Enrolled Copy S.B. 115

	WATER DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION AMENDMENTS
	2013 GENERAL SESSION
	STATE OF UTAH
	Chief Sponsor: Margaret Dayton
	House Sponsor: Keith Grover
=	
I	LONG TITLE
(General Description:
	This bill establishes a four-year term for certain appointments to the State Water
Ι	Development Commission.
F	Highlighted Provisions:
	This bill:
	• establishes a four-year term for certain appointments to the State Water
Ι	Development Commission.
N	Money Appropriated in this Bill:
	None
(Other Special Clauses:
	None
τ	Utah Code Sections Affected:
A	AMENDS:
	73-27-102 , as last amended by Laws of Utah 2012, Chapter 428
E	Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:
	Section 1. Section 73-27-102 is amended to read:
	73-27-102. State Water Development Commission created.
	(1) The State Water Development Commission is created to determine the state's role
i	n the protection, conservation, and development of the state's water resources.
	(2) The commission membership shall include:
	(a) five members of the Senate, appointed by the president of the Senate, no more than

S.B. 115 Enrolled Copy

30	four of whom may be from the same political party;
31	(b) eight members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the speaker of the
32	House of Representatives, no more than six of whom may be from the same political party; and
33	(c) the following nonvoting members, appointed by the governor:
34	(i) a representative of the Office of the Governor;
35	(ii) a representative of the Green River District;
36	(iii) a representative of the Upper Colorado River District;
37	(iv) a representative of the Lower Colorado River District;
38	(v) a representative of the Lower Sevier River District;
39	(vi) a representative of the Upper Sevier River District;
40	(vii) a representative of the Provo River District;
41	(viii) a representative of the Salt Lake District;
12	(ix) a representative of the Weber River District;
43	(x) a representative of the Bear River District;
14	(xi) the executive director of the Department of Natural Resources;
45	(xii) the executive director of the Department of Environmental Quality;
46	(xiii) the commissioner of agriculture and food;
17	(xiv) a member of the Board of Water Resources;
48	(xv) a representative of an organized environmental group; and
19	(xvi) a representative of agricultural production.
50	(3) (a) Except as required by Subsection (3)(b), the members appointed by the governor
51	under Subsection (2)(c) shall be appointed or reappointed to a four-year term.
52	(b) The governor shall, at the time of appointment or reappointment, adjust the length
53	of terms to ensure that the terms of board members are staggered so that approximately half of
54	the nonvoting members of the commission are appointed every two years.
55	(c) When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the governor shall
56	appoint a replacement for the unexpired term.
57	[(3)] (4) The president of the Senate and the speaker of the House of Representatives

Enrolled Copy S.B. 115

58 shall, to the extent possible, appoint members under Subsections (2)(a) and (b) that represent 59 both rural and urban areas of the state. 60 $\left[\frac{4}{2}\right]$ (5) (a) The president of the Senate shall designate a member of the Senate appointed under Subsection (2)(a) as a cochair of the commission. 61 62 (b) The speaker of the House of Representatives shall designate a member of the House 63 of Representatives appointed under Subsection (2)(b) as a cochair of the commission. 64 $[\frac{5}{1}]$ (6) Attendance by at least 50% of one legislative house and more than 50% of the other legislative house constitutes a quorum. 65 66 [(6)] (7) (a) Salaries and expenses of the members of the commission shall be paid in 67 accordance with Section 36-2-2 and Legislative Joint Rules, Title 5, Chapter 3, Expense and 68 Mileage Reimbursement for Authorized Legislative Meetings, Special Sessions, and Veto 69 Override Sessions. 70 (b) Commission members who are employees of the state shall receive no additional 71 compensation. 72

- (c) Other commission members shall receive no compensation or expenses for their service on the commission.
- 74 [(7)] (8) The Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel shall provide staff 75 support to the commission.

73