission during the late enrollment period;
(v) written notification to the student's parent or legal guardian of acceptance or rejection of an

application:
(A) within six weeks after receipt of the application by the district or by March 31, whichever is

later, for applications submitted during the early enrollment period;
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(B) within two weeks after receipt of the application by the district or by the Friday before
the new school year begins, whichever is later, for applications submitted during the late
enrollment period for admission in the next school year; and

(C) within two weeks after receipt of the application by the district, for applications submitted
during the late enrollment period for admission in the current year;

(vi) written notification to the resident school for intradistrict transfers or the resident district for
interdistrict transfers upon acceptance of a nonresident student for enrollment; and

(vii) written notification to the parents or legal guardians of each student that resides within the
school district and other interested parties of the revised early enrollment period described
in Subsection 53A-2-206.5(1)(b) if:

(A) the school district is doing a district wide grade reconfiguration of its elementary, middle,
junior, and senior high schools; and

(B) the grade reconfiguration described in Subsection (4)(b)(vii)(A) will be implemented in the
next school year.

(c)
(i) Notwithstanding the dates established in Subsection (4)(b) for submitting applications and

notifying parents of acceptance or rejection of an application, a local school board may
delay the dates if a local school board is not able to make a reasonably accurate projection
of the early enrollment school capacity or late enrollment school capacity of a school due to:

(A) school construction or remodeling;
(B) drawing or revision of school boundaries; or
(C) other circumstances beyond the control of the local school board.

(ii) The delay may extend no later than four weeks beyond the date the local school board is
able to make a reasonably accurate projection of the early enrollment school capacity or late
enrollment school capacity of a school.

(5) A school district may charge a one-time $5 processing fee, to be paid at the time of application.
(6) An enrolled nonresident student shall be permitted to remain enrolled in a school, subject to the

same rules and standards as resident students, without renewed applications in subsequent
years unless one of the following occurs:

(a) the student graduates;
(b) the student is no longer a Utah resident;
(c) the student is suspended or expelled from school; or
(d) the district determines that enrollment within the school will exceed the school's open

enrollment threshold.
(7)

(a) Determination of which nonresident students will be excluded from continued enrollment in a
school during a subsequent year under Subsection (6)(d) is based upon time in the school,
with those most recently enrolled being excluded first and the use of a lottery system when
multiple nonresident students have the same number of school days in the school.

(b) Nonresident students who will not be permitted to continue their enrollment shall be notified
no later than March 15 of the current school year.

(8) The parent or guardian of a student enrolled in a school that is not the student's school of
residence may withdraw the student from that school for enrollment in another public school by
submitting notice of intent to enroll the student in:

(a) the district of residence; or
(b) another nonresident district.

(9) Unless provisions have previously been made for enrollment in another school, a nonresident
district releasing a student from enrollment shall immediately notify the district of residence,
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which shall enroll the student in the resident district and take such additional steps as may be
necessary to ensure compliance with laws governing school attendance.

(10)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (10)(c), a student who transfers between schools, whether

effective on the first day of the school year or after the school year has begun, by exercising
an open enrollment option under this section may not transfer to a different school during the
same school year by exercising an open enrollment option under this section.

(b) The restriction on transfers specified in Subsection (10)(a) does not apply to a student
transfer made for health or safety reasons.

(c) A local school board may adopt a policy allowing a student to exercise an open enrollment
option more than once in a school year.

(11) Notwithstanding Subsections (2) and (6)(d), a student who is enrolled in a school that is not
the student's school of residence, because school bus service is not provided between the
student's neighborhood and school of residence for safety reasons:

(a) shall be allowed to continue to attend the school until the student finishes the highest grade
level offered; and

(b) shall be allowed to attend the middle school, junior high school, or high school into which the
school's students feed until the student graduates from high school.

(12) Notwithstanding any other provision of this part, a student shall be allowed to enroll in any
charter school or other public school in any district, including a district where the student does
not reside, if the enrollment is necessary, as determined by the Division of Child and Family
Services, to comply with the provisions of 42 U.S.C. Section 675.

Amended by Chapter 67, 2012 General Session

53A-2-208 Rules for acceptance and rejection of applications.
(1)

(a) A local school board shall adopt rules governing acceptance and rejection of applications
required under Section 53A-2-207.

(b) The rules adopted under Subsection (1)(a) shall include policies and procedures to assure
that decisions regarding enrollment requests are administered fairly without prejudice to any
student or class of student, except as provided in Subsection (2).

(2) Standards for accepting or rejecting an application for enrollment may include:
(a) for an elementary school, the capacity of the grade level;
(b) maintenance of heterogeneous student populations if necessary to avoid violation of

constitutional or statutory rights of students;
(c) not offering, or having capacity in, an elementary or secondary special education or other

special program the student requires;
(d) maintenance of reduced class sizes:

(i) in a Title I school that uses federal, state, and local money to reduce class sizes for the
purpose of improving student achievement; or

(ii) in a school that uses school trust money to reduce class size;
(e) willingness of prospective students to comply with district policies; and
(f) giving priority to intradistrict transfers over interdistrict transfers.

(3)
(a) Standards for accepting or rejecting applications for enrollment may not include:

(i) previous academic achievement;
(ii) athletic or other extracurricular ability;
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(iii) the fact that the student requires special education services for which space is available;
(iv) proficiency in the English language; or
(v) previous disciplinary proceedings, except as provided in Subsection (3)(b).

(b) A board may provide for the denial of applications from students who:
(i) have committed serious infractions of the law or school rules, including rules of the district in

which enrollment is sought; or
(ii) have been guilty of chronic misbehavior which would, if it were to continue after the student

was admitted:
(A) endanger persons or property;
(B) cause serious disruptions in the school; or
(C) place unreasonable burdens on school staff.

(c) A board may also provide for provisional enrollment of students with prior behavior problems,
establishing conditions under which enrollment of a nonresident student would be permitted
or continued.

(4)
(a) The State Board of Education, in consultation with the Utah High School Activities

Association, shall establish policies regarding nonresident student participation in
interscholastic competition.

(b) Nonresident students shall be eligible for extracurricular activities at a public school consistent
with eligibility standards as applied to students that reside within the school attendance area,
except as provided by policies established under Subsection (4)(a).

(5) For each school in the district, the local school board shall post on the school district's website:
(a) the school's maximum capacity;
(b) the school's adjusted capacity;
(c) the school's projected enrollment used in the calculation of the open enrollment threshold;
(d) actual enrollment on October 1, January 2, and April 1;
(e) the number of nonresident student enrollment requests;
(f) the number of nonresident student enrollment requests accepted; and
(g) the number of resident students transferring to another school.

Amended by Chapter 346, 2008 General Session

53A-2-209 Denial of enrollment -- Appeal.
(1) Denial of initial or continuing enrollment in a nonresident school may be appealed to the board

of education of the nonresident district.
(2) The decision of the board shall be upheld in any subsequent proceedings unless the board's

decision is found, by clear and convincing evidence, to be in violation of applicable law or
regulation, or to be arbitrary and capricious.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 119, 1993 General Session

53A-2-210 Funding.
(1) A student who enrolls in a nonresident district is considered a resident of that district for

purposes of state funding.
(2) The State Board of Education shall adopt rules providing that:

(a) the resident district pay the nonresident district, for each of the resident district's students who
enroll in the nonresident district, 1/2 of the amount by which the resident district's per student
expenditure exceeds the value of the state's contribution; and
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(b) if a student is enrolled in a nonresident district for less than a full year, the resident district
shall pay a portion of the amount specified in Subsection (2)(a) based on the percentage of
school days the student is enrolled in the nonresident district.

(3)
(a) Except as provided in this Subsection (3), the parent or guardian of a nonresident student

shall arrange for the student's own transportation to and from school.
(b) The State Board of Education may adopt rules under which nonresident students may be

transported to their schools of attendance if:
(i) the transportation of students to schools in other districts would relieve overcrowding or

other serious problems in the district of residence and the costs of transportation are not
excessive; or

(ii) the Legislature has granted an adequate specific appropriation for that purpose.
(c) A receiving district shall provide transportation for a nonresident student on the basis of

available space on an approved route within the district to the school of attendance if district
students would be eligible for transportation to the same school from that point on the bus
route and the student's presence does not increase the cost of the bus route.

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed as prohibiting the resident district or the receiving
district from providing bus transportation on any approved route.

(e) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), the district of residence may not claim any state
transportation costs for students enrolled in other school districts.

Amended by Chapter 346, 2008 General Session

53A-2-211 Graduation credits.
(1) A nonresident district shall accept credits toward graduation that were awarded by a school

accredited or approved by the State Board of Education or a regional accrediting body
recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

(2) A nonresident district shall award a diploma to a nonresident student attending school within
the district during the semester immediately preceding graduation if the student meets
graduation requirements generally applicable to students in the school.

(3) A district may not require that a student attend school within the district for more than one
semester prior to graduation in order to receive a diploma.

Amended by Chapter 119, 1993 General Session

53A-2-213 Intradistrict transfers for students impacted by boundary changes --
Transportation of students who transfer within a district.
(1)

(a) In adjusting school boundaries, a local school board shall strive to avoid requiring current
students to change schools and shall, to the extent reasonably feasible, accommodate
parents who wish to avoid having their children attend different schools of the same level
because of boundary changes which occur after one or more children in the family begin
attending one of the affected schools.

(b) In granting interdistrict and intradistrict transfers to a particular school, the local school board
shall take into consideration the fact that an applicant's brother or sister is attending the
school or another school within the district.

(2)
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(a) A district shall receive transportation money under Sections 53A-17a-126 and 53A-17a-127
for resident students who enroll in schools other than the regularly assigned school on the
basis of the distance from the student's residence to the school the student would have
attended had the intradistrict attendance option not been used.

(b) The parent or guardian of the student shall arrange for the student's transportation to and
from school, except that the district shall provide transportation on the basis of available
space on an approved route within the district to the school of the student's attendance if the
student would be otherwise eligible for transportation to the same school from that point on
the bus route and the student's presence does not increase the cost of the bus route.

Amended by Chapter 346, 2008 General Session

53A-2-214 Online students' participation in extracurricular activities.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Online education" means the use of information and communication technologies to deliver
educational opportunities to a student in a location other than a school.

(b) "Online student" means a student who:
(i) participates in an online education program sponsored or supported by the State Board of

Education, a school district, or charter school; and
(ii) generates funding for the school district or school pursuant to Subsection 53A-17a-103(4)

and rules of the State Board of Education.
(2) An online student is eligible to participate in extracurricular activities at:

(a) the school within whose attendance boundaries the student's custodial parent or legal
guardian resides; or

(b) the public school from which the student withdrew for the purpose of participating in an online
education program.

(3) A school other than a school described in Subsection (2)(a) or (b) may allow an online student
to participate in extracurricular activities other than:

(a) interschool competitions of athletic teams sponsored and supported by a public school; or
(b) interschool contests or competitions for music, drama, or forensic groups or teams sponsored

and supported by a public school.
(4) An online student is eligible for extracurricular activities at a public school consistent with

eligibility standards as applied to full-time students of the public school.
(5) A school district or public school may not impose additional requirements on an online school

student to participate in extracurricular activities that are not imposed on full-time students of
the public school.

(6)
(a) The State Board of Education shall make rules establishing fees for an online school student's

participation in extracurricular activities at school district schools.
(b) The rules shall provide that:

(i) online school students pay the same fees as other students to participate in extracurricular
activities;

(ii) online school students are eligible for fee waivers pursuant to Section 53A-12-103;
(iii) for each online school student who participates in an extracurricular activity at a school

district school, the online school shall pay a share of the school district's costs for the
extracurricular activity; and

(iv) an online school's share of the costs of an extracurricular activity shall reflect state and
local tax revenues expended, except capital facilities expenditures, for an extracurricular
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activity in a school district or school divided by total student enrollment of the school district
or school.

(c) In determining an online school's share of the costs of an extracurricular activity under
Subsections (6)(b)(iii) and (iv), the State Board of Education may establish uniform fees
statewide based on average costs statewide or average costs within a sample of school
districts.

(7) When selection to participate in an extracurricular activity at a public school is made on a
competitive basis, an online student is eligible to try out for and participate in the activity as
provided in this section.

Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session

Part 4
School District Surplus Lands Act

53A-2-401 Title.
          This part is known as the "School District Surplus Lands Act."

Enacted by Chapter 339, 2006 General Session

53A-2-402 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Eligible entity" means:
(a) a city or town with a population density of 3,000 or more people per square mile; or
(b) a county whose unincorporated area includes a qualifying planning advisory area.

(2) "Purchase price" means the greater of:
(a) an amount that is the average of:

(i) the appraised value of the surplus property, based on the predominant zone in the
surrounding area, as indicated in an appraisal obtained by the eligible entity; and

(ii) the appraised value of the surplus property, based on the predominant zone in the
surrounding area, as indicated in an appraisal obtained by the school district; and

(b) the amount the school district paid to acquire the surplus property.
(3) "Qualifying planning advisory area" means a planning advisory area under Section 17-27a-306

that has a population density of 3,000 or more people per square mile within the boundaries of
the planning advisory area.

(4) "Surplus property" means land owned by a school district that:
(a) was purchased with taxpayer money;
(b) is located within a city or town that is an eligible entity or within a qualifying planning advisory

area;
(c) consists of one contiguous tract at least three acres in size; and
(d) has been declared by the school district to be surplus.

Amended by Chapter 352, 2015 General Session

53A-2-403 Purchase of surplus property.
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(1) An eligible entity may purchase, and each school district shall sell, surplus property as provided
in this section.

(2)
(a) Upon declaring land to be surplus property, each school district shall give written notice to

each eligible entity in which the surplus property is located.
(b) Each notice under Subsection (2)(a) shall:

(i) state that the school district has declared the land to be surplus property; and
(ii) describe the surplus property.

(3) Subject to Subsection (4), an eligible entity may purchase the surplus property by paying the
school district the purchase price.

(4)
(a) The legislative body of each eligible entity desiring to purchase surplus property under this

section shall:
(i) within 90 days after the eligible entity receives notice under Subsection (2), adopt a

resolution declaring the intent to purchase the surplus property and deliver a copy of the
resolution to the school district; and

(ii) within 90 days after delivering a copy of the resolution under Subsection (4)(a)(i) to the
school district, deliver to the school district an earnest money offer to purchase the surplus
property at the purchase price.

(b) If an eligible entity fails to comply with either of the requirements under Subsection (4)(a)
within the applicable time period, the eligible entity forfeits the right to purchase the surplus
property.

(5)
(a) An eligible entity may waive its right to purchase surplus property under this part by

submitting a written waiver to the school district.
(b) If an eligible entity submits a waiver under Subsection (5)(a), the school district has no further

obligation under this part to sell the surplus property to the eligible entity.
(6) Surplus property acquired by an eligible entity may not be used for any purpose other than:

(a) a county, city, or town hall;
(b) a park or other open space;
(c) a cultural center or community center;
(d) a facility for the promotion, creation, or retention of public or private jobs within the state

through planning, design, development, construction, rehabilitation, business relocation, or
any combination of these, within a county, city, or town;

(e) office, industrial, manufacturing, warehousing, distribution, parking, or other public or private
facilities, or other improvements that benefit the state or a county, city, or town; or

(f) a facility for a charter school under Chapter 1a, Part 5, The Utah Charter Schools Act.
(7)

(a) A school district that sells surplus property under this part may use proceeds from the sale
only for bond debt reduction or school district capital facilities.

(b) Each school district that sells surplus property under this part shall place all proceeds from
the sale that are not used for bond debt reduction in a capital facilities fund of the school
district for use for school district capital facilities.

Amended by Chapter 104, 2012 General Session

53A-2-404 Resale of surplus property.
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(1) If an eligible entity that has acquired surplus property under Section 53A-2-403 afterwards
declares that property to be surplus, the school district from which the eligible entity acquired
the property may purchase, and the eligible entity shall sell, the property as provided in Section
53A-2-403, except that the price at which the school district shall be entitled to reacquire
the property shall be the price that the eligible entity paid for the property, plus the cost of
any existing improvements that the eligible entity made to the property after it purchased the
property.

(2) If the school district does not reacquire the surplus property under Subsection (1) and the
eligible entity sells the surplus property to another buyer, the eligible entity and the school
district shall equally share any proceeds of that sale that exceed the amount the eligible entity
paid for the property plus the cost of any existing improvements the eligible entity made to the
property after it purchased the property.

Enacted by Chapter 339, 2006 General Session

Chapter 3
Local School Boards

Part 1
Membership

53A-3-101 Selection and election of members to Local Boards of Education.
          Members of local boards of education shall be elected as provided in Title 20A, Chapter 14,

Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 1, 1995 General Session

53A-3-106 Local school board meetings -- Rules of order and procedure -- Location
requirements -- Expulsion of members prohibited -- Exceptions.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Disaster" means an event that:
(i) causes, or threatens to cause, loss of life, human suffering, public or private property

damage, or economic or social disruption resulting from attack, internal disturbance, natural
phenomenon, or technological hazard; and

(ii) requires resources that are beyond the scope of local agencies in routine responses to
emergencies and accidents and may be of a magnitude or involve unusual circumstances
that require a response by a governmental, not-for-profit, or private entity.

(b) "Local emergency" means a condition in any municipality or county of the state that requires
that emergency assistance be provided by the affected municipality or county or another
political subdivision to save lives and protect property within its jurisdiction in response to a
disaster or to avoid or reduce the threat of a disaster.

(c) "Rules of order and procedure" means a set of rules that governs and prescribes in a public
meeting:

(i) parliamentary order and procedure;
(ii) ethical behavior; and
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(iii) civil discourse.
(2) Subject to Subsection (4), a local school board or charter school governing board shall:

(a) adopt rules of order and procedure to govern a public meeting of the local school board;
(b) conduct a public meeting in accordance with the rules of order and procedure described in

Subsection (2)(a); and
(c) make the rules of order and procedure described in Subsection (2)(a) available to the public:

(i) at each public meeting of the local school board; and
(ii) on the local school board's public website, if available.

(3)
(a) Except as provided in Subsections (3)(b) and (c), a local school board may not hold a public

meeting outside of the geographic boundary of the local school board's school district.
(b) A local school board may hold a public meeting outside of the geographic boundary of the

local school board's school district if it is necessary for the local school board to hold a
meeting during a disaster or local emergency.

(c) A local school board may hold a public meeting outside of the geographic boundary of the
local school board's school district to conduct a site visit if:

(i) the location of the site visit provides the local school board members the opportunity to see
or experience an activity that:

(A) relates to the local school board's responsibilities; and
(B) does not exist within the geographic boundaries of the local school board's school district;

and
(ii) the local school board does not vote or take other action during the public meeting held at

the site visit location.
(d) This Subsection (3) does not apply to a charter school governing board.

(4) The requirements of this section do not affect a local school board or charter school governing
board's duty to comply with Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act.

(5)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), a local school board may not expel a member of the

school board from an open public meeting or prohibit the member from attending an open
public meeting.

(b) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(c), following a two-thirds vote of the members of the
local school board, the local school board may fine or expel a member of the local school
board for:

(i) disorderly conduct at the open public meeting;
(ii) a member's direct or indirect financial conflict of interest regarding an issue discussed at or

action proposed to be taken at the open public meeting; or
(iii) a commission of a crime during the open public meeting.

(c) A local school board may adopt rules or ordinances that expand the reasons or establish
more restrictive procedures for the expulsion of a member from a public meeting.

Amended by Chapter 60, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 196, 2015 General Session

Part 2
Board Officers; Compensation of Members
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53A-3-201 Election of officers -- Terms -- Time of election -- Removal of officers -- Quorum
requirements.
(1) A local school board shall elect a president and a vice-president whose terms of office are for

two years and until their successors are elected.
(2) The elections shall be held during the first board meeting in January following a regular school

board election held in the district.
(3) An officer appointed or elected by a local school board may be removed from office for cause

by a vote of two-thirds of the board.
(4) When a vacancy occurs in the office of president or vice president of the board for any reason,

a replacement shall be elected for the unexpired term.
(5) Attendance of a simple majority of the board members constitutes a quorum for the transaction

of official business.

Amended by Chapter 172, 2005 General Session

53A-3-202 Compensation for services -- Additional per diem -- Approval of expenses.
(1) Each member of a local school board, except the student member, shall receive compensation

for services and for necessary expenses in accordance with board compensation schedules
adopted by the local school board in accordance with the provisions of this section.

(2) Beginning on July 1, 2007, if a local school board decides to adopt or amend its board
compensation schedules, the board shall set a time and place for a public hearing at which all
interested persons shall be given an opportunity to be heard.

(3) Notice of the time, place, and purpose of the meeting shall be provided at least seven days
prior to the meeting by:

(a)
(i) publication at least once in a newspaper published in the county where the school district is

situated and generally circulated within the school district; and
(ii) publication on the Utah Public Notice Website created in Section 63F-1-701; and

(b) posting a notice:
(i) at each school within the school district;
(ii) in at least three other public places within the school district; and
(iii) on the Internet in a manner that is easily accessible to citizens that use the Internet.

(4) After the conclusion of the public hearing, the local school board may adopt or amend its board
compensation schedules.

(5) Each member shall submit an itemized account of necessary travel expenses for board
approval.

(6) A local school board may, without following the procedures described in Subsections (2) and
(3), continue to use the compensation schedule that was in effect prior to July 1, 2007 until, at
the discretion of the board, the compensation schedule is amended or a new compensation
schedule is adopted.

Amended by Chapter 90, 2010 General Session

53A-3-204 Duties of president.
(1) The president of each local school board shall preside at all meetings of the board, appoint

all committees, and sign all warrants ordered by the board to be drawn upon the business
administrator for school money.
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(2) If the president is absent or acquires a disability, these duties are performed by the vice
president.

Amended by Chapter 366, 2011 General Session

Part 3
Superintendent of Schools, Business Administrator, and Other Officers

53A-3-301 Superintendent of schools -- Appointment -- Qualifications -- Term --
Compensation.
(1) Subject to Subsection (8), a local school board shall appoint a district superintendent of schools

who serves as the local school board's chief executive officer.
(2) A local school board shall appoint the superintendent on the basis of outstanding professional

qualifications.
(3)

(a) A superintendent's term of office is for two years and until, subject to Subsection (8), a
successor is appointed and qualified.

(b) A local school board that appoints a superintendent in accordance with this section may
not, on or after May 10, 2011, enter into an employment contract that contains an automatic
renewal provision with the superintendent.

(4) Unless a vacancy occurs during an interim vacancy period subject to Subsection (8), if it
becomes necessary to appoint an interim superintendent due to a vacancy in the office of
superintendent, the local school board shall make an appointment during a public meeting
for an indefinite term not to exceed one year, which term shall end upon the appointment and
qualification of a new superintendent.

(5)
(a) The superintendent shall hold an administrative/supervisory license issued by the State Board

of Education, except as otherwise provided in Subsection (5)(b).
(b) At the request of a local school board, the State Board of Education shall grant a letter of

authorization permitting a person with outstanding professional qualifications to serve as
superintendent without holding an administrative/supervisory license.

(6) A local school board shall set the superintendent's compensation for services.
(7) A superintendent qualifies for office by taking the constitutional oath of office.
(8)

(a) As used in this Subsection (8), "interim vacancy period" means the period of time that:
(i) begins on the day on which a general election described in Section 20A-1-202 is held to

elect a member of a local school board; and
(ii) ends on the day on which the member-elect begins the member's term.

(b)
(i) The local school board may not appoint a superintendent during an interim vacancy period.
(ii) Notwithstanding Subsection (8)(b)(i):

(A) the local school board may appoint an interim superintendent during an interim vacancy
period; and

(B) the interim superintendent's term shall expire once a new superintendent is appointed by
the new local school board after the interim vacancy period has ended.
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(c) Subsection (8)(b) does not apply if all the local school board members who held office on the
day of the general election whose term of office was vacant for the election are re-elected to
the local school board for the following term.

Amended by Chapter 209, 2011 General Session
Amended by Chapter 322, 2011 General Session

53A-3-302 Business administrator -- Term -- Oath.
(1) Subject to Subsection (5), a local school board shall appoint a business administrator.
(2)

(a) The business administrator's term of office is for two years and until, subject to Subsection
(5), a successor is appointed and qualified.

(b) A local school board that appoints a business administrator in accordance with this section
may not, on or after May 8, 2012, enter into an employment contract that contains an
automatic renewal provision with the business administrator.

(3) Unless a vacancy occurs during an interim vacancy period subject to Subsection (5), if it
becomes necessary to appoint an interim business manager due to a vacancy in the office
of business administrator, then the local school board shall make an appointment during a
public meeting for an indefinite term not to exceed one year, which term shall end upon the
appointment and qualification of a new business manager.

(4) The business administrator qualifies for office by taking the constitutional oath of office.
(5)

(a) As used in this Subsection (5), "interim vacancy period" means the period of time that:
(i) begins on the day on which a general election described in Section 20A-1-202 is held to

elect a member of a local school board; and
(ii) ends on the day on which the member-elect begins the member's term.

(b)
(i) A local school board may not appoint a business administrator during an interim vacancy

period.
(ii) Notwithstanding Subsection (5)(b)(i):

(A) the local school board may appoint an interim business administrator during an interim
vacancy period; and

(B) the interim business administrator's term shall expire once a new business administrator is
appointed by the new local school board after the interim vacancy period has ended.

(c) Subsection (5)(b) does not apply if all the local school board members who held office on the
day of the general election whose term of office was vacant for the election are reelected to
the local school board for the following term.

Amended by Chapter 46, 2012 General Session

53A-3-303 Duties of business administrator.
          Subject to the direction of the district superintendent of schools, the district's business

administrator shall:
(1) attend all meetings of the board, keep an accurate record of its proceedings, and have custody

of the seal and records;
(2) be custodian of all district funds, be responsible and accountable for all money received and

disbursed, and keep accurate records of all revenues received and their sources;
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(3) countersign with the president of the board all warrants and claims against the district as well
as other legal documents approved by the board;

(4) prepare and submit to the board each month a written report of the district's receipts and
expenditures;

(5) use uniform budgeting, accounting, and auditing procedures and forms approved by the State
Board of Education, which shall be in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles
or auditing standards and Title 63J, Chapter 1, Budgetary Procedures Act;

(6) prepare and submit to the board a detailed annual statement for the period ending June 30, of
the revenue and expenditures, including beginning and ending fund balances;

(7) assist the superintendent in the preparation and submission of budget documents and
statistical and fiscal reports required by law or the State Board of Education;

(8) insure that adequate internal controls are in place to safeguard the district's funds; and
(9) perform other duties as the superintendent may require.

Amended by Chapter 382, 2008 General Session

53A-3-304 Other board officers.
(1) A board may appoint other necessary officers who serve at the pleasure of the board.
(2) These officers shall qualify by taking the constitutional oath of office before assuming office.

Amended by Chapter 336, 2011 General Session

Part 4
Powers and Responsibilities of Local Boards

53A-3-401 Boards of education are bodies corporate -- Seal -- Authority to sue --
Conveyance of property -- Duty to residents of the local school board member's district.
(1) As used in this section, "body corporate" means a public corporation and legal subdivision of

the state, vested with the powers and duties of a government entity as specified in this chapter.
(2) The board of education of a school district is a body corporate under the name of the "Board of

Education of .......... School District" (inserting the proper name), and shall have an official seal
conformable to its name.

(3) The seal is used by its business administrator in the authentication of all required matters.
(4) A local school board may sue and be sued, and may take, hold, lease, sell, and convey real

and personal property as the interests of the schools may require.
(5) Notwithstanding a local school board's status as a body corporate, an elected member of a

local school board serves and represents the residents of the local school board member's
district, and that service and representation may not be restricted or impaired by the local
school board member's membership on, or obligations to, the local school board.

Amended by Chapter 336, 2014 General Session

53A-3-402 Powers and duties generally.
(1) Each local school board shall:

(a) implement the core standards for Utah public schools utilizing instructional materials that best
correlate to the core standards for Utah public schools and graduation requirements;
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(b) administer tests, required by the State Board of Education, which measure the progress of
each student, and coordinate with the state superintendent and State Board of Education to
assess results and create plans to improve the student's progress, which shall be submitted
to the State Board of Education for approval;

(c) use progress-based assessments as part of a plan to identify schools, teachers, and students
that need remediation and determine the type and amount of federal, state, and local
resources to implement remediation;

(d) develop early warning systems for students or classes failing to make progress;
(e) work with the State Board of Education to establish a library of documented best practices,

consistent with state and federal regulations, for use by the local districts; and
(f) implement training programs for school administrators, including basic management training,

best practices in instructional methods, budget training, staff management, managing for
learning results and continuous improvement, and how to help every child achieve optimal
learning in basic academic subjects.

(2) Local school boards shall spend minimum school program funds for programs and activities for
which the State Board of Education has established minimum standards or rules under Section
53A-1-402.

(3)
(a) A board may purchase, sell, and make improvements on school sites, buildings, and

equipment and construct, erect, and furnish school buildings.
(b) School sites or buildings may only be conveyed or sold on board resolution affirmed by at

least two-thirds of the members.
(4)

(a) A board may participate in the joint construction or operation of a school attended by children
residing within the district and children residing in other districts either within or outside the
state.

(b) Any agreement for the joint operation or construction of a school shall:
(i) be signed by the president of the board of each participating district;
(ii) include a mutually agreed upon pro rata cost; and
(iii) be filed with the State Board of Education.

(5) A board may establish, locate, and maintain elementary, secondary, and applied technology
schools.

(6) Except as provided in Section 53A-1-1001, a board may enroll children in school who are at
least five years of age before September 2 of the year in which admission is sought.

(7) A board may establish and support school libraries.
(8) A board may collect damages for the loss, injury, or destruction of school property.
(9) A board may authorize guidance and counseling services for children and their parents or

guardians prior to, during, or following enrollment of the children in schools.
(10)

(a) A board shall administer and implement federal educational programs in accordance with Title
53A, Chapter 1, Part 9, Implementing Federal or National Education Programs Act.

(b) Federal funds are not considered funds within the school district budget under Title 53A,
Chapter 19, Public School Budgets.

(11)
(a) A board may organize school safety patrols and adopt rules under which the patrols promote

student safety.
(b) A student appointed to a safety patrol shall be at least 10 years old and have written parental

consent for the appointment.
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(c) Safety patrol members may not direct vehicular traffic or be stationed in a portion of a
highway intended for vehicular traffic use.

(d) Liability may not attach to a school district, its employees, officers, or agents or to a safety
patrol member, a parent of a safety patrol member, or an authorized volunteer assisting the
program by virtue of the organization, maintenance, or operation of a school safety patrol.

(12)
(a) A board may on its own behalf, or on behalf of an educational institution for which the board

is the direct governing body, accept private grants, loans, gifts, endowments, devises, or
bequests that are made for educational purposes.

(b) These contributions are not subject to appropriation by the Legislature.
(13)

(a) A board may appoint and fix the compensation of a compliance officer to issue citations for
violations of Subsection 76-10-105(2).

(b) A person may not be appointed to serve as a compliance officer without the person's consent.
(c) A teacher or student may not be appointed as a compliance officer.

(14) A board shall adopt bylaws and rules for its own procedures.
(15)

(a) A board shall make and enforce rules necessary for the control and management of the
district schools.

(b) All board rules and policies shall be in writing, filed, and referenced for public access.
(16) A board may hold school on legal holidays other than Sundays.
(17)

(a) Each board shall establish for each school year a school traffic safety committee to implement
this Subsection (17).

(b) The committee shall be composed of one representative of:
(i) the schools within the district;
(ii) the Parent Teachers' Association of the schools within the district;
(iii) the municipality or county;
(iv) state or local law enforcement; and
(v) state or local traffic safety engineering.

(c) The committee shall:
(i) receive suggestions from school community councils, parents, teachers, and others and

recommend school traffic safety improvements, boundary changes to enhance safety, and
school traffic safety program measures;

(ii) review and submit annually to the Department of Transportation and affected municipalities
and counties a child access routing plan for each elementary, middle, and junior high school
within the district;

(iii) consult the Utah Safety Council and the Division of Family Health Services and provide
training to all school children in kindergarten through grade six, within the district, on school
crossing safety and use; and

(iv) help ensure the district's compliance with rules made by the Department of Transportation
under Section 41-6a-303.

(d) The committee may establish subcommittees as needed to assist in accomplishing its duties
under Subsection (17)(c).

(18)
(a) Each school board shall adopt and implement a comprehensive emergency response plan to

prevent and combat violence in its public schools, on school grounds, on its school vehicles,
and in connection with school-related activities or events.
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(b) The plan shall:
(i) include prevention, intervention, and response components;
(ii) be consistent with the student conduct and discipline policies required for school districts

under Title 53A, Chapter 11, Part 9, School Discipline and Conduct Plans;
(iii) require inservice training for all district and school building staff on what their roles are in the

emergency response plan;
(iv) provide for coordination with local law enforcement and other public safety representatives

in preventing, intervening, and responding to violence in the areas and activities referred to
in Subsection (18)(a); and

(v) include procedures to notify a student, to the extent practicable, who is off campus at the
time of a school violence emergency because the student is:

(A) participating in a school-related activity; or
(B) excused from school for a period of time during the regular school day to participate in

religious instruction at the request of the student's parent or guardian.
(c) The State Board of Education, through the state superintendent of public instruction, shall

develop comprehensive emergency response plan models that local school boards may use,
where appropriate, to comply with Subsection (18)(a).

(d) Each local school board shall, by July 1 of each year, certify to the State Board of Education
that its plan has been practiced at the school level and presented to and reviewed by its
teachers, administrators, students, and their parents and local law enforcement and public
safety representatives.

(19)
(a) Each local school board may adopt an emergency response plan for the treatment of sports-

related injuries that occur during school sports practices and events.
(b) The plan may be implemented by each secondary school in the district that has a sports

program for students.
(c) The plan may:

(i) include emergency personnel, emergency communication, and emergency equipment
components;

(ii) require inservice training on the emergency response plan for school personnel who are
involved in sports programs in the district's secondary schools; and

(iii) provide for coordination with individuals and agency representatives who:
(A) are not employees of the school district; and
(B) would be involved in providing emergency services to students injured while participating

in sports events.
(d) The board, in collaboration with the schools referred to in Subsection (19)(b), may review the

plan each year and make revisions when required to improve or enhance the plan.
(e) The State Board of Education, through the state superintendent of public instruction, shall

provide local school boards with an emergency plan response model that local boards may
use to comply with the requirements of this Subsection (19).

(20) A board shall do all other things necessary for the maintenance, prosperity, and success of
the schools and the promotion of education.

(21)
(a) Before closing a school or changing the boundaries of a school, a board shall:

(i) hold a public hearing, as defined in Section 10-9a-103; and
(ii) provide public notice of the public hearing, as specified in Subsection (21)(b).

(b) The notice of a public hearing required under Subsection (21)(a) shall:
(i) indicate the:
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(A) school or schools under consideration for closure or boundary change; and
(B) date, time, and location of the public hearing; and

(ii) at least 10 days prior to the public hearing, be:
(A) published:

(I) in a newspaper of general circulation in the area; and
(II) on the Utah Public Notice Website created in Section 63F-1-701; and

(B) posted in at least three public locations within the municipality or on the district's official
website.

(22) A board may implement a facility energy efficiency program established under Title 11,
Chapter 44, Performance Efficiency Act.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-3-402.1 Access to student records by custodial and noncustodial parents.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), a public school shall allow a custodial parent and a

noncustodial parent of a child the same access to their child's education records.
(2) A school may not allow a noncustodial parent access to the child's education records if:

(a) a court has issued an order that limits the noncustodial parent's access to the child's
education records; and

(b) the school has received a copy of the court order or has actual knowledge of the court order.

Enacted by Chapter 268, 1999 General Session

53A-3-402.5 Voter registration forms for high school students.
          Each public school district and each accredited nonpublic school shall provide voter registration

forms to students as required by Section 20A-2-302.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 1, 1993 General Session

53A-3-402.7 Kindergartens -- Establishment -- Funding.
(1) Kindergartens are an integral part of the state's public education system.
(2) By July 1, 1994, each local board of education shall provide kindergarten classes free of charge

for kindergarten children residing within the district.
(3) Kindergartens established under Subsection (2) shall receive state money under Title 53A,

Chapter 17a, Minimum School Program Act.

Enacted by Chapter 122, 1993 General Session

53A-3-402.9 Assessment of emerging and early reading skills -- Resources provided by
school districts.
(1) The Legislature recognizes that well-developed reading skills help:

(a) children to succeed in school, develop self esteem, and build positive relationships with
others;

(b) young adults to become independent learners; and
(c) adults to become and remain productive members of a rapidly changing technology-based

society.
(2)
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(a) Each potential kindergarten student, the student's parent or guardian, and kindergarten
personnel at the student's school may participate in an assessment of the student's reading
and numeric skills.

(b) The State Board of Education, in cooperation with the state's school districts, may develop the
assessment instrument and any additional materials needed to implement and supplement
the assessment program.

(3) The potential kindergarten student's teacher may use the assessment in planning and
developing an instructional program to meet the student's identified needs.

(4)
(a) Each school is encouraged to schedule the assessment early enough before the kindergarten

starting date so that a potential kindergarten student's parent or guardian has time to develop
the child's needed skills as identified by the assessment.

(b) Based on the assessment under Subsection (2), the school shall provide the potential
student's parent or guardian with appropriate resource materials to assist the parent or
guardian at home in the student's literacy development.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-3-402.10 Reading clinics -- Purpose.
(1) The Legislature recognizes the critical importance of identifying, assessing, and assisting

students with reading difficulties at an early age in order for them to have successful and
productive school and life experiences.

(2) In order to help accomplish this, there is established a reading clinic, hereafter referred to as
the "clinic," based at the University of Utah, College of Education, to assist educators and
parents of students statewide in:

(a) assessing elementary school students who do not demonstrate satisfactory progress in
reading;

(b) providing instructional intervention to enable the students to overcome reading difficulties; and
(c) becoming better prepared to help all students become successful readers by providing them

with professional development programs in reading that are based on best practices and the
most current, scientific research available through nationally and internationally recognized
reading researchers and instructional specialists.

(3)
(a) The clinic shall focus primarily on students in grades 1 through 3 since research shows the

need for students to become successful readers by the end of grade 3.
(b) The clinic shall make assessment and instructional intervention services available to public

education students of all ages.
(4) The clinic shall provide these services at a base site in Salt Lake County and through remote

access interactive technology to reach educators, parents, and students throughout the state.
(5) The clinic shall provide:

(a) instruction to teachers in the use of technology and blended learning in providing
individualized reading instruction and reading remediation; and

(b) access to students for reading remediation and instruction services through distance learning
technology if a student is unable to regularly access a reading clinic location.

(6) The clinic shall integrate both the usage of and instruction on the use of technology-based
reading assessment tools as part of the clinic's services.

Amended by Chapter 390, 2014 General Session
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53A-3-402.11 Reading Performance Improvement Scholarship Program.
(1) There is established a Reading Performance Improvement Scholarship Program to assist

selected elementary teachers in obtaining a reading endorsement so that they may help
improve the reading performance of students in their classes.

(2) The State Board of Education shall award scholarships of up to $500 to each recipient under
the program.

(3) The board shall give weighted consideration to scholarship applicants who:
(a) teach in grades kindergarten through three;
(b) are designated by their schools as, or are seeking the designation of, reading specialist; and
(c) teach in a rural area of the state.

(4) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall
provide by rule for:

(a) the application procedure for the scholarship; and
(b) what constitutes a reading specialist at the elementary school level.

Amended by Chapter 382, 2008 General Session

53A-3-403 School district fiscal year -- Statistical reports.
(1) A school district's fiscal year begins on July 1 and ends on June 30.
(2)

(a) The district shall forward statistical reports for the preceding school year, containing items
required by law or by the State Board of Education, to the state superintendent not later than
November 1 of each year.

(b) The reports shall include information to enable the state superintendent to complete the
statement required under Subsection 53A-1-301(3)(d)(v).

(3) The district shall forward the accounting report required under Section 51-2a-201 to the state
superintendent not later than October 15 of each year.

(4) The district shall include the following information in its report:
(a) a summary of the number of students in the district given fee waivers, the number of students

who worked in lieu of a waiver, and the total dollar value of student fees waived by the district;
(b) a copy of the district's fee and fee waiver policy;
(c) a copy of the district's fee schedule for students; and
(d) notices of fee waivers provided to a parent or guardian of a student.

Amended by Chapter 206, 2004 General Session

53A-3-404 Annual financial report -- Audit report.
(1) The annual financial report of each school district, containing items required by law or by

the State Board of Education and attested to by independent auditors, shall be prepared as
required by Section 51-2a-201.

(2) If auditors are employed under Section 51-2a-201, the auditors shall complete their field work
in sufficient time to allow them to verify necessary audit adjustments included in the annual
financial report to the state superintendent.

(3)
(a)

(i) The district shall forward the annual financial report to the state superintendent not later than
October 1.
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(ii) The report shall include information to enable the state superintendent to complete the
statement required under Subsection 53A-1-301(3)(d)(v).

(b) The State Board of Education shall publish electronically a copy of the report on the Internet
not later than December 15.

(4) The completed audit report shall be delivered to the school district board of education and the
state superintendent of public instruction not later than November 30 of each year.

Amended by Chapter 206, 2004 General Session

53A-3-405 Approval of purchases or indebtedness -- Board approval of identified
purchases.
(1) An officer or employee of a school district may not make a purchase or incur indebtedness on

behalf of the district without the approval and order of the board.
(2) The board shall adopt one of the following approval methods, or a combination of the two:

(a) The board shall approve an appropriation for identified purchases in the district budget.  Each
purchase made under an identified purchase does not require additional board approval.

(b) The board shall approve individual purchases when made throughout the fiscal year.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-3-406 Claims against the board -- Itemized.
          Except for salary which is regularly authorized by the board, the board may not hear or consider

any claim against the board which is not itemized.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-3-407 Display of American flag.
(1) Each local school board shall provide each school within the district with a suitable flagpole.
(2) The American flag shall be displayed on every school day and on every state and national

holiday.
(3) The flag shall be maintained in a respectable condition.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-3-408 Tax exemption of school board property.
(1) Real and personal property held by a local school board is exempt from general and special

taxation and from local assessments.
(2) This property may not be taken in any manner for debt.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-3-409 Local governmental entities and school districts -- Contracts and cooperation
-- Disbursement of funds -- Municipal and county representative participation in school
district board meetings -- Notice required.
(1) Local governmental entities and school districts may contract and cooperate with one another

in matters affecting the health, welfare, education, and convenience of the inhabitants within
their respective territorial limits.
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(2) A local governmental entity may disburse public funds in aid of a school district located wholly
or partially within the limits of its jurisdiction.

(3)
(a) As used in this Subsection (3):

(i) "Interested county executive" means the county executive or county manager of a county
with unincorporated area within the boundary of a school district, or the designee of the
county executive or county manager.

(ii) "Interested mayor" means the mayor of a municipality that is partly or entirely within the
boundary of a school district, or the mayor's designee.

(b) A school district board shall allow an interested mayor and interested county executive to
attend and participate in the board discussions at a school district board meeting that is open
to the public under Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act.

(c) An interested county executive and interested mayor may attend and participate in board
discussions at a school district board meeting that is closed to the public under Title 52,
Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act, if:

(i) the school district board invites the interested county executive or interested mayor to attend
and participate; and

(ii) for a closed meeting held for the purpose of discussing the board's disposition or acquisition
of real property, the interested county executive or interested mayor does not have a conflict
of interest with respect to the real estate disposition or acquisition.

(d)
(i) A county or municipality may enter into an agreement with a school district under Title 11,

Chapter 13, Interlocal Cooperation Act, to govern the attendance of an interested county
executive or interested mayor at a school district board meeting.

(ii) An agreement under Subsection (3)(d)(i) may not be inconsistent with the provisions of this
Subsection (3).

(e) Each local school board shall give notice of board meetings to each interested mayor and
interested county executive.

(f) The notice required under Subsection (3)(c) shall be provided by:
(i) mail;
(ii) e-mail; or
(iii) other effective means agreed to by the person to whom notice is given.

Amended by Chapter 286, 2015 General Session

53A-3-411 Employment of school personnel -- Length of contract -- Termination for cause --
Individual contract of employment -- Employee acknowledgment of liability protection.
(1) A local school board may enter into a written employment contract for a term not to exceed five

years.
(2) Nothing in the terms of the contract shall restrict the power of a local school board to terminate

the contract for cause at any time.
(3)

(a) A local school board may not enter into a collective bargaining agreement that prohibits or
limits individual contracts of employment.

(b) Subsection (3)(a) does not apply to an agreement that was entered into before May 5, 2003.
(4) Each local school board shall:

(a) ensure that each employment contract complies with the requirements of Section 34-32-1.1;
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(b) comply with the requirements of Section 34-32-1.1 in employing any personnel, whether by
employment contract or otherwise; and

(c) ensure that at the time an employee enters into an employment contract, the  employee shall
sign a separate document acknowledging that the employee:

(i) has received:
(A) the disclosure required under Subsection 63A-4-204(4)(d) if the school district participates

in the Risk Management Fund; or
(B) written disclosure similar to the disclosure required under Section 63A-4-204 if the school

district does not participate in the Risk Management Fund; and
(ii) understands the legal liability protection provided to the employee and what is not covered,

as explained in the disclosure.

Amended by Chapter 285, 2005 General Session

53A-3-412 Residence not condition of employment.
          A local school board may not require an employee to reside within its school district as a

condition of employment.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-3-413 Use of public school buildings and grounds as civic centers.
(1) As used in this section, "civic center" means a public school building or ground, including a

charter school building or ground, that is established and maintained as a limited public forum
for supervised recreational activities and meetings.

(2) Except as provided in Subsection (3), all public school buildings and grounds shall be civic
centers.

(3) The use of school property as a civic center:
(a) may not interfere with a school function or purpose; and
(b) is considered a permit for governmental immunity purposes for a governmental entity under

Subsection 63G-7-201(4)(c).
(4) The organizer of an event may not use a civic center unless the organizer resides within the

geographic boundaries of the school district in which the civic center is located.

Amended by Chapter 232, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 342, 2015 General Session

53A-3-414 Local school boards' and charter school governing boards' responsibility for
school buildings and grounds when used as civic centers.
(1) As used in this section, "civic center" means the same as that term is defined in Section

53A-3-413.
(2) A local school board or charter school governing board:

(a) shall manage, direct, and control civic centers under this chapter;
(b) shall adopt policies for the use of civic centers;
(c) may charge a reasonable fee for the use of a civic center so that the school district or charter

school incurs no expense for that use;
(d) may appoint a special functions officer under Section 53-13-105 to have charge of the

grounds and protect school property when used for civic center purposes;
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(e) shall allow the use of a civic center, for other than school purposes, unless it determines that
the use interferes with a school function or purpose; and

(f) shall ensure that school administrators are trained about and properly implement the
provisions of this section and Section 53A-3-413.

Amended by Chapter 232, 2015 General Session

53A-3-415 School board policy on detaining students after school.
(1) Each local school board shall establish a policy on detaining students after regular school hours

as a part of the districtwide discipline plan required under Section 53A-11-901.
(2) The policy shall apply to elementary school students, grades kindergarten through six.  The

board shall receive input from teachers, school administrators, and parents and guardians of
the affected students before adopting the policy.

(3) The policy shall provide for notice to the parent or guardian of a student prior to holding the
student after school on a particular day.  The policy shall also provide for exceptions to the
notice provision if detention is necessary for the student's health or safety.

Amended by Chapter 72, 1991 General Session

53A-3-417 Child care centers in public schools -- Requirements -- Availability -- Compliance
with state and local laws.
(1)

(a) Upon receiving a request from a community group such as a community council, local PTA,
or parent/student organization, a local school board may authorize the use of a part of any
school building in the district to provide child care services for school aged children.

(b)
(i) The school board shall provide written public notice of its intent to authorize a child care

center.
(ii) The board shall file a copy of the notice with the Office of Child Care within the Department

of Workforce Services and the Department of Health.
(2)

(a) Establishment of a child care center in a public school building is contingent upon the local
school board determining that the center will not interfere with the building's use for regular
school purposes.

(b) The decision shall be made at the sole discretion of the school board.
(c) A school board may withdraw its approval to operate a child care center at any time if it

determines that such use interferes with the operation or interest of the school.
(d) The school district and its employees and agents are immune from any liability that might

otherwise result from a withdrawal of approval if the withdrawal was made in good faith.
(3)

(a) The board shall charge a commercially reasonable fee for the use of a school building as a
child care center so that the district does not incur an expense.

(b) The fee shall include but not be limited to costs for utility, building maintenance, and
administrative services supplied by the school that are related to the operation of the child
care center.

(4)
(a) Child care service may be provided by governmental agencies other than school districts,

nonprofit community service groups, or private providers.
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(b) If competitive proposals to provide child care services are submitted by the entities listed
in Subsection (4)(a), the board shall give preference to the private provider and nonprofit
community service groups so long as their proposals are judged to be at least equal to the
proposal of the governmental agency.

(c) It is intended that these programs function at the local community level with minimal state and
district involvement.

(5) It is the intent of the Legislature that providers not be required to go through a complex
procedure in order to obtain approval for providing the service.

(6)
(a) Child care centers within a public school building shall make their services available to all

children regardless of where the children reside.
(b) If space and resources are limited, first priority shall be given to those who reside within the

school boundaries where the center is located, and to the children of teachers and other
employees of the school where the child care center is located.

(c) Second priority shall be given to those who reside within the school district boundaries where
the center is located.

(7)
(a) The school board shall require proof of liability insurance which is adequate in the opinion of

the school board for use of school property as a child care center.
(b) A school district participating in the state Risk Management Fund shall require the provider

of child care services to comply with the applicable provisions of Title 63A, Chapter 4, Risk
Management.

(8) Child care centers established under this section shall operate in compliance with state and
local laws and regulations, including zoning and licensing requirements, and applicable school
rules.

(9) Except for Subsection (8), this section does not apply to child care centers established by a
school district within a public school building if the center offers child care services primarily to
children of employees or children of students of the school district.

Amended by Chapter 171, 2004 General Session

53A-3-420 Activity disclosure statements.
(1) For a school year beginning with or after the 2012-13 school year, a local school board shall

require the development of activity disclosure statements for each school-sponsored group or
program which involves students and faculty in grades 9 through 12 in contests, performances,
events, or other activities that require them to miss normal class time or takes place outside
regular school time.

(2) The activity disclosure statements shall be disseminated to the students desiring involvement
in the specific activity or to the students' parents or legal guardians or to both students and their
parents.

(3) An activity disclosure statement shall contain the following information:
(a) the specific name of the team, group, or activity;
(b) the maximum number of students involved;
(c) whether or not tryouts are used to select students, specifying date and time requirements for

tryouts, if applicable;
(d) beginning and ending dates of the activity;
(e) a tentative schedule of the events, performances, games, or other activities with dates, times,

and places specified if available;
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(f) if applicable, designation of any nonseason events or activities, including an indication of the
status, required, expected, suggested, or optional, with the dates, times, and places specified;

(g) personal costs associated with the activity;
(h) the name of the school employee responsible for the activity; and
(i) any additional information considered important for the students and parents to know.

Amended by Chapter 305, 2010 General Session

53A-3-421 Professional competence or performance -- Administrative hearing by local
school board -- Action on complaint.
(1)

(a) No civil action by or on behalf of a student relating to the professional competence or
performance of a licensed employee of a school district, or to the discipline of students by
a licensed employee, application of in loco parentis, or a violation of ethical conduct by an
employee of a school district, may be brought in a court until at least 60 days after the filing of
a written complaint with the local board of education of the district, or until findings have been
issued by the local board after a hearing on the complaint, whichever is sooner.

(b) As used in Subsection (1)(a), "in loco parentis" means the power of professional school
personnel to exercise the rights, duties, and responsibilities of a reasonable, responsible
parent in dealing with students in school-related matters.

(c) A parent of a student has standing to file a civil action against an employee who provides
services to a school attended by the student.

(2) Within 15 days of receiving a complaint under Subsection (1), a local school board may elect to
refer the complaint to the State Board of Education.

(3) If a complaint is referred to the board, no civil action may be brought in a court on matters
relating to the complaint until the board has provided a hearing and issued its findings or until
90 days after the filing of the complaint with the local school board, whichever is sooner.

Enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

53A-3-422 Internet and online access policy required.
          State funds may not be provided to any local school board that provides access to the Internet

or an online service unless the local school board adopts and enforces a policy to restrict access to
Internet or online sites that contain obscene material.

Amended by Chapter 301, 2002 General Session

53A-3-423 Process and content standards for policy.
(1) "Policy" as used in this section means the elementary and secondary school online access

policy adopted by a local school board to meet the requirements of Section 53A-3-422.
(2)

(a) Each policy shall be developed under the direction of the local school board, adopted in an
open meeting, and have an effective date.  The local school board shall review the policy at
least every three years, and a footnote shall be added to the policy indicating the effective
date of the last review.

(b) Notice of the availability of the policy shall be posted in a conspicuous place within each
school.  The local school board may issue any other public notice it considers appropriate.

(3) The policy shall:
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(a) state that it restricts access to Internet or online sites that contain obscene material and shall
state how the local school board intends to meet the requirements of Section 53A-3-422;

(b) inform the public that administrative procedures and guidelines for the staff to follow in
enforcing the policy have been adopted and are available for review at the school; and

(c) inform the public that procedures to handle complaints about the policy, its enforcement, or
about observed behavior have been adopted and are available for review at the school.

Enacted by Chapter 172, 2001 General Session

53A-3-424 Rulemaking -- Reporting.
          The State Board of Education may make rules in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah

Administrative Rulemaking Act, regarding compliance standards and reporting requirements for
local school boards with respect to the policy required by Section 53A-3-422.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-3-425 Association leave -- District policy.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Association leave" means leave from a school district employee's regular school
responsibilities granted for that employee to spend time for association, employee
association, or union duties.

(b) "Employee association" means an association that:
(i) negotiates employee salaries, benefits, contracts, or other conditions of employment; or
(ii) performs union duties.

(2) Except as provided in Subsection (3), a local school board may not allow paid association leave
for a school district employee to perform an employee association or union duty.

(3)
(a) A local school board may allow paid association leave for a school district employee to

perform an employee association duty if:
(i) the duty performed by the employee on paid association leave will directly benefit the school

district, including representing the school district's licensed educators:
(A) on a board or committee, such as the school district's foundation, a curriculum

development board, insurance committee, or catastrophic leave committee;
(B) at a school district leadership meeting; or
(C) at a workshop or meeting conducted by the school district's local school board;

(ii) the duty performed by the employee on paid association leave does not include political
activity, including:

(A) advocating for or against a candidate for public office in a partisan or nonpartisan election;
(B) soliciting a contribution for a political action committee, a political issues committee, a

registered political party, or a candidate, as defined in Section 20A-11-101; or
(C) initiating, drafting, soliciting signatures for, or advocating for or against a ballot

proposition, as defined in Section 20A-1-102; and
(iii) the local school board ensures compliance with the requirements of Subsections (4)(a)

through (g).
(b) Prior to a school district employee's participation in paid or unpaid association leave, a local

school board shall adopt a written policy that governs association leave.
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(c) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(d), a local school board policy that governs association
leave shall require reimbursement to the school district of the costs for an employee, including
benefits, for the time that the employee is:

(i) on unpaid association leave; or
(ii) participating in a paid association leave activity that does not provide a direct benefit to the

school district.
(d) For a school district that allowed association leave described in Subsections (3)(c)(i) and

(ii) prior to January 1, 2011, the local school board policy that governs association leave
may allow up to 10 days of association leave before requiring a reimbursement described in
Subsection (3)(c).

(e) A reimbursement required under Subsection (3)(c), (d), or (4)(g) may be provided by an
employee, association, or union.

(4) If a local school board adopts a policy to allow paid association leave, the policy shall include
procedures and controls to:

(a) ensure that the duties performed by employees on paid association leave directly benefit the
school district;

(b) require the school district to document the use and approval of paid association leave;
(c) require school district supervision of employees on paid association leave;
(d) require the school district to account for the costs and expenses of paid association leave;
(e) ensure that during the hours of paid association leave a school district employee may not

engage in political activity, including:
(i) advocating for or against a candidate for public office in a partisan or nonpartisan election;
(ii) soliciting a contribution for a political action committee, a political issues committee, a

registered political party, or a candidate, as defined in Section 20A-11-101; and
(iii) initiating, drafting, soliciting signatures for, or advocating for or against a ballot proposition,

as defined in Section 20A-1-102;
(f) ensure that association leave is only paid out of school district funds when the paid

association leave directly benefits the district; and
(g) require the reimbursement to the school district of the cost of paid association leave activities

that do not provide a direct benefit to education within the school district.
(5) If a local school board adopts a policy to allow paid association leave, that policy shall indicate

that a willful violation of this section or of a policy adopted in accordance with Subsection (3) or
(4) may be used for disciplinary action under Section 53A-8a-502.

Amended by Chapter 278, 2013 General Session

53A-3-426 Education employee associations -- Equal participation -- Prohibition on
endorsement or preferential treatment -- Naming of school breaks.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Education employee association" includes teacher associations, teacher unions, teacher
organizations, and classified education employees' associations.

(b) "School" means a school district, a school in a school district, a charter school, or the State
Board of Education and its employees.

(2) A school shall allow education employee associations equal access to the following activities:
(a) distribution of information in or access to teachers' or employees' physical or electronic

mailboxes, including email accounts that are provided by the school; and
(b) membership solicitation activities at new teacher or employee orientation training or functions.
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(3) If a school permits an education employee association to engage in any of the activities
described in Subsection (2), the school shall permit all other education employee associations
to engage in the activity on the same terms and conditions afforded to the education employee
association.

(4) It is unlawful for a school to:
(a) establish or maintain structures, procedures, or policies that favor one education employee

association over another or otherwise give preferential treatment to an education employee
association; or

(b) explicitly or implicitly endorse any education employee association.
(5) A school's calendars and publications may not include or refer to the name of any education

employee association in relation to any day or break in the school calendar.

Enacted by Chapter 88, 2007 General Session

53A-3-427 Honorary high school diploma for certain veterans.
(1) A board of education of a school district may award an honorary high school diploma to a

veteran, if the veteran:
(a) left high school before graduating in order to serve in the armed forces of the United States;
(b) served in the armed forces of the United States during the period of World War II, the Korean

War, or the Vietnam War;
(c)

(i) was honorably discharged; or
(ii) was released from active duty because of a service-related disability; and

(d)
(i) resides within the school district; or
(ii) resided within the school district at the time of leaving high school to serve in the armed

forces of the United States.
(2) To receive an honorary high school diploma, a veteran or immediate family member or

guardian of a veteran shall submit to a local school board:
(a) a request for an honorary high school diploma; and
(b) information required by the local school board to verify the veteran's eligibility for an honorary

high school diploma under Subsection (1).
(3) At the request of a veteran, a veteran's immediate family member or guardian, or a local school

board, the Department of Veterans' and Military Affairs shall certify whether the veteran meets
the requirements of Subsections (1)(b) and (c).

Amended by Chapter 214, 2013 General Session

53A-3-428 Collective bargaining agreement -- Website posting.
(1) As used in this section, "collective bargaining agreement" includes:

(a) a master agreement; and
(b) an amendment, addendum, memorandum, or other document modifying the master

agreement.
(2) The board of education of a school district:

(a) shall post on the school district's website a collective bargaining agreement entered into by
the board of education within 10 days of the ratification of the agreement; and

(b) may remove from the school district's website a collective bargaining agreement that is no
longer in effect.
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(3) The governing board of a charter school:
(a) shall post on the charter school's website a collective bargaining agreement entered into by

the governing board of the charter school within 10 days of the ratification of the agreement;
and

(b) may remove from the charter school's website a collective bargaining agreement that is no
longer in effect.

Enacted by Chapter 392, 2009 General Session

53A-3-429 Regional service centers.
(1) For purposes of this section, "eligible regional service center" means a regional service center

formed by two or more school districts as an interlocal entity, in accordance with Title 11,
Chapter 13, Interlocal Cooperation Act.

(2) The Legislature strongly encourages school districts to collaborate and cooperate to provide
educational services in a manner that will best utilize resources for the overall operation of the
public education system.

(3) An eligible regional service center formed by an interlocal agreement, in accordance with Title
11, Chapter 13, Interlocal Cooperation Act, may receive a distribution described in Subsection
(5) if the Legislature appropriates money for eligible regional service centers.

(4)
(a) If local school boards enter into an interlocal agreement to confirm or formalize a regional

service center in operation before July 1, 2011, the interlocal agreement may not eliminate
any rights or obligations of the regional service center in effect before entering into the
interlocal agreement.

(b) An interlocal agreement entered into to confirm or formalize an existing regional service
center shall have the effect of confirming and ratifying in the regional service center, the title
to any property held in the name, or for the benefit of the regional service center as of the
effective date of the interlocal agreement.

(5)
(a) The State Board of Education shall distribute any funding appropriated to eligible regional

service centers as provided by the Legislature.
(b) The State Board of Education may provide funding to an eligible regional service center in

addition to legislative appropriations.
(6) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State Board

of Education shall make rules regarding eligible regional service centers including:
(a) the distribution of legislative appropriations to eligible regional service centers;
(b) the designation of eligible regional service centers as agents to distribute Utah Education and

Telehealth Network services; and
(c) the designation of eligible regional service centers as agents for regional coordination of

public education and higher education services.
(7) A public school that is a charter school may enter into a contract with an eligible regional

service center to receive education related services from the eligible regional service center.

Amended by Chapter 63, 2014 General Session

53A-3-431 Health insurance mandates.
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          A local school board and the governing body of a charter school shall include in a health
plan it offers to school district employees, or charter school employees insurance mandates in
accordance with Section 31A-22-605.5.

Enacted by Chapter 127, 2012 General Session

53A-3-432 Interlocal agreement for public education transportation services.
(1) In accordance with Title 11, Chapter 13, Interlocal Cooperation Act, at least two school districts

may, for the purpose of coordinating public education transportation services:
(a) create an interlocal entity as defined in Section 11-13-103 if the school districts establish an

interlocal entity governing board as described in Subsection (2); or
(b) enter into a joint or cooperative undertaking as described in Section 11-13-207 if the school

districts establish a joint board as described in Subsection (2).
(2) A governing board described in Subsection (1)(a) or a joint board described in Subsection (1)

(b) shall consist of:
(a) at least one elected member of a local school board from each school district that creates the

interlocal entity or enters into the joint or cooperative undertaking; and
(b) only elected members of the local school boards of the school districts that create the

interlocal entity or enter into the joint or cooperative undertaking.

Enacted by Chapter 300, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 300, 2015 General Session, (Coordination Clause)

Part 5
Offenses

53A-3-501 Possession or consumption of alcoholic beverages at school or school-
sponsored activities -- Penalty.
(1) Except as approved by a local school board as part of the curriculum, a person may not

possess or drink an alcoholic beverage:
(a) inside or on the grounds of any building owned or operated by a part of the public education

system; or
(b) in those portions of any building, park, or stadium which are being used for an activity

sponsored by or through any part of the public education system.
(2)

(a) Subsection (1)(a) does not apply to property owned by a school district in contemplation of
future use for school purposes while the property is under lease to another party.

(b)
(i) For purposes of Subsection (2)(a), a lease must be full time for a period of not less than two

years.
(ii) The property may not be used for school purposes at any time during the lease period.

(3) Violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor.

Amended by Chapter 10, 1998 General Session

53A-3-503 Criminal trespass upon school property -- Penalty.
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(1) A person is guilty of criminal trespass upon school property if the person does the following:
(a) enters or remains unlawfully upon school property, and:

(i) intends to cause annoyance or injury to a person or damage to property on the school
property;

(ii) intends to commit a crime; or
(iii) is reckless as to whether the person's presence will cause fear for the safety of another; or

(b) enters or remains without authorization upon school property if notice against entry or
remaining has been given by:

(i) personal communication to the person by a school official or an individual with apparent
authority to act for a school official;

(ii) the posting of signs reasonably likely to come to the attention of trespassers;
(iii) fencing or other enclosure obviously designed to exclude trespassers; or
(iv) a current order of suspension or expulsion.

(2) As used in this section:
(a) "Enter" means intrusion of the entire body.
(b) "School official" means a public or private school administrator or person in charge of a

school program or activity.
(c) "School property" means real property owned or occupied by a public or private school,

including real property temporarily occupied for a school activity or program.
(3) Violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor.

Amended by Chapter 78, 1990 General Session

53A-3-504 Traffic ordinances on school property -- Enforcement.
(1) A local political subdivision in which real property is located that belongs to, or is controlled

by, the State Board of Education, a local board of education, an area vocational center, or the
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind may, at the request of the responsible board of education or
institutional council, adopt ordinances for the control of vehicular traffic on that property.

(2) A law enforcement officer whose jurisdiction includes the property in question may enforce an
ordinance adopted under Subsection (1).

Enacted by Chapter 140, 1988 General Session

Part 6
School District Performance Reports

53A-3-601 Legislative findings.
          The Legislature recognizes broad-based support from the general public and the state's

education community for school and school district performance reports.  The Legislature further
recognizes that a number of school districts are already committed to a reporting program that
gives parents individual student achievement test information, that provides school test data results
to the school's community, and that publishes district-wide test results for distribution to the general
public.

Amended by Chapter 219, 2000 General Session



Utah Code

Page 223

53A-3-602.5 School performance report -- Components -- Annual filing.
(1) For a school year beginning with or after the 2010-11 school year, the State Board of Education

in collaboration with the state's school districts and charter schools shall develop a school
performance report to inform the state's residents of the quality of schools and the educational
achievement of students in the state's public education system.

(2) The report described in Subsection (1) shall be written and include the following statistical data
for each school in a school district and each charter school, as applicable, except as provided
by Subsection (2)(g), and shall also aggregate the data at the school district and state level:

(a) test scores over the previous year on:
(i) criterion-referenced or online computer adaptive tests to include the scores aggregated for

all students:
(A) by grade level or course for the previous two years and an indication of whether there was

a sufficient magnitude of gain in the scores between the two years; and
(B) by class;

(ii) online writing assessments required under Section 53A-1-603; and
(iii) college readiness assessments required under Section 53A-1-603;

(b) college entrance examinations data, including the number and percentage of each graduating
class taking the examinations for the previous four years;

(c) advanced placement and concurrent enrollment data, including:
(i) the number of students taking advanced placement and concurrent enrollment courses;
(ii) the number and percent of students taking a specific advanced placement course who take

advanced placement tests to receive college credit for the course;
(iii) of those students taking the test referred to in Subsection (2)(c)(ii), the number and percent

who pass the test; and
(iv) of those students taking a concurrent enrollment course, the number and percent of those

who receive college credit for the course;
(d) the number and percent of students in grade 3 reading at or above grade level;
(e) the number and percent of students who were absent from school 10 days or more during the

school year;
(f) achievement gaps that reflect the differences in achievement of various student groups as

defined by State Board of Education rule;
(g) the number and percent of "student dropouts" within the school district as defined by State

Board of Education rule;
(h) course-taking patterns and trends in secondary schools;
(i) student mobility;
(j) staff qualifications, to include years of professional service and the number and percent of

staff who have a degree or endorsement in their assigned teaching area and the number and
percent of staff who have a graduate degree;

(k) the number and percent of parents who participate in SEP, SEOP, and parent-teacher
conferences;

(l) average class size calculated in accordance with State Board of Education rule adopted under
Subsection (4);

(m) average daily attendance as defined by State Board of Education rule, including every period
in secondary schools; and

(n) enrollment totals disaggregated with respect to race, ethnicity, gender, limited English
proficiency, and those students who qualify for free or reduced price school lunch.

(3) For a school year beginning with or after the 2010-11 school year, the State Board of
Education, in collaboration with the state's school districts and charter schools, shall provide for
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the collection and electronic reporting of the following data for a school in each school district
and each charter school:

(a) test scores and trends over the previous four years on the tests referred to in Subsection (2)
(a);

(b) the average grade given in each math, science, and English course in grades 9 through 12
for which criterion-referenced or online computer adaptive tests are required under Section
53A-1-603;

(c) incidents of student discipline as defined by State Board of Education rule, including
suspensions, expulsions, and court referrals; and

(d) the number and percent of students receiving fee waivers and the total dollar amount of fees
waived.

(4)
(a) The State Board of Education shall adopt common definitions and data collection procedures

for local school boards and charter schools to use in collecting and forwarding the data
required under Subsections (2) and (3) to the state superintendent of public instruction.

(b)
(i) In accordance with Subsections (4)(b)(ii) through (4)(b)(iv), the State Board of Education

shall adopt rules specifying how average class size shall be calculated.
(ii)

(A) Except as provided by Subsections (4)(b)(ii)(B) through (4)(b)(ii)(D) or for nontraditional
classes identified by rule, average class size at the elementary school level shall:

(I) be calculated by grade level; and
(II) indicate the average number of students who are assigned to a teacher for instruction

together during a designated time period.
(B) If students at the elementary school level receive instruction in basic  academic classes

from different teachers, average class size may be calculated as provided by Subsection
(4)(b)(iii) for secondary school students.

(C) An elementary school class that includes students from multiple grade levels shall be
counted as a single class.

(D) An extended day class in which a portion of the class arrives early and the other portion
stays late shall be counted as a single class.

(iii)
(A) Except as provided by Subsection (4)(b)(iii)(B) or for nontraditional classes identified by

rule, average class size at the secondary school level shall:
(I) be calculated for core language arts, mathematics, and science courses; and
(II) indicate the average number of students who are assigned to a teacher for instruction

together during a designated time period.
(B) A secondary school class in which a teacher provides instruction in multiple courses shall

be counted as a single class.
(iv) Special education classes and online classes shall be excluded when determining average

class size by grade at the elementary school level or the average class size of core
language arts, mathematics, and science courses at the secondary level.

(c) The State Board of Education, through the state superintendent of public instruction, shall
adopt standard reporting forms and provide a common template for collecting and reporting
the data, which shall be used by all school districts and charter schools.

(d) The state superintendent shall use the automated decision support system referred to in
Section 53A-1-301 to collect and report the data required under Subsections (2) and (3).

(5)
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(a) For a school year beginning with or after the 2010-11 school year, the State Board of
Education, through the state superintendent of public instruction, shall issue its report
annually by October 1 to include the required data from the previous school year or years as
indicated in Subsections (2) and (3).

(b) The State Board of Education shall publish on the State Board of Education's website U-
PASS school reports for the 2009-10 school year that indicate the academic proficiency
and progress of a school's students and whether the school meets state standards of
performance.

(6)
(a) Each local school board and each charter school shall receive a written or an electronic copy

of the report from the state superintendent of public instruction containing the data for that
school district or charter school in a clear summary format and have it distributed, on a one
per household basis, to the residence of students enrolled in the school district or charter
school before November 30th of each year.

(b) Each local school board, each charter school, and the State Board of Education shall have a
complete report of the statewide data available for copying or in an electronic format at their
respective offices.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-3-603 State board models, guidelines, and training.
(1) The State Board of Education shall develop and provide models, guidelines, and training to

school districts to enable each district to comply with Section 53A-3-602.5.
(2) The models and guidelines shall focus on systematic, simplified organizational analysis and

reporting of available data.
(3) A school district is not restricted to using the models and guidelines developed by the board if it

develops or finds a better approach for clearly communicating the data required under Section
53A-3-602.5.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

Part 7
Educators' Professional Learning Standards

53A-3-701 Professional learning standards.
(1) As used in this section, "professional learning" means a comprehensive, sustained, and

evidence-based approach to improving teachers' and principals' effectiveness in raising student
achievement.

(2) A school district or charter school shall implement high quality professional learning that meets
the following standards:

(a) professional learning occurs within learning communities committed to continuous
improvement, individual and collective responsibility, and goal alignment;

(b) professional learning requires skillful leaders who develop capacity, advocate, and create
support systems, for professional learning;

(c) professional learning requires prioritizing, monitoring, and coordinating resources for educator
learning;
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(d) professional learning uses a variety of sources and types of student, educator, and system
data to plan, assess, and evaluate professional learning;

(e) professional learning integrates theories, research, and models of human learning to achieve
its intended outcomes;

(f) professional learning applies research on change and sustains support for implementation of
professional learning for long-term change;

(g) professional learning aligns its outcomes with:
(i) performance standards for teachers and school administrators as described in rules of the

State Board of Education; and
(ii) performance standards for students as described in the core standards for Utah public

schools adopted by the State Board of Education pursuant to Section 53A-1-402.6; and
(h) professional learning:

(i) incorporates the use of technology in the design, implementation, and evaluation of high
quality professional learning practices; and

(ii) includes targeted professional learning on the use of technology devices to enhance the
teaching and learning environment and the integration of technology in content delivery.

(3) School districts and charter schools shall use money appropriated by the Legislature for
professional learning or federal grant money awarded for professional learning to implement
professional learning that meets the standards specified in Subsection (2).

(4)
(a) In the fall of 2014, the State Board of Education, through the state superintendent of

public instruction, and in collaboration with an independent consultant acquired through a
competitive bid process, shall conduct a statewide survey of school districts and charter
schools to:

(i) determine the current state of professional learning for educators as aligned with the
standards specified in Subsection (2);

(ii) determine the effectiveness of current professional learning practices; and
(iii) identify resources to implement professional learning as described in Subsection (2).

(b) The State Board of Education shall select a consultant from bidders who have demonstrated
successful experience in conducting a statewide analysis of professional learning.

(c)
(i) Annually in the fall, beginning in 2015 through 2020, the State Board of Education, through

the state superintendent of public instruction, in conjunction with school districts and charter
schools, shall gather and use data to determine the impact of professional learning efforts
and resources.

(ii) Data used to determine the impact of professional learning efforts and resources under
Subsection (4)(c)(i) shall include:

(A) student achievement data;
(B) educator evaluation data; and
(C) survey data.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

Chapter 4
Public-Private Partnership for Educational Excellence Act
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Part 2
School District Foundations

53A-4-205 Establishment of public education foundations -- Powers and duties -- Tax
exempt status.
(1) The State Board of Education, a local school  board, or the Utah Schools for the Deaf and Blind

may establish foundations to:
(a) assist in the development and implementation of the programs authorized under this part to

promote educational excellence; and
(b) assist in the accomplishment of other education-related objectives.

(2) A foundation established under Subsection (1):
(a) may solicit and receive contributions from private enterprises for the purpose of this part;
(b) shall comply with Title 51, Chapter 7, State Money Management Act, and rules made under

the act;
(c) has no power or authority to incur contractual obligations or liabilities that constitute a claim

against public funds except as provided in this section;
(d) may not exercise executive, administrative, or rulemaking authority over the programs

referred to in this part, except to the extent specifically authorized by the responsible school
board;

(e) is exempt from all taxes levied by the state or any of its political subdivisions with respect to
activities conducted under this part;

(f) may participate in the Risk Management Fund under Section 63A-4-204;
(g) shall provide a school with information detailing transactions and balances of funds managed

for that school;
(h) shall, for foundation accounts from which money is distributed to schools, provide all the

schools within a school district information that:
(i) details account transactions; and
(ii) shows available balances in the accounts; and

(i) may not:
(i) engage in lobbying activities;
(ii) attempt to influence legislation; or
(iii) participate in any campaign activity for or against:

(A) a political candidate; or
(B) an initiative, referendum, proposed constitutional amendment, bond, or any other ballot

proposition submitted to the voters.
(3) A local school board that establishes a foundation under Subsection (1) shall:

(a) require the foundation to:
(i) use the school district's accounting system; or
(ii) follow written accounting policies established by the board;

(b) review and approve the foundation's accounting, purchasing, and check issuance policies to
ensure that there is an adequate separation of responsibilities; and

(c) approve procedures to verify that issued foundation payments have been properly approved.

Amended by Chapter 280, 2011 General Session
Amended by Chapter 342, 2011 General Session
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Part 3
Partnerships for Student Success Grant Program

53A-4-301 Title.
          This part is known as "Partnerships for Student Success Grant Program."

Enacted by Chapter 331, 2016 General Session

53A-4-302 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(2) "Eligible elementary school" or "eligible junior high school" means a district school or charter

school that has at least 50% of the school's students with a family income at or below 185% of
the federal poverty level.

(3) "Eligible partnership" means a partnership that:
(a) includes at least:

(i) a local education agency that has designated an eligible school feeder pattern;
(ii) a local nonprofit organization;
(iii) a private business;
(iv) a municipality or county in which the eligible school feeder pattern is located;
(v) an institution of higher education within the state;
(vi) a state or local government agency that provides services to students attending schools

within the eligible school feeder pattern;
(vii) a local philanthropic organization; and
(viii) a local health care organization; and

(b) has designated a local education agency or local nonprofit organization to act as lead
applicant for a grant described in this part.

(4) "Eligible school feeder pattern" means the succession of schools that a student enrolls in as the
student progresses from kindergarten through grade 12 that includes, as designated by a local
education agency:

(a) a high school;
(b) an eligible junior high school that:

(i) is a district school within the geographic boundary of the high school described in Subsection
(4)(a); or

(ii) is a charter school that sends at least 50% of the charter school's students to the high
school described in Subsection (4)(a); and

(c) an eligible elementary school that:
(i) is a district school within the geographic boundary of the high school described in Subsection

(4)(a); or
(ii) is a charter school that sends at least 50% of the charter school's students to the junior high

school described in Subsection (4)(b).
(5) "Local education agency" means a school district or charter school.

Enacted by Chapter 331, 2016 General Session

53A-4-303 Partnerships for Student Success Grant Program established.
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(1) There is created the Partnerships for Student Success Grant Program to improve educational
outcomes for low income students through the formation of cross sector partnerships that use
data to align and improve efforts focused on student success.

(2) Subject to legislative appropriations, the board shall award grants to eligible partnerships that
enter into a memorandum of understanding between the members of the eligible partnership to
plan or implement a partnership that:

(a) establishes shared goals, outcomes, and measurement practices based on unique
community needs and interests that:

(i) are aligned with the recommendations of the five- and ten-year plan to address
intergenerational poverty described in Section 35A-9-303; and

(ii) address, for students attending a school within an eligible school feeder pattern:
(A) kindergarten readiness;
(B) grade 3 mathematics and reading proficiency;
(C) grade 8 mathematics and reading proficiency;
(D) high school graduation;
(E) postsecondary education attainment;
(F) physical and mental health; and
(G) development of career skills and readiness;

(b) coordinates and aligns services to:
(i) students attending schools within an eligible school feeder pattern; and
(ii) the families and communities of the students within an eligible school feeder pattern;

(c) implements a system for:
(i) sharing data to monitor and evaluate shared goals and outcomes, in accordance with state

and federal law; and
(ii) accountability for shared goals and outcomes; and

(d) commits to providing matching funds as described in Section 53A-4-304.
(3) In making grant award determinations, the board shall prioritize funding for an eligible

partnership that:
(a) includes a low performing school as determined by the board; or
(b) addresses parent and community engagement.

(4) In awarding grants under this part, the board:
(a) shall distribute funds to the lead applicant designated by the eligible partnership as described

in Section 53A-4-302; and
(b) may not award more than $500,000 per fiscal year to an eligible partnership.

Enacted by Chapter 331, 2016 General Session

53A-4-304 Matching funds -- Grantee requirements.
(1)

(a) The board may not award a grant to an eligible partnership unless the eligible partnership
provides matching funds equal to two times the amount of the grant.

(b) The board shall ensure that at least half of the matching funds provided under Subsection (1)
(a) are provided by a local education agency.

(c) Matching funds may include cash or an in-kind contribution.
(2) A partnership that receives a grant under this part shall:

(a) select and contract with a technical assistance provider identified by the board as described in
Section 53A-4-305;

(b) continually assess progress toward reaching shared goals and outcomes;
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(c) publish results of the continual assessment described in Subsection (2)(b) on an annual
basis;

(d) regularly report to the board in accordance with rules established by the board under Section
53A-4-307; and

(e) as requested, share information and data with the third party evaluator described in Section
53A-4-306, in accordance with state and federal law.

(3) A partnership that receives a grant under this part may use grant funds only for the following
purposes:

(a) to contract with a technical assistance provider identified by the board as described in Section
53A-4-305; and

(b) to plan or implement a partnership, including:
(i) for project management;
(ii) for planning and adaptation of services and strategies;
(iii) to coordinate services;
(iv) to establish and implement shared measurement practices;
(v) to produce communication materials and conduct outreach activities to build public support;
(vi) to establish data privacy and sharing agreements, in accordance with state and federal law;
(vii) to purchase infrastructure, hardware, and software to collect and store data; or
(viii) to analyze data.

(4)
(a) The board shall establish interventions for a partnership that:

(i) fails to comply with the requirements described in this section; or
(ii) is not making progress toward reaching the shared goals and outcomes established by the

partnership as described in Section 53A-4-303.
(b) An intervention under Subsection (4)(a) may include discontinuing or reducing funding.

Enacted by Chapter 331, 2016 General Session

53A-4-305 Technical assistance.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code, the board shall identify

two or more technical assistance providers that a partnership may select from to assist the
partnership in:

(a) establishing shared goals, outcomes, and measurement practices;
(b) creating the capabilities to achieve shared goals and outcomes that may include providing

leadership development training to members of the partnership; and
(c) using data to align and improve efforts focused on student success.

(2) In identifying technical assistance providers under this section the board shall identify providers
that have a credible track record of providing technical assistance as described in Subsection
(1).

Enacted by Chapter 331, 2016 General Session

53A-4-306 Independent evaluation -- Reporting.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code, the board shall contract

with an independent evaluator to annually evaluate a partnership that receives a grant under
this part.

(2) The evaluation described in Subsection (1) shall:
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(a) assess implementation of a partnership, including the extent to which members of a
partnership:

(i) share data to align and improve efforts focused on student success; and
(ii) meet regularly and communicate authentically; and

(b) assess the impact of a partnership on student outcomes using appropriate statistical
evaluation methods.

(3) In identifying an independent evaluator under Subsection (1), the board shall identify an
evaluator that:

(a) has a credible track record of conducting evaluations as described in Subsection (2); and
(b) is independent of any member of the partnership and does not otherwise have a vested

interest in the outcome of the evaluation.
(4) Beginning in the 2017-18 school year, the board shall ensure that the independent evaluator:

(a) prepares an annual written report of an evaluation conducted under this section; and
(b) annually submits the report to the Education Interim Committee.

Enacted by Chapter 331, 2016 General Session

53A-4-307 Rules.
          In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall

make rules to administer the Partnerships for Student Success Grant Program in accordance with
this part.

Enacted by Chapter 331, 2016 General Session

Chapter 5
Utah School Boards Association

53A-5-101 Utah School Boards Association.
          The Utah School Boards Association is recognized as an organization and agency of the school

boards of Utah and is representative of those boards.

Amended by Chapter 78, 1990 General Session

53A-5-102 Boards of education authorized to become members of association.
          The State Board of Education, local school boards, and their agencies may become members

of the Utah School Boards Association and cooperate with the association and its members on
activities and problems relating to the state's educational system.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-5-103 Payment of dues -- Expenses in attending meetings -- Contributions.
(1) Member boards may pay dues and make other contributions to the association for its

educational activities.
(2) They may also incur reasonable travel and subsistence expenses for the purpose of attending

meetings and conferences of the association.
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(3) Dues and contributions expenses shall be paid in the same manner as are other expenses of
the member boards.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

Chapter 6
Educator Licensing and Professional Practices Act

Part 1
General Provisions

53A-6-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Educator Licensing and Professional Practices Act."

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

53A-6-102 Legislative findings on teacher quality -- Declaration of education as a
profession.
(1)

(a) The Legislature acknowledges that education is perhaps the most important function of state
and local governments, recognizing that the future success of our state and nation depend in
large part upon the existence of a responsible and educated citizenry.

(b) The Legislature further acknowledges that the primary responsibility for the education of
children within the state resides with their parents or guardians and that the role of state and
local governments is to support and assist parents in fulfilling that responsibility.

(2)
(a) The Legislature finds that:

(i) quality teaching is the basic building block of successful schools and, outside of home and
family circumstances, the essential component of student achievement;

(ii) the high quality of teachers is absolutely essential to enhance student achievement and to
assure educational excellence in each classroom in the state's public schools; and

(iii) the implementation of a comprehensive continuum of data-driven strategies regarding
recruitment, preservice, licensure, induction, professional development, and evaluation
is essential if the state and its citizens expect every classroom to be staffed by a skilled,
caring, and effective teacher.

(b) In providing for the safe and effective performance of the function of educating Utah's
children, the Legislature further finds it to be of critical importance that education, including
instruction, administrative, and supervisory services, be recognized as a profession, and that
those who are licensed or seek to become licensed and to serve as educators:

(i) meet high standards both as to qualifications and fitness for service as educators through
quality recruitment and preservice programs before assuming their responsibilities in the
schools;

(ii) maintain those standards in the performance of their duties while holding licenses, in large
part through participating in induction and ongoing professional development programs
focused on instructional improvement;
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(iii) receive fair, systematic evaluations of their performance at school for the purpose of
enhancing the quality of public education and student achievement; and

(iv) have access to a process for fair examination and review of allegations made against them
and for the administration of appropriate sanctions against those found, in accordance with
due process, to have failed to conduct themselves in a manner commensurate with their
authority and responsibility to provide appropriate professional services to the children of the
state.

Amended by Chapter 49, 2013 General Session

53A-6-103  Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Accredited institution" means an institution meeting the requirements of Section 53A-6-107.
(2)

(a) "Alternative preparation program" means preparation for licensure in accordance with
applicable law and rule through other than an approved preparation program.

(b) "Alternative preparation program" includes the competency-based licensing program
described in Section 53A-6-104.5.

(3) "Ancillary requirement" means a requirement established by law or rule in addition to
completion of an approved preparation program or alternative education program or
establishment of eligibility under the NASDTEC Interstate Contract, and may include any of the
following:

(a) minimum grade point average;
(b) standardized testing or assessment;
(c) mentoring;
(d) recency of professional preparation or experience;
(e) graduation from an accredited institution; or
(f) evidence relating to moral, ethical, physical, or mental fitness.

(4) "Approved preparation program" means a program for preparation of educational personnel
offered through an accredited institution in Utah or in a state which is a party to a contract
with Utah under the NASDTEC Interstate Contract and which, at the time the program was
completed by the applicant:

(a) was approved by the governmental agency responsible for licensure of educators in the state
in which the program was provided;

(b) satisfied requirements for licensure in the state in which the program was provided;
(c) required completion of a baccalaureate; and
(d) included a supervised field experience.

(5) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(6) "Certificate" means a license issued by a governmental jurisdiction outside the state.
(7) "Core academic subjects" means English, reading or language arts, mathematics, science,

foreign languages, civics and government, economics, arts, history, and geography.
(8) "Educator" means:

(a) a person who holds a license;
(b) a teacher, counselor, administrator, librarian, or other person required, under rules of the

board, to hold a license; or
(c) a person who is the subject of an allegation which has been received by the board or UPPAC

and was, at the time noted in the allegation, a license holder or a person employed in a
position requiring licensure.
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(9)
(a) "Endorsement" means a stipulation appended to a license setting forth the areas of practice

to which the license applies.
(b) An endorsement shall be issued upon completion of a competency-based teacher preparation

program from a regionally accredited university that meets state content standards.
(10) "License" means an authorization issued by the board which permits the holder to serve in a

professional capacity in the public schools.  The five levels of licensure are:
(a) "letter of authorization," which is:

(i) a temporary license issued to a person who has not completed requirements for a
competency-based, or level 1, 2, or 3 license, such as:

(A) a student teacher; or
(B) a person participating in an alternative preparation program; or

(ii) a license issued, pursuant to board rules, to a person who has achieved eminence, or has
outstanding qualifications, in a field taught in public schools;

(b) "competency-based license" which is issued to a teacher based on the teacher's
demonstrated teaching skills and abilities;

(c) "level 1 license," which is a license issued upon completion of:
(i) a competency-based teacher preparation program from a regionally accredited university; or
(ii) an approved preparation program or an alternative preparation program, or pursuant to an

agreement under the  NASDTEC Interstate Contract, to candidates who have also met all
ancillary requirements established by law or rule;

(d) "level 2 license," which is a license issued after satisfaction of all requirements for a level
1 license as well as any additional requirements established by law or rule relating to
professional preparation or experience; and

(e) "level 3 license," which is a license issued to an educator who holds a current Utah level 2
license and has also received, in the educator's field of practice, National Board certification
or a doctorate from an accredited institution.

(11) "NASDTEC" means the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification.

(12) "NASDTEC Interstate Contract" means the contract implementing Title 53A, Chapter 6, Part
2, Compact for Interstate Qualification of Educational Personnel, which is administered through
NASDTEC.

(13) "National Board certification" means a current certificate issued by the National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards.

(14) "Necessarily existent small school" means a school classified as a necessarily existent small
school in accordance with Section 53A-17a-109.

(15) "Rule" means an administrative rule adopted by the board under Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah
Administrative Rulemaking Act.

(16) "School" means a public or private entity which provides educational services to a minor child.
(17) "Small school district" means a school district with an enrollment of less than 5,000 students.
(18) "UPPAC" means the Utah Professional Practices Advisory Commission.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-6-104 Board licensure.
(1)

(a) The board may issue licenses for educators.
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(b) A person employed in a position that requires licensure by the board shall hold the
appropriate license.

(2)
(a) The board may by rule rank, endorse, or otherwise classify licenses and establish the criteria

for obtaining and retaining licenses.
(b)

(i) The board shall make rules requiring participation in professional development activities or
compliance with a school district professional development plan as provided in Subsection
(4) in order for educators to retain their licenses.

(ii) An educator who is enrolling in a course of study at an institution within the state system of
higher education to satisfy the professional development requirements of Subsection (2)
(b)(i) is exempt from tuition, except for a semester registration fee established by the State
Board of Regents, if:

(A) the educator is enrolled on the basis of surplus space in the class after regularly enrolled
students have been assigned and admitted to the class in accordance with regular
procedures, normal teaching loads, and the institution's approved budget; and

(B) enrollments are determined by each institution under rules and guidelines established by
the State Board of Regents in accordance with findings of fact that space is available for
the educator's enrollment.

(3) Except as provided in Subsection (4), unless suspended or revoked by the board, or
surrendered by the educator:

(a) a letter of authorization is valid for one year, or a shorter period as specified by the board,
subject to renewal by the board in accordance with board rules;

(b) a competency-based license remains valid;
(c) a level 1 license is valid for three years, subject to renewal by the board in accordance with

board rules;
(d) a level 2 license is valid for five years, subject to renewal by the board in accordance with

board rules; and
(e) a level 3 license is valid for seven years, subject to renewal by the board in accordance with

board rules.
(4) Unless suspended or revoked by the board, or surrendered by the educator, a level 1, level 2,

level 3, or competency-based license shall remain valid if:
(a) the license holder is employed by a school district that has a comprehensive program to

maintain and improve educators' skills in which performance standards, educator evaluation,
and professional development are integrated; and

(b) the license holder complies with school or school district professional development
requirements.

Amended by Chapter 315, 2003 General Session

53A-6-104.1 Reinstatement of a license.
(1) An educator who previously held a license and whose license has expired may have the license

reinstated by:
(a) filing an application with the board on the form prescribed by the board;
(b) paying the fee required by Section 53A-6-105; and
(c) submitting to a criminal background check as required by Section 53A-15-1504.
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(2) Upon successful completion of the criminal background check and verification that the
applicant's previous license had not been revoked, suspended, or surrendered, the board shall
reinstate the license.

(3) An educator whose license is reinstated may not be required to obtain professional
development not required of other educators with the same number of years of experience,
except as provided in Subsection (4).

(4) The principal of the school at which an educator whose license is reinstated is employed shall
provide information and training, based on the educator's experience and education, that will
assist the educator in performing the educator's assigned position.

(5) The procedures for reinstating a license as provided in this section do not apply to an
educator's license that expires while the educator is employed in a position requiring the
license.

Amended by Chapter 389, 2015 General Session

53A-6-104.5 Licensing by competency.
(1) A competency-based license to teach may be issued based on the demonstrated competence

of a teacher as provided in this section.
(2) A local school board or charter school may request, and the board shall grant, upon receipt

of documentation from the local school board or charter school verifying the person's
qualifications as specified in this section, a competency-based license to a person who meets
the qualifications specified in this section and submits to a criminal background check as
required in Section 53A-15-1504.

(3) A local school board or charter school may request a competency-based license if the
candidate meets the following qualifications:

(a) a license candidate who teaches one or more core academic subjects in an elementary
school shall:

(i) hold at least a bachelor's degree; and
(ii) have demonstrated, by passing a rigorous state test, subject knowledge and teaching skills

in reading, writing, mathematics, and other areas of the basic elementary school curriculum;
(b) a license candidate who teaches one or more core academic subjects in a middle or

secondary school shall:
(i) hold at least a bachelor's degree; and
(ii) have demonstrated a high level of competency in each of the academic subjects in which

the teacher teaches by:
(A) passing a rigorous state academic subject test in each of the academic subjects in which

the teacher teaches; or
(B) successful completion, in each of the academic subjects in which the teacher teaches,

of an academic major, a graduate degree, course work equivalent to an undergraduate
academic major, or advanced certification or credentialing; or

(c) a license candidate who teaches subjects other than a core academic subject in an
elementary, middle, or high school shall:

(i) hold a bachelor's degree, associate's degree, or skill certification; and
(ii) have skills, talents, or abilities, as evaluated by the employing entity, that make the person

suited for the teaching position.
(4) A school district or charter school:

(a) shall monitor and assess the performance of each teacher holding a competency-based
license; and
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(b) may recommend that the competency-based license holder's training and assessment be
reviewed by the board for a level 1 license.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-6-105  Licensing fees -- Credit to subfund -- Payment of expenses.
(1) The board shall levy a fee for each new, renewed, or reinstated license or endorsement in

accordance with Section 63J-1-504.
(2) Fee payments are credited to the Professional Practices Restricted Subfund in the Uniform

School Fund.
(3) The board shall pay the expenses of issuing licenses and of UPPAC operations, and the costs

of collecting license fees from the restricted subfund.
(4) The board shall submit an annual report to the Legislature's Public Education Appropriations

Subcommittee informing the Legislature about the fund, fees assessed and collected, and
expenditures from the fund.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-6-106 Qualifications of applicants for licenses -- Changes in qualifications.
(1) The board shall establish by rule the scholarship, training, and experience required of license

applicants.
(2)

(a) The board shall announce any increase in the requirements when made.
(b) An increase in requirements shall become effective not less than one year from the date of

the announcement.
(3) The board may determine by examination or otherwise the qualifications of license applicants.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

53A-6-107 Teacher preparation programs.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall

make rules that establish standards for approval of a preparation program or an alternative
preparation program.

(2) The board shall ensure that standards adopted under Subsection (1) meet or exceed generally
recognized national standards for preparation of educators, such as those developed by the:

(a) Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium;
(b) National Board for Professional Teaching Standards; or
(c) Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation.

(3) The board shall designate an employee of the board's staff to:
(a) work with education deans of state institutions of higher education to coordinate on-site

monitoring of teacher preparation programs that may include:
(i) monitoring courses for teacher preparation programs;
(ii) working with course instructors for teacher preparation programs; and
(iii) interviewing students admitted to teacher preparation programs;

(b) act as a liaison between:
(i) the board;
(ii) local school boards or charter school governing boards; and
(iii) representatives of teacher preparation programs; and
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(c) report the employee's findings and recommendations for the improvement of teacher
preparation programs to:

(i) the board; and
(ii) education deans of state institutions of higher education.

(4) The board shall:
(a) in good faith, consider the findings and recommendations described in Subsection (3)(c); and
(b) in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, make rules, as

the board determines is necessary, to implement recommendations described in Subsection
(3)(c).

Amended by Chapter 239, 2016 General Session

53A-6-108 Prohibition on use of degrees or credit from unapproved institutions.
(1) An individual may not use a postsecondary degree or credit awarded by a postsecondary

institution or program to gain a license, employment, or any other benefit within the public
school system unless the institution or program was, at the time the degree or credit was
awarded:

(a) approved for the granting of the degree or credit by the board; or
(b) accredited by an accrediting organization recognized by the board.

(2) The board may grant an exemption from Subsection (1) to an individual who shows good cause
for the granting of the exemption.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

53A-6-109 Substitute teachers.
(1) A substitute teacher need not hold a license to teach, but school districts are encouraged to

hire licensed personnel as substitutes when available.
(2) A person must submit to a background check under Section 53A-15-1503 prior to employment

as a substitute teacher.
(3) A teacher's position in the classroom may not be filled by an unlicensed substitute teacher

for more than a total of 20 days during any school year unless licensed personnel are not
available.

(4) A person who is ineligible to hold a license for any reason other than professional preparation
may not serve as a substitute teacher.

Amended by Chapter 389, 2015 General Session

53A-6-110 Administrative/supervisory letters of authorization.
(1) A local school board may request, and the board may grant, a letter of authorization permitting

a person with outstanding professional qualifications to serve in any position that requires a
person to hold an administrative/supervisory license or certificate, including principal, assistant
principal, associate principal, vice principal, assistant superintendent, administrative assistant,
director, specialist, or other district position.

(2) The board may grant a letter of authorization permitting a person with outstanding professional
qualifications to serve in a position that requires a person to hold an administrative/supervisory
license or certificate.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session
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53A-6-111 Teacher classifications.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Associate teacher" means a person who does not currently hold a level 1, 2, or 3 license, but
is permitted to teach in a public school under another authorization.

(b) "Teacher" means a person who currently holds a level 1, 2, or 3 license.
(2) Each school district and school shall identify and distinguish between teachers and associate

teachers, including using the appropriate title in all communication with parents, guardians, and
members of the public.

(3) Lists of teachers and associate teachers shall be maintained at each school and shall be
available for review by any person upon request.

Enacted by Chapter 46, 2004 General Session

53A-6-113 Alternative preparation program -- Work experience requirement.
          An individual who is employed at least half time in a position for which a teacher's license is

required pursuant to board rule, including a position in an online school or a school that uses digital
technologies for instruction or blended learning, satisfies the work experience requirement for
participation in an alternative preparation program.

Enacted by Chapter 417, 2014 General Session

53A-6-114 National Board certification reimbursement.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Eligible educator" means an educator who:
(i) holds a current National Board certification; and
(ii) is employed as an educator by an LEA.

(b) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means:
(i) a school district;
(ii) a charter school; or
(iii) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(2)
(a) Subject to legislative appropriations and Subsection (2)(b), the board shall reimburse an

eligible educator for the cost to attain or renew a National Board certification.
(b) The board may only issue a reimbursement under Subsection (2)(a) for a certification attained

or renewed after July 1, 2016.
(3) The board shall reimburse an eligible educator under this section on a first come, first served

basis.
(4) The board shall make rules, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative

Rulemaking Act, specifying procedures and timelines for reimbursing costs under Subsection
(2).

Enacted by Chapter 217, 2016 General Session

53A-6-115 Teacher leaders.
(1) As used in this section, "teacher" means an educator who has an assignment to teach in a

classroom.
(2) There is created the role of a teacher leader to:
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(a) work with a student teacher and a teacher who supervises a student teacher;
(b) assist with the training of a recently hired teacher; and
(c) support school-based professional learning.

(3) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board:
(a) shall make rules that:

(i) define the role of a teacher leader, including the functions described in Subsection (2); and
(ii) establish the minimum criteria for a teacher to qualify as a teacher leader; and

(b) may make rules that create an endorsement for a teacher leader.
(4) A school district or charter school may assign a teacher to a teacher leader position without a

teacher leader endorsement.
(5)

(a) The board shall solicit recommendations from school districts and educators regarding:
(i) appropriate resources to provide a teacher leader; and
(ii) appropriate ways to compensate a teacher leader.

(b) The board shall report the board's findings and recommendations described in Subsection (5)
(a) to the Education Interim Committee on or before the committee's November 2016 interim
meeting.

Enacted by Chapter 328, 2016 General Session

53A-6-116 JROTC instructors.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Junior Reserve Officer's Training Corps instructor" or "JROTC instructor" means an
individual who:

(i) provides instruction authorized by 10 U.S.C. Sec. 2031; and
(ii) is qualified to provide instruction in accordance with 10 U.S.C. Sec. 2033.

(b) "Junior Reserve Officer's Training Corps program" or "JROTC program" means a program
established in a school district or charter school as described in 10 U.S.C. Sec. 2031.

(2) A school district, a charter school, or the board may not require that a JROTC instructor hold a
license as described in this part to teach a course that is part of a JROTC program.

(3) A JROTC instructor shall submit to a background check under Section 53A-15-1503 as a
condition for employment in a school district or charter school.

Enacted by Chapter 27, 2016 General Session

Part 2
Compact for Interstate Qualification of Educational Personnel

53A-6-201 Enactment of compact.
          The Compact for Interstate Qualification of Educational Personnel is hereby enacted into law

and entered into with all other states legally joining therein.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-6-202 Purpose and intent of compact -- Findings.
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(1) The states party to this compact, desiring by common action to improve their respective school
systems by utilizing the teacher or other professional educational person wherever educated,
declare that it is the policy of each of them, on the basis of cooperation with one another, to
take advantage of the preparation and experience of such persons wherever gained, thereby
serving the best interests of society, of education, and of the teaching profession.  It is the
purpose of this compact to provide for the development and execution of such programs of
cooperation as will facilitate the movement of teachers and other professional educational
personnel among the states party to it, and to authorize specific interstate educational
personnel contracts to achieve that end.

(2) The party states find that included in the large movement of population among all sections of
the nation are many qualified educational personnel who move for family and other personal
reasons but who are hindered in using their professional skill and experience in their new
locations.  Variations from state to state in requirements for qualifying educational personnel
discourage such personnel from taking the steps necessary to qualify in other states.  As a
consequence, a significant number of professionally prepared and experienced educators is
lost to our school systems.  Facilitating the employment of qualified educational personnel,
without reference to their states of origin, can increase the available educational resources.
Participation in this compact can increase the availability of educational manpower.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-6-203 Definitions.
          As used in this compact and contracts made pursuant to it:

(1) The words "educational personnel" mean persons who must meet requirements pursuant to
state law as a condition of employment in educational programs.

(2) The words "designated state official" mean the education official of a state selected by that
state to negotiate and enter into, on behalf of his state, contracts pursuant to this compact.

(3) The word "accept," or any variant thereof, means to recognize and give effect to one or more
determinations of another state relating to the qualifications of educational personnel in lieu of
making or requiring a like determination that would otherwise be required by or pursuant to the
laws of a receiving state.

(4) The word "state" means a state, territory, or possession of the United States; the District of
Columbia; or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

(5) The words "originating state" mean a state, and the subdivision thereof, if any, whose
determination that certain educational personnel are qualified to be employed for specific duties
in schools is acceptable in accordance with the terms of a contract made pursuant to Section
53A-6-204.

(6) The words "receiving state" mean a state, and the subdivisions thereof, which accept
educational personnel in accordance with the terms of a contract made under Section
53A-6-204.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-6-204 Contracts for acceptance of educational personnel.
(1) The designated state official of a party state may make one or more contracts on behalf of his

state with one or more other party states providing for the acceptance of educational personnel.
Any such contract for the period of its duration shall be applicable to and binding on the states
whose designated state officials enter into it, and the subdivisions of those states, with the
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same force and effect as if incorporated in this compact.  A designated state official may
enter into a contract pursuant to this section only with states in which he finds that there are
programs of education, certification standards or other acceptable qualifications that assure
preparation or qualification of educational personnel on a basis sufficiently comparable, even
though not identical to that prevailing in his own state.

(2) Any such contract shall provide for:
(a) its duration;
(b) the criteria to be applied by an originating state in qualifying educational personnel for

acceptance by a receiving state;
(c) such waivers, substitutions, and conditional acceptances as shall aid the practical effectuation

of the contract without sacrifice of basic educational standards; and
(d) any other necessary matters.

(3) No contract made pursuant to this compact shall be for a term longer than five years but any
such contract may be renewed for like or lesser periods.

(4) Any contract dealing with acceptance of educational personnel on the basis of their having
completed an educational program shall specify the earliest date or dates on which originating
state approval of the program or programs involved can have occurred.  No contract made
pursuant to this compact shall require acceptance by a receiving state of any persons qualified
because of successful completion of a program prior to January 1, 1954.

(5) The certification or other acceptance of a person who has been accepted pursuant to the terms
of a contract shall not be revoked or otherwise impaired because the contract has expired or
been terminated.  However, any certificate or other qualifying document may be revoked or
suspended on any ground which would be sufficient for revocation or suspension of a certificate
or other qualifying document initially granted or approved in the receiving state.

(6) A contract committee composed of the designated state officials of the contracting states
or their representatives shall keep the contract under continuous review, study means of
improving its administration, and report no less frequently than once a year to the heads of the
appropriate education agencies of the contracting states.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-6-205 Effect of compact on other state laws and regulations.
(1) Nothing in this compact shall be construed to repeal or otherwise modify any law or regulation

of a party state relating to the approval of programs of educational preparation having effect
solely on the qualification of educational personnel within that state.

(2) To the extent that contracts made pursuant to this compact deal with the educational
requirements for the proper qualification of educational personnel, acceptance of a program of
educational preparation shall be in accordance with such procedures and requirements as may
be provided in the applicable contract.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-6-206 Agreement by party states.
          The party states agree that:

(1) They will, so far as practicable, prefer the making of multi-lateral contracts pursuant to Section
53A-6-204 of this compact.

(2) They will facilitate and strengthen cooperation in interstate certification and other elements
of educational personnel qualification and for this purpose shall cooperate with agencies,
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organizations, and associations interested in certification and other elements of educational
personnel qualification.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-6-207 Evaluation of compact.
          The designated state officials of any party states may meet from time to time as a group to

evaluate progress under the compact, and to formulate recommendations for changes.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-6-208 Scope of compact.
          Nothing in this compact shall be construed to prevent or inhibit other arrangements or practices

of any party state or states to facilitate the interchange of educational personnel.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-6-209 Effective date -- Withdrawal from compact -- Continuing obligations.
(1) This compact shall become effective when enacted into law by two states.  Thereafter it shall

become effective as to any state upon its enactment of this compact.
(2) Any party state may withdraw from this compact by enacting a statute repealing the same, but

no such withdrawal shall take effect until one year after the governor of the withdrawing state
has given notice in writing of the withdrawal to the governors of all other party states.

(3) No withdrawal shall relieve the withdrawing state of any obligation imposed upon it by a
contract to which it is a party.  The duration of contracts and the methods and conditions of
withdrawal therefrom shall be those specified in their terms.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-6-210 Construction of compact.
          This compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes of it.  The provisions

of this compact shall be severable and if any phrase, clause, sentence or provision of this compact
is declared to be contrary to the constitution of any state or of the United States, or the application
thereof to any government, agency, person, or circumstance is held invalid, the validity of the
remainder of this compact and the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person, or
circumstance shall not be affected thereby.  If this compact is held contrary to the constitution
of any state participating therein, the compact shall remain in full force and effect as to the state
affected as to all severable matters.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-6-211 Superintendent of public instruction as designated state official.
          The designated state official for the state of Utah is the superintendent of public instruction.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session
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Part 3
Utah Professional Practices Advisory Commission

53A-6-301 Utah Professional Practices Advisory Commission.
          The Utah Professional Practices Advisory Commission, UPPAC, is established to assist and

advise the board in matters relating to the professional practices of educators.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

53A-6-302  UPPAC members -- Executive secretary.
(1) UPPAC shall consist of a nonvoting executive secretary and 11 voting members, nine of whom

shall be licensed educators in good standing, and two of whom shall be members nominated
by the education organization within the state that has the largest membership of parents of
students and teachers.

(2) Six of the voting members shall be persons whose primary responsibility is teaching.
(3)

(a) The state superintendent of public instruction shall appoint an employee to serve as executive
secretary.

(b) Voting members are appointed by the superintendent as provided under Section 53A-6-303.
(4) Board employees shall staff UPPAC activities.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-6-303 Nominations -- Appointment of commission members -- Reappointments.
(1)

(a) The board shall adopt rules establishing procedures for nominating and appointing individuals
to voting membership on UPPAC.

(b) Nomination petitions must be filed with the state superintendent prior to June 16 of the year of
appointment.

(c) A nominee for appointment as a member of UPPAC as an educator must have been
employed in the representative class in the Utah public school system or a private
school accredited by the board during the three years immediately preceding the date of
appointment.

(2) The state superintendent of public instruction shall appoint the members of the commission.
(3) Appointments begin July 1 and are for terms of three years and until a successor is appointed.
(4) Terms of office are staggered so that approximately 1/3 of UPPAC members are appointed

annually.
(5) A member may not serve more than two terms.

Enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

53A-6-304 Filling of vacancies.
(1) A UPPAC vacancy occurs if a member resigns, fails to attend three or more meetings during a

calendar year, or no longer meets the requirements for nomination and appointment.
(2) If a vacancy occurs, the state superintendent shall appoint a successor to fill the unexpired

term.
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(3) If the superintendent does not fill the vacancy within 60 days, the board shall make the
appointment.

(4) Nominations to fill vacancies are submitted to the superintendent in accordance with
procedures established under rules of the board.

Enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

53A-6-305 Meetings and expenses of UPPAC members.
(1) UPPAC shall meet at least quarterly and at the call of the chair or of a majority of the members.
(2) Members of UPPAC serve without compensation but are allowed reimbursement for actual and

necessary expenses under the rules of the Division of Finance.
(3) The board shall pay reimbursement to UPPAC members out of the Professional Practices

Restricted Subfund in the Uniform School Fund.

Enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

53A-6-306 UPPAC duties and procedures.
(1) The board may direct UPPAC to review a complaint about an educator and recommend that the

board:
(a) dismiss the complaint; or
(b) investigate the complaint in accordance with this section.

(2)
(a) The board may direct UPPAC to:

(i) in accordance with this section, investigate a complaint's allegation or decision; or
(ii) hold a hearing.

(b) UPPAC may initiate a hearing as part of an investigation.
(c) Upon completion of an investigation or hearing, UPPAC shall:

(i) provide findings to the board; and
(ii) make a recommendation for board action.

(d) UPPAC may not make a recommendation described in Subsection (2)(c)(ii) to adversely
affect an educator's license unless UPPAC gives the educator an opportunity for a hearing.

(3)
(a) The board may:

(i) select an independent investigator to conduct a UPPAC investigation with UPPAC oversight;
or

(ii) authorize UPPAC to select and oversee an independent investigator to conduct an
investigation.

(b) In conducting an investigation, UPPAC or an independent investigator shall conduct the
investigation independent of and separate from a related criminal investigation.

(c) In conducting an investigation, UPPAC or an independent investigator may:
(i) in accordance with Section 53A-6-603 administer oaths and issue subpoenas; or
(ii) receive evidence related to an alleged offense, including sealed or expunged records

released to the board under Section 77-40-109.
(d) If UPPAC finds that reasonable cause exists during an investigation, UPPAC may

recommend that the board initiate a background check on an educator as described in
Section 53A-15-1504.

(e) UPPAC has a rebuttable presumption that an educator committed a sexual offense against a
minor child if the educator voluntarily surrendered a license or certificate or allowed a license
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or certificate to lapse in the face of a charge of having committed a sexual offense against a
minor child.

(4) The board may direct UPPAC to:
(a) recommend to the board procedures for:

(i) receiving and processing complaints;
(ii) investigating a complaint's allegation or decision;
(iii) conducting hearings; or
(iv) reporting findings and making recommendations to the board for board action;

(b) recommend to the board or a professional organization of educators:
(i) standards of professional performance, competence, and ethical conduct for educators; or
(ii) suggestions for improvement of the education profession; or

(c) fulfill other duties the board finds appropriate.
(5) UPPAC may not participate as a party in a dispute relating to negotiations between:

(a) a school district and the school district's educators; or
(b) a charter school and the charter school's educators.

(6) The board shall make rules establishing UPPAC duties and procedures.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 311, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 311, 2015 General Session, (Coordination Clause)
Amended by Chapter 389, 2015 General Session

53A-6-307 Licensing power of the board -- Licensing final action -- Appeal rights.
(1) The board holds the power to license educators.
(2)

(a) The board shall take final action with regard to an educator license.
(b) An entity other than the board may not take final action with regard to an educator license.

(3)
(a) In accordance with Subsection (3)(b), a license applicant or an educator may seek judicial

review of a final action made by the board under this chapter.
(b) A license applicant or educator may file a petition for judicial review of the board's final action

if the license applicant or educator files a petition within 30 days after the day on which the
license applicant or educator received notice of the final action.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 311, 2015 General Session

Part 4
Licensing and Background Checks

53A-6-401 Background checks.
          In accordance with Section 53A-15-1504, the State Board of Education shall require a license

applicant to submit to a criminal background check and ongoing monitoring as a condition for
licensing.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 389, 2015 General Session
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53A-6-402  Board-required licensing or employment recommendations -- Local public
school-required licensing recommendations -- Notice requirements for affected parties --
Exemption from liability.
(1)

(a) The board shall provide the appropriate administrator of a public or private school or of an
agency outside the state that is responsible for licensing or certifying educational personnel
with a recommendation or other information possessed by the board that has significance in
evaluating the employment or license of:

(i) a current or prospective school employee;
(ii) an educator or education license holder; or
(iii) a license applicant.

(b) Information supplied under Subsection (1)(a) shall include:
(i) the complete record of a hearing; and
(ii) the investigative report for matters that:

(A) the educator has had an opportunity to contest; and
(B) did not proceed to a hearing.

(2) At the request of the board, an administrator of a public school or school district shall, and
an administrator of a private school may, provide the board with a recommendation or other
information possessed by the school or school district that has significance in evaluating the:

(a) license of an educator or education license holder; or
(b) potential licensure of a license applicant.

(3) If the board decides to deny licensure or to take action against an educator's license based
upon information provided under this section, the board shall:

(a) give notice of the information to the educator or license applicant; and
(b) afford the educator or license applicant an opportunity to respond to the information.

(4) A person who, in good faith, provides a recommendation or discloses or receives information
under this section is exempt from civil and criminal liability relating to that recommendation,
receipt, or disclosure.

Amended by Chapter 199, 2016 General Session

53A-6-403  Tie-in with the Criminal Investigations and Technical Services Division.
(1) The board shall:

(a) designate employees to act, with board supervision, as an online terminal agency with the
Department of Public Safety's Criminal Investigations and Technical Services Division under
Section 53-10-108; and

(b) provide relevant information concerning current or prospective employees or volunteers upon
request to other school officials as provided in Section 53A-6-402.

(2) The cost of the online service shall be borne by the entity making the inquiry.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-6-404  Certification in other jurisdictions -- Impact on licensing in Utah.
(1) An applicant for a license, renewal of a license, or reinstatement of a license shall provide

the administrator of teacher licensing with an affidavit, stating under oath the current status of
any certificate, license, or other authorization required for a professional position in education,
which the applicant holds or has held in any other jurisdiction.
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(2) An applicant for a license who has held a teacher's license in any other jurisdiction or who
graduated from an institution of higher education in another state shall also provide the
administrator of teacher licensing with:

(a) a complete listing of the higher education institutions attended by the applicant, whether
the applicant's enrollment or eligibility for completion of a program was terminated by the
institution, and, if so, the reasons for termination;

(b) a complete list of prior school employers; and
(c) a release on a form provided by the administrator permitting the board to obtain records

from other jurisdictions and from institutions of higher education attended by the applicant,
including expunged or otherwise protected records, relating to any offense described
substantially in the same language as in Section 53A-15-1506.

(3) If the applicant's certificate, license, or authorization as an educator in any other jurisdiction is
under investigation, has expired or been surrendered, suspended or revoked, or is currently
not valid for any other reason, the board may not grant the requested license, renewal,
or reinstatement until it has received confirmation from the administrator of professional
certification in that jurisdiction that the applicant would be eligible for certification or licensure in
that jurisdiction.

(4) The board may not withhold a license for the sole reason that the applicant would be ineligible
for certification, licensure, or authorization in the jurisdiction referred to in Subsection (3)
because of failure to meet current requirements in that jurisdiction relating to education, time in
service, or residence.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-6-405 Ineligibility for educator license.
(1) The board may refuse to issue a license to a license applicant if the board finds good cause for

the refusal, including behavior of the applicant:
(a) found pursuant to a criminal, civil, or administrative matter after reasonable opportunity for the

applicant to contest the allegation; and
(b) considered, as behavior of an educator, to be:

(i) immoral, unprofessional, or incompetent behavior; or
(ii) a violation of standards of ethical conduct, performance, or professional competence.

(2) The board may not issue, renew, or reinstate an educator license if the license applicant or
educator:

(a) was convicted of a felony of a sexual nature;
(b) pled guilty to a felony of a sexual nature;
(c) entered a plea of no contest to a felony of a sexual nature;
(d) entered a plea in abeyance to a felony of a sexual nature;
(e) was convicted of a sexual offense under Title 76, Chapter 5, Part 4, Sexual Offenses, against

a minor child;
(f) engaged in sexually explicit conduct, as defined in Section 76-5b-103, with a student who is a

minor;
(g) engaged in sexually explicit conduct, as defined in Section 76-5b-103, with a student who is:

(i) not a minor; and
(ii) enrolled in a school where the license applicant or educator is or was employed; or

(h) admits to the board or UPPAC that the license applicant or educator committed conduct that
amounts to:

(i) a felony of a sexual nature; or
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(ii) a sexual offense or sexually explicit conduct described in Subsection (2)(e), (f), or (g).
(3) If an individual is ineligible for licensure under Subsection (1) or (2), a public school may not:

(a) employ the person in the public school; or
(b) allow the person to volunteer in the public school.

(4)
(a) If the board denies licensure under this section, the board shall immediately notify the

applicant of:
(i) the denial; and
(ii) the applicant's right to request a hearing before UPPAC.

(b) Upon receipt of a notice described in Subsection (4)(a), an applicant may, within 30 days after
the day on which the applicant received the notice, request a hearing before UPPAC for the
applicant to review and respond to all evidence upon which the board based the denial.

(c) If the board receives a request for a hearing described in Subsection (4)(b), the board shall
direct UPPAC to hold a hearing.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 311, 2015 General Session

Part 5
Conduct of Educators

53A-6-501 Board disciplinary action against an educator.
(1)

(a) The board shall direct UPPAC to investigate an allegation, administrative decision, or judicial
decision that evidences an educator is unfit for duty because the educator exhibited behavior
that:

(i) is immoral, unprofessional, or incompetent; or
(ii) violates standards of ethical conduct, performance, or professional competence.

(b) If the board determines an allegation or decision described in Subsection (1)(a) does not
evidence an educator's unfitness for duty, the board may dismiss the allegation or decision
without an investigation or hearing.

(2) The board shall direct UPPAC to investigate and allow an educator to respond in a UPPAC
hearing if the board receives an allegation that the educator:

(a) was charged with a felony of a sexual nature;
(b) was convicted of a felony of a sexual nature;
(c) pled guilty to a felony of a sexual nature;
(d) entered a plea of no contest to a felony of a sexual nature;
(e) entered a plea in abeyance to a felony of a sexual nature;
(f) was convicted of a sexual offense under Title 76, Chapter 5, Part 4, Sexual Offenses, against

a minor child;
(g) engaged in sexually explicit conduct, as defined in Section 76-5b-103, with a student who is a

minor; or
(h) engaged in sexually explicit conduct, as defined in Section 76-5b-103, with a student who is:

(i) not a minor; and
(ii) enrolled in a school where the educator is or was employed.

(3) Upon notice that an educator allegedly violated Section 53A-6-502, the board shall direct
UPPAC to:
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(a) investigate the alleged violation; and
(b) hold a hearing to allow the educator to respond to the allegation.

(4) Upon completion of an investigation or hearing described in this section, UPPAC shall:
(a) provide findings to the board; and
(b) make a recommendation for board action.

(5)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), upon review of UPPAC's findings and

recommendation, the board may:
(i) revoke the educator's license;
(ii) suspend the educator's license;
(iii) restrict or prohibit the educator from renewing the educator's license;
(iv) warn or reprimand the educator;
(v) enter into a written agreement with the educator that requires the educator to comply with

certain conditions;
(vi) direct UPPAC to further investigate or gather information; or
(vii) take other action the board finds to be appropriate for and consistent with the educator's

behavior.
(b) Upon review of UPPAC's findings and recommendation, the board shall revoke the license of

an educator who:
(i) was convicted of a felony of a sexual nature;
(ii) pled guilty to a felony of a sexual nature;
(iii) entered a plea of no contest to a felony of a sexual nature;
(iv) entered a plea in abeyance to a felony of a sexual nature;
(v) was convicted of a sexual offense under Title 76, Chapter 5, Part 4, Sexual Offenses,

against a minor child;
(vi) engaged in sexually explicit conduct, as defined in Section 76-5b-103, with a student who is

a minor;
(vii) engaged in sexually explicit conduct, as defined in Section 76-5b-103, with a student who

is:
(A) not a minor; and
(B) enrolled in a school where the educator is or was employed; or

(viii) admits to the board or UPPAC that the applicant committed conduct that amounts to:
(A) a felony of a sexual nature; or
(B) a sexual offense or sexually explicit conduct described in Subsection (5)(b)(v), (vi), or (vii).

(c) The board may not reinstate a revoked license.
(d) Before the board takes adverse action against an educator under this section, the board shall

ensure that the educator had an opportunity for a UPPAC hearing.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 311, 2015 General Session

53A-6-502 Mandatory reporting of physical or sexual abuse of students.
(1) For purposes of this section, "educator" means, in addition to a person included under Section

53A-6-103, a person, including a volunteer or temporary employee, who at the time of an
alleged offense was performing a function in a private school for which a license would be
required in a public school.

(2) In addition to any duty to report suspected cases of child abuse or neglect under Section
62A-4a-403, an educator who has reasonable cause to believe that a student may have been
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physically or sexually abused by a school employee shall immediately report the belief and all
other relevant information to the school principal, to the superintendent, or to the board.

(3) A school administrator who has received a report under Subsection (2) or who otherwise has
reasonable cause to believe that a student may have been physically or sexually abused by an
educator shall immediately report that information to the board.

(4) Upon notice that an educator allegedly violated Subsection (2) or (3), the board shall direct
UPPAC to investigate the educator's alleged violation as described in Section 53A-6-501.

(5) A person who makes a report under this section in good faith shall be immune from civil or
criminal liability that might otherwise arise by reason of that report.

Amended by Chapter 311, 2015 General Session

53A-6-503 Reimbursement of legal fees and costs to educators.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Action" means any action, except those referred to in Section 52-6-201, brought against an
educator by an individual or entity other than:

(i) the entity who licenses the educator; and
(ii) the school district that employs the educator or employed the educator at the time of the

alleged act or omission.
(b) "Educator" means an individual who holds or is required to hold a license under this chapter

and is employed by a school district located within the state.
(c) "School district" includes the Schools for the Deaf and the Blind and the state's applied

technology centers.
(2) Except as otherwise provided in Section 52-6-201, an educator is entitled to recover reasonable

attorneys' fees and costs incurred in the educator's defense against an individual or entity who
initiates an action against the educator if:

(a) the action is brought for any act or omission of the educator during the performance of the
educator's duties within the scope of the educator's employment; and

(b) it is dismissed or results in findings favorable to the educator.
(3) An educator who recovers under this section is also entitled to recover reasonable attorneys'

fees and costs necessarily incurred by the educator in recovering the attorneys' fees and costs
allowed under Subsection (2).

Amended by Chapter 382, 2008 General Session

Part 6
Complaints and Hearings

53A-6-601 Definition.
          As used in this part "hearing" means a proceeding held in accordance with generally accepted

principles of due process and administrative law in which definite issues of fact or of law are tried
before a hearing body, and in which proceeding evidence is presented and witnesses heard, and
in which the party against whom the proceedings are held has a right to:
(1) appear with or without counsel to present evidence, confront and cross-examine witnesses, or

subpoena witnesses; and
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(2) obtain a decision based solely upon evidence presented to the hearing body in the presence of
both parties or representatives of both parties, recognizing that presence is satisfied if a party
has been given a reasonable opportunity to attend, even if the party fails to do so.

Enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

53A-6-602 Designation of hearing officer or panel -- Review of findings.
(1) UPPAC or a state or local school board charged with responsibility for conducting a hearing

may conduct the hearing itself or appoint a hearing officer or panel to conduct the hearing and
make recommendations concerning findings.

(2) UPPAC or the school board shall review the record of the hearing and the recommendations,
and may obtain and review, in the presence of the parties or their representatives, additional
relevant information, prior to issuing official findings.

(3) UPPAC shall provide a panel of its members to serve as fact finders in a hearing at the request
of the educator who is the subject of the hearing.

Enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

53A-6-603 Administering of oaths -- Issuance of subpoenas.
(1) UPPAC or a state or local school board charged with responsibility for conducting an

investigation or a hearing under this chapter may administer oaths and issue subpoenas in
connection with the investigation or hearing.

(2) If a hearing is before a hearing officer or panel, the hearing officer or panel may administer
oaths, and the appointing body may issue subpoenas upon the request of the hearing officer or
panel.

(3) Subpoenas shall be enforced upon the petition of the issuing body by the district court in the
jurisdiction where the subpoena was issued, in the same manner as subpoenas issued by the
court.

Enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

53A-6-604 Rules for conducting hearings -- Standard of proof.
(1) The board and each local school board shall adopt rules for the conduct of hearings to ensure

that requirements of due process are met.
(2) An accused party shall be provided not less than 15 days before a hearing with:

(a) notice of the hearing;
(b) the law, rule, or policy alleged to have been violated;
(c) sufficient information about the allegations and the evidence to be presented in support of the

allegations to permit the accused party to prepare a meaningful defense; and
(d) a copy of the rules under which the hearing will be conducted.

(3) If an accused party fails to request a hearing within 30 days after written notice is sent to
the party's address as shown on the records of the local board, for actions taken under the
auspices of a local board, or on the records of the board, for actions taken under the auspices
of the board, then the accused party shall be considered to have waived the right to a hearing
and the action may proceed without further delay.

(4) Hearing fact finders shall use the preponderance of evidence standard in deciding all questions
unless a higher standard is required by law.



Utah Code

Page 253

(5) Unless otherwise provided in this title, the decisions of state and local boards are final
determinations under this section, appealable to the appropriate court for review.

Amended by Chapter 311, 2015 General Session

Part 8
Paraeducator to Teacher Scholarship Program

53A-6-801 Definition.
          As used in this part, "paraeducator" means a school employee who:

(1) delivers instruction under the direct supervision of a teacher; and
(2) works in an area where there is a shortage of qualified teachers, such as special education,

Title I, ESL, reading remediation, math, or science.

Enacted by Chapter 144, 2008 General Session

53A-6-802 Paraeducator to Teacher Scholarship Program.
(1) The Paraeducator to Teacher Scholarship Program is created to award scholarships to

paraeducators for education and training to become licensed teachers.
(2) The State Board of Education shall use money appropriated for the Paraeducator to Teacher

Scholarship Program to award scholarships of up to $5,000 to paraeducators employed by
school districts and charter schools who are pursuing an associate's degree or bachelor's
degree program to become a licensed teacher.

(3) A paraeducator is eligible to receive a scholarship if:
(a) the paraeducator is employed by a school district or charter school;
(b) is admitted to, or has made an application to, an associate's degree program or bachelor's

degree program that will prepare the paraeducator for teacher licensure; and
(c) the principal at the school where the paraeducator is employed has nominated the

paraeducator for a scholarship.
(4)

(a) The State Board of Education shall establish a committee to select scholarship recipients
from nominations submitted by school principals.

(b) The committee shall include representatives of the State Board of Education, State Board of
Regents, and the general public, excluding school district and charter school employees.

(c) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but may
receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:

(i) Section 63A-3-106;
(ii) Section 63A-3-107; and
(iii) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.

(d) The committee shall select scholarship recipients based on the following criteria:
(i) test scores, grades, or other evidence demonstrating the applicant's ability to successfully

complete a teacher education program; and
(ii) the applicant's record of success as a paraeducator.

(5) The maximum scholarship amount is $5,000.
(6) Scholarship money may only be used to pay for tuition costs:

(a) of:
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(i) an associate's degree program that fulfills credit requirements for the first two years of a
bachelor's degree program leading to teacher licensure; or

(ii) the first two years of a bachelor's degree program leading to teacher licensure; and
(b) at a higher education institution:

(i) located in Utah; and
(ii) accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

(7) A scholarship recipient must be continuously employed as a paraeducator by a school district
or charter school while pursuing a degree using scholarship money.

(8) The State Board of Education shall make rules in accordance with this section and Title 63G,
Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, to administer the Paraeducator to Teacher
Scholarship Program, including rules establishing:

(a) scholarship application procedures;
(b) the number of, and qualifications for, committee members who select scholarship recipients;

and
(c) procedures for distributing scholarship money.

Amended by Chapter 286, 2010 General Session

Part 9
Grant Program for Teacher Training in Math

53A-6-901 Grants for math teacher training programs.
(1) If the state obtains matching funds of equal sums from private contributors, the board may

award grants to institutions of higher education or nonprofit educational organizations for
programs that provide:

(a) mentoring and training leading to a secondary education license with an endorsement in
mathematics for an individual who:

(i) is not a teacher in a public or private school;
(ii) does not have a teaching license;
(iii) has a bachelor's degree or higher; and
(iv) demonstrates a high level of mathematics competency by:

(A) successfully completing substantial course work in mathematics; and
(B) passing a mathematics content exam; or

(b) a stipend, professional development, and leadership opportunities to an experienced
mathematics teacher who demonstrates high content knowledge and exemplary teaching and
leadership skills to assist the teacher in becoming a teacher leader.

(2)
(a) The board shall make rules in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative

Rulemaking Act, that establish criteria for awarding grants under this section.
(b) In awarding grants, the board shall consider the amount or percent of matching funds

provided by the grant recipient.

Amended by Chapter 1, 2015 General Session
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Chapter 7
Dispute Resolution

53A-7-101 Mediation of contract negotiations.
(1) The president of a professional local organization which represents a majority of the licensed

employees of a school district or the chairman or president of a local school board may, after
negotiating for 90 days, declare an impasse by written notification to the other party and to the
State Board of Education.

(2) The party declaring the impasse may request the state superintendent of public instruction to
appoint a mediator for the purpose of helping to resolve the impasse if the parties to the dispute
have not been able to agree on a third party mediator.

(3) Within five working days after receipt of the written request, the state superintendent shall
appoint a mediator who is mutually acceptable to the local school board and the professional
organization representing a majority of the licensed employees.

(4) The mediator shall meet with the parties, either jointly or separately, and attempt to settle the
impasse.

(5) The mediator may not, without the consent of both parties, make findings of fact or recommend
terms for settlement.

(6) Both parties shall equally share the costs of mediation.
(7) Nothing in this section prevents the parties from adopting a written mediation procedure other

than that provided in this section.
(8) If the parties have a mediation procedure, they shall follow that procedure.

Amended by Chapter 224, 2000 General Session

53A-7-102 Appointment of hearing officer -- Hearing process.
(1) If a mediator appointed under Section 53A-7-101 is unable to effect settlement of the

controversy within 15 working days after his appointment, either party to the mediation may
by written notification to the other party and to the state superintendent of public instruction
request that their dispute be submitted to a hearing officer who shall make findings of fact and
recommend terms of settlement.

(2) Within five working days after receipt of the request, the state superintendent of public
instruction shall appoint a hearing officer who is mutually acceptable to the local school board
and the professional organization representing a majority of the certificated employees.

(3) The hearing officer may not, without consent of both parties, be the same person who served
as mediator.

(4) The hearing officer shall meet with the parties, either jointly or separately, may make inquiries
and investigations, and may issue subpoenas for the production of persons or documents
relevant to all issues in dispute.

(5) The State Board of Education and departments, divisions, authorities, bureaus, agencies,
and officers of the  state, local school boards, and the professional organization shall furnish
the hearing officer, on request, all relevant records, documents, and information in their
possession.

(6) If the final positions of the parties are not resolved before the hearing ends, the hearing
officer shall prepare a written report containing the agreements of the parties with respect to
all resolved negotiated contract issues and the positions that the hearing officer considers
appropriate on all unresolved final positions of the parties.
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(7) The hearing officer shall submit the report to the parties privately within 10 working days after
the conclusion of the hearing or within the date established for the submission of posthearing
briefs, but not later than 20 working days after the hearing officer's appointment.

(8) Either the hearing officer, the professional organization, or the local board may make the report
public if the dispute is not settled within 10 working days after its receipt from the hearing
officer.

(9)
(a) The state superintendent of public instruction may determine the majority status of any

professional organization which requests assistance under this section.
(b) The decision of the superintendent is final unless it is clearly inconsistent with the evidence.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 108, 1999 General Session

Chapter 8a
Public Education Human Resource Management Act

Part 1
General Provisions

53A-8a-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Public Education Human Resource Management Act."

Enacted by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Career employee" means an employee of a school district who has obtained a reasonable
expectation of continued employment based upon Section 53A-8a-201 and an agreement with
the employee or the employee's association, district practice, or policy.

(2) "Contract term" or "term of employment" means the period of time during which an employee is
engaged by the school district under a contract of employment, whether oral or written.

(3) "Dismissal" or "termination" means:
(a) termination of the status of employment of an employee;
(b) failure to renew or continue the employment contract of a career employee beyond the then-

current school year;
(c) reduction in salary of an employee not generally applied to all employees of the same

category employed by the school district during the employee's contract term; or
(d) change of assignment of an employee with an accompanying reduction in pay, unless the

assignment change and salary reduction are agreed to in writing.
(4)

(a) "Employee" means a career or provisional employee of a school district, except as provided in
Subsection (4)(b).

(b) For purposes of Part 2, Status of Employment, Part 4, Educator Evaluations, and Part 5,
Orderly School Termination Procedures, "employee" does not include:

(i) the district superintendent, or the equivalent at the Schools for the Deaf and the Blind;
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(ii) the district business administrator or the equivalent at the Schools for the Deaf and the
Blind; or

(iii) a temporary employee.
(5) "Last-hired, first-fired layoff policy" means a staff reduction policy that mandates the termination

of an employee who started to work for the district most recently before terminating a more
senior employee.

(6) "Provisional employee" means an individual, other than a career employee or a temporary
employee, who is employed by a school district.

(7) "School board" or "board" means a district school board or its equivalent at the Schools for the
Deaf and the Blind.

(8) "School district" or "district" means:
(a) a public school district; or
(b) the Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(9) "Temporary employee" means an individual who is employed on a temporary basis as defined
by policies adopted by the local board of education.  If the class of employees in question is
represented by an employee organization recognized by the local board, the board shall adopt
its policies based upon an agreement with that organization.  Temporary employees serve at
will and have no expectation of continued employment.

(10)
(a) "Unsatisfactory performance" means a deficiency in performing work tasks which may be:

(i) due to insufficient or undeveloped skills or a lack of knowledge or aptitude; and
(ii) remediated through training, study, mentoring, or practice.

(b) "Unsatisfactory performance" does not include the following conduct that is designated as a
cause for termination under Section 53A-8a-501 or a reason for license discipline by the State
Board of Education or Utah Professional Practices Advisory Commission:

(i) a violation of work rules;
(ii) a violation of local school board policies, State Board of Education rules, or law;
(iii) a violation of standards of ethical, moral, or professional conduct; or
(iv) insubordination.

Amended by Chapter 203, 2015 General Session

Part 2
Status of Employment

53A-8a-201 Career employee status for provisional employees -- Career status in the event
of change of position -- Continuation of probationary status when position changes --
Temporary status for extra duty assignments -- Employees not eligible for career status.
(1)

(a) A provisional employee must work for a school district on at least a half-time basis for three
consecutive years to obtain career employee status.

(b) A school district may extend the provisional status of an employee up to an additional two
consecutive years in accordance with a written policy adopted by the district's school board
that specifies the circumstances under which an employee's provisional status may be
extended.
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(2) Policies of an employing school district shall determine the status of a career employee in the
event of the following:

(a) the employee accepts a position which is substantially different from the position in which
career status was achieved; or

(b) the employee accepts employment in another school district.
(3) If an employee who is under an order of probation or remediation in one assignment in a school

district is transferred or given a new assignment in the district, the order shall stand until its
provisions are satisfied.

(4) An employee who is given extra duty assignments in addition to a primary assignment, such
as a teacher who also serves as a coach or activity advisor, is a temporary employee in those
extra duty assignments and may not acquire career status beyond the primary assignment.

(5) A person is an at-will employee and is not eligible for career employee status if the person:
(a) is a teacher who holds a competency-based license pursuant to Section 53A-6-104.5 and

does not hold a level 1, 2, or 3 license as defined in Section 53A-6-103; or
(b) holds an administrative/supervisory letter of authorization pursuant to Section 53A-6-110.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

Part 3
Employee Evaluations

53A-8a-301 Evaluation of employee performance.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), a local school board shall require that the performance

of each school district employee be evaluated annually in accordance with rules of the State
Board of Education adopted in accordance with this chapter and Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah
Administrative Rulemaking Act.

(2)
(a) Rules adopted by the State Board of Education under Subsection (1) may include an

exemption from annual performance evaluations for temporary or part-time employees.
(b) As provided by Section 53A-8a-405, a provisional or probationary educator shall be evaluated

at least twice each school year.

Enacted by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-302 State Board of Education rules -- Reporting to Legislature.
(1) Subject to Part 4, Educator Evaluations, and Part 7, Evaluation and Compensation of

Administrators, rules adopted by the State Board of Education under Section 53A-8a-301 shall:
(a) provide general guidelines, requirements, and procedures for the development and

implementation of employee evaluations;
(b) establish required components and allow for optional components of employee evaluations;
(c) require school districts to chose valid and reliable methods and tools to implement the

evaluations; and
(d) establish a timeline for school districts to implement employee evaluations.

(2) The State Board of Education shall report to the Education Interim Committee, as requested, on
progress in implementing employee evaluations in accordance with this part, Part 4, Educator
Evaluations, and Part 7, Evaluation and Compensation of Administrators.
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Enacted by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

Part 4
Educator Evaluations

53A-8a-401 Legislative findings.
(1) The Legislature recognizes that the quality of public education can be improved and enhanced

by systematic, fair, and competent annual evaluation of public educators and remediation of
those whose performance is inadequate.

(2) In accordance with Subsections 53A-1a-104(7) and 53A-6-102(2)(a) and (b), the desired
purposes of evaluation are to:

(a) allow the educator and the school district to promote the professional growth of the educator;
and

(b) identify and encourage quality instruction in order to improve student achievement.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-402 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Career educator" means a licensed employee who has a reasonable expectation of continued
employment under the policies of a local school board.

(2) "Educator" means an individual employed by a school district who is required to hold a
professional license issued by the State Board of Education, except:

(a) a superintendent; or
(b) an individual who:

(i) works fewer than three hours per day; or
(ii) is hired for less than half of a school year.

(3) "Probationary educator" means an educator employed by a school district who, under local
school board policy, has been advised by the district that the educator's performance is
inadequate.

(4) "Provisional educator" means an educator employed by a school district who has not achieved
status as a career educator within the school district.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-403 Establishment of educator evaluation program -- Joint committee.
(1) A local school board shall develop an educator evaluation program in consultation with its joint

committee.
(2) The joint committee described in Subsection (1) shall consist of an equal number of classroom

teachers, parents, and administrators appointed by the local school board.
(3) A local school board may appoint members of the joint committee from a list of nominees:

(a) voted on by classroom teachers in a nomination election;
(b) voted on by the administrators in a nomination election; and
(c) of parents submitted by school community councils within the district.

(4) Subject to Subsection (5), the joint committee may:
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(a) adopt or adapt an evaluation program for teachers based on a model developed by the State
Board of Education; or

(b) create its own evaluation program for teachers.
(5) The evaluation program developed by the joint committee must comply with the requirements of

this part and rules adopted by the State Board of Education under Section 53A-8a-409.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-404 Evaluation orientation.
(1) The principal of each school shall orient all educators assigned to the school concerning the

school board's educator evaluation program, including the purpose of the evaluations and the
method used to evaluate.

(2) Evaluations may not occur prior to the orientation by the principal.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-405 Components of educator evaluation program.
          An educator evaluation program adopted by a local school board in consultation with a joint

committee established in Section 53A-8a-403:
(1) shall include the following components:

(a) a reliable and valid evaluation program consistent with generally accepted professional
standards for personnel evaluation systems;

(b)
(i) the evaluation of provisional and probationary educators at least twice each school year; and
(ii) the annual evaluation of all career educators;

(c) systematic evaluation procedures for both provisional and career educators;
(d) the use of multiple lines of evidence, including:

(i) self-evaluation;
(ii) student and parent input;
(iii) peer observation;
(iv) supervisor observations;
(v) evidence of professional growth;
(vi) student achievement data; and
(vii) other indicators of instructional improvement;

(e) a reasonable number of observation periods for an evaluation to ensure adequate reliability;
(f) administration of an educator's evaluation by:

(i) the principal;
(ii) the principal's designee;
(iii) the educator's immediate supervisor; or
(iv) another person specified in the evaluation program;

(g) an orientation for educators on the educator evaluation program; and
(h) a summative evaluation that differentiates among four levels of performance; and

(2) may not use end-of-level assessment scores in educator evaluation.

Amended by Chapter 204, 2016 General Session

53A-8a-406 Summative evaluation timelines -- Review of summative evaluations.
(1) The person responsible for administering an educator's summative evaluation shall:
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(a) at least 15 days before an educator's first evaluation:
(i) notify the educator of the evaluation process; and
(ii) give the educator a copy of the evaluation instrument, if an instrument is used;

(b)
(i) allow the educator to make a written response to any part of the evaluation; and
(ii) attach the educator's response to the evaluation;

(c) within 15 days after the evaluation process is completed, discuss the written evaluation with
the educator; and

(d) following any revision of the written evaluation made after the discussion:
(i) file the evaluation and any related reports or documents in the educator's personnel file; and
(ii) give a copy of the written evaluation and attachments to the educator.

(2) An educator who is not satisfied with a summative evaluation may request a review of the
evaluation within 15 days after receiving the written evaluation.

(3)
(a) If a review is requested, the school district superintendent or the superintendent's designee

shall appoint a person not employed by the school district who has expertise in teacher or
personnel evaluation to review the evaluation procedures and make recommendations to the
superintendent regarding the educator's summative evaluation.

(b) The State Board of Education shall make rules prescribing standards for an independent
review of an educator's summative evaluation.

(c) A review of an educator's summative evaluation under Subsection (3)(a) shall be conducted in
accordance with State Board of Education rules made under Subsection (3)(b).

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-407 Deficiencies -- Improvement.
(1) The person responsible for administering an educator's evaluation shall give an educator

whose performance is inadequate or in need of improvement a written document clearly
identifying:

(a) specific, measurable, and actionable deficiencies;
(b) the available resources that will be provided for improvement; and
(c) a recommended course of action that will improve the educator's performance.

(2) An educator is responsible for improving performance, including using any resources identified
by the school district, and demonstrating acceptable levels of improvement in the designated
areas of deficiencies.

(3) Subsections (1)(b), (1)(c), and (2) do not apply if the educator's unsatisfactory performance was
documented for the same deficiency within the previous three years and a plan of assistance
was implemented as provided in Section 53A-8a-503.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-408 Mentor for provisional educator.
(1) In accordance with Subsections 53A-1a-104(7) and 53A-6-102(2)(a) and (b), the principal or

immediate supervisor of a provisional educator shall assign a person who has received training
or will receive training in mentoring educators as a mentor to the provisional educator.

(2) Where possible, the mentor shall be a career educator who performs substantially the same
duties as the provisional educator and has at least three years of educational experience.
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(3) The mentor shall assist the provisional educator to become effective and competent in the
teaching profession and school system, but may not serve as an evaluator of the provisional
educator.

(4) An educator who is assigned as a mentor may receive compensation for those services in
addition to the educator's regular salary.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-409 State Board of Education to establish a framework for the evaluation of
educators.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State Board

of Education shall make rules:
(a) establishing a framework for the evaluation of educators that is consistent with the

requirements of Part 3, Employee Evaluations, and this part;
(b) requiring a teacher's summative evaluation to be based on standards of instructional quality;

and
(c) requiring each school district to fully implement an evaluation system for educators in

accordance with the framework established by the State Board of Education no later than the
2015-16 school year.

(2) The rules described in Subsection (1) shall prohibit the use of end-of-level assessment scores
in educator evaluation.

Amended by Chapter 204, 2016 General Session

53A-8a-410 Report of educator ratings.
(1) A school district shall report to the State Board of Education the number and percent of

educators in each of the four rating categories referred to in Section 53A-8a-405 based on an
educator's annual evaluation.

(2) The data reported under Subsection (1) shall be separately reported for the following educator
classifications:

(a) administrators;
(b) teachers; and
(c) educators other than administrators or teachers.

(3) The data reported by school districts under this section shall be included in the state
superintendent's annual report of the public school system required by Section 53A-1-301.

(4) The State Board of Education shall make rules to ensure the privacy and protection of
individual evaluation data.

Enacted by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

Part 5
Orderly School Termination Procedures

53A-8a-501 Local school board to establish dismissal procedures.
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(1) A local school board shall, by contract with its employees or their associations, or by resolution
of the board, establish procedures for dismissal of employees in an orderly manner without
discrimination.

(2) The procedures shall include:
(a) standards of due process;
(b) causes for dismissal; and
(c) procedures and standards related to developing and implementing a plan of assistance for a

career employee whose performance is unsatisfactory.
(3) Procedures and standards for a plan of assistance adopted under Subsection (2)(c) shall

require a plan of assistance to identify:
(a) specific, measurable, and actionable deficiencies;
(b) the available resources provided for improvement; and
(c) a course of action to improve employee performance.

(4) If a career employee exhibits both unsatisfactory performance as described in Subsection
53A-8a-102(10)(a) and conduct described in Subsection 53A-8a-102(10)(b), an employer:

(a) may:
(i) attempt to remediate the conduct of the career employee; or
(ii) terminate the career employee for cause if the conduct merits dismissal consistent with

procedures established by the local school board; and
(b) is not required to develop and implement a plan of assistance for the career employee, as

provided in Section 53A-8a-503.
(5) If the conduct of a career employee described in Subsection (4) is satisfactorily remediated,

and unsatisfactory performance issues remain, an employer shall develop and implement a
plan of assistance for the career employee, as provided in Section 53A-8a-503.

(6) If the conduct of a career employee described in Subsection (4) is not satisfactorily remediated,
an employer:

(a) may dismiss the career employee for cause in accordance with procedures established by the
local school board that include standards of due process and causes for dismissal; and

(b) is not required to develop and implement a plan of assistance for the career employee, as
provided in Section 53A-8a-503.

Amended by Chapter 203, 2015 General Session

53A-8a-502 Dismissal procedures.
(1) A district shall provide employees with a written statement specifying:

(a) the causes under which a career employee's contract may not be renewed or continued
beyond the current school year;

(b) the causes under which a career or provisional employee's contract may be terminated during
the contract term; and

(c) the orderly dismissal procedures that are used by the district in cases of contract termination,
discontinuance, or nonrenewal.

(2) A career employee's contract may be terminated during its term for reasons of unsatisfactory
performance or discontinued beyond the current school year for reasons of unsatisfactory
performance as provided in Section 53A-8a-503.

(3)
(a) A district is not required to provide a cause for not offering a contract to a provisional

employee.
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(b) If a district intends to not offer a contract for a subsequent term of employment to a
provisional employee, the district shall give notice of that intention to the employee at least 60
days before the end of the provisional employee's contract term.

(4) In the absence of a notice, an employee is considered employed for the next contract term with
a salary based upon the salary schedule applicable to the class of employee into which the
individual falls.

(5) If a district intends to not renew or discontinue the contract of a career employee or to terminate
a career or provisional employee's contract during the contract term:

(a) the district shall give written notice of the intent to the employee;
(b) the notice shall be served by personal delivery or by certified mail addressed to the

employee's last-known address as shown on the records of the district;
(c) the district shall give notice at least 30 days prior to the proposed date of termination;
(d) the notice shall state the date of termination and the detailed reasons for termination;
(e) the notice shall advise the employee that the employee has a right to a fair hearing and that

the hearing is waived if it is not requested within 15 days after the notice of termination was
either personally delivered or mailed to the employee's most recent address shown on the
district's personnel records; and

(f) the notice shall state that failure of the employee to request a hearing in accordance with
procedures set forth in the notice constitutes a waiver of that right and that the district may
then proceed with termination without further notice.

(6)
(a) The procedure under which a contract is terminated during its term may include a provision

under which the active service of the employee is suspended pending a hearing if it appears
that the continued employment of the individual may be harmful to students or to the district.

(b) Suspension pending a hearing may be without pay if an authorized representative of
the district determines, after providing the employee with an opportunity for an informal
conference to discuss the allegations, that it is more likely than not that the allegations against
the employee are true.

(c) If termination is not subsequently ordered, the employee shall receive back pay for the period
of suspension without pay.

(7) The procedure under which an employee's contract is terminated during its term shall provide
for a written notice of suspension or final termination including findings of fact upon which the
action is based.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-503 Nonrenewal or termination of a career employee's contract for unsatisfactory
performance.
(1) If a district intends to not renew a career employee's contract for unsatisfactory performance or

terminate a career employee's contract during the contract term for unsatisfactory performance,
the district shall:

(a) provide and discuss with the career employee written documentation clearly identifying the
deficiencies in performance;

(b) provide written notice that the career employee's contract is subject to nonrenewal or
termination if, upon a reevaluation of the career employee's performance, the career
employee's performance is determined to be unsatisfactory;
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(c) develop and implement a plan of assistance, in accordance with procedures and standards
established by the local school board under Section 53A-8a-501, to allow the career
employee an opportunity to improve performance;

(d) reevaluate the career employee's performance; and
(e) if the career employee's performance remains unsatisfactory, give notice of intent to

not renew or terminate the career employee's contract in accordance with Subsection
53A-8a-502(5).

(2)
(a) The period of time for implementing a plan of assistance:

(i) may not exceed 120 school days, except as provided under Subsection (2)(b);
(ii) may continue into the next school year;
(iii) should be sufficient to successfully complete the plan of assistance; and
(iv) shall begin when the career employee receives the written notice provided under

Subsection (1)(b) and end when the determination is made that the career employee has
successfully remediated the deficiency or notice of intent to not renew or terminate the
career employee's contract is given in accordance with Subsection 53A-8a-502(5).

(b) In accordance with local school board policy, the period of time for implementing a plan of
assistance may extend beyond 120 school days if:

(i) a career employee is on leave from work during the time period the plan of assistance is
scheduled to be implemented; and

(ii)
(A) the leave was approved and scheduled before the written notice was provided under

Subsection (1)(b); or
(B) the leave is specifically approved by the local school board.

(3)
(a) If upon a reevaluation of the career employee's performance, the district determines the

career employee's performance is satisfactory, and within a three-year period after the initial
documentation of unsatisfactory performance for the same deficiency pursuant to Subsection
(1)(a), the career employee's performance is determined to be unsatisfactory, the district may
elect to not renew or terminate the career employee's contract.

(b) If a district intends to not renew or terminate a career employee's contract as provided in
Subsection (3)(a), the district shall:

(i) provide written documentation of the career employee's deficiencies in performance; and
(ii) give notice of intent to not renew or terminate the career employee's contract in accordance

with Subsection 53A-8a-502(5).

Enacted by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-504 Hearings before district board or hearing officers -- Rights of the board and the
employee -- Subpoenas -- Appeals.
(1)

(a) Hearings are held under this chapter before the board or before hearing officers selected by
the board to conduct the hearings and make recommendations concerning findings.

(b) The board shall establish procedures to appoint hearing officers.
(c) The board may delegate its authority to a hearing officer to make decisions relating to the

employment of an employee which are binding upon both the employee and the board.
(d) This Subsection (1) does not limit the right of the board or the employee to appeal to an

appropriate court of law.
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(2) At the hearings, an employee has the right to counsel, to produce witnesses, to hear testimony
against the employee, to cross-examine witnesses, and to examine documentary evidence.

(3) Subpoenas may be issued and oaths administered as provided under Section 53A-6-603.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-505 Necessary staff reduction not precluded -- Last-hired, first-fired layoffs
prohibited.
(1) Nothing in this chapter prevents staff reduction if necessary to reduce the number of employees

because of the following:
(a) declining student enrollments in the district;
(b) the discontinuance or substantial reduction of a particular service or program;
(c) the shortage of anticipated revenue after the budget has been adopted; or
(d) school consolidation.

(2) A school district may not utilize a last-hired, first-fired layoff policy when terminating school
district employees.

(3) A school district may consider the following factors when terminating a school district employee:
(a) the results of an employee's performance evaluation; and
(b) a school's personnel needs.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-506 Restriction on transfer of employee with unsatisfactory performance.
          An employee whose performance is unsatisfactory may not be transferred to another school

unless the local school board specifically approves the transfer of the employee.

Enacted by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

Part 6
Performance Compensation

53A-8a-601 State Board of Education to make rules on performance compensation.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State Board

of Education shall make rules requiring a school district's employee compensation system to be
aligned with the district's annual evaluation system  described in Section 53A-8a-405.

(2) Rules adopted under Subsection (1) shall :
(a) establish a timeline for developing and implementing an employee compensation system that

is aligned with an annual evaluation system; and
(b) provide that beginning no later than the 2016-17 school year:

(i) any advancement on an adopted wage or salary schedule:
(A) shall be based primarily on an evaluation; and
(B) may not be based on end-of-level assessment scores; and

(ii) an employee may not advance on an adopted wage or salary schedule if the employee's
rating on the most recent evaluation is at the lowest level of an evaluation instrument.

Amended by Chapter 204, 2016 General Session
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53A-8a-602 Educator's eligibility for a wage increase.
          An educator, as defined in Section 53A-6-103, may not advance on an adopted salary

schedule if the educator's rating on the most recent evaluation is at the second lowest level of an
evaluation instrument that differentiates among four levels of performance as described in Section
53A-8a-405, unless the educator:
(1) is a provisional educator; or
(2) is in the first year of an assignment, including a new subject, grade level, or school.

Enacted by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

Part 7
Evaluation and Compensation of Administrators

53A-8a-701 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "District administrator" means an individual who:
(a) serves in a position that requires an educator license with an administrative area of

concentration, except as provided in Section 53A-3-301 or 53A-6-110; and
(b) supervises school administrators.

(2) "School administrator" means an individual who:
(a) serves in a position that requires an educator license with an administrative area of

concentration, except as provided in Section 53A-6-110; and
(b) supervises teachers.

Enacted by Chapter 425, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-702 Evaluation of school and district administrators.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State Board

of Education shall make rules that establish a framework for the evaluation of school and
district administrators that includes the following components:

(a) student achievement indicators emphasizing learning growth and proficiency;
(b) the results of an evaluation tool utilized by the local school board that includes input from

employees, parents, and students;
(c) the effectiveness of evaluating employee performance in a school or district for which the

school or district administrator has responsibility; and
(d) other factors as determined by a local school board in implementing state law and State

Board of Education rules.
(2) The rules described in Subsection (1) shall prohibit the use of end-of-level assessment scores

in the evaluation of school and district administrators.
(3) The State Board of Education shall require each school district to fully implement an evaluation

system for school and district administrators in accordance with the framework established by
the State Board of Education no later than the 2015-16 school year.

Amended by Chapter 204, 2016 General Session
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53A-8a-703 Compensation of school and district administrators.
(1) Beginning no later than the 2016-17 school year, a school or district administrator's salary shall

be based on the school or district administrator's most recent evaluation.
(2) A school district shall continue each year to award any salary increases to a school or district

administrator based on an evaluation administered pursuant to Section 53A-8a-702 until
at least 15% of a school or district administrator's salary is contingent upon the evaluation
administered pursuant to Section 53A-8a-702.

Amended by Chapter 262, 2014 General Session

Part 8
Peer Assistance and Review Pilot Program

53A-8a-801 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Peer Assistance and Review Pilot Program" or "PAR Program" means the teacher evaluation
and mentoring program created in Section 53A-8a-802.

(2) "Consulting teacher" means a teacher who is appointed as described in Section 53A-8a-803
and provides assistance and review to teachers assigned to a PAR Program.

(3) "Novice teacher" means a provisional teacher who has not achieved career employee status.
(4) "PAR Joint Panel" means the governing panel of a district's PAR Program, created according to

Section 53A-8a-804.
(5) "Teacher" means an individual employed by a school district who is required to hold an

educator license issued by the State Board of Education and who has an assignment to teach
in a classroom.

(6) "Underperforming veteran teacher" means a teacher who has achieved career employee status
as defined in Section 53A-8a-102 and whose work has been judged to fall below the district's
standards.

Enacted by Chapter 273, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-802 PAR Program guidelines -- Report.
(1) The PAR Program is created to:

(a) conduct regular evaluations of novice teachers and underperforming veteran teachers;
(b) provide support and mentoring to novice teachers and underperforming veteran teachers; and
(c) make recommendations for continued employment or dismissal of novice teachers and

underperforming veteran teachers.
(2) Subject to future budget constraints, the Legislature shall appropriate money for a five-year

period to the State Board of Education for the PAR Program.
(3) The State Board of Education shall:

(a) solicit proposals from school districts for the use of grant money to develop and implement
PAR Programs; and

(b) award grants to school districts on a competitive basis.
(4) In awarding a grant under Subsection (3)(b), the State Board of Education shall consider:

(a) the applicant's capacity to effectively achieve the purposes of the PAR Program as described
in Subsection (1);
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(b) whether the district has a rigorous and standards-based teacher evaluation system already in
place; and

(c) other criteria as determined by the State Board of Education.
(5) To receive a grant, a school district shall submit a proposal to the State Board of Education on

how the district intends to develop and implement a PAR Program, within the specifications of
Section 53A-8a-803.

(6) A selected district may use grant money:
(a) to develop and design a PAR Program to fit the needs of the district, which may include hiring

consultants;
(b) to fund additional pay or stipends, computers, travel reimbursement, and office space for

consulting teachers;
(c) for program administration and clerical support staff;
(d) for stipends for PAR Joint Panel members;
(e) to pay substitute teachers for PAR Joint Panel members to attend meetings or for teachers

enrolled in the PAR Program to visit and observe other classes; and
(f) for training costs.

(7) After each year of the pilot program, the State Board of Education shall make a report to the
Education Interim Committee evaluating the impact of the PAR Program on retaining high
quality teachers and dismissing ineffective teachers in a timely manner.

(8) The State Board of Education shall make rules specifying:
(a) procedures for applying for and awarding grants under this part;
(b) criteria for awarding grants; and
(c) reporting requirements for grantees.

Enacted by Chapter 273, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-803 Program components.
(1) A district that receives a grant under Section 53A-8a-802 to design and implement a PAR

Program, shall use the general guidelines as set forth in this section.
(2) A district's PAR Program shall consist of the following two sections:

(a) an induction section for novice teachers; and
(b) a remediation section for underperforming veteran teachers.

(3) The induction section of a district's PAR Program shall include the following components:
(a) a novice teacher is automatically enrolled into the induction section of the PAR Program and

assigned a consulting teacher who serves as a mentor;
(b) the novice teacher receives help from a consulting teacher in setting up a classroom, securing

needed supplies, preparing for classroom management, reflecting on lessons, and getting
feedback and support;

(c) the consulting teacher assesses the novice teacher's work and reports to the district's PAR
Joint Panel several times throughout the year, with a summative report and evaluation at the
end of the year;

(d) the consulting teacher assists the district's PAR Joint Panel in deciding whether to hire the
novice teacher for another year; and

(e) the principal retains the right and responsibility for evaluating all teachers for career
employment status.

(4) The remediation section of a district's PAR Program shall include the following components:
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(a) a principal or supervisor recommends an underperforming veteran teacher to the remediation
section of the program, or the underperforming veteran teacher may be automatically enrolled
in the intervention section of the program in accordance with local school board policy;

(b) an underperforming veteran teacher is assigned a consulting teacher who acts as a mentor
and initially investigates whether the teacher is, in fact, failing to meet the district standards;

(c) the consulting teacher mentors the underperforming veteran teacher for a period of time
established in accordance with local school board policy; and

(d) the underperforming veteran teacher either meets district standards after close mentoring, or
is dismissed or encouraged to resign because the underperforming veteran teacher rejects
help or fails to improve sufficiently despite the consulting teacher's mentoring.

(5) Consulting teachers:
(a) are chosen through a competitive process by the district's PAR Joint Panel;
(b)

(i) are released from regular teaching loads for three to five years; or
(ii) are released from regular teaching part-time and serve as consulting teachers part-time;

(c) earn regular salary plus an additional stipend for being consulting teachers;
(d) are assigned a caseload of teachers to mentor and evaluate, preferably in the same subject

and grade level;
(e) report on teachers to the district's PAR Joint Panel; and
(f) mentor and evaluate teachers participating in the district's PAR Program through:

(i) scheduled and unscheduled visits;
(ii) developing a growth plan with a teacher based on the teacher's strengths and weaknesses;
(iii) observing lessons and providing feedback;
(iv) helping with lesson planning;
(v) providing resources and materials; and
(vi) arranging for a participating teacher to observe another colleague's class.

Enacted by Chapter 273, 2012 General Session

53A-8a-804 Creation -- Make-up -- Duties of a district PAR Joint Panel.
(1) A district that receives money to create a PAR Program under Section 53A-8a-802 shall

create a PAR Joint Panel consisting of an equal number of teacher representatives and district
administrators or their designees.

(2) A district PAR Joint Panel shall:
(a) meet regularly to design the district's PAR Program;
(b) review cases of teachers assigned to the district's PAR Program and decide whether the

district should continue to employ teachers based on evidence collected by consulting
teachers; and

(c) select consulting teachers through a competitive process.

Enacted by Chapter 273, 2012 General Session

Chapter 11
Students in Public Schools
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Part 1
Compulsory Education Requirements

53A-11-101 Definitions.
          For purposes of this part:

(1)
(a) "Absence" or "absent" means, consistent with Subsection (1)(b), failure of a school-age minor

assigned to a class or class period to attend the entire class or class period.
(b) A school-age minor may not be considered absent under this part more than one time during

one day.
(2) "Habitual truant" means a school-age minor who:

(a) is at least 12 years old;
(b) is subject to the requirements of Section 53A-11-101.5; and
(c)

(i) is truant at least 10 times during one school year; or
(ii) fails to cooperate with efforts on the part of school authorities to resolve the minor's

attendance problem as required under Section 53A-11-103.
(3) "Minor" means a person under the age of 18 years.
(4) "Parent" includes:

(a) a custodial parent of the minor;
(b) a legally appointed guardian of a minor; or
(c) any other person purporting to exercise any authority over the minor which could be exercised

by a person described in Subsection (4)(a) or (b).
(5) "School-age minor" means a minor who:

(a) is at least six years old, but younger than 18 years old; and
(b) is not emancipated.

(6) "School year" means the period of time designated by a local school board or local charter
board as the school year for the school where the school-age minor:

(a) is enrolled; or
(b) should be enrolled, if the school-age minor is not enrolled in school.

(7) "Truant" means absent without a valid excuse.
(8) "Truant minor" means a school-age minor who:

(a) is subject to the requirements of Section 53A-11-101.5 or 53A-11-101.7; and
(b) is truant.

(9) "Valid excuse" means:
(a) an illness;
(b) a family death;
(c) an approved school activity;
(d) an absence permitted by a school-age minor's:

(i) individualized education program, developed pursuant to the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Improvement Act of 2004, as amended; or

(ii) accommodation plan, developed pursuant to Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,
as amended; or

(e) any other excuse established as valid by a local school board, local charter board, or school
district.

Amended by Chapter 81, 2007 General Session
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53A-11-101.3 Preapproval of extended absence.
          In determining whether to preapprove an extended absence of a school-age minor as a valid

excuse under Subsection 53A-11-101(9)(e), a local school board, local charter board, or school
district shall approve the absence if the local school board, local charter board, or school district
determines that the extended absence will not adversely impact the school-age minor's education.

Enacted by Chapter 81, 2007 General Session

53A-11-101.5 Compulsory education.
(1) For purposes of this section:

(a) "Intentionally" is as defined in Section 76-2-103.
(b) "Recklessly" is as defined in Section 76-2-103.
(c) "Remainder of the school year" means the portion of the school year beginning on the day

after the day on which the notice of compulsory education violation described in Subsection
(3) is served and ending on the last day of the school year.

(d) "School-age child" means a school-age minor under the age of 14.
(2) Except as provided in Section 53A-11-102 or 53A-11-102.5, the parent of a school-age minor

shall enroll and send the school-age minor to a public or regularly established private school.
(3) A school administrator, a designee of a school administrator, a law enforcement officer acting

as a school resource officer, or a truancy specialist may issue a notice of compulsory education
violation to a parent of a school-age child if the school-age child is absent without a valid
excuse at least five times during the school year.

(4) The notice of compulsory education violation, described in Subsection (3):
(a) shall direct the parent of the school-age child to:

(i) meet with school authorities to discuss the school-age child's school attendance problems;
and

(ii) cooperate with the school board, local charter board, or school district in securing regular
attendance by the school-age child;

(b) shall designate the school authorities with whom the parent is required to meet;
(c) shall state that it is a class B misdemeanor for the parent of the school-age child to

intentionally or recklessly:
(i) fail to meet with the designated school authorities to discuss the school-age child's school

attendance problems; or
(ii) fail to prevent the school-age child from being absent without a valid excuse five or more

times during the remainder of the school year;
(d) shall be served on the school-age child's parent by personal service or certified mail; and
(e) may not be issued unless the school-age child has been truant at least five times during the

school year.
(5) It is a class B misdemeanor for a parent of a school-age minor to intentionally or recklessly fail

to enroll the school-age minor in school, unless the school-age minor is exempt from enrollment
under Section 53A-11-102 or 53A-11-102.5.

(6) It is a class B misdemeanor for a parent of a school-age child to, after being served with
a notice of compulsory education violation in accordance with Subsections (3) and (4),
intentionally or recklessly:

(a) fail to meet with the school authorities designated in the notice of compulsory education
violation to discuss the school-age child's school attendance problems; or



Utah Code

Page 273

(b) fail to prevent the school-age child from being absent without a valid excuse five or more
times during the remainder of the school year.

(7) A local school board, local charter board, or school district shall report violations of this section
to the appropriate county or district attorney.

Amended by Chapter 203, 2012 General Session

53A-11-101.7 Truancy -- Notice of truancy -- Failure to cooperate with school authorities --
Habitual truant citation.
(1) Except as provided in Section 53A-11-102 or 53A-11-102.5, a school-age minor who is enrolled

in a public school shall attend the public school in which the school-age minor is enrolled.
(2) A local school board, charter school governing board, or school district may impose

administrative penalties on a school-age minor who is truant.
(3) A local school board or charter school governing board:

(a) may authorize a school administrator, a designee of a school administrator, a law
enforcement officer acting as a school resource officer, or a truancy specialist to issue notices
of truancy to school-age minors who are at least 12 years old; and

(b) shall establish a procedure for a school-age minor, or the school-age minor's parents, to
contest a notice of truancy.

(4) The notice of truancy described in Subsection (3):
(a) may not be issued until the school-age minor has been truant at least five times during the

school year;
(b) may not be issued to a school-age minor who is less than 12 years old;
(c) may not be issued to a minor exempt from school attendance as provided in Section

53A-11-102 or 53A-11-102.5;
(d) shall direct the school-age minor and the parent of the school-age minor to:

(i) meet with school authorities to discuss the school-age minor's truancies; and
(ii) cooperate with the school board, local charter board, or school district in securing regular

attendance by the school-age minor; and
(e) shall be mailed to, or served on, the school-age minor's parent.

(5)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), a habitual truant citation may be issued to a habitual

truant if:
(i) the local school board, charter school governing board, or school district has made

reasonable efforts, under Section 53A-11-103, to resolve the school attendance problems of
the habitual truant; and

(ii) the efforts to resolve the school attendance problems, described in Subsection (5)(a)(i),
have not been successful.

(b) A habitual truant citation may not be issued to a habitual truant if the habitual truant:
(i) has at least a 3.5 cumulative grade point average; and
(ii) is at least 16 years old.

(6) A habitual truant to whom a habitual truant citation is issued under Subsection (5):
(a) shall be referred to the juvenile court for violation of Subsection (1); and
(b) is subject to the jurisdiction of the juvenile court.

(7) A notice of truancy or a habitual truant citation may only be issued by:
(a) a school administrator, or a truancy specialist, who is authorized by a local school board or

charter school governing board;
(b) a designee of a school administrator described in Subsection (7)(a); or
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(c) a law enforcement officer acting as a school resource officer.
(8) Nothing in this part prohibits a local school board, charter school governing board, or school

district from taking action to resolve a truancy problem with a school-age minor who has been
truant less than five times, provided that the action does not conflict with the requirements of
this part.

(9) Nothing in this part allows a local school board or charter school governing board to issue a
citation pursuant to this section if the minor is exempt from school attendance as provided in
Section 53A-11-102 or 53A-11-102.5.

Amended by Chapter 359, 2014 General Session

53A-11-102 Minors exempt from school attendance.
(1)

(a) A local school board or charter school governing board may excuse a school-age minor from
attendance for any of the following reasons:

(i) a school-age minor over age 16 may receive a partial release from school to enter
employment, or attend a trade school, if the school-age minor has completed the eighth
grade; or

(ii) on an annual basis, a school-age minor may receive a full release from attending a public,
regularly established private, or part-time school or class if:

(A) the school-age minor has already completed the work required for graduation from high
school, or has demonstrated mastery of required skills and competencies in accordance
with Subsection 53A-15-102(1);

(B) the school-age minor is in a physical or mental condition, certified by a competent
physician if required by the local school board or charter school governing board, which
renders attendance inexpedient and impracticable;

(C) proper influences and adequate opportunities for education are provided in connection
with the school-age minor's employment; or

(D) the district superintendent or charter school governing board has determined that a
school-age minor over the age of 16 is unable to profit from attendance at school because
of inability or a continuing negative attitude toward school regulations and discipline.

(b) A school-age minor receiving a partial release from school under Subsection (1)(a)(i) is
required to attend:

(i) school part time as prescribed by the local school board or charter school governing board;
or

(ii) a home school part time.
(c) In each case, evidence of reasons for granting an exemption under Subsection (1) must be

sufficient to satisfy the local school board or charter school governing board.
(d) A local school board or charter school governing board that excuses a school-age minor

from attendance as provided by this Subsection (1) shall issue a certificate that the minor is
excused from attendance during the time specified on the certificate.

(2)
(a) A local school board shall excuse a school-age minor from attendance, if the school-age

minor's parent files a signed and notarized affidavit with the school-age minor's school district
of residence, as defined in Section 53A-2-201, that:

(i) the school-age minor will attend a home school; and
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(ii) the parent assumes sole responsibility for the education of the school-age minor, except to
the extent the school-age minor is dual enrolled in a public school as provided in Section
53A-11-102.5.

(b) A signed and notarized affidavit filed in accordance with Subsection (2)(a) shall remain in
effect as long as:

(i) the school-age minor attends a home school; and
(ii) the school district where the affidavit was filed remains the school-age minor's district of

residence.
(c) A parent of a school-age minor who attends a home school is solely responsible for:

(i) the selection of instructional materials and textbooks;
(ii) the time, place, and method of instruction; and
(iii) the evaluation of the home school instruction.

(d) A local school board may not:
(i) require a parent of a school-age minor who attends a home school to maintain records of

instruction or attendance;
(ii) require credentials for individuals providing home school instruction;
(iii) inspect home school facilities; or
(iv) require standardized or other testing of home school students.

(e) Upon the request of a parent, a local school board shall identify the knowledge, skills, and
competencies a student is recommended to attain by grade level and subject area to assist
the parent in achieving college and career readiness through home schooling.

(f) A local school board that excuses a school-age minor from attendance as provided by this
Subsection (2) shall annually issue a certificate stating that the school-age minor is excused
from attendance for the specified school year.

(g) A local school board shall issue a certificate excusing a school-age minor from attendance:
(i) within 30 days after receipt of a signed and notarized affidavit filed by the school-age minor's

parent pursuant to Subsection (2); and
(ii) on or before August 1 each year thereafter unless:

(A) the school-age minor enrolls in a school within the school district;
(B) the school-age minor's parent or guardian notifies the school district that the school-age

minor no longer attends a home school; or
(C) the school-age minor's parent or guardian notifies the school district that the school-age

minor's school district of residence has changed.
(3) A parent who files a signed and notarized affidavit as provided in Subsection (2)(a) is exempt

from the application of Subsections 53A-11-101.5(2), (5), and (6).
(4) Nothing in this section may be construed to prohibit or discourage voluntary cooperation,

resource sharing, or testing opportunities between a school or school district and a parent or
guardian of a minor attending a home school.

Amended by Chapter 374, 2014 General Session

53A-11-102.5 Dual enrollment.
(1) "District school" means a public school under the control of a local school board elected

pursuant to Title 20A, Chapter 14, Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards.
(2) A person having control of a minor who is enrolled in a regularly established private school or a

home school may also enroll the minor in a public school for dual enrollment purposes.
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(3) The minor may participate in any academic activity in the public school available to students in
the minor's grade or age group, subject to compliance with the same rules and requirements
that apply to a full-time student's participation in the activity.

(4)
(a) A student enrolled in a dual enrollment program in a district school is considered a student of

the district in which the district school of attendance is located for purposes of state funding to
the extent of the student's participation in the district school programs.

(b) A student enrolled in a dual enrollment program in a charter school is considered a student of
the charter school for purposes of state funding to the extent of the student's participation in
the charter school programs.

(5) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State Board
of Education shall make rules for purposes of dual enrollment to govern and regulate the
transferability of credits toward graduation that are earned in a private or home school.

Amended by Chapter 210, 2010 General Session

53A-11-102.6 Private school and home school students' participation in extracurricular
activities in a public school.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Academic eligibility requirements" means the academic eligibility requirements that a home
school student is required to meet to participate in an extracurricular activity in a public
school.

(b) "Principal" means the principal of the school in which a home school student participates or
intends to participate in an extracurricular activity.

