Utah Code

59-2-405.1 Uniform fee on certain vehicles weighing 12,000 pounds or less -- Distribution of
revenues -- Appeals.
(1) The property described in Subsection (2) is exempt from ad valorem property taxes pursuant to
Utah Constitution Article Xlll, Section 2, Subsection (6).
2)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), there is levied as provided in this part a statewide
uniform fee in lieu of the ad valorem tax on:
(i) motor vehicles as defined in Section 41-1a-102 that:
(A) are required to be registered with the state; and
(B) weigh 12,000 pounds or less; and
(ii) state-assessed commercial vehicles required to be registered with the state that weigh
12,000 pounds or less.
(b) The following tangible personal property is exempt from the statewide uniform fee imposed by
this section:
(i) aircratft;
(ii) tangible personal property subject to a uniform fee imposed by:
(A) Section 59-2-405;
(B) Section 59-2-405.2; or
(C) Section 59-2-405.3; and
(i) tangible personal property that is exempt from state or county ad valorem property taxes
under the laws of this state or of the federal government.
3)
(a) Except as provided in Subsections (3)(b) and (c), beginning on January 1, 1999, the uniform
fee for purposes of this section is as follows:

Age of Vehicle Uniform Fee
12 or more years $10
9 or more years but less than 12 years $50
6 or more years but less than 9 years $80
3 or more years but less than 6 years $110
Less than 3 years $150
(b) For registrations under Section 41-1a-215.5, the uniform fee for purposes of this section is as
follows:
Age of Vehicle Uniform Fee
12 or more years $7.75
9 or more years but less than 12 years $38.50
6 or more years but less than 9 years $61.50
3 or more years but less than 6 years $84.75
Less than 3 years $115.50

(c) Notwithstanding Subsections (3)(a) and (b), beginning on September 1, 2001, for a motor
vehicle issued a temporary sports event registration certificate in accordance with Section
41-3-306, the uniform fee for purposes of this section is $5 for the event period specified on
the temporary sports event registration certificate regardless of the age of the motor vehicle.

Page 1



Utah Code

(4) Notwithstanding Section 59-2-407, property subject to the uniform fee that is brought into the
state and is required to be registered in Utah shall, as a condition of registration, be subject to
the uniform fee unless all property taxes or uniform fees imposed by the state of origin have
been paid for the current calendar year.

()

(a) The revenues collected in each county from the uniform fee shall be distributed by the county
to each taxing entity in which the property described in Subsection (2) is located in the same
proportion in which revenue collected from ad valorem real property tax is distributed.

(b) Each taxing entity shall distribute the revenues received under Subsection (5)(a) in the same
proportion in which revenue collected from ad valorem real property tax is distributed.

Amended by Chapter 397, 2012 General Session
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