UTAH STATE RAILROAD MUSEUM AUTHORITY
AMENDMENTS
2013 GENERAL SESSION
STATE OF UTAH
<b>Chief Sponsor: Jeremy A. Peterson</b>
Senate Sponsor: Peter C. Knudson
LONG TITLE
General Description:
This bill modifies the Independent State Entities code by amending provisions relating
to the Utah State Railroad Museum Authority.
Highlighted Provisions:
This bill:
<ul> <li>amends the membership of the Utah State Railroad Museum Authority; and</li> </ul>
<ul> <li>makes technical changes.</li> </ul>
Money Appropriated in this Bill:
None
Other Special Clauses:
None
Utah Code Sections Affected:
AMENDS:
63H-5-102, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapter 308 and renumbered and
amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapter 370
Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:
Section 1. Section <b>63H-5-102</b> is amended to read:
63H-5-102. Creation Members Chair Powers Quorum Per diem and

## 

## H.B. 70

01-16-13 10:31 AM

28	expenses.
29	(1) There is created an independent body politic and corporate known as the "Utah
30	State Railroad Museum Authority," hereafter referred to in this chapter as "the authority."
31	(2) The authority is composed of $\hat{S} \rightarrow [11] \underline{12} \leftarrow \hat{S}$ members as follows:
32	(a) one member of the county legislative body of Weber County appointed by that
33	legislative body;
34	(b) [two members] one member of the county legislative body of Box Elder County
35	appointed by that legislative body;
36	(c) one member of the city legislative body of Ogden City appointed by that legislative
37	<u>body;</u>
38	[(c)] (d) the executive director of the Department of Transportation or the director's
39	designee; and
40	$[(d)]$ (e) $\hat{S} \rightarrow [seven]$ eight $\leftarrow \hat{S}$ public members appointed by the governor, as follows:
41	(i) two individuals representing the tourism industry, one each from Weber and Box
42	Elder Counties;
43	(ii) one individual representing the public at large; and
44	(iii) $\hat{S} \rightarrow [four]$ five $\leftarrow \hat{S}$ individuals representing railroad historic and heritage preservation
45	organizations active in Weber and Box Elder Counties, as follows:
46	(A) one individual representing the Railroad and Locomotive Historical Society
47	Golden Spike Chapter;
48	(B) one individual representing the Golden Spike Heritage Foundation;
49	(C) one individual representing the Golden Spike Association; and
50	(D) $\hat{H} \rightarrow [one] \underline{two} [individual] individuals \leftarrow \hat{H}$ representing the
50a	$\hat{H} \rightarrow [f]$ Corinne Historical Society []] and the $\leftarrow \hat{H}$ Ogden Union Station.
51	(3) All members shall be residents of the state.
52	(4) (a) Except as required by Subsection (4)(b), the governor shall appoint the seven
53	public members for four-year terms beginning July 1.
54	(b) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (4)(a), the governor shall, at the
55	time of appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of
56	authority members appointed under Subsection (2)[(d)](e) are staggered so that approximately
57	one-half of the seven public members are appointed every two years.
58	(5) Any of the $\hat{S} \rightarrow [seven] \underline{eight} \leftarrow \hat{S}$ public members may be removed from office by the
58a	governor or

- 2 -

## 01-16-13 10:31 AM

59	for cause by an affirmative vote of $\hat{S} \rightarrow [six]$ seven $\leftarrow \hat{S}$ members of the authority.
60	(6) When a vacancy occurs in the public membership for any reason, the governor shall
61	appoint a replacement for the unexpired term.
62	(7) Each public member shall hold office for the term of the member's appointment and
63	until a successor has been appointed and qualified.
64	(8) A public member is eligible for reappointment, but may not serve more than two
65	full consecutive terms.
66	(9) The governor shall appoint the chair of the authority from among its members.
67	(10) (a) The members shall elect from among their membership a vice chair and other
68	officers as they may determine.
69	(b) The officers serve as the executive committee for the authority.
70	(11) The powers of the authority are vested in its members.
71	(12) (a) $\hat{S} \rightarrow [Six]$ Seven $\leftarrow \hat{S}$ members constitute a quorum for transaction of authority
71a	business.
72	(b) An affirmative vote of at least $\hat{S} \rightarrow [six]$ seven $\leftarrow \hat{S}$ members is necessary for an action to
72a	be taken by
73	the authority.
74	(13) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but
75	may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
76	(a) Section 63A-3-106;
77	(b) Section 63A-3-107; and
78	(c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and
79	63A-3-107.

Legislative Review Note as of 1-3-13 10:22 AM

Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel