Utah Code

Chapter 41
Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry

77-41-101 Title.
This chapter is known as the "Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry."

Enacted by Chapter 145, 2012 General Session

77-41-102 Definitions.
As used in this chapter:

(1) "Bureau" means the bureau of Criminal Identification of the Department of Public Safety
established in section 53-10-201.

(2) "Business day" means a day on which state offices are open for regular business.

(3) "Certificate of eligibility" means a document issued by the Bureau of Criminal Identification
showing that the offender has met the requirements of Section 77-41-112.

(4) "Department” means the Department of Corrections.

(5) "Division" means the Division of Juvenile Justice Services.

(6) "Employed" or "carries on a vocation" includes employment that is full time or part time,
whether financially compensated, volunteered, or for the purpose of government or educational
benefit.

(7) "Indian Country" means:

(a) all land within the limits of any Indian reservation under the jurisdiction of the United States
government, regardless of the issuance of any patent, and includes rights-of-way running
through the reservation;

(b) all dependent Indian communities within the borders of the United States whether within the
original or subsequently acquired territory, and whether or not within the limits of a state; and

(c) all Indian allotments, including the Indian allotments to which the Indian titles have not been
extinguished, including rights-of-way running through the allotments.

(8) "Jurisdiction" means any state, Indian Country, United States Territory, or any property under
the jurisdiction of the United States military, Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, or New
Zealand.

(9) "Kidnap offender" means any person other than a natural parent of the victim who:

(a) has been convicted in this state of a violation of:

(i) Subsection 76-5-301(1)(c) or (d), kidnapping;

(ii) Section 76-5-301.1, child kidnapping;

(iif) Section 76-5-302, aggravated kidnapping;

(iv) Section 76-5-310, aggravated human trafficking, on or after May 10, 2011; or

(v) attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit any felony offense listed in Subsections (9)(a)
(i) through (iv);

(b) has been convicted of any crime, or an attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit a crime
in another jurisdiction, including any state, federal, or military court that is substantially
equivalent to the offenses listed in Subsection (9)(a) and who is:

(i) a Utah resident; or
(ii) not a Utah resident, but who, in any 12 month period, is in this state for a total of 10 or more
days, regardless of whether or not the offender intends to permanently reside in this state;

(©)
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(i) is required to register as a kidnap offender in any other jurisdiction of original conviction,
who is required to register as a kidnap offender by any state, federal, or military court, or
who would be required to register as a kidnap offender if residing in the jurisdiction of the
conviction regardless of the date of the conviction or any previous registration requirements;
and

(i) in any 12 month period, is in this state for a total of 10 or more days, regardless of whether
or not the offender intends to permanently reside in this state;

(d) is a nonresident regularly employed or working in this state, or who is a student in this state,
and was convicted of one or more offenses listed in Subsection (9), or any substantially
equivalent offense in another jurisdiction, or as a result of the conviction, is required to
register in the person's state of residence;

(e) is found not guilty by reason of insanity in this state or in any other jurisdiction of one or more
offenses listed in Subsection (9); or

(f) is adjudicated delinquent based on one or more offenses listed in Subsection (9)(a) and who
has been committed to the division for secure confinement for that offense and remains in the
division's custody 30 days prior to the person's 21st birthday.

(10) "Natural parent" means a minor's biological or adoptive parent, and includes the minor's
noncustodial parent.
(11) "Offender" means a kidnap offender as defined in Subsection (9) or a sex offender as defined

in Subsection (17).

(12) "Online identifier" or "Internet identifier":

(a) means any electronic mail, chat, instant messenger, social networking, or similar name used
for Internet communication; and

(b) does not include date of birth, Social Security number, PIN number, or Internet passwords.

(13) "Primary residence" means the location where the offender regularly resides, even if the
offender intends to move to another location or return to another location at any future date.

(14) "Register" means to comply with the requirements of this chapter and administrative rules of
the department made under this chapter.

