Enrolled Copy H.B. 188

CAPITOL ART PLACEMENT COMMISSION MEMBERS

2000 GENERAL SESSION STATE OF UTAH

Sponsor: Jordan Tanner

AN ACT RELATING TO STATE COMMISSIONS AND COUNCILS; EXPANDING THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE STATE CAPITOL ART PLACEMENT COMMISSION; MODIFYING QUORUM REQUIREMENTS; MAKING TECHNICAL CORRECTIONS; AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

This act affects sections of Utah Code Annotated 1953 as follows:

AMENDS:

63C-9-702, as last amended by Chapter 255, Laws of Utah 1999

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:

Section 1. Section 63C-9-702 is amended to read:

63C-9-702. State Capitol Art Placement Commission -- Created -- Membership -- Operations.

- (1) (a) There is created a State Capitol Art Placement Commission composed of [ten] 11 members appointed as provided in this Subsection (1).
 - (b) (i) The governor shall appoint:
- (A) an architect, from a list of three architects submitted by the American Institute of Architects;
- (B) an artist, from a list of three artists submitted by the Utah Arts Council Board of Directors; [and]
- (C) an historian, from a list of three historians submitted by the Board of State History[.-]; and
 - (D) a citizen to represent the public at large.
- (ii) The governor, as chair of the State Capitol Preservation Board created in Section 63C-9-201, with the concurrence of the State Capitol Preservation Board, shall appoint a member of the State Capitol Preservation Board as an ex officio, nonvoting member of the State Capitol Art

H.B. 188 Enrolled Copy

Placement Commission.

(c) The president of the Senate shall appoint three members, two from the majority party and one from the minority party.

- (d) The speaker of the House shall appoint three members, two from the majority party and one from the minority party.
- (2) (a) (i) (A) Voting commission members appointed by the governor shall serve four-year terms and may serve up to two consecutive terms.
- (B) Ex officio commission members appointed by the governor as chair of the State Capitol Preservation Board shall serve two-year terms and may be reappointed.
- (ii) Commission members appointed by the speaker and president shall serve two-year terms and may be reappointed.
- (b) In appointing members to the first commission, the governor shall designate one member to serve a two-year term and two members to serve four-year terms.
- (3) (a) Each commission member shall hold office until his successor has been appointed and qualified.
- (b) If a vacancy occurs in the commission because of death, resignation, or otherwise, the appointing authority shall appoint a successor, who shall hold office for the unexpired term.
- (c) [Five] <u>Six</u> voting members of the commission are a quorum for the purpose of organizing and conducting the business of the commission.
- (d) The vote of a majority of members voting when a quorum is present is necessary for the commission to take action.
- (4) (a) At the initial meeting of the commission, the commission shall select one of its number to serve as chair of the commission.
- (b) The executive director of the State Capitol Preservation Board is the nonvoting secretary to the commission and shall provide staff services to the commission.
- (5) (a) Members of the commission shall receive per diem and may be reimbursed for expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties as established by the Division of Finance.
 - (b) The commission shall meet at least once per year and at the call of the chair.

Section 2. Effective date.

This act takes effect on January 1, 2001.