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78B-3-423 Affidavit of merit.
1)

(a) Before a claimant may receive a certificate of compliance under Sections 78B-3-416 and

78B-3-418, a claimant shall file an affidavit of merit under this section:
(i) within 60 days of the date of the panel's opinion, if the claimant receives a finding from the
pre-litigation panel in accordance with Section 78B-3-418 of non-meritorious for either:
(A) the claim of breach of applicable standard of care; or
(B) that the breach of care was the proximate cause of injury;

(i) within 60 days of the expiration of the time limit in Subsection 78B-3-416(3)(b)(ii), if a pre-
litigation hearing is not held within the time limits under Subsection 78B-3-416(3)(b)(ii); or
(iif) within 30 days of the division's determination under Subsection 78B-3-416(3)(d)(ii)(B), if the

division makes a determination under Subsection 78B-3-416(3)(d)(ii)(B).

(b) A claimant who is required to file an affidavit of merit under Subsection (1)(a) shall:

(i) file the affidavit of merit with the division; and
(ii) serve each defendant with the affidavit of merit in accordance with Subsection 78B-3-412(3).
(2) The affidavit of merit shall:

(a) be executed by the claimant's attorney or the claimant if the claimant is proceeding pro se,
stating that the affiant has consulted with and reviewed the facts of the case with a health
care provider who has determined after a review of the medical record and other relevant
material involved in the particular action that there is a reasonable and meritorious cause for
the filing of a medical liability action; and

(b) include an affidavit signed by a health care provider who meets the requirements of
Subsection (3), which states that in the health care provider's opinion:

() there are reasonable grounds to believe that the applicable standard of care was breached;

(ii) the breach was a proximate cause of the injury claimed in the notice of intent to commence
action; and

(i) the reasons for the health care provider's opinion.

(c) The statement required in Subsection (2)(b)(i) shall be waived if the claimant received
an opinion that there was a breach of the applicable standard of care under Subsection
78B-3-418(2)(a)(i).

(3) A health care provider who signs the affidavit of merit under Subsection (2) shall:

(a) if none of the respondents is a physician licensed under Title 58, Chapter 67, Utah
Medical Practice Act, or an osteopathic physician licensed under Title 58, Chapter 68,

Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act, hold a current unrestricted license issued by the
appropriate licensing authority of Utah or another state in the same specialty or of the same
class of license as the respondents; or

(b) if at least one of the respondents is a physician licensed under Title 58, Chapter 67, Utah
Medical Practice Act, or an osteopathic physician licensed under Title 58, Chapter 68,

Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act, hold a current unrestricted license issued by
the appropriate licensing authority of Utah or another state to practice medicine in all its
branches.
(4) A claimant's attorney or claimant may obtain up to a 60-day extension to file the affidavit of
merit if:

(a) the claimant or the claimant's attorney submits a signed affidavit for extension with notice to
the division attesting to the fact that the claimant is unable to submit an affidavit of merit as
required by this section because:

(i) a statute of limitations would impair the action; and
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(i) the affidavit of merit could not be obtained before the expiration of the statute of limitations;
and

(b) the claimant or claimant's attorney submits the affidavit for extension to each named
respondent in accordance with Subsection 78B-3-412(3) no later than 60 days after the date
specified in Subsection (1)(a)(i).

()

(a) A claimant or claimant's attorney who submits allegations in an affidavit of merit that are found
to be without reasonable cause and untrue, based on information available to the plaintiff at
the time the affidavit was submitted to the division, is liable to the defendant for the payment
of reasonable expenses and reasonable attorney fees actually incurred by the defendant or
the defendant's insurer.

(b) An affidavit of merit is not admissible, and cannot be used for any purpose, in a subsequent
lawsuit based on the claim that is the subject of the affidavit, except for the purpose of
establishing the right to recovery under Subsection (5)(c).

(c) A court, or arbitrator under Section 78B-3-421, may award costs and attorney fees under
Subsection (5)(a) if the defendant files a motion for costs and attorney fees within 60 days
of the judgment or dismissal of the action in favor of the defendant. The person making a
motion for attorney fees and costs may depose and examine the health care provider who
prepared the affidavit of merit.

(6) If a claimant or the claimant's attorney does not file an affidavit of merit as required by
this section, the division may not issue a certificate of compliance for the claimant and the
malpractice action shall be dismissed by the court.

(7) This section applies to a cause of action that arises on or after July 1, 2010.

Enacted by Chapter 97, 2010 General Session
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