(15) "Registration website" means the Sex and Kidnap Offender Notification and Registration
website described in Section 77-41-110 and the information on the website.

(16) "Secondary residence" means any real property that the offender owns or has a financial
interest in, or any location where, in any 12 month period, the offender stays overnight a total of

10 or more nights when not staying at the offender's primary residence.

(17) "Sex offender" means any person:

(a) convicted in this state of:

(i) a felony or class A misdemeanor violation of Section 76-4-401, enticing a minor;

(ii) Section 76-5b-202, sexual exploitation of a vulnerable adult, on or after May 10, 2011,

(i) a felony violation of Section 76-5-401, unlawful sexual activity with a minor;

(iv) Section 76-5-401.1, sexual abuse of a minor, except under Subsection 76-5-401.1(3)(a);

(v) Section 76-5-401.2, unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17 year old;

(vi) Section 76-5-402, rape;

(vii) Section 76-5-402.1, rape of a child;

(viii) Section 76-5-402.2, object rape;

(ix) Section 76-5-402.3, object rape of a child;

(x) a felony violation of Section 76-5-403, forcible sodomy;

(xi) Section 76-5-403.1, sodomy on a child;

(xii) Section 76-5-404, forcible sexual abuse;

(xiii) Section 76-5-404.1, sexual abuse of a child or aggravated sexual abuse of a child;
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(xiv) Section 76-5-405, aggravated sexual assault;

(xv) Section 76-5-412, custodial sexual relations, when the person in custody is younger than
18 years of age, if the offense is committed on or after May 10, 2011;

(xvi) Section 76-5b-201, sexual exploitation of a minor;

(xvii) Section 76-7-102, incest;

(xviii) Section 76-9-702, lewdness, if the person has been convicted of the offense four or more
times;

(xix) Section 76-9-702.1, sexual battery, if the person has been convicted of the offense four or
more times;

(xx) any combination of convictions of Section 76-9-702, lewdness, and of Section 76-9-702.1,
sexual battery, that total four or more convictions;

(xxi) Section 76-9-702.5, lewdness involving a child;

(xxii) a felony or class A misdemeanor violation of Section 76-9-702.7, voyeurism;

(xxiii) Section 76-10-1306, aggravated exploitation of prostitution; or

(xxiv) attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit any felony offense listed in Subsection (17)
(),

(b) who has been convicted of any crime, or an attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit a
crime in another jurisdiction, including any state, federal, or military court that is substantially
equivalent to the offenses listed in Subsection (17)(a) and who is:

(i) a Utah resident; or

(ii) not a Utah resident, but who, in any 12 month period, is in this state for a total of 10 or more
days, regardless of whether the offender intends to permanently reside in this state;

(c)

(i) who is required to register as a sex offender in any other jurisdiction of original conviction,
who is required to register as a sex offender by any state, federal, or military court, or who
would be required to register as a sex offender if residing in the jurisdiction of the original
conviction regardless of the date of the conviction or any previous registration requirements;
and

(i) who, in any 12 month period, is in the state for a total of 10 or more days, regardless of
whether or not the offender intends to permanently reside in this state;

(d) who is a nonresident regularly employed or working in this state or who is a student in
this state and was convicted of one or more offenses listed in Subsection (17)(a), or any
substantially equivalent offense in any jurisdiction, or as a result of the conviction, is required
to register in the person's jurisdiction of residence;

(e) who is found not guilty by reason of insanity in this state, or in any other jurisdiction of one or
more offenses listed in Subsection (17)(a); or

(f) who is adjudicated delinquent based on one or more offenses listed in Subsection (17)(a) and
who has been committed to the division for secure confinement for that offense and remains
in the division's custody 30 days prior to the person's 21st birthday.

(18) "Traffic offense" does not include a violation of Title 41, Chapter 6a, Part 5, Driving Under the

Influence and Reckless Driving.