(2)
(a) A minor who is enrolled in a private school or a home school shall be eligible to participate in

an extracurricular activity at a public school as provided in this section.
(b) A private school student may only participate in an extracurricular activity at a public school

that is not offered by the student's private school.
(c) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(d), a private school student or a home school student

may only participate in an extracurricular activity at:
(i) the school within whose attendance boundaries the student's custodial parent or legal

guardian resides; or
(ii) the school from which the student withdrew for the purpose of attending a private or home

school.
(d) A school other than a school described in Subsection (2)(c)(i) or (ii) may allow a private

school student or a home school student to participate in an extracurricular activity other than:
(i) an interscholastic competition of athletic teams sponsored and supported by a public school;

or
(ii) an interscholastic contest or competition for music, drama, or forensic groups or teams

sponsored and supported by a public school.
(3)

(a) Except as provided in Subsections (4) through (13), a private school or home school student
shall be eligible to participate in an extracurricular activity at a public school consistent with
eligibility standards:

(i) applied to a fully enrolled public school student;
(ii) of the public school where the private school or home school student participates in an

extracurricular activity; and
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(iii) for the extracurricular activity in which the private school or home school student
participates.

(b) A school district or public school may not impose additional requirements on a private school
or home school student to participate in an extracurricular activity that are not imposed on a
fully enrolled public school student.

(c)
(i) A private school or home school student who participates in an extracurricular activity at a

public school shall pay the same fees as required of a fully enrolled public school student to
participate in an extracurricular activity.

(ii) If a local school board or charter school governing board imposes a mandatory student
activity fee for a student enrolled in a public school, the fee may be imposed on a private
school or home school student who participates in an extracurricular activity at the public
school if the same benefits of paying the mandatory student activity fee that are available
to a fully enrolled public school student are available to a private school or home school
student who participates in an extracurricular activity at the public school.

(4) Eligibility requirements based on school attendance are not applicable to a home school
student.

(5) A home school student meets academic eligibility requirements to participate in an
extracurricular activity if:

(a) the student is mastering the material in each course or subject being taught; and
(b) the student is maintaining satisfactory progress towards achievement or promotion.

(6)
(a) To establish a home school student's academic eligibility, a parent, teacher, or organization

providing instruction to the student shall submit an affidavit to the principal indicating the
student meets academic eligibility requirements.

(b) Upon submission of an affidavit pursuant to Subsection (6)(a), a home school student shall:
(i) be considered to meet academic eligibility requirements; and
(ii) retain academic eligibility for all extracurricular activities during the activity season for which

the affidavit is submitted, until:
(A) a panel established under Subsection (10) determines the home school student does not

meet academic eligibility requirements; or
(B) the person who submitted the affidavit under Subsection (6)(a) provides written notice to

the school principal that the student no longer meets academic eligibility requirements.
(7)

(a) A home school student who loses academic eligibility pursuant to Subsection (6)(b)(ii)(B) may
not participate in an extracurricular activity until the person who submitted the affidavit under
Subsection (6)(a) provides written notice to the school principal that the home school student
has reestablished academic eligibility.

(b) If a home school student reestablishes academic eligibility pursuant to Subsection (7)(a),
the home school student may participate in extracurricular activities for the remainder of the
activity season for which an affidavit was submitted under Subsection (6)(a).

(8) A person who has probable cause to believe a home school student does not meet academic
eligibility requirements may submit an affidavit to the principal:

(a) asserting the home school student does not meet academic eligibility requirements; and
(b) providing information indicating that the home school student does not meet the academic

eligibility requirements.
(9) A principal shall review the affidavit submitted under Subsection (8), and if the principal

determines it contains information which constitutes probable cause to believe a home school
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student may not meet academic eligibility requirements, the principal shall request a panel
established pursuant to Subsection (10) to verify the student's compliance with academic
eligibility requirements.

(10)
(a) A school district superintendent shall:

(i) appoint a panel of three individuals to verify a home school student's compliance with
academic eligibility requirements when requested by a principal pursuant to Subsection (9);
and

(ii) select the panel members from nominees submitted by national, state, or regional
organizations whose members are home school students and parents.

(b) Of the members appointed to a panel under Subsection (10)(a):
(i) one member shall have experience teaching in a public school as a licensed teacher and in

home schooling high school-age students;
(ii) one member shall have experience teaching in a higher education institution and in home

schooling; and
(iii) one member shall have experience in home schooling high school-age students.

(11) A panel appointed under Subsection (10):
(a) shall review the affidavit submitted under Subsection (8);
(b) may confer with the person who submitted the affidavit under Subsection (8);
(c) shall request the home school student to submit test scores or a portfolio of work

documenting the student's academic achievement to the panel;
(d) shall review the test scores or portfolio of work; and
(e) shall determine whether the home school student meets academic eligibility requirements.

(12) A home school student who meets academic eligibility requirements pursuant to Subsection
(11), retains academic eligibility for all extracurricular activities during the activity season for
which an affidavit is submitted pursuant to Subsection (6).

(13)
(a) A panel's determination that a home school student does not comply with academic eligibility

requirements is effective for an activity season and all extracurricular activities that have
academic eligibility requirements.

(b) A home school student who is not in compliance with academic eligibility requirements as
determined by a panel appointed under Subsection (11) may seek to establish academic
eligibility under this section for the next activity season.

(14)
(a) A public school student who has been declared to be academically ineligible to participate in

an extracurricular activity and who subsequently enrolls in a home school shall lose eligibility
for participation in the extracurricular activity until the student:

(i) demonstrates academic eligibility by providing test results or a portfolio of the student's work
to the school principal, provided that a student may not reestablish academic eligibility under
this Subsection (14)(a) during the same activity season in which the student was declared to
be academically ineligible;

(ii) returns to public school and reestablishes academic eligibility; or
(iii) enrolls in a private school and establishes academic eligibility.

(b) A public school student who has been declared to be behaviorally ineligible to participate in
an extracurricular activity and who subsequently enrolls in a home school shall lose eligibility
for participation in the extracurricular activity until the student meets eligibility standards as
provided in Subsection (3).
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(15) When selection to participate in an extracurricular activity at a public school is made on a
competitive basis, a private school student and a home school student shall be eligible to try
out for and participate in the activity as provided in this section.

(16)
(a) If a student exits a public school to enroll in a private or home school mid-semester or during

an activity season, and the student desires to participate in an extracurricular activity at the
public school, the public school shall issue an interim academic assessment based on the
student's work in each class.

(b) A student's academic eligibility to participate in an extracurricular activity under the
circumstances described in Subsection (16)(a) shall be based on the student meeting public
school academic eligibility standards at the time of exiting public school.

(c) A student may appeal an academic eligibility determination made under Subsection (16)(b) in
accordance with procedures for appealing a public school student's academic eligibility.

Amended by Chapter 340, 2011 General Session

53A-11-102.7 Placement of a home school student who transfers to a public school.
(1) For the purposes of this section, "home school student" means a student who attends a home

school pursuant to Section 53A-11-102.
(2) When a home school student transfers from a home school to a public school, the public school

shall place the student in the grade levels, classes, or courses that the student's parent or
guardian and in consultation with the school administrator determine are appropriate based on
the parent's or guardian's assessment of the student's academic performance.

(3)
(a) Within 30 days of a home school student's placement in a public school grade level, class,

or course, either the student's teacher or the student's parent or guardian may request a
conference to consider changing the student's placement.

(b) If the student's teacher and the student's parent or guardian agree on a placement change,
the public school shall place the student in the agreed upon grade level, class, or course.

(c) If the student's teacher and the student's parent or guardian do not agree on a placement
change, the public school shall evaluate the student's subject matter mastery in accordance
with Subsection (3)(d).

(d) The student's parent or guardian has the option of:
(i) allowing the public school to administer, to the student, assessments that are:

(A) regularly administered to public school students; and
(B) used to measure public school students' subject matter mastery and determine

placement; or
(ii) having a private entity or individual administer assessments of subject matter mastery to the

student at the parent's or guardian's expense.
(e) After an evaluation of a student's subject matter mastery, a public school may change a

student's placement in a grade level, class, or course.
(4) This section does not apply to a student who is dual enrolled in a public school and a home

school pursuant to Section 53A-11-102.5.

Enacted by Chapter 374, 2014 General Session

53A-11-103 Duties of a school board, local charter board, or school district in resolving
attendance problems -- Parental involvement -- Liability not imposed.
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(1)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a local school board, local charter board, or school

district shall make efforts to resolve the school attendance problems of each school-age
minor who is, or should be, enrolled in the school district.

(b) A minor exempt from school attendance under Section 53A-11-102 or 53A-11-102.5 is not
considered to be a minor who is or should be enrolled in a school district or charter school
under Subsection (1)(a).

(2) The efforts described in Subsection (1) shall include, as reasonably feasible:
(a) counseling of the minor by school authorities;
(b) issuing a notice of truancy to a school-age minor who is at least 12 years old, in accordance

with Section 53A-11-101.7;
(c) issuing a habitual truant citation, in accordance with Section 53A-11-101.7;
(d) issuing a notice of compulsory education violation to a parent of a school-age child, in

accordance with Section 53A-11-101.5;
(e) making any necessary adjustment to the curriculum and schedule to meet special needs of

the minor;
(f) considering alternatives proposed by a parent;
(g) monitoring school attendance of the minor;
(h) voluntary participation in truancy mediation, if available; and
(i) providing a school-age minor's parent, upon request, with a list of resources available to assist

the parent in resolving the school-age minor's attendance problems.
(3) In addition to the efforts described in Subsection (2), the local school board, local charter board,

or school district may enlist the assistance of community and law enforcement agencies as
appropriate and reasonably feasible.

(4) This section shall not impose any civil liability on boards of education, local school boards, local
charter boards, school districts, or their employees.

(5) Proceedings initiated under this part do not obligate or preclude action by the Division of Child
and Family Services under Section 78A-6-319.

Amended by Chapter 203, 2012 General Session

53A-11-104 Truancy specialists.
          A local school board or local charter board may appoint and fix the compensation of a truancy

specialist to assist in enforcing laws related to school attendance and to perform other duties
prescribed by law or the board.

Amended by Chapter 81, 2007 General Session

53A-11-105 Taking custody of a person believed to be a truant minor -- Disposition --
Receiving centers -- Reports -- Immunity from liability.
(1) A peace officer or public school administrator may take a minor into temporary custody if there

is reason to believe the minor is a truant minor.
(2) An individual taking a school-age minor into custody under Subsection (1) shall, without

unnecessary delay, release the minor to:
(a) the principal of the minor's school;
(b) a person who has been designated by the local school board or local charter board to receive

and return the minor to school; or
(c) a receiving center established under Subsection (5).
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(3) If the minor refuses to return to school or go to the receiving center, the officer or administrator
shall, without unnecessary delay, notify the minor's parents and release the minor to their
custody.

(4) If the parents cannot be reached or are unable or unwilling to accept custody, the minor shall
be referred to the Division of Child and Family Services.

(5)
(a) A local school board or local charter board, singly or jointly with another school board, may

establish or designate receiving centers within existing school buildings and staff the centers
with existing teachers or staff to provide educational guidance and counseling for truant
minors.  Upon receipt of a truant minor, the center shall, without unnecessary delay, notify
and direct the minor's parents to come to the center, pick up the minor, and return the minor
to the school in which the minor is enrolled.

(b) If the parents cannot be reached or are unable or unwilling to comply with the request within
a reasonable time, the center shall take such steps as are reasonably necessary to insure the
safety and well being of the minor, including, when appropriate, returning the minor to school
or referring the minor to the Division of Child and Family Services.  A minor taken into custody
under this section may not be placed in a detention center or other secure confinement
facility.

(6) Action taken under this section shall be reported to the appropriate school district.  The district
shall promptly notify the minor's parents of the action taken.

(7) The Utah Governmental Immunity Act applies to all actions taken under this section.
(8) Nothing in this section may be construed to grant authority to a public school administrator to

place a minor in the custody of the Division of Child and Family Services, without complying
with the provisions of Title 62A, Chapter 4a, Part 2, Child Welfare Services, and Part 2a, Minors
in Custody on Grounds Other Than Abuse or Neglect, and of Title 78A, Chapter 6, Part 3,
Abuse, Neglect, and Dependency Proceedings, and Part 4, Minors in Custody on Grounds
Other Than Abuse or Neglect.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session

53A-11-106 Truancy support centers.
(1) A school district may establish one or more truancy support centers for:

(a) truant minors taken into custody under Section 53A-11-105; or
(b) students suspended or expelled from school.

(2) A truancy support center shall provide services to the truant minor and the truant minor's family,
including:

(a) assessments of the truant minor's needs and abilities;
(b) support for the parents and truant minor through counseling and community programs; and
(c) tutoring for the truant minor during the time spent at the center.

(3) For the suspended or expelled student, the truancy support center shall provide an educational
setting, staffed with certified teachers and aides, to provide the student with ongoing
educational programming appropriate to the student's grade level.

(4) In a district with a truancy support center, all students suspended or expelled from school
shall be referred to the center.  A parent or guardian shall appear with the student at the
center within 48 hours of the suspension or expulsion, not including weekends or holidays.
The student shall register and attend classes at the truancy support center for the duration
of the suspension or expulsion unless the parent or guardian demonstrates that alternative
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arrangements have been made for the education or supervision of the student during the time
of suspension or expulsion.

(5) The truancy support center may provide counseling and other support programming for
students suspended or expelled from school and their parents or guardian.

Amended by Chapter 81, 2007 General Session

Part 2
Health Examinations

53A-11-201 Rules for examinations prescribed by Department of Health -- Notification of
impairment.
(1)

(a) Each local school board shall implement rules as prescribed by the Department of Health for
vision, dental, abnormal spinal curvature, and hearing examinations of students attending the
district's schools.

(b) Under guidelines of the Department of Health, qualified health professionals shall provide
instructions, equipment, and materials for conducting the examinations.

(c) The rules shall include exemption provisions for students whose parents or guardians contend
the examinations violate their personal beliefs.

(2) The school shall notify, in writing, a student's parent or guardian of any impairment disclosed by
the examinations.

Amended by Chapter 4, 1996 General Session

53A-11-202 Personnel to perform health examination.
          A local school board may use teachers or licensed registered nurses to conduct examinations

required under this chapter and licensed physicians as needed for medical consultation related to
those examinations.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-11-203 Vision screening.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Office" means the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation created in Section 35A-1-202.
(b) "Qualifying child" means a child who is at least 3-1/2 years old, but is less than nine years old.

(2) A child under nine years old entering school for the first time in this state must present the
following to the school:

(a) a certificate signed by a licensed physician, optometrist, or other licensed health professional
approved by the office, stating that the child has received vision screening to determine the
presence of amblyopia or other visual defects; or

(b) a written statement signed by at least one parent or legal guardian of the child that the
screening violates the personal beliefs of the parent or legal guardian.

(3)
(a) The office:
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(i) shall provide vision screening report forms to a person approved by the office to conduct a
free vision screening for a qualifying child;

(ii) may work with health care professionals, teachers, and vision screeners to develop
protocols that may be used by a parent, teacher, or vision screener to help identify a child
who may have conditions that are not detected in a vision screening, such as problems
with eye focusing, eye tracking, visual perceptual skills, visual motor integration, and
convergence insufficiency; and

(iii) shall, once protocols are established under Subsection (3)(a)(ii), develop language
regarding the vision problems identified in Subsection (3)(a)(ii) to be included in the notice
required by Subsection (3)(b).

(b) The report forms shall include the following information for a parent or guardian: "vision
screening is not a substitute for a complete eye exam and vision evaluation by an eye doctor."

(4) A school district or charter school may conduct free vision screening clinics for a qualifying
child.

(5)
(a) The office shall maintain a central register of qualifying children who fail vision screening and

who are referred for follow-up treatment.
(b) The register described in Subsection (5)(a) shall include the name of the child, age or

birthdate, address, cause for referral, and follow-up results.
(c) A school district or charter school shall report to the office referral follow-up results for a

qualifying child.
(6)

(a) A school district or charter school shall ensure that a volunteer who serves as a vision
screener for a free vision screening clinic for a qualifying child:

(i) is a school nurse;
(ii) holds a certificate issued by the office under Subsection (6)(b)(ii); or
(iii) is directly supervised by an individual described in Subsection (6)(a)(i) or (ii).

(b) The office shall:
(i) provide vision screening training to a volunteer seeking a certificate described in Subsection

(6)(b)(ii), using curriculum established by the office; and
(ii) issue a certificate to a volunteer who successfully completes the vision screening training

described in Subsection (6)(b)(i).
(c) An individual described in Subsection (6)(a) is not liable for damages that result from acts or

omissions related to the vision screening, unless the acts or omissions are willful or grossly
negligent.

(7)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (7)(b), a licensed health professional providing vision

care to private patients may not participate as a screener in a free vision screening program
provided by a school district.

(b) A school district or charter school may:
(i) allow a licensed health professional who provides vision care to private patients to participate

as a screener in a free vision screening program for a child 3-1/2 years old or older;
(ii) establish guidelines to administer a free vision screening program described in Subsection

(7)(b)(i); and
(iii) establish penalties for a violation of the requirements of Subsection (7)(c).

(c) A licensed health professional or other person who participates as a screener in a free vision
screening program described in Subsection (7)(b):
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(i) may not market, advertise, or promote the licensed health professional's business in
connection with providing the free screening at the school; and

(ii) shall provide the child's results of the free vision screening on a form produced by the school
or school district, which:

(A) may not include contact information other than the name of the licensed health
professional; and

(B) shall include a statement: "vision screening is not a substitute for a complete eye exam
and vision evaluation by an eye doctor."

(d) A school district or charter school may provide information to a parent or guardian of the
availability of follow up vision services for a student.

(8) The Department of Health shall:
(a) by rule, set standards and procedures for vision screening required by this chapter, which

shall include a process for notifying the parent or guardian of a child who fails a vision
screening or is identified as needing follow-up care; and

(b) provide the office with copies of rules, standards, instructions, and test charts necessary for
conducting vision screening.

(9) The office shall supervise screening, referral, and follow-up required by this chapter.

Amended by Chapter 271, 2016 General Session

53A-11-204 Nursing services in the public schools -- Collaborative efforts.
(1)

(a) Students in the state's public schools may be better protected against risks to health and
safety if schools were to have registered nurses readily available to assist in providing
educational and nursing services in the public schools.

(b) Those services would be further enhanced if they could be offered with the active support
and participation of local public health departments and private medical providers, most
particularly in those areas of the state without currently functioning collaborative programs.

(c)
(i) School districts, local health departments, private medical providers, and parents of students

are therefore encouraged to work together in determining needs and risks to student health
in the state's public  schools and in developing and implementing plans to meet those needs
and minimize risks to students.

(ii) School community councils or school directors of affected schools shall review the plans
prior to their implementation.

(2) School districts are encouraged to provide nursing services equivalent to the services of one
registered nurse for every 5,000 students or, in districts with fewer than 5,000 students, the
level of services recommended by the Department of Health.

Amended by Chapter 301, 2002 General Session

53A-11-205 Notification to the parent of an injured or sick child.
(1) A public school shall notify the custodial parent and, if requested in writing by a noncustodial

parent, make reasonable efforts to notify the noncustodial parent of a student who is injured or
becomes ill at the school during the regular school day if:

(a) the injury or illness requires treatment at a hospital, doctor's office, or other medical facility not
located on the school premises; and
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(b) the school has received a current telephone number for the party it is required to notify or
make reasonable efforts to notify.

(2)
(a) Subsection (1) does not apply to a noncustodial parent forbidden to have contact with the

student under a court order or similar procedure.
(b) The custodial parent is responsible for providing the school with the noncustodial parent's

status under Subsection (2)(a) through a procedure adopted by the local school board.

Enacted by Chapter 3, 2001 Special Session 1
Enacted by Chapter 3, 2001 Special Session 1

Part 3
Immunization of Students

53A-11-301 Certificate of immunization required.
(1) Unless exempted for personal, medical, or religious objections as provided in Section

53A-11-302, a student may not attend a public, private, or parochial kindergarten, elementary,
or secondary school through grade 12, nursery school, licensed day care center, child care
facility, family care home, or headstart program in this state unless there is presented to the
appropriate official of the school a certificate of immunization from a licensed physician or
authorized representative of the state or local health department stating that the student has
received immunization against communicable diseases as required by rules adopted under
Section 53A-11-303.

(2) School districts may not receive weighted pupil unit money for a student unless the student has
obtained a certificate of immunization under this section or qualifies for conditional enrollment
or an exemption from immunization under Section 53A-11-302.

Amended by Chapter 53, 1992 General Session

53A-11-302 Immunizations required -- Exceptions -- Grounds for exemption from required
immunizations.
(1) A student may not enter school without a certificate of immunization, except as provided in this

section.
(2) Except as provided in Section 53A-1-1001, a student who at the time of school enrollment has

not been completely immunized against each specified disease may attend school under a
conditional enrollment if the student has received one dose of each specified vaccine prior to
enrollment.

(3) A student is exempt from receiving the required immunizations if there is presented to the
appropriate official of the school one or more of the following:

(a) a certificate from a licensed physician stating that due to the physical condition of the student
one or more specified immunizations would endanger the student's life or health;

(b) A completed form obtained at the local health department where the student resides,
providing:

(i) the information required under Subsection 53A-11-302.5(1); and
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(ii) a statement that the person has a personal belief opposed to immunizations, which is signed
by one of the individuals listed in Subsection 53A-11-302(3)(c) and witnessed by the local
health officer or his designee; or

(c) a statement that the person is a bona fide member of a specified, recognized religious
organization whose teachings are contrary to immunizations, signed by one of the following
persons:

(i) one of the student's parents;
(ii) the student's guardian;
(iii) a legal age brother or sister of a student who has no parent or guardian; or
(iv) the student, if of legal age.

Amended by Chapter 395, 2010 General Session

53A-11-302.5 Personal belief immunization exemption.
(1) The Department of Health shall provide to all local health departments a form to be used

by persons claiming an exemption from immunization requirements based on a personal
belief opposed to immunization.  The form shall include a statement printed on the form and
drafted by the Department of Health stating the department's position regarding the benefits of
immunization.  The form shall require, at a minimum:

(a) a statement claiming exemption from immunizations required under Section 53A-11-302,
signed by a person listed under Subsection 53A-11-302(3)(c);

(b) the name and address of the person who signs the form;
(c) the name of the student exempted from immunizations; and
(d) the school at which the student is enrolling.

(2)
(a) The Department of Health shall provide these forms to the local health departments.
(b) Local health departments shall make the forms available to the public upon request.

(3)
(a) A student enrolling in a school and who claims exemption from immunizations based on

a personal belief shall complete the form described in Subsection (1) and provide it to the
school officials at the school in which the student is enrolling.

(b) Students who prior to July 1, 1992, claimed an exemption from immunizations based on
personal beliefs shall prior to December 1, 1992, complete the form described in Subsection
(1) and provide it to the appropriate official of the school the student attends.

Enacted by Chapter 129, 1992 General Session

53A-11-303 Regulations of department.
(1) The Department of Health shall adopt rules to establish which immunizations are required and

the manner and frequency of their administration.
(2) The rules adopted shall conform to recognized standard medical practices.
(3) The rules shall require the reporting of statistical information and names of noncompliers by the

schools.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-11-304 Certificate part of student's record -- Forms for certificates -- Transfer of
immunization record to official certificate.
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(1) Each school shall retain official certificates of immunization for every enrolled student.  The
certificate becomes a part of the individual student's permanent school record and follows the
student through his or her public or private school career.

(2) The Department of Health shall provide official certificate of immunization forms to public
and private schools, physicians, and local health departments. The forms referred to in this
subsection shall include a clear statement of the student's rights under Section 53A-11-302.

(3) Any immunization record provided by a licensed physician, registered nurse, or public health
official may be accepted by a school official as a certificate of immunization if the type of
immunization given and the dates given are specified and the information is transferred to
an official certificate of immunization and verified by the school district in which the public or
private school is located.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-11-305 Immunization by local health departments -- Fees.
(1) If a student has not been immunized against a disease specified by the Department of Health,

he may be immunized by the local health department upon the request of his parent or
guardian, or upon the student's request if he is of legal age.  The local health department may
charge a fee to cover the cost of administration of the vaccine.

(2) The vaccine necessary for immunizations required under Sections 53A-11-301 and 53A-11-303
shall be furnished to local departments of health by the Department of Health.  The Department
of Health may recover all or part of the cost of vaccines purchased with state funds by charging
local health departments a fee for those vaccines. Local health departments may pass the cost
of the vaccine on to the student, his parent or guardian, or other responsible party.  However, a
child may not be refused immunizations by the local health department in his area of residence
because of inability to pay.

(3) The Department of Health shall establish the fee for administration of vaccines, as provided by
Subsection (1), and shall establish fees for vaccines.

Amended by Chapter 202, 1988 General Session

53A-11-306 Conditional enrollment -- Suspension for noncompliance -- Procedure.
(1) Conditional enrollment time periods may be modified by the department by legally adopted

rules.
(2) The requirements for conditional enrollment shall apply to each student unless that student is

exempted under Section 53A-11-302.
(3) After five days written notice of a pending suspension and of the student's rights under Section

53A-11-302 shall be mailed to the last-known address of a parent, guardian, or legal age
brother or sister of a student who is without parent or guardian, the governing authority of any
school shall prohibit further attendance by a student under a conditional enrollment who has
failed to obtain the immunization required within time period set forth in Section 53A-11-302 or
otherwise established by rule.

(4) Parents or guardians of children who are prohibited from attending school for failure to comply
with the provisions of this part shall be referred to the juvenile court.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session
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Part 4
Reporting of Prohibited Acts

53A-11-401 Definitions.
          For purposes of Sections 53A-11-402 through 53A-11-404:

(1) "Educator" means a person employed by a public school, but excludes those employed by
institutions of higher education.

(2) "Prohibited act" means an act prohibited by Section 53A-3-501, relating to alcohol; Section
58-37-8, relating to controlled substances; or Section 58-37a-5, relating to drug paraphernalia.

Amended by Chapter 22, 1989 General Session

53A-11-402 Mandatory reporting of prohibited acts.
          If an educator has reasonable cause to believe that a student at the public school where the

educator is employed has committed a prohibited act, he shall immediately report that to the
school's designated educator.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-11-403 Reporting procedure.
(1) The principal of a public school affected by this chapter shall appoint one educator as the

"designated educator" to make all reports required under Sections 53A-11-401 through
53A-11-404.

(2) The designated educator, upon receiving a report of a prohibited act from an educator under
Section 53A-11-402, shall immediately report the violation to the student's parent or legal
guardian, and may report the violation to an appropriate law enforcement agency or official.

(3) The designated educator may not disclose to the student or to the student's parent or legal
guardian the identity of the educator who made the initial report.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-11-404 Immunity from civil or criminal liability.
          An educator who in good faith makes a report under Sections 53A-11-402 and 53A-11-403 is

immune from any liability, civil or criminal, that might otherwise result from that action.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

Part 5
Identification of Missing Children

53A-11-501 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Division" means the Criminal Investigations and Technical Services Division of the Department
of Public Safety, established in Section 53-10-103.

(2) "Missing child" has the same meaning as provided in Section 26-2-27.
(3) "State registrar" means the State Registrar of Vital Statistics within the Department of Health.
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Amended by Chapter 263, 1998 General Session

53A-11-502 Identifying records -- Reporting requirements.
(1) Upon notification by the division of a missing child in accordance with Section 53-10-203, a

school in which that child is currently or was previously enrolled shall flag the record of that
child in a manner that whenever a copy of or information regarding the record is requested, the
school is alerted to the fact that the record is that of a missing child.

(2) The school shall immediately report any request concerning flagged records or knowledge as to
the whereabouts of any missing child to the division.

(3) Upon notification by the division that a missing child has been recovered, the school shall
remove the flag from that child's record.

Amended by Chapter 263, 1998 General Session

53A-11-503 Requirement of birth certificate for enrollment of students -- Procedures.
(1) Upon enrollment of a student for the first time in a particular school, that school shall notify in

writing the person enrolling the student that within 30 days he must provide either a certified
copy of the student's birth certificate, or other reliable proof of the student's identity and age,
together with an affidavit explaining the inability to produce a copy of the birth certificate.

(2)
(a) Upon the failure of a person enrolling a student to comply with Subsection (1), the school

shall notify that person in writing that unless he complies within 10 days the case shall be
referred to the local law enforcement authority for investigation.

(b) If compliance is not obtained within that 10 day period, the school shall refer the case to the
division.

(3) The school shall immediately report to the division any affidavit received pursuant to this
subsection which appears inaccurate or suspicious.

Amended by Chapter 234, 1993 General Session

53A-11-504 Requirement of school record for transfer of student -- Procedures.
(1) Except as provided in Section 53A-1-1001, a school shall request a certified copy of a transfer

student's record, directly from the transfer student's previous school, within 14 days after
enrolling the transfer student.

(2)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b) and Section 53A-1-1001, a school requested to

forward a certified copy of a transferring student's record to the new school shall comply
within 30 school days of the request.

(b) If the record has been flagged pursuant to Section 53A-11-502, a school may not forward the
record to the new school and the requested school shall notify the division of the request.

Amended by Chapter 395, 2010 General Session

Part 6
Administration of Medication
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53A-11-601 Administration of medication to students -- Prerequisites -- Immunity from
liability.
(1) A public or private school that holds any classes in grades kindergarten through 12 may provide

for the administration of medication to any student during periods when the student is under the
control of the school, subject to the following conditions:

(a) the local school board, charter school governing board, or the private equivalent, after
consultation with the Department of Health and school nurses shall adopt policies that provide
for:

(i) the designation of volunteer employees who may administer medication;
(ii) proper identification and safekeeping of medication;
(iii) the training of designated volunteer employees by the school nurse;
(iv) maintenance of records of administration; and
(v) notification to the school nurse of medication that will be administered to students; and

(b) medication may only be administered to a student if:
(i) the student's parent or legal guardian has provided a current written and signed request that

medication be administered during regular school hours to the student; and
(ii) the student's licensed health care provider has prescribed the medication and provides

documentation as to the method, amount, and time schedule for administration, and a
statement that administration of medication by school employees during periods when the
student is under the control of the school is medically necessary.

(2) Authorization for administration of medication by school personnel may be withdrawn by the
school at any time following actual notice to the student's parent or guardian.

(3) School personnel who provide assistance under Subsection (1) in substantial compliance
with the licensed health care provider's written prescription and the employers of these school
personnel are not liable, civilly or criminally, for:

(a) any adverse reaction suffered by the student as a result of taking the medication; and
(b) discontinuing the administration of the medication under Subsection (2).

Amended by Chapter 173, 2008 General Session

53A-11-602 Self-administration of asthma medication.
(1) As used in this section, "asthma medication" means prescription or nonprescription, inhaled

asthma medication.
(2) A public school shall permit a student to possess and self-administer asthma medication if:

(a) the student's parent or guardian signs a statement:
(i) authorizing the student to self-administer asthma medication; and
(ii) acknowledging that the student is responsible for, and capable of, self-administering the

asthma medication; and
(b) the student's health care provider provides a written statement that states:

(i) it is medically appropriate for the student to self-administer asthma medication and be in
possession of asthma medication at all times; and

(ii) the name of the asthma medication prescribed or authorized for the student's use.
(3) The Utah Department of Health, in cooperation with the state superintendent of public

instruction, shall design forms to be used by public schools for the parental and health care
provider statements described in Subsection (2).

(4) Section 53A-11-904 does not apply to the possession and self-administration of asthma
medication in accordance with this section.
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Enacted by Chapter 4, 2004 General Session

53A-11-603 Administration of glucagon -- Training of volunteer school personnel --
Authority to use glucagon -- Immunity from liability.
(1) As used in this section, "glucagon authorization" means a signed statement from a parent or

guardian of a student with diabetes:
(a) certifying that glucagon has been prescribed for the student;
(b) requesting that the student's public school identify and train school personnel who volunteer

to be trained in the administration of glucagon in accordance with this section; and
(c) authorizing the administration of glucagon in an emergency to the student in accordance with

this section.
(2)

(a) A public school shall, within a reasonable time after receiving a glucagon authorization, train
two or more school personnel who volunteer to be trained in the administration of glucagon,
with training provided by the school nurse or another qualified, licensed medical professional.

(b) A public school shall allow all willing school personnel to receive training in the administration
of glucagon, and the school shall assist and may not obstruct the identification or training of
volunteers under this Subsection (2).

(c) The Utah Department of Health, in cooperation with the state superintendent of public
instruction, shall design a glucagon authorization form to be used by public schools in
accordance with this section.

(3)
(a) Training in the administration of glucagon shall include:

(i) techniques for recognizing the symptoms that warrant the administration of glucagon;
(ii) standards and procedures for the storage and use of glucagon;
(iii) other emergency procedures, including calling the emergency 911 number and contacting,

if possible, the student's parent or guardian; and
(iv) written materials covering the information required under this Subsection (3).

(b) A school shall retain for reference the written materials prepared in accordance with
Subsection (3)(a)(iv).

(4) A public school shall permit a student or school personnel to possess or store prescribed
glucagon so that it will be available for administration in an emergency in accordance with this
section.

(5)
(a) A person who has received training in accordance with this section may administer glucagon

at a school or school activity to a student with a glucagon authorization if:
(i) the student is exhibiting the symptoms that warrant the administration of glucagon; and
(ii) a licensed health care professional is not immediately available.

(b) A person who administers glucagon in accordance with Subsection (5)(a) shall direct a
responsible person to call 911 and take other appropriate actions in accordance with the
training materials retained under Subsection (3)(b).

(6) School personnel who provide or receive training under this section and act in good faith are
not liable in any civil or criminal action for any act taken or not taken under the authority of this
section with respect to the administration of glucagon.

(7) Section 53A-11-601 does not apply to the administration of glucagon in accordance with this
section.
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(8) Section 53A-11-904 does not apply to the possession and administration of glucagon in
accordance with this section.

(9) The unlawful or unprofessional conduct provisions of Title 58, Occupations and Professions,
do not apply to a person licensed as a health professional under Title 58, Occupations and
Professions, including a nurse, physician, or pharmacist who, in good faith, trains nonlicensed
volunteers to administer glucagon in accordance with this section.

Enacted by Chapter 215, 2006 General Session

53A-11-603.5 Trained school employee volunteers -- Administration of seizure rescue
medication -- Exemptions from liability.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Prescribing health care professional" means:
(i) a physician and surgeon licensed under Title 58, Chapter 67, Utah Medical Practice Act;
(ii) an osteopathic physician and surgeon licensed under Title 58, Chapter 68, Utah Osteopathic

Medical Practice Act;
(iii) an advanced practice registered nurse licensed under Title 58, Chapter 31b, Nurse Practice

Act; or
(iv) a physician assistant licensed under Title 58, Chapter 70a, Physician Assistant Act.

(b) "Section 504 accommodation plan" means a plan developed pursuant to Section 504 of
the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, to provide appropriate accommodations to an
individual with a disability to ensure access to major life activities.

(c) "Seizure rescue authorization" means a student's Section 504 accommodation plan that:
(i) certifies that:

(A) a prescribing health care professional has prescribed a seizure rescue medication for the
student;

(B) the student's parent or legal guardian has previously administered the student's seizure
rescue medication in a nonmedically-supervised setting without a complication; and

(C) the student has previously ceased having full body prolonged or convulsive seizure
activity as a result of receiving the seizure rescue medication;

(ii) describes the specific seizure rescue medication authorized for the student, including the
indicated dose, and instructions for administration;

(iii) requests that the student's public school identify and train school employees who are willing
to volunteer to receive training to administer a seizure rescue medication in accordance with
this section; and

(iv) authorizes a trained school employee volunteer to administer a seizure rescue medication
in accordance with this section.

(d)
(i) "Seizure rescue medication" means a medication, prescribed by a prescribing health care

professional, to be administered as described in a student's seizure rescue authorization,
while the student experiences seizure activity.

(ii) A seizure rescue medication does not include a medication administered intravenously or
intramuscularly.

(e) "Trained school employee volunteer" means an individual who:
(i) is an employee of a public school where at least one student has a seizure rescue

authorization;
(ii) is at least 18 years old; and
(iii) as described in this section:
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(A) volunteers to receive training in the administration of a seizure rescue medication;
(B) completes a training program described in this section;
(C) demonstrates competency on an assessment; and
(D) completes annual refresher training each year that the individual intends to remain a

trained school employee volunteer.
(2)

(a) The Department of Health shall, with input from the State Board of Education and a
children's hospital, develop a training program for trained school employee volunteers in the
administration of seizure rescue medications that includes:

(i) techniques to recognize symptoms that warrant the administration of a seizure rescue
medication;

(ii) standards and procedures for the storage of a seizure rescue medication;
(iii) procedures, in addition to administering a seizure rescue medication, in the event that a

student requires administration of the seizure rescue medication, including:
(A) calling 911; and
(B) contacting the student's parent or legal guardian;

(iv) an assessment to determine if an individual is competent to administer a seizure rescue
medication;

(v) an annual refresher training component; and
(vi) written materials describing the information required under this Subsection (2)(a).

(b) A public school shall retain for reference the written materials described in Subsection (2)(a)
(vi).

(c) The following individuals may provide the training described in Subsection (2)(a):
(i) a school nurse; or
(ii) a licensed heath care professional.

(3)
(a) A public school shall, after receiving a seizure rescue authorization:

(i) inform school employees of the opportunity to be a school employee volunteer; and
(ii) subject to Subsection (3)(b)(ii), provide training, to each school employee who volunteers,

using the training program described in Subsection (2)(a).
(b) A public school may not:

(i) obstruct the identification or training of a trained school employee volunteer; or
(ii) compel a school employee to become a trained school employee volunteer.

(4) A trained school employee volunteer may possess or store a prescribed rescue seizure
medication, in accordance with this section.

(5) A trained school employee volunteer may administer a seizure rescue medication to a student
with a seizure rescue authorization if:

(a) the student is exhibiting a symptom, described on the student's seizure rescue authorization,
that warrants the administration of a seizure rescue medication; and

(b) a licensed health care professional is not immediately available to administer the seizure
rescue medication.

(6) A trained school employee volunteer who administers a seizure rescue medication shall direct
an individual to call 911 and take other appropriate actions in accordance with the training
described in Subsection (2).

(7) A trained school employee volunteer who administers a seizure rescue medication in
accordance with this section in good faith is not liable in a civil or criminal action for an act
taken or not taken under this section.

(8) Section 53A-11-601 does not apply to the administration of a seizure rescue medication.
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(9) Section 53A-11-904 does not apply to the possession of a seizure rescue medication in
accordance with this section.

(10)
(a) The unlawful or unprofessional conduct provisions of Title 58, Occupations and Professions,

do not apply to a person licensed as a health care professional under Title 58, Occupations
and Professions, including a nurse, physician, or pharmacist for, in good faith, training a
nonlicensed school employee who volunteers to administer a seizure rescue medication in
accordance with this section.

(b) Allowing a trained school employee volunteer to administer a seizure rescue medication in
accordance with this section does not constitute unlawful or inappropriate delegation under
Title 58, Occupations and Professions.

Enacted by Chapter 423, 2016 General Session

53A-11-604 Diabetes medication -- Possession -- Self-administration.
(1) As used in this section, "diabetes medication" means prescription or nonprescription medication

used to treat diabetes, including related medical devices, supplies, and equipment used to treat
diabetes.

(2) A public school shall permit a student to possess or possess and self-administer diabetes
medication if:

(a) the student's parent or guardian signs a statement:
(i) authorizing the student to possess or possess and self-administer diabetes medication; and
(ii) acknowledging that the student is responsible for, and capable of, possessing or possessing

and self-administering the diabetes medication; and
(b) the student's health care provider provides a written statement that states:

(i) it is medically appropriate for the student to possess or possess and self-administer diabetes
medication and the student should be in possession of diabetes medication at all times; and

(ii) the name of the diabetes medication prescribed or authorized for the student's use.
(3) The Utah Department of Health, in cooperation with the state superintendent of public

instruction, shall design forms to be used by public schools for the parental and health care
provider statements described in Subsection (2).

(4) Section 53A-11-904 does not apply to the possession and self-administration of diabetes
medication in accordance with this section.

Enacted by Chapter 215, 2006 General Session

53A-11-605 Definitions -- School personnel -- Medical recommendations -- Exceptions --
Penalties.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Health care professional" means a physician, physician assistant, nurse, dentist, or mental
health therapist.

(b) "School personnel" means a school district or charter school employee, including a licensed,
part-time, contract, or nonlicensed employee.

(2) School personnel may:
(a) provide information and observations to a student's parent or guardian about that student,

including observations and concerns in the following areas:
(i) progress;
(ii) health and wellness;
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(iii) social interactions;
(iv) behavior; or
(v) topics consistent with Subsection 53A-13-302(6);

(b) communicate information and observations between school personnel regarding a child;
(c) refer students to other appropriate school personnel and agents, consistent with local school

board or charter school policy, including referrals and communication with a school counselor
or other mental health professionals working within the school system;

(d) consult or use appropriate health care professionals in the event of an emergency while the
student is at school, consistent with the student emergency information provided at student
enrollment;

(e) exercise their authority relating to the placement within the school or readmission of a child
who may be or has been suspended or expelled for a violation of Section 53A-11-904; and

(f) complete a behavioral health evaluation form if requested by a student's parent or guardian to
provide information to a licensed physician.

(3) School personnel shall:
(a) report suspected child abuse consistent with Section 62A-4a-403;
(b) comply with applicable state and local health department laws, rules, and policies; and
(c) conduct evaluations and assessments consistent with the Individuals with Disabilities

Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq., and its subsequent amendments.
(4) Except as provided in Subsection (2), Subsection (6), and Section 53A-11a-203, school

personnel may not:
(a) recommend to a parent or guardian that a child take or continue to take a psychotropic

medication;
(b) require that a student take or continue to take a psychotropic medication as a condition for

attending school;
(c) recommend that a parent or guardian seek or use a type of psychiatric or psychological

treatment for a child;
(d) conduct a psychiatric or behavioral health evaluation or mental health screening, test,

evaluation, or assessment of a child, except where this Subsection (4)(d) conflicts with the
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq., and its subsequent
amendments; or

(e) make a child abuse or neglect report to authorities, including the Division of Child and Family
Services, solely or primarily on the basis that a parent or guardian refuses to consent to:

(i) a psychiatric, psychological, or behavioral treatment for a child, including the administration
of a psychotropic medication to a child; or

(ii) a psychiatric or behavioral health evaluation of a child.
(5) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(e), school personnel may make a report that would otherwise

be prohibited under Subsection (4)(e) if failure to take the action described under Subsection
(4)(e) would present a serious, imminent risk to the child's safety or the safety of others.

(6) Notwithstanding Subsection (4), a school counselor or other mental health professional acting
in accordance with Title 58, Chapter 60, Mental Health Professional Practice Act, or licensed
through the State Board of Education, working within the school system may:

(a) recommend, but not require, a psychiatric or behavioral health evaluation of a child;
(b) recommend, but not require, psychiatric, psychological, or behavioral treatment for a child;
(c) conduct a psychiatric or behavioral health evaluation or mental health screening, test,

evaluation, or assessment of a child in accordance with Section 53A-13-302; and
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(d) provide to a parent or guardian, upon the specific request of the parent or guardian, a list
of three or more health care professionals or providers, including licensed physicians,
psychologists, or other health specialists.

(7) Local school boards or charter schools shall adopt a policy:
(a) providing for training of appropriate school personnel on the provisions of this section; and
(b) indicating that an intentional violation of this section is cause for disciplinary action consistent

with local school board or charter school policy and under Section 53A-8a-502.
(8) Nothing in this section shall be interpreted as discouraging general communication not

prohibited by this section between school personnel and a student's parent or guardian.

Amended by Chapter 335, 2013 General Session

Part 8
Physical Restraint Guidelines

53A-11-801 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Child" or "minor child" means a person:
(a) under the age of 18; or
(b) under the age of 23 who is receiving educational services as an individual with a disability.

(2) "Corporal punishment" means the intentional infliction of physical pain upon the body of a minor
child as a disciplinary measure.

(3) "School" means any public or private elementary or secondary school, pre-school, care center,
nursery school, or business which receives compensation for supervising or educating a child.

Enacted by Chapter 251, 1992 General Session

53A-11-802 Prohibition of corporal punishment -- Use of reasonable and necessary physical
restraint or force.
(1) A school employee may not inflict or cause the infliction of corporal punishment upon a child

who is receiving services from the school, unless written permission has been given by the
student's parent or guardian to do so.

(2) This section does not prohibit the use of reasonable and necessary physical restraint or force in
self defense or otherwise appropriate to the circumstances to:

(a) obtain possession of a weapon or other dangerous object in the possession or under the
control of a child;

(b) protect the child or another person from physical injury;
(c) remove from a situation a child who is violent or disruptive; or
(d) protect property from being damaged.

(3)
(a) Any rule, ordinance, policy, practice, or directive which purports to direct or permit the

commission of an act prohibited by this part is void and unenforceable.
(b) An employee may not be subjected to any sanction for failure or refusal to commit an act

prohibited under this part.
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(4) A parochial or private school may exempt itself from the provisions of this section by adopting
a policy to that effect and notifying the parents or guardians of children in the school of the
exemption.

Enacted by Chapter 251, 1992 General Session

53A-11-803 Investigation of complaint -- Confidentiality -- Immunity.
(1)

(a) The reporting and investigation requirements of Title 62A, Chapter 4a, Part 4, Child Abuse or
Neglect Reporting Requirements, apply to complaints on corporal punishment.

(b) If a violation is confirmed, school authorities shall take prompt and appropriate action,
including in-service training and other administrative action, to ensure against a repetition of
the violation.

(2) Reports made on violations of this part are subject to the same requirements of confidentiality
as provided under Section 62A-4a-412.

(3) Any school or individual who in good faith makes a report or cooperates in an investigation by
a school or authorized public agency concerning a violation of this part is immune from any civil
or criminal liability that might otherwise result by reason of those actions.

Amended by Chapter 260, 1994 General Session

53A-11-804 Liability.
(1)

(a) Corporal punishment which would, but for this part, be considered to be reasonable discipline
of a minor under Section 76-2-401 may not be used as a basis for any civil or criminal action.

(b) A court of competent jurisdiction may take appropriate action against any employing entity
if the court finds that the employing entity has not taken reasonable steps to enforce the
provisions of this part.

(2) Civil or criminal action may proceed without hindrance in the case of corporal punishment which
would not be reasonable discipline under Sections 76-2-401 and 53A-11-805.

Enacted by Chapter 251, 1992 General Session

53A-11-805 Exception.
          Behavior reduction intervention which is in compliance with Section 76-2-401 and with state and

local rules adopted under Section 53A-15-301 is excepted from this part.

Enacted by Chapter 251, 1992 General Session

53A-11-806 Defacing or injuring school property -- Student's liability -- Voluntary work
program alternative.
(1) Any student who willfully defaces or otherwise injures any school property may be suspended

or otherwise disciplined.
(2)

(a) Any school district whose property has been lost or willfully cut, defaced, or otherwise
injured may withhold the issuance of official written grade reports, diploma, and transcripts
of the student responsible for the damage or loss until the student or the student's parent or
guardian has paid for the damages.
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(b) The student's parent or guardian is liable for damages as otherwise provided in Section
78A-6-1113.

(3)
(a) If the student and the student's parent or guardian are unable to pay for the damages or if it is

determined by the school in consultation with the student's parents that the student's interests
would not be served if the parents were to pay for the damages, then, the school district shall
provide for a program of voluntary work for the student in lieu of the payment.

(b) The district shall release the official grades, diploma, and transcripts of the student upon
completion of the voluntary work.

(4) Before any penalties are assessed under this section, the local school board shall adopt
procedures to insure that the student's right to due process is protected.

(5) No penalty may be assessed for damages which may be reasonably attributed to normal wear
and tear.

(6) If the Department of Human Services or a licensed child-placing agency has been granted
custody of the student, that student's records, if requested by the department or agency, may
not be withheld from the department or agency for nonpayment of damages under this section.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session

Part 9
School Discipline and Conduct Plans

53A-11-901 Public school discipline policies -- Basis of the policies -- Enforcement.
(1) The Legislature recognizes that every student in the public schools should have the opportunity

to learn in an environment which is safe, conducive to the learning process, and free from
unnecessary disruption.

(2)
(a) To foster such an environment, each local school board or governing board of a charter

school, with input from school employees, parents and guardians of students, students, and
the community at large, shall adopt conduct and discipline policies for the public schools.

(b) Each district or charter school shall base its policies on the principle that every student is
expected:

(i) to follow accepted rules of conduct; and
(ii) to show respect for other people and to obey persons in authority at the school.

(c)
(i) On or before September 1, 2015, the State Board of Education shall revise the conduct

and discipline policy models for elementary and secondary public schools to include
procedures for responding to reports received through the School Safety and Crisis Line
under Subsection 53A-11-1503(3).

(ii) Each district or charter school shall use the models, where appropriate, in developing its
conduct and discipline policies under this chapter.

(d) The policies shall emphasize that certain behavior, most particularly behavior which disrupts,
is unacceptable and may result in disciplinary action.

(3) The local superintendent and designated employees of the district or charter school shall
enforce the policies so that students demonstrating unacceptable behavior and their parents
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or guardians understand that such behavior will not be tolerated and will be dealt with in
accordance with the district's conduct and discipline policies.

Amended by Chapter 442, 2015 General Session

53A-11-901.5 Period of silence.
          A teacher may provide for the observance of a period of silence each school day in a public

school.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 10, 1997 General Session

53A-11-902 Conduct and discipline policies and procedures.
          The conduct and discipline policies required under Section 53A-11-901 shall include:

(1) provisions governing student conduct, safety, and welfare;
(2) standards and procedures for dealing with students who cause disruption in the classroom, on

school grounds, on school vehicles, or in connection with school-related activities or events;
(3) procedures for the development of remedial discipline plans for students who cause a

disruption at any of the places referred to in Subsection (2);
(4) procedures for the use of reasonable and necessary physical restraint or force in dealing with

disruptive students, consistent with Section 53A-11-802;
(5) standards and procedures for dealing with student conduct in locations other than those

referred to in Subsection (2), if the conduct threatens harm or does harm to:
(a) the school;
(b) school property;
(c) a person associated with the school; or
(d) property associated with a person described in Subsection (5)(c);

(6) procedures for the imposition of disciplinary sanctions, including suspension and expulsion;
(7) specific provisions, consistent with Section 53A-15-603, for preventing and responding to gang-

related activities in the school, on school grounds, on school vehicles, or in connection with
school-related activities or events;

(8) standards and procedures for dealing with habitual disruptive student behavior in accordance
with the provisions of this part; and

(9) procedures for responding to reports received through the School Safety and Crisis Line under
Subsection 53A-11-1503(3).

Amended by Chapter 442, 2015 General Session

53A-11-903 Suspension and expulsion procedures -- Notice to parents -- Distribution of
policies.
(1)

(a) Policies required under this part shall include written procedures for the suspension and
expulsion of, or denial of admission to, a student, consistent with due process and other
provisions of law.

(b)
(i) The policies required in Subsection (1)(a) shall include a procedure directing public schools

to notify the custodial parent and, if requested in writing by a noncustodial parent, the
noncustodial parent of the suspension and expulsion of, or denial of admission to, a student.
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(ii) Subsection (1)(b)(i) does not apply to that portion of school records which would disclose
any information protected under a court order.

(iii) The custodial parent is responsible for providing to the school a certified copy of the court
order under Subsection (1)(b)(ii) through a procedure adopted by the local school board or
the governing board of a charter school.

(2)
(a) Each local school board or governing board of a charter school shall provide for the

distribution of a copy of a school's discipline and conduct policy to each student upon
enrollment in the school.

(b) A copy of the policy shall be posted in a prominent location in each school.
(c) Any significant change in a school's conduct and discipline policy shall be distributed to

students in the school and posted in the school in a prominent location.

Amended by Chapter 161, 2007 General Session

53A-11-904 Grounds for suspension or expulsion from a public school.
(1) A student may be suspended or expelled from a public school for any of the following reasons:

(a) frequent or flagrant willful disobedience, defiance of proper authority, or disruptive behavior,
including the use of foul, profane, vulgar, or abusive language;

(b) willful destruction or defacing of school property;
(c) behavior or threatened behavior which poses an immediate and significant threat to the

welfare, safety, or morals of other students or school personnel or to the operation of the
school;

(d) possession, control, or use of an alcoholic beverage as defined in Section 32B-1-102;
(e) behavior proscribed under Subsection (2) which threatens harm or does harm to the school

or school property, to a person associated with the school, or property associated with that
person, regardless of where it occurs; or

(f) possession or use of pornographic material on school property.
(2)

(a) A student shall be suspended or expelled from a public school for any of the following
reasons:

(i) any serious violation affecting another student or a staff member, or any serious violation
occurring in a school building, in or on school property, or in conjunction with any school
activity, including:

(A) the possession, control, or actual or threatened use of a real weapon, explosive, or
noxious or flammable material;

(B) the actual or threatened use of a look alike weapon with intent to intimidate another
person or to disrupt normal school activities; or

(C) the sale, control, or distribution of a drug or controlled substance as defined in Section
58-37-2, an imitation controlled substance defined in Section 58-37b-2, or drug
paraphernalia as defined in Section 58-37a-3; or

(ii) the commission of an act involving the use of force or the threatened use of force which if
committed by an adult would be a felony or class A misdemeanor.

(b) A student who commits a violation of Subsection (2)(a) involving a real or look alike weapon,
explosive, or flammable material shall be expelled from school for a period of not less than
one year subject to the following:

(i) within 45 days after the expulsion the student shall appear before the student's local school
board superintendent, the superintendent's designee, chief administrative officer of a charter
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school, or the chief administrative officer's designee, accompanied by a parent or legal
guardian; and

(ii) the superintendent, chief administrator, or designee shall determine:
(A) what conditions must be met by the student and the student's parent for the student to

return to school;
(B) if the student should be placed on probation in a regular or alternative school setting

consistent with Section 53A-11-907, and what conditions must be met by the student in
order to ensure the safety of students and faculty at the school the student is placed in;
and

(C) if it would be in the best interest of both the school district or charter school, and the
student, to modify the expulsion term to less than a year, conditioned on approval by the
local school board or governing board of a charter school and giving highest priority to
providing a safe school environment for all students.

(3) A student may be denied admission to a public school on the basis of having been expelled
from that or any other school during the preceding 12 months.

(4) A suspension or expulsion under this section is not subject to the age limitations under
Subsection 53A-11-102(1).

(5) Each local school board and governing board of a charter school shall prepare an annual report
for the State Board of Education on:

(a) each violation committed under this section; and
(b) each action taken by the school district against a student who committed the violation.

Amended by Chapter 276, 2010 General Session

53A-11-905 Delegation of authority to suspend or expel a student -- Procedure for
suspension -- Readmission.
(1)

(a) A local board of education may delegate to any school principal or assistant principal within
the school district the power to suspend a student in the principal's school for up to 10 school
days.

(b) A governing board of a charter school may delegate to the chief administrative officer of the
charter school the power to suspend a student in the charter school for up to 10 school days.

(2) The board may suspend a student for up to one school year or delegate that power to  the
district superintendent, the superintendent's designee, or chief administrative officer of a charter
school.

(3) The board may expel a student for a fixed or indefinite period, provided that the expulsion
shall be reviewed by the district superintendent or the superintendent's designee and the
conclusions reported to the board, at least once each year.

(4) If a student is suspended, a designated school official shall notify the parent or guardian of the
student of the following without delay:

(a) that the student has been suspended;
(b) the grounds for the suspension;
(c) the period of time for which the student is suspended; and
(d) the time and place for the parent or guardian to meet with a designated school official to

review the suspension.
(5)

(a) A suspended student shall immediately leave the school building and the school grounds
following a determination by the school of the best way to transfer custody of the student to
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the parent or guardian or other person authorized by the parent or applicable law to accept
custody of the student.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in Subsection (5)(c), a suspended student may not be
readmitted to a public school until:

(i) the student and the parent or guardian have met with a designated school official to review
the suspension and agreed upon a plan to avoid recurrence of the problem; or

(ii) in the discretion of the principal or chief administrative officer of a charter school, the parent
or guardian of the suspended student and the student have agreed to participate in such a
meeting.

(c) A suspension may not extend beyond 10 school days unless the student and the student's
parent or guardian have been given a reasonable opportunity to meet with a designated
school official and respond to the allegations and proposed disciplinary action.

Amended by Chapter 161, 2007 General Session

53A-11-906 Alternatives to suspension or expulsion.
(1) Each local school board or governing board of a charter school shall establish:

(a) policies providing that prior to suspending or expelling a student for repeated acts of willful
disobedience, defiance of authority, or disruptive behavior which are not of such a violent
or extreme nature that immediate removal is required, good faith efforts shall be made to
implement a remedial discipline plan that would allow the student to remain in school; and

(b) alternatives to suspension, including policies that allow a student to remain in school under an
in-school suspension program or under a program allowing the parent or guardian, with the
consent of the student's teacher or teachers, to attend class with the student for a period of
time specified by a designated school official.

(2) If the parent or guardian does not agree or fails to attend class with the student, the student
shall be suspended in accordance with the conduct and discipline policies of the district or the
school.

(3) The parent or guardian of a suspended student and the designated school official may enlist
the cooperation of the Division of Child and Family Services, the juvenile court, or other
appropriate state agencies, if necessary, in dealing with the student's suspension.

(4) The state superintendent of public instruction, in cooperation with school districts and charter
schools, shall:

(a) research methods of motivating and providing incentives to students that:
(i) directly and regularly reward or recognize appropriate behavior;
(ii) impose immediate and direct consequences on students who fail to comply with district or

school standards of conduct; and
(iii) keep the students in school, or otherwise continue student learning with appropriate

supervision or accountability;
(b) explore funding resources to implement methods of motivating and providing incentives to

students that meet the criteria specified in Subsection (4)(a);
(c) evaluate the benefits and costs of methods of motivating and providing incentives to students

that meet the criteria specified in Subsection (4)(a);
(d) publish a report that incorporates the research findings, provides model plans with suggested

resource pools, and makes recommendations for local school boards and school personnel;
(e) submit the report described in Subsection (4)(d) to the Education Interim Committee; and
(f) maintain data for purposes of accountability, later reporting, and future analysis.
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Amended by Chapter 82, 2007 General Session
Amended by Chapter 161, 2007 General Session

53A-11-907 Student suspended or expelled -- Responsibility of parent or guardian --
Application for students with disabilities.
(1) If a student is suspended or expelled from a public school under this part for more than 10

school days, the parent or guardian is responsible for undertaking an alternative education plan
which will ensure that the student's education continues during the period of suspension or
expulsion.

(2)
(a) The parent or guardian shall work with designated school officials to determine how that

responsibility might best be met through private education, an alternative program offered by
or through the district or charter school, or other alternative which will reasonably meet the
educational needs of the student.

(b) The parent or guardian and designated school official may enlist the cooperation of the
Division of Child and Family Services, the juvenile court, or other appropriate state agencies
to meet the student's educational needs.

(3) Costs for educational services which are not provided by the school district or charter school
are the responsibility of the student's parent or guardian.

(4)
(a) Each school district or charter school shall maintain a record of all suspended or expelled

students and a notation of the recorded suspension or expulsion shall be attached to the
individual student's transcript.

(b) The district or charter school shall contact the parent or guardian of each suspended or
expelled student under the age of 16 at least once each month to determine the student's
progress.

(5)
(a) This part applies to students with disabilities to the extent permissible under applicable law or

regulation.
(b) If application of any requirement of this part to a student with a disability is not permissible

under applicable law or regulation, the responsible school authority shall implement other
actions consistent with the conflicting law or regulation which shall most closely correspond to
the requirements of this part.

Amended by Chapter 161, 2007 General Session

53A-11-908 Extracurricular activities -- Prohibited conduct -- Reporting of violations --
Limitation of liability.
(1) The Legislature recognizes that:

(a) participation in student government and extracurricular activities may confer important
educational and lifetime benefits upon students, and encourages school districts and charter
schools to provide a variety of opportunities for all students to participate in such activities in
meaningful ways;

(b) there is no constitutional right to participate in these types of activities, and does not through
this section or any other provision of law create such a right;

(c) students who participate in student government and extracurricular activities, particularly
competitive athletics, and the adult coaches, advisors, and assistants who direct those
activities, become role models for others in the school and community;
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(d) these individuals often play major roles in establishing standards of acceptable behavior in
the school and community, and establishing and maintaining the reputation of the school and
the level of community confidence and support afforded the school; and

(e) it is of the utmost importance that those involved in student government, whether as
officers or advisors, and those involved in competitive athletics and related activities,
whether students or staff, comply with all applicable laws and rules of behavior and conduct
themselves at all times in a manner befitting their positions and responsibilities.

(2)
(a) The State Board of Education may, and local boards of education and governing boards of

charter schools shall, adopt rules implementing this section that apply to both students and
staff.

(b) Those rules shall include prohibitions against the following types of conduct, while in
the classroom, on school property, during school sponsored activities, or regardless of
the location or circumstance, affecting a person or property described in Subsections
53A-11-902(5)(a) through (d):

(i) use of foul, abusive, or profane language while engaged in school related activities;
(ii) illicit use, possession, or distribution of controlled substances or drug paraphernalia, and the

use, possession, or distribution of an electronic cigarette as defined in Section 76-10-101,
tobacco, or alcoholic beverages contrary to law; and

(iii) hazing, demeaning, or assaultive behavior, whether consensual or not, including behavior
involving physical violence, restraint, improper touching, or inappropriate exposure of body
parts not normally exposed in public settings, forced ingestion of any substance, or any act
which would constitute a crime against a person or public order under Utah law.

(3)
(a) School employees who reasonably believe that a violation of this section may have occurred

shall immediately report that belief to the school principal, district superintendent, or chief
administrative officer of a charter school.

(b) Principals who receive a report under Subsection (3)(a) shall submit a report of the alleged
incident, and actions taken in response, to the district superintendent or the superintendent's
designee within 10 working days after receipt of the report.

(c) Failure of a person holding a professional certificate to report as required under this
Subsection (3) constitutes an unprofessional practice.

(4) Limitations of liability set forth under Section 53A-11-1004 apply to this section.

Amended by Chapter 114, 2010 General Session

53A-11-910 Disruptive student behavior.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Disruptive student behavior" includes:
(i) the grounds for suspension or expulsion described in Section 53A-11-904; and
(ii) the conduct described in Subsection 53A-11-908(2)(b).

(b) "Parent" includes:
(i) a custodial parent of a school-age minor;
(ii) a legally appointed guardian of a school-age minor; or
(iii) any other person purporting to exercise any authority over the minor which could be

exercised by a person described in Subsection (1)(b)(i) or (ii).
(c) "Qualifying minor" means a school-age minor who:

(i) is at least nine years old; or
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(ii) turns nine years old at any time during the school year.
(d) "School year" means the period of time designated by a local school board or local charter

board as the school year for the school where the school-age minor is enrolled.
(2) A local school board, school district, governing board of a charter school, or charter school may

impose administrative penalties on a school-age minor who violates this part.
(3)

(a) It is unlawful for a school-age minor to engage in disruptive student behavior.
(b) A qualifying minor is subject to the jurisdiction of the juvenile court if the qualifying minor:

(i) engages in disruptive student behavior, that does not result in suspension or expulsion, at
least six times during the school year;

(ii)
(A) engages in disruptive student behavior, that does not result in suspension or expulsion, at

least three times during the school year; and
(B) engages in disruptive student behavior, that results in suspension or expulsion, at least

once during the school year; or
(iii) engages in disruptive student behavior, that results in suspension or expulsion, at least

twice during the school year.
(4)

(a) A local school board or governing board of a charter school shall:
(i) authorize a school administrator or a designee of a school administrator to issue notices of

disruptive student behavior to qualifying minors; and
(ii) establish a procedure for a qualifying minor, or a qualifying minor's parent, to contest a

notice of disruptive student behavior.
(b) A school representative shall provide to a parent of a school-age minor, a list of resources

available to assist the parent in resolving the school-age minor's disruptive student behavior
problem.

(c) A local school board or governing board of a charter school shall establish procedures
for a school counselor or other designated school representative to work with a qualifying
minor who engages in disruptive student behavior in order to attempt to resolve the minor's
disruptive student behavior problems before the qualifying minor becomes subject to the
jurisdiction of the juvenile court as provided for under this section.

(5) The notice of disruptive student behavior described in Subsection (4)(a):
(a) shall be issued to a qualifying minor who:

(i) engages in disruptive student behavior, that does not result in suspension or expulsion, three
times during the school year; or

(ii) engages in disruptive student behavior, that results in suspension or expulsion, once during
the school year;

(b) shall require that the qualifying minor and a parent of the qualifying minor:
(i) meet with school authorities to discuss the qualifying minor's disruptive student behavior;

and
(ii) cooperate with the local school board or governing board of a charter school in correcting

the school-age minor's disruptive student behavior;
(c) shall contain a statement indicating:

(i) the number of additional times that, if the qualifying minor engages in disruptive student
behavior that does not result in suspension or expulsion, will result in the qualifying minor
receiving a habitual disruptive student behavior citation; and
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(ii) that the qualifying minor will receive a habitual disruptive student behavior citation if the
qualifying minor engages in disruptive student behavior that results in suspension or
expulsion; and

(d) shall be mailed by certified mail to, or served on, a parent of the qualifying minor.
(6) A habitual disruptive student behavior citation:

(a) may only be issued to a qualifying minor who:
(i) engages in disruptive student behavior, that does not result in suspension or expulsion, at

least six times during the school year;
(ii)

(A) engages in disruptive student behavior, that does not result in suspension or expulsion, at
least three times during the school year; and

(B) engages in disruptive student behavior, that results in suspension or expulsion, at least
once during the school year; or

(iii) engages in disruptive student behavior, that results in suspension or expulsion, at least
twice during the school year; and

(b) may only be issued by a school administrator, a designee of a school administrator, or a
truancy specialist, who is authorized by a local school board or governing board of a local
charter school to issue habitual disruptive student behavior citations.

(7)
(a) A qualifying minor to whom a habitual disruptive student behavior citation is issued under

Subsection (6) shall be referred to the juvenile court for violation of Subsection (3).
(b) Within five days after the day on which a habitual disruptive student behavior citation is

issued, a representative of the school district or charter school shall provide documentation,
to a parent of the qualifying minor who receives the citation, of the efforts made by a school
counselor or representative under Subsection (4)(c).

(8) Nothing in this part prohibits a local school board, school district, governing board of a charter
school, or charter school from taking any lawful action not in conflict with the provisions of
this section, including action described in this part and action relating to a habitually truant or
ungovernable child, to address a disruptive student behavior problem of:

(a) a school-age minor who is not a qualifying minor; or
(b) a qualifying minor, regardless of the number of times that the qualifying minor has engaged in

disruptive student behavior during the school year.

Amended by Chapter 250, 2008 General Session

Part 10
Notification

53A-11-1001 Notification by juvenile court and law enforcement agencies.
(1) Notifications received from the juvenile court or law enforcement agencies by the school district

pursuant to Subsections 78A-6-112(3)(b) and 78A-6-117(1)(b) are governed by this part.
(2) School districts may enter into agreements with law enforcement agencies for notification under

Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session
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53A-11-1002 Superintendent required to notify school.
(1) Within three days of receiving the information from the juvenile court or a law enforcement

agency, the district superintendent shall notify the principal of the school the juvenile attends or
last attended.

(2) Upon receipt of the information, the principal shall:
(a) make a notation in a secure file other than the student's permanent file; and
(b) if the student is still enrolled in the school, notify staff members who, in his opinion, should

know of the adjudication.
(3) A person receiving information pursuant to this part may only disclose the information to other

persons having both a right and a current need to know.
(4) Access to secure files shall be limited to persons authorized to receive information under this

part.

Amended by Chapter 102, 2004 General Session

53A-11-1003 Board to set procedures.
          The State Board of Education shall make rules governing the dissemination of the information.

Enacted by Chapter 256, 1994 General Session

53A-11-1004 Liability for release of information.
(1) The district superintendent, principal, and any staff member notified by the principal may not be

held liable for information which may become public knowledge unless it can be shown by clear
and convincing evidence that the information became public knowledge through an intentional
act of the superintendent, principal, or a staff member.

(2) A person receiving information under Subsection 78A-6-112(3)(b), 78A-6-117(1)(b), or Section
53A-11-1002 is immune from any liability, civil or criminal, for acting or failing to act in response
to the information unless the person acts or fails to act due to malice, gross negligence, or
deliberate indifference to the consequences.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session

Part 11
Weapons on School Property

53A-11-1101 Notification of teachers of weapons on school property -- Immunity from civil
and criminal liability.
(1) Whenever a student is found on school property during school hours or at a school-sponsored

activity in possession of a dangerous weapon and that information is reported to or known
by the principal, the principal shall notify law enforcement personnel and school or district
personnel who, in the opinion of the principal, should be informed.

(2) A person who in good faith reports information under Subsection (1) and any person who
receives the information is immune from any liability, civil or criminal, that might otherwise result
from the reporting or receipt of the information.

Enacted by Chapter 256, 1994 General Session
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Part 12
Student Clubs Act

53A-11-1201 Title.
          This part is known as the "Student Clubs Act."

Enacted by Chapter 114, 2007 General Session

53A-11-1202 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Bigotry" means action or advocacy of imminent action involving:
(a) the harassment or denigration of a person or entity; or
(b) any intent to cause a person not to freely enjoy or exercise any right secured by the

constitution or laws of the United States or the state, except that an evaluation or prohibition
may not be made of the truth or falsity of any religious belief or expression of conscience
unless the means of expression or conduct arising therefrom violates the standards of
conduct outlined in this section, Section 53A-13-101.3, or 20 U.S.C. Section 4071(f).

(2) "Club" means any student organization that meets during noninstructional time.
(3) "Conscience" means a standard based upon learned experiences, a personal philosophy or

system of belief, religious teachings or doctrine, an absolute or external sense of right and
wrong which is felt on an individual basis, a belief in an external absolute, or any combination of
the foregoing.

(4) "Curricular club" means a club that is school sponsored and that may receive leadership,
direction, and support from the school or school district beyond providing a meeting place
during noninstructional time.  An elementary school curricular club means a club that is
organized and directed by school sponsors at the elementary school.  A secondary school
curricular club means a club:

(a) whose subject matter is taught or will soon be taught in a regular course;
(b) whose subject matter concerns the body of courses as a whole;
(c) in which participation is required for a particular course; or
(d) in which participation results in academic credit.

(5)
(a) "Discretionary time" means school-related time for students that is not instructional time.
(b) "Discretionary time" includes free time before and after school, during lunch and between

classes or on buses, and private time before athletic and other events or activities.
(6)

(a) "Encourage criminal or delinquent conduct" means action or advocacy of imminent action that
violates any law or administrative rule.

(b) "Encourage criminal or delinquent conduct" does not include discussions concerning
changing of laws or rules, or actions taken through lawfully established channels to effectuate
such change.

(7)
(a) "Instructional time" means time during which a school is responsible for a student and the

student is required or expected to be actively engaged in a learning activity.
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(b) "Instructional time" includes instructional activities in the classroom or study hall during
regularly scheduled hours, required activities outside the classroom, and counseling, private
conferences, or tutoring provided by school employees or volunteers acting in their official
capacities during or outside of regular school hours.

(8) "Involve human sexuality" means:
(a) presenting information in violation of laws governing sex education, including Sections

53A-13-101 and 53A-13-302;
(b) advocating or engaging in sexual activity outside of legally recognized marriage or forbidden

by state law; or
(c) presenting or discussing information relating to the use of contraceptive devices or

substances, regardless of whether the use is for purposes of contraception or personal
health.

(9) "Limited open forum" means a forum created by a school district or charter school for student
expression within the constraints of Subsection 53A-13-101.3(2)(b).

(10) "Noncurricular club" is a student initiated group that may be authorized and allowed school
facilities use during noninstructional time in secondary schools by a school and school
governing board in accordance with the provisions of this part.  A noncurricular club's meetings,
ideas, and activities are not sponsored or endorsed in any way by a school governing board,
the school, or by school or school district employees.

(11) "Noninstructional time" means time set aside by a school before instructional time begins or
after instructional time ends, including discretionary time.

(12) "Religious club" means a noncurricular club designated in its application as either being
religiously based or based on expression or conduct mandated by conscience.

(13) "School" means a public school, including a charter school.
(14)

(a) "School facilities use" means access to a school facility, premises, or playing field.
(b) "School facilities use" includes access to a limited open forum.

(15) "School governing board" means a local school board or charter school board.

Amended by Chapter 403, 2011 General Session

53A-11-1203 Student clubs -- Limited open forum -- Authorization.
(1)

(a) A school may establish and maintain a limited open forum for student clubs pursuant to the
provisions of this part, State Board of Education rules, and school governing board policies.

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions under Subsection (1)(a), a school retains the right to create a
closed forum at any time by allowing curricular clubs only.

(2)
(a) A school shall review applications for authorization of clubs on a case-by-case basis.
(b) Before granting an authorization, the school shall find:

(i) that the proposed club meets this part's respective requirements of a curricular club or a
noncurricular club; and

(ii) that the proposed club's purpose and activities comply with this part.
(c) Before granting an authorization, a school may request additional information from the faculty

sponsor, from students proposing the club, or from its school governing board, if desired.
(3) A school shall grant authorization and school facilities use to curricular and noncurricular clubs

whose applications are found to meet the requirements of this part, rules of the State Board of
Education, and policies of the school governing board and shall limit or deny authorization or
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school facilities use to proposed clubs that do not meet the requirements of this part, rules of
the State Board of Education, and policies of the school governing board.

Amended by Chapter 403, 2011 General Session

53A-11-1204 Curricular clubs -- Authorization.
(1) Faculty members or students proposing a curricular club shall submit written application for

authorization on a form approved by the school governing board.
(2) A school governing board may exempt a club whose membership is determined by student

body election or a club that is governed by an association that regulates interscholastic
activities from the authorization requirements under this section.

(3) An application for authorization of a curricular club shall include:
(a) the recommended club name;
(b) a statement of the club's purpose, goals, and activities;
(c) a statement of the club's categorization, which shall be included in the parental consent

required under Section 53A-11-1210, indicating all of the following that may apply:
(i) athletic;
(ii) business/economic;
(iii) agriculture;
(iv) art/music/performance;
(v) science;
(vi) gaming;
(vii) religious;
(viii) community service/social justice; and
(ix) other;

(d) the recommended meeting times, dates, and places;
(e) a statement that the club will comply with the provisions of this part and all other applicable

laws, rules, or policies; and
(f) a budget showing the amount and source of any funding provided or to be provided to the club

and its proposed use.
(4) The application may be as brief as a single page so long as it contains the items required under

this section.
(5) A school shall approve the name of a curricular club consistent with the club's purposes and its

school sponsorship.
(6)

(a) A school shall determine curriculum relatedness by strictly applying this part's definition of
curricular club to the club application.

(b) If the school finds that the proposed club is a curricular club, the school shall continue to
review the application as an application for authorization of a curricular club.

(c) If the school finds that the proposed club is a noncurricular club, the school may:
(i) return the application to the faculty member or students proposing the club for amendment;

or
(ii) review the application as an application for authorization of a noncurricular club.

(7)
(a) Only curricular clubs may be authorized for elementary schools.
(b) A school governing body may limit, or permit a secondary school to limit, the authorization of

clubs at the secondary school to only curricular clubs.
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Enacted by Chapter 114, 2007 General Session

53A-11-1205 Noncurricular clubs -- Annual authorization.
(1) A noncurricular club shall have a minimum of three members.
(2) Students proposing a noncurricular club shall submit a written application for authorization on a

form approved by the school governing board.
(3) An application for authorization of a noncurricular club shall include:

(a) the recommended club name;
(b) a statement of the club's purpose, goals, and activities;
(c) a statement of the club's categorization, which shall be included in the parental consent

required under Section 53A-11-1210, indicating all of the following that may apply:
(i) athletic;
(ii) business/economic;
(iii) agriculture;
(iv) art/music/performance;
(v) science;
(vi) gaming;
(vii) religious;
(viii) community service/social justice; and
(ix) other;

(d) the recommended meeting times, dates, and places;
(e) a statement that the club will comply with the provisions of this part and all other applicable

laws, rules, or policies; and
(f) a budget showing the amount and source of any funding provided or to be provided to the club

and its proposed use.
(4) The application may be as brief as a single page so long as it contains the items required under

this section.
(5)

(a) A school governing board may provide for approval of a noncurricular club name in an action
separate from that relating to authorization of the club itself.

(b) A school governing board shall require:
(i) that a noncurricular club name shall reasonably reflect the club's purpose, goals, and

activities; and
(ii) that the noncurricular club name shall be a name that would not result in or imply a violation

of this part.

Enacted by Chapter 114, 2007 General Session

53A-11-1206 Clubs -- Limitations and denials.
(1) A school shall limit or deny authorization or school facilities use to a club, or require changes

prior to granting authorization or school facilities use:
(a) as the school determines it to be necessary to:

(i) protect the physical, emotional, psychological, or moral well-being of students and faculty;
(ii) maintain order and discipline on school premises;
(iii) prevent a material and substantial interference with the orderly conduct of a school's

educational activities;
(iv) protect the rights of parents or guardians and students;
(v) maintain the boundaries of socially appropriate behavior; or
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(vi) ensure compliance with all applicable laws, rules, regulations, and policies; or
(b) if a club's proposed charter and proposed activities indicate students or advisors in club

related activities would as a substantial, material, or significant part of their conduct or means
of expression:

(i) encourage criminal or delinquent conduct;
(ii) promote bigotry;
(iii) involve human sexuality; or
(iv) involve any effort to engage in or conduct mental health therapy, counseling, or

psychological services for which a license would be required under state law.
(2) A school governing board has the authority to determine whether any club meets the criteria of

Subsection (1).
(3) If a school or school governing board limits or denies authorization to a club, the school or

school governing board shall provide, in writing, to the applicant the factual and legal basis for
the limitation or denial.

(4) A student's spontaneous expression of sentiments or opinions otherwise identified in
Subsection 53A-13-302(1) is not prohibited.

Amended by Chapter 403, 2011 General Session

53A-11-1207 Faculty oversight of authorized clubs.
(1) A school shall approve the faculty sponsor, supervisor, or monitor for each authorized

curricular, noncurricular, and religious club to provide oversight consistent with this part and
the needs of the school to ensure that the methods of expression, religious practices, or other
conduct of the students or advisors involved do not:

(a) unreasonably interfere with the ability of school officials to maintain order and discipline;
(b) unreasonably endanger or threaten the well-being of persons or property;
(c) violate concepts of civility or propriety appropriate to a school setting; or
(d) violate applicable laws, rules, regulations, and policies.

(2)
(a) A school shall annually approve faculty members as sponsors of curricular clubs.
(b) Faculty sponsors shall organize and direct the purpose and activities of a curricular club.

(3)
(a) A school shall approve faculty members to serve as supervisors for authorized noncurricular

clubs.
(b) A faculty supervisor shall provide oversight to ensure compliance with the approved club

purposes, goals, and activities and with the provisions of this part and other applicable laws,
rules, and policies.

(c) The approval of a faculty supervisor or monitor does not constitute school sponsorship of the
club.

(d) A faculty monitor approved for a religious club may not participate in the activities of the
religious club, except to perform the supervisory role required by this section.

(4) Without the prior approval by the school, a person who is not a school faculty member or a club
member may not:

(a) make a presentation to a noncurricular club; or
(b) direct, conduct, control, or regularly attend the meetings of a noncurricular club.

Enacted by Chapter 114, 2007 General Session
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53A-11-1208 Use of school facilities by clubs.
(1) A school shall determine and assign school facilities use for curricular and noncurricular clubs

consistent with the needs of the school.
(2) The following rules apply to curricular clubs:

(a) in assigning school facilities use, the administrator may give priority to curricular clubs over
noncurricular clubs; and

(b) the school may provide financial or other support to curricular clubs.
(3) The following rules apply to noncurricular clubs:

(a) a preference or priority may not be given among noncurricular clubs;
(b)

(i) a school shall only provide the space for noncurricular club meetings; and
(ii) a school may not spend public funds for noncurricular clubs, except as required to

implement the provisions of this part, including providing space and faculty oversight for
noncurricular clubs;

(c) a school shall establish the noninstructional times during which noncurricular clubs may meet;
(d) a school may establish the places that noncurricular clubs may meet;
(e) a school may set the number of hours noncurricular clubs may use the school's facilities per

month, provided that all noncurricular clubs shall be treated equally; and
(f) a school shall determine what access noncurricular clubs shall be given to the school

newspaper, yearbook, bulletin boards, or public address system, provided that all
noncurricular clubs shall be treated equally.

Amended by Chapter 403, 2011 General Session

53A-11-1209 Club membership.
(1) A school shall require written parental or guardian consent for student participation in all

curricular and noncurricular clubs at the school.
(2) Membership in curricular clubs is governed by the following rules:

(a)
(i) membership may be limited to students who are currently attending the sponsoring school or

school district; and
(ii) members who attend a school other than the sponsoring school shall have, in addition to the

consent required under Section 53A-11-1210, specific parental or guardian permission for
membership in a curricular club at another school;

(b)
(i) curricular clubs may require that prospective members try out based on objective criteria

outlined in the application materials; and
(ii) try-outs may not require activities that violate the provisions of this part and other applicable

laws, rules, and policies; and
(c) other rules as determined by the State Board of Education, school district, or school.

(3) Membership in noncurricular clubs is governed by the following rules:
(a) student membership in a noncurricular club is voluntary;
(b) membership shall be limited to students who are currently attending the school;
(c)

(i) noncurricular clubs may require that prospective members try out based on objective criteria
outlined in the application materials; and

(ii) try-outs may not require activities that violate the provisions of this part and other applicable
laws, rules, and policies;
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(d) a copy of any written or other media materials that were presented at a noncurricular club
meeting by a nonschool person shall be delivered to a school administrator no later than
24 hours after the noncurricular club meeting and, if requested, a student's parent or legal
guardian shall have an opportunity to review those materials; and

(e) other rules as determined by the State Board of Education, school district, or school.

Enacted by Chapter 114, 2007 General Session

53A-11-1210 Parental consent.
(1) A school shall require written parental or guardian consent for student participation in all

curricular and noncurricular clubs at the school.
(2) The consent described in Subsection (1) shall include an activity disclosure statement

containing the following information:
(a) the specific name of the club;
(b) a statement of the club's purpose, goals, and activities;
(c) a statement of the club's categorization, which shall be obtained from the application

for authorization of a club in accordance with the provisions of Section 53A-11-1204 or
53A-11-1205, indicating all of the following that may apply:

(i) athletic;
(ii) business/economic;
(iii) agriculture;
(iv) art/music/performance;
(v) science;
(vi) gaming;
(vii) religious;
(viii) community service/social justice; and
(ix) other;

(d) beginning and ending dates;
(e) a tentative schedule of the club activities with dates, times, and places specified;
(f) personal costs associated with the club, if any;
(g) the name of the sponsor, supervisor, or monitor who is responsible for the club; and
(h) any additional information considered important for the students and parents to know.

(3) All completed parental consent forms shall be filed by the parent or the club's sponsor,
supervisor, or monitor with the school's principal, the chief administrative officer of a charter
school, or their designee.

Enacted by Chapter 114, 2007 General Session

53A-11-1211 Violations -- Investigations -- School responses.
(1) A school shall investigate any report or allegation that an authorized curricular or noncurricular

club is:
(a) participating in activities beyond the scope of its purpose; or
(b) in violation of a provision of this part or another applicable law, rule, regulation, or policy.

(2) After meeting with the faculty sponsor, faculty supervisor, or faculty monitor, the students
involved, and the person making the report or allegation, if a violation is substantiated, the
school may do any of the following:
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(a) allow the club's original statement of its purpose, goals, and activities to be modified to
include the activities if they are in compliance with the provisions of this part and other
applicable laws, rules, regulations, or policies;

(b) instruct the faculty sponsor, supervisor, or monitor not to allow similar violations in the future;
(c) limit or suspend the club's authorization or school facilities use pending further corrective

action as determined by the school; or
(d) terminate the club's authorization and dissolve the club.

(3) Any limitation on expression, practice, or conduct of any student, advisor, or guest in a meeting
of a curricular or noncurricular club, or limitation on school facilities use, shall be by the least
restrictive means necessary to satisfy the school's interests as identified in this part.

(4) A club that has been terminated in accordance with Subsection (2)(d) may not reapply for
authorization until the following school year.

(5) A student who makes a false allegation or report under this section shall be subject to school
discipline.

Amended by Chapter 403, 2011 General Session

53A-11-1212 Appeals -- Procedures.
(1)

(a) A completed application or complaint shall be approved, denied, or investigated by the school
within a reasonable amount of time.

(b) If an application or complaint is denied, written reasons for the denial or results of the
investigation shall be stated and, if appropriate, suggested corrections shall be made to
remedy the deficiency.

(c) A club that is denied school facilities use shall be informed at the time of the denial of the
factual and legal basis for the denial, and, if appropriate, how the basis for the denial could be
corrected.

(2)
(a) If denied, suspended, or terminated, a club, student desirous of participating or speaking, or a

complaining parent or guardian, has 10 school days from the date of the denial, suspension,
or termination to file a written appeal from the denial, suspension, or termination to a
designee authorized by the school governing board.

(b) The designee shall issue a determination within a reasonable amount of time from receipt of
the appeal, which decision is final and constitutes satisfaction of all administrative remedies
unless the time for evaluation is extended by agreement of all parties.

(3) A person directly affected by a decision made in accordance with the provisions of this part may
appeal the decision by writing to a person designated by the school governing board.

Amended by Chapter 403, 2011 General Session

53A-11-1213 Rulemaking -- State Board of Education -- School governing boards.
          The State Board of Education may adopt additional rules and school governing boards may

adopt additional rules or policies governing clubs that do not conflict with the provisions of this part.

Enacted by Chapter 114, 2007 General Session

53A-11-1214 Severability.
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          If any provision of this part or the application of any provision to any person or circumstance,
is held invalid, the remainder of this part shall be given effect without the invalid provision or
application.

Enacted by Chapter 114, 2007 General Session

Part 13
Reporting School-Related Controlled Substance Abuse

53A-11-1301 Definitions.
(1) The definitions in Sections 58-37-2, 58-37a-3, and 58-37b-2 apply to this part.
(2) As used in this part:

(a) "Prohibited act" means an act punishable under Section 53A-3-501, Section 58-37-8, Section
58-37a-5, or Title 58, Chapter 37b, Imitation Controlled Substances Act.

(b) "School" means a public or private elementary or secondary school.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session

53A-11-1302 Reporting of prohibited acts affecting a school -- Confidentiality.
(1) A person who has reasonable cause to believe that an individual has committed a prohibited

act shall immediately notify:
(a) the nearest law enforcement agency;
(b) the principal;
(c) an administrator of the affected school;
(d) the superintendent of the affected school district; or
(e) an administrator of the affected school district.

(2) If notice is given to a school official, the official may authorize an investigation into allegations
involving school property, students, or school district employees.

(3) School officials may refer a complaint of an alleged prohibited act reported as occurring
on school grounds or in connection with school-sponsored activities to an appropriate law
enforcement agency.  Referrals shall be made by school officials if the complaint alleges the
prohibited act occurred elsewhere.

(4) The identity of persons making reports pursuant to this section shall be kept confidential.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session

53A-11-1303 Immunity from civil or criminal liability.
          Any person, official, or institution, other than a law enforcement officer or law enforcement

agency, participating in good faith in making a report or conducting an investigation under the
direction of school or law enforcement authorities under this part, is immune from any liability, civil
or criminal, that otherwise might result by reason of that action.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session

53A-11-1304 Admissibility of evidence in civil and criminal actions.
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(1) Evidence relating to violations of this part which is seized by school authorities acting alone, on
their own authority, and not in conjunction with or at the behest of law enforcement authorities
is admissible in civil and criminal actions.

(2) A search under this section must be based on at least a reasonable belief that the search
will turn up evidence of a violation of this part.  The measures adopted for the search must
be reasonably related to the objectives of the search and not excessively intrusive in light of
the circumstances, including the age and sex of the person involved and the nature of the
infraction.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session

53A-11-1305 Board rules to ensure protection of individual rights.
          The State Board of Education and local boards of education shall adopt rules to implement

this part.  The rules shall establish procedures to ensure protection of individual rights against
excessive and unreasonable intrusion.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session

Part 15
School Safety and Crisis Line

53A-11-1501 Title.
          This part is known as "School Safety and Crisis Line."

Amended by Chapter 442, 2015 General Session

53A-11-1502 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Commission" means the School Safety and Crisis Line Commission established in Section
53A-11-1504.

(2) "University Neuropsychiatric Institute" means the mental health and substance abuse treatment
institute within the University of Utah Hospitals and Clinics.

Amended by Chapter 442, 2015 General Session

53A-11-1503 School Safety and Crisis Line established.
          The University Neuropsychiatric Institute shall:

(1) establish a School Safety and Crisis Line to provide:
(a) a means for an individual to anonymously report:

(i) unsafe, violent, or criminal activities, or the threat of such activities at or near a public school;
(ii) incidents of bullying, cyber-bullying, harassment, or hazing; and
(iii) incidents of physical or sexual abuse committed by a school employee or school volunteer;

and
(b) crisis intervention, including suicide prevention, to individuals experiencing emotional distress

or psychiatric crisis;
(2) provide the services described in Subsection (1) 24 hours a day, seven days a week; and
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(3) when necessary, or as required by law, promptly forward a report received under Subsection
(1)(a) to appropriate:

(a) school officials; and
(b) law enforcement officials.

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 442, 2015 General Session

53A-11-1504 School Safety and Crisis Line Commission established -- Members.
(1) There is created the School Safety and Crisis Line Commission composed of the following

members:
(a) one member who represents the Office of the Attorney General, appointed by the attorney

general;
(b) one member who represents the Utah Public Education System, appointed by the State

Board of Education;
(c) one member who represents the Utah System of Higher Education, appointed by the State

Board of Regents;
(d) one member who represents the Utah Department of Health, appointed by the executive

director of the Department of Health;
(e) one member of the House of Representatives, appointed by the speaker of the House of

Representatives;
(f) one member of the Senate, appointed by the president of the Senate;
(g) one member who represents the University Neuropsychiatric Institute, appointed by the chair

of the commission;
(h) one member who represents law enforcement who has extensive experience in emergency

response, appointed by the chair of the commission;
(i) one member who represents the Utah Department of Human Services who has experience in

youth services or treatment services, appointed by the executive director of the Department of
Human Services; and

(j) two members of the public, appointed by the chair of the commission.
(2)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), members of the commission shall be appointed to
four-year terms.

(b) The length of the terms of the members shall be staggered so that approximately half of the
committee is appointed every two years.

(c) When a vacancy occurs in the membership of the commission, the replacement shall be
appointed for the unexpired term.

(3)
(a) The attorney general's designee shall serve as chair of the commission.
(b) The chair shall set the agenda for commission meetings.

(4) Attendance of a simple majority of the members constitutes a quorum for the transaction of
official commission business.

(5) Formal action by the commission requires a majority vote of a quorum.
(6)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (6)(b), a member may not receive compensation, benefits,
per diem, or travel expenses for the member's service.

(b) Compensation and expenses of a member who is a legislator are governed by Section 36-2-2
and Legislative Joint Rules, Title 5, Legislative Compensation and Expenses.

(7) The Office of the Attorney General shall provide staff support to the commission.
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Amended by Chapter 442, 2015 General Session

53A-11-1505 School Safety and Crisis Line Commission duties.
          The commission shall coordinate:

(1) statewide efforts related to the School Safety and Crisis Line; and
(2) with the State Board of Education and the State Board of Regents to promote awareness of the

services available through the School Safety and Crisis Line.

Amended by Chapter 442, 2015 General Session

53A-11-1506 State Board of Education and local boards of education to update policies and
promote awareness.
(1) The State Board of Education shall:

(a) revise the conduct and discipline policy models, described in Section 53A-11-901, to include
procedures for responding to reports received under Subsection 53A-11-1503(3); and

(b) revise the curriculum developed by the State Board of Education for the parent seminar,
described in Section 53A-15-1302, to include information about the School Safety and Crisis
Line.

(2) A local school board or charter school governing board shall:
(a) revise the conduct and discipline policies, described in Section 53A-11-902, to include

procedures for responding to reports received under Subsection 53A-11-1503(3); and
(b) inform students, parents, and school personnel about the School Safety and Crisis Line.

Enacted by Chapter 442, 2015 General Session

Part 16
School Resource Officers

53A-11-1601 Title.
          This part is known as "School Resource Officers."

Enacted by Chapter 165, 2016 General Session

53A-11-1602 Definitions.
          As used in this section:

(1) "Governing authority" means:
(a) for a school district, the local school board;
(b) for a charter school, the governing board; or
(c) for the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind, the State Board of Education.

(2) "Law enforcement agency" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53-1-102.
(3) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means:

(a) a school district;
(b) a charter school; or
(c) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
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(4) "School resource officer" or "SRO" means a law enforcement officer, as defined in Section
53-13-103, who contracts with or whose law enforcement agency contracts with an LEA to
provide law enforcement services for the LEA.

Enacted by Chapter 165, 2016 General Session

53A-11-1603 School resource officer training -- Curriculum.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State Board

of Education shall make rules that prepare and make available a training program for school
principals and school resource officers to attend.

(2) To create the curriculum and materials for the training program described in Subsection (1), the
State Board of Education shall:

(a) work in conjunction with the State Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice created in
Section 63M-7-201;

(b) solicit input from local school boards, charter school governing boards, and the Utah Schools
for the Deaf and the Blind;

(c) solicit input from local law enforcement and other interested community stakeholders; and
(d) consider the current United States Department of Education recommendations on school

discipline and the role of a school resource officer.
(3) The training program described in Subsection (1) may include training on the following:

(a) childhood and adolescent development;
(b) responding age-appropriately to students;
(c) working with disabled students;
(d) techniques to de-escalate and resolve conflict;
(e) cultural awareness;
(f) restorative justice practices;
(g) identifying a student exposed to violence or trauma and referring the student to appropriate

resources;
(h) student privacy rights;
(i) negative consequences associated with youth involvement in the juvenile and criminal justice

systems;
(j) strategies to reduce juvenile justice involvement; and
(k) roles of and distinctions between a school resource officer and other school staff who help

keep a school secure.

Enacted by Chapter 165, 2016 General Session

53A-11-1604 Contracts between an LEA and law enforcement for school resource officer
services -- Requirements.
(1) An LEA may contract with a law enforcement agency or an individual to provide school

resource officer services at the LEA if the LEA's governing authority reviews and approves the
contract.

(2) If an LEA contracts with a law enforcement agency or an individual to provide SRO services at
the LEA, the LEA's governing authority shall require in the contract:

(a) an acknowledgment by the law enforcement agency or the individual that an SRO hired under
the contract shall:

(i) provide for and maintain a safe, healthy, and productive learning environment in a school;
(ii) act as a positive role model to students;
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(iii) work to create a cooperative, proactive, and problem-solving partnership between law
enforcement and the LEA;

(iv) emphasize the use of restorative approaches to address negative behavior; and
(v) at the request of the LEA, teach a vocational law enforcement class;

(b) a description of the shared understanding of the LEA and the law enforcement agency or
individual regarding the roles and responsibilities of law enforcement and the LEA to:

(i) maintain safe schools;
(ii) improve school climate; and
(iii) support educational opportunities for students;

(c) a designation of student offenses that the SRO shall confer with the LEA to resolve, including
an offense that:

(i) is a minor violation of the law; and
(ii) would not violate the law if the offense was committed by an adult;

(d) a designation of student offenses that are administrative issues that an SRO shall refer to a
school administrator for resolution;

(e) a detailed description of the rights of a student under state and federal law with regard to:
(i) searches;
(ii) questioning; and
(iii) information privacy;

(f) a detailed description of:
(i) job duties;
(ii) training requirements; and
(iii) other expectations of the SRO and school administration in relation to law enforcement at

the LEA;
(g) that an SRO who is hired under the contract and the principal at the school where an SRO

will be working, or the principal's designee, will jointly complete the SRO training described in
Section 53A-11-1603; and

(h) if the contract is between an LEA and a law enforcement agency, that:
(i) both parties agree to jointly discuss SRO applicants; and
(ii) the law enforcement agency will accept feedback from an LEA about an SRO's

performance.

Enacted by Chapter 165, 2016 General Session

Chapter 11a
Bullying and Hazing

Part 1
General Provisions

53A-11a-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as "Bullying and Hazing."

Enacted by Chapter 197, 2008 General Session
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53A-11a-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1)
(a) "Bullying" means intentionally or knowingly committing an act that:

(i)
(A) endangers the physical health or safety of a school employee or student;
(B) involves any brutality of a physical nature such as whipping, beating, branding,

calisthenics, bruising, electric shocking, placing of a harmful substance on the body, or
exposure to the elements;

(C) involves consumption of any food, liquor, drug, or other substance;
(D) involves other physical activity that endangers the physical health and safety of a school

employee or student; or
(E) involves physically obstructing a school employee's or student's freedom to move; and

(ii) is done for the purpose of placing a school employee or student in fear of:
(A) physical harm to the school employee or student; or
(B) harm to property of the school employee or student.

(b) The conduct described in Subsection (1)(a) constitutes bullying, regardless of whether the
person against whom the conduct is committed directed, consented to, or acquiesced in, the
conduct.

(2) "Communication" means the conveyance of a message, whether verbal, written, or electronic.
(3) "Cyber-bullying" means using the Internet, a cell phone, or another device to send or post text,

video, or an image with the intent or knowledge, or with reckless disregard, that the text, video,
or image will hurt, embarrass, or threaten an individual, regardless of whether the individual
directed, consented to, or acquiesced in the conduct, or voluntarily accessed the electronic
communication.

(4) "Harassment" means repeatedly communicating to another individual, in an objectively
demeaning or disparaging manner, statements that contribute to a hostile learning or work
environment for the individual.

(5)
(a) "Hazing" means intentionally or knowingly committing an act that:

(i)
(A) endangers the physical health or safety of a school employee or student;
(B) involves any brutality of a physical nature such as whipping, beating, branding,

calisthenics, bruising, electric shocking, placing of a harmful substance on the body, or
exposure to the elements;

(C) involves consumption of any food, liquor, drug, or other substance;
(D) involves other physical activity that endangers the physical health and safety of a school

employee or student; or
(E) involves physically obstructing a school employee's or student's freedom to move; and

(ii)
(A) is done for the purpose of initiation or admission into, affiliation with, holding office in, or

as a condition for, membership or acceptance, or continued membership or acceptance, in
any school or school sponsored team, organization, program, or event; or

(B) if the person committing the act against a school employee or student knew that the
school employee or student is a member of, or candidate for, membership with a school,
or school sponsored team, organization, program, or event to which the person committing
the act belongs to or participates in.
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(b) The conduct described in Subsection (5)(a) constitutes hazing, regardless of whether the
person against whom the conduct is committed directed, consented to, or acquiesced in, the
conduct.

(6) "Policy" means a bullying and hazing policy described in Section 53A-11a-301.
(7) "Retaliate" means an act or communication intended:

(a) as retribution against a person for reporting bullying or hazing; or
(b) to improperly influence the investigation of, or the response to, a report of bullying or hazing.

(8) "School" means any public elementary or secondary school or charter school.
(9) "School board" means:

(a) a local school board; or
(b) a local charter board.

(10) "School employee" means:
(a) school teachers;
(b) school staff;
(c) school administrators; and
(d) all others employed, directly or indirectly, by the school, school board, or school district.

Amended by Chapter 235, 2011 General Session

Part 2
Prohibitions

53A-11a-201 Bullying, cyber-bullying, harassment, hazing, sexual battery, and sexual
exposure prohibited.
(1) No school employee or student may engage in bullying or harassing a school employee or

student:
(a) on school property;
(b) at a school related or sponsored event;
(c) on a school bus;
(d) at a school bus stop; or
(e) while the school employee or student is traveling to or from a location or event described in

Subsections (1)(a) through (d).
(2) No school employee or student may engage in hazing or cyber-bullying a school employee or

student at any time or in any location.

Amended by Chapter 235, 2011 General Session

53A-11a-202 Retaliation and making false allegation prohibited.
(1) No school employee or student may engage in retaliation against:

(a) a school employee;
(b) a student; or
(c) an investigator for, or a witness of, an alleged incident of bullying, cyber-bullying, harassment,

hazing, or retaliation.
(2) No school employee or student may make a false allegation of bullying, cyber-bullying,

harassment, hazing, or retaliation against a school employee or student.
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Amended by Chapter 235, 2011 General Session

53A-11a-203 Parental notification of certain incidents and threats required.
(1) For purposes of this section, "parent" includes a student's guardian.
(2) A school shall:

(a) notify a parent if the parent's student threatens to commit suicide; or
(b) notify the parents of each student involved in an incident of bullying, cyber-bullying,

harassment, hazing, or retaliation, of the incident involving each parent's student.
(3)

(a) If a school notifies a parent of an incident or threat required to be reported under Subsection
(2), the school shall produce and maintain a record that verifies that the parent was notified of
the incident or threat.

(b) A school shall maintain a record described in Subsection (3)(a) in accordance with the
requirements of:

(i)Chapter 1, Part 14, Student Data Protection Act;
(ii) Sections 53A-13-301 and 53A-13-302;
(iii) Federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, 20 U.S.C. 1232g; and
(iv) 34 C.F.R. Part 99.

(4) A local school board or charter school governing board shall adopt a policy regarding the
process for:

(a) notifying a parent as required in Subsection (2); and
(b) producing and retaining a record that verifies that a parent was notified of an incident or threat

as required in Subsection (3).
(5) At the request of a parent, a school may provide information and make recommendations

related to an incident or threat described in Subsection (2).
(6) A school shall:

(a) provide a student a copy of a record maintained in accordance with this section that relates to
the student if the student requests a copy of the record; and

(b) expunge a record maintained in accordance with this section that relates to a student if the
student:

(i) has graduated from high school; and
(ii) requests the record be expunged.

Amended by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

Part 3
School Policy

53A-11a-301 Bullying, cyber-bullying, harassment, hazing, and retaliation policy.
(1) On or before September 1, 2013, each school board shall update the school board's bullying,

cyber-bullying, harassment, hazing, and retaliation policy consistent with this chapter.
(2) The policy shall:

(a) be developed only with input from:
(i) students;
(ii) parents;
(iii) teachers;
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(iv) school administrators;
(v) school staff; or
(vi) local law enforcement agencies; and

(b) provide protection to a student, regardless of the student's legal status.
(3) The policy shall include the following components:

(a) definitions of bullying, cyber-bullying, harassment, and hazing that are consistent with this
chapter;

(b) language prohibiting bullying, cyber-bullying, harassment, and hazing;
(c) language prohibiting retaliation against an individual who reports conduct that is prohibited

under this chapter;
(d) language prohibiting making a false report of bullying, cyber-bullying, harassment, hazing, or

retaliation; and
(e) as required in Section 53A-11a-203, parental notification of:

(i) a student's threat to commit suicide; and
(ii) an incident of bullying, cyber-bullying, harassment, hazing, or retaliation involving the

parent's student.
(4) A copy of the policy shall be included in student conduct handbooks and employee handbooks.
(5) A policy may not permit formal disciplinary action that is based solely on an anonymous report

of bullying, cyber-bullying, harassment, hazing, or retaliation.
(6) Nothing in this chapter is intended to infringe upon the right of a school employee or student to

exercise their right of free speech.

Amended by Chapter 335, 2013 General Session

53A-11a-302 Model policy and State Board of Education duties.
          On or before September 1, 2013, the State Board of Education shall:

(1) update the State Board of Education's model policy on bullying, cyber-bullying, harassment,
hazing, and retaliation; and

(2) post the model policy described in Subsection (1) on the State Board of Education's website.

Amended by Chapter 335, 2013 General Session

Part 4
Miscellaneous

53A-11a-401 Training, education, and prevention.
(1) A school board shall include in the training of a school employee, training regarding bullying,

cyber-bullying, harassment, hazing, and retaliation.
(2) To the extent that state or federal funding is available for this purpose, school boards are

encouraged to implement programs or initiatives, in addition to the training described in
Subsection (1), to provide for training and education regarding, and the prevention of, bullying,
hazing, and retaliation.

(3) The programs or initiatives described in Subsection (2) may involve:
(a) the establishment of a bullying task force; or
(b) the involvement of school employees, students, or law enforcement.
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Amended by Chapter 235, 2011 General Session

53A-11a-402 Other forms of legal redress.
(1) Nothing in this chapter prohibits a victim of bullying, cyber-bullying, harassment, hazing, or

retaliation from seeking legal redress under any other provisions of civil or criminal law.
(2) This section does not create or alter tort liability.

Amended by Chapter 235, 2011 General Session

Chapter 12
Fees and Textbooks

Part 1
Student Fees, Deposits, and Charges

53A-12-101 Schools to be free -- Age limitations.
(1) Except as otherwise provided in Title 53A, State System of Public Education, in each school

district the public schools shall be free to all children between five and 18 years of age who are
residents of the district, and also to persons over 18 who are domiciled in the state of Utah and
have not completed high school.

(2) A person over the age of 18 taking courses under this section must declare an intent to
complete requirements for a high school diploma.  All courses taken must lead toward that
diploma and must be approved by those directly responsible for administering the program.

(3) A person required to pay tuition under this section may have the tuition waived under Section
53A-15-404.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-12-102 State policy on student fees, deposits, or other charges.
(1) For purposes of this part:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Secondary school" means a school that provides instruction to students in grades 7, 8, 9, 10,

11, or 12.
(c) "Secondary school student":

(i) means a student enrolled in a secondary school; and
(ii) includes a student in grade 6 if the student attends a secondary school.

(2)
(a) A secondary school may impose fees on secondary school students.
(b) The board shall adopt rules regarding the imposition of fees in secondary schools in

accordance with the requirements of this part.
(3) A fee, deposit, or other charge may not be made, or any expenditure required of a student or

the student's parent or guardian, as a condition for student participation in an activity, class,
or program provided, sponsored, or supported by or through a public school or school district,
unless authorized by the local school board or charter school governing board under rules
adopted by the board.
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(4)
(a) A fee, deposit, charge, or expenditure may not be required for elementary school activities

which are part of the regular school day or for supplies used during the regular school day.
(b) An elementary school or elementary school teacher may compile and provide to a student's

parent or guardian a suggested list of supplies for use during the regular school day so that a
parent or guardian may furnish on a voluntary basis those supplies for student use.

(c) A list provided to a student's parent or guardian pursuant to Subsection (4)(b) shall include
and be preceded by the following language:          "NOTICE: THE ITEMS ON THIS LIST WILL
BE USED DURING THE REGULAR SCHOOL DAY.  THEY MAY BE BROUGHT FROM
HOME ON A VOLUNTARY BASIS, OTHERWISE, THEY WILL BE FURNISHED BY THE
SCHOOL."

Amended by Chapter 258, 2015 General Session

53A-12-103 Waiver of fees.
(1)

(a) A local school board shall require, as part of an authorization granted under Section
53A-12-102, that adequate waivers or other provisions are available to ensure that no student
is denied the opportunity to participate because of an inability to pay the required fee, deposit,
or charge.

(b)
(i) If, however, a student must repeat a course or requires remediation to advance or graduate

and a fee is associated with the course or the remediation program, it is presumed that the
student will pay the fee.

(ii) If the student or the student's parent or guardian is financially unable to pay the fee, the
board shall provide for alternatives to waiving the fee, which may include installment
payments and school or community service or work projects for the student.

(iii) In cases of extreme financial hardship or where the student has suffered a long-term illness,
or death in the family, or other major emergency and where installment payments and the
imposition of a service or work requirement would not be reasonable, the student may
receive a partial or full waiver of the fee required under Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(iv) The waiver provisions in Subsections (2) and (3) apply to all other fees, deposits, and
charges made in the secondary schools.

(2)
(a) The board shall require each school in the district that charges a fee under this chapter to

provide a variety of alternatives for satisfying the fee requirement to those who qualify for fee
waivers, in addition to the outright waiver of the fee.

(b) The board shall develop and provide a list of alternatives for the schools, including such
options as allowing the student to provide:

(i) tutorial assistance to other students;
(ii) assistance before or after school to teachers and other school personnel on school related

matters; and
(iii) general community or home service.

(c) Each school may add to the list of alternatives provided by the board, subject to approval by
the board.

(3) A local school board may establish policies providing for partial fee waivers or other alternatives
for those students who, because of extenuating circumstances, are not in a financial position to
pay the entire fee.
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(4) With regard to children who are in the custody of the Division of Child and Family Services who
are also eligible under Title IV-E of the federal Social Security Act, local school boards shall
require fee waivers or alternatives in accordance with Subsections (1) through (3).

(5) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State Board
of Education shall make rules:

(a) requiring a parent or guardian of a student applying for a fee waiver to provide documentation
and certification to the school verifying:

(i) the student's eligibility to receive the waiver; and
(ii) that the alternatives for satisfying the fee requirements under Subsection (2) have

been complied with to the fullest extent reasonably possible according to the individual
circumstances of both the fee waiver applicant and the school; and

(b) specifying the acceptable forms of documentation for the requirement under Subsection (5)
(a), which shall include verification based on income tax returns or current pay stubs.

(6) Notwithstanding the requirements under Subsection (5), a school is not required to keep
documentation on file after the verification is completed.

Amended by Chapter 382, 2008 General Session

53A-12-104 Notice of student fees and waivers.
          A local school board shall annually give written notice of its student fee schedules and fee

waiver policies to the parent or guardian of a child who attends a public school within the district.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

Part 2
Textbooks

53A-12-201 State policy on providing textbooks.
(1) It is the public policy of this state that public education shall be free.
(2) A student may not be denied an education because of economic inability to purchase textbooks

necessary for advancement in or graduation from the public school system.
(3) A school board may not sell textbooks or otherwise charge textbook fees or deposits except as

provided in Title 53A, State System of Public Education.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-12-202 "Textbooks" defined.
          For the purposes of Sections 53A-12-201 through 53A-12-206, "textbooks" includes textbooks

and workbooks necessary for participation in any instructional course.  Textbooks shall not include
personal or consumable items, such as pencils, papers, pens, erasers, notebooks, other items of
personal use, or products which a student may purchase at his option, such as school publications,
class rings, annuals, and similar items.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session
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53A-12-204 Purchase of textbooks by local school board -- Sales to pupils -- Free textbooks
-- Textbooks provided to teachers -- Payment of costs -- Rental of textbooks.
(1) A local school board, under rules adopted by the State Board of Education, may purchase

textbooks for use in the public schools directly from the publisher at prices and terms approved
by the state board and may sell those books to pupils in grades nine through 12 at a cost not to
exceed the actual cost of the book plus costs of transportation and handling.

(2) Each local school board, however, shall provide, free of charge, textbooks and workbooks
required for courses of instruction for each child attending public schools whose parent or
guardian is financially unable to purchase them.

(3) Children who are receiving cash assistance under Title 35A, Chapter 3, Part 3, Family
Employment Program, supplemental security income, or who are in the custody of the Division
of Child and Family Services within the Department of Human Services are eligible for free
textbooks and workbooks under this section.

(4) The local school board shall also purchase all books necessary for teachers to conduct their
classes.

(5) The cost of furnishing textbooks and workbooks may be paid from school operating funds, the
textbook fund, or from other available funds.

(6) Books provided to teachers and pupils without charge or at less than full cost are paid for out of
funds of the district and remain the property of the district.

(7) In school districts that require pupils to rent books instead of purchasing them or providing
them free of charge, the local school board shall waive rental fees for a child whose parent
or guardian is financially unable to pay the rental fee.  The children considered eligible under
Subsection (3) are also eligible for the purposes of this Subsection (7).

Amended by Chapter 299, 2002 General Session

53A-12-205 Free textbook system.
(1) If a local school board considers it desirable or necessary, or if the board is petitioned by two-

thirds of those voting in the district, it shall provide free textbooks to all pupils in the schools
under its charge.

(2) Books purchased under this section shall be paid for out of the funds of the district.
(3) The board shall assure that sufficient funds are raised and set aside for this purpose.
(4) A board that has adopted the free textbook system shall terminate the system if petitioned

by two-thirds of those voting in an election conducted for that purpose vote to terminate the
system.

(5) The board may not act upon a petition to terminate the free textbook system during a period of
four years after the system is adopted.

(6) The board may not reinstitute a free textbook system until four years after its termination.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-12-206 Repurchase and resale of textbooks.
(1) If a student moves from a district in which free textbooks were not provided, the school board of

that district may purchase the books used by the student at a reasonable price, based upon the
original cost and the condition of the book upon return.

(2) The books purchased by the district under this section may be resold to other students in the
district.
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Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-12-207 Disposal of textbooks.
(1) For a school year beginning with or after the 2012-13 school year, a local school district may

not dispose of textbooks used in its public schools without first notifying all other school districts
in the state of its intent to dispose of the textbooks.

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to textbooks that have been damaged, mutilated, or worn out.
(3) The State Board of Education shall develop rules and procedures directing the disposal of

textbooks.

Amended by Chapter 305, 2010 General Session

Chapter 13
Curriculum in the Public Schools

Part 1
General Courses of Instruction

53A-13-101 Instruction in health -- Parental consent requirements -- Conduct and speech of
school employees and volunteers -- Political and religious doctrine prohibited.
(1)

(a) The State Board of Education shall establish curriculum requirements under Section
53A-1-402, that include instruction in:

(i) community and personal health;
(ii) physiology;
(iii) personal hygiene; and
(iv) prevention of communicable disease.

(b)
(i) That instruction shall stress:

(A) the importance of abstinence from all sexual activity before marriage and fidelity after
marriage as methods for preventing certain communicable diseases; and

(B) personal skills that encourage individual choice of abstinence and fidelity.
(ii)

(A) At no time may instruction be provided, including responses to spontaneous questions
raised by students, regarding any means or methods that facilitate or encourage the
violation of any state or federal criminal law by a minor or an adult.

(B) Subsection (1)(b)(ii)(A) does not preclude an instructor from responding to a spontaneous
question as long as the response is consistent with the provisions of this section.

(c)
(i) The board shall recommend instructional materials for use in the curricula required under

Subsection (1)(a) after considering evaluations of instructional materials by the State
Instructional Materials Commission.

(ii) A local school board may choose to adopt:
(A) the instructional materials recommended under Subsection (1)(c)(i); or
(B) other instructional materials as provided in state board rule.
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(iii) The state board rule made under Subsection (1)(c)(ii)(B) shall include, at a minimum:
(A) that the materials adopted by a local school board under Subsection (1)(c)(ii)(B) shall

be based upon recommendations of the school district's Curriculum Materials Review
Committee that comply with state law and state board rules emphasizing abstinence
before marriage and fidelity after marriage, and prohibiting instruction in:

(I) the intricacies of intercourse, sexual stimulation, or erotic behavior;
(II) the advocacy of homosexuality;
(III) the advocacy or encouragement of the use of contraceptive methods or devices; or
(IV) the advocacy of sexual activity outside of marriage;

(B) that the adoption of instructional materials shall take place in an open and regular meeting
of the local school board for which prior notice is given to parents and guardians of
students attending schools in the district and an opportunity for them to express their
views and opinions on the materials at the meeting;

(C) provision for an appeal and review process of the local school board's decision; and
(D) provision for a report by the local school board to the State Board of Education of the

action taken and the materials adopted by the local school board under Subsections (1)(c)
(ii)(B) and (1)(c)(iii).

(2)
(a) Instruction in the courses described in Subsection (1) shall be consistent and systematic in

grades eight through 12.
(b) At the request of the board, the Department of Health shall cooperate with the board in

developing programs to provide instruction in those areas.
(3)

(a) The board shall adopt rules that:
(i) provide that the parental consent requirements of Sections 76-7-322 and 76-7-323 are

complied with; and
(ii) require a student's parent or legal guardian to be notified in advance and have an

opportunity to review the information for which parental consent is required under Sections
76-7-322 and 76-7-323.

(b) The board shall also provide procedures for disciplinary action for violation of Section
76-7-322 or 76-7-323.

(4)
(a) In keeping with the requirements of Section 53A-13-109, and because school employees and

volunteers serve as examples to their students, school employees or volunteers acting in their
official capacities may not support or encourage criminal conduct by students, teachers, or
volunteers.

(b) To ensure the effective performance of school personnel, the limitations described in
Subsection (4)(a) also apply to school employees or volunteers acting outside of their official
capacities if:

(i) they knew or should have known that their action could result in a material and substantial
interference or disruption in the normal activities of the school; and

(ii) that action does result in a material and substantial interference or disruption in the normal
activities of the school.

(c) Neither the State Board of Education nor local school districts may allow training of school
employees or volunteers that supports or encourages criminal conduct.

(d) The State Board of Education shall adopt rules implementing this section.
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(e) Nothing in this section limits the ability or authority of the State Board of Education and local
school boards to enact and enforce rules or take actions that are otherwise lawful, regarding
educators', employees', or volunteers' qualifications or behavior evidencing unfitness for duty.

(5) Except as provided in Section 53A-13-101.1, political, atheistic, sectarian, religious, or
denominational doctrine may not be taught in the public schools.

(6)
(a) Local school boards and their employees shall cooperate and share responsibility in carrying

out the purposes of this chapter.
(b) Each school district shall provide appropriate inservice training for its teachers, counselors,

and school administrators to enable them to understand, protect, and properly instruct
students in the values and character traits referred to in this section and Sections
53A-13-101.1, 53A-13-101.2, 53A-13-101.3, 53A-13-109, 53A-13-301, and 53A-13-302 and
distribute appropriate written materials on the values, character traits, and conduct to each
individual receiving the inservice training.

(c) The written materials shall also be made available to classified employees, students, and
parents and guardians of students.

(d) In order to assist school districts in providing the inservice training required under Subsection
(6)(b), the State Board of Education shall as appropriate, contract with a qualified individual
or entity possessing expertise in the areas referred to in Subsection (6)(b) to develop and
disseminate model teacher inservice programs which districts may use to train the individuals
referred to in Subsection (6)(b) to effectively teach the values and qualities of character
referenced in that subsection.

(e) In accordance with the provisions of Subsection (4)(c), inservice training may not support or
encourage criminal conduct.

(7) If any one or more provision, subsection, sentence, clause, phrase, or word of this section,
or the application thereof to any person or circumstance, is found to be unconstitutional, the
balance of this section shall be given effect without the invalid provision, subsection, sentence,
clause, phrase, or word.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-13-101.1 Maintaining constitutional freedom in the public schools.
(1) Any instructional activity, performance, or display which includes examination of or

presentations about religion, political or religious thought or expression, or the influence thereof
on music, art, literature, law, politics, history, or any other element of the curriculum, including
the comparative study of religions, which is designed to achieve secular educational objectives
included within the context of a course or activity and conducted in accordance with applicable
rules of the state and local boards of education, may be undertaken in the public schools.

(2) No aspect of cultural heritage, political theory, moral theory, or societal value shall be included
within or excluded from public school curricula for the primary reason that it affirms, ignores, or
denies religious belief, religious doctrine, a religious sect, or the existence of a spiritual realm or
supreme being.

(3) Public schools may not sponsor prayer or religious devotionals.
(4) School officials and employees may not use their positions to endorse, promote, or disparage a

particular religious, denominational, sectarian, agnostic, or atheistic belief or viewpoint.

Enacted by Chapter 95, 1993 General Session
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53A-13-101.2 Waivers of participation -- Required parental consent for human sexuality
instruction.
(1) As used in this section:

(a)
(i) "Human sexuality instruction" means any course material, unit, class, lesson, activity, or

presentation that, as the focus of the discussion, provides instruction or information to a
student about:

(A) sexual abstinence;
(B) human sexuality;
(C) human reproduction;
(D) reproductive anatomy;
(E) physiology;
(F) pregnancy;
(G) marriage;
(H) childbirth;
(I) parenthood;
(J) contraception;
(K) HIV/AIDS; or
(L) sexually transmitted diseases.

(ii) "Human sexuality instruction" does not include child sexual abuse prevention instruction
described in Section 53A-13-112.

(b) "Parent" means a parent or legal guardian.
(c) "School" means a public school.

(2) If a parent of a student, or a secondary student, determines that the student's participation in a
portion of the curriculum or in an activity would require the student to affirm or deny a religious
belief or right of conscience, or engage or refrain from engaging in a practice forbidden or
required in the exercise of a religious right or right of conscience, the parent or the secondary
student may request:

(a) a waiver of the requirement to participate; or
(b) a reasonable alternative that requires reasonably equivalent performance by the student of

the secular objectives of the curriculum or activity in question.
(3) The school shall promptly notify a student's parent if the secondary student makes a request

under Subsection (2).
(4) If a request is made under Subsection (2), the school shall:

(a) waive the participation requirement;
(b) provide a reasonable alternative to the requirement; or
(c) notify the requesting party that participation is required.

(5) The school shall ensure that the provisions of Subsection 53A-13-101.3(3) are met in
connection with any required participation under Subsection (4)(c).

(6) A school shall obtain prior written consent from a student's parent before the school may
provide human sexuality instruction to the student.

(7) If a student's parent chooses not to have the student participate in human sexuality instruction,
a school shall:

(a) waive the requirement for the student to participate in the human sexuality instruction; or
(b) provide the student with a reasonable alternative to the human sexuality instruction

requirement.
(8) In cooperation with the student's teacher or school, a parent shall take responsibility for the

parent's student's human sexuality instruction if a school:



Utah Code

Page 334

(a) waives the student's human sexuality instruction requirement in Subsection (7)(a); or
(b) provides the student with a reasonable alternative to the human sexuality instruction

requirement described in Subsection (7)(b).
(9) A student's academic or citizenship performance may not be penalized if:

(a) the secondary student or the student's parent chooses to exercise a religious right or right of
conscience in accordance with the provisions of this section; or

(b) the student's parent chooses not to have the student participate in human sexuality instruction
as described in Subsection (7).

Amended by Chapter 91, 2015 General Session

53A-13-101.3 Expressions of belief -- Discretionary time.
(1) Expression of personal beliefs by a student participating in school-directed curricula or activities

may not be prohibited or penalized unless the expression unreasonably interferes with order
or discipline, threatens the well-being of persons or property, or violates concepts of civility or
propriety appropriate to a school setting.

(2)
(a) As used in this section, "discretionary time" means noninstructional time during which a

student is free to pursue personal interests.
(b) Free exercise of voluntary religious practice or freedom of speech by students during

discretionary time shall not be denied unless the conduct unreasonably interferes with the
ability of school officials to maintain order and discipline, unreasonably endangers persons or
property, or violates concepts of civility or propriety appropriate to a school setting.

(3) Any limitation under Sections 53A-13-101.2 and 53A-13-101.3 on student expression, practice,
or conduct shall be by the least restrictive means necessary to satisfy the school's interests as
stated in those sections, or to satisfy another specifically identified compelling governmental
interest.

Enacted by Chapter 95, 1993 General Session

53A-13-101.4 Instruction in American history and government -- Study and posting of
American heritage documents.
(1) The Legislature recognizes that a proper understanding of American history and government

is essential to good citizenship, and that the public schools are the primary public institutions
charged with responsibility for assisting children and youth in gaining that understanding.

(2)
(a) The State Board of Education and local school boards shall periodically review school

curricula and activities to ensure that effective instruction in American history and government
is taking place in the public schools.

(b) The boards shall solicit public input as part of the review process.
(c) Instruction in American history and government shall include a study of:

(i) forms of government, such as a republic, a pure democracy, a monarchy, and an oligarchy;
(ii) political philosophies and economic systems, such as socialism, individualism, and free

market capitalism; and
(iii) the United States' form of government, a compound constitutional republic.

(3) School curricula and activities shall include a thorough study of historical documents such as:
(a) the Declaration of Independence;
(b) the United States Constitution;
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(c) the national motto;
(d) the pledge of allegiance;
(e) the national anthem;
(f) the Mayflower Compact;
(g) the writings, speeches, documents, and proclamations of the Founders and the Presidents of

the United States;
(h) organic documents from the pre-Colonial, Colonial, Revolutionary, Federalist, and post

Federalist eras;
(i) United States Supreme Court decisions;
(j) Acts of the United States Congress, including the published text of the Congressional Record;

and
(k) United States treaties.

(4) To increase student understanding of, and familiarity with, American historical documents,
public schools may display historically important excerpts from, or copies of, those documents
in school classrooms and common areas as appropriate.

(5) There shall be no content-based censorship of American history and heritage documents
referred to in this section due to their religious or cultural nature.

(6) Public schools shall display "In God we trust," which is declared in 36 U.S.C. 302 to be the
national motto of the United States, in one or more prominent places within each school
building.

Amended by Chapter 298, 2011 General Session

53A-13-101.5 Teaching of American sign language.
(1) The Legislature recognizes that American sign language is a fully developed, autonomous,

natural language with distinct grammar, syntax, and art forms.
(2) American sign language shall be accorded equal status with other linguistic systems in the

state's public and higher education systems.
(3) The State Board of Education, in consultation with the state's school districts and members of

the deaf and hard of hearing community, shall develop and implement policies and procedures
for the teaching of American sign language in the state's public education system at least at the
middle school or high school level.

(4) A student may count credit received for completion of a course in American sign language
at the middle school or high school level towards the satisfaction of a foreign language
requirement in the public education system under rules made by the State Board of Education.

(5) The State Board of Regents, in consultation with the state's public institutions of higher
education and members of the state's deaf and hard of hearing community, shall develop and
implement policies and procedures for offering instruction in American sign language in the
state's system of higher education consistent with the master plan for higher education under
Section 53B-6-101.

(6) The Joint Liaison Committee, in consultation with members of the state's deaf and hard of
hearing community, shall review any policies and procedures developed under this section and
make recommendations to either or both boards regarding the policies.

Amended by Chapter 297, 1998 General Session

53A-13-101.6 Instruction on the flag of the United States of America.
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(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State Board
of Education shall provide by rule for a program of instruction within the public schools relating
to the flag of the United States.

(2) The instruction shall include the history of the flag, etiquette, customs pertaining to the display
and use of the flag, and other patriotic exercises as provided by 4 U.S.C. Secs. 1 to 10.

(3)
(a) The pledge of allegiance to the flag shall be recited once at the beginning of each day in each

public school classroom in the state, led by a student in the classroom, as assigned by the
classroom teacher on a rotating basis.

(b) Each student shall be informed by posting a notice in a conspicuous place that the student
has the right not to participate in reciting the pledge.

(c) A student shall be excused from reciting the pledge upon written request from the student's
parent or legal guardian.

(d)
(i) At least once a year students shall be instructed that:

(A) participation in the pledge of allegiance is voluntary and not compulsory; and
(B) not only is it acceptable for someone to choose not to participate in the pledge of

allegiance for religious or other reasons, but students should show respect for any student
who chooses not to participate.

(ii) A public school teacher shall strive to maintain an atmosphere among students in the
classroom that is consistent with the principles described in Subsection (3)(d)(i).

Amended by Chapter 426, 2012 General Session

53A-13-102 Instruction on the harmful effects of alcohol, tobacco, and controlled
substances -- Rulemaking authority -- Assistance from the Division of Substance Abuse
and Mental Health.
(1) The State Board of Education shall adopt rules providing for instruction at each grade level on

the harmful effects of alcohol, tobacco, and controlled substances upon the human body and
society.  The rules shall require but are not limited to instruction on the following:

(a) teaching of skills needed to evaluate advertisements for, and media portrayal of, alcohol,
tobacco, and controlled substances;

(b) directing students towards healthy and productive alternatives to the use of alcohol, tobacco,
and controlled substances; and

(c) discouraging the use of alcohol, tobacco, and controlled substances.
(2) At the request of the board, the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health shall cooperate

with the board in developing programs to provide this instruction.
(3) The board shall participate in efforts to enhance communication among community

organizations and state agencies, and shall cooperate with those entities in efforts which are
compatible with the purposes of this section.

Amended by Chapter 8, 2002 Special Session 5
Amended by Chapter 8, 2002 Special Session 5

53A-13-103 Eye protective devices for industrial education, physics laboratory, and
chemistry laboratory activities.
(1) Any individual who participates in any of the following activities in public or private schools that

may endanger his vision shall wear quality eye protective devices:
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(a) industrial education activities that involve:
(i) hot molten metals;
(ii) the operation of equipment that could throw particles of foreign matter into the eyes;
(iii) heat treating, tempering, or kiln firing of any industrial materials;
(iv) gas or electric arc welding; or
(v) caustic or explosive material;

(b) chemistry or physics laboratories when using caustic or explosive chemicals, and hot liquids
and solids.

(2) "Quality eye protective devices" means devices that meet the standards of the American Safety
Code for Head, Eye, and Respiratory Protection, Z2.1-1959, promulgated by the American
Standards Association, Inc.

(3)
(a) The local school board shall furnish these protective devices to individuals involved in these

activities.
(b) The board may sell these protective devices at cost or rent or loan them to individuals

involved in these activities.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-13-104 Remediation programs for secondary students.
(1) For purposes of this section:

(a) "Secondary school" means a school that provides instruction to students in grades 7, 8, 9, 10,
11, or 12.

(b) "Secondary school student":
(i) means a student enrolled in a secondary school; and
(ii) includes a student in grade 6 if the student attends a secondary school.

(2) A school district or charter school shall implement programs for secondary school students to
attain the competency levels and graduation requirements established by the State Board of
Education.

(3)
(a) A school district or charter school shall establish remediation programs for secondary school

students who do not meet competency levels in English, mathematics, science, or social
studies.

(b) Participation in the programs is mandatory for secondary school students who fail to meet the
competency levels based on classroom performance.

(4) Secondary school students who require remediation under this section may not be advanced to
the following class in subject sequences until they meet the required competency level for the
subject or complete the required remediation program, except that a school district or charter
school may allow secondary school students requiring remediation who would otherwise be
scheduled to enter their first year of high school to complete their remediation program during
that first year.

(5)
(a) Remediation programs provided under this section should not be unnecessarily lengthy or

repetitive.
(b) A secondary school student need not repeat an entire class if remediation can reasonably be

achieved through other means.
(6) A school district or charter school may charge secondary school students a fee to participate in

the remediation programs.
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Amended by Chapter 377, 2013 General Session

53A-13-106.5 Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention Pilot Program.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "District school" means a public school under the control of a local school board elected under
Title 20A, Chapter 14, Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards.

(b) "Firearm" means a pistol, revolver, shotgun, short barreled shotgun, rifle, or short barreled
rifle, or a device that could be used as a dangerous weapon from which is expelled a
projectile by action of an explosive.

(c) "Pilot program" means the Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention Pilot Program created
under Subsection (2).

(2) There is created a Firearm Safety and Violence Prevention Pilot Program to provide instruction
that a public school may offer to a student in any of grades 5 through 12 on:

(a) firearm safety, including:
(i) developing the knowledge, habits, skills, and attitudes necessary for the safe handling of

firearms; and
(ii) teaching a student that to avoid injury when the student finds a firearm the student should:

(A) not touch the firearm;
(B) tell an adult about finding the firearm and the location of the firearm; and
(C) share the information described in Subsection (2)(a)(ii)(A) and (B) with any other minors

who are with the student when the student finds the firearm; and
(b) what to do if the student becomes aware of a threat against the school.

(3) The instruction described in Subsection (2):
(a) may be delivered:

(i) in a public school using live instruction or a video or online materials; or
(ii) at home using a video or online materials; and

(b) shall be neutral of political statements on guns.
(4) The Office of the Attorney General, in collaboration with the State Board of Education, shall

select one or more providers, through the standard procurement process or an exception to the
standard procurement process as described in Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code,
to supply materials and curriculum for the pilot program.

(5)
(a) A district school or charter school may participate in the pilot program, subject to approval by

the district school's local school board or charter school's charter school governing board.
(b) A district school or charter school that chooses to participate in the pilot program:

(i) shall use the materials and curriculum supplied by the provider selected under Subsection
(4);

(ii) may permit the following to provide instruction on a voluntary basis:
(A) the Division of Wildlife Resources;
(B) a local law enforcement agency;
(C) a peace officer, as defined in Section 53-13-102; or
(D) another certified firearms safety instructor, as defined in rules made by the State Board of

Education in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act;
and

(iii) shall ensure that a firearm is not used in providing the instruction.
(c) A student may not be given the instruction described in Subsection (2) unless the student's

parent or legal guardian has given prior written consent.
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(6) The Office of the Attorney General, in collaboration with the State Board of Education, shall
evaluate the pilot program and report to the Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Interim
Committee on or before December 1, 2018.

Enacted by Chapter 169, 2016 General Session

53A-13-107 Adoption information.
(1) For a school year beginning with or after the 2012-13 school year, a local school board shall

ensure that an annual presentation on adoption is given to its secondary school students in
grades 7-12, so that each student receives the presentation at least once during grades 7-9
and at least once during grades 10-12.

(2) The presentation shall be made by a licensed teacher as part of the health education core.

Amended by Chapter 305, 2010 General Session

53A-13-108 Standards and graduation requirements.
(1) The State Board of Education shall establish rigorous core standards for Utah public schools

and graduation requirements under Section 53A-1-402 for grades 9 through 12 that:
(a) are consistent with state law and federal regulations; and
(b) beginning no later than with the graduating class of 2008:

(i) use competency-based standards and assessments;
(ii) include instruction that stresses general financial literacy from basic budgeting to financial

investments, including bankruptcy education and a general financial literacy test-out option;
and

(iii) increase graduation requirements in language arts, mathematics, and science to exceed the
existing credit requirements of 3.0 units in language arts, 2.0 units in mathematics, and 2.0
units in science.

(2) The State Board of Education shall also establish competency-based standards and
assessments for elective courses.

(3) On or before July 1, 2014, the State Board of Education shall adopt revised course standards
and objectives for the course of instruction in general financial literacy described in Subsection
(1)(b) that address:

(a) the costs of going to college, student loans, scholarships, and the Free Application for Federal
Student Aid (FAFSA); and

(b) technology that relates to banking, savings, and financial products.
(4) The State Board of Education shall administer the course of instruction in general financial

literacy described in Subsection (1)(b) in the same manner as other core standards for Utah
public schools courses for grades 9 through 12 are administered.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-13-108.5 Acceptance of credits and grades awarded by accredited schools.
(1)

(a) A public school shall accept credits and grades awarded to a student by a school accredited
or approved by the State Board of Education or accredited or recognized by the Northwest
Association of Accredited Schools as issued by the school, without alterations.

(b) Credits awarded for a core standards for Utah public schools course shall be applied to
fulfilling core standards for Utah public schools requirements.
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(2) Subsection (1) applies to credits awarded to a student who:
(a) transfers to a public school; or
(b) while enrolled in the public school, takes courses offered by another public or private school.

(3) Subsection (1) applies to:
(a) traditional classes in which an instructor is present in the classroom and the student is

required to attend the class for a particular length of time;
(b) open entry/open exit classes in which the student has the flexibility to begin or end study at

any time, progress through course material at his own pace, and demonstrate competency
when knowledge and skills have been mastered;

(c) courses offered over the Internet; or
(d) distance learning courses.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-13-109 Civic and character education -- Definitions -- Legislative finding -- Elements --
Reporting requirements.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Character education" means reaffirming values and qualities of character which promote an
upright and desirable citizenry.

(b) "Civic education" means the cultivation of informed, responsible participation in political life
by competent citizens committed to the fundamental values and principles of representative
democracy in Utah and the United States.

(c) "Values" means time-established principles or standards of worth.
(2) The Legislature recognizes that:

(a) Civic and character education are fundamental elements of the public education system's
core mission as originally intended and established under Article X of the Utah Constitution;

(b) Civic and character education are fundamental elements of the constitutional responsibility of
public education and shall be a continuing emphasis and focus in public schools;

(c) the cultivation of a continuing understanding and appreciation of a constitutional republic and
principles of representative democracy in Utah and the United States among succeeding
generations of educated and responsible citizens is important to the nation and state;

(d) the primary responsibility for the education of children within the state resides with their
parents or guardians and that the role of state and local governments is to support and assist
parents in fulfilling that responsibility;

(e) public schools fulfill a vital purpose in the preparation of succeeding generations of informed
and responsible citizens who are deeply attached to essential democratic values and
institutions; and

(f) the happiness and security of American society relies upon the public virtue of its citizens
which requires a united commitment to a moral social order where self-interests are willingly
subordinated to the greater common good.

(3) Through an integrated curriculum, students shall be taught in connection with regular school
work:

(a) honesty, integrity, morality, civility, duty, honor, service, and obedience to law;
(b) respect for and an understanding of the Declaration of Independence and the constitutions of

the United States and of the state of Utah;
(c) Utah history, including territorial and preterritorial development to the present;
(d) the essentials and benefits of the free enterprise system;
(e) respect for parents, home, and family;
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(f) the dignity and necessity of honest labor; and
(g) other skills, habits, and qualities of character which will promote an upright and desirable

citizenry and better prepare students to recognize and accept responsibility for preserving
and defending the blessings of liberty inherited from prior generations and secured by the
constitution.

(4) Local school boards and school administrators may provide training, direction, and
encouragement, as needed, to accomplish the intent and requirements of this section and to
effectively emphasize civic and character education in the course of regular instruction in the
public schools.

(5) Civic and character education in public schools are:
(a) not intended to be separate programs in need of special funding or added specialists to be

accomplished; and
(b) core principles which reflect the shared values of the citizens of Utah and the founding

principles upon which representative democracy in the United States and the state of Utah
are based.

(6) To assist the Commission on Civic and Character Education in fulfilling the commission's duties
under Section 67-1a-11, by December 30 of each year, each school district and the State
Charter School Board shall submit to the lieutenant governor and the commission a report
summarizing how civic and character education are achieved in the school district or charter
schools through an integrated school curriculum and in the regular course of school work as
provided in this section.

(7) Each year, the State Board of Education shall report to the Education Interim Committee, on or
before the October meeting, the methods used, and the results being achieved, to instruct and
prepare students to become informed and responsible citizens through an integrated curriculum
taught in connection with regular school work as required in this section.

Amended by Chapter 387, 2014 General Session

53A-13-109.5 American civics education initiative.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Adult education program" means an organized educational program below the
postsecondary level, other than a regular full-time K-12 secondary education program,
provided by an LEA or nonprofit organization that provides the opportunity for an adult to
further the adult's high school level education.

(b) "Basic civics test" means a test that includes 50 of the 100 questions on the civics test form
used by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services:

(i) to determine that an individual applying for United States citizenship meets the basic
citizenship skills specified in 8 U.S.C. Sec. 1423; and

(ii) in accordance with 8 C.F.R. Sec. 312.2.
(c) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(d) "LEA" means:

(i) a school district;
(ii) a charter school; or
(iii) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(2)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), the board shall require:

(i) a public school student who graduates on or after January 1, 2016, to pass a basic civics test
as a condition for receiving a high school diploma; and
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(ii) a student enrolled in an adult education program to pass a basic civics test as a condition for
receiving an adult education secondary diploma.

(b) The board may require a public school student to pass an alternate assessment instead of a
basic civics test if the student qualifies for an alternate assessment, as defined in board rule.

(3) An individual who correctly answers a minimum of 35 out of the 50 questions on a basic civics
test passes the test and an individual who correctly answers fewer than 35 out of 50 questions
on a basic civics test does not pass the test.

(4) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall
make rules that:

(a) require an LEA that serves secondary students to administer a basic civics test or alternate
assessment to a public school student enrolled in the LEA;

(b) require an adult education program provider to administer a basic civics test to an individual
who intends to receive an adult education secondary diploma;

(c) allow an individual to take a basic civics test as many times as needed in order to pass the
test; and

(d) for the alternate assessment described in Subsection (2)(b), describe:
(i) the content of an alternate assessment;
(ii) how a public school student qualifies for an alternate assessment; and
(iii) how an LEA determines if a student passes an alternate assessment.

Enacted by Chapter 316, 2015 General Session

53A-13-110 Financial and economic literacy education.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Financial and economic activities" include activities related to the topics listed in Subsection
(1)(b).

(b) "Financial and economic literacy concepts" include concepts related to the following topics:
(i) basic budgeting;
(ii) saving and financial investments;
(iii) banking and financial services, including balancing a checkbook or a bank account and

online banking services;
(iv) career management, including earning an income;
(v) rights and responsibilities of renting or buying a home;
(vi) retirement planning;
(vii) loans and borrowing money, including interest, credit card debt, predatory lending, and

payday loans;
(viii) insurance;
(ix) federal, state, and local taxes;
(x) charitable giving;
(xi) online commerce;
(xii) identity fraud and theft;
(xiii) negative financial consequences of gambling;
(xiv) bankruptcy;
(xv) free markets and prices;
(xvi) supply and demand;
(xvii) monetary and fiscal policy;
(xviii) effective business plan creation, including using economic analysis in creating a plan;
(xix) scarcity and choices;
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(xx) opportunity cost and tradeoffs;
(xxi) productivity;
(xxii) entrepreneurism; and
(xxiii) economic reasoning.

(c) "Financial and economic literacy passport" means a document that tracks mastery of financial
and economic literacy concepts and completion of financial and economic activities in
kindergarten through grade 12.

(d) "General financial literacy course" means the course of instruction described in Section
53A-13-108.

(2) The State Board of Education shall:
(a) in cooperation with interested private and nonprofit entities:

(i) develop a financial and economic literacy passport that students may elect to complete;
(ii) develop methods of encouraging parent and educator involvement in completion of the

financial and economic literacy passport; and
(iii) develop and implement appropriate recognition and incentives for students who complete

the financial and economic literacy passport, including:
(A) a financial and economic literacy endorsement on the student's diploma of graduation;
(B) a specific designation on the student's official transcript; and
(C) any incentives offered by community partners;

(b) more fully integrate existing and new financial and economic literacy education into instruction
in kindergarten through grade 12 by:

(i) coordinating financial and economic literacy instruction with existing instruction in other areas
of the core standards for Utah public schools, such as mathematics and social studies;

(ii) using curriculum mapping;
(iii) creating training materials and staff development programs that:

(A) highlight areas of potential coordination between financial and economic literacy
education and other core standards for Utah public schools concepts; and

(B) demonstrate specific examples of financial and economic literacy concepts as a way of
teaching other core standards for Utah public schools concepts; and

(iv) using appropriate financial and economic literacy assessments to improve financial and
economic literacy education and, if necessary, developing assessments;

(c) work with interested public, private, and nonprofit entities to:
(i) identify, and make available to teachers, online resources for financial and economic literacy

education, including modules with interactive activities and turnkey instructor resources;
(ii) coordinate school use of existing financial and economic literacy education resources;
(iii) develop simple, clear, and consistent messaging to reinforce and link existing financial

literacy resources;
(iv) coordinate the efforts of school, work, private, nonprofit, and other financial education

providers in implementing methods of appropriately communicating to teachers, students,
and parents key financial and economic literacy messages; and

(v) encourage parents and students to establish higher education savings, including a Utah
Educational Savings Plan account;

(d) in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, make rules to
develop guidelines and methods for school districts and charter schools to more fully integrate
financial and economic literacy education into other core standards for Utah public schools
courses;

(e)
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(i) contract with a provider, through a request for proposals process, to develop an online, end-
of-course assessment for the general financial literacy course;

(ii) require a school district or charter school to administer an online, end-of-course assessment
to a student who takes the general financial literacy course; and

(iii) develop a plan, through the state superintendent of public instruction, to analyze the results
of an online, end-of-course assessment in general financial literacy that includes:

(A) an analysis of assessment results by standard; and
(B) average scores statewide and by school district and school;

(f) in cooperation with school districts, charter schools, and interested private and nonprofit
entities, provide opportunities for professional development in financial and economic literacy
to teachers, including:

(i) a statewide learning community for financial and economic literacy;
(ii) summer workshops; and
(iii) online videos of experts in the field of financial and economic literacy education; and

(g) implement a teacher endorsement in general financial literacy that includes course work in
financial planning, credit and investing, consumer economics, personal budgeting, and family
economics.

(3) A public school shall provide the following to the parents or guardian of a kindergarten student
during kindergarten enrollment:

(a) a financial and economic literacy passport; and
(b) information about higher education savings options, including information about opening a

Utah Educational Savings Plan account.
(4)

(a) The State Board of Education shall establish a task force to study and make
recommendations to the board on how to improve financial and economic literacy education
in the public school system.

(b) The task force membership shall include representatives of:
(i) the State Board of Education;
(ii) school districts and charter schools; and
(iii) private or public entities that teach financial education and share a commitment to empower

individuals and families to achieve economic stability, opportunity, and upward mobility.
(c) In 2013, the task force shall:

(i) review and recommend modifications to the course standards and objectives of the general
financial literacy course described in Section 53A-13-108 to ensure the course standards
and objectives reflect current and relevant content consistent with the financial and
economic literacy concepts listed in Subsection (1)(b);

(ii) study the development of an online assessment of students' competency in financial and
economic literacy that may be used to:

(A) measure student learning growth and proficiency in financial and economic literacy; and
(B) assess the effectiveness of instruction in financial and economic literacy;

(iii) consider the development of a rigorous, online only, course to fulfill the general financial
literacy curriculum and graduation requirements specified in Section 53A-13-108;

(iv) identify opportunities for teaching financial and economic literacy through an integrated
school curriculum and in the regular course of school work;

(v) study and make recommendations for educator license endorsements for teachers of
financial and economic literacy;

(vi) identify efficient and cost-effective methods of delivering professional development in
financial and economic literacy content and instructional methods; and
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(vii) study how financial and economic literacy education may be enhanced through community
partnerships.

(d) The task force shall reconvene every three years to review and recommend adjustments to
the standards and objectives of the general financial literacy course.

(e) The State Board of Education shall make a report to the Education Interim Committee
no later than the committee's November 2013 meeting summarizing the findings and
recommendations of the task force and actions taken by the board in response to the task
force's findings and recommendations.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-13-111 Educational program on the use of information technology.
(1) The State Board of Education shall provide for an educational program on the use of

information technology, which shall be offered by high schools.
(2) An educational program on the use of information technology shall:

(a) provide instruction on skills and competencies essential for the workplace and requested by
employers;

(b) include the following components:
(i) a curriculum;
(ii) online access to the curriculum;
(iii) instructional software for classroom and student use;
(iv) certification of skills and competencies most frequently requested by employers;
(v) professional development for teachers; and
(vi) deployment and program support, including integration with existing core standards for Utah

public schools; and
(c) be made available to high school students, faculty, and staff.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-13-112 Child sexual abuse prevention.
(1) As used in this section, "school personnel" is as defined in Section 53A-11-605.
(2) On or before July 1, 2015, the State Board of Education shall approve, in partnership with the

Department of Human Services, age-appropriate instructional materials for the training and
instruction described in Subsections (3)(a) and (4).

(3)
(a) Beginning in the 2016-17 school year, a school district or charter school shall provide training

and instruction on child sexual abuse prevention and awareness to:
(i) school personnel in elementary and secondary schools on:

(A) responding to a disclosure of child sexual abuse in a supportive, appropriate manner; and
(B) the mandatory reporting requirements described in Sections 53A-6-502 and 62A-4a-403;

and
(ii) parents or guardians of elementary school students on:

(A) recognizing warning signs of a child who is being sexually abused; and
(B) effective, age-appropriate methods for discussing the topic of child sexual abuse with a

child.
(b) A school district or charter school shall use the instructional materials approved by the State

Board of Education under Subsection (2) to provide the training and instruction to school
personnel and parents or guardians under Subsection (3)(a).
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(4)
(a) In accordance with Subsections (4)(b) and (5), a school district or charter school may provide

instruction on child sexual abuse prevention and awareness to elementary school students
using age-appropriate curriculum.

(b) Beginning in the 2016-17 school year, a school district or charter school that provides the
instruction described in Subsection (4)(a) shall use the instructional materials approved by the
board under Subsection (2) to provide the instruction.

(5)
(a) An elementary school student may not be given the instruction described in Subsection (4)

unless the parent or guardian of the student is:
(i) notified in advance of the:

(A) instruction and the content of the instruction; and
(B) parent or guardian's right to have the student excused from the instruction;

(ii) given an opportunity to review the instructional materials before the instruction occurs; and
(iii) allowed to be present when the instruction is delivered.

(b) Upon the written request of the parent or guardian of an elementary school student, the
student shall be excused from the instruction described in Subsection (4).

(c) Participation of a student requires compliance with Sections 53A-13-301 and 53A-13-302.
(6) A school district or charter school may determine the mode of delivery for the training and

instruction described in Subsections (3) and (4).
(7)

(a) The State Board of Education shall report to the Education Interim Committee on the progress
of the provisions of this section by the committee's November 2017 meeting.

(b) Upon request of the State Board of Education, a school district or charter school shall provide
to the State Board of Education information that is necessary for the report required under
Subsection (7)(a).

Enacted by Chapter 342, 2014 General Session

Part 2
Driver Education Classes

53A-13-201 Driver education established by school districts.
(1) As used in this part:

(a) "Driver education" includes classroom instruction and driving and observation in a dual-
controlled motor vehicle.

(b) "Driving" or "behind-the-wheel driving" means operating a dual-controlled motor vehicle under
the supervision of a certified instructor.

(2)
(a) Local school districts may establish and maintain driver education for pupils.
(b) A school or local school district that provides driver education shall provide an opportunity for

each pupil enrolled in that school or local school district to take the written test when the pupil
is 15 years and nine months of age.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsection (2)(b), a school or local school district that
provides driver education may provide an opportunity for each pupil enrolled in that school or
school district to take the written test when the pupil is 15 years of age.
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(3) The purpose of driver education is to help develop the knowledge, attitudes, habits, and skills
necessary for the safe operation of motor vehicles.

(4) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State Board
of Education shall make rules for driver education offered in the public schools.

(5) The rules under Subsection (4) shall:
(a) require at least one hour of classroom training on the subject of railroad crossing safety for

each driver education pupil; and
(b) establish minimum standards for approved driving ranges under Section 53-3-505.5.

(6) The requirements of Section 53-3-505.5 apply to any behind-the-wheel driving training provided
as part of driver education offered under this part and used to satisfy the driver training
requirement under Section 53-3-204.

Amended by Chapter 382, 2008 General Session

53A-13-202 Driver education funding -- Reimbursement of school districts for driver
education class expenses -- Limitations -- Excess funds -- Student fees.
(1)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a school district that provides driver education shall
fund the program solely through:

(i) funds provided from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account in the Uniform School
Fund as created under Section 41-1a-1205; and

(ii) student fees collected by each school.
(b) In determining the cost of driver education, a school district may exclude:

(i) the full-time equivalent cost of a teacher for a driver education class taught during regular
school hours; and

(ii) classroom space and classroom maintenance.
(c) A school district may not use any additional school funds beyond those allowed under

Subsection (1)(b) to subsidize driver education.
(2)

(a) The state superintendent of public instruction shall, prior to September 2nd following the
school year during which it was expended, or may at earlier intervals during that school year,
reimburse each school district that applied for reimbursement in accordance with this section.

(b) A school district that maintains driver education classes that conform to this part and the rules
prescribed by the board may apply for reimbursement for the actual cost of providing the
behind-the-wheel and observation training incidental to those classes.

(3) Under the state board's supervision for driver education, a school district may:
(a) employ personnel who are not licensed by the board under Section 53A-6-104; or
(b)  contract with private parties or agencies licensed under Section 53-3-504 for the behind-the-

wheel phase of the driver education program.
(4) The reimbursement amount shall be paid out of the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account

in the Uniform School Fund and may not exceed:
(a) $100 per student who has completed driver education during the school year;
(b) $30 per student who has only completed the classroom portion in the school or through the

electronic high school during the school year; or
(c) $70 per student who has only completed the behind-the-wheel and observation portion in the

school during the school year.
(5) If the amount of money in the account at the end of a school year is less than the total of the

reimbursable costs, the state superintendent of public instruction shall allocate the money
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to each school district in the same proportion that its reimbursable costs bear to the total
reimbursable costs of all school districts.

(6) If the amount of money in the account at the end of any school year is more than the total of
the reimbursement costs provided under Subsection (4), the superintendent may allocate the
excess funds to school districts:

(a) to reimburse each school district that applies for reimbursement of the cost of a fee waived
under Section 53A-12-103 for driver education; and

(b) to aid in the procurement of equipment and facilities which reduce the cost of behind-the-
wheel instruction.

(7) A local school board shall establish the student fee for driver education for the school district.
Student fees shall be reasonably associated with the costs of driver education that are not
otherwise covered by reimbursements and allocations made under this section.

Amended by Chapter 23, 2003 General Session

53A-13-203 Enrollment of private school pupils.
(1) A school district maintaining driver education classes shall allow pupils enrolled in grades nine

to 12 of regularly established private schools located within the school district to enroll in the
most accessible public school in the school district to receive driver education.

(2) Enrollment is on the same terms and conditions as applies to students in public schools within
the district, as such terms and conditions relate to the driver education classes only.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-13-204 Reports as to costs of driver training programs.
          A local school board seeking reimbursement shall, at the end of each school year and at

other times as designated by the State Board of Education, report the following to the state
superintendent of public instruction:
(1) the costs of providing driver education including a separate accounting for:

(a) course work; and
(b) behind-the-wheel and observation training to students;

(2) the costs of fees waived under Section 53A-12-103 for driver education including a separate
accounting for:

(a) course work; and
(b) behind-the-wheel and observation training to students;

(3) the number of students who completed driver education including a separate accounting for:
(a) course work; and
(b) behind-the-wheel and observation training to students;

(4) whether or not a passing grade was received; and
(5) any other information the State Board of Education may require for the purpose of

administering this program.

Amended by Chapter 23, 2003 General Session

53A-13-205 Promoting the establishment and maintenance of classes -- Payment of costs.
(1) The superintendent of public instruction shall promote the establishment and maintenance

of driver education classes in school districts under rules adopted by the State Board of
Education.
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(2) The state board may employ personnel and sponsor experimental programs considered
necessary to give full effect to this program.

(3) The costs of implementing this section shall be paid from the legislative appropriation to the
board made from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account in the Uniform School Fund.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-13-206 Appropriations from Automobile Driver Education Tax Account.
          There is appropriated to the State Board of Education from the Automobile Driver Education

Tax Account, annually, all money in the account, in excess of the expense of administering the
collection of the tax, for use and distribution in the administration and maintenance of driver
education classes and programs with respect to classes offered in the school district and the
establishment of experimental programs, including the purchasing of equipment, by the board.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-13-208 Driver education teachers certified as license examiners.
(1) The Driver License Division of the Department of Public Safety and the State Board of

Education shall establish procedures and standards to certify teachers of driver education
classes under this part to administer written and driving tests.

(2) The division is the certifying authority.
(3)

(a) A teacher certified under this section shall give written and driving tests designed for driver
education classes authorized under this part.

(b) The Driver License Division shall, in conjunction with the State Board of Education, establish
minimal standards for the driver education class tests that are at least as difficult as those
required to receive a class D operator's license under Title 53, Chapter 3, Uniform Driver
License Act.

(c) A student who passes the written test but fails the driving test given by a teacher certified
under this section may apply for a learner permit or class D operator's license under Title
53, Chapter 3, Part 2, Driver Licensing Act, and complete the driving test at a Driver License
Division office.

(4) A student shall have a learner permit issued by the Driver License Division under Section
53-3-210.5 in the student's immediate possession at all times when operating a motor vehicle
under this section.

(5) A student who successfully passes the tests given by a certified driver education teacher under
this section satisfies the written and driving parts of the test required for a learner permit or
class D operator's license.

(6) The Driver License Division and the State Board of Education shall establish procedures to
enable school districts to administer or process any tests for students to receive a learner
permit or class D operator's license.

(7) The division and board shall establish the standards and procedures required under this section
by rules made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-13-209 Programs authorized -- Minimum standards.
(1) Local school districts may:
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(a) allow students to complete the classroom training portion of driver education through the
following programs:

(i) home study; or
(ii) the electronic high school;

(b) provide each parent with driver education instructional materials to assist in parent
involvement with driver education including behind-the-wheel driving materials;

(c) offer driver education outside of school hours in order to reduce the cost of providing driver
education;

(d) offer driver education through community education programs;
(e) offer the classroom portion of driver education in the public schools and allow the student to

complete the behind-the-wheel portion with a private provider:
(i) licensed under Section 53-3-504; and
(ii) not associated with the school or under contract with the school under Subsection

53A-13-202(3); or
(f) any combination of Subsections (1)(a) through (e).

(2) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State
Board of Education shall establish minimum standards for the school-related programs under
Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 382, 2008 General Session

Part 3
Utah Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act

53A-13-301 Application of state and federal law to the administration and operation of
public schools -- Local school board and charter school governing board policies.
(1) As used in this section "education entity" means:

(a) the State Board of Education;
(b) a local school board or charter school governing board;
(c) a school district;
(d) a public school; or
(e) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(2) An education entity and an employee, student aide, volunteer, third party contractor, or other
agent of an education entity shall protect the privacy of a student, the student's parents,
and the student's family and support parental involvement in the education of their children
through compliance with the protections provided for family and student privacy under Section
53A-13-302 and the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act and related provisions under
20 U.S.C. Secs. 1232g and 1232h, in the administration and operation of all public school
programs, regardless of the source of funding.

(3) A local school board or charter school governing board shall enact policies governing the
protection of family and student privacy as required by this section and Section 53A-13-302.

Amended by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

53A-13-302 Activities prohibited without prior written consent -- Validity of consent --
Qualifications -- Training on implementation.
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(1) Except as provided in Subsection (7), Section 53A-11a-203, and Section 53A-15-1301,
policies adopted by a school district or charter school under Section 53A-13-301 shall include
prohibitions on the administration to a student of any psychological or psychiatric examination,
test,  or treatment, or any survey, analysis, or evaluation without the prior written consent of
the student's parent or legal guardian, in which the purpose or evident intended effect is to
cause the student to reveal information, whether the information is personally identifiable or not,
concerning the student's or any family member's:

(a) political affiliations or, except as provided under Section 53A-13-101.1 or rules of the State
Board of Education, political philosophies;

(b) mental or psychological problems;
(c) sexual behavior, orientation, or attitudes;
(d) illegal, anti-social, self-incriminating, or demeaning behavior;
(e) critical appraisals of individuals with whom the student or family member has close family

relationships;
(f) religious affiliations or beliefs;
(g) legally recognized privileged and analogous relationships, such as those with lawyers,

medical personnel, or ministers; and
(h) income, except as required by law.

(2) Prior written consent under Subsection (1) is required in all grades, kindergarten through grade
12.

(3) Except as provided in Subsection (7), Section 53A-11a-203, and Section 53A-15-1301, the
prohibitions under Subsection (1) shall also apply within the curriculum and other school
activities unless prior written consent of the student's parent or legal guardian has been
obtained.

(4)
(a) Written parental consent is valid only if a parent or legal guardian has been first given written

notice, including notice that a copy of the educational or student survey questions to be asked
of the student in obtaining the desired information is made available at the school, and a
reasonable opportunity to obtain written information concerning:

(i) records or information, including information about relationships, that may be examined or
requested;

(ii) the means by which the records or information shall be examined or reviewed;
(iii) the means by which the information is to be obtained;
(iv) the purposes for which the records or information are needed;
(v) the entities or persons, regardless of affiliation, who will have access to the personally

identifiable information; and
(vi) a method by which a parent of a student can grant permission to access or examine the

personally identifiable information.
(b) For a survey described in Subsection (1), written notice described in Subsection (4)(a) shall

include an Internet address where a parent or legal guardian can view the exact survey to be
administered to the parent or legal guardian's student.

(5)
(a) Except in response to a situation which a school employee reasonably believes to be an

emergency, or as authorized under Title 62A, Chapter 4a, Part 4, Child Abuse or Neglect
Reporting Requirements, or by order of a court, disclosure to a parent or legal guardian must
be given at least two weeks before information protected under this section is sought.

(b) Following disclosure, a parent or guardian may waive the two week minimum notification
period.
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(c) Unless otherwise agreed to by a student's parent or legal guardian and the person requesting
written consent, the authorization is valid only for the activity for which it was granted.

(d) A written withdrawal of authorization submitted to the school principal by the authorizing
parent or guardian terminates the authorization.

(e) A general consent used to approve admission to school or involvement in special education,
remedial education, or a school activity does not constitute written consent under this section.

(6)
(a) This section does not limit the ability of a student under Section 53A-13-101.3 to

spontaneously express sentiments or opinions otherwise protected against disclosure under
this section.

(b)
(i) If a school employee or agent believes that a situation exists which presents a serious threat

to the well-being of a student, that employee or agent shall notify the student's parent or
guardian without delay.

(ii) If, however, the matter has been reported to the Division of Child and Family Services
within the Department of Human Services, it is the responsibility of the division to notify the
student's parent or guardian of any possible investigation, prior to the student's return home
from school.

(iii) The division may be exempted from the notification requirements described in this
Subsection (6)(b)(ii) only if it determines that the student would be endangered by
notification of his parent or guardian, or if that notification is otherwise prohibited by state or
federal law.

(7)
(a) If a school employee, agent, or school resource officer believes a student is at-risk of

attempting suicide, physical self-harm, or harming others, the school employee, agent, or
school resource officer may intervene and ask a student questions regarding the student's
suicidal thoughts, physically self-harming behavior, or thoughts of harming others for the
purposes of:

(i) referring the student to appropriate prevention services; and
(ii) informing the student's parent or legal guardian.

(b) On or before September 1, 2014, a school district or charter school shall develop and adopt
a policy regarding intervention measures consistent with Subsection (7)(a) while requiring the
minimum degree of intervention to accomplish the goals of this section.

(8) Local school boards and charter school governing boards shall provide inservice for teachers
and administrators on the implementation of this section.

(9) The board shall provide procedures for disciplinary action for violations of this section.

Amended by Chapter 221, 2016 General Session

Chapter 14
State Instructional Materials Commission

53A-14-101 Creation of commission -- Powers -- Payment of expenses.
(1) The State Board of Education shall appoint a State Instructional Materials Commission

consisting of:
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(a) the state superintendent of public instruction or the superintendent's designee;
(b) a school district superintendent;
(c) a secondary school principal;
(d) an elementary school principal;
(e) a secondary school teacher;
(f) an elementary school teacher;
(g) five persons not employed in public education; and
(h) a dean of a school of education of a state college or university.

(2) The commission shall evaluate instructional materials for recommendation by the board.
(3) As used in this chapter, "instructional materials" means textbooks or materials used as, or in

place, of textbooks and which may be used within the state curriculum framework for courses of
study by students in public schools to include:

(a) textbooks;
(b) workbooks;
(c) computer software;
(d) laserdiscs or videodiscs; and
(e) multiple forms of communications media.

(4) Members shall serve without compensation, but their actual and necessary expenses incurred
in the performance of their official duties shall be paid out of money appropriated to the board.

Amended by Chapter 299, 2002 General Session

53A-14-102 Commission's evaluation of instructional materials -- Recommendation by the
state board.
(1) Semi-annually after reviewing the evaluations of the commission, the board shall recommend

instructional materials for use in the public schools.
(2) The standard period of time instructional materials shall remain on the list of recommended

instructional materials shall be five years.
(3) Unsatisfactory instructional materials may be removed from the list of recommended

instructional materials at any time within the period applicable to the instructional materials.
(4) Except as provided in Section 53A-13-101, each school shall have discretion to select

instructional materials for use by the school.  A school may select:
(a) instructional materials recommended by the board as provided in this section; or
(b) other instructional materials the school considers appropriate to teach the core standards for

Utah public schools.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-14-103 Meetings -- Notice.
(1) The commission shall meet at the call of the state superintendent of public instruction or the

superintendent's designee.
(2) Notice of a meeting shall be given as required under Section 52-4-202.

Amended by Chapter 14, 2006 General Session

53A-14-104 Sealed proposals for instructional materials contracts -- Sample copies -- Price
of instructional materials.
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(1) As used in this section, the word "sealed" does not preclude acceptance of electronically
sealed and submitted bids or proposals in addition to bids or proposals manually sealed and
submitted.

(2) A person seeking a contract to furnish instructional materials for use in the public schools shall
submit a sealed proposal to the commission.

(3) Each proposal must:
(a) be accompanied by sample copies of the instructional materials to be reviewed; and
(b) include the wholesale price at which the publisher agrees to furnish the instructional materials

to districts and schools during the approval period.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2001 General Session

53A-14-105 Awarding instructional materials contracts.
(1) The board shall award contracts for furnishing instructional materials.
(2) If a satisfactory proposal to furnish instructional materials is not received, a new request for

proposals may be issued.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2001 General Session

53A-14-106 Illegal acts -- Misdemeanor.
          It is a misdemeanor for a member of the commission or the board to receive money or other

remuneration as an inducement for the recommendation or introduction of instructional materials
into the schools.

Amended by Chapter 84, 2001 General Session

53A-14-107 Instructional materials alignment with core standards for Utah public schools.
(1) For a school year beginning with or after the 2012-13 school year, a school district may not

purchase primary instructional materials unless the primary instructional materials provider:
(a) contracts with an independent party to evaluate and map the alignment of the primary

instructional materials with the core standards for Utah public schools adopted under Section
53A-1-402;

(b) provides a detailed summary of the evaluation under Subsection (1)(a) on a public website at
no charge, for use by teachers and the general public; and

(c) pays the costs related to the requirements of this Subsection (1).
(2) The requirements under Subsection (1) may not be performed by:

(a) the State Board of Education;
(b) the superintendent of public instruction or employees of the State Board of Education;
(c) the State Instructional Materials Commission appointed pursuant to Section 53A-14-101;
(d) a local school board or a school district; or
(e) the instructional materials creator or publisher.

(3) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State Board
of Education shall make rules that establish:

(a) the qualifications of the independent parties who may evaluate and map the alignment of the
primary instructional materials in accordance with the provisions of Subsection (1)(a); and

(b) requirements for the detailed summary of the evaluation and its placement on a public
website in accordance with the provisions of Subsection (1)(b).
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Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

Chapter 15
Standards and Programs

Part 1
Standards

53A-15-102 Early graduation incentives -- Incentive to school district -- Partial tuition
scholarship for student -- Payments.
(1) Any secondary public school student who has completed all required courses or demonstrated

mastery of required skills and competencies may, with the approval of the student, the student's
parent or guardian, and an authorized local school official, graduate at any time.

(2) Each public high school shall receive an amount equal to 1/2 of the scholarship awarded to
each student who graduates from the  school at or prior to the conclusion of the eleventh grade,
or a proportionately lesser amount for any student who graduates after the conclusion of the
eleventh grade but prior to the conclusion of the twelfth grade.

(3)
(a) A student who graduates from high school at or prior to the conclusion of the eleventh grade

shall receive a centennial scholarship in the lesser amount of full tuition for one year or
$1,000 to be used for full time enrollment at a Utah public college, university, community
college, applied technology college within the Utah College of Applied Technology, or any
other institution in the state of Utah, accredited by the Northwest Association of Schools and
Colleges that offers postsecondary courses of the student's choice upon verification that the
student has registered at the institution during the fiscal year following graduation from high
school.

(b) In the case of a student who graduates after the conclusion of the eleventh grade but prior
to the conclusion of the twelfth grade, the student shall receive a centennial scholarship of a
proportionately lesser amount.

(4)
(a) The payments authorized in Subsections (2) and (3)(a) shall be made during the fiscal year

that follows the student's graduation.
(b) The payments authorized in Subsection (3)(b) may be made during the fiscal year in which

the student graduates or the fiscal year following the student's graduation.
(5)

(a) The State Board of Education shall administer the payment program authorized in
Subsections (2), (3), and (4).

(b) The Legislature shall make an annual appropriation from the Education Fund to the State
Board of Education for the costs associated with the Centennial Scholarship Program based
on the projected number of students who will graduate before the conclusion of the twelfth
grade in any given year.

Amended by Chapter 236, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 415, 2016 General Session

53A-15-104 Critical Languages Program -- Pilot.
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(1)
(a) As used in this section, "critical languages" means those languages described in the federal

National Security Language Initiative, including Chinese, Arabic, Russian, Farsi, Hindi, and
Korean.

(b) The Legislature recognizes:
(i) the importance of students acquiring skills in foreign languages in order for them to

successfully compete in a global society; and
(ii) the academic, societal, and economic development benefits of the acquisition of critical

languages.
(2)

(a) The State Board of Education, in consultation with the Utah Education and Telehealth
Network, shall develop and implement courses of study in the critical languages.

(b) A course may be taught:
(i) over the state's two-way interactive video conferencing system for video and audio, to

students in the state's public education system;
(ii) through the Electronic High School;
(iii) through traditional instruction; or
(iv) by visiting guest teachers.

(3)
(a) The courses authorized in Subsection (2) may use paraprofessionals in the classroom who:

(i) are fluent in the critical language being taught; and
(ii) can provide reinforcement and tutoring to students on days and at times when they are not

receiving instruction under Subsection (2)(b).
(b) The State Board of Education, through the state superintendent of public instruction, shall

ensure that the paraprofessionals are fluent in the critical languages.
(4) The State Board of Education shall make rules on the critical languages courses authorized

under this section in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking
Act, to include:

(a) notification to school districts on the times and places of the course offerings; and
(b) instructional materials for the courses.

(5) The State Board of Education shall track and monitor the Critical Languages Program and may
expand the program to include more course offerings and other critical languages, subject to
student demand for the courses and available resources.

(6)
(a) Subject to funding for the program, the State Board of Education shall establish a pilot

program for school districts and schools to initially participate in the Critical Languages
Program that provides:

(i) up to $6,000 per language per school, for up to 60 schools, for courses offered in critical
languages;

(ii) up to $100 per student who completes a critical languages course; and
(iii) up to an additional $400 per foreign exchange student who completes a critical languages

course.
(b) If the available funding is insufficient to provide the amounts described under Subsection

(6)(a), the amounts provided shall be reduced pro rata so that the total provided does not
exceed the available funding.

Amended by Chapter 63, 2014 General Session
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53A-15-105 Dual Language Immersion Program -- Pilot.
(1) Subject to funding for the program, the State Board of Education shall establish a pilot program

for school districts and schools to initially participate in the Dual Language Immersion Program.
(2) The program shall provide funds as an incentive to 15 qualifying schools for the following

languages:
(a) six pilots for Chinese;
(b) six pilots for Spanish;
(c) two pilots for French; and
(d) one pilot for Navajo.

(3) Subject to funding for the program, a qualifying school shall:
(a) receive up to $18,000 per year for up to six years;
(b) establish an instructional model that uses 50% of instruction in English and 50% of instruction

in another language; and
(c) begin the instructional model described under Subsection (3)(b) in kindergarten or grade 1

and add an additional grade each year.

Enacted by Chapter 235, 2008 General Session

53A-15-106 Interventions for Reading Difficulties Pilot Program.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Dyslexia" means a specific learning disability that is neurological in origin and characterized

by difficulties with accurate or fluent word recognition and by poor spelling and decoding
abilities that typically result from a deficit in the phonological component of language that
is often unexpected in relation to other cognitive abilities and the provision of effective
classroom instruction.

(c) "Endorsement" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-6-103.
(d) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means:

(i) a school district;
(ii) a charter school; or
(iii) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(e) "Multi-Tier System of Supports" or "MTSS" means a framework integrating assessment and
intervention that:

(i) provides increasingly intensive interventions for students at risk for or experiencing reading
difficulties, including:

(A) tier II interventions that, in addition to standard classroom reading, provide supplemental
and targeted small group instruction in reading using evidence-based curricula; and

(B) tier III interventions that address the specific needs of students who are the most at risk
or who have not responded to tier II interventions by providing frequent, intensive, and
targeted small group instruction using evidence-based curricula; and

(ii) is developed to:
(A) maximize student achievement;
(B) reduce behavior problems; and
(C) increase long-term success.

(f) "Program" means the Interventions for Reading Difficulties Pilot Program.
(g) "Reading difficulty" means an impairment, including dyslexia, that negatively affects a

student's ability to learn to read.
(2) There is created the Interventions for Reading Difficulties Pilot Program to provide:
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(a) specific evidence-based literacy interventions using an MTSS for students in kindergarten
through grade 5 who are at risk for or experiencing a reading difficulty, including dyslexia; and

(b) professional development to educators who provide the literacy interventions described in
Subsection (2)(a).

(3)
(a) An LEA may submit a proposal to the board to participate in the program.
(b) An LEA proposal described in Subsection (3)(a) shall:

(i) specify:
(A) a range of current benchmark assessment in reading scores described in Section

53A-1-606.6 that the LEA will use to determine whether a student is at risk for a reading
difficulty; and

(B) other reading difficulty risk factors that the LEA will use to determine whether a student is
at risk for a reading difficulty;

(ii) describe the LEA's existing reading program;
(iii) describe the LEA's MTSS approach; and
(iv) include any other information requested by the board.

(c) The board may:
(i) specify the format for an LEA proposal; and
(ii) set a deadline for an LEA to submit a proposal.

(4) The board shall:
(a) define criteria for selecting an LEA to participate in the program;
(b) during fiscal year 2016, select five LEAs to participate in the program:

(i) on a competitive basis; and
(ii) using criteria described in Subsection (4)(a); and

(c) provide each LEA, selected as described in Subsection (4)(b), up to $30,000 per school within
the LEA.

(5) During fiscal years 2017, 2018, and 2019, if funding allows, the board may select additional
LEAs to participate in the program.

(6) An LEA that participates in the program:
(a) shall, beginning with the 2016-17 school year, provide the interventions described in

Subsection (7)(c) from the time the LEA is selected until the end of the 2018-19 school year;
and

(b) may provide the professional development described in Subsections (8)(a) and (b) beginning
in fiscal year 2016.

(7) An LEA that participates in the program shall:
(a) select at least one school in the LEA to participate in the program;
(b) identify students in kindergarten through grade 5 for participation in the program by:

(i) using current benchmark assessment in reading scores as described in Section
53A-1-606.6; and

(ii) considering other reading difficulty risk factors identified by the LEA;
(c) provide interventions for each student participating in the program using an MTSS

implemented by an educator trained in evidence-based interventions;
(d) include the LEA's proposal submitted under Subsection (3)(b) in the reading achievement

plan described in Section 53A-1-606.5 for each school in the LEA that participates in the
program; and

(e) report annually to the board on:
(i) individual student outcomes in changes in reading ability;
(ii) school level outcomes; and
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(iii) any other information requested by the board.
(8) Subject to funding for the program, an LEA may use the funds described in Subsection (4)(c)

for the following purposes:
(a) to provide for ongoing professional development in evidence-based literacy interventions;
(b) to support educators in earning a reading interventionist endorsement that prepares teachers

to provide a student who is at risk for or experiencing reading difficulty, including dyslexia,
with reading intervention that is:

(i) explicit;
(ii) systematic; and
(iii) targeted to a student's specific reading difficulty; and

(c) to implement the program.
(9) The board shall contract with an independent evaluator to evaluate the program on:

(a) whether the program improves reading outcomes for a student who receives the interventions
described in Subsection (7)(c);

(b) whether the program may reduce future special education costs; and
(c) any other student or school achievement outcomes requested by the board.

