MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION & PUBLIC UTILITIES & TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE ROOM 215, SENATE BUILDING TUESDAY, JANUARY 31, 2012

Members Present: Sen. Kevin T. Van Tassell, Chair

Sen. Stuart Adams Sen. Scott K. Jenkins Sen. Peter C. Knudson Sen. Karen Mayne

Staff Present: Mr. Leif Elder, Policy Analyst

Ms. Karen Allred, Committee Secretary

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Van Tassell called the meeting to order at 2:20 p.m.

Approval of Minutes

MOTION: Sen. Adams moved to approve the minutes of the January 27, 2012, meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

S.B. 113 License Plates Amendments (Sen. L. Robles)

MOTION: Sen. Mayne moved to adopt **1st Sub. S.B. 113.** The motion passed unanimously.

Sen. Robles introduced and explained 1st Sub .S.B. 113.

Spoke for the bill: Captain Martin Blair, Utah Highway Patrol, Legislative Committee

Spoke against the bill: Dan Deuel, Weber County 9/12 Project

MOTION: Sen. Adams to moved to the next item on the agenda. The motion passed

unanimously.

S.B. 140 Liquified Petroleum Gas Amendments (Sen. C. Bramble)

Sen. Bramble introduced and explained the bill. Coy D. Porter, Chief Deputy, State Fire Marshal's Office further explained the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Knudson moved to transmit S.B.140 with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen Adams moved that **S.B.140** be placed on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed unanimously.

Minutes of the Senate Transportation & Public Utilities & Technology Standing Committee January 23, 2012 Page 2

S.B. 142 Traffic Management Committee Repeal (Sen. T. Weiler)

Sen. Weiler introduced and explained the bill.

Spoke for the bill: Linda Hull, Utah Department of Transportation.

MOTION: Sen. Adams moved to transmit **S.B. 142** with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen. Adams moved that **S.B. 142** be placed on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen. Adams moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Van Tassell adjourned the meeting at 2:55 p.m.

Sen. Kevin T Van Tassell, Committee Chair