
Utah Code

Page 1

Part 3
Use of Dead Bodies for Medical Purposes

53B-17-301 Unclaimed dead bodies -- Notice to school of medicine at the University of Utah
-- Preservation of dead bodies.
(1) A county shall, within 24 hours after assuming custody of an unclaimed body for which the

county is required to provide burial under Section 26-4-25, provide notice of the county's
custody of the body to the dean of the school of medicine at the University of Utah.

(2) The notice described in Subsection (1) shall specify the body's probable cause of death.
(3) Subject to Section 26-4-25, the county shall, at the request of the dean of the school of

medicine at the University of Utah, forward the body to the university, at the university's
expense, within 24 hours of receiving the dean's request.

(4) The school of medicine at the University of Utah shall, for a body it receives under Subsection
(3):

(a) properly embalm and preserve the body for at least 60 days; and
(b) upon request, release the body to a person with priority to control the disposition of the body

under Section 58-9-602.

Amended by Chapter 72, 2015 General Session

53B-17-302 Receipt for dead body -- Records.
(1) A person delivering a body to the university under Section 53B-17-301 shall receive a receipt

for the body.
(2) The School of Medicine is responsible for records kept on any body received under this section.
(3) The records shall include all facts necessary for proper identification of the body.

Enacted by Chapter 167, 1987 General Session

53B-17-303 Use of unclaimed dead bodies for promotion of science.
(1) A body unclaimed after 60 days under Section  53B-17-301 may be used for the following

purposes:
(a) to promote medical and surgical science; and
(b) for instruction and study by physicians and students of anatomy and embalming.

(2) Once these purposes are accomplished, the remains are properly cremated or receive a decent
burial.

Amended by Chapter 22, 1989 General Session

53B-17-304 Failure to comply with chapter is a misdemeanor.
          A person who commits the following violations is guilty of a misdemeanor: (1) failure or neglect

to give notice required under Subsection 53B-17-301(1); or (2) failure or neglect to forward a body
upon request under Subsection 53B-17-301(3).

Enacted by Chapter 167, 1987 General Session