(10)
(a) The board shall make a final report on the program to the Education Interim Committee on or

before November 1, 2018.
(b) In the final report described in Subsection (10)(a), the board shall include the results of the

evaluation described in Subsection (9).

Enacted by Chapter 431, 2015 General Session

53A-15-107 Rulemaking -- Standards for high quality programs operating outside of the
regular school day.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, and in

consultation with the Department of Workforce Services, the State Board of Education shall
make rules that describe the standards for a high quality program operating outside of the
regular school day:

(a) for elementary or secondary students; and
(b) offered by a:

(i) school district;
(ii) charter school;
(iii) private provider, including a non-profit provider; or
(iv) municipality.

(2) The standards described in Subsection (1) shall specify that a high quality program operating
outside of the regular school day:

(a) provides a safe, healthy, and nurturing environment for all participants;
(b) develops and maintains positive relationships among staff, participants, families, schools, and

communities;
(c) encourages participants to learn new skills; and
(d) is effectively administered.

Enacted by Chapter 343, 2016 General Session
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Part 2
Applied Technology

53A-15-202 Powers of the board.
          The State Board of Education:

(1) shall establish minimum standards for career and technical education programs in the public
education system;

(2) may apply for, receive, administer, and distribute funds made available through programs of
federal and state governments to promote and aid career and technical education;

(3) shall cooperate with federal and state governments to administer programs which promote and
maintain career and technical education;

(4) shall cooperate with the Utah College of Applied Technology, Salt Lake Community College's
School of Applied Technology, Snow College, and Utah State University Eastern to ensure that
students in the public education system have access to career and technical education at Utah
College of Applied Technology applied technology colleges, Salt Lake Community College's
School of Applied Technology, Snow College, and Utah State University Eastern;

(5) shall require that before a minor student may participate in clinical experiences as part of a
health care occupation program at a high school or other institution to which the student has
been referred, the student's parent or legal guardian has:

(a) been first given written notice through appropriate disclosure when registering and prior to
participation that the program contains a clinical experience segment in which the student will
observe and perform specific health care procedures that may include personal care, patient
bathing, and bathroom assistance; and

(b) provided specific written consent for the student's participation in the program and clinical
experience; and

(6) shall, after consulting with school districts, charter schools, the Utah College of Applied
Technology, Salt Lake Community College's School of Applied Technology, Snow College, and
Utah State University Eastern, prepare and submit an annual report to the governor and to the
Legislature's Education Interim Committee by October 31 of each year detailing:

(a) how the career and technical education needs of secondary students are being met; and
(b) what access secondary students have to programs offered:

(i) at applied technology colleges; and
(ii) within the regions served by Salt Lake Community College's School of Applied Technology,

Snow College, and Utah State University Eastern.

Amended by Chapter 236, 2016 General Session

Part 3
Education of Children with Disabilities

53A-15-301 Education programs for students with disabilities -- Supervision by the State
Board of Education -- Enforcement.
(1)

(a) All students with disabilities, who are between the ages of three and 22 and have not
graduated from high school with a regular diploma, are entitled to a free, appropriate public
education.
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(b) For purposes of Subsection (1)(a), if a student with a disability turns 22 during the school
year, the entitlement extends to the:

(i) beginning of the school's winter holiday for those who turn 22 on or after the beginning of the
school year and before December 31; and

(ii) end of the school year for those who turn 22 after December 31 and before the end of the
school year.

(c) The State Board of Education shall adopt rules consistent with applicable state and federal
law to implement this chapter.

(2) The rules adopted by the state board shall include the following:
(a) appropriate and timely identification of students with disabilities;
(b) diagnosis, evaluation, and classification by qualified personnel;
(c) standards for classes and services;
(d) provision for multidistrict programs;
(e) provision for delivery of service responsibilities;
(f) certification and qualifications for instructional staff; and
(g) services for dual enrollment students attending public school on a part-time basis under

Section 53A-11-102.5.
(3)

(a) The state board shall have general control and supervision over all educational programs for
students within the state who have disabilities.

(b) Those programs must comply with rules adopted by the state board under this section.
(4) The state superintendent of public instruction shall enforce this chapter.

Amended by Chapter 82, 2002 General Session

53A-15-302 State director of special education -- Qualifications -- Duties.
(1) The State Board of Education shall appoint a state director of special education, who shall be

qualified and experienced in the area of special education.
(2) The state director has the following duties and responsibilities:

(a) to assist the state board and state superintendent of public instruction in performing their
duties under this chapter;

(b) to encourage and assist school districts and other authorized public agencies in the
organization of programs for students with disabilities;

(c) to provide general supervision over all public programs offered through a public school, public
agency, public institution, or private agency for students with disabilities;

(d) to cooperate with private schools and other private agencies concerned with educating and
training students with  disabilities; and

(e) to coordinate all state programs for students with  disabilities.

Amended by Chapter 53, 1992 General Session

53A-15-303 School district responsibility -- Reimbursement of costs -- Other programs.
(1)

(a) Each school district shall provide, either singly or in cooperation with other school districts or
public institutions, a free, appropriate education program for all students with disabilities who
are residents of the district.

(b) The program shall include necessary special facilities, instruction, and education-related
services.
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(c) The costs of a district's program, or a district's share of a joint program, shall be paid from
district funds.

(2) School districts that provide special education services under this chapter in accordance with
applicable rules of the State Board of Education shall receive reimbursement from the board
under Title 53A, Chapter 17a, Minimum School Program Act, and other applicable laws.

(3)
(a) A school district may, singly or in cooperation with other public entities, provide education and

training for persons with disabilities who are younger than three or older than 22 consistent
with Subsection 53A-15-301(1).

(b) The cost of such a program may be paid from fees, contributions, and other funds received by
the district for support of the program, but may not be paid from public education funds.

Amended by Chapter 82, 2002 General Session

53A-15-303.5 Participation of students with a disability in extracurricular activities.
(1) A student with a disability may not be denied the opportunity of participating in public

school programs or extracurricular activities solely because of the student's age, unless the
participation threatens the health or safety of the student.

(2) The school district in cooperation with the Utah Department of Health shall establish criteria
used to determine the health and safety factor.

(3) Subsection (1) applies to a student who:
(a) has not graduated from high school with a regular diploma; and
(b) is under the age of 20, if participation is recommended by the student's individualized

education program team.

Amended by Chapter 215, 2000 General Session

53A-15-304 Services provided by Department of Health.
          The Department of Health shall provide diagnostic and evaluation services, which are required

by state or federal law but are not typically otherwise provided by school districts, to students with
disabilities.

Amended by Chapter 53, 1992 General Session

53A-15-304.5 Special education assessments for children in the custody of the Division of
Child and Family Services.

          Each school district shall provide an initial special education assessment for children who enter
the custody of the Division of Child and Family Services, upon request by that division, for children
whose school records indicate that they may have disabilities requiring special education services.
The assessment shall be conducted within 30 days of the request by the Division of Child and
Family Services.

Enacted by Chapter 318, 1996 General Session

53A-15-305 Resolution of disputes in special education -- Hearing request -- Timelines --
Levels -- Appeal process -- Recovery of costs.
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(1) The Legislature finds that it is in the best interest of students with disabilities to provide for a
prompt and fair final resolution of disputes which may arise over educational programs and
rights and responsibilities of students with disabilities, their parents, and the public schools.

(2) Therefore, the State Board of Education shall adopt rules meeting the requirements of 20
U.S.C. Section 1415 governing the establishment and maintenance of procedural safeguards
for students with disabilities and their parents or guardians as to the provision of free,
appropriate public education to those students.

(3) The timelines established by the board shall provide adequate time to address and resolve
disputes without unnecessarily disrupting or delaying the provision of free, appropriate public
education for students with disabilities.

(4) Prior to seeking a hearing or other formal proceedings, the parties to a dispute under this
section shall make a good faith effort to resolve the dispute informally at the school building
level.

(5)
(a) If the dispute is not resolved under Subsection (4), a party may request a due process

hearing.
(b) The hearing shall be conducted under rules adopted by the board in accordance with 20

U.S.C. Section 1415.
(6)

(a) A party to the hearing may appeal the decision issued under Subsection (5) to a court of
competent jurisdiction under 20 U.S.C. Section 1415(i).

(b) The party must file the judicial appeal within 30 days after issuance of the due process
hearing decision.

(7) If the parties fail to reach agreement on payment of attorney fees, then a party seeking
recovery of attorney fees under 20 U.S.C. Section 1415(i) for a special education administrative
action shall file a court action within 30 days after issuance of a decision under Subsection (5).

Amended by Chapter 9, 2001 General Session

Part 4
Adult Education

53A-15-401 State Board of Education to supervise.
(1) The general control and supervision, but not the direct management, of adult education is

vested in the State Board of Education.
(2) The board has the following powers:

(a) makes and enforces rules to organize, conduct, and supervise adult education;
(b) appoints state staff for the adult education program, establishes their duties, and fixes their

compensation;
(c) determines the qualifications of, and issues teaching certificates to, persons employed to give

adult education instruction; and
(d) determines the basis of apportionment and distributes funds made available for adult

education.
(3)

(a) The State Board of Education shall make rules providing for the establishment of fees which
shall be imposed by local school boards for participation in adult education programs.
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(b) A fee structure for adult education shall take into account the ability of a Utah resident who
participates in adult education to pay the fees.

(c) Sections 53A-12-103 and 53A-12-104 pertaining to fees and fee waivers in secondary
schools do not apply to adult education.

Amended by Chapter 257, 2004 General Session

53A-15-402 Director of adult education.
(1) Upon recommendation of the state superintendent, the State Board of Education may appoint a

full-time director for adult education to work under the supervision of the board.
(2) The director may coordinate the adult education program authorized under Sections

53A-15-401 through 53A-15-405 with other adult education programs.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-15-403 Local school boards' authority to direct adult education programs.
          A local school board may do the following:

(1) establish and maintain classes for adult education, with classes being held at times and places
convenient and accessible to the members of the class;

(2) raise and appropriate funds for an adult education program;
(3) subject to Sections 53A-12-101 and 53A-15-401, determine fees for participation in an adult

education program; and
(4) hire persons to instruct adult education classes.

Amended by Chapter 257, 2004 General Session

53A-15-404 Eligibility.
(1) Adult education classes are open to every person 18 years of age or over and to any person

who has completed high school.
(2) Eligible nonresidents of the state shall be charged tuition at least equal to that charged

nonresident students for similar classes at a local or nearby state college or university, unless
waived in whole or in part by the local school board in an open meeting.

(3) The district superintendent may, upon the recommendation of an authorized representative of
the Division of Child and Family Services, exempt an adult domiciled in Utah from the payment
of adult education fees.

Amended by Chapter 318, 1996 General Session

53A-15-405 Salaries -- Costs.
(1) Salaries and other necessary expenses of the state adult education staff shall be paid from

funds appropriated for adult education.
(2) The State Board of Education shall determine the terms and conditions of payment.
(3) A local school board shall pay all costs incident to the local administration and operation of its

adult education program.
(4) The board shall submit reports required by the State Board of Education for the administration

of adult education.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session
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Part 6
Gang Prevention and Intervention

53A-15-603 Gang prevention and intervention policies.
(1)

(a) The State Board of Education shall adopt rules that require a local school board or governing
board of a charter school to enact gang prevention and intervention policies for all schools
within the board's jurisdiction.

(b) The rules described in Subsection (1)(a) shall provide that the gang prevention and
intervention policies of a local school board or charter school governing board may include
provisions that reflect the individual school district's or charter school's unique needs or
circumstances.

(2) The rules described in Subsection (1) may include the following provisions:
(a) school faculty and personnel shall report suspected gang activities relating to the school and

its students to a school administrator and law enforcement;
(b) a student who participates in gang activities may be excluded from participation in

extracurricular activities, including interscholastic athletics, as determined by the school
administration after consultation with law enforcement;

(c) gang-related graffiti or damage to school property shall result in parent or guardian notification
and appropriate administrative and law enforcement actions, which may include obtaining
restitution from those responsible for the damage;

(d) if a serious gang-related incident, as determined by the school administrator in consultation
with local law enforcement, occurs on school property, at school related activities, or on a
site that is normally considered to be under school control, notification shall be provided to
parents and guardians of students in the school:

(i) informing them, in general terms, about the incident, but removing all personally identifiable
information about students from the notice;

(ii) emphasizing the school's concern for safety; and
(iii) outlining the action taken at the school regarding the incident;

(e) school faculty and personnel shall be trained by experienced evidence based trainers that
may include community gang specialists and law enforcement as part of comprehensive
strategies to recognize early warning signs for youth in trouble and help students resist
serious involvement in undesirable activity, including joining gangs or mimicking gang
behavior;

(f) prohibitions on the following behavior:
(i) advocating or promoting a gang or any gang-related activities;
(ii) marking school property, books, or school work with gang names, slogans, or signs;
(iii) conducting gang initiations;
(iv) threatening another person with bodily injury or inflicting bodily injury on another in

connection with a gang or gang-related activity;
(v) aiding or abetting an activity described under Subsections (2)(f)(i) through (iv) by a person's

presence or support;
(vi) displaying or wearing common gang apparel, common dress, or identifying signs or

symbols on one's clothing, person, or personal property that is disruptive to the school
environment; and
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(vii) communicating in any method, including verbal, non-verbal, and electronic means,
designed to convey gang membership or affiliation.

(3) The rules described in Subsection (1) may require a local school board or governing board of
a charter school to publicize the policies enacted by the local school board or governing board
of a charter school in accordance with the rules described in Subsection (1) to all students,
parents, guardians, and faculty through school websites, handbooks, letters to parents and
guardians, or other reasonable means of communication.

(4) The State Board of Education may consult with appropriate committees, including committees
that provide opportunities for the input of parents, law enforcement, and community agencies,
as it develops, enacts, and administers the rules described in Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 258, 2015 General Session

Part 10
Electronic High School Act

53A-15-1001 Title.
          This part is known as the "Electronic High School Act."

Enacted by Chapter 227, 2006 General Session

53A-15-1002 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(2) "Electronic High School" means a rigorous program offering grade 9 - 12 level online courses

and coordinated by the board.
(3) "Home-schooled student" means a student:

(a) attends a home school;
(b) is exempt from school attendance pursuant to Section 53A-11-102; and
(c) attends no more than two regularly scheduled classes or courses in a public school per

semester.
(4) "Open-entry, open-exit" means:

(a) a method of instructional delivery that allows for flexible scheduling in response to individual
student needs or requirements and demonstrated competency when knowledge and skills
have been mastered; and

(b) students have the flexibility to begin or end study at any time, progress through course
material at their own pace, and demonstrate competency when knowledge and skills have
been mastered.

Amended by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1002.5 Electronic High School created -- Purpose.
          The Electronic High School is created:

(1) to provide an opportunity for a student who has failed a course to retake the course and earn
course credit;

(2) to allow a student to complete high school graduation requirements and exit high school early;
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(3) to allow a student to take a course online so that the student has greater flexibility in scheduling
courses during the regular school day; and

(4) to allow a home-schooled or private school student in Utah to take a course that meets the
Utah high school core standards for Utah public schools.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-15-1003 Courses and credit.
(1) The Electronic High School may only offer courses required for high school graduation or that

fulfill course requirements established by the State Board of Education.
(2) The Electronic High School shall:

(a) offer courses in an open-entry, open-exit format; and
(b) offer courses that are in conformance with the core standards for Utah public schools

established by the board.
(3) Public schools shall:

(a) accept all credits awarded to students by the Electronic High School; and
(b) apply credits awarded for a course described in Subsection (2)(b) toward the fulfillment of

course requirements.

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-15-1004 Student eligibility for enrollment.
(1) Utah students at any age or in any grade may enroll in Electronic High School courses.
(2) The Electronic High School shall accept students into courses on a first-come first-served

basis.

Enacted by Chapter 227, 2006 General Session

53A-15-1005 Services to students with disabilities.
          Students with disabilities who may need additional services or resources and who seek to enroll

in Electronic High School classes may request appropriate accommodations through the students'
assigned schools or school districts.

Enacted by Chapter 227, 2006 General Session

53A-15-1006 Payment for an Electronic High School course.
(1) Electronic High School courses are provided to students who are Utah residents, as defined in

Section 53A-2-201, free of charge.
(2) Nonresident students may enroll in Electronic High School courses for a fee set by the board,

provided that the course can accommodate additional students.

Amended by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1007 Electronic High School diploma.
          The Electronic High School may award a diploma to a student that meets any of the following

criteria upon the student's completion of high school graduation requirements set by the board:
(1) a home-schooled student;
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(2) a student who has dropped out of school and whose original high school class has graduated;
or

(3) a student who is identified by the student's resident school district as ineligible for graduation
from a traditional high school program for specific reasons.

Enacted by Chapter 227, 2006 General Session

53A-15-1008 Review by legislative auditor general.
(1) The legislative auditor general shall conduct a performance audit of the Electronic High School

as directed by the Legislative Audit Subcommittee.
(2) In conducting the performance audit of the Electronic High School, the legislative auditor

general shall develop performance metrics using factors such as:
(a) course completion rate;
(b) number of credits earned; and
(c) cost of providing online courses.

(3) The legislative auditor general shall use the performance metrics developed under Subsection
(2) to evaluate the Electronic High School in comparison with other online programs.

Enacted by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

Part 11
School Uniforms

53A-15-1101 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Principal" includes the chief administrator of a school that does not have a principal.
(2) "School" means a public school, including a charter school.
(3) "School official" means the principal of a school or the local school board for a school district.
(4) "School uniform" means student clothing conforming to a school uniform policy under this

part, which may include a dress code, dress of designated colors, or a reasonable designated
uniform of a particular style.  A school uniform policy may not include very expensive or
prescriptive clothing requirements.

Enacted by Chapter 190, 2006 General Session

53A-15-1102 Uniforms in schools -- Legislative finding -- Policies.
(1) The Legislature finds that:

(a) each student should be allowed to learn in a safe environment which fosters the learning
process and is free from unnecessary disruptions;

(b) the wearing of certain types of clothing may identify students as members of youth gangs and
contribute to disruptive behavior and violence in the schools;

(c) school uniform policies may be part of an overall program to:
(i) improve school safety and discipline; and
(ii) help avoid the disruption of the classroom atmosphere and decorum and prevent

disturbances among students; and
(d) school uniforms may:



Utah Code

Page 369

(i) decrease violence and theft among students; and
(ii) foster and promote desirable school operating conditions and a positive educational

environment in accordance with this part.
(2) In accordance with Section 53A-15-1103, a school may adopt a school uniform policy that

requires students enrolled at that school to wear a designated school uniform during the school
day.

(3) A school uniform policy shall:
(a) protect students' free exercise of religious beliefs;
(b) specify whether the uniform policy is voluntary or mandatory for students;
(c) specify whether or not the uniform policy has an opt-out provision in addition to the provisions

under Subsection (5); and
(d) include a provision for financial assistance to families who cannot afford to purchase a

required uniform, which may include:
(i) the school providing school uniforms to students;
(ii) the school making used school uniforms available to students; or
(iii) other programs to make school uniforms available to economically disadvantaged students.

(4) A school uniform policy under this part is not considered a fee for either an elementary or a
secondary school.

(5) A school uniform policy shall include a provision allowing a principal at any time during the
school year to grant an exemption from wearing a school uniform to a student because of
extenuating circumstances.

(6)
(a) If a school adopts a school uniform policy under this part, that school's governing body or

local school board shall adopt local appellate procedures for school actions under this part,
including a denial of an exemption requested under Subsection (5).

(b) A person may seek judicial review of an action under this part only after exhausting the
remedies provided under this Subsection (6).

Enacted by Chapter 190, 2006 General Session

53A-15-1103 Uniforms in schools -- Policy approval.
(1) The school uniform policy authorized in Section 53A-15-1102 may be adopted:

(a) for a charter school:
(i) by the governing body or administrator of the charter school in accordance with Subsection

(2); or
(ii) by including the school uniform policy in the school's charter approved in accordance with

Title 53A, Chapter 1a, Part 5, The Utah Charter Schools Act;
(b) for more than one school at the district level by a local school board in accordance with

Subsection (2); or
(c) for a single school at the school level by the principal of the school in accordance with

Subsection (2).
(2) A school uniform policy adopted by an election is subject to the following requirements:

(a) the adopting authority shall hold a public hearing on the matter prior to formal adoption of the
school uniform policy;

(b)
(i) the adopting authority shall hold an election for approval of a school uniform policy prior to its

adoption and shall receive an affirmative vote from a majority of those voting at the election;
and
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(ii) only parents and guardians of students subject to the proposed school uniform policy may
vote at the election, limited to one vote per family.

(3)
(a) A local school board or principal is required to hold an election to consider adoption of a

school uniform policy for an entire school district or an individual school if initiative petitions
are presented as follows:

(i) for a school district, a petition signed by a parent or guardian of 20% of the district's students
presented to the local school board; and

(ii) for an individual school, a petition signed by a parent or guardian of 20% of the school's
students presented to the principal.

(b) The public hearing and election procedures required in Subsection (2) apply to Subsection
(3).

(4)
(a) The procedures set forth in Subsections (3) and (4) shall apply to the discontinuance or

modification of a school uniform policy adopted under this section.
(b) A vote to discontinue an adopted school uniform policy may not take place during the first

year of its operation.
(5) The adopting authority shall establish the manner and time of an election required under this

section.

Enacted by Chapter 190, 2006 General Session

Part 12
Statewide Online Education Program Act

53A-15-1201 Title.
          This part is known as the "Statewide Online Education Program Act."

Enacted by Chapter 419, 2011 General Session

53A-15-1201.5 Program name.
(1) The program created under this part shall be known as the "Statewide Online Education

Program."
(2) The program name, "Statewide Online Education Program," shall be used in the dissemination

of information on the program.

Enacted by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1202 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "District school" means a public school under the control of a local school board elected
pursuant to Title 20A, Chapter 14, Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards.

(2) "Eligible student" means:
(a) a student enrolled in a district school or charter school in Utah; or
(b) beginning on July 1, 2013, a student:

(i) who attends a private school or home school; and
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(ii) whose custodial parent or legal guardian is a resident of Utah.
(3) "LEA" means a local education agency in Utah that has administrative control and direction for

public education.
(4) "Online course" means a course of instruction offered by the Statewide Online Education

Program through the use of digital technology.
(5) "Primary LEA of enrollment" means the LEA in which an eligible student is enrolled for courses

other than online courses offered through the Statewide Online Education Program.
(6) "Released-time" means a period of time during the regular school day a student is excused

from school at the request of the student's parent or guardian pursuant to rules of the State
Board of Education.

Amended by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1203 Statewide Online Education Program created -- Designated as program of the
public education system -- Purposes.
(1) The Statewide Online Education Program is created to enable an eligible student to earn high

school graduation credit through the completion of publicly funded online courses.
(2) Pursuant to Utah Constitution, Article X, Section 2, the Statewide Online Education Program is

designated as a program of the public education system.
(3) The purposes of an online school are to:

(a) provide a student with access to online learning options regardless of where the student
attends school, whether a public, private, or home school;

(b) provide high quality learning options for a student regardless of language, residence, family
income, or special needs;

(c) provide online learning options to allow a student to acquire the knowledge and technology
skills necessary in a digital world;

(d) utilize the power and scalability of technology to customize education so that a student may
learn in the student's own style preference and at the student's own pace;

(e) utilize technology to remove the constraints of traditional classroom learning, allowing a
student to access learning virtually at any time and in any place and giving the student the
flexibility to take advantage of the student's peak learning time;

(f) provide personalized learning, where a student can spend as little or as much time as the
student needs to master the material;

(g) provide greater access to self-paced programs enabling a high achieving student to
accelerate academically, while a struggling student may have additional time and help to gain
competency;

(h) allow a student to customize the student's schedule to better meet the student's academic
goals;

(i) provide quality learning options to better prepare a student for post-secondary education and
vocational or career opportunities; and

(j) allow a student to have an individualized educational experience.

Enacted by Chapter 419, 2011 General Session

53A-15-1204 Option to enroll in online courses offered through the Statewide Online
Education Program.
(1) Subject to the course limitations provided in Subsection (2), an eligible student may enroll in an

online course offered through the Statewide Online Education Program if:



Utah Code

Page 372

(a) the student meets the course prerequisites;
(b) the course is open for enrollment;
(c) the online course is aligned with the student's student education/occupation plan (SEOP);
(d) the online course is consistent with the student's individual education plan (IEP), if the student

has an IEP; and
(e) the online course is consistent with the student's international baccalaureate program, if the

student is participating in an international baccalaureate program.
(2) An eligible student may enroll in online courses for no more than the following number of

credits:
(a) in the 2011-12 and 2012-13 school years, two credits;
(b) in the 2013-14 school year, three credits;
(c) in the 2014-15 school year, four credits;
(d) in the 2015-16 school year, five credits; and
(e) beginning with the 2016-17 school year, six credits.

(3) Notwithstanding Subsection (2):
(a) a student's primary LEA of enrollment may allow an eligible student to enroll in online courses

for more than the number of credits specified in Subsection (2); or
(b) upon the request of an eligible student, the State Board of Education may allow the student to

enroll in online courses for more than the number of credits specified in Subsection (2), if the
online courses better meet the academic goals of the student.

(4) An eligible student's primary LEA of enrollment:
(a) in conjunction with the student and the student's parent or legal guardian, is responsible for

preparing and implementing a student education/occupation plan (SEOP) for the eligible
student, as provided in Section 53A-1a-106; and

(b) shall assist an eligible student in scheduling courses in accordance with the student's SEOP,
graduation requirements, and the student's post-secondary plans.

(5) An eligible student's primary LEA of enrollment may not:
(a) impose restrictions on a student's selection of an online course that fulfills graduation

requirements and is consistent with the student's SEOP or post-secondary plans; or
(b) give preference to an online course or online course provider.

(6) The State Board of Education, including an employee of the State Board of Education, may not
give preference to an online course or online course provider.

(7)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (7)(b), a person may not provide an inducement or

incentive to a public school student to participate in the Statewide Online Education Program.
(b) For purposes of Subsection (7)(a):

(i) "Inducement or incentive" does not mean:
(A) instructional materials or software necessary to take an online course; or
(B) access to a computer or digital learning device for the purpose of taking an online course.

(ii) "Person" does not include a relative of the public school student.

Amended by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1205 Authorized online course providers.
          The following entities may offer online courses to eligible students through the Statewide Online

Education Program:
(1) a charter school or district school created exclusively for the purpose of serving students online;
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(2) an LEA program, approved by the LEA's governing board, that is created exclusively for the
purpose of serving students online; and

(3) a program of an institution of higher education listed in Section 53B-2-101 that:
(a) offers secondary school level courses; and
(b) is created exclusively for the purpose of serving students online.

Amended by Chapter 404, 2015 General Session

53A-15-1206 Payment for an online course.
(1) For the 2012-13 school year, the fee for a .5 credit online course or .5 credit of a 1 credit online

course is:
(a) $200 for the following courses, except a concurrent enrollment course:

(i) financial literacy;
(ii) health;
(iii) fitness for life; and
(iv) computer literacy;

(b) $200 for driver education;
(c) $250 for a course that meets core standards for Utah public schools in fine arts or career and

technical education, except a concurrent enrollment course;
(d) $300 for the following courses:

(i) a course that meets core standards for Utah public schools requirements in social studies,
except a concurrent enrollment course; and

(ii) a world language course, except a concurrent enrollment course;
(e) $350 for the following courses:

(i) a course that meets core standards for Utah public schools requirements for language arts,
mathematics, or science; and

(ii) a concurrent enrollment course; and
(f) $250 for a course not described in Subsections (1)(a) through (e).

(2) If a course meets the requirements of more than one course fee category described in
Subsection (1), the course fee shall be the lowest of the applicable course fee categories.

(3) Beginning with the 2013-14 school year, the online course fees described in Subsection (1)
shall be adjusted each school year in accordance with the percentage change in value of the
weighted pupil unit from the previous school year.

(4) An online learning provider shall receive payment for an online course as follows:
(a) for a .5 credit online course, 50% of the online course fee after the withdrawal period

described in Section 53A-15-1206.5;
(b) for a 1 credit online course, 25% of the online course fee after the withdrawal period

described in Section 53A-15-1206.5 and 25% of the online course fee upon the beginning of
the second .5 credit of the online course; and

(c) if a student completes a 1 credit online course within 12 months or a .5 credit course within
nine weeks following the end of a traditional semester, 50% of the online course fee.

(5)
(a) If a student fails to complete a 1 credit course within 12 months or a.5 credit course within

nine weeks following the end of a traditional semester, the student may continue to be
enrolled in the course until the student graduates from high school.

(b) To encourage an online course provider to provide remediation to a student who remains
enrolled in an online course pursuant to Subsection (5)(a) and avoid the need for credit



Utah Code

Page 374

recovery, an online course provider shall receive a payment equal to 30% of the online course
fee if the student completes the online course before the student graduates from high school.

(6) Notwithstanding the online course fees prescribed in Subsections (1) through (3), a school
district or charter school may:

(a) negotiate a fee with an online course provider for an amount up to the amount prescribed in
Subsections (1) through (3); and

(b) pay the negotiated fee instead of the fee prescribed in Subsections (1) through (3).
(7) An online course provider who contracts with a vendor for the acquisition of online course

content or online course instruction may negotiate the payment for the vendor's service
independent of the fees specified in Subsections (1) through (3).

Amended by Chapter 415, 2015 General Session

53A-15-1206.5 Withdrawal from an online course.
(1) An online course provider shall establish a start date for an online course, including a start date

for the second .5 credit of a 1 credit online course.
(2) Except as provided in Subsection (3), a student may withdraw from an online course:

(a) within 20 school calendar days of the start date, if the student enrolls in an online course on
or before the start date established pursuant to Subsection (1); or

(b) within 20 school calendar days of enrolling in the online course, if the student enrolls in an
online course after the start date established pursuant to Subsection (1).

(3)
(a) A student may withdraw from a 1 credit online course within 20 school calendar days of the

start date of the second .5 credit of the online course.
(b) An online course provider shall refund a payment received for the second .5 credit of an

online course if a student withdraws from the online course pursuant to Subsection (3)(a).
(c) If a student withdraws from a 1 credit online course as provided in Subsection (3)(a), the

online course provider shall receive payment for the student's completion of .5 credit of the
1 credit course in the same manner as an online course provider receives payment for a
student's completion of a .5 credit online course as described in Subsection 53A-15-1206(4).

Enacted by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1207 State Board of Education to deduct funds and make payments -- Plan for the
payment of online courses taken by private and home school students.
(1)

(a) The State Board of Education shall deduct money from funds allocated to the student's
primary LEA of enrollment under Chapter 17a, Minimum School Program Act, to pay for
online course fees.

(b) Money shall be deducted under Subsection (1) in the amount and at the time an online
course provider qualifies to receive payment for an online course as provided in Subsection
53A-15-1206(4).

(2) From money deducted under Subsection (1), the State Board of Education shall make
payments to the student's online course provider as provided in Section 53A-15-1206.

(3) The Legislature shall establish a plan, which shall take effect beginning on July 1, 2013, for the
payment of online courses taken by a private school or home school student.

Amended by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session
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53A-15-1208 Course credit acknowledgement.
(1) A student's primary LEA of enrollment and the student's online course provider shall enter into

a course credit acknowledgement in which the primary LEA of enrollment and the online course
provider acknowledge that the online course provider is responsible for the instruction of the
student in a specified online course.

(2) The terms of the course credit acknowledgement shall provide that:
(a) the online course provider shall receive a payment in the amount provided under Section

53A-15-1206; and
(b) the student's primary LEA of enrollment acknowledges that the State Board of Education will

deduct funds allocated to the LEA under Chapter 17a, Minimum School Program Act, in the
amount and at the time the online course provider qualifies to receive payment for the online
course as provided in Subsection 53A-15-1206(4).

(3)
(a) A course credit acknowledgement may originate with either an online course provider or

primary LEA of enrollment.
(b) The originating entity shall submit the course credit acknowledgement to the State Board

of Education who shall forward it to the primary LEA of enrollment for course selection
verification or the online course provider for acceptance.

(c)
(i) A primary LEA of enrollment may only reject a course credit acknowledgement if:

(A) the online course is not aligned with the student's SEOP;
(B) the online course is not consistent with the student's IEP, if the student has an IEP;
(C) the online course is not consistent with the student's international baccalaureate program,

if the student participates in an international baccalaureate program; or
(D) the number of online course credits exceeds the maximum allowed for the year as

provided in Section 53A-15-1204.
(ii) Verification of alignment of an online course with a student's SEOP does not require a

meeting with the student.
(d) An online course provider may only reject a course credit acknowledgement if:

(i) the student does not meet course prerequisites; or
(ii) the course is not open for enrollment.

(e) A primary LEA of enrollment or online course provider shall submit an acceptance or rejection
of a course credit acknowledgement to the State Board of Education within 72 business
hours of the receipt of a course credit acknowledgement from the State Board of Education
pursuant to Subsection (3)(b).

(f) If an online course provider accepts a course credit acknowledgement, the online course
provider shall forward to the primary LEA of enrollment the online course start date as
established under Section 53A-15-1206.5.

(g) If an online course provider rejects a course credit acknowledgement, the online course
provider shall include an explanation which the State Board of Education shall forward to the
primary LEA of enrollment for the purpose of assisting a student with future online course
selection.

(h) If a primary LEA of enrollment does not submit an acceptance or rejection of a course credit
acknowledgement to the State Board of Education within 72 business hours of the receipt of
a course credit acknowledgement from the State Board of Education pursuant to Subsection
(3)(b), the State Board of Education shall consider the course credit acknowledgement
accepted.
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(i)
(i) Upon acceptance of a course credit acknowledgement, the primary LEA of enrollment shall

notify the student of the acceptance and the start date for the online course as established
under Section 53A-15-1206.5.

(ii) Upon rejection of a course credit acknowledgement, the primary LEA of enrollment shall
notify the student of the rejection and provide an explanation of the rejection.

(j) If the online course student has an individual education plan (IEP) or 504 accommodations,
the primary LEA of enrollment shall forward the IEP or description of 504 accommodations
to the online course provider within 72 business hours after the primary LEA of enrollment
receives notice that the online course provider accepted the course credit acknowledgement.

(4)
(a) A primary LEA of enrollment may not reject a course credit acknowledgement, because

the LEA is negotiating, or intends to negotiate, an online course fee with the online course
provider pursuant to Subsection 53A-15-1206(6).

(b) If a primary LEA of enrollment negotiates an online course fee with an online course provider
before the start date of an online course, a course credit acknowledgement may be amended
to reflect the negotiated online course fee.

Amended by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1209 Online course credit hours included in daily membership -- Limitation.
(1) Subject to Subsection (2), a student's primary LEA of enrollment shall include online course

credit hours in calculating daily membership.
(2) A student may not count as more than one FTE, unless the student intends to complete high

school graduation requirements, and exit high school, early, in accordance with the student's
education/occupation plan (SEOP).

(3) A student who enrolls in an online course may not be counted in membership for a released-
time class, if counting the student in membership for a released-time class would result in the
student being counted as more than one FTE.

(4) Except as provided in Subsection (5), a student enrolled in an online course may earn no more
credits in a year than the number of credits a student may earn in a year by taking a full course
load during the regular school day in the student's primary LEA of enrollment.

(5) A student enrolled in an online course may earn more credits in a year than the number of
credits a student may earn in a year by taking a full course load during the regular school day in
the student's primary LEA of enrollment:

(a) if the student intends to complete high school graduation requirements, and exit high school,
early, in accordance with the student's education/occupation plan (SEOP); or

(b) if allowed under local school board or charter school governing board policy.

Amended by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1210 Administration of statewide assessments to students enrolled in online
courses.
(1) A student enrolled in an online course that is a course for which a statewide assessment

is administered under Chapter 1, Part 6, Achievement Tests, shall take the statewide
assessment.

(2)
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(a) The State Board of Education shall make rules providing for the administration of a statewide
assessment to a student enrolled in an online course.

(b) Rules made under Subsection (2)(a) shall:
(i) provide for the administration of a statewide assessment upon a student completing an

online course; and
(ii) require an online course provider to proctor the statewide assessment.

Enacted by Chapter 419, 2011 General Session

53A-15-1211 Report on performance of online course providers.
(1) The State Board of Education, in collaboration with online course providers, shall develop

a report on the performance of online course providers, which may be used to evaluate the
Statewide Online Education Program and assess the quality of an online course provider.

(2) A report on the performance of an online course provider shall include:
(a) scores aggregated by test on statewide assessments administered under Chapter 1, Part

6, Achievement Tests, taken by students at the end of an online course offered through the
Statewide Online Education Program;

(b) the percentage of the online course provider's students who complete online courses within
the applicable time period specified in Subsection 53A-15-1206(4)(c);

(c) the percentage of the online course provider's students who complete online courses after
the applicable time period specified in Subsection 53A-15-1206(4)(c) and before the student
graduates from high school; and

(d) the pupil-teacher ratio for the combined online courses of the online course provider.
(3) The State Board of Education shall post a report on the performance of an online course

provider on the Statewide Online Education Program's website.

Amended by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1212 Dissemination of information on the Statewide Online Education Program.
(1) The State Board of Education shall develop a website for the Statewide Online Education

Program which shall include:
(a) a description of the Statewide Online Education Program, including its purposes;
(b) information on who is eligible to enroll, and how an eligible student may enroll, in an online

course;
(c) a directory of online course providers;
(d) a link to a course catalog for each online course provider; and
(e) a report on the performance of online course providers as required by Section 53A-15-1211.

(2) An online course provider shall provide the following information on the online course provider's
website:

(a) a description of the Statewide Online Education Program, including its purposes;
(b) information on who is eligible to enroll, and how an eligible student may enroll, in an online

course;
(c) a course catalog;
(d) scores aggregated by test on statewide assessments administered under Chapter 1, Part

6, Achievement Tests, taken by students at the end of an online course offered through the
Statewide Online Education Program;

(e) the percentage of an online course provider's students who complete online courses within
the applicable time period specified in Subsection 53A-15-1206(4)(c);



Utah Code

Page 378

(f) the percentage of an online course provider's students who complete online courses after
the applicable time period specified in Subsection 53A-15-1206(4)(c) and before the student
graduates from high school; and

(g) the online learning provider's pupil-teacher ratio for the online courses combined.

Amended by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1212.5 Time period to enroll in an online course.
(1) To provide an LEA and online course providers with estimates of online course enrollment, a

student should enroll in an online course, or declare an intention to enroll in an online course,
during the high school course registration period designated by the LEA.

(2) Notwithstanding Subsection (1) and except as provided in Subsection (3), a student may enroll
in an online course at any time during a calendar year.

(3)
(a) A student may alter a course schedule by dropping a traditional classroom course and adding

an online course consistent with course schedule alteration procedures adopted by the
student's primary LEA of enrollment or high school.

(b) A school district's or high school's deadline for dropping a traditional classroom course and
adding an online course shall be the same deadline for dropping and adding a traditional
classroom course.

Enacted by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1213 State Board of Education -- Rulemaking.
          The State Board of Education shall make rules in accordance with this part and Title 63G,

Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, that:
(1) establish a course credit acknowledgement form and procedures for completing and submitting

to the State Board of Education a course credit acknowledgement; and
(2) establish procedures for the administration of a statewide assessment to a student enrolled in

an online course.

Enacted by Chapter 419, 2011 General Session

53A-15-1214 Review by legislative auditor general.
          The legislative auditor general shall conduct a review and issue a report on the Statewide

Online Education Program after the conclusion of the 2013-14 school year.

Enacted by Chapter 419, 2011 General Session

53A-15-1216 Report of noncompliance -- Action to ensure compliance.
(1) The state superintendent shall report to the State Board of Education any report of

noncompliance of this part made to a member of the staff of the State Board of Education.
(2) The State Board of Education shall take appropriate action to ensure compliance with this part.

Enacted by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

53A-15-1217 Agreements for online instruction.
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(1) In addition to offering online courses to students through the Statewide Online Education
Program, a school district or charter school may enter into an agreement with another school
district or charter school or a consortium of school districts or charter schools to provide online
instruction to the school district's or charter school's students.

(2) Online instruction offered pursuant to Subsection (1) is not subject to the requirements of this
part.

Enacted by Chapter 238, 2012 General Session

Part 13
Suicide Prevention Programs - Parent Education

53A-15-1301 Youth suicide prevention programs required in secondary schools -- State
Board of Education to develop model programs -- Reporting requirements.
(1) As used in the section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Intervention" means an effort to prevent a student from attempting suicide.
(c) "Postvention" means mental health intervention after a suicide attempt or death to prevent or

contain contagion.
(d) "Program" means a youth suicide prevention program described in Subsection (2).
(e) "Public education suicide prevention coordinator" means an individual designated by the

board as described in Subsection (3).
(f) "Secondary grades":

(i) means grades 7 through 12; and
(ii) if a middle or junior high school includes grade 6, includes grade 6.

(g) "State suicide prevention coordinator" means the state suicide prevention coordinator
described in Section 62A-15-1101.

(2)
(a) In collaboration with the public education suicide prevention coordinator, a school district or

charter school shall implement a youth suicide prevention program in the secondary grades of
the school district or charter school.

(b) A school district or charter school's program shall include the following components:
(i) in collaboration with the training, programs, and initiatives described in Section 53A-11a-401,

programs and training to address bullying and cyberbullying, as those terms are defined in
Section 53A-11a-102;

(ii) prevention of youth suicides;
(iii) youth suicide intervention; and
(iv) postvention for family, students, and faculty.

(3) The board shall:
(a) designate a public education suicide prevention coordinator; and
(b) in collaboration with the Department of Heath and the state suicide prevention coordinator,

develop model programs to provide to school districts and charter schools:
(i) program training; and
(ii) resources regarding the required components described in Subsection (2)(b).

(4) The public education suicide prevention coordinator shall:
(a) oversee the youth suicide prevention programs of school districts and charter schools; and
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(b) coordinate prevention and postvention programs, services, and efforts with the state suicide
prevention coordinator.

(5) A public school suicide prevention program may allow school personnel to ask a student
questions related to youth suicide prevention, intervention, or postvention.

(6)
(a) Subject to legislative appropriation, the board may distribute money to a school district or

charter school to be used to implement evidence-based practices and programs, or emerging
best practices and programs, for preventing suicide in the school district or charter school.

(b) The board shall distribute money under Subsection (6)(a) so that each school that enrolls
students in grade 7 or a higher grade receives an allocation of at least $500, or a lesser
amount per school if the legislative appropriation is not sufficient to provide at least $500 per
school.

(c)
(i) A school shall use money allocated to the school under Subsection (6)(b) to implement

evidence-based practices and programs, or emerging best practices and programs, for
preventing suicide.

(ii) Each school may select the evidence-based practices and programs, or emerging best
practices and programs, for preventing suicide that the school implements.

(7)
(a) The board shall provide a written report, and shall orally report to the Legislature's Education

Interim Committee, by the October 2015 meeting, jointly with the public education suicide
prevention coordinator and the state suicide prevention coordinator, on:

(i) the progress of school district and charter school youth suicide prevention programs,
including rates of participation by school districts, charter schools, and students;

(ii) the board's coordination efforts with the Department of Health and the state suicide
prevention coordinator;

(iii) the public education suicide prevention coordinator's model program for training and
resources related to youth suicide prevention, intervention, and postvention;

(iv) data measuring the effectiveness of youth suicide programs;
(v) funds appropriated to each school district and charter school for youth suicide prevention

programs; and
(vi) five-year trends of youth suicides per school, school district, and charter school.

(b) School districts and charter schools shall provide to the board information that is necessary
for the board's report to the Legislature's Education Interim Committee as required in
Subsection (7)(a).

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1302 Parent education -- Mental health -- Bullying -- Safety.
(1)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4), a school district shall offer a seminar for parents of
students in the school district that:

(i) is offered at no cost to parents;
(ii) begins at or after 6 p.m.;
(iii) is held in at least one school located in the school district; and
(iv) covers the topics described in Subsection (2).

(b)
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(i) A school district shall annually offer one parent seminar for each 11,000 students enrolled in
the school district.

(ii) Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(b)(i), a school district may not be required to offer more than
three seminars.

(c) A school district may:
(i) develop its own curriculum for the seminar described in Subsection (1)(a); or
(ii) use the curriculum developed by the State Board of Education under Subsection (2).

(d) A school district shall notify each charter school located in the attendance boundaries of the
school district of the date and time of a parent seminar, so the charter school may inform
parents of the seminar.

(2) The State Board of Education shall:
(a) develop a curriculum for the parent seminar described in Subsection (1) that includes

information on:
(i) substance abuse, including illegal drugs and prescription drugs and prevention;
(ii) bullying;
(iii) mental health, depression, suicide awareness, and suicide prevention, including education

on limiting access to fatal means;
(iv) Internet safety, including pornography addiction; and
(v) the School Safety and Crisis Line established in Section 53A-11-1503; and

(b) provide the curriculum, including resources and training, to school districts upon request.
(3) The State Board of Education shall report to the Legislature's Education Interim Committee, by

the October 2015 meeting, on:
(a) the progress of implementation of the parent seminar;
(b) the number of parent seminars conducted in each school district;
(c) the estimated attendance reported by each school district;
(d) a recommendation of whether to continue the parent seminar program; and
(e) if a local school board has opted out of providing the parent seminar, as described in

Subsection (4), the reasons why a local school board opted out.
(4)

(a) A school district is not required to offer the parent seminar if the local school board
determines that the topics described in Subsection (2) are not of significant interest or value
to families in the school district.

(b) If a local school board chooses not to offer the parent seminar, the local school board shall
notify the State Board of Education and provide the reasons why the local school board chose
not to offer the parent seminar.

Amended by Chapter 85, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 442, 2015 General Session

Part 14
Parental Rights

53A-15-1401 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Federal law" means:
(a) a statute passed by the Congress of the United States; or
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(b) a final regulation:
(i) adopted by an administrative agency of the United States government; and
(ii) published in the code of federal regulations or the federal register.

(2) "Individualized Education Program" or "IEP" means a written statement, for a student with
a disability, that is developed, reviewed, and revised in accordance with the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq.

(3) "LEA" means a school district, charter school, or the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
(4) "Reasonably accommodate" means an LEA shall make its best effort to enable a parent or

guardian to exercise a parental right specified in Section 53A-15-1403:
(a) without substantial impact to staff and resources, including employee working conditions,

safety and supervision on school premises and for school activities, and the efficient
allocation of expenditures; and

(b) while balancing:
(i) the parental rights of parents or guardians;
(ii) the educational needs of other students;
(iii) the academic and behavioral impacts to a classroom;
(iv) a teacher's workload; and
(v) the assurance of the safe and efficient operation of a school.

Amended by Chapter 444, 2015 General Session

53A-15-1402 Annual notice of parental rights.
(1) An LEA shall annually notify a parent or guardian of a student enrolled in the LEA of the

parent's or guardian's rights as specified in this part.
(2) An LEA satisfies the notification requirement described in Subsection (1) by posting the

information on the LEA's website or through other means of electronic communication.

Amended by Chapter 444, 2015 General Session

53A-15-1403 Parental right to academic accommodations.
(1)

(a) A student's parent or guardian is the primary person responsible for the education of the
student, and the state is in a secondary and supportive role to the parent or guardian.  As
such, a student's parent or guardian has the right to reasonable academic accommodations
from the student's LEA as specified in this section.

(b) Each accommodation shall be considered on an individual basis and no student shall be
considered to a greater or lesser degree than any other student.

(c) The parental rights specified in this section do not include all the rights or accommodations
that may be available to a student's parent or guardian as a user of the public education
system.

(d) An accommodation under this section may only be provided if the accommodation is:
(i) consistent with federal law; and
(ii) consistent with a student's IEP if the student already has an IEP.

(2) An LEA shall reasonably accommodate a parent's or guardian's written request to retain a
student in kindergarten through grade 8 on grade level based on the student's academic ability
or the student's social, emotional, or physical maturity.

(3) An LEA shall reasonably accommodate a parent's or guardian's initial selection of a teacher or
request for a change of teacher.
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(4) An LEA shall reasonably accommodate the request of a student's parent or guardian to visit
and observe any class the student attends.

(5) Notwithstanding Chapter 11, Part 1, Compulsory Education Requirements, an LEA shall record
an excused absence for a scheduled family event or a scheduled proactive visit to a health care
provider if:

(a) the parent or guardian submits a written statement at least one school day before the
scheduled absence; and

(b) the student agrees to make up course work for school days missed for the scheduled
absence in accordance with LEA policy.

(6)
(a) An LEA shall reasonably accommodate a parent's or guardian's written request to place a

student in a specialized class, a specialized program, or an advanced course.
(b) An LEA shall consider multiple academic data points when determining an accommodation

under Subsection (6)(a).
(7) Consistent with Section 53A-13-108, which requires the State Board of Education to establish

graduation requirements that use competency-based standards and assessments, an LEA
shall allow a student to earn course credit towards high school graduation without completing a
course in school by:

(a) testing out of the course; or
(b) demonstrating competency in course standards.

(8) An LEA shall reasonably accommodate a parent's or guardian's request to meet with a teacher
at a mutually agreeable time if the parent or guardian is unable to attend a regularly scheduled
parent teacher conference.

(9)
(a) At the request of a student's parent or guardian, an LEA shall excuse a student from taking an

assessment that:
(i) is federally mandated;
(ii) is mandated by the state under this title; or
(iii) requires the use of:

(A) a state assessment system; or
(B) software that is provided or paid for by the state.

(b) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State
Board of Education shall make rules:

(i) to establish a statewide procedure for excusing a student under Subsection (9)(a) that:
(A) does not place an undue burden on a parent or guardian; and
(B) may be completed online; and

(ii) to prevent negative impact, to the extent authorized by state statute, to an LEA or an LEA's
employees through school grading or employee evaluations due to a student not taking a
test under Subsection (9)(a).

(c) An LEA:
(i) shall follow the procedures outlined in rules made by the State Board of Education under

Subsection (9)(b) to excuse a student under Subsection (9)(a);
(ii) may not require procedures to excuse a student under Subsection (9)(a) in addition to the

procedures outlined in rules made by the State Board of Education under Subsection (9)(b);
and

(iii) may not reward a student for taking an assessment described in Subsection (9)(a).
(d) The State Board of Education shall:
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(i) maintain and publish a list of state assessments, state assessment systems, and software
that qualify under Subsection (9)(a); and

(ii) audit and verify an LEA's compliance with the requirements of this Subsection (9).
(10)

(a) An LEA shall provide for:
(i) the distribution of a copy of a school's discipline and conduct policy to each student in

accordance with Section 53A-11-903; and
(ii) a parent's or guardian's signature acknowledging receipt of the school's discipline and

conduct policy.
(b) An LEA shall notify a parent or guardian of a student's violation of a school's discipline and

conduct policy and allow a parent or guardian to respond to the notice in accordance with
Chapter 11, Part 9, School Discipline and Conduct Plans.

Amended by Chapter 444, 2015 General Session

Part 15
Background Checks

53A-15-1501 Title.
          This part is known as "Background Checks."

Enacted by Chapter 389, 2015 General Session

53A-15-1502 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Authorized entity" means an LEA, qualifying private school, or the State Board of Education
that is authorized to request a background check and ongoing monitoring under this part.

(2) "Bureau" means the Bureau of Criminal Identification within the Department of Public Safety
created in Section 53-10-201.

(3) "Contract employee" means an employee of a staffing service or other entity who works at a
public or private school under a contract.

(4) "FBI" means the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
(5) "Local education agency" or  "LEA"  means a school district, charter school, or the Utah

Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
(6)

(a) "License applicant" means an applicant for a license issued by the State Board of Education
under Title 53A, Chapter 6, Educator Licensing and Professional Practices Act.

(b) "License applicant" includes an applicant for reinstatement of an expired, lapsed, suspended,
or revoked license.

(7) "Non-licensed employee" means an employee of an LEA or qualifying private school that does
not hold a current Utah educator license issued by the State Board of Education under Title
53A, Chapter 6, Educator Licensing and Professional Practices Act.

(8) "Personal identifying information" means:
(a) current name, former names, nicknames, and aliases;
(b) date of birth;
(c) address;
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(d) telephone number;
(e) driver license number or other government-issued identification number;
(f) social security number; and
(g) fingerprints.

(9) "Qualifying private school" means a private school that:
(a) enrolls students under Title 53A, Chapter 1a, Part 7, Carson Smith Scholarships for Students

with Special Needs Act; and
(b) is authorized to conduct fingerprint-based background checks of national crime information

databases under the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006, Pub. L. No.
109-248.

(10) "Rap back system" means a system that enables authorized entities to receive ongoing status
notifications of any criminal history reported on individuals whose fingerprints are registered in
the system.

(11) "WIN Database" means the Western Identification Network Database that consists of eight
western states sharing one electronic fingerprint database.

Amended by Chapter 44, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1503 Background checks for non-licensed employees, contract employees,
volunteers, and charter school governing board members.
(1) An LEA or qualifying private school shall:

(a) require the following individuals to submit to a nationwide criminal background check and
ongoing monitoring as a condition for employment or appointment:

(i) a non-licensed employee;
(ii) a contract employee;
(iii) a volunteer who will be given significant unsupervised access to a student in connection

with the volunteer's assignment; and
(iv) a charter school governing board member;

(b) collect the following from an individual required to submit to a background check under
Subsection (1)(a):

(i) personal identifying information;
(ii) subject to Subsection (2), a fee described in Subsection 53-10-108(15); and
(iii) consent, on a form specified by the LEA or qualifying private school, for:

(A) an initial fingerprint-based background check by the FBI and the bureau upon submission
of the application; and

(B) retention of personal identifying information for ongoing monitoring through registration
with the systems described in Section 53A-15-1505;

(c) submit the individual's personal identifying information to the bureau for:
(i) an initial fingerprint-based background check by the FBI and the bureau; and
(ii) ongoing monitoring through registration with the systems described in Section 53A-15-1505

if the results of the initial background check do not contain disqualifying criminal history
information as determined by the LEA or qualifying private school in accordance with
Section 53A-15-1506; and

(d) identify the appropriate privacy risk mitigation strategy that will be used to ensure that the LEA
or qualifying private school only receives notifications for individuals with whom the LEA or
qualifying private school maintains an authorizing relationship.

(2) An LEA or qualifying private school may not require an individual to pay the fee described in
Subsection (1)(b)(ii) unless the individual:
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(a) has passed an initial review; and
(b) is one of a pool of no more than five candidates for the position.

(3) By September 1, 2018, an LEA or qualifying private school shall:
(a) collect the information described in Subsection (1)(b) from individuals:

(i) who were employed or appointed prior to July 1, 2015; and
(ii) with whom the LEA or qualifying private school currently maintains an authorizing

relationship; and
(b) submit the information to the bureau for ongoing monitoring through registration with the

systems described in Section 53A-15-1505.
(4) An LEA or qualifying private school that receives criminal history information about a licensed

educator under Subsection 53A-15-1504(5) shall assess the employment status of the licensed
educator as provided in Section 53A-15-1506.

(5) An LEA or qualifying private school may establish a policy to exempt an individual described in
Subsections (1)(a)(i) through (iv) from ongoing monitoring under Subsection (1) if the individual
is being temporarily employed or appointed.

Amended by Chapter 44, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1504 Background checks for licensed educators.
          The State Board of Education shall:

(1) require a license applicant to submit to a nationwide criminal background check and ongoing
monitoring as a condition for licensing;

(2) collect the following from an applicant:
(a) personal identifying information;
(b) a fee described in Subsection 53-10-108(15); and
(c) consent, on a form specified by the State Board of Education, for:

(i) an initial fingerprint-based background check by the FBI and bureau upon submission of the
application;

(ii) retention of personal identifying information for ongoing monitoring through registration with
the systems described in Section 53A-15-1505; and

(iii) disclosure of any criminal history information to the individual's employing LEA or qualifying
private school;

(3) submit an applicant's personal identifying information to the bureau for:
(a) an initial fingerprint-based background check by the FBI and bureau; and
(b) ongoing monitoring through registration with the systems described in Section 53A-15-1505

if the results of the initial background check do not contain disqualifying criminal history
information as determined by the State Board of Education in accordance with Section
53A-15-1506;

(4) identify the appropriate privacy risk mitigation strategy that will be used to ensure that the State
Board of Education only receives notifications for individuals with whom the State Board of
Education maintains an authorizing relationship;

(5) notify the employing LEA or qualifying private school upon receipt of any criminal history
information reported on a licensed educator employed by the LEA or qualifying private school;
and

(6)
(a) collect the information described in Subsection (2) from individuals who were licensed prior to

July 1, 2015, by the individual's next license renewal date; and
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(b) submit the information to the bureau for ongoing monitoring through registration with the
systems described in Section 53A-15-1505.

Amended by Chapter 44, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 348, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1505 Bureau responsibilities.
          The bureau shall:

(1) upon request from an authorized entity, register the fingerprints submitted by the authorized
entity as part of a background check with:

(a) the WIN Database rap back system, or any successor system; and
(b) the rap back system maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation;

(2) notify an authorized entity when a new entry is made against an individual whose fingerprints
are registered with the rap back systems described in Subsection (1) regarding:

(a) an alleged offense; or
(b) a conviction, including a plea in abeyance;

(3) assist authorized entities to identify the appropriate privacy risk mitigation strategy that is to be
used to ensure that the authorized entity only receives notifications for individuals with whom
the authorized entity maintains an authorizing relationship; and

(4) collaborate with the State Board of Education to provide training to authorized entities on the
notification procedures and privacy risk mitigation strategies described in this part.

Enacted by Chapter 389, 2015 General Session

53A-15-1506 Due process for individuals--Review of criminal history information.
(1)

(a) In accordance with Section 53-10-108, an authorized entity shall provide an individual an
opportunity to review and respond to any criminal history information received under this part.

(b) If an authorized entity decides to disqualify an individual as a result of criminal history
information received under this part, an individual may request a review of:

(i) information received; and
(ii) the reasons for the disqualification.

(c) An authorized entity shall provide an individual described in Subsection (1)(b) with written
notice of:

(i) the reasons for the disqualification; and
(ii) the individual's right to request a review of the disqualification.

(2)
(a) An LEA or qualifying private school shall make decisions regarding criminal history

information for the individuals subject to the background check requirements under Section
53A-15-1503 in accordance with:

(i) Subsection (3);
(ii) administrative procedures established by the LEA or qualifying private school; and
(iii) rules established by the State Board of Education.

(b) The State Board of Education shall make decisions regarding criminal history information for
licensed educators in accordance with:

(i) Subsection (3);
(ii)Title 53A, Chapter 6, Educator Licensing and Professional Practices Act; and
(iii) rules established by the State Board of Education.
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(3) When making decisions regarding initial employment, initial licensing, or initial appointment
for the individuals subject to background checks under this part, an authorized entity shall
consider:

(a) any convictions, including pleas in abeyance;
(b) any matters involving a felony; and
(c) any matters involving an alleged:

(i) sexual offense;
(ii) class A misdemeanor drug offense;
(iii) offense against the person under Title 76, Chapter 5, Offenses Against the Person;
(iv) class A misdemeanor property offense that is alleged to have occurred within the previous

three years; and
(v) any other type of criminal offense, if more than one occurrence of the same type of offense

is alleged to have occurred within the previous eight years.

Enacted by Chapter 389, 2015 General Session

53A-15-1507 Self-reporting requirement.
(1) Individuals subject to the background check requirements under this part shall self-report

conviction, arrest, or offense information in accordance with rules established by the State
Board of Education.

(2) An LEA shall report conviction, arrest, or offense information received from licensed educators
under Subsection (1) to the State Board of Education in accordance with rules established by
the State Board of Education.

Enacted by Chapter 389, 2015 General Session

53A-15-1508 Update criminal background check rules and policies.
          On or before September 1, 2015:

(1) the State Board of Education shall update the State Board of Education's criminal background
check rules consistent with this part; and

(2) an LEA shall update the LEA's criminal background check policies consistent with this part.

Amended by Chapter 348, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1509 Training provided to authorized entities.
          The State Board of Education shall collaborate with the bureau to provide training to authorized

entities on the provisions of this part.

Amended by Chapter 348, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1510 Legislative audit.
          After the conclusion of the 2018-2019 school year, subject to the prioritization of the Legislative

Audit Subcommittee, the legislative auditor general shall conduct a review and issue a report on
the extent to which the criminal background check procedures and ongoing monitoring described in
this part adequately detect and identify the criminal histories of individuals who are employed by or
volunteering in public schools.

Enacted by Chapter 389, 2015 General Session
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53A-15-1511 Reference check requirements for LEA applicants and volunteers.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Child" means an individual who is younger than 18 years old.
(b) "LEA applicant" means an applicant for employment by an LEA.
(c) "Physical abuse" means the same as that term is defined in Section 78A-6-105.
(d) "Potential volunteer" means an individual who:

(i) has volunteered for but not yet fulfilled an unsupervised volunteer assignment; and
(ii) during the last three years, has worked in a qualifying position.

(e) "Qualifying position" means paid employment that requires the employee to directly care for,
supervise, control, or have custody of a child.

(f) "Sexual abuse" means the same as that term is defined in Section 78A-6-105.
(g) "Student" means an individual who:

(i) is enrolled in an LEA in any grade from preschool through grade 12; or
(ii) receives special education services from an LEA under the Individuals with Disabilities

Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq.
(h) "Unsupervised volunteer assignment" means a volunteer assignment at an LEA that allows

the volunteer significant unsupervised access to a student.
(2)

(a) Before hiring an LEA applicant or giving an unsupervised volunteer assignment to a potential
volunteer, an LEA shall:

(i) require the LEA applicant or potential volunteer to sign a release authorizing the LEA
applicant or potential volunteer's previous qualifying position employers to disclose
information regarding any employment action taken or discipline imposed for the physical
abuse or sexual abuse of a child or student by the LEA applicant or potential volunteer;

(ii) for an LEA applicant, request that the LEA applicant's most recent qualifying position
employer disclose information regarding any employment action taken or discipline imposed
for the physical abuse or sexual abuse of a child or student by the LEA applicant;

(iii) for a potential volunteer, request that the potential volunteer's most recent qualifying
position employer disclose information regarding any employment action taken or discipline
imposed for the physical abuse or sexual abuse of a child or student by the potential
volunteer; and

(iv) document the efforts taken to make a request described in Subsection (2)(a)(ii) or (iii).
(b) An LEA may not hire an LEA applicant who does not sign a release described in Subsection

(2)(a)(i).
(c) An LEA may not give an unsupervised volunteer assignment to a potential volunteer who

does not sign a release described in Subsection (2)(a)(i).
(d) An LEA shall use the LEA's best efforts to request information under Subsection (2)(a)(ii) or

(iii) before:
(i) hiring an LEA applicant; or
(ii) giving an unsupervised volunteer assignment to a potential volunteer.

(e) In accordance with state and federal law, an LEA may request from an LEA applicant or
potential volunteer other information the LEA determines is relevant.

(3)
(a) An LEA that receives a request described in Subsection (2)(a)(ii) or (iii) shall use the LEA's

best efforts to respond to the request within 20 business days after the day on which the LEA
received the request.
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(b) If an LEA or other employer in good faith discloses information that is within the scope of a
request described in Subsection (2)(a)(ii) or (iii), the LEA or other employer is immune from
civil and criminal liability for the disclosure.

Enacted by Chapter 199, 2016 General Session

Part 16
Strengthening College and Career Readiness Program

53A-15-1601 Initiative to strengthen college and career readiness.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "College and career counseling" means:
(i) nurturing college and career aspirations;
(ii) assisting students in planning an academic program that connects to college and career

goals;
(iii) providing early and ongoing exposure to information necessary to make informed decisions

when selecting a college and career;
(iv) promoting participation in college and career assessments;
(v) providing financial aid information; and
(vi) increasing understanding about college admission processes.

(b) "LEA" or "local education agency" means a school district or charter school.
(2) There is created the Strengthening College and Career Readiness Program, a grant program

for LEAs, to improve students' college and career readiness through enhancing the skill level of
school counselors to provide college and career counseling.

(3) The State Board of Education shall:
(a) on or before August 1, 2015, collaborate with the State Board of Regents, and business,

community, and education stakeholders to develop a certificate for school counselors that:
(i) certifies that a school counselor is highly skilled at providing college and career counseling;

and
(ii) is aligned with the Utah Comprehensive Counseling and Guidance Program as defined in

rules established by the State Board of Education;
(b) subject to legislative appropriations, award grants to LEAs, on a competitive basis, for

payment of course fees for courses required to earn the certificate developed by the State
Board of Education under Subsection (3)(a); and

(c) in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, make rules
specifying:

(i) procedures for applying for and awarding grants under this section;
(ii) criteria for awarding grants; and
(iii) reporting requirements for grantees.

(4) An LEA that receives a grant under this section shall use the grant for payment of course fees
for courses required to attain the certificate as determined by the State Board of Education
under Subsection (3)(a).

(5) The State Board of Education shall report to the Education Interim Committee on the status of
the Strengthening College and Career Readiness Program on or before:

(a) November 1, 2016; and
(b) November 1, 2017.
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Enacted by Chapter 149, 2015 General Session

Part 17
Concurrent Enrollment

53A-15-1701 Title.
          This part is known as "Concurrent Enrollment."

Enacted by Chapter 200, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1702 Definitions.
(1) "Concurrent enrollment" means enrollment in a course offered through the concurrent

enrollment program described in Section 53A-15-1703.
(2) "Educator" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-6-103.
(3) "Eligible instructor" means an instructor who is:

(a) employed as faculty by an institution of higher education; or
(b)

(i) employed by an LEA;
(ii) licensed by the State Board of Education under Title 53A, Chapter 6, Educator Licensing

and Professional Practices Act;
(iii)

(A) approved as adjunct faculty by an institution of higher education; or
(B) a mathematics educator who has an upper level mathematics endorsement; and

(iv) supervised by an institution of higher education.
(4) "Eligible student" means a student who:

(a) is enrolled in, and counted in average daily membership in, a high school within the state;
(b) has a student education occupation plan, as described in Section 53A-1a-106, on file at a

high school within the state; and
(c)

(i) is a grade 11 or grade 12 student; or
(ii) is a grade 9 or grade 10 student who qualifies by exception as described in Section

53A-15-1703.
(5) "Endorsement" means a stipulation, authorized by the State Board of Education and appended

to a license, that specifies an area of practice to which the license applies.
(6) "Institution of higher education" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53B-3-102.
(7) "License" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-6-103.
(8) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means a school district or charter school.
(9) "Participating eligible student" means an eligible student enrolled in a concurrent enrollment

course.
(10) "Upper level mathematics endorsement" means an endorsement required by the State Board

of Education for an educator to teach calculus.
(11) "Value of the weighted pupil unit" means the same as that term is defined in Section

53A-1a-703.

Enacted by Chapter 200, 2016 General Session
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53A-15-1703 Concurrent enrollment program.
(1) The State Board of Education and the State Board of Regents shall establish and maintain a

concurrent enrollment program that:
(a) provides an eligible student the opportunity to enroll in a course that allows the eligible

student to earn credit concurrently:
(i) toward high school graduation; and
(ii) at an institution of higher education;

(b) includes only courses that:
(i) lead to a degree or certificate offered by an institution of higher education; and
(ii) are one of the following:

(A) general education courses;
(B) career and technical education courses;
(C) pre-major college level courses; or
(D) foreign language concurrent enrollment courses described in Section 53A-15-1708; and

(c) is designed and implemented to take full advantage of the most current available education
technology.

(2) The State Board of Education and the State Board of Regents shall coordinate:
(a) to establish a concurrent enrollment course approval process that ensures:

(i) credit awarded for concurrent enrollment is consistent and transferable to all institutions of
higher education; and

(ii) learning outcomes for concurrent enrollment courses align with:
(A) core standards for Utah public schools adopted by the State Board of Education; and
(B) except for foreign language concurrent enrollment courses described in Section

53A-15-1708, institution of higher education lower division courses numbered at or above
the 1000 level; and

(b) advising to eligible students, including:
(i) providing information on general education requirements at institutions of higher education;

and
(ii) choosing concurrent enrollment courses to avoid duplication or excess credit hours.

(3) The State Board of Regents shall provide guidelines to an institution of higher education
for establishing qualifying academic criteria for an eligible student to enroll in a concurrent
enrollment course.

(4) To qualify for funds under Section 53A-15-1707, an LEA and an institution of higher education
shall:

(a) enter into a contract, in accordance with Section 53A-15-1704, to provide one or more
concurrent enrollment courses that are approved under the course approval process
described in Subsection (2);

(b) ensure that an instructor who teaches a concurrent enrollment course is an eligible instructor;
(c) establish qualifying academic criteria for an eligible student to enroll in a concurrent

enrollment course, in accordance with the guidelines described in Subsection (3);
(d) ensure that a student who enrolls in a concurrent enrollment course is an eligible student; and
(e) coordinate advising to eligible students.

(5) An LEA and an institution of higher education may qualify a grade 9 or grade 10 student to
enroll in a current enrollment course by exception, including a student who otherwise qualifies
to take a foreign language concurrent enrollment course described in Section 53A-15-1708.
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(6) An institution of higher education shall accept credits earned by a student who completes a
concurrent enrollment course on the same basis as credits earned by a full-time or part-time
student enrolled at the institution of higher education.

(7) An institution of higher education shall require an eligible instructor to submit to a background
check and ongoing monitoring, as described in Section 53A-15-1503, in the same manner as a
non-licensed employee of an LEA, if the eligible instructor:

(a) teaches a concurrent enrollment course in a high school; and
(b) is not licensed by the State Board of Education under Title 53A, Chapter 6, Educator

Licensing and Professional Practices Act.

Amended by Chapter 76, 2016 General Session, (Coordination Clause)
Enacted by Chapter 200, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1704 Designated institution of higher education -- Concurrent enrollment course
right of first refusal.
(1) As used in this section, "designated institution of higher education" means an institution of

higher education that is designated by the State Board of Regents to provide a course or
program of study within a specific geographic region.

(2) To offer a concurrent enrollment course, an LEA shall contact the LEA's designated institution
of higher education to request that the designated institution of higher education contract with
the LEA to provide the concurrent enrollment course.

(3) If the LEA's designated institution of higher education chooses to offer the concurrent
enrollment course, the LEA shall contract with the LEA's designated institution of higher
education to provide the concurrent enrollment course.

(4) An LEA may contract with an institution of higher education that is not the LEA's designated
institution of higher education to provide a concurrent enrollment course if the LEA's designated
institution of higher education:

(a) chooses not to offer the concurrent enrollment course proposed by the LEA; or
(b) fails to respond to the LEA's request under Subsection (2) within 30 days after the day on

which the LEA contacts the designated institution of higher education.

Enacted by Chapter 200, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1705 Concurrent enrollment participation form -- Parental permission.
(1) The State Board of Regents shall create a higher education concurrent enrollment participation

form that includes a parental permission form.
(2) Before allowing an eligible student to participate in concurrent enrollment, an LEA and an

institution of higher education shall ensure that the eligible student has, for the current school
year:

(a) submitted the participation form described in Subsection (1);
(b) signed an acknowledgment of program participation requirements; and
(c) obtained parental permission as indicated by the signature of a student's parent or legal

guardian on the parental permission form.

Enacted by Chapter 200, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1706 Tuition and fees.
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(1) Except as provided in this section, the State Board of Regents or an institution of higher
education may not charge tuition or fees for a concurrent enrollment course.

(2)
(a) The State Board of Regents may charge a one-time fee for a student to participate in the

concurrent enrollment program.
(b) A student who pays a fee described in Subsection (2)(a) does not satisfy a general admission

application fee requirement for a full-time or part-time student at an institution of higher
education.

(3)
(a) An institution of higher education may charge a one-time admission application fee for

concurrent enrollment course credit offered by the institution of higher education.
(b) Payment of the fee described in Subsection (3)(a) satisfies the general admission application

fee requirement for a full-time or part-time student at an institution of higher education.
(4)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), an institution of higher education may charge partial
tuition of no more than $30 per credit hour for a concurrent enrollment course for which a
student earns college credit.

(b) A higher education institution may not charge more than:
(i) $5 per credit hour for an eligible student who qualifies for free or reduced price school lunch;
(ii) $10 per credit hour for a concurrent enrollment course that is taught at an LEA by an eligible

instructor described in Subsection 53A-15-1702(3)(b); or
(iii) $15 per credit hour for a concurrent enrollment course that is taught through video

conferencing.

Enacted by Chapter 200, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1707 Funding.
(1) The State Board of Education shall allocate money appropriated for concurrent enrollment in

accordance with this section.
(2)

(a) The State Board of Education shall allocate money appropriated for concurrent enrollment in
proportion to the number of credit hours earned for courses taken where:

(i) an LEA primarily bears the cost of instruction; and
(ii) an institution of higher education primarily bears the cost of instruction.

(b) From the money allocated under Subsection (2)(a)(i), the State Board of Education shall
distribute:

(i) 60% of the money to LEAs; and
(ii) 40% of the money to the State Board of Regents.

(c) From the money allocated under Subsection (2)(a)(ii), the State Board of Education shall
distribute:

(i) 40% of the money to LEAs; and
(ii) 60% of the money to the State Board of Regents.

(d) The State Board of Education shall make rules, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah
Administrative Rulemaking Act, providing for the distribution of the money to LEAs under
Subsections (2)(b)(i) and (2)(c)(i).

(e) The State Board of Regents shall make rules, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3,
Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, providing for the distribution of the money allocated to
institutions of higher education under Subsections (2)(b)(ii) and (2)(c)(ii).
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(3) Subject to budget constraints, the Legislature shall annually increase the money appropriated
for concurrent enrollment in proportion to the percentage increase over the previous school
year in:

(a) kindergarten through grade 12 student enrollment; and
(b) the value of the weighted pupil unit.

Enacted by Chapter 200, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1708 Concurrent enrollment courses for accelerated foreign language students.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Accelerated foreign language student" means a student who:
(i) has passed a world language advanced placement exam; and
(ii) is in grade 10, grade 11, or grade 12.

(b) "Blended learning delivery model" means an education delivery model in which a student
learns, at least in part:

(i) through online learning with an element of student control over time, place, path, and pace;
and

(ii) in the physical presence of an instructor.
(c) "State university" means an institution of higher education that offers courses leading to a

bachelor's degree.
(2) The University of Utah shall partner with all state universities to develop, as part of the

concurrent enrollment program described in this part, concurrent enrollment courses that:
(a) are age-appropriate foreign language courses for accelerated foreign language students who

are eligible students;
(b) count toward a foreign language degree offered by an institution of higher education; and
(c) are delivered:

(i) using a blended learning delivery model; and
(ii) by an eligible instructor that is faculty of a state institution of higher education.

Amended by Chapter 76, 2016 General Session, (Coordination Clause)
Enacted by Chapter 200, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1709 Reporting.
          The State Board of Education and the State Board of Regents shall submit an annual

written report to the Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee and the Public Education
Appropriations Subcommittee on student participation in the concurrent enrollment program,
including:
(1) data on the higher education tuition not charged due to the hours of higher education credit

granted through concurrent enrollment;
(2) tuition or fees charged under Section 53A-15-1706;
(3) an accounting of the money appropriated for concurrent enrollment; and
(4) a justification of the distribution method described in Subsections 53A-15-1707(2)(d) and (e).

Enacted by Chapter 200, 2016 General Session

Part 18
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Competency-based Education Grants Program

53A-15-1801 Title.
          This part is known as "Competency-Based Education Grants Program."

Enacted by Chapter 347, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1802 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Blended learning" means a formal education program in which a student learns:
(a) at least in part, through online learning with some element of student control over time, place,

path, and pace;
(b) at least in part, in a supervised brick-and-mortar location away from home; and
(c) in a program in which the modalities along each student's learning path within a course or

subject are connected to provide an integrated learning experience.
(2) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(3) "Competency-Based education" means a system where a student advances to higher levels of

learning when the student demonstrates competency of concepts and skills regardless of time,
place, or pace.

(4) "Extended learning" means learning opportunities outside of a traditional school structure,
including:

(a) online learning available anywhere, anytime;
(b) career-based experiences, including internships and job shadowing;
(c) community-based projects; and
(d) off-site postsecondary learning.

(5) "Grant program" means the Competency-Based Education Grants Program created in this part.
(6) "Institution of higher education" means an institution listed in Section 53B-1-102.
(7) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means:

(a) a school district;
(b) a charter school; or
(c) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(8) "Review committee" means the committee established under Section 53A-15-1803.
(9) "STEM" means science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

Enacted by Chapter 347, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1803 Competency-Based Education Grants Program -- Board duties -- Review
committee -- Technical assistance training.
(1) There is created the Competency-Based Education Grants Program consisting of the grants

created in this part to improve educational outcomes in public schools by advancing student
mastery of concepts and skills through the following core principles:

(a) student advancement upon mastery of a concept or skill;
(b) competencies that include explicit, measurable, and transferable learning objectives that

empower a student;
(c) assessment that is meaningful and provides a positive learning experience for a student;
(d) timely, differentiated support based on a student's individual learning needs; and
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(e) learning outcomes that emphasize competencies that include application and creation of
knowledge along with the development of important skills and dispositions.

(2) The grant program shall incentivize an LEA to establish competency-based education within the
LEA through the use of:

(a) personalized learning;
(b) blended learning;
(c) extended learning;
(d) educator professional learning in competency-based education; or
(e) any other method that emphasizes the core principles described in Subsection (1).

(3) The board shall:
(a) in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, adopt rules:

(i) for the administration of the grant program and awarding of grants; and
(ii) to define outcome-based measures appropriate to the type of grant for an LEA that is

awarded a grant under this part to use to measure the performance of the LEA's plan or
program;

(b) establish a grant application process;
(c) in accordance with Subsection (4), establish a review committee to make recommendations to

the board for:
(i) metrics to analyze the quality of a grant application; and
(ii) approval of a grant application; and

(d) with input from the review committee, adopt metrics to analyze the quality of a grant
application.

(4)
(a) The review committee shall consist of STEM and blended learning experts, current and

former school administrators, current and former teachers, and at least one former school
district superintendent, in addition to other staff designated by the board.

(b) The review committee shall:
(i) review a grant application submitted by an LEA;
(ii) make recommendations to the LEA to modify the application, if necessary; and
(iii) make recommendations to the board regarding the final disposition of an application.

(5)
(a) The board shall provide technical assistance training to assist an LEA with a grant application

under this part.
(b) An LEA may not apply for a grant under this part unless:

(i) a representative of the LEA attends the technical assistance training before the LEA submits
a grant application; and

(ii) the representative is a superintendent, principal, or a person in a leadership position within
the LEA.

(c) The technical assistance training shall include:
(i) instructions on completing a grant application, including grant application requirements;
(ii) information on the scoring metrics used to review a grant application; and
(iii) information on competency-based education.

(6) The board may use up to 5% of an appropriation provided to fund this part for administration of
the grant program.

Enacted by Chapter 347, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1804 Planning grants -- Requirements.
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(1)
(a) The board shall, subject to legislative appropriations, award a planning grant to, subject to

Subsection (1)(c), an LEA:
(i) that submits a planning grant application that meets the requirements established by the

board, subject to Subsection (2);
(ii) if an LEA designee has attended the technical assistance training described in Section

53A-15-1803; and
(iii) if the LEA planning grant application has been recommended by the review committee.

(b) An LEA that receives a grant under Subsection (1)(a) shall expend the grant funds no later
than one calendar year after receiving the funds.

(c) The board may not select more than three LEAs to award planning grants to under this
section.

(2)
(a) A planning grant application shall include evidence that the LEA:

(i) can provide a general description of the program the LEA would like to plan;
(ii) is intending to plan for:

(A) schoolwide implementation; or
(B) if the LEA intends to implement initially with a population smaller than schoolwide, phasing

the plan in schoolwide or districtwide over a specified period of time;
(iii) can describe the types of partners that will help with the plan and, eventually, implement the

program;
(iv) planning activities and program will focus on:

(A) implementation of the core principles described in Section 53A-15-1803;
(B) use of the methods, as applicable, described in Section 53A-15-1803; and
(C) the outcome-based measures adopted by the board under Section 53A-15-1803;

(v) has:
(A) the capacity, qualifications, local governing body support, and time to successfully plan

the program; and
(B) an intentional and feasible planning process;

(vi) will align the LEA's budget as necessary with the planning process; and
(vii) will communicate and promote the plan with parents, teachers, and members of the

community.
(b) The board may adopt other requirements in addition to the requirements in Subsection (2)(a).

Enacted by Chapter 347, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1805 Implementation grants -- Requirements.
(1)

(a) The board shall, subject to legislative appropriations, award an implementation grant to,
subject to Subsection (1)(c), an LEA:

(i) that submits an implementation grant application that meets the requirements established by
the board, subject to Subsection (2);

(ii) if an LEA designee has attended the technical assistance training described in Section
53A-15-1803; and

(iii) if the LEA implementation grant application has been recommended by the review
committee.

(b) An LEA that receives a grant under Subsection (1)(a) shall expend the grant funds no later
than two calendar years after receiving the funds.
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(c) An LEA is not eligible to receive an implementation grant under this section unless the board
has previously awarded the LEA a planning grant under Section 53A-15-1804.

(2)
(a) An implementation grant application shall include evidence that the LEA:

(i) can logically articulate the proposed program's mission, theory of change, and the program's
intended goals and outcomes;

(ii)
(A) program will have schoolwide implementation; or
(B) if the LEA intends to implement initially with a population smaller than schoolwide,

program includes steps to phase the program in schoolwide or districtwide over a
specified period of time;

(iii) has an understanding of similar programs and can use this knowledge to strengthen the
LEA's program implementation;

(iv) program will focus on:
(A) direct alignment with the core principles described in Section 53A-15-1803;
(B) use of the methods, as applicable, described in Section 53A-15-1803; and
(C) the outcome based measures adopted by the board under Section 53A-15-1803;

(v) program will address a need, determined by data, in the LEA or community;
(vi) has a strong evaluation plan that will clearly measure the success of the LEA's program

against the stated goals and objectives;
(vii) has a list of signatures of key stakeholders and partners who are committed to

implementing the program;
(viii) has the capacity, qualifications, local governing body support, and time to successfully

implement this program;
(ix) has an intentional and feasible scope of work to implement the program;
(x) will align the LEA's budget as necessary with the planning process; and
(xi) will communicate and promote the plan with parents, teachers, and members of the

community.
(b) The board may adopt other requirements in addition to the requirements in Subsection (2)(a).

(3) A program under this section may include:
(a) a waiver, subject to Section 53A-15-1807, of required school hours attended or traditional

school calendar scheduling; and
(b) an adjustment of educator compensation to reflect the implementation of a waiver under

Subsection (3)(a).

Enacted by Chapter 347, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1806 Expansion grants -- Requirements.
(1)

(a) The board shall, subject to legislative appropriations and to expand an existing LEA program
schoolwide or districtwide, award a grant to, subject to Subsection (1)(c), an LEA:

(i) that submits an expansion grant application that meets the requirements established by the
board, subject to Subsection (2);

(ii) if an LEA designee has attended the technical assistance training described in Section
53A-15-1803; and

(iii) if the LEA expansion grant application has been recommended by the review committee.
(b) An LEA that receives a grant under Subsection (1)(a) shall expend the grant funds no later

than two calendar years after receiving the funds.



Utah Code

Page 400

(c) An LEA is not eligible to receive an expansion grant under this section unless the board has
previously awarded the LEA an implementation grant under Section 53A-15-1805.

(2)
(a) An expansion grant application shall include evidence that the LEA:

(i) has an established program that:
(A) has successfully met previous goals;
(B) has shown outcomes that are in alignment with the core principles described in Section

53A-15-1803 and used methods, as applicable, described in Section 53A-15-1803;
(C) is supported by LEA management and leadership;
(D) is suitable for expansion schoolwide or districtwide; and
(E) is the program, with any necessary modifications, that the LEA plans to expand if awarded

the expansion grant;
(ii) can logically articulate the LEA's program mission, theory of change, and the program's

intended goals and outcomes;
(iii) program as proposed for expansion is focused on:

(A) direct alignment with the core principles identified in Section 53A-15-1803;
(B) use of the methods, as applicable, described in Section 53A-15-1803; and
(C) the outcome based measures adopted by the board under Section 53A-15-1803;

(iv) that the program will directly address a need, determined by data, in the LEA or community;
(v) has clearly articulated core components that ensure, when expanded, the program will yield

positive outcomes;
(vi) has a strong evaluation plan that will clearly measure the success of the LEA's program

against the stated goals and objectives;
(vii) has a list of signatures of key stakeholders and partners who are committed to expanding

the program;
(viii) has the capacity, qualifications, local governing body support, and time to successfully

expand the program;
(ix) has an intentional and feasible scope of work to expand the program;
(x) has a strategic budget that is aligned with the LEA's scope of work; and
(xi) will communicate and promote the plan with parents, teachers, and members of the

community.
(b) The board may adopt other requirements in addition to the requirements in Subsection (2)(a).

(3) A program under this section may include:
(a) a waiver, subject to Section 53A-15-1807, of required school hours attended or traditional

school calendar scheduling; and
(b) an adjustment of educator compensation to reflect the implementation of a waiver under

Subsection (3)(a).

Enacted by Chapter 347, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1807 Waiver from board rule -- Board recommended statutory changes.
(1) An LEA may apply to the board in a grant application submitted under this part for a waiver of

a board rule that inhibits or hinders the LEA from accomplishing its goals set out in its grant
application.

(2) The board may grant the waiver, unless:
(a) the waiver would cause the LEA to be in violation of state or federal law; or
(b) the waiver would threaten the health, safety, or welfare of students in the LEA.
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(3) If the board denies the waiver, the board shall provide in writing the reason for the denial to the
waiver applicant.

(4)
(a) The board shall request from each LEA that receives a grant under this part for each year the

LEA receives funds:
(i) information on a state statute that hinders an LEA from fully implementing the LEA's

program; and
(ii) suggested changes to the statute.

(b) The board shall, in a written report, provide any information received from an LEA under
Subsection (4)(a) and the board's recommendations to the Legislature no later than
November 30 of each year.

Enacted by Chapter 347, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1808 Cooperation of institutions of higher education -- Transferring students not to
be penalized.
(1) An institution of higher education:

(a) shall recognize and accept on equal footing as a traditional high school diploma a high school
diploma awarded to a student who successfully completes an educational program that uses,
in whole or in part, competency-based education; and

(b) cooperate with an LEA:
(i) as applicable, to facilitate the advancement of a student who attends a competency-based

education program; and
(ii) as requested, in the development of an LEA plan or program under this part.

(2) If a student attending an LEA that establishes competency-based education within the LEA
transfers to another school within the LEA or to another LEA entirely that does not have a
competency-based education program, the student may not be penalized by being required to
repeat course work that the student has successfully completed, changing the student's grade,
or receive any other penalty related to the student's previous attendance in the competency-
based education program.

Enacted by Chapter 347, 2016 General Session

Part 19
Dropout Prevention and Recovery

53A-15-1901 Title.
          This part is known as "Dropout Prevention and Recovery."

Enacted by Chapter 320, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1902 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Attainment goal" means earning:
(a) a high school diploma;
(b) a Utah High School Completion Diploma, as defined in State Board of Education rule;
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(c) an Adult Education Secondary Diploma, as defined in State Board of Education rule; or
(d) an employer-recognized, industry-based certificate that is:

(i) likely to result in job placement; and
(ii) included in the State Board of Education's approved career and technical education industry

certification list.
(2) "Cohort" means a group of students, defined by the year in which the group enters grade 9.
(3) "Designated student" means a student:

(a)
(i) who has withdrawn from an LEA before earning a diploma;
(ii) who has been dropped from average daily membership; and
(iii) whose cohort has not yet graduated; or

(b) who is at risk of meeting the criteria described in Subsection (3)(a), as determined by the
student's LEA, using risk factors defined in rules made by the State Board of Education in
accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.

(4) "Graduation rate" means:
(a) for a school district or a charter school that includes grade 12, the graduation rate calculated

by the State Board of Education for federal accountability and reporting purposes; or
(b) for a charter school that does not include grade 12, a proxy graduation rate defined in

rules made by the State Board of Education in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah
Administrative Rulemaking Act.

(5) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means a school district or charter school that serves
students in grade 9, 10, 11, or 12.

(6) "Nontraditional program" means a program, as defined in rules made by the State Board of
Education under Subsection 53A-1-402(1)(e), in which a student receives instruction through:

(a) distance learning;
(b) online learning;
(c) blended learning; or
(d) competency-based learning.

(7) "Statewide graduation rate" means:
(a) for a school district or a charter school that includes grade 12, the statewide graduation rate,

as annually calculated by the State Board of Education; or
(b) for a charter school that does not include grade 12, the average graduation rate for all charter

schools that do not include grade 12.
(8) "Third party" means:

(a) a private provider; or
(b) an LEA that does not meet the criteria described in Subsection 53A-15-1903(3).

Enacted by Chapter 320, 2016 General Session

53A-15-1903 Dropout prevention and recovery -- Flexible enrollment options -- Contracting
-- Reporting.
(1)

(a) Subject to Subsection (1)(b), an LEA shall provide dropout prevention and recovery services
to a designated student, including:

(i) engaging with or attempting to recover a designated student;
(ii) developing a learning plan, in consultation with a designated student, to identify:

(A) barriers to regular school attendance and achievement;
(B) an attainment goal; and
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(C) a means for achieving the attainment goal through enrollment in one or more of the
programs described in Subsection (2);

(iii) monitoring a designated student's progress toward reaching the designated student's
attainment goal; and

(iv) providing tiered interventions for a designated student who is not making progress toward
reaching the student's attainment goal.

(b) An LEA shall provide the dropout prevention and recovery services described in Subsection
(1)(a):

(i) throughout the calendar year; and
(ii) except as provided in Subsection (1)(c)(i), for each designated student who becomes a

designated student while enrolled in the LEA.
(c)

(i) A designated student's school district of residence shall provide dropout recovery services if
the designated student:

(A) was enrolled in a charter school that does not include grade 12; and
(B) becomes a designated student in the summer after the student completes academic

instruction at the charter school through the maximum grade level the charter school is
eligible to serve under the charter school's charter agreement as described in Section
53A-1a-508.

(ii) In accordance with Subsection (1)(c)(iii), a charter school that does not include grade 12
shall notify each of the charter school's student's district of residence, as determined under
Section 53A-2-201, when the student completes academic instruction at the charter school
as described in Subsection (1)(c)(i)(B).

(iii) The notification described in Subsection (1)(c)(ii) shall include the student's name, contact
information, and student identification number.

(2)
(a) An LEA shall provide flexible enrollment options for a designated student that:

(i) are tailored to the designated student's learning plan developed under Subsection (1)(a)(ii);
and

(ii) include two or more of the following:
(A) enrollment in the LEA in a traditional program;
(B) enrollment in the LEA in a nontraditional program;
(C) enrollment in a program offered by a private provider that has entered into a contract with

the LEA to provide educational services; or
(D) enrollment in a program offered by another LEA.

(b) A designated student may enroll in:
(i) a program offered by the LEA under Subsection (2)(a), in accordance with this Title 53A,

State System of Public Education, rules established by the State Board of Education, and
policies established by the LEA;

(ii) the Electronic High School, in accordance with Part 10, Electronic High School Act; or
(iii) the Statewide Online Education Program, in accordance with Part 12, Statewide Online

Education Program Act.
(c) An LEA shall make the LEA's best effort to accommodate a designated student's choice of

enrollment under Subsection (2)(b).
(3) Beginning with the 2017-18 school year and except as provided in Subsection (4), an LEA shall

enter into a contract with a third party to provide the dropout prevention and recovery services
described in Subsection (1)(a) for any school year in which the LEA meets the following criteria:

(a) the LEA's graduation rate is lower than the statewide graduation rate; and
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(b)
(i) the LEA's graduation rate has not increased by at least 1% on average over the previous

three school years; or
(ii) during the previous calendar year, at least 10% of the LEA's designated students have not:

(A) reached the students' attainment goals; or
(B) made a year's worth of progress toward the students' attainment goals.

(4) An LEA that is in the LEA's first three years of operation is not subject to the requirement
described in Subsection (3).

(5) An LEA described in Subsection (3) shall ensure that:
(a) a third party with whom the LEA enters into a contract under Subsection (3) has a

demonstrated record of effectiveness engaging with and recovering designated students; and
(b) a contract with a third party requires the third party to:

(i) provide the services described in Subsection (1)(a); and
(ii) regularly report progress to the LEA.

(6) An LEA shall annually submit a report to the State Board of Education on dropout prevention
and recovery services provided under this section, including:

(a) the methods the LEA or third party uses to engage with or attempt to recover designated
students under Subsection (1)(a)(i);

(b) the number of designated students who enroll in a program described in Subsection (2) as a
result of the efforts described in Subsection (6)(a);

(c) the number of designated students who reach the designated students' attainment goals
identified under Subsection (1)(a)(ii)(B); and

(d) funding allocated to provide dropout prevention and recovery services.
(7) The State Board of Education shall:

(a) ensure that an LEA described in Subsection (3) contracts with a third party to provide dropout
prevention and recovery services in accordance with Subsections (3) and (5); and

(b) on or before October 30, 2017, and each year thereafter, report to the Education Interim
Committee on the provisions of this section, including a summary of the reports submitted
under Subsection (6).

Enacted by Chapter 320, 2016 General Session

Chapter 16
State Financing of Public Education

Contingently Superseded 7/1/2017
53A-16-101 Uniform School Fund -- Contents -- Interest and Dividends Account -- Invest
More for Education Account.
(1) The Uniform School Fund, a special revenue fund within the Education Fund, established by

Utah Constitution, Article X, Section 5, consists of:
(a) interest and dividends derived from the investment of money in the permanent State School

Fund established by Utah Constitution, Article X, Section 5;
(b) money transferred to the fund pursuant to Title 67, Chapter 4a, Unclaimed Property Act; and
(c) all other constitutional or legislative allocations to the fund, including revenues received by

donation.
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(2)
(a) There is created within the Uniform School Fund a restricted account known as the Interest

and Dividends Account.
(b) The Interest and Dividends Account consists of:

(i) interest and dividends derived from the investment of money in the permanent State School
Fund referred to in Subsection (1)(a); and

(ii) interest on account money.
(3)

(a) Upon appropriation by the Legislature, money from the Interest and Dividends Account shall
be used for:

(i) the administration of the School LAND Trust Program as provided in Section 53A-16-101.5;
and

(ii) the performance of duties described in Section 53A-16-101.6.
(b) The Legislature may appropriate any remaining balance for the support of the public

education system.
(4)

(a) There is created within the Uniform School Fund a restricted account known as the Invest
More for Education Account.

(b) The account shall be funded by contributions deposited into the restricted account in
accordance with Section 59-10-1318.

(c) The account shall earn interest.
(d) Interest earned on the account shall be deposited into the account.
(e) The Legislature may appropriate money from the account for the support of the public

education system.

Amended by Chapter 235, 2013 General Session

Contingently Effective 7/1/2017
53A-16-101 Uniform School Fund -- Contents -- Trust Distribution Account.
(1) The Uniform School Fund, a special revenue fund within the Education Fund, established by

Utah Constitution, Article X, Section 5, consists of:
(a) distributions derived from the investment of money in the permanent State School Fund

established by Utah Constitution, Article X, Section 5;
(b) money transferred to the fund pursuant to Title 67, Chapter 4a, Unclaimed Property Act; and
(c) all other constitutional or legislative allocations to the fund, including revenues received by

donation.
(2)

(a) There is created within the Uniform School Fund a restricted account known as the Trust
Distribution Account.

(b) The Trust Distribution Account consists of the average of:
(i) 4% of the average market value of the permanent State School Fund based on an annual

review each July of the past 12 consecutive quarters; and
(ii) the prior year's distribution from the Trust Distribution Account as described in Section

53A-16-101.5, increased by prior year changes in the percentage of student enrollment
growth and in the consumer price index.

(3) Notwithstanding Subsection (2)(b), the distribution may not exceed 4% of the average market
value of the permanent State School Fund over the past 12 consecutive quarters.

(4) The School and Institutional Trust Fund Board of Trustees created in Section 53D-1-301 shall:
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(a) annually review distribution of the Trust Distribution Account; and
(b) make recommendations, if necessary, to the Legislature for changes to the formula described

in Subsection (2)(b).
(5)

(a) Upon appropriation by the Legislature, the director of the School and Institutional Trust Fund
Office created in Section 53D-1-201 shall place in the Trust Distribution Account funds for:

(i) the administration of the School LAND Trust Program as provided in Section 53A-16-101.5;
(ii) the performance of duties described in Section 53A-16-101.6;
(iii) the School and Institutional Trust Fund Office; and
(iv) the School and Institutional Trust Fund Board of Trustees created in Section 53D-1-301.

(b) The Legislature may appropriate any remaining balance for the support of the public
education system.

Amended by Chapter 172, 2016 General Session

Contingently Superseded 7/1/2017
53A-16-101.5 School LAND Trust Program -- Purpose -- Distribution of funds -- School plans
for use of funds.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Charter agreement" means an agreement made in accordance with Section 53A-1a-508 that
authorizes the operation of a charter school.

(b) "Charter school authorizer" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-1a-501.3.
(c) "Charter trust land council" means a council established by a charter school governing board

under this section.
(d) "Council" means a school community council or a charter trust land council.
(e) "District school" means a public school under the control of a local school board elected under

Title 20A, Chapter 14, Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards.
(f) "School community council" means a council established at a district school in accordance

with Section 53A-1a-108.
(2) There is established the School LAND (Learning And Nurturing Development) Trust Program

to:
(a) provide financial resources to public schools to enhance or improve student academic

achievement and implement a component of a district school's school improvement plan or a
charter school's charter agreement; and

(b) involve parents and guardians of a school's students in decision making regarding the
expenditure of School LAND Trust Program money allocated to the school.

(3)
(a) The program shall be funded each fiscal year:

(i) from the Interest and Dividends Account created in Section 53A-16-101; and
(ii) in the amount of the sum of the following:

(A) the interest and dividends from the investment of money in the permanent State School
Fund deposited to the Interest and Dividends Account in the immediately preceding year;
and

(B) interest accrued on money in the Interest and Dividends Account in the immediately
preceding fiscal year.

(b) The program shall be funded as provided in Subsection (3)(a) up to an amount equal to 3%
of the funds provided for the Minimum School Program, pursuant to Title 53A, Chapter 17a,
Minimum School Program Act, each fiscal year.
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(c)
(i) The Legislature shall annually allocate, through an appropriation to the State Board of

Education, a portion of the Interest and Dividends Account created in Section 53A-16-101 to
be used for:

(A) the administration of the School LAND Trust Program; and
(B) the performance of duties described in Section 53A-16-101.6.

(ii) Any unused balance remaining from an amount appropriated under Subsection (3)(c)(i) shall
be deposited in the Interest and Dividends Account for distribution to schools in the School
LAND Trust Program.

(4)
(a) The State Board of Education shall allocate the money referred to in Subsection (3) annually

as follows:
(i) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall receive funding equal to the product of:

(A) enrollment on October 1 in the prior year at the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
divided by enrollment on October 1 in the prior year in public schools statewide; and

(B) the total amount available for distribution under Subsection (3);
(ii) charter schools shall receive funding equal to the product of:

(A) charter school enrollment on October 1 in the prior year, divided by enrollment on October
1 in the prior year in public schools statewide; and

(B) the total amount available for distribution under Subsection (3); and
(iii) of the funds available for distribution under Subsection (3) after the allocation of funds for

the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind and charter schools:
(A) school districts shall receive 10% of the funds on an equal basis; and
(B) the remaining 90% of the funds shall be distributed to school districts on a per student

basis.
(b)

(i) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State
Board of Education shall make rules specifying a formula to distribute the amount allocated
under Subsection (4)(a)(ii) to charter schools.

(ii) In making rules under Subsection (4)(b)(i), the State Board of Education shall:
(A) consult with the State Charter School Board; and
(B) ensure that the rules include a provision that allows a charter school in the charter

school's first year of operations to receive funding based on projected enrollment, to be
adjusted in future years based on actual enrollment.

(c) A school district shall distribute its allocation under Subsection (4)(a)(iii) to each school within
the school district on an equal per student basis.

(d) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State
Board of Education may make rules regarding the time and manner in which the student
count shall be made for allocation of the money under Subsection (4)(a)(iii).

(5) To receive its allocation under Subsection (4):
(a) a district school shall have established a school community council in accordance with

Section 53A-1a-108;
(b) a charter school shall have established a charter trust land council in accordance with

Subsection (9); and
(c) the school's principal shall provide a signed, written assurance that the school is in

compliance with Subsection (5)(a) or (b).
(6)
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(a) A council shall create a program to use its allocation under Subsection (4) to implement a
component of the school's improvement plan or charter agreement, including:

(i) the school's identified most critical academic needs;
(ii) a recommended course of action to meet the identified academic needs;
(iii) a specific listing of any programs, practices, materials, or equipment which the school will

need to implement a component of its school improvement plan to have a direct impact on
the instruction of students and result in measurable increased student performance; and

(iv) how the school intends to spend its allocation of funds under this section to enhance or
improve academic excellence at the school.

(b)
(i) A council shall create and vote to adopt a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program

money in a meeting of the council at which a quorum is present.
(ii) If a majority of the quorum votes to adopt a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program

money, the plan is adopted.
(c) A council shall:

(i) post a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program money that is adopted in accordance
with Subsection (6)(b) on the School LAND Trust Program website; and

(ii) include with the plan a report noting the number of council members who voted for or
against the approval of the plan and the number of council members who were absent for
the vote.

(d)
(i) The local school board of a district school shall approve or disapprove a plan for the use of

School LAND Trust Program money.
(ii) If a local school board disapproves a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program

money:
(A) the local school board shall provide a written explanation of why the plan was disapproved

and request the school community council who submitted the plan to revise the plan; and
(B) the school community council shall submit a revised plan in response to a local school

board's request under Subsection (6)(d)(ii)(A).
(iii) Once a plan has been approved by a local school board, a school community council may

amend the plan, subject to a majority vote of the school community council and local school
board approval.

(e) A charter trust land council's plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program money is subject
to approval by the:

(i) charter school governing board; and
(ii) charter school's charter school authorizer.

(7)
(a) A district school or charter school shall:

(i) implement the program as approved;
(ii) provide ongoing support for the council's program; and
(iii) meet State Board of Education reporting requirements regarding financial and performance

accountability of the program.
(b)

(i) A district school or charter school shall prepare and post an annual report of the program on
the School LAND Trust Program website each fall.

(ii) The report shall detail the use of program funds received by the school under this section
and an assessment of the results obtained from the use of the funds.
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(iii) A summary of the report shall be provided to parents or guardians of students attending the
school.

(8) On or before October 1 of each year, a school district shall record the amount of the program
funds distributed to each school under Subsection (4)(c) on the School LAND Trust Program
website to assist schools in developing the annual report described in Subsection (7)(b).

(9)
(a) The governing board of a charter school shall establish a council, which shall prepare a

plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program money that includes the elements listed in
Subsection (6).

(b)
(i) The membership of the council shall include parents or guardians of students enrolled at the

school and may include other members.
(ii) The number of council members who are parents or guardians of students enrolled at the

school shall exceed all other members combined by at least two.
(c) A charter school governing board may serve as the council that prepares a plan for the use of

School LAND Trust Program money if the membership of the charter school governing board
meets the requirements of Subsection (9)(b)(ii).

(d)
(i) Except as provided in Subsection (9)(d)(ii), council members who are parents or guardians of

students enrolled at the school shall be elected in accordance with procedures established
by the charter school governing board.

(ii) Subsection (9)(d)(i) does not apply to a charter school governing board that serves as the
council that prepares a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program money.

(e) A parent or guardian of a student enrolled at the school shall serve as chair or cochair of a
council that prepares a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program money.

(10) The president or chair of a local school board or charter school governing board shall ensure
that the members of the local school board or charter school governing board are provided with
annual training on the requirements of this section.

Amended by Chapter 276, 2015 General Session

Contingently Effective 7/1/2017
53A-16-101.5 School LAND Trust Program -- Purpose -- Distribution of funds -- School plans
for use of funds.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Charter agreement" means an agreement made in accordance with Section 53A-1a-508 that
authorizes the operation of a charter school.

(b) "Charter school authorizer" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-1a-501.3.
(c) "Charter trust land council" means a council established by a charter school governing board

under this section.
(d) "Council" means a school community council or a charter trust land council.
(e) "District school" means a public school under the control of a local school board elected under

Title 20A, Chapter 14, Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards.
(f) "School community council" means a council established at a district school in accordance

with Section 53A-1a-108.
(2) There is established the School LAND (Learning And Nurturing Development) Trust Program

to:



Utah Code

Page 410

(a) provide financial resources to public schools to enhance or improve student academic
achievement and implement a component of a district school's school improvement plan or a
charter school's charter agreement; and

(b) involve parents and guardians of a school's students in decision making regarding the
expenditure of School LAND Trust Program money allocated to the school.

(3)
(a) The program shall be funded each fiscal year:

(i) from the Trust Distribution Account created in Section 53A-16-101; and
(ii) in the amount of the sum of the following:

(A) the distributions from the investment of money in the permanent State School Fund
deposited to the Trust Distribution Account on or about July 15 each year; and

(B) interest accrued on the Trust Distribution Account in the immediately preceding fiscal
year.

(b) The program shall be funded as provided in Subsection (3)(a) up to an amount equal to 3%
of the funds provided for the Minimum School Program, pursuant to Title 53A, Chapter 17a,
Minimum School Program Act, each fiscal year.

(c)
(i) The Legislature shall annually allocate, through an appropriation to the State Board of

Education, a portion of the Trust Distribution Account created in Section 53A-16-101 to be
used for:

(A) the administration of the School LAND Trust Program; and
(B) the performance of duties described in Section 53A-16-101.6.

(ii) Any unused balance remaining from an amount appropriated under Subsection (3)(c)(i) shall
be deposited in the Trust Distribution Account for distribution to schools in the School LAND
Trust Program.

(4)
(a) The State Board of Education shall allocate the money referred to in Subsection (3) annually

as follows:
(i) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall receive funding equal to the product of:

(A) enrollment on October 1 in the prior year at the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
divided by enrollment on October 1 in the prior year in public schools statewide; and

(B) the total amount available for distribution under Subsection (3);
(ii) charter schools shall receive funding equal to the product of:

(A) charter school enrollment on October 1 in the prior year, divided by enrollment on October
1 in the prior year in public schools statewide; and

(B) the total amount available for distribution under Subsection (3); and
(iii) of the funds available for distribution under Subsection (3) after the allocation of funds for

the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind and charter schools:
(A) school districts shall receive 10% of the funds on an equal basis; and
(B) the remaining 90% of the funds shall be distributed to school districts on a per student

basis.
(b)

(i) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State
Board of Education shall make rules specifying a formula to distribute the amount allocated
under Subsection (4)(a)(ii) to charter schools.

(ii) In making rules under Subsection (4)(b)(i), the State Board of Education shall:
(A) consult with the State Charter School Board; and
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(B) ensure that the rules include a provision that allows a charter school in the charter
school's first year of operations to receive funding based on projected enrollment, to be
adjusted in future years based on actual enrollment.

(c) A school district shall distribute its allocation under Subsection (4)(a)(iii) to each school within
the school district on an equal per student basis.

(d) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the State
Board of Education may make rules regarding the time and manner in which the student
count shall be made for allocation of the money under Subsection (4)(a)(iii).

(5) To receive its allocation under Subsection (4):
(a) a district school shall have established a school community council in accordance with

Section 53A-1a-108;
(b) a charter school shall have established a charter trust land council in accordance with

Subsection (9); and
(c) the school's principal shall provide a signed, written assurance that the school is in

compliance with Subsection (5)(a) or (b).
(6)

(a) A council shall create a program to use its allocation under Subsection (4) to implement a
component of the school's improvement plan or charter agreement, including:

(i) the school's identified most critical academic needs;
(ii) a recommended course of action to meet the identified academic needs;
(iii) a specific listing of any programs, practices, materials, or equipment which the school will

need to implement a component of its school improvement plan to have a direct impact on
the instruction of students and result in measurable increased student performance; and

(iv) how the school intends to spend its allocation of funds under this section to enhance or
improve academic excellence at the school.

(b)
(i) A council shall create and vote to adopt a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program

money in a meeting of the council at which a quorum is present.
(ii) If a majority of the quorum votes to adopt a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program

money, the plan is adopted.
(c) A council shall:

(i) post a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program money that is adopted in accordance
with Subsection (6)(b) on the School LAND Trust Program website; and

(ii) include with the plan a report noting the number of council members who voted for or
against the approval of the plan and the number of council members who were absent for
the vote.

(d)
(i) The local school board of a district school shall approve or disapprove a plan for the use of

School LAND Trust Program money.
(ii) If a local school board disapproves a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program

money:
(A) the local school board shall provide a written explanation of why the plan was disapproved

and request the school community council who submitted the plan to revise the plan; and
(B) the school community council shall submit a revised plan in response to a local school

board's request under Subsection (6)(d)(ii)(A).
(iii) Once a plan has been approved by a local school board, a school community council may

amend the plan, subject to a majority vote of the school community council and local school
board approval.
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(e) A charter trust land council's plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program money is subject
to approval by the:

(i) charter school governing board; and
(ii) charter school's charter school authorizer.

(7)
(a) A district school or charter school shall:

(i) implement the program as approved;
(ii) provide ongoing support for the council's program; and
(iii) meet State Board of Education reporting requirements regarding financial and performance

accountability of the program.
(b)

(i) A district school or charter school shall prepare and post an annual report of the program on
the School LAND Trust Program website each fall.

(ii) The report shall detail the use of program funds received by the school under this section
and an assessment of the results obtained from the use of the funds.

(iii) A summary of the report shall be provided to parents or guardians of students attending the
school.

(8) On or before October 1 of each year, a school district shall record the amount of the program
funds distributed to each school under Subsection (4)(c) on the School LAND Trust Program
website to assist schools in developing the annual report described in Subsection (7)(b).

(9)
(a) The governing board of a charter school shall establish a council, which shall prepare a

plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program money that includes the elements listed in
Subsection (6).

(b)
(i) The membership of the council shall include parents or guardians of students enrolled at the

school and may include other members.
(ii) The number of council members who are parents or guardians of students enrolled at the

school shall exceed all other members combined by at least two.
(c) A charter school governing board may serve as the council that prepares a plan for the use of

School LAND Trust Program money if the membership of the charter school governing board
meets the requirements of Subsection (9)(b)(ii).

(d)
(i) Except as provided in Subsection (9)(d)(ii), council members who are parents or guardians of

students enrolled at the school shall be elected in accordance with procedures established
by the charter school governing board.

(ii) Subsection (9)(d)(i) does not apply to a charter school governing board that serves as the
council that prepares a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program money.

(e) A parent or guardian of a student enrolled at the school shall serve as chair or cochair of a
council that prepares a plan for the use of School LAND Trust Program money.

(10) The president or chair of a local school board or charter school governing board shall ensure
that the members of the local school board or charter school governing board are provided with
annual training on the requirements of this section.

Amended by Chapter 172, 2016 General Session

Contingently Superseded 7/1/2017
53A-16-101.6 Creation of School Children's Trust Section -- Duties.
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(1) As used in this section:
(a) "School and institutional trust lands" is as defined in Section 53C-1-103.
(b) "Section" means the School Children's Trust Section created in this section.
(c) "Trust" means:

(i) the School LAND Trust Program created in Section 53A-16-101.5; and
(ii) the lands and funds associated with the trusts described in Subsection 53C-1-103(7).

(2) There is established a School Children's Trust Section under the State Board of Education.
(3)

(a) The section shall have a director.
(b) The director shall have professional qualifications and expertise in the areas generating

revenue to the trust, including:
(i) economics;
(ii) energy development;
(iii) finance;
(iv) investments;
(v) public education;
(vi) real estate;
(vii) renewable resources;
(viii) risk management; and
(ix) trust law.

(c) The director shall be appointed as provided in this Subsection (3).
(d) The School and Institutional Trust Lands Board of Trustees nominating committee shall

submit to the State Board of Education the name of one person to serve as director.
(e) The State Board of Education may:

(i) appoint the person described in Subsection (3)(d) to serve as director; or
(ii) deny the appointment of the person described in Subsection (3)(d) to serve as director.

(f) If the State Board of Education denies an appointment under this Subsection (3):
(i) the State Board of Education shall provide in writing one or more reasons for the denial to

the School and Institutional Trust Lands Board of Trustees nominating committee; and
(ii) the School and Institutional Trust Lands Board of Trustees nominating committee and the

State Board of Education shall follow the procedures and requirements of this Subsection
(3) until the State Board of Education appoints a director.

(g) The State Board of Education may remove the director only by majority vote of a quorum in
an open and public meeting after proper notice and the inclusion of the removal item on the
agenda.

(4) The State Board of Education shall make rules regarding:
(a) regular reporting from the School Children's Trust Section director to the State Board of

Education, to allow the State Board of Education to fulfill its duties in representing the trust
beneficiaries; and

(b) the day-to-day reporting of the School Children's Trust Section director.
(5)

(a) The director shall annually submit a proposed section budget to the State Board of Education.
(b) After approving a section budget, the State Board of Education shall propose the approved

budget to the Legislature.
(6) The director is entitled to attend any presentation, discussion, meeting, or other gathering

concerning the trust, subject to:
(a) provisions of law prohibiting the director's attendance to preserve confidentiality; or
(b) other provisions of law that the director's attendance would violate.
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(7) The section shall have a staff.
(8) The section shall protect current and future beneficiary rights and interests in the trust

consistent with the state's perpetual obligations under:
(a) the Utah Enabling Act;
(b) the Utah Constitution;
(c) state statute; and
(d) standard trust principles described in Section 53C-1-102.

(9) The section shall promote:
(a) productive use of school and institutional trust lands; and
(b) the efficient and prudent investment of funds managed by the School and Institutional Trust

Fund Office, created in Section 53D-1-201.
(10) The section shall provide representation, advocacy, and input:

(a) on behalf of current and future beneficiaries of the trust, school community councils, schools,
and school districts;

(b) on federal, state, and local land decisions and policies that affect the trust; and
(c) to:

(i) the School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration;
(ii) the School and Institutional Trust Lands Board of Trustees;
(iii) the Legislature;
(iv) the School and Institutional Trust Fund Office, created in Section 53D-1-201;
(v) the School and Institutional Trust Fund Board of Trustees, created in Section 53D-1-301;
(vi) the attorney general;
(vii) the public; and
(viii) other entities as determined by the section.

(11) The section shall provide independent oversight on the prudent and profitable management of
the trust and report annually to the State Board of Education and the Legislature.

(12) The section shall provide information requested by a person or entity described in Subsections
(10)(c)(i) through (vii).

(13)
(a) The section shall provide training to the entities described in Subsection (13)(b) on:

(i) the School LAND Trust Program established in Section 53A-16-101.5; and
(ii)

(A) a school community council established pursuant to Section 53A-1a-108; or
(B) a charter trust land council established under Section 53A-16-101.5.

(b) The section shall provide the training to:
(i) a local school board or a charter school governing board;
(ii) a school district or a charter school; and
(iii) a school community council.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

Contingently Effective 7/1/2017
53A-16-101.6 Creation of School Children's Trust Section -- Duties.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "School and institutional trust lands" is as defined in Section 53C-1-103.
(b) "Section" means the School Children's Trust Section created in this section.
(c) "Trust" means:

(i) the School LAND Trust Program created in Section 53A-16-101.5; and
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(ii) the lands and funds associated with the trusts described in Subsection 53C-1-103(7).
(2) There is established a School Children's Trust Section  under  the State  Board  of Education.
(3)

(a) The section shall have a director.
(b) The director shall have professional qualifications and expertise in the areas generating

revenue to the trust, including:
(i) economics;
(ii) energy development;
(iii) finance;
(iv) investments;
(v) public education;
(vi) real estate;
(vii) renewable resources;
(viii) risk management; and
(ix) trust law.

(c) The director shall be appointed as provided in this Subsection (3).
(d) The School and Institutional Trust Lands Board of Trustees nominating committee shall

submit to the State Board of Education the name of one person to serve as director.
(e) The State Board of Education may:

(i) appoint the person described in Subsection (3)(d) to serve as director; or
(ii) deny the appointment of the person described in Subsection (3)(d) to serve as director.

(f) If the State Board of Education denies an appointment under this Subsection (3):
(i) the State Board of Education shall provide in writing one or more reasons for the denial to

the School and Institutional Trust Lands Board of Trustees nominating committee; and
(ii) the School and Institutional Trust Lands Board of Trustees nominating committee and the

State Board of Education shall follow the procedures and requirements of this Subsection
(3) until the State Board of Education appoints a director.

(g) The State Board of Education may remove the director only by majority vote of a quorum in
an open and public meeting after proper notice and the inclusion of the removal item on the
agenda.

(4) The State Board of Education shall make rules regarding:
(a) regular reporting from the School Children's Trust Section director to the State Board of

Education, to allow the State Board of Education to fulfill its duties in representing the trust
beneficiaries; and

(b) the day-to-day reporting of the School Children's Trust Section director.
(5)

(a) The director shall annually submit a proposed section budget to the State Board of Education.
(b) After approving a section budget, the State Board of Education shall propose the approved

budget to the Legislature.
(6) The director is entitled to attend any presentation, discussion, meeting, or other gathering

concerning the trust, subject to:
(a) provisions of law prohibiting the director's attendance to preserve confidentiality; or
(b) other provisions of law that the director's attendance would violate.

(7) The section shall have a staff.
(8) The section shall protect current and future beneficiary rights and interests in the trust

consistent with the state's perpetual obligations under:
(a) the Utah Enabling Act;
(b) the Utah Constitution;
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(c) state statute; and
(d) standard trust principles described in Section 53C-1-102.

(9) The section shall promote:
(a) productive use of school and institutional trust lands; and
(b) the efficient and prudent investment of funds managed by the School and Institutional Trust

Fund Office, created in Section 53D-1-201.
(10) The section shall provide representation, advocacy, and input:

(a) on behalf of current and future beneficiaries of the trust, school community councils, schools,
and school districts;

(b) on federal, state, and local land decisions and policies that affect the trust; and
(c) to:

(i) the School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration;
(ii) the School and Institutional Trust Lands Board of Trustees;
(iii) the Legislature;
(iv) the School and Institutional Trust Fund Office, created in Section 53D-1-201;
(v) the School and Institutional Trust Fund Board of Trustees, created in Section 53D-1-301;
(vi) the attorney general;
(vii) the public; and
(viii) other entities as determined by the section.

(11) The section shall provide independent oversight on the prudent and profitable management of
the trust and report annually to the State Board of Education and the Legislature.

(12) The section shall provide information requested by a person or entity described in Subsections
(10)(c)(i) through (vii).

(13)
(a) The section shall provide training to the entities described in Subsection (13)(b) on:

(i) the School LAND Trust Program established in Section 53A-16-101.5; and
(ii)

(A) a school community council established pursuant to Section 53A-1a-108; or
(B) a charter trust land council established under Section 53A-16-101.5.

(b) The section shall provide the training to:
(i) a local school board or a charter school governing board;
(ii) a school district or a charter school; and
(iii) a school community council.

(14) The section shall annually:
(a) review each school's compliance with applicable law, including rules adopted by the State

Board of Education; and
(b) report findings to the State Board of Education.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 172, 2016 General Session

53A-16-103 Duty of Division of Finance -- Apportionment of fund by state board --
Certification of apportionments.
(1) The Division of Finance shall give the state superintendent, upon request, a written accounting

of the current balance in the Uniform School Fund.
(2) The State Board of Education shall apportion the fund among the several school districts.
(3) The state superintendent shall certify the apportionments to the Division of Finance and draws

warrants on the state treasurer in favor of the school districts.
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Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-16-106 Annual certification of tax rate proposed by local school board -- Inclusion of
school district budget -- Modified filing date.
(1) Prior to June 22 of each year, each local school board shall certify to the county legislative body

in which the district is located, on forms prescribed by the State Tax Commission, the proposed
tax rate approved by the local school board.

(2) A copy of the district's budget, including items under Section 53A-19-101, and a certified copy
of the local school board's resolution which approved the budget and set the tax rate for the
subsequent school year beginning July 1 shall accompany the tax rate.

(3) If the tax rate approved by the board is in excess of the certified tax rate, as defined in
Section 59-2-924, the date for filing the tax rate and budget adopted by the board shall be that
established under Section 59-2-919.

Amended by Chapter 350, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 367, 2016 General Session

53A-16-107 Capital outlay levy -- Authority to use proceeds of .0002 tax rate for maintenance
of school facilities -- Restrictions and procedure -- Limited authority to use proceeds
for general fund purposes -- Notification required when using proceeds for general fund
purposes -- Authority for small school districts to use levy proceeds for operation and
maintenance of plant services.
(1) Subject to Subsection (3) and except as provided in Subsections (2), (5), (6), and (7), a local

school board may annually impose a capital outlay levy not to exceed .0024 per dollar of
taxable value to be used for:

(a) capital outlay; or
(b) debt service.

(2)
(a) A local school board with an enrollment of 2,500 students or more may utilize the proceeds

of a maximum of .0002 per dollar of taxable value of the local school board's annual capital
outlay levy for the maintenance of school facilities in the school district.

(b) A local school board that uses the option provided under Subsection (2)(a) shall:
(i) maintain the same level of expenditure for maintenance in the current year as it did in the

preceding year, plus the annual average percentage increase applied to the maintenance
and operation budget for the current year; and

(ii) identify the expenditure of capital outlay funds for maintenance by a district project number
to ensure that the funds are expended in the manner intended.

(c) The State Board of Education shall establish by rule the expenditure classification for
maintenance under this program using a standard classification system.

(3) Beginning January 1, 2009, and through the taxable year beginning January 1, 2011, in order
to qualify for receipt of the state contribution toward the minimum school program, a local
school board in a county of the first class shall impose a capital outlay levy of at least .0006 per
dollar of taxable value.

(4)
(a) The county treasurer of a county of the first class shall distribute revenues generated by

the .0006 portion of the capital outlay levy required in Subsection (3) to school districts within
the county in accordance with Section 53A-16-114.
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(b)
(i) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b)(ii), if a school district in a county of the first class

imposes a capital outlay levy pursuant to this section which exceeds .0006 per dollar of
taxable value, the county treasurer of a county of the first class shall distribute revenues
generated by the portion of the capital outlay levy which exceeds .0006 to the school district
imposing the levy.

(ii) If a new district and a remaining district are required to impose property tax levies pursuant
to Subsection 53A-2-118.4(2), the county treasurer shall distribute revenues of the
new district or remaining district generated by the portion of a capital outlay levy that
exceeds .0006 in accordance with Section 53A-2-118.4.

(5)
(a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1)(a) and (b) and subject to Subsections (5)(b), (c), and (d),

for fiscal years 2010-11 and 2011-12, a local school board may use the proceeds of the local
school board's capital outlay levy for general fund purposes if the proceeds are not committed
or dedicated to pay debt service or bond payments.

(b) If a local school board uses the proceeds described in Subsection (5)(a) for general fund
purposes, the local school board shall notify the public of the local school board's use of the
capital outlay levy proceeds for general fund purposes:

(i) prior to the board's budget hearing in accordance with the notification requirements
described in Section 53A-19-102; and

(ii) at a budget hearing required in Section 53A-19-102.
(c) A local school board may not use the proceeds described in Subsection (5)(a) to fund the

following accounting function classifications as provided in the Financial Accounting for
Local and State School Systems guidelines developed by the National Center for Education
Statistics:

(i) 2300 Support Services - General District Administration; or
(ii) 2500 Support Services - Central Services.

(d) A local school board may not use the proceeds from a distribution described in Section
53A-16-114 for general fund purposes.

(6)
(a) In addition to the uses described in Subsection (1), a local school board of a school district

with an enrollment of fewer than 2,500 students, may use the proceeds of the local school
board's capital outlay levy, in fiscal years 2011-12, 2012-13, and 2013-14, for expenditures
made within the accounting function classification 2600, Operation and Maintenance of
Plant Services, of the Financial Accounting for Local and State School Systems guidelines
developed by the National Center for Education Statistics, excluding expenditures for mobile
phone service and vehicle operation and maintenance.

(b) If a local school board of a school district with an enrollment of fewer than 2,500 students
uses the proceeds of a capital outlay levy for the operation and maintenance of plant services
as described in Subsection (6)(a), the local school board shall notify the public of the local
school board's use of the capital outlay levy proceeds for operation and maintenance of plant
services:

(i) prior to the board's budget hearing in accordance with the notification requirements
described in Section 53A-19-102; and

(ii) at a budget hearing required in Section 53A-19-102.
(7) Beginning January 1, 2012, a local school board may not levy a tax in accordance with this

section.
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Amended by Chapter 189, 2014 General Session

53A-16-108 Levy of tax -- Collection and deposit.
(1) After the valuation of property has been extended on the assessment rolls, the county

legislative body shall levy a tax on the taxable property in the respective school districts at the
rate submitted by each local school board under Section 53A-16-106.

(2) These taxes shall be collected by the county officers in the same manner as other taxes are
collected.

(3) The county treasurer shall pay the tax revenues to the respective district's business
administrator who shall hold the tax revenue subject to the order of the local school board.

Amended by Chapter 227, 1993 General Session

53A-16-109 Payment out of tax money by county treasurer.
(1) Each county treasurer shall pay the appropriate proportionate share of delinquent taxes,

together with interest and costs on all tax sales, to each affected school district.
(2) The treasurer shall make payment as quickly as possible after collection or realization.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-16-110 Special tax to buy school building sites, build and furnish schoolhouses, or
improve school property.
(1)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (6), a local school board may, by following the process for
special elections established in Sections 20A-1-203 and 20A-1-204, call a special election
to determine whether a special property tax should be levied for one or more years to buy
building sites, build and furnish schoolhouses, or improve the school property under its
control.

(b) The tax may not exceed .2% of the taxable value of all taxable property in the district in any
one year.

(2) The board shall give reasonable notice of the election and follow the same procedure used in
elections for the issuance of bonds.

(3) If a majority of those voting on the proposition vote in favor of the tax, it is levied in addition
to a levy authorized under Section 53A-17a-145 and computed on the valuation of the county
assessment roll for that year.

(4)
(a) Within 20 days after the election, the board shall certify the amount of the approved tax to the

governing body of the county in which the school district is located.
(b) The governing body shall acknowledge receipt of the certification and levy and collect the

special tax.
(c) It shall then distribute the collected taxes to the business administrator of the school district at

the end of each calendar month.
(5) The special tax becomes due and delinquent and attaches to and becomes a lien on real and

personal property at the same time as state and county taxes.
(6) Notwithstanding Subsections (3) and (4), beginning January 1, 2012, a local school board may

not levy a tax in accordance with this section.

Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session



Utah Code

Page 420

53A-16-112 Growth in Student Population Restricted Account.
(1) There is created within the Uniform School Fund a restricted account known as the "Growth in

Student Population Restricted Account."
(2) The account shall be funded from the following revenue sources:

(a) any voluntary contributions received to help alleviate the anticipated surge in student growth
in public elementary and secondary schools during the early part of the 21st Century; and

(b) appropriations made to the fund by the Legislature.
(3) The account shall be used to help school districts meet the challenges created by anticipated

significant increases in student growth in the state's public schools.
(4)

(a) The account shall earn interest.
(b) All interest earned on account money shall be deposited in the account.

Enacted by Chapter 215, 2001 General Session

53A-16-113 Capital local levy -- First class county required levy -- Allowable uses of
collected revenue.
(1)

(a) Subject to the other requirements of this section, a local school board may levy a tax to fund
the school district's capital projects.

(b) A tax rate imposed by a school district pursuant to this section may not exceed .0030 per
dollar of taxable value in any calendar year.

(2) A school district that imposes a capital local levy in the calendar year beginning on January
1, 2012, is exempt from the public notice and hearing requirements of Section 59-2-919 if the
school district budgets an amount of ad valorem property tax revenue equal to or less than the
sum of the following amounts:

(a) the amount of revenue generated during the calendar year beginning on January 1, 2011,
from the sum of the following levies of a school district:

(i) a capital outlay levy imposed under Section 53A-16-107; and
(ii) the portion of the 10% of basic levy described in Section 53A-17a-145 that is budgeted for

debt service or capital outlay; and
(b) revenue from new growth as defined in Subsection 59-2-924(1).

(3)
(a) Subject to Subsections (3)(b), (c), and (d), for fiscal year 2013-14, a local school board may

utilize the proceeds of a maximum of .0024 per dollar of taxable value of the local school
board's annual capital local levy for general fund purposes if the proceeds are not committed
or dedicated to pay debt service or bond payments.

(b) If a local school board uses the proceeds described in Subsection (3)(a) for general fund
purposes, the local school board shall notify the public of the local school board's use of the
capital local levy proceeds for general fund purposes:

(i) prior to the local school board's budget hearing in accordance with the notification
requirements described in Section 53A-19-102; and

(ii) at a budget hearing required in Section 53A-19-102.
(c) A local school board may not use the proceeds described in Subsection (3)(a) to fund the

following accounting function classifications as provided in the Financial Accounting for
Local and State School Systems guidelines developed by the National Center for Education
Statistics:
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(i) 2300 Support Services - General District Administration; or
(ii) 2500 Support Services - Central Services.

(d) A local school board may not use the proceeds from a distribution described in Subsection (4)
for general fund purposes.

Amended by Chapter 350, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 367, 2016 General Session

Contingently Effective 7/1/2017
53A-16-115 Invest More for Education Account.
(1) There is created within the Uniform School Fund a restricted account known as the Invest More

for Education Account.
(2) The account shall be funded by contributions deposited into the restricted account in

accordance with Section 59-10-1318.
(3) The account shall earn interest.
(4) Interest earned on the account shall be deposited into the account.
(5) The Legislature may appropriate money from the account for the support of the public

education system.

Enacted by Chapter 172, 2016 General Session

Chapter 17a
Minimum School Program Act

Part 1
Minimum School Program

53A-17a-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Minimum School Program Act."

Amended by Chapter 21, 1999 General Session

53A-17a-102 Purpose of chapter.
(1) The purpose of this chapter is to provide a minimum school program for the state in accordance

with the constitutional mandate.  It recognizes that all children of the state are entitled to
reasonably equal educational opportunities regardless of their place of residence in the state
and of the economic situation of their respective school districts or other agencies.

(2) It further recognizes that although the establishment of an educational system is primarily a
state function, school districts should be required to participate on a partnership basis in the
payment of a reasonable portion of the cost of a minimum program.

(3) It is also the purpose of this chapter to describe the manner in which the state and the school
districts shall pay their respective share of the costs of a minimum program.  This chapter
also recognizes that each locality should be empowered to provide educational facilities and
opportunities beyond the minimum program and accordingly provide a method whereby that
latitude of action is permitted and encouraged.
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Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 72, 1991 General Session

53A-17a-103 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Basic state-supported school program" or "basic program" means public education programs
for kindergarten, elementary, and secondary school students that are operated and maintained
for the amount derived by multiplying the number of weighted pupil units for each school district
or charter school by the value established each year in statute, except as otherwise provided in
this chapter.

(2)
(a) "Certified revenue levy" means a property tax levy that provides an amount of ad valorem

property tax revenue equal to the sum of:
(i) the amount of ad valorem property tax revenue to be generated statewide in the previous

year from imposing a minimum basic tax rate, as specified in Section 53A-17a-135; and
(ii) the product of:

(A) eligible new growth, as defined in Section 59-2-924 and rules of the State Tax
Commission; and

(B) the minimum basic tax rate certified by the State Tax Commission for the previous year.
(b) For purposes of this Subsection (2), "ad valorem property tax revenue" does not include

property tax revenue received statewide from personal property that is:
(i) assessed by a county assessor in accordance with Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 3, County

Assessment; and
(ii) semiconductor manufacturing equipment.

(c) For purposes of calculating the certified revenue levy described in this Subsection (2), the
State Tax Commission shall use:

(i) the taxable value of real property assessed by a county assessor contained on the
assessment roll;

(ii) the taxable value of real and personal property assessed by the State Tax Commission; and
(iii) the taxable year end value of personal property assessed by a county assessor contained

on the prior year's assessment roll.
(3) "Pupil in average daily membership (ADM)" means a full-day equivalent pupil.
(4)

(a) "State-supported minimum school program" or "Minimum School Program" means public
school programs for kindergarten, elementary, and secondary schools as described in this
Subsection (4).

(b) The minimum school program established in school districts and charter schools shall
include the equivalent of a school term of nine months as determined by the State Board of
Education.

(c)
(i) The board shall establish the number of days or equivalent instructional hours that school is

held for an academic school year.
(ii) Education, enhanced by utilization of technologically enriched delivery systems, when

approved by local school boards or charter school governing boards, shall receive
full support by the State Board of Education as it pertains to fulfilling the attendance
requirements, excluding time spent viewing commercial advertising.

(d)



Utah Code

Page 423

(i) A local school board or charter school governing board may reallocate up to 32 instructional
hours or four school days established under Subsection (4)(c) for teacher preparation time
or teacher professional development.

(ii) A reallocation of instructional hours or school days under Subsection (4)(d)(i) is subject
to the approval of two-thirds of the members of a local school board or charter school
governing board voting in a regularly scheduled meeting:

(A) at which a quorum of the local school board or charter school governing board is present;
and

(B) held in compliance with Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act.
(iii) If a local school board or charter school governing board reallocates instructional hours or

school days as provided by this Subsection (4)(d), the school district or charter school shall
notify students' parents and guardians of the school calendar at least 90 days before the
beginning of the school year.

(iv) Instructional hours or school days reallocated for teacher preparation time or teacher
professional development pursuant to this Subsection (4)(d) is considered part of a school
term referred to in Subsection (4)(b).

(e) The Minimum School Program includes a program or allocation funded by a line item
appropriation or other appropriation designated as follows:

(i) Basic School Program;
(ii) Related to Basic Programs;
(iii) Voted and Board Levy Programs; or
(iv) Minimum School Program.

(5) "Weighted pupil unit or units or WPU or WPUs" means the unit of measure of factors that is
computed in accordance with this chapter for the purpose of determining the costs of a program
on a uniform basis for each district.

Amended by Chapter 367, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-105 Powers and duties of State Board of Education to adjust Minimum School
Program allocations -- Use of remaining funds at the end of a fiscal year.
(1) For purposes of this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "ESEA" means the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 6301 et

seq.
(c) "LEA" means:

(i) a school district; or
(ii) a charter school.

(d) "Program" means a program or allocation funded by a line item appropriation or other
appropriation designated as:

(i) Basic Program;
(ii) Related to Basic Programs;
(iii) Voted and Board Levy Programs; or
(iv) Minimum School Program.

(2) Except as provided in Subsection (3) or (5), if the number of weighted pupil units in a program
is underestimated, the board shall reduce the value of the weighted pupil unit in that program
so that the total amount paid for the program does not exceed the amount appropriated for the
program.
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(3) If the number of weighted pupil units in a program is overestimated, the board shall spend
excess money appropriated for the following purposes giving priority to the purpose described
in Subsection (3)(a):

(a) to support the value of the weighted pupil unit in a program within the basic state-supported
school program in which the number of weighted pupil units is underestimated;

(b) to support the state guarantee per weighted pupil unit provided under the voted local levy
program established in Section 53A-17a-133 or the board local levy program established in
Section 53A-17a-164, if:

(i) local contributions to the voted local levy program or board local levy program are
overestimated; or

(ii) the number of weighted pupil units within school districts qualifying for a guarantee is
underestimated;

(c) to support the state supplement to local property taxes allocated to charter schools, if the
state supplement is less than the amount prescribed by Section 53A-1a-513; or

(d) to support a school district with a loss in student enrollment as provided in Section
53A-17a-139.

(4) If local contributions from the minimum basic tax rate imposed under Section 53A-17a-135
are overestimated, the board shall reduce the value of the weighted pupil unit for all programs
within the basic state-supported school program so the total state contribution to the basic
state-supported school program does not exceed the amount of state funds appropriated.

(5) If local contributions from the minimum basic tax rate imposed under Section 53A-17a-135 are
underestimated, the board shall:

(a) spend the excess local contributions for the purposes specified in Subsection (3), giving
priority to supporting the value of the weighted pupil unit in programs within the basic state-
supported school program in which the number of weighted pupil units is underestimated; and

(b) reduce the state contribution to the basic state-supported school program so the total cost
of the basic state-supported school program does not exceed the total state and local
funds appropriated to the basic state-supported school program plus the local contributions
necessary to support the value of the weighted pupil unit in programs within the basic state-
supported school program in which the number of weighted pupil units is underestimated.

(6) Except as provided in Subsection (3) or (5), the board shall reduce the guarantee per weighted
pupil unit provided under the voted local levy program established in Section 53A-17a-133 or
board local levy program established in Section 53A-17a-164, if:

(a) local contributions to the voted local levy program or board local levy program are
overestimated; or

(b) the number of weighted pupil units within school districts qualifying for a guarantee is
underestimated.

(7)
(a) The board may use program funds as described in Subsection (7)(b) if:

(i) the state loses flexibility due to the U.S. Department of Education's rejection of the state's
renewal application for flexibility under the ESEA; and

(ii) the state is required to fully implement the requirements of Title I of the ESEA, as amended
by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.

(b) Subject to the requirements of Subsections (7)(a) and (c), for fiscal year 2016, after any
transfers or adjustments described in Subsections (2) through (6) are made, the board may
use up to $15,000,000 of excess money appropriated to a program, remaining at the end of
fiscal year 2015, to mitigate a budgetary impact to an LEA due to the LEA's loss of flexibility
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related to implementing the requirements of Title I of the ESEA, as amended by the No Child
Left Behind Act of 2001.

(c) In addition to the reporting requirement described in Subsection (9), the board shall report
actions taken by the board under this Subsection (7) to the Executive Appropriations
Committee.

(8) Money appropriated to the board is nonlapsing.
(9) The board shall report actions taken by the board under this section to the Office of the

Legislative Fiscal Analyst and the Governor's Office of Management and Budget.

Amended by Chapter 229, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-105.5 Flexibility in the use of program funds.
(1) As used in this section, "qualifying program" means:

(a) the Enhancement for At-Risk Students Program created in Section 53A-17a-166;
(b) the Enhancement for Accelerated Students Program created in Section 53A-17a-165; and
(c) the concurrent enrollment program established in Section 53A-15-1703.

(2) If a school district or charter school receives an allocation of state funds for a qualifying
program that is less than $10,000, the school district or charter school may:

(a)
(i) combine the funds with one or more qualifying program fund allocations each of which is less

than $10,000; and
(ii) use the combined funds in accordance with the program requirements for any of the

qualifying programs that are combined; or
(b)

(i) transfer the funds to a qualifying program for which the school district or charter school
received an allocation of funds that is greater than or equal to $10,000; and

(ii) use the combined funds in accordance with the program requirements for the qualifying
program to which the funds are transferred.

Amended by Chapter 200, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-106 Determination of weighted pupil units.
          The number of weighted pupil units in the minimum school program for each year is the total of

the units for each school district determined as follows:
(1) The number of units is computed by adding the average daily membership of all pupils of the

district attending schools, other than kindergarten and self-contained classes for children with a
disability.

(2) The number of units is computed by adding the average daily membership of all pupils of the
district enrolled in kindergarten and multiplying the total by .55.

(a) In those districts that do not elect to hold kindergarten for a full nine-month term, the local
school board may approve a shorter term of nine weeks' duration.

(b) Upon board approval, the number of pupils in average daily membership at the short-term
kindergarten shall be counted for the purpose of determining the number of units allowed in
the same ratio as the number of days the short-term kindergarten is held, not exceeding nine
weeks, compared to the total number of days schools are held in that district in the regular
school year.

(3)
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(a) The State Board of Education shall use prior year plus growth to determine average daily
membership in distributing money under the minimum school program where the distribution
is based on kindergarten through grade 12 ADMs or weighted pupil units.

(b) Under prior year plus growth, kindergarten through grade 12 average daily membership
for the current year is based on the actual kindergarten through grade 12 average daily
membership for the previous year plus an estimated percentage growth factor.

(c) The growth factor is the percentage increase in total average daily membership on the first
school day of October in the current year as compared to the total average daily membership
on the first school day of October of the previous year.

Amended by Chapter 73, 2001 General Session

53A-17a-107 Professional staff weighted pupil units.
(1) Professional staff weighted pupil units are computed and distributed in accordance with the

following schedule:
(a) Professional Staff Cost Formula

Years of
Experience

Bachelor's
Degree

Bachelor's
+30 Qt. Hr.

Master's
Degree

Master's
Degree

+45 Qt. Hr.

Doctorate

1 1.00 1.05 1.10 1.15 1.20

2 1.05 1.10 1.15 1.20 1.25

3 1.10 1.15 1.20 1.25 1.30

4 1.15 1.20 1.25 1.30 1.35

5 1.20 1.25 1.30 1.35 1.40

6 1.25 1.30 1.35 1.40 1.45

7 1.30 1.35 1.40 1.45 1.50

8 1.35 1.40 1.45 1.50 1.55

9 1.50 1.55 1.60

10 1.60 1.65

11 1.70

(b) Multiply the number of full-time or equivalent professional personnel in each applicable
experience category in Subsection (1)(a) by the applicable weighting factor.

(c) Divide the total of Subsection (1)(b) by the number of professional personnel included in
Subsection (1)(b) and reduce the quotient by 1.00.

(d) Multiply the result of Subsection (1)(c) by 1/4 of the weighted pupil units computed in
accordance with Sections 53A-17a-106 and 53A-17a-109.

(2) The State Board of Education shall enact rules in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah
Administrative Rulemaking Act, which require a certain percentage of a district's professional
staff to be certified in the area in which they teach in order for the district to receive full funding
under the schedule.



Utah Code

Page 427

(3) If an individual's teaching experience is a factor in negotiating a contract of employment to
teach in the state's public schools, then the local school board is encouraged to accept as
credited experience all of the years the individual has taught in the state's public schools.

Amended by Chapter 382, 2008 General Session

53A-17a-108 Weighted pupil units for small school district administrative costs --
Appropriation for charter school administrative costs.
(1) Administrative costs weighted pupil units are computed and distributed to small school districts

in accordance with the following schedule:

Administrative Costs Schedule

School District Enrollment as of October 1 Weighted Pupil Units

1 - 500 students 95

501 - 1,000 students 80

1,001 - 2,000 students 70

2,001 - 5,000 students 60

(2)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), money appropriated to the State Board of Education

for charter school administrative costs shall be distributed to charter schools in the amount of
$100 for each charter school student in enrollment.

(b)
(i) If money appropriated for charter school administrative costs is insufficient to provide the

amount per student prescribed in Subsection (2)(a), the appropriation shall be allocated
among charter schools in proportion to each charter school's enrollment as a percentage of
the total enrollment in charter schools.

(ii) If the State Board of Education makes adjustments to Minimum School Program allocations
under Section 53A-17a-105, the allocation provided in Subsection (2)(b)(i) shall be
determined after adjustments are made under Section 53A-17a-105.

(c) Charter schools are encouraged to identify and use cost-effective methods of performing
administrative functions, including contracting for administrative services with the State
Charter School Board as provided in Section 53A-1a-501.6.

(3) Charter schools are not eligible for funds for administrative costs under Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 3, 2010 General Session
Amended by Chapter 399, 2010 General Session

53A-17a-109 Necessarily existent small schools -- Computing additional weighted pupil
units -- Consolidation of small schools.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Necessarily existent small schools funding balance" means the difference between:

(i) the amount appropriated for the necessarily existent small schools program in a fiscal year;
and

(ii) the amount distributed to school districts for the necessarily existent small schools program
in the same fiscal year.
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(2)
(a) Upon application by a school district, the board shall, in consultation with the local school

board, classify schools in the district as necessarily existent small schools, in accordance with
this section and board rules adopted under this section.

(b) An application must be submitted to the board before April 2, and the board must report a
decision to a school district before June 2.

(3) The board shall adopt standards and make rules to:
(a) govern the approval of necessarily existent small schools consistent with principles of

efficiency and economy and which shall serve the purpose of eliminating schools where
consolidation is feasible by participation in special school units; and

(b) ensure that districts are not building secondary schools in close proximity to one another
where economy and efficiency would be better served by one school meeting the needs of
secondary students in a designated geographical area.

(4) A one or two-year secondary school that has received necessarily existent small school money
under this section prior to July 1, 2000, may continue to receive such money in subsequent
years under board rule.

(5) The board shall prepare and publish objective standards and guidelines for determining which
small schools are necessarily existent after consultation with local school boards.

(6)
(a) Additional weighted pupil units for schools classified as necessarily existent small schools

shall be computed using regression formulas adopted by the board.
(b) The regression formulas establish the following maximum sizes for funding under the

necessarily existent small school program:
(i) an elementary school                                        160
(ii) a one or two-year secondary school                    300
(iii) a three-year secondary school                              450
(iv) a four-year secondary school                              500
(v) a six-year secondary school                                        600

(c) Schools with fewer than 10 students shall receive the same add-on weighted pupil units as
schools with 10 students.

(d) The board shall prepare and distribute an allocation table based on the regression formula to
each school district.

(7)
(a) To avoid penalizing a district financially for consolidating its small schools, additional weighted

pupil units may be allowed a district each year, not to exceed two years.
(b) The additional weighted pupil units may not exceed the difference between what the district

receives for a consolidated school and what it would have received for the small schools had
they not been consolidated.

(8)
(a) Subject to Subsection (8)(b), the board may distribute a portion of necessarily existent small

schools funding in accordance with a formula adopted by the board that considers the tax
effort of a local school board.

(b) The amount distributed in accordance with Subsection (8)(a) may not exceed the necessarily
existent small schools fund in balance of the prior fiscal year.

(9) A district may use the money allocated under this section for maintenance and operation of
school programs or for other school purposes as approved by the board.

Amended by Chapter 106, 2013 General Session
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53A-17a-111 Weighted pupil units for programs for students with disabilities -- District
allocation.
(1) The number of weighted pupil units for students with disabilities shall reflect the direct cost of

programs for those students conducted in accordance with rules established by the State Board
of Education in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.

(2) Disability program money allocated to districts is restricted and shall be spent for the education
of students with disabilities but may include expenditures for approved programs of services
conducted for certified instructional personnel who have students with disabilities in their
classes.

(3) The State Board of Education shall establish and strictly interpret definitions and provide
standards for determining which students have disabilities and shall assist districts in
determining the services that should be provided to students with disabilities.

(4) Each year the board shall evaluate the standards and guidelines that establish the identifying
criteria for disability classifications to assure strict compliance with those standards by the
districts.

(5)
(a) Money appropriated to the State Board of Education for add-on WPUs for students with

disabilities enrolled in regular programs shall be allocated to school districts as provided in
this Subsection (5).

(b) Beginning on July 1, 2003, the State Board of Education shall:
(i) use a district's average number of special education add-on weighted pupil units determined

by the previous five year's average daily membership data as a foundation for the special
education add-on appropriation; and

(ii) implement a hold harmless provision for up to three years as needed to accomplish a
phase-in period for school districts to accommodate the change in the special education
add-on WPUs foundation formula.

(c) A district's special education add-on WPUs for the current year may not be less than the
foundation special education add-on WPUs.

(d) Growth WPUs shall be added to the prior year special education add-on WPUs, and growth
WPUs shall be determined as follows:

(i) The special education student growth factor is calculated by comparing S-3 total special
education ADM of two years previous to the current year to the S-3 total special education
ADM three years previous to the current year, not to exceed the official October total district
growth factor from the prior year.

(ii) When calculating and applying the growth factor, a district's S-3 total special education ADM
for a given year is limited to 12.18% of the district's S-3 total student ADM for the same
year.

(iii) Growth ADMs are calculated by applying the growth factor to the S-3 total special education
ADM of two years previous to the current year.

(iv) Growth ADMs for each district are multiplied by 1.53 weighted pupil units and added to the
prior year special education add-on WPU to determine each district's total allocation.

(6) If money appropriated under this chapter for programs for students with disabilities does
not meet the costs of districts for those programs, each district shall first receive the amount
generated for each student with a disability under the basic program.

Amended by Chapter 342, 2011 General Session
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53A-17a-111.5 Districts to provide class space for deaf and blind programs.
(1) School districts with students who reside within their boundaries and are served by the Schools

for the Deaf and the Blind shall:
(a) furnish the schools with space required for their programs; or
(b) help pay for the cost of leasing classroom space in other school districts.

(2) A district's participation in the program under Subsection (1) is based upon the number of
students who are served by the Schools for the Deaf and the Blind and who reside within the
district as compared to the state total of students who are served by the schools.

Amended by Chapter 221, 2003 General Session

53A-17a-112 Preschool special education appropriation -- Extended year program
appropriation -- Appropriation for special education programs in state institutions --
Appropriations for stipends for special educators.
(1)

(a) Money appropriated to the State Board of Education for the preschool special education
program shall be allocated to school districts to provide a free, appropriate public education to
preschool students with a disability, ages three through five.

(b) The money shall be distributed on the basis of the school district's count of preschool children
with a disability for December 1 of the previous year, as mandated by federal law.

(2) Money appropriated for the extended school year program for children with a severe disability
shall be limited to students with severe disabilities with education program goals identifying
significant regression and recoupment disability as approved by the State Board of Education.

(3)
(a) Money appropriated for self-contained regular special education programs may not be used to

supplement other school programs.
(b) Money in any of the other restricted line item appropriations may not be reduced more than

2% to be used for purposes other than those specified by the appropriation, unless otherwise
provided by law.

(4)
(a) The State Board of Education shall compute preschool funding by a factor of 1.47 times the

current December 1 child count of eligible preschool aged three, four, and five-year-olds times
the WPU value, limited to 8% growth over the prior year December 1 count.

(b) The board shall develop guidelines to implement the funding formula for preschool special
education, and establish prevalence limits for distribution of the money.

(5) Of the money appropriated for Special Education - State Programming, the State Board of
Education shall distribute the revenue generated from 909 WPUs to school districts, charter
schools, and the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind for stipends to special educators for
additional days of work pursuant to the requirements of Section 53A-17a-158.

Amended by Chapter 359, 2011 General Session
Amended by Chapter 366, 2011 General Session

53A-17a-112.1 Appropriation for intensive special education costs.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means:

(i) a school district;
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(ii) a charter school; or
(iii) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(2)
(a) On or before February 1, 2017, the board shall, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3,

Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, make rules establishing a distribution formula to allocate
money appropriated to the board for Special Education -- Intensive Services that allocate to
an LEA:

(i) 50% of the appropriation based on the highest cost students with disabilities; and
(ii) 50% of the appropriation based on the highest impact to an LEA due to high cost students

with disabilities.
(b) Beginning with the 2017-18 school year, the board shall allocate money appropriated to

the board for Special Education -- Intensive Services in accordance with rules described in
Subsection (2)(a).

(3) Before initiating the rulemaking process under Subsection (2)(a), the board shall present the
proposed rule to the Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee or Education Interim
Committee.

Enacted by Chapter 246, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-113 Weighted pupil units for career and technical education programs -- Funding of
approved programs -- Performance measures -- Qualifying criteria.
(1)

(a) Money appropriated to the State Board of Education for approved career and technical
education programs and the comprehensive guidance program:

(i) shall be allocated to eligible recipients as provided in Subsections (2), (3), (4), and (5); and
(ii) may not be used to fund programs below the ninth grade level.

(b) Subsection (1)(a)(ii) does not apply to the following programs:
(i) comprehensive guidance;
(ii) Technology-Life-Careers; and
(iii) work-based learning programs.

(2)
(a) Weighted pupil units are computed for pupils in approved programs.
(b)

(i) The board shall fund approved programs based upon hours of membership of 9th through
12th grade students.

(ii) Subsection (2)(b)(i) does not apply to the following programs:
(A) comprehensive guidance;
(B) Technology-Life-Careers; and
(C) work-based learning programs.

(c) The board shall use an amount not to exceed 20% of the total appropriation under this
section to fund approved programs based on performance measures such as placement and
competency attainment defined in standards set by the board.

(d) Leadership organization funds shall constitute an amount not to exceed 1% of the total
appropriation under this section, and shall be distributed to each local educational agency
sponsoring career and technical education student leadership organizations based on the
agency's share of the state's total membership in those organizations.
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(e) The board shall make the necessary calculations for distribution of the appropriation to school
districts and may revise and recommend changes necessary for achieving equity and ease of
administration.

(3)
(a) Twenty weighted pupil units shall be computed for career and technical education

administrative costs for each district, except 25 weighted pupil units may be computed for
each district that consolidates career and technical education administrative services with one
or more other districts.

(b) Between 10 and 25 weighted pupil units shall be computed for each high school conducting
approved career and technical education programs in a district according to standards
established by the board.

(c) Forty weighted pupil units shall be computed for each district that operates an approved
career and technical education center.

(d) Between five and seven weighted pupil units shall be computed for each summer career and
technical education agriculture program according to standards established by the board.

(e) The board shall, by rule, establish qualifying criteria for districts to receive weighted pupil units
under this Subsection (3).

(4)
(a) Money remaining after the allocations made under Subsections (2) and (3) shall be allocated

using average daily membership in approved programs for the previous year.
(b) A district that has experienced student growth in grades 9 through 12 for the previous

year shall have the growth factor applied to the previous year's weighted pupil units when
calculating the allocation of money under this Subsection (4).

(5) Of the money allocated to comprehensive guidance programs pursuant to board rules,
$1,000,000 in grants shall be awarded to school districts or charter schools that:

(a) provide an equal amount of matching funds; and
(b) do not supplant other funds used for comprehensive guidance programs.

(6)
(a) The board shall establish rules for the upgrading of high school career and technical

education programs.
(b) The rules shall reflect career and technical training and actual marketable job skills in society.
(c) The rules shall include procedures to assist school districts to convert existing programs

which are not preparing students for the job market into programs that will accomplish that
purpose.

(7) Programs that do not meet board standards may not be funded under this section.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2010 General Session

53A-17a-114 Career and technical education program alternatives.
(1) A secondary student may attend an applied technology college within the Utah College of

Applied Technology if the secondary student's career and technical education goals are better
achieved by attending an applied technology college as determined by:

(a) the secondary student; and
(b) if the secondary student is a minor, the secondary student's parent or legal guardian.

(2) A secondary student served under this section by an applied technology college within the
Utah College of Applied Technology shall be counted in the average daily membership of the
sending school district or charter school.
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Amended by Chapter 236, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-116 Weighted pupil units for career and technical education set-aside programs.
(1) Each district shall receive a guaranteed minimum allocation from the money appropriated to the

State Board of Education for a career and technical education set-aside program.
(2) The set-aside funds remaining after the initial minimum payment allocation are distributed by an

RFP process to help pay for equipment costs necessary to initiate new programs and for high
priority programs as determined by labor market information.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2010 General Session

53A-17a-119 Appropriation for adult education programs.
(1) Money appropriated to the State Board of Education for adult education shall be allocated to

local school boards for adult high school completion and adult basic skills programs.
(2) Each district shall receive its pro rata share of the appropriation for adult high school completion

programs based on the number of people listed in the latest official census who are over 18
years of age and who do not have a high school diploma and prior year participation or as
approved by board rule.

(3) On February 1 of each school year, the State Board of Education shall recapture money
not used for an adult high school completion program for reallocation to districts that have
implemented programs based on need and effort as determined by the board.

(4) To the extent of money available, school districts shall provide programs to adults who do
not have a diploma and who intend to graduate from high school, with particular emphasis on
homeless individuals who are seeking literacy and life skills.

(5) Overruns in adult education in any district may not reduce the value of the weighted pupil unit
for this program in another district.

(6) School districts shall spend money on adult basic skills programs according to standards
established by the board.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2010 General Session

53A-17a-124 Quality Teaching Block Grant Program -- State contributions.
(1) The State Board of Education shall distribute money appropriated for the Quality Teaching

Block Grant Program to school districts and charter schools according to a formula adopted by
the board, after consultation with school districts and charter schools, that allocates the funding
in a fair and equitable manner.

(2) School districts and charter schools shall use Quality Teaching Block Grant money to
implement professional learning that meets the standards specified in Section 53A-3-701.

Amended by Chapter 346, 2014 General Session

53A-17a-124.5 Appropriation for class size reduction.
(1) Money appropriated to the State Board of Education for class size reduction shall be used to

reduce the average class size in kindergarten through the eighth grade in the state's public
schools.

(2) Each district or charter school shall receive its allocation based upon prior year average daily
membership in kindergarten through grade 8 plus growth as determined under Subsection
53A-17a-106(3) as compared to the total prior year average daily membership in kindergarten
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through grade 8 plus growth of school districts and charter schools that qualify for an allocation
pursuant to Subsection (8).

(3)
(a) A district may use its allocation to reduce class size in any one or all of the grades referred to

under this section, except as otherwise provided in Subsection (3)(b).
(b)

(i) Each district or charter school shall use 50% of its allocation to reduce class size in any
one or all of grades kindergarten through grade 2, with an emphasis on improving student
reading skills.

(ii) If a district's or charter school's average class size is below 18 in grades kindergarten
through grade 2, it may petition the state board for, and the state board may grant, a waiver
to use its allocation under Subsection (3)(b)(i) for class size reduction in the other grades.

(4) Schools may use nontraditional innovative and creative methods to reduce class sizes with this
appropriation and may use part of their allocation to focus on class size reduction for specific
groups, such as at risk students, or for specific blocks of time during the school day.

(5)
(a) A school district or charter school may use up to 20% of its allocation under Subsection (1) for

capital facilities projects if such projects would help to reduce class size.
(b) If a school district's or charter school's student population increases by 5% or 700 students

from the previous school year, the school district or charter school may use up to 50% of any
allocation it receives under this section for classroom construction.

(6) This appropriation is to supplement any other appropriation made for class size reduction.
(7) The Legislature shall provide for an annual adjustment in the appropriation authorized under

this section in proportion to the increase in the number of students in the state in kindergarten
through grade eight.

(8)
(a) To qualify for class size reduction money, a school district or charter school shall submit:

(i) a plan for the use of the school district's or charter school's allocation of class size reduction
money to the State Board of Education; and

(ii) beginning with the 2014-15 school year, a report on the school district's or charter school's
use of class size reduction money in the prior school year.

(b) The plan and report required pursuant to Subsection (8)(a) shall include the following
information:

(i)
(A) the number of teachers employed using class size reduction money;
(B) the amount of class size reduction money expended for teachers; and
(C) if supplemental school district or charter school funds are expended to pay for teachers

employed using class size reduction money, the amount of the supplemental money;
(ii)

(A) the number of paraprofessionals employed using class size reduction money;
(B) the amount of class size reduction money expended for paraprofessionals; and
(C) if supplemental school district or charter school funds are expended to pay for

paraprofessionals employed using class size reduction money, the amount of the
supplemental money; and

(iii) the amount of class size reduction money expended for capital facilities.
(c) In addition to submitting a plan and report on the use of class size reduction money, a school

district or charter school shall annually submit a report to the State Board of Education that
includes the following information:
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(i) the number of teachers employed using K-3 Reading Improvement Program money received
pursuant to Sections 53A-17a-150 and 53A-17a-151;

(ii) the amount of K-3 Reading Improvement Program money expended for teachers;
(iii) the number of teachers employed in kindergarten through grade 8 using Title I money;
(iv) the amount of Title I money expended for teachers in kindergarten through grade 8; and
(v) a comparison of actual average class size by grade in grades kindergarten through 8 in

the school district or charter school with what the average class size would be without the
expenditure of class size reduction, K-3 Reading Improvement Program, and Title I money.

(d) The information required to be reported in Subsections (8)(b)(i)(A) through (C), (8)(b)(ii)(A)
through (C), and (8)(c) shall be categorized by a teacher's or paraprofessional's teaching
assignment, such as the grade level, course, or subject taught.

(e) The State Board of Education may make rules specifying procedures and standards for the
submission of:

(i) a plan and a report on the use of class size reduction money as required by this section; and
(ii) a report required under Subsection (8)(c).

(f) Based on the data contained in the class size reduction plans and reports submitted by school
districts and charter schools, and data on average class size, the State Board of Education
shall annually report to the Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee on the impact of
class size reduction, K-3 Reading Improvement Program, and Title I money on class size.

Amended by Chapter 188, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-125 Appropriation for retirement and Social Security.
(1) The employee's retirement contribution shall be 1% for employees who are under the state's

contributory retirement program.
(2) The employer's contribution under the state's contributory retirement program is determined

under Section 49-12-301, subject to the 1% contribution under Subsection (1).
(3)

(a) The employer-employee contribution rate for employees who are under the state's
noncontributory retirement program is determined under Section 49-13-301.

(b) The same contribution rate used under Subsection (3)(a) shall be used to calculate the
appropriation for charter schools described under Subsection (5).

(4)
(a) Money appropriated to the State Board of Education for retirement and Social Security money

shall be allocated to school districts and charter schools based on a district's or charter
school's total weighted pupil units compared to the total weighted pupil units for all districts in
the state.

(b) Subject to budget constraints, money needed to support retirement and Social Security shall
be determined by taking the district's prior year allocation and adjusting it for:

(i) student growth;
(ii) the percentage increase in the value of the weighted pupil unit; and
(iii) the effect of any change in the rates for retirement, Social Security, or both.

(5) A charter school that has made an election of nonparticipation in the Utah State Retirement
Systems in accordance with Section 53A-1a-512 and Title 49, Utah State Retirement and
Insurance Benefit Act, shall use the funds described under this section for retirement to provide
its own compensation, benefit, and retirement programs.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2010 General Session
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53A-17a-126 State support of pupil transportation.
(1) Money appropriated to the State Board of Education for state-supported transportation of public

school students shall be apportioned and distributed in accordance with Section 53A-17a-127,
except as otherwise provided in this section or Section 53A-17a-126.5.

(2)
(a) The Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall use its allocation of pupil transportation

money to pay for transportation of their students based on current valid contractual
arrangements and best transportation options and methods as determined by the schools.

(b) All student transportation costs of the schools shall be paid from the allocation of pupil
transportation money specified in statute.

(3)
(a) A school district may only claim eligible transportation costs as legally reported on the prior

year's annual financial report submitted under Section 53A-3-404.
(b) The state shall contribute 85% of approved transportation costs, subject to budget

constraints.
(c) If in a fiscal year the total transportation allowance for all districts exceeds the amount

appropriated for that purpose, all allowances shall be reduced pro rata to equal not more than
the amount appropriated.

Amended by Chapter 214, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-126.5 Grants for unsafe routes.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Transportation Advisory Committee" means the review committee for addressing school

transportation needs described in Subsection 53A-17a-127(5).
(c) "Unsafe route" means a route between a student's residence and school that is:

(i) shorter than a distance described in:
(A) Subsection 53A-17a-127(1)(a) for a student enrolled in kindergarten through grade 6; or
(B) Subsection 53A-17a-127(1)(b) for a student enrolled in grades 7 through 12; and

(ii) due to a health or safety concern, dangerous for a student to walk.
(2) Subject to legislative appropriations for grants for unsafe routes provided under this section, the

board shall:
(a) solicit proposals from school districts to receive a grant; and
(b) award grants to school districts.

(3) To receive a grant under this section, a school district shall submit a proposal to the board that:
(a) describes an unsafe route for which the school district intends to receive a grant;
(b) includes a written statement from the following describing why the route is unsafe:

(i) the school district;
(ii) local law enforcement; and
(iii) the municipality or county in which the described route is located; and

(c) includes other information as required by the board.
(4)

(a) The Transportation Advisory Committee shall:
(i) evaluate a proposal submitted to the board under Subsection (3); and
(ii) make recommendations to the board regarding whether to fund the proposal.



Utah Code

Page 437

(b) The board shall consider the recommendations of the Transportation Advisory Committee
before awarding a grant described in Subsection (2)(b).

(5) In awarding a grant under this section, the board may not:
(a) contribute an amount exceeding 85% of the cost of an unsafe route funded by the grant; or
(b) award more than 15% of the appropriation under this section to a particular school district.

(6) The Transportation Advisory Committee shall:
(a) review each year an unsafe route funded by a grant; and
(b) make a recommendation to the board regarding whether the board, subject to legislative

appropriations, should renew the grant.
(7) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board shall

make rules to implement the grant program described in this section.

Enacted by Chapter 214, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-127 Eligibility for state-supported transportation -- Approved bus routes --
Additional local tax.
(1) A student eligible for state-supported transportation means:

(a) a student enrolled in kindergarten through grade six who lives at least 1-1/2 miles from
school;

(b) a student enrolled in grades seven through 12 who lives at least two miles from school; and
(c) a student enrolled in a special program offered by a school district and approved by the State

Board of Education for trainable, motor, multiple-disability, or other students with severe
disabilities who are incapable of walking to school or where it is unsafe for students to walk
because of their disabling condition, without reference to distance from school.

(2) If a school district implements double sessions as an alternative to new building construction,
with the approval of the State Board of Education, those affected elementary school students
residing less than 1-1/2 miles from school may be transported one way to or from school
because of safety factors relating to darkness or other hazardous conditions as determined by
the local school board.

(3)
(a) The State Board of Education shall distribute transportation money to school districts based

on:
(i) an allowance per mile for approved bus routes;
(ii) an allowance per hour for approved bus routes; and
(iii) a minimum allocation for each school district eligible for transportation funding.

(b) The State Board of Education shall distribute appropriated transportation funds based on the
prior year's eligible transportation costs as legally reported under Subsection 53A-17a-126(3).

(c) The State Board of Education shall annually review the allowance per mile and the allowance
per hour and adjust the allowances to reflect current economic conditions.

(4)
(a) Approved bus routes for funding purposes shall be determined on fall data collected by

October 1.
(b) Approved route funding shall be determined on the basis of the most efficient and economic

routes.
(5) A Transportation Advisory Committee with representation from local school superintendents,

business officials, school district transportation supervisors, and the state superintendent's
staff shall serve as a review committee for addressing school transportation needs, including
recommended approved bus routes.
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(6)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (6)(e), a local school board may provide for the

transportation of students regardless of the distance from school, from:
(i) general funds of the district; and
(ii) a tax rate not to exceed .0003 per dollar of taxable value imposed on the district.

(b) A local school board may use revenue from the tax described in Subsection (6)(a)(ii) to pay
for transporting students and for the replacement of school buses.

(c)
(i) If a local school board levies a tax under Subsection (6)(a)(ii) of at least .0002, the state may

contribute an amount not to exceed 85% of the state average cost per mile, contingent upon
the Legislature appropriating funds for a state contribution.

(ii) The state superintendent's staff shall distribute the state contribution according to rules
enacted by the State Board of Education.

(d)
(i) The amount of state guarantee money which a school district would otherwise be entitled to

receive under Subsection (6)(c) may not be reduced for the sole reason that the district's
levy is reduced as a consequence of changes in the certified tax rate under Section
59-2-924 due to changes in property valuation.

(ii) Subsection (6)(d)(i) applies for a period of two years following the change in the certified tax
rate.

(e) Beginning January 1, 2012, a local school board may not impose a tax in accordance with this
Subsection (6).

(7)
(a)

(i) If a local school board expends an amount of revenue equal to at least .0002 per dollar of
taxable value of the school district's board local levy imposed under Section 53A-17a-164
for the uses described in Subsection (6)(b), the state may contribute an amount not
to exceed 85% of the state average cost per mile, contingent upon the Legislature
appropriating funds for a state contribution.

(ii) The state superintendent's staff shall distribute the state contribution according to rules
enacted by the State Board of Education.

(b)
(i) The amount of state guarantee money that a school district would otherwise be entitled to

receive under Subsection (7)(a) may not be reduced for the sole reason that the district's
levy is reduced as a consequence of changes in the certified tax rate under Section
59-2-924 due to changes in property valuation.

(ii) Subsection (7)(b)(i) applies for a period of two years following the change in the certified tax
rate.

Amended by Chapter 366, 2011 General Session
Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session

53A-17a-131.15 State contribution for the Electronic High School.
          Money appropriated to the State Board of Education for the Electronic High School shall be

distributed to the school according to rules established by the board in accordance with Title 63G,
Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2010 General Session
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53A-17a-131.17 State contribution for School LAND Trust Program.
(1) If the amount of money prescribed for funding the School LAND Trust Program in Section

53A-16-101.5 is less than or greater than the money appropriated for the School LAND Trust
Program, the appropriation shall be equal to the amount of money prescribed for funding the
School LAND Trust Program in Section 53A-16-101.5, up to a maximum of an amount equal to
3% of the funds provided for the Minimum School Program.

(2) The State Board of Education shall distribute the money appropriated in Subsection (1) in
accordance with Section 53A-16-101.5 and rules established by the board in accordance with
Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.

Amended by Chapter 276, 2015 General Session

53A-17a-133 State-supported voted local levy authorized -- Election requirements -- State
guarantee -- Reconsideration of the program.
(1) As used in this section, "voted and board local levy funding balance" means the difference

between:
(a) the amount appropriated for the voted and board local levy program in a fiscal year; and
(b) the amount necessary to provide the state guarantee per weighted pupil unit as determined

under this section and Section 53A-17a-164 in the same fiscal year.
(2) An election to consider adoption or modification of a voted local levy is required if initiative

petitions signed by 10% of the number of electors who voted at the last preceding general
election are presented to the local school board or by action of the board.

(3)
(a)

(i) To impose a voted local levy, a majority of the electors of a district voting at an election in the
manner set forth in Subsections (9) and (10) must vote in favor of a special tax.

(ii) The tax rate may not exceed .002 per dollar of taxable value.
(b) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(c), in order to receive state support the first year,

a district must receive voter approval no later than December 1 of the year prior to
implementation.

(c) Beginning on or after January 1, 2012, a school district may receive state support in
accordance with Subsection (4) without complying with the requirements of Subsection (3)(b)
if the local school board imposed a tax in accordance with this section during the taxable year
beginning on January 1, 2011 and ending on December 31, 2011.

(4)
(a) In addition to the revenue a school district collects from the imposition of a levy pursuant to

this section, the state shall contribute an amount sufficient to guarantee $35.55 per weighted
pupil unit for each .0001 of the first .0016 per dollar of taxable value.

(b) The same dollar amount guarantee per weighted pupil unit for the .0016 per dollar of taxable
value under Subsection (4)(a) shall apply to the portion of the board local levy authorized
in Section 53A-17a-164, so that the guarantee shall apply up to a total of .002 per dollar of
taxable value if a school district levies a tax rate under both programs.

(c)
(i) Beginning July 1, 2015, the $35.55 guarantee under Subsections (4)(a) and (b) shall be

indexed each year to the value of the weighted pupil unit for the grades 1 through 12
program by making the value of the guarantee equal to .011962 times the value of the prior
year's weighted pupil unit for the grades 1 through 12 program.



Utah Code

Page 440

(ii) The guarantee shall increase by .0005 times the value of the prior year's weighted pupil unit
for the grades 1 through 12 program for each succeeding year subject to the Legislature
appropriating funds for an increase in the guarantee.

(d)
(i) The amount of state guarantee money to which a school district would otherwise be entitled

to receive under this Subsection (4) may not be reduced for the sole reason that the
district's levy is reduced as a consequence of changes in the certified tax rate under Section
59-2-924 pursuant to changes in property valuation.

(ii) Subsection (4)(d)(i) applies for a period of five years following any such change in the
certified tax rate.

(e) The guarantee provided under this section does not apply to the portion of a voted local
levy rate that exceeds the voted local levy rate that was in effect for the previous fiscal year,
unless an increase in the voted local levy rate was authorized in an election conducted on or
after July 1 of the previous fiscal year and before December 2 of the previous fiscal year.

(f)
(i) If a voted and board local levy funding balance exists for the prior fiscal year, the State Board

of Education shall:
(A) use the voted and board local levy funding balance to increase the value of the state

guarantee per weighted pupil unit described in Subsection (4)(c) in the current fiscal year;
and

(B) distribute the state contribution to the voted and board local levy programs to school
districts based on the increased value of the state guarantee per weighted pupil unit
described in Subsection (4)(f)(i)(A).

(ii) The State Board of Education shall report action taken under this Subsection (4)(f) to the
Office of the Legislative Fiscal Analyst and the Governor's Office of Management and
Budget.

(5)
(a) An election to modify an existing voted local levy is not a reconsideration of the existing

authority unless the proposition submitted to the electors expressly so states.
(b) A majority vote opposing a modification does not deprive the district of authority to continue

the levy.
(c) If adoption of a voted local levy is contingent upon an offset reducing other local school board

levies, the board must allow the electors, in an election, to consider modifying or discontinuing
the imposition of the levy prior to a subsequent increase in other levies that would increase
the total local school board levy.

(d) Nothing contained in this section terminates, without an election, the authority of a school
district to continue imposing an existing voted local levy previously authorized by the voters
as a voted leeway program.

(6) Notwithstanding Section 59-2-919, a school district may budget an increased amount of ad
valorem property tax revenue derived from a voted local levy imposed under this section in
addition to revenue from eligible new growth as defined in Section 59-2-924, without having to
comply with the notice requirements of Section 59-2-919, if:

(a) the voted local levy is approved:
(i) in accordance with Subsections (9) and (10) on or after January 1, 2003; and
(ii) within the four-year period immediately preceding the year in which the school district seeks

to budget an increased amount of ad valorem property tax revenue derived from the voted
local levy; and
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(b) for a voted local levy approved or modified in accordance with this section on or after January
1, 2009, the school district complies with the requirements of Subsection (8).

