
MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TRANSPORTATION

STANDING COMMITTEE

Room C450, State Capitol, Utah State Capitol Complex
January 29, 2010

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Bradley M. Daw, Chair
Rep. Julie Fisher, Vice Chair
Rep. Johnny Anderson
Rep. Tim M. Cosgrove
Rep. Janice M. Fisher
Rep. Lynn N. Hemingway
Rep. Steven R. Mascaro
Rep. Ronda R. Menlove
Rep. Michael T. Morley
Rep. F. Jay Seegmiller
Rep. C. Brent Wallis

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Rep. Steven D. Clark
Rep. Wayne A. Harper
Rep. Bradley G. Last

STAFF PRESENT: Leif Elder, Policy Analyst
Karen Mitchell, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Daw called the meeting to order at 2:03 p.m.

H.B. 93 Motorcycle and Off-highway Vehicle Amendments  (Rep. R. Menlove)

Rep. Menlove introduced the bill to the committee.

MOTION: Rep. Mascaro moved to amend the bill as follows:

1. Page 1, Lines 15 through 22:

15 < provides that a court shall waive $  10  8  of a fine charged to a person{ }

operating a

16 motorcycle or motor-driven cycle for a moving traffic violation if the person was:

17 C 18 years of age or older at the time of operation; and

18 C wearing protective headgear at the time of operation; 

19 < provides that a court shall waive $  10  8  of a fine charged for certain{ }

violations to a
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20 person operating an off-highway vehicle on public land if the person was:

21 C 18 years of age or older at the time of operation; and

22 C wearing protective headgear at the time of operation; and 

2. Page 2, Lines 46 through 50:

46 (4)  A court shall waive $  10  8  of a fine charged to a person operating a{ }

motorcycle or

47 motor-driven cycle for a moving traffic violation if the person was:

48 (a)  18 years of age or older at the time of operation; and

49 (b)  wearing protective headgear that complies with the specifications adopted under

50 Subsection (3) at the time of operation. 

3. Page 3, Lines 66 through 71:

66 (5)  A court shall waive $  10  8  of a fine charged for a violation of Title 41,{ }

Chapter 22,

67 Off-Highway Vehicles, to a person operating an off-highway vehicle on public land if the

68 person was:

69 (a)  18 years of age or older at the time of operation; and

70 (b)  wearing protective headgear that complies with the requirements described under

71 Subsection (1) at the time of operation. 

The motion to amend passed unanimously, with Rep. Wallis absent for the vote.

Spoke for the bill: Steve Thompson, President Abate Utah
Eric Stucki, Utah State Parks
Chris Purcell, State Farm Insurance

MOTION: Rep. Anderson moved to pass the bill out favorably as amended.

The motion passed unanimously, with Rep. Wallis absent for the vote.

S.B. 25 State Highway System Modifications  (Sen. K. Van Tassell)  (Rep. Julie

Fisher)

Sen. Van Tassell introduced the bill to the committee.    

Spoke for the bill: Linda Hull, Utah Department of Transportation    (handout)
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MOTION: Rep. Julie Fisher moved to pass the bill out favorably. 

The motion passed unanimously, with Rep. Menlove and Rep. Wallis absent for the vote.

H.B. 91 Traffic Control Signs for Bicycles  (Rep. C. Moss)

This bill was not considered.

MOTION: Rep. Hemingway moved to adjourn the meeting.  The motion passed 
unanimously, with Rep. Menlove and Rep. Wallis absent for the vote.

Chair Daw adjourned the meeting at 2:23 p.m.

 _________________________________
   Rep. Bradley M. Daw, Chair