(19) "Vehicle" means any motor vehicle, aircraft, or watercraft subject to registration in any
jurisdiction.

Amended by Chapter 372, 2016 General Session

77-41-103 Department duties.
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(1) The department, to assist in investigating kidnapping and sex-related crimes, and in
apprehending offenders, shall:

(a) develop and operate a system to collect, analyze, maintain, and disseminate information on
offenders and sex and kidnap offenses;
(b) make information listed in Subsection 77-41-110(4) available to the public; and
(c) share information provided by an offender under this chapter that may not be made available
to the public under Subsection 77-41-110(4), but only:
(i) for the purposes under this chapter; or
(i) in accordance with Section 63G-2-206.

(2) Any law enforcement agency shall, in the manner prescribed by the department, inform the
department of:

(a) the receipt of a report or complaint of an offense listed in Subsection 77-41-102(9) or (17),
within three business days; and

(b) the arrest of a person suspected of any of the offenses listed in Subsection 77-41-102(9) or
(17), within five business days.
(3) Upon convicting a person of any of the offenses listed in Subsection 77-41-102(9) or (17), the
convicting court shall within three business days forward a signed copy of the judgment and

sentence to the Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry office within the Department of Corrections.
(4) The department shall:

(a) provide the following additional information when available:
() the crimes the offender has been convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for;
(ii) a description of the offender's primary and secondary targets; and
(iif) any other relevant identifying information as determined by the department;
(b) maintain the Sex Offender and Kidnap Offender Notification and Registration website; and

(c) ensure that the registration information collected regarding an offender's enrollment or
employment at an educational institution is:

(i)
(A) promptly made available to any law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction where the
institution is located if the educational institution is an institution of higher education; or
(B) promptly made available to the district superintendent of the school district where the
offender is enrolled if the educational institution is an institution of primary education; and
(ii) entered into the appropriate state records or data system.

Amended by Chapter 210, 2015 General Session

77-41-104 Registration of offenders -- Department and agency requirements.
(1) An offender in the custody of the department shall be registered by agents of the department
upon:
(a) placement on probation;
(b) commitment to a secure correctional facility operated by or under contract to the department;
(c) release from confinement to parole status, termination or expiration of sentence, or escape;

(d) entrance to and release from any community-based residential program operated by or under
contract to the department; or

(e) termination of probation or parole.
(2) An offender who is not in the custody of the department and who is confined in a correctional
facility not operated by or under contract to the department shall be registered with the

department by the sheriff of the county in which the offender is confined, upon:
(a) commitment to the correctional facility; and
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(b) release from confinement.

(3) An offender in the custody of the division shall be registered with the department by the division
prior to release from custody.

(4) An offender committed to a state mental hospital shall be registered with the department by the
hospital upon admission and upon discharge.

()

(a)

(i) A municipal or county law enforcement agency shall register an offender who resides within
the agency's jurisdiction and is not under the supervision of the Division of Adult Probation
and Parole within the department.

(ii) In order to conduct offender registration under this chapter, the agency shall ensure the
agency staff responsible for registration:

(A) has received initial training by the department and has been certified by the department
as qualified and authorized to conduct registrations and enter offender registration
information into the registry database; and

(B) certify annually with the department.

(b)

(i) When the department receives offender registration information regarding a change of an
offender's primary residence location, the department shall within five days electronically
notify the law enforcement agencies that have jurisdiction over the area where:

(A) the residence that the offender is leaving is located; and

(B) the residence to which the offender is moving is located.

(i) The department shall provide notification under this Subsection (5)(b) if the offender's
change of address is between law enforcement agency jurisdictions, or is within one
jurisdiction.

(c) The department shall make available to offenders required to register under this chapter the
name of the agency, whether it is a local law enforcement agency or the department, that
the offender should contact to register, the location for registering, and the requirements of
registration.

(6) An agency in the state that registers an offender on probation, an offender who has been
released from confinement to parole status or termination, or an offender whose sentence has
expired shall inform the offender of the duty to comply with:

(a) the continuing registration requirements of this chapter during the period of registration
required in Subsection 77-41-105(3), including:

() notification to the state agencies in the states where the registrant presently resides and
plans to reside when moving across state lines;

(ii) verification of address at least every 60 days pursuant to a parole agreement for lifetime
parolees; and

(i) notification to the out-of-state agency where the offender is living, whether or not the
offender is a resident of that state; and

(b) the driver license certificate or identification card surrender requirement under Subsection
53-3-216(3) or 53-3-807(4) and application provisions under Section 53-3-205 or 53-3-804.

(7) The department may make administrative rules necessary to implement this chapter, including:

(a) the method for dissemination of the information; and

(b) instructions to the public regarding the use of the information.

(8) Any information regarding the identity or location of a victim shall be redacted by the
department from information provided under Subsections 77-41-103(4) and 77-41-105(8).
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(9) This chapter does not create or impose any duty on any person to request or obtain information
regarding any offender from the department.

Enacted by Chapter 145, 2012 General Session

77-41-105 Registration of offenders -- Offender responsibilities.

(1) An offender convicted by any other jurisdiction is required to register under Subsection (3) and
Subsection 77-41-102(9) or (17). The offender shall register with the department within 10
days of entering the state, regardless of the offender's length of stay.

2)

(a) An offender required to register under Subsection 77-41-102(9) or (17) who is under
supervision by the department shall register in person with Division of Adult Probation and
Parole.

(b) An offender required to register under Subsection 77-41-102(9) or (17) who is no longer
under supervision by the department shall register in person with the police department or
sheriff's office that has jurisdiction over the area where the offender resides.

3)

(a) Except as provided in Subsections (3)(b), (c), and (4), and Section 77-41-106, an offender
shall, for the duration of the sentence and for 10 years after termination of sentence or
custody of the division, register every year during the month of the offender's date of birth,
during the month that is the sixth month after the offender's birth month, and also within
three business days of every change of the offender's primary residence, any secondary
residences, place of employment, vehicle information, or educational information required to
be submitted under Subsection (8).

(b) Except as provided in Subsections (4) and (5), and Section 77-41-106, an offender who is
convicted in another jurisdiction of an offense listed in Subsection 77-41-102(9)(a) or (17)(a),
a substantially similar offense, or any other offense that requires registration in the jurisdiction
of conviction, shall:

(i) register for the time period, and in the frequency, required by the jurisdiction where the
offender was convicted if that jurisdiction's registration period or registration frequency
requirement for the offense that the offender was convicted of is greater than the 10 years
from completion of the sentence registration period that is required under Subsection (3)(a),
or is more frequent than every six months; or

(ii) register in accordance with the requirements of Subsection (3)(a), if the jurisdiction's
registration period or frequency requirement for the offense that the offender was convicted
of is less than the registration period required under Subsection (3)(a), or is less frequent
than every six months.

(€)

() An offender convicted as an adult of any of the offenses listed in Section 77-41-106 shall, for
the offender’s lifetime, register every year during the month of the offender’s birth, during the
month that is the sixth month after the offender’s birth month, and also within three business
days of every change of the offender's primary residence, any secondary residences, place
of employment, vehicle information, or educational information required to be submitted
under Subsection (8).

(ii) This registration requirement is not subject to exemptions and may not be terminated or
altered during the offender's lifetime, unless a petition is granted under Section 77-41-112.

(d) For the purpose of establishing venue for a violation of this Subsection (3), the violation is
considered to be committed:
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(i) at the most recent registered primary residence of the offender or at the location of the
offender, if the actual location of the offender at the time of the violation is not known; or
(ii) at the location of the offender at the time the offender is apprehended.