(7) Notwithstanding Section 59-2-919, a school district may levy a tax rate under this section that
exceeds the certified tax rate without having to comply with the notice requirements of Section
59-2-919 if:

(a) the levy exceeds the certified tax rate as the result of a school district budgeting an increased
amount of ad valorem property tax revenue derived from a voted local levy imposed under
this section;

(b) the voted local levy was approved:
(i) in accordance with Subsections (9) and (10) on or after January 1, 2003; and
(ii) within the four-year period immediately preceding the year in which the school district seeks

to budget an increased amount of ad valorem property tax revenue derived from the voted
local levy; and

(c) for a voted local levy approved or modified in accordance with this section on or after January
1, 2009, the school district complies with requirements of Subsection (8).

(8) For purposes of Subsection (6)(b) or (7)(c), the proposition submitted to the electors regarding
the adoption or modification of a voted local levy shall contain the following statement:          "A
vote in favor of this tax means that (name of the school district) may increase revenue from this
property tax without advertising the increase for the next five years."

(9)
(a) Before imposing a property tax levy pursuant to this section, a school district shall submit an

opinion question to the school district's registered voters voting on the imposition of the tax
rate so that each registered voter has the opportunity to express the registered voter's opinion
on whether the tax rate should be imposed.

(b) The election required by this Subsection (9) shall be held:
(i) at a regular general election conducted in accordance with the procedures and requirements

of Title 20A, Election Code, governing regular elections;
(ii) at a municipal general election conducted in accordance with the procedures and

requirements of Section 20A-1-202; or
(iii) at a local special election conducted in accordance with the procedures and requirements of

Section 20A-1-203.
(c) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsections (9)(a) and (b), beginning on or after January

1, 2012, a school district may levy a tax rate in accordance with this section without complying
with the requirements of Subsections (9)(a) and (b) if the school district imposed a tax in
accordance with this section at any time during the taxable year beginning on January 1,
2011, and ending on December 31, 2011.

(10) If a school district determines that a majority of the school district's registered voters voting on
the imposition of the tax rate have voted in favor of the imposition of the tax rate in accordance
with Subsection (9), the school district may impose the tax rate.

Amended by Chapter 2, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 350, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 367, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-134 Board-approved leeway -- Purpose -- State support -- Disapproval.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (9), a local school board may levy a tax rate of up to .0004

per dollar of taxable value to maintain a school program above the cost of the basic school
program as follows:
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(a) a local school board shall use the money generated by the tax for class size reduction within
the school district;

(b) if a local school board determines that the average class size in the school district is not
excessive, it may use the money for other school purposes but only if the board has declared
the use for other school purposes in a public meeting prior to levying the tax rate; and

(c) a district may not use the money for other school purposes under Subsection (1)(b) until it has
certified in writing that its class size needs are already being met and has identified the other
school purposes for which the money will be used to the State Board of Education and the
state board has approved their use for other school purposes.

(2)
(a) The state shall contribute an amount sufficient to guarantee $27.36 per weighted pupil unit for

each .0001 per dollar of taxable value.
(b) The guarantee shall increase in the same manner as provided for the voted local levy

guarantee in Subsection 53A-17a-133(4)(c).
(c)

(i) The amount of state guarantee money to which a school district would otherwise be entitled
to under this Subsection (2) may not be reduced for the sole reason that the district's levy
is reduced as a consequence of changes in the certified tax rate under Section 59-2-924
pursuant to changes in property valuation.

(ii) Subsection (2)(c)(i) applies for a period of five years following any such change in the
certified tax rate.

(d) The guarantee provided under this section does not apply to:
(i) a board-authorized leeway in the first fiscal year the leeway is in effect, unless the leeway

was approved by voters pursuant to Subsections (4) through (6); or
(ii) the portion of a board-authorized leeway rate that is in excess of the board-authorized

leeway rate that was in effect for the previous fiscal year.
(3) The levy authorized under this section is not in addition to the maximum rate of .002 authorized

in Section 53A-17a-133, but is a board-authorized component of the total tax rate under that
section.

(4) As an exception to Section 53A-17a-133, the board-authorized levy does not require voter
approval, but the board may require voter approval if requested by a majority of the board.

(5) An election to consider disapproval of the board-authorized levy is required, if within 60 days
after the levy is established by the board, referendum petitions signed by the number of legal
voters required in Section 20A-7-301, who reside within the school district, are filed with the
school district.

(6)
(a) A local school board shall establish its board-approved levy by April 1 to have the levy apply

to the fiscal year beginning July 1 in that same calendar year except that if an election is
required under this section, the levy applies to the fiscal year beginning July 1 of the next
calendar year.

(b) The approval and disapproval votes authorized in Subsections (4) and (5) shall occur at a
general election in even-numbered years, except that a vote required under this section in
odd-numbered years shall occur at a special election held on a day in odd-numbered years
that corresponds to the general election date.  The school district shall pay for the cost of a
special election.

(7)
(a) Modification or termination of a voter-approved leeway rate authorized under this section is

governed by Section 53A-17a-133.
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(b) A board-authorized leeway rate may be modified or terminated by a majority vote of the board
subject to disapproval procedures specified in this section.

(8) A board levy election does not require publication of a voter information pamphlet.
(9) Beginning January 1, 2012, a local school board may not levy a tax in accordance with this

section.

Amended by Chapter 178, 2013 General Session

53A-17a-135 Minimum basic tax rate -- Certified revenue levy.
(1) As used in this section, "basic levy increment rate" means a tax rate that will generate an

amount of revenue equal to $75,000,000.
(2)

(a) In order to qualify for receipt of the state contribution toward the basic program and as
its contribution toward its costs of the basic program, each school district shall impose a
minimum basic tax rate per dollar of taxable value that generates $392,266,800 in revenues
statewide.

(b) The preliminary estimate for the 2016-17 minimum basic tax rate is .001695.
(c) The State Tax Commission shall certify on or before June 22 the rate that generates

$392,266,800 in revenues statewide.
(d) If the minimum basic tax rate exceeds the certified revenue levy as defined in Section

53A-17a-103, the state is subject to the notice requirements of Section 59-2-926.
(3)

(a) The state shall contribute to each district toward the cost of the basic program in the district
that portion which exceeds the proceeds of the difference between:

(i) the minimum basic tax rate to be imposed under Subsection (2); and
(ii) the basic levy increment rate.

(b) In accordance with the state strategic plan for public education and to fulfill its responsibility
for the development and implementation of that plan, the Legislature instructs the State Board
of Education, the governor, and the Office of Legislative Fiscal Analyst in each of the coming
five years to develop budgets that will fully fund student enrollment growth.

(4)
(a) If the difference described in Subsection (3)(a) equals or exceeds the cost of the basic

program in a school district, no state contribution shall be made to the basic program.
(b) The proceeds of the difference described in Subsection (3)(a) that exceed the cost of the

basic program shall be paid into the Uniform School Fund as provided by law.
(5) The State Board of Education shall:

(a) deduct from state funds that a school district is authorized to receive under this chapter an
amount equal to the proceeds generated within the school district by the basic levy increment
rate; and

(b) deposit the money described in Subsection (5)(a) into the Minimum Basic Growth Account
created in Section 53A-17a-135.1.

Amended by Chapter 2, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-135.1 Minimum Basic Growth Account.
(1) As used in this section, "account" means the Minimum Basic Growth Account created in this

section.
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(2) There is created within the Education Fund a restricted account known as the "Minimum Basic
Growth Account."

(3) The account shall be funded by amounts deposited into the account in accordance with Section
53A-17a-135.

(4) The account shall earn interest.
(5) Interest earned on the account shall be deposited into the account.
(6) Upon appropriation by the Legislature:

(a) 75% of the money from the account shall be used to fund the state's contribution to the voted
levy guarantee described in Subsection 53A-17a-133(4);

(b) 20% of the money from the account shall be used to fund the Capital Outlay Foundation
Program as provided in Title 53A, Chapter 21, Part 2, Capital Outlay Foundation Program;
and

(c) 5% of the money from the account shall be used to fund the Capital Outlay Enrollment Growth
Program as provided in Title 53A, Chapter 21, Part 3, Capital Outlay Enrollment Growth
Program.

Enacted by Chapter 287, 2015 General Session

53A-17a-136 Cost of operation and maintenance of minimum school program -- Division
between state and school districts.
(1) The total cost of operation and maintenance of the minimum school program in the state is

divided between the state and  school districts as follows:
(a) Each school district shall impose a minimum basic tax rate on all taxable, tangible property in

the school district and shall contribute the tax proceeds toward the cost of the basic  program
as provided in this chapter.

(b) Each school district may also impose a levy for the purpose of participating in the levy
programs provided in Section 53A-17a-133 or 53A-17a-164.

(c) The state shall contribute the balance of the total costs.
(2) The contributions by the school districts and by the state are computed separately for the

purpose of determining their respective contributions to the basic program and to the  levy
programs provided in Section 53A-17a-133 or 53A-17a-164.

Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session

53A-17a-139 Loss in student enrollment -- Board action.
          To avoid penalizing a school district financially for an excessive loss in student enrollment due

to factors beyond its control, the State Board of Education may allow a percentage increase in
units otherwise allowable during any year when a district's average daily membership drops more
than 4% below the average for the highest two of the preceding three years in the district.

Enacted by Chapter 72, 1991 General Session

53A-17a-140 Contracts with teachers.
          A school district may not enter into contracts with teachers that would prevent the district

from paying differential salaries or putting limitations on an individual salary paid in order to fill a
shortage in specific teaching areas.

Enacted by Chapter 72, 1991 General Session
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53A-17a-141 Alternative programs.
(1) Since the State Board of Education has adopted a policy that requires districts to grant credit

for proficiency through alternative programs, school districts are encouraged to continue
and expand their cooperation with accredited institutions through performance contracts for
educational services, particularly where it is beneficial to students whose progress could be
better served through alternative programs.

(2) School districts are encouraged to participate in programs that focus on increasing the number
of ethnic minority and female students in the secondary schools who will go on to study
mathematics, engineering, or related sciences at an institution of higher education.

Enacted by Chapter 72, 1991 General Session

53A-17a-143 Federal Impact Aid Program -- Offset for underestimated allocations from the
Federal Impact Aid Program.
(1) In addition to the revenues received from the levy imposed by each school district and

authorized by the Legislature under Section 53A-17a-135, the Legislature shall provide an
amount equal to the difference between the district's anticipated receipts under the entitlement
for the fiscal year from the Federal Impact Aid Program and the amount the district actually
received from this source for the next preceding fiscal year.

(2) If at the end of a fiscal year the sum of the receipts of a school district from a distribution from
the Legislature pursuant to Subsection (1) plus the school district's allocations from the Federal
Impact Aid Program for that fiscal year exceeds the amount allocated to the district from the
Federal Impact Aid Program for the next preceding fiscal year, the excess funds are carried into
the next succeeding fiscal year and become in that year a part of the district's contribution to its
basic program for operation and maintenance under the state minimum school finance law.

(3) During that year the district's required tax rate for the basic program shall be reduced so
that the yield from the reduced tax rate plus the carryover funds equal the district's required
contribution to its basic program.

(4) A district that reduces its basic tax rate under this section shall receive state minimum school
program funds as though the reduction in the tax rate had not been made.

Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session

53A-17a-144 Contribution of state to cost of minimum school program -- Determination of
amounts -- Levy on taxable property -- Disbursal -- Deficiency.

          The state's contribution to the total cost of the minimum school program is determined and
distributed as follows:
(1) The State Tax Commission shall levy an amount determined by the Legislature on all taxable

property of the state.
(a) This amount, together with other funds provided by law, is the state's contribution to the

minimum school program.
(b) The statewide levy is set at zero until changed by the Legislature.

(2) During the first week in November, the State Tax Commission shall certify to the State Board of
Education the amounts designated as state aid for each district under Section 59-2-902.

(3)
(a) The actual amounts computed under Section 59-2-902 are the state's contribution to the

minimum school program of each district.
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(b) The state board shall provide each district with a statement of the amount of state aid.
(4) Prior to the first day of each month, the state treasurer and the Division of Finance, with the

approval of the State Board of Education, shall disburse 1/12 of the state's contribution to the
cost of the minimum school program to each school district.

(a) A disbursement may not be made to a district whose payments have been interrupted under
Subsection (4)(d).

(b) Discrepancies between the monthly disbursements and the actual cost of the program shall
be adjusted in the final settlement under Subsection (5).

(c) If the monthly distributions overdraw the money in the Uniform School Fund, the Division of
Finance is authorized to run this fund in a deficit position.

(d) The state board may interrupt disbursements to a district if, in the judgment of the board, the
district is failing to comply with the minimum school program, is operating programs that are
not approved by the state board, or has not submitted reports required by law or the state
board.

(i) Disbursements shall be resumed upon request of the state board.
(ii) Back disbursements shall be included in the next regular disbursement, and the amount

disbursed certified to the State Division of Finance and state treasurer by the state board.
(e) The State Board of Education may authorize exceptions to the 1/12 per month disbursement

formula for grant funds if the board determines that a different disbursement formula would
better serve the purposes of the grant.

(5)
(a) If money in the Uniform School Fund is insufficient to meet the state's contribution to the

minimum school program as appropriated, the amount of the deficiency thus created shall be
carried as a deficiency in the Uniform School Fund until the next session of the Legislature, at
which time the Legislature shall appropriate funds to cover the deficiency.

(b) If there is an operating deficit in public education Uniform School Fund appropriations, the
Legislature shall eliminate the deficit by:

(i) budget transfers or other legal means;
(ii) appropriating money from the Education Budget Reserve Account;
(iii) appropriating up to 25% of the balance in the General Fund Budget Reserve Account; or
(iv) some combination of Subsections (5)(b)(i), (ii), and (iii).

(c) Nothing in Subsection (5)(b) precludes the Legislature from appropriating more than 25% of
the balance in the General Fund Budget Reserve Account to fund operating deficits in public
education appropriations.

Amended by Chapter 342, 2011 General Session

53A-17a-145 Additional levy by district for debt service, school sites, buildings, buses,
textbooks, and supplies.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (5), a school district may elect to increase its tax rate by up to

10% of the cost of the basic program.
(2) The proceeds from the increase may only be used for debt service, the construction or

remodeling of school buildings, or the purchase of school sites, buses, equipment, textbooks,
and supplies.

(3) This section does not prohibit a district from exercising the authority granted by other laws
relating to tax rates.

(4) This increase in the tax rate is not included in determining the apportionment of the State
School Fund, and is in addition to other tax rates authorized by law.
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(5) Beginning January 1, 2012, a school district may not:
(a) levy a tax rate in accordance with this section; or
(b) increase its tax rate as described in Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session

53A-17a-146 Reduction of district allocation based on insufficient revenues.
(1) As used in this section, "Minimum School Program funds" means the total of state and local

funds appropriated for the Minimum School Program, excluding:
(a) the state-supported voted local levy program pursuant to Section 53A-17a-133;
(b) the state-supported board local levy program pursuant to Section 53A-17a-164; and
(c) the appropriation to charter schools to replace local property tax revenues pursuant to Section

53A-1a-513.
(2) If the Legislature reduces appropriations made to support public schools under this chapter

because an Education Fund budget deficit, as defined in Section 63J-1-312, exists, the State
Board of Education, after consultation with each school district and charter school, shall
allocate the reduction among school districts and charter schools in proportion to each school
district's or charter school's percentage share of Minimum School Program funds.

(3) Except as provided in Subsection (5) and subject to the requirements of Subsection (7), a
school district or charter school shall determine which programs are affected by a reduction
pursuant to Subsection (2) and the amount each program is reduced.

(4) Except as provided in Subsections (5) and (6), the requirement to spend a specified amount in
any particular program is waived if reductions are made pursuant to Subsection (2).

(5) A school district or charter school may not reduce or reallocate spending of funds distributed to
the school district or charter school for the following programs:

(a) educator salary adjustments provided in Section 53A-17a-153;
(b) the Teacher Salary Supplement Program provided in Section 53A-17a-156;
(c) the extended year for special educators provided in Section 53A-17a-158;
(d) USTAR centers provided in Section 53A-17a-159;
(e) the School LAND Trust Program created in Section 53A-16-101.5; or
(f) a special education program within the Basic School Program.

(6) A school district or charter school may not reallocate spending of funds distributed to the school
district or charter school to a reserve account.

(7) A school district or charter school that reduces or reallocates funds in accordance with this
section shall report all transfers into, or out of, Minimum School Program programs to the
State Board of Education as part of the school district or charter school's Annual Financial and
Program report.

Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session
Amended by Chapter 381, 2011 General Session

53A-17a-147 Use of funds for approved programs -- Assessment of funded programs.
(1) Funds appropriated under this chapter shall only be used for programs approved by the State

Board of Education.
(2) The State Board of Education shall assess the progress and degree of effectiveness of all

programs funded under this chapter.

Amended by Chapter 221, 2003 General Session



Utah Code

Page 448

53A-17a-150 K-3 Reading Improvement Program.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Five domains of reading" include phonological awareness, phonics, fluency, comprehension,

and vocabulary.
(c) "Program" means the K-3 Reading Improvement Program.
(d) "Program money" means:

(i) school district revenue allocated to the program from other money available to the school
district, except money provided by the state, for the purpose of receiving state funds under
this section; and

(ii) money appropriated by the Legislature to the program.
(2) The K-3 Reading Improvement Program consists of program money and is created to

supplement other school resources to achieve the state's goal of having third graders reading
at or above grade level.

(3) Subject to future budget constraints, the Legislature may annually appropriate money to the K-3
Reading Improvement Program.

(4)
(a) To receive program money, a school district or charter school must submit a plan to the board

for reading proficiency improvement that incorporates the following components:
(i) assessment;
(ii) intervention strategies;
(iii) professional development for classroom teachers in kindergarten through grade three;
(iv) reading performance standards; and
(v) specific measurable goals that include the following:

(A) a growth goal for each school within a school district and each charter school based upon
student learning gains as measured by benchmark assessments administered pursuant to
Section 53A-1-606.6; and

(B) a growth goal for each school district and charter school to increase the percentage of
third grade students who read on grade level from year to year as measured by the third
grade reading test administered pursuant to Section 53A-1-603.

(b) The board shall provide model plans which a school district or charter school may use, or the
school district or charter school may develop its own plan.

(c) Plans developed by a school district or charter school shall be approved by the board.
(d) The board shall develop uniform standards for acceptable growth goals that a school district

or charter school adopts as described in this Subsection (4).
(5)

(a) There is created within the K-3 Reading Achievement Program three funding programs:
(i) the Base Level Program;
(ii) the Guarantee Program; and
(iii) the Low Income Students Program.

(b) The board may use no more than $7,500,000 from an appropriation described in Subsection
(3) for computer-assisted instructional learning and assessment programs.

(6) Money appropriated to the board for the K-3 Reading Improvement Program and not used
by the board for computer-assisted instructional learning and assessments as described in
Subsection (5)(b), shall be allocated to the three funding programs as follows:

(a) 8% to the Base Level Program;
(b) 46% to the Guarantee Program; and
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(c) 46% to the Low Income Students Program.
(7)

(a) To participate in the Base Level Program, a school district or charter school shall submit a
reading proficiency improvement plan to the board as provided in Subsection (4) and must
receive approval of the plan from the board.

(b)
(i) Each school district qualifying for Base Level Program funds and the qualifying elementary

charter schools combined shall receive a base amount.
(ii) The base amount for the qualifying elementary charter schools combined shall be allocated

among each school in an amount proportionate to:
(A) each existing charter school's prior year fall enrollment in grades kindergarten through

grade three; and
(B) each new charter school's estimated fall enrollment in grades kindergarten through grade

three.
(8)

(a) A school district that applies for program money in excess of the Base Level Program funds
shall choose to first participate in either the Guarantee Program or the Low Income Students
Program.

(b) A school district must fully participate in either the Guarantee Program or the Low Income
Students Program before it may elect to either fully or partially participate in the other
program.

(c) To fully participate in the Guarantee Program, a school district shall allocate to the program
money available to the school district, except money provided by the state, equal to the
amount of revenue that would be generated by a tax rate of .000056.

(d) To fully participate in the Low Income Students Program, a school district shall allocate to the
program money available to the school district, except money provided by the state, equal to
the amount of revenue that would be generated by a tax rate of .000065.

(e)
(i) The board shall verify that a school district allocates the money required in accordance with

Subsections (8)(c) and (d) before it distributes funds in accordance with this section.
(ii) The State Tax Commission shall provide the board the information the board needs in order

to comply with Subsection (8)(e)(i).
(9)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (9)(c), a school district that fully participates in the
Guarantee Program shall receive state funds in an amount that is:

(i) equal to the difference between $21 times the district's total WPUs and the revenue the
school district is required to allocate under Subsection (8)(c) to fully participate in the
Guarantee Program; and

(ii) not less than $0.
(b) Except as provided in Subsection (9)(c), an elementary charter school shall receive under the

Guarantee Program an amount equal to $21 times the school's total WPUs.
(c) The board may adjust the $21 guarantee amount described in Subsections (9)(a) and (b)

to account for actual appropriations and money used by the board for computer-assisted
instructional learning and assessments.

(10) The board shall distribute Low Income Students Program funds in an amount proportionate to
the number of students in each school district or charter school who qualify for free or reduced
price school lunch multiplied by two.
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(11) A school district that partially participates in the Guarantee Program or Low Income Students
Program shall receive program funds based on the amount of school district revenue allocated
to the program as a percentage of the amount of revenue that could have been allocated if the
school district had fully participated in the program.

(12)
(a) A school district or charter school shall use program money for reading proficiency

improvement interventions in grades kindergarten through grade 3 that have proven to
significantly increase the percentage of students reading at grade level, including:

(i) reading assessments; and
(ii) focused reading remediations that may include:

(A) the use of reading specialists;
(B) tutoring;
(C) before or after school programs;
(D) summer school programs; or
(E) the use of reading software; or
(F) the use of interactive computer software programs for literacy instruction and

assessments for students.
(b) A school district or charter school may use program money for portable technology devices

used to administer reading assessments.
(c) Program money may not be used to supplant funds for existing programs, but may be used to

augment existing programs.
(13)

(a) Each school district and charter school shall annually submit a report to the board accounting
for the expenditure of program money in accordance with its plan for reading proficiency
improvement.

(b) If a school district or charter school uses program money in a manner that is inconsistent with
Subsection (12), the school district or charter school is liable for reimbursing the board for the
amount of program money improperly used, up to the amount of program money received
from the board.

(14)
(a) The board shall make rules to implement the program.
(b)

(i) The rules under Subsection (14)(a) shall require each school district or charter school to
annually report progress in meeting school and school district goals stated in the school
district's or charter school's plan for student reading proficiency.

(ii) If a school does not meet or exceed the school's goals, the school district or charter school
shall prepare a new plan which corrects deficiencies.  The new plan must be approved by
the board before the school district or charter school receives an allocation for the next year.

(15)
(a) If for two consecutive school years, a school district fails to meet its goal to increase the

percentage of third grade students who read on grade level as measured by the third grade
reading test administered pursuant to Section 53A-1-603, the school district shall terminate
any levy imposed under Section 53A-17a-151 and may not receive money appropriated by
the Legislature for the K-3 Reading Improvement Program.

(b) If for two consecutive school years, a charter school fails to meet its goal to increase the
percentage of third grade students who read on grade level as measured by the third grade
reading test administered pursuant to Section 53A-1-603, the charter school may not receive
money appropriated by the Legislature for the K-3 Reading Improvement Program.
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(16) The board shall make an annual report to the Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee
that:

(a) includes information on:
(i) student learning gains in reading for the past school year and the five-year trend;
(ii) the percentage of third grade students reading on grade level in the past school year and

the five-year trend;
(iii) the progress of schools and school districts in meeting goals stated in a school district's or

charter school's plan for student reading proficiency; and
(iv) the correlation between third grade students reading on grade level and results of third

grade language arts scores on a criterion-referenced test or computer adaptive test; and
(b) may include recommendations on how to increase the percentage of third grade students who

read on grade level.

Amended by Chapter 188, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-151 Board leeway for reading improvement.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (4), a local school board may levy a tax rate of up to .000121

per dollar of taxable value for funding the school district's K-3 Reading Improvement Program
created under Section 53A-17a-150.

(2) The levy authorized under this section:
(a) is in addition to any other levy or maximum rate;
(b) does not require voter approval; and
(c) may be modified or terminated by a majority vote of the board.

(3) A local school board shall establish its board-approved levy under this section by June 1 to
have the levy apply to the fiscal year beginning July 1 in that same calendar year.

(4) Beginning January 1, 2012, a local school board may not levy a tax in accordance with this
section.

Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session

53A-17a-153 Educator salary adjustments.
(1) As used in this section, "educator" means a person employed by a school district, charter

school, or the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind who holds:
(a) a license issued under Title 53A, Chapter 6, Educator Licensing and Professional Practices

Act; and
(b) a position as a:

(i) classroom teacher;
(ii) speech pathologist;
(iii) librarian or media specialist;
(iv) preschool teacher;
(v) mentor teacher;
(vi) teacher specialist or teacher leader;
(vii) guidance counselor;
(viii) audiologist;
(ix) psychologist; or
(x) social worker.
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(2) In recognition of the need to attract and retain highly skilled and dedicated educators, the
Legislature shall annually appropriate money for educator salary adjustments, subject to future
budget constraints.

(3) Money appropriated to the State Board of Education for educator salary adjustments shall
be distributed to school districts, charter schools, and the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the
Blind in proportion to the number of full-time-equivalent educator positions in a school district, a
charter school, or the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind as compared to the total number
of full-time-equivalent educator positions in school districts, charter schools, and the Utah
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(4) School districts, charter schools, and the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall award
bonuses to educators as follows:

(a) the amount of the salary adjustment shall be the same for each full-time-equivalent educator
position in the school district, charter school, or the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind;

(b) a person who is not a full-time educator shall receive a partial salary adjustment based on the
number of hours the person works as an educator; and

(c) salary adjustments may be awarded only to educators who have received a satisfactory rating
or above on their most recent evaluation.

(5)
(a) Each school district and charter school and the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall

submit a report to the State Board of Education on how the money for salary adjustments was
spent, including the amount of the salary adjustment and the number of full and partial salary
adjustments awarded.

(b) The State Board of Education shall compile the information reported under Subsection (5)
and submit it to the Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee by November 30 each
year.

(6) The State Board of Education may make rules as necessary to administer this section, in
accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.

(7)
(a) Subject to future budget constraints, the Legislature shall appropriate sufficient money each

year to:
(i) maintain educator salary adjustments provided in prior years; and
(ii) provide educator salary adjustments to new employees.

(b) Money appropriated for educator salary adjustments shall include money for the following
employer-paid benefits:

(i) retirement;
(ii) worker's compensation;
(iii) Social Security; and
(iv) Medicare.

(8)
(a) Subject to future budget constraints, the Legislature shall:

(i) maintain the salary adjustments provided to school administrators in the 2007-08 school
year; and

(ii) provide salary adjustments for new school administrators in the same amount as provided
for existing school administrators.

(b) The appropriation provided for educator salary adjustments shall include salary adjustments
for school administrators as specified in Subsection (8)(a).

(c) In distributing and awarding salary adjustments for school administrators, the State Board
of Education, school districts, charter schools, and the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the
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Blind shall comply with the requirements for the distribution and award of educator salary
adjustments as provided in Subsections (3) and (4).

Amended by Chapter 3, 2010 General Session

53A-17a-154 Appropriation for school nurses.
          The State Board of Education shall distribute money appropriated for school nurses to award

grants to school districts and charter schools that:
(1) provide an equal amount of matching funds; and
(2) do not supplant other money used for school nurses.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2010 General Session

53A-17a-155 Appropriation for library books and electronic resources.
(1) The State Board of Education shall distribute money appropriated for library books and

electronic resources as follows:
(a) 25% shall be divided equally among all public schools; and
(b) 75% shall be divided among public schools based on each school's average daily

membership as compared to the total average daily membership.
(2) A school district or charter school may not use money distributed under Subsection (1) to

supplant other money used to purchase library books or electronic resources.

Amended by Chapter 3, 2010 General Session

53A-17a-156 Teacher Salary Supplement Program -- Appeal process.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Certificate teacher" means a teacher who holds a National Board certification.
(c) "Eligible teacher" means a teacher who:

(i) has an assignment to teach:
(A) a secondary school level mathematics course;
(B) integrated science in grade seven or eight;
(C) chemistry;
(D) physics; or
(E) computer science;

(ii) holds the appropriate endorsement for the assigned course;
(iii) has qualifying educational background; and
(iv)

(A) is a new employee; or
(B) received a satisfactory rating or above on the teacher's most recent evaluation.

(d) "National Board certification" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53A-6-103.
(e) "Qualifying educational background" means:

(i) for a teacher who is assigned a secondary school level mathematics course:
(A) a bachelor's degree major, master's degree, or doctoral degree in mathematics; or
(B) a bachelor's degree major, master's degree, or doctoral degree that has course

requirements that are substantially equivalent to the course requirements for a bachelor's
degree major, master's degree, or doctoral degree in mathematics;
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(ii) for a teacher who is assigned a grade seven or eight integrated science course, chemistry
course, or physics course, a bachelor's degree major, master's degree, or doctoral degree
in:

(A) integrated science;
(B) chemistry;
(C) physics;
(D) physical science;
(E) general science; or
(F) a bachelor's degree major, master's degree, or doctoral degree that has course

requirements that are substantially equivalent to the course requirements of those
required for a degree listed in Subsections (1)(e)(ii)(A) through (E);

(iii) for a teacher who is assigned a computer science course, a bachelor's degree major,
master's degree, or doctoral degree in:

(A) computer science;
(B) computer information technology; or
(C) a bachelor's degree major, master's degree, or doctoral degree that has course

requirements that are substantially equivalent to the course requirements of those
required for a degree listed in Subsections (1)(e)(iii)(A) and (B).

(f) "Title I school" means a school that receives funds under the Elementary and Secondary
Education Act of 1965, Title I, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 6301 et seq.

(g) "Title I school certificate teacher" means a certificate teacher who is assigned to teach at a
Title I school.

(2)
(a) Subject to future budget constraints, the Legislature shall annually appropriate money to the

Teacher Salary Supplement Restricted Account established in Section 53A-17a-157 to fund
the Teacher Salary Supplement Program.

(b) Money appropriated for the Teacher Salary Supplement Program shall include money for the
following employer-paid benefits:

(i) retirement;
(ii) workers' compensation;
(iii) Social Security; and
(iv) Medicare.

(3)
(a)

(i) The annual salary supplement for an eligible teacher who is assigned full time to teach one
or more courses listed in Subsections (1)(c)(i)(A) through (E) is $4,100.

(ii) An eligible teacher who has a part-time assignment to teach one or more courses listed
in Subsections (1)(c)(i)(A) through (E) shall receive a partial salary supplement based
on the number of hours worked in a course assignment that meets the requirements of
Subsections (1)(c)(ii) and (iii).

(b) The annual salary supplement for a certificate teacher is $750.
(c)

(i) The annual salary supplement for a Title I school certificate teacher is $1,500.
(ii) A certificate teacher who qualifies for a salary supplement under Subsections (3)(b) and (c)

may only receive the salary supplement that is greater in value.
(4) The board shall:

(a) create an online application system for a teacher to apply to receive a salary supplement
through the Teacher Salary Supplement Program;
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(b) determine if a teacher:
(i)

(A) is an eligible teacher; and
(B) has a course assignment as listed in Subsections (1)(c)(i)(A) through (E);

(ii) is a certificate teacher; or
(iii) is a Title I school certificate teacher;

(c) verify, as needed, the determinations made under Subsection (4)(b) with school district and
school administrators; and

(d) certify a list of eligible teachers, certificate teachers, and Title I school certificate teachers.
(5)

(a) An eligible teacher, a certificate teacher, or a Title I school certificate teacher shall apply with
the board before the conclusion of a school year to receive the salary supplement authorized
in this section.

(b) An eligible teacher, a certificate teacher, or a Title I school certificate teacher may apply with
the board, after verification that the requirements under this section have been satisfied, to
receive a salary supplement after the completion of:

(i) the school year as an annual award; or
(ii) a semester or trimester as a partial award based on the portion of the school year that has

been completed.
(6)

(a) The board shall establish and administer an appeal process for a teacher to follow if the
teacher applies for the salary supplement and is not certified under Subsection (4).

(b)
(i) The appeal process established in Subsection (6)(a) shall allow a teacher to appeal eligibility

as an eligible teacher on the basis that the teacher has a degree or degree major with
course requirements that are substantially equivalent to the course requirements for a
degree listed in:

(A) Subsection (1)(e)(i)(A);
(B) Subsections (1)(e)(ii)(A) through (E); or
(C) Subsections (1)(e)(iii)(A) and (B).

(ii) A teacher shall provide transcripts and other documentation to the board in order for the
board to determine if the teacher has a degree or degree major with course requirements
that are substantially equivalent to the course requirements for a degree listed in:

(A) Subsection (1)(e)(i)(A);
(B) Subsections (1)(e)(ii)(A) through (E); or
(C) Subsections (1)(e)(iii)(A) and (B).

(c)
(i) The appeal process established under Subsection (6)(a) shall allow a teacher to appeal

eligibility as a certificate teacher on the basis that the teacher holds a current certificate.
(ii) A teacher shall provide to the board a certificate or other related documentation in order for

the board to determine if the teacher holds a current certificate.
(d)

(i) The appeal process established under Subsection (6)(a) shall allow a teacher to appeal
eligibility as a Title I school certificate teacher on the basis that the teacher:

(A) holds a current certificate; and
(B) is assigned to teach at a Title I school.

(ii) A teacher shall provide to the board:
(A) information described in Subsection (6)(c)(ii); and
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(B) verification that the teacher is assigned to teach at a Title I school.
(7)

(a) The board shall distribute money from the Teacher Salary Supplement Restricted Account
to school districts and charter schools for the Teacher Salary Supplement Program in
accordance with the provisions of this section.

(b) The board shall include the employer-paid benefits described under Subsection (2)(b) in the
amount of each salary supplement.

(c) The employer-paid benefits described under Subsection (2)(b) are an addition to the salary
supplement limits described under Subsection (3).

(8)
(a) Money received from the Teacher Salary Supplement Restricted Account shall be used by a

school district or charter school to provide a salary supplement equal to the amount specified
in Subsection (3) for each eligible teacher, certificate teacher, or Title I school certificate
teacher.

(b) The salary supplement is part of the teacher's base pay, subject to the teacher's qualification
as an eligible teacher, a certificate teacher, or a Title I school certificate teacher every year,
semester, or trimester.

(9) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, if the appropriation for the program is insufficient
to cover the costs associated with salary supplements, the board may limit or reduce the salary
supplements.

Amended by Chapter 217, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-157 Teacher Salary Supplement Restricted Account.
(1) There is created within the Uniform School Fund a restricted account known as the "Teacher

Salary Supplement Restricted Account."
(2) The account shall be funded from appropriations made to the account by the Legislature.
(3) The account shall be used to fund teacher salary supplements for school districts and charter

schools as provided in Section 53A-17a-156.
(4) The State Board of Education shall distribute account money to school districts and charter

schools for the Teacher Salary Supplement Program as provided in Section 53A-17a-156.

Amended by Chapter 122, 2015 General Session

53A-17a-158 Stipends for special educators for additional days of work.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "IEP" means an individualized education program developed pursuant to the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004, as amended.

(b) "Special education teacher" means a teacher whose primary assignment is the instruction of
students with disabilities who are eligible for special education services.

(c) "Special educator" means a person employed by a school district, charter school, or the Utah
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind who holds:

(i) a license issued under Title 53A, Chapter 6, Educator Licensing and Professional Practices
Act; and

(ii) a position as a:
(A) special education teacher; or
(B) speech-language pathologist.
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(2) The Legislature shall annually appropriate money for stipends to special educators for
additional days of work:

(a) in recognition of the added duties and responsibilities assumed by special educators to
comply with federal law regulating the education of students with disabilities and the need to
attract and retain qualified special educators; and

(b) subject to future budget constraints.
(3)

(a) The State Board of Education shall distribute money appropriated under this section to school
districts, charter schools, and the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind for stipends for
special educators in the amount of $200 per day for up to 10 additional working days.

(b) Money distributed under this section shall include, in addition to the $200 per day stipend,
money for the following employer-paid benefits:

(i) retirement;
(ii) workers' compensation;
(iii) Social Security; and
(iv) Medicare.

(4) A special educator receiving a stipend shall:
(a) work an additional day beyond the number of days contracted with the special educator's

school district or school for each daily stipend;
(b) schedule the additional days of work before or after the school year; and
(c) use the additional days of work to perform duties related to the IEP process, including:

(i) administering student assessments;
(ii) conducting IEP meetings;
(iii) writing IEPs;
(iv) conferring with parents; and
(v) maintaining records and preparing reports.

(5) A special educator may:
(a) elect to receive a stipend for one to 10 days of additional work; or
(b) elect to not receive a stipend.

(6) A person who does not hold a full-time position as a special educator is eligible for a partial
stipend equal to the percentage of a full-time special educator position the person assumes.

Enacted by Chapter 397, 2008 General Session

53A-17a-159 Utah Science Technology and Research Initiative Centers Program.
(1)

(a) The Utah Science Technology and Research Initiative (USTAR) Centers Program is created
to provide a financial incentive for charter schools and school districts to adopt programs that
result in a more efficient use of human resources and capital facilities.

(b) The potential benefits of the program include:
(i) increased compensation for math and science teachers by providing opportunities for an

expanded contract year which will enhance school districts' and charter schools' ability to
attract and retain talented and highly qualified math and science teachers;

(ii) increased capacity of school buildings by using buildings more hours of the day or more
days of the year, resulting in reduced capital facilities costs;

(iii) decreased class sizes created by expanding the number of instructional opportunities in a
year;

(iv) opportunities for earlier high school graduation;
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(v) improved student college preparation;
(vi) increased opportunities to offer additional remedial and advanced courses in math and

science;
(vii) opportunities to coordinate high school and post-secondary math and science education;

and
(viii) the creation or improvement of science, technology, engineering, and math centers (STEM

Centers).
(2) From money appropriated for the USTAR Centers Program, the State Board of Education shall

award grants to charter schools and school districts to pay for costs related to the adoption and
implementation of the program.

(3) The State Board of Education shall:
(a) solicit proposals from the State Charter School Board and school districts for the use of grant

money to facilitate the adoption and implementation of the program; and
(b) award grants on a competitive basis.

(4) The State Charter School Board shall:
(a) solicit proposals from charter schools that may be interested in participating in the USTAR

Centers Program;
(b) prioritize the charter school proposals and consolidate them into the equivalent of a single

school district request; and
(c) submit the consolidated request to the State Board of Education.

(5) In selecting a grant recipient, the State Board of Education shall consider:
(a) the degree to which a charter school or school district's proposed adoption and

implementation of an extended year for math and science teachers achieves the benefits
described in Subsection (1);

(b) the unique circumstances of different urban, rural, large, small, growing, and declining charter
schools and school districts; and

(c) providing pilot programs in as many different school districts and charter schools as possible.
(6)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (6)(b), a school district or charter school may only use
grant money to provide full year teacher contracts, part-time teacher contract extensions, or
combinations of both, for math and science teachers.

(b) Up to 5% of the grant money may be used to fund math and science field trips, textbooks, and
supplies.

(7) Participation in the USTAR Centers Program shall be:
(a) voluntary for an individual teacher; and
(b) voluntary for a charter school or school district.

(8) The State Board of Education shall make an annual report during the 2009, 2010, and 2011
interims to the Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee describing the program's impact
on students and its effectiveness at achieving the benefits described in Subsection (1).

Enacted by Chapter 397, 2008 General Session

53A-17a-162  Beverley Taylor Sorenson Elementary Arts Learning Program.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Endowed chair" means a person who holds an endowed position or administrator of an
endowed program for the purpose of arts and integrated arts instruction at an endowed
university.

(b) "Endowed university" means an institution of higher education in the state that:
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(i) awards elementary education degrees in arts instruction;
(ii) has received a major philanthropic donation for the purpose of arts and integrated arts

instruction; and
(iii) has created an endowed position as a result of a donation described in Subsection (1)(b)(ii).

(c) "Integrated arts advocate" means a person who:
(i) advocates for arts and integrated arts instruction in the state; and
(ii) coordinates with an endowed chair pursuant to the agreement creating the endowed chair.

(d) "Local education agency" or "LEA" means:
(i) a school district;
(ii) a charter school; or
(iii) the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(2) The Legislature finds that a strategic placement of arts in elementary education can impact the
critical thinking of students in other core subject areas, including mathematics, reading, and
science.

(3) The Beverley Taylor Sorenson Elementary Arts Learning Program is created to enhance the
social, emotional, academic, and arts learning of students in kindergarten through grade six
by integrating arts teaching and learning into core subject areas and providing professional
development for positions that support elementary arts and integrated arts education.

(4) From money appropriated for the Beverley Taylor Sorenson Elementary Arts Learning
Program, and subject to Subsection (5), the State Board of Education shall, after consulting
with endowed chairs and the integrated arts advocate and receiving their recommendations,
administer a grant program to enable LEAs to:

(a) hire highly qualified arts specialists, art coordinators, and other positions that support arts
education and arts integration;

(b) provide up to $10,000 in one-time funds for each new school arts specialist described under
Subsection (4)(a) to purchase supplies and equipment; and

(c) engage in other activities that improve the quantity and quality of integrated arts education.
(5)

(a) An LEA that receives a grant under Subsection (4) shall provide matching funds of no less
than 20% of the grant amount, including no less than 20% of the grant amount for actual
salary and benefit costs per full-time equivalent position funded under Subsection (4)(a).

(b) An LEA may not:
(i) include administrative, facility, or capital costs to provide the matching funds required under

Subsection (5)(a); or
(ii) use funds from the Beverley Taylor Sorenson Elementary Arts Learning Program to supplant

funds for existing programs.
(6) An LEA that receives a grant under this section shall partner with an endowed chair to provide

professional development in integrated elementary arts education.
(7) From money appropriated for the Beverley Taylor Sorenson Elementary Arts Learning

Program, the State Board of Education shall administer a grant program to fund activities
within arts and the integrated arts programs at an endowed university in the college where the
endowed chair resides to:

(a) provide high quality professional development in elementary integrated arts education in
accordance with the professional learning standards in Section 53A-3-701 to LEAs that
receive a grant under Subsection (4);

(b) design and conduct research on:
(i) elementary integrated arts education and instruction;
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(ii) implementation and evaluation of the Beverley Taylor Sorenson Elementary Arts Learning
Program; and

(iii) effectiveness of the professional development under Subsection (7)(a); and
(c) provide the public with integrated elementary arts education resources.

(8) The State Board of Education shall make rules in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah
Administrative Rulemaking Act, to administer the Beverley Taylor Sorenson Elementary Arts
Learning Program.

Amended by Chapter 188, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-164 Board local levy -- State guarantee.
(1) Subject to the other requirements of this section, for a calendar year beginning on or after

January 1, 2012, a local school board may levy a tax to fund the school district's general fund.
(2)

(a) For purposes of this Subsection (2), "combined rate" means the sum of:
(i) the rate imposed by a local school board under Subsection (1); and
(ii) the charter school levy rate, described in Section 53A-1a-513.1, for the local school board's

school district.
(b) Except as provided in Subsection  (2)(c), beginning on January 1, 2017, a school district's

combined rate  may not exceed .0018 per dollar of taxable value in any calendar year.
(c) Beginning on January 1, 2017, a school district's combined rate  may not exceed .0025 per

dollar of taxable value in any calendar year if, during the calendar year beginning on January
1, 2011, the school district's total tax rate for the following levies was greater than .0018 per
dollar of taxable value:

(i) a recreation levy imposed under Section 11-2-7;
(ii) a transportation levy imposed under Section 53A-17a-127;
(iii) a board-authorized levy imposed under Section 53A-17a-134;
(iv) an impact aid levy imposed under Section 53A-17a-143;
(v) the portion of a 10% of basic levy imposed under Section 53A-17a-145 that is budgeted for

purposes other than capital outlay or debt service;
(vi) a reading levy imposed under Section 53A-17a-151; and
(vii) a tort liability levy imposed under Section 63G-7-704.

(3)
(a) In addition to the revenue a school district collects from the imposition of a levy pursuant to

this section, the state shall contribute an amount sufficient to guarantee that each .0001 of the
first .0004 per dollar of taxable value generates an amount equal to the state guarantee per
weighted pupil unit described in Subsection 53A-17a-133(4).

(b)
(i) The amount of state guarantee money to which a school district would otherwise be entitled

to under this Subsection (3) may not be reduced for the sole reason that the district's levy
is reduced as a consequence of changes in the certified tax rate under Section 59-2-924
pursuant to changes in property valuation.

(ii) Subsection (3)(b)(i) applies for a period of five years following any changes in the certified
tax rate.

(4)
(a) For a calendar year beginning on or after January 1, 2017, the State Tax Commission shall

adjust a board local levy rate imposed by a local school board under this section by the
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amount necessary to offset the change in revenues from the charter school levy imposed
under Section 53A-1a-513.1.

(b) A local school board is not required to comply with the notice and public hearing requirements
of Section 59-2-919 for an offset described in Subsection (4)(a) to the change in revenues
from the charter school levy imposed under Section 53A-1a-513.1.

(c) A local school board may not increase a board local levy rate under this section before
December 31, 2016, if the local school board did not give public notice on or before March 4,
2016, of the local school board's intent to increase the board local levy rate.

(d) So long as the charter school levy rate does not exceed 25% of the charter school levy per
district revenues, a  local school board may not increase a board local levy rate under this
section if the purpose of increasing the board local levy rate is to capture the  revenues
assigned to the charter school levy through the adjustment  in a board local levy rate under
Subsection (4)(a).

(e) Before a local school board takes action to increase a board local levy rate under this section,
the local school board shall:

(i) prepare a written statement that attests that the local school board is in compliance with
Subsection (4)(d);

(ii) read the statement described in Subsection (4)(e)(i) during a local school board public
meeting where the local school board discusses increasing the board local levy rate; and

(iii) send a copy of the statement described in Subsection (4)(e)(i) to the State Tax
Commission.

Amended by Chapter 367, 2016 General Session

53A-17a-165 Enhancement for Accelerated Students Program.
(1) As used in this section, "eligible low-income student" means a student who:

(a) takes an Advanced Placement test;
(b) has applied for an Advanced Placement test fee reduction; and
(c) qualifies for a free lunch or a lunch provided at reduced cost.

(2) The State Board of Education shall distribute money appropriated for the Enhancement for
Accelerated Students Program to school districts and charter schools according to a formula
adopted by the State Board of Education, after consultation with school districts and charter
schools.

(3) A distribution formula adopted under Subsection (2) may include an allocation of money for:
(a) Advanced Placement courses;
(b) Advanced Placement test fees of eligible low-income students;
(c) gifted and talented programs, including professional development for teachers of high ability

students; and
(d) International Baccalaureate programs.

(4) The greater of 1.5% or $100,000 of the appropriation for the Enhancement for Accelerated
Students Program may be allowed for International Baccalaureate programs.

(5) A school district or charter school shall use money distributed under this section to enhance the
academic growth of students whose academic achievement is accelerated.

(6)
(a) The State Board of Education shall develop performance criteria to measure the effectiveness

of the Enhancement for Accelerated Students Program and make an annual report to the
Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee on the effectiveness of the program.
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(b) In the report required by Subsection (6)(a), the State Board of Education shall include data
showing the use and impact of money allocated for Advanced Placement test fees of eligible
low-income students.

Amended by Chapter 258, 2015 General Session

53A-17a-166 Enhancement for At-Risk Students Program.
(1)

(a) Subject to the requirements of Subsection (1)(b), the State Board of Education shall distribute
money appropriated for the Enhancement for At-Risk Students Program to school districts
and charter schools according to a formula adopted by the State Board of Education, after
consultation with school districts and charter schools.

(b)
(i) The State Board of Education shall appropriate $1,200,000 from the appropriation for

Enhancement for At-Risk Students for a gang prevention and intervention program designed
to help students at-risk for gang involvement stay in school.

(ii) Money for the gang prevention and intervention program shall be distributed to school
districts and charter schools through a request for proposals process.

(2) In establishing a distribution formula under Subsection (1)(a), the State Board of Education
shall use the following criteria:

(a) low performance on U-PASS tests;
(b) poverty;
(c) mobility; and
(d) limited English proficiency.

(3) A school district or charter school shall use money distributed under this section to improve the
academic achievement of students who are at risk of academic failure.

(4) The State Board of Education shall develop performance criteria to measure the effectiveness
of the Enhancement for At-Risk Students Program and make an annual report to the Public
Education Appropriations Subcommittee on the effectiveness of the program.

Enacted by Chapter 359, 2011 General Session

53A-17a-167 Early intervention program -- Enhanced kindergarten program -- Educational
technology.
(1) The State Board of Education shall, as described in Subsection (4), distribute funds

appropriated under this section for an enhanced kindergarten program described in Subsection
(2), to school districts and charter schools that apply for the funds.

(2) A school district or charter school shall use funds appropriated in this section to offer an early
intervention program, delivered through an enhanced kindergarten program that:

(a) is an academic program focused on building age-appropriate literacy and numeracy skills;
(b) uses an evidence-based early intervention model;
(c) is targeted to at-risk students; and
(d) is delivered through additional hours or other means.

(3) A school district or charter school may not require a student to participate in an enhanced
kindergarten program described in Subsection (2).

(4) The State Board of Education shall distribute funds appropriated under this section for an
enhanced kindergarten program described in Subsection (2) as follows:

(a)
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(i) the total allocation for charter schools shall be calculated by:
(A) dividing the number of charter school students by the total number of students in the

public education system in the prior school year; and
(B) multiplying the resulting percentage by the total amount of available funds; and

(ii) the amount calculated under Subsection (4)(a) shall be distributed to charter schools with
the greatest need for an enhanced kindergarten program, as determined by the State Board
of Education in consultation with the State Charter School Board;

(b) each school district shall receive the amount calculated by:
(i) multiplying the value of the weighted pupil unit by 0.45; and
(ii) multiplying the result by 20; and

(c) the remaining funds, after the allocations described in Subsections (4)(a) and (4)(b) are made,
shall be distributed to applicant school districts by:

(i) determining the number of students eligible to receive free lunch in the prior school year for
each school district; and

(ii) prorating the remaining funds based on the number of students eligible to receive free lunch
in each district.

(5) In addition to an enhanced kindergarten program described in Subsection (2), the early
intervention program includes a component to address early reading through the use of early
interactive reading software.

(6)
(a) Subject to legislative appropriations, the State Board of Education shall select and contract

with one or more technology providers, through a request for proposals process, to provide
early interactive reading software for literacy instruction and assessments for students in
kindergarten through grade 3.

(b) By August 1 of each year, the State Board of Education shall distribute licenses for early
interactive reading software described in Subsection (6)(a) to school districts and charter
schools that apply for the licenses.

(c) Except as provided in Subsection (7)(c), a school district or charter school that received a
license described in Subsection (6)(b) during the prior year shall be given first priority to
receive an equivalent license during the current year.

(d) Licenses distributed to school districts and charter schools in addition to the licenses
described in Subsection (6)(c) shall be distributed through a competitive process.

(7)
(a) As used in this Subsection (7), "dosage" means amount of instructional time.
(b) A public school that receives a license described in Subsection (6)(b) shall use the license:

(i) for a student in kindergarten or grade 1:
(A) for intervention for the student if the student is reading below grade level; or
(B) for advancement beyond grade level for the student if the student is reading at or above

grade level;
(ii) for a student in grade 2 or 3, for intervention for the student if the student is reading below

grade level; and
(iii) in accordance with the technology provider's dosage recommendations.

(c) A public school that does not use the early interactive reading software in accordance with the
technology provider's dosage recommendations for two consecutive years may not continue
to receive a license.

(8)
(a) On or before August 1 of each year, the State Board of Education shall select and contract

with an independent evaluator, through a request for proposals process, to act as an
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independent contractor to evaluate early interactive reading software provided under this
section.

(b) The State Board of Education shall ensure that a contract with an independent evaluator
requires the independent evaluator to:

(i) evaluate a student's learning gains as a result of using early interactive reading software
provided under Subsection (6);

(ii) for the evaluation under Subsection (8)(b)(i), use an assessment that is not developed by a
provider of early interactive reading software; and

(iii) determine the extent to which a public school uses the early interactive reading software in
accordance with a technology provider's dosage recommendations under Subsection (7).

(c) The State Board of Education and the independent evaluator selected under Subsection (8)
(a) shall report annually on the results of the evaluation to the Education Interim Committee
and the governor.

(d) The State Board of Education may use up to 4% of the appropriation provided under
Subsection (6)(a) to contract with an independent evaluator selected under Subsection (8)(a).

Amended by Chapter 372, 2015 General Session

53A-17a-168 Appropriation for Title 1 Schools in Improvement Paraeducators Program.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Eligible school" means a Title 1 school that has not achieved adequate yearly progress, as
defined in the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 6301 et seq. in the same
subject area for two consecutive years.

(b) "Paraeducator" means a school employee who:
(i) delivers instruction under the direct supervision of a teacher; and
(ii) meets the requirements under Subsection (3).

(c) "Program" means the Title 1 Schools in Improvement Paraeducators Program created in this
section.

(2) The program is created to provide funding for eligible schools to hire paraeducators to provide
additional instructional aid in the classroom to assist students in achieving academic success
and assist the school in exiting Title 1 school improvement status.

(3) A paraeducator who is funded under this section shall have:
(a) earned a secondary school diploma or a recognized equivalent;
(b)

(i) completed at least two years with a minimum of 48 semester hours at an accredited higher
education institution;

(ii) obtained an associates or higher degree from an accredited higher education institution; or
(iii) satisfied a rigorous state or local assessment about the individual's knowledge of, and

ability to assist in instructing students in reading, writing, and mathematics; and
(c) received large group-, small group-, and individual-level professional development that

is intensive and focused and covers curriculum, instruction, assessment, classroom and
behavior management, and teaming.

(4) The State Board of Education shall distribute money appropriated for the program to eligible
schools, in accordance with rules adopted by the board.

(5) Funds appropriated under the program may not be used to supplant other money used for
paraeducators at eligible schools.

(6) The State Board of Education shall submit an annual report to the Legislature's Public
Education Appropriations Subcommittee that includes information on:
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(a) the amount of money distributed to each eligible school under this section;
(b) how many paraeducators were hired at each eligible school with program money;
(c) additional funding eligible schools used to supplement program money in hiring

paraeducators; and
(d) accountability measures, including test scores of students served by the program.

Enacted by Chapter 188, 2012 General Session

53A-17a-169 Student Leadership Skills Development Program.
(1) For purposes of this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Program" means the Student Leadership Skills Development Program created in Subsection

(2).
(2) There is created the Student Leadership Skills Development Program to develop student

behaviors and skills that enhance a school's learning environment and are vital for success in a
career, including:

(a) communication skills;
(b) teamwork skills;
(c) interpersonal skills;
(d) initiative and self-motivation;
(e) goal setting skills;
(f) problem solving skills; and
(g) creativity.

(3)
(a) The board shall administer the program and award grants to elementary schools that apply for

a grant on a competitive basis.
(b) The board may award a grant of:

(i) up to $10,000 per school for the first year a school participates in the program; and
(ii) up to $20,000 per school for subsequent years a school participates in the program.

(c)
(i) After awarding a grant to a school for a particular year, the board may not change the grant

amount awarded to the school for that year.
(ii) The board may award a school a different amount in subsequent years.

(4) An elementary school may participate in the program established under this section in
accordance with State Board of Education rules, made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3,
Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.

(5) In selecting elementary schools to participate in the program, the board shall:
(a) require a school in the first year the school participates in the program to provide matching

funds or an in-kind contribution of goods or services in an amount equal to the grant the
school receives from the board;

(b) require a school to participate in the program for two years; and
(c) give preference to Title I schools or schools in need of academic improvement.

(6) The board shall make the following information related to the grants described in Subsection (3)
publicly available on the board's website:

(a) reimbursement procedures that clearly define how a school may spend grant money and how
the board will reimburse the school;

(b) the period of time a school is permitted to spend grant money;
(c) criteria for selecting a school to receive a grant; and
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(d) a list of schools that receive a grant and the amount of each school's grant.
(7) A school that receives a grant described in Subsection (3) shall:

(a)
(i) set school-wide goals for the school's student leadership skills development program; and
(ii) require each student to set personal goals; and

(b) provide the following to the board after the first school year of implementation of the program:
(i) evidence that the grant money was used for the purpose of purchasing or developing the

school's own student leadership skills development program; and
(ii) a report on the effectiveness and impact of the school's student leadership skills

development program on student behavior and academic results as measured by:
(A) a reduction in truancy;
(B) assessments of academic achievement;
(C) a reduction in incidents of student misconduct or disciplinary actions; and
(D) the achievement of school-wide goals and students' personal goals.

(8) After participating in the program for two years, a school may not receive additional grant
money in subsequent years if the school fails to demonstrate an improvement in student
behavior and academic achievement as measured by the data reported under Subsection (7)
(b).

(9)
(a) The board shall make a report on the program to the Education Interim Committee by the

committee's October 2016 meeting.
(b) The report shall include an evaluation of the program's success in enhancing a school's

learning environment and improving academic achievement.

Amended by Chapter 456, 2015 General Session

53A-17a-170 Grants for field trips to the State Capitol.
(1) The State Board of Education may award grants to school districts and charter schools to take

students on field trips to the State Capitol.
(2) Grant money may be used to pay for transportation expenses related to a field trip to the State

Capitol.
(3) The State Board of Education shall make rules:

(a) establishing procedures for applying for and awarding grants; and
(b) specifying how grant money shall be allocated among school districts and charter schools.

Enacted by Chapter 381, 2013 General Session

53A-17a-171  Intergenerational Poverty Interventions Grant Program -- Definitions -- Grant
requirements -- Reporting requirements.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Eligible student" means a student who is classified as a child affected by intergenerational

poverty.
(c) "Intergenerational poverty" has the same meaning as in Section 35A-9-102.
(d) "Local Education Agency" or "LEA" means a school district or charter school.
(e) "Program" means the Intergenerational Poverty Interventions Grant Program created in

Subsection (2).
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(2) The Intergenerational Poverty Interventions Grant Program is created to provide grants to
eligible LEAs to fund additional educational opportunities for eligible students, outside of the
regular school day offerings.

(3) Subject to future budget constraints, the board shall distribute to LEAs money appropriated for
the program in accordance with this section.

(4) The board shall:
(a) solicit proposals from LEAs to receive money under the program; and
(b) award grants to LEAs based on criteria described in Subsection (5).

(5) In awarding a grant under Subsection (4), the board shall consider:
(a) the percentage of an LEA's students that are classified as children affected by

intergenerational poverty;
(b) the level of administrative support and leadership at an eligible LEA to effectively implement,

monitor, and evaluate the program; and
(c) an LEA's commitment and ability to work with the Department of Workforce Services, the

Department of Health, the Department of Human Services, and the juvenile courts to provide
services to the LEA's eligible students.

(6) To receive a grant under the program, an LEA shall submit a proposal to the board detailing:
(a) the LEA's strategy to implement the program, including the LEA's strategy to improve the

academic achievement of children affected by intergenerational poverty;
(b) the LEA's strategy for coordinating with and engaging the Department of Workforce Services

to provide services for the LEA's eligible students;
(c) the number of students the LEA plans to serve, categorized by age and intergenerational

poverty status;
(d) the number of students, eligible students, and schools the LEA plans to fund with the grant

money; and
(e) the estimated cost per student.

(7)
(a) The board shall annually report to the Utah Intergenerational Welfare Reform Commission,

created in Section 35A-9-301, by November 30 of each year, on:
(i) the progress of LEA programs using grant money;
(ii) the progress of LEA programs in improving the academic achievement of children affected

by intergenerational poverty; and
(iii) the LEA's coordination efforts with the Department of Workforce Services, the Department

of Health, the Department of Human Services, and the juvenile courts.
(b) The board shall provide the report described in Subsection (7)(a) to the Education Interim

Committee upon request.
(c) LEAs that receive grant money pursuant to this section shall provide to the board information

that is necessary for the board's report described in Subsection (7)(a).

Amended by Chapter 188, 2016 General Session

Chapter 18
School District Indebtedness

53A-18-101 School district tax anticipation notes.
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(1) A local school board may borrow money in anticipation of the collection of taxes or other
revenue of the school district so long as it complies with Title 11, Chapter 14, Local
Government Bonding Act.

(2) The board may incur indebtedness under this section for any purpose for which district funds
may be expended, but not in excess of the estimated district revenues for the current school
year.

(3) Revenues include all revenues of the district from the state or any other source.
(4) The district may incur the indebtedness prior to imposing or collecting the taxes or receiving the

revenues.  The indebtedness bears interest at the lowest obtainable rate or rates.

Amended by Chapter 105, 2005 General Session

53A-18-102 Additional indebtedness -- Election -- Voter information pamphlet.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Qualifying general obligation bond" means a bond:
(i) issued pursuant to Title 11, Chapter 14, Local Government Bonding Act; and
(ii) authorized by an election held on or after July 1, 2014.

(b) "Voter information pamphlet" means the notification required by Section 11-14-202.
(2) A local school board may require the qualified electors of the district to vote on a proposition as

to whether to incur indebtedness, subject to conditions provided in Title 11, Chapter 14, Local
Government Bonding Act, if:

(a) the debts of the district are equal to school taxes and other estimated revenues for the school
year, and it is necessary to create and incur additional indebtedness in order to maintain and
support schools within the district; or

(b) the local school board determines it advisable to issue school district bonds to purchase
school sites, buildings, or furnishings or to improve existing school property.

(3) A local school board shall specify, in the voter information pamphlet for a bond election, a plan
of finance, including:

(a) the specific project or projects for which a bond is to be issued; and
(b) a priority designation for each project.

(4) Except as provided in Subsection (5), a local school board shall ensure that qualifying general
obligation bond proceeds are used to complete projects in accordance with the plan of finance
described in Subsection (3).

(5)
(a) After distribution to the public of the voter information pamphlet, with two-thirds majority

approval of the local school board, a local school board may upon a determination of
compelling circumstances adjust the plan of finance described in Subsection (3) by:

(i) changing the priority designation of a project;
(ii) adding a project that was not listed in the voter information pamphlet; or
(iii) removing a project that was listed in the voter information pamphlet.

(b) A local school board may not vote on more than one adjustment described in Subsection (5)
(a) per meeting.

(6) For a qualifying general obligation bond, a local school board shall post on the local school
board's website:

(a) the plan of finance as described in the voter information pamphlet; and
(b) a progress report detailing the status of the projects listed in the plan of finance, including:

(i) the status of any construction contracts related to a project;
(ii) the bid amount;
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(iii) the estimated and actual construction start date;
(iv) the estimated and actual construction end date; and
(v) the final cost.

(7)
(a) If a local school board violates Subsection (4), a registered voter in the school district may file

an action for an extraordinary writ to prohibit the local school board from adjusting the plan of
finance without obtaining the necessary local school board approval.

(b) If a registered voter prevails in an action under Subsection (7)(a), the court shall award
reasonable costs and attorney fees to the registered voter.

(c) The action described in Subsection (7)(a) may not be used to challenge the validity of a bond.

Amended by Chapter 325, 2014 General Session

53A-18-103 Consolidated school district bonds.
(1) A consolidated county school district may issue bonds, without an election, to fund, purchase,

or redeem the district's outstanding indebtedness if the debt was incurred prior to consolidation
and assumed by the consolidated school district.

(2) The legality, regularity, and validity of the outstanding indebtedness shall be determined in the
same manner used to determine the validity of other bonds to be refunded by the board.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-18-104 Testing validity of bonds to be refunded -- Procedure.
          If considered advisable by the local school board, the validity of any bonds intended to be

refunded may be determined in the following manner:
(1) The board shall:

(a) publish a notice describing with sufficient particularity for identification the bond or bonds
intended to be refunded:

(i) once a week for two successive weeks in a newspaper published in the school district; and
(ii) as required in Section 45-1-101; and

(b) post a notice for two successive weeks in three public and conspicuous places describing
with sufficient particularity for identification the bond or bonds intended to be refunded.

(2) The notice shall require any person objecting to the legality, regularity, or validity of the bonds,
their issue or sale, or the indebtedness represented by the bonds, to appear before the board
at a specified place within the district on a specified day and time.

(3) The time may not be less than 14 nor more than 60 days after the first publication or posting of
the notice.

(4) The notice shall require the person to appear at the meeting with his objections in writing, duly
verified.

(5) The board shall convene at the time and place specified in the notice and receive all objections
as prescribed in Subsection (4).

(6) The objections shall be filed with and preserved by the board.
(7) If no written objections are presented at the time and place specified in the notice, the board

shall so certify.
(8) All persons are then prohibited from questioning in any manner or proceeding the legality,

regularity, or validity of the bond or bonds, their issue or sale, or the indebtedness represented
by the bonds, and the board may then refund the bonds.



Utah Code

Page 470

(9) Any person filing a written objection under Subsection (4) shall, within 20 days after the filing,
commence appropriate legal proceedings against the board and others as may be proper
parties, in the district court for the county in which the school district is situated, to challenge
and determine the legality, regularity, and validity of the bond or bonds, their issue and sale, or
the indebtedness represented by them.

(10) Failure to commence the proceedings within 20 days bars the person filing objections from
questioning, in any manner or proceeding, the legality, regularity, or validity of the bond or
bonds, their issue or sale, or the indebtedness represented by the bonds.

(11) Upon proof of failure to commence proceedings, by certificate of the clerk of the court, the
board may refund the bonds.

Amended by Chapter 388, 2009 General Session

53A-18-105 Sinking fund -- Investment.
(1) The money levied and collected to create a sinking fund for the redemption of bonds issued by

a local school board shall be immediately credited to a special fund.
(2) After retaining an amount sufficient to pay the principal of the bonds maturing during the year,

the board shall invest the fund and any surplus as provided under Title 51, Chapter 7, State
Money Management Act.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-18-106 Bonds a lien on property -- Levy of tax to pay bonds.
(1) Bonds issued under this chapter are a lien upon the taxable property of the school district

issuing them.
(2) If the local school board neglects or refuses to cause a tax to be levied in accordance with law

to meet the outstanding bonds or the interest on the bonds, the county legislative body of the
county in which the district is located shall levy the tax and apply the money collected to the
payment of the bonds and the interest.

Amended by Chapter 227, 1993 General Session

53A-18-107 Requirement to conduct seismic safety evaluations when issuing a bond.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Federal guidelines" means guidelines and procedures specified in "Rapid Visual Screening
of Buildings for Potential Seismic Hazards: A Handbook, 2nd Edition" published by the United
States Federal Emergency Management Agency.

(b) "Qualifying general obligation bond" means a bond:
(i) issued pursuant to Title 11, Chapter 14, Local Government Bonding Act; and
(ii) authorized by an election held on or after July 1, 2013.

(c) "Seismic safety evaluation" means a seismic safety rapid visual screening evaluated in
accordance with federal guidelines or a more detailed seismic structural evaluation.

(2) If a school district issues a qualifying general obligation bond, the school district shall:
(a) except as provided in Subsection (4), conduct or update a seismic safety evaluation of each

school district building:
(i) constructed before 1975; and
(ii) used by the school district as a school; and
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(b) provide a copy of a seismic safety evaluation prepared under Subsection (2)(a) to the Utah
Seismic Safety Commission created in Section 63C-6-101.

(3) A seismic safety evaluation conducted under Subsection (2) shall be conducted by a licensed
structural engineer familiar with seismic codes.

(4) A school district is not required to conduct or update a seismic safety evaluation of a building as
required in Subsection (2)(a) if:

(a) a seismic safety evaluation was performed on the building within the 25-year period before
the school district issues the qualifying general obligation bond; and

(b) the school district provides a copy of the school district's seismic safety evaluation described
in Subsection (4)(a) to the Utah Seismic Safety Commission.

(5) Creation of a seismic safety evaluation of a school, or a list of schools needing seismic
upgrades, shall not be construed as expanding or changing the state's or a school district's
common law duty of care for liability purposes.

Enacted by Chapter 356, 2013 General Session

Chapter 19
Public School Budgets

Part 1
Fiscal Procedures

53A-19-101 School district and charter school budgets.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Budget officer" means:
(i) for a school district, the school district's superintendent; or
(ii) for a charter school, an individual selected by the charter school governing board.

(b) "Governing board" means:
(i) for a school district, the local school board; or
(ii) for a charter school, the charter school governing board.

(2) Before June 1 of each year, the budget officer shall prepare a tentative budget, with supporting
documentation, to be submitted to the budget officer's governing board.

(3) The tentative budget and supporting documents shall include the following items:
(a) the revenues and expenditures of the preceding fiscal year;
(b) the estimated revenues and expenditures of the current fiscal year;
(c) for a school district, an estimate of the revenues for the succeeding fiscal year based upon

the lowest tax levy that will raise the required revenue, using the current year's taxable value
as the basis for this calculation;

(d) a detailed estimate of the essential expenditures for all purposes for the next succeeding
fiscal year; and

(e) the estimated financial condition of the school district or charter school by funds at the close
of the current fiscal year.

(4) The tentative budget shall be filed with the district business administrator or charter school
executive director for public inspection at least 15 days before the date of the tentative budget's
proposed adoption by the governing board.
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Amended by Chapter 363, 2016 General Session

53A-19-102 Local governing board budget procedures.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Budget officer" means:
(i) for a school district, the school district's superintendent; or
(ii) for a charter school, an individual selected by the charter school governing board.

(b) "Governing board" means:
(i) for a school district, the local school board; or
(ii) for a charter school, the charter school governing board.

(2)
(a) For a school district, before June 22 of each year, a local school board shall adopt a budget

and make appropriations for the next fiscal year.
(b) For a school district, if the tax rate in the school district's proposed budget exceeds the

certified tax rate defined in Section 59-2-924, the local school board shall comply with Section
59-2-919 in adopting the budget, except as provided by Section 53A-17a-133.

(3)
(a) For a school district, before the adoption or amendment of a budget, a local school board

shall hold a public hearing, as defined in Section 10-9a-103, on the proposed budget or
budget amendment.

(b) In addition to complying with Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act, in regards to
the public hearing described in Subsection (3)(a), at least 10 days prior to the public hearing,
a local school board shall:

(i) publish a notice of the public hearing in a newspaper or combination of newspapers of
general circulation in the school district, except as provided in Section 45-1-101;

(ii) publish a notice of the public hearing electronically in accordance with Section 45-1-101;
(iii) file a copy of the proposed budget with the local school board's business administrator for

public inspection; and
(iv) post the proposed budget on the school district's Internet website.

(c) A notice of a public hearing on a school district's proposed budget shall include information
on how the public may access the proposed budget as provided in Subsections (3)(b)(iii) and
(iv).

(4) For a charter school, before June 22 of each year, a charter school governing board shall adopt
a budget for the next fiscal year.

(5) Within 30 days of adopting a budget, a governing board shall file a copy of the adopted budget
with the state auditor and the State Board of Education.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2016 General Session

53A-19-103 Undistributed reserve in school board budget.
(1) A local school board may adopt a budget with an undistributed reserve. The reserve may not

exceed 5% of the maintenance and operation budget adopted by the board in accordance
with a scale developed by the State Board of Education.  The scale is based on the size of the
school district's budget.

(2) The board may appropriate all or a part of the undistributed reserve made to any expenditure
classification in the maintenance and operation budget by written resolution adopted by a
majority vote of the board setting forth the reasons for the appropriation.  The board shall file a
copy of the resolution with the State Board of Education and the state auditor.
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(3) The board may not use undistributed reserves in the negotiation or settlement of contract
salaries for school district employees.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-19-104 Limits on appropriations -- Estimated expendable revenue.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Budget officer" means:
(i) for a school district, the school district's superintendent; or
(ii) for a charter school, an individual selected by the charter school governing board.

(b) "Governing board" means:
(i) for a school district, the local school board; or
(ii) for a charter school, the charter school governing board.

(2) A governing board may not make an appropriation in excess of its estimated expendable
revenue, including undistributed reserves, for the following fiscal year.

(3) A governing board may reduce a budget appropriation at the governing board's regular meeting
if notice of the proposed action is given to all governing board members and to the district
superintendent or charter school executive director, as applicable, at least one week before the
meeting.

(4) For a school district, in determining the estimated expendable revenue, any existing deficits
arising through excessive expenditures from former years are deducted from the estimated
revenue for the ensuing year to the extent of at least 10% of the entire tax revenue of the
district for the previous year.

(5) For a school district, in the event of financial hardships, the local school board may deduct from
the estimated expendable revenue for the ensuing year, by fund, at least 25% of the deficit
amount.

(6) For a school district, all estimated balances available for appropriations at the end of the fiscal
year shall revert to the funds from which they were appropriated and shall be fund balances
available for appropriation in the budget of the following year.

(7) For a school district, an increase in an appropriation may not be made by the local school board
unless the following steps are taken:

(a) the local school board receives a written request from the district superintendent that sets
forth the reasons for the proposed increase;

(b) notice of the request is published:
(i) in a newspaper of general circulation within the school district at least one week before the

local school board meeting at which the request will be considered; and
(ii) in accordance with Section 45-1-101, at least one week before the local school board

meeting at which the request will be considered; and
(c) the local school board holds a public hearing on the request before the local school board's

acting on the request.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2016 General Session

53A-19-105 School district interfund transfers.
(1) A school district shall spend revenues only within the fund for which they were originally

authorized, levied, collected, or appropriated.
(2) Except as otherwise provided in this section, school district interfund transfers of residual equity

are prohibited.
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(3) The State Board of Education may authorize school district interfund transfers of residual equity
when a district states its intent to create a new fund or expand, contract, or liquidate an existing
fund.

(4) The State Board of Education may also authorize school district interfund transfers of residual
equity for a financially distressed district if the board determines the following:

(a) the district has a significant deficit in its maintenance and operations fund caused by
circumstances not subject to the administrative decisions of the district;

(b) the deficit cannot be reasonably reduced under Section 53A-19-104; and
(c) without the transfer, the school district will not be capable of meeting statewide educational

standards adopted by the State Board of Education.
(5) The board shall develop standards for defining and aiding financially distressed school districts

under this section in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking
Act.

(6)
(a) All debt service levies not subject to certified tax rate hearings shall be recorded and reported

in the debt service fund.
(b) Debt service levies under Subsection 59-2-924 (5)(c) that are not subject to the public hearing

provisions of Section 59-2-919 may not be used for any purpose other than retiring general
obligation debt.

(c) Amounts from these levies remaining in the debt service fund at the end of a fiscal year shall
be used in subsequent years for general obligation debt retirement.

(d) Any amounts left in the debt service fund after all general obligation debt has been retired
may be transferred to the capital projects fund upon completion of the budgetary hearing
process required under Section 53A-19-102.

Amended by Chapter 350, 2016 General Session
Amended by Chapter 367, 2016 General Session

53A-19-106 Warrants drawn by budget officer.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Budget officer" means:
(i) for a school district, the school district's superintendent; or
(ii) for a charter school, an individual selected by the charter school governing board.

(b) "Governing board" means:
(i) for a school district, the local school board; or
(ii) for a charter school, the charter school governing board.

(2) The budget officer of a governing board may not draw warrants on school district or charter
school funds except in accordance with and within the limits of the budget passed by the
governing board.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2016 General Session

53A-19-107 Emergency expenditures.
          This chapter does not apply to appropriations required because of emergencies involving loss of

life or great loss of property.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session
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53A-19-108 Monthly budget reports.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Budget officer" means:
(i) for a school district, the school district's superintendent; or
(ii) for a charter school, an individual selected by the charter school governing board.

(b) "Governing board" means:
(i) for a school district, the local school board; or
(ii) for a charter school, the charter school governing board.

(2) The business administrator or budget officer of a governing board shall provide each board
member with a report, on a monthly basis, that includes the following information:

(a) the amounts of all budget appropriations;
(b) the disbursements from the appropriations as of the date of the report; and
(c) the percentage of the disbursements as of the date of the report.

(3) Within five days of providing the monthly report described in Subsection (2) to a governing
board, the business administrator or budget officer shall make a copy of the report available for
public review.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2016 General Session

Part 2
School Lunch Program

53A-19-201 Control of school lunch revenues -- Apportionment -- Costs.
(1) School lunch revenues shall be under the control of the State Board of Education and may

only be disbursed, transferred, or drawn upon by its order.  The revenue may only be used to
provide school lunches and a school lunch program in the state's school districts in accordance
with standards established by the board.

(2) The board shall apportion the revenue according to the number of school children receiving
school lunches in each school district.  The State Board of Education and local school boards
shall employ staff to administer and supervise the school lunch program and purchase supplies
and equipment.

(3) The costs of the school lunch program shall be included in the state board's annual budget.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

Part 3
School Breakfast Program

53A-19-301 School Breakfast Program -- Review of nonparticipants.
(1)

(a) Each local school board shall, at least once every three years, review each elementary school
in its district that does not participate in the School Breakfast Program as to the school's
reasons for nonparticipation.

(b)



Utah Code

Page 476

(i) If the school board determines that there are valid reasons for the school's nonparticipation,
no further action is needed.

(ii) Reasons for nonparticipation may include a recommendation from the school community
council authorized under Section 53A-1a-108 or a similar group of parents and school
employees that the school should not participate in the program.

(2)
(a) After two nonparticipation reviews, a local school board may, by majority vote, waive any

further reviews of the nonparticipatory school.
(b) A waiver of the review process under Subsection (2)(a) does not prohibit subsequent

consideration by the local school board of an individual school's nonparticipation in the School
Breakfast Program.

(3) The requirements of this section shall be nullified by the termination of the entitlement status of
the School Breakfast Program by the federal government.

Enacted by Chapter 268, 1996 General Session

Part 4
Postemployment Benefits Restrictions

53A-19-401 Postemployment health insurance benefits restrictions -- Definitions --
Restrictions -- Exceptions.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Budgetary accounts" means the same as that term is defined in Section 51-5-3.
(b) "GASB" means the same as that term is defined in Section 51-5-3.
(c) "Liabilities" means the same as that term is defined in Section 51-5-3.
(d) "Postemployment" means the same as that term is defined in Section 51-5-3.
(e) "Postemployment health insurance benefits" means health insurance benefits:

(i) offered or promised to an employee for the employee's postemployment; or
(ii) continued into postemployment.

(2) Except as provided under Subsection (3), a school district or charter school may not offer or
provide a postemployment health insurance benefit to an employee who begins employment
with the school district or charter school on or after July 1, 2015.

(3) A school district or charter school may offer or provide postemployment health care insurance
to employees if the school district or charter school:

(a) calculates the liabilities associated with postemployment health insurance benefits by
applying GASB standards;

(b) recognizes current payments and all liabilities associated with the postemployment health
insurance benefits in budgetary accounts;

(c) fully funds the annual required contributions associated with the postemployment health
insurance benefits liabilities;

(d) establishes and implements a plan approved by the school district's local school board or
charter school's governing board to catch up on any unfunded liabilities within no more than
20 years; and

(e) provides for ongoing payments against the postemployment health insurance liabilities as
employees qualify for receiving the postemployment health insurance benefits.

(4)
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(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), if in a fiscal year, a school district or charter school
fails to fully fund the annual required contributions described in Subsection (3)(c), the school
district or charter school may not offer or provide a postemployment health insurance benefit
for new employees beginning on the first day of that fiscal year.

(b) The provisions of Subsection (4)(a) do not apply if:
(i) for a school district only, the school district is imposing the maximum allowed local school

board levy under Section 53A-17a-164;
(ii) the school district or charter school fully funds the annual required contributions, including

any missed contributions, by the end of the fiscal year following the fiscal year of inadequate
funding; or

(iii) no increase was approved by the Legislature in the weighted pupil unit as defined in Section
53A-17a-103 for the fiscal year the annual required contributions were not fully funded.

Enacted by Chapter 399, 2015 General Session

Chapter 20
School Construction

53A-20-100.5 Prohibition of school impact fees.
(1) As used in this section, "school impact fee" means a charge on new development in order to

generate revenue for funding or recouping the costs of capital improvements for schools or
school facility expansions necessitated by and attributable to the new development.

(2) Beginning March 21, 1995, there is a moratorium prohibiting a county, city, town, local school
board, or any other political subdivision from imposing or collecting a school impact fee unless
hereafter authorized by the Legislature by statute.

(3) Collection of any fees authorized before March 21, 1995, by any ordinance, resolution or rule of
any county, city, town, local school board, or other political subdivision shall terminate on May
1, 1996, unless hereafter authorized by the Legislature by statute.

Enacted by Chapter 283, 1995 General Session

53A-20-101 Construction and alteration of schools and plants -- Advertising for bids --
Payment and performance bonds -- Contracts -- Bidding limitations on local school boards
-- Interest of local school board members.
(1) As used in this section, the word "sealed" does not preclude acceptance of electronically

sealed and submitted bids or proposals in addition to bids or proposals manually sealed and
submitted.

(2)
(a) Prior to the construction of any school or the alteration of any existing school plant, if the total

estimated accumulative building project cost exceeds $80,000, a local school board shall
advertise for bids on the project at least 10 days before the bid due date.

(b) The board shall have the advertisement published in a newspaper having general circulation
throughout the state and in appropriate construction trade publications that offer free listings.

(c) A similar advertisement is required in a newspaper published or having general circulation in
any city or county that would be affected by the proposed project.
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(d) The advertisement shall:
(i) require sealed proposals for the building project in accordance with plans and specifications

furnished by the local school board;
(ii) state where and when the proposals will be opened and shall reserve the right of the board

to reject any and all proposals; and
(iii) require a certified check or bid bond of not less than 5% of the bid to accompany the bid.

(3)
(a) The board shall meet at the time and place specified in the advertisement and publicly open

and read all received proposals.
(b) If satisfactory bids are received, the board shall award the contract to the lowest responsible

bidder.
(c) If none of the proposals are satisfactory, all shall be rejected.
(d) The board shall again advertise in the manner provided in this section.
(e) If, after advertising a second time no satisfactory bid is received, the board may proceed

under its own direction with the required project.
(4)

(a) The check or bond required under Subsection (2)(d) shall be drawn in favor of the local
school board.

(b) If the successful bidder fails or refuses to enter into the contract and furnish the additional
bonds required under this section, then the bidder's check or bond is forfeited to the district.

(5) A local school board shall require payment and performance bonds of the successful bidder as
required in Section 63G-6a-1103.

(6)
(a) A local school board may require in the proposed contract that up to 5% of the contract price

be withheld until the project is completed and accepted by the board.
(b) If money is withheld, the board shall place it in an interest bearing account, and the interest

accrues for the benefit of the contractor and subcontractors.
(c) This money shall be paid upon completion of the project and acceptance by the board.

(7)
(a) A local school board may not bid on projects within the district if the total accumulative

estimated cost exceeds $80,000.
(b) The board may use its resources if no satisfactory bids are received under this section.

(8) If the local school board determines in accordance with Section 63G-6a-1302 to use a
construction manager/general contractor as its method of construction contracting management
on projects where the total estimated accumulative cost exceeds $80,000, it shall select the
construction manager/general contractor in accordance with the requirements of Title 63G,
Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code.

(9) A local school board member may not have a direct or indirect financial interest in the
construction project contract.

Amended by Chapter 86, 2012 General Session
Amended by Chapter 347, 2012 General Session

53A-20-101.5 Restrictions on local school district procurement of architect-engineer
services.
(1) As used in this section, "architect-engineer services" means those professional services within

the scope of the practice of architecture as defined in Section 58-3a-102, or professional
engineering as defined in Section 58-22-102.
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(2) When a local school district elects to obtain architect or engineering services by using a
competitive procurement process and has provided public notice of its competitive procurement
process:

(a) a higher education entity, or any part of one, may not submit a proposal in response to the
state agency's competitive procurement process; and

(b) the local school district may not award a contract to perform the architect or engineering
services solicited in the competitive procurement process to a higher education entity or any
part of one.

Enacted by Chapter 21, 2000 General Session

53A-20-103 School plant capital outlay report.
(1) The State Board of Education shall prepare an annual school plant capital outlay report of

all school districts, which includes information on the number and size of building projects
completed and under construction.

(2) A school district or charter school shall prepare and submit an annual school plant capital
outlay report in accordance with Section 63A-3-402.

Amended by Chapter 64, 2014 General Session

53A-20-104 Enforcement of chapter by state superintendent -- Employment of personnel --
School districts and charter schools -- Certificate of inspection verification.
(1) The state superintendent of public instruction shall enforce this chapter.
(2) The superintendent may employ architects or other qualified personnel, or contract with the

State Building Board, the state fire marshal, or a local governmental entity to:
(a) examine the plans and specifications of any school building or alteration submitted under this

chapter;
(b) verify the inspection of any school building during or following construction; and
(c) perform other functions necessary to ensure compliance with this chapter.

(3)
(a)

(i) If a local school board uses the school district's building inspector under Subsection
10-9a-305(6)(a)(ii) or 17-27a-305(6)(a)(ii) and issues its own certificate authorizing
permanent occupancy of the school building, the local school board shall file a certificate
of inspection verification with the local governmental entity's building official and the State
Board of Education, advising those entities that the school district has complied with the
inspection provisions of this chapter.

(ii) If a charter school uses a school district building inspector under Subsection 10-9a-305(6)
(a)(ii) or 17-27a-305(6)(a)(ii) and the school district issues to the charter school a certificate
authorizing permanent occupancy of the school building, the charter school shall file with the
State Board of Education a certificate of inspection verification.

(iii) If a local school board or charter school uses a local governmental entity's building
inspector under Subsection 10-9a-305(6)(a)(i) or 17-27a-305(6)(a)(i) and the local
governmental entity issues the local school board or charter school a certificate authorizing
permanent occupancy of the school building, the local school board or charter school shall
file with the State Board of Education a certificate of inspection verification.

(iv)
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(A) If a local school board or charter school uses an independent, certified building inspector
under Subsection 10-9a-305(6)(a)(iii) or 17-27a-305(6)(a)(iii), the local school board or
charter school shall, upon completion of all required inspections of the school building, file
with the State Board of Education a certificate of inspection verification and a request for
the issuance of a certificate authorizing permanent occupancy of the school building.

(B) Upon the local school board's or charter school's filing of the certificate and request as
provided in Subsection (3)(a)(iv)(A), the school district or charter school shall be entitled to
temporary occupancy of the school building that is the subject of the request for a period
of 90 days, beginning the date the request is filed, if the school district or charter school
has complied with all applicable fire and life safety code requirements.

(C) Within 30 days after the local school board or charter school files a request under
Subsection (3)(a)(iv)(A) for a certificate authorizing permanent occupancy of the school
building, the state superintendent of public instruction shall:

(I)
(Aa) issue to the local school board or charter school a certificate authorizing permanent

occupancy of the school building; or
(Bb) deliver to the local school board or charter school a written notice indicating

deficiencies in the school district's or charter school's compliance with the inspection
provisions of this chapter; and

(II) mail a copy of the certificate authorizing permanent occupancy or the notice of deficiency
to the building official of the local governmental entity in which the school building is
located.

(D) Upon the local school board or charter school remedying the deficiencies indicated in the
notice under Subsection (3)(a)(iv)(C)(I)(Bb) and notifying the state superintendent of public
instruction that the deficiencies have been remedied, the state superintendent of public
instruction shall issue a certificate authorizing permanent occupancy of the school building
and mail a copy of the certificate to the building official of the local governmental entity in
which the school building is located.

