1st Sub. H.B. 10 YOUTH DRIVER PROVISIONS

SENATE FLOOR AMENDMENTS

AMENDMENT 4

FEBRUARY 5, 1999 8:01 AM

Senator **Howell** proposes the following amendments:

1. Page 1, Line 7: Delete "A NIGHT RESTRICTION" and insert "RESTRICTIONS"

and after "YOUNG DRIVERS;" insert "PROVIDING

ADDITIONAL SEAT BELT REQUIREMENTS FOR

PASSENGERS RIDING WITH CERTAIN YOUNG DRIVERS;"

2. Page 1, Line 16: After line 16 insert:

"41-8-3, Utah Code Annotated 1953"

"41-8-4, Utah Code Annotated 1953"

. Page 2, Line 36: After line 36 insert:

"Section 2. Section 41-8-3 is enacted to read:

41-8-3. Operation of vehicle by persons under 16 and six

months -- Passenger limitations -- Exceptions -- Penalties.
(1) In addition to the provisions of Title 53, Chapter 3, Uniform

Driver License Act, a person younger than 16 years and six months of age, whether resident or nonresident of this state, may not operate a motor vehicle upon any highway of this state with any

passenger who is not an immediate family member.

(2) This section does not apply to a person who is operating a motor vehicle accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and is occupying a seat next to the driver.

(3) In addition to any penalties imposed under Title 53, Chapter 3, Uniform Driver License Act, a violation of this section is a class C misdemeanor.

Section 3. Section 41-8-4 is enacted to read:

41-8-4. Seat belt requirements.

(1) In addition to the provisions of Sections 41-6-148.20 and 41-6-182, the driver shall provide that all persons in a motor vehicle being driven by a person younger than 18 years of age wear a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt system or child restraint device, as applicable, that meets the standards set by the commissioner of the Department of Public Safety.

(2) A violation of this section is a class C misdemeanor."

Renumber remaining sections accordingly.

4. Page 4, Lines 101-102: Reinstate "and no other passengers" and insert ", except immediate family members of the driver," and reinstate "are in the vehicle"

After "minor applicant" insert ", under the authority of a permit issued under this chapter," and after "motor vehicle" delete "under the authority of a permit issued under this chapter," and insert ", of

which at least ten hours shall be during night hours after sunset"

6. Page 6, Line 175: Reinstate "and no other passengers" and insert ", except immediate family members of the driver," and reinstate "are in the vehicle"