(4) Notwithstanding Subsection (3) and Section 77-41-106, an offender who is confined in a secure
facility or in a state mental hospital is not required to register during the period of confinement.

(5) In the case of an offender adjudicated in another jurisdiction as a juvenile and required to
register under this chapter, the offender shall register in the time period and in the frequency
consistent with the requirements of this Subsection (5). However, if the jurisdiction of the
offender's adjudication does not publish the offender's information on a public website, the
department shall maintain, but not publish the offender's information on the Sex Offender and
Kidnap Offender Registration website.

(6) An offender who is required to register under Subsection (3) shall surrender the offender's
license, certificate, or identification card as required under Subsection 53-3-216(3) or
53-3-807(4) and may apply for a license certificate or identification card as provided under
Section 53-3-205 or 53-3-804.

(7) A sex offender who violates Section 77-27-21.8 regarding being in the presence of a child while
required to register under this chapter shall register for an additional five years subsequent to
the registration period otherwise required under this chapter.

(8) An offender shall provide the department or the registering entity with the following information:

(a) all names and aliases by which the offender is or has been known;

(b) the addresses of the offender's primary and secondary residences;

(c) a physical description, including the offender's date of birth, height, weight, eye and hair color;

(d) the make, model, color, year, plate number, and vehicle identification number of any vehicle
or vehicles the offender owns or regularly drives;

(e) a current photograph of the offender;

(f) a set of fingerprints, if one has not already been provided,;

(g) a DNA specimen, taken in accordance with Section 53-10-404, if one has not already been
provided;

(h) telephone numbers and any other designations used by the offender for routing or self-
identification in telephonic communications from fixed locations or cellular telephones;

() Internet identifiers and the addresses the offender uses for routing or self-identification in
Internet communications or postings;

(j) the name and Internet address of all websites on which the offender is registered using an
online identifier, including all online identifiers used to access those websites;

(k) a copy of the offender's passport, if a passport has been issued to the offender;

(1) if the offender is an alien, all documents establishing the offender's immigration status;

(m) all professional licenses that authorize the offender to engage in an occupation or carry out a
trade or business, including any identifiers, such as numbers;

(n) each educational institution in Utah at which the offender is employed, carries on a vocation,
or is a student, and any change of enrollment or employment status of the offender at any
educational institution;

(o) the name, the telephone number, and the address of any place where the offender is
employed or will be employed;

(p) the name, the telephone number, and the address of any place where the offender works as a
volunteer or will work as a volunteer; and

(q) the offender's social security number.

(9) Notwithstanding Section 42-1-1, an offender:

(a) may not change the offender's name:
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(i) while under the jurisdiction of the department; and
(i) until the registration requirements of this statute have expired; and
(b) may not change the offender's name at any time, if registration is for life under Subsection
77-41-105(3)(c).
(10) Notwithstanding Subsections (8)(i) and (j) and 77-41-103(1)(c), an offender is not required to
provide the department with:
(a) the offender's online identifier and password used exclusively for the offender's employment
on equipment provided by an employer and used to access the employer's private network; or
(b) online identifiers for the offender's financial accounts, including any bank, retirement, or
investment accounts.

Amended by Chapter 185, 2016 General Session

77-41-106 Registerable offenses.
Offenses referred to in Subsection 77-41-105(3)(c)(i) are:
(1) any offense listed in Subsection 77-41-102(9) or (17) if, at the time of the conviction, the
offender has previously been convicted of an offense listed in Subsection 77-41-102(9) or (17)
or has previously been required to register as a sex offender for an offense committed as a
juvenile;
(2) a conviction for any of the following offenses, including attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to
commit any felony of:
(a) Section 76-5-301.1, child kidnapping, except if the offender is a natural parent of the victim;
(b) Section 76-5-402, rape;
(c) Section 76-5-402.1, rape of a child;
(d) Section 76-5-402.2, object rape;
(e) Section 76-5-402.3, object rape of a child;
(f) Section 76-5-403.1, sodomy on a child;
(g) Subsection 76-5-404.1(4), aggravated sexual abuse of a child; or
(h) Section 76-5-405, aggravated sexual assault;
(3) Section 76-4-401, a felony violation of enticing a minor over the Internet;
(4) Section 76-5-302, aggravated kidnapping, except if the offender is a natural parent of the
victim;
(5) Section 76-5-403, forcible sodomy;
(6) Section 76-5-404.1, sexual abuse of a child;
(7) Section 76-5b-201, sexual exploitation of a minor; or
(8) Section 76-10-1306, aggravated exploitation of prostitution, on or after May 10, 2011.

Amended by Chapter 210, 2015 General Session

77-41-107 Penalties.
(1) An offender who knowingly fails to register under this chapter or provides false or incomplete
information is guilty of:
(a) a third degree felony and shall be sentenced to serve a term of incarceration for not less than
90 days and also at least one year of probation if:
() the offender is required to register for a felony conviction or adjudicated delinquent for
what would be a felony if the juvenile were an adult of an offense listed in Subsection
77-41-102(9)(a) or (17)(a); or
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(ii) the offender is required to register for the offender's lifetime under Subsection 77-41-105(3)
(c); or
(b) a class A misdemeanor and shall be sentenced to serve a term of incarceration for not fewer
than 90 days and also at least one year of probation if the offender is required to register for a
misdemeanor conviction or is adjudicated delinquent for what would be a misdemeanor if the
juvenile were an adult of an offense listed in Subsection 77-41-102(9)(a) or (17)(a).

(2) Neither the court nor the Board of Pardons and Parole may release a person who violates this
chapter from serving the term required under Subsection (1). This Subsection (2) supersedes
any other provision of the law contrary to this chapter.

(3) The offender shall register for an additional year for every year in which the offender does not
comply with the registration requirements of this chapter.

Amended by Chapter 210, 2015 General Session

77-41-108 Classification of information.

Notwithstanding Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and Management Act,
information under Subsection 77-41-103(4) that is collected and released under Subsection
77-41-110(4) is public information, unless otherwise restricted under Subsection 77-41-103(1).

Enacted by Chapter 145, 2012 General Session

77-41-109 Miscellaneous provisions.

1)

(a) If an offender is to be temporarily sent on any assignment outside a secure facility in which
the offender is confined on any assignment, including, without limitation, firefighting or
disaster control, the official who has custody of the offender shall, within a reasonable time
prior to removal from the secure facility, notify the local law enforcement agencies where the
assignment is to be filled.

(b) This Subsection (1) does not apply to any person temporarily released under guard from the
institution in which the person is confined.

(2) Notwithstanding Title 77, Chapter 40, Utah Expungement Act, a person convicted of any
offense listed in Subsection 77-41-102(9) or (17) is not relieved from the responsibility to
register as required under this section, unless the offender is removed from the registry under
Section 77-41-112.

Amended by Chapter 210, 2015 General Session

77-41-110 Sex offender and kidnap offender registry -- Department to maintain.
(1) The department shall maintain a Sex Offender and Kidnap Offender Notification and
Registration website on the Internet, which shall contain a disclaimer informing the public:
(a) the information contained on the site is obtained from offenders and the department does not
guarantee its accuracy or completeness;
(b) members of the public are not allowed to use the information to harass or threaten offenders
or members of their families; and
(c) harassment, stalking, or threats against offenders or their families are prohibited and doing so
may violate Utah criminal laws.
(2) The Sex Offender and Kidnap Offender Notification and Registration website shall be indexed
by both the surname of the offender and by postal codes.
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(3) The department shall construct the Sex Offender Notification and Registration website so that
users, before accessing registry information, must indicate that they have read the disclaimer,
understand it, and agree to comply with its terms.