(E)
(I) The state superintendent of public instruction may charge the school district or charter

school a fee for an inspection that the superintendent considers necessary to enable
the superintendent to issue a certificate authorizing permanent occupancy of the school
building.

(II) A fee under Subsection (3)(a)(iv)(E)(I) may not exceed the actual cost of performing the
inspection.

(b) For purposes of this Subsection (3):
(i) "local governmental entity" means either a municipality, for a school building located within a

municipality, or a county, for a school building located within an unincorporated area in the
county; and

(ii) "certificate of inspection verification" means a standard inspection form developed by the
state superintendent in consultation with local school boards and charter schools to verify
that inspections by qualified inspectors have occurred.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-20-104.5 School building construction and inspection manual -- Annual construction
and inspection conference -- Verification of school construction inspections.
(1)
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(a) The State Board of Education, through the state superintendent of public instruction, shall
develop and distribute to each school district a school building construction and inspection
resource manual.

(b) The manual shall be provided to a charter school upon request of the charter school.
(2)

(a) The manual shall include:
(i) current legal requirements; and
(ii) information on school building construction and inspections, including the guidelines

adopted by the State Board of Education in accordance with Section 53A-20-110.
(b) The state superintendent shall review and update the manual at least once every three years.

(3) The board shall provide for an annual school construction conference to allow a representative
from each school district and charter school to:

(a) receive current information on the design, construction, and inspection of school buildings;
(b) receive training on such matters as:

(i) using properly certified building inspectors;
(ii) filing construction inspection summary reports and the final inspection certification with the

local governmental authority's building official;
(iii) the roles and relationships between a school district or charter school and the local

governmental authority, either a county or municipality, as related to the construction and
inspection of school buildings; and

(iv) adequate documentation of school building inspections; and
(c) provide input on any changes that may be needed to improve the existing school building

inspection program.
(4) The board shall develop a process to verify that inspections by qualified inspectors occur in

each school district or charter school.

Amended by Chapter 309, 2014 General Session

53A-20-105 Licensed architect to prepare plans.
          A licensed architect shall prepare the plans and specifications for the construction or alteration

of school buildings.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-20-106 Power of board regarding expected federal aid to build schools.
          For the purpose of participating in any program of assistance by the government of the United

States designed to aid the various states, their political subdivisions and their educational agencies
and institutions in providing adequate educational buildings and facilities, the State Board of
Education, with the approval of the governor, may do the following:
(1) It may develop and implement plans relating to the building of educational buildings for the use

and benefit of school districts and educational institutions and agencies of the state.  These
plans may conform to the requirements of federal legislation to such extent as the board finds
necessary to qualify the state and its educational subdivisions, agencies, and institutions for
federal educational building grants-in-aid.

(2) It may enter into agreements on behalf of the state, its school districts, and its educational
agencies and institutions with the federal government and its agencies, and with the school
districts, educational agencies, and institutions of the state, as necessary to comply with federal
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legislation and to secure for them rights of participation as necessary to fulfill the educational
building needs of the state.

(3) It may accept, allocate, disburse, and otherwise deal with federal funds or other assets that are
available for buildings from any federal legislation or program of assistance among the school
districts, public educational agencies, and other public institutions eligible to participate in those
programs.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-20-108 Notification to affected entities of intent to acquire school site or construction of
school building -- Local government -- Negotiation of fees -- Confidentiality.
(1)

(a) A school district or charter school shall notify the following without delay prior to the
acquisition of a school site or construction of a school building of the school district's or
charter school's intent to acquire or construct:

(i) an affected local governmental entity;
(ii) the Department of Transportation; and
(iii) as defined in Section 54-2-1, an electrical corporation, gas corporation, or telephone

corporation that provides service or maintains infrastructure within the immediate area of the
proposed site.

(b)
(i) Representatives of the local governmental entity, Department of Transportation, and the

school district or charter school shall meet as soon as possible after the notification under
Subsection (1)(a) takes place in order to:

(A) subject to Subsection (1)(b)(ii), review information provided by the school district or
charter school about the proposed acquisition;

(B) discuss concerns that each may have, including potential community impacts and site
safety;

(C) assess the availability of infrastructure for the site; and
(D) discuss any fees that might be charged by the local governmental entity in connection

with a building project.
(ii) The school district or charter school shall provide for review under Subsection (1)(b)(i) the

following information, if available, regarding the proposed acquisition:
(A) potential community impacts;
(B) approximate lot size;
(C) approximate building size and use;
(D) estimated student enrollment;
(E) proposals for ingress and egress, parking, and fire lane location; and
(F) building footprint and location.

(2)
(a) After the purchase or an acquisition, but before construction begins:

(i) representatives of the local governmental entity and the school district or charter school
shall meet as soon as possible to review a rough proposed site plan provided by the school
district or charter school, review the information listed in Subsection (1)(b)(ii), and negotiate
any fees that might be charged by the local governmental entity in connection with a
building project;

(ii)



Utah Code

Page 483

(A) the school district or charter school shall submit the rough proposed site plan to the local
governmental entity's design review committee for comments; and

(B) subject to the priority requirement of Subsection 10-9a-305(7)(b), the local governmental
entity's design review committee shall provide comments on the rough proposed site plan
to the school district or charter school no later than 30 days after the day that the plan is
submitted to the design review committee in accordance with this Subsection (2)(a)(ii);
and

(iii) the local governmental entity may require that the school district or charter school provide
a traffic study by an independent third party qualified to perform the study if the local
governmental entity determines that traffic flow, congestion, or other traffic concerns may
require the study if otherwise permitted under Subsection 10-9a-305(3)(b).

(b) A review conducted by or comment provided by a local governmental entity design review
committee under Subsection (2)(a) may not be interpreted as an action that completes a land
use application for the purpose of entitling the school district or charter school to a substantive
land use review of a land use application under Section 10-9a-509 or 17-27a-508.

(3) A local governmental entity may not increase a previously agreed-upon fee after the district or
charter school has signed contracts to begin construction.

(4) Prior to the filing of a formal application by the affected school district or charter school, a local
governmental entity may not disclose information obtained from a school district or charter
school regarding the district's or charter school's consideration of, or intent to, acquire a school
site or construct a school building, without first obtaining the consent of the district or charter
school.

(5) Prior to beginning construction on a school site, a school district or charter school shall submit
to the Department of Transportation a child access routing plan as described in Section
53A-3-402.

Amended by Chapter 334, 2016 General Session

53A-20-109 Required contract terms.
          A contract for the construction of a school building shall contain a clause that addresses the

rights of the parties when, after the contract is executed, site conditions are discovered that:
(1) the contractor did not know existed, and could not have reasonably known existed, at the time

that the contract was executed; and
(2) materially impacts the costs of construction.

Enacted by Chapter 330, 2012 General Session

53A-20-110 Board to adopt public school construction guidelines.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(b) "Public school construction" means construction work on a new public school.

(2)
(a) The board shall:

(i) adopt guidelines for public school construction; and
(ii) consult with the Division of Facilities Construction and Management Administration on

proposed guidelines before adoption.
(b) The board shall ensure that guidelines adopted under Subsection (2)(a)(i) maximize funds

used for public school construction and reflect efficient and economic use of those funds,
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including adopting guidelines that address a school's essential needs rather than encouraging
or endorsing excessive costs per square foot of construction or nonessential facilities, design,
or furnishings.

(3) Before a school district or charter school may begin public school construction, the school
district or charter school shall:

(a) review the guidelines adopted by the board under this section; and
(b) take into consideration the guidelines when planning the public school construction.

(4) In adopting the guidelines for public school construction, the board shall consider the following
and adopt alternative guidelines as needed:

(a) location factors, including whether the school is in a rural or urban setting, and climate factors;
(b) variations in guidelines for significant or minimal projected student population growth;
(c) guidelines specific to schools that serve various populations and grades, including high

schools, junior high schools, middle schools, elementary schools, alternative schools, and
schools for people with disabilities; and

(d) year-round use.
(5) The guidelines shall address the following:

(a) square footage per student;
(b) minimum and maximum required real property for a public school;
(c) athletic facilities and fields, playgrounds, and hard surface play areas;
(d) cost per square foot;
(e) minimum and maximum qualities and costs for building materials;
(f) design efficiency;
(g) parking;
(h) furnishing;
(i) proof of compliance with applicable building codes; and
(j) safety.

Enacted by Chapter 309, 2014 General Session

Chapter 20b
Charter School Financing

Part 1
Utah Charter School Finance Authority

53A-20b-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Charter School Financing Act."

Amended by Chapter 201, 2012 General Session

53A-20b-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Annual charter school enrollment" means the total enrollment of all students in the state
enrolled in a charter school in grades kindergarten through grade 12, based on October 1
enrollment counts.
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(2) "Annual state enrollment" means the total enrollment of all students in the state enrolled in a
public school in grades kindergarten through grade 12, based on October 1 enrollment counts.

(3) "Authority" means the Utah Charter School Finance Authority created by this part.
(4) "Board" means the governing board of the authority described in Section 53A-20b-103.
(5) "Charter school" means a school created under Title 53A, Chapter 1a, Part 5, The Utah Charter

Schools Act.
(6) "Credit enhancement program" means the Charter School Credit Enhancement Program

established in Part 2, Charter School Credit Enhancement Program.
(7) "Debt service reserve fund" means the reserve fund created or established by, or for the benefit

of, a qualifying charter school for the purpose of paying principal of and interest on bonds
issued under the credit enhancement program as the payments become due and other money
of the qualifying charter school is not available to make the payments.

(8) "Debt service reserve fund requirement" means, as of a particular date of computation, and with
respect to a particular issue of bonds, the amount required to be on deposit in the debt service
reserve fund, which amount:

(a) may be a sum certain or as set forth in a formula; and
(b) may not be less than the maximum annual debt service requirement for the related bonds.

(9)
(a) "Obligations" mean any notes, debentures, revenue bonds, or other evidences of financial

indebtedness, except as provided in Subsection (9)(b).
(b) "Obligations" do not include general obligation bonds.

(10) "Project" means:
(a) any building, structure, or property owned, to be acquired, or used by a charter school for

any of its educational purposes and the related appurtenances, easements, rights-of-way,
improvements, paving, utilities, landscaping, parking facilities, and lands; or

(b) any capital equipment owned, to be acquired, or used by a charter school for any of its
educational purposes, interests in land, and grounds, together with the personal property
necessary, convenient, or appurtenant to them.

(11) "Qualifying charter school" means a charter school that:
(a) meets standards adopted by the authority for participation in the credit enhancement

program; and
(b) is designated by the authority as a qualifying charter school for purposes of participation in

the credit enhancement program.
(12) "Reserve account" means the Charter School Reserve Account created in Section

53A-20b-301.

Amended by Chapter 201, 2012 General Session

53A-20b-103 Utah Charter School Finance Authority created -- Members -- Compensation --
Services.
(1) There is created a body politic and corporate known as the Utah Charter School Finance

Authority.  The authority is created to provide an efficient and cost-effective method of financing
charter school facilities.

(2) The governing board of the authority shall be composed of:
(a) the governor or the governor's designee;
(b) the state treasurer; and
(c) the state superintendent of public instruction or the state superintendent's designee.
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(3) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but may receive
per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:

(a) Section 63A-3-106;
(b) Section 63A-3-107; and
(c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.

(4) Upon request, the State Board of Education shall provide staff support to the authority.

Amended by Chapter 201, 2012 General Session

53A-20b-104 Powers and duties of authority.
(1) The authority shall have perpetual succession as a body politic and corporate.
(2) The authority may:

(a) sue and be sued in its own name;
(b) have, and alter at will, an official seal;
(c) contract with experts, advisers, consultants, and agents for needed services;
(d) receive and accept aid or contributions from any source, including the United States or this

state, in the form of money, property, labor, or other things of value to be held, used, and
applied to carry out the purposes of this part, subject to the conditions upon which the aid and
contributions are made, for any purpose consistent with this part;

(e) exercise the powers granted to municipalities and counties pursuant to Title 11, Chapter
17, Utah Industrial Facilities and Development Act, including the power to borrow money
and issue obligations, including refunding obligations, subject to the same limitations as that
imposed on a municipality or county under the act, except:

(i) the authority may only exercise powers under the act to finance or refinance a project as
defined in Section 53A-20b-102; and

(ii) the authority's area of operation shall include all areas of the state;
(f) employ advisers, consultants, and agents, including financial experts, independent legal

counsel, and any advisers, consultants, and agents as may be necessary in its judgment and
fix their compensation;

(g) make and execute contracts and other instruments necessary or convenient for the
performance of its duties and the exercise of its powers and functions;

(h) in accordance with Section 53A-20b-201, designate a charter school as a qualifying charter
school for purposes of participation in the credit enhancement program; and

(i) have and exercise any other powers or duties that are necessary or appropriate to carry out
and effectuate the purposes of this chapter.

(3) Except as provided in Part 2, Charter School Credit Enhancement Program, the Utah Charter
School Finance Authority may not exercise power in any manner which would create general or
moral obligations of the state or of any agency, department, or political subdivision of the state.

Amended by Chapter 201, 2012 General Session

53A-20b-105 Limited obligations.
          Except as provided in Part 2, Charter School Credit Enhancement Program, bonds, notes, and

other obligations issued by the authority:
(1) do not constitute a debt, moral obligation, or liability of the state, or of any county, city, town,

school district, or any other political subdivision of the state;
(2) do not constitute the loan of credit of the state or of any county, city, town, school district, or any

other political subdivision of the state; and
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(3) may not be paid from funds other than loan payments or lease revenues received from a
charter school or other funds pledged by a charter school.

Amended by Chapter 201, 2012 General Session

53A-20b-106 State to succeed to property of authority when encumbrances paid or authority
dissolved.
(1) If the authority is dissolved at any time, for any reason, all funds, property, rights, and interests

of the authority, following the satisfaction of the authority's obligations, shall immediately vest in
and become the property of the state, which shall succeed to all rights of the authority subject
to any encumbrances which may then exist on any particular properties.

(2) None of the net earnings of the authority shall inure to the benefit of any private person.

Enacted by Chapter 167, 2007 General Session

Part 2
Charter School Credit Enhancement Program

53A-20b-201 Charter School Credit Enhancement Program -- Standards for the designation
of qualifying charter schools -- Debt service reserve fund requirements.
(1) There is created the Charter School Credit Enhancement Program to assist qualifying charter

schools in obtaining favorable financing by providing a means of replenishing a qualifying
charter school's debt service reserve fund.

(2) The authority shall establish standards for a charter school to be designated as a qualifying
charter school.

(3) In establishing the standards described in Subsection (2) the authority shall consider:
(a) whether a charter school has received an investment grade rating, independent of any rating

enhancement resulting from the issuance of bonds pursuant to the credit enhancement
program;

(b) the location of the charter school's project;
(c) the operating history of the charter school;
(d) the financial strength of the charter school; and
(e) any other criteria the authority determines are relevant.

(4) The bonds issued by the authority for a qualifying charter school are not an indebtedness of the
state or of the authority but are special obligations payable solely from:

(a) the revenues or other funds pledged by the qualifying charter school; and
(b) amounts appropriated by the Legislature pursuant to Subsection (9).

(5) The authority shall notify the authorizer of a charter school that the charter school is
participating in the credit enhancement program if the authority:

(a) designates the charter school as a qualifying charter school; and
(b) issues bonds for the qualifying charter school under the credit enhancement program.

(6) One or more debt service reserve funds shall be established for a qualifying charter school with
respect to bonds issued pursuant to the credit enhancement program.

(7)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (7)(b), money in a debt service reserve fund may not be

withdrawn from the debt service reserve fund if the amount withdrawn would reduce the
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level of money in the debt service reserve fund to less than the debt service reserve fund
requirement.

(b) So long as the applicable bonds issued under the credit enhancement program remain
outstanding, money in a debt service reserve fund may be withdrawn in an amount that
would reduce the level of money in the debt service reserve fund to less than the debt service
reserve fund requirement if the money is withdrawn for the purpose of:

(i) paying the principal of, redemption price of, or interest on a bond when due and if no other
money of the qualifying charter school is available to make the payment, as determined by
the authority; or

(ii) paying any redemption premium required to be paid when the bonds are redeemed prior to
maturity if no bonds will remain outstanding upon payment from the funds in the qualifying
charter school's debt service reserve fund.

(8) Money in a qualifying charter school's debt service reserve fund that exceeds the debt service
reserve fund requirement may be withdrawn by the qualifying charter school.

(9)
(a) The authority shall annually, on or before December 1, certify to the governor the amount, if

any, required to restore amounts on deposit in the debt service reserve funds of qualifying
charter schools to the respective debt service reserve fund requirements.

(b) The governor shall request from the Legislature an appropriation of the certified amount to
restore amounts on deposit in the debt service reserve funds of qualifying charter schools to
the respective debt service reserve fund requirements.

(c) The Legislature may appropriate money to the authority to restore amounts on deposit in the
debt service reserve funds of qualifying charter schools to the respective debt service reserve
fund requirements.

(d) A qualifying charter school that receives money from an appropriation to restore amounts
on deposit in a debt service reserve fund to the debt service reserve fund requirement, shall
repay the state at the time and in the manner as the authority shall require.

(10) The authority may create and establish other funds for its purposes.

Amended by Chapter 363, 2014 General Session

53A-20b-202 Charter School Reserve Account contribution requirements for qualifying
charter schools.
(1) When bonds are issued under the credit enhancement program for a qualifying charter school,

the qualifying charter school shall contribute money to the reserve account in the amount
determined as provided in Subsection (2).

(2) The authority shall determine the up-front and ongoing requirements for contributions of money
to the reserve account for each qualifying charter school.

Enacted by Chapter 201, 2012 General Session

53A-20b-203 Bond issuance.
(1)

(a) The state may not alter, impair, or limit the rights of bondholders or persons contracting with a
qualifying charter school until the bonds, including interest and other contractual obligations,
are fully met and discharged.
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(b) Nothing in this chapter precludes an alteration, impairment, or limitation if provision is made
by law for the protection of bondholders or persons entering into contracts with a qualifying
charter school.

(2) The authority may require a qualifying charter school to vest in the authority the right to enforce
any covenant made to secure bonds issued under the credit enhancement program by making
appropriate provisions in the indenture related to the qualifying charter school's bonds.

(3) The authority may require a qualifying charter school to make covenants and agreements
in indentures or in a reimbursement agreement to protect the interests of the state and to
secure repayment to the state of any money received by the qualifying charter school from
an appropriation to restore amounts deposited in the qualifying charter school's debt service
reserve fund to the debt service reserve fund requirement.

(4) The authority may charge a fee to administer the issuance of bonds for a qualifying charter
school.

Enacted by Chapter 201, 2012 General Session

53A-20b-204 Limitation on participation in Charter School Credit Enhancement Program.
(1) In accordance with Subsection (2), on or before January 1 of each year, the authority shall

determine the credit enhancement program's bond issuance limitation.
(2) The authority may not issue bonds for a qualifying charter school under the credit enhancement

program if the total par amount outstanding under the program would exceed an amount equal
to the product of:

(a) 1.3;
(b) an amount equal to the quotient of:

(i) annual charter school enrollment; divided by
(ii) annual state enrollment; and

(c) the total par amount then outstanding under the school bond guarantee program established
in Chapter 28, Utah School Bond Guaranty Act.

Enacted by Chapter 201, 2012 General Session

Part 3
Charter School Reserve Account

53A-20b-301 Charter School Reserve Account.
(1) There is created within the Education Fund a restricted account known as the "Charter School

Reserve Account."
(2) The reserve account consists of:

(a) money credited to the account pursuant to Section 53A-20b-202;
(b) money appropriated to the account by the Legislature;
(c) all income and interest derived from the deposit and investment of money in the account;
(d) federal grants; and
(e) private donations.

(3) Money in the reserve account may be appropriated by the Legislature to:
(a) restore amounts on deposit in a debt service reserve fund of a qualifying charter school to the

debt service reserve fund requirement;
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(b) pay fees and expenses of the authority;
(c) pay the principal of and interest on bonds issued for a qualifying charter school; or
(d) otherwise provide financial assistance to a qualifying charter school.

Enacted by Chapter 201, 2012 General Session

Chapter 21
Public Education Capital Outlay Act

Part 1
General Provisions

53A-21-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Public Education Capital Outlay Act."

Repealed and Re-enacted by Chapter 326, 1996 General Session

53A-21-101.5 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "ADM" or "pupil in average daily membership" is as defined in Section 53A-17a-103.
(2) "Base tax effort rate" means the average of:

(a) the highest combined capital levy rate; and
(b) the average combined capital levy rate for the school districts statewide.

(3) "Combined capital levy rate" means a rate that includes the sum of the following property tax
levies:

(a)
(i) the capital outlay levy authorized in Section 53A-16-107;
(ii) the portion of the 10% of basic levy described in Section 53A-17a-145 that is budgeted for

debt service or capital outlay;
(iii) the debt service levy authorized in Section 11-14-310; and
(iv) the voted capital outlay leeway authorized in Section 53A-16-110; or

(b)
(i) the capital local levy authorized in Section 53A-16-113; and
(ii) the debt service levy authorized in Section 11-14-310.

(4) "Derived net taxable value" means the quotient of:
(a) the total property tax collections from April 1 through the following March 31 for a school

district for the calendar year preceding the March 31 date; divided by
(b) the school district's total tax rate for the calendar year preceding the March 31 referenced in

Subsection (4)(a).
(5) "Highest combined capital levy rate" means the highest combined capital levy rate imposed by

a school district within the state for a fiscal year.
(6) "Property tax base per ADM" means the quotient of:

(a) a school district's derived net taxable value; divided by
(b) the school district's ADM.

(7) "Property tax yield per ADM" means:
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(a) the product of:
(i) a school district's derived net taxable value; and
(ii) the base tax effort rate; divided by

(b) the school district's ADM.
(8) "Statewide average property tax base per ADM" means the quotient of:

(a) the sum of all school districts' derived net taxable value; divided by
(b) the sum of all school districts' ADM.

Amended by Chapter 371, 2011 General Session

53A-21-102 Capital outlay programs -- Use of funds.
          A school district may only use the money provided under this chapter for school district capital

outlay and debt service purposes.

Amended by Chapter 236, 2008 General Session

Part 2
Capital Outlay Foundation Program

53A-21-201 Capital Outlay Foundation Program -- Creation -- Definitions.
(1) There is created the Capital Outlay Foundation Program to provide capital outlay funding to a

school district based on a district's local property tax effort and property tax yield per student
compared to a foundation guarantee funding level.

(2) As used in this part:
(a) "Foundation guarantee level per ADM" means a minimum revenue amount per ADM

generated by the base tax effort rate, including the following:
(i) the revenue generated locally from a school district's combined capital levy rate; and
(ii) the revenue allocated to a school district by the State Board of Education in accordance with

Section 53A-21-202.
(b) "Qualifying school district" means a school district with a property tax yield per ADM less than

the foundation guarantee level per ADM.
(3) "Small school district" means a school district that has fewer than 1,000 pupils in average daily

membership.

Amended by Chapter 185, 2010 General Session

53A-21-202 Capital Outlay Foundation Program -- Distribution formulas -- Allocations.
(1)

(a) The State Board of Education shall determine the foundation guarantee level per ADM that
fully allocates the funds appropriated to the State Board of Education for distribution under
this section.

(b) In determining the foundation guarantee level per ADM and a school district's allocation of
funds under this part, the State Board of Education shall use data from the fiscal year that is
two years prior to the fiscal year the school district receives the allocation, including the:

(i) number of pupils in average daily membership;
(ii) tax rates; and
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(iii) derived net taxable value.
(2) By June 1, a county treasurer shall report to the State Board of Education the actual collections

of property taxes in the school districts located within the county treasurer's county for the
period beginning April 1 through the following March 31 immediately preceding that June 1.

(3) If a qualifying school district imposes a combined capital levy rate that is greater than or equal
to the base tax effort rate, the State Board of Education shall allocate to the qualifying school
district an amount equal to the product of the following:

(a) the qualifying school district's ADM; and
(b) an amount equal to the difference between the following:

(i) the foundation guarantee level per ADM, as determined in accordance with Subsection (1);
and

(ii) the qualifying school district's property tax yield per ADM.
(4) If a qualifying school district imposes a combined capital levy rate less than the base tax effort

rate, the State Board of Education shall allocate to the qualifying school district an amount
equal to the product of the following:

(a) the qualifying school district's ADM;
(b) an amount equal to the difference between the following:

(i) the foundation guarantee level per ADM; and
(ii) the qualifying school district's property tax yield per ADM; and

(c) a percentage equal to:
(i) the qualifying school district's combined capital levy rate; divided by
(ii) the base tax effort rate.

(5)
(a) The State Board of Education shall allocate:

(i) a minimum of $200,000 to each small school district with a property tax base per ADM less
than or equal to the statewide average property tax base per ADM;

(ii) a minimum of $100,000 to each small school district with a property tax base per ADM that
is:

(A) greater than the statewide average property tax base per ADM; and
(B) less than or equal to two times the statewide average property tax base per ADM; and

(iii) a minimum of $50,000 to each small school district with a property tax base per ADM that
is:

(A) greater than two times the statewide average property tax base per ADM; and
(B) less than or equal to five times the statewide average property tax base per ADM.

(b) The State Board of Education shall incorporate the minimum allocations described in
Subsection (5)(a) in its calculation of the foundation guarantee level per ADM determined in
accordance with Subsection (1).

Amended by Chapter 185, 2010 General Session

Part 3
Capital Outlay Enrollment Growth Program

53A-21-301 Capital Outlay Enrollment Growth Program -- Definitions.
(1) There is created the Capital Outlay Enrollment Growth Program to provide capital outlay

funding to school districts experiencing net enrollment increases.
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(2) As used in this part:
(a) "Average annual net enrollment increase" means the quotient of:

(i)
(A) enrollment in the prior fiscal year, based on October 1 enrollment counts; minus
(B) enrollment in the year four years prior, based on October 1 enrollment counts; divided by

(ii) three.
(b) "Eligible district" or "eligible school district" means a school district that:

(i) has an average annual net enrollment increase; and
(ii) has a property tax base per ADM in the year two years prior that is less than two times the

statewide average property tax base per ADM in the year two years prior.

Amended by Chapter 185, 2010 General Session

53A-21-302 Capital Outlay Enrollment Growth Program -- Distribution formulas --
Allocations.
(1) For fiscal years beginning on or after July 1, 2008, the State Board of Education shall annually

allocate appropriated funds to eligible school districts in accordance with Subsection (2).
(2) The State Board of Education shall allocate to an eligible school district an amount equal to the

product of:
(a) the quotient of:

(i) the eligible school district's average annual net enrollment increase; divided by
(ii) the sum of the average annual net enrollment increase in all eligible school districts; and

(b) the total amount appropriated for the Capital Outlay Enrollment Growth Program in that fiscal
year.

Enacted by Chapter 236, 2008 General Session

Part 4
School Building Revolving Account

53A-21-401 School Building Revolving Account -- Access to the account.
(1)

(a) There is created within the Uniform School Fund a restricted account known as the "School
Building Revolving Account" to provide short-term help to school districts to meet district
needs for school building construction and renovation.

(b) The state superintendent of public instruction shall administer the School Building Revolving
Account in accordance with rules adopted by the State Board of Education.

(2) The State Board of Education may not allocate funds from the School Building Revolving
Account that exceed a school district’s bonding limit minus its outstanding bonds.

(3) In order to receive money from the School Building Revolving Account, a school district shall:
(a) levy a combined capital levy rate of at least .0024;
(b) contract with the state superintendent of public instruction to repay the money, with interest at

a rate established by the state superintendent, within five years of receipt, using future state
capital outlay allocations, local revenues, or both;
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(c) levy sufficient ad valorem taxes under Section 11-14-310 to guarantee annual loan
repayments, unless the state superintendent of public instruction alters the payment schedule
to improve a hardship situation; and

(d) meet any other condition established by the State Board of Education pertinent to the loan.
(4)

(a) The state superintendent shall establish a committee, including representatives from state
and local education entities, to:

(i) review requests by school districts for loans under this section; and
(ii) make recommendations regarding approval or disapproval of the loan applications to the

state superintendent.
(b) If the committee recommends approval of a loan application under Subsection (4)(a)(ii), the

committee’s recommendation shall include:
(i) the recommended amount of the loan;
(ii) the payback schedule; and
(iii) the interest rate to be charged.

Amended by Chapter 30, 2011 General Session
Amended by Chapter 303, 2011 General Session

Chapter 22
Construction of Schools in Districts with New Industrial Plants

53A-22-101 Purpose of chapter.
          It is the purpose of this chapter to provide school districts with the ability to raise funds for

necessary new school construction, including additions to existing school buildings caused by the
development of industrial plants that require large numbers of workers for their construction and
operation.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-22-102 New industrial plants in school district -- Duty of school district.
          A school district confronted with actual or anticipated large increases in enrollment because of

the construction of a new industrial plant or plants to a degree that new buildings or additions to
existing buildings are required shall make the following efforts to raise funds to meet those building
needs:
(1) bond to its maximum capacity and maintain maximum bonding by rebonding at least once

every other year until building needs are met;
(2) maintain an annual property tax levy for capital outlay and debt service combined of not less

than .0036 per dollar of taxable value; and
(3) initiate any action necessary to qualify for any state, federal, or other funds for capital outlay for

which the district may be eligible.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-22-103 Funds raised -- Highest priority projects.



Utah Code

Page 495

(1) Funds raised by the school district in accordance with this chapter shall be used on the highest
priority projects established by the district's five-year comprehensive capital outlay plan, which
shall be approved by the State Board of Education.

(2) The plan must include appropriate priorities for the construction of minimal facilities for new
students.

(3) If priority use of the funds raised by the district in accordance with this chapter does not provide
minimal facilities as defined by the State Board of Education for students in any new and
remote community established in the district, or for students in existing communities because
of the location of new or expanded industries in the area, the district may enter into lease-
purchase agreements or lease with option to purchase agreements with private builders
to furnish the minimal facilities required by the district and approved by the State Board of
Education.

(4) The district may make payments on these agreements from any of its otherwise uncommitted
capital outlay funds.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-22-104 Minimal school facilities -- Lease-purchase or lease with option to purchase
agreement authorized.
(1) If a school district is unable to find any private builder who is capable of furnishing minimal

school facilities in new or existing communities, on terms acceptable to the district and to the
State Board of Education, the developers of the industrial plant, or plants, may agree to provide
minimal school facilities under a lease-purchase agreement or lease with option to purchase
agreement with the district.

(2) The district shall pay the developers according to the terms of the agreement from sources
listed for such payments in this chapter.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-22-105 Remote industrial plant requiring new school building -- Construction permit
requirements.

          A state officer or local governmental official may not issue a construction permit or other
authorization for the construction of a remote industrial plant requiring the provision of a new
community, including new public elementary and secondary school buildings, until the local school
board of the district in which the plant will be located has certified to the state office or local official,
in writing, that the district has obtained the funds, or a firm commitment that funds will be made
available as necessary, to build the required minimal school facilities.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-22-106 Rules and regulations authorized.
          The State Board of Education shall adopt all standards and rules necessary for the

administration and enforcement of this chapter.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session
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Chapter 23
Building Reserve Fund

53A-23-101 School board reserve fund.
          Each local school board may establish and maintain a reserve fund to accumulate funds to meet

the capital outlay costs of the school district, including costs for planning, constructing, replacing,
improving, equipping, and furnishing school buildings and purchasing school sites.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-23-102 Revenues to be allocated to fund.
          A local school board may annually allocate to the fund any revenues from the state which are

made available for capital outlay purposes, and not otherwise earmarked, and such other revenues
as the school district may raise locally for this purpose.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-23-103 Building Reserve Fund -- Investment of fund.
(1) The fund shall be known as the Building Reserve Fund of _________ (name of school district)

School District.
(2) Any interest or capital gains accrue to the benefit of the fund.
(3) The fund may only be invested as provided in Title 51, Chapter 7, State Money Management

Act of 1974.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

53A-23-104 Accumulations -- Expenditures from fund -- Public notice -- Transfer to other
funds.
(1) The money in the fund shall accumulate from year to year.
(2) However, the local school board may make expenditures from the fund if public notice is given

stating the purpose for which the expenditures are to be made.
(3) The procedure for giving public notice is set forth in Section 53A-19-102.
(4) Expenditures shall be made for capital outlay costs only.
(5) Money in the fund at the end of the year shall remain intact and may not be transferred to any

other fund or used for any other purpose.

Enacted by Chapter 2, 1988 General Session

Chapter 24
State Office of Rehabilitation Act

Part 6
Transition Plan for the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation

53A-24-601 Transition plan.
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(1) On or before June 1, 2016, the Department of Workforce Services and the Utah State Office
of Rehabilitation shall develop a written transition plan for moving the Utah State Office of
Rehabilitation from the State Board of Education to the Department of Workforce Services on
October 1, 2016, that describes:

(a) the tasks that need to be completed before the move on October 1, 2016, including a
description of:

(i) which employees, by job title and classification, will transition to the Utah State Office
of Rehabilitation under the Department of Workforce Services from the State Board of
Education and the expected transition dates;

(ii) office space and infrastructure requirements related to the transition;
(iii) any work site location changes for transitioning employees;
(iv) the transition of service delivery sites;
(v) amendments needed to existing contracts;
(vi) the provision of directions and information to Utah State Office of Rehabilitation clients

regarding where services will be provided and the hours services will be provided;
(vii) procedures for the transfer and reconciliation of budgeting and funding of the Utah State

Office of Rehabilitation as the office transitions from the State Board of Education to the
Department of Workforce Services; and

(viii) the transition of technology services to the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation;
(b) the tasks that need to be completed during the year after the move on October 1, 2016; and
(c) how the transition to the Department of Workforce Services will be funded, including details

of:
(i) how expenses associated with the transition will be managed;
(ii) how funding for services provided by the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation will be managed

between the State Board of Education and the Department of Workforce Services to ensure
services will be provided by the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation without interruption; and

(iii) how federal funds will be used by or transferred between the State Board of Education and
the Department of Workforce Services to ensure services will be provided by the Utah State
Office of Rehabilitation without interruption.

(2) The written transition plan shall:
(a) contain a timeline for the completion of the tasks described in Subsection (1)(a);
(b) be updated at least every two weeks until the transition is complete;
(c) describe how information will be provided to Utah Office of Rehabilitation clients regarding

any changes to where services will be provided and the hours services will be provided;
(d) be provided to the:

(i) State Board of Education and the superintendent of public instruction;
(ii) Division of Finance;
(iii) Utah State Office of Rehabilitation; and
(iv) Department of Technology Services; and

(e) be made available to transitioning or potentially transitioning employees.
(3) The Department of Workforce Services and the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation shall publish

information on their websites for Utah State Office of Rehabilitation clients and employees that
provides a full overview of the written transition plan and how the move will affect client services
offered by the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation, including regularly updated:

(a) information regarding the location where services are provided and the hours services are
provided; and

(b) contact information so that clients can contact transitioning employees and obtain information
regarding client services.
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(4) The Department of Workforce Services and the State Board of Education may enter into a
memorandum of understanding of how costs and responsibilities will be shared to:

(a) ensure that services provided under agreements with the federal government are fulfilled;
(b) ensure that commitments made by the State Board of Education with respect to the Utah

State Office of Rehabilitation are met;
(c) provide ongoing or shared services as needed, including the provision of payments to the

State Board of Education from the Department of Workforce Services; and
(d) ensure that money from the Office of Rehabilitation Transition Restricted Account, created in

Section 53A-24-602, is used appropriately by the Department of Workforce Services and the
State Board of Education.

(5) The Department of Workforce Services may not expend federal funds received from the United
States Rehabilitation Services Administration before October 1, 2016.

(6) In implementing the written transition plan described in this section, the Department of
Workforce Services and the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation shall:

(a) protect existing services, programs, and access to services provided by the Utah State Office
of Rehabilitation; and

(b) preserve the existing organizational structure and personnel assignments within the Utah
State Office of Rehabilitation.

Enacted by Chapter 271, 2016 General Session

53A-24-602 Office of Rehabilitation Transition Restricted Account.
(1) There is created a restricted account within the General Fund known as the "Office of

Rehabilitation Transition Restricted Account."
(2) The restricted account shall consist of appropriations made by the Legislature.
(3) Subject to appropriation, the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation, the Department of Workforce

Services, and the State Board of Education may spend money from the restricted account
to pay for commitments related to and services provided by the Utah State Office of
Rehabilitation, including expenses related to moving the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation
from the State Board of Education to the Department of Workforce Services.

Enacted by Chapter 271, 2016 General Session

Chapter 25a
Blind Persons' Literacy Rights and Education Act

Part 1
General Provisions

53A-25a-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "Blind Persons' Literacy Rights and Education Act."

Enacted by Chapter 280, 1994 General Session

53A-25a-102 Definitions.
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          As used in this chapter:
(1) "Blind student" means an individual between ages three through 21 who is eligible for special

education services and who:
(a) has a visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye with correcting lenses or has a limited

field of vision such that the widest diameter subtends an angular distance no greater than 20
degrees;

(b) has a medically indicated expectation of visual deterioration; or
(c) has functional blindness.

(2) "Braille" means the system of reading and writing through touch, commonly known as English
Braille.

(3) "Functional blindness" means a visual impairment that renders a student unable to read or write
print at a level commensurate with the student's cognitive abilities.

(4) "Individualized education program" or "IEP" means a written statement developed for a student
eligible for special education services pursuant to the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act,
20 U.S.C. Section 1414(d).

Amended by Chapter 189, 2014 General Session

53A-25a-103 Braille skills assessment -- Development of individualized education program.
(1) Any assessment required for a blind student shall include a Braille-related or Braille skills

assessment, including a statement of the individual's present level of performance.
(2)

(a) Prior to determining whether a blind student should use Braille as the primary reading
mode, the student's IEP team must be provided with detailed information about the use and
efficiency of Braille as a reading medium.

(b) The team shall acquire the information through pertinent literature or discussions with
competent Braille users and educators, or both, in order to make an informed choice as to the
student's primary reading mode.

(3) In developing an IEP for each blind student, there is a presumption that proficiency in Braille is
essential for the student to achieve satisfactory educational progress.

(4) The use of and instruction in Braille are not required under this section if, in the course of
developing the student's IEP, the team determines that the student's visual impairment does
not significantly affect reading and writing performance commensurate with ability.

(5) Nothing in this section requires the exclusive use of Braille if other special education services
are appropriate to meet the student's educational needs.

(6) The provision of other appropriate special education services does not preclude the use of
Braille or Braille instruction.

Enacted by Chapter 280, 1994 General Session

53A-25a-104 Instruction in reading and writing of Braille.
(1) Instruction in the reading and writing of Braille shall be sufficient to enable each blind student

to communicate effectively and efficiently with the same level of proficiency expected of the
student's peers of comparable ability and grade level.

(2) The student's IEP shall specify:
(a) the results obtained from the skills assessment required under Section 53A-25a-103;
(b) the manner in which Braille is to be implemented as a reading mode for learning in other

academic activities;
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(c) the date on which Braille instruction shall begin;
(d) the length of the period of instruction and the frequency and duration of each instructional

session;
(e) the projected level of competency in the reading and writing of Braille to be achieved by the

end of the IEP period and the objective assessment measures to be used; and
(f) if a decision has been made under Section 53A-25a-103 that Braille instruction or use is not

required for the student:
(i) a statement that the decision was reached after fully complying with Subsection

53A-25a-103(2); and
(ii) a statement of the reasons for choosing another reading mode.

Enacted by Chapter 280, 1994 General Session

53A-25a-105 Braille versions of textbooks.
(1) As a condition of the annual contract for instructional materials process and as a condition

of textbook acceptance, the State Board of Education shall require publishers of textbooks
recommended by the board to furnish, on request, their textbooks and related instructional
materials in an electronic file set, in conformance with the National Instructional Materials
Accessibility Standard, from which Braille versions of all or part of the textbook and related
instructional materials can be produced.

(2) When Braille translation software for specialty code translation becomes available, publishers
shall furnish, on request, electronic file sets, in conformance with the National Instructional
Materials Accessibility Standard, for nonliterary subjects such as mathematics and science.

Amended by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session

53A-25a-106 Licensing of teachers.
(1) As part of the licensing process, teachers licensed in the education of blind and visually

impaired students shall demonstrate their competence in reading and writing Braille.
(2)

(a) The State Board of Education shall adopt procedures to assess the competencies referred to
in Subsection (1), consistent with standards adopted by the National Library Service for the
Blind and Physically Handicapped.

(b) The board shall require teachers of the blind to meet the standards referred to in Subsection
(2)(a).

Amended by Chapter 224, 2000 General Session

Chapter 25b
Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind

Part 1
General Provisions

53A-25b-101 Title.
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          This chapter is known as the "Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind."

Enacted by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session

53A-25b-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Advisory council" means the Advisory Council for the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
(2) "Alternate format" includes braille, audio, or digital text, or large print.
(3) "Associate superintendent" means:

(a) the associate superintendent of the Utah School for the Deaf; or
(b) the associate superintendent of the Utah School for the Blind.

(4) "Blind" means:
(a) if the person is three years of age or older but younger than 22 years of age, having a

visual impairment that, even with correction, adversely affects educational performance or
substantially limits one or more major life activities; and

(b) if the person is younger than three years of age, having a visual impairment.
(5) "Blindness" means an impairment in vision in which central visual acuity:

(a) does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye with correcting lenses; or
(b) is accompanied by a limit to the field of vision in the better eye to such a degree that its widest

diameter subtends an angle of no greater than 20 degrees.
(6) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(7) "Cortical visual impairment" means a neurological visual disorder:

(a) that:
(i) affects the visual cortex or visual tracts of the brain;
(ii) is caused by damage to the visual pathways to the brain;
(iii) affects a person's visual discrimination, acuity, processing, and interpretation; and
(iv) is often present in conjunction with other disabilities or eye conditions that cause visual

impairment; and
(b) in which the eyes and optic nerves of the affected person appear normal and the person's

pupil responses are normal.
(8) "Deaf" means:

(a) if the person is three years of age or older but younger than 22 years of age, having a hearing
impairment, whether permanent or fluctuating, that, even with amplification, adversely affects
educational performance or substantially limits one or more major life activities; and

(b) if the person is younger than three years of age, having a hearing impairment.
(9) "Deafblind" means:

(a) if the person is three years of age or older but younger than 22 years of age:
(i) deaf;
(ii) blind; and
(iii) having hearing and visual impairments that cause such severe communication and other

developmental and educational needs that the person cannot be accommodated in special
education programs solely for students who are deaf or blind; or

(b) if the person is younger than three years of age, having both hearing and vision impairments
that are diagnosed as provided in Section 53A-25b-301.

(10) "Deafness" means a hearing loss so severe that the person is impaired in processing linguistic
information through hearing, with or without amplification.

(11) "Educator" means a person who holds:
(a)
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(i) a license issued under Title 53A, Chapter 6, Educator Licensing and Professional Practices
Act; and

(ii) a position as:
(A) a teacher;
(B) a speech pathologist;
(C) a librarian or media specialist;
(D) a preschool teacher;
(E) a guidance counselor;
(F) a school psychologist;
(G) an audiologist; or
(H) an orientation and mobility specialist; or

(b)
(i) a bachelor's degree or higher;
(ii) credentials from the governing body of the professional's area of practice; and
(iii) a position as:

(A) a Parent Infant Program consultant;
(B) a deafblind consultant;
(C) a school nurse;
(D) a physical therapist;
(E) an occupational therapist;
(F) a social worker; or
(G) a low vision specialist.

(12) "Functional blindness" means a disorder in which the physical structures of the eye may be
functioning, but the person does not attend to, examine, utilize, or accurately process visual
information.

(13) "Functional hearing loss" means a central nervous system impairment that results in abnormal
auditory perception, including an auditory processing disorder or auditory neuropathy/dys-
synchrony, in which parts of the auditory system may be functioning, but the person does not
attend to, respond to, localize, utilize, or accurately process auditory information.

(14) "Hard of hearing" means having a hearing loss, excluding deafness.
(15) "Hearing impairment" includes hard of hearing, deafness, or functional hearing loss.
(16) "Individualized education program" or "IEP" means:

(a) a written statement for a student with a disability that is developed, reviewed, and revised in
accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq.;
or

(b) an individualized family service plan developed:
(i) for a child with a disability who is younger than three years of age; and
(ii) in accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et

seq.
(17) "LEA" means a local education agency that has administrative control and direction for public

education.
(18) "LEA of record" means the school district of residence of a student as determined under

Section 53A-2-201.
(19) "Low vision" means an impairment in vision in which:

(a) visual acuity is at 20/70 or worse; or
(b) the visual field is reduced to less than 20 degrees.

(20) "Parent Infant Program" means a program at the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind that
provides services:
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(a) through an interagency agreement with the Department of Health to children younger than
three years of age who are deaf, blind, or deafblind; and

(b) to children younger than three years of age who are deafblind through Deafblind Services of
the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(21) "Section 504" means Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.
(22) "Section 504 accommodation plan" means a plan developed pursuant to Section 504 of

the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, to provide appropriate accommodations to an
individual with a disability to ensure access to major life activities.

(23) "Superintendent" means the superintendent of the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
(24) "Visual impairment" includes partial sightedness, low vision, blindness, cortical visual

impairment, functional blindness, and degenerative conditions that lead to blindness or severe
loss of vision.

Enacted by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session

53A-25b-103 Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind created -- Designated LEA -- Services
statewide.
(1) The Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind is created as a single public school agency that

includes:
(a) the Utah School for the Deaf;
(b) the Utah School for the Blind;
(c) programs for students who are deafblind; and
(d) the Parent Infant Program.

(2) Under the general control and supervision of the board, consistent with the board's
constitutional authority, the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind:

(a) may provide services to students statewide:
(i) who are deaf, blind, or deafblind; or
(ii) who are neither deaf, blind, nor deafblind, if allowed under rules of the board established

pursuant to Section 53A-25b-301; and
(b) shall serve as the designated LEA for a student and assume the responsibilities of providing

services as prescribed through the student's IEP or Section 504 accommodation plan when
the student's LEA of record, parent or legal guardian, and the Utah Schools for the Deaf and
the Blind determine that the student be placed at the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(3) When the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind becomes a student's designated LEA, the
LEA of record and the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall ensure that all rights
and requirements regarding individual student assessment, eligibility, services, placement,
and procedural safeguards provided through the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act,
20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq. and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended,
remain in force.

(4) Nothing in this section diminishes the responsibility of a student's LEA of record for the
education of the student as provided in Title 53A, Chapter 15, Part 3, Education of Children with
Disabilities.

Enacted by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session

53A-25b-104 Corporate powers.
(1) The Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind is a public corporation with perpetual succession

and a corporate seal.
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(2) The Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind may:
(a) sue and be sued;
(b) contract and be contracted with;
(c) take and hold by purchase, gift, devise, or bequest real and personal property required for its

uses; and
(d) convert property, if not suitable for its use, into other property or money.

(3) The property of the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind is exempt from taxes and
assessments.

Enacted by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session

53A-25b-105 Applicability of statutes to the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
(1) The Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind is subject to Title 53A, State System of Public

Education, and other state laws applicable to public schools, except as otherwise provided by
this chapter.

(2) The following provisions of Title 53A, State System of Public Education, do not apply to the
Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind:

(a) provisions governing the budgets, funding, or finances of school districts or charter schools;
and

(b) provisions governing school construction.
(3) Except as provided in this chapter, the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind is subject to

state laws governing state agencies, including:
(a)Title 51, Chapter 5, Funds Consolidation Act;
(b)Title 51, Chapter 7, State Money Management Act;
(c)Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act;
(d)Title 63A, Utah Administrative Services Code;
(e)Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and Management Act;
(f)Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act;
(g)Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code;
(h)Title 63J, Chapter 1, Budgetary Procedures Act;
(i)Title 63J, Chapter 2, Revenue Procedures and Control Act; and
(j)Title 67, Chapter 19, Utah State Personnel Management Act.

Amended by Chapter 347, 2012 General Session

Part 2
Governance

53A-25b-201 Authority of the State Board of Education -- Rulemaking -- Superintendent --
Advisory Council.
(1) The State Board of Education is the governing board of the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the

Blind.
(2)

(a) The board shall appoint a superintendent for the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
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(b) The board shall make rules in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative
Rulemaking Act, regarding the qualifications, terms of employment, and duties of the
superintendent for the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(3) The superintendent shall:
(a) subject to the approval of the board, appoint an associate superintendent to administer the

Utah School for the Deaf based on:
(i) demonstrated competency as an expert educator of deaf persons; and
(ii) knowledge of school management and the instruction of deaf persons;

(b) subject to the approval of the board, appoint an associate superintendent to administer the
Utah School for the Blind based on:

(i) demonstrated competency as an expert educator of blind persons; and
(ii) knowledge of school management and the instruction of blind persons, including an

understanding of the unique needs and education of deafblind persons.
(4)

(a) The board shall:
(i) establish an Advisory Council for the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind and appoint no

more than 11 members to the advisory council;
(ii) make rules in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act,

regarding the operation of the advisory council; and
(iii) receive and consider the advice and recommendations of the advisory council but is not

obligated to follow the recommendations of the advisory council.
(b) The advisory council described in Subsection (4)(a) shall include at least:

(i) two members who are blind;
(ii) two members who are deaf; and
(iii) two members who are deafblind or parents of a deafblind child.

(5) The board shall approve the annual budget and expenditures of the Utah Schools for the Deaf
and the Blind.

(6)
(a) On or before the November interim meeting each year, the board shall report to the Education

Interim Committee on the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
(b) The board shall ensure that the report described in Subsection (6)(a) includes:

(i) a financial report;
(ii) a report on the activities of the superintendent and associate superintendents;
(iii) a report on activities to involve parents and constituency and advocacy groups in the

governance of the school; and
(iv) a report on student achievement, including:

(A) longitudinal student achievement data for both current and previous students served by
the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind;

(B) graduation rates; and
(C) a description of the educational placement of students exiting the Utah Schools for the

Deaf and the Blind.

Amended by Chapter 188, 2016 General Session

Part 3
Services and Educational Programs



Utah Code

Page 506

53A-25b-301 Eligibility for services of the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
(1) Except as provided in Subsections (3) and (4), a person is eligible to receive services of the

Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind if the person is:
(a) a resident of Utah;
(b) younger than 22 years of age;
(c) referred to the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind by the person's school district of

residence or a local early intervention program; and
(d) identified as deaf, blind, or deafblind through:

(i) the special education eligibility determination process; or
(ii) the Section 504 eligibility determination process.

(2)
(a) In diagnosing a person younger than age three who is deafblind, the following information

may be used:
(i) opthalmological and audiological documentation;
(ii) functional vision or hearing assessments and evaluations; or
(iii) informed clinical opinion conducted by a person with expertise in deafness, blindness, or

deafblindness.
(b) Informed clinical opinion shall be:

(i) included in the determination of eligibility when documentation is incomplete or not
conclusive; and

(ii) based on pertinent records related to the person's current health status and medical history,
an evaluation and observations of the person's level of sensory functioning, and the needs
of the family.

(3)
(a) A student who qualifies for special education shall have services and placement

determinations made through the IEP process.
(b) A student who qualifies for accommodations under Section 504 shall have services and

placement determinations made through the Section 504 team process.
(c) A parent or legal guardian of a child who is deaf, blind, or deafblind shall make the final

decision regarding placement of the child in a Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
program or in a school district or charter school program subject to special education federal
regulations regarding due process.

(4)
(a) A nonresident may receive services of the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind in

accordance with rules of the board.
(b) The rules shall require the payment of tuition for services provided to a nonresident.

(5)
(a) The board shall make rules in accordance with this chapter and Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah

Administrative Rulemaking Act, that determine the eligibility of students to be served by the
Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

(b) The board may make rules to allow a resident of Utah who is neither deaf, blind, nor deafblind
to receive services of the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind if the student:

(i) is younger than 22 years of age and has an IEP; or
(ii) is younger than 19 years of age.

Enacted by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session
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53A-25b-302 Entrance polices and procedures.
          With input from the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind, school districts, parents, and the

advisory council, the board shall establish entrance policies and procedures that IEP teams and
Section 504 teams are to consider in making placement recommendations at the Utah Schools for
the Deaf and the Blind.

Enacted by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session

53A-25b-303 Educational programs.
(1) The Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall provide an educational program for a

student:
(a) based on assessments of the student's abilities; and
(b) in accordance with the student's IEP or Section 504 accommodation plan.

(2) If a student's ability to access the core curriculum is impaired primarily due to a severe sensory
loss, the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall provide an educational program that will
enable the student, with accommodations, to access the core curriculum.

(3) The Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall provide instruction in Braille to students who
are blind as required by Chapter 25a, Blind Persons' Literacy Rights and Education Act.

Enacted by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session

53A-25b-304 U-PASS testing.
          The Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall annually administer, as applicable, the

U-PASS tests specified in Section 53A-1-602, except a student may take an alternative test in
accordance with the student's IEP.

Amended by Chapter 291, 2012 General Session

53A-25b-305 Collaboration with Department of Health.
          The Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall collaborate with the Department of Health

to provide services to children with disabilities who are younger than three years of age in
accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq.

Enacted by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session

53A-25b-306 Programs for deafblind individuals -- State deafblind education specialist.
(1) The board shall adopt policies and programs for providing appropriate educational services to

individuals who are deafblind.
(2) Except as provided in Subsection (4), the board shall designate an employee who holds a

deafblind certification or equivalent training and expertise to:
(a) act as a resource coordinator for the board on public education programs designed for

individuals who are deafblind;
(b) facilitate the design and implementation of professional development programs to assist

school districts, charter schools, and the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind in meeting
the educational needs of those who are deafblind; and

(c) facilitate the design of and assist with the implementation of one-on-one intervention
programs in school districts, charter schools, and at the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the
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Blind for those who are deafblind, serving as a resource for, or team member of, individual
IEP teams.

(3) The board may authorize and approve the costs of an employee to obtain a deafblind
certification or equivalent training and expertise to qualify for the position described in
Subsection (2).

(4) The board may contract with a third party for the services required under Subsection (2).

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

53A-25b-307 Educational Enrichment Program for Hearing and Visually Impaired Students --
Funding for the program.
(1) There is established the Educational Enrichment Program for Hearing and Visually Impaired

Students.
(2) The purpose of the program is to provide opportunities that will, in a family friendly environment,

enhance the educational services required for deaf, blind, or deafblind students.
(3) The advisory council shall design and implement the program, subject to the approval by the

board.
(4) The program shall be funded from the interest and dividends derived from the permanent

funds created for the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind pursuant to Section 12 of the
Utah Enabling Act and distributed by the director of the School and Institutional Trust Lands
Administration under Section 53C-3-103.

Enacted by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session

Part 4
Employees

53A-25b-401 Educators exempt from Department of Human Resource Management rules --
Collective bargaining agreement.
(1) Educators employed by the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind are exempt from

mandatory compliance with rules of the Department of Human Resource Management.
(2) The board may enter into a collective bargaining agreement to establish compensation and

other personnel policies with educators employed by the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the
Blind to replace rules of the Department of Human Resource Management.

(3) A collective bargaining agreement made under Subsection (2) is subject to the same
requirements that are imposed on local school boards by Section 53A-3-411.

Enacted by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session

53A-25b-402 Annual salary adjustments for educators.
(1) Subject to future budget constraints, the Legislature shall annually appropriate money to the

board for the salary adjustments described in this section, including step and lane changes.
(2) The board shall include in its annual budget request for the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the

Blind an amount of money sufficient to adjust educators' salaries as described in Subsection (3)
and fund step and lane changes.

(3)
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(a) The board shall determine the salary adjustment specified in Subsection (2) by:
(i) calculating a weighted average salary adjustment for nonadministrative licensed staff

adopted by the school districts of the state, with the average weighted by the number of
teachers in each school district; and

(ii) increasing the weighted average salary adjustment by 10% in any year in which teachers of
the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind are not ranked in the top 10 in 20-year earnings
when compared to earnings of teachers in the school districts of the state.

(b) In calculating a weighted average salary adjustment for nonadministrative licensed staff
adopted by the school districts of the state under Subsection (3)(a), the board shall exclude
educator salary adjustments provided pursuant to Section 53A-17a-153.

(4) From money appropriated to the board for salary adjustments, the board shall adjust the salary
schedule applicable to educators at the school each year.

Enacted by Chapter 294, 2009 General Session

Part 5
Utah State Instructional Materials Access Center

53A-25b-501 Instructional Materials Access Center -- Board to make rules.
(1) The board shall collaborate with the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind, school districts,

and charter schools in establishing the Utah State Instructional Materials Access Center to
provide students with print disabilities access to instructional materials in alternate formats in a
timely manner.

(2) The board shall make rules, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative
Rulemaking Act, to:

(a) establish the Utah State Instructional Materials Access Center;
(b) define how the Educational Resource Center at the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind

shall collaborate in the operation of the Utah State Instructional Materials Access Center;
(c) specify procedures for the operation of the Utah State Instructional Materials Access Center,

including procedures to:
(i) identify students who qualify for instructional materials in alternate formats; and
(ii) distribute and store instructional materials in alternate formats;

(d) establish the contribution of school districts and charter schools towards the cost of
instructional materials in alternate formats; and

(e) require textbook publishers, as a condition of contract, to provide electronic file sets in
conformance with the National Instructional Materials Accessibility Standard.

Amended by Chapter 144, 2016 General Session

Chapter 28
Utah School Bond Guaranty Act

Part 1
General Provisions
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53A-28-101 Title.
          This chapter shall be known as the "Utah School Bond Guaranty Act."

Enacted by Chapter 62, 1996 General Session

53A-28-102 Definitions.
(1) "Board" means the board of education of a school district existing now or later under the laws of

the state.
(2) "Bond" means any general obligation bond or refunding bond issued after the effective date of

this chapter.
(3) "Default avoidance program" means the school bond guaranty program established by this

chapter.
(4) "General obligation bond" means any  bond, note, warrant, certificate of indebtedness, or other

obligation of a board payable in whole or in part from revenues derived from ad valorem taxes
and that constitutes an indebtedness within the meaning of any applicable constitutional or
statutory debt limitation.

(5) "Paying agent" means the corporate paying agent selected by the board for a bond issue who
is:

(a) duly qualified; and
(b) acceptable to the state treasurer.

(6) "Permanent school fund" means the state school fund described in the Utah Constitution,
Article X, Section 5(1).

(7) "Refunding bond" means any general obligation bond issued by a board for the purpose of
refunding its outstanding general obligation bonds.

(8) "School district" means any school district existing now or later under the laws of the state.

Enacted by Chapter 62, 1996 General Session

Part 2
State's Guarantee - Monitoring of Financial Solvency

53A-28-201 Contract with bondholders -- Full faith and credit of state is pledged -- Limitation
as to certain refunded bonds.
(1)

(a) The state of Utah pledges to and agrees with the holders of any bonds that the state will not
alter, impair, or limit the rights vested by the default avoidance program with respect to the
bonds until the bonds, together with applicable interest, are fully paid and discharged.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(a), nothing contained in this chapter precludes an alteration,
impairment, or limitation if adequate provision is made by law for the protection of the holders
of the bonds.

(c) Each board may refer to this pledge and undertaking by the state in its bonds.
(2)

(a) The full faith and credit and unlimited taxing power of the state is pledged to guarantee full
and timely payment of the principal of (either at the stated maturity or by any advancement
of maturity pursuant to a mandatory sinking fund payment) and interest on, bonds as such
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payments shall become due (except that in the event of any acceleration of the due date of
such principal by reason of mandatory or optional redemption or acceleration resulting from
default of otherwise, other than any advancement of maturity pursuant to a mandatory sinking
fund payment, the payments guaranteed shall be made in such amounts and at such times as
such payments of principal would have been due had there not been any such acceleration).

(b) This guaranty does not extend to the payment of any redemption premium.
(c) Reference to this chapter by its title on the face of any bond conclusively establishes the

guaranty provided to that bond under provisions of this chapter.
(3)

(a) Any bond guaranteed under this chapter that is refunded and considered paid for the
purposes of and within the meaning of Subsection 11-27-3(6), no longer has the benefit of the
guaranty provided by this chapter from and after the date on which that bond was considered
to be paid.

(b) Any refunding bond issued by a board that is itself secured by government obligations until
the proceeds are applied to pay refunded bonds, as provided in Title 11, Chapter 27, Utah
Refunding Bond Act, is not guaranteed under the provisions of this chapter, until the refunding
bonds cease to be secured by government obligations as provided in Title 11, Chapter 27,
Utah Refunding Bond Act.

(4) Only validly issued bonds issued after the effective date of this chapter are guaranteed under
this chapter.

Enacted by Chapter 62, 1996 General Session

53A-28-202 Program eligibility -- Option to forego guaranty.
(1)

(a) Any board may request that the state treasurer issue a certificate evidencing eligibility for the
state's guaranty under this chapter.

(b) After reviewing the request, if the state treasurer determines that the board is eligible, the
state treasurer shall promptly issue the certificate and provide it to the requesting board.

(c)
(i) The board receiving the certificate and all other persons may rely on the certificate as

evidencing eligibility for the guaranty for one year from and after the date of the certificate,
without making further inquiry of the state treasurer during that year.

(ii) The certificate of eligibility is valid for one year even if the state treasurer later determines
that the school board is ineligible.

(2) Any board that chooses to forego the benefits of the guaranty provided by this chapter for a
particular issue of bonds may do so by not referring to this chapter on the face of its bonds.

(3) Any board that has bonds, the principal of or interest on which has been paid, in whole or in
part, by the state under this chapter may not issue any additional bonds guaranteed by this act
until:

(a) all payment obligations of the board to the state under the default avoidance program are
satisfied; and

(b) the state treasurer and the state superintendent of public instruction each certify in writing, to
be kept on file by the state treasurer and the state superintendent, that the board is fiscally
solvent.

(4) Bonds not guaranteed by this chapter are not included in the definition of "bonds" in Section
53A-28-201 as used generally in this chapter and are not subject to the requirements of and do
not receive the benefits of this chapter.
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Enacted by Chapter 62, 1996 General Session

53A-28-203 Fiscal solvency of school districts -- Duties of state treasurer and attorney
general.
(1) The state superintendent of public instruction shall:

(a) monitor the financial affairs and condition of each board in the state to evaluate each school
board's financial solvency; and

(b) report immediately to the governor and state treasurer any circumstances suggesting that
a school district will be unable to timely meet its debt service obligations and recommend a
course of remedial action.

(2)
(a) The state treasurer shall determine whether or not the financial affairs and condition of a

board are such that it would be imprudent for the state to guarantee the bonds of that board.
(b) If the state treasurer determines that the state should not guarantee the bonds of that board,

the state treasurer shall:
(i) prepare a determination of ineligibility; and
(ii) keep it on file in the office of the state treasurer.

(c) The state treasurer may remove a board from the status of ineligibility when a subsequent
report or other information made available to the state treasurer evidences that it is no longer
imprudent for the state to guarantee the bonds of that board.

(3) Nothing in this section affects the state's guaranty of bonds of a board issued:
(a) before determination of ineligibility;
(b) after the eligibility of the board is restored; or
(c) under a certificate of eligibility issued under Section 53A-28-202.

Amended by Chapter 221, 2003 General Session

Part 3
Guaranty Operation

53A-28-301 Business administrator duties -- Paying agent to provide notice -- State
treasurer to execute transfer to paying agents -- Effect of transfer.
(1)

(a) The business administrator of each board with outstanding, unpaid bonds shall transfer
money sufficient for the scheduled debt service payment to its paying agent at least 15 days
before any principal or interest payment date for the bonds.

(b) The paying agent may, if instructed to do so by the business administrator, invest the money
at the risk and for the benefit of the board until the payment date.

(c) A business administrator who is unable to transfer the scheduled debt service payment to the
paying agent 15 days before the payment date shall immediately notify the paying agent and
the state treasurer by:

(i) telephone;
(ii) a writing sent by facsimile transmission; and
(iii) a writing sent by first-class United States mail.
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(2) If sufficient funds are not transferred to the paying agent as required by Subsection (1), the
paying agent shall notify the state treasurer of that failure in writing at least 10 days before the
scheduled debt service payment date by:

(a) telephone;
(b) a writing sent by facsimile transmission; and
(c) a writing sent by first-class United States mail.

(3)
(a) If sufficient money to pay the scheduled debt service payment has not been transferred to

the paying agent, the state treasurer shall, on or before the scheduled payment date, transfer
sufficient money to the paying agent to make the scheduled debt service payment.

(b) The payment by the treasurer:
(i) discharges the obligation of the issuing board to its bondholders for the payment; and
(ii) transfers the rights represented by the general obligation of the board from the bondholders

to the state.
(c) The board shall pay the transferred obligation to the state as provided in this chapter.

Amended by Chapter 342, 2011 General Session

53A-28-302 State financial assistance intercept mechanism -- State treasurer duties --
Interest and penalty provisions.
(1)

(a) If one or more payments on bonds are made by the state treasurer as provided in Section
53A-28-301, the state treasurer shall:

(i) immediately intercept any payments from the Uniform School Fund or from any other source
of operating money provided by the state to the board that issued the bonds that would
otherwise be paid to the board by the state; and

(ii) apply the intercepted payments to reimburse the state for payments made pursuant to the
state's guaranty until all obligations of the board to the state arising from those payments,
including interest and penalties, are paid in full.

(b) The state has no obligation to the board or to any person or entity to replace any money
intercepted under authority of Subsection (1)(a).

(2) The board that issued bonds for which the state has made all or part of a debt service payment
shall:

(a) reimburse all money drawn by the state treasurer on its behalf;
(b) pay interest to the state on all money paid by the state from the date the money was drawn

to the date they are repaid at a rate not less than the average prime rate for national money
center banks plus 1%; and

(c) pay all penalties required by this chapter.
(3)

(a) The state treasurer shall establish the reimbursement interest rate after considering the
circumstances of any prior draws by the board on the state, market interest and penalty rates,
and the cost of funds, if any, that were required to be borrowed by the state to make payment
on the bonds.

(b) The state treasurer may, after considering the circumstances giving rise to the failure of the
board to make payment on its bonds in a timely manner, impose on the board a penalty of not
more than 5% of the amount paid by the state pursuant to its guaranty for each instance in
which a payment by the state is made.

(4)
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(a)
(i) If the state treasurer determines that amounts obtained under this section will not reimburse

the state in full within one year from the state's payment of a board's scheduled debt service
payment, the state treasurer shall pursue any legal action, including mandamus, against the
board to compel it to:

(A) levy and provide property tax revenues to pay debt service on its bonds when due as
required by Title 11, Chapter 14, Local Government Bonding Act; and

(B) meet its repayment obligations to the state.
(ii) In pursuing its rights under this Subsection (4)(a), the state shall have the same substantive

and procedural rights under Title 11, Chapter 14, Local Government Bonding Act, as would
a holder of the bonds of a board.

(b) The attorney general shall assist the state treasurer in these duties.
(c) The board shall pay the attorney's fees, expenses, and costs of the state treasurer and the

attorney general.
(5)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(c), any board whose operating funds were intercepted
under this section may replace those funds from other board money or from ad valorem
property taxes, subject to the limitations provided in this Subsection (5).

(b) A board may use ad valorem property taxes or other money to replace intercepted funds only
if the ad valorem property taxes or other money was derived from:

(i) taxes originally levied to make the payment but which were not timely received by the board;
(ii) taxes from a special levy made to make the missed payment or to replace the intercepted

money;
(iii) money transferred from the capital outlay fund of the board or the undistributed reserve, if

any, of the board; or
(iv) any other source of money on hand and legally available.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsections (5)(a) and (b), a board may not replace
operating funds intercepted by the state with money collected and held to make payments on
bonds if that replacement would divert money from the payment of future debt service on the
bonds and increase the risk that the state's guaranty would be called upon a second time.

Amended by Chapter 342, 2011 General Session

Part 4
Mechanisms for Financing the State's Guaranty

53A-28-401 Backup liquidity arrangements -- Issuance of notes.
(1)

(a) If, at the time the state is required to make a debt service payment under its guaranty on
behalf of a board, sufficient money of the state is not on hand and available for that purpose,
the state treasurer may:

(i) seek a loan from the Permanent School Fund sufficient to make the required payment; or
(ii) issue state debt as provided in Subsection (2).

(b) Nothing in this Subsection (1) requires the Permanent School Fund to lend money to the state
treasurer.

(2)



Utah Code

Page 515

(a) The state treasurer may issue state debt in the form of general obligation notes to meet its
obligations under this chapter.

(b) The amount of notes issued may not exceed the amount necessary to make payment on all
bonds with respect to which the notes are issued plus all costs of issuance, sale, and delivery
of the notes, rounded up to the nearest natural multiple of $5,000.

(c) Each series of notes issued may not mature later than 18 months from the date the notes are
issued.

(d) Notes issued may be refunded using the procedures set forth in this chapter for the issuance
of notes, in an amount not more than the amount necessary to pay principal of and accrued
but unpaid interest on any refunded notes plus all costs of issuance, sale, and delivery of the
refunding notes, rounded up to the nearest natural multiple of $5,000.

(e) Each series of refunding notes may not mature later than 18 months from the date the
refunding notes are issued.

(3)
(a) Before issuing or selling any general obligation note to other than a state fund or account, the

state treasurer shall:
(i) prepare a written plan of financing; and
(ii) file it with the governor.

(b) The plan of financing shall provide for:
(i) the terms and conditions under which the notes will be issued, sold, and delivered;
(ii) the taxes or revenues to be anticipated;
(iii) the maximum amount of notes that may be outstanding at any one time under the plan of

financing;
(iv) the sources of payment of the notes;
(v) the rate or rates of interest, if any, on the notes or a method, formula, or index under which

the interest rate or rates on the notes may be determined during the time the notes are
outstanding; and

(vi) all other details relating to the issuance, sale, and delivery of the notes.
(c) In identifying the taxes or revenues to be anticipated and the sources of payment of the notes

in the financing plan, the state treasurer may include:
(i) the taxes authorized by Section 53A-28-402;
(ii) the intercepted revenues authorized by Section 53A-28-302;
(iii) the proceeds of refunding notes; or
(iv) any combination of Subsections (3)(c)(i), (ii), and (iii).

(d) The state treasurer may include in the plan of financing the terms and conditions of
arrangements entered into by the state treasurer on behalf of the state with financial and
other institutions for letters of credit, standby letters of credit, reimbursement agreements, and
remarketing, indexing, and tender agent agreements to secure the notes, including payment
from any legally available source of fees, charges, or other amounts coming due under the
agreements entered into by the state treasurer.

(e) When issuing the notes, the state treasurer shall issue an order setting forth the interest,
form, manner of execution, payment, manner of sale, prices at, above, or below face value,
and all details of issuance of the notes.

(f) The order and the details set forth in the order shall conform with any applicable plan of
financing and with this chapter.

(g)
(i) Each note shall recite that it is a valid obligation of the state and that the full faith, credit, and

resources of the state are pledged for the payment of the principal of and interest on the
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note from the taxes or revenues identified in accordance with its terms and the constitution
and laws of Utah.

(ii) These general obligation notes do not constitute debt of the state for the purposes of the
1.5% debt limitation of the Utah Constitution, Article XIV, Section 1.

(h) Immediately upon the completion of any sale of notes, the state treasurer shall:
(i) make a verified return of the sale to the state auditor, specifying the amount of notes sold,

the persons to whom the notes were sold, and the price, terms, and conditions of the sale;
and

(ii) credit the proceeds of sale, other than accrued interest and amounts required to pay costs of
issuance of the notes, to the General Fund to be applied to the purpose for which the notes
were issued.

Amended by Chapter 342, 2011 General Session

53A-28-402 Unlimited ad valorem tax as pledge of full faith and credit -- State Tax
Commission duties -- Property tax abated.
(1)

(a) In each year after the issuance of general obligation notes under this chapter and until all
outstanding notes are retired, there is levied a direct annual tax on all real and personal
property within the state subject to state taxation, sufficient to pay all principal of and interest
on the general obligation notes as they become due.

(b) If money expected to be intercepted under Section 53A-28-302 is expected to be insufficient
to reimburse the state for its payments of school districts' scheduled debt service payments
or if it is necessary for the state treasurer to borrow as provided in Section 53A-28-401 and
amounts to be intercepted under Section 53A-28-302 are expected to be insufficient to timely
pay the general obligation notes issued or other borrowing undertaken under that section, the
state treasurer shall certify to and give notice to the state tax commission of the amount of the
deficiency.

(c) After receipt of that certified notice from the state treasurer, the state tax commission shall:
(i) immediately fix the tax rate necessary and levy direct ad valorem property tax on all real and

personal property in the state subject to state taxation sufficient to provide money in the
amount of the deficiency stated in the notice; and

(ii) require that the tax be collected and remitted as soon as may be in the ordinary course of ad
valorem tax levy and collection.

(2) To the extent that other legally available revenues and funds of the state are sufficient to meet
the certified deficiency, the property tax for this purpose is abated.

Amended by Chapter 342, 2011 General Session

Chapter 29
Internships

53A-29-101 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:
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(1) "Cooperating employer" means a public or private entity which, as part of a work experience
and career exploration program offered through a school, provides interns with training and
work experience in activities related to the entity's ongoing business activities.

(2) "Intern" means a student enrolled in a school-sponsored work experience and career
exploration program under Section 53A-29-102 involving both classroom instruction and work
experience with a cooperating employer, for which the student receives no compensation.

(3) "Internship" means the work experience segment of an intern's school-sponsored work
experience and career exploration program, performed under the direct supervision of a
cooperating employer.

(4) "Private school" means a school serving any of grades 7 through 12 which is not part of the
public education system.

(5) "Public school" means:
(a) a public school district;
(b) an applied technology center or applied technology service region;
(c) the Schools for the Deaf and the Blind; or
(d) other components of the public education system authorized by the State Board of Education

to offer internships.

Enacted by Chapter 73, 1996 General Session

53A-29-102 Public or private school internships.
          A public or private school may offer internships in connection with work experience and career

exploration programs operated in accordance with the rules of the State Board of Education.

Enacted by Chapter 73, 1996 General Session

53A-29-103 Interns -- Workers' compensation medical benefits.
(1) An intern participating in an internship under Section 53A-29-102 is considered to be

a volunteer government worker of the sponsoring public school, or an employee of the
sponsoring private school, solely for purposes of receiving workers' compensation medical
benefits.

(2) Receipt of medical benefits under Subsection (1) shall be the exclusive remedy against the
school and the cooperating employer for all injuries and occupational diseases as provided
under Title 34A, Chapters 2, Workers' Compensation Act and Chapter 3, Utah Occupational
Disease Act.

Amended by Chapter 250, 2008 General Session

53A-29-104 Internship programs -- Criminal background checks.
          Officers and employees of a cooperating employer who will be given significant unsupervised

access to a student in connection with the student's activities as an intern shall be considered to be
a volunteer for purposes of criminal background checks under Section 53A-15-1503.

Amended by Chapter 389, 2015 General Session

53A-29-105 Recognition of participation in internship program.
          A cooperating employer may be given appropriate recognition by a school, including the posting

of the employer's name and a short description of the employer's business in an appropriate
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location on school property, or publication of that information in official publications of the school or
school district.

Enacted by Chapter 73, 1996 General Session

Chapter 30
Internal Audits

53A-30-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as "Internal Audits."

Enacted by Chapter 433, 2014 General Session

53A-30-102 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Audit committee" means a standing committee:
(a) appointed by the local school board or charter school governing board with the following

number of members as applicable to the local school board or charter school governing
board:

(i) for a board of a local education agency that consists of seven or more members, three
members of that board; or

(ii) for a board of a local education agency that consists of six or fewer members, two members
of that board; and

(b) composed of people who are not administrators or employees of the local education agency.
(2) "Audit director" means the person who directs the internal audit program.
(3) "Audit plan" means a prioritized list of audits to be performed by an internal audit program

within a specified period of time.
(4) "Internal audit" means an independent appraisal activity established within a local education

agency as a control system to examine and evaluate the adequacy and effectiveness of other
internal control systems within the local education agency.

(5) "Internal audit program" means an audit function that:
(a) is conducted by a local school board or charter school governing board independent of the

local education agency offices or other operations;
(b) objectively evaluates the effectiveness of the local education agency governance, risk

management, internal controls, and the efficiency of operations; and
(c) is conducted in accordance with the current:

(i) International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing; or
(ii) The Government Auditing Standards, issued by the Comptroller General of the United

States.
(6) "Local education agency" means a school district or charter school.

Enacted by Chapter 433, 2014 General Session

53A-30-103 Internal auditing program -- Audit committee -- Powers and duties.
(1) A local school board or charter school governing board shall establish an audit committee.
(2)
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(a) The audit committee shall establish an internal audit program that provides internal audit
services for the programs administered by the local education agency.

(b) A local education agency that has fewer than 10,000 students is not subject to Subsection (2)
(a).

(3)
(a) A local school board or charter school governing board shall appoint the audit director, with

the advisement of the audit committee, if the local school board or charter school governing
board hires an audit director.

(b) If the local school board or charter school governing board has not appointed an audit director
and the school board or governing board contracts directly for internal audit services, the local
school board or charter school governing board shall approve a contract for internal audit
services, with the advisement of the audit committee.

(4) The audit committee shall ensure that copies of all reports of audit findings issued by the
internal auditors are available, upon request, to the audit director of the State Board of
Education, the Office of the State Auditor, and the Office of Legislative Auditor General.

(5) The audit committee shall ensure that significant audit matters that cannot be appropriately
addressed by the local education agency internal auditors are referred to either the audit
director of the State Board of Education, the Office of the State Auditor, or the Office of
Legislative Auditor General.

(6) The audit director may contract with a consultant to assist with an audit.
(7) The audit director of the State Board of Education and the Office of the State Auditor may

contract to provide internal audit services.

Enacted by Chapter 433, 2014 General Session

Chapter 31
American Indian-Alaskan Native  Education State Plan

Part 1
General Provisions

53A-31-101 Title.
          This chapter is known as the "American Indian-Alaskan Native Education State Plan."

Enacted by Chapter 53, 2015 General Session

53A-31-102 Definitions.
          As used in this chapter:

(1) "Commission" means the American Indian-Alaskan Native Education Commission created in
Section 53A-31-202.

(2) "Liaison" means the individual appointed under Section 53A-31-201.
(3) "Native American Legislative Liaison Committee" means the committee created in Section

36-22-1.
(4) "State plan" means the state plan adopted under Section 53A-31-301.
(5) "Superintendent" means the superintendent of public instruction appointed under Section

53A-1-301.
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Enacted by Chapter 53, 2015 General Session

Part 2
Liaison and Commission

53A-31-201 American Indian-Alaskan Native Public Education Liaison.
(1) Subject to budget constraints, the superintendent shall appoint an individual as the American

Indian-Alaskan Native Public Education Liaison.
(2) The liaison shall work under the direction of the superintendent in the development and

implementation of the state plan.
(3) The liaison shall annually report to the Native American Legislative Liaison Committee about:

(a) the liaison's activities; and
(b) the activities related to the education of American Indians and Alaskan Natives in the state's

public school system and efforts to close the achievement gap.

Enacted by Chapter 53, 2015 General Session

53A-31-202 Commission created.
(1) There is created a commission known as the "American Indian-Alaskan Native Education

Commission."  The commission shall consist of 16 members as follows:
(a) the superintendent;
(b) the liaison;
(c) two individuals appointed by the State Board of Education that are coordinators funded in

whole or in part under Title VII, Elementary and Secondary Education Act;
(d) three members of the Native American Legislative Liaison Committee appointed by the chairs

of the Native American Legislative Liaison Committee;
(e) a representative of the Navajo Nation who resides in Utah selected by the Navajo Utah

Commission;
(f) a representative of the Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah and Ouray Reservation who resides in

Utah selected by the Uintah and Ouray Tribal Business Committee;
(g) a representative of the Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah who resides in Utah selected by the Paiute

Indian Tribe of Utah Tribal Council;
(h) a representative of the Northwestern Band of the Shoshone Nation who resides in Utah

selected by the Northwestern Band of the Shoshone Nation Tribal Council;
(i) a representative of the Confederated Tribes of the Goshute who resides in Utah selected by

the Confederated Tribes of the Goshute Reservation Tribal Council;
(j) a representative of the Skull Valley Band of Goshute Indians who resides in Utah selected by

the Skull Valley Band of Goshute Indian Tribal Executive Committee;
(k) a representative of the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe who resides in Utah selected by the Ute

Mountain Ute Tribal Council;
(l) a representative of the San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe who resides in Utah selected by the

San Juan Southern Paiute Tribal Council; and
(m) an appointee from the governor.

(2) Unless otherwise determined by the State Board of Education, the superintendent shall chair
the commission.
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(3)
(a) The superintendent shall call meetings of the commission.
(b) Eight members of the commission constitute a quorum of the commission.
(c) The action of a majority of the commission at a meeting when a quorum is present constitutes

action of the commission.
(4) If a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the replacement shall be appointed in

the same manner of the original appointment for the vacant position.
(5) The commission may adopt procedures or requirements for:

(a) voting, when there is a tie of the commission members; and
(b) the frequency of meetings.

(6)
(a) A member of the commission may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's

service, but may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
(i) Section 63A-3-106;
(ii) Section 63A-3-107; and
(iii) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.

(b) Compensation and expenses of a participant who is a legislator are governed by Section
36-2-2 and Legislative Joint Rules, Title 5, Legislative Compensation and Expenses.

(7) The staff of the State Board of Education shall staff the commission.
(8) The commission shall be dissolved on December 31, 2015.

Enacted by Chapter 53, 2015 General Session

53A-31-203 Duties of the commission.
(1) The commission shall develop a proposed state plan to be presented to the Native American

Legislative Liaison Committee to address the educational achievement gap of the American
Indian and Alaskan Native students in the state.

(2) The proposed state plan shall:
(a) identify the most critical academic needs of Utah's American Indian and Alaskan Native

students;
(b) recommend a course of action to meet the identified needs;
(c) be based on, and include, a summary of the best available evidence and most recent data;
(d) focus on specific actions;
(e) identify existing programs and resources;
(f) prioritize more efficient and better use of existing programs and resources to meet the needs

of American Indian and Alaskan Native students;
(g) include ongoing reporting to the Native American Legislative Liaison Committee;
(h) include a plan to hire, retain, and promote highly qualified teachers as quickly as feasible; and
(i) add a process for sharing data with tribal education leaders.

(3) The commission shall present the proposed state plan developed under Subsection (1) to the
Native American Legislative Liaison Committee by no later than October 31, 2015.

Enacted by Chapter 53, 2015 General Session

Part 3
State Plan
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53A-31-301 Adoption of state plan.
(1) After receipt of the proposed state plan from the commission in accordance with Section

53A-31-203, the Native American Legislative Liaison Committee may review the proposed state
plan and make changes to the proposed state plan that the Native American Legislative Liaison
Committee considers beneficial to addressing the educational achievement gap of the state's
American Indian and Alaskan Native students.

(2)
(a) The Native American Legislative Liaison Committee shall submit the proposed state plan as

modified by the Native American Legislative Liaison Committee to the Utah State Board of
Education.

(b) The Utah State Board of Education shall, by majority vote, within 60 days after receipt of the
state plan under Subsection (2)(a), adopt, modify, or reject the state plan.  If the Utah State
Board of Education does not act within 60 days after receipt of the state plan, the state plan is
considered adopted by the Utah State Board of Education.

(3) The Native American Legislative Liaison Committee may prepare legislation to implement the
state plan adopted under this section.

Enacted by Chapter 53, 2015 General Session

53A-31-302 Changes to state plan.
(1) The Native American Legislative Liaison Committee may recommend to the Utah State Board

of Education changes to the state plan adopted under Section 53A-31-301 to ensure that the
state plan continues to meet the academic needs of the state's American Indian and Alaskan
Native students.

(2) The Native American Legislative Liaison Committee may recommend to the superintendent
that the commission be reconstituted for an 18-month period if the Native American Legislative
Liaison Committee determines that a substantial review of the state plan is necessary.  If
reconstituted under this Subsection (2), the commission shall comply with the requirements of
Part 2, Liaison and Commission.

Enacted by Chapter 53, 2015 General Session

Part 4
American Indian and Alaskan Native Education State Plan Pilot Program

53A-31-401 Title.
          This part is known as the "American Indian and Alaskan Native Education State Plan Pilot

Program."

Enacted by Chapter 63, 2016 General Session

53A-31-402 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "American Indian and Alaskan Native concentrated school" means a school where at least 29%
of its students are American Indian or Alaskan Native.
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(2) "Board" means the State Board of Education.
(3) "Teacher" means an individual employed by a school district or charter school who is required

to hold an educator license issued by the board and who has an assignment to teach in a
classroom.

Enacted by Chapter 63, 2016 General Session

53A-31-403 Pilot program created.
(1) Beginning with fiscal year 2016-2017, there is created a five-year pilot program administered

by the board to provide grants targeted to address the needs of American Indian and Alaskan
Native students.

(2) The pilot program shall consist of a grant program to school districts and charter schools to be
used to fund stipends, recruitment, retention, and professional development of teachers who
teach in American Indian and Alaskan Native concentrated schools.

(3) Up to 3% of the money appropriated to the grant program under this part may be used by the
board for costs in implementing the pilot program.

Enacted by Chapter 63, 2016 General Session

53A-31-404 Grant program to school districts and charter schools.
(1) From money appropriated to the grant program, the board shall distribute grant money on a

competitive basis to a school district or charter school that applies for a grant and:
(a)

(i) has within the school district one or more American Indian and Alaskan Native concentrated
schools; or

(ii) is an American Indian and Alaskan Native concentrated school; and
(b) has a program to fund stipends, recruitment, retention, and professional development of

teachers who teach at American Indian and Alaskan Native concentrated schools.
(2) The grant money distributed under this section may only be expended to fund a program

described in Subsection (1)(b).
(3)

(a) If a school district or charter school obtains a grant under this section, by no later than two
years from the date the school district or charter school obtains the grant, the board shall
review the implementation of the program described in Subsection (1)(b) to determine
whether:

(i) the program is effective in addressing the need to retain teachers at American Indian and
Alaskan Native concentrated schools; and

(ii) the money is being spent for a purpose not covered by the program described in Subsection
(1)(b).

(b) If the board determines that the program is not effective or that the money is being spent for a
purpose not covered by the program described in Subsection (1)(b), the board may terminate
the grant money being distributed to the school district or charter school.

(4) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the board may
make rules providing:

(a) criteria for evaluating grant applications; and
(b) procedures for:

(i) a school district to apply to the board to receive grant money under this section; and
(ii) the review of the use of grant money described in Subsection (3).
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(5) The grant money is intended to supplement and not replace existing money supporting
American Indian and Alaskan Native concentrated schools.

Enacted by Chapter 63, 2016 General Session

53A-31-405 Reporting -- Meeting.
(1) The liaison shall annually report to the Native American Legislative Liaison Committee during

the five years of the pilot program regarding:
(a) what entities receive a grant under this part;
(b) the effectiveness of the expenditures of grant money; and
(c) recommendations, if any, for additional legislative action.

(2) The Native American Legislative Liaison Committee shall annually schedule at least one
meeting at which education is discussed with selected stakeholders.

Enacted by Chapter 63, 2016 General Session