(4) Except as provided in Subsection (5), the Sex Offender and Kidnap Offender Notification and
Registration website shall include the following registry information:

(a) all names and aliases by which the offender is or has been known, but not including any
online or Internet identifiers;

(b) the addresses of the offender's primary, secondary, and temporary residences;

(c) a physical description, including the offender's date of birth, height, weight, and eye and hair
color;

(d) the make, model, color, year, and plate number of any vehicle or vehicles the offender owns
or regularly drives;

(e) a current photograph of the offender;

(f) a list of all professional licenses that authorize the offender to engage in an occupation or
carry out a trade or business;

(g) each educational institution in Utah at which the offender is employed, carries on a vocation,
or is a student;

(h) a list of places where the offender works as a volunteer; and

() the crimes listed in Subsections 77-41-102(9) and (16) that the offender has been convicted of
or for which the offender has been adjudicated delinquent in juvenile court.

(5) The department, its personnel, and any individual or entity acting at the request or upon the
direction of the department are immune from civil liability for damages for good faith compliance
with this chapter and will be presumed to have acted in good faith by reporting information.

(6) The department shall redact information that, if disclosed, could reasonably identify a victim.

Enacted by Chapter 145, 2012 General Session
Amended by Chapter 382, 2012 General Session, (Coordination Clause)

77-41-111 Fees.

(1) Each offender required to register under Section 77-41-105 shall, in the month of the offender's
birth:

(a) pay to the department an annual fee of $100 each year the offender is subject to the
registration requirements of this chapter; and

(b) pay to the registering agency, if it is an agency other than the Department of Corrections,
an annual fee of not more than $25, which may be assessed by that agency for providing
registration.

(2) Notwithstanding Subsection (1), an offender who is confined in a secure facility or in a state
mental hospital is not required to pay the annual fee.

(3) The department shall deposit fees collected in accordance with this chapter in the General
Fund as a dedicated credit, to be used by the department for maintaining the offender registry
under this chapter and monitoring offender registration compliance, including the costs of:

(a) data entry;

(b) processing registration packets;

(c) updating registry information;

(d) ensuring offender compliance with registration requirements under this chapter; and

(e) apprehending offenders who are in violation of the offender registration requirements under
this chapter.
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Enacted by Chapter 145, 2012 General Session

77-41-112 Removal from registry -- Requirements -- Procedure.

(1) An offender may petition the court where the offender was convicted of the offense requiring
registration for an order removing the offender from the Sex Offender and Kidnap Offender
Registry if:

(a) the offender was convicted of an offense under Subsection (2);

(b) at least five years have passed since the completion of the offender's sentence for the
offense;

(c) the offense is the only conviction for which the offender is required to register; and

(d) the offender has not been convicted, subsequently to the offense for which the offender was
placed on the registry, of a violation listed in:

(i) Subsection 77-41-102(9), which defines a kidnap offender; or
(ii) Subsection 77-41-102(17), which defines a sex offender.

(2) The offenses referred to in Subsection (1)(a) are:

(a) Section 76-4-401, Enticing a minor, if the offense is a class A misdemeanor;

(b) Section 76-5-301, Kidnapping, and the conviction of violating Section 76-5-301,

(c) Section 76-5-304, Unlawful detention, and the conviction of violating Section 76-5-304 is the
only conviction for which the offender is required to register;

(d) Section 76-5-401, Unlawful sexual activity with a minor and, at the time of the offense, was
not more than 10 years older than the victim;

(e) Section 76-5-401.2, Unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17 year old, and at the time of the
offense, was not more than 15 years older than the victim; or

(f) Section 76-9-702.7, Voyeurism, if the offense is a class A misdemeanor.

(3) An offender who meets the requirements under Subsection (1) shall also complete all of the
following requirements:

(a) the offender has successfully completed all treatment ordered by the court or the Board of
Pardons and Parole relating to the conviction;

(b)

() the offender has not been convicted of any other crime, excluding traffic offenses, as
evidenced by a certificate of eligibility issued by the bureau; and

(ii) as used in this section, "traffic offense" does not include a violation of Title 41, Chapter 6a,
Part 5, Driving Under the Influence and Reckless Driving;

(c) the offender has paid all restitution ordered by the court;

(d) the offender has complied with all the registration requirements at all times as required in this
chapter, as evidenced by a document obtained by the offender from the Utah Department of
Corrections, which confirms compliance; and

(e) the office that prosecuted the offender, and the victim, or if the victim is still a minor, the
victim's parent, are notified and provided with an opportunity to respond in accordance with
Subsection (6)(a).

(4)

(a)

(i) An offender seeking removal from the Sex Offender or Kidnap Offender Registry shall apply
for a certificate of eligibility from the bureau.

(i) An offender who intentionally or knowingly provides any false or misleading information to
the bureau when applying for a certificate of eligibility is guilty of a class B misdemeanor and
subject to prosecution under Section 76-8-504.6.
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(iif) Regardless of whether the offender is prosecuted, the bureau may deny a certificate of
eligibility to anyone providing false information on an application.

(b)

(i) The bureau shall perform a check of records of governmental agencies, including national
criminal databases, to determine whether an offender is eligible to receive a certificate of
eligibility under this section.

(i) If the offender meets all of the criteria under Subsections (1), (2), and (3), the bureau shall
issue a certificate of eligibility to the offender, which shall be valid for a period of 90 days
from the date the certificate is issued.

()

(a)

(i) The bureau shall charge application and issuance fees for a certificate of eligibility in
accordance with the process in Section 63J-1-504.

(i) The application fee shall be paid at the time the offender submits an application for a
certificate of eligibility to the bureau.

(iii) If the bureau determines that the issuance of a certificate of eligibility is appropriate, the
offender will be charged an additional fee for the issuance of a certificate of eligibility.

(b) Funds generated under Subsection (5) shall be deposited in the General Fund as a dedicated
credit by the department to cover the costs incurred in determining eligibility.

(6)

(a) The offender shall file the petition, original information, and court docket with the court, and
deliver a copy of the petition to the office of the prosecutor.

(i) Upon receipt of a petition for removal from the Sex Offender and Kidnap Offender Registry,
the office of the prosecutor shall provide notice of the petition:

(A) by first-class mail to the victim at the most recent address of record on file or, if the victim
is still a minor, to the parent or guardian of the victim; and
(B) to the Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry office in the Department of Corrections.

(i) The notice shall include a copy of the petition, state that the victim has a right to object to
the removal of the offender from the registry, and provide instructions for registering an
objection with the court.

(b) The office of the prosecutor shall provide the following, if available, to the court within 30 days
after receiving the petition:

(i) presentencing report;

(i) any evaluation done as part of sentencing; and

(iif) any other information the office of the prosecutor feels the court should consider.

(c) The victim, or the victim's parent or guardian if the victim is a minor, may respond to the
petition by filing a recommendation or objection with the court within 45 days after the mailing
of the petition to the victim.

(7)

(@) The court shall:

(i) review the petition and all documents submitted with the petition; and

(ii) hold a hearing if requested by the prosecutor or the victim.

(b) The court shall consider whether the offender has paid all restitution ordered by the court or
the Board of Pardons.

(c) If the court determines that it is not contrary to the interests of the public to do so, it may grant
the petition and order removal of the offender from the registry.

(d) If the court grants the petition, it shall forward a copy of the order directing removal of the
offender from the registry to the department and the office of the prosecutor.
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(e) If the court denies the petition, the offender may not submit another petition for three years.
(8) The office of the prosecutor shall notify the victim and the Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry
office in the Department of Corrections of the court's decision in the same manner as
notification was provided in Subsection (6)(a).

Amended by Chapter 185, 2016 General Session